Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Evan Bouchard’s Giveaway Was BRUTAL — Panic Time In Edmonton?? Ft. TSN's Noodles | BB Clips
Episode Date: December 11, 2025Boomer, Pinder & Rhett are joined by TSN’s Noodles as they dive into Evan Bouchard’s blunders in the loss to Buffalo. He managed to pick up an assist, but his game was defined by a couple of b...rutal mistakes — including a horrible giveaway behind the Oilers’ net that handed Tage Thompson a point-blank goal. The guys break down what’s going wrong, why these errors keep happening, and ask the big question: when is it panic time in Edmonton?VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/ZgNorWlDTdE#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #edmontonoilers #edmonton #oilersnation CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Speaking of last night, can we do the...
We have a little thing that we call it's Warner's Whiteboard.
And every once in a while there will be a play or a highlight that, I mean, Ryan and I, we haven't played.
So many people watching, we haven't played.
You just want to try and get inside the brains of the players and what they might think.
Give me the boot card clip.
So let's take a look.
Who?
The Warner Whiteboard Corner.
So there it is.
And this is last night, the game you speak of, the Edmonton Buffalo.
game.
This is, I don't know what we got here.
It's not noodles as whiteboard.
Just let the Redster work here.
Let's do it one more time, Jack,
just because I want to make sure I've got all the details in place, okay?
And there are replays.
Stop.
Yeah.
Oh, no.
Yeah.
So there is a four checker, I believe it, is that talk.
I'm going to tell you what he's thinking.
He's thinking.
And it's Thompson, two eight feet players, but that Thompson's got like a 12-foot stick.
And I think Bouchard is going, oh, Tuck's coming this way.
I'll take a step out and then goes, whoops, I'm going to walk into an eight foot guy.
And then goes, I'm just going to bumble this away.
And Thompson goes, I'll take this and fire it in the net after a disallowed goal.
Keep in mind, they had just disallowed.
That's why Thompson points to it.
They had just disallowed a Thompson goal that went off a tuck's hand.
I think Bouchard's thinking, do, do, do, do, do, do, do.
Oh, Skinner probably should have that, though.
I mean, why are you doing?
That's what they had a goal.
I was going to finish off with say,
then Bush thought,
what the fuck you doing?
Let's look at this guy.
Oh,
yeah,
don't vote it.
Get at it.
Love that.
That we need a freeze frame on that great grinder.
But yes.
So this is in regulation.
That's,
uh,
well,
the OT one is might be more egregious.
Like this is egregious.
Yeah.
So this is the regulation.
But this is this guy in his own end.
He's terrible.
This is overtime.
McDavid scores with a second.
You go back farther on.
this play, Jack, where they win the draw
and it goes to Bouchard, and he doesn't do anything with it. He loses
it on the wall. Yeah. So, sorry,
this is as far back as we have on this clip. Okay. So three on three,
McDavid is on the ice along with Bouchard, and you'll
see them kind of converge here as the play.
I don't think McDavid should go there. So,
oh, I was just going to say, regardless of,
because there's more than one mistake on, and that usually what happens.
But three on three hockey has gotten so boring.
Why?
Well, this is my guy.
That's your guy.
That's your guy.
Just stand beside them and don't get beat by your guy and everything's fine.
All three go to the puck.
Look at the Oilers.
I said to Ryan,
I said to Ryan before the show, I said, it's probably more McDavid,
but it's more fun to blame Bush.
It's all three of them.
And then here's the other thing, too.
And in defense of Stuart Skinner, but not in that in defense, they had back-to-back
overtime wins with Jack Roslovick a couple weeks ago.
And prior to those goals that he scored, Stuart Skinner had made a big save.
So we're not talking about this.
If he comes across, pushes out and, you know, seals the ice, right?
He should stop that.
I was going to say, it's not like it's a rocket coming from.
And he just kind of, yeah.
This is Skinner.
There's all four guys on the ice, including the goalie, are culpable on the play.
But I think, and maybe this is my theory because I was watching it,
Edmonton was a dog for two periods.
They had a couple good looks, and Lion came in and, you know, made some good saves.
And, you know, they were zipping it around in the power play, couldn't convert.
But then the third period, Evanton wakes up and pushes.
McDavid scores with what?
1.4, whatever it was, one second left, okay?
I think in their mind they got to the bench is like, we're winning.
It's just, we're winning and that's it.
Like Buffalo's going nuts.
Whatever we do out there, doesn't matter.
We're just going to get the puck and go down and score.
And to me, that is where, you know, I look at it, like, I get it.
It's a, where was it?
It's Wednesday.
So Tuesday night in December.
But like the attention to detail in all the games that I'm one,
watching. I see. I was talking to coaches yesterday and they're like, it's hard to keep these guys
in it every night because they're like the schedule, the injuries, that all the practice time.
I talked to Sheldon Keith yesterday. He was saying that they'd had one practice. They had 11 games
in 19 nights and they had one practice, which was 32 minutes two days ago. And he said,
other than that, it was three weeks without one practice. Like he said, you're just, you're trying to
survive with these guys. Now, I'm not
absolving Edmonton for that. What I'm saying
is the product of the NHL
is hamaging
for me because this condensed
schedule, you're seeing some really
crappy plays out there. Some really
like weird, uncharacteristic
brain dead place.
Monday was like that here. And if there were
two bottom teams, but it was so sloppy.
Well, yeah, in that game,
same thing. You're
you're trying to, I feel
like, and I did the Ottawa game last
night. Now Ottawa ends up losing in regulation. But that that game felt like if you would have said
that both coaches at the start of the game would have gone and shook hands and said, let's get a tie
and go for it in overtime. They would have taken it because Ottawa had lost three in a row at
home and New Jersey had lost five in a row. So you're sitting there going, we'll take a point.
You can see now, I'm watching teams. Get me to overtime. Get us a point. And then we'll go
it and overtime type of thing.
And it's,
the product suffers kind of within it.
That's,
and,
you know,
same thing with Ottawa last night.
A couple of brain dead plays.
And that's in regulation.
They leave two points on,
on home ice.
So it's throughout the league.
So the product suffers,
because it's not great hockey,
because your energy levels are low and you're not good in practice time.
Yeah.
But it keeps everything tight because the standings are stupid.
You've never seen this time.
I've never seen it this tight this far along.
I'm sure.
Tinder,
do you have analytics to suggest this is probably the closest year or anything?
No,
but it just feels that way.
Honestly,
we looked the other day and the difference between being first in the Atlantic
and being out of the playoffs was one or two points.
Yeah,
like we have to almost catch ourselves.
Like,
look at these guys.
They're second from the bottom.
But they're three points out of a wild card.
It's,
you know,
right now,
the only thing,
and I keep saying it,
this might be one of these just weird years
where it's like going to be a weird year.
year things happening i mean guys barbecue injuries wall out of glass like you've just the weirdest
type of stuff happening and i'd love to know the real stories behind them not the ones that just
go out to the you know to the to the media and the fans but it's just like it is some weird
it's a weird year and four five losses in a row or five wins in a row puts you yeah in that in that
mix. Home ice versus draft lottery. Like, it's crazy. Unless you're
Colorado. That's it. Yeah. I mean, it looks like Colorado and Dallas and then a huge
clump and then it's like Vancouver National Calgary at the bottom. But even Calvary's only
what, three out? Like it's insane. We had a barbecue accident in Florida before.
Barbecue accident? Team mate. Mark Fitzpatrick. Didn't you play with Fitsy?
I did play with Fitsy. I beat him in tennis one time before camp and he drove us back away from
tennis and he held his racket.
to the side of his safety
did not want to look at me.
He's got strings you can see through.
He was driving like then.
I think Fitzhurtz was dancing
on the barbecue this time when things
here. So
just to get back to Abitin to real quick
because you noted it. Like Leon wins the opening
face off of overtime. The building and momentum
is entirely in Emmett's court. So gross.
He pulls it back clean.
And Bouchard, basically, all he has
to do is win, not even a 50-fifist.
It's like an 80-20 puck. He doesn't. And then away they go, Buffalo has possession.
Yeah. Like we talked two weeks ago and I get it. I understand there's a huge metal fatigue when
you played as much hockey and as deep into the season as they have. But like when should you
be worried if you're the Oilers? Only two teams have fewer regulation wins. And you're not going to
get three on three and shootouts in the playoffs if you get there. They probably get there. But like,
what's the concern level? Do they have to address goaltending? Are we just waiting for everything to
settle? No, I think there's, you have to have concerns.
I think they're a team.
You're right.
They're in a playoff spot.
I think they're just kind of meddling along and doing their thing.
But I do think if the team is serious about trying to get back to the finals again, that roster isn't complete.
That's the way I would say.
And, you know, a nip and tuck.
I thought the Roslavik signing has been good.
You know, the injury, it sucks for him.
Savoy Kid is a nice player.
you know, I think I read an athletic article the other day because I don't get to watch a lot of minor league hockey or prospects, right?
So they had Edmonton's prospects that it sounds like Bowman's done a pretty good job trying to restock the shelves, put it that way, in the minors and in their system.
But you're talking about, I think the goaltending position is not going away.
It's always going to be a hot button top.
Stuart Skinner could have, he had a shutout the other day.
He has to win the cup.
He has to win the cup for them to stop talking about it.
He's been close twice.
But what happens is it's the perception.
Stuart Skinner can win five in a row and then he loses one bad one and gets pulled.
And people go, there you go.
They need a goaltender.
And fair or unfair, I think we've talked about this.
I think they might look at a lateral move.
But it's more about Calvin Pickard's spot, unfortunately, older.
You know, I like Connor Ingram.
He's trying to get his game in order in the H.L. level.
I think he's a talented goaltender.
Lots of rumblings from the insiders around potentially Tristan Jari.
I think what they're trying to do is bring in another goaltender to have a tandem
instead of just Stuart Skinner and Calvin Pickard.
I think it's Skinner and and Player X, whether that's UC Soros,
which I don't know if they have the currency or they get that contract,
all of that. We've talked about it.
But I do believe that we will have this conversation,
whether it's sooner than later,
that tandem as it exists today will not be there probably after the playoffs.
Well, they said that after the playoffs last year.
You know, it'll be some changes in the forward rank,
similar decor and there'll be some changes in net.
There hasn't been yet.
I mean, adding a guy to your HL roster that's had lots of issues
being on the ice and available is not fixing your problem.
No, but I also think,
it out, Brett, before we get to you. I also think that they think they're a good enough team to
just kind of meddle along and work out their issues during the season.
Florida last year. Yeah, and exactly. And allow some of these young guys to push through, you know,
and which ones, I don't know. But Savoy's been a nice addition for them. You know, they got that
Noah Philp who's injured, you know, that Tomicester, 29. It's not like getting Kach or Barkov back.
No, no, but I mean.
Ike Howard's having a good run there, but it's his first year pro.
Like I think in the spring.
I still think they're going to make a trade up front.
And I think a Jakey, sorry, a healthy Jake Wollman helps push one of those right shot, the Regula or Emerson either out of down or out of the line.
So is Darnell nurse benefiting by Bouchard being so shitty?
Because I don't trust their defense at all.
No one talks about nurse.
Is he playing okay?
because Bouchard to me is captivating in my positive spin on things where it's like he's still,
if I looked at de-scoring, probably quite high.
Yeah.
But my God, the mistakes he makes cost you wins.
Glaring, glaring.
But it also, the plays he makes.
So if you go back to the game tying goal with McDavid, one second left,
watch R&H pass it back to the point.
point. Every right shot defenseman takes a one-timer into traffic down. What does he do?
draws everyone towards and puts it back down to RNH so RNH has a clean lane to the net.
What he does, I have no problem. He's elite from this side of the red line.
Yeah, elite. One of the actual best, you know, if you look statistically, there's McCar and him type of thing.
But from here back, that's where there's a strategy.
Go ahead.
Well, because the stats say that.
My question to you, it goes a little bit deeper.
Are there other guys capable of doing that with the forward group that the Oilers have?
So, and even if they aren't 100% of what Bouchard is in the offensive side of the ice,
are they 80% and are they 50% better defense?
Like I'm trying to figure out the total value of what you're getting from Bouchard.
Right?
Like, because you're not going from this guy's a 100% player or a hundred point player in the offensive side of the ice.
And he's a minus 20.
So you end up at eight, however they want to score the system.
Because you're not going from 100 to zero offensively when you're playing with McDavid and tricyle and our RNA.
And if I may, just to give context here, you can go look at Bouchard's numbers when those guys are off the ice.
And he's still heavily out chances outscorers.
shoots the competition. And that's what makes judging him so difficult because he is this elite
offensive creator. And the body language and the timing and the highlight real in his own zone is
such a disaster. Like emotionally he might be worse than he actually is.
Last that last game. What you look at it is he makes plays. Like the whole game now is getting
the forwards want the puck. He he makes good passes and he can get out. The problem is
here's a guy who played 28 minutes.
in that 28 minutes, he's going to make mistakes.
I think the biggest challenge is it's not the mistakes.
It's the level of the mistakes.
And I played with players.
I played with a guy named Jason Ruffin Jr.
And I love Jason.
But people thought he wasn't trying.
He was just so naturally talented,
but he was big and strong and he worked hard.
But the body language is like just calm, cool,
and nothing fazed him.
And you often wonder, like,
is that just how they are?
Or like I think Evanton, the fans are hot today, I'm sure.
But you have to understand like you're going to have to live with that.
That's just no player is perfect.
You hope that he doesn't make those glaring airs when it matters most.
I think in the playoffs he's been pretty good.
You know, if you look at it, again, statistically,
that's the biggest challenge pender.
This is where the analytics and the eyesight people go crazy.
Because it's like we're all watching the same thing.
and then you look at the numbers and, you know, what he's able to do offensively and
even exit the zone.
If you look at the way he's able to help them exit the zone, the problem is, is you get
plays like that are casual and lazy and too many of them.
Well, and it's glaring.
And you know what?
It's probably more like we were talking about this year.
It's a weird year.
You're seeing more glaring airs from from players that you probably wouldn't expect that.
from and that's throughout the league but
Bouchard is an interest. He might be the
most fascinating case in the NFL.
