Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Could Connor McDavid Actually LEAVE Edmonton?? | BB Clips
Episode Date: September 4, 2025Barn Burner Clips Youtube Link 🎥 https://youtu.be/p-ejD1Vxgn4Boomer, Pinder & Rhett dive into the Connor McDavid conversation. With just one year left on his contract, is it actually possible t...hat McDavid won’t sign an extension with the Edmonton Oilers? 👀Insider Chris Johnston has reported that McDavid is in no hurry to sign — which raises major questions about his future, the Oilers’ direction, and what this could mean for the NHL. Could the unthinkable actually happen? The guys break it all down.🔥 What do you think? Will McDavid re-sign in Edmonton or test the market? Let us know in the comments!#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlfranchise #nhlteam #edmontonoilers #edmonton #stanleycup #stanleycupfinalBARN BURNER BLONDEhttps://originbrewing.myshopify.comFLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTShttps://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I think when there's a big potential kind of a sports story, some people that are too close to it.
So if you're a fan, I just want, I don't want someone with the team to tell me about it because that's, they're, they're invested.
They got skin in the game.
But what's the real story?
Yeah.
And I thought of you, Pinder, because you're, I mean, you're not invested in it.
Sorry to ruin your day.
And I should have asked you, but I guess I'll do it now.
Yeah.
because I think that probably fans would want someone like you
who doesn't have a vibe one way or the other.
The Connor McDavid contract not being signed.
There's no extension in place.
There's thoughts he might enter the season on the final year.
Just you'll call it lame duck or just whatever you want to call it.
But oiler media, they're going to be going one way.
I just figured you're probably the guy.
People be waiting to hear what you think.
Because people in Toronto, clearly cheerleading for them.
Yeah, Toronto they want them in there.
he's never going to leave everyone loves edmonton's a great city just listen to all these people in
edmonton tell you so uh so you need someone that's going to play it down the middle straight facts right
no bias i mean is there concern if you're an oiler fan if you had asked an oiler fan after the stand
like a final what date they should be worried about connor mac david not being signed you've passed
all those dates now it doesn't mean he won't sign and we'll have more in the pinned report because we can
get into the minutia of it yeah yeah but uh everyone's no no it's going to be you know you know
July 1, he's going to stay maybe a couple weeks.
Leon signed on this date. Well, Leon's wedding.
And then after Leon's wedding, they're going to...
Very busy.
And all the in-house people that are very close to the Oilers.
He's at a wedding.
They were at the lake together, weren't they?
They spent a lot of time together.
But all those dates have passed.
And so I think if you're an Oilers fan,
you're probably lying to yourself if you're not worried,
but that doesn't mean he's leaving out.
Well, they lie to themselves anyway.
That's correct. Yeah. Look where they live.
This is true. They've made that choice in life.
It's great here. I love it.
Keep going.
Hideous.
So we can either dive all the way in right now on this or we leave for the pit rock.
And I'm happy to do it now.
I have no problem with that.
Let's get into it right now.
Okay, good.
So Connor is in town for the team Canada stuff.
I actually chat with Josh Morrissey the other day, ran to him.
And he was one of the numerous players invited to the evaluation camp.
And they did their media stand up.
And sure enough, you can only get a couple questions in about not being on the ice and the Olympics in Italy in February before Connor gets asked about his contractual.
status. Chris Johnson is the lead NHL writer at the athletic and was all over things.
Connor McDavid says he still wants to take his time before working on a contract extension
with the Oilers. Quote, I have every intention to win in Edmonton.
Now, he does have a year left on his contract and I would hope he'd try to win in Edmonton.
And I think he does. But that quote does not say anything beyond the final year of his contract
in Edmonton. So you can interpret any way you want. If you want to be
glass half Toronto, you say it's one and done.
And if you're glass of Emmington, you're like, look, he's saying he wants to be in
Emerton, he's saying he wants to win. What else do we need here?
So it's the contract.
More from CJ.
Sam Ranhart and Sidd with him there by the way.
Connor McDavid is in no hurry to sign an extension with you.
At least he's comfortable entering the season without a new deal.
This is the place that Oilers fans five months ago would say they wouldn't be comfortable.
Entering the season without a new contract.
has. And so why is this the case? Well, if you're just looking at Connor, you'd say,
geez, this is an outlier, but Jack Eichel's a free agent in a year, uh, Carrel Caprizov's a free agent
in a year. Conner's a free agent in a year. There's a lot of big names that are up in a year.
Nobody's signed. And so if you're an Oilers fan, that's a positive because you have this
incredible cap growth and you know what the caps hits are going to be for the next three years,
105, 114, 14, 94 and a half this year, whatever it is. Yeah. I don't think any agent's
agent wants to make the first move because they don't want to play off the others.
And they're massive increases in the cap year to year.
Huge.
10 million a year, basically.
So he's going, if he's a, I'm a 20% guy.
And he's never been, but that would be about 20 million next year on the first year of his
new deal.
Yeah.
And, and, and so I don't think we're going to see a lot of term here unless teams absolutely
give the guy the, the bag, like beyond the market.
So in my mind, crook, prezov is going to make more than Leon Dreisotel because there's way
more information about the cap and he might not be quite as good as Leon, but he's a superstar
in this league and what are the wild without him? They pretty much, they got all that caps,
so he's just opened up for Parisian Souter. So like if I tell you, Carrille's going to ask for
17, are the wild saying no? Yeah, I can't imagine. If it's eight years, like when the cap's 125 million,
that's no problem. And that's halfway through that deal probably or less. So I guess just in terms
of McDavid. Yeah. And so if I'm McDavid's agent, like, I want to see what Carill's
going to get. I want to see what Jack Heggles get because we're going to ask for
way more. Or you just say it's a max deal or I'm out of here.
I'm not, it's fine. I don't think
that Connor McDavid has to wait for anyone.
If he wants to ask for a max deal, they would say yes.
And then so that's the one angle is the cap. The other angle is how good is his team?
Because it's the same D, which I think is a very good decor. It's the same
goaltending, which we don't think is very good goaltending.
And look at this forward group that I'm in a flash.
Look at this.
You've got a kid that's never played an NHL game on the top line.
Same crime.
Same potholes.
Follow me here.
All right.
Ike Howard.
Ike district.
You were a great college player.
You're 23.
You've never played an NHL game.
You're a top liner on our team.
Stay with me.
Vassili Pad Colson.
You were a really good fourth liner in and out in the lineup on your last two teams.
You're a second liner.
Matthew Savoy.
You put up 50 points of the H.L.
And you're 5-9.
You're a second liner.
Trent Frederick, you're a good fourth liner in Boston.
You play third line here.
I can't fight her.
Madgey.
I thought we were big on the little guys nowadays.
It could be.
It's just that you don't know what's going to work.
It might be awesome.
But what I'm trying to paint the picture of is there's about six guys that could work,
but are all of them going to work?
Frederick was a great fourth liner in Boston.
Manjipani played his way to the fourth line here before he did it in Washington.
Not as much foot speed there.
Love the player.
Probably scores a lot for playing with Leon.
Sure.
Casperi Kaepinant.
waiver claim.
Matiasianmark, fourth liner.
Henrique probably bumps up to 3C
and you put Nugent Hopkins on the wing,
but who's their third best winger here, guys?
Like Igor Sharon Govich should be their third best winger.
That's horrifying.
So if Connor shows up and this team is just okay,
why in the world did you commit any term and go back?
They've got one of the worst prospect pipelines in the NHL.
They haven't improved their net mining.
And you cannot tell me that forward group is better than last years.
It just isn't.
But they did just go.
Stanley Cup finals as well back to back.
Right, but not with those six guys I just mentioned,
who are all slotted above where
they played last year.
So I think he's saying, A,
the cap, we're not sure what
a top player's going to make, but I could ask for Max
if I want. And if I think we've got a chance to win for the next
five years, I might even give the team a deal, but
look at all these guys that A, were fourth liners last year,
B, didn't play in the league that we've got slotted way up the death
chart. Do you think it comes, money
has any?
impact like i think for the agent and for his brother and it does because you know what the pa is
i know but he can go wherever the eff he wants and make max out and so that's why if when you look
around it would work the opposite way where the pa would be phoning conner saying hey damas get out
of edmonton and take it all take max yeah and so i i would love to come in and say he's gone it's over
It's over. He's gone.
Okay.
Thank you, Rhett. You'll wear that hat today.
There's still, I think he could still resign in Edmonton.
It's just, I think he wants to know they're going to be good, not just for next year.
And I'm sorry, they got a shitty prospect.
He's a hockey nerd.
You don't think that anything's, he's growing up and realizing that I'm going to stay here for my whole life.
Yeah, he's, what's a bit?
He's been there 10 years.
So he's put some time in there.
10 years of zero cuts.
That's enough.
Um, and I know the, the cup thing is a major thing, but I think you, it's all he cares about.
Well, that's.
So are they position?
He's got a bigger percentage chance of staying in Edmonton.
If you're, if that's what.
I don't know what that for.
Yeah.
I really don't.
What's the, what's the point you're making?
The point I'm making is that he, he's so good wherever he goes is going to have a chance to
win a cup.
Doesn't that stay in F in Edmonton to do it?
And there are teams.
And there's better places to live and make a ton of time.
more money and be better for the league to have your superstar somewhere else and and and and and and
what about it an incredibly popular and trendy pink pony club restaurant his wife can design in a city
not named edmonton you hate to say it but it's more of a factor in today's nchel see jack i just
wanted some impartial takes on and there it is is what i want no bias there you're welcome i've heard lots
of oiler media on it, some leaf media.
I just wanted to really kind of, let's cut through the chaff and really get down to some
unprejudiced thoughts about.
I'm sure your interior design restauranteur skills are maxed in Edmonton.
There's no bigger places or more illustrious places to be.
What he hasn't done, and you saw it with that clip, well, he didn't see the clip,
but that quote, he's not going to do any favors.
It's still very much in a, I'm, I'm an,
I have a contract, I probably, but show me that we're going to, that you're in, that we're going to do this.
What do you do?
If you're in management?
Yes, that's a great question.
Fun question.
So let's see.
Carter's going to get all the money and play wherever he wants.
That's easy.
Like you, you know they're going to pass the blank check across like, well, okay, yeah.
Just write your number.
But there's 31 others.
When he doesn't sign that blank piece of paper, that's when the.
Yeah.
There's 31 other teams that are going to give me a blank check.
That's great.
Yeah.
how's our goal tending?
Same as last.
You know what might happen is we get into the season
and Stuart Skinner is like, look, see, we knew it.
We had faith in Skinner.
He's been real good.
And then you get to the playoffs, like, okay, yeah,
this is kind of fool me once, fool me twice.
Of course, it's a big part of it.
And he's seen enough of Edmonton and knows the team well enough
to have questions, even though they've been to back-to-back finals.
And, right, like,
we're talking like the others are crap again
and it's like, well, they,
back to back finals.
Yeah.
No.
They're a good team and they're a contender.
They're not favored to win the division.
And it's the most turnover he's seen year over year probably in a while.
The thing that they might be able to trump it is that,
yes, the cap is going up and that's going to be more money for you.
But also this cap.
Pinch the jail that we're in.
It's going to, and rather than go and sign guys right now,
we're going to use the Savoys and the
howards and the guys that aren't make
we're going to keep our powder dry
so that as we go up in year two, year three,
as we move forward here.
If you're here,
we can then go to market or we can then get guys.
I still think that every other organization
in the league is going to say that.
Oh, but I'm just saying.
I know, I know.
But that's why I keep going back to it.
It's a cheap,
it's not a cheap shot.
Edmonton is not New York City or L.
or Vegas or Florida or even fricking Nashville.
The last time they won the division was 86, 87.
They've not won the division of the regular season in Connors lifetime.
Isn't that wild?
Who cares?
They're a good team.
And they were very good the last two playoffs.
But you have replaced steely playoff veterans with wide-eyed rookies that haven't played
Lally.
You're being chintz-wow.
No, I'm not.
Yeah, but you were shit-talking to.
Deely
Oh,
like six months ago.
No,
we hate Corey Perry.
We can all acknowledge he played one.
We can all acknowledge Corey Perry
helping the playoffs as crazy as that was.
But you're shit talking to these guys.
You're shit talking.
Corey Perry in your top line.
That was wrong in hindsight.
So we'll take the other.
So is there a chance you could be wrong that maybe?
I think some of those young guys that haven't played in the league at all
that they're putting into really big roles could be fine.
But there's no chance all of those things work.
I'm sorry.
And like you probably need a lot of those.
I think you're just chintz on the things that don't matter.
Like who's playing with McDavid?
I coward apparently.
You know what it is?
So what?
So is Hyman.
How many guys does McDavid need?
Yeah.
Can you skate?
Yeah.
Can you go to the net?
Do you know, do you have a stick?
Can you grip it?
Just hold of that.
Like,
like,
Chase on got 20 there.
Like,
come on.
Yeah.
It's just if you're going to commit any term to Edmonton,
what's coming?
What it does, they haven't been able to have infregency.
I still think it's only dusters that get free.
It's, it's that and do I want to stay in Edmonton?
And there's a few things that really matter now.
The start to their season, I think matters, how the goalie plays.
Especially.
Any injuries?
I think like any banana, like you think about what if, what if quitting byfield
doesn't whiff on a puck this time around and they lose in round one?
Or what if McDavid gets hurt?
Hey, Evan Bouchard getting hurt?
It's like, yeah, they've been, are they're just going to go to their third straight
Cup final. People make it sound easy.
A lot of shit has to go right for that to happen.
I wonder, though, if he would have any different opinion.
Losing round one or not?
What's he going to be saying right now?
It's funny.
I'm in Edmonton and I'm going to win.
Do you know what I mean? The situation for McDavid's not, he knows what he's doing.
We're all sitting here.
Oh, what if he?
Like, he knows.
He's probably, there's a very good chance.
He's going to go to free agency.
The question becomes, what does the GM do?
If it's December 1 and you're second in the Pacific and you're Stan Bowman,
are you taking calls on the best player?
Or are you walking them right?
Like, you can't win in that spot?
Do you think that Connor McDavid winning in Edmonton makes him want to stay in
Edmonton more or less?
If he won this year, it might even be quicker.
It's hard to say.
Exactly.
I did my duty to this city.
Goodbye.
Thank you.
But the December 1 question is wild because, like,
Imagine the media circus if it was out there that Connor might not resign and he's being shopped.
Well,
it has to be one of those darkenite,
Wayne Gretzky moves that no one saw coming like the Miko Ranton.
And like if that ever,
like it would be a bleeping circus every single day he showed up to work.
I just can't imagine.
You think of Rasmus is a distraction.
Maybe I can,
maybe I'll be proven wrong.
I just can't imagine that you would ever,
ever get there.
No,
we are going to get to summer and we'll sign.
him. We are not going to be the team that traded Gretzky and
McDavid. Like we're not doing it. You're the team that had Gretzky and
McDavid as well. So yeah. And Messiae. I just don't
imagine. You would just have faith that something in the end
his allegiance to your brand would come through. But I wonder
The loyalists believe that. Yeah. Like I wonder.
I haven't lived in Edmonton, don't get it. There was that different tone this
year. A year ago it was again, game seven. But the
tears and the heartbreak and that this year it felt much more cold from
anger yeah yeah a lot a year one was just devastation and trauma
your two is anger is there any part of that say that again he didn't make a
difference in those last games he didn't make a difference in game seven and
it's it's not whenever you criticize the best player in the world it sounds
like a cheap shot it is but he didn't if he had a hat check at game seven they win
yeah we got I'm not you don't blame it yeah
fair like the best checking center on earth he sees in the final two years in a row that's
tough but look if you're the best play in the world you got to find a way to be better than barcobs
checking but yeah he's still dragging you know aside from leon and bouchard like who is a stand
out there it's just a bunch of shit thrown at the wall at combs another year older he wasn't great
when he got back from injury i don't know he's not telling us what he's doing and he's being
very careful with his words and if you're an oil oiler's loyalist you can read in that he
wants to stay and if you're a leaf's hardo that has been counting down the days for the last three
seasons he's going to be a leaf you can spin it that he's come to toronto i would say this if i was his
PR person communications agent he's doing exactly what i'd say he should do yeah i don't think i don't
i'm committed to winning in edmonton i don't buy the loyalist bullshit because if he was if if you are
an or we don't have the harp on this if he wanted to sign at edmonton he'd sign don't tell me that he's
waiting for more money he gets all
He can get all of it.
He can ask for 20 million dollars.
I think the cap's going to be $150 million next year, Dean.
Give me the max.
Yeah.
It said it like 104, 105, like it's 20 and change.
If you want it, they cut it tomorrow.
They have no other choice.
The plateaus over the next like three years.
94 and a half, 104 and then 114, something like that.
Yeah.
Well, then nine to half to 10 years.
If it's three million more and you can only get 20% of the $3 million, the $500,000
isn't going to be the...
No, it's not that.
It's like from...
I know.
Yeah.
But that's the point.
When it goes from 104 to 114 to 120, whatever,
maybe I'll sign a two year deal.
Yeah.
On the 104 and jump back in.
Then I'll take 30.
Why has he done it?
Then I'll,
well,
that's,
that's the question.
That's the,
but I do think he signs.
I think it's a short term deal.
Yeah.
I wouldn't marry the pipeline there.
And I'd let the,
I'm fine with letting them sweat a little bit.
It is interesting, though,
it's all kind of his for what?
I don't understand your take on.
If he loves it and wants to be in Edmonton, what are you?
Fair.
Like, I don't know if he does.
Like, I do think that there is a.
So it's an internal turmoil.
And if you're Connor, the best choice for you, if you get outside of the box and you can do whatever you want, I don't know you personally.
It's to get the hell out of there.
I guess.
I don't know that it's turmoil.
It's turmoil.
You're going, I have a loyalty to this team.
They've been good to me.
I get that part.
I don't hate playing at Edmonton.
I like my teammates.
We've had a chance to win.
in two Stanley Cups.
This is.
That's hard to do.
But I can make any money I want and I don't have to live in Edmonton.
And it might have a better chance at winning a cup.
With a better roster and better goalies.
I think the loyalty thing, it runs so far.
And I think he's probably hit it.
Yes.
What are, okay, I like, a decade.
I'm here.
And I'm, you know, I'm, I'm your guy.
But what are we doing with our golden?
What are we doing in the, yeah, whether I're doing with our travel?
I can go to the East Coast and have an hour flight for 90% of the year.
You were my junior coach and you were my agent and we're all buddies.
But you know what I want more than anything in the world and it's to win a cup.
And are we closer?
I just, I need you to show me a little bit here.
And I think he's making them work for it.
And I don't think that's a bad thing.
I think the biggest challenge for loyalty for him isn't the team, isn't the coach,
isn't the GM, isn't the owner.
It's his best pal Leon.
that's going to be his toughest divorce if he leaves.
And I'm sure there'll be pals and all that.
But like, that's his hardest.
To walk in and go get me the out of here.
No, it certainly is.
Superstars ask you traded, they get moved.
Any pro sport.
With the cap going up, that money he's making is actually quite affordable.
A lot of teams could probably fit that in.
I hope it works out for the, uh, your old pal tree.
Everyone, everyone involved.
Just for whoever, yeah.
