Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Flames Re-Sign Walker Duehr To A Two-Year Contract | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: April 25, 2023FlamesNation Barn Burner - April 25th, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! - NHL Playoff Recap - Walker Duehr Two Year Contract- Frank Seravalli Joins The Show- The Pinder Report f...or Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Here we all are. We're very excited. We're very pumped. We're fired up for another edition of Barnburner. There's Rhett, there's Pender, there's Sly, and myself. As we are here in the Tower, Chrysler Studios, Tower, Chrysler. It is the favorite Dodge Ram Chrysler dealer in southern Alberta.
Love it. People go in there just to take a look around. So can I just, I just want to be. I just want to feel the aura. Is surge here? Yeah, yeah, I can smell those massage oils he uses for his,
Yoga sessions.
He's very, he's very, um, massage oils for yoga sessions.
He's big into the, Bikram, Bikram, is that what it is?
He's big into that.
Okay.
But he's always very, um, very moisturized.
It's a nice glow.
The hair is very, you know what I mean?
Oh yeah.
That's a guy that takes care of himself.
He's dialed, yeah.
So go in, get yourself a photo with surge, buy a ram or a, or a Jeep gladiator.
Maybe both if you're having a tough time.
It'll turn your day around.
Yeah.
works for me.
Here in the Tower,
Kreiser Studios.
There's the Rettster.
Speaking of healthy glows.
Look at the Rettster
and a beautiful day in Buffalo.
Sun pouring in.
Wow.
Yeah.
There were some squalls earlier today.
Some squalls.
That's racist, please.
Squalls.
Is that like snow?
There was definitely squalls.
Definitely squalls.
Can't get us canceled?
And it's gorgeous now.
Before we bring on our next guest, I just want to ask.
Next guest, Rhett, is there any way I can get you on board with the Toronto Maple Leafs today?
I asked you yesterday.
Is there any way?
He's in.
I'm in.
He's in.
He's in already in.
Much like a Tower Kreiser.
What do I need to do to get you into a Toronto Maple Leaf today?
Stop asking.
Jersey is ordered.
I got a 55 coming.
My boy, Gio.
I'm down with this shit.
Yeah.
Yes.
I remember his rationale.
These guys.
I'm going tomorrow.
I'm driving to Canada.
I got tickets.
I'm going to sit there live and in person.
My blue jersey on.
My Bud's jersey.
I'm in.
Frank,
meet me there.
Only took a day.
That was a tight turn.
That was a tight turn.
That was a tight turn.
It's a couple of those.
They finally proved they've got, you know, I've changed my stance on Keefe.
I'm in.
Yeah.
I've got to support these guys.
They're hour and a half north of where I'm at.
Yeah.
It's a blue collar group.
They got the balls to get the job done.
Yeah, I can relate to these people.
You can relate.
Speaking of Frank, Frank's our NHL Insider.
Presentation.
Playoff Frank, a presentation of Bontan Meat Market.
The original Bontan Meets opened in 1921,
and they've been pumping out the highest quality product ever since,
treating customers like family.
Alberta beef, AAA
bird of beef, free range
poultry, grain fed Alberta lamb,
milk fed veal, Alberta pork.
Once again, Bon Ton, voted Calgary
Consumer Choice Award winner for best
deli meat market. Greg Keller
and his staff, the very best.
28 crowfoot circle in the northwest.
Rhymes.
Best in West. That's right.
Hello, Frank.
Now, Frank was
on in our pre-show.
He does jump in some Tuesdays ahead
the show to say hello. Yeah, Frank was in. And we didn't realize that you have your own
walker dur. I didn't know that. Walker doer! There it is. It's a quick one. It's a quick one.
It's got some tempo to it. I like the energy. Yeah, there's a bit of a Philly slang to do. I like it.
It's very good. And a big night too in Frank's area, apparently. It's a huge festivities,
dollar dog night at the Phillies game. But I heard they came to us from Bon Tom.
meats they just sent all the all the hot dogs our way dollar dog night at
Citizens Bank Park I'm in it's good stuff so you are going from a hot dog Frank if
you were gonna go to bontan what is your what's your meat of choice you're
going to a nice restaurant or you a filet you're doing the ribby New York or you got a
veal chop lamb what are we talking I'm very impartial to the filet but I
I could be, like, depending on the rib eye, I could be, I could be suede.
Like, those would be my two cuts.
Not a, not a very adventurous meat guy in the sense that, like, I wouldn't be on the lamb or the, you know, on the venison or anything like that.
But, yeah.
That's because you're used to shitty American steaks.
You go up to Bon Ton, up to Calgary.
To get some high quality stuff up there.
Yeah.
Oh, that's, I don't think you're wrong.
there.
Are you coming to Canada?
Are you going to be doing any?
Because of course, the Leafs are going to move on.
And when the Oilers win,
they'll be on to round two.
Two teams through, wow.
That's right.
Winnipeg, Dean yesterday.
They're fine.
They said they're done.
They may as well not even play tonight.
And they were up on nothing.
I wondered about that take.
And then they did get pretty laid out.
They're done.
Trust me.
You know how the Jets operate.
Are you going,
are you grabbing your passport and getting on a plane?
Are you like Rhett on board with the Leafs?
Well, I will not be covering the leaves.
We have our guy Matt Larkin who lives in Toronto, so he'll be doing the leaves.
I would potentially make my way to Alberta for a extended Oilers playoff run if that indeed ends up happening.
But they've got some business to take care of against the LA Kings.
They have not made life easy on themselves up the road there at Highway 2.
I feel like tomorrow we might be having the same tone and tenor about the oilers as we are about the Leafs,
that they've finally taken a step, that they have graduated, that they've matured, you get to a 3-1-ser.
Now, again, there is no greater collapse except 3-0 than a 3-1 series lead, and that is still very much in the cards.
We've done this before.
But I wonder if the Oilers are similarly in that kind of spot where maybe it just takes a little time, some maturity,
and if they're in a spot now to move on as well.
Well, first off, you can't lose in game seven if you don't win three.
So that's one thing.
I have really mixed feelings about the Oilers and their playoff to this point
because, yeah, coming back the other night against L.A.
was incredibly impressive.
I think they showed some real determination and grit to do that.
and then to particularly claw all the way back,
get the extra goal after L.A. pulled ahead again,
and win pretty decisively in O.T.
Not all that dissimilar to the Leafs.
The Oilers just, you talked about maturity and graduating,
and I would have said that they got there last year,
except for the way that they started this series again,
you know, shooting themselves in the foot in game one,
you know, the way game three plays out, the whining about the penalties and the high stick,
maybe that was more from the fan base than it was anything else.
It's been a frustrating series if you're an Euler fan.
So I'm not ready to declare that they've graduated just yet.
The Leafs, on the other hand, what an enormous step forward that was.
Because it wasn't, I have to quibble with what Sheldon Keith said on Saturday.
It wasn't, that wasn't the game that they've lost every year.
It was game four.
And the way that it started with the lightning up 4-1, you're thinking, like, this is textbook.
Like, you could have predicted this 48 hours ago that the bolts would win this game in pretty convincing fashion.
And then the Leaves have this like awakening where not only do they sort of slay the demons from 10 years ago against Boston in that game 7, also 4-1,
but Austin Matthews has this signature moment in the playoffs.
and then they dominate OT and close it out quickly,
nine to one in advantage in shot attempts.
Like they throttled the lightning who didn't really know what to do.
And so I don't have any question that, to me,
the Leafs are going to move on.
And I think lost in all of that excitement about the Leafs
is just how awful these last two losses have been for the Tampa Bay Lightning,
a team that had really shown no signs of,
of weakness when it comes to the playoffs
after the last number of runs that they were on.
We'll get to the Oilers, I guess, well, let me just say,
well, quick one.
Who do you go in net tonight for Edmonton
if you're the coach?
Skinner or Campbell?
For me, it's Skinner.
It's not even close.
You know, I understand what the numbers would tell you
about Jack Campbell and last game stopping 27 of 28
and he did make some enormous saves.
That leg extension save on Arvinson will stand
out for a long time. However, I also thought there were some really shaky moments for him in that
game that aren't going to show up on a score sheet, some juicy rebounds, some things that had
popped up in his game all season long. We have a long track record. Jack Campbell this season,
888, save percentage. I know what last game was like and he stepped in admirably. I would be going
back to Skinner just from a pure confidence and swagger standpoint. Anyone feel the other opposite
just around the horn?
No, I think that's...
It's their guy, right?
Because I think if you need to, you can position...
You know Campbell can come in and give you solid minutes if you need him.
If you go with Campbell, Skinner's a kid.
I just, yeah, I put Skinner back in because he's been fine.
He's been way better than Campbell all year.
And it's nice that when you needed him, Campbell was good, but that doesn't mean he's a better option.
Absolutely, Skinner.
It's going to happen again.
Is it?
I'm not going to Campbell at all.
at all.
Well, I mean, he's probably one of the bottom five net minors in the entire league this year.
It was nice.
He had 40 plus minutes that were good.
And to Frank's point, it's...
Example.
Yeah, it was a circus around the crease.
Speaking of goalies, Tampa Bay backs up against it.
Surprisingly, it's Vasilevsky.
I looked this morning out of all the goalies that have had the four starts,
he's the worst of them all in terms of numbers.
A 4.33 goals against 8.56.
save percentage. He is the worst goaltender performance and numbers-wise in the playoffs.
And I know even going back to the regular season, there were some big goals, there's some big
numbers, giving up three, four, five a night for Tampa Bay. If they lose this series, Toronto's
a good team and Tampa's had the run and all of that. But what are you seeing here with Tampa?
No shame in being down three to one, but they haven't looked as dominant. They have at times,
but just not the same.
I actually think that's the funny part watching the games.
Like, they absolutely dominated the first 40 minutes.
And you could argue the first 58 minutes or 48 minutes of game four before the
Leaps turned it on.
And here's the funny thing about Vasilevsky is when you think back to, I know his
numbers have been poor this year in the playoffs, 19 goals against through the first
four games, 856, just to put those out there. But go back to the last, the first five games last
year against the Leafs too. Two and three record, 18 goals against in five games and an 880
save percentage. Here's the problem with Vasilevsky, or it's the good thing if you're Tampa,
is he played the final two games of the series and allowed a grand total of four goals with a
939 save percentage.
Like, you know, you want to count them out.
You want to say that this start head to the series has been disappointing because
obviously it is when you're leading the league in goals against in the playoffs.
However, it's difficult to really pin it all on him because you also look back to the comments
from John Cooper last night, which I thought were really interesting.
And it was like he said the lightning played not totally.
lose game four. And that's never a recipe for success, the old prevent defense that we've seen
forever in the NFL that never works. You have to continue to put your foot down on the gas,
pedal to the metal, and keep pushing the opposition. The lightning didn't do that. And that
opened the door for Toronto to sneak back in. What are we watching with Seattle? It's been an odd
season in that I think we all thought early, okay, the Pacific soft they're going to get in.
We also all thought, you know, Colorado is going to win this. It probably won't be very
difficult. And yet there they are, two, two with an OT win last night. What have you seen from them
all year and what's made them so difficult for the aves in round one? Well, did you say Pacific
soft? Wouldn't that mean that Calgary would get in? Sorry, I couldn't help myself there.
So what I would say is the Cracken have hit the abs in the face with a two by four in just about every game to start.
They've scored the first goal in all four games.
They've been the way hungrier team, it feels like.
The abs have turned it on at times as they're able to do.
I just think now the series has been flipped on its head.
Valerie Nachushkin out for personal reasons.
the, you know, the abs likely missing Cal McCar for a number of games now after his hearing
that's upcoming with the Department of Player Safety.
And so here's the funny thing about that, though, is you take McCar out of the mix for Colorado,
who has played without him for a real big chunk of this season.
And then you also take Jared McCann out of the Seattle lineup,
who not only scored 40 goals this year, but led their team in scoring by,
a wide margin. He had 40. The next closest teammate had 24. I think the advantage in an odd way
actually goes to Colorado having McCann out. Dave Haxstall saying he's definitely out for game
five potentially longer. It's an ugly setup for the crack in a team that, yes, they score goals by
committee. Look at their score sheet last night. You know, Eberley, Borgon, they get goals and
contributions from all over their lineup, I just don't know that that's enough to get them over
the hump in three games with an Aves team that still has Rantan and McKinnon and all these
other guys that can step up. It's been admirable what they've been able to do. The Cracken,
like, look, for me, continue to, you know, go against the Cracken at your own peril and think that
they don't have a shot because they've showed that they can hang in on this fight. But now,
missing McKinna, I think the odds are a bit longer for the cracking than they were.
Okay, so walk us through what Department of Player Safety is looking at here,
because I found it odd that they assess, they look for a major, they say, no, it's a minor,
and then there's a suspension hearing.
Like, can these things be, you know, coexist peacefully?
Is the NHL working right if something gets reduced to a minor from a major and there's a
suspension hearing?
What am I missing here?
Well, what you're missing is those are two different departments.
One is hockey operations that's in the situation room that's making the call on the decision to rescind the major.
And then you have the Department of Player Safety.
One's in New York.
One's in Toronto.
They're two totally different things.
And they're looking at it from a different perspective.
So I do find it head scratching, though, that they aren't on the same page.
And in fact, I don't know how you could look at that hit in real time on a monitor.
You know, with the benefit of video review and not think that that.
that's a major because the puck wasn't anywhere close.
And to try and get in Cal McCar's head at that point to say,
well, he thought the puck was coming his way.
Look, I get that Giorgiev was looking over that direction as well.
To me, that doesn't absolve you.
You don't get to just smoke a guy into the boards
because you think the puck might be there.
You actually have to look and follow through with the appropriate action after the fact.
So to me, when I compare this hit to bunting on Chernak earlier in the playoffs,
you have bunting who did not have any Department of Player Safety history when it comes
to a suspension.
Here's the play again.
And you'll get a real good look at where the puck's heading.
Like, come on, you don't get to finish this guy.
Like, I'm sorry, you don't.
And McCann's not expecting it just in the same way that Chernak wasn't.
I mentioned bunting no player safety history.
McCar, no player safety history.
I thought three games was a reach for bunting.
I thought two was the appropriate number.
However, since you went to three for bunting,
I don't think this hit is any better or any worse.
I don't know how you could do anything less for McCar
than the three that you already gave bunting earlier this round.
And then just a final one in that series.
Well, just before we want, Rhett, what's your take on the hit?
I was actually going to ask Frank this because my take is that I get the I was taught to always be ready or protect myself and not that it makes the hit okay but the bunting one to me is a suspension because he hits him in the head
McCar hits him into the boards I think that's a little bit different I don't know I find it odd that they review it and they change
change it and then other people are involved.
I didn't think it was that.
I didn't think it was a suspension or I don't think it's a suspension, but.
I wonder too, because we talk about it a lot, Red, with how the games played.
Kids, younger players are used to not getting hit in general.
And there he's probably, yeah, he's not expecting to get hit.
It's like that pucks out of play.
The play's dead.
I'm not embracing for shit, yeah.
But I probably heard a whistle at that point.
Yeah, I think so.
Well, that was my question.
his head. McCann's looking down ice. He's looking toward the bench. He's skating to get off.
And he gets absolutely leveled. Okay. So last one on the series, get us up to speed on when things
got weird with Nchuschen or is it all at once and no one's heard anything since?
So it's definitely gotten weird. I think there's been a lot of people chasing the story.
I've checked in on the story as well to try and understand what is happening. Everyone has kept this
very hush-hush to this point. I would say that my understanding is, and my belief is not confirmed
by anyone. My belief through the reporting that I've done is Nchuschen had some kind of alcohol-related
incident that occurred at the team hotel. I don't know what that is or what it involved,
but I believe it was on Friday night in Seattle. Obviously, you saw the reports that he left the team,
is no longer with the team.
So not in, wasn't in Seattle for, you know, around the hotel or anything like that for
game four.
I don't know where he is.
But there seem to be lots of speculation out there, you know, that he left with team
security.
And then there was like this line drawn somehow between, you know, is there something
involving Russia or anything like that?
Not to my knowledge.
Like I said, I believe this to be alcohol related.
and I don't know what the proper, like, protocol is here in terms of reporting this.
This is a delicate one because you want to be respectful of a guy's privacy,
but at the same time, a really big situation in a series where, and then it's the playoffs.
Like, everything's talked about at every point.
So it's definitely a delicate situation that we'll continue to work on.
I wanted to jump in on Rangers Devils.
we thought this was going to be a laffer.
Now it's 2-2 going back to Jersey.
What are the vibes there?
And are we going to get the classic series
that I think fans were hoping for in Greater New York?
It feels like that.
It feels like this one's one that's going the distance.
I was kind of surprised to see Gerard Gallant tee off on his players,
and he doubled down today in his media veil saying,
you know, essentially that their stars need to be better.
He focused on the top six specifically,
and you look at the production from that Crider line and sort of how lacking that's been.
That's been surprising.
He spoke to their effort level as well, certainly in games three and four at the garden.
I don't know if they took their foot off the gas or what,
but the devils on the flip side have been incredibly impressive in their own right.
Akira Schmidt, like, where did this guy come from?
I know that his numbers were really good in the regular season and a limited sample size,
but he's 22 and played last year in the U.S.HL for the Sioux City Musketeers.
To step into two playoff games in the pressure cooker at Madison Square Garden
and give up two goals in two goals total in two games, 57 on 59, like, wow.
The future is bright for me for the Devils.
You know, you've got Hughes and all these young guys,
and now you solve the goaltending component, at least temporarily for the Devils.
That's a huge boost.
confidence. And the one thing that I'll say that stands out to me about the Rangers when
watching is, I don't know that their style of play with their stars is conducive to playoff
success. They are constantly blowing the zone. They play what amounts to me to be pawn hockey.
You know, they're not, they don't work hard back. They're constantly looking for the long
stretch pass to break free to create offense. And that's good and great. I just think it also
makes life really hard on them in their own end.
And we've talked about Chesterkin and the pressure that's on him to really bail that team out
on multiple instances every night.
That is that, can you win that way?
I have real questions about that.
They've got their hands full, the Florida Panthers with the Boston Bruins, obviously.
And if you lose the Boston after the season they've had, no one's going to, you know, no shame.
Has enough been said or, because we're,
very focused on the flames, obviously, here and the season from a year ago to this year.
Very similarly, though, the Panthers, from 58 wins to 42 wins.
They go from 122 points to 92.
President's trophy.
It's a president's trophy to sneaking in.
And by the way, by way of just sneaking in, you do get the Boston Bruins.
What's your read and looking at the playoffs here, nothing is, no goals for Barkoff,
Duklair has been held off the score sheet.
It's been Kachuk and Little El.
It was just maybe overstating it a bit.
But what's your read on the season that has been and continues and looks like it could end here quickly for Florida?
Yeah, do Claire a healthy scratch, by the way?
And Barkoff has been a non-factor.
I would say not just these playoffs, but he's had an incredibly disappointing season.
I don't know what happened to Alexander Barkoff, but a special player that has struggled in a big way.
but they didn't play
that could be part of it too
if they played together
it doesn't matter Ryan
if you played it
stop sorry and I'm interrupting
you frankly if you're trying to answer
booms
it happened
Huberto was no good in Calgary
and
Barkov was no good
I'm guessing
I have no idea of figuring
up that they were buddies
they played together a long time
and when you lose
if they were good buddies
that is not an easy thing
to lose a best
best friend on a team lind home for the flames what had happened to him no it's good it was not very
good this year well his two linemates now he did play with them but i think those guys hung out a lot
together you can't that's chemistry and when teams make those kinds of changes it's all fine
and good to say well on paper it's going to work out personal and you know it's not feelings but it is
I'm not saying Barkov has hurt feelings, but I'm guessing that he was not too happy to lose a good friend.
And I'm guessing that they're buddies in Huberto.
And I think you could see it on both sides of the fence there.
Hubertow was no good.
Barkov was no good.
You can see Lindholm had happened.
You feel like it happened to him as well.
You missed Weiger.
I guess it's weird that it really, both teams would say, geez, we did well in that trade at the time.
And both teams like, man, we thought we'd be better this year.
Brett, can you walk Frank and everyone through the Andrew Farrant's trade going back to your days?
Well, it wasn't just Andrew Farrant's. It was Chuck Kobaseau as well.
And it was guys that you'd been through wars with and that you believed in and you knew the character of.
And we're in Buffalo.
And Darrell makes a trade.
And it's a trade that nobody thinks is necessary.
There's not really a clear winner in it.
It didn't make any sense to anyone other than we got, I think we got older.
I don't know that the flames got better.
And it disrupted the room.
Because it was what, Brad's, I'm sorry.
Brad Stewart and Wayne Primo for Chuck Kobesu.
Both good dudes.
And Ferrence.
And this was after you guys had gone to the cup final back, you know, before that.
But like you say, it was, it was a chemistry.
It crushed your chemistry.
Well, maybe on paper you could have, maybe you're better.
It's debatable, but it's hard to know, I guess.
Well, when you have chemistry and what I would say about that trades.
Yeah, that trade specifically was that you knew damn well what Chuck Kobesu's motivation was or his commitment to the team was.
And you knew damn well what Ference's commitment to the team was.
All the guys that were still in that room, we came this close to winning.
You knew effing well.
All they wanted to do was take the next step.
So it was such an unnecessary move.
And it's just,
I think it's got to be a warning,
not that trade,
because it's so long ago,
but to see the trades that were made last summer
and some trades work out great,
but as a GM to move big pieces on squads that look like Florida,
I mean,
Florida had a great year last year.
They start making all these changes,
coaches this now they're not as good you can't F with chemistry if you don't need to or don't
F with chemistry if you don't need to I always say don't F with happy um yeah that's that's
that's always something to keep in mind I will say I also think you know in addition to missing
huberto which I think was a real thing because they were close I do think Barcov was dealing
with some family stuff too.
Like the personal, you never really know the impact that it has on a player's game.
It's always hard to put your finger out.
Well, how much of an impact did it have?
The chemistry on ice, too, I think is important because it took them a long time to figure it out.
It's still not there.
But what I would say, the difference between the way Florida looked at this and the way
Calgary looked at this, Calgary was going in saying, we've got a complete team that we think is
ready to win now. Whereas Florida was saying, uh, like we took our shot already. We lost in the
second round and a sweep to the lightning. And now they, I've said this many times with you guys,
they were not focused on this year. They thought their defense was thin, you know, just sort of,
especially after trading Weger, having Ekblad and asking him to do so much was a lot.
They were hit with injuries. And they were thinking, if we could just get through this year and
you know, be a wild card team.
And I was saying this in December, so it's not revisionist history now that they are won.
The fact that they got in, they considered this season a success.
Now what you see on the ice next year, I think for the Panthers is going to be a lot
different.
They're going to have like 15 million bucks in cap space.
They got to go out and get a defenseman.
They don't have a lot of prospects or draft capital to deal.
They've got a goaltending situation that they need to work on.
But they're not sitting there saying, oh, well, you know, the fact that we're not going on a deeper
playoff run this year is disappointing by any stretch of the imagination.
They were happy to get in.
We're about a week now into the post Brad Trilliving, although June 30th and that whole
thing, but it's the new day here as far as a general manager is concerned.
Are there any names that either you've heard or that would just be on that radar that
flames fans should be aware of that could be a candidate or a solution here?
not a one is that odd or is that normal for this suit far out i suppose they said that wasn't a
real pressing timeline and maloney was focused on meeting the coach last week and sifting through
all the exits yeah i would say um not surprising i think that you know you think about
pittsburgh and they're not really pushing the envelope on their search either they haven't really
begun to put any plans in motion yet or interviews or anything like that but by the way
Speaking of Brad Trudevying, I'd expect him to be in the mix in Pittsburgh if he wants to be.
And potentially could also see him in Philadelphia as well as a candidate there,
eventually whenever that their process has begun to get rolling and they're interviewing people as well.
So something to keep an eye on.
But I don't know what the thought process is for the flames, given the parameters that are in place.
Like you've got the president of hockey ops, you've got the coach.
How much sway is the president of hockey ops going to have?
Does he have the ultimate and final decision-making vote?
Does he have veto power?
You know, how wide of a search are you going to be conducting if you're the flames?
Are you looking at internal candidates and Craig Conroy, as I mentioned?
Are you going to bring in a, you know, cast a wide net and search league wide?
I don't really have any sense of really what the flames.
are thinking yet and I think the true answer is maybe they don't either.
Just because you brought it up, you mentioned Philadelphia.
Danny Breyer has been the interim guy there.
Is, I guess what's what's the vibe there in Philadelphia, both either the job he's done or the
likelihood of him staying on?
You know, it's really interesting because I think for the longest time, everyone has just
assumed that Danny Breyer is the guy.
And I think there's been this belief in place mostly because,
Because it seems like the flyers kind of promised him that.
He was a finalist for the Montreal Canadiens job, which went to Kent Hughes.
And I think they felt like, hey, we can't lose this guy.
And they did everything they could to keep him in the fold with the idea that the next time an opening came up, that he would be, quote, strongly considered for that opportunity.
So I think everyone has assumed that he's the GM.
But then who would the president of hockey operations be?
Now here's where it gets interesting is that they've conducted some interviews, I believe,
and I'm told that a couple of them sort of have their own idea in place for what they'd like the GM to be,
and they're not necessarily thinking Danny Breyer, will that president of hockey ops have the power to make that choice?
Are they barking up the wrong tree?
Is it already set in stone that Danny Breyer is going to be the GM?
I don't know that they've actually conducted interviews for the GM position,
and does the next president of hockey ops want to bring in his own guy?
This seems odd to me.
Pinder brought it up.
You know,
when you're talking about the flames and their search for their next GM
and how Pinder is,
and probably rightfully so,
of the opinion,
you've got to go out and interview everyone.
You've got to do the best search you can do.
He shouldn't just hand it to a Craig Conroy,
like player.
But Craig's been in the business a lot longer than Breyer's been in the business.
business and in philly it sounds like they want to hand it to brier so how do you differentiate between
brierre who has a little less and conroy or is it just personal is it ownership that makes like i don't
why is one guy like brierre in a way sounds like being handed the reins anointed and a guy like
conroy who's been waiting for years not being handled i i it confuses me
Yeah, and eminently more qualified, too, in Craig Conroy and understands the market.
And, and, like, there's a million things that he's touched every facet of the hockey ops department.
I personally don't understand why he wasn't just named the GM the day that Don Maloney was handed the reins as, as president of hockey ops.
It makes no sense to me.
And I mentioned to you guys before, I think this is a really difficult position for anyone to step into next.
essentially if that is indeed the case,
knowing that you're inheriting a coach in Daryl Sutter
who is more or less bulletproof,
at least for the first part of your tenure,
and how does that then impact the moves that you need to make this summer
with your roster and a number of players who are discontented with the coach?
I do wonder if, you know, behind closed doors,
if it's kind of a fade-a-complay,
that it's going to be Conroy,
but just out of, you know,
you wait until, I don't know, because I'm with you.
What, no, optics?
Yes, that's the only process.
It makes it look worse, I think.
I do too.
Yeah.
I do too, because you've been grooming, that's like, he's been groomed to take over.
It's been years and years.
He's put in the work, he's done the time and all of that.
And now the optics to me.
And now to waffle?
The optics to me are, are we going to do a search?
Is that you're going to make them now?
have to jump through the hoops after he's done all of this i'm i'm with you i think if it's only for
optics that's the optics i'm seeing is that it looks janky to make him have to be a candidate now
100% janky if you don't know what the hell you have and conroy by now what's an interview
going to no they know conra they know conroy it's about what they don't know like what what's
happening in other orgs like let's say the leaps are down 3-1 would you not want to wait to see
if caldubis is available given the roster he's been building for five 10 years or no
Yeah, but so, okay, right.
So sorry, I'm going to interrupt you there because it's, it's great that you say that.
And because Kyle Dubus is a perfect example.
What was Kyle Dubus handed?
A blank slate?
What did they get to draft?
When is that plan going to go in place for the Calgary Flames?
Oh, great.
Kyle Dubus has been awesome.
Marner, Riley, Matthews, all high-end studs.
You're in Toronto.
You've got as much money as you need.
Bob, you have probably the biggest support group, maybe too big.
I don't know what Dubus uses for information,
but there's no damn way the flames information is as big as Toronto's.
So to say that Dubus is more brilliant to me is actually, it's negative.
And even if he is more brilliant, what did he do?
I don't even know when he started, to be honest with.
Did he draft, Marner and Matthews?
The flames have to go in reverse to get Dubus to show or Conroy,
whoever's next in the ropes to have that play out you're not got to step in and take over this team and draft five guys in the top 10 or three guys in the top 10 that turn into superstars right so the I don't get why we're saying dubus would be better unless the owner is going to say whoever we're hiring yes you have the ability to do what you need to do and that that means go in reverse
Great. And I don't see that happening.
I still agree with you guys.
I think it's going to be caught.
Go ahead.
Sorry.
I'm going to say something out loud that hasn't been said.
And it's not a personal thing at all.
I think the jankiest part of the process, if you're going to go down the path,
is why did you anoint Don Maloney as president of hockey operations?
And why do you need it?
If that is the case, like, if you, like, if you really are going to do a search,
then you shouldn't have.
have a person in place above the GM already.
And you should open up both positions.
And by the way, why do you need two positions?
I don't think you do.
I think it muddies the water.
And I think you run into a situation.
Like just look at the Leafs and you want to talk about Dubus.
Shanahan and Dubus have had friction for 18 months, two years.
Like, whatever the, the issue is, Brendan Shanahan holds final say and control.
And Kyle Dubus doesn't.
And until you have complete autonomy for one person that's doing the work to then make the decisions,
I think you end up in some incredibly awkward positions.
And I just, I don't know why the flames felt the need to go down this path.
I understand the idea of what we need someone to steer the ship.
Like if you think that Craig Conroy and Brad Pascal and, you know, Chris Snow and the group there,
You know, call Don Maloney an advisor if you want to.
You didn't need to take this extra step further and appoint him to president of hockey operations.
It makes no sense to me.
And I don't know why it hasn't been talked about more.
It makes even.
And to build upon that, Don Maloney and Bradshaw Living worked together and everyone's going to have slightly different opinions.
But to me, that's two peas in a pod.
I've been together for 20 years.
Like, they're going to have this.
Yes.
So Trilliving is above Darrell.
Yeah, Trilliving is above Darrell and can't, you know, so that there's friction there.
So Trulliving leaves and then Maloney's there.
And they sing from the same hymn book.
So now it's just Maloney's going to have an issue dealing with Darrell.
Is it weird that, is it weird that we've not heard from Darrell postseason?
A lot of times you'll see coaches have a end of the year press conference.
It's been quiet.
Two weeks pretty much since season ended.
he might he might stubbornly be saying i think it's weird sorry i'm jumping in front of you there frank
this is your question maybe darrell's saying you announce i'm the coach and then i'll have my
year-end media availability yeah and you don't want to bring a guy out to talk and then gun him
like i i feel like you have to make the decision on the coach before the coach addresses whether
he's you know the season make a decision on the coach whose new extension hasn't kicked in
let's continue to boil down how could you possibly make a decision on the coach
and then go out and hire a GM.
It's backwards.
Well, and the whole notion, like, okay, why are they bringing in a president of hockey ops?
Like, it's the same thing.
Like, who's going to do the search for a president of hockey ops if they have to go outside
the org?
Like, is Murray conducting that?
There's no one to do it.
As soon as the GM's a lame duck, this thing had no rudder.
Like, sorry.
I agree with you.
Still lots of questions.
And the optics they've given us are, make it worse.
And if they had just cleaned house, fire everyone.
Go ahead.
Or don't.
Well, and we laughed.
And that's okay too.
And we laughed because True Living had the offer to stay.
So at the end of the year, essentially,
everyone,
everyone's coming back.
Everyone's been given extensions and Maloney's been given a promotion.
So it's,
you know,
who's,
who's going to pay for this season for this awful year?
Nobody.
In fact,
there'll be some promotions.
Anyway, Frank, always good to talk to you.
How many, what's the over under on all you can eat hot dogs tonight?
So my goal is to go inning for inning.
I would set the over under at six and a half.
Man, a dog per inning pace.
With these new rules, Frank, that's very impressive.
That's true.
I think last year doable.
This year, man, that pitch clock things are speeding out.
Do you have a hot dog clock in the outfield for you?
So actually, they have a.
counter in on the scoreboard of total dogs consumed by the stadium it's like the other day it was like 40
like they had one last week it was like 45 000 through two innings it's a lot of snow it's jesus
it's a lot of sense well text us when you get home tonight okay we're worried about you worried about your
inside so i'll tweet you tonight i'll go good the counter awesome thank you we do need the frank dog
counter. Perfect. Thank you, Frank. Frank Saravelli, our NHL insider, a presentation, playoff, Frank,
of Bontan Meat Market. They do it right. They do it the best. They have been, they're an OG with us going
back to the old days. Greg has been a great supporter of ours for years and years, and we just ask that
you support him as well. Calgary Consumer Choice Award winner for Best Deli Meat Market. It doesn't
get better. 28 Crowfoot Circle in the Northwest, online bontontontontmeetmarket.com.
yeah and i'm i'm i think all of us if we're hedging bets here like it's clearly
back to the gm thing like this is feels like it's connie's job it's only a matter of
what's going to surround connie i just and i like just kind of i just go back to isn't that isn't
that more confusing than just naming him like i honestly to me it makes me question things more
like the so okay let's go back to the start of this because of
So the plan, the true plan was to bring everyone back in the same capacity and just continue on, right?
Because tree had the extension.
That was the plan.
That that is true.
He had the offer.
Mr.
Trilliving said, I don't want this pile of poo.
I'm good.
I'm good.
And said, thanks.
I'm out.
Somebody else feel free to start walking in this.
Yeah.
And they, there was, and we're okay with this.
Optically, we're going to give Maloney because that looks like, it is, this just looks
ridiculous.
Does it not?
Am I being too harsh?
Well, and so Maloney in the press conference literally has to like stop himself.
He's from well and up when talking about your living leaving.
Like they're clearly, they were running mates in terms of everything.
Um, not to mention that of course, Don would have hired Brad back in Arizona, as you alluded to.
So, yeah.
Is that, sorry, is that not odd that he stayed?
Well, so my theory is that this was a Brad versus Darrell thing and that Brad wasn't going to
return if Darrell was.
And when Brad wasn't given, you know, the autonomy to say, I'm the GM, I don't want this
coach back that he said, okay, I'll see you later.
But what it leaves is equally as confounding.
because if Brad was having issues with dealing with Daryl
and he's got a similar philosophy on the game to Don,
why won't Don clash with Daryl?
And then they come in and say,
well, the coaching thing isn't done yet.
Buddy's leaving.
Yeah, the coach review isn't done yet.
We've got to do that still.
And so if you're the owner that wouldn't let Brad get rid of the coach,
are you suddenly letting this quickly invented president of hockey ops job,
that now all of a sudden he's going to be able to do it?
Or is now Don going to go to the owner and say,
I'd like to fire the GM and the owner says no.
Like, it all reeks of dysfunction.
And to me, if they just end up now, giving it to Conroy,
it looks as janky as we say it is.
Because if they come out, it's unbelievable.
Steve Eisman showed up on our doorstep.
And thank goodness we did our due diligence.
As we feel we have one of the best general managers in the game.
I got to think it's a 99%
that it's going to be Craig Conroy.
So if you do that an interim,
and we're going to go through the whole thing,
and you make Conroy jump through these hoops
and then just announce him,
what the hell are you doing?
Yeah, and look, if it was a really functional environment
that was going to offer autonomy to the GM,
I think there would be a lot of value in going out
to see who the best people are elsewhere,
and maybe even just getting an audit,
saying, look, what have we done wrong here?
But it doesn't feel like this owner wants to evaluate
how he does things.
It's status quo and we're not changing it.
So I don't want, you know, Tulski to come in and tell me how to run the organization.
Connie knows how it works here.
He's going to be the guy.
Yeah.
And as far as Maloney is concerned, I get that he and Brad have the relationship and maybe
they're like minded.
And like you said, when guys work together, even if there is some, there's going to be
some differing of opinion.
But if Maloney were not here, they would have no one really with any extended NHL managing
experience.
Beyond Aegean.
Right?
Yeah.
That's the thing Maloney does have is he's been a GM, he's been an AGM, he's done it for
literally decades.
So for what that's worth, he's gone through a lot of the processes that you would have
to right now.
Yeah.
And even naming a president versus just saying Don Maloney's going to spearhead our GM search.
Interesting.
Because, I mean, we've seen this president position exist and then disappear again.
And, you know, they don't like spending more than they need to around here.
And if Don Maloney is the same guy he was a year ago, or months ago, make an AGM salary.
I would think this is a bump if it's a real president of hockey ops.
It's a lot of the same.
Yeah.
Well, there you go.
I don't know that we've made any sense of it all.
There you go.
Well, it's hard to make sense of it when there's no sense to be made of it.
I think that Conroy will be the guy.
I think he's, and if he's not, he has to leave.
He, like Trilliving, has to say, take this extension and stick it because I'm out.
How many, is another year or two, then I'll be, then I'll be qualified.
either I am in your mind,
a guy that's close or is there, or I'm not.
Well, I think he's absolutely the frontrunner here.
Well, no doubt about it.
Like, we all think he's going to get the job.
Frank made an interesting point about Pierre in Philly,
where they were anointing him.
They was kind of, yeah, they're going to keep you around
because we're going to eventually give you this.
Well, what the F is Conroy been told?
I guarantee you he's been told it.
Burke said that Ken said it.
So how many years has he been sitting there doing exactly what he's told,
working his ass off?
And now the opportunity comes up.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, we're not sure.
You know what he's been told?
He's been told,
uh,
you're going to be the next guy until the job came open.
And then they said,
well,
we need you to,
you're going to have to go through the process like everybody else.
Yeah.
Unless this is a wink and a nudge like this is yours,
but we want to look like our process is casting a wide.
I do think for you.
it is. I think from other perspectives it might not be, but I understand what you're saying.
Like your job was to groom Connie to be a GM. If he's not ready yet, it looks bad on you.
But you look around. There's also, there could be some very, very experienced and like high-end people available.
Are you allowing wiggle room to chat with them? But I just think anyone that's actually a top candidate ain't coming here anyway.
They never have been able to do it.
The history.
Don't give me a shit that it's because it's a guy. Don't give me that. Don't be ignorant to me about.
I'm not suggesting it has anything to do with your relationship with
Crames.
That's what you just said it.
No, no, no, no.
Sorry, what did you hear me saying?
What I was saying clearly didn't come through.
You said, you basically said I have a one-sided opinion on it.
No, no, no, no.
I have a personal vested interest in Craig Conroy because he's my friend.
Did you hear that?
I didn't say this opinion.
No.
Not at all.
That's the first time I've had that thought in my head.
I'm not suggesting that at all.
I'm sorry, something in there went sideways on what I was saying and what you heard.
I was getting ready for the outdoor dental read.
Yeah, I apologize.
Okay.
Well, either way.
But I do love it when you guys fight.
So I'll wait if you guys are going to.
No, no, I don't want it.
I don't want it to quit because I think it's interesting because if it was a wink and a nudge,
I think that's worse.
I do too.
That basically says, yes, because that basically says to the fans,
and the people that care about this team,
you're full of shit.
We're full of shit.
The other way to interpret it, though, Rhett, is that,
like if you're it,
is we understand we haven't been the pinnacle of great management,
and we owe it to this fan base to at least audit ourselves
and not say that the best guy we have is the best guy.
Well, I'm just saying they optically would want that five.
Yeah.
Yes, but if they're just giving us,
optics as fans and followers.
And I think that's very misleading.
And that's why I don't understand.
I was going to say, you like the optics.
You think it's good optics to say you're doing due diligence and doing a wide swath.
It's good process in theory, right?
I understand this is a, this is a situation that's very unique.
But generally speaking, I think it's good practice for NHL teams to go search everywhere for the best.
I think in general, that's the case.
But if it's also the case where you have been grooming a guy for years and years,
he has spent decades in the organization,
and then you give it to him anyway,
it looks sloppy to me.
I think every organization out there
is always grooming their AGMs to be GMs, right?
But they also want to see if there's people
that have done the job with great track records
that they can shout out with as well.
I don't think it's a failure if Craig Conray,
if they theoretically were to do a great search
and they bring in a guy that's been a GM in the league for 15 years.
Like, to be frank,
one of the issues of this organization is it's just one first time GM after another, after
another old retread, first time GM, first time GM, first time GM.
So if they do end up giving it to Conroy, after going through due diligence and they want to
talk to a bunch of people, aside from, we'll hear that we think Craig is the guy, he's ready,
he's been groomed for this, all of this, is there also something to be taken that there was,
there was no one with experience.
There was no star out in the league that was going to come to Calgary.
No, I think you could easily say we're even more confident in the work Craig can do
because we went around and this guy understands the situation better than anyone else.
Yeah, I get it.
I don't agree with it.
And I think it, I just come back to it.
I don't know why on that day.
And maybe it's out of respect to Brad, you don't do it that day.
I don't know.
But I just think it.
Well, to me, if it's a wink and a nudge, that's the wrong message then.
Then just give it to them.
Yeah, we won't know if it is, right?
Like, it's...
If it's a wink and a nudge,
press conference today.
Yesterday.
Friday.
I don't know.
But I do.
I think, I honestly think, that Craig Conroy is a candidate for this job.
I don't think it's a wink and a nudge retro.
I think he's got a, I think he's in the mix.
I think he's for the front runner.
But yeah, they're going to talk to other people.
They're going to talk to other AGMs and do the whole thing.
And then come back and maybe give it to Conroy.
And it might be better in a sense that you could ask a guy,
how did you guys do this process with scouting?
Or how did you have your analytics department integrate with these people?
Or what did you do with your affiliate?
Like you might learn some things that help Craig,
who's going to get this job we think anyway.
You might say, oh, geez, you know,
this guy had a great idea on some systems or process we can use.
It's getting kind of nerdy.
But I do think there are organizations that operate differently.
And this organization revisiting how things have always been done
ain't a bad look, even if it's just a look.
Well, and that goes back to what I said about the dubous thing,
where it's, you can sure look a lot smarter
if you get top five picks and get superstar players.
Yeah, no, I'm not here to say, like, the track records.
I think he's a very good GM.
Other people don't.
And there's lots of guys like that.
No, and I'm not question.
You like.
I'm just saying that,
yeah,
I'm just saying that as an organization,
the GM has to be allowed to maybe have a few down years, right?
Like,
that makes a lot of GMs look smart down the road,
guys that put in long-term plans and draft high picks,
and those guys turn out into stars.
Boy,
all of a sudden,
the Toronto Maple Leafs,
look at Kyle Dubas and the Leafs and how well they've managed things.
Yeah, no shit.
Nealander, Matthews.
Marner, well, Riley, like, you drafts of high-end talent.
You should get better.
I wouldn't even say, like, look at the team he's built.
I'd say, like, look how he's managed the cap.
That seems to be such a crucial skill in today's NHL.
Like, given all that money out before the pandemic hit,
they've done a really good job of remaining competitive,
finding value, you know, you didn't sign Hyman on the huge money.
You bring bunting it at a fraction of the dollars for similar production.
I just think there's some absolute, like...
There's some misses, too, though.
Of course, all of them was a disaster.
All of the things are misses.
Like every, every GM has them.
But cap management and being able to draft and develop are two of the best things
because they age forever.
But I think they're only allowed to have those swings and misses
if you have those draft picks that are stars.
Yeah.
I'm not fighting on that.
Like clearly, if this team's never allowed to rebuild,
you don't bring in a guy to say, hey, go find stars.
To pick in the top five, you need to be a bad team.
And generally, if you're a bad team,
your general manager is under extreme pressure and gets fired.
So, and then, yeah, if those picks that you had at three and two or God, first overall,
if they do pan out, then yeah, it's generally, rarely the GM who went through the pain and suffering
that enjoys the fruits of the labors when they come up and play as well as the leaves have been.
Yeah.
Outdoordental, outdoor.dental.com.
No videos this week, retro.
Not going to, no embarrassment for you or me.
although I know I was snoring last night
kind of even with the stuff
I like I like the ones that scare you awake
they scare you awake and then you look around to see was anybody
okay good no one was here
no one was here shot you can avoid that embarrassment
and more importantly you can just have
higher quality sleep better sleep more of it
you'll feel better everything in your life
is better with the proper amount
of sleep.
Snoring treatments done at outdoor dental,
you're like, okay, well, it's a dental office.
Well, they have the Soleya laser that is used,
no needles, no drills with the dentistry part of what outdoor dental does,
but the laser also can be used to treat snoring.
Two 15-minute treatments increases the tension in the soft palate in the back of your yipper,
reduce snoring, non-surgical, pain-free.
I've had guys coming up to me one of the guys at launch pad the other day.
So does that, so the snoring thing, that's for real.
So yeah.
It's legit.
What do you think?
It's not a wrestling gimmick.
It's Dr. Jay here.
I'm messing around.
Yeah.
It's not Isaac Yankham over here.
It's Dr. J. Patel.
Outdoor.dental.
And of course, they're a full dental office.
So move your whole, move your family there, do all your dentistry there.
But for sure in this case, check out the info on the snoring treatments.
Do you have 15 minutes twice in your life?
do 15 minute sessions, it's it.
Do that.
Pain free.
Outdoor. Dot Dental and go say hi to Dr. Jay.
Isaac, uh, Isaac Yankham.
Isaac J.
He was the, uh, he was a bad dentist in the WWF back then.
Oh, that's an interesting character.
I don't know that I've seen a lot of different characters replicated.
Never, I haven't seen another bad dentist.
That's, it was a terrible one.
Okay.
Um, he then, uh, the next one was better as he became, uh,
Kane, Undertaker's brother.
It's usually a large human if you have to be.
He's massive, yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah. It's actually a mayor of some town somewhere in the States.
Really?
Yeah.
Well...
It's a big cat.
Yeah, big dude.
Indeed.
You ever taken a tombstone pile driver, Rhett?
You ever been choked slammed?
Where's the table?
Is Robin today?
He said half the shit done.
He has been, yeah.
Yeah, the tombstone.
I can remember Frontier, Saskatchew.
My brother got me up and he pile drives me.
Oh, for real.
Yeah, I was a young boy.
It wasn't good.
Splains a lot.
I was not happy.
Right on top of the old dome.
In the bottom of a pool,
I wouldn't let me up and I nearly drowned.
Yeah.
That's brother of love.
That is right there.
If you would like a Solia laser,
contact Trevor.
He could hook you out.
Let's do the Pinder report.
It is a presentation of our friends at Village Honda.
located in the Northwest Auto Mall.
They are online at village honda.com.
Go to the website and check things
how we've been talking about.
They've got the packages,
and they vary in value and to what end,
but the detailing packages for your vehicle.
Now with the warmer temps,
and they're getting all the dirt and debris
cleaned off of the streets.
The sweepers are out there.
It's time to get your car taken care of.
Starting at 7995.
Online details at your dealership for life.
Village Honda presents.
The Pinder report.
Fellas, we got news.
And there wasn't a lot that went right this year retro,
but one of the silver linings for the Calgary Flames in 2022,
2022,
2023,
Walker Deer!
Back in the fold,
a two-year contract retro with an AAB of 8 and a quarter,
100,000.
That's maybe the worst way you can say,
825 grand of your two-year deal.
And it's a one way to,
how about this?
Walker-Dur.
Rocker dear.
Swacher dear.
Get your jersey.
Now before you get your jersey,
that is a seriously training camp ass number that he's wearing.
71.
Love it.
I think he was like 61 a year ago.
Do you keep the dirt under your nails?
Or, as was suggested on Instagram,
someone climbed into the personal messages.
Use your pull.
Get the flames to give him number 40.
He can be WD 40.
It's a lot.
But if there was ever going to be a number out of the 70s,
this is now you're off season to find one, Walker.
I like the look of 71.
It fits his style.
It's a little odd.
It's right side.
It's coming around with heat.
I came from nothing.
Does Malkin?
Is Malkin where 71?
Malkin does wear 71.
That's not many of them.
So Walker Durer.
Hivgeny Malkin.
Very much the same player.
Pretty much identical.
Awesome.
Yeah.
Same career trajectory as everything.
25 and two-year deal.
Okay.
He could have been a group six.
UFA next summer, whatever.
It's a two-year deal.
We liked them a lot.
Richly deserved.
Richly deserved.
And with Trevor Lewis expiring and Milan Luchich's deal.
No, the contracts, not in the body.
They're both alive and well.
His body's dead?
No, they're both alive and well.
The contracts have expired.
I do have an update also on Milan Luchich.
She's in the place you'd least expect to see them.
I've got photos from the internets.
The fourth line now comprises of Walker Durer on the right,
and two openings to his left.
Do you have any ideas or suggestions for players?
that should slide into the left of Walker Doer?
Do we have a Coronado
or a
Adam Rozichka or a Connor
Zari or
is it just Lewis coming back again?
What did I have?
I thought I made the lines right at the end of the year.
I think I had Zari and Peltje.
That would be a little bit of pace
and some youth. I don't mind that kind of a setup
for a line. What about Rosie?
Are you done with Rosie?
I told you I'm mad at
Rosie because Rosie didn't show up every day.
He kind of pissed away his opportunity.
Sure did.
If you don't want to take it,
when you get the chance,
then it's kind of on your,
it's on your own conscience, buddy.
So that,
that is the first contract signed
by non-Bradtreeving
at General Manager.
I like whoever is doing it.
Whoever's in charge,
Paul and the Strings there.
You like that Walker,
do not.
Could you got a third year?
Could you have gone, yeah?
Could you get another?
Locked him in.
The agent's not going on.
Anyway,
that is done.
Speaking of his former linemate,
and maybe still could be line mate,
Milan Luch's deal is up.
So you'd imagine Guy Malon's age
finishes that massive seven-year contract
with the Oilers,
six million a year.
Probably time to kick your feet up in the tropics, right?
You want to guess which tropical country
he's hanging out in here on this 25th day of April?
Is it Saskatchewan?
Saskatchewan's not a country.
He is indeed in Calgary.
Look what he's doing.
He's practicing with the Calgary.
What? Actually, I guess guy who just wants some ice.
You know, he's used to these deep playoff runs in L.A. and Boston, last year with
Calgary round two, he ain't done skating. So there he is. There's another picture I think I
uploaded in the- Do you, sorry, I'm gonna, I'm gonna jump in there. Is there?
Look at that. Wow, he's on the ice, though. My point was, I was to be around the team to learn
to learn the ropes as far as coaching and all that shit.
I mean, if he's learning coaching, shouldn't he have the coaching
outfit on and a whistle around his neck?
It looks like a guy's conditioning, but maybe.
If he does that, it signals while he's retired.
And he's got to answer all the retirement questions.
Here's just, no, I'm around the team.
I'm just getting to know the guys.
I think Milan wants another contract.
I'm sure he does.
But is it a coaching contract or an NHL contract?
Yeah.
Are you doing a contract?
I love it.
Give me one year.
Can you play league men?
Entry level.
I'll play with Wockander.
You got to fight Reeves.
I'll grab a hole and then fall down.
Yeah.
Swinging down we go.
You have to eat one from Reeves.
That's it.
Well, that's interesting because I saw he was,
he had the full denim tuxedo on again the other day.
Gene Zia, that's a good look.
I like that.
Not a lot of guys have the moxie to pull that off.
That's interesting.
Absolutely can.
Gene Zito for days.
So yeah, I didn't expect to see that.
Other news, Majapani cited at the dome as well,
he's recovering from shoulder surgery.
That certainly wouldn't explain all of what was a disappointing season for Manjapani,
but he did have that better second half.
Good to see, and hopefully he's ready in the fall to pick up where, you know, last season ended off.
For the first half of last season, something a while ago.
Let's get to last night's NHL playoff action.
Here are your finals.
We're at four games.
And look at this.
The road teams continue to do damage.
Jersey, back to 2-2.
Road teams 4-0 in that series.
Toronto, down 4-1.
You want to come back?
Five-four in overtime.
They didn't do it after 20 minutes like the Oilers.
They did that with less than 10 and a half minutes left in the third period down 4-1.
Impressive stuff from them.
Vegas, yeah, you guys were right.
Winnipeg's fucking dead.
And the nightcap saw Seattle get to overtime against the abs.
We'll start in with some thoughts on, well, I guess, let's go to Tampa.
Sound up here, Red.
I don't know that Tampa's close to Toronto.
In the alphabet, they're not bad.
But geometrically speaking, as you once said,
listen to all the fans in the building.
There's the travel well down there.
You know, that's, I didn't expect.
Listen.
Listen, Tampa fans have been to the Stanley Cup finals three years in a row.
They're not buying the, they're selling these ones to all the Leafs fans
that are going to play for their whole season next year.
Now, did you see Biz Nasty on TNT last night?
Because he was on the panel, and I believe he in Ontario, boy.
Here we go.
You're fired up when you're fired up.
Yeah, I'm fired up, buddy.
You're fired up for a reason because yesterday, I think we all saw that
Edmonton could come back.
You guys can take off.
You guys can leave.
You didn't believe that Toronto could come back.
They were dead to rights.
They looked terrible.
The core four was not existent.
But what happens sometimes is, you know, when you play that finesse game, you know,
you don't look so good.
And you look like a dial of, but they turn into a beautiful symphony,
a beautiful ballet out there, just crossing and drop and making plays.
The Leafs are back, man.
the core four has been activated and they're about to steal another one in Tampa Bay.
I don't know what the John Cooper press conference is going to look like, but it ain't going to be pretty.
Wait, the boys and blue are back.
Let's go.
Like Viz from shift to shift.
From the end coach.
From game to game.
He's like up.
Roll the clips.
Roll the clips.
So that was before overtime.
He was right.
They did steal another in Tampa and a biz entertaining guy.
I don't know if that's news to anyone.
He's a lot.
He's very good.
That's a good panel.
They got going better than the other one.
The ESPN's wrong.
Oh, yeah.
It's not even close.
Eye of the tiger.
Eye of the tiger.
The lightning have lost.
They've been training at the high end gym.
They need to go back to Russia or the backwoods and get in some shitty training.
Eye of the tiger.
They've lost it.
Leif's a rocky reference over my shoulder, I think, too.
That's the other one.
Maybe.
Not quite sure.
So Biz was fired up.
Let's go to one of the other games.
A lot of attention will be paid to this today.
This is Cale McCar on Jared McCann.
We showed it with Frank.
We'll show it again here.
Shot on net.
Puck goes up and out of play.
McCann's like, yep, plays over.
I need to hear the whistle.
I do too.
That's a big part of this.
And he gets clunked.
Didn't look that bad, but clearly it looks bad when you see McCann
going down and leaving the game, ruled out already for game five,
potentially longer.
This could be a series ender.
And that means McCar, who,
you know, best young defenseman on earth,
he could be missing a while.
He's got a hearing with the league today.
Not ideal for the abs who were expected to clean the clocks of the Cracken
and now are heading back to the Mile High City tied at two.
I got your point because Frank kind of said it's two different things,
but when it's a major, reviewed, no minor for interference.
And then you've got a hearing, there's a disconnect somewhere.
It's clunky as hell.
Yeah, your point is valid.
And he said it was.
it's just that, you know, they're two different departments.
Sure.
Be nice if both departments knew what the fuck was going on here.
And we always joke about spinning the wheel of justice
with the Department of Player Safety.
How you take that from a major to minor,
I don't really get either.
Odd.
Okay.
Moving along, did you see the OT winner?
Look at these hippies, right?
The weed must have worn off because look how jacked up
when Seattle wins us in OT.
It was 2-0.
Aves get a pair from Rantanin off to overtime.
We go first OT-O-T game.
O-T-T-T-T-T-T.
there's your boy, Ebbs.
Zing. Zing is right.
And the building comes to life.
Holy jumping.
We'll let it roll again with the sound.
That is, they're happy.
Is he still summer in in Calgary?
I think he's got some good old Calgary roots.
We saw his dad preseason.
He's got to stop by saying how to Johnny Winwick.
He's got a place down in the South Carolina.
There you go.
He's not golfing yet, Dino.
Big goal for Ebs.
Remember when the Oilers lost
Anaheim and that, and it's like, we got to trade abs.
He's not a player performer.
I think he might, like, have outscored the entire roster since all the moose.
Yeah, he was.
Tard and feathered.
Unfairly.
Tard and feathered.
Uh, yeah.
Singled out there.
Oh, yeah.
And we was talking with Boom before, like, just to be like a puppy, like a, like a cracking fan.
And to not have this league break your heart.
You haven't been screwed by any calls.
No one's stolen a cup.
Just, yeah, you didn't make it year one.
But, hey, you know what?
That's an expansion team.
That's all right.
You went to a bunch of games.
You got a cool.
Cool jerseys. Look at how much fun we're having.
And now you got the defending champs in overtime. Bang.
Best of three.
Let's go. Let's go indeed.
And where's Natchewski? We don't know.
We have no idea.
That's still fishy.
That was the final goal of the night.
And that snapped an 11 game run for the road team, Surrett.
That's right.
11 in a row, the road team had won in round one per Friedman right there.
looked it up this morning, road teams are 20 and 12, 20 and 12 through 32 games.
Didn't expect that.
Each series has now played four, and you saw four and O for the road teams in that
Rangers Devil's series.
We saw Ebbinton get one on the road of late.
It's been an odd spring that way.
Sure is.
It'll change.
I would suggest that's due for some regression as well, Retro.
I'm with you there.
Okay, tonight's games. Let's take a peek. Just three. We've had the four game slates the whole way through. The schedule starts getting a little wonky. We already talked about Edmonton and L.A.'s weird thing. They'll play tonight, but not again until Saturday. Well, Boston and Florida, they're not going to play tonight before our game five where we're expected to see Patrice Bergeron return to the Bruins lineup. Tonight, what's the word we always use? Down 3-1, the Islanders are? They're not penultimating. They are not... They're looking to stave. They're staving. That's a...
That's right.
Staving.
Get your stave going.
They're slaving over a hot stave.
Let's go.
Staving off that elimination.
That's right.
Stave away, boys.
I'm staving away.
Fucking beated Islanders.
You shouldn't have been in there.
I told you.
They're fucking boring.
They're going to be a waste.
Get Pittsburgh or get Buffalo or get somebody else in there.
And they have been a snore fest.
Carolina, get them out, rest up, and move on.
That's back.
in rally, you know, back in Dallas, tied to two. This has been feisty. Stars and Wild, we'll see
with the best of three, you know, essentially opening in Dallas tonight how that one looks,
and it's Kings and Oilers who did the improbable, down 3-0. They come back and win that thing
5-4 and overtime two nights ago. Back to the cultural capital, sweathogs will be fired up. Don't
throw shit on the ice if your team loses. That's wrong there. They didn't throw when they won,
right? Who was going to be fired up? The sweathugs.
Right.
Let's go to non-hockey, shall we, Red?
Check out this cat.
Oh, no, sorry.
So this is good.
This was game three in L.A.
So welcoming the Oilers to L.A., you know, scene setter.
You know, we're off from Duned in Edmonton and L.A.
Watch the intro before game three for the Kings fans.
You can only do this in Hollywood.
Kind of cool.
That's pretty good.
I think Carpment has done some stuff for them.
Forever.
Over the years, yeah.
A lot of Cartman.
Anytime I've been to a Kings game, there's always some South Park up there.
So what is Edmonton to respond?
What's the big deal?
I hope that they're looking to kill Kenny.
Kenny Holland.
Watch yourself.
Jesus, careful.
God damn.
A tease of face.
To baseball,
the Tampa Bay Reyes don't have any interest in losing baseball games.
Still, Dean.
It was cute for a week.
And now a month in,
it's getting fucking scary for every other team in the majors.
Look at this play here.
This is Wander Franco,
their star,
who graduated last year.
He's playing shortstop and somehow's going to make a play out in left field.
Flare down the line.
Look at this.
Wander's.
covering ground.
And oh, you know what?
Just use my bare hand.
He's almost at the fucking pole.
He's at the foul pole.
My line's bad.
I've overrun.
I've done.
Oh, really.
I can't even like scratch the back of my head with my frigging shoulder.
He's going.
Yeah.
So this is essentially over his shoulder.
There's a great angle of it.
I can't put my arm up.
Oh.
Are you kidding me?
Yeah, pulling the seatbelt.
Can't turn my friggin neck in this dude.
Can't get the seat.
seat down.
Ah!
Seaped out.
God.
He's lucky he didn't fall or that
really hurt.
So confirmed,
Wander Franco.
Better athlete than Boomer.
Well,
and the race better than everyone else.
It's baseball still.
We joked about it when the preseason odds
came out who was going to win the ALE East
and they were like plus 400.
It's like,
look,
Yankees and Js might be good,
but don't ever fucking bet against the race.
They're never going to be bad.
We should have all the
respect in the world for them.
No one does more with less.
Not even close.
But it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's,
it's, like, like, into the luxury.
We're tired of you already.
Quit, like, quit buying these teams, quit doing so much homework.
These damn nerds are better than our nerds.
Quit being so smart.
No one likes a smart ass.
Stop it.
All right.
Big weekend coming up in Calgary.
Home opener for Cavalry FC.
CPL side.
Good start to the season.
A couple draws on the road and hostile territory.
They're coming home.
Rhett, I know what you're thinking.
It's the end of April and Calgary.
What are we going to get for weather?
Even better news.
Look at this.
Sunday, 23 degrees, a little bit of a breeze, no rain,
and a glorious 3 p.m. kickoff for the Cavs.
Your chance to win.
Keep an eye on the socials.
We're going to, this little video.
Tag a pal you want to bring.
maybe a first time or maybe you're a first timer.
Hey, I keep hearing things about the sock tape.
We'll announce our winner Thursday with Kerr or Wednesday with you.
That'll be tomorrow, probably Thursday.
A couple days, let this thing go.
And we'll get you out there Sunday for the home opener.
Calvary FC.
If you've never been, it's one of the best sporting atmospheres in our city by far.
It's entirely unique and unlike anything else.
If you had to compare it to something, I don't know what I would say about any other thing in town.
And you're out of town.
so Pinder won't be there, you know, spill, spill things on you and ruin your day, potentially.
That's right.
This is the game to be at.
The beer lines will have one less person in that's right.
So go get it, calves this weekend in the season opener.
Finally, we've got, again, more leaked video from Buffalo, which is interesting.
But first, now when did you and the shoveler, your honeymoon?
Did you go to Japan? Is that right?
Our honeymoon hasn't ended.
Okay.
Still living in bliss.
Love birds.
Well, somehow, Rhett, with all his connections,
because I think he played in some, like, U-16, U-17 thing in Japan.
Remember he found the beer in the vending machines when he was underage?
Well, he got the shoveler through some connections in Japan
to throw out first pitch at this game.
Really?
You won't believe it.
Yeah, and I didn't know she looked so much like Mariah Carey.
This is unbelievable.
So there's a shoveler.
Oh.
Oh, shoveling.
Come on.
like a triple hopper to the place.
The shoveler was a ball player.
I was going to say,
well, that's, but do she, do she
underhand or overhand?
She was a collegiate ball player.
That's, he was underhand.
Her game has gone to ship.
And apparently that was 08, I'm being told that,
uh, it must have been, yeah,
off season for you guys.
Great stuff.
Love that top.
Okay.
Moving along.
We had a great time.
Uh, rat, you're back in Buffalo.
I'm told you're driving a black truck.
And look at this.
asshole park job he does.
Like, let's take a peek at this.
Four stalls all with one truck.
He thinks he owns the place, right?
Wherever he goes, it's his world.
We're just living in it.
It's really unfortunate.
And, yeah, so it's bad parking his truck disrespectfully.
And I understand why he might have been in a bad mood because, you know, more of a cat
guy than a dog guy.
We know that.
His cat got, this is just, oh, no.
What is this?
Look at, like, all the places you're going to go.
you're as white as virgin snow
and you're going to go sit in the mud puddle.
I'm sorry, Rhett, that would have been a tough cleanup there.
Or just don't come back for a weak cat.
Go bathe in the river.
You love cats, eh?
What about this parking thing?
I don't get it.
If I was going to park a truck rudely,
it would be from, you know,
surge or someone in Calgary,
I would take care of it.
My own vehicles, I don't care about.
I would never park route.
We'll have the picture for you later on.
Okay, that was a tough pivot there.
I know you tried.
You tried hard there, but...
I had it yesterday and then...
Next.
That's Pinder Report.
What a way to finish.
I barely noticed.
Yeah, me too.
That's the good thing about it.
Pinder Report, proudly sponsored by Village Honda.
They have their poop in a group far more than the Pinder Report.
Fuck.
Get your piece of a million dollar buy-in event.
Get cash for your vehicle.
Village Honda
pays top dollar
and they will throw in
a tropical cruise to boot.
Do you hear what we're saying?
They're looking for used vehicles.
They want to buy your used vehicle,
top dollar,
and a tropical cruise
on top of it all.
See more online at villagehonda.com
or go visit in the Northwest
Auto Mall.
Your dealership for life.
I'm sure it was great.
Four spots.
Come on, Rat.
You better.
Come on, Red.
Where are you going in?
Does that some dollarama?
What are you doing?
Something in motion pictures there, I see.
Oh, I see.
He was just going for popcorn, though.
He wasn't hungry.
You saw that video yesterday.
That's like the truck that you sold on the radio.
That is a little bit.
A little similar.
A little similar.
You're seeing P chasing this one around too?
She kept that.
Now that I ran my mouth off,
I've got a thing coming up here,
and hopefully all of my stuff works.
I did get a text part way through the Pindler
report saying, oh, yeah, you're not all your stuff's in there. So hopefully this is going to work.
I don't know if it's going to be a new segment, but I think it might be.
Okay. And it was interesting when Rhett started the show today, he used the word and kind of referenced.
And it's like, did he know this was coming? Is this you and me are heads? Like are we like, are twins?
Is our chemistry running so deep that you knew what I was thinking before I was thinking it or while I was thinking it?
Well, get ready.
Because this is a segment.
And I don't know if it's going to be every week.
Balls.
This is balls.
And I'm going to tell you who's got balls.
Oh, okay.
You know who's got balls?
Who's got balls, Dean?
Leon Drysidal.
I hate to admit it.
but the guy's got balls.
We threw it out there the other day.
He's been on for every goal.
Every goal.
They haven't scored a goal.
Go ahead, Alex, just roll these.
They haven't scored five on five without him factoring in on the goals.
They're down,
well,
down three nothing.
Then it's three to one.
Then it's three to two.
Then it's three to three.
He's on all these goals, yeah.
McDavid has been good,
but he has been the guy.
He's been there later.
You know what he's got?
balls. He's got balls. He's got balls, Rhett.
Leon's got balls.
Well, to be fair, Rat has been raving about his balls
well before this became the cool thing to do.
He was saying, it might be better.
And they're German balls for whatever that's worth.
So I don't know if you get extra points for that,
but Leon's got balls.
You know who else has balls?
Okay. I don't.
And we actually saw the clip earlier.
Jordan Eberley.
Jordan Ebb's got some stones.
Jordan Eberle has got some balls.
You go back, we all remember.
World Junior hockey championships.
Big game against the Russians,
scores to tie the game.
How much time left?
Not much, Ryan.
Like seconds.
Jordan Eberley.
Scores.
Canadian pride.
Our hearts busting right out of our chests.
You go to 2020.
It's the old COVID thing.
in overtime.
Double O.T.
Jordan Eberley scores.
Balls.
It's a ball's goal.
Against the Tampa Bay Lightning.
And then, as you mentioned,
last night.
Nice finish.
The Seattle Cracken.
Their second playoff home game,
they get their first win,
they get it in overtime,
and who else?
Right back to him.
Jordan Eberley.
Retro.
Eberley's got balls.
Yeah.
Balls.
He's an Alberta boy, isn't he?
Of course it does.
Yeah, of course.
Regina, then, yeah.
You know who else has got balls?
You got more balls.
I'm afraid to guess now.
It could be anyone.
This one might come from left field.
You know who's got balls?
Under Franco, left field?
Akira Schmidt.
Oh, Schmid, yeah.
Akira Schmidt, yeah.
The New Jersey goaltender.
So the Rangers run roughshod in games one and two.
Yeah.
over the New Jersey Devils.
Just eviscerated Vanichick.
And Vanichick.
First two games, 10-2 goals for the Rangers.
Outscores the Devils 10 to 2.
Power play 4 for 10.
Games 3 and 4.
Akira Schmidt takes over in net, gives up two goals.
One game 3, one in game 4, nothing on the power play.
And there you see it.
Akira Schmidt.
Balls.
Covers the 5-hole that'd help.
And you know who else has got balls?
Who else has got balls, Dean?
And you said it right off the start, and you even said balls.
The Toronto Maple Leafs, you cannot.
And again, is it a collapse?
You got it much like with the Oilers.
The Oilers came back.
These guys have been raked.
I mean, here, the Oilers sometimes, you know, it's not, what are you going to do?
It's not the same.
Seven first round exits in a row.
Matthews and Marner and Nylander and Riley.
All those guys have been absolutely dragged by the fan base and the media.
Last night, Matthews two goals.
Marner assists on the two in the third period.
Nylander three assists.
Riley ties it.
Riley ties it.
And then they win it to go up three to one.
Retro, you said it.
Leifes have got balls.
That second of the five goals they score on the night is the one that starts the rally.
That's Austin Matthews.
How casually he tips a puck a foot and a half off the ice into a perfect spot of the net.
it's a very very unique skill set i don't know how many guys can get a stick on that never mind
like he's just skating by yeah got it not bad and all their i mean we're rattled off the names there
all their guys are the guys that are doing it for them their guys are their guys that's what you
needed if this was ever going to happen for them yeah they get you know curfut gets the winner
and there's been some you know matthew nice saves a goal or whatever um eyes look good last time you did it
Look, all right.
But you go to,
Marner has 10 points in the four games.
I think he's leading the league and assists in the playoffs.
Benaz.
Matthews, 7 points, 3 goals,
7 points for O'Reilly,
7 points for Nealander.
You really?
6 for Riley,
who scores the overtime winner two games ago.
And then ties it late.
And then ties it last night.
Yeah.
That's all their guys.
Tavares, three goals.
Not bad through four games.
Balls.
And it is, I think Sheldon Keith spoke about it postgame.
Like, this team has lacked killer instinct.
And like you,
you certainly cannot debate the last seven years
when there have been big moments where they could win a series,
they have not been able to do it.
But to suggest that's a thing that you either have or you don't,
that's where I think this series is a good reminder.
Tabin Bay Lightning is a very similar crew
to the one that went to the Stanley Cup finals three years in a row
and had all the killer instinct.
All of a sudden, the group that can never get it done,
You can't win with these guys and these perennial winners.
It's just going the other way.
And I think part of that is just having to deal with all that fucking emotion of losing all those series and how much more you would want something.
All of a sudden they look like killers.
The same group that, like all the same guys, that core four and more, you can't win with these guys.
That was sort of the school of thought.
And these are the guys that might be put in the end
to a pretty impressive, you know, near decade long run of the lightning.
Yeah.
And now it is just waiting at playoffs.
Like, I'm not, it's not lost on me.
Yeah.
But that has been their cross to bear for so long.
And I don't know.
It's, it has been different.
We always love to take runs at the Leafs, but it, maybe it's just showing my age.
But it was that Corson, you know, Tucker, although I did like Tucker because, you know,
Western League, sorry.
But they just had guys.
It was far easier to dislike them.
I don't know.
I got no reason to dislike Marner, highly skilled.
Nealander doesn't say a word.
Austin Matthews scores goals.
They're a bit of an easier team to like.
I think it's the media and that whole thing that we still can't stand.
And they're softer on the scale at times.
But I think, you know, that group's done a better job playing mean or tougher and through more stuff than they have in years past.
And I think also a lot of it was, hey, there's this.
30-year-old GM, screw that.
You know, oh, he knows analytics.
Screw him.
Like, they had that too.
It's the biggest market in the world.
They break a pane of glass in training camp.
It's a national story.
A lot of the issues this group's faced is just virtue of being in Toronto.
Now, there are two things, and unlike anything else, but there are two things that will make your balls shrink.
Steroids, allegedly, and blowing a 3-1 seriously to the town.
This is, if you really want to be peak leaps, blow this.
Right?
Like this is, yeah.
They are set up.
Again, three nothing would be worse, I guess.
Yeah, it's the only thing worse, Dean.
And it wasn't like Tama didn't outplay them the last two games for most of the last two games.
They kind of did.
Like I like, it's Chaud and Freud.
We love taking pleasure and other people's misfortunes.
I don't know.
There would be, there would be so much collateral damage if they lose this series now.
I mean, it'd be fascinating to watch.
and interesting i i don't know i have they not suffered enough red have they not suffered enough i think they
i do not see them blowing this series now i think that's what's been fun about the way they've
struggled in the past but you go back to the finuff era when they were playing boston they were up
three and they blew it like it's the epic collapses that they've allowed to happen that has made
the story so interesting but i don't see it this year i think that
They're moving on.
And they are easier to like.
Who do I don't like them.
And it's because of what Pinders said and what everyone says because of the media and the
fans and the extra attention.
Because if one guy has a hang nail, it's national news.
Right.
Like that's what people don't like about the leaves.
This team is not hard to like.
There's a lot of talented players there.
There's.
And again, we're going to move on.
We are a podcast.
We're not a breaking news.
outlet by any way. That next series, by the way,
I'll be a dandy, Toronto, Boston.
A little history there, right in the scar tissue.
But a couple of things that have happened
while we've been doing the show here. Is he showed today? It is
a one game suspension for
Kale McCar. So
three for
Bunting. Bunting.
And one for Macar.
One's a superstar. One's
not. I don't know. I don't know that that factors
in that much in this instance. They both had
clean track records. The bunting
one felt especially dirty. Um, and
this one you could sort of sympathize with McCar maybe thinking that Puck's coming back into play,
but there was no excuse for the bunting at all. You can kind of squint and give McCar a chance here,
no? I don't know. Again, I want to hear the whistle. I'm still shocked. I need to hear the whistle.
At how in, eh, I'm still shocked at how injured. Yeah, his head must have got conked at just the wrong
angle, if you know what I mean. And there again, he's probably not expecting. He's,
which is why I wonder if he's heard the whistle or he sees that the puck's gone up and into the net,
and he just kind of, you know, shoulders come down and you exhale and then you get clawed.
By the way, it's one game from a car, and by the sounds of it, it's at least one from a can, but most likely more than one.
So there you go.
Oddly enough, advantage abs in that instance.
The other thing that's come up and just kind of following along on social media, there are numerous reports of a press conference being held in Calgary today.
a news conference on the Arena Project
will be held at 3.30 this afternoon
featuring city officials,
the head of Calgary Sports and Entertainment Corp,
and the Premier Danielle Smith.
Sounds like they may...
It sounds like they have a deal.
That according to Scott Dipple from CBC News.
Based on the council vote,
coming out of the closed session,
there will be a public announcement
of some sort regarding the arena,
and based on the tone,
it does not sound like it's a bad news announcement.
It's a rank for sure.
And all the people that know City Hall well have said this is the track we've been on for a while.
What's important is that they get this thing done before council breaks for a long summer holiday.
And that will allow this thing to not be picked up and then agree in the fall,
but that we can get shovels in the ground potentially as soon as before 2024 clicks.
And Ryan Pike of Flames Nation, he's been all.
He's been,
no one's better on the arena file than Pike.
The only thing I know about all this is following what Pike writes and tweets on the topic.
He's been superb.
Yeah.
So there you have it.
It's coming.
The mayor, Councilor Sharp, Premier.
3.30 Mountain.
And yeah, the Premier as well as,
so there's a, the group that is building it,
they have two people and a lawyer that showed up for the council meeting today,
which was a greater entourage than they normally had for similar meetings.
So there was a few eyebrows raised this morning.
This could be close.
And there's your announcement this afternoon.
And Calgary Stampede CEO expected to be there.
So there you go, retro, getting a rink.
finally.
How long is it take?
Good, great.
I think Ken first mentioned it.
You think back to when the flames,
when the flames first came out with that plan for that big thing.
Calgary next.
Yeah, the next.
That's right.
That is a long time ago.
And long before that, it was first uttered by Ken King.
I believe in the offseason following 2004,
Pike had that, the first public mention of a new facility.
So this is a near 20 year journey to,
get to the point where an agreement for a second time has been in place.
These things take time, guys.
A lot of time, apparently.
Now, what do they say in Atlanta, Georgia?
They're hoping there was Kevin Weeks said something a week ago and they think that could
be done in 2027.
Something like that.
That's different places.
Different politics.
Madreau's Pub, 15 Royal Vista Place, when a Canadian team is playing.
Yep.
So, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Toronto.
Carolina.
Toronto.
They have the game on the speakers in the pub.
That's how it should be.
Canadian teams only, but again, that's pretty, and I'm sure.
As we move along, if a bunch of Golden Night fans go in,
maybe you can coerce the serving staff, but they have turned things up.
The new patio, the outdoor patio, they've been, they've always had specials on game days.
and whatnot.
15 Royal Vista Place, 20 beers on tap,
kid-friendly, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.
People are talking about Madros.
I have a lot of people, the guys that we were at launch pad.
They're like, oh, maybe we'll see if we can swing by Madros on the way home.
Full entrees.
It's just some of the best pizzas in the city.
Gourmet dough and signature sauce made fresh every day.
You can order on their website, have it delivered,
madrose.
Dot pub.
But it's an experience.
Great people in there.
Retro, you and I were in there about a couple weeks ago.
And it was just a steady stream of people coming up saying,
hey, guys, loving the show, loving the podcast, I love it.
Oh, and this arena news, when's Brett back for there got to be a statue of him somewhere?
I mean, when you're back, we're back to Mad Rose.
I've missed that pile already.
Now, I'm going to tie this next video in with Mad Rose.
And by all means, be responsible, right?
But you can go up there, you can have some drinks, have a great time.
I'm not sure what they were serving.
at the game last night in Tampa.
This guy is macro dosing.
That's all I know.
But take a look at this guy here.
He's on his phone.
And I don't know.
I get macrodosa.
Go ahead, Alex.
And is it,
he's over-served.
It was 4-1.
He starts yelling.
It was 4-1.
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.
Oh, the Zumbies are hitting now.
Yes.
It's some Patton-Oz-Wold look-alike in a Leafs jersey.
And he's just screaming his.
his head off. He is so excited. Yes. Yes. Yes. I don't know how those guys are hanging out
with this guy. And then look at this. It's retin the shoveler. Oh, retro. Retting the shoveler.
How could you? Way, baby. Hey, baby, like you guys had too much. I hope you Uber at home.
Wow. That's a lightning jersey. He's trying to get in there.
Look at this. Oh, my goodness. We're responsible. We're responsible.
right?
That's, I do like, I do love the drunken public showing of affection.
Yeah.
Where were we?
Or you,
you had the video of the,
oh yeah.
Which I still think we could show.
No.
Damn it.
Not even close.
Yeah,
some 60 year old's face sucking at the bar.
Just,
wow.
I love.
Karaoke in the background and just like,
woof,
drunk adults.
Like not kids.
they're add-ons.
She's saying,
I'm a lightning fan.
I can't be seen kissing you, Austin.
That's Austin Matthews Post game.
Hey, listen, babe.
Babe, it's only 3-1.
Leaves shit these kind of leads away all the time, babe.
And the old man losing is the delusional old man.
I love at the very beginning.
I think you can lip-read him saying,
it was 4-1, which is going to be the classic catchphrase
should they escape from this series.
Either way.
So there you go.
Want to mention Jasper Travel.
we've been telling you about all that's going on up at Jasper. It continues. It's not going away. Spring skiing until May 1st. So you got some time to get in on that. At Marmot Basin, the escape card, which gets you, half-price lift tickets, has been in effect all season and we'll go right through until the first. The brand new, the terrain that they opened a few weeks ago, Marmot Basin, Cirque.
Bowls and shoots. Bowls and shoots. Never before accessible to the public. And of course,
with summer right around the corner.
Golf course will be opening in about a month.
Lakes are thawed or thawing.
Get your rafting going.
You're kayaking.
You're canoeing.
You're camping.
Front country, back country.
The sky tram is open.
Go online and check it out.
Jasper travel, venture beyond a beautiful part of our world.
That is not as far as you think.
Beautiful drive.
We've made that drive.
Unbelievable drive.
93 North.
Icefield's Parkway.
Man.
Love it.
Love it.
Betway bets and then we get out of here.
Sure.
You have for sure get out of here.
Did you know this,
Rhett?
We're done with Pinder for a bit.
It's been fun working with you and best of luck in future endeavors.
Got to go get the Hiv taken care of.
Is that shots or salve?
We will definitely be doing shots of tequila.
Yeah.
We've got a family wedding to attend in the tropics.
We're excited.
All of a sudden creeping up on us.
Bellway bets of the day.
Get the Betway app on your phone.
Play along at home.
I'm going with the pre-made betway booze.
right in the front page.
Tell me about it.
The Betway boost,
Oilers, Stars, and Hurricanes.
Home Team, home team, home team.
All win plus 350.
Woo.
All pretty significant favorites, I'd suggest, as well.
Dig it.
Oh, look what you did as well.
Sweet Jesus.
Kings at Edmonton.
McDavid has been eerily quiet.
Only a point of half per game.
Like three,
only three points last game.
But he has yet to really have a McDavid-esque.
I scored two goals, I guess.
I just feel like he's still.
going to break through. McDavid,
three or more points,
plus 130.
I wonder if this could be one of those legendary nights
where it's...
This is how good he is.
It's only plus 130?
Yeah.
I went to two plus points.
It wasn't even even money.
No, she's all.
Okay.
Minus 115.
Throw another point in there.
Those are my bet way bets.
All right.
I'm kind of got similar vibes to you.
I got the dry sidel staying hot.
He's going to score.
I also think, you know,
it might be a tough night for the while,
but Carrel Caprizo,
This guy's just a goal score.
They both score plus 300.
And Rope, Hintz, two plus points.
It pays plus 250.
We hit a two-pointer last night with Nielander.
We'll try it again with Hintz, who has been great for the stars.
He's got, what, four or five goals already?
Oh, boy, Rope.
That way bets a day.
There you go.
Play along, be responsible, be 19, but enjoy yourself.
You're already watching the damn games.
May as well make it a little.
more fun.
I have some fun.
Throw a tunie on it.
Let's go.
Had a buddy jump on the Leafs down 4-1 last night.
10 to 1.
No kidding.
25 to 250.
Wow.
Happens quick.
I wouldn't,
when it was 4-1,
I had no thought of even better.
It was just like this is going to be.
Yeah.
The only question I would have it 4-1 is how big is the number right now?
Not that it was going to, you know, oh, 12, that's a good number.
I'm not going to win it.
but, you know, that's good odds.
Because you said before the show,
the Oilers' impressive comeback.
There's no, not to take anything away from it,
but it was three, nothing in the first.
They switched goal at the intermission, right?
This is 10 and a half minutes left in the third down three.
Yeah.
Yeah, it was halfway through the third, exactly.
That was the one for me.
It's like, Wuhan Vasselowski.
You're not going to stop one?
You're one save.
That's all they needed.
Were you happy to see Gio with that?
No, because he wants to year to play next year.
Hey, was it memory lane?
Did you get nostalgic C and G.
Gio, usually it was the other point, but firing that hard.
I think that's awesome.
Listen, Gio has been in the game a long time and never had any playoff success or runs.
That's got to be the biggest moment of his career.
Does it not?
I mean, if they close out of this series, yeah.
And look, like, it's putting them on a collision course to really slay some dragons in round two.
now, Boston, fucking good.
Because he was out the year...
2014.
That they beat the Canoxone round one, right?
It was the day before the deadline.
He had that weird bicep shoulder thing happened,
and then he tried to take a skate and wasn't shooting it.
And then they claimed the schlum cat off waivers.
It was a no-bueno.
That was some good subterfuge there.
Oh, gee.
Hey, Giordano's out for that.
Maybe the flames aren't desperate for a defense.
Look at, he's taking warm up.
He's fine.
He must be close.
And then they were won seeds in 2019.
They lose to Colorado.
They got swept by the ducks somewhere in the middle there.
And he wasn't here last year when they got to the second round.
So if he gets through, that'll be his first time playing in the second round.
Is that true?
Is he never been to round two?
Dude.
Goodness.
No, man.
He's hardly played a play to playoff game.
I mean, that's a little bit exaggerated to make point.
But yeah, he would be less than 20 games played in the playoffs.
It's not exaggerating to make a point.
If you play a thousand NHL games and you've,
played 20 playoff games?
That's not...
He played 10 games in 1920.
That would have been...
How's that possible?
What are you talking about?
Would they include the Winnipeg play-in?
Oh, and they shouldn't, yes.
That's exactly what it would be.
Yeah, yeah.
Because they beat Winnipeg and four and then lost in six to Dallas.
That's six games, sorry, playing don't count.
What's six.
So take away the 11 he's had as a leave.
Yeah.
seven last year, four this year.
So 34, all told, 34 playoff games.
One goal, 10 assists.
It's more than I thought, but again,
that playing around shouldn't count.
Yeah, so then you take the 11 away with Toronto
and take three away from the playing round.
Yeah, it's under 20.
Get rid of Toronto and the plan.
Anyway, and it's not a, well, it's a shot,
but it's also the truth.
Like, he hasn't had playoff fun.
It's why you're happy for him, I guess.
to be amazing.
So that is absolutely his,
to assist on an overtime
winner like that,
it's absolutely.
Well, and to be up 3-1
and put yourself in a position
rather than, oh, this is a long series,
we're coming home,
but like we're a win away, boys.
Yeah.
I'm big, that's big.
Look at us.
Are we getting on the friggin' bad way?
Nope.
Are we getting on the leaf train?
I don't know.
There's a lot of things there.
Like, here's the thing.
Even though we,
there's parts about it that you could like,
it's only going to get more annoying.
That's my one guarantee.
With each round, this gets more and more annoying.
And the things that drive us nuts are only going to be more of them around.
I need RET to stay off CNN and Fox.
Okay.
I need you just to stay off TSN and Sportsnet.
Just stay away from all the media coverage because it's the media coverage that gets you all rankled up.
And same with you.
How is it going?
They can.
How are they doing?
They can't, Don Lemon and Tucker.
I can't watch CNN.
Orphal.
How are the in-laws handling the Tucker news?
Is mother-in-law wearing black today?
Is the flag at half staff today?
Gosh, tough day.
Have a good time on your trip.
Thank you.
Share some drunken high-kick videos along the way.
Yeah.
I know it's your personal time and I don't want to invite.
No, I'd love to.
Yeah, that's, I mean, it's going to be the first time for a lot of people to see these high kicks.
And I don't think I've high-kicked in Mexico for years.
Yeah.
So.
And to be the man, you've got to beat the man.
So if anybody starts getting all cocky about their high-kicking prowess,
this wedding is, they're in their late 20s.
So there's going to be some young bucks trying to step up.
Challenge?
Uh-huh.
Be a challenge.
Yeah.
And Retro and I will be back tomorrow?
No street meet.
No street meet, Rhett.
Yes.
Thank you.
You can't teach someone their own life lessons.
You have to let them.
stumble around and learn their own
and advised me multiple times not to eat
the street meat that night.
And I spent the next three days sitting about the poor decision
I'd made on the toilet.
And so much hot sauce.
So much hot sauce.
Yeah.
Because then we went to the place that wasn't street.
We went to the good place.
And you still buried a lot of hot sauce.
My God.
Good God.
That's our show for today, everybody.
We appreciate you.
Support the sponsors.
Subscribe and like Jack.
What's the story?
Yeah.
What's their story on the,
YouTube subscriptions.
What's the story on the...
How many do we need?
We're close.
He's listening to Mariah Carey or something.
Oh, yeah.
Shoveler sing it?
4,000.
We top the 4,000 mark.
We top the 4,000 mark on our...
Let's go.
On the YouTube.
If you're not subscribing on YouTube, do that for us.
Subscribe and like.
Thank you.
Appreciate you, buddies.
See you tomorrow.
Oilers suck.
