Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Blake Coleman Trade Talk Sparks BIG Calgary Flames Debate 🔥 | BB Clips
Episode Date: January 6, 2026Boomer, Pinder and Rhett get into a heated debate about the state of the Calgary Flames, starting with whether there’s any real chance Blake Coleman gets traded this season. Boomer and Rhett see the... odds as pretty low, while Pinder thinks it might be closer to 50/50 — and from there the discussion opens up into a bigger question about direction. Should the Flames finish near the bottom, draft high, and move veterans to finally commit to a real future… or keep pushing with what they have?VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/9GQ_OfuVDbM#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #calgaryflames #calgary CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
they're not trying to trade them.
You don't think they're taking calls on Blake Coleman this year?
That's not trying to trade.
That's answering the phone.
What's the probability of Coleman can trade it this year in your money?
I think 10.
Very long.
I think you're 50.
10%?
Really?
10% max.
I think they're.
Again, just using past.
For so long that you've forgotten what this organization does on a consistent basis.
Because everything else is there.
Is he playing great?
Yes.
Is he desirable?
Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Does he fall under the Don Maloney?
Will they do it? Yeah. No.
I understand the fear. I fear them not doing it. I still think there's a good chance to do it.
Because he has one year left.
4.9. Very reasonable. Why would they trade him now? We could trade them next year.
Well, the thought would be that, you know, if you are at the deadline and you see the top of the draft class and you see the offers you're getting for them, you can get a larger term.
with Blake Coleman.
So could you put half a season and they're third from the bottom, right?
Could you take this, the pen?
But trading Blake Coleman doesn't move you up the, well, I guess your point wise,
but if you're bottom three already, like, what are you talking about?
Well, I mean, I guess we see four teams tied at the bottom there.
You could really help break a tie there, in my opinion, by moving some bets.
Like, if they trade Rasmus, that's going to hurt this team in the standings a ton.
I think they're very likely to trade Rasmus.
And if you're already there, I don't like that.
to agree with him.
If you're already there and you're selling two playoff runs of Value Coleman,
you could get a nice return.
You are running a pipe,
or on the pipe again because.
I'm on the pipe.
Yes,
you're piping.
You're out in the mountains piping.
I'm pipel.
You shouldn't be piping into your system.
How many pipers?
Was it eight or 11 pipers,
nine piping pipers?
Pipers piping.
Because then there was leaping lords.
I don't know.
Marchers marching.
I think you,
but you said the same thing.
You remember when Dean went to the mountains?
he came back all positive.
Yeah, yeah.
Now this idiot's gone to the mountains and he's forgotten what happened.
I do think you've been away from Calgary too long.
You said the same stuff about Rasmus.
You weren't wrong.
But if you could trade, he's got two con two playoff runs and all that.
Of course, yes.
And it did not happen.
Correct.
They also were in a playoff spot at the deadline.
So if that is the case this year, they won't trade Blake Coleman.
I'll give you that.
They were sitting in eighth.
It was close, but they were in a playhouse spot.
And I think they thought, you know what?
It may end up hurting us in the return department,
but we owe it to this group to keep them together.
they've earned the spot, they're in a playoffs.
They haven't in a playoff spot all year.
You're drunk.
They haven't.
I'm not saying they won't, but I have three points back of the wild card.
In those offices, that's as good as being in the playoffs.
Do you remember the guy that's why they're not trading him today.
I agree that.
And I'm not talking about the good Lord Jesus.
Oh, I'm talking about Big M.
The Big M.
What's his mandate?
I think he likes selling tickets to make a rebuild.
Has like Murray or Maloney?
because there's a couple of hands.
Both. Okay.
Because they're hand in hand.
That's why they work so well.
Domo the poho or Uncle Mur.
That's those are the.
I'm not going to refer it on that way because I've got respect.
You've called them before, but okay.
But you do recall who runs these teams.
I do.
Yeah.
And look,
I understand what you're saying.
If you look at past behavior,
that's usually the best indicator of how things are going to happen in the future.
They have been very loath to move off of players until they're forced to like a contract year.
They talked about that. Even then.
Yeah, they, I mean, even then.
There's a, since this GM's got in, they have not let contracts expire and guys walk for nothing with the exception.
But I think Oliver Schillington, which is a unique circumstance.
Like Blake Coleman, when if, again, just look through the eyes of the people that are running the team.
He's a, he's one of your captains, right?
He's a leader.
He's a leader.
He's one.
He's a flame.
He's in the community doing things.
He's got the, he's a leader.
wife and the kids and they're like
and he's playing
he's ever he's got everything that they want
heart and solar
and he's playing his nuts off right now
and he's got one more year and the kids can't keep up
with them it'd be like hey you know we've been getting
some calls on Coleman yeah I bet because he's been great
we're not trading them yeah but
they also they also have whiteboards in the office
and they've got too many wingers so tell me which winger
let me finish let me finish I understand no no I can I can make
the point. I don't need you to build.
Okay, so don't let me finish that.
Don't just, no, I'm not going to let you finish because you don't need to convince me that they'd get lots for him and that he's playing.
I'm not saying that's not my point at all.
He wants to talk about the team.
I'm not talking about that all.
What I'm saying is right now, you've had no Marty Pospisil all year.
Hansik's done for the season.
Marty Possible should retire.
Sure, but let me finish the point.
You're going to graduate Mad Vey Gridden soon.
You already have too many wingers.
Oh, I think they have a whiteboard in there with 2026.
27 in there and they're going to say, okay, how do we make room for a healthy Hansick and Matt
v. Gridden in the top nine? Well, the healthy Hansick isn't that fucking good. And just by looking
at it, and I was going to bring this up before you said that, if Coleman and Backland are your
best players, shame on your fucking staff and you're like, where are the kids? Why aren't they better?
And so this is kind of my point that you'd love to move out. So you got a bunch of mucky kids that
can't play? Great. They can play. But you need to.
Two, they're not.
Hansik was fine when he was playing this year.
What a fucking vote of confidence.
Fine.
So you know,
like this season.
Let's build a team around some fine.
I wonder how Coleman played as a kid.
If he was fine,
he's fine.
No,
but,
Brett,
like,
Mavittenden needs a spot in the top nine.
For sure.
So you have to move Coleman to do it?
You don't.
But I'm going to ask you which winger they can move
that they don't have to staple an asset to get out.
First of all,
possible should fucking retire.
Now I'm hot because you're talking out of your ass.
You wanted to do a show last.
A pospicell should retire because if he's getting concussions from what happened to him earlier this year,
I don't want him to have to retire.
You have a life to live.
It's the same as TANF in Toronto right now.
Retire.
You're done because you think you're committed to winning and you give everything and all the,
and then you've realized five years out of the game that your life stinks and you've effed up your body so bad.
Adam Deadmarsh, to this day, can't be around crowds or loud noises or any type of activity.
What are we talking about?
Yeah.
So let's move off Postasol.
That's fine.
I agree with you on that.
If you want to find a spot in the top nine.
You give me the list of the kids that are good.
It's so good.
I'm going to give you the one example, just to illustrate the point.
If you're trying to find a spot in the top nine for Matt Vigridden, for Matt Vigridden, what are you doing to do it?
Because you can't trade Jonathan Huberto.
And you're not going to get anyone taking Igor's share and go, which is contract.
I don't think Joel Farabee is worth assets with the amount of money he's making.
Connor's area you could move, but it feels like a sell low type of move.
I'm not saying they have to trade coal because of all this, but they are going to need to open some winger spots.
His value is as high as it's ever been.
We understand that point.
So I think they're aware of that and that that makes it more than a low probability of being traded this year.
But I'm saying the mentality there would be, well, what could we get?
for Hansick because we don't want to we're not trading Coleman have they traded young guys is that
something they've done in their history I'm just saying that's where they will value this guy
that's what the value will be all of the point again that's why I was stopping I get and agree with
all of your points I just believe over there in a lot of ways it's backward thinking why would we
trade we're not trading Giordano we're trying to extend that we're trade backland he could
bring cups no no let's give him a contract extension like that's not how they think
It's not about Macfay Gritten.
It's about our...
Conroy doesn't have carte blanche
just to do whatever he wants.
You can see how things have played out.
He has done things.
Who has he moved that he hasn't had to move?
Almost no one.
So, like Pelche and Cozmanco is probably the only one.
That's bullshit move and that's a smart move on his part.
That was a trade.
He hasn't dumped anyone.
Hanifin he had to.
Yep.
Same with Lindholm.
Same with Lindholm.
Same with Phil.
Rind Holmes, the door off.
He's not, those were easy.
Yeah, we didn't let them go.
Markstrom, it was time.
That's an Anderson.
And what that is, is a trade Coleman next year scenario.
Agreed.
Yeah.
If they do what they've done with all their guys in their 30s, they will trade him in his
UFA year.
I just think that when.
And I will give Coleman enough credit.
It should be up to Coleman if he wants to leave.
I think he likes it.
He's a professional.
He works his ass off.
And he is the kind of guy you should have in your dressing room.
Yeah.
Because we have criticized the Oilers for not having guys like Coleman in the dressing room.
And there's something to be said about it.
And so then it comes back to the how in the world are you going to make room for the guy?
And I put 20 seasons in the HL's history.
How do you make room for him?
I put Rasmus in that category too.
Well, I think that guys that are the intangibles that they bring,
are part of why we're seeing this still at 18, 19, and 4, I think overachieve it.
And you're making it seem like Matt Vey Gridden can't play in the NHL with the Calgary Flames because Coleman's on the gym.
You are making that.
And if you just go into the off season, you know as well as everyone else that a lot of different things can happen.
And whether Joel, maybe you dump Joel Farabee for nothing and what's who cares.
But if you like Coleman that much, and I'm not saying Farabies not worth anything.
I'm just saying there's a gazillion ways to get around it and get Matt Vague.
There's no question.
And Britain is 19.
If it's another full year in the A or half.
It's not happening.
The guys that perform the way he has at 19 in that league don't stay in the A.
Because the league is primarily 20 and older.
There are very few players that do it at 19.
But what I'm saying is if they needed to, their hands aren't completely tired.
Of course or not.
But I think they're more forward-looking under Connie than they have been when we talk about the geo-situation.
To what percentage?
I think quite a bit more.
Yeah.
Again, I hope the overriding, my overriding thing is,
they're in a great spot to overhaul this team
and get in a great position.
But I just have no faith.
Yeah, and until we see it, I think it's one of the,
like, why would you trust them to do it?
They haven't done it except for very few exceptions
where they've been forced into it
because they've been so bad at building hockey teams,
like back in 2014 or 13.
What's the schedule?
So let's play this.
a little bit. So there's the All Star
or the Olympic break when we go
on our trip. Yeah.
So there's clearly a
roster freeze then. And then
the trade deadline is shortly after the return.
A little longer. I think the trade deadline is March
6, if I'm correct. And the Olympic break starts on
like Feb 5 or 6th. And it's a
two-week tournament. So on March... So on March 6th,
how many games left in the schedule?
Jack, could we figure that out?
Because what I'm getting at,
is if they value what you're saying.
Yeah. And again, we argue, but I just feel like I'm arguing for the flames.
If there's 20 games left, how much significance can a Coleman Anderson trade make as far as tanking?
Yeah.
And I'll call it tanking because I can't.
22 games.
So there's 20.
So that's a, that's a quarter of the schedule.
That's a lot.
Fair amount.
I wouldn't have expected it to be the.
What I was trying to get at was, are they going to move?
guys prior to the Olympic break?
I think that in a best case scenario,
if they're saying...
Because if they value dumping and tanking,
you should.
The issue you'll run into is you try and play this out too long.
Oh shit, we're in a playoff spot.
I'm not saying they will be, but they're not far out.
That's the fear for sure.
And they have played their asses of.
They did not play well against Nashville.
They have played, what, $650 hockey for the last two months?
The other thing is, if your goal is going to be the first star and be 940 for a look,
you're going to win some games.
I don't care what team are.
I do not care which one.
Like, that is the scary part.
I think in a perfect world, you move Rasmus.
Like, this runoff is going to have to make their mind of whether doing this or not.
Yes.
It would be in their best interest, whether they'd move them or not, to make that decision before the Olympics.
The compression of the schedule coming out of the Olympics is insane.
The players that are going to play like Rasmus is, that's added workload.
get this done.
The team that acquires them allows them time to settle in.
It's not like a month until the playoffs start in your new market.
Get it done.
And the catch to what you're saying, like, the common theme or statements are always, wait until the trade deadline to max out.
I don't believe that.
I think it's BS.
How do I know I'm not a GM?
I don't know what the deals were in December compared to.
But Colorado traded someone last year that was really good.
And they didn't wait until the trade deadline to do it.
Which play you talking about.
Rantin.
Yeah, the Rantin.
Yeah, the Rantin deal.
Okay.
So what time of year was the Rantin deal?
I'm trying to remember.
Why can't, what do we have to wait for, like, if it, make a deal.
Make a deal.
And, and Carolina did it.
Because they thought, well, we're going to get him in here, get him comfortable,
so that we know if we can resign him.
And if we can't, they did what they did.
Yeah, it was the end of January.
January 26th, they moved him.
Right?
And would you not want, if I'm a team trading for Erasmus Anderson,
I want to know about him.
Imagine if he gets injured at the Olympics.
And then like I say, you got two week period.
It doesn't matter.
Oh, I know.
But it'd be even worse there where he's not on your watch.
He's over in frigging Italy.
Yeah.
And to go backwards really quickly, the Rattanan thing,
he went to play four nations,
came back, Carolina was on the road.
And by the time they had to make a call.
on whether they were going to try to keep them or move him to Dallas.
Like he'd had something like no more than three or four days in a row in Carolina.
Yeah.
Like getting him in ahead of this Olympic break is, I think,
crucial for the buyer and the seller.
Like people aren't going to trade for rassas and not want to extend it.
Like it's very similar situation around then.
I know what?
The only reason that I get kind of snippy there.
And it's because I don't,
I don't disagree with you at all.
Because, yeah, get gritting in, get the kids in, play.
Yeah.
Get the assets.
Do all of that.
But there's, there's just, I have no belief.
Until they show you.
Like it's until they are pushed to the very, very edge of the precipice.
Well, well, okay.
Well, all right.
Enjoy picking ninth overall.
I joked with him.
I forget if it was Drager or who last week.
I said, you know, here there are one or two points out of the playoffs.
And if this continues for us, he's going to be sitting, well, if you're going for it,
you may as well, go find a score.
Go get some help for these guys.
because if you're going to, and there's fun.
I do believe that.
If you think you're going for it.
We've got extra picks and this and that.
Well, see if we can add a guy because if we're.
And that's how you never win a cup.
And I know we're all in the same page philosophically,
but you make a great point.
Until this organization shows you,
they can think beyond a quarter of a time.
Like that's all I.
In this reporting financial universe that Murray lives in,
like, can you give us your three year expectation of what this team looks like?
Because it looks like you're just trying to make the most money in Q1 and then Q2 and
then Q3.
Like it's such short-term thinking.
When have they gone years ahead of an issue and really made an excellent decision for the long term?
I can't recall one time.
They waited until Jerome was worth as little as he was ever worth.
They let Mika retire and kept the coach instead of him.
They moved Jay Bowmeister at the area.
Has there being a Hall of Fame player traded for worse return?
I mean, there's a few where it's been futures like that and it blows up.
regrets to St. Louis.
I was Roman Vopat
and it was not great
but your point
the point is the same
it's in a collection of horrible trades
it was not
Newendike for again
no you want to look at it that way
they didn't go get to the next year
that's because that's what it is
and a lot of it is
I'm sure maybe people read
over the weekend
there's Pierre LeBron report
the Calgary Flames
are getting all kinds of calls
on Blake Coleman
that this guy would be sought after
in a lot of places
the cap hits manageable he's got one more
You get two playoff runs.
He's got 13 goals and everything that we're seeing.
Other teams are seeing, too.
If you can imagine if you sent your scouts, hey, go watch the flames for a few games.
Post-Christmas, flying to Calgary.
It's like, this guy is everywhere.
He's scoring goals.
He's penalty killing.
He's a prick to play against.
He's sticking guys.
Works his way off.
This guy would be an absolute wonderful fit for us.
Yeah, I don't know if he'd like him on a lot of teams.
All.
Right?
Like every scout would be phoning their GM out
If you can get him
Get this fucking guy
Because he looks great
And they won't trade him
Well that's your fear, yeah
I get it
Because in the past they haven't
We can't talk about trading cadre
Because he's too valuable to look
And the Cadre one
There's a little more risk inherent
On the buyer side
But it all goes back to the philosophy
Of the organization
So you're going to ride this out until there's no return.
Yeah.
I want to maximize return.
Shit, I got nothing.
The worst thing you can do with Nazim Kadri is say he's so crucial to us that he keeps you in the middle for three years.
And then when he's not good at hockey anymore because he's 38, you're like, oh, shoot, we can't get anything in trade.
We'll just keep him for nothing.
