Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - FlamesNation Barn Burner: Calgary Flames Fall 4-1 to the Tampa Bay Lightning
Episode Date: November 18, 2022Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener Friday November 18th, 2022- Flames Fall 4-1 to the Lightning - Florida Panthers o...n Saturday - Huberdeau and Weegar Return to FLA- The Flames vs Tkachuk 💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on twitter: @FlamesNation @BarnburnerFN @960boomer @PinderReport @warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @The Nation Network 💻 Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialFlam... Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hi, you buddies. Welcome to the show. We are ready here on your Friday. It's Boomer and Pinder and Rhett Warner. And it is Hawaiian Shirt Day.
It's Friday. So that means it's Hawaiian Shirt Day. Balmy Day in Calgary. Right? You're missing out.
Does the, uh, does the Hawaiian shirt, is it canceled out by the Tuk? I can't have one without the other today. It's too cold for Hawaiian shirt if I don't have a Tuk.
Tough enough up, Pinder. It's cold. It's windy. It's windy.
Like what cold?
Like minus 14 wind chill.
Can't be rolling around in a Hawaiian t-shirt without a took.
I see that you've added something to your decor in your shot.
It fell over.
Redster.
It was, yep.
That's the shoveler's birthday today.
And the shoveler got, because we're lacking in Christmas decorations,
her lovely children went out and grabbed a whole,
whole bunch of stuff from the Christmas shop yesterday for her birthday present and now we are
awash in a wash. A wash.
Joya Noel.
That's what you are in this joy of Noel.
So is, so this weekend, tree, the whole, the whole thing?
I believe so.
I believe so.
If not today, for sure this weekend.
Can you go buy a tree today or is commerce ground to a halt here?
Well, I know you guys are going to be interested.
So if you'd like to see what we're dealing with, I can show you.
Well, you know what? Hold off because we have a few things planned.
Sorry.
Because I really want to get in.
We have a hockey game we need to discuss.
We've got some football betting we need to get into and the Pinder Report and all of that.
But I want to make sure we get all of this Flames Tampa game covered
and then be able to really get into what people want to know about,
which is how you're dealing with the weather.
Now, 4-1.
I believe was the final last night.
I believe you,
correct.
Last night, the Tampa Bay Lightning.
A goal from Stamcoast,
a pair from Nikita Kuturov,
and Philip Myers.
The lone goal for the flames coming on the power play.
Phil.
Elias Lindholm,
4-1.
So there you see it.
Kuturov, the empty netter.
Another one of those games,
I think, in a way
where you probably weren't really disappointed in the effort.
felt all right with how they,
you know, the start and how they played.
The try was there and the result
not there.
It's that process versus results.
I don't, at some point you have to,
you have to start pushing the process thing.
Just win.
How, however you win.
That was Monday against L.A., wasn't it?
Just win somehow. Get a win.
It's funny how
the timing of things really change the whole momentum.
As Milan Luchich scores a goal to open the scoring in the first period, there you go.
Once again, the flames get a lead in a hockey game.
It's offside, waved off, 10 seconds later, in the back of their net, 1-0-0 Tampa.
Fast forward, power play, Lindholm scores, gets them back to within 1.
2-1.
10 seconds later.
Point shot from Philippe Myers somehow gets into the back of the net.
So they had no opportunity to build on any kind of momentum in that game.
I thought it was another night where despite scoring a power play goal,
their power play really gave momentum to the lightning.
They were easy kills for the most part.
There were three.
I think they had one shot,
the one shot being the goal that they got.
It's a lot of, we're now kind of getting into that,
we're kind of recycling a lot of,
the
familiarity
story lines,
right?
It's,
uh,
it's,
it's troubling.
Right down to me falling asleep because it was so boring.
Hmm.
What,
where were we in the game when you fell asleep?
I watched it all this morning,
but I could have fallen asleep again.
I mean,
really?
I thought you were actually joking,
boom,
when you said you wanted to dig into this game and make sure,
because are we done?
Can we move on?
Well,
I mean,
I would think,
you'd have something to say. You've been critical of the group and skeptical that this team can win,
and last night was a group that didn't look like they could win. I mean, what are your takeaways?
Did they look like they was? Remember last year at the start of the year, our big question,
because the year before, let's keep the years right. The year before, they're not good. Daryl comes in
for a brief stint at the end of the year. And prior to that, you couldn't get consistent hockey.
you would get one effort in a game.
A 60 minute effort once every two to three weeks.
There was always a period.
And then you didn't know what the hell's going on with these guys.
You're like, well, what did that look?
And then last year, after a month or six weeks,
or about this point in last year, you started to go,
I guess we're not going to get any flat games.
These guys just keep show up and playing hockey.
They might not win every game, but damn it,
you can't really question their.
effort. Last night and for most of this season, it's back to two years ago where are you going
to bother playing the start of the year yet? There was some good efforts liked it, but now you have
no idea. Are they going to show up and play hockey or are they just going to be at the rink?
I don't know. And I thought last night was, well, we're at the rink. We're not terrible,
but we're certainly not going to establish
that we're going to outwork the other team.
We're here.
We're not terrible, but we're not going all the way either.
We're not undoubtedly be in control of this game
and outwork the other team and just, you know,
win or lose show the effort.
I'm with you.
I think I kind of said something like that the other day
that this felt like the team before Darrell came in.
And then it was like, hey, this is refreshing.
no matter what, they're in the game, they're working, they're energized, that, that whole thing.
It is eerily similar.
And what you can't do now is bitch about the core, because the core is completely changed.
There's no Bennett, Gio, Monaghan, they're all gone.
You can't bitch about it.
It's just a totally different core.
Well, you can't bitch, I guess, if you want to start bitching about this core, but it's,
this is not a Monaghan Goddrow issue this time around.
This is just, you know what it is?
It just, they are so challenged right now,
and maybe in general, but right now offensively.
It shows on the power play,
and I know Francis and Leslie talked about it in the second period.
You really see on the power play how much they miss Johnny Godreau.
They have a hard time even getting into the entry specifically.
Getting in is such a challenge.
That's exactly what we said yesterday.
And then...
Try something new.
Hello.
They have.
I mean, they had Noah Hanifan out there.
I don't know how many years in the league
where he's going to figure out the power play.
I think he's kind of not going to because he hasn't yet.
But they're trying.
I don't think that's a good idea, but they're trying.
Like, Noah's got all the skills.
He just kept thinking.
I'm not talking about personnel.
I'm talking about a different strategy or approach.
I mean, I'm not,
and I'm not even convinced it would work.
But surely to, you.
You could try something else because what you're doing is garbage.
Zone entry has been tough on the power play, real tough.
And then you just look at the four lines in five on five play.
They're just, another thing we talked about the other day,
you had talked about shooting percentage in that.
And I said, I just feel like it's not a shooting percentage thing.
It's a qual.
How often are we seeing goaltenders out of their minds?
Flames get 40 shots and the other team's goaltender was the story of this game.
That's not the story.
It's really been the case.
It's more like they,
They had a decent amount of chances, but they don't overwhelm the team of chances.
Last night was the...
Tampa had more chances last night.
It was exactly what I was getting at.
40 to 24 were the shots on goal.
They outshot them 16-6 in the second period, got outscored 1-0 in the second.
And wherever you want to get your data from high danger,
and whatever you want to classify as a high-danger opportunity.
So flames out-shoothed them by measure of 2-1, 40-24, high-danger chances,
18-5 for the Tampa Bay-Balay.
Nick. Yeah, Flames had it as 24 shots, 20 chances for the Tampa. So they didn't create a shot often without it being a decent chance. That's not high danger, but it's a chance.
Shooting percentage is one thing, but I just felt like for the most part, that was pretty routine for Vassel. And I don't want to scare anyone, but that's what expected goals talks about. It's not a shot's a shot. It's okay, where's the shot from? Is there traffic? Was there a lateral pass before? And they wouldn't have done.
well unexpected goals last night despite getting 40 shots.
So, yeah, there's concern about the quality of chance.
And I wonder how correlated that is with spreading your best players over four lines.
Your best eight forwards are on four lines, not three, not stacking one or two.
And we kind of look at it, and there's a guy on the top line that couldn't get in the
lineup for the first 10 games for more than once or twice.
There's a guy on the second line who we know is a fourth liner and it's probably near a league
minimum salary if the contract was up last year. There's a guy on the third line that's PTO every
damn year. There's a guy in the fourth line making league minimum that only one team wants at
league minimum. There's four fourth liners, one on every damn line. Here's the thing. And whether
it's real or not, Lindholm likes, finally likes who he's playing with, whatever Darrell said,
you need to get Monaghan, Huberdough and Lindholm back together and make that shit work.
Because it's not, it has, if you want to have success, those two need to have some chemistry fast.
And you need to, because you know, Backland's going to be fine with whoever he is, he's put with.
And that line is going to have a certain expectation level.
And it's not to lead the team in scoring.
No, it's to be a 200 foot, you know, checking line.
Codry, his line is going to have an identity.
That needs to be your top scoring line.
And last year they had one of the best top lines in the National Hockey League.
It's not about replicating that, but it's about taking what you do have and putting them in a position to succeed.
And having Huberto on a third line wing spot, that's not it.
Yeah, I mean, the thing with Huberto, though, is...
You have to...
There's no other option.
Okay, so how did it work with Huberto in Florida?
Did he play on the top line with their best center or not?
I don't care what he did in Florida.
I think it matters what he didn't Florida.
What is it here?
Do you have Florida Panthers?
Is Barkoff playing here?
My point is he didn't play with Barko, so he might not be a fit with Lin-Haw.
Take this team and show me.
Show me where it works.
They're trying to figure that out, and I don't have an answer for that.
I don't think anyone does.
It's easy.
Well, it's an easy answer.
Then why didn't that look good?
It's not having Rosie on the top line.
Well, I'm agreeing with Rosie on the top line as well.
What I'm saying is Hubertow's fit in Florida wasn't on a top line with Barkoff,
who is a Selky caliber center, which has a similar skill set to Linnell.
Holy shit.
He played with like,
find a
Bennett
soft spot for our
highest paid player again
well it's Malcolm's the same thing
he just played with Crosby
like center center I get it a little different
but no you're making a ridiculous
comment okay so who do you play with last
I understand what you're saying but don't compare
Crosby and Malkin to the
Lindholm and Hubertoe
okay so what I'm trying to say all boom
all boom is saying is that if you want to be
the top paid player on the Calgary Flames
you have to produce as a top line player
yeah like Hubero did on a second line last year
That's all I'm saying.
I don't care what he did last year.
I don't care what the dog line.
Those players, that roster is not what you're dealing with here.
So what types of players does he fit with?
That's what they're trying to figure out, right?
Wouldn't you look at his history?
That doesn't make sense?
To look at where he's had success?
I have with the whole damn signing.
From the start, you idiots?
You don't know what he is and where he fits on this team.
And you're paying him like he's the number one guy.
Now you have to find a soft spot to put him.
Jeez, let's massage this.
So our best player, or supposed a best player,
or highest pay player has a cushy spot to play in.
That's what we're trying to accomplish?
What the, are we talking about?
It's his job to go out and put up points.
Of course it is.
It's the coach's job to put him with guys you're going to have success with.
That's fine.
I'm with you.
A question, I should have never effed the lines from the start.
So it's that.
And then I was actually on my calm side when you two are arguing,
I said, maybe we're looking at this completely the wrong way.
maybe we need to be of a whole different approach to this season because this goal scoring thing
I don't think it's going to be a strong suit for this squad I think they're a middle third for goals for
I think we all probably expect so yeah okay so what it what don't put words okay maybe you're the jersey
devils of the 90s maybe you're absolute shutdown team and say yeah you're right we aren't going to
score four goals a game. We're not even going to score three. We can give, we'll allow Markstrom
to give up his one Siv goal per game, but that's it. You can only give up your Siv goal and we'll
score two. And it's, we're at two one. It's not three two anymore, Daryl. It's two one,
because you guys can't score three. Well, we should address the Markstrom bad one a game. It's,
he fell on his, the sword last night and probably had to in a sense. He couldn't come out and say,
I've been great when every single game, it seems,
there's one where you're like, damn,
there just really isn't any sort of justifying
how that one gets in.
And you think of the timing of that one yesterday.
I mean, it's a backbreaker.
10 seconds after you got to within one.
And a muffin, like just nothing there.
It's not Mike Smith from 135 feet,
but it's certainly not a story chance.
And it's not.
not all on him.
And, but it does change.
Well, that goal is, right?
As soon as that goal goes in, 100% on it.
It changes the whole tone of that game.
And yes, they only scored one goal, but you're, it just takes all of the wind out
of your sales.
Totally.
It's a momentum thing, just like you talked about with the power plays sapping their confidence
as well and momentum.
And when you had a top five offense, it didn't matter if Markstrom had one bad one,
every gamer here or there, right?
here's the thing, they don't.
And they didn't go get two dynamic forwards for the guys that left.
They got rid of Monaghan, that money gets caught you.
But one of the guys that brought them was a defenseman in the deal, right?
Like you're not getting two 40 goal guys back.
You probably got zero 40 goal guys back.
So we knew they'd probably score less.
But what's surprising is that this group defensively,
they don't allow a lot of shots,
but there's a lot of breakdowns,
and there's a lot of really high danger shit
that shouldn't be happening.
And Marksman faces no shots for 10 minutes,
and then it's, hey, there's a three on two
and someone's wide open.
And that's not easy for them,
but that doesn't explain the shitty goals.
They should be better defensively,
and I think that's,
they just don't look like a Daryl team.
To your point, Rhett, they're skipping periods.
And I think when this team is what Daryl wants it to be,
they're going to be stifling defensively.
You're not going to get odd man rushes.
There is not going to be someone open at the hash marks
with a chance.
And to,
I think to your point is...
What the hell are you basing all this on?
Basing what on?
What are you talking about?
Well, they made all these changes
and they haven't played that way at all
and you're saying that it's going to happen.
Well, I said if Daryl gets the way he wants him to play,
like Daryl's got a track record of playing,
his teams play that way.
Like with less skilled than this girl.
He's had them from training camp on.
This team is not...
Right, but they've missed three of their top six forwards
for significant time, too.
I don't think they want to play Dennis Gilbert.
Do you?
defenseman you said
do you think they want
Zadora of in their top four
I don't
like Schillington's a big missing piece here
but it's a team
it's a team thing
didn't make the effing team last year
hardly like don't forget
he had one year where he stood on his head
and we were all happy for him and it's not a criticism
well but to say that now
your team is in disambles
because you've lost a
four or five defenseman
Bryson DeShanel? That's right.
Big hitter.
No, they're not good defensively.
They should be, right?
I think to your point, one of the things that I noted last night was
you're going to have to change,
if you're going to turn this thing around,
and it's not like you can't save this and they're doomed,
but the way that they've been playing,
you're going to have to change the way that you're playing right now.
Because you're not going to outscore teams at all.
So you're going to have to be one of the best defensive teams going.
And that's Darrell's thing.
Regardless of how many goals you scores, he said, I like the Jennings Trophy.
Yes.
You're going to have to have better goal tending, better defense, give up less,
and hope that you get in a three, two, or a two, one game, you get the two and the three.
And it'd be nice to have the better goalie in a one goal game.
They haven't had that a ton this year.
You know, like Vasilovsky wasn't upside down, but you switch sides of the ice with the goalies,
and the flames might win that one.
Vasselfts, he's not letting in a floater from the blue line.
No, he's not.
ever not once in his whole life i don't think he's too good every shot he made easy saves
okay the d didn't we get weger yep and i don't like tana's weger playing with gilbert the one
has you to jump in on talk over top of me didn't so we picked up weger and we lost shillington
basically who else did we lose from d last year good branson what are the change third pair good branson
so instead of good branson we've got gilbert
So that's our complaint.
So you upgraded with Weger over Shillington as a swap,
and you're saying you downgraded immensely because Gilbert is not Good Branson?
No, what I'm saying is they've had what, four or five games without Tannav?
And without Tanaev, go look at the bottom two pairs.
Zedorov's got too many minutes.
The roller coaster, I've got nausea.
I can't ride the roller coaster every night with top four minutes.
And then your third pair was your ninth and tenths defenseman in the organization.
I would like to see TAN up playing with Weger,
not with a guy that shouldn't be getting top four minutes.
And I agree with you there.
My point was that you're arguing,
you told me I'm an idiot because Shillington's gone
and so their D's no good.
No, I haven't told you you're an idiot.
I'm saying that Uighur should be at least because
what's the guy we had on yesterday?
Frank.
He's name, the smart ass.
The meteorologist, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Boos.
Damn it.
We'll get to it.
Uh, weiger is certainly supposed to be regarded as a better defendant than
Shillington.
So our D,
really isn't, shouldn't in a whole be a whole lot worse off than last year.
It should be better.
They look like crap.
It should be better.
I'm with you.
Without Shillington there, play for defenseman.
Who's running the D?
Wake up Huska.
It ain't working.
Change it.
Well, I was looking at, it's usually Huska, isn't it?
Yeah.
You're right.
It's Huska.
Yeah.
Tana have played 1738 to Nikita.
Zadorov's 20 minutes. He might still be hurt.
That seems fucking backwards, doesn't it?
But Tannav had more shifts.
You actually, so it's just, I mean,
you're kind of talking about shift length.
I don't care about shift length.
You don't want the 20 plus minutes on the roller coaster.
We talked about it.
I don't, I, which makes me wonder if they're still,
I think they're trying to protect Gilbert.
What they're trying, no, they're trying to protect guilt.
What I think they're doing is trying to protect a Zadorov Gilbert.
combo.
Yes.
Much like they're doing
with the forward lines
they're trying to
spread it out.
The shit.
Yeah.
All over.
They're fertilizing everywhere.
They need fertilizer.
And they're using it on every line
and every D pair.
When this team was five and one,
they didn't do that.
They had their top 4D as their top four.
They had their best eight forwards
all in the top three lines.
I don't know why those lines are so scary.
I'm like,
I'm with you,
put Huberto back there.
I'm not saying don't do that,
but you have to figure out
where has he,
he's been a point per game player for four years in a row.
What types of people does he fit with?
You got to figure it out.
Well, who is it?
You can do that, but it still comes back to who's in your dressing room.
Exactly.
So which guys?
Not exactly.
Okay.
Okay.
Let him, let, let, let, no, no, let Pinder tell us in that room who we should be there with.
Well, I'm not.
saying, I know who he should play with the Calgary. What I'm saying is the traditional spot of saying,
oh, he's the top line winger, put him on the top line. I'm not saying that. That's exactly what he said.
No, I said he has to play with Lindholm. Right. That's the top line center. It happens to be the
top line. With this team, yes. I don't want him playing with Backland. I don't want him playing with
Rooney. Yeah. I want him playing with Lindholm. Yeah. Because Lindholm is their best center.
Right.
I want him playing with their best centerman.
Well, and that's where he didn't play for four years in Florida, but I hear what you're saying.
I'd like it to work with Lindholm.
You can fight it to your death, but if this team is going to score enough to get into a playoff,
they need those two to gel.
So you don't think he can work on a line with Cadre?
Because what else does Lindholm need?
He needs some help.
Yeah.
Come on.
Come on.
I hate, I'm not going to be upset at the both of Lindholm.
I like it better than the lines now.
for sure. I'm just saying you might have to think outside the box of them because
it was a non-traditional spot in that lineup. Get thinking outside the box and tell us because you
can't just say, well, he didn't do that in Florida. Fine. Say it. Okay. Yeah. So what I was saying is.
So slot him in here. Let's see it. I think his common linemates last year were like Bennett
and is it Declare or was Declare up top. I feel like it was Bennett and Declare the most. So you got
a trigger man on the right and a center that like I don't even know how you'd explain.
what Bennett is, but someone that's tenacious down the middle.
I feel like Bennett's closer to a cadre than he is a Linholm.
Could you give him someone on the opposite side to finish is to Foley the closest guy to do Claire?
I'm not saying that that's going to work, but what I'm saying is it isn't as simple as he's
your highest paid for, put him on the top line because he's been Florida's best player for a long time
in terms of point production and didn't play with Barkoff, right?
And that's not what I'm saying.
Again, I'm coming back to with this personnel looking at that group right there.
You don't think he could work with Cadre and someone else?
I think it could, but I think Caudry is that he's a completely different player than Lindholm.
He's, you know, he's just a different guy.
I think, I think that we don't care if it's Codry or, or Lindholm.
I think at the point of it is, do we really have to go that deep into our changing of the,
of the organization to find a spot so that Huberdo can,
succeed like my god like what are we talking about here we have to massage all these lines so that
huberto has a chance to put up points i always thought that these guys were supposed to make
everyone else better yeah like and he did like look at bennett when he showed up there
patrick kane doesn't need somebody to play with him he just goes and does his thing it puts up
points, which is part of my point because I think Lindholm, he has scored 30 goals. He could use
some help. So could Hubertow. Those two, they just seem like a fit to me, even though through
whatever, eight, nine games, they didn't look like they fit. What we all know is that we didn't
have any problems with the lines through seven games, and it's pretty much been a dog's
breakfast ever since.
And, Rhett, you said it feels like the coach is panicking, oversteering is a word that I've
used.
It's like playing a card early.
And it's like, why do all the lines we've seen since then look way shittier than the
lines they had at five and one?
And yet they're not going back to them.
It's almost like he's trying to make a point of some sort, right?
Because I said this before.
There's, there's no way he, well, unless you, unless you, unless you,
really think Ruzitschka can help you there or can he can be the best Rizchka he can be there
and that allows you to distribute guys down.
But we looked at those original lines and it was like they're missing a top nine guy.
Why can't Rizhichka play with fucking Bacchlin and Coleman?
Wouldn't that be a perfect third line?
Then you leave cadre, man, Japani and Dubei together and your top lines Lindo
and Ubertoe Tifoli.
Like that feels like a more complete top nine.
Try it.
I just the other thing that we're missing is a dube sucks in manjapan he's not noticeable and luchich is
totally miscast and Coleman on the fourth line isn't doing anything either like Coleman was supposed
to be a guy that could move up into second line minutes and score a few goals for his yeah they got three
third lines when you look at this right now don't they those are all third lines why and sorry this is
insanity but this is where we're at put lindom on the wing and
And only have, you know, we love the depth at center.
Well, the depth of center ain't made a shit right now.
Sorry.
So spread it out.
Move Lindholm to a wing.
Put Chalajadri.
Stack the top two lines.
Put Dubay Mangapani and whoever else is a third line as a young line
and tell them if you don't play with energy and piss and vinegar
and run around and create chances and problems for the opposition, you don't play.
And you put Luchich down on the fourth line in a typical fourth line role and say,
Hey, you idiots, if you give up any scoring chances, you're going to sit your asses here.
Like, this is where we're at for me.
That's where we're at for me.
You young guys better work out or I'll play Milan 20 minutes a night.
But you know what?
I'll play the top two lines.
It's a good point you make this because, and I believed it to be true, and I still do,
that the strength of this roster, at least the forwards, should be that depth down the middle,
Lindholm, Cadry, backland.
Yep. And even if you had to choose between Rooney and Lewis and Dubay...
But if you're going to have Lindholm at center and then not have... Put people in a position...
They're all struggling and they have no roles. Just put them in a position to succeed.
Jesus. Jesus. Right? Yeah. Yeah. There's a lot of guys you look at there and you're like,
that's a spot where they're not going to have success. I feel like you can spread out talent when you have an abundance of it.
they don't.
They're spreading guys out.
Like an abundance of fourth lines.
It's liquid.
It's watering down all of the lines.
It totally is.
You don't have the personnel to spread it out like this.
And they did the same thing with Tannavin,
the third pair rather than playing the top four.
It's like,
I would rather have two pairs I trust than one I trust and two that I don't trust.
What did you make?
I'll tell you what will happen.
Yeah, go ahead.
They'll do this and then because they're listening and then it'll start to go better for them.
Oh, there you go. That's easy.
You're welcome.
Daryl's big on podcasts.
Huge.
I'll be right there or just go to download.
He might be big on things we didn't know.
I didn't know he liked goatees before last night.
That's an odd look.
Yeah.
Look in there.
As you're going to the Hall of Fame.
You don't need to try new stuff now.
Maybe that's his Movember.
Brett?
Question for you.
Kuturov does get a
penalty, but comes out of the corner, charges the crease, barrels into Markstrom. Penalty,
no response from the flames whatsoever. No one grabs them by the collar to get them out. No one does
anything. It was another aspect of this game yesterday that it was, I think, in the third period by the
time we actually had a post-wistle scrum of any kind, and it was nothing big. It was just
something. Didn't see it till the third. I just wonder, is,
We knew that Good Branson brought some of that and he's gone.
And you knew Kachuk had piss and vinegar and he's gone.
But I was surprised that in a game like this, no one stands up for Markstrom.
Why are you surprised?
I know you're using that as a focal point for an easy emotional rally.
But that's been the problem with this squad.
outside the first five six games when have you saw them show up at the rank with a actual real emotional 60 minute effort yeah we've seen some really dominant early stretches but that's different right
there's not completely out of games but i'm talking about are they truly engaged in every every game and and and and
end every period. No, they aren't.
They aren't emotionally.
Why do I want to keep using the word engaged?
That's not the.
That works.
But whatever.
They aren't,
they're not emotionally into,
into this.
It was flat.
I wouldn't expect tomorrow to be like that.
Remember when we always used to,
remember when we always used to hear,
oh,
the great group of guys love the guy,
great room,
great,
there is wonderful room.
And we all love each other.
It's like you'd watch them playing.
It'd be like,
you guys,
You actually like each other.
It's the tightest room I've ever been.
Yeah, you go to the ring.
Flames missed the playoffs.
You have no.
That's what it looks like again.
It's like, yeah, oh, her great team, love the boys.
They're wonderful.
Could give a rats.
If you based it on effort and emotion,
fail.
Yeah, I like big effort's good.
Emotions not.
And I think that won't be a problem tomorrow afternoon.
Efforts average.
It's a passable grade.
I agree.
The other problem we have with us is that we watch the flames.
And then you forget about watching other teams around the league that have that effort and more every night.
Right?
Like with, well, the effort's okay.
Well, no, not if you compare it league-wide.
It's like we used to do all the D.
those young guys are good, except they're crap compared to everyone else's young guys.
Right?
Like, we have to do it in the context of the,
league clearly by their record they aren't good enough and they are and they're they're they're
they're not talented enough and they aren't showing up with enough emotion and care and want to
to get them across the line to put them into a top 10 spot in the standings tomorrow's a good
litmus test for emotion but there again part of that's going to be brought from kachuk and the
the whole thing right you have to generate your own it should be easy to get up for that game
100% I would expect a very, yeah, no, you're right.
That's a very valid point.
Of course, the Florida games in Florida and on the 29th in Calgary are going to be,
you're going to be wound up, of course.
But yeah, what about when it's Friday afternoon in Washington?
How are you going to find a way to be better than Washington?
I don't know.
Exactly.
And do you think you're going to, what do you think you're going to see next Friday in Washington?
I mean, there's a lot of games between now and then.
And it's, I, like, I don't know what we're going to see.
I don't know what the lines are going to look like by then.
I don't know which goalie they're going to be playing.
I don't know who the hell Uighur is going to be playing with.
Like, it's...
So you don't want to answer.
Okay.
I don't know.
I wouldn't be surprised if they worked their tails off and beat them.
I wouldn't be surprised they got pumped.
Like, at this point, can you really forecast?
Because part of that, it's not just being physical or punching guys, but watching Tampa.
Because, A, super skilled, highly skilled.
B, opportunist.
Don't open it, just don't give them a crack
because they're going to kick the door in and get a great scoring chance.
The coach goal, perfect example.
And watching just how easy, it was borderline,
Beer League fun for them.
Watching Sergachev just kind of used, backhand,
sauce straight across the blue line to the far wall.
They were having fun.
They were just trying shit and getting away with it yesterday.
I mean, that was not a hard game for Tampa at all.
But I'm going to say this, though,
and it won't go over because,
well, but having fun.
Now, I get that the flames
haven't won enough hockey games
and they might be squeezing sticks
and it might be brought on by themselves,
but is the coach taking the fun out of it
because it's damn hard to play hockey
for 82 games in a season,
everyone be pissed, oh, they're professional,
there's paid lots of money, they have to show up
and do it. If you're not having fun
going to the rink,
it just makes it that much harder.
Yeah. And now is that
the coach's fault, is that the player's fault? Is that circumstantial? It sure as hell don't look like
they're having fun to me. Me neither. No, there's more there. There's got to be a lot more there.
The results have not matched the roster to this point. You've got, you have good faith. My faith is
and I wonder their retro if it comes back a little bit to who in that room is holding back the coach,
if the coach is, because we know Daryl how he can be, but what strength of leadership, it's not
even just strength, but comfortability, because so many guys are new or in different spots now
with so many bodies gone, who's going in and saying, look, we need to ease up, back off,
or, because I just feel like the vice is tightening every single day.
And I don't know that Daryl's a guy that's going to look and say, yeah, it's maybe time for me to ease up.
maybe that's what I'll give him a break.
It's not his resting position there.
It's more intense, not less.
I feel less.
He's turning it that way.
I zifflet our time tomorrow.
He hasn't played this week.
I was going to say one way to save the season.
Biddle flip out and Frankserville would
save this.
He's called me an idiot.
No, no.
Trade Markstrom.
I don't know.
That makes much sense.
Like who's giving anything from Markstrom?
Well, you're going to get some top forwards, man.
Are you going to get some scores?
because our lines are we don't have enough depth up front.
So which teams look for a goalie that wants to give up a top score?
I mean, I understand what you're saying.
Generally speaking, I just think it's a really,
we don't see trades like that, almost ever,
because they're not easy to make.
Well, once they start paying me GM salary, I'll start.
Okay.
But not many teams are willing to trade a guy of that caliber either.
I just, we don't really see goalies moving season much.
I know.
And like, what have you seen with me?
Markstrom if you're another G.
Like which teams that feels like they're a Markstrom with his glove right now away?
It's just like it's a solo moment for Markstrom.
I don't know if that's the case.
Well, I mean, you're telling me, you're telling me Edmonton or Toronto wouldn't be doing cartwheels to.
Toronto isn't at the cap space and what do you be taking Campbell back?
There's always, there's always a way.
There's always a way.
There's always a way.
Sure there is.
You just have to explain the way, not just pretend.
that everyone can squeeze six million.
Well,
Kneelander, I would guess,
would be a guy.
Send some through Arizona.
Send some through Arizona.
Do you go real deep and talk?
You know damn well.
There's always a way.
A Mitch Marner deal.
Is there a...
I mean, I'm not saying it's impossible.
It's just that's better
when we have a conversation about
here's what a deal would look like.
Yeah, but that's so that's, yeah.
And those guys make money.
And if you are going to,
if you're looking for help,
offensive help or forward help,
to the extent you'd move your goalie,
it's going to be a place.
you would guess it's well paid.
Yeah, I mean, I guess, are you comfy with Vlodar?
We've seen very little at this level.
Let's see, you've got like 20 starts in the league.
Oh, you've got him signed for two years.
Is he good, though?
I don't know, like two years.
If he's bad, that's not good.
He's great.
That's amazing.
We've got the wolfman coming.
No worries.
Ow!
Salve it's fine.
Like, we're tearing it down here.
That does feel a little dramatic.
It's a little dramatic.
$500, is that right?
But it's not as though this is your first go-through with Markstrom.
It's year three.
You saw what he did in the playoffs last year.
One good year.
If you thought you were going to be barely a playoff team,
were you signing all these guys?
No.
But these long-term, big money.
Yeah, a lot of people still don't see them as barely a playoff team.
A lot of people think this is a team that could easily finish second in the
What the hell are you talking about?
So when do the standings matter then?
So we just start.
Oh, they all matter.
There's just.
This team, this team looks like it should be in this section of the standings at the end of the year.
So let's just go to that.
That's where for sure that'll end up there.
Nothing ever falls apart or change.
We've got them slot it in right here.
That's fine.
These first 40 games,
who cares?
doesn't mean anything.
Oh, it means things.
It's just, it's 20% of the season.
It's not 50, right?
I'm not saying that it doesn't matter.
No, I'm just saying like.
Okay, so at 50% of the season,
if they're in the same position, then what?
Well, what position are they?
Tell us.
Where are they?
Where are they that this is concerned?
They're in a, they're in a,
we might miss the effing playoffs position.
That's where they are.
So are you worried about Seattle finishing head of them?
Seattle is ahead of them.
So yes, I am.
Okay, because like they are now.
We know that.
You think Seattle for the final 60 games,
65 games,
will be better than the flames.
Go on the record if you want.
Or maybe they can play 500.
Like,
what,
like,
you think L.A.
is better than the flames
at the end of the year.
Or you don't.
I do think L.A.
I don't think those are crazy to throw out.
No,
and I'm not either.
I'm just asking him where he's at
because,
like,
I don't see the flames playing well and losing here.
I don't see them maxed out.
Like,
like, well, this is as good as they can be.
Like, they're, they should get better
goal to Sending for Markstrom. They should get more
production from Eudor. The power play shouldn't suck as much.
They should get healthier on the blue line.
Even with Michael Stone, never mind, even if Shillington
doesn't come back to better. Like, I just
don't see this as who they are.
But teams that miss the playoffs,
that's what they always think. Well, if we
only, like, we should have had
50 more goals, because we had
a really good lineup, but they just didn't score.
Yeah, you didn't scream. You missed
the playoffs. Okay. So, how you are right
now.
Are you worried?
That's the way you're trending.
Are you worried about Evanton missing the playoffs?
No.
Because they're two points ahead with a game in hand, the flames hold?
Why is that different?
Do their results not count two?
Because they have the two best players in the world.
That's why.
Simple.
That's my case for Edving.
Okay.
I know the point you're making and I know what he's.
Is it not different?
So you can't rely on dry sidle and McDavid to score like you know.
Through 17 games, they have 18 points and they
haven't missed a single game from those two superstars. Why are the results now not count for
them, but they do for the flames right now? They do count for then. I'm saying I have 100% more faith
that McDavid and Drysidal are going to pull the Oilers through on this than anything that the
flames are doing. I feel like McDavid and Drysiddle are their best selves right now. I feel like a lot
of the Flames best players are not. Like I just don't feel like, oh, Melo McDavid just has to get three
points a night and they're in. How good Seattle or L.A. is doesn't change what the flames are at
core. Like I know we're talking about can they make the playoffs. You're saying, is, is Seattle good enough?
Or what? Well, the three teams of every division that guarantees are you getting in. That's all.
I think probably the more pertinent conversation is what are the flames? Not how are the crack and
not how are the kings? Because once you get into the playoffs like, okay, now you're here, well, what are you?
Are you there because the other teams in your division weren't very good? Or are you there because
you're there on your own merit? And right now, the flames aren't playing well enough. No, they are.
to get in in a division where if you don't think Seattle or L.A. are any good. They're not playing
well enough. And I'm with you. And I think I said it last week. There's so much right now that's not
seeming right for the flames. Yeah. It gives you. But at the same, but at the same time, that's a lot of
things to just to just kind of think, it's going to work itself out because it's not working. Maybe it's
just not good. It's not good now. I just think they're not a 500 team. They're better than that. I do. And I
think if you say, okay, there's six things that are going wrong.
Well, shit, like if half them get fixed, they're still way better than 500, aren't they?
Like, if just Markstrom is who we looked like last regular season, where they're
the efforts that they've put in, not by the efforts they've put in, right.
So you're a 500 team.
That's it.
That's all?
If they work like this.
I worry about their score.
100%.
Okay.
100% they're a 500 team.
You see the results.
Yes, I'm looking at the standings.
The results count for.
I know that, that they're 500.
Like, I get it.
I think they can play a lot better than this.
I think they will.
But that's not what you just asked me.
You said if they're, you think they're a 500 team.
If they play like this.
And I said, yes, that's what it shows.
And now your point is that you think they'll be much better.
I disagree with you.
And that's fine.
We don't have to agree on it.
But I, I don't know what you're basing other than opinion that these guys were better players
before the start of the year,
so it's all going to come together
in the last 60 games.
So that's your take.
I like going to Dom's website every day
and looking at probabilities he's got,
and you don't have to like it.
But if you're just saying,
it's just my opinion,
that's not where I'm coming up with this,
a lot of how I feel about teams.
He has the flames as of this morning,
95% to make the playoffs.
That's 19 times out of 20.
And what that model does
is he bets against Vegas.
and makes money every year betting against Vegas.
It isn't like, hey, I got a spreadsheet and I don't know if it works or not.
He literally bets on games every single day for the last four or five years.
All of his picks are tracked.
He's beaten Vegas five years in a row.
His model doesn't get emotional.
His model doesn't overreact to a bad loss.
His model is his model.
It's not perfect.
He swings and misses sometimes, but there's more hits than misses.
He has them 95% to get in.
that's an unemotional computer it's not a human that's upset right but again it how much of that is
based on we should Seattle and Los Angeles and the other teams it doesn't matter we're talking about are
they a playoff team or not like like those are the teams they haven't played yet they're in their
division those points count too in the standings so so two things who did he have last did he have
anyone over the last few years they were at 95% after 20 games and I'm just saying 20 I mean he's got
he's got them eight or ninth in the league shut up and we might as well have this guy on
instead of you because you're just, apparently
we're just using his stuff for opinion.
Well, I like to get lots of different things.
That read stuff. I watch games. I look at probability
models. I'm not saying it's like, hey,
what does Dom think today? That's my take.
He has them as a top
10 team in the league. All the
top 10 teams are around 95 to
99%. They're going to make the playoffs
this year. Based on, okay, well,
what's he better? I don't give a
shit. Exactly. I would rather. You don't care.
You don't want to learn about it and figure out how it works.
That's fine.
Oh, I'm an idiot.
I have no clue.
I didn't say that.
It's just if you want to dig into it, you can, but you don't want it.
You are saying that.
That was your dick comment that's basically saying, Warner, you're an idiot.
I've never said you're an idiot, rat.
I'm just saying, you, why does he think that's about it?
You say smart, smart, smarty things that elude to.
That's exactly what you're trying to get at.
I just want to try to talk about the game in a more modern terms.
I don't know what Dom is.
Why don't the GMs?
hire Dom, but the GMs are on you guys like Dom.
It's the fastest growing sector of any hockey team is analytics departments.
The devils are owned by a hedge fund that employs guys like this that we had on our
old show that talked to analytics.
Let's,
Tyler Dello.
Play the games either.
We can put it into the EA sports and we can have the probabilities run everything and
it'll be good.
We don't need to question anything.
Oh, absolutely question away.
I'm just saying one of the reasons I have confidence.
and the salaries.
So you don't think these people are smart
and they don't help teams win?
Because Tampa and Colorado are super heavy into data.
They go sign a Valenichie who's zero goals
in the NHL two separate seasons.
You don't think Tampa has to maneuver the cap
with really smart people that are good with numbers?
Like this is a competitive advantage.
No shit, every team has to.
Yes.
So collect more of these smart people, right?
I would suggest, though, on the flip side,
there are other teams that are using the same data
and are not winning.
cups. Of course. You make it sound as though.
No, I'm just saying the last two are very
in a row and the cup champs.
I mean, come on.
I would suggest the Devils, Tampa
and Colorado are like three of
the top ten most analytically driven
teams in the league. How did the flames do
last year? Great.
Oh, and so
were they employing these people that they
they have the top analytical?
They've got the department.
They have the top analyticals that you keep touting.
They have guys that are familiar in the space
have less.
So some teams have a little bit less.
Some have a little bit more.
They all include it.
Again, yeah, your comments that these guys are the only smart people in the room are hard to swallow.
No one said that.
You suggested that, you know, just go hire them.
Why aren't they hiring this guy?
Well, that's exactly what's happened.
Most of the strong people in the public space have been hired by teams.
Not you and I.
That's because we're not data guys.
Same.
Okay, so there's the like all-time
Eyeball versus stats and like it's all matters
That we can put that aside
There's lots other show to go
I am bullish on the flames making the playoffs
Rett's very skeptical
Dean where do you fall in
Are you worried about this team making the playoffs?
To me it's it's about what the team is
I'm not going to say hey they made the playoffs
They're great
Because as you said
Do you think Seattle a second year team
is going to hang in there.
What is L.A.?
What are these other?
I think they're in a weak division.
They are.
And then when the playoffs starts,
what does that mean?
If you're a wild card team and you,
as Daryl said,
waste of eight days,
they could be a waste of eight days team.
Yeah,
they could be second in the Pacific too,
right?
Yeah,
but hey,
they made the playoffs.
Well,
I don't think that's no.
I don't think that's the bar
for how I would judge this team.
That just feels the way of Rets.
Then stop talking about making the playoffs.
Well, that's what Rett's talking about.
No,
he's not.
Yes, he is.
He said they're not going to make the playoffs if they play like this.
You keep saying they're going to be a playoff team.
They're going to be a playoff team.
They won't make the playoffs if they play like this.
You're saying it too.
They have to play better to make the playoffs.
Of course they do.
Yes.
They've got to figure out their lines.
They got to work harder.
They got to get better goaltending.
They got to get healthier.
All those things.
Yes.
They have to improve in a lot of areas.
No question.
Like, if you take last night's effort, I agree.
That's not a real sexy team.
I just don't think that that's something that you would expect to see 65 times again or whatever's
left in the season.
Right?
it would be really weird to be
like you'd get better goaltending
you wouldn't let one in from the blue line
with the clearest line of sight from the goalie
your power play is not going to look that bad
the rest of the year
even with a bad goal
they still probably don't win
I mean who knows it's impossible to say
but they're behind still
like we know the new guys have not looked great
no one's debating that they look great
listen listen I've beat up on
a cadre's been good
He's done exactly what you would have hoped for.
So there's one guy that hasn't been great.
The Kachukkah, that's the guys I'm talking about.
Okay.
I have not been on side with any of these signings.
So I would have a biased opinion on this.
I'm strictly basing my opinion on their success for the rest of the year based on the fact they've not shown up in big games,
losing six in a row and found ways to win.
More often in big games, they've found ways.
to show up and have a flat effort.
Not a I'm not playing
nowhere to be found effort,
a flat effort.
And a flat effort is a 500 hockey team
is a non-playoff hockey team.
I don't know what you're basing.
I've yet to see where they've shown at all
a way to dominate a hockey game.
Yeah.
No, if all you have is the games.
They'd be Carolina.
The Vegas game is probably their best game,
but it's hard to even remember
what it was like.
It was that long ago.
There's been too many
situations where they needed to show up
and win a game against teams.
Sure, Boston is really, really good.
But you have, then don't lose to Islanders.
Oh my God, who was in the United Islanders.
And I guess devils are playing.
Like, you have to find ways to win these games.
Like, it's not, you can't just say, well, it's going to happen.
Remember, and we all thought two years ago,
well, you're not going to lose games to Ottawa.
that's where you'll make up points.
They've had a tough schedule.
Now you play easier teams.
They'll beat the easier teams because they're so much better on paper.
Well, you don't.
It doesn't, you don't just win.
If your effort is flat and you can't show up as a veteran group and play with,
I would expect that Daryl doesn't feel like he should have to push a bunch of buttons
to get the emotional level to a certain point based on the fact that these guys are all veteran guys
and should know how to play in this league.
And you're not seeing it.
that's what I'm basing my thoughts on.
Yeah.
It has nothing to do with numbers and analytics at all.
I'm basing it on the emotional level that this team is playing with is 25% of where it needs to be.
If what we've seen through, what is it, 17 games, if that's all this team has, they're dog shit.
I'm with you 100% on that.
I'm incredibly confident, Huberto's better than he's looked, Weeger is better than he's looked,
manjapan, he's better than he's looked.
Markstrom's better than he's looked
Tanna's better than he's looked
this power plays better than it looks
and so I'm agreeing that
this has been an ugly 17
games that cannot continue
to be this nothing good is going to happen if they keep
plenty of play it. I just think there's a
I have a lot of faith that guys
that have been very good players
for long spells of time much longer
than 17 games haven't forgot how
to play the sport and that
you know oh I'm just going to shoot 4%
this year when I'm a 12% shooter no I don't
see that. And I'm not using a specific example so much as, you know, that's kind of what it looks
like for some of these guys right now. So that's where my confidence that this team will be fine is.
Let me just, because the way these guys are playing right now has them, what, one win in their last
eight games? Two. So even two in their last 10. So even if they do elevate to where they should be
ballpark, how much better is the team? So they're not two wins in 10 games bad, but are they
eight wins in 10 games good?
Well, I would look bigger picture than that.
I would say they're 500 right now,
and they've played like shit for a lot of games.
So there's certainly...
But we were pretty impressed when they were five and one.
We were, and we were pretty unimpressed when they lost seven in a row.
I mean, it's cherry picking to just take the seven-game winning streak and cut out the rest.
You could say they won two or three.
It's just to take the seven-game losing streak.
I mean...
That's...
Exactly.
We're doing the same thing.
We can put arbitrary endpoints anywhere.
It doesn't, the point is, is that, to what I said earlier, they are what they are in the standings, right?
They just are.
So if there's any sort of gains made with a lot of guys looking like shit, they're better than 500 in my mind.
It's got to be.
7-7 and 2, minus 6 in terms of goal differential.
1, 3 and 1 on the road.
I mean, it's not a ton of games, but.
And I, like, they're all one goalers of, what, Tampa?
It's not a large sample, but they've been in all those games.
Like Boston, I liked their effort.
I thought they were solid on Long Island in Jersey.
They didn't get bounces.
They shot the shit out of both those teams.
But you need results.
Every Sunday in November, South Street Burger, New York fries,
hosting family skates at Optimus Park 12.45 p.m.
You're invited to come out for a free skated Optimist Arena.
South Street is going to have some giveaway, some prizes.
They've partnered with kids' sport, Calgary.
Good times to be had by all.
Courtesy of our buddies at South Street.
Now, we went for, that was a good run there.
Too long.
It was all right.
It was all right.
Hour.
Come on now.
It's good.
I'm happy with it.
And I didn't talk for a lot of it, so I'm totally energized.
We need to go on the time machine.
About 23 hours ago, 23 and a half hours ago to revisit.
And again, this feels like it's cherry picking.
Maybe not fair.
That's a major piece of the show yesterday.
But let's go back to yesterday.
We had Frank Sarah Valley, our NHL insider on,
and we were talking about weather in Buffalo and the Buffalo bills,
potentially having to postpone their game.
What were they going to do?
Let's go back and see and hear what took place in the show yesterday.
So the tickets I just bought, you're thinking,
have you looked at the forecast?
Snow's stopping on Saturday.
It's 46 feet of snow, not inches, not centimeters, feet.
Spread. We had six feet in one afternoon here once.
Like this is nothing. This is spread out of over like 36 to 48 hours.
We got all kinds of time to clear this crap.
They might not even be able to get the plane in.
Where are you going to land?
So that was yesterday.
Ret, you were not convinced that the snow was going to be that big of an issue, that everybody was panicking.
And you've lived in Buffalo.
And they have snow plows.
they know how to do this.
Do we have a shot,
the Buffalo Bills this morning,
this is from the official team Twitter
of the stadium in Orchard Park.
And if you can't see it
because you're listening,
that looks much like that
four to six feet of snow
that they said was probably going to come,
and it's still coming down.
It looks like a ski resort in the mountains.
It does not look like a stadium
if you're just listening to the podcast.
What are those uprights doing
in the middle of that green run.
That's why they were going to pay you
20 bucks an hour to shovel that ass and get it out of there.
Just throw it over the stadium and out.
Go.
I need snow.
That's a lot of snow.
And we were about two hours post show yesterday
when the NFL made the announcement.
The bills and Browns are going to be playing in Detroit
on Sunday instead of in Buffalo.
So, Rhett's showing us out your window.
Doesn't look like a snowfall that you can.
live with.
Well, move the stadium there, because that looks a lot different than Orchard Park.
Now, but didn't you also say that the weather where you are is way different than what's
in Orchard Park where the stadium is?
Oh, I mean, if you can't see that it's different,
he did say that.
It's definitely different.
So you owe Frank on a bet then, because he was going to send you whiskey or something.
He wasn't into the Josh's Jacks.
was going to send you bourbon and you were sending him cereal
breakfast cereal yeah there's the tweet so i was looking
sarahveli on his twitter says hey warner you better be sending me something awesome ret replies
with i'll fax you a check which is your classic it's just response to anything where it's like
oh yeah i know it's you're out okay i got a couple bottles here we did i didn't even know what
the hell he was talking about i didn't either that's a fancy bourbon okay it's a different
type of bourbon and then I was like
there's an old Fitzgerald
it's about a hundred dollar bottle
that's the best splurge
for wheated bourne
uh
the best craft
so about a $70 bottle
the Garrison brothers
best overall
maker's mark
really that's kind of run of the mill
stuff though you know we'll find out from Frank
what it is that he likes specifically
I think he'd be happy with any of the old show.
No, no, I want to surprise him.
I want to surprise him.
I was going to have you guys get me his address,
and I was going to send, I was splurge.
I'll get him the old Fitzgerald.
Your muffs, Frank.
Most expensive one, earmuffs.
Picks?
You're taking the bills in Detroit?
Not, yeah.
We'll do picks in a,
we'll do picks.
We've got to get to the Pinder report.
But what I want to do right now is welcome someone new to the family.
You haven't another?
No, no.
No.
Four?
No, I'm...
Did Rhett have another pet left on your doorstep?
Red's the one who isn't snipped.
If anybody's welcoming, it's old retro there.
No, no, we've got a new sponsor on the program,
and we're going to be rolling out a bunch of new sponsors here.
This is the latest Vena Nova.
Justin got in touch with us.
Like, hey, you know what?
I love the show.
I've got some stuff going on in Calgary.
I'd love to tell you about Calgary's only lab-grown
diamond specialist.
The only store in Calgary that specializes
exclusively in lab-grown diamonds.
Now, I'm a dummy, and I think
all guys are dummies. So two-fold.
We're going to be able to figure out what
lab-grown diamonds are all about, and
what to get your significant
other for Christmas. It's a busy couple months if you
think about it, Dino. We got Christmas coming up.
Valentine's Day sneaks up on you.
So I'm going to go by. I want to go see, Justin,
and learn about this. VenaNova.com.
There's the website. You can see it if you're watching
online. Downtown
showroom, second level of Stephen Avenue place. A lab-grown diamond is a diamond that's been
grown in a lab. Same chemical composition, crystal structure as natural earth-mined diamonds.
They have the same hardness, same light refraction as a natural diamond. They're referred to as
synthetic because they're chemically and physically the same as a natural diamond, but are man-made.
So we're talking about the same, essentially the same thing. It's going to look and feel the whole thing for
way less.
And fewer imperfections too.
That's true.
That's true.
Part here.
There you go.
And are you worried about who had to do what to go mind that thing anymore?
I'm safety first.
There you go.
And I'm guessing Justin and his staff, very safe conditions over at Vena Nova.
No one's dying there?
I hope not.
I hope not.
Vena Nova.com is the website.
Go and visit them.
Welcome aboard, Justin and everybody at Vena Nova.
Good to have you aboard.
Cool.
Look at that.
Yes, sir.
We are dummies at this kind of stuff.
I'm glad we got some help.
Oh, dude.
So dumb.
It's almost as though I have no grasp of the calendar.
Jeez, a Christmas is like right away.
Yeah, it's right away, stupid.
It's on the 25th of December this year.
I'm telling you, it was home alone my kids turned on.
That's when I got worried.
That happened three days ago.
That movie reminds me.
Trouble.
So we've crushed you about your forecasting,
even though you were a self-professed
meteorologists
He's a buffalo
yesterday.
You know what?
And this,
Rhett,
this is society getting soft.
The NFL,
not as hard as Buffaloans.
I bet you people are pissed in town.
Hey,
Rhett,
do you have a roof on your house?
Or is just everything in Buffalo not,
not have a roof on it?
Like,
what are they doing,
right?
Roofs are expensive.
Don't they have a roof in,
like the new one,
so-fi,
it's got a roof on it,
right?
That's in L.A.
That's in L.A.
You need a stronger roof.
There's no snowfall in L.
That you got to worry about.
And they put a roof.
Look at all the fancy.
Listen,
look at all the fancy pants in L.A.
We don't want to be a bunch of fancy pants in like L.A.
Forget it.
We want to put on our parkas on our Zumbas and get out there and give her.
Come on.
Blue collar.
You don't want some soft stadium like Detroit's got.
There's no elements.
72 degrees Fahrenheit every day.
The new,
new stadium's going to be 65% covered.
Yeah, partially covered.
I saw.
Partially covered.
Just be snowdrifts in one quarter.
One corner of the building.
It's good.
Let's do the Pinder report, shall we?
Pinder report is a presentation of our good friends, our buddies as well.
Over at Village Honda, they're putting their money where the mouth is.
They've hauled their wallet out.
Use vehicles, use vehicles.
They have...
Couple Schmel.
Two million dollars to buy vehicles.
Buy your car, even if you don't buy ours, they say.
You'll get a trip to Las Vegas.
It's only at Village Honda.
7663 110 of Northwest.
It's in the Northwest Auto Mall.
Or online at village honda.com.
Time for the Pinda Report.
All right.
We'll start with the Calgary Flames.
Jens.
They fall in Tampa last night.
The first of six games in their season long six game roadie.
Items of note, another bad Markstrom goal,
a Darrell Sutter goatee sighting.
Which would you like to tackle?
I feel like we've kind of touched them both.
The goatee is interesting, I guess.
Um,
the bad goal is the bad goal.
And there's no angle where it justifies it.
Where it's,
oh,
maybe did it go off of a,
it's,
no.
And a goalie's led in bad goals.
Give Mark some credit.
I mean,
for whatever it's worth,
maybe it's worth nothing.
But he just said,
I've got to be better.
These guys are working hard in front of me
getting a bunch of shots.
I've got to stop shots more than I have.
And you know what?
I mean,
all the numbers would suggest that it's.
So I was wondering,
did he nod?
Dad,
what are you doing here?
Did he not shave or?
Oh, he shaved, just not the chin or the mustache.
Hey, when things are going, things aren't going your way, you got to.
Daryl, this is like your second line.
I hate it.
Superstitious guy, I guess.
It's Kachuk and the Panthers coming up tomorrow, a matinee in Sunrise, Florida.
And if you want to find Matthew Kach, you can, well, you can check on the list of suspensions in the NHL this year's missed two games.
Or go to the top 10 scores in the NHL where he sits.
It's tied for ninth, despite, you know, that two-game suspension that we noted.
He's had a lovely season.
Yeah, there's the lottery balls at the top.
Eric Carlson, what a season.
We'll talk about him in a moment.
And then there's Kachuk, 22 points despite missing a pair.
Not to Shambi.
All right.
Again, matinee tomorrow, and we would expect heightened emotions, because if you're
flatten that game.
They said on the broadcast last night,
and stay in Boka.
That some of the guys or the guys were going to Matthews,
house.
Barbecue Friday night.
Yeah.
How's that going to fly with Big D?
Not well.
He didn't like when the brothers talked at Center Ice and warmups.
True.
So I don't think the pre-game,
now listen,
if part of the deal is you guys can go,
but someone's going to scrap that prick on Saturday afternoon,
then pay first fair.
I don't think Darrow would like that.
Rhett?
No.
Rett's very busy on the-
After losing.
Is he in the chat?
He's in the chat.
Yeah, he's all into talking to Vitaly.
Okay, so also on the NHL, Avs beat the Cains.
And if you ever feel like, man, hockey's just not a fair sport.
Have a look at this screen grab.
Aves win in overtime, three, two, two good teams.
Look at the shots.
4814.
Wow.
And again, McCar's got that runway to get the 200 and 200.
So now only six games left, right?
Yeah.
No concern there.
We mentioned Eric Carlson's season.
Have a look at this pass ret.
He was never good at defense, but the offense is back.
Only McDavid has more points.
and the dish last night on this goal is absolutely sensational.
Stay with the play for a bit.
It takes a while to get to Carlson at the right point.
Yep.
Blind, behind his back, on a T, wango.
They must have won big, right?
Four points for Carlson?
Holy.
Lost six four.
Grags it through the legs.
Zing.
Singer.
Lost six four to Detroit.
Razor.
Razor and I were talking about him yesterday or two.
Is it yesterday?
Yeah.
He'd fix your power play.
I bet there'd be some defensive deficiencies elsewhere.
Well, I like this, San Jose, maybe be entertained thoughts of trading them.
Yeah, I guess at 11.5 million for...
How much would they have to eat for it to make sense for you?
I mean, it's only...
He's been hurt last couple of years, and we don't know that he's going to be a...
He's clearly not a point and a half per game D-Man or whatever.
I just don't think you can do it.
Is it like eight or nine, or is it just the term?
It's so long.
Yeah.
I think there's, what, six years left on that?
Yeah, you don't.
want to be paying guys.
So like three years less than what they have for Hebrano?
Got it.
Roman Yosey also four points on the back end for the predators.
He had a slower start.
That'll help things.
Hey, you know why teams should be bad and embrace it?
Watch this start of the game between Regina and Winnipeg, Rhett.
I'll let you count to 10.
There's the puck.
Hey, look, Winnipeg wins the draw.
Conrad says that's mine.
There's your underwear.
And nothing, Pats.
Nine.
Well, 10 seconds, one nothing but ard.
Well, I mean, it's, you know.
Small sample, can't be trusted.
It's in Regina.
Oh, it looks like it's in Winnipeg.
Get the guys ready to go.
Let's go to the NFL, Thursday night football.
One more look, yeah.
This is, like, it's just, is it a video game?
How did you just do that?
No one likes a show off, Connor.
There's no need.
Everyone likes one nothing, 10 seconds.
in though.
NFL, it was the Tennessee Titans
in Green Bay.
Vaunted defense of the Titans look good, and so did
Derek Henry. Rumble it.
And you know what? They're inside the five. What are they going to do?
You got to give the ball to Henry. He's going to rumble in, right?
Ha ha. Just kidding.
Wide open.
We thought it was Henry.
One of two receptions for Austin Hooper in the end zone,
and I guess Henry can throw. He says he's Peyton Manning, Jr.
Is that what he said? He said quite a night.
Yeah, throwing and running.
And, yeah.
I didn't see him kick and feel goals.
That's about it.
Probably could.
Yeah, if you won't.
Probably could.
Uh, and Mike Vrabel.
You got to love him, hey.
Do you, do you see him on the sidelines?
You got to love him.
Remember the epic photo.
This reminds me like,
Rhett, you got your family's got some Vrabble vibes.
So let's walk through this.
You've got, uh, moving from right to left.
Right to left.
You got Tiger King vibes.
You've got Spandex Man.
You've got the normal daughter with three crazy brothers.
And the mirror reflecting off the door in the back shows the kid taking a dump with the door
open in the washer.
this was the draft when they had to go virtual with the pandemic.
Look at those big dumb animals.
So the question,
they're all monsters still needs to be answered.
On purpose or accident?
Is it that much of a circus that he's not even flinching?
Or is it they're all punking dad right now?
Because I think that's a reflection off of whatever that's a mirror.
It's a camera.
Yeah.
I don't think it's a mirror.
I think it's reflection because that's a cabinet type of a thing.
Is it not?
Totally.
I just think it's a mirror on the front of it.
Oh, I mean, I don't know.
Anyway.
but it's pretty clear that dude is on his phone hammering at Duce.
Or at the very least sits down to P.
I don't know that I recommend either.
The door closed is a good move.
You could close the door either way, probably.
If you're going to sit to pee, close that door.
Everybody sits down nowadays because you've got to have your phone.
I mean.
Who goes to the can without their phone?
Oh, dear.
Nobody goes to the washroom without.
The smile tells you everything.
They're in on this thing.
They love that like there's too many.
of us. Dad's busy at the draft.
He can't fuck with us right now.
Dad looks like he...
What are you stupid kids?
And then smack him a couple times.
Get out of here.
Yeah.
I think that'd be how that would roll.
Love the rebel family.
Well done.
And finally, World Cup,
48 hours till the first game.
And they made a little bit of a tweak.
No booze.
No beer in the stadium.
48 hours.
Hmm.
And isn't Budweiser like a huge sponsor?
Yeah.
This is such a joke.
You can't have a cameras out.
Oh, well, look at that.
It's only $100 million the Budweiser sponsorship.
And you like soccer.
I hate FIFA.
Wednesday, by the way, my afternoon's booked.
I've climbed.
What a...
Not to be...
I need to make light of Bud, but...
I've never been...
well i've been disappointed a few times i went to the world cup in germany
and i was going to i'm going to the stadium ready this is going to be awesome
going to have some beers going to have some great german beer
but that's how you could buy there's only one thing worse only one thing worse i'm in barcelona
i get to go to a champions league game i'm jacked and it's like we're way up high
stadium seats a hundred thousand beer beer i'm like why aren't these hitting me oh
they only serve non-alcoholic and I'm just pouring 20 euros.
Just like, what?
Only non-alcoholic.
I'm going to brush up on the Spanish.
That's pretty good.
Yeah, that is pretty good.
I was very disappointed.
That's it.
All right.
Thanks to our good friends of Villageana.
Village Hon, a drive away today in a pre-owned vehicle from Village.
Over 60 on site.
Access to over 400 more they will have what you're looking for.
Visit them today in the Northwest Auto Mall or at a
VillageHonda.com.
If you're on the web or your QR code, do it right now.
Take you right to the website.
Yeah, there it is.
$2 million.
$2 million.
So the Thursday nighter last night, the Bills and Browns are going to Detroit to play
inside.
Let's do our Betway bets.
Our NFL picks for the weekend, which is week 11.
Oh, God.
Yeah, that sounds about right, hey.
It's getting serious.
It is.
There's only six weeks left for Aaron Rogers and company.
They had a big L last night.
A big L.
Four wins on the year.
Can you go back to last week?
Looked like they'd maybe righted the ship a little bit.
The Watson kid looks good, but I think Tennessee is sneaky.
Here are my picks.
The Baltimore Ravens are heavily favored at home against Carolina.
Two touchdowns almost.
It's too much.
I just, I don't love Baker Mayfield.
Deonté Foreman's been good.
It's two touchdowns.
I'm going to take the points, Carolina plus 13.
and a half. New England is hosting the Jets. I believe I had read if the Jets win, they move into first
in the division. And if the bills lose or if the bills, then they go to last. Like that's how
tight and how ridiculous that. New England would have to win, I think for that. But yeah.
That situation is. I'm going to, uh, I think I have the Patriots in this one, actually. The Patriots are
favored by three and a half points versus the Jets. So I'm taking New England minus three
and a half. And this is at New England.
as well. Right. Yes. So there we are. And the final one, it just, I always worry when things feel
like, this is automatic, that the NFL is trying, they're trying to get you to go the other way.
But the chargers are so hurt and they just look so far removed from what everybody thought
they were going to be. Kansas City, I know that there's no juju and Hardman and they've moved on
from Clyde, it seems, but I just think that five and a half is too easy, although I feel like I'll
rue it, but give me the Chiefs minus five and a half.
So I got the Patriots minus three and a half,
chiefs minus five and a half,
and the Panthers plus 13 and a half.
How do we get the Jets logo for the Patriots pick?
Am I crazy here?
Okay, we'll jump to my picks here.
Just going to make sure I...
A little bit overlap.
The right way, did I do it?
No, I said Patriots.
Anyway, go ahead.
Who's next? Who wants to go next?
I will take Houston at home to Washington.
Everyone loves the commandos
after they ended Philly's perfect season.
Whatever.
Neither of these teams are that good.
I'll take the field goal.
Brown's in an indoor stadium against Buffalo.
I like them at a bigger number.
Do we have to argue about everything today?
I'm probably wrong.
I took them last week and they didn't cover against Miami.
So that's, I'm on a losing streak picking the Browns,
but I can't stop it.
I was getting seven and a half points.
I'll take it.
And I was going to go elsewhere,
but as a Chargers fan,
There's nothing left.
Their best pass rusher.
Their left tackle.
Four of their best five receiving options.
They were losing linemen like crazy.
They can't stop the run to begin with.
This is going to be running the ball down the Chargers's throat all day.
No way the Chargers can cover five and a half.
You are a Chargers fan who is upset with your team.
That is something for people to know.
I'm not upset.
I'm a realist.
There's no one left.
I'm not mad at it.
They're trying.
They've just got nothing unhealthy.
So there's the Pinder Picks.
All right, Retro.
Let's see what you got here.
Oh, bills.
Ooh.
The bills, so I knew that.
I didn't know what the line was.
That's a big number for Baltimore,
but they had last weekend off.
So, yeah, they'll be crisp and sharp.
Coming off by.
That's right.
And I, Detroit's,
there's a Lions.
Lines have won two in a row,
but I'm.
Detroit Lions.
Exactly.
Yeah.
Worst defense in the league.
Sequin's been,
In New York, I like that too.
Yeah, I like that pick, Rachel.
There you go.
Those are our Betway bets of the day,
bets of the weekend, bet responsibly, if you would.
Are we getting along?
Is everybody okay?
I'm told, I read, I keep saying I call him an idiot.
I never call me an idiot.
I think it's a very smart man.
There's a tone.
He alludes to it.
You do, there's a bit of a tone.
But here it is, boom.
I'm not offended by it so much,
because I'll get over it because I'm used to it.
He uses that tone with everyone.
So I mean, you're not special.
I'm an asshole to everyone.
I know it's not unique for me.
Give some love to Bon Tonne Meets.
It's the weekend.
I might just go.
I might just go.
Somebody in the in the chat here was saying,
I'm eating the Bon Ton potato salad right now.
Stop it.
And you've never been happier, damn it.
You've never been happier on a Friday.
You can't do that to people lunchtime.
Lunchtime.
I love that you're eating Bon Tonin potato salad.
on Friday morning to get your weekend started right.
That's a nice base for the rest of the weekend.
You can fill your belly full of booze.
That is a good point.
Potato, excellent base.
Greg says it all the time.
I don't ever advertise potato salad,
but we're selling it all the time because of you donkeys.
So, yeah, I'm not sure that Greg even cares,
but go and have the potato salad.
You're going to love it.
It's the best potato salad in the frigging world.
Even if you think you don't like potato salad,
you're going to love potato salad.
It's such a random thing.
It's like who looked really potato salad?
Yes, just trust us.
Yeah, I'm in.
Go ahead.
No, me?
Yeah, you were going to say.
I was going to say that.
I was going to say, you know, the girls, they probably struggle getting presents for their men.
Potato.
Oh, bontan gift cards.
You show up.
Happy birthday, honey.
A big ass tub of potato salad.
You'd be like, high-fiving.
Yeah.
Woo!
Dude, that is so much better than socks or a shirt you'll never wear.
I'm, that's killing it.
It is unbelievable.
It sounds like we're joking.
No, I'd be thrilled with that.
But we're not, we're not lying.
Are you kidding?
Thank you.
I can wear a sock with the hole.
I need potato salad.
If you, yeah, if you woke up and it was your birthday,
you came home and you kind of after work or whatever,
you just live in your life.
And your sweet little lady had a nice,
big batch of potato salad on the,
table with your card you'd be pumped it'd be absolutely jack hey honey you deserve this
why is the shabler phoning me i'm gonna yell is she calling you right now she thinks the show's over
we're usually done by now speaker phone speaker phone i'm working here i'm working here almost done
oh sorry i thought you were done well now you're on your live you better say something nice how good
were your presence this morning how happy is she while you are honey
Shuffle.
Oh, we missed it.
Oh, wait, wait.
There's snowfall of the year.
Can't even talk to her with us.
Call her back.
We need to know how.
I'll send a, I'll send a tweet out of her shuffling later.
All right.
Okay.
Call her.
Wow.
No.
Fuck.
Talks to one.
Have a weekend, everybody.
We've done a lot today.
We've done a lot today.
I don't know if we fixed the flames or buried the flames.
I feel like we did some heavy lifting.
Both. All of it.
All of the above.
Yeah.
All of the above.
For me, one of the best things is when you started down to,
we got to talk about you.
You interrupted my want to show you the snowfall here to talk about Tapa.
And I'm like, well, this would be a 30-second conversation.
What are we going to talk about?
We'll get to the snow.
We went an hour.
We'll just quickly cover the flames.
See?
You just never.
We're better than we think we, even than we know.
Who fights Kachuk tomorrow?
Nobody.
Sadly.
No.
We are.
He's going to land on Markstrom or Vladar, though, for sure.
Yeah, that's your turning point of the season.
Do they have that in the bets?
Do they have that in the fall on the goalie on that way?
Hell look.
The fall on the goalie.
Yeah.
Watch for that.
It's not paying well.
I'll tell you that.
Minus 300?
What are you talking about?
Boys, have a weekend.
Thanks, retro.
Good to see you.
Pinder.
Appreciate you.
Oilers suck.
Oilers Nation every day coming out next on YouTube.
Bye.
See you, buddies.
