Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - FlamesNation Barn Burner: Calgary Flames Losing Streak Reaches 6 Games
Episode Date: November 9, 2022Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener Wednesday November 9th, 2022- Recapping the 3-2 Loss to the Devils - The Losing St...reak Reaches 6 Games- What's going on with Darryl Sutter? - Mad Rose Pub Ticket Giveaway 💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on twitter: @FlamesNation @BarnburnerFN @960boomer @PinderReport @warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @The Nation Network 💻 Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialFlam... Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I'm getting to enjoy the chat in the YouTube, in the YouTube space, before the show begins.
The pre-show chat.
The pre-show chat.
And we appreciate you.
All that get on the YouTube and you get in there and you're waiting.
We can see how many people are waiting.
There's 10, 50.
I saw this morning when I was up at 2 in the morning.
One person waiting.
2 a.m.
God love.
You're not the only one that can't sleep.
Yeah.
So as we get ready for the show to start, we can see a lot of the comments in there.
some of them from Rhett Warner, who is, there's the Rettster.
He's back again for another day.
Good to see him.
Yeah.
I should change it to the Rettster maybe.
You really should, yeah.
Could you get that on your driver's license?
Like first name, the last name Rettster?
Yeah.
I feel like that'd be legit.
Maybe not.
And if not, at least a vanity plate with New York, right?
State of New York, vanity plate, the Rettster.
But it seems like the tone of the show is kind of almost set based on what I'm reading
in the YouTube chat.
Really?
Yeah.
From Mr. The Rettster?
No, not from the Rester from some others.
Have you heard of Connor Baderd?
Conor Bidard.
Suckhardt for Bidard?
He's a very highly touted prospect.
He was the guy when I took the Timbitts team,
the whole team went to watch the Hitman afternoon hockey,
that he undressed like six guys and then went between his legs
and scored the most beautiful goal in the hockey world of 21, 22.
Yeah, I recall him.
Yeah, it seems like maybe people or Flames fans are preparing for maybe to be in that
lottery and have a great.
chance. So just to clarify, while the flame sit in a playoff spot through a dozen games and have
not played well, still in a playoff spot, they're angling for Badard? That's right. While they're
missing like three of their top six defensemen. That's right. And, you know, their biggest offseason
acquisitions out now too. Like that this is the time to. That's why you're here. This is the perspective.
Thank goodness that you're here. Thank goodness for Barnburner today, just to level everybody off.
because I know, Rhett, you're very positive as well.
Yeah, right?
You played.
You understand you can't overreact to these small samples, right?
I'm positive.
They looked real slow and shitty last night.
Absolutely.
You're positive?
They looked shitty?
Jeez.
100% positive.
That punctuation's key there.
There's a period after I'm positive.
It sounds like, yeah, I know, yeah.
It's really good.
Did they look shitty to you last night?
Okay, so here's my, I, uh, I, I watched the first two periods.
And then I just, I got drawn into the election results.
I mean, it was stunning stuff.
And I did want to fall asleep.
So I watched the first two.
And I actually did think last night watching now, maybe my attitude changed because I had eaten a Stinger sub and a dozen wings again.
So maybe I was slow.
But last night, I thought the team looked slow compared to Jersey.
Yeah, which they are.
And I watched the third.
Jersey is probably one of the quickest teams league.
And it's two things, right?
watch the sorry guys go ahead i'm gonna stay out we should go ahead i've been on a roll for i know shut
up i know you're gonna start walking on me so i can't no you're good you jealous i got first star again
i thought this morning i was like no they look all right and i was kind of the opinion the same as you
where it's like don't forget they got a few guys out so i thought this morning my attitude was better
they looked all right last night these guys are slow no good they can't do it go ahead
That was it, they're just slow.
That's a little different than the tone of the pregame chat.
Yeah, so I guess what is success and failure this year is probably?
Like we have to define the terms.
Like them missing the playoffs is an utter disaster.
I am nowhere near thinking this team is going to miss the playoffs.
People talking about Connor Bedard obviously are.
You cannot win a draft lottery as a playoff team.
They're in a playoff spot now and have had bad fortune
and played poorly.
There's a lot more they can improve on.
It isn't like they're maxed out
and squeaked into a wild card.
They're playing like shit
and still in a playhouse spot.
I like the start.
I was going to think you're being...
Go ahead.
I think you're being extreme too,
and we're goofing off the chat.
I don't think anyone's expecting
Bedard status.
No, I know.
But getting out to the best start
in team history
and being in the position there are,
and watching them play flat hockey,
uninspired hockey for a group of games
and not winning games that are almost must win games,
whether you're hurt or not,
does not bode well for a team
that you expected to be fighting for first,
home ice in the playoffs,
winning around, right?
That's, they haven't impressed enough that you,
I wouldn't say they're anywhere near,
going to be competing for a home ice if they're going to play this way.
Well, of course.
It might be better than they were, but they're not supposed to, like, what are we talking
about here?
You've lost twice to them.
Yeah.
And it's not good enough.
So there's two things here, obviously.
We think Jersey's a lot better as a hockey club.
They're finally getting goaltending.
All those guys are a year older.
They bolstered that group with some nice veterans.
Like, that's a good hockey team that zips it around pretty quick.
They have won seven in a row.
Yeah, right.
That's 10 of 11 or something, 9 of 10.
Like, it's quite a role.
They've been rolled here.
Yeah.
They're on here.
And, you know, the flames didn't get out chanced or embarrassed by them.
Like, it's, the devils were number two in the NHL in shots per game and number one in shots
against in the NHL heading into the game they played in Calgary on Saturday.
The flames did that to them last night and the flames of the team on the second half
to back to back.
I liked a lot of the process.
Yeah.
But you know how it is.
this, you can't look at last lane and it as an isolated case because it's the sixth straight loss.
If this was one or two, you'd be happy with the start.
You'd be happy with, they came out, they were physical, cadre lay in the body.
Like, Backlin takes a penalty, but you could tell, they weren't going to, yeah, they were ready to go.
Like, I didn't see uninspired. I thought the exact opposite.
And that's what Sutter said afterwards. I like to compete.
It's just you give away another lead.
Yeah.
They've had leads in, what, five of the six losses?
The only game they've not led in, I believe, in the whole season.
is the Buffalo game.
That's right.
So if you're telling me this as good as they can be,
then yeah,
I'll buy their a wildcard team.
But clearly they're going to start winning games
or out shooting teams,
35 to 20 something.
They just are.
Like, they're shooting percentages in the shitter.
The power play has looked lost for a bit.
They're going to be better.
Wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait.
You're good at this.
Well, it's quality shots.
Is it not?
You can take the shot clock and shoot it to the moon.
I don't get crap about that.
You tell me,
Are they getting quality chances?
I think they did last night.
I'm not saying they are or they aren't.
But don't just say because they're getting shots.
They're going to start winning games.
No, no, of course.
That's a very good point.
I think they're creating enough quality shots
to score more than three and two goals,
which they've had the last two nights.
I thought Sorokin was very good for the Islanders.
I thought Vanichek was strong for the devils.
And to be fair, I haven't disliked Jacob Markstrom,
but he's been the second best goalie for a few games in a row now.
So it's not on Jacob.
What I'm saying is there's a lot of nice.
Jacob Markstrom is going to be better than his opponent,
and these types of chances are going to lead to more goals.
You're not going to end up with 70 plus shots
and only have five goals most of the time.
That's an outlier, what you've watched the last two games,
unless you just think you're going to face 950, 935 goaltending all year,
which no one's ever faced in the history of the league.
Well, and I said it yesterday,
and I'm able, I guess, to put a little bit more data behind it.
I just don't think they're as bad as the results are showing them,
that they're proving out to be right.
now on this six-game skid 04 and 2 goals for 15 goals against 23 their power play is at 12 and a half
percent finally gets two last night yeah that ends what a five game drought yeah the penalty
kills 75 percent and in this six game skid they're getting 865 goal tending right i don't think
any of those are the normal none of those are sustainable madjapani has one goal in his last 10
games. Dylan Dubay has one goal.
Coleman has one goal. It's the whole thing. Hubergo did not play and we'll talk about it,
but he has one goal. Okay. And they're missing three defense. I just, it's, this is, it's the
trough that they're in. And because it's five, six games and we're, they got to get out of,
they're at home, they got to get on the road trip. Well, now they've played a couple in the road,
and they haven't won. So it's, it's just, it's a hockey market. It's a hockey passionate fan base.
So I get it. I, all things.
You watch that game as a one-off.
Could have won it.
Should have won it.
Yeah, maybe should have won it, had the lead.
But I don't know that I had a problem with how they played.
And the devils are good.
Like, I think we're, if you're viewing it through the lens of a bad team that misses the playoffs, that lost things.
But if you view them as division leaders, which they may be in a Metro division this year, it's like, okay, you tried hard.
You were second of back to back.
Lots of good takeaways.
You're playing your ninth and tenth defenseman on the fucking organization.
And you lose by one?
Like, okay.
There's worse things out there.
So that's the micro.
But, Red, I think you, you take that, you're, you're taking the lens,
you're zooming out a little bit, and you're still concerned.
I'm going back to the start of the year.
If you want to go as far, that's where I go back to is we, well, I didn't.
But there was a lot of praise heaped on the fact that they took a crappy situation and made it way better.
But the crappy situation that they made better, including tying into guys,
or believing that your team was going to be a contender a cup contender to be quite honest with you
it's a cup contender you don't commit to cadre and hubert ow and weger in that sort of fashion
if you don't think those are the missing pieces that are going to carry you into deep playoff
runs yeah my contention with it all from the start was you don't know how this room's going to
come together you don't know how those pieces are going to fit in sure all those players have had
good careers to this point. That doesn't mean when you make a change that it immediately
happens again. They don't know the coach. They don't know the city. They don't know the system.
Blah, blah, blah. I had my hesitations. I wasn't as rambunctious as excited. I argued with Sarah
Valley on it when this thing first started. I felt they should have waited. They didn't need to
sign Hubert O to an extension immediately. I thought going after Kodji was a big risk and a big
gamble and if they continue to play this weger to me is not a number one that they kind of were like
oh he's raped on the cost he's fine he's too he's for anything he's looked right i blame him for
getting a long-term deal and too much money or i could say i praise him for that but point being he's
not the missing piece on the blue line either he's not he's not wowing anyone blah blah blah
there was another way of going about this and you might not have had cadre and you'd have had weger
and and huberdow but you would have found it out without this long-term commitment which means
that if you need to make changes you'd have been able to okay so now they're stuck this is an important
like i i agree that was absolutely an option for them but let's rewind the clock and put ourselves
back in the shoes of that time not with the the hindsight of 12 games into the season a year after
they lose Johnny Goddrow for nothing,
you would be willing to go into the season
with two key free agents in Uyghur and Eubrudeau?
Yeah, I would have, because you know what?
If they don't perform, I can trade them at the deadline.
No, but that's absolute.
The curse isn't if they don't perform.
That's easy.
You sell them, you're right.
The curse is if you're in first place in the Pacific
at the trade deadline and they're not signed.
That's what they had to deal with last year.
Then what do you do?
Well, that's fine.
So are you going to sign everyone to a long-term deal
because you put yourself in a shitty situation?
that because you screwed up in the past and it don't blame the player for this not
blame me this is the organization's fault so so now you're going to sign everyone to long
that's what happened in edmonton that screwed them forever they felt they had to law
lock these young guys up to big money contracts for long term because they're scared
they're going to lose them and what happened they were the shits they were fat cats and
all of a sudden they had to play their way out of it and the only reason they're anywhere right now
It's because I'm lucky enough to get Connor McDavid.
That's the only reason Edmonton's where they are right now.
Calgary, that's not managing.
That's reacting to, that's admitting you screwed up and jumping to the other.
Oh my God, I can't let that happen again.
You should have had a better read.
I mean, I think Goodrew screwed to living, but he didn't have to wait.
He didn't have to wait with Giordano.
He could have had more assets there.
There was other things that he could have done as a GM to alleviate some of the pressure.
So what have you trade your Dano and you have a first rounder?
Now you can package that first rounder with someone.
Like there's all kinds of things.
So to say that the Godreau thing makes you have to sign the two guys to long-term deals when you don't know what they're going to be.
I don't know.
That's a bit of a to me it was more of a, I'm not going to say it because it's an ignorant call.
Yeah, and it's not, they don't have to do anything.
I'm not saying they had to sign these guys.
I'm just saying remember how down everyone is.
No one's going to sign in Calgary.
No one wants to be here.
Hubbard was going to sign in Montreal.
Weiger's gone anyway.
Like, you have to remember that people didn't think this was even a possibility
that you could extend these guys before they were up.
Like, to suggest they had to sign them is not what I'm saying.
But just remember, a lot of the messaging that Trillivin had around these was
we had to punch back.
We had to show that this isn't a shitty.
market that good players do want to resign here.
And I'm not saying make bad decisions to prove.
It's a bullshit.
It's a BS statement.
It's a BS statement.
What's BS?
You overpaid everyone.
We don't know yet.
I mean, they overpaid Huberto for sure.
Weiger, come on.
Well, you need to see more from Weger.
And I don't think it's fair to judge a guy 12 games into a new system.
I really don't.
He hasn't been super.
He can be better than this.
I don't know what the market is for cadre.
He might be Taylor Hall.
where all of a sudden the market fell out.
But he didn't come to Calgary because it's Calgary.
Well, he didn't take the biggest money on the table.
That was in Columbus on July 13 or whatever it was this year.
Okay, so you're, and?
So how much more?
So what do you think?
Why do you come to Calgary, right?
100 grand?
No, like a million more years.
Because he got the most money that he thought a team that would be competitive.
And he's, yeah, that's it.
And so you have a problem with that signing?
You don't.
I'm confused.
I have a problem with that.
that sign because he's a 32 year old centerman that's going to slow down and you got a long-term
commitment to him i don't think that he's a bad player right now i just don't think the team is what
you expected to be and you don't need that player right now there are other ways to go about this the
calgary flames and the problem with it is that they get the marching orders to make the playoffs make
the playoffs we're going to go on a run we could get that's sure whatever is that a plan has it worked
out we've had one fluke run in o four one fluke run in o four one fluke run in o four one fluke run in
four since 89 the plan is always make the playoffs maybe you have to step back and go
let's have a longer term view how did tampa get there they had a longer term view there's a
shitty situation in buffalo they've been terrible you just said it nobody wants to play in buffalo
you know what the guys in buffalo like right now they like playing in buffalo you can find guys
that want to play for your team jersey who the hell wants to go play in jersey no one how's the
team doing pretty good Florida dead man's alley who wants to play for the florida panthers not a fan
it's terrible they suck awful who wants to go to florida now me like please everyone so yeah it's sucked
it was a slap in the face it looked shitty on the city and the team and it was like holy smacks
everyone's leaving suck it up and and move past it it doesn't mean you have to re over over
react and pay these guys through them.
Agreed.
I just think everything you said is correct.
They had the option to rebuild and do all that.
But we also just can't look at a team 12 games in and say, well, they're not contenders.
They're clearly not capable.
Like, do you think they could reel in Seattle?
Do you think they can hang with Edmonton and the shabby goaltending they've got?
They now have cane out for a bit.
That's home ice.
Like, I'm sorry.
And we've seen enough crazy things happen in this tournament.
If the goalie wants to get in his own for two weeks,
I still don't see this group as non-contenders.
Like it's just been a shitty two weeks.
That's it.
Weger's going to be better.
Eubertoe's going to be better.
This is not peak them.
And everyone knew when they made these commitments,
there's a window here.
These deals are all going to look shitty on the back end.
Cadres, Ubertoes.
But what was the trade-off?
You have a window to get something done.
Now, if they don't, everyone's fired.
I'm with you.
But because they're not good 12 games in
doesn't mean they're not contenders anymore.
Well, and again, I am not saying, but I don't think they're world beaters by any stretch.
Not now.
I'm saying my whole point for it was, and I think you're agreeing with me, there's two ways to have gone about this.
If it falls flat as it has so far, in my opinion, I don't think Trilliving or Sutter or anyone in Flames Nation is overly excited at a five and five start.
Yep.
500 start.
Now, right?
So it's two things.
They might get better, but they could also lose.
They can also get hurt and be shittier.
Or they could get healthy and still lose.
They haven't proven that they're good enough, that they're undeniable.
I think they will make the playoffs.
I just don't think they're elite.
Not now.
They certainly aren't.
And, you know, we need to give new guys time.
It's excuses, but it's real.
Like, it's a totally different system for the Florida guys.
You'd love to see Oliver Schillington in this lineup and not Nick Maloche or D.
Simone or Gilbert, who are going to be the three guys rotating through in theory, depending on
cap stuff with Maloche. But like this, this isn't them at their best at all. And again,
seven games in, here's what you'd done. Carolina, win, come from behind contender. Vegas, win.
How are they doing? First place in the league. Edmonton on the road, win.
Emerton at home, you had it and blew it. It was your own fault. They didn't out play it.
Like five of their first seven games, Pittsburgh, they took teams that Vegas had as
up contenders and beat them all. So yes, it's shitty now. Rewind to two Saturdays ago,
you have a totally different report card. And it's just overreacting to smaller samples.
We have to take longer views than six games at a time. Is that fair?
I think it's all great. I'm not saying sell everybody. I'm saying that you can't do that if
they suck. If this continues, if this continues, it's going to look real shitty. Yeah, of course.
Why? Why, why, because Godreau didn't sign mid-season and you lost them for nothing?
Does that mean that Hubert O and Uyghur were going to do it to you?
It doesn't mean anything.
I just, I understand the fear.
The fear of losing a guy is real.
When you see it happen, you get that close.
Like, would you be-
You don't marry a lady because you're scared of losing her.
Unless you just had your heartbroken rest.
It's a rebound.
How about that one?
Why do you marry a lady?
What is that?
Yeah, why you marry a lady?
What's that about all?
Why'd you marry the shoveler?
Love.
Yeah.
So, what it is.
So convincing.
Yeah.
You know, and we've had this conversation.
I've got to get some sponsor stuff in, and I want to show you some stuff.
But we have this conversation.
We halfway joke about it, how should it trade in Georgia?
I should have traded Johnny Goddrell.
But the point that Ryan makes, I think, is valid.
It becomes very hard after what, say what you will, and you're right.
They didn't need to sign.
Who knows what the other trade offers potentially were for Kachuk.
Maybe they were prospect-laden and you could have gone young there.
And who knows?
It sounded from what I'd heard.
The only mature player package that keeps you in a window of contention is the one they took
and they had a bunch of offers, not a bunch, but more of like picks and prospects.
And to Rett's point, that's even if the GM wants to do that, that's not how Murray's ever rolled.
So you could hold off and get into the season.
But you know as well as it's one thing.
to say trade them but if you are in a playoff spot think of last year how my
you traded johnny you could have traded johnny godrow how are you going to you didn't have to wait
till the playoff spot happened did you like so you're going back to training camp a year ago
yes here's your deadline johnny you either signed by i don't care if you want to be a
september first is our deadline i don't give a shit
about the trade deadline. It's September 1st. I'm not going into a season with Johnny.
Trade them then.
Well, I guess you could say, well, then why you have that deadline? That's what they did with
Huberto. But they didn't know what Huberto was. Well, and I don't think they knew what
Johnny was at the time as weird as that sounds. Like no one saw 115 point season coming.
And honestly, I think that this organization has looked at trading Monaghan and has looked at
trading Goddrault prior and has looked at other guys that hadn't quite,
you know, help them get over the hump in the playoffs.
But you look at their last two off seasons.
They were sell low times.
Like you weren't going to get a haul for Johnny Goddrow coming off the season
where you missed the playoffs and he spent 20 games playing with Brett Richie and
Sean Monaghan.
He didn't look elite anymore.
Well, guess what?
He had a broken guy and a fourth liner next to him.
Those were not good sell Johnny moments, even if they wanted to.
He controlled it.
He had the power.
He had the leverage.
the team didn't have a lot of cashier in the market coming off the season he'd had.
And he hadn't had a good playoffs yet.
And not to say last year was great, but better.
So I'll double back before.
Here's one thing.
Here's one thing.
I recall, let's call it four weeks ago.
We had nothing to talk about.
The season had it started, that was one reason.
Well, start of the year and we're doing this.
And it's like, it was silence there.
playing well. Yeah, two
Saturdays ago against Metson. Teams too
boring. Friday show. There's
nothing to talk about. They're too good. We got
lots to talk about now. So that's
good, right? We're happy about that. Great for
us. Probably less great
for the GM. So
did you put on Twitter yesterday, process
versus results? Yeah, we talked about it on the show and I
put the poll up before the game. Would you rather
have a game where you played really well, but you
get screwed and lose or that you played like shit,
but somehow you want it. And again, it's that whole
conversation of, are you more interested in game 12,
about the team playing well or just getting two points.
And what did it end up being?
It was get two points from the fan base, which I get.
I'm on the other side.
I think there was lots to build off of last night again.
So in that respect, because I know, so that's the big picture, I think,
and we'll talk a lot about it, depending on how this season goes.
But in terms of that results versus process,
because that's what Daryl's kind of said,
you didn't get the result last night.
Are you seeing anything in the way of process that leads you to believe that they're close
to coming out?
of this thing. I don't think they're playing terrible at all. They're not playing well enough to win.
And that's the problem with going on that. I've got the process in place. At some point,
it doesn't matter about the process. Like I've been in teams, on teams and in rooms where it's like,
shove the process wherever you like. Let's just have a win. Well, and I think you have to have
that mindset as a player. I do. Like, I don't think you can be like, hey, we out course you did the other
team. But if you're a GM and you have to make organizational decisions, you got to take a
bigger view, but players have to be focused on results.
I get that.
But even so, I still,
I, I,
the process just means that you're playing
the way you're supposed to. That's it.
Like, here's something I like from last.
The process was good.
If process was good and they still
aren't winning, well, how long
can we allow that? Like, what the
process in the island was,
it's fine. Yeah, they got lost.
Good goal in there. And, and again,
if you have a regular third pair, not,
two guys that shouldn't be in the league if you're healthy.
That's not the third pair's fault on that goal.
That's the coach's fault.
They shouldn't have been on the ice.
I get it.
But if he has Shillington and Zedorov as his third pair.
There's plenty.
Okay.
So here's the other thing.
That's fine.
We can,
we can,
there's a lot of excuses,
though.
There are plenty of teams that play for a defenseman and win.
I mean,
yeah,
we talked about it yesterday.
I'm in agreement.
I didn't like that pair on the ice at that time,
but.
Either way, it's...
Well, and the other thing is, too,
by the time you get to last night,
back-to-back games,
and again, it's excuses.
But Anderson played 27 minutes on the island.
Last night, 24-09.
Kind of the same numbers almost for McKenzie Weager.
Last night, 23.
Noah Hannifan over 20.
That's...
You tell me.
Back-to-back games,
if it starts to, you get to a third period last night,
what's that like for a D-liner,
for a blue liner who's played 45 minutes in 24-5?
hours, 26 hours span.
No, it's, it's, it's not easy, but they're not the first guys to ever do it.
I know.
Right?
Like, I don't know what it's like.
No one ever played me that much.
Some dumb coaches I had, but I just, I just don't think it's insurmountable, right?
Like, there's guys, there's, they're unique individuals that are playing over 30 minutes, but you manage it.
It's not ideal, but I don't think it's that far off.
Anderson plays 24 minutes quite often.
Haniffin plays close to 25, a bunch, I don't think.
I actually liked the new guys.
I think these two guys they had last night in Gilbert and D. Simone looked better than Mackie has.
If you're telling me, that's...
Mackie's been brutal.
If those are your ninth and tenth defenseman, like I know Daryl took a shot at the depth.
I like the depth.
I don't think many teams nine-tens can...
Like, they were adequate.
They showed physicality.
Move the puck decently.
Like, you get a fight.
And if you're at home, if you're at home, you can manage it differently.
Yeah, sure.
Hide them a bit.
on in different spots, so that's...
Then you flipped the script on last night.
You had two goals against that were disallowed.
One was off of a skate.
And one, you know, one was a good goal, but was on and off, you know, delayed offside.
So, okay, well, that one, five on five, you didn't score last night.
Two power play goals.
I'm not going to bitch about you, you're not scoring on the power play.
And then you score on the power play and say, well, you're not scoring five on five.
I just, I don't know, I feel like they are playing better.
But I don't think they're undeniable.
reliable right now.
That how did they not win this game?
They're not there by any means.
You know, I keep thinking.
If this is last year, that top line has three goals the last two nights and you win both these games.
Manjapani's got to put up.
Dubay's got to put up.
There's plenty of guys in that on those lines that need to start producing some goals.
What's Dubay going to end up being?
Well, this is his year.
Opportunity knocks.
Right?
Like, come on, Falis.
let's put some in the net.
Manjapani, he's not the same player
the start of this year as he wasn't
started last year. Not even close.
There's no way.
You know who has been good that we kind of worried about
was to Foley? Like, boy, he's around it
a lot more than you thought he'd be.
He is, yeah.
Been good. Like, that's a big goal last night.
Big fucking goal.
Princey's sleeping. He's missed two.
No, I told him to hold off because you guys were
going and I knew we were, I just,
when it's, when it's serious, then,
ha-ting, it kind of takes you out of it a little bit.
That's, of course, the South Street Burger Swear jar.
South Street Burger every Sunday in November.
South Street Burger New York fries.
Hosting a family skate at Optimus Park, 1245 p.m. Sunday afternoons.
You can go out for a skate, a free twirl over Optimist Arena,
giveaways and prizes.
They have partnered up with Kidsport, Calgary as well.
A bunch of money going and they're doing good stuff in our city.
That's all you need to know.
Seven South Street locations across Calgary.
South Streetburger.com for locations.
skip the dish as Uber eats, door dash, whichever you use.
Get it right brought right to your front door made to order with over 30 different free toppings to choose from.
It is South Street Burger.com.
Don't look now.
They've got two more division leaders to make it three in a row after the devils who leave the Metro,
Bruins who leave the Atlantic on the road, and come home and face the jets who look organized defensively.
And that's a new look for them.
We can talk with that tomorrow.
That's tomorrow's show.
Process is good, but the schedule's not good.
Yesterday, very busy day for us.
You had kid hockey.
We had the show.
We had a post-show meeting.
Had to watch a game.
And I think I had mentioned yesterday on the show about a kind of a neat initiative
that's going on over at Tower, at Tower Crieser, Tower Dodge,
between now and the 12th of November,
for every car deal that they do at Tower,
they're donating $100 to the Veterans Food Bank of California.
I agree and part of that.
They have a,
a wartime,
an old time,
old war jeep that's legit.
In the studio,
in the studio,
in the showroom.
And we swung by.
This thing is cool,
retro.
Legit.
Like,
authentic.
It's not a remake.
This isn't a,
hey,
let's make something
that looks like,
no,
no, this thing is.
The rubber,
yeah,
like the rubber on it
is from back in the day,
the weapons that are bolted to it.
It's crazy.
See the gun in front of that home
Almost guy. Wait, that's me.
That's me.
Yeah.
So swing by tower and check it out because it's there all this week.
And they're collecting food donations as well.
So you can see with the box out front.
And they were also, yeah, they were also helping up some other underprivileged people yesterday as well.
It was quite a day yesterday.
As we've got the rigs are ready.
Rat, I'm sorry.
I wish you were here.
The nation truck and the nation Jeep are on the road,
Tower Chrysler, as we are set to roll with our new rides.
And they are something else.
I'm telling you the pictures look deadly and they're sexier in person,
if that is possible.
Look at you with the deadly.
Look at that, retro.
Hey?
They are deckled up.
Serge, when we started talking about this a little over a month ago,
it was, well, maybe we can get a vehicle.
Well, no, geez, two vehicles.
That's crazy.
That's over the top.
Well, you know what I'm going to do?
We're going to, you know what?
We're going to make these things sing.
We're going to lift kits.
We're going to put some wheels and tires on them.
Get the rims on there.
Oh, and you know what?
We're going to do the interiors upright.
We're going to get all this done.
Unbelievable the work that they put in over a tower.
Showed the kids?
It's like, dad, this truck is sick.
These wheels are enormous.
Somebody, somebody was asked.
When we were at the dealership yesterday.
So does Pinder?
Is he a big truck guy?
Does he know about trucks?
I'm like,
Abbs.
You know,
remember the movie,
I'm going to date myself?
Remember the movie Crocodile Dundee?
When the guy the Aussie was in New York City and didn't know where the hell he was,
that's Pinder behind the wheel of a pickup, like totally out of place.
My one,
my Evanton buddies in fantasy out here, like, we got to get some truck nuts.
We're taking you to Boston pizza for a brute.
Like, you're Edmontonian now, buddy.
Cheap for the oil?
No, no.
Pick up truck.
They're giving them too much credit.
So, I mean, you can get used to that, though, can't you?
Hell yeah.
And I think where Surge, like it all made, it all clicked,
we showed him some of the pictures of the nation truck in Edmonton,
which they did a great job at their partner up there way up north.
But he's like, okay, well, that's Edmonton, we're Calgary.
We've got to one up them.
So he's talking about new interiors, the diamond red stitch and the leather upholstery.
Like, everything is just so over the top.
He's like, okay, they have one, we're getting two.
That looks good.
Ours is going to look better.
Suck at Edmonton.
Yeah, that's kind of how that ends up going.
So,
can't say enough.
Great partners.
And we have more partnerships
that are going to be rolled out here
in the coming weeks and months.
We've got stuff coming
with the holiday season around the corner.
I put it on Twitter yesterday.
What's the day today?
The ninth?
We're not a month into this thing.
We started on the 11th.
That's right.
The 11th show didn't happen.
Remember?
That's up for me.
We started on the 12th, so we really are not a month into this.
Did we burn the tape for that or is it still there?
Briggin internet.
But we're in a studio with couches and big screens and sponsors and vehicles and the partnerships
are unbelievable.
So if you want to be around good people, if supporting good people, and that's what we
would encourage you, if you like the show, if you like what it is that we do,
it's like all these things, this is very,
grassroots stuff, need you to support our sponsors. They're supporting us. We get to do this show
that hopefully you guys enjoy. Go to Tower, good people, can't say enough about them, support the
good people that support this show. Check out the Jeep, drop off some non-perishable food items.
That's right. Veterans Food Bank, let's go. And they're putting you, putting clothes on you being
that you're homeless and haggard. You've got the old Tower jacket today. It's very appropriate.
It was a hit over at the Flames Community Arena. Yeah. The U-9s.
digging the lift.
Oh, yeah.
That's dad's truck.
This is our new, Walt, hurry.
So I'll let,
and you know what we're gonna,
we will take a break here in a minute
because we're gonna,
we ought to just do a quick pivot.
But before we do that, though,
do you want to share
the, uh,
the inner workings of the boomer brain
from the last month?
Yeah.
So literally we've been working on the vehicles
probably for about a month.
The Wolverine spearheaded this.
He's done a wonderful job with Serge and Niki Tower.
And I was just like, look.
There's a truck.
There's a truck.
There's a Jeep.
There's a truck and Jeep.
You pick, let me know.
And so it started out where he's like, hey,
well, that Jeep looks weird.
Oh, you want the Jeep?
He's like, yeah, well, you know, I think the Jeep.
Month later, he's like, you know,
I've always been a truck guy, you know,
from Manitoba, like I just a lifted.
I've just never had it.
And I've had trucks.
been ever like the big sexy and
I'm like, okay, well, I'll tell Jody
that we're going to have a Jeep, like I'm very happy
with either. And then sure enough,
like a week he was like, you're going to look real
good in that truck. I'm like, what are you doing
to me? So I was calling him the waffle king for the
last week. We couldn't call him it on air because
we wanted to make it a big surprise, but
even walking out of there with the truck keys in my hand,
I'm waiting for him to say,
nah, I'm going to take the truck.
Until I literally left the parking lot,
With my hand on the wheel, I was not sure that I was going to keep the truck because you'd flop back and forth so much.
You know what I did to tie it all in?
I didn't do the Trillivin and sign Hubert O.
I had to wait right until I see it.
Until I know what's going on.
I can't make the decision.
Feels like a shot.
Went with the Jeep.
You know, it's a little flimsy kind of thing.
And Ozzy Sheila, who happy birthday, by the way, sweetheart.
She hates it one of color, sweetheart.
Is it your, is it, um, birthday?
She's been lobbying hard for the church.
because truck means more errands done by McDad.
Is that right?
He wasn't telling me, you decide, boom, you decide, you decide.
That's very nice of you, that sort of thing.
But then it started to, I wouldn't have guessed that Mama would have been wanting the truck.
Well, and it's weird because, you know, Australia mate, like she's very fancy, but
Australia mate, like they got Utes.
They, like they love their manly, mussely, because this thing is, working vehicles.
This thing is big.
When I saw it the first time, they put the lift kit.
Now I'm not tall by any means.
But when I'm standing,
like the window is here.
So I'm just looking over the door and into the window.
This, dude, this thing is jacked up, big rims.
All the way up.
And Pinder inside of this thing is really quite something.
So I was not sure.
But at the end of the day, I'm very, very happy.
And we're lucky, we're spoiled.
It was one of those pinch me days.
It's like all we do is BS and talk about sports.
It feels like a dream some days yesterday.
dumb day.
So what are you getting?
Yeah, what are they shipped down to you?
I don't know.
I'm still waiting for it, I guess.
Oh, it's probably the customs, eh?
Friggin' borders across the line.
Blame Biden, right?
That's what you do.
Is that what you guys do there?
Depends what state you're in.
Yeah, Trump or Biden.
Okay.
Quick pivot, two minutes.
Don't go anywhere.
We're coming back.
We have got tickets.
The next home game is sooner than you think for the flames.
We've got tickets to give away.
We got our bets.
And of course, the Pinder report's all coming.
Two minutes. Stay there.
Wednesday show rolls on.
Boomer Pinder and Warner here.
It is Barn Burner on Flames Nation, Flames Nation.ca.
The Flames have lost six straight, getting ready for the Boston Bruins tomorrow.
Who I got at 15 to 1 during the president's trophy like 10 days ago.
Wow.
What do they have one regulation loss?
Like L's all off the ice.
On the ice wins.
Oh yeah, yeah, fair enough.
Yeah, yeah, they are two different things.
Flames will play Boston.
They then return home.
That's a tight turn.
And we, again, we'll talk about that tomorrow.
You play Boston.
Game ends.
Fly back.
Get home Friday morning.
Three, four a.m.
Something that.
Winnipeg in town Saturday.
And Webbeys rolling.
We'll take a peak of the standings in a moment.
So that is your next opportunity to win
tickets with our good buddies up at Madrose Pub, November 12th, Winnipeg Jets.
We are doing this one by way of the Sosh, the social media.
Soch.
Yes, what do they call it?
Yeah.
Okay.
What do you call it?
Mad Rose Pub and Royal Oak, 20 beers on tap, kid friendly on Saturday, Sundays, and Mondays.
They have maybe the most impressive bar food menu that you're going to see.
It is, it's, you're going in there.
It's fine dining.
If you're in the Northwest, you gotta be there.
You gotta go.
Pyes are legit.
And someone followed our move, wings followed by the pizza.
15 Royal Vista place.
I heard that.
What?
No, it's no, no, no, no, no, no.
Go ahead, go ahead.
So, Princey, we, again, you're the, you're the guy.
We were tagging and we're liking and subscribing and tight tagging and adding.
And what are we doing?
Yeah, Prince, you just take over here.
He's having an aneurism.
You guys got to go to Mad Rose's Instagram or Twitter.
We're going to make it clear.
It's both of them.
Either or Twitter or Instagram.
Mad Rose, that's Royal Oak.
I know you used to have a Marta Loop location, but it's Royal Oak.
Tag two of your friends.
Make sure you're following Mad Rose.
You've got to be following Mad Rose.
And it is complete random.
I know we got lots of guys saying I'm playing favoritism.
It is complete random here.
It's just complete fluke that it's two girls in a row.
That he spent for the tickets.
Yeah, I guess.
I guess that is a.
complete fluke. So do it up.
Follow Mad Rose. Tag two people in the two people in the comments.
This post is going to be up on social. If you're hearing it right now,
you could be going to the Jets game.
Announce the winner on the show tomorrow.
You got to. Then we'll get you those. And it's a $50 and a $50 gift certificate.
Oh, that's right. To go up and have some of that wheel and wafers and putteen and stuff.
Awesome.
Let's do it. Before we get into the Pinder report, let's do the Betway bets of the day.
We've been on a, not to ring our own bets.
here, it's been a bit of a roll.
Pretty good run here.
Football was no good on the weekend, but we've done all right at hockey.
And hockey, I find it be kind of tricky.
Can be back-to-back winning days.
You were four for your last four?
Yeah, two-for-two yesterday, two-for-two the day before.
I chipped in last night.
One got washed out because you were to play.
The other one's a winner.
So we were three-for-three last night, if you're playing with.
You're welcome.
Yeah, you're welcome, by the way.
So the Betway bets of the day, you want to get hit?
Yeah, sure.
Okay. Well, I'm focusing in on two teams that have struggled defensively and like, where can we jump on some teams that suck?
Anaheim is the easiest team to score on in the NHL. They're averaging almost four and a half goals against per game.
Minnesota heads in there. It's been a bit of a tough goal for Minnesota, but there's still a good team we believe.
I'm going to take a Minnesota regulation win against the Dormat Ducks of the Pacific and over five and a half, which again,
Anaheim on their own are allowing four and a half a game nearly.
So I like the over.
Those two put together.
It pays plus 190.
So I'm rolling with the wild without caprice off at the pond.
Secondly, I like, have you seen the season Bo Horvats having guys?
Like completely on fire to start the year.
And oh, by the way, UFA this summer.
It's weird how that works.
I've seen that before.
Horvatt to get at least a point.
And over six and a half.
Habs, not great defensively, kind of middle of the pack.
Canox brutal defensively.
Like worst three in the league and goals against per game.
Over six and a half and a Horvap point.
That pays a pretty penny as well.
We got it right there.
165.
I thought it was 125, but maybe it's type of.
Either way, it's plus money.
Let's dance on that.
All right, there you go.
I am, I'm not, I've been staying away from the parlays and it's done me.
It's done me okay.
I hit a couple of long ones,
but I've missed on a few as well.
So my Betway bets of the day.
Going to start with the Florida Panthers.
In their last seven,
the Panthers,
three and four.
One of those wins came in a shootout,
so they're sneaking by.
It's their first game back after a four-game California road trip.
Radiation.
They've been off for a few days.
Bat cats.
Honey-do list.
Meanwhile, Carolina.
Constipation.
Yeah.
Carolina has won three straight on the road,
five one and one overall in their last.
seven. I'm taking the canes money line minus 1.12.
I will watch for Freddie Anderson status as well. He left yesterday's game, so it might be
Uncle Ante. All right. The other one, it's the Capitals and the Penguins. Penguins are at home
and are favored. Capitals are a road dog here. Penguins are 06 and 1 in their last seven.
And the caps. They are in the... Just beat the oil. Yeah. Pittsburgh 1, 5 and 1 on the year on the road.
six and one and seven as they get caps four two and one at home.
Ovi's on a six game point streak.
I'm going to just give me the money line.
Give me the capitals to win plus 110 against Pittsburgh.
And the caps are at home.
I don't get it.
There's there.
Just take the money.
You don't have to get it.
You just have to cash it.
Just take it.
It's all you need to do.
I don't say thanks.
You can do that if you so choose.
Just get careful here because we're not always going to be.
Yeah, I can't think.
I cocky.
Yeah, perhaps.
There you go.
Those are the Betway bets.
of the day. Lots of other things going on. You mentioned the oiler's scary moment in that game last night.
I know you'll get to that and more as we get into the Pinder report and it's brought to you by Village
Honda. Find out, go out, you know, go and see Anthony and find out why and how your dealership for life.
Tell me more. What are we talking about? Well, Anthony's going to sit you down and he's done talking
about soccer and. Do you get a tattoo, Village Honda? Or is that sort of thing? Yeah, I'm not sure what he's doing.
But they are your dealership for life in the Northwest.
Auto Mall, Village Honda, for everything automotive.
And you can find out why all Calgarians are making the trip to Village Honda.
All right.
Let us start with Flames and Devils' second half of a road back to back.
Finally on the road, really good first period against the Islanders.
They somehow lose that one in overtime.
And a similar story last night, let's get to some of the highlights early on
where the flames came out with a physical tone.
Nazim Kadri.
Did you see the hit?
He lays out here.
It's like, okay.
Are the boys ready to go?
well, have a look here.
Gabango.
And I love that it's...
Left his feet.
On Twitter, you can't really see it well enough.
But the reactions on the faces of the fans there in the second row,
it's just absolutely gorgeous.
Like, oh, no.
We just witnessed a murder.
Predatory hit.
So, Cadre engaged early.
He wasn't the only one.
How about first NHL game as a Calgary Flame for Dennis Gilbert?
Decides to...
Danny G.
had the mittens and did pretty darn well feeding him some wee left jabs before he finishes
him off with a couple of rights dino oh he's shooting the old dukes there with the nathan
back the battleship right here bonk yeah bashton wanted no part of that scrap i think that's not a
small guy here what hell you're doing we're fighting i guess got some short lefts in there from
danny and ret you can speak to this it's his first game with the team i loved he came up and just said
look you're not got a lot of time to think about this we're going to go here does
well, like if you want to stay in Daryl's lineup, I feel like that's probably the best thing
you can do in period number one. Am I crazy?
That is brilliant by Gibby.
Absolutely what you do.
Your boy, Givie.
Your boy, give me.
You love that guy.
And they had the all buffalo pairing.
Him and D. Simone were together.
The old Junior Sabres teammates.
So, very excited.
I'm sure it's the buzz of town.
Junior Sabers. That's what they said on the broadcast.
I think Kelly Rudy's going to lie to us?
Hell no.
Better not be lying to us, too.
Junior savers hockey this weekend, if you guys are interested.
Yeah, we're catching the next flight.
New Haven, Connecticut, or what?
Flames would fall in the third.
A big to folly goal ties it.
Another third period loss that stings.
You want silver linings?
How about they've led every single game this year,
except the Buffalo game that they never let in?
So there's certainly room to close things out a little better.
They haven't been blown out.
And you want the less silver lining?
No Euberto last night.
It was top line and PowerPlay 1, Adam Rajizska, which feels like a bit of overslotting,
but I understand you don't want to disrupt all the lines.
And why is Hubey out?
Well, there was a tweet from a member of the Jersey media that constipation.
It had nothing to do with his inner workings, the elementary canal, walking boot, post-game spotted.
And there's the quote from Daryl Sutter, per West Gilbertson, wasn't able to get his foot in a skate.
It feels like if your foot can't get in the skate
It's probably not ideal
They did list them as upper body
So it's good to see we're already in like
Midseason form and you know
Misdirection on injuries
Do it a handstand
Yeah oh that's that what he couldn't get one of those
inverted chairs what do you call those things?
Yeah yeah the table
You bring that one out to Buffalo
Or is that still in Calgary your inversion table
Oh you know the father-in-law's got them all over
He fixed it one in every room
Fixed
Yes
Yeah it's fixed in everything
Like a family of possums or bats
Just hanging upside down
everywhere. I love it. The Warner House.
Can you mention
that Markstrom sucked on that last
goal? What did you see on the last one? I didn't like it,
but yeah, I didn't like it. I'm not going
to disclaim it. Yeah. You needed
a save there. Yeah.
And he was really good in a lot of the spots, but you
need the save there. Yeah.
He was really good in both of these
games, but that's a tough one at a
tough spot. And
Austin 10. I said Kelly Rudy wouldn't lie to us, but
he does still carry the goalie union
card. And what
Kelly. He must have rolled his wrist. What
misdirection? Like, well, just get the save.
That's right. Yeah, they rolled
the wrist. Yeah. It's a wrist
shot. He's going to have to roll them a bit. Well, you know
what? I must have rolled the wrist because that's what
my shots looked like, flat on the ice.
Yeah, the only difference is everyone in the building
thought that was going up. We all knew yours would stay
on the ice. Okay. Elsewhere
in the NHL, I kid, Dean. I'm sure you're very
competent. Shooter of the pun. Really great. At least
at one point. Scary scene
in Tampa. Edmonton Oilers also out east
facing the lightning.
You never want to see this, ever.
It's scary and it reminds us, like,
how does this not happen more?
Kane gets dumped to the ice,
and here comes the big rig, former oiler himself.
Patty Maroon just zips by
and somehow his blade clips Kane above the glove
and he's out of there.
Like racing to the bench.
Knows this is big trouble.
Yeah.
On the scene.
in Tampa reporters were quoted.
He was yelling, help, help, help as he went down the tunnel.
And Kane did post, yeah, we don't need to see that again.
Kane posted a message to fans.
Yeah, there's a, it's blood instant.
I'll read it quickly.
Thank you to all the kind wishes and prayers over the past several hours.
Obviously, last night it was an extremely scary moment for me,
and I'm still in a little bit of shock.
I'd like to thank the entire training staff of the Oilers and Lightning,
along with the doctors and paramedics,
who rushed to help and treat and repair my injury.
Without all of you, I knew things would have been much worse, and I'm sincerely grateful.
I won't be back next game, but I will be back, and I look forward to being back on the ice,
playing the game I love alongside my teammates in front of our great fans.
Scary moment.
I remember covering Junior.
Remember Josh Holden with the Pats retro?
Maybe a little before first rounder, I think of Vancouver, played in Regina.
And I remember he got his arms sliced.
And it was, that's some scary stuff, man.
Yeah.
Because there, NHL, you've got world class, more or less care.
Oh, yeah.
Lots of it.
Mid-90s, junior.
And went in, or wherever, wherever the hell it was, it's a little different story.
Who's a doctor?
Gosh.
Is the, is the, you want to hear?
I don't know.
Can you see this?
I can see your armpit.
Your wrist.
Okay.
No.
You're going to cross there.
It's a little X.
Yeah.
You're showing us your wrist, the inside of your.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's a mustard.
I went to the, I did that and I went to the bench and my dad told me to get the hell back on the ice.
D.U.G.
Hard.
Yeah.
And then he doesn't drive.
Is that what he said?
He doesn't take you in fantasy hockey.
Yes.
Is that what he said.
Right.
This early childhood trauma is really learning a lot about your past.
So you're just formed you.
You're gushing blood.
It's just spurting out of your arm.
Archibald Arena.
Get back out.
there.
Tape and Advil, let's go.
I feel like these Warner stories,
they kind of take some twists and turns over time.
Yeah, I think, you know, you tell a story so many times,
you change the wording once and then again,
and the next thing, you know, it's like that scar was from his wrist to his shoulder,
suck it up, nearly a dampetate.
Yeah.
That's going to be a good one by the time he's 70.
I'll tell you that.
Yeah.
Speaking of no-nows and scars,
Drew Dowdy got one on the chin,
a two-hander from Karel Caprizov last night,
and then got the pleasure of waving goodbye to Caprice off
as he was given a game misconduct.
Little high, Karel, caught him on the chin.
See you later.
No, Doughty was...
He was laying in the lumber on a match.
You know what he was doing?
He was taking liberties, is what Doughty was doing.
Now, the context is important.
We don't have that clip,
but to watch the whole shift is to see how it got to that point,
and it doesn't justify it,
but you can see how hot Capri Soff was getting.
Yeah.
No good.
Speaking of injuries, it looks like Doughty,
dodged one there.
The Colorado Avalanche, less fortunate,
as yesterday they had all kinds of not good things to announce
about the roster that already had some significant deletions
over the offseason due to cap reasons.
Valerie Natchewishan's been sensational for them,
not just in the postseason last year,
but to start this year,
he gone for about a month.
ankle. Also, they noted Sam Gerard on the back end, but Bowen Byron as well.
So two of their top six defensemen and arguably their second best winger.
Landiscags already out.
I don't feel too bad.
So if you want excuses in Colorado, there's a bunch, right?
You know, really needs some excuses badly.
St. Louis, they just lost their eighth game in a row.
Eight.
They lost a Philly.
read the stat from ESPN.
It's the longest losing streak ever after starting 3 and 0.
No one's ever gone 3 and 0 and then lost 8 straight.
Is that right?
Not even Mike Yeo did that.
See?
Did Philly not wear the cooperoles last night?
Only in warmups.
I guess there's safety reasons.
Oh, come on.
Philly wore the long, full-length cuparoles.
If you don't know what cooperoles are,
you're under 40 if you don't.
They're pants.
They're full-length pants.
They look like your ski pants.
Reto's you're a mountaineer.
When you go skiing in the mountains and you wear your ski pants.
With a stripe too, though, right?
And then a nice orange stripe down the side and the little flyer logo at the bottom, just like the old.
We'll see if Alex can dig one up for the end of the show.
We'll move on, but we'll come back to the Cooperals because I should have been in there.
My fault is your fault.
Let's play a little game called Who's the Fraud?
We're going to go division by division.
We're a dozen to 15 games in around the league.
Who is a complete imposter and who's not?
So Alex is going to throw up a division and we'll have a chat about who we believe.
in who we don't. I think we're all believing in the devils after what we've seen. We'll start in the
Metro. Devils leading the division and Philly sitting forth at a tidy points percentage.
Do we believe in either of these teams? Are they frauds? Are they both frauds? Rhett, you start.
Oh, my, I'm just looking at the depth of that division going, how? How do you make it?
The Penguins are seventh. Yeah, that's a tough division.
My goodness. I don't think Phillies is as good as,
probably.
What is the devil's showing you?
Well, again, we've seen them twice,
so maybe I'm a little biased,
but they look fast and skilled.
They really do.
I don't know that it's a lookout
for the Minnesota game series,
but they're going to score a shit ton
in the regular season team.
You can start the thing, yeah.
And it's not just Hughes and Heeshire
first overall.
No.
Miles Woods, a player,
bastion.
I like their depth.
Some skill on that roster.
Ryan Graves a big goal,
Dougie Hamilton on the back.
they're going to get Pilat back at some point.
Sharon Ganov couldn't buy one for,
that was a legal goal, but he's a player.
Like, there's lots of talent there.
And it wasn't just the speed.
I was going to say it earlier when we talked about the flames.
There was speed,
but they didn't,
they couldn't,
they were doing a lot with it.
The flames were having a hard time handling the speed.
It wasn't just all they were whipping around,
doing some Matthew Lombardi and then dumping it into the corner.
Like,
they were getting stuff accomplished with the speed.
I left the Zamboni gate open.
Lombardi's in the parking lot again.
Look how they knew what they were doing.
So fast.
Yeah, fair.
I like them.
Okay, next division.
Let's take a peek.
What do we got?
So we believe in Jersey.
I think we all think Philly's kind of frauds.
Detroit?
Second in the Atlantic?
Fraud?
Or legit?
Not fraud, but not second.
Yeah.
So I think they're dancing on wild.
I think everyone talked about Ottawa is better.
Buffalo's better.
Montreal's better.
Detroit quietly, I think is a lot better.
I think they slide under that Toronto's.
Tampa, Florida line there.
Yeah, which probably leaves them on the outside looking in, but close.
Good for Stevie Y though.
He doesn't love Stevie Y right, Brett?
Look at that division.
Like, Ottawa should get their shirt together at some point here.
Montreal collecting a lot of assets.
Like, you tell me he was going to be bad there in a year.
O'Hourner's texting.
You can't look.
Yeah, he's done.
Next division.
Or he's frozen.
On the YouTube, sure you are.
Next division.
Okay, Central Division.
Winnipeg Jets boys missed the playoffs last year.
year change coaches.
A lot of talk about the defensive side of the puck over the off season, leading the
Central Division 7.08 points percentage.
Are you buying the Jets as a team that could win the division?
I am buying the Jets as a team that can win the division because I think they've,
two years ago, they were quite good, wasn't it?
I think last four or five.
West final?
Yeah.
I think.
And then last year.
year. I remember thinking when they picked up,
oh, my, I'm having a brain cramp the
centerman from Columbus.
Yeah, like,
when you look at their top, no,
six. Yeah, their top six
forwards, top nine, fours,
you were like, that is some pretty nice
depth. I don't like
the other teams around them, which I think helps
them. Obviously, Arizona's. I agree.
Colorado, we just talked with the injury issues.
Chicago is no good.
Minnesota's better, but Nashville, St. Louis,
I think that Winnipeg will benefit because of
the teams around them.
Who's the famous mogul skier from Quebec that won all the medals and like the
Jean-Luc Picard?
Close.
It's like that.
Damn it.
Anyway,
for the joke to land,
you need to have the name.
Is it a Jean-Luc?
It was, right?
I think it was a John Luke.
Yeah.
Next division,
let's go to the Pacific.
What do we think in here, boys?
Seattle is in second.
Seattle?
Again, I like them.
I don't dislike them.
What are you talking about these of the fraud?
I agree.
They're not.
Yeah, and I think they're worse than Detroit.
What I also see is, boy, if you look at the goaltending and issues in Edmonton,
listen to Rhett, talk about the flames for the last week, drama in Vancouver,
San Jose and Anaheim suck.
I mean, this just reeks of bad division again, doesn't it?
Edmonton will be fine.
They will go out.
Calgary will be fine.
I like L.A.
I like a lot of what they've done.
And Calgary is going to be better.
They're not a playoff team.
Bottom three are probably what you see is what you get there. Seattle will make their way down.
Yeah, and we'll see with Vancouver. I could see that going a whole, like, either way.
There's a lot of behind-the-seed stuff. I don't know either. Jimbo's gone. It hurts my heart.
I know it does. Trevor. Trevor. Okay, what else have we got? Let's go to some non-hockey really quickly.
We're going to get a little more Tiger on TV, which is always good for us. He's committed to play an upcoming event.
in December. That plus the match we talked about
at the Pelican golf course.
World Hero Challenge is in. So there you are.
Good to have that. And finally,
Rhett, don't know how it's going to affect your shoulders,
but there's a brand new sport out there.
We talked about cricket. Well, maybe not a league,
but this is something I'd never seen before, and I thought of you
because of your cookie and, you know,
played hockey.
Weird and, uh,
let's have a little peek at some unicycle hockey.
Athletic. Jean-Luc Picard.
because you hold a stick, you have no handlebars.
You'd be all right.
You do okay?
How are your shoulders?
Can you ride a unicycle?
It's weird.
I was thinking about polo the other day and what a tough sport it is.
Well, that's expensive.
That's the toughest part.
Horse or water?
You need like eight horses.
Horse.
Have you got a lot of horses?
Horse.
Yeah?
Of course.
I got a lot of horses' asses.
Yeah.
Bunch of horse.
Remines me.
No unicycle in York Jr.
So I don't want to give stuff.
Oh, there.
Look, look there.
Look this, right.
Look at this.
I can see you doing this.
This is the stupidest damn thing I've ever seen.
I love it.
Now that's there.
They're highly talented.
I don't tell you that.
It just makes me happy.
It looks like tiptoeing birds.
Like,
ooh.
Now, when you go.
What do they sound like?
Right.
Okay.
When they inevitably go down.
Oh, you've got the stick in your head.
Oh.
What?
He just walked off and like that?
I would expect it to be.
I thought I was going to be a huge digger.
Does that not just reek of like crazy?
Yeah, I don't know how you get there.
Music.
Yeah.
Benny Hill?
Those people have too much money, is my guess.
Too much money.
Or not enough.
All they had was a unicycle and some gym space.
Can't afford two wheels?
That's your Pinned Report.
All right, there you go.
It's the Pinder Report.
Come and see why Calgarians are making the trip to Village Honda.
Village Honda is your dealership for life in the Northwest Auto Mall.
Get wound up up there. World Cup, 11 days away. And look at this. Wow.
Connectney looks the best with that greasy mustache. Yes.
Did you say it was a safety issue? I had heard that. I believe something to do with the pant. It was not as safe as the sock pant combo that, the traditional setup.
I don't know whether that was back in the 70s or that's now. I would just think it's because your balls would be too sweaty.
They'd be hot balls for sure. So hot in those things. And for your, God.
mobility, but they do.
And again, I don't know, do they look good?
I don't know if they look good.
Oh, no, it's so bad, it's good.
It's like, you laugh.
It's so bad, it's funny.
Like that someone in a professional league thought that's what they should wear is hysterical.
Like what kind of drugs weren't illegal yet in the 70s?
Someone on LSD that worked with the Flyers, look at this shit.
Steach.
Eye is kites.
Good stuff.
Well, a couple things to, just to take care of.
before we head out.
Next week, we're going up.
We're going up.
All the way up.
All the way up.
And it's not about us this time.
Because we're not on the show, no show on Friday.
Remembrance Day.
All right.
So tomorrow we have our ticket giveaway.
Then next week, I got the tap.
Tap.
The boys at Tower want to go up and see Greg at Bontan.
What?
Here's the thing.
Surge, and there's some, they're now really dialed in on the show.
Yes.
And they're hearing about these things.
They're hearing about potato salad.
And they're hearing about Rett's $5,000 meat order.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Serge was saying, yes.
So tell me about Bontah, 1921.
I'm like, it's an institution.
Yeah, there was an original location.
And then they moved to this new one.
You said near McMahon, and I would just upcroach all a bit.
But they set it up kind of, when you walk in the front doors,
if you knew the original location, it looks the same.
They're wearing the bow ties.
It's the paper with the string.
you're getting, it's the classic meat shop.
And he's like, I love this.
We got to go.
So I said, we're going to get my wheels.
I'm going to see if I can find a vehicle somewhere.
Go down, pick up Chris and Serge and whoever else.
And we're going to head up and go see.
You want to come?
I've got three, four empty seats in my vehicle as well.
Let's take a whole entourage up there on Monday.
We're going.
Rhett, you coming?
It's a Calgary tradition since like 21.
I'd love to be there.
I'm starving.
I know.
This eats up red.
He can do a lot of things in Buffalo,
but he can't leave the country,
and Bon Ton's not there.
This is eating them up.
Bonton Meetmarket.com,
28 crowfoot circle northwest.
I have my wife's some family coming out for Christmas.
I'm already in that.
Well, get on it.
I need the, yeah, but you know what?
If it gives me an excuse to make some roasts and that,
I need the boomer box.
Boomer box.
get up there, put the boomer box together, get some, what, 40 chicken breasts and whatever
the hell else?
Well, that's the Warner Flatbed more than the boomer box, that order.
Make sure you get a turkey because it's Christmas.
I know, it's, yeah.
Oh, thanks.
Yeah.
Turkey at Christmas?
Before we go, I wanted to show one more thing.
The, um, kind of a nice story.
Everyone's talking about the new arena and the saddle domes a dump and whatever else.
Like, you know what?
As far in the world.
I keep saying, could we, could we just have.
have a little bit of positivity, please.
Yeah.
That's what I hope for.
That's what I long for is just people to be a little bit more upbeat.
And the Avenue, Avenue magazine, local magazine, they did a story.
And it was forwarded to me.
The story of a couple of Flames fans, season ticket holders for over 40 years, they've seen all of them.
Iggy, Goodro, McKinness, Gilmore, you name it.
They've been there.
So day oners at the dome.
They have called section 120 at the dome their second home and for eight years prior.
It was row two behind the penalty box at the Stampede Corral.
Day winners.
Day winners.
And there's a great shot of them.
They're having some, they're having nachos.
They're having some beers.
They're enjoying flames hockey.
Their whole thing was, you know, if the rink happens or it doesn't happen, we're fine.
We're at the corral.
We're in the dome.
All we want is.
Just the team.
Cheer the team.
We just want some good hockey.
It's all we want.
And there was a photo.
So there's two photos.
The one,
they're kind of facing the camera.
They're giving you some cheers.
Yeah.
And then the other one,
you're kind of getting the perspective
from their seat.
And then on,
you can't really make out the one,
the one jurors.
So there they are.
Oh, look at those two guys.
These guys have life figured out.
Right?
Why would I be at home?
How happy are those guys?
And look at those nachos,
right?
Look at that tray on the right side.
They're not.
messing around. That's a load up.
And then for the vantage point, you look at the other photo.
Oh, dear. So they've been season ticket holders for 40 years.
And the gentleman on the right, what's he got, Rhett?
Who's his favorite?
Forty-fours.
Don't believe it's Chris Butler. There was an alternate.
He's wearing the fours.
Wow. How about that? You like that?
Those are your boys, Red. Right there.
Nachos, beer, and fours.
Yeah.
44 with the A on the chest.
I think it's got the 04 cup crest on the other side.
Now this was sent to me from someone who kind of a mutual acquaintance retro.
And the message says, 40 year season ticket holder and he chooses 44,
you can't make this shit up.
Next time you talk to Deke, just say hi.
Next time he, if he sends you a text or whatever, just say hi to him.
Look at this beauty.
Look at that.
Tomorrow on the show, we are going to have Ask Rhett.
It's our final show of the week, as we mentioned.
Ask Rhett.
You can send him in.
Askrette at Flames Nation.com.
I'm not going to Rock.
I'm joking.
Oh, my God.
Nice knowing you're at.
He's going to Rochester, he says.
He's gone.
He's one of a kind.
Holy, that would hit me hard.
Did it?
You couldn't wait one more minute to eat your bacon.
Couldn't tell.
Go ahead.
I'm going to Rochester.
Well, I go to Rochester on Friday.
Tomorrow's Thursday.
Jesus Christ.
We're good.
Hopestreet.ca.
Property manager of the year in Calgary or in Canada for...
I was doing so good today, too.
I think you still get gold, but man, you tripped over the finish line.
Sing the website.
Tell us Oilers suck and then beat it.
Ophtreet.ca.
Oilers Nation coming up next on YouTube.
See you, buddies.
