Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Are The Calgary Flames About To Make The Same Mistake AGAIN?? 😬 | BB Clips
Episode Date: December 16, 2025Boomer, Pinder & Rhett dive into the Calgary Flames, a team that’s found some momentum with a strong recent stretch but still sits second last in the Western Conference. The guys debate whether ...the Flames can realistically keep this run going and push themselves back into the playoff race, or if the smarter move is to do the right thing — sell off veteran players, accumulate assets, and position the franchise for a high pick in a loaded draft.VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/dpeFKwiIzQM#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #calgaryflames #calgary CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I would still be most confident in saying they missed the playoffs
and are closer to the bottom than the playoff cutoff line.
But I did not expect them to go 8, 3 and 1.
It's very respectable.
You said it like yesterday.
They're playing now like how they played last year when they had so many kudos
and everybody gave them so much credit for the way they played.
There's been some improved performances.
We talked about Frost and Fairby yesterday.
You could, for whatever it is, you can lump
Igor Sharon Govich in there
He's been
I noticed them
The last thing
Nothing to see here
We need the snot camo
Over on Pinder
He's doing these
The turn away
Until it's full camera
And boom
Go go
Go quick
Hurry
Go one shot
So I can take my napkin
And dab up my running nose
Sharon Govich
moves on to the line
With Codry
He's been better
Codry is consistently good
The goal tending
Has been good for them
Well thank God
They can keep Coleman and Backland together.
I brought that up earlier, one of the keys to all things.
That lines been good.
Honestly, like, there's not many lines that have to do the heavy lifting like they do.
And Blake's having a great year.
I think if they put them to market, they'll get a haul.
They're heavy lifters.
That's going to, you know what?
That is going to frustrate everybody because that's what's going to have.
Is there going to be there?
And I don't know that they're going to get as close.
I don't think they're going to get as close to being in that playoff pictures they did last year.
They're 31st, guys.
But as we get, but it's what, five points.
Right.
But the point is, is that everyone's played the same number of games.
And even with an 8-3-1 run, you're still only better than one team in the league.
Right.
But I guess what I'm saying is last year they were, you could argue.
And we did every bloody day.
Well, I guess you don't trade those.
It's going to be more frustrating this year, I think, because they're going to,
I think they're going to be further back.
And they're going to hang on to Coleman and Cadry.
You think they're going to hold on to both them?
Yeah.
I kind of do.
I think Cadre might do them a solid and ask out.
Well, yeah, I mean, that would be the only way, I suppose.
But if it's on their, if it's on their plate,
isn't that a mystery then if it, it does feel like it to me.
I think the thing that we're totally committed to you.
Not a few.
It's the easy way out.
Definitely.
It's the breakup of the girlfriend,
just start ignoring her and let her make the call.
Like, they're not good enough.
I don't have,
I think their playoff probability has got to be below 5%.
I understand they're playing better.
but you have to remember they go 8 3 and 1
and they moved up one spot in the standings.
One.
And it's not like St. Louis isn't playing better lately.
And Vancouver all of a sudden
got some win in their sales
and Nashville's stringing together some wins.
Like Buffalo's three in a row.
Like who's actually going to be worse than this team
that you're sure of right now?
Like give you the name of a team.
I'm not so sure after that.
Demko just got back.
Look at the record with Demko.
It's quite a bit better than the Flames points percentage.
Quite a bit.
Now if Demp can't Demp who gets hurt again, sure.
Yeah. You got somebody topalopio in that.
Yeah, you'll lose some games.
Who's that?
Exactly.
It's the whole point.
I don't think Seattle is very good.
I don't either.
If you're wanting to bottom out, I think they're a problem.
I think Vancouver's a problem.
It's a nice little play.
Demko's not going to stay.
I don't understand.
He's just not.
He's going to play 8, 10, 12 games and then miss some time.
And then Tuolopo was going to come in and they will lose games again.
Kevin letting them in.
Like Nashville, 7 and 3 in their last 10.
Okay.
We're getting four goals from Stammer and everything's going on.
But I mean, your points a good one is they have been quite good and they are three points out of last.
Yep.
And look, they're 0 and 2 against Nashville.
They've split against Vancouver.
I think they've only played the Blues once they lost that game.
I don't know if they played them a second time.
Like, have they played Seattle yet?
I don't recall them playing Seattle yet.
They might have been one somewhere in there.
Like they just,
they're not beating up on bad teams.
They can hang around.
They're in close games.
They're going to pick up loser points,
but so is everyone else.
There's no bad teams this year.
Like there is not a shark's bad last year team that you're like,
well, that team's going to finish last.
Like the Blackhawks last year too.
Like the bottom of the league is quite competitive.
So what they're doing is not unlike what all other teams at the bottom are going to do.
They're going to have an eight three in one run.
Like we just said it with,
is it Nashville 7th.
and three in the last 10?
Like, that's the worst team of league.
So how in the world are you going to pass all these teams to get in?
Like, let's say top 16 get in.
Now, conference is trying to.
No, no, but if they're going to make decisions about are we closer, are we not,
you're telling me you're going to pass 14 teams.
That's insane.
I don't disagree, but it's just 14.
What's your saying?
It's like, like history.
is past performance or past behavior is going to when have they ever done something where you think
like that's you know what that's that's that's that's smart that's looking ahead that's
until it's right like they trade Elias Lindholm well no shit his play is falling off he's a
UFA he's pouting he's basically asked out like until it Nikita Zedarov is saying shit about the team
and he's pouted until it gets to that absolutely who would be the last person they
the last person.
But they had some foresight to going,
they should never have the foresight.
They've only been forced into it by the standings.
Like when you looked at them moving
Bolmeister and a ginnla in the same year,
that wasn't their plan.
They were just forced to because they were bad.
That was the last time they actually committed
to selling assets.
Not moving Kipper.
They didn't move.
Because there's,
there's trading.
That was Thelman Louise.
They were headed towards the dead end and the cliff.
Well, we better jump.
And I think this team still doing that.
So yeah,
I don't know.
To move,
Coleman with time left on his deal to move
Cadry again, barring a trade request or a demand.
It would be a real swerve from the way they've conducted business.
Now, are these the...
The business is different is where they understandings.
Because last year they're probably sitting in some.
Yeah, but I understand.
But regardless, they've never done it.
I'm just, what I'm trying to say is,
does Conroy have the
will, the force of?
the ability, the autonomy.
Conroy has all of those except maybe the last one.
And that's the most important one.
Right?
Because I'm saying if you want to look at this rationally and everyone will know what our opinion is,
if you want to look at it rationally and they've never done this,
are those the bold moves that sets you up better than the obvious ones?
Yes, they are for sure.
Right?
It helps your bottom out this year.
Don't finish fifth from the bottom.
Don't miss out on, ah, we really had these four.
guys in this one box.
And you know what?
Like that's kind of the second layer to it.
And if that happens, that's the bonus, right?
It's just getting,
get something while you have,
it's the same conversation over and over.
It is.
It is.
It goes back to Maloney and Buffalo telling us.
And you know what you get frustrated is it seems so goddamn straightforward.
You're going to miss the playoffs.
You're playing at a,
you're playing at the best level that could be
expected of you right now and you're still second to last.
Trade these goddamn guys.
They get a chance to go in more.
It's not like,
you're so great.
Oh,
it's broken heart.
No,
they're going to live to fight another day.
They're going to play in another team.
They're making millions.
They will survive.
Fans will buy tickets.
You will potentially get better.
But to just continue to push this thing.
Oh,
no,
I think it's like plugging down.
No,
I think we're good.
I don't think they actually think that,
Christ,
Almighty.
But they're what gives you the,
unless they,
the assurance that they don't.
I think they will trade absolutely Rasmus
and one of the two.
But the Rasmus is again a punch in the face thing
where it's like, well, if you don't trade him,
you're either trading and resigning it.
Yeah.
So that wasn't the whole point.
It's just that I think they'll move at least one of the two.
And that's all I'm saying.
A Rasmus trade, that's going to be after Christmas
of his last year of his contract.
That's, yes.
Well, and that's why I was screaming to trade him
the deadline last year.
I know, but now you're arguing.
I'm not arguing to not trade Rasmus.
I can.
continue to say trade Rasmus.
But now they're at the point where they're going to get better offers as they get into
the new year because there'll be more injuries, there'll be more desperation.
Teams are going to lose right shot D-Men.
But it's not just about Rasmus, what we're talking about again.
And it gets boring.
This is what you either talk about, are they going to make the playoffs?
Are they going to put us some wins together?
Let's break down the power play versus the sharks.
We can talk.
Or we say, why do they operate the way they do?
Why can't the writing be on the wall?
down at Saddle Dome, Rise, Way, Southeast.
So I might be crazy.
I believe the writing's on the wall there.
And they know what they're going to do.
And they have no comfortability with that message being public.
My belief is that they are absolutely in rebuild and selling vets this year, beyond Rasmus.
See, and I agree.
But does the guy at the very top allow it to have them?
That's the only fly in the ointment.
And I think that.
But that's not the only flying.
That's the ointment and the fly.
It's the elephant.
That's the whole.
I think so.
Otherwise, you know, if you're told as a GM, you're not allowed to do X, Y, and Z.
That's not on the whiteboard.
It's not alone.
It's like, it's like asking about trading Jerome.
Well, we're not allowed to do it.
Can't even talk about it.
Yeah.
Now I'm getting pissed off.
You can't say rebuild.
Because even going back to the effing contracts that they gave two years.
Who the fuck gets?
two years. I think probably
everyone that's worked in Calgary for a long time to
be fair. Okay. And the 31
other teams? Not often.
When do you see a two year
extension? Well, two.
That's how they do business.
I know. I know.
You don't talk to Mer?
That just to me says
that there's too much in her.
Now I'm mad.
Don't be mad.
Because I think where you're at is exactly
where a lot of fans are and they're like,
We want the rebuild.
It'll make things turn around quicker.
And like, let's get young.
Sell hope.
But they might be right there and just saying, yeah,
but we're going to get way more in Feb March than we are now.
Yeah, because it's brilliant, smarter than everyone else.
I don't know that's how the whole league works.
There's been two trades in the last six months.
And they were both last week.
No, and I said it, I think a couple weeks ago when Trilliving made the,
when he made the Tyler to Foley deal to bring it in,
I think that was January.
No, that was the February deal.
The Lindholm one, that was ahead of the deadline.
That was January.
And that's because the return was great.
I think it was Jan 31.
Yeah.
Because we were out there.
It was February.
And those were kind of deemed early.
Right.
And so they were a month or so ahead of the deadline.
So we're not quite there.
I'm just talking big picture.
I know.
Because I talk.
Coleman,
Conry, those guys are playing great.
Coleman scores short-handed breakaway the other night.
He's had a great season.
Yeah.
And everything you hear about him.
And you guys is what you want on a team.
but I he's a perfect dad you guys are full of shit anyway you don't know what the deals were in
December compared to February or the that's why I bristle at it right so here's the thing
here's my thoughts I'm not saying you're wrong I think there's a pinch points and there's actually
science that people won't accomplish this blah blah that gets into my hokey pokey all kinds of
things what's like what's Blake Coleman he's a perfect third line checking way
Okay, so we don't know that yet out of his career.
We're just figuring, oh, well, let's see.
I'm not sure.
You're not going to get the best bidding war right now because someone's going to lose a third-line winger on a cup contender between.
No, that's the only differentiating factor is if somebody does.
If somebody does.
So, if somebody does.
And in an Olympic year with a compressed schedule, I think the bet on injuries happening is a real safe.
Fucking lame today.
I can't take it.
Too logical.
No, it's just like, like Dino said earlier.
Because there's an Olympic.
he's going to get hurt.
But on the flip side, if you're a GM and if you're in, if you're the Colorado
avalanche or you're going to, we're going to be a handful.
Yeah.
I know what Blake Coleman is.
I don't need to lose.
You're not scouting winger to figure out what he is.
In February to be in the Blake Coleman.
Correct.
It's just that if two other teams do lose wingers, the price goes up for Blake Coleman.
You know what?
You're so rational.
It's not worth having a show really because it's just, we just have to wait.
Time will tell.
let's just be patient.
What else?
If you want to tell me about the big trades that go down in December
that involve the types of players we're talking about,
what I want to tell you is that you're not happening.
This is just painful.
Well, I mean, that's a superstar with kind of a different spot
than a lot of these others.
But yeah.
Stuart Skinner, a superstar got moved.
He was a superstar.
Can't believe it.
Ask him.
Just one three in a row.
Asked J. Rudd.
Yeah.
Harbroken.
Well, yeah.
