Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - FlamesNation Barn Burner: Flames Blow a 2 Goal Lead in Ottawa
Episode Date: February 14, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener Tuesday February 14th 2023 - Flames Senators Recap- After Burner Recap- What's wro...ng with Markstrom? - The Pinder Report for Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I feel like now people will be either watching or downloading or getting ready for this thing,
just to see the Rettster go volcanic, just to see to what levels he's agitated or irritated with what's happening with the flames.
Well, and I think last Thursday they lost in Detroit and we had the afterburner with Rett and he ran into some tech issues and he really couldn't go full score.
That's right.
Yeah, yeah.
and Friday, sensational.
How did last night go with After Burner?
It was, you know what?
We went live last night and a lot of comments came rolling in.
And there's not a lot of people.
I don't know that there's anybody or many people who are disagreeing with the Redster.
Not to do the same show.
There we are.
You know, there's the rest.
The rest. Look at me, I'm kind of like, oh, are you? I'm very kind of...
Hey, just so you know, that's a pajama shirt.
Is it?
I thought that was your Saskatoon Blazers shirt or whatever.
Oh, the Raiders. No, no, no, no, no.
What do you got there? Some Confederate flag hat? What are you wearing?
Oh, boy. I don't do that.
Oh, that's a salty crew hat. I told you about the salty crew guy.
The salty crew was this guy. He was a bit of a D-Gen.
and then he came up with his brand,
the salty crew down in Florida.
Great name.
Like we're down there fishing and all that.
Cool stuff.
And then I'm probably getting trouble for saying this,
but then he offed his girlfriend
and tried to act like he was just drunk and stuff.
And yeah, I think he's in the slammer.
He's doing some hard time and you're repping him.
That's, you've got to prop up your murderers.
Yeah.
The rumor was that he shot his,
his girlfriend and then it was like I didn't know it was low I didn't mean to but he disappeared for like three days
afterwards they're like well where'd you go by you sure this isn't like Oscar Pistorius somebody was
breaking into the bathroom we were playing cups and robbers yeah yeah I've got a salty crew hat
the big big straw summertime drunk hat yeah yeah um get some money and some murderous hands
behind bars. I know, yeah. No, no, no, no, sorry, sorry. He sold the company. Oh, okay.
That's all right. Company in head now. So he's not running. Alex, as I say, this feels like this
should be a pre-show story, probably not main show. Anyway, you, uh, you saw the shot there of
afterburner from last night and I'll let you, let you dive right in. For those that didn't
catch it last night and are wondering, what is the Rettster thinking after a four-three loss on the road
to wrap up the road trip. Again, they had a lead.
of three to one with two 14 remaining two goals in 46 seconds and then the winner in historic
fashion we'll explain it when the the senators find a way to win it in overtime retro
am i supposed to freak out now well playing with no i'm waiting for you to you can just freak out
we'll play it a little bit later it's playing out oh sorry i thought you said you're no it's fine
no the i'm not freaking out
Because this is the team that they have.
And Markstrom is, I think he's proven that he's can't handle stress in life right now.
Can't play when there's pressure on.
Ladar's got to go in.
I'm almost beyond.
I'm resigned to the fact that this is the squad you're going to watch for the rest of this year.
And the only exciting part that's going to come out of all of this is what happens in the off season?
Because there's no way you can duplicate next last year, can you?
but you might have to.
You might have to absolutely have a bigger.
Is it possible that you're going to need a bigger offseason this year than last year?
I think there's lots of chapters to be written in and left this year still.
I don't know what this tier is going to be.
Like where would you have them on the in or out of the playoffs confidence meter for RET?
Like if it's, if there's a, you know.
I haven't had them in very much this year.
So where are you at after last night?
I think about about a month.
I thought a month ago I said they were going to figure.
it out and get in and now i'm rethinking it i've again i'll go back to our friday conversation i don't
the problem is that if they get in i think they get shellacked i could i think it's two i think it's two
different conversations what are they and can they get into the play yeah and i i i don't i honestly
still don't like i think this group would be very very um improved with
Vladar out of plan five out of six.
Let's go there.
Because you threw it out there last night and you made no bones about it.
That Markstrom looks like he's broken.
And it's about the third or fourth time this season where we've kind of taken a step back.
Either he said, I suck at hockey.
Or goals that have gone in or performances.
And you wonder, where is the guy from a year ago?
Where is the guy that led the league in shutouts that was carrying the team on his
back for stretches. He looks nothing like the guy that was here a year ago. Oh, you're muted.
Alex, if you want to play that clip, you can. If you want to play it. I'm going to say it.
I'm sure we'll talk about it. I don't think Markstrom can handle pressure. I don't even know
what to think with him right now. There's so many. There's so many things that are happening.
First period. Breakdown, break away, one nothing.
It's a, it's a breakaway.
I don't know how you can necessarily blame the goal.
It just, how many times?
I just, you're rattling off.
Oh, there was the one against Lyon A against Columbus and there's this one against.
It just feels like every three or four games, he's having to face one of those shots early on.
Whether or not he can handle the pressure.
You do the voodoo thing, Pinder, and it's, it's about goalies are weird.
I don't, I don't think he's injured.
No.
I don't think.
it's the same guy standing in that crease wearing the gear
that had nine shutouts last year. It's all between
the ears. Yeah, I think there's probably technically some stuff going on, but I think a
lot of it is between the years. He's a new dad for the first time. Not that
you'd be an old dad. There's lots going on and I think he knows he's having a bad
year and trying his ass off, but that, I don't know that trying harder is
kind of the thing, right? Like, if it's, it's in baseball, it's like, don't get in
the batters box and try harder. You've got to, all this is refurb.
flex and instinct. You can't be thinking. You've got to be reacting out there. And, you know,
he's having an awful year. Everyone knows that. It doesn't mean he won't be back to respectability
at another point. Like, we joked about Mark Andre Fleury, posted a sub-900 in Pittsburgh,
a goals against above three, then going to Vegas with a pick to get rid of him. And he wins
Zvezna. Like, these guys are up and down like crazy, but never mind this guy who's had all
kinds of ups and downs in his career, including clearing waivers in Vancouver before becoming
starter. I feel like Flurry had gone on some deep runs, though, as a...
Yeah, I'm not saying he's Flurry. I'm saying that goalies are volatile, and I think we all know
that, that even guys going to the Hall of Fame have years where they look like they've lost it.
Yeah. Not usually, though. Who? And the one thing that we talked about is that they're going to
have to find a way to lessen the workload. If they can lessen the workload, that will be the answer.
And the workload has been lessened.
He hasn't been injured.
And he's playing some of the worst hockey he has as a flame.
Yeah.
Can I jump in there?
Yeah, please.
Only because it's in that vein of thought,
but the vein of thought was that he was playing too much
and he couldn't.
Once the playoffs started, he was fatigued and he ran out.
I don't think it's that at all.
I think it's been answered.
He can't handle pressure.
He has in the past, though.
But should he?
Like this year he hasn't.
Well, he's great against Dallas.
You could not allow two goals in that Dallas.
You had four fucking game.
But that's,
and then what did he do against Edmonton when the pressure really?
He was dogs just like the rest of the team.
I mean,
yeah,
it wasn't good.
I think about overtime in Game 7 of Dallas.
He makes a huge save on a breakaway that that can end the series.
I mean,
right now I agree with you,
but we can't wash away,
you know,
the vast majority of this guy's career.
He's been a very good goaltender a lot.
He said,
he hasn't done horse shit in the playoffs.
You guys put no fucking.
in stock in someone that can actually play fucking pocky into playoffs you do it you you always do
olioch and five hundred twelve points if what a player huberto 550 way way to go doesn't do fuck all
when it matters remember he was mad we were swearing too much let him go yeah done no you can't
no hey look if give me next just playoff numbers if you're down oh greatest player ever can't
fucking help win a fucking playoff game pardon my language is
I think he's been on some bad teams, and I'm not here to tell you.
Oh, for Christmas.
That's the moment response of everyone that says what, so how was fucking Marty Broder's
teams?
They were all just fucking superstars, right?
Like he had nothing to do with them winning?
He played behind the fucking trap.
Go look at Vancouver's defense when Markstrom was there.
So what?
They're not the same.
They're totally different.
Vancouver's definitely me.
You're right.
They're not the same.
Marty Bruder was a stud.
Yeah, and he's in the Hall of Fame and Markstrom's not going to be there.
I'm not telling him he's Marty Broder.
I'm saying that he's not handling pressure well this year.
That doesn't mean he can't and did not before.
I'm asking you to prove to me when he handled the pressure so well that you're talking about.
The Dallas series was the example I gave.
I thought he was really good.
One 10-day stretch of his life, he's showing that he's a hot.
So he won one series and he didn't win it all on his own.
So he has had one series.
win how's he won other series what did he do in Vancouver they didn't do in the bubble they won one but
they were underdogs the whole time I mean I just don't think he was on good teens was it him was it him it was it
him it was him and demco it made both of those guys played significantly in the bubble but look I'm not here to tell you he's
the savior I'm not here to tell you he has to be your number one anytime now or next year I'm just saying
the easiest mistake you can make on a goalie is look at the present and think it's everything right
like Cam Talbot can't be a goalie in this league anymore was the motto in Edmonton and he's played like six years since.
It was one bad year.
I just think this is clearly a bad year, right?
It doesn't mean he can't be a good goalie again.
I just think it's time to move on.
And honestly, like for today's discussion, it doesn't really matter.
Like you got to ride Vladar, give him a huge run here.
If they don't see Marks from again, I could give a shit this year.
Like really, it's just not happening for him.
whether that's off ice between the years technically whatever i don't care i don't disagree with that
point i don't care either but then you're going to have a markstrom who's chewing up six million in cap
and if you have any success with ladar you're going to have a six million dollar backup he's uh locked in
two more years of two and what three quarters and i would think if if you if you think markstrom
cannot be a top 40 goalie in the league or a top 30 you can buy them out i mean it's not pretty but it
save you some cap space.
The question is, what's happening?
What are we watching?
Because it's the same guy.
There's no, we saw he took the knee to the head from Tanner Pearson in Vancouver.
And then he wasn't right.
Okay, well, he was concussed.
He had to sit.
And in the past, he's had certain injuries and that's affected his play.
Now, unless he is injured and being trotted out there, but I don't think that's the case.
He has, in 36 starts, 14 victims.
victories, 2.93 with an 891 save percentage, one win in his last eight games.
Yeah, hasn't been good enough. He's not a good backup. No. Right now. No. And honestly, like, if there
was something nagging him, you know what you do? You put him on fucking IR and bring up Wolf who the
coach likes, because he's watching his kid play on that team all the time, and who is stopping everything
he's seen in front of a D-Corps that doesn't include a lot of great HL defensemen.
Like, it's time to move along past put Mark, we got to build back up Markstrom.
You can start that process to get in the outsies.
So the good goalie is actually playing through the bad team.
So you can do that.
Yes, just like Markstrom has at other junctions of his career.
It's a bad year for Markstrom.
We're clearly in agreement on that.
I wanted to show this tweet, one of our guys out in Vancouver with Kanox Army,
why it aren't. He's been in Vancouver a long time, watches the Canucks's, you know,
different members of the media and whatnot. And Markstrom's an interesting study because he comes to
Vancouver and, you know, what was he in Florida? He's a first prospect. Top pop prospect,
didn't quite turn the corner of a man, he's so big and he's so athletic and he gets to Vancouver
and it took a while there and then all of a sudden this guy is terrific. But he has these ups and downs.
And if we have the tweet, I'd like to kind of take a look at it.
It was just kind of his, why it's reaction to it, that you look for certain things
and you love to see Markstrom competing.
But when he's kind of, and I said it to Wrette last night,
he had a slip beside the net on the one play.
Prior to that, he had missed a couple of rims in behind the net that he couldn't get to.
And then right before, I think it's the De Brinkig.
goal goes in. He's chopping away at Kachuk, who's really not even in the blue paint. It's been a hot
head this year. Right now, Markstrom looks a lot like early Vancouver Markstrom. He's always been
an emotional goalie, but at his best, he's dialed in and not slashing at someone, not even in his crease.
On tilt, Marky, is no bueno. Calgary needs to rent Ian Clark for a weekend, L.O.L. Yeah, I don't
think a weekend's not fixing anything here. But this, you know, you see,
Yeah, I'd agree with that.
Similarities.
And it speaks to how frustrated it is.
I don't think this is an easy,
peasy blow in the wind.
I'd go with the flow guy.
This is an intense, competitive,
fiery,
bleep you guys.
Like, this is more Mike Smith
than Mika Kiprasoff
in terms of his temperament.
What do you think?
Where do you think Daryl's at,
retro?
Because you know it's about wins.
It's about getting points,
but he also loves to have a number one.
and he's got you can't we can abandon marks from on the side you know at a rest stop on the side of the
road months ago yeah he can't right he's got to manage this team and that goaltending tandem how does he
do that now wow if you just look at it rationally that's win at all costs right now isn't it
like you you got to get points you're in no position to try and massage this so it has to be vladar
has to i agree i mean darrell could do whatever that hell he wants and he's not going to
have to answer to us but i would have a hard time finding his reasoning for playing marxstrom
over vladar it's i think we've reached a lot of hockey minds yeah it's vladar and when vladar
loses if the schedule then go ahead put marks from in but those two last goals are just so bad
till you lose like look where the the game time goal is shot and i get he has to move laterally it's
a foot off the fucking goal line
It's exactly where you want to push the puck to as defenders.
Like, look where he's backing up here when he actually takes it.
All he has to do is not be slouched.
And on that post, there's nothing to look at.
The Brickett is a great shooter.
Totally, but there should be no hole.
But you feel like that's a low percentage shot from there.
You should give that.
If you have to pick a spot where someone can fire at a Rett's point, that should be fine.
Now, yes, elite finisher that's having an off year, but still, there shouldn't be a hole.
And to be fair, that's where Johnny won a series.
But still.
And the overtime goal.
It's like through him.
Stutzel has a bit of a step and we did just see it.
But it's just not.
You know what?
That's that same area where the McDavid goal went on him from the sideboards.
Yeah.
When this whole spiral kind of began.
That looks like a guy that's in full panic because someone might shoot the puck.
It's like, well, yeah, that's what you deal with, bud.
I don't like
I don't think anyone's guessing
where his confidence is at right now
he's wide open
he's got holes everywhere
yeah and it's not like
that's labeled
and remember in that story
Ryan in the second period
where it was a bit of a shooting gallery
the flames were playing terrific
they had control of the game
but then on the power play
and they kind of fed off of that
De Brinkett just misses on the back door
and they missed four or five wide
and Markstrom was all over the place
the net was wide open
the net was empty
It's Carrie Ramo vibes where you might make the first one, but you're going to see the name bar too.
And they're not in a position to make the seven one.
And to be fair, that was Mike Smith before he got rebuilt after his first year in Edmonton,
where it's like, if you are lunging at everything and over trying, guess where he are for a second chance?
No, we're in a position to make a save.
And that's been him all year.
And it's so easy to read in on stuff.
But that body language of Markstrom after the Stutzel goal goes in.
Oh, yeah.
And he just kind of stands up.
It's a, yeah, I knew it was going in.
It just looks like it's kind of, yeah, of course.
You could feel the pucker at 3-2.
Watch Markstrom get up and leave the crease.
Yes.
Yeah.
You know what?
It's the resigned, not even angry at this point.
Like, last time that happened, he hammered his stick on the crossbar and almost
killed a ref.
This time, it's like.
You know who you don't want to?
I've brought this up before, too.
You know who you don't want to be?
Jason LaBarber.
The Flames goalie coach.
It's on him.
Bank thee is not going to.
he's going to the
it's not just Markstrom
that's going to be in the fire in squad
well and I'll say this
get your goalie ready I would not be surprised
if the goaltending department has been
saying for a while you need to play
Vladarmore so he
probably isn't happy with Jason Labarbara
but I don't think Jason Labarber or anyone
in that organization surprised at this at this point
it's been what we've watched all year the coach
might be the last guy
to be won over to play in Vladarmore
so
I'm sure he's not happy, but he's been warned.
I can assure you that.
I don't know if he responds to warnings.
No.
And this is the whole Daryl thing.
On Daryl's behalf, but that being said, at some point, that is the barber's job to make sure the gold, you know.
It's his job to fix Marks.
He's also his job to develop Plydard.
And I, yeah, I think he's great.
I love Barbes.
He's a good dude.
Blah, blah, blah.
But that's, that's what you're guys.
had a deal with. That ain't no fun.
He almost looks like a guy, and this is the kind of year it's been, the I suck at hockey
comments and all of that. And I don't, I'm not going to pretend that. Is he about to have a kid?
Did he just have a kid? He just had a kid. Send him home for a bit. Seriously. Go be a dad.
And if we got this. If the, one of the side effects of that is you also get to get a look at
Wolf, like I don't see any downside there. You need a break. You've got three home games.
You leave for a three game trip in Arizona, Vegas, and Colorado on Tuesday of next week.
That's a week from today.
Go be a dad.
We'll see you in a week.
I mean, the whole giving him more chances that he hasn't earned thing hasn't worked.
I'd be ready for something else.
Like they come out of the All-Star break.
And you just watched Markstrom, albeit with a shitty effort in front of them, lose to Chicago.
Vladar play well in Seattle.
And they go right back to Markstrom out of the gate when everyone,
knows that your better goal tender,
the day you came out of the All-Star break,
was Vlidar.
Not to let him off the hook,
but should the flames have been in a position
to have been in a tie game heading to overtime
with two goals in the final three minutes?
No, they outplayed Ottawa pretty well.
I didn't mind a lot of that effort.
I thought Huberto was starting to dance a bit,
moving the puck around.
I like Dubay getting going.
They had that five on three for a stretch
and didn't do anything with it.
They can't bury teams,
and I don't know,
3-1 doesn't feel buried with Marks from a net.
With Lidar, I would be a lot less worried at 3-1,
but you just almost were waiting for this, weren't you?
Happy for Dube.
Three.
If you can't win a game with, again, what the hell are we talking about?
So if you can't win a game when you're up 3-1,
I don't care what goaltenders in that.
I mean, you said it last night.
You've got a third-string goalie who's playing his fourth NHL game.
Yeah.
They're Jake Sanderson, their good young D-Man, he's out.
They got Zub and Zytezev and whatever the hell else back there.
Hey, they beat the flames.
We shouldn't be talking shit.
But let's be honest.
No, you see the standings.
You see what they are.
They are what they are.
And you know what they are?
The team of the same number of wins as the flames today.
Yeah.
Holy Christ.
One wakes up on a playoff spot.
So I count your lucky stars if you want, what division you're in.
Is it 32 one goal games now?
It was 32 before last night, I believe.
Jesus.
So, and this is where, like, I don't want to,
like i'm not trying to say this team's real good but if you just had one more save how many nights
like how many more points do you have in the standings like are you fucking kidding me they're they're
four and 11 and overtime like it's true but like one more save so many nights right i know but i
still go back to the overall vibe of it all they just thoughts are good vibe that like markstrom's
not saying he's not good at hockey if he's enjoying hockey right like and i guess and i guess
Again, he's not playing well, but I think you, if you're enjoying going to the rink,
you're not having that drastic or dramatic a comment, you know, yeah, that was a tough one.
I should have played a different level.
It could be better.
You don't say I suck at hockey.
That was what, back in November?
Whatever it was.
No, but it spoke to where his head was at, right?
I think that's, that is, you said it, Dean, the biggest issue with Jacob Markstrom is not an injury.
I don't think it's something technical.
I think it's all between his ears.
Yeah.
Because that quote post game in the fall
told you a lot about how he felt about himself.
I'm getting a,
there's,
I'm getting word in my ear here.
Apparently there's,
I think we're about to be sewered a little bit.
Alex and Tanman put together a little,
let's see what this is.
Uh-oh.
A little clip.
I don't know if I'm going to like this.
Ottawa's limping in here and it's like,
oh, this should be easier.
Mads, so-guard.
So-Gard, the former medicine hat, Tiger, is going to get the start, and they brought in...
Looks tall. Look at that.
Old Kevin Mandelesey.
Man-Manga.
So again, I'm not saying anything.
No jinxie pants here.
Just reporting the news.
Anything you want to say here?
Guaranteed win night?
Is that what we're...
Don't shut the shit, man.
You don't say that.
I don't know.
De Brinket 17.
What's going on with De Brinkets?
I just, I'm really curious about De Brinket because it was like, oh, go get him and extend him.
And it's like, it hasn't been the bumper year for him.
It's not with Kane.
And it's like, are you signing up for another three, four years of Canada?
Still got it, boys.
It's PTSD.
Yeah, it's scar tissue.
Senators PTSD.
And that's kind of what backpack items are.
Yeah, it's long-haul COVID.
Yes.
Senators PTSD.
Yeah.
That's my, what I'm still carrying around from COVID is the fucking senators.
All they have to do is start their better goal in.
None of these clips come up.
It's not that complicated.
So between us shit-talking guys on this show and then them performing and then doing
after-burner after game.
What's the, like...
Have you, are you dialed into the after-burner record, Rhett?
Did it get mentioned last night?
covering the wrong team maybe that's what we're doing two six and three i was that's 11 games
i was all i was all excited because i was going with boom he's got the two wins doesn't he
i thought man he's going to get the third win here yeah you're winless aren't you're no you go one yeah
dean's got two you and i each have one um look hey did you know that tim stutzla became the first player
in NHL history, history, to factor in on three straight goals in the final five minutes of
regulation and or overtime to help his team stage a multi-goal comeback.
Again, if they just started their best goalie, none of this bullshit that gets Alex L. Horny.
Had an assist on the Batherson, assist on the De Brinket, and then, of course, scored the winner.
Yeah, just give it to him on the goal line. What a setup.
And you know what?
This is a good time.
While we're bathing in this, let's welcome more people into the misery,
courtesy of the hearing loss clinic.
Oh, boy.
In 1983, the hearing loss clinic was founded with a simple mission,
make a positive difference in people's lives.
It's never been about hearing loss or hearing impairment.
They're going to make your life better for Calgary locations.
even our buddy Kelly Rudy last night was having a tough night.
Did you hear it?
He heard himself.
It's injured.
Let's take a listen here.
Poor Kelly Rudy, right in the middle of the broadcast,
almost needed medical assistance up in the press box.
Tough night in Ottawa.
Tough night in Canada.
Goodness.
What a season.
Ouch.
Put my tongue with it.
No.
What a season needs to be.
Medic.
Bit his tongue.
Right live on the...
A bit my tongue.
Tong tied.
at a loss for words. Well, you know, he's thinking it's three to one.
Lots of chuckles at that point, 1228 left in the third.
How many glasses of red wine will I get before takeoff tonight?
What are how many?
He did come home last night, didn't they?
Yeah.
Hey, did they get more points than games played?
Four Calgary locations for the Hearing Loss Clinic.
You can find them on their social media at the hearing loss on Twitter.
Instagram, the Hearing Loss Clinic, and their website, of course, is Hearing Loss.
A 2022 Chamber of Commerce Professional Service Excellence Award winner, by the way.
If you're having issues with your hearing, visit one of these locations.
It's not something you have to live with.
It can get better.
It can be improved.
And there are serious health risks that are linked to not getting it treated, not getting it looked at.
It's not just about it being an inconvenience.
It's an important thing.
So there you go.
Hearingloss.ca.
I'm going to do it.
All right.
I'm going to be doing it soon.
Travis is going to get, get me in there and start digging away.
Maybe I just got a bunch of, you see those videos where they're like spurting the water in there
and frigging potatoes come rolling out?
It's like, what is that?
Is that a lump of coal?
Maybe that's what I'll, that's the treatment I'll get in there.
It's been a lot of years sitting with headphones and radio and all that.
Just to get your eye.
Did you put something in your ear as a child and it's still in there?
It's a micrmachine in there.
around.
Paperclip.
You.
Hearing lost.
Ow!
So they are now back home after a two one and two road trip.
Hey, what are they?
Now, now, Pinder is two, this is the BS that Pender pulls over.
Did you say two one and two?
Oh yeah, because Seattle.
Seattle.
What are they?
Seattle.
They are very firmly a bubble team in a bad Western conference this year.
Can you be better than Minnesota?
of the way. They actually moved past Colorado in the stand. Yeah, they got three games in hand and
their one point back. I'm not going to plan a parade on that one. I'm still going to sort
my points percentage there. And yeah, there was somebody on the, they're absolutely ninth in the
west, right? On the chat last night. You guys are so negative. You know they actually get a point
and move up in the stand. Oh, getting a points better than no points. We're all in agreement there.
But when you're up three one with three minutes left, you can fucking seal the deal a few more
times. That's twice this year and the third. They blow three one leads. Well, they had a one goal lead
against the Rangers a week ago.
Yeah, and it's like, okay, you know, good team.
You'd love too, but it's when it's against bottom dwellers and teams in the Bedard mix
that it really stings.
You've dropped two to Chicago, one in overtime.
You need it overtime to get past Columbus when they were in last place.
Everyone in Ottawa thinks the rebuild's over.
They're not in a good spot in the standings.
I'm sorry.
These are games you have to close out.
I think the common thread is Marks.
You were saying five minutes ago.
you're saying make a save or just beat shitty teams you could do that that would give you all the
points you need to be in a solidly in a playoff spot if you use your better goal i think you could
be second in the division pretty easily it's like what four or five points is there a dynamic there
that's that's that's that's that darrell's worried about obviously he wants his number one and
markstrom was the best a finalist last year like it is there something in the room that says we can't
give Vladar the crease? I don't think so. I think it's just we all got to a point at some point
where you realize or you think or you've come to your own conclusion about Vladar being the guy
and some people got there sooner than others. I just think Daryl's the last guy to get there. That's all.
Is anyone thinking Markstrom's a better shot to win these days? Like anyone? I heard people last week
that, you know, worked the beat suggesting Markstrom, that seemed crazy. They've all turned course.
I mean, look, he might not, he might fall on his face here,
but it's been a much better season for one guy than the other.
One guy puts you down early on one of the first three shots of the game.
And you know what?
This team doesn't score enough to like playing that way.
I don't honestly think it's Daryl sitting there.
I mean, he's got the best seat in the house every night.
He sees what's going on.
I think it's about the dynamics between a starter and a backup
and that guy who is your number one and all.
I just, I think he was just playing a long game,
but he's run out of runway now.
He keeps thinking he can,
play him into form. But sorry, you got, what, 28 games left? Well, yeah, but I don't think he's
standing there and not seeing what Vladar is doing. No, I agree. I think that Markstrom keeps getting
into the net because he's, you're a guy. He's the starter. I think it'll be curious to see
who his guy is when they get home, because I think it might be Vlodar. I do believe, like last night
felt a lot like that, the final straw on the camel's back, whatever, the expression. You asked
it last night for the buy and sell. Who gets more starts the rest of the way? Bladar or
Markstrom.
Gotta be Vladar.
I think it's got to be Vlodar.
Like you said, Red, unless they tumble way out and then you just split starts.
And if they tumble way out, don't be mistaken.
Dustin Wolf's going to play some games.
Well, you say that now.
And then in a month from now, why won't they bring Wolf up?
These games mean nothing.
Why won't they play this guy?
Because we've been there before.
Well, they didn't like Louis de Ming because Louis de Ming doesn't try hard.
This is a kid they love and they want to see what they have.
Um, yeah, I,
A couple months ago when we were talking about the goaltenders and I just,
before you go trading Vladar, what if you've got something in this guy?
I think you do have something there. He's big and he's played very well in tight games
and he wins a way a lot more than he loses, way a lot more.
Write that down, kids.
Way a lot more.
What was it?
13 games.
games in a row he gets a point.
Yeah, he's just coming off.
You think you don't want to ride that guy.
He's just coming off from tying a franchise record point streak.
Yeah, you're in a great spot with him.
You've got them this year and two more at a very reasonable number.
You got the top goal in the American League.
You just got to figure what the hell's happening with the starter.
I'll tell you what, of all the things at the start of the year,
if you just said, what's the issue?
I wouldn't have said goaltending.
Nobody would have.
No.
You said nine shutouts last year.
Is Schillington not coming back?
Well, maybe that's a big.
Cole you need to fill. Lots of changes up front.
Maybe that's all the things that you thought you could rely upon, it would be the
goaltending.
The guy that finished top four in Vesna voting two of the last three years.
Looks lost.
Way to go, Red.
Thanks, Rhett.
Yep.
I hate goalies.
They never did me good.
I know.
You know what Red knows, though?
A fucking elite goalie fixes a lot of problems.
Oh, yeah.
Hides everything.
Like, I'm not stating.
something that everyone doesn't know, but to the point you're making here.
I don't think I would ever put Markstrom in the Hasick and Kipersoff class,
but I also wouldn't have put him in, you know, one of the worst 10 goalies in the league class,
which is where he's performed this year.
There you see in your screen, Mad Rose Pub, one of our great sponsors,
Day 1 Mad Rose Pub. Matt and everybody at Mad Rose was on board.
We've got tickets to the game coming up on Thursday.
trot out that contest for you on the program tomorrow.
Some great seats to go and see game one of the homestand, Detroit, the Rangers, and then the
Flyers coming up at the dome over the next.
How many goals have the Boston Bruins given up?
I think they're probably top three in goals against with Olmark and swimming.
Sway down.
Go look at it.
Go look at it.
Are the number one by a mile?
It's ridiculous.
Yeah.
Score a bunch and give up none.
Yeah.
Rolls against per game, Bruins.
113.
The next.
2.1.2.
They're almost a half goal better than the second best team in the league.
In fact, that's a matchup tonight.
Boston Dallas.
Boston Dallas.
That's a fun one there.
Top two teams defensively.
Yeah.
We like Dilmark in Buffalo.
Remember that?
We're like, this guy, I think he's sneaky good.
I don't remember where Vlodar came from.
Yeah.
They did the sway dog.
They can't keep them all.
Can't keep them all.
Can't keep them all.
Let's,
I took a piece.
just to see, you know, you know, what's today in history, what's going on? Because our
buddies over at McLeod Law, they, Calgary, uh, Calgary born and raised. Don't tell me.
Don't tell me you're going back to like the flames losing four games.
No, no-games. No-Fandantantz.
If you do that, I'm going to swing on you.
McLeod Law, multifaceted, great, great people down to earth. You get a vision in your head of
a law and all the, these are really good people. Peter Klein at the front of that class.
MacLeod-Dashlaw.com is the website, personal injury lawyer, among the numerous things that they do.
If you've suffered personal injury and you're having some struggles trying to get things going your way,
then Peter Klein is a guy you need to contact.
403-254-3864 on social media right across the Facebook, Instagram, Twitter,
at McLeodlaw LLC, helping to relieve your stress so you could focus on recovery.
It's, you know what, it's not a, it's not a huge super big moment in flames history, but it's a guy that we've talked about sparingly.
He would just kind of drop into our conversation and usually it's a, you know what, God, he was good.
God, he was good.
We don't talk about how good he was.
Man, he was good.
On this date back in 1987, it was a two-goal night, including a penalty shot in a three-two flames victory on the road in Minnesota.
it was goal, one of the two on the night, was goal 200 in the career of Joe Mullen.
We do not talk about Joe Mullen nearly enough for what he did in Calgary.
Now, it was a short stay, but he's a hockey hall of famer.
He was the first American player to 500 goals and 1,000 points,
won a cup here in 89, two Lady Bings, went on to have two more cup wins in 91 and 92,
sorry, Rhett, with the Pittsburgh Penguins.
as a flame,
190 goals and 388 points in 345 games
and finished his career,
502 goals,
163 points in 162 games.
You look for those,
did he win a cup?
Yep.
Ding.
A major award.
Lady Bing.
Yep.
500 goals,
over a point of game.
First American to hit that 500 and 1,000 plato.
He's one of,
truly.
And I remember at the time, Hall of Fame or Hall of Fame,
and you start to look at it. Yeah.
Did you pay close attention?
That's how good those teams were too, right?
Like we talk about Gary Suter's numbers always being eye-popping.
And like, oh, yeah, they just Roberts and Newendake were there.
And McAroof came in and like, holy shit, they were deep.
That was a good team, man.
And you talk to guys that played with Bullen.
Oh, they rave about them.
The one of seven flames to score 50 in a season.
You guys want to take a swing at the other six?
I got it in front of me.
New and Dyke.
New and Dyke did it twice.
Iggy.
Iggy did it twice.
Loob?
Loob's the only sweet ever to score 50.
Best trivia on Earth.
How is that now?
Three.
You got three to go.
I got three to go.
I can't.
Lanny had 66.
Yeah.
You had Gary Roberts of 53.
Yeah, I also missed some games with an ox.
Theo, you guessed?
Or you didn't?
No, I didn't.
You had 51.
Yeah, of course.
Theo had 51 in 9091 so two years after the cup
what about jason weamer weems don't not seeing him here
a little down the list here yeah no no Robert
Reichel Valbury Christiana says no he's not cracked the top page there
it wasn't his role it's not his game it's not his role and the last just kind of a
footer on on the Joe Mullen as a Calgary flame how's this deal that brings him in
uh Calgary flames get Terry Johnson
and Rick Wilson and Joe Mullen for Eddie Beers, Charlie Bourgeois, and Gino Cavalini.
Sensation.
You hate to lose a name bar like beers, but you get a 50 goal guy.
Then he comes in, and as I said, there, he puts up nearly 200 goals and 300 Stanley Cup and that sort of thing.
They thought maybe at 33 years of age that maybe he was done because in that last year,
he had a steep drop in points.
He went from 110 points to 69.
51 goals to 38 they thought maybe Joe Mullen's done.
Let's get him out of here.
Traded him to Pittsburgh for a second rounder.
And then two more cups in Pittsburgh.
That's right.
91, 92.
So is this a...
Three cups.
Careful what you wish for with Jonathan and Huberdo doing the same thing.
110 points for Mullen down to 69.
We've got to get rid of them.
Keep them. That's right.
I'm sure that trees get in the phone lines.
burnt down with offers for Huberto, but I just say be patient and wait and see what a bounce
back looks like.
Maybe he,
I liked them last night.
I thought he was,
I liked everything about the game.
Are there some positives out there that,
are we too negative?
Is Pinder the voice of reason?
No,
no,
they're definitely a bubble team and they look like a team that's not confident.
I know we keep hearing on the broadcast,
how important it is to play all these one goal games.
They're not getting better at it.
They really are.
It's only important if you win them.
That's right.
They're like, oh, you're going to learn lessons.
If you start winning them, you learn lessons.
If you keep losing them, shit's not going well.
But look, it's time for Vladar to get a ride.
I think we have to be happy with what we've seen from Pellche.
It continues to look like he belongs.
Hebert was finding guys last night.
It didn't look like one of those nights where he was trying to throw it, you know,
through three bodies making circus plays that send guys the other way.
I like that top lines producing nicely to,
Foley and Dubay are on heaters. You're getting three lines scoring.
But yeah, it's one point against a team that's going to miss the playoffs by a significant
margin. That sucks. Let's get to the Pinder report, shall we? Find out what else is going on.
Apparently, there are things, apparently other things in the world other than the Calgary
Flames. Well, I see my hat? Big day. Yeah, it's a big day. Just an epic troll job.
Village Honda, Northwest Auto Mall, your dealership for life. They want to buy your car.
it to them. You'll get paid in 24 hours. No hassle. No obligation appraisal. Wheel up there, stop in.
They'll get it done for you today. And while you're there, check out the new CRV hybrid. Maybe
you want to see the passport trail sport that is in stock. Maybe have a coffee at that unbelievable
coffee machine. Got to give my love. Sit in the prelude. Sure. Wheel the windows down that 90. It's a great
shape. You got some good, some magazines in there. Sit down, have a coffee, chill out. What would you call
that little motorcycle thing? It's not a scooter. It's a, or is it? It's a mini,
It's a mini dirt bike for sure.
It's not even a dirt bike.
It's kind of a...
Something you'd see in Italy cruising around the island of the island.
So go up there for sure and see it.
And say hi to Tanya and Anthony, everybody up there.
Good people.
Let's do the Pinder Report for Village Honda, shall we?
All right.
Well, you heard it on the afterburner clip that opened the show.
Jacob Markstrom had a rough night for the Calgary Flames last night,
one where a 3-1 lead late in the third turns into a one-point performance of the loss in overtime.
Did you talk about the chances in overtime?
The Flames could have won this thing a couple times.
Post and Gondry.
Boys, boys.
Like, that is one thing I wonder.
What does this show sound like today, Rhett,
if they blow that lead but win it in overtime?
Same, Sam?
Or not?
No, it's not same, same,
because every point's a big deal right now.
And you can look at the road trip and think,
well, pretty good.
As opposed to...
And sometimes it's the opponent, right?
Like New York felt.
like that.
If you beat it,
tip your cap,
it's the Rangers,
yeah.
Yeah.
But you lose to Detroit
and you lose twice
to Chicago
and you needed
overtime to beat
Columbus and you lose
to Ottawa.
They've had tough time
with some bad teams.
PTSD.
It is PTSD.
So the conversation
turned to Markstrom
and his season,
it's been awful.
The numbers
aren't that different
from Vlodar
on the whole.
You know where they are
different?
When it's a one-goal game
either way,
tied up one or down one.
Look at these numbers.
They are night and day different.
And doesn't that feel like what we've seen where if it's tight,
you know one guy's making a save and the other one,
you're really worried if he isn't.
Don't be too worried by the stat there.
It's goals saved above expected or above average.
Minus 17 is horrible,
like probably some of the worst in the league and plus three is better than average.
So if Lidar is giving you good goal tending in tight spots,
Markstrom hasn't, the numbers match the eye test
in what we've basically talked about for a couple months.
here. Selling Stad.
They just got a, as soon as if they get a lead, you leave Markstrom in and then as soon, oh, shit,
back to within one.
No, we're up two, get them in.
Oh, there are one, Vladar back in.
It's like lacrosse, you know, defense, offense, you just shift on the fly.
All right.
Oh, gave up that tough.
Within one.
Vladar, get in there.
I'd also like Vladar to start the games because Markstrom early.
It was the second shot last night.
I know it's a breakaway and you feel for him that it is a breakaway.
But Vladar had that breakway against Villano against Detroit shorthanded and made the save.
I'm not saying it's certainly a save, but I know.
who I'm more confident in on a breakaway chance early.
It ain't close, boys.
We're really piling on Markstrom.
Just finding any math we can to fire him under the bus.
Here's the standings.
You're so negative, Dean.
They moved into a playoff spot last night.
They're a playoff team.
All we need is Colorado to get less than one point in their next three games.
Right?
They do play the bolts tonight,
and they are missing some bodies more on that in the Betway bets of the day.
But yeah, that's how she's looking right there as Minnesota moves up.
Colorado moves out.
They don't have to be world beaters.
They just have to be better than one of these damn teams nearby them in the standings
the rest of the way.
Here's your schedule for the Calgary Flames are coming home.
They got home late last night.
And yes, it is a three-game homestand that you mentioned.
Detroit and New York, again, just a week after their first meetings of the season,
they'll close the season series with these two Eastern Conference foes.
And then the Monday 2 o'clock matinee for Family Day Ret.
Hope you're celebrating.
Is President's Day down there?
What is it?
It's a holiday there.
Yeah, you're muted again.
Classic.
It's definitely a holiday, but I don't know what, which one it is.
You want some uplifting flames news, guys?
Sure do, Ryan.
Let's go to Boston.
Bean pot.
We need it.
Bean pot.
They play four Boston college teams.
Boston.
Boston University, Northeastern, Harvard.
Every year a tournament.
Matthew Coronado and Harvard all the way to the finals
where they faced Northeastern last night.
Let's go to the highlights.
Watch Coronado.
Bang, there's one.
Ties the game.
Harvard.
Harvard, bah.
He's so wicked smart going to Harvard.
Evan Levi.
It's a Sabres prospect, isn't he, right?
Sam Ranhardt deal.
One's good, but you know what's better?
Two.
Now they did lose in a shootout.
believe the final score was northeastern one more than the coronados.
He's having a monster sophomore season, fellas.
I think they're pushing hard to sign this guy the moment Harvard season ends.
And he's kind of what they don't have.
He's a shooter, a finisher.
And I don't know what he looks like at the NHL level,
but you start rolling that contract immediately here.
Get that first year burnt on the entry level.
Get him here.
Let's go.
Good prospect.
13th overall pick a couple years ago.
We'll pick after a cylinder.
Remember?
Maybe he wants to, you know, Harvard guy, staying at his...
You could wait till the summer of 2025 and pick your spot,
or you could be done your entry level in the summer of 2025.
There's more to life in hockey, Ryan.
Maybe he wants to be a doctor.
A dentist, perhaps.
Orthodontist, pediatrist.
Talking to Dr. Jay, he wants to go work the laser.
Could be, yeah.
Why would I play hockey when I could help people to stop snoring?
Yeah.
I want to change people's lives here.
Harvard, I don't think.
I looked at it when I was thinking about going.
So that's at least some good news for the Calgary Flames.
And I believe the Wranglers are at home against Abbotsford opening a little midweek home stand here.
Oh, that'll be helpful for sure.
That should help and get in the playoffs.
Just awesome.
NHL News, Alexander Ovechkins leaving the capitals, Rhett.
What?
It's dealing to, attending to a family matter.
The health of a loved one.
Okay.
So that out of the blue this morning.
less surprising.
Our boy Vladdy Gavrikov or Gavikov, he's also going to be sitting.
He's not attending to health matters.
They're attending to his health because they're going to trade his ass.
Yeah, he's getting dealt.
He's getting dealt.
Pack your what?
Pack your shirt.
Right.
Yeah.
Alex will be very excited about this as, what would you call him?
A starlet, a sweetheart, a rom-com champion.
Yeah, he's, uh,
everybody loves Ryan Reynolds.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And Ryan Reynolds on Valentine's Day has awarded his final rose.
And it goes to the Remington group.
I love the Remington group.
What a pair.
What a matchup that's going to be.
Now,
I do think how many guys in the history of time
been able to talk to multiple groups of billionaires
and say,
give me your best offer and I'll be the front man for your group?
Because Gary's basically said,
we'd like to have Reynolds involved with the ownership group,
whoever it may be.
Like what are the offers he's getting?
Like 5% of the franchise for free?
Like this is an incredibly enviable position he's been in.
Amazing.
Welcome to Rexham.
Welcome to Canada.
They're going to get a rink downtown too.
That team's not going to suck nearly as much in four years.
Fun to go to five years, new rink.
I don't.
I like Ryan, right?
Yeah.
No, good for him.
It's good for him.
Yeah.
I don't like him. He's from Ottawa.
I don't think he's from there.
I thought he's like Vancouver.
It's a Vancouver guy, yeah.
I'm sure I asked me.
No, I saw him at a cafe once.
On the topic.
The Canucks, that'd be better.
On the topic of the deadline,
we're now 17 days away because
yesterday we were 18 days away,
Byron Bader's Calgary guy,
Hockeyprospecting.com,
a reminder of what
the value of a draft pick is.
So I like to,
once a year, retweet this guy.
So the light blue picks, that's your first round.
An NHLer, by the definition of his website,
Rhett, 200 games, that's it.
A star, three quarters of a point per game
over the course of your career is a forward,
0.45 year defense.
Either way, we get the point.
The value of these picks off steadily
after, you know, the top 20.
I'm not saying trade your first,
not saying trade your second.
At what round are you comfy
adding a depth player or is it
screw it don't invest anything
in this team you know like
you can hit it I want all of my
percentage chances and I'm just
I don't need the star that's fine
if I have a 10% chance in round
six of getting an NHLer I want it
okay so that's your Brett Ritchie type
stuff there
doesn't have to be Brett Ritchie it's not
McDavid or Brett Ritchie
no of course not but it's a 10%
chance of being a 200 game guy
that's fine
You know what's great, though?
At 7.4%.
That's where they took Dustin Wolfe.
At beyond that, Theo Fleury.
Round four.
What do you mean?
There's zero.
So there's never been an NHL guy
drafted into the seventh round.
It would be less than 0.1%.
Less than 0.1%.
So you probably have like a lungquist
in the seventh round.
I can't think anyone.
Joe Mullen was undrafted.
No, this isn't about undrafted place.
You don't trade undraft picks.
Only do the draft picks.
Wasn't some of those redwings guys?
You would have a Datsook there.
Alfred. Sederberg?
Yeah.
So 0.009 or something.
So I'm not a numbers nerd.
I go with my gut.
Speak my mind.
What does your gut tell you about CFL free agency,
Rhett, as the bonanza has already begun?
My gut tells me that you should lead with that
because that's big news, buddy.
You drop the ball.
Well, and even bigger news than CFL free agency.
What would be more CFLE than league news
overshadowing CFL free agency.
The alluettes are now owned by the team.
Oh.
The second time in three years,
they don't have an owner in this nine-team league.
If it sounds janky, it's because it is.
CFL, folks.
This is big news, buddy.
Hey, Ryan.
Ryan, we'll throw in the alo.
We'll throw in the aloets.
free of charge. We just want you to
flip a coin that kickoff
for the opener. That'll be worth it alone.
I thought it was a big deal in Montreal for a while.
We're people going and watching.
It kind of is. I just don't know that owning it's a good deal.
I'm not sure it's great to go to the games there.
Yeah, they were a very good team. They had Calvillo and Pringle
and they were winning and all that. But even still, they were at that smaller stadium.
18,000 seats. Was it even that much? I don't even know
because it was at McGill or whatever it was.
It's still there. They just expanded it.
little to get it over 20.
Not idea.
Hey, for all you CFL fans, enjoy the day.
I'm enjoying it.
And, you know, who's really excited to cash in?
Our boy, Sean Lemon.
Lemon drops, baby.
The Lemonator.
Look at these got, he's enticing teams.
Yeah.
Don't have the Lemon tweet. That's fine.
That's where there.
Finally, a couple kickers to go out on.
Nice.
Now, you're familiar with dash cams, Rhett.
People have cameras that, like, on their,
cars, so if something happens on the road, you can see what's happening.
Yes, I actually, I saw, I saw, I was watching, I showed my son a video today of a dash cam that had, uh, there was a bear in New Hampshire trying to get her four little cubs across the street.
That's cute.
Here's something less cute.
Someone was tailing you in Buffalo and caught you in the act here.
Oh.
Camp the casino, he's a big deal and I was going to alumni events.
He doesn't know he's got, look at the back of the dump trucks.
It's up.
It's on the unload and tilt.
Oh, you got to put that down.
Retrope.
Hi-ya!
Rat!
Red!
How don't you know?
You got to know when the back of your dump truck's up.
Listen, there's a couple dummies in this video.
Who's that idiot pulling up behind there?
Stay out of the way.
Hammer on the brakes.
You didn't notice?
It's like someone's driving a tower around.
Okay, so let me ask, you're on a freeway.
That guy is in front of you with the friggin,
dump truck things right up.
Are you racing up beside them to tell them,
hey, you're hooking trucks up?
Or are you waiting for an overpass to watch that?
I need to know how much horsepower I have
because I'm not going to be beside that when it hits.
You might become an influencer if you just wait and make this video.
You might get rich.
You're famous on TikTok.
Can you imagine that truck all the shit he's got in his cab?
He'll have some big super.
big gulp and some corn nuts and corn chips and probably a a dog his piss bottle in there
fucking boom shit all over the place rolling his own sigs in there in today's world should
there not be some sort of sensor that goes off a be boo-boot yeah there should be a yeah it doesn't
look too new i gotta be honest like you're an idiot going like that you're an idiot you're an idiot
You're an idiot.
And finally,
Hey, Rhett, what would it sound like?
Listen up.
I know at some point you're going to return to Canada.
I know whatever misdemeanors in handcuffs, but he will return to Canada.
Whenever your legal issues are sorted and you are free to move about the continent,
I've got an event for us.
It's,
better not be fucking.
slap face because I'm not coming.
No, it's, now,
it is in Edmonton,
but you don't need to wear a top.
I'm not going to Edmonton either.
So here's the Edmonton rules for pools.
All patrons are prevented to go topless
in city-operated pools,
if they so wish,
we'll see at WestEd.
Tata, ta, ta, ta, ta, ta, ta, ta, ta, ta, ta.
Beep, me,
Beep, me, be.
Please put your top on.
Please put your top back on.
It's the Pinder Report,
village honda.com,
the good people at Village Honda,
Northwest Automolm.
Your dealership for life,
you're selling, you're buying your car,
they want to see you, go and see them today.
And again, that new,
I'll probably hear from Anthony in Tandy.
They've been waiting.
The anticipation is big,
for the brand new Honda,
The new redesign and everything.
It's already one of the best selling sedans in the world.
All time, baby.
And they are going to unveil the new one very soon.
Stop by the Northwest Auto Mall
and Village Honda for more details.
It's a Pinder report.
Lots there.
Where do you find that?
Not good.
Where do you find that?
Now, that's like, that makes its way to you.
I have some very disturbing tentacles.
in the universe where I find weird things.
All patrons.
I like this.
Please do take a cleansing shower.
Yeah.
But by all means.
And then hang your gross rack out if you choose.
All your flop sweat and your boob sweat.
Get those freezer bags out.
Let's go.
Gross.
I mean, if they say that,
if that's the city of Miami,
putting that out.
Yeah.
It's like, oh, it's the topless beach.
Here are the rules.
This is a city.
pool trying to teach my six-year-old how to do the backstroke come on etown is it okay fair enough
uh it's valentine's day fellas oh boy i failed you know what i did yesterday got ahead of it did you
really come on yesterday's not getting ahead of it it's 24 hours out i show up at home with flowers
yesterday. The house smells brilliant and now today I just need to pen a card.
How hell's that got to do with you? Oh, God. I'm just saying, like, you're running out of time here.
You don't be wheeling out to the old drug mart at 1158 here. Well, no, what we can tell you is if, like, if,
what's in there? Some red hearts. Loeb with you. No, this is what I got, because I love popcorn,
so I got a popcorn bucket. Oh, yeah. It's a nice hat.
It's nice.
You put your weed in there.
Venanova.com.
Here's the thing.
If you go to the website and put in Barber,
you're not going to have that stuff delivered today.
It's just not.
You've waited too long.
Unlike Pinder, you didn't get ahead of it.
What you can do, though,
if you're like,
get after it.
Again, it's a podcast.
I don't know when you're listening to this,
but if you happen to be listening
within a few hours of this.
Vena Nova, second level, Stephen Avenue Place,
Calgary's only lab-grown diamond specialists.
That's all they do, and they are the best at it.
The savings are out of this world,
upwards of 80% in some cases.
Earrings, necklaces, bracelets, rings, it's everything.
Go and see Justin, go and see the staff.
They'll walk you through what it looks like.
either saving money or you're getting way more bang for your buck.
It makes no sense to do anything other than go and see them at Vinova.
Can I offer one of the,
a little piece of advice as well?
It may be almost more important to go to Vena Nova.
If you're listening to this in the future and you forgot.
If it's not today.
See, you could pull that off.
Babe, have I got a day planned for you?
And you'll only know about Vena Nova.
We're going out for dinner.
Really?
Where?
It's a surprise.
You're going to love it.
It's your favorite food.
And then we're going to go and do this.
And we're going to Vina Nova.
All right.
So you can save this.
Justin will help you save this.
Look at that.
You throw that on somebody's finger.
Made the day.
You know what happened.
Valentine's Day.
That's what I'm talking about.
Don't get clipped by the overpass.
Get your butt down there.
That's right.
Good people over at Viena Nova.
Great supporters of Barn Burner.
Good to have them on board.
Save a lot of Christmases.
Gotta be honest.
Yeah.
Our boys.
What do you have?
It's not Ask Rett, but I do wonder.
If people are wondering what to do for their Valentine's Day, Redd, maybe a last minute, if not Vianova, what's a last minute, quick little, can you swing by the dollar store and get something?
Like a card or what?
Dude, I say it every year.
your pen out get your pen out rub your forehead put some damp gd thought into it and make a love
note it's a love letter you did it in high school you did it in grade eight you can do it again
he's an old poet this guy's a hi he is he's a romantic don't be fooled have you ever serenaded
the shoveler because i know you do love to sing yeah there's stand out
outside the window.
You are so beautiful.
I had a girlfriend in Saskatoon once,
and I actually did put,
I broke into the garage and got the ladder out
to the second story window and with the rose and
in my teeth.
Yeah, yeah.
In my teeth.
Yeah.
This guy.
And then you did the,
and then he took it down to the next block.
Hey, kick, kick, kick, kick, kick, kick.
Jesus.
I spit a shit face.
And I was like, whoof.
I'm up here pretty high.
Yes.
Babe.
Good fault.
I know.
Your windows higher than Jennifer.
Oh,
hey.
Let's do some Valentine's Day betway bets.
And we'll call it today, shall we?
You feel it?
You're feeling it?
You were kind of sniffing around something.
I'll show you what I got for tonight.
Double down last night.
Had the Tyler Tofoli anytime goal.
Had the Kachuk point didn't get the flames victory, however.
Tonight, Jets are hosting the Krakken.
The Jets have one of the best home records in the league.
The Krakken, this is their last game of a road trip.
They lost in Long Island, lost to the Devils,
lost to the Rangers, lost to Philadelphia.
Now it's Winnipeg before heading home.
They're gassed.
Coming back to Earth here.
Regulation victory.
The Krakken have crashed.
Plus 105.
Cracked.
For the jet.
at home.
And then this one,
the Panthers at the Blues.
Matthew Cachuk loves St. Louis, doesn't he?
Oh, you're right.
He's going to be a loving.
Love St.
And they're already selling guys.
And the Bruins are at the stars.
Oh.
A Chucky goal, a Pasternak goal,
plus 240.
I think this is,
uh,
yeah,
pass is ready.
Yeah.
They did that big,
long break.
They only played one game last week.
He's already,
should be sobered up by now.
Ooh.
Ready to roll.
Yeah, love it.
I'm going to,
That's some overlap there.
I'm going to start in Bruins and Stars as well.
I don't know that you're going to find a Boston puck line at plus 200 the rest of the year.
They might not do it, but that's a big number.
Boston throwing an empty netter past it?
Sure.
Plus 200 for the puck line, which is Boston minus one and a half.
Also, it's Valentine's Day.
And we're all as Calgarians in love with Braden Point.
What a wonderful hockey player, human, Calgary.
he is.
Two point night against the abs.
They steamrolled the abs five nothing last week.
Aves limping in.
No McCarred.
No Manson.
No Eric Johnson.
That's three defensemen missing.
Still no Landiscaug.
Power play point for point plus 140.
Spit into hot fire.
That's your Betway bets of the day.
Two for two yesterday.
Get it on your phone.
B-19.
Betway.
Betts of the day.
So you got flowers.
Got flowers.
And then I got the card today.
Pour up my heart.
Sure you are.
What kind of flowers?
A nice bouquet with some roses in it.
Like a bouquet or like roses?
It's bouquet with roses, huh?
Tulips.
Like did you order it ahead or you just swing by someplace and grab some?
Nice one with some.
Yeah.
That's what's not judging.
No.
I didn't know how the house smells beautiful.
Hey man.
You're way better than I did.
I can show you what I got.
Crickets.
You got the rest of the day.
Get going.
I'm on the hot.
I'm on the hot.
You are.
I got to get out.
We can be done.
So I can get out of this.
You drop the ball, buddy.
So being a Nova's in Buffalo, he's up the creek here.
So what are you going to do?
You've got to have some sort of plan.
You're not just going to head out to the flea bag shopping mall
there in Buffalo and start wandering around.
Valentine's is not a big day at the Warner above.
Fair enough.
Every day is Valentine's Day when you're married to a romantic, like the Redster.
When you show out, when you're always loving, there's,
Valentine's.
You've lost that.
love and feeling.
Something about that in the pre-show.
Now it's gone.
It's gone.
You had a nice and we'll end.
It's, you know, kind of a sad note, but it's a nice note.
It's heartwarming.
You mentioned last night on Afterburner about you were giving your
cheers for BK. Beaufort liquor.
Your buddy Monty, kind of a nice story there, and we'll end on that today.
Am I supposed to say something?
Yeah.
No, you can tell me the story.
mile uh tomorrow
boy this sounds terrible i think it's the eighth anniversary of my good friend steve's
passing terrible situation his son was born a week after steve montador
but uh yeah steve montador but his son momo last week got out for morrison got out for
his first ever skate hockey practice i got a video of it brought tears to my eyes
and I know that Steve would be so proud of seeing his little guy out there.
So that was,
that's my Valentine's.
That's what I think about on Valentine's Day.
There you go.
We appreciate all you.
I mean, it's not to get all sappy, but you know what?
I better,
I better say this.
I got to say this because my brother-in-law,
his birthday was on Valentine's Day.
So it's a sad day as he's passed away as well.
So it is not overly fat.
festive at our home.
We appreciate you.
But yeah.
Cherish the people you love.
Damn right.
Enjoy your family.
Enjoy those around you.
Have a great day.
We're back tomorrow, everybody.
We'll see you.
Oilers suck.
There you go.
