Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Flames Fall 8-2 in LA + Ducks Game Day | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: March 21, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder Tuesday March 21st, 2023 - Flames get pounded 8-2 in LA- Flames Ducks Game Day Show - The Pinder Repo...rt for Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hi, buddies. Welcome to the, welcome to the show, the program, the podcast, this part of your day. How are we? It's, uh, I'm off-setter. Hey, can we, uh, can we get somebody to, uh, oh, wait, it's, uh, I'm all solo in here today, buddy. I'm all lonely. I got no buddies around. Is it quiet? You must love it. It'd be nice and quiet. You can have a nap. It's pretty quiet. Yeah.
Yeah, it's pretty quiet.
The place downstairs, it's there humming right along.
Lots of phone ringing and there's lots going on downstairs.
Not so much up here.
Not so much up here.
Very quiet.
Well, you were up late last night.
You need quiet.
You probably go there for your little siesta.
Should I fix this shot?
I've got too much headroom.
Are you really that work?
Is the leg?
Really that worried about it?
Are you like, do you think people are going to be that's,
they've tuned in?
to make sure that your head is perfectly positioned there we go we could use that one
did you do that Alex or did I do that look at that goodness gracious oh I got shit I haven't
run there's nobody here to do it anyway I was gonna say I didn't start recording the audio
yet should I record the audio I've no idea that sounds very technical
for is it did you have to do the two buttons at once that's a lot to ask yeah the
red button and the play button the record both at once
to do buddy no coordination um but there you see in the in the left side there's uh there's no ryan
pender today he is off for the week he is off to uh to the club in i believe it's palm springs
i sure hope this is okay because that would suck uh i know i know a pharmacist who got him the
stuff that he needed so i think he'll be okay yeah i think there's uh some relief on the way
I'm just looking here on the old YouTube.
Hello, my buddies from Bulgaria.
How about that?
Hey?
Never been there.
Never been there.
What happens in Bulgaria?
Like, what goes on in Bulgaria?
Do they have a certain...
Is there a food from Bulgaria that we should be trying?
We love food.
Your glasses are all messed up, man.
Dude, your glasses are all...
Pull yourself.
together just because you're in there all alone you don't have to look like is that just a shine
no i had to put my reading glasses over the sunglasses you can't read hello my buddies i'm
bulgaria i do not know what to do with flaming sea jersey now i will give jersey to old lady
she will make nice red socks for poor kids that's someone either someone's having some fun
or they uh they don't know what to do i got to change the
thing. So you were up last night, did you say?
I was up. Pinder told me about that stupid show that was shot out in Calgary.
So he started watching it.
And I'm an old man.
It's very popular.
It was fine.
It was, I watched it.
I watched it in two days.
So, but I also skipped forward a lot.
So anyway, apparently, then I, when I finished that, the game was on.
so I turned it on and watched the disaster unfold.
So just for two periods.
Yeah.
It was, uh, it was hard to watch.
I guess depending on.
Yeah.
I got to say this, though.
That LA team is awesome.
They play old school, fast, lanes.
They layer everything.
They support, support, support offensively.
They support back defensively.
that team last night was dialed in.
You do not want to play the Kings right now.
Pinder asked on the,
on the on afterburner last night,
kind of the buy it or sell it,
is that the team you would fear the most
in the Pacific division right now?
Obviously you've got Vegas,
but it's recency bias, right?
Because we just saw Vegas and we'll see them again this week.
But this is this.
It's a 10-game point streak?
Like what?
They're flying right now.
Even better at home.
I've been talking with the goaltending.
If you're going to play like that, you're going to win despite some bad goaltending.
And I don't even think it's that bad.
Yeah, they came at the plane right.
Yeah, right from the start, they had their foot in the gas.
They were not going to be denied.
I don't think the flames have been handed a cushy schedule.
And I don't think they do themselves any favors.
And I'm not making excuses for the flames.
I would be hard.
to find a team on that list right there you're just showing that would have beat the kings last
night they they're they're they are fast everyone is flying and they're all going all the time it's not a
you know and like i said it's old school and i don't know why i feel like i'm i'm seeing something
that's i think i feel like i'm seeing something because i don't you don't see it with teams now you
got teams that stretch stretch right they get the pocket and their end you know
uh,
Anderson made that awesome pass for Richie to score that goal against Dallas.
Beauty, you know,
but Richie's stretching.
The Kings, to me, they didn't look like they stretched it out.
There were always a five foot pass.
There was always a five foot pass available when they were getting cut off.
They're coming with speed.
If they're getting cut off, it's a little dish and the next guy's flying.
And then the next guy is going and then the next guy's going.
It's, it was impressive hockey.
And, and they beat, how, however you want to do it, right?
If you want to highly skilled, Adrian Kempe, and you talk about the one stretch pass.
That was from Edler to Kempe for the breakaway goal.
Then the Rister passed Tanev and in.
They scored the beautiful goal in the power play just inside the post as Markstrom came across to his right.
Forechecking.
I mean, the forecheck got Zedorov into a mistake and they scored off of it.
They forechecked on Tanev, turned the puck over, scored a goal.
I mean, there you see it on on the screen.
It was shots were 39.
18 8 2 final and it almost wasn't that close the one goal that they scored made it 3 to 1
you thought okay well lot there's a second period I think it was 4 to 1 was it 4 to 1 yeah
Jesus cry yeah so that made it 4 to 1 either way they weren't they weren't they
weren't close last night that and I don't know if it's fatigue I said it to you yesterday
you were i worried about that game and not to that degree but i worried about it just because
even if all things are are equal flames going a two game road trip they come back for one they go
back on the road this is a very good team they very very good at home but they flexed hard and
not that you're ever going to come out and let's just take it easy we don't need to come out
tonight guys these guys are on a road trip let's just you're always going to try and come out
but it really felt like the kings were coming out ready to
to crush the flames early and often and they did and the flames had they just couldn't
there was nothing they could do there didn't look like the kings were too concerned at all about
what the flames wanted to do you know the typical playoff uh quote that you get after games
well we don't worry about the other team we go play our game that's what the kings did they
absolutely dictated play and i'm not even being hard on the flames i mean i guess you can flip it
and say well the flames sucked and they didn't show up i don't
don't think that was the case.
I think the Kings are ready to go and they snot-bubbled them.
They just absolutely rolled them.
And I don't think if those two teams play, again, I don't know that the Flames played their best game,
but the Kings didn't allow them to play any game.
And I don't think if you ran into that team in a playoff series, I don't know how you match
up because you don't have the speed that they have.
You're that, those forwards are going to forecheck.
the piss out of your defenseman and the same thing's going to happen and yeah there might have been a little fatigue and the travel's not good it had nothing to do with it it had everything to do with the kings being absolutely dialed in ready to go and they just cruised it's like you said it's it's it's not just that they had the speed but it's how they use it they were willing to work going to the dirty areas willing to forecheck go to the front of the net there was a lot to like i i i'm
I'm sure they're not always that lopsided,
but I get the feeling that that's,
I mean, look at the,
you see the record there,
41 wins, flames have 31.
This is a considerably better Kings team.
And I'm with you.
I look at it, it's like,
well, yeah,
if you want to play the Oilers in round one,
that'd be okay,
because I don't see the Oilers beating that team.
I think they're going to be a tough out.
The way they played,
that is, that is.
And they don't over rely.
I mean,
Doughty plays a ton.
But he loves,
He's always played lots and that's what he does.
So I'm not worried about him.
They don't over-rely on too many guys.
Everyone chips in.
That's, I like how that team's put together.
I like how they play.
I was just going to say,
last night they were without their leading scorer, Kevin Fiala.
He has 68 points in 66 games and he wasn't playing.
So they absorbed his loss fine.
But I'm with you.
I was watching Gabe Volardi.
It's like, this guy's shooting the puck.
all the time shooting it and hard gave valardi's got 23 goals and victor arvison's got 20 goals and
kempay's got 34 copatar 26 fiala 22 like yeah that's when you've got three lines of guys that can
score and check and come at you it's it gives you a little bit of envy we talked to pinter and i did
the afterburner last night and i said to us so how long was this because you remember they took
in byfield at number two there were some dark years there in l a how do you get to that point where
now you have some young guys coming through and some talent so how long if you subscribe to being
bad for a bit to get better how long does it take and it it really wasn't that bad pinder's point was
you have a couple hall of famers in that mix as well in dowdy and copatara to kind of carry some of that
load but it was a three years a three year span that they missed well so they missed for three years but they won
twice the previous six years right like i i try to remember over the last decade or so they've won a couple
they've missed the playoffs a couple times like it's a pretty nicely organized team and you got to remember
dowdy and pinder would have been critical of them i i think a lot of people wondered if dowdy would
be able to continue to play it at a pace like this right it like they were young when they
one and then they've kind of you felt like there was a bit of a dip i mean remember the year pinder
thought copatar was basically done like and we'll have to take chances and and have form some opinions
but these guys are having no issues keep it up with the kids right now like they're awesome
that was the year i'm just looking at it here now 2021 no you know what it's going back even further was
the 1617 season and and jopo-potar in 76 games had 12 goals and pinder declared him as as being
washed he came back to score 35 the next year and then 22 and then 21 and then you've got the
COVID years in there and already as I said he's back up to 26 goals um and Doughty is playing 26
minutes a night does he need to play 26 I don't know but Sean Dersie I know is one of
he's out right now but 26 17 average play
I think he likes playing lots of like I think that's how he likes to operate so it's working it's
absolutely working so what about beat up on the flames or is it really worth it like I don't
I don't think that is yeah we'll get into it I do want to we're here in the tower
Chrysor studios today tower Chrysler uh you know what they were first in retro this whole
barn burner thing they were first in search was the first guy to put his hand across the table
and shake it and say yeah we're we want to be a part of what we're doing so we certainly appreciate them
i got the uh nation jeep all cleaned up yesterday oh so pretty it's so pretty i got a little video i'll
show you later uh but they are of course uh consumer choice award winners calgary's favorite
kreiser dodge dealer tower kreiser dot com uh flames yes we can we can go out it any way you'd like sir
well here's how i'd like because i was watching it last night if you're a kid from l a
or Colorado or Seattle.
You're a kid from the Midwest.
You're a kid from Florida.
You know,
not even aligned with the team.
You're a kid.
How about a kid from Saskatoon?
You're a kid from Saskatoon.
Who's your favorite player on the Calgary Flames?
And would he be in your top 10 league, right?
Do you know what I'm getting at?
Like,
yeah,
there's no one to get.
We like our team and it's fine.
I'm,
there's no one on that squad that you get behind.
Well,
I mean,
it would have been,
there's not.
A year ago,
you had a year ago,
you had Goddrow,
yes,
and Chuck,
you had plenty.
Yes.
That's my point.
If you're going to watch the flames play last night in L.A.,
what's your draw?
You're a hockey fan.
Sure,
it's L.A.
It's a place to be seen.
But you're not going because there's a Calgary flame.
It's the flames.
There, there's no draw on that,
on the flames card.
that's dragging you down.
I got to go watch this.
I got to go watch the squad.
The draw in LA might have been Daryl Sutter actually just because he had success there.
But my point being,
if you're a kid from Saskatoon,
you're not waking up without heavy influence from a parent
and choosing a Calgary flame as your top,
as your favorite player in the league.
It's hard to look at this team right now.
And I'm just kind of,
we haven't danced around it.
We've talked about it.
there's just something and you you said it early i've given you credit already a number of times
by the 10 game mark you saw that there's something not right whether it's too many new faces or the
coaches wearing on them or guys making too much money or whatever the case is and i i said it last night i've
just it's like there's five guys at a time going over the boards skating a shift and then coming
back it doesn't feel like there's any chemistry or affection for one another and how do you tell
through a TV screen from afar, how can you tell? You can't, but I feel like you can. You're a long
ways away and you saw it early and it hasn't gotten better at when you you've been in locker
rooms your whole life. How would you describe what you see with this team? Because we see now they're
not going to be a playoff team in all likelihood. And there's so we had so many career years last
year and there's so many guys who were going to have almost career worsts this year. What is it just
chemistry what what do you chalk it up to it's chemistry it's expectations it's uh being you know
i i think tree was handed a bad card well with the way things played out i think that the godrow thing
was a personal perhaps political choice and i don't want to really get into it but i'm guessing
there was some of that of how life was being lived up in alberta um so you had to deal with that
You've got a guy like Kachuk that leaves and you had just won, they won the conference last year.
You're supposed to be lining up for numerous years of deep playoff runs.
I said it from the start.
I think the moves they made for the trade with Kachuk were excellent, but the signings were poor.
And people argued with me.
They're all, quadry, he's a proven winner.
And I said, yeah, he's also a proven guy.
that is move this they've had to move and oh he came to calgary for less money bullshit
somebody's showing over the contract offer where he was making a bunch more money and he
walked away from i i find it extremely hard to believe he's a veteran guy old guy i don't mind
how he plays but i don't think he's ever being a keep the glue together in the room kind
of guy i don't think he's a glue guy i think hubert o is a talented player
But I don't think Hubert O understood what playing in Calgary market would be like or playing for a coach like Sutter would be like.
And I think that they had free rain down there and life was pretty good.
You had a guy like Barkov that carried it.
Anyway, I didn't agree with the signings as much the trade and all that I could get behind.
But signing up.
The extensions.
The extensions.
I didn't agree with any of the extensions or the free agent signing because that crew,
had never played together you just committed all your money to pieces you didn't know if they fit
that you didn't know if they jived you didn't know if they got along you did and you can say
chemistry is nothing and i can say you're an idiot go go spend a year in a locker room and tell me
that chemistry doesn't matter it's it matters more than anything so i just was worried when
they signed those guys with the age they were without having being proven with a major lifestyle
maybe Colorado to Calgary isn't a major lifestyle change but I can tell you what Florida to Calgary
is a major effing lifestyle change right it's a big deal so and now now it's brings no joy to say
that I'm right because now they're screwed I think now what how do you get out of it is now
the issue they we've we've heard this team before say no no there's no issues in the room everything
everybody we love each other are great yeah but you don't make the playoffs and you don't try hard
and you don't care about each other it clearly because we see it over and over what is what are
they going to sell us at the end of the year wow is bad luck maybe maybe it was and winning changes
a lot and if marks from sharper for at the start of the year all that maybe the maybe the chemistry
builds better i don't see it i just don't see it i think once you've established that you play the
way they've played this year i think it's hard to change without and and i think the biggest thing
not the biggest i keep having thoughts but another thing to consider
what is l a done you know we're we're talking about great they are well they've brought all of those
guys all of them they brought along right arvids who they bring in arvetson fiala and uh danio was it is that
who it is then oh yeah don't know came in from montreal is uh as a free agent but yeah but other than
that what have they done they've drafted and brought kids along and made tough decisions
right like yeah we've not done that in calgary yeah i mean you've got you not alex edler and
Phoenix Copley isn't one of their guys, but you start to go up.
You know what I know what I'm talking about.
You know what you.
You know what exactly what are.
Ari.
I field.
Lizao Patar, Douty.
They were all brought along drafted there.
All of them.
So.
And you know what?
And a year ago, you kind of had that right.
Cause Godro.
Yes.
And Monahe.
We've talked about it.
I don't want to get too far away.
They loved each other.
All the table.
You can't control that, I guess.
And yeah, but.
But Monehaney, control, but Chalk, I think those guys actually truly cared for each other.
And the way you truly care for guys is you grow together.
You grow together.
You have to have some time spent together to create that chemistry.
And I don't think inserting, inserting 30-year-olds or 30-plus-year-olds with fat contracts is a, as a recipe.
for the judging or the chemistry that needs to take place if you're one piece away
and you've created a team that's growing and they're on the cusp and you need to
add a piece for a playoff run sure sell me on that but if you have to go outside
your organization to find your centerpieces I think you're screwed I think you've
and I think it was not to
his own doing but the buck stops at trillivings door and whether or not you the you saw the
you saw the goodro thing coming or you that's it's still your it's still yours to deal with the
kachuk thing sure and i think you did all right until you signed those guys because right now
if those if you hadn't brought in cadre and you'd have kept bon a hand and it's easy for me to say but
I said it at the time.
Keep them playing out.
Let it play out.
Keep the first round pick.
You'd have had that first round pick.
The G.
Erdano one.
I'll say again, there's another first round pick.
You would have traded Hubertoe for a first round pick, whether it's this year or next year.
It doesn't matter.
All of a sudden, instead of going into next year with a bunch of fat contracts and guys that don't perform well together, you would have a plethora of draft picks and a bill.
and cap room to manipulate as you needed.
Now you are hooped.
How are you moving forward other than riding it out with the group you got?
As an alumni, people are going to talk to you about this team.
I'm curious.
Have you had, what have you been here?
Are you getting intel from guys here, guys that played, guys around the team?
Are you hearing things about what's maybe.
happening. I'm not looking to throw anybody under the bus or share anything that you're not,
you don't want to share. But at this point, we're all hearing stuff. And I have people
from other markets. You know what's bad. The last time I remember is when and it was, it felt
like it was literally dark at the dome down in the underneath. It just felt like the,
they hadn't replaced fluorescent light bulbs. Like it was so dark and dingy. And it was when
they traded Yokinen and Prust that night to the Rangers. It was like,
Oh man, what is going on?
It was just such a miserable place.
It's kind of that same thing.
I have people, so hey, what's going on in Calgary?
And I got the same stuff when they signed the offer sheet to Ryan O'Reilly and that whole mess with, again, like, what's, what's going on in Calgary?
I'm getting that same thing because the word is out that not just are they probably missing the playoffs, but there's something not there's something up.
over at the dome in that locker room.
Yeah, I heard that a lot earlier.
The scary part for me now is that I don't hear from, I mean, it's two things.
I heard there was more issues than maybe we were led to believe early in the year.
So that was concerning, and it's kind of played out and proven itself that these people were on to something.
but now the concern not is the silence that I hear from people that were fans of the team
they don't give a shit they're not they're not usually I'd get hey have you watched what
do you think that's it's crickets it's crickets so clearly people are starting to go to get fed
up with it because it does feel the same and that's that's not a good thing for for anyone involved
we complain and take shots and this and that well we have to and we try to be really fair
and i think that we only talk poorly when we feel there's reasons to talk poorly and i i don't think
that we do it just for whatever the yeah it's not it's not it's not yeah it's not shocks and it's
not click bait but i think they're the the the when the team is
Is this?
Or when the fan basis is quiet about what's going on, that's the scariest.
Because it does no one any good for this team to be ignored.
The city needs, the city needs and deserves more than what they're getting.
I've said it before.
And it's, you know, I've often hear that the opposite of love is hate.
And it's it's a lot of times it's not the opposite is indifference and that's when you and I remember Ken King would say the same thing. So you can love us or hate us, but at least we're in your, we're in your consciousness and you're thinking about us and you care. It's when people are indifferent and it's me. That's when there's cause for concern. And I wonder if we're starting to get into that a little bit if we're not already.
Is anyone in an up? I know they're talking about this, the rink. And I this is, I mean, you.
You're bound to be negative or considered negative when the teams played this.
Well, yeah, and often ate two loss and a team that doesn't look like they're going to make the playoffs and with all the changes they had.
And, you know, the BS that comes out of the room, like it sounds like they're sniffing about the coach and this.
Anyway, it's, it's no, I've kind of lost my train of thought because there's so much crap going on.
But is anyone, is, is anyone talking about the rink?
I know they're talking about a new rink,
but as the fans talking about a new rink?
Yeah, and you know what?
I think on one hand, by design,
the people that are involved in those,
and I know Ryan Pike had something.
I think I saw the 24th,
there's going to be an update.
But I think fans and Calgarians are just so used to,
I say it's like Lucy pulling the football on Charlie Brown.
Fans have had the football pulled away so many times.
Tell me when you start digging a hole,
let me know. And I think that's where a lot of people are at. But in terms of the in terms of the team and hearing and I think that it's I think you've got a coach and GM. There's dysfunction there. And Frank Sarah Valley is he's talked about it for a while. And I think there's dysfunction between players inside the room. And you know there's heavy dysfunction between players towards the coach. The latest and I'll bring this in now. Elliot Friedman, our former friend,
Elliot Friedman was on the Jeff Merrick show today on the podcast and the topic of the flames came up.
And I'll read you the quote.
It's actually on our website flamesnation.ca.
Jeff Middleton wrote about it about an hour ago.
The quote from Elliot,
I've heard that Cadry has been very vocal about what he sees going on in Calgary and why the team isn't firing on all cylinders.
I think he's been very blunt about the communication between the players and the coach there.
I'm betting some of that frustration boiled over in that game Saturday night.
I'm curious to see where this is all going to go.
So of course,
Codry makes mistakes and it ended up in the back of their net,
and then it gets put on essentially the fourth line.
But this goes beyond that.
What I'm hearing is there are some players that are basically said,
I'm not coming back if this guy is behind the bench.
I'm fucking done.
And
Daryl has, like a lot of those coaches,
they have a shelf life.
I didn't think we'd get there this quickly.
They come in, they have success,
then they scrap and fight to find answers,
then you can't find them,
and then eventually the coach moves on.
But I don't think,
when you talked about what's next season going to be,
I think the next two months
are going to be incredible to watch.
It's not about free agency or anything like that because you say it.
The money's spent.
Who's going to be behind the bench?
Who's coaching it?
Who's running it?
Is there a general manager president?
I think everything is on the table right now.
The way I feel right now, I kind of feel like I'd be shocked if Daryl's back.
I don't know if he even wants to come back.
I'm the same way.
I'm not as surprised.
I told you that winning that Jack Adams was going to.
be a bad thing for son because he's going to overdo it next this year and he has but bringing in
those guys and cadre on one hand i'm like do your effing job and guess what you probably won't
find yourself on the fourth line when you get your clock cleaned on the face off by ben in a
must win game what are you there for so it's darrell's fault you can't win a face off
when we need you to?
Are you getting paid all that money?
That's supposed to be your kind of your thing, right?
Shut down other guys?
Hmm.
Easy to point the finger.
So I get stuck because I think Daryl has probably not done a very good job
of handling this squad.
But neither they've done a piss poor job of playing.
They've done a piss poor job of playing.
Mark's job is not new to Daryl Sutter's coaching.
And he was horseship for five months.
Cadre came out of the gates pretty good.
Well, he just won a cup and he got a fat new contract.
Life was looking okay.
And then the grind started.
Oh, I still got to work my ass off every game.
We're not in the Stanley Cup playoffs where the emotion just automatically shows up.
Huh.
Hubert O.
Probably a huge culture shock.
in more ways than one from florida sunshine anonymity going into calgary shitty rink it is compared to the
the rink they play out of in florida you can't drive a ferrari around in calgary in january i'm sorry
so shock to the system i don't even know if he's buried and had his kids but if he is that's a
huge cultural change for a family and darrell would have a squeak to the system and darrell would have
He's trying to squeeze the piss at them because that's Darrell's MO is top guys have to produce.
And they haven't.
And so you can say it's Darrell did a poor job of handling them, but it's it's both ways.
It cuts both ways.
If they do their job, Darrell doesn't have to try and stick handle with them.
He doesn't have to try to push the buttons.
And that was Darrell's thing always.
get the top guys to take over the room and run it themselves,
make the demands of their teammates,
and he can push the odd button here and there to keep the train moving along.
When he has to be in there on a daily basis to drag it out of you,
he's going to wear out real fast because he's not sugarcoating anything.
And it's probably how you get to this point,
when there is plenty of blame to go around.
So it's fine for Osam-Cadry to call it the coach
because I'm guessing life isn't a lot of fun, a lot of days.
On the road or at home when you're at the rink
and around that team is probably not a fun affair.
At the same time, like you said,
he had a great start to the season.
And I threw it, this guy could be the captain.
He doesn't even need to wear a letter.
This guy's going to be the leader of this team.
He's gone now 14 games without a goal.
And all we've seen, to your point, is miscues that he's making.
watched plays at the blue line they end up in a break away the other way in a goal or a turnover or a lost face off um and yeah the game on the weekend it was just egregious errors he does look like a guy who is frustrated to the point of just saying effort well he sees it one one a cup well this was part of the problem that had with the cadre signing anyway and everyone's like he's a team guy well i'm not convinced he's always been considered a team guy
But we'll leave that where it is.
Yeah.
One a cup.
Big contract.
Kick the feet up.
They said it was coming.
Everyone's like, no, that's not how he plays.
It's exactly how he's playing.
It's exactly how he's playing.
It was easy at the start because he had just won.
There was still a motion.
He was showing off to the new team.
The contracts were good.
It had a couple of months.
months or maybe and I was the same I'm like well I was wrong on this but now it's kicked in where oh my god there's
82 games I got to show up and play all 82 of these who that gets tough I just played into June this is not easy
right like so I don't think he's I don't think he's as focused on his teammates and what's best for
his team as he is for what's best for Nazim cadre and I don't know the guy and the people who's
You're a Puts, cheap shot artist from sitting on your chair in Buffalo.
Maybe.
Maybe I'm an idiot.
Flames have, I think it's five homegrown guys right now in Manjapani, Peltje,
it would be one of the lowest numbers for sure in the league.
For sure.
It's not how you run a team.
So, and this is a lot of because we'll have this discussion.
it's probably too soon to have it we should maybe just move on i was going to say if you're if you're
running this team you have very few options because of those contracts unless unless and i wonder if you
could go back in time for cadry and huberdow it's a lot of money to say no to and they're
probably going to still sign it but it's jesus i just i you couldn't have forecasted to have gone this
and i don't i don't know what you do because those are all they're signed an ink for
a long time but that that was the whole problem and that's my tree has to take some heat was that of course
they're going to sign the contract you're overpaying them you're off while i can't lose a guy again
like no well then manage it differently and trade the bastards or right like there are other ways other
teams have handled these issues and it hasn't blown up in their face and that's the shitty part
now is there has you can stand past
and play it out which is what you should have done last summer not signed these
long-term extensions because you didn't know what you were going to be playing
with these guys gonna fit in I don't know I will pay them anyway well now he
hooped and the problem I've said it a month ago I said that's fine standard
pat might be your only option because how are you gonna move Hubert O for anything
with that contract after this year right like are you in a oh we have to give
away a first to get rid of this guy situation or do you what is there a return i would think there's a
return there would be teams out there going we'll take them off your hands but they're not going
they're not going to do it right like it's even there i can't imagine it's 10 million for eight years i
i mean not only do you need to have and the i i yeah i can't imagine what kind of a deal it would be
because you would have to be at this point making it so enticing for them to take that contract they're eating money yes you'd be eating money you have no hope but to keep him and bring it back and hope that things are and so if you're doing that and they hate Sutter you can't bring Sutter back so something the what I'd really like to see is all of it change all of it because it's it's it's not
working it's not working and if if the coach the GM can't get along shame on them grow up
like what are we talking about like if you work with someone like pender we just get mad at pender
you we'd still get you figure your shit out right like to and again you're sitting here
buffalo i'm still sitting with them every day easy for you to say pal but my point is i know and maybe we're
and over critical, maybe it's not as strained
as people are making it out to be,
but if it is as strained as
people are making it out to be,
shame on the two of you.
That's childish behavior.
You're supposed to be trying to win a Stanley Cup.
And if you can't get past that,
then you don't deserve to work.
Right?
I have a feeling it is strange.
I think the whole thing.
Inside the locker room from certain
players to other players, the coach to GM,
the GM's a coach.
The GM doesn't have a contract.
I don't think that they're going to bring them back based on what we're seeing.
I don't even know if he would want to come back and same with the coach.
Is he having fun?
Does he want to do this?
It's a lot of money when you're an NHL coach.
There's only 32 of these jobs in the world.
He's got one of them.
But I wonder for Darrell, he's one.
Vikings not that far away.
Go and farm and have less stress in your life.
Be a grandfather.
I just don't know I don't know it the unfinished business thing about bringing a championship for the owners
Feels like it's an awfully long time away
Right that's you you come back this year out what you had last year. Yeah, right? Right? You're gonna run it back. I don't know big D I don't know buddy
So I think but I'd like it all I'd like it all to change I would like a I would like a
clean slate. I'm happy.
If you can, the problem is, I don't think it's
realistic because you can't even
restock the shelves with the guys you got.
Because the guy, well, you can do it.
The only way you're restocking shelves is
getting rid of the guys you want to keep.
That's the only way you're getting return
for guys, right? Like,
you can trade.
You wouldn't even do it. But the guys you want to trade, like
Codry, can you trade? Can you?
Well, if you can, trade him.
I don't know. I don't know if you can.
I don't know if you can.
You'd have to eat a bunch of money and what team's going to have room for them?
I don't know.
I don't know.
Any trade can be the answer is yes, but I don't see how it works where it makes any sense for the flames.
I think it makes perfect sense.
If you can trade any of those guys and you can.
So with Codry, if you had to eat two million bucks, it's worth moving on.
Give them away.
He was a free agent.
If it costs you $2 million for the rest of his contract, do it.
Do it right now.
Do it right now.
Same with Hubert.
It's a long time.
It is a long time.
But you have to have faith that you're going to operate your team correctly.
And yes, that money will hurt you because you won't be able to buy all the way to the cap and have full invest.
But you can manage it.
if you get the right people in place and you've got to have the kids come through and believe that they can contribute like most organizations do it's no longer the detroit red wing thing where you let them bake in the down in the miners for almost too long these kids are good now it's not
1999 it's not 2003 it's not 2013 it's 2023 it's 23 and 23 and these kids
when they show up can eff and play they're skilled they've been groomed they don't need
three four years of the minors some of them sure it could benefit that it's but if that's your
game plan with your high-end picks you're gonna lose them and it doesn't benefit them and you're
hurt your team because you don't have any of that youth contributing at a cheap cost
and that was the way it always was like you say and it was a kind of a hard and
fast rule. But to your point, today's athlete is different. Not every kid is going to need the same
trajectory, the same path. Some guys need two years, three years. Some guys are ready right away. Some
need longer than that. And we hear Daryl talk about it's done the right way. You play here,
then you go to the American League and then you do this. It's not always the case. It's not always the
hard and fast rule that that has to play that way. I don't know what we can we can we, we
use it talk about it when we got some doubt down but there's all kinds of stuff that darrell has
philosophies on and it's been true up until now he's been around the game a long time and those
things were tried and true and did have successful or have success rates that proved they were
the right way to do things it's everything's different the world is different what retro a year ago
we were still sitting here and talking about how
what a difference he had made for this team.
Eric Goodbranson is making $4 million a year
because of what he was able to do with Darrell last year.
Johnny Goddrow, how many of those guys had great season?
Now it's not all on Sutter's back,
but we weren't sitting here saying that Daryl Sutter was out of touch
and out of step with how coaching is being done today.
That was a year ago.
And you're right.
And the difference is his player.
went and played to the expectation they were supposed to right you they performed to expectation
these guys have quit is such a harsh word and it sounds but they have not put in full effort
this season and how many times have how many how many how many times like pinder has
taken runs at Troy Brower a million times who's the other guy out of vet
Vegas we signed.
Neil?
James Neal.
The real deal.
Don't bring in guys that are building retirement homes.
I did it.
I was horseshit.
I started thinking, I'm going to retire in Calgary.
This would be great.
How did my career go after I decided that?
Out of the game.
See you, bud.
That's what happens.
Especially when you get guys like,
Dowdy and Copatar in LA.
They never want to leave.
Marchand and Bergeron in Boston.
That's different.
They've created careers and lives there forever.
Their whole careers have been there.
They're going to have retirement homes in Boston.
You don't airlift the guy from Florida.
Plop him into Calgary and think that he's going to go to the rafters
and you're going to live there forever and be happy.
to do it it it doesn't work there's too many examples of bringing in late stage guys with long-term
contracts for lots of money and it's no good and and we don't know sorry go ahead no go ahead
i was going to say we don't know what offers were on the table for these guys on july first
but knowing what we know if it wasn't the most money available it was near the top that the flames
just you spend to get these guys blake coleman took the most money to come to calgary relid to believe
same with marxstrom same with tannive same with uh caudry i will it's not can i interrupt you can i
interfj there's there's the one spot i think it's okay in net if you can go get the best goaltender
and you don't have one that's fine because goaltending is goaltending and you have to have it you have to have
i'm okay with going and signing markstrom and he's had a shitty year but that move
goaltending is an exception if you can get the best goaltender or a top five goaltender i think you
all day every day try and do that but other than that no thanks
I don't need a 31 year old defenseman.
Who's the guy that went to,
uh,
from Dallas,
Klingberg.
Yeah.
Like you're
Yeah.
Dummy.
You should have taken the money in Dallas, right?
Like you can't go.
He didn't cite a long term in Anaheim,
but my point is you can't airlift guys that have had great careers in certain
cities and say,
well,
come here and feel the same passion and love for our city and have,
you know, do it again at the age of 30, 31.
It is a game day once again.
Retro they're in Anaheim to take on the Ducks tonight.
And then you go back a couple weeks, that Ducks game at the dome after you'd beaten Dallas
and you beat Minnesota, you came home and you said, win five in a row.
Get the momentum that you've not had yet this season.
And yeah, you won four or five or three or four, whatever.
But that game against the Ducks, it took so much momentum away from them.
And I just don't think they've, I haven't recovered.
I haven't looked at their, at their potential to be a playoff team since.
I just think that was such a kick in the, right in the pills that I, I don't think they
recover from it.
And then you see how they play last.
They're exactly what that game showed.
They're exactly what that Anaheim game shows.
Sorry for walking either, but that's, they aren't good enough.
They don't care enough either.
I'm not critical of their game last night because I think L.A. is that good and they were that dialed in.
And to me, that just showed what, again, that's just another example of what Calgary is.
They're a middling team.
They're a group of guys.
They are not the L.A. kings trying to do something.
They aren't.
That team, I'm sorry.
That team at the Saddle Dome, they're a group of guys.
or if it happened oh okay this is good but they aren't a group of the guys trying to accomplish something no way they don't have a common goal they don't have they're not there's not a chain or a rope that they've all grabbed onto and they're trying to haul in the same direction that's that's not the team that's they aren't all invested they mean what's the record you say no 500 and you have a winnipeg is absolutely crap themselves
and you've done nothing to overtake them.
And you can look at it and so it's two points, four points.
Yes.
But you need to win games and hope they continue to lose.
And you can't put back to back wins together when you need it the most.
It just becomes harder and harder to fathom that this,
then this can be a thing.
So it's the ducks tonight.
What are the ducks?
points in four of six nine of 12 they beat the flames going back a couple weeks it almost it
doesn't matter you don't trust you don't trust that they're going to beat the ducks do you do you
trust like are you going in all this is they're four points back they're right there they're going to
show up they're going to lay us they're going to s bomb the ducks is that the vibe you pick up i
i sure don't they might win but it's a coin flip it's an absolute coin flip and it you can't base a decision
on how they're going to perform on any indicators because you have no clue because they don't know what they're trying to accomplish i truly believe
a third of that team is a bunch of kids that don't know what the hell is going on and which is sad because they're
being taught by guys the wrong stuff so you got a third of that team that's shit scared of darrell and just
kind of happy to be in the n hl you got a third of that team that that
Anderson and I think backland.
I think there's a third of that.
I think Markstrom even.
They get the benefit of my doubt.
I think they are trying to do the right thing.
And I think you got a third of that team that has vacations planned.
And they're ready for whatever it is, April 14th through whatever that day.
I think they've got as soon as the eliminated sign goes beside the flames emblem on the standings, book.
buck flight
and i'll tell you what those
what would the guys that do care
what would rub them more the wrong way
than guys in the room that are that way
you got so that are still doing things
the way you should eat and right and training and trying to come to the
rink and be prepared and then you see other guys
across the room that are just don't give a shit
or at least you feel like they don't give a shit
it's not ideal but no
It's terrible.
Personal injury.
Our feelings are hurt.
They've hurt our feelings.
Yes.
Our feelings are.
I don't know if Peter Klein and McLeod law can help with that.
But we're hurting.
We have a lot of hurt.
But in all seriousness, they are the best of what they do, specifically for Peter
Klein, we're talking about personal injury and personal injury lawyers.
They will take all the stress away.
You've got enough to deal with.
You've got your own things.
Let them handle your legal.
your insurance, your medical claims, you focus on your recovery, and they will take care of the rest.
Call Peter Klein 403, 254, 3664, or at the website.
You see it there.
Send an email, P.Kline, so P-C-L-I-N-E at MacLeoddashlaw.com.
The injury report, and in addition to our savage injuries, the ducks, that's the other thing.
Plames really have had no injuries.
No injuries.
they have been healthy
anyway
the injury report on the duck side
they have
John Moore came in
he's missed the entire season
he's concussed
Jamie Drysdale
the young exciting defenseman
he's missed 62 games
he's got the shoulder injury
Adam Henrique
veteran guy he's been out for 12
Anthony Stelar is one of their goaltenders
18 games and Erho
Vakoninan I think I got all the
the nuns in there
he's missed 20 games
game so they have dealt with with their fair share of injuries and they're an interesting case we'll
probably talk about them a little bit more tomorrow i suppose if if they win the baudard sweepstakes
what do you see that's kind of what i'll be watching tonight if you can just insert that guy
with that young group of players obviously drysdale's part of that but he's not in right now is that a
team that you feel like is going to be in the mix sooner than later. But there's some debate as to
what Pat Verbeek really wants. Does he like his goaltender John Gibson? What does he want to do with
this team? Pat Verbeek marches to the beat of his own drummer apparently down there. He's
potentially one of those GMs that I'm good. I got this. I appreciate your input, but I know what I'm seeing
and I know what's best for this team.
So who knows what it's going to be.
Are you an old school guy?
Are you like torts?
You can't have this Zegras guy doing all these stick tricks and puck tricks.
You want to maybe frozen.
Are you frozen?
I might be frozen.
Anyway, the injury report, a presentation of McLeod Law,
proud of their Calgary roots,
big part of their longstanding client relationships.
They understand the city, the people in it,
and the way things work.
Good people.
That's what we need is good people.
MacLeod Law.
MacLeod Law LLP on social media.
MacLeod-Law.com on the web.
Good old Peter Klein.
We need more Peter Klein's in our life.
I've got two.
I don't know what you're at.
I've got a couple Peter Klein's in my life.
Both of them great guys.
Just great guys.
I, just give me one second here.
I'm going to give it one of these things.
do, de,
de,
de,
do,
do,
oh, I can't
from over.
Can't from
over there.
Which one should I
do?
Oh,
reconnect.
I'm not sure
if I've got
if it's issues
on my end,
but I see a
frozen retro.
Either way.
There you are.
I can't tell
if you're frozen
or you're just
kind of sitting there.
I can't tell if you're
starting to what you did.
I just had about,
by myself,
Red,
I'm in here by myself.
Keeping the balls in the air.
A minute of glitch.
You were talking and I,
G-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-g-go.
Yeah, so I don't know if that's you or me.
Anyway.
So is that camera on?
Oh, you look great.
Oh, I like the other.
Yeah, they look great.
Yeah, that's, yeah, that's all good.
So many cameras in here.
So many cameras in here. So many cameras.
um we can do the oh you know what i need to do i need to uh just give me a second here we're pretty
popular right i don't know if you know that yeah popular pretty pretty popular going back to you
know we used to be on the radio years ago we were on the radio you could hear us you know in your
car with static and stuff it was great um but uh one of uh apparently apparently one of our we got a
We got a fan out there by the name of Darren.
Darren's having a big birthday.
The big five-oh.
Darren, Darren.
The, with the great voice?
It's just, it's Darren.
It's all you need to know.
It's Darren.
Okay.
Darren's fan of the show, long-time viewer listener, first-time caller,
long-time listener, the kind of thing.
Darren is a hard, says here, a hardworking carpenter who likes to indulge in a poor man's
hot tub which is just a bubble bath where Darren doesn't even have uh has to sit in the tub how do you
feel about we talked about this how do you feel about the bathtub love a nice hot do you not hot
but in your bathroom tub yeah really body soup gross right right no i'm in there well not down here
and i don't know yeah i literally got running water there um
I don't know why the hot tub feels different it does feel different all I'm happy to sit in the hot tub I don't want to sit in the tub it's really kind of you know like you said soup yeah I think you're overthinking it just get in there I do lash around a little bit get the rubber ducky out things like life's good on why Dean online shut your phone off just yeah sit in the top yeah let a let a let a let a
fart out.
Oh, too much.
I don't know about that.
So I don't know if Darren's farting in the tub or if he's having a tub today, but he's a,
he's a 50 year old man.
He's 50.
He's having a birthday and he's a fan of the show and we wanted to give him a little,
a little house you going.
Happy birthday, big day.
What do you get a fit?
If when you're 50, what do you want to get?
What do you get someone who's 50?
I always revert to an experience of some sort.
I think at this age, though, at the age of 50,
one of the nice conversation with people you enjoy,
which inevitably leads back to food and beverage, right?
Like most nice conversation is centered around a table
where you can.
So a nice long meal where you kind of,
eat a little bit you don't attack the food and all of a sudden the conversation dies because you're like oh i
overdid it a slow moving meal over a couple hours some nice drinks some appetizers shared and wonderful
conversation that's it's a 50 year old wants probably now if you got that for your 50th if it was
yeah we're just going to go and talk and eat how would you feel if that was your 50th birthday gift
if the show got a so for for my 40th i got a uh what are those goose the canada goose
jacket sweater yeah i got a canada goose sweater what do you think i would enjoy more a candidate goose
sweater or love the sweater but not cheap as you as long as it's an unique meal type of experience right
Yeah, yeah, yeah, I got you.
Well, happy birthday, buddy.
Appreciate you being a part of what we're doing.
Have a good one.
Right cheek sneak.
Time for the Pinder Report.
Who is it?
Which anti was it?
Can't talk about it.
She got mad.
Oh, really?
What was her name again?
The one that got mad because you, yeah.
Time for the Pinder Report.
It's brought to by Village Honda,
located in the Northwest Auto Mall.
Hey, they want to buy your car.
They got a million bucks.
And they're putting it towards the used car side of their business.
You get paid in 24 hours, no hassle, no obligation for an appraisal.
Just slide by up in the Northwest Auto Mall.
And who knows, you could not only be richer, but you could also win a tropical cruise for two.
They want your used cars, people.
Go and give them a visit, VillageHonda.
And online VillageHonda.com.
Now, time for the Pinder Report.
I cobbled a little something together today.
Um, it's, it's hard to do.
I was going to try and like mimic Pinder and wear a shirt and I, I don't know.
I was going to try and go, but it's, it's hard.
I wasn't going to go wig shopping or wig and beard shopping.
It's really gotten out of hand.
I don't know if you saw it yesterday.
It's really out of hand.
I don't know what the focus is.
It's, it's intimidating almost.
Yeah, it's a lot.
But, uh, so I, in lieu of that, I'll just, uh, sit here and,
be fat and do the pender report for you for for village honda uh flames and kings last night you
may have heard a real nail biter at the j uh whatever it is jobbing dot com arena eight to two the final
it was four nothing in uh in the grunstrom and dowdy and valardi and arvidson yeah it was one of those nights
and as you said i can i can i i hate to interrupt the pender report i know you do well
Why did Darrell take Markstrom out?
Well, here.
Because if you were doing that, if you wanted to arrest Markstrom
because you were going to play him tonight,
you do that after one?
Does he think that there's still a hope in winning that game?
Is he drunk behind the bench?
What are you talking about?
Even if there is a hope,
it's not going to be based on Markstrom's performance.
Yeah, because I'm with you.
I thought, but it's for nothing.
Let him finish the period.
Start with Vlodar and the second.
Kate, Jacob, we know you're in tomorrow,
but he stayed in for another period.
But if you're playing Vlodar,
why would you put him in for the third?
I don't know.
That's not correct.
Anyway, okay.
Six on 26 for Jacob Markstrom,
T's and P's to Jacob's save percentage this season.
But what game?
that Copley guy's not much better.
889. That's terrible.
Yeah. 5.0.1.2 at his last seven, Phoenix Copley, if you need it.
But anyway, to your point, the Kings looked very impressive last night.
They look like they will be no fun in a seven-game series if they play anything close to that.
On the other side, to Foley does score against his former team.
Hanofen gets a piece of one there.
But we can take a look at the West.
standings, points are kind of, well, they look at two points,
that what are points?
Old Pindog loves him the, uh, the points percentage.
So there you see it.
The 542, which is you're ahead of the blues,
but you still trail the Nashville predators who have a couple of games in hand,
three of them, in fact.
So, uh, not ideal is where the flames sit.
It's, uh, we would call tonight's game in Anaheim a must win.
I would.
Yeah.
Okay.
It is.
It is. Yeah. Peak sadness.
Yeah, it's a must win, I guess.
So that's 11 more.
11 more miles, retro.
So what are we expecting?
I know Pinder loves the points percentage, and that is good because it's a little more clear on who's got the chance to get in.
But like, we always talk, it's 95 points, probably to make it?
Yeah.
Is it lower this year?
Are we talking 90?
like 96 maybe but either way yeah that's you're not that's when you start to come back around with
when you look at points and what are they going to need to do in those final 11 games to get to
that projected point total that's when it becomes very sobering and depressing to your point and
I think that's what you're saying yeah I am saying it so nine and two maybe gets you in
I was going to say can you win nine of the remaining 11
well that's probably what you've got to do isn't it it's it's going to call it nine call it
nine call it 93 points so you're eight and three to finish the year and that's if nobody
like winnipeg or nashville decides to win why are you so negative i'm i'm i love math
i just love math equations and uh i have one more negative thing for you but then something very
positive sports net had this on their broadcast last night and we rattled through them last night and
i think i'm guessing you would have saw it because it came up i think before the second period or the third
it was the season in review and the flames lead in a lot of these categories which are ones you
don't want to lead in necessarily games decided by one goal 41 of their 71 games have been one goal
games okay you know tight you're in every hockey game losses in one goal games 26 that's most in the
n hl they have 15 overtime or shootout losses that's not that's the most they've hit 77 posts
i guess we're keeping that stat now that's the most in the n hl they have still zero third period
comeback wins meaning trailing going into the third they have not come back to win in any uh zero is fewest
No one has fewer.
It's hard to be.
Fewer fewest third period comeback wins.
And then losses went out shooting opponents by 10 or more.
So yeah, the shot clock thing we talked about, shots are one thing, scoring chances or another.
But even last night, it was going the other way.
So that's not ideal, Red.
That's not ideal.
But you know what?
Sometimes you just need a little positivity.
And we have said this for years.
Where do you turn to when you need some positivity?
Who's one person that can maybe walk into the room and change your fortunes and pick up your day and make you feel better about life and the world and yourself other than Lanny McDonald.
One of the greatest guys going.
And here's Lanny last night with Eric Francis and Ryan Leslie from SportsNet in the intermission.
Why is he wearing a?
Well, hang on.
Let's hear it.
Lanny McDonald and Lanny, it's great you could be here.
Thanks for joining us.
Number nine is wearing number 10.
Tell me the thought process behind wearing Hubertow's jersey tonight.
You know what?
I thought he just needed a little love.
Let him know that he's okay.
Tried to encourage him at the skate this morning.
Shoot the puck.
Make sure you hit the net.
Don't miss the net.
Good things happen.
And, you know, it was fun being down in the dressing room.
Patter and I were there trying to encourage the guys.
Obviously, it hasn't worked so far,
but hey there's 40 minutes left there is Eric 40 minutes there you go is there anybody nicer than
lany there isn't but the fact that patter had to be joined him and dragging him down is just
why do you have to do that why did i know you were going to do that wow it's just a little bit of
truth bomb bring in just a hall of fame just an undeniably beautiful man and then this little tag along
Hey, patter too, huh?
Oh, good.
I want to be nicest guys.
Yeah, I want a cup.
I played in Buffalo.
I want a cup.
I scored in that game.
Did you know I scored?
Oh, poor patter.
Poor patter.
Okay.
So that's, again, tonight, I believe it's an 8 o'clock local here in Calgary.
Can I just say, and they'll never do it?
You can hand the reins off to that human at any point.
Dude, we've been talking about this for years.
It's a huge disappointment.
It's never happened.
I don't know what the issues are or how far back they went.
It's been poorly managed.
Put it to bed.
Give the man his due.
If you want to curry favor with the public in your fan base,
and you want good people representing your brand.
That's more important.
I don't give a damn he will because he's a perfect.
He's a wonderful human.
So he will curry favor with your fan base.
But that's not the point of him.
What he will bring,
is a
Hall of Fame outlook
on your organization
and a positive
vibe
throughout your city, throughout
your team.
Not the people there
are disrespected, but the respect
for the guy running things would go
you know, boom,
through the roof.
And I just
it's a disappointment
that he's never been given that opportunity.
he deserves better he does and a testament to how good the guy is some people probably don't know that
that he's not in management because he's at the games and shaking hands and going to suites to meet with
clients and doing all that stuff but to your point and he may not want to right he's got out he's got
he may not want to but man and maybe he has and it we haven't heard but the man should be allowed to
say no to the offer to be the president of the hockey team or whatever you want to call it but yes good people
in in an ambassador may not want it he may not want it but you know and he's down there and i don't know
what brought him to l.a or what the whole gist of it was but i don't think he's been included
as much as he could have been even if he's not getting
and he's the kind of guy that might go listen i don't need the title and i got a lot on the go
i'll help you all you want you call me i'll have advice i'll have thoughts i don't think that i don't
think that happens enough no uh so that's the story anaheim tonight flames and we will have uh yeah
starts eight o'clock a little afterburner for you tonight can't wait uh march madness continues
no perfect brackets left it's all been trash there's number one seeds flying out everywhere
and you forget ret with so much attention that these these are kids right these are they're
athletes some of they're going to go on to the pros make tons of money and all but there's still
they're still kind of goofy awshucks dumb kids in a way here's a couple of uh post game interviews
involving some of these athletes and they forget i guess that they're on tv
Are you a player that plays in a moment like this or something to prove about yourself?
Yeah, I'm lying. I've been, I've been trying to pull this shit since they want.
That's all right. It's all right. It happens to all of us. We're on true TV, man.
I've been trying to pull this since they want.
Five words in? Yeah, I've been trying to pull this shit. Oh, sorry. That's so great.
And, but he catches himself. You notice he's so, oh, I'm sorry. Not every kid catches himself when he fires out something.
it's over the line.
And I'm like, in seven straight, sweet 16s.
I'm like, we cannot be the team that Blexus won up.
So just to get it down and not fall under that,
hip-no-toad's ginjutsu or whatever it is,
feels good, man.
But they're hell of a team.
Drew.
My man, Drew, we can't be the team that Fs this up.
And either he knew he was planning to do it and just cruised through it
or had no idea he said it at all which do you think it is i'm going to go on i'm going to drop an
fbomb or dur i think that guy knew what he was doing i think you catch yourself it you know
when there's a microphone in front of your face i know it's nice for us now because we can fbomb
we did it a lot of years we're able to keep it under wraps and i like that one there you know
the guy doing the interview he's got sweaty basketball player with his arm around him getting
pit sweat all over his suit Drew you stink dude and F bombs please uh the have you been
watching any of the world baseball classic not enough yeah I haven't it has not drawn me in
I'm a bad sports fan pinder tells me I'm not into it so um hard to live up to his level so
I know it is yeah I've worked with a lot of guys that have high standards for what it means to be a
sports fan over the years.
This is Japan and Mexico
from the World Baseball Classic.
When are going to move on and
take on the U.S. So there you see.
This is bottom five, Mexico, a three
nothing lead, and
a little defense for you here.
Quarter final performance
where he knocked in five.
Backspins a flyb on the left and sends
a Rosarena to the track to the wall.
That one is
Rosarena, the latest show.
I do love, I do love the cocky air around a Rosarena there.
So good.
And then, and then the pitcher with the stared out.
The crowd's going crazy.
Love it.
I love it.
So you see there, that's the fifth inning retro.
It's three nothing Mexico.
Just put this thing.
Well, you want.
Playing well.
Just put this thing to bed.
And we're going to be just fine.
But let's, uh, let's zip ahead to the bottom of the ninth, two on with Japan down by one.
very tense
They're very excited
Randy ain't cocky now
Boyle O'S Connie
big hits with five of fun in the US and the
I love the you know
the rest of my days
I'll always love a good play-by-play call
With so he or she that is unafraid to just let it all hang out
Those dudes are having fun in that broadcast booth.
We do not have the audio of the Mexican play-by-play.
I'm guessing slightly less enthusiastic.
I would like to hear it, though.
Yeah, yeah.
It would be very somber, I would think.
And finally, now you're a big deal back in Buffalo, right?
You and you and Robbred.
Everywhere I go.
Yeah, you need security detail.
check out what happens when Lionel Messi decides you know what why don't we go out for a bite to eat
I'm you want to go out and grab something to eat sure let's go grab something take a look at the scene
at the restaurant in Argentina with the great you know word gets out look at the whole communities
look at this not what for those that are just listening like it's getting out a hand you can't go out
It's not safe.
You guy just wanted some tortellinis, you know?
No, he's Argentinean steak.
Having some steak for sure.
And there's one other video that I sent to Alex here with a different view.
So that's the, that's somebody with the cell phone.
Look at the, that's the restaurant.
That's crazier than the Red Mile, the finals.
Yeah.
That's you and Rob Ray going out for Steerer Subs and Beeffield.
Very much the same, right?
Barbecue.
Oh, boy.
That's the kind of approach for you here on a Tuesday.
Village Honda.
They want reused cars, people.
They will buy it even if you don't buy one of theirs.
10?
Then you can win a Tropical Cruise for two.
4-2 the paid 24 hours it's i don't know what i don't know what you're waiting for even if you
aren't thinking about doing just go do it it's spring now you can just walk village honda northwest
auto wall village honda dot com good folks up at village what do i got to do here before we uh oh
i keep saying this um i got thinking about this sunday kids playing uh kids playing ringette and one
of the uh the other parents said we had our family over for
for dinner, my, my brother and his wife, this whole sort of thing, have you seen how expensive
it is to get food? We were going to have steak. And we just, we had pork instead. It's just,
it's crazy. We couldn't do it. It just got me thinking, we've always been on the side of pay for
the quality, right? Go to Bon Tonne Meats and pay. And not to say that it's extravagant, but just get
get good stuff because now you're paying absorbent prices in just your run-of-the-mill place to get
run-of-the-mill beef more than ever it makes sense to go to the best that there is 28 crowfoot
circle northwest the calgary tradition since 1921 it's bontan meat market it's gregg keller and
it's officially barbecue time i don't for a lot of people's oh i barbecue all year long but i think
for everybody right now that cover is off at the barbecue it's warm you're grilling pretty much every
single day now man i threw some i had uh i had some tired old chicken on the grill last night
a little freezer burn on the side of it's like this is no good i got to go see greg i i'm better than
this so uh so be like me be like red and uh have some have some pride in what you're putting on your
plate, would you? Have some
pride. Has the
has your situation with the beef gotten any better
down there? You were beside yourself.
You're muted.
Can't hear you.
Can't hear you. What did you do?
Now what? Oh, there are you. I said,
I'm pumped to be coming back the next couple
weeks and loading up on bonte on meat.
I'm just like, I'm ecstatic.
I'm ecstatic.
Yeah, we should do a, I'm going to have some.
Yeah, I know. So, we'll
have to uh we'll get you set up we'll get you set up up there um and what i love about it it's
it you know it started with mad rose pub people sending photos being like yeah the food you we hear
you guys talk about oh is the food good they go and yeah the food is outstanding the same stuff
is happening with bontan people are sending the photos hey yeah i went got some some ribs or i got
some steaks at bontan no you weren't kidding no we're not kidding would we lie to you about
this would we sit here on the internet and lie
Face is showing and just lie out of girl.
You know.
After this, we got to go out in public.
You think we're going to be.
Lionel Messi.
You know, that's right.
I can't leave.
I'm in here.
Can't go anywhere.
I got no security detail.
Everybody left me all by myself.
Bantan meat market since 1921, best AAA beef, free range poultry.
You name it.
It's, uh, you, you don't need to worry about us.
Which one's better?
Just get it.
Bontan meat market.
Tomorrow is Wednesday.
No, today's Wednesday.
Tomorrow was Thursday.
Tomorrow's Wednesday.
What?
Tomorrow's Wednesday.
Well, here's the thing.
I'm trying to figure out Friday.
Because not always at home.
Friday's a day off.
Friday would be a nice day off.
It has to be.
I can't just be taken days off.
My kids are out of school early.
There's not days off.
We just do days later.
This is an off-air conversation.
Because I'm trying to wrap my head around the week.
When am I going to get somebody in?
Do we want to get a host in?
Do we want to get some people in studio?
You want to bring somebody on?
Obviously, today we're going to have Sarah Valley, but I'm real tired.
He's a busy guy.
I took a couple days off.
Soft.
Philadelphia.
you soft so I don't know we're we're planning the week out but um when are you coming to
town well tomorrow I was thinking of bringing somebody in oh wolverines out tomorrow I won't be there
tomorrow I won't be not here tomorrow all right well let me know because I got just a mob
of people outside we'll have to get you to come in sure you're all squared away but
uh yeah tomorrow we'll we'll talk about the ducks and the flames
and I'm sure there'll be a bit of reaction from what's going on.
You know, because when Elliot starts to throw stuff out there
and you've been talking about it for a long enough,
and I got, I just, you know what, and I brought it up,
it's why I asked you if you're hearing about it.
It's just there's starting to, it's like you can feel the ground
starting to shake a little bit that that Daryl Sutter would be
unpopular with players or the players would be,
yeah, that's not, that's not breaking news.
but it seems like we're at a bit of another level
and the team is struggling and and do you know what I mean
yes it just feels like well that's the thing like
a lot of the stuff doesn't bubble up right
maybe at the end of the year something will sneak out
on the year end meetings and oh
that maybe makes sense but it's it's already happening
so I think the year end meetings so you always want to be a fly on the wall
but there is going to be who's
hosting these year-end meetings the GM without the job well he has a contract until usually
don't though everybody june 30 isn't that usually when when hockey contracts expire right
so and i would think that if he's trying to keep his job for next year he'll be
holding those meetings but i don't know i don't know man doesn't see a lot of rhyme or reason
how things are operating right now tell you about uh i got my bedway bets i want to tell you about
tourism jasper they are back on board they came on around christmas before christmas and in the new
year they are back once again they want you to know about the spring skiing in jasper you're
thinking oh that's okay really still skiing uh yeah yeah warmer temps drinks on the patio
clear days the escape card still available and still applicable half price lift
tickets conditions are still great and it's uh if you're kind of a fair weather softy like
oh boom this is your favorite time of year you're not worried about freezing your
whatever's on the on the lift you're not having to i got maybe one more run i got to go in on my toes
or no this is beautiful time of year to do it jasper marmot basin as mentioned those uh the
ski car the half-price lift tickets they're making it real easy and real affordable for you to head to jasper
and enjoy all that there is to see and do.
Venture beyond with tourism japper.
I hit one of my Betway bets last night, Retro.
I did not, I had to Foley and Kempe to both score,
and it was a plus 550.
So I went big game hunting, as we like to say here,
and it actually hit.
However, my other bet of the under did not come through in the 8-2 final.
did not come through.
But you know what?
We're going to do the Betway bets.
I'm going with the under again.
Flames and Ducks.
It's got to be a little more snug tonight.
I'm going under six and a half
for my Betway bet between the Ducks and the Flames.
That's a tidy minus 112.
And I'm going back with Tofoli.
Just keep scoring, son.
Just keep going.
He's about the only one score.
Feels like a lot of time.
He's half a hell of a hell of,
a year right being reliable he's been very reliable can you have some other reliable guy but uh to foley
anytime goal that's a plus 155 in anaheim and i usually i'll maybe throw to you oh so what do you
think tonight that's the you're talking about a fool's errand and time wasted how the hell do you know
it's on the flames the flames will tell us probably early what kind of a game we can expect
yeah i don't flip a coin because
To predict this squad is, like you said, a fool's errand.
No idea.
I think they win only because if they don't, they're completely,
I think it's absolutely they're eliminated.
But Anaheim plays loose.
They don't care.
And if the flames have already, like I said,
I think a third of them have already packed it in.
It's not a recipe.
It's not something I'm putting a lot of faith in.
And it's hard to look back to that.
last meeting and feel like it because they were they just oh they just they frustrate you you come
home for those two big wins it was a must win there and they were rolling they just got rolled up
it should be tougher for them tonight and they'll probably play better so i i don't i don't know yeah
but anaheim's just playing and that's the that's the difficult thing is that they don't care like there's
there's nothing that's going to derail anaheim they're just going to go play what are you going to do what's up for the
rest of your day. We got a bowl of soup sitting over there.
You're big into soup. What is going on?
Loving soup and then there's something tonight. I can't remember.
Kids, kids crap. Yeah. Kid stuff. You want to do a 1 a.m. after burner?
Spoilers suck. All right. See you tomorrow. Buddies. That's barn burn.
Later.
Prick.
