Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Are The Canucks About To TRADE Elias Pettersson?? | BB Clips
Episode Date: January 16, 2026Boomer, Pinder and Rhett dive into the Vancouver Canucks, who currently sit dead last in the NHL and appear to be in full tank mode for the first overall pick. With TSN’s Darren Dreger reporting tha...t the Canucks are open for business, the guys debate whether Vancouver could actually consider moving Elias Pettersson. What would he be worth on the trade market, and could a change of scenery help him rediscover his game?VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/CC2HznaehuA#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #canucks #vancouvercanucks CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
What about Vancouver?
They're done.
You pros, man.
No, I understand that.
You're drilling it.
You brought it up yesterday.
I don't think you were talking about the flames necessarily, but
Elias Pedersen with great young player, struggles.
Oh, God, could be available.
Maybe this is how you get one of those.
You don't often get it.
Dennis play Alibati.
Well, maybe you slept on getting Pedersen out of Vancouver.
They may have done a deal.
But those, that ship has sailed.
I wonder if that ship is.
is back in port. I believe the ship has, yeah. I don't think anyone since that connox
with J.T. Miller would have offered a trade that suggested they think he could get back to an
$11.6 million player because the people just want to see it. There's been too much noise around
if they see if they ain't getting them. Fair. Or it's like, hey, we're willing to pay your ask,
but he's got to start looking like a one C again. 11. And you talk about it all the time.
It's 11.6 is still 116, but with an increasing.
Cap.
Is there a team that maybe is like, well, that's 116,
20, 27, 28.
Is that, I do wonder.
He has to get back to what he was before the drama with J.T. Miller.
But you talk, I'm just telling you, just try and pretend a little bit.
Oh, yeah.
Because we sit here and you cannot get franchise center.
You can't get these guys.
You are taking a massive swing.
You're taking a big cut with your driver or your, whatever the bats are made of.
Maple.
You want to start again?
Oh, why?
Good analogy.
Keep going.
You're taking a big swing, regardless of the instrument.
Yes.
And the upside would be, if he comes around, brilliant.
Like, freaking brilliant.
But the downside is you've got 11.5 of 28 points.
Imagine if you've got this Pedersen or last year's Pedersen and someone like,
you were like, that's 22 million box.
like well yeah but no one's gonna have you're gonna have two dogs no but i'm just saying like
the risk is so high i understand why it hasn't we're playing pretend i just think there's so many
questions around them i do too does he love hockey is he talented at it is he needs you got to get
along with does he burn to win i don't know the answer is it i it's not the type of questions that
fall almost one sees right i'm with you i'm with you guys but i just see that it's like oh
Vancouver there's just thought maybe they would okay well we saw the zeggris thing no one's
going to touch Ziegress. Oh, well, a bit of a rejuvenation there. Could this guy do it?
The other thing is, too, he's already 27. Yeah. Right? It's not. Should be prime.
You're, yeah, you're getting some prime years, but you're also getting some back nine. You're getting some.
Well, again, if he plays the way he's supposed to play, you're not worried about that.
The question becomes, okay, I want Petit. What are you going to give up? Because that answers your
questions, right? You're running a team. And so when the price is what Zegras was last summer, go do it.
But what they asked for Zegroos for three years before that, no one said yes to.
It had to get so bad.
Yeah, like right now, if I'm running a team, would I take him?
Sure.
Are you giving him to me?
Right.
What?
You want a first and a player in return?
Well, I'd be asking them to retain.
Yeah.
Like, who's got 12 million bucks just sitting there not being used?
No contenders.
No, it would have to be a creative type of a deal.
Vancouver would have to really want to get rid of.
How many stipulations could he put into the deal, too?
And that's why he's probably just going to stay in van, right?
Because it's going to be a painful deal for them to make.
And the best thing they can do is try to get him back to where he was.
Then it gets back, then they've got them.
They've got a one seat.
Or the assets, yeah.
Well, if you get Pedersen back to an 80 or 100 point guy, why are you giving him off?
Well, maybe you're just like in the throes of a really deep rebuild, right?
And it's like, we can get more first.
But again, if you've got the 100 point guy, then you've already crossed.
you're not in the throws anymore.
If he's at, anyway.
To me, it would be like Ryan says.
If you are, but it's not the different crew,
but if you're in there and you're running things and you've decided,
this guy doesn't burn to win.
We're not winning with this guy.
He can get a bunch of points.
Then the postseason comes around.
He's pouting at press conferences and I just,
I need to get out from under this.
Kind of like they did with OEL, right?
It's, we just need to move on.
That's Dylan.
Gunther scoring a lot of goals to give up the pick from him.
Yeah.
So, I mean, dissimilar from a buyout, it would be, well, we're going to make a trade just to get out from under this.
And in that instance, at this point, you're eating salary and you're taking a problem back.
That's no fun.
And it's like, we're already bad.
Like, what do we?
You need an Arizona district where you could dump them and they expand.
They got bribed to take some bad contracts for a while there, just to get to the floor.
So that's that.
that's the scoop out there and like you say they are whatever that hybrid rebuild that they're doing
it's uh it is on heronics a huge trade share for them he's a really good defenseman he's a point behind
peterson and he's not like a just offense to like if you move him and then it's like well now
you probably got to move the brusk because he's on the back nine and like he could help a contender
but he's not going to help you in a rebuild no uh like it kind of looks like just
despite the owners can, like, refusal to rebuild,
they might be forced into it there.
They could steal our shoes or shirts.
We'll have to.
Hybrid rebuild. That's the shirt out there.
Hybrid rebuild.
You can't do a hybrid rebuild.
We can here.
Well, if Demp goes healthy, playing the way he's supposed to,
you can do a hybrid rebuild.
Yeah.
And on a moving.
It's moving.
Petterson.
Key for Sherwood.
Whoever you, the assets, you,
have, you can get things in return
and rebuild. But if you
don't have a goalie,
there's no hybrid rebuild. And that's
the, that's the, that's the,
I truly, truly believe
that's the flame's biggest
asset, whatever, you know what I mean?
Like, you're not, one of the hardest pieces.
It's not scorched earth.
You've got the toughest piece to find.
Yeah, one of them. It's like top center
and goalie.
And a goalie can win
when a top center, a goalie, a goalie
can win you games on his own, the top center can't. Unless he's a superstar. Super, super,
like, like your old four team did not have a number one center. And that's not a shot of
one top 20 forward. Wow, that's being pretty critical. But like, it was, it was an incredible
some of the parts greater than the individual pieces, but you went to the cup final without a number one
center. Like, Connie on a contending team would be a two C and a great one. It's not a shot of Connie. It's just
that even if you just go back post like that 89 when that whole group dissolved like
since they got rid of the new indikes and the the Gilmore's like have they ever had a number
center like Monaghan flashed it for a bit but the injuries were always looming Lindholm who thought was
for a moment but it was because Godrow and Kachukkah were on his wings like they haven't had
a number one center for it feels like three decades they tried with Yokinen he wasn't it that was
a poor try Darrell tried a couple times that went back to the well and it's interesting with
Vancouver and I don't know is it their run through the playoffs two seasons ago
that maybe gave them the impression because you've got they were on their way
Debrusk is in year two of a seven year deal Heronica is in year two of an eight year
year deal and Bessor just signed a seven year deal he's in year one and Pedersons got how
many left ah that's five maybe it's it's five-ish he is in year two of eight
yeah so he's got six years left so they've got we they got a lot of guys
signed up for a long time.
That's cat all just because
let's be honest. The Pedersen's got to be better.
That's going to be a real boat anchor out there for them.
But they're drafting in the top three guaranteed this year.
It seems like it.
There's no way they're not.
Yeah.
They're not taking out of it.
They're last and they're going to stay last.
It seems that way.
Unless Demko gets back.
And you nailed it with the Demko health thing.
It's just no one knows what they're going to get.
He could be healthy the rest of the year.
He could never play another.
game. Like it's been two years of the strangest,
weirdest, no timeline injury stuff.
And if that's going to be one of your core pieces, which he absolutely is
when he's right, like, I don't know what you're going to get from him.
I don't know he's going to play again this year. I don't know he's going to play 20 games.
Like, how do you? I do not trust that he's coming back this year.
The history is horrifying. And if you're the,
when he's right, he's great. If you're at the GM and the coach, you're not playing,
I don't care if you feel good. Yeah, you're going to, yeah, let's get you right for the fall.
Last.
And I can hear the people in Vancouver's, oh,
what about Hubbardo?
100%.
Yeah, no, you're right.
I would make that swap.
I'm sure you would.
Any conversation ends with the, yeah, but what about Huberto?
And we more than anyone realize that.
The only difference to the point, it's irrelevant.
We don't talk about it because it's.
It's immovable objects.
Yeah, it's gravity.
It's just here.
We don't talk about it.
He's 32.
He makes 10 and a half.
He has five years left.
It's the worst contract in in.
Can't buy it out.
Can't trade it.
You're stuck with it.
You're married to it.
Yeah.
So yes.
You will.
My back.
That would help.
But the difference to where Vancouver's at and where Calgary's at is that
Calgary has done a really nice job of the last two years in the draft of just collecting
young players where the Canucks have been in trade and try to pretend we're a playoff
caliber team mode.
There are a few seasons behind Calgary in terms of building that pipeline of kids that might
be good NHL players.
They got a project on their hands for sure.
They do.
And the owner's tough.
Like it's, it's similar but dissimilar to here.
Like there's a really, really hard time for the owner to commit to rebuild.
But the difference is you hear from them a lot, whereas the owner here we never hear from, which is his prerogative.
That's fine.
