Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - FlamesNation Barn Burner: Flames Fall 2-1 to the Nashville Predators
Episode Date: January 17, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener Tuesday January 17th, 2023 - Flames Predators Recap- After Burner with Boomer and ...Rhett- Betway Bets of the Day - Pinder Report for Village Honda Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Carlos Scrastins was a ninth round pick.
Carlos Straskins back in 1999.
I believe he's Latvian.
Unbelievable.
Scraskins.
Strasch,
Strasch,
Carlis Strasch,
Skastikans.
Diergensons,
love the lapons.
Darren,
nineth round.
Haydard.
He almost got traded for Carlos.
I almost got traded for Scrastons.
Really?
Hey,
no.
Was he in Anaheim?
Was he in Anaheim?
Yeah.
We lost in the most boring game ever?
Yeah,
Darrell said I was horseshit compared to Scrastins.
And if he could have traded you, on the spot, he did have done it.
So he was like the Luke Shen of back then.
Daryl just fantasizing about having him and not one of his own players.
Something like that.
I guess we're on, hey?
Welcome to the show.
Welcome to the pod as we're on a Tuesday.
The flames are done the road trip.
Yep.
And Rhett said last night on Afterburner that tomorrow's game against Colorado is going to be no good.
Dog shit.
I heard this is a very good after burner last night.
No, it was not.
Enjoyed it.
Not according to retro.
Red said.
It was wonderful.
I said we didn't look good.
Your lamp, your lamp went out.
I was baked and it was just, it was a little, I liked the purple light, and then it went green.
It threw me for a loop.
Yeah.
I started to babble sometimes.
Hey, Red.
If you could not do the dope before the show, the evening show, when you're already fatigued,
That'd be great.
If you could not hammer the gummies in time for the show, that'd be awesome.
You could do them on the show and then it gives them time for him to kick in.
You can't do it before the show.
Then they're going to kick in when you're doing the show.
Yeah, do the cocaine.
Do the Coke before the show.
The show went too long.
How did it go too long?
The show's too long.
37 minutes lasted.
It was there too long.
Record's still 49 from you clowns after that, what, lost in St. Louis?
We've only done a few.
Did we go that long?
What was the first one you did with Red?
Was that St. Louis?
Yeah, it had to be St. Louis.
Yeah.
That was the record.
We did the first one.
But it was a big dub.
So it's the record.
How many have we done?
Five.
No.
Jets?
Yep.
I've done four.
Have you?
Have you?
Have you?
I've done four in a row and you guys did one.
So it's five.
Well, you guys are.
You're going to be on the shelf for a bit because they're at home for a while.
Yeah.
If you haven't caught after Burner, then you're missing
out. It is after every Flames game during the week.
Dean with the lights out.
Yeah, my friggin' light went out.
And Rhett, hi.
That was from last night.
Look at you. It looks like you've had a case of whiskey, never
about a bottle.
Oh, you see, you look ill.
That, you know what? That's cherry picking right there.
Oh, that is cherry picking.
That is an image of you.
Who did that?
No, Alex, you pick.
That is a screenshot.
Holy.
That's how we looked.
I know I thought I was, I had to talk a lot last night,
Pender, just to see if he was a lot.
lie.
Yeah, you know, the good news, though.
Most people were just listening because, you know, it's in their Spotify when they drive.
They're not watching the YouTube.
Yeah, they're not watching.
You can't be doing that.
So I listened this morning.
I didn't watch.
I didn't realize you were doing some sort of Dracula film in your house there.
You know, maybe we need to just, maybe I'll, yeah.
Do we have a makeup?
Do we, is there any, anybody down the hall?
Do we have any wigs or?
I'll tell you what, we've got more lighting in here now.
And I don't know if it's making a difference.
I'm going to have to start wearing sunglasses.
Because I'm almost to the point of squinting.
Your eyes are an issue, too.
With the brightness.
Yeah, the lasers.
You got the bad eyes.
You need,
now you need those ones that do the tinting.
The tinting eye,
the tints automatically.
Doug had those as a stud back in the 70s.
He was cool.
Huh?
Hey.
Can't read.
Can't see too bright.
Blaseer beams.
It's too bright.
It's too cold.
It's too hot.
I'm too tired.
Reddness is a cold.
What are they called transitions.
Isn't that it, Rhett?
Can I say it about Big D?
Have you guys noticed more so than ever?
Does he got cotton mouth?
Like, Dee, what are you doing?
Just talk.
Just talk.
Technology and stuff.
Well, I, you spend all night yelling on the bench because he's always yipping and you.
Oh, come on, boys, here we go.
Let's get her going.
We got this, boys, here we go.
I think he lost his voice.
He was writing something on the boards of McAil last night.
Yeah, to McLean.
Yeah, yeah.
Now, figure and literally, or just literally losing his voice?
Well, I was guessing that he maybe lost his voice.
That's why he didn't do the morning interview.
Did he let Kirk do the morning?
Right.
And then I thought, well, maybe he did lose his voice.
He was at singing that since he's on Saturday night.
It happens, right?
You got no way to hold them.
Who was the old detective that played the dumb guy that actually solved all the crimes?
Oh, it's, uh, shit.
Columbo.
Yeah, Retzel, like he's a Buffalo Colombo.
Look at him putting this together.
Hey?
Hey.
When I was high, that may be lost his wise.
Well, I'm glad we covered the game.
So what else?
Are we done?
How about the NFL?
Tom Brady can beat it.
You guys were worried about missing a good football game.
I know.
You guys
Didn't?
Yeah.
I all kind of like the Bucks a little.
Well, just because...
What did you watch, Binder?
Did you watch the Flames game or the football game?
So I had a banger of a dead.
Workout, kid hockey practice, curling,
and then had to watch it off PVR
until about midnight.
So it was full yesterday.
So I didn't see any of the football.
And I kept seeing the score in the curling place.
And I'm like, yeah, I don't need to be watching this one anyway.
This is not close.
Apparently that Brett Maher had a day though.
Yeah, the four, he was a blue bomber, wouldn't he?
He was a former CFL.
Yeah.
Maybe a red black or a Spartacus.
He was a red black for sure, yeah.
Yeah, good times.
Good times for sure.
Again, after Burner, it was we were leaking enthusiasm and energy.
The game did it to us.
We felt like how the flames felt.
Yeah.
We were just, that's, see right there.
Oh, God.
I'm Michael Backland.
No, you're Jonathan Hugo.
That's who you are there.
Jesus.
Rett's very serious.
Rets Rasmus Anderson on the bench in the final two minutes.
Yeah, I get it.
Oh, shit.
There's 10.
Oh, shit.
Yeah.
No, they were, uh, flames lose two to one.
They are groggy.
I thought, uh, I don't want to be the guy that's always trying to say,
it's not as bad as it looks, but I thought UC Saros was fantastic.
And as Jake,
a March from put together a good game, but there was no question who the better goal he was.
These guys were both Vezna finalists last year.
I know which one you'd rather have right now.
Am I crazy?
Yeah, yesterday in the old game notes.
We're going to harp on Marks from again.
Not harp on Marks.
Not harp on Marks.
No, no, no.
Just saying, you're all over the math.
You know that you're going to need him.
He's going to be good.
Now I don't want him.
He's terrible.
No, that's not what I'm saying.
I was just saying, like, I thought UCSarros might have been the reason that Nashville got two points last
night not like oh the team was definitely better than the flames.
Markstrom gets some bad puck luck and there's a few chances around.
Now listen, they get the two posts late Nashville.
Okay, I get that.
Those are really close.
The one probably would have come back on goal interference because Marsham gets pushed
behind the goal line there outside of the net.
But I thought he was really good.
If he made a couple really nice glove saves where he grazes his glove and just goes over
the net and you're like, oh, these guys can't buy one.
I really like the save.
It was the Manjapani Deke.
It looked like he ran out of real estate.
I think he stuffs that in.
And maybe it's just because I think when some flame fans are watching Saros,
we're like, okay, please show us there can be a six-foot goal tender that can be elite in this league.
Because they have one in the minors who wins goal of the year every goddamn year.
And I think they have to be pretty comparable because if you're not huge,
you have to be very athletic and technically sound.
I think it was great last night.
What did you think of Soros last night?
I thought he played well.
It's a good goalie.
looks like a guy that's competitive and wants to play and is excited and has way more energy than boom last night.
So no.
No rebounds.
Yeah, that's right.
My rebound control was worse for sure.
And to be fair, like you think about that stay lock performance in net.
Like if you put stay lock in there, I think the flames win this thing by a few.
That was sort of my takeaway is that he's sneakily very, very good.
Really.
It felt to me almost another.
I think you're out to lunch.
Another one of those games where.
It was 36 to 37 when it was done.
Where it was just he was square to pox.
I didn't think he had to be.
Good goalies make it look easy.
The two off the glove and the deep can tell you.
It's the typical flames BS, a bunch of shots that aren't hard to stop.
Always make square to pox.
He was fine.
There was a couple redirects in front.
You got the luck.
Flames didn't dominate.
No, I wouldn't say they dominated.
I would guess they would have probably, yeah, like if you switch goalies, I think you win.
That's not a shot at Marks.
I was not a shot at Marks.
It's better right now.
I don't think so.
I think it was just a game and it was what it was.
And I thought the preds were better than the flames early and the flames were a little bit better as the game went on.
But they weren't full of piss and vinegar.
So they really couldn't overcome anything.
And they had an idiot name number four poking people in the eyes.
It's a five on three.
It's so dumb.
You said it on that.
I'm glad you said it on afterburn last night.
Like you just,
what in the hell is going on in your head?
You cannot do that.
That is the game when you're a team that's having a tough time score.
up against a Vezna candidate from last year,
you need to score on that five-on-three.
And when you knock it down to a five-on-three,
when you knock it down to a four-on-three seconds in,
like give your head a shake.
If you didn't watch, it's a five-on-three power play for the flames.
They're down by a goal.
It's the third period.
And it was, what, a minute 42 coming of the two-man advantage.
And for whatever reason,
as the flames are advancing the puck through the neutral zone,
Anderson just kind of takes his stick
and he's trying to, I don't know,
I don't know what he's doing.
What is he doing with the stick?
There's no reason for it to be anywhere and you're there.
The puck's not there.
A guy's going by,
are you trying to get a cheapie in?
That's the only thing you can think of
because there's no reason to move his body that way.
He's a brain fart.
Yeah, he just kind of lifts his stick a little bit
to kind of be cute or whatever
and try and clip the guy in the face.
Why?
There's, like I get you where you're explaining.
I think that's exactly what happened,
but why would you try to do that at this point?
It's five on three.
I don't know.
Anderson,
hates that guy.
He's going to get him
come hell or high water.
That's what Anderson is.
Is that what it is?
I got a chance here.
I'm going to stick him in the face.
I'm just looking at my notes to see.
I don't care what happens,
but he's going to get it in the face
no matter what by the end of this game.
And he got him.
Minute 42,
five on three.
Just because I wanted to know when it was.
Okay.
Yeah, they lose the draw.
Go back to their zone.
And coming back in, he does it.
It's less than 20 seconds into a massive five on three.
Anderson's stupid
stupid
is how I
is how I
And look
Doi what do you hate Anderson
This is a very talented player
That I think's got
An immensely bright future
And as you said last night
Probably over the last two years
Massive gains
He's established himself
As a guy
They can run a power play
In this blue line
He's their number one defenseman
He's their number one defenseman
Eight years
Wow he's gone before that
But yeah
Maturity I guess
Just these
Like a two on one
You're like
Oh you could have played it better
But that's like
it's a, you know, it's, you understand that things are happening quickly.
It's the end of a shift.
You're wiped out.
Maybe you have a brain fart.
But like this is just, there's no good explanation for this at all.
Sutter mentioned it post game.
And before we even got there last night, because we were talking about it, with Michael
Stone and Nikita Zedorov in the final minute of the game, down by one, net empty for the
flames.
And those two guys are out.
Yeah.
Not Rasmus Anderson, not, as you said, Uyghur.
certainly you would think Anderson would be the guy.
And is it sending a message?
Is it, I don't know.
You brought it up, and then Daryl mentioned the bad penalty,
so you know it didn't go unnoticed by the coach.
Had to be some sort of a message to Anderson in a way, don't you think?
So it's late.
So you basically want power play personnel, right?
Go ahead, sorry, right?
No, it's 100% a message.
I was going to ask you, Pinder,
what do you think about his choice of players at the end?
like yeah i listened to it and i and i you try to justify it at the beginning you're like okay well
those two might be you know you're two of your top three scoring threats but zedorov is not a
distributor and you need someone to distribute stone's not a great distributor he's a one-time threat
that's basically it um Rasmus should be out there why is it weger out there why is it weger out there
well if you want to make it if you want to make two pair a new pair you could put Anderson and
weger out there i'd be okay with that but i'd be okay with that but i don't know
I think he probably wants to keep his pairs intact rather than jumble things around.
What the hell for?
You're down.
You get 30.
You got a score.
Probably because one of those pairs was just on the ice.
That's why, right?
But they had taken the time out.
Okay.
So they could.
Right.
Yeah.
They could have.
I'm not, I'm not, I'm arguing with you just to argue, but I am curious.
What I'm supposed to do.
Why it's Zodorov and not Uighur.
Zedorov is a lovely, it's a nice year.
I hate this.
decisions he makes in the ozone he always keeps it too long he doesn't pass it well he wants to do it
all himself he's having a great offensive season that's not the guy you want there and last and last night
was a perfect example when these when darrell sent them out there i'm like ooh that's awkward and
then they got all set up and i'm like well before i'm like well at least stone can rip a few yeah
zedorov has it has perfect opportunity twice to slide it over for a one-timer yeah i'll stick a handle here
at the top of it.
No, they've combined for 11 goals.
Oh my God.
Rasmus has six, Zadorov has seven,
Stone has four.
But I still think if Rasmus is having a good game,
he's got to be out there.
And honestly, I don't really care
whether it's Uyghur or Hanifin next to him.
You want someone that knows Rasmus well
and they can move the puck.
You don't need another shooter.
You need someone that can help create a chance.
Well, it just, it feeds into my narrative
that Uyghurs the shits.
It's not as good as you guys said.
the shits. I was going to
I was going to do the buyer sell that
Zadorov is better than Weger right now.
It is pretty different roles.
Offensively certainly is, but I don't think
that I trust him defending
He's more impactful.
I don't know that I trust Weger a ton
either with what we've seen.
Like I said, it's the T.J. Brody.
You're going to remember the bad ones because they're on highlight
reels. But all night long,
he plays tougher competition, bigger minutes,
and has more D-Zone starts, I'd wager.
And with a better partner.
100%, but that's what that pair is, right?
They've decided those are going to be your shutdown,
defensive pairing, which,
oh, Weger and Tanniv.
Tenev's your best defender.
Wiger's your second best defender.
Well, it's weird how it's,
and I don't know, this is just based off last night's game.
If you look at the penalty kills,
Zadorov had two minutes and 40 seconds of penalty kill time,
Weiger had eight seconds.
Yeah, I don't, I can't speak to, I don't know.
Would you not use your defensive guys on the penalty kill?
I don't know.
It depends where penalties are taken and where guys are at.
I'm not really speaking about his,
I'm talking about it's five on five play here.
That's all.
It's a two and a half minute swing.
I just, I would think that.
I think there's certain guys that are great penalty killers.
It doesn't mean they're better defensively five on five.
I think there's two different things.
I like Zadora of big blocking shots, long reach.
I think we're,
could be a very good penalty killer,
but I don't know that that's his...
I think he's a five-on-five defender.
I don't know what he is yet.
He's not a $6.5 million.
He's a $6.5 million defenseman, Dean.
Well, not yet.
Next year. Starting next year.
He's a 3.25.
He's a great deal this year, right?
You try to dump him for...
You try to trade him now and see if you...
No, there's a lot of models that really like him.
I think it's not the stuff that necessarily you watch
and say, wow, what a play?
Are they good looking models?
Are they attractive people?
It's, it's early Michael Backlin stuff.
It's why isn't he getting scored on as much as I think he is.
I'm a model.
You know what I mean?
Okay, I'll do, I will, I will, this is my promise to you.
I will message multiple people in front offices and ask for,
just say the name, not for him, but anyway, what are your thoughts on this player?
And I will bring in, because I get what, what you see and what you're watching.
And when I'm watching on you, what I'm seeing,
what I'm seeing, but how many times out of 10
does he make a play that doesn't allow them to gain the zone that doesn't
while he just is in the right spot? It's like backland defender. Why does he never
leave his feet diving? Because he's in position. And I know
Rett's exaggerating to have some fun with it. I
like the player in Florida. I go back, you look at the train, I just felt
under the circumstances you did, you did very well. Whether or not they should
have signed both those guys, I guess is open for debate. It just felt
like that was something that you should probably do.
If you could sign him, you sign him.
And when I say, sorry, I'll just finish my point because I do want you to go.
I, I like him, but I'm not, I'm not really disappointed, but I'm not, there's the, that's, there's the guy.
Brody finally.
It just feels, Brody felt more.
I noticed him in a negative way more.
But, and I also thought his skating was better.
I don't know where I'm, I don't know what he is.
Is he a two?
Is he a five?
He's the second pair shutdown defenseman right now.
On this team he is?
What is he in the Western conference?
What is he in the league?
I don't really know.
I mean, I'd ask what Jonathan Hubertoe always with a different coach and a different line made.
I mean, those two guys have had a tough go adjusting.
I think Huberto is the bigger flop by a mile.
You're still getting a lot of minutes out of Uighur.
It's not like he's getting buried five on five.
No, I'm just saying like it's there's a level of like he didn't meet what we thought he was.
But in that same deal, it's like goodness gracious.
You had a guy at 115 points that you don't even notice anymore.
Yeah, well, you've noticed him negatively almost.
Okay, but anyway, I, and I am, we're poking fun at Weger and I think he's been
solid.
He's servicable.
He was portrayed.
He was portrayed as this, a can't miss one two guy.
And I'm like, I don't think he's that.
Anyway, whatever.
The other, when Frank was on yesterday was it?
That's right.
Or Monday?
Yesterday was Monday.
And he was on yesterday Monday?
Correct.
Beautiful.
So Monday.
You're right on all.
Two shows yesterday. I know you're confused.
Yeah, nailed it.
It's really got me confused.
But we praised, the point I'm making is we praised the Carolina hurricanes and how they operate.
And they're kind of the poster child.
They got a great coach.
They're not afraid to dump guys.
They let guys leave.
We don't sink money into long-term contracts.
We pick and we choose.
I don't know what their philosophy is.
I don't know how they do it, but they're doing a damn good job.
And everyone said the same thing.
Yet, when I said that's what the Flames approach should have been, this offseason, I'm an idiot.
No one said you're an idiot.
It was just that you didn't say it a year before with Johnny.
That's all.
It was a little picky choosy.
Johnny went in his UFA year and you didn't say anything about it about trading them.
Why are you saying don't sign these guys or do sign these guys?
Like it's, you can't pick both sides of the fence.
If you shouldn't re-sign them yet.
You didn't trade Johnny at that point because you didn't know what Johnny was going.
going to be like we we said think it's conversation about johnny no no but it was the context of
you're saying it's a the last year of a ufa that's what weger and you were never going to be no no my
it wasn't just last year of a ufay it was that we don't know what this effing team's going to be
with all these changes we don't correct you guys oh they're they're they're proven entities
they're going to be we just said all three of us what's weger i don't know what is he tell me what he is
Well, his second pair of shutdown defenseman right now, yes.
That you locked in for a long, long term and isn't, like, is it paying huge dividends?
Huberto, oh, he's a 115 point winger.
He's not bad.
He's not.
He's playing for Darrell Sutter.
He's not a 115 point winger, right?
It's playing with a luch.
Anyway, you're crazy, right?
Well, you got to sign these guys.
You can't allow them to walk.
They're going to be, go into it like Carolina and F and trade them at the trade deadline if they're not working out.
Now you're locked.
in how is how is jonathan huberto ever going to meet expectation here needs a new coach and a new
line made at a minimum but even then probably going to be tough that chance fat effing chance that's
happening who just got a three-year deal that starts next year correct i don't know these aren't
public but that would be the assumption right if he had this was his last year and you got an
extension you could shred it you could extend it i don't they never will say publicly what term is
that seems to be the word, though.
I get your point is more along the lines.
Yeah, you get my point, right?
Like, we praise Carolina for not locking it,
walking away from Norris trophy candidates.
No, but they didn't.
They didn't find ways.
They didn't lose a guy for nothing, right?
Like, that was the difference is that in the context of losing Johnny
getting nothing back,
were you going to go through that?
It's not just about Johnny.
No, I know, but I don't think you could.
They didn't trade Dougie Hamilton.
They kept him.
And that's,
that's true.
And we talked yesterday about DeAngelo.
They turned him into assets, right?
No, that's fair.
It's one move.
I mean, they also locked in on Kotkinemi, which looks idiotic.
But I think generally that's the smartest two or three front offices in the league, right?
And Kotkinemi is at least how old?
Well, he's like a third or fourth line are making way too much money now.
But yeah, he's probably in his mid-20s.
Mid-20s.
He started young.
I always come back because I don't, the only issue that I have with,
with your side on that red is you trade him at the deadline.
If you're in a playoff spot,
you're not trading your best players.
You're just,
you're not going to trade.
If you're in a playoff spot and Huberto is a part of your top set,
you're not trading them.
Just like you didn't trade Johnny last year.
You couldn't.
Like you weren't screaming,
trade Johnny at the deadline, right?
Like it's,
so this is asset management.
They were in first fucking place, Ryan.
I know.
And we didn't know they were going to be.
No shit.
I'm not saying.
It's called you,
you guys,
you cherry pick shit.
You either are,
Brett Seabrook
you either say
F off thanks you were great
or you sign him and you have to suffer for it
where Carolina's not and I'm
saying that the tough
decisions
that's that what the tough decision was not
to sign
Huberd O and Wigger and see what they
that was the easy play
offer them all the money and cadre
same thing offer them a bunch of money
and hope the shit sticks on the wall
well the tough play would be
let's wait and see what happens and work and for guys that do it for guys that play hardball
and don't lock in these guys that turns out better for the organization sometimes my opinion
i hey look it was there was a fork in the road they could have gone get young assets and picks and
they could have gone get established vets we know what they picked we also know the owners
enthusiasm forever rebuilding so i mean i can't say we're surprised they went that way i think
the Uighur deal is fine. I think he could slide into
Hannafin's slot on a top pair at any
moment and be perfectly adequate. I think a six
is a million dollar defenseman is not
an overpay for what he brings moving forward.
I think the UBerode deal is going to be an
absolute albatross. It's a boat anchor.
The one thing you won't
get out of Hubert, oh, obviously,
is what you saw to Goddrow, what you're seeing out of
Pastornak, and I'm not, is a guy in his
contract year. Is a guy who's a
UFA at the season's end, his lame duck year in his contract, playing his balls off to try and get paid in the summer.
Yeah, and I don't think he's fat and sassy and lazy.
I think it's almost like he's trying to justify this contract.
It's not like a lack of motivation, right?
It's subconscious, Ryan.
No, I know.
I think it is too, for sure.
100%.
It's not, it just people wonder why.
And I'll tell you, the years I played for a contract, I played fucking better.
So then let's pretend he is having a career.
It's in the F word.
Let's say they don't have them under.
contract. He's making $5.9 million and he's second in league scoring like he was last year. And
if he is, the flames are probably in second or first in the division. Now what are you doing?
Yeah. Now what are you doing? You sign him? I don't think he gets a lot more. I mean,
if he looks like if he's second in league scoring, he's probably looking at $12 million, right? Maybe a little
less. Okay. Well, that's a big what if. Well, it's saying if he was having last year. And you know what,
right and you here and you know what i would rather pay him a million dollars more
knowing he was fitting in and doing that and it's going to be a top five score in a league with
this organization fine make 12 i'd rather make 12 knowing it was over 100 points a year yeah
than 10 and a half and i don't know what the fuck i'm going to do with them and i'm not saying
you're wrong i'm just like i'm playing out that angle to say okay like if that happens then what
does it look like because if he is having a great year heading into uFA now it's like holy fuck
Are they going to be able to sign them?
What if he doesn't want to play here?
Like, he could go anywhere.
He's going to get this money from anyone.
Or it's like it's first place.
We got to sign him.
We can't trade them.
We're in first place.
Just like you said about Johnny last year.
They're in first.
How can you trade them?
And to your point, Red, it takes, it takes balls.
It takes bravery.
It takes whatever it takes, whatever you want to call it.
But you can't discount or forget what happened here,
where you had two guys, essentially, your two star players leave
because they didn't want to be in Calgary, Canada, here,
the West, whatever, right?
You were going to be facing
this same song and dance again.
I'll give you a break on it,
but that's baloney that you can't figure that out.
You better know your players better than that.
Or you were lied to and you better shit-talked them
all around the league.
And be honest with us and say,
they absolutely screwed us.
Johnny Goddrow said he was going to sign with us,
and he totally effed us.
And in no other words,
just like that, be honest about it, because that leaves us to guess what happened.
How can you mismanage this?
Giardano, why didn't you trade them?
It's not just those two guys.
I agree.
I think the Flames could have had Johnny before the season at a really low number, and it was,
they didn't do it, and they didn't trade him.
That's not great asset management either, but it was a tough off season to do either,
but still, you went in, eyes open knowing this was an option to happen,
and that he's a guy from a part of the world.
He likes being in it.
And who surprised the Kachucks, like,
not after Johnny left.
If Johnny stayed, you could squint and see maybe it could work.
But as soon as Johnny was gone, it's like, well, what's he hanging around for?
Like, I get it now.
Chuck's a superstar, dude.
And they're not even in the playoffs.
That's the crazy part.
It's not like, wow, Florida host Calgary.
Both teams are like, can we do this back?
Florida yesterday.
Maybe not do it back for Florida, but it's like, yeah.
The only issue I have with what Kachuk's doing in Florida is why isn't the team doing better.
Yeah.
And I don't think it's his.
fall that decor is really thin they're missing weager more than the flames are loving we're
because they're deeper here we could be a top pair there and you're right and that's the thing for me
with weger is i i get all pissy about it and start yippin because i because we have to talk about
things but i think he's a defenseman and he's an nchel defenseman and i don't think he's a top two
i think he's a three four and he's a solid defenseman i just feel like it was and i'm clueless because
I'm stupid and old, but six and a half to me is, holy jeesh, that's, but it may be in today's
world, that's what a three, four gets. That's what you get. And I think you're going to remember the
framework of these deals being signed was that the GM and the agents and everyone on earth knew
the cap is about to take a huge jump, whether that's in one or two summers. This deal, the year two
of it, the cap might be 95 million, right? That wouldn't be crazy. Yeah, but still don't, it's easy to
say that, but why the hell would you want to piss away a million dollars here and there?
I'm not saying it's piss away.
I think it's what you needed to do to get it done because the market is changed.
That's all.
What we think is a four and a half million dollar player is now six and a quarter because
the cap's $12 million higher.
I also sort of thought, Kachuk, if you really wanted to make some money, you'd go three
years at like 10 a year and jump back in when the cap's 100.
He just wanted out.
And that's his point.
You want to go to Florida?
And when you throw a pile of money on the table, guys are going to take.
take it in this league. Like even Matt Boldy.
Like, oh, like Hubert. Why wouldn't you sign three years and then jump in at 10 plus a year?
But these guys are, they're told and rightfully so that they're one hit injury away from
their career being over. Take the money when you can get it. It's an unfortunate scenario for
sure. If they don't start playing better, yeah. Like it's certainly, it's, I don't see how that
Hubert O deal is ever going to give you any value. It's going to be a drag, not value.
But God, if he could just get close to providing it at sea level.
But he's not going to, if he's going to play with Luchichich.
And I really think for all, we're squinting and trying to say,
look, is Darrell maybe smarter than we think?
Daryl's fucking the dog on that second line.
You know what, though, Ryan, it hasn't been all year.
He's played 42 games.
He has eight goals.
He's on the power play.
No, I get it.
I just think it's not going to happen there.
With Luch on the other side, it's not.
That's all I'm saying.
Yeah.
I'm not saying he's a 90 point guy if it's someone else,
but it's like you have a point per game 21-year-old
doing things in the A that has never happened in your organization
for someone of that age.
You're talking about a top organizational prospect,
a first rounder,
and a guy who anyone with any comparable numbers at the same level
is in the NHL or has had a long run in the NHL.
They didn't even put him in.
Like, that's a guy you need to see next to skill.
They didn't give them effing exhibition games, did they?
And so again,
but I feel like he was on the other list and not even playing.
I am fearful that there's a large disconnect between the coach and GM,
and I think looking at Jacob Peltje's usage,
it would be hard to suggest there isn't.
Why would the GM call him up for a road trip with five games,
one of which is a playoff team and he doesn't get in?
One playoff team on that whole fucking road trip, and he didn't get in.
Last place team in the league, an afternoon game,
two games in the same city,
he didn't get in one.
Well, they would tell you, it's in case of injury.
Well, I know why they carry extra bodies,
but you could have had Zahorna up
if you're not going to give this guy a game.
And I don't think this is a GM problem.
I think this kid should be playing,
and I think he deserved the call-up.
And I think in 31 other organizations, he's playing.
This is a Daryl issue with kids.
It's not new, right?
It's not.
You go back,
to when he was here the first time.
And everyone remembers 04,
but remember there were times even after that
where he was no longer the coach
and he was the GM and how he kind of ran the team.
The draft and development was dog shit when he was the GM.
It was absolutely awful.
He does not nurture young talent well.
And it's hard to build a case that he does.
Any guys that are undersized or young on the team, he inherited.
Like, Rizitschka's not young.
He was drafted a long time ago and he's a big 6-foot-3,
220-pounder.
Darrell is no problem putting that kind of guy in,
even though he scratched him nine of the first 10.
But it's like if you can't get a point per game first rounder
in the American League who's young into your lineup,
like what does Jacob Pelley have to do to get in?
I don't understand.
I don't either, but I don't have two cup rings.
I'm not, no, but like I don't.
Are there other coaches that would be doing this way?
I can't think of one.
But the problem is that not a problem.
I made an agreement with you and I love Daryl because Daryl was great to me and he
he helped my career and blah blah blah but also we've complained about how they're doing
and they've put up a bunch of points and like it was a five game point streak right like so
his philosophy to us isn't right how can't you get young guys in there blah blah blah
and then it turns out there in the playoffs and they're they're actually doing a
Okay.
Yeah, but the expectation wasn't get in or be a wild car.
The expectation was home ice here.
So he has undershot expectations this year with this crew and how he's used them.
I think he's used his second best goalie too often,
and he hasn't used skill when it's been available to him coming up from the American League.
Totally agree.
So I'm not here to say Daryl saved it with his genius coaching.
I think there's a system that works.
I think there's a style of play that works.
I think he's mismanaged the roster significantly at the point where they should be in a home ice
slot if they'd use their better goalie and put their skilled players in better spots,
use their young guys.
Like you were saying it.
Why can't we see Lindholm and Eubertoe a little more?
Hasn't been a long run with those two?
Why can't we see Lindholm with a little bit of effort?
I liked them cross-checking at home last night.
Those two were going out of it.
The road trip, as you said, retro, they get six of a possible 10.
That's more points than games.
Over 500.
That's more points than games play.
Just remember, 500 is 82 points.
that's not going to get you within a country mile of the playoffs.
NHL 500 is fraud games, Ryan, road games.
It's road trip.
I get it.
How's the homestand look at?
Tell me those teams.
They've got a four-game homestand coming up.
We have got tickets to give away for two of those four, courtesy of Mad Rose Pub.
Mad Rose Pub up in Royal Oak, 15 Royal Vista Place every single day.
It's fresh sauce, fresh dough, gourmet pizza.
The food is off the charts and the atmosphere of the people.
It's good times.
It's where you need to be.
Monday game.
against Columbus.
So we got to kind of strategize that one because we don't want to just send somebody on Monday to the game.
It's a big one.
So maybe later this week we'll give those away.
And then on Thursday,
it is Chicago in town to wrap up the four game trip.
We've got tickets for that also.
So lots of winning next week with Mad Rose Pub,
not in the fellas and the ladies and all the good people up at Mad Rose.
John Arthur Tave's last game is a hawk.
Is that right?
In the dome you're saying.
Okay.
That makes more sense.
Oh, okay.
I thought you had some trade news to break.
Yeah.
You broke those two firings last year of head coaches.
We thought maybe you had one there for us.
Hey, there's a possibility.
Isn't that the last game before?
All-Star break, maybe, for Chicago.
But there's still a bit of a gap between games getting back
and the deadline, like about a month.
You know, in some ways, I think we give ourselves too much credit
and in some ways not enough credit.
You know, we're not the coach.
We didn't win Stanley Cox.
What do we know?
Boy, we know a lot.
Do we?
Yep.
Sometimes I wonder.
We know a lot.
We knew about Yuso Parsonin.
We knew.
Who?
Uso Parsonin.
I did what?
Yeah, that's right.
Well, let's go back to yesterday's show.
We were all over it.
We knew.
All right.
We know.
Let's take a look.
It's easy.
Some familiar faces and some young guys down the lineup.
And then also who the fuck is centering their first line.
Well, Ryan, that's Yusopersonin.
Usaparton.
Who?
There he is.
Okay, 13 goals.
All right.
I don't know.
He's got eight points in his last six games.
He got a six game point streak.
He is the hottest, hottest predator forward coming into this game tonight.
And we've just jenksed it.
Congrats on your hat trick, Parson and you prick.
He gets a return pass and there's Parsons right in front.
And he sticks with it.
Look to me like that was a second.
I couldn't find the anytime Parsons goal.
I mean, it's.
We've done a lot of shows over the years.
But our batting average is pretty strong for yipping guys
and then them going out and sticking it right in our shitter.
100%.
You sold parsoning of all guys.
Yeah.
He's looked pretty good.
Did Markham lose his post there?
What are we saying now?
I don't.
I want to ask a goalie person because I'm just like,
boy, you're 6'6 and there's still your pad's not on the post there.
How's that happened?
I mean, he bit on the cross crease pass for sure.
He's going to his wrong.
Yeah.
Awfully early, it felt like.
But again, I'm not a goalie, but I thought the same thing.
Was there somebody really backdoor?
What did he see happening to his right?
I just don't know how you lose your left leg there.
He saw that Mangapani lost the guy and the guy's wide open there and he's got to cover for him.
Because his right pad is in the net as opposed to being on the post.
So Becklin in there too?
I should have had a guy.
I don't know.
Poss.
Yeah, that shouldn't go away.
Well, that's not it.
It's after this, right?
Leave that, keep it going.
But he's all the way.
Yeah.
Look at his lean is.
That just doesn't make sense.
Yeah, like his right pat, I almost wonder if he...
He's deep into the net there.
Yeah.
Look at us.
Second best goalie.
Yeah.
You snuck that in there, by the way.
I did.
No, I like Sarah.
Don't think I didn't notice.
You talked about Daryl starting his second best goalie too much.
He has.
Now, the question is, how does Mark,
Markstrom respond when he goes to Vlittar times this year.
I'm not saying Vlodar's better all year,
but there's been certain significant stretches where it's clear.
I said to Rett last night,
shouldn't Markstrom be off the charts with how much Vlodar is getting played?
Because it was always he's playing too much.
Markstrom getting too many.
You've got to play the backup.
They've been playing the backup and he's no damn better.
Who's the backup?
He's third and starts since the beginning of last year in the whole league.
Do you see that last night in the broadcast?
Hell of a save there off of Granlin, though.
Is it Saros?
That's the thing.
I said it to Retro last night, if Markstrom is playing at his usual clip,
you don't question those.
Well, look, you got to tie your man up in front.
And while it went in off of Zedorov, you got to have your guy.
He does that make that.
But when you're not playing well, then we're, well, did he lose his net?
Or what did he have?
And you noted that he's not getting run support.
He's not spotted six one leads often this year, quite the opposite.
But again, be good in the spring.
No one will care.
And Rhett, tomorrow.
it's Colorado, essentially a road game for the flames.
I know they're at home, but it's still, they traveled after the game.
Road game. They just got home. It may as well be a road game.
Car fans, all Colorado jerseys in there.
They're still in bed. It's not like they've had three days to recoup and then they're playing a home game.
It's the first game back. This is a classic ret player excuse.
So we'll see how it goes.
Their first game back from a one game road trip is fine, but this is...
Listen, you lazy bastard.
True.
I'm just saying it's...
You couldn't survive one night in Nashville without crashing and burning.
So, I mean...
I didn't have to perform.
These guys are in Nashville.
They come all the way home.
Like, cut them some slack.
They got the radiation and the constipation.
Yeah, when I'm saying excuse, I don't mean it's not real.
I just mean that it's when something doesn't go your way and you say there's a reason why.
That's an excuse.
It doesn't mean it's wrong or it's a lie.
It's true.
It's just, yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Colorado last night,
they doubled up Detroit,
6 to 3.
McKinnon, two goals to assists.
Kail McCar, two goals in a helper,
Natchushkin back after missing nine games.
Lackin has been on a heater lately.
No Landisogs still.
Great.
Now they've won back-to-back games,
but did lose seven of eight prior.
Mm-hmm.
And they are looking at this,
like a juicy opportunity to climb up the standings.
They're behind the flames in a quest to get a wild card.
Four points back.
Yeah.
Stupid Kail McCarer is coming home and he's going to just give it to us.
How do you stop that guy?
Walker Durer, that's out.
You run them right through the boards with your call-up.
Who are they playing the other day?
We were watching the video in here,
read a highlight from the Avalanche game.
And it looked like it was at like one and a half speed,
like going just a little bit faster.
Something had glitched out a bit.
What's wrong with this video?
Oh, no, it's just McCar blowing the doors off.
someone.
Jesus.
Like significant,
it felt like it was edited.
It was someone had done some
digital fucking around.
Not fair.
Not fair.
Not fair at all.
And then you get the Tampa Bay Lightning.
They've been the sound like a final three years in a row on Saturday.
And what are they?
They ended the Seattle crack and win streak at eight last night.
That's an impressive victory.
Tampa four in a row.
Vasilevsky's failing it again.
Talk about them.
you don't even talk about
third in their division
just like last year
their third in the division
they went to the Stanley Cup final
yeah
the uh
and that's why I don't really buy in the
darrell
oh got more points than games played
because it's like well you had four non playoff teams
and now you're coming home to the
two Stanley Cup finalists last year and so
four non playoffs team and the one team was so beat the piss
that they could hardly put a lineup together
yeah no like injury
depleted and bad was would be a way
to describe the that road trip
and who they played. Dallas is the best team and it was oddly just an afternoon weird one where
that was their only a significant win. I don't know. That's the one you think they would have lost.
Outdoor dental, Dr. Jay Patel, friend of the show, good guy and is helping you get better sleep.
You see it there on the screen outdoor dental, leaving a healthy footprint on your smile,
dentistry with no needles, no drills, no stress. It, if you're still, if you have been like
me all these years and still going through this archaic technology for your dental work.
Give your head a shake. It's an excellent solution for people. If you just, it's one of those things.
God, I just can't do the dentist. This is how you get around some of that. The Solaya laser treatment,
excellent, one to two minutes, you're relaxed, you're comfortable, it's pain free. It's the laser.
It's no drills, none of that stuff. Plus, we've told you all about the snoring treatments.
two treatments, 15 minutes in length each,
and it works in your soft palate to reduce and eliminate your snoring,
better sleep, more well-rested,
you'll be far more cheery, you know,
you'll be more pleasant to deal with,
the people around you will really appreciate it.
Maybe they'll even chip in for it.
Whatever it costs, it's great value.
Just say, hey, what if I went over and saw Dr. Jay and got my old soft palate,
you guys, might be nice around the office.
I bet you they'll throw some dough in the jar for you.
What about maybe for the shoveler's next birthday?
You get that taken care of it?
What a gift that would be?
Valentine's Day, what better gift than to get your soft palate all?
Yeah.
If that's not love.
Tightened up.
I don't know what says love.
Well, also, it's good for the shoveler because she doesn't have to fly anywhere.
Don't fret.
Is this during after burner last night?
That was after burner last night.
Oh, geez, your eyes a kite!
I'm going through the numbers last night.
It's like, did you realize that Lyos Lindholm had.
Oh, Rhett?
Red.
Are you there?
Oh, I don't drink Coca-Cola.
That's not me.
Yeah, yeah.
I'm not a pop guy.
Outdoor.dental is the website.
Go and check it out.
And do give that some thought.
I mean, we have fun with this show and that, but it's truly.
The technology is, is cutting edge, a state of the art.
And this soft palate treatment is life-changing for a lot of people.
You said if you're not going there, you're going into some caveman to talk to some dude wearing a pelt, like give your head a shake.
Can you give your head a shake?
You were telling me the other day, you got to get your butt in there.
I do need to go.
It's embarrassing, Dr. Jay.
Yeah, you said he already had an appointment.
I get it.
There I am.
That's you.
Yeah, that's me.
You look like Dr. Evil.
Mr. Picklesworth.
Time for the Pinder Report.
Brought to you by Village Honda.
The brand new,
2023 Honda Passport Trail Sport is in stock.
Stop by Village Honda today in the Northwest Auto Mall,
your dealership for life.
It's a busy time.
They're pumped.
vehicles are coming in, everything.
It's all happening at Village Honda.
And that CRV hybrid has everybody talking.
It's like a event coming up there.
Honda's such a popular brand to begin with.
So many people you buy the,
it's why they say dealership for life.
People that, if you're a Honda driver,
you're probably a Honda driver for life because of the reliability and all that.
So go and see.
It's like that prelude we saw there.
I was like it was dived.
Yeah, like an 80.
90?
90. Beautiful.
Crank windows.
Love it.
Takes me back.
Cassette deck.
Sweet.
Let's do the Pinder Report for Village Honda.
All right, boys, we're going to start with the game in Nashville last night,
the finale of the five game road trip.
But why would a lumberjack looking dope like me tell you what happened?
I mean, we could go to two experts that broke it down nearly right after it happened.
Here's the highlights from Afterburner last night.
So the road trip is over.
But I don't think six out of ten is good enough.
Is it possible we're too picky?
Oh, six on ten.
Okay, that's okay.
more wins or less wins or
but it's over they're coming back home
when you get one goal from your offense
I wonder what Jacob Markstrom thinks
Yeah you're our guy Markstrom
Except you had a shitty goal against and you're out
My toast of the night goes to Markstrom
I want to I want to get a Markstrom jersey
This is an impossible team to try and figure out
We're kind of
My light went out, you see that?
Wow, say your bill
On a night like tonight
Of course Parsonson scores
You knew that was going to happen
after we yipped them earlier today.
But those two guys
on the ice at that moment.
It's your 5.6.
I mean,
the glaring one. It's the 5.6.
I really like Raspus Anderson.
I really do. He's a hell of a player.
He's one of the most improved flames over the last two years.
But he does some dumb shit sometimes.
There's brain fog there too.
Maybe they'll get an IV treatment like retrowood
or try some new wave
funky gadgets.
Maybe that'll help him out.
Flames drop the finale of the road trip,
two to one in Nashville.
That's going to do it for Afterburner
here on Flamesnation.ca.
That's some great stuff right there.
Isn't that great?
Wow.
And Rhett, you can see it kicking in
as the highlights progress.
Look at them there.
That face just gets a little more relaxed,
a little deeper into the chair.
I wonder if there's any of those Cheetos left upstairs.
If you miss a little, you miss a lot, Ryan.
It's Afterburner.
Tomorrow night.
Yeah, can't wait.
Can't wait.
We're going to give you a night off, Rhett,
so you can really get high.
Okay.
One of the things I noticed in the game is how amazingly cool
these new boards are.
Aren't they the best?
I just love these digital ads.
And I didn't realize everyone said,
oh,
thanks for Michael Backland, Sweden.
He's not from Sweden.
He was spawned in the boards in Nashville.
Look at this in the left corner.
Isn't this incredible?
That's how Backlands are born.
It's like in a video game when you died,
it's respawn.
There he is.
Cool.
And you know what?
Overwhelmingly, our fans really like the ads.
Thanks, Gare.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Gary did say that the fans are loving the new boards.
Quite the opposite.
Fans really enjoy them.
Cool.
Here's the schedule coming up.
That was the, yeah, it was a five-gamer.
A bit of travel.
Two games in the same city.
Only one playoff team probably in there when we look back at it.
Feels like a bit of a work for the Nashville to get in.
Not seeing it.
with Chicago.
Nope.
St. Lou?
Maybe.
Probably too hurt.
I think it's a little tougher next to you are at home.
Last two Stanley Cup champs.
Late start Wednesday against Colorado.
Nooner, matinee, I should say one p.m.
On Saturday, it's a kid game.
Get any kids?
No.
Take them to the game, you lazy prick.
Get some kids, take them to the game.
Maybe just wheel around a van with some candy.
Get some kids.
Don't I do enough for my kids?
Like, when's it? Now I got to take into a game. Jesus.
Johnny Revenge Night on Monday. That's a later start as well.
And, uh, yeah, I, there's, this will be not a boring one.
Do we get a jersey on the ice?
No. Okay.
We'll talk more. There's lots of time to be ready for that.
Now, what do you suggest that it would be a goodro jersey on the ice?
It would have to be. It wouldn't make any sense for anything else.
Well, but, or, or are you, do you mean a flames jersey with disgust for how the team is playing?
That a fan would, I would think they're probably going to be dialed in.
after games against Colorado and Tampa
and after shitting their pants in Columbus earlier this year?
We don't see a lot of that here.
There's other places in the province where that happens.
Not so much here.
It's true.
It doesn't really rain.
The forecast doesn't call for jerseys often here.
And they'll close it out with a game where they better be better as well.
Not unlike the loss in Columbus,
they had a loss in Chicago.
They had no business having.
One game after that, it's the only back-to-back left for the All-Star break.
And in fact, the last game for the All-Star break.
It's five games, guys.
Five and they're gone for a week.
Yeah, like more than a week.
You're going to cap?
What are you doing?
You want a cabal?
I don't know.
Maybe.
Brett, go to the Keys, Florida Keys?
Where are you going?
Maybe Coldale.
Oh.
Yeah.
That's where I asked.
Nantin?
Candy store.
This time of here.
Go see the airplane museum there.
Maybe Brett can buy and sell another boat.
Sold his boat.
You're without a boat right now, right?
Can I hear you hear us?
I was muted.
Yeah.
I was muted, apparently.
I don't have a boat.
moment. No. Do you need one? I've done enough buying. Not in Buffalo. I've done enough buying and
selling of boats. Well, there's lots of water down here, Pender, some big lakes. I just,
I was trying to imagine you towing something from Calgary to Buffalo. That would probably be
rather expensive. You wind about fueling the boat. How about fueling something to tow a boat across
a continent? Yeah. Buy one there. Use it twice. Sell it. Take a bit of a loss, but hey, come on. You
had it twice. The Nation truck could help you out if you need to tell.
You just let me know, all right? Apparently I do that a lot. Dogs, boats, that sort of thing.
I think that the list is so much longer than that too. I think that there's got to be more on that list.
Yeah. Let's go to Big Slate last yesterday. Martin Luther King Day is we had matinees throughout the day.
A ton of games. The Bruins are very, very good against the Flyers. Now, I want you to see on the right side,
it is now 19 consecutive games, so they've gotten at least a point.
against the Flyers. That's a good run.
But like one team dominating another,
there really is only one gold standard.
And that would be the Calgary Flames and Anaheim Ducks.
The Ducks, 25 games in a row all wins,
nary a loser point.
That's incredible.
It is the gold standard for being someone else's bitch.
It was the ducks rolling the flames for what felt like a decade.
Wow.
Because that's impressed at the Bruns was.
It's not even close.
Like it's, they've got four.
It was more than a day.
Oh, it's, uh, it's amazing.
So good to bring that one back.
That was nice to recall that.
Yeah, thanks. Yeah, you're real good.
Let's move along.
Bruins dominating, by the way, 6-0 victory there over Philly.
Ovechkin with a big hit and, uh, the capitals rallied to get a win over the islanders
who are not happy about this hit on.
JP, J.G.
Uh, J-G, J-G, J-J-J-Pajon, Jean-G, Jean-G, Jean-G, Jean-G.
He's a much larger man hitting a smaller man.
It's also a bit.
Oh, geez.
He's on rubber legs straight there.
And they're saying, nope, there's no infraction on the play.
And I get it.
Like, that's a pretty healthy four strides.
And, oh, he just barely leaves his feet.
I understand the frustration if that's a player in your team.
What's the intent?
He's trying to hit Peugeot.
What's the intent?
Where's the principal point of contact?
Is he targeting shoulder into Peugeot's shoulder?
What do we think, Brett?
I mean, I know that's not anything to talk about 10 years ago, but it's a different world now.
Say it again?
I'm pretty sure Pajot would try and do it to him as well.
So, I mean, not that.
He was a great senator.
I think I'm okay with it.
I think I'm okay with it.
I mean.
Yeah.
It's unfortunate, but it's a violent sport.
We can't just say you can't, someone got hurt something,
that wrong happened.
No, it's a high-speed sport with collisions.
I thought, you know, it's not from behind, I don't think.
You could have called a charge if you really wanted to.
I don't care that much.
No.
Yeah.
If it's a two-minute charge, I'm not going to be outraged,
but I don't think it's a.
And the whole he left his feet, like his toes are still dragging on the ice
practically.
It's not really that.
It's his big man hitting.
small man in contact sport and and on well and even if i think kids get hit so little nowadays they
don't expect it and they don't i mean it looks like he's trying to protect himself a little bit but
you got to remember well vetchkins a flippant tank yeah he's a 240 pound of there yeah he's
it's going to hurt whether you try to protect yourself or not if you know that was heavy hitting wait
So you hear the knowledge Jim Rutherford dropped in Vancouver yesterday as part of a press conference that Canucks held trying to put out all the fires. All the fires. The latest fire, of course, was the Pearson hand injury botching that the PA stepped done on. Here's Drancer in Vancouver on what Jim Rutherford said regarding Horvatt. I believe we've taken our best shot. With the offer we have on the table, it's Fair Valley for what he's done up to this year.
We're in a pickle here. He's at a career run and he's looking for his money. So when your captain has a career year, you're in a pickle. That tells me there's really big issues elsewhere. We're willing to pay him for everything he's done to this point. Just not this year. It wasn't as good as this year. You know the stuff that's less important than this year? That's what we're ready to pay him. Does that work on the stock market? I'm willing to buy this. Can I buy the stock at last year's prices? Before the big increase. Yeah. No, no, no. That was this.
summer when you had negotiations with the Bo Horvette that you could have got that number. That's
when you get that number. The stock is worth way more now. I don't want to pay that now. Right,
but he's going to get that from somebody else for the stock this summer. So you're in a pickle.
Well, I'm in a pickle then. Yeah, okay. Speaking of pickles, we'll keep going. Um, he was asked about
why they're not maybe trying to tank to get for Bedard or something along those lines. Yeah,
here it is. Some people have suggested tanking the season to set yourself up as best as possible for the future.
I thought we were close to tanking. We're pretty close to the bottom.
him. You just signed
fucking J.T. Miller to an eight year deal.
What are you talking about your tanking?
You trade that guy for picks, you knob.
That's how you tank.
Jeez.
Personal. You're making it very personal.
I almost feel bad for Rutherford
because I actually think he's trying to be
upfront and honest. He was given
high grades for honesty and
transparency, just not for
being smart. See, that's what happens.
We want people to come out and say
things. Then they do, and then you crush them and call them stupid and a knob. Well, you don't say,
I thought we were taking the moment you extend a guy that is a problem in the room that Tampa
wanted to do a part of and that you know that deal is going to hamstrue. That's a win now move.
That's not a tank move. You don't sign J.T. Miller. It's hard to pass the Pender test. It's very hard.
Well, you tell me, how does that front office over the last 10 years rank? Is that a good one or a bad one?
He's inherited a pile of shit. I get it. Jimbo.
was there for a while.
I think they've done their best
to have the cannons pointed at them.
Correct.
Fire away, Pinder.
And fire away.
Wyatt here.
Connect's press conference today followed the Groundhog Day plan efficiently.
We're now at the part where they talk about a retool,
not a rebuild.
They're enacting the Sven Berci protocol of acquiring mid-to-20-year-old players,
not draft picks.
That was a Jim Benning special.
Beautiful stuff.
And finally, the best analogy,
the Canucks are at that stage of the life cycle of a car
where you either replace it or drive it into the ground.
Instead, they're taking out a second mortgage
to put in random new parts
and trying to win F1 with it.
Yeah, I like that.
That's a great analogy.
If analogy is the right word.
Now, in fair, he did come out and say that there are going to be changes
and some aren't going to be popular.
They're not talking about blowing it up though.
It's like, oh, it's major surgery.
It's a ritual.
Cool.
They have screwed this up Royal.
Like, it's, enjoy it.
To the point their captain's going to walk away and Pedersen's going to leave
his first opportunity.
And when Demko's deals up, what's he going to get the guy out of there?
And what's interesting about it is there's a lot of teams who have been crap, right?
There's still some players on that team.
Like I, I like him.
I take him.
They can score.
They've got some guys that you would definitely want on your team.
Oh, yeah.
But there's, yeah.
There's that thing called defense.
And the whole thing with Boudreau,
and we talked about it with Frank yesterday.
Bad luck.
He was asked,
why don't you just let Bruce go?
If you haven't seen it,
press conference is cool.
It's kind of a surreal press conference.
It really is.
I don't know if, like you say,
you give him credit,
I guess he stood in there.
I mean,
if you're going to make all those bad decisions
to answer as honestly as he did,
it's quite impressive.
Yeah, they're there.
Look at that.
Look, we just need a couple new parts
and come for you.
Red Bull. That was Rhett getting ready for the show last night.
Just banged up.
Good news for Oilers fans.
Evander Kane looks like he'll make his return to the lineup tonight after that scary
wrist laceration he suffered earlier in the season.
There's Frank breaking the old news there. It was November 8th.
Two months and change. That's not bad.
10 weeks.
Frank should learn out of print. He's worse than I am.
Print.
To be cap complaint.
Compliant?
Yeah, you spell compliant, wrong.
Kind of a writer's
complaint, yeah.
Anything like in charge of the
hockey writers association?
Come on, Frank.
Clean it up for Christ.
Yeah, that's a foul right there, Frank.
That's a shot at the bar in Jasper.
You want to be on,
you want to be on our team?
Get your grammar straight.
One player returning to health,
another that unfortunately
is back into the injury stable.
He has been for a while,
but officially now into LTIR,
Sean Monaghan,
and we haven't seen for a long time.
No one can be surprised, but you certainly can be sorry for the young man.
A tough run.
Yeah, he's just not going to, right?
It ain't happening.
The body's quitting.
Super Wild Card weekend closed last night with a Monday nighter as Tampa hosted the Dallas Cowboys,
which bandwagon would be disappointed.
America's team were the Tom Brady fans.
He's collected along the way.
It wasn't close, although there was a notion early on that,
oh, you might regret these missed point afters.
Brett Maher was 0 for three before this attempt.
Watch Manning's face.
Now remember Peyton called Mike Van der Jad, an idiot kicker?
Just watch.
That's good.
He was hoping he was hoping he could kick it from the two-yard line
instead of having to go all the way back.
Oh my goodness.
Look at Peyton.
just got the shanks a little bit
I don't know
now we got lots of analysts up there
in the owner's box right
we got that
Peyton cannot stand it
remember he took Mike Vanderjad
to the woodshed
that idiot kicker open his mouth
like he's going bananas here
you got one job to do
that is Peyton biting his tongue
he's throwing the squeezing
that idiot kicker clip
is an all-timer
it's really good
I haven't seen that one in a long time.
That is an all-timer.
A drunk idiot kicker.
I'm glad I could bring that back to the...
Yeah, that's good.
The front of the frontal lobe.
Yeah, appreciate that.
So the Cowboys have escorted the Bucks out of the playoffs.
Well, you could say that, but tweeting it would be much funer if you've attached a fun video too.
So that, oh, remember Tom after...
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
Out you go.
And interestingly, yeah, here's the...
Tom, how on you?
I still can't believe they threw that Lombardi trophy, boat to boat.
Like, oh, sure.
Oof, that one scared me.
I don't know why.
I'm sure they'd have a scuba crew there in moments, but still.
And finally, this is a little lot.
Tom gets a little misty here saying goodbye to not his teammates,
not a coach, the media.
Have a listen.
Is this goodbye forever?
I just want to say thank you guys for everything this year.
I really appreciate all your effort.
It's hard for you guys too. It's hard for us players to make it through and you guys got a tough job and I appreciate all that you guys do to cover us and everyone who watches and the big fan of the sport. We're very grateful for everyone's support and hopefully, you know, I love this organization. It's a great place to be and thank you everybody for welcoming me. All you regulars and just very grateful for the respect and I hope I gave the same thing back to you guys. So thank you very much. Appreciate it.
That's how an athlete should treat the media.
And a stupid media question.
That's the respect that we deserve.
In the trenches, Rhett.
The media in the trenches, that's the respect that is there.
Now you call up Jimbo and ask if that's what you've earned.
The respect.
Hello.
Hello?
Is this my door dash?
We'll move on.
Jay's, I've got major renovations to,
Rogers Center in Toronto.
Let's have a look.
This could be a new looking out.
It looks like there's new spots to party.
They've completely knocked out the 300-500s and redesigned everything.
Scroll through some of these images here.
That one's a little boring.
Let's get to the next.
There's a new fence.
No one can be able to catch over that.
And there's a big party platform on top.
Hot day, roof's open.
God, you love the blue jeans.
Damn, these beers are expensive, but I love this.
It's January and we're looking at construction.
Oh, yeah.
I can't wait.
Get rid of that dump.
Now they're renovating the dump.
It's Canada's team.
Surely to Christ, we could make something nice.
They're spending a lot trying to fix it up for you, Rhett,
so we can go out there and get blasted on that little patio just right there in left field.
And finally, gentlemen, we often don't shine enough light on the amazing athletes that are just under the professional level in our very backyard.
The Okotoketocs Oilers had a little fun with a video camera at some sort of.
sort of a breakaway skills competition,
have a look at this breakaway move,
which I think immediately could be vaulted
into like a top 10 of all time type category.
Tyler Dice.
That's true.
Yeah, look at this.
Oh.
So that's a double.
Great effort goalie.
That's a 720.
And where's it coming out?
Fing, top shelf.
That angle gives it a little more credit
because the goal is hooped.
Didn't look like it on the first one.
This is something.
Shout out.
He starts spinning.
I would charge out and bump them.
Well, you could call and give some tips.
Yeah.
Goalie didn't play it very well for sure.
He's trying.
Anyway, that's pretty special stuff.
Very nice.
And for all of you listening,
you're welcome for the last 30 seconds.
It's the 720 with the puck cradled like it's lacrosse,
spinning around like a top.
They got that.
Releasing it top corner.
It's almost perfect, if not perfect.
Dumbass kids, they got this new wax.
The puck sticks.
Like you could pick it.
You just barely touch it.
It sticks to your twig.
We got torts on the show today.
It's unbelievable.
Rune in the game these kids with their high skill goals.
These damn Michigans.
Back when I was young,
you had to bank it in off someone's face and they'd be hurt for a year.
That's the Pender Report.
That guy should try it in a game, the 720 top shelf.
He's a very talented kid.
It works in a game.
Why would be like talented kids?
I've watched them.
You guys have never been to.
You've never been in the rink in Oakland.
That's Sam Huck.
I've seen that kid play.
You can huck right off of that take.
Breath.
Get ready for the new
2023 Honda
Accord,
this all new
generation
redefined sophistication.
Got your sleek
styling available
features like
Google built in
and a spirited
hybrid power train.
Later this month,
swing by and you
will be behind the wheel.
They've got the
Honda Passport Trail
Sport.
They've got the CRV hybrid.
It is all going on.
At Village Honda,
Northwest Auto Mall
and online,
VillageHonda.com,
your dealership for life.
They've got the little QR code
on your screen there.
If you're watching
on YouTube,
You've got to get a bit.
And then you'll go right to the thing.
You'll go right to the thing.
Now, I've been kind of teeing this up the last few days.
Teaseen.
Very happy to have Montana's on board.
Montana's barbecue and bar.
They are bringing back the watch party.
They want to get you out of your house.
Let's go out and watch the game.
Don't be a boomer.
Leave your house.
Let's talk with other humans.
Don't worry.
Oh, I got to go home.
No, just go to Montana's.
Go up.
Montana's.
Dot, find the nearest location.
Go and have some unbelievable food, some ice cold.
beers and enjoy yourself.
Mondays, half-price wings.
Oh, I like that.
Wednesdays.
That's the rib one, right?
The all-you-can-eat-Ribs.
Check it out.
They have the new daily deals.
They brought it.
The comfort menu is out,
and they've added yet again
to the daily deals,
the $5 tacos.
Are you kidding me?
With the purchase of a beverage.
Can we go today?
$5 tacos.
It all started today.
I'm a taco guy.
This is going to be perfect.
the place to be to cheer on your favorite team,
enjoying those specials.
And can I tell you about the comfort menu?
I mean,
it'd be rude not to at this point.
There you see it.
Brand new today.
So let's go back.
What was the first one there?
That was some sort of skillet with mac and cheese on it.
So that is,
I believe that is your pot roast soup,
slow simmered pot roast with a medley of vegetables
in a hearty beef broth.
Yes, sir.
Put some butter on those saltines.
I believe that is the, is that the smoky, or is that the fried chicken?
That might be the, the buttermilk fried chicken?
Or is that the, the smoky double beef bake?
Yeah.
Smoked beef rib, rich ground beef, mushroom, peppers, onions, all slow, cooked and a zesty
tomato beef broth.
How are your eyes?
He's so blind.
Fright.
Can Dr. Jay use that laser on his eyes?
This is bad.
I can see.
I was prepared for something else.
I was, okay, so that's your apple crisp.
This is not Mac cheese.
I just don't have the order.
All right, warm apple crisp made with baked apple,
cinnamon, brown sugar, scope of French vanilla ice cream and a drizzle.
You see it there, just a drizzle of your English toffee sauce.
So good.
Oh.
That.
That's your spice chicken.
That's your buttermilk fried chicken.
That's the fried.
Tender season chicken marinated buttermilk.
Bud of milk, hand-tossed and signature breading,
garlic mashed, side of fresh veg,
country-style gravy on top of the,
with your cornbread.
You ever make cornbread, boys?
You know what Rett's doing there?
Rets going double gravy for sure.
Is that right?
Double cornbread, double gravy.
I bet you they'll allow that.
I bet you they're going to allow it.
Don't skimp on the gravy, please.
Comfort food.
There's your burger.
The Chapotle.
Are those jalapenos?
They are.
Juicy can.
Canadian Angus burger,
sauced with Chipotle,
honey barbecue sauce,
bacon,
Cajun onions,
crispy,
leaf lettuce,
real cheddar cheese,
crispy jalapenos on a toasted bun
with your choice of Caesar salad
or a seasoned fries or a house salad,
whichever you want there.
It's your choice.
Look at that,
son of a god.
Comfort food.
Can you hear?
My mouth is sweating.
Creamy mac of cheese spiral past
is smothered in cheesy white lime sauce,
baked in a skillet until golden,
brown and crispy again with your corn bread on the side mac and cheese so good retro look at you
four cheese spinach dip spinach spices four types cheese oven baked to order with your nachos
and crispy pita chips the pita chips you don't get that the worst part about that the dip like that
the other idiots at the table think that that's you ordered that to share and then i have to get
pissed off and tell him to keep the mitts out of my dip.
He does do that.
Please.
Yeah.
If anything's got a dip, he's just going to house that the arms come out and he's got the guard rails up.
This is Rett's.
It's not a share plate.
This is my plate.
See, there's a similar one like this.
We go to another place.
Yeah.
I've actually been to Montana's with Rett when this is happening.
Are you serious?
He's ordered an appetizer that you think is for the table and he just kind of, I could just put this in the middle?
Nope.
Right over here.
If you want.
I wanted order one.
Go ahead.
I thought we did order one to share.
We're not sharing.
Montana's barbecue and bar.
Canada's home for barbecue.
It is the comfort menu, the tacos.
Today it's all kind of on.
They're rolling it all out today.
Plus,
enjoy a Molson Canadian with any of the items
from the comfort food menu.
You could win a Molson beer fridge
or the grand prize of a trip for two
to the NHL Awards in Nashville.
I have no shoes on.
I'm sorry.
Montana's.
CA, find the location nearest
to you. I want to go today,
Taco Day. Please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please.
Please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please,
please, we are...
Nephew, Dax.
Loves Montana's, big fan.
It's all about comfort.
You feel good, you feel at home.
No pretense.
You know what?
Wouldn't be good.
You know what, wouldn't be good for you and I, is the house of Montana's before the afterburner show.
I know, I don't know that our energy levels would.
You know what?
Saturday, it's a matinee.
If you want to watch the game and do it.
a bonus after burner.
Then you can go out of Montaaz after.
That's after I've had the mac and cheese
and the apple crisp.
So Colorado tonight.
We'll be better tomorrow.
I'll be better tomorrow.
Jasper Paw and hockey,
we're about a week away from today's Tuesday.
Do we know what,
because the tournament.
We head it up.
The tournament starts on,
is it like Saturday?
Saturday?
You got a hot stove Friday.
And then we need the final game.
Sunday. I would like a I know I'm not there, but I would like a little bit of feedback on who's on the squad.
Like what kind of line up your housing? Do you have any muscle there or you know it's going to get serious.
Somebody's going to piss somebody off out there. You're going to have to have somebody to handle these folk.
We got surge to handle everyone. We're fine. Really? I don't know.
Surge is the muscle? I said surge not the muscle. Um, you got Mosser.
I don't even here's the thing. You've got. Here's the thing.
You've just invited a bunch of people.
I don't know how many people are supposed to show up.
Hey, you want to come?
You should come.
They're getting rooms and stuff for everybody.
It's really losing.
The debacle of what you've done with the roster.
I had to make some,
at least add some skills.
I didn't even start with the raw.
There was nothing.
Who's going?
I got back to Pinder just, which is good.
I'm happy.
You do what you do.
Pender filled his friend bus and off you go.
Mm-hmm.
It did not fill the friend bus.
I'm trying to find us some players
and some flames of life.
columns.
C-H-Ehockey.com, if you want to get involved with your team, up in Jasper, the website
is where you need to go.
Jasper.
J.per.com.
Maybe you're going to go up a day or two early.
Maybe you're going to stay a day or too late.
There's plenty of reasons why to get up to Jasper, notably the pond hockey tournament.
Enter today.
So is that, that was Wolverine doing the GM in before I to take over?
I have no.
So it's Wolverine then.
I have not seen an email about it.
I don't know. Again, I just asked you what day is it?
I don't even know when the tournament starts.
Friday, Saturday. Are there games on Sunday? I have no idea.
Telling everyone go to the website and listen to your own advice.
I guess so.
Betway bets of the day?
Sure. Yeah.
Betway bets of the day. I can't stop thinking about that mac and cheese.
Son of a guy. I'm starving over here.
You want me to start?
Can I do two things off the comfort menu? I'll do the burger and the mac and cheese, please.
That is what we'll do, by the way. Do not be surprised if you order's two entree.
seen it before we'll see it again two things hey because i'm gonna do the tacos but i might
try to dance with a mantra and maybe a couple tacos this isn't gonna isn't gonna stun you i'm going
with the uh the pot roast soup yeah i'm going with the soup to start look at that that does look
good jeez i'm gonna eat more crackers than that though that is not gonna survive you're gonna have
have more crackers in a side of butter for the crackers you got to butter those twice he's noted
that he's passing it about yeah and if i could uh get some fresh crack pepper on that as well
my grandpa would sit at the kitchen table with a stick of butter and a package of saltines
and just enjoy himself until they were all gone just a big tablespoon of butter on every crack
delicious so i'm going to go with the soup the double beef bake is interesting because you got
beef rib in there, mushrooms, peppers, onions.
I'm going to need to, look at that thing.
Yeah.
Melted cheese on top.
And then, I don't know, I can't say no to apple crisp.
No, that's no way you would.
My father-in-law is a big apple crisp.
The vanilla ice cream?
So good.
Melted.
No way to go.
God.
Bet way bets of the day.
All right.
I bet I'd go right to sleep after eating that.
That's what I can tell.
That's going to pay about minus 6,000.
So you're going to have to invest a billion dollars to make nine cents.
We all know your gas after that.
Eight games in the NHL tonight.
I picked a couple.
The Winnipeg Jets are in Montreal to face the Canadian.
Jets are rolling.
They can add to their, what, lead in the West.
Jets money line and a point for Josh Morrissey.
Minus one, 10.
I like to try and get plus money.
This just feels like a...
Morrissey's a machine.
this year. He's been phenomenal.
It's not even a power play point. It's a point.
A Jets money line win. Just take it.
The Cracken had won eight in a row. They lost last night to Tampa Bay.
They're now in Edmonton.
You're getting big time plus money on Seattle.
I know the oil, but you know what the Oilers are?
They're fat and sassy right now.
Wow. They beat Anaheim.
They beat San Jose.
And then they beat Vegas. But it's the first game after a road trip.
They're all high in the hog.
Seattle wants to get back at it.
don't love it, but I love the value.
Plus 150 for a team coming off of, that's one eight of nine.
A team that might end up first in the...
That scares me.
I always feel like they, after a long winning streak,
you have a couple days of down games.
I'm worried.
You know what?
It'll be a one unit play.
Just one unit.
It's one unit.
Yeah.
So those are my bets of the day.
All right.
Well, I think that's going to be a good one.
I think for Flames fans,
there'll be a lot of eyes on that Seattle,
Edmonton game, two divisional foes.
I'm going to jump on the Oilers stack here.
I like a lot of what Seattle's doing.
I still don't know that Martin Jones is carrying them to the promised land,
nor Philip Grubauer.
They can still win this thing,
but I think the others are going to get a couple.
I'm going with the Drey McJ stack plus 250 right there.
And then on the other side, Vinnie Dunn is quietly having a monster year,
scored yesterday.
Power play Apple plus 250?
Delicious.
Betway bets the day.
Drey McJay and Vinny and Apples and got to sell it.
By the way, the lines are out for it.
for a divisional weekend.
Oh, is that right?
Yeah.
Dying for it.
Dallas at San Francisco.
Niners by three and a half.
Giants at Philly.
Okay, well.
Okay, sorry.
Yeah.
Rett, Giants at Philly.
What's your bet on,
what's your thought on the line?
What?
Good.
Good talk.
This is a really,
that's a tough sneak attack for him.
Minus seven and a half.
Exactly.
Is it?
Yep.
And that's three teams from the NFC East,
by the way.
Okay.
Cowboys,
and Eagles that are left in the NFC.
That's pretty impressive.
AFC side, Cincinnati at Buffalo.
You want to guess the line?
Buffalo minus five and a half.
Not even.
Not even.
Two and a half.
Four and a half.
It's in that wheelhouse.
Good work.
They're not getting under a field goal.
And this is the one I thought
might have been a little bit off,
but I also kind of get it.
Jacksonville at Kansas City.
Kansas City coming off by Jacksonville,
coming off a win after being down 27-0.
Nothing.
Shoot me in the face.
nine and a half
14
8 and a half
Dean you're gonna like this
your handicabber
Wow
you think I'd do better at these fucking picks then
I would
Jesus
just taking chalk all week
Come on now
Walker'd be so mad
You're not with the sharp money
We swore too much
You swore too much
You got all hot and bothered
I did I was wound up
I'm sorry
You weren't even fighting
But you're acting like we're fighting
What the hell's come on?
I was good I like it
I like it
That's why people wanted that they were loving it on the old chat room.
There's all retro.
Oh, retro.
Oh, retro.
So tomorrow game day, Colorado.
Oh, McCar Day.
McKinnon Day.
Ranting Day.
Lekan Day.
Yeah.
And your family's almost back.
You got one two days left.
They're back Thursday morning.
So tomorrow's D-Day.
I've got to have things done.
Did you clean your house?
Get all the bottles and glitter out of there from the huge whores and strippers?
You need two more days.
It's always two more days.
You can use two.
Two more days.
One would do it.
Two would be better.
Yeah, 23 days.
I could have done all this.
21.
It's just too tight a turn for you.
What was she thinking?
So we'll do that.
We'll do it on tomorrow.
We'll do it on tomorrow.
Anything else we want to do tomorrow?
Wish me luck.
What are you doing?
Wish me luck.
Gonorrhea?
I'm going on a, I'm going, no, I'm all clear.
I'm going on a scavenger hunt.
I just read on my phone that there are,
there's a beer company that it has given.
giving away tickets, but you have to find them in the city of Buffalo.
Ooh.
Some hints.
A scavenger hunt for Cincinnati Buffalo on the weekend.
You guys want to come to a game?
Why don't you fly down?
We'll meet you to Atlanta in a week.
We go to Magic City.
Deal.
Oh, Atlanta.
No.
Be low.
Why did the Hamilton?
Shoveler will pick you up, have some pops on the ride over.
Why don't you pick a son?
You're not driving pops.
Why can't you pick a son?
What do you mean shovelers?
What are you doing?
What hell's going on?
I can't cross, you idiots.
You can pick me up at the border.
No, the shovel's going to come to the airport.
Oh, I see.
He's going to come to Hamilton and get you from the airport.
Can we get some duty free?
I think the other way it's cheaper.
Yeah.
She'll drop you off.
You can get all hammered up.
There's got to be some little pub there right across the border.
Yeah, stop in Niagara.
Yeah, romantic walk with the shovel.
We'll go hold hands.
Yeah.
Made of the Mist.
There's a dance club.
Again, it's on the wrong side of the border for me.
I get to it.
Shit.
That one also called
the maid of the mist or no.
You gotta get your life in order.
What's the latest, truly?
Like, what the...
Get home so we can have a party.
I was talking with somebody yesterday.
They're like, so what's the story with Rat?
I said, I remember that I was sitting.
I was in Saskatchew and it was a beautiful day.
30 degrees, everybody's on the boat.
I got to take a phone call.
It's Warner.
What the hell's going on?
Do you think I could still do the podcast from Buffalo?
Oh, for fuck sakes.
Really?
We should start this thing.
It's a what?
This will be.
Great. I'm leaving.
Yeah, it sounds perfect.
Gotta be honest.
Drag your feet.
Yeah. That's what happens. That's what happens.
That's what happens.
All right, buddies. Thanks for being a part of it.
We're back tomorrow. It's Barnburn. See you.
Oilers, you feel free to suck tonight for the old boom boom and his betting.
And he done? Peepie apples.
I know you can do it.
Plus 150. Let's go.
Later.
Audio.
