Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - FlamesNation Barn Burner: Flames Maple Leafs Game Day Show + #ASKRHETT
Episode Date: March 2, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener Thursday March 2nd, 2023 - Flames Maple Leafs Game Day- #ASKRHETT for Hope Street ...- Pinder Report Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Yeah, yeah, Alex.
All right.
Why are you going to?
Come on, Red.
I'm starting to.
Come on.
Early on.
Damn it.
You know, it's typical sense fans.
Idiots.
Alex is tired of waiting on you.
Go play in a rink where you only have stands on one half and a wall on the other half.
Let's have an NHL team there.
Idiots.
You don't even know what I'm talking about, do you, Pinder?
No one.
join the league they're at the Ottawa 67's rank and it was only on the one side turn
turn your mic up yes Rhett's low here you're gonna yell you're we need to hear you
have touched how does change in this house Mike Alex might be able to turn it up for
there maybe we get Princey here to turn something on fault it's red you want to see yeah so
so again not you're at Alex tap your microphone oh oh wait ah he did it again what a donkey
you're on your you're on the wrong mic you're on the laptop mic yeah
Cussmo!
Yeah, that's right, Alex, God damn it.
It's out of a lot.
Not Alex's fault, Prince's fault.
Yeah, boom cat's fault.
Yeah, there he is.
He's doing a little reconnect.
Get, get it better, Alex, good enough for you.
Are we fine now?
It's better, yeah.
Top your mic.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah, it's just not a lot of it.
It's just thought, yeah.
Levels aren't by.
Well, where we go?
And now he's gone, right?
His shit talks, man.
And then he...
No, but see if Alex starts talking now,
then the audio is on the podcast.
So once the show starts,
he kind of minds his peas and cues.
He's a smug is a bug.
You know what peas and cues stands for?
I do.
I have something to say,
but it might get me canceled.
So, no, I don't know.
No, I'm serious.
What's, no, for the work,
peas and cues.
Mind your peas and cues.
Your peas and cues.
Your,
your,
your croissants.
It's back like 1800s.
And it's a European thing.
probably out of the UK region, but maybe anywhere.
Do you know what it is?
No idea.
Do you know?
Pints and quartz.
Because you'd always run a tab at the bar.
And the bartender, when your tab got high, would say,
mind your peas and cues, it's getting up there.
Can you imagine if there's tabs in today's?
I know there's kind of a tab with your credit card,
but if you could just go into a pub, like,
I'll put it on the Wolverines tab.
I was like Norma Cheers.
Yeah.
You know, Sam would try and get him to settle up his tab and couldn't do it.
I'll tell you what?
Sam looks like shit lately.
Oh, is that right?
Oh, come on.
He's not an icon of.
You got to watch the reruns.
It looks great.
I don't know what you're talking about.
How old is.
I have, I have gone through.
I'm in season nine of Seinfeld.
I watch one every night before I go to sleep.
Okay, I got one for you.
Last night, flooding the rink.
Some great guys that listened to the pod on the rink crew.
One of them has never seen Seinfeld, and he's also in season nine, which I believe is the last year of Seinfeld.
And he said it was hilarious that he'd heard a lot of these clips from our show.
And now he's seeing them as he progresses season through season through Seinfeld.
It's amazing when I hear the clip and I finally have the context.
It's like this Eureka moment.
If you've not watched Seinfeld, you should go watch all of them.
Yeah.
And if you're young, there's a great.
reason to not watch Seinfeld if like back in those days it was appointment TV you had to be in
front of it at a certain time and if you were late you missed it you didn't have PVRs it didn't stream
I did that during COVID yeah sitting at home huh start her up yeah the thing I noticed
maybe how like you've been kind essentially binging it have you straight yeah I noticed the evolution
of George where he's kind of at the start you know he was kind of a little soft smoke had a quiet like this
And then by the end, everything he's, like he's freaking out.
It's like his old man.
And he was screaming all the time.
He's like, I,
I'm like,
I kind of liked him when he was the,
the more quiet,
meek, soft, dufous with the,
well, he got confident he did opposite George.
All of a sudden he was getting hot girls.
Yeah.
I just think it's brilliant.
All of it, it makes me laugh.
It's silly, it's stupid, and it's, I just, I love it.
The fashion is funny.
That's the first thing it hits you when you start that over here.
Oh, yeah.
Whoa.
And it's almost kind of like full circle now or that baggy, high-wasted gene.
And, and Kramer.
Kramer.
Is truly terrific.
He really is.
They all are.
All the little fringy characters.
Not that he's fringy, but like Newman, exceptional character.
The soup-nazzi, amazing.
Elaine's boss, Petamem-Mut.
Allain, get out here.
You know, like, the, the, George's dad, are you kidding me?
Don't pick a punkumita.
It's brilliant.
the boys at Barnburner.
We endorse the number one sitcom of all time in the history of TV.
Yeah.
It gets a two thumbs up from this very distinguished critiquing crew.
Yeah.
Yeah, but the thing is that there's a bunch of people that haven't seen it.
It's true.
It's a new generation of people.
It's still brilliant.
If you go watch like it.
And it's hard.
Yeah.
And there are people that don't like it that probably have given it a chance and they don't like it.
I don't understand how you can't because it's just so, to me, it's so smart and so
unique and I love curb have you got do you have you gotten into curve oh it's so cringy though
it's an uncomfortable comedy Seinfeld is very approachable because it's funny and you laugh
curb is so cringy it makes your skin crawl at times it is not an easy viewing and that's not for
everyone like I can watch is less scripted yeah it's very lightly scripted they kind of get
it's like bullet points and then they riff for a lot of but I just mean in terms of like but it is it's
It's like a bit of trauma you have to go through for that, oh, it's just angsty.
Yeah, there's some silly stuff that happens, but in every curb, Larry David ends up in some spot where he's just, you idiot.
Yeah.
How did you do it again?
It's like the office, but another step further.
Yes, it's that same cringy humor.
The British office is exceptional for that as well.
British office is so great.
I haven't seen the full American.
I've not watched that.
That's good.
Oh, the British office?
Yeah, yeah, better than the American.
It's called the British office.
No, it's the office before you, the one you know.
But it's with Ricky Jervais.
You'll find it.
It's not hard to find it.
Well, it's BBC.
I would guess it's...
It'll be out of streaming service somewhere.
Yeah, you'll find it somewhere.
It's going to be different than here.
But yeah, like the only reason the office is in North America is because the British one was a freaking hit and they replicated it.
And it started...
The follicles.
Because it was Jervais.
It had the ending, like the start and end point.
And they just, unlike the sitcom or it says, well, we'll start and see how many seasons we can go.
this was the script they wrote it they did the two whatever it is the two episode
Christmas special as the finale what was it two three seasons it was just that it's
kind of it's kind of sweet there's some sweetness to it at the end
let me get you to tear up there Redster big softy have some Hankies handy my cousin told
me he was having a kid the other day and I was all teary he's really quiet is he's
gonna be soft on the pod we got to fix so quiet Alex could we turn him up I'm not quite
It's not me.
My volume is on full blast.
Which is why, again, I said Alex or Princey.
Brissy's given us thumbs, so it seems okay here,
although I don't know how that's the case.
Red on full blast.
Oh, it could be us.
Who else?
Maybe our levels in here are, but I hear you fine.
I hear you fine as well.
Hey, uh, tees and peace.
Look at this.
Peace and cues.
Hey, Calgary Flames game day.
Get your helmet on.
The Toronto Maple Leafs,
the center of the universe makes its way to Alberta.
last night getting rolled up by the McDavid's and tonight a similar fate waits them at the dome.
I'm enjoying the oilers really jelling at the right time narrative at the exact same time that he's,
you know, setting records for since, you know, we had color TV for multiple goal games consecutively.
Did you see it?
No, I'm not.
I watched extended highlights this morning.
Did you watch?
I saw bits of the first and I'm like, this thing's over.
Toronto's guys are snoozy.
It was just.
Retro, we've talked about this before.
called back, but when
McDavid is facing another star
or if it's, and I don't even
know if that was the narrative coming, but if it's
anything, when he
steps his game up or feels as though
he's going to be measured against somebody else,
look the fuck out.
Because he was absolutely
and Sam Cozantino on sports study, he showed
they had a pregame ceremony where he's
shaking the hands over there, didn't smile.
You could see he was dialed right in.
And watching him last
night, unstoppable. You can't stop.
the frigate.
No.
Still in a wild card and also, I think,
three or four points out of leading the division,
it's nuts right now.
It's insane.
I'm worried about the orders because I think they're going to do well.
I'm a little concerned that they're going to climb this ladder and have a good run.
I would like another team in the Pacific to look like a contender here, right?
Like that's the thing that's annoying.
It's like they won't have to play anyone good to get to a conference final.
Is it also scary?
Sorry,
that he's breaking records
and I still think that when the games get bigger
he's going to elevate and do more
this big David character
like doing things no one else can do already
it's horrifying I mean even if he doesn't
but I honestly I'm like well and just wait to the playoffs
when when you think you're playing your best against him
and he's laughing at you as he flies by you
and pots one up chop like he's just
he's intimidating and he grabbed a hold of that series
last year against the flames. Remember game two,
if Backland doesn't dump
it into the corner and can get a, gets the
goal on Smith there, you wonder how it goes.
But still, he scores goal
disallowed, fine, I'll score again
and I'll just keep scoring and they,
they never look back. My kid asked me
the other day, is he in his prime?
Is he still getting better? This is his best
year. It feels like at this moment,
I, what's he
25? This is, this is it.
But if you tell me next year, he's going
to elevate again, I wouldn't doubt
he just keeps getting better.
He's a solid defender now.
That's what really was not the case three, four years ago.
He's improved immensely on the defensive side of the puck
where Leon's still a complete liability,
but it's okay.
They're superstars.
This describes most superstars.
But offensively, it's the best year he's ever had.
And he's playing better defense.
You kidding me?
That second goal he kind of comes in and then hard cuts to his left.
Going a million miles an hour,
hard left almost 90 degrees.
So, of course, the goal he goes with him.
he fires it hard back the other way.
I can only imagine what that would have looked like
if you were sitting right there watching.
He turned 26 less than two months ago.
So, yeah, this is prime.
This is prime.
And if you look statistically at the guys like Gretzky and Lemieux and Yager and
typically their highest scoring seasons are in that sort of 23 to 26 band,
not to suggest that there's going to be a dramatic drop off.
But if this is, if this season is his career year,
it's a fucking serious high watermark that I don't know,
we'll ever see shattered in our lives.
So retro, maybe I could use this for Ask Rent, which is coming up later.
If your kid asked you, who's the greatest hockey player of all time?
Who would you say?
Him.
McDavid.
There's only one thing missing on the resume, right?
Lots of cups.
All the greats have lots of cups.
I don't begrudge him for not having a cup.
I don't begrudge him for that either.
Do not misconstrue that argument.
I think he's the most talented player we've ever seen.
If you just look at the skills, he can do.
Yeah.
And he's doing it against better players.
I'm sorry, and it's the age old man argument, this and that.
It's better equipment, better players, better conditioning, better assist.
He's doing it against, I mean, my wife the other day asked something about when I started.
And I said, well, some guys were making $100,000 when I started.
It was easy to walk away from that, right?
I think it was something about why are kids so serious or why is there so much into it?
And I said, well, if the reward is a $10 million a year contract, that's why.
I said, when I started, guys were making $100, $125 grand.
Well, if you don't make it in the NHL, you go get a job and you make $70.
Right?
Like, you had that option.
I remember Frank Euccio was working in a meatpacking plant in the offseason early in his time in Calgary.
Like that's insane now.
Imagine if we told you like, yeah, Eric and Branson, he's out there, you know, he's bopping up after the stampede.
He's a janitor in the off season to make it extra.
20k like what he's bartending it's for for the rodeo like but but i'm not trying he cuts me
whatever yeah and you could say well that the gretsky didn't train like these guys so that's he
could have been i'm not trying to compare decades and generations i believe macdavit's the best
i you played against mario some people are kind of on the chat saying mario lemieux
Mario is dynamite Mario is
to Mike but Mario against McDavid, McDavid's speed would bury him.
He would like if Mario's trying to get, Mario was awesome and he was faster than a lot of guys and it sometimes didn't look like he was even trying that hard and he was still going a million miles down.
He's not as fast as McDavid.
So if McDavid and Mario on the ice, McDavid could catch him at any point.
And, and, right?
Like he can he can copycat and it's smooth.
And I'm not asking McDavid to be defensive.
at all, even. But if he wanted to, he could absolutely stop Mario. I'm sorry. McBarrio was bigger and
stronger and it was a different era and you had to protect Pucks better and the D played you differently.
Okay. I still say McDavid's the best. I think you sort of have to do it all.
It would be stunning if he wasn't a top three guy in the history of the sport at the end of his
career and it's we're less than halfway in. That's the interesting part. He's 26. You do wonder if either defense
were allowed to play McDavid like
Lemieux and Gretzky were played with
hooking and grabbing and all of that or switch
it if you want to take McDavid or you know
bring Lemieux and those guys here now
you want to see McDavid shoot on these guys that didn't
drop into the butterfly there were 5-9
playing net
yeah it's like it's a different world
it's just a possible to do right
yeah it's hard to look at that
skill set and not feel like
he's right there
where do you see where do you see the possibility
of improvement
But it's just, yeah, it's.
Yeah, it's only achievements.
It's not in a skill set that's going to improve.
It's already the greatest skill set we've ever seen.
But it's Wayne, it's Mario, it's Bobby Orr.
It's Connor McDavid.
Who am I missing?
I'm sure I'm offending like Newsy Lalonde or someone from the 50s or something.
Corrneux.
Sorry, Lalonde family.
It's unnecessary.
So yes, Flames and Leifes tonight at the dome.
It's a Calgary Flames game day.
Get your helmet on.
The Leafs defeated the flames back in December.
It was an overtime winner,
I believe by Neelander.
Two goals, three assists that night for
Wee Willie. Wee Willie Nealander.
Yeah. Flames had leads. They led four, three
in the third. A blown third
period lead. You don't say. Bunting.
Like, bunting got the time goal, and then they
lost it in an extra time.
Because all I can do is
is laugh at this point.
Does it help?
Do we know Markstrom tonight?
They said they want to give them a ride.
Daryl, speaking with media, said we've got to get Markstrom
going he's been a great teammate um it's time for him to step up here so i mean it's not hard to read
those tea leaves barring an awful start for marks you don't have to read any
basically said he's playing can they replicate what they did two nights ago against boston because you
feel like we said if you can do something resembling that against a lot of teams you're going to be
successful and i feel like they've played they've played hard and they've they've they've they've
deserved better over the last, I'll call it two weeks.
So they're not out.
And I think they realize that they almost have to duplicate Tuesday nights effort.
Because if they don't and they're even half flat against a team like Toronto, they're going to, it's going to be tough to get points.
And if you don't get points, you can plan your vacation.
And I don't think they're ready to do that yet.
The team coming in has some similarities.
dominant team from the East on a road trip, played in Edmonton the night before.
We'll see.
Leaves weren't good last night.
Boston was good in Edmonton.
That'd be a bit of a difference.
Not suggesting that you're just going to hang 57 shots anytime you get a team on a back-to-back.
But flames are full marks for their effort and their play aside from a goal that lasted 20 minutes.
Everything else was great.
You led one goal with Markstrom in the final two periods plus overtime.
And you outplayed, out-chanced, out-shot.
out efforted out everything to Burns team that, you know, is a much better team,
but is on the second half of a back-to-back and was not near their best.
See what you get from Toronto tonight.
A lot of turnover in that roster looking this morning.
We know that O'Reilly and Achari came in.
Now there's no guarantee that all these guys play.
But Jake McCabe and Sam Lafferty made their debut.
Was that there?
Yeah, Sam Lafferty.
Luke Shen with the team, expected he'll start.
So it's Achari, O'Reilly, McCabe, Lafferty, Shen, Eric Gustafson is in.
they're not all going to play because many you've got so 90 but there's there's a lot of
turnover there too much tinker in red or did they did dubus go and add what he needed to add
when you look at everything else that's happened out there i think he had to do something
and i and this is it all right now he did what he had to do yeah they'll tell you in mid-may
if it worked like honestly how the hell would you know well but jake mcabin a new system but
I didn't know what the fuck is doing yet, right?
Yeah, but the problem I'm having is I, well, not the problem.
The problem they might find is that I think Dubus did do what he had to do.
Might not mean F all.
Like it's, yeah, in that division, I mean, it might mean six games.
We talk about Boston team of destiny.
You're, you know, if they got eliminated the second round, they're losing to a good team.
It's either Tampa has been to the cup final three years in a row or it's a Burns team that's been hanging 100 point seasons.
Like, it's no big deal for half a decade.
I feel for all three of those teams
because it's like only one of you gets to move on
but I'm also super stoked we get to watch that
in the first two rounds.
It's going to be epic series.
And what's amazing about this year,
as we do this, it's a Thursday.
The trade deadline's not till tomorrow.
Pretty much everybody is friggin' gone by now.
And the majority of these big names
have all either stayed in the east
or have gone to the east.
Patrick Kane will make his debut for the Rangers.
Already we, and as we do this,
Tyler Bertuzi is a Boston Bruin.
was traded from Detroit.
We know that they've already,
every team pretty much has added.
Carolina brought in Gost's despair.
I think there's more for Carolina.
To a lesser extent,
but they've got some time.
But already,
all the top three in each of those divisions
have all added in kind of a big way.
Not to mention Ottawa is making a push.
Funny,
they had that back to back with Detroit.
They lose both.
And Ottawa's like,
we're in chips.
And Detroit's like,
we're out.
Auction off Veronica.
send out Bertuzi.
Like it's the
the east is wild and I think
you know L.A's made some moves in the West
but we really haven't seen Dallas make a significant
move. Vegas is adding of a bottom six forward
is not the biggest thing they can do.
I'd expect them to do more because that's all they've done
since they've come into the league.
There's thoughts from Frank that Edmonton's not done after
Ekholm. There's more to be done there.
You know, if you're Winnipeg is,
have you done enough to secure your spot here?
Minnesota's done some tinkering with some middle six guys.
L.A. brought in their defenseman, the goaltender.
I don't know if you mentioned that.
I did.
It was just, only one team wins.
Berkey used to say it all the time.
There's only one cup going to be handed out.
But there have been a plethora of first rounders and second rounders.
Teams are going for it.
And I guess they do every year, but it sure feels like this year.
There's more teams willing to spend those picks than in years past.
I could be proven on teams that aren't going for it.
Like Arizona are really involved.
It's great to see.
So here would be some of the big names left out there.
James Van Reimsdike Flyers.
UFA this summer last year of his deal.
Jonathan Quick, who apparently doesn't want to be in Columbus,
could be moved.
I don't know who's looking for Jonathan Quick,
but nobody would be surprising moves.
Brock Bassers got a year left on his deal,
probably making too much money.
If you know what the Canucks are doing,
give us a call.
It just traded another first rounder.
That's two years.
Oh, what?
Yeah.
Or two out of three years.
Max Domi's out there.
Joel Edmondson.
It's not much.
No.
And then if you get beyond those type of rental guys,
you know, there are some, like, if Calgary's going to sell,
it's going to be guys the term.
There's some interesting players there.
But I just think in terms of pieces you put on a war,
you traded.
Look at all the firsts.
Holy shit.
Look at that.
We have had trade deadlines where it's like zero or one first get moved.
And this is a deep draft year.
We're looking on screen.
That's 12.
Bertuzi, Chikrin, Horonikov, Gavrakov, Corpusallo,
Ekholm, Sandin, Mikheb Lafferty, Daniel,
Danielle, Jeannot, Meyer, O'Reilly, Achari, Teresanko and Horvatt.
All those deals, 12 of them.
First round are involved.
I'm not, like, as Redd says.
So, do the math, because I'm too lazy.
But that, if it's not a record, it's got to be the biggest number of firsts.
that we've seen in a long time.
Well, and I don't think we've seen teams go as deep into the future with their firsts,
as often as we have.
Like, Florida doesn't have a first till, I think, 2026.
Toronto's firsts are away.
Leifes have given away two.
The Rangers are down a few firsts.
Like, teams that are in are realizing, like,
we don't need a 28th overall pick to help us in four years.
Our window's closed by then.
LFG.
And you know what?
I think some teams are maybe finding they can draft a little bit better,
develop.
and aren't as
it used to be,
the only way you can win
is if you draft and develop,
draft and develop.
I was listening to Ray Ferraro the other day.
He was talking about Tampa Bay,
how they move Cal Foot and these picks.
Well, if you take a look,
they had that, the PURBICs,
and I just remember his name because it's so unique.
Yeah.
It was like a late round pick.
Yeah.
He'd surpassed Calfoot.
He's now into their top six,
basically for free.
It's just the guy that kind of came in,
all right, well, we can move out foot and more picks.
Yeah.
It's risky.
And you have to have a lot of faith in your team and your scouting staff,
their ability to find guys later in the draft or find some free agents or work,
different trades.
But you wonder if there's a lot of those teams saying there's too much stock being put into draft picks.
Let's take what we know in the player today.
Yeah.
And worry about 2025 down the road.
Well, and I think the one ingredient missing there is they have to be in a contention window.
If you're not a contender, it's idiotic to do that.
But when you have Stamcoaston,
Point,
Headman,
Vasilevsky,
all in their prime.
Kuturov.
Like we're talking about five guys.
How many get in the hall there?
Three maybe?
Four?
Like,
of course you're saying,
you're moving your first.
It's like watching Pittsburgh
the last 10 years.
You've got Crosby and Malkin in their prime
and Latang.
What the hell are you doing with your first?
Get them out of here.
Last thing I was going to say.
And we expect those will be second half to late
part of the first round.
Oh,
those teams that sort of pick 22, 24, 26.
Go ahead, Rat.
Just thoughts on.
Well, I was just going to say that if people aren't treating these draft picks,
so it looks like it's available now and you can go get them.
If things go to shit or go to pot, you can move guys next year and get a first rounder back too, right?
Like once you move, it doesn't mean that you can't get it back.
If things aren't going your way and the next year or the year after isn't working out how you want it,
it either works out so that you're doing so well that the guy's not going to get into your,
lineup anyway or if things are going shitty well we'll trade someone and get a recoup a first rounder
ourselves yeah you watch what the leaves did they spent the third to get shen but engvall left for a third
so they kind of square off they had the first that they put in the o're Riley deal they got a first back
in the sandine deal so it's not it's not all all out a lot of these teams are finding a way to kind
of balance and one final note and you're alluding to it pick 28 is not the same as pick nine
so when people are like the LA Kings like geez it
wasn't that different, the package that
Gavakov is from Chikrin, like you blew
it. Well, where are the king's picking and where's that
senator's pick? We know the kings are likely
to get in and that's going to be a pick in the 20s.
If Ottawa doesn't finish well, that
still could be a top 10 pick. It's top 5
protected. There's a huge
difference in value between 6-10
picks, 6 to 10, and
something in the late 20s. Like, it's not close. I think
you wouldn't even accept too late
20 picks to get into the top 10 if you're sitting
there. A top 10 pick has a way
higher likelihood of producing a superstar.
that's just another layer.
I think we talk to binary.
Oh, it's a first.
It's a second.
Well, you know, we wouldn't be suggesting pick six is the same as pick 32.
They're miles apart in value.
Carolina has a, this could be an ask rat, but I'll throw it out there just for hoops and giggles for peas and G's.
The Carolina Hurricanes, very good team.
They have their first round pick this year.
If it is offered to Calgary for Tyler to Foley, some sort of a deal.
maybe they want something else maybe there's another pick a later pick going back but if there is
carolina's first and tyler to foley is the basis of a trade before the deadline tomorrow do you do it
i'm going to have a hard time doing it because i think i can move to folly next year for a first
and i think carolina is yeah or the summer or whenever i don't think getting a first for to folly
there's any rush for it especially when it's going to be a late pick yeah it's going to you might be
You might be able to sell them somewhere else and get picked 20, right?
Like, I think that there's a better move to be made.
Now, if you can get their first and a good prospect or a good young cost-controlled player,
I think we're talking about it.
I don't think it would be a challenge for the flames to get a first for Tyler Tofoli
draft week, for example.
Teams open up more cap space.
You'll have more teams interested.
Like right now, how many contenders have,
have room for Tyler Tofoli.
Not a ton.
Now, there's some teams that are screwing around with LTIR,
so maybe you could get to a Boston, but or Toronto,
but it depends on guys staying out.
I just think every year, you have all another year of deals
coming off the books.
You're at the draft.
We see a lot of big deals at that time of year for that reason.
You can teams have room to get stuff done.
I don't think there's less available for Tyler Toffoli in June
than what you're looking at now necessarily.
Or next year at this time,
and he probably can help you till then.
And you can need some money.
It's an expiring deal that can fit in everywhere.
I don't think that's the thing.
I don't know that you're maximizing Tyler to fully if you move them at this time.
Now, like you said, would you do it for a first rounder?
I don't think I would if there's other options.
What if he's got 11 goals next year at this time?
Well, then that I don't know that I wait some next year.
I'd want to know if I could extend him or trade him in the summer.
I also want to know what's happening with Coronado.
That's an important piece because he's a similar profile.
I don't have that info yet.
Maybe behind closed doors they do.
Why did you sign Huberto if you think that
Tafoli is going to go to 11?
Then why weren't you scared of Huberto going?
I mean, that's the same question, right?
What if, what if, what if?
He's just got to weigh the odds.
Here's another twist.
What if it's for Michael Backland?
There's been a lot of suggestion that the canes might not add wing, but center.
And that they like Michael Backland, which would make sense,
because he's a really good middle-six centerman.
Did you take a first for him today, or do you say,
yeah,
I,
this,
but this becomes the issue for me that is it,
you built this team to be competitive and to be competitive,
like,
right now,
not to be competitive to make the playoffs.
You're only going to get worse down the road.
And if you move Michael Backland,
now the greatest thing,
it didn't work out,
it hasn't been so great all year.
Your greatest asset there,
or your strength of your team was supposed to be
goaltending and strength down the middle.
What do we always talked about?
Well, we needed another sentiment
so that Backland can be a true third-line sentiment.
And he's been awesome at it.
I still don't think he does enough.
Blah, blah, blah.
But now you've just eliminated him.
How are you filling that spot next year?
And are you dismantling the rest of the team
and going in a different direction?
Then yes, move Michael Backland.
But if you think you're the islanders of last year
and that you had a shitty run of luck
and next year is going to be completely different,
then you can't move him.
He has to be there because he...
What Red's saying...
What Red is saying tied in
with the uncertainty around the GM position,
I just think Holden makes no sense.
Because I just...
If you're sexy GM candidate,
the boom cat has been...
He's waiting in the wings.
He's the next GM.
He comes in next summer.
He's like, well, shit, I've done my deep dive.
This team needs more saves and some tweaking around the edges.
Fuck, why did we trade that guy?
That's a huge piece.
Like if you're going now look if you're keeping your living by all means let him run a sale he's been really good selling at the deadline. I'm not suggesting get rid of him but him not having a contract also pickles this thing up this is their window now.
If like if there's a plan for next year it has to involve the guy making the plan doesn't it? Like who's even running the ship?
It would be really weird to sell apart. The GM comes in and says I have a to Foley sized hole in the wing. What the hell? Why did you let a lame duck guy move him?
Yeah. What's the direction of the squad's going in?
That's, if you don't have clarity on that, how can you do anything?
It's like move into Buffalo without a plan.
How do you, you can't do it.
You don't do it.
You'd never move to another country.
Without researching extensively, all the ramifications.
Yes, you've got to have the info, family, taxation.
It's one thing to visit.
Yeah.
But to just up and move.
at the drop of a hat without really assessing all of the qualities involved.
When you put it that way, you're right, Red.
That does.
It just wouldn't make it.
It would be unorganized and completely awesome.
Starter for sure.
Hey, we'll start up today.
We'll do it tomorrow.
The calendar, it flipped.
I'm kind of losing track of time.
We've got tickets for Mad Rose Pub for this game coming up on Saturday.
That's the first of four games in the month of March that Madrose Pub is going to be giving away
to Barnburner listeners slash viewers.
the first of two and four nights against the wild.
That's right.
Big Wild on a Saturday is actually a draw.
Weird.
Do not be fooled.
Carol Caprizov, superstar.
Yeah.
James Van Reimsdyke and who else,
J.T. Miller and Brock Besser and the Minnesota Wilde coming to town on Saturday night.
Sure, that's what will happen in the next 24 hours.
But we will have the tickets to give away.
Be monitoring your Twitters, your Instagrams, your social media,
and join us on the show tomorrow.
We'll have the details.
Deeds.
as a Madrose pub, great food, great people, great tickets.
All here on Barnburner.
Great hoodies, Dean.
Oh, look at you.
Product placement.
That is a risky hoodie right there, baby.
White after Labor Day with two seven-year-olds?
Yeah, all that's risky.
I don't even care about after Labor Day.
I just, I like it.
It looks sharp.
Very white.
Pizza sauce.
It's a good one.
Do you have to spray it down like you put in your car?
carpets are on your couches. They got that fabric.
Scotch skirt.
Whatever. I got a barred.
I'm in my white. Madrose hoodie.
Something like that.
I, yeah, I've walked up to the table with past on and just said, can't even get within five feet.
Like, peel it off. Let's go. Can't, can't do it.
15 Royal Vista Place, Madrose Pub. Order online, madrose. Pub. Have one of the delivery spots.
They'll bring it to you right to your door. Great food.
Pizza, pasta, steaks. It's not bar food. This is a real, legit restaurant.
restaurant in the back and they are firing out great food every single day Mad Rose Pub check
out their website daily specials as well thank you mad Rose tickets coming up on the show
watch socials tomorrow tomorrow Pinda report coming up in in just a moment but we do this weekly
and still you try as a friend to point people you kind of just ease them towards something
It's a little nudge.
When you try and be overly convincing and say,
here's what you need to do.
Why don't you do this already?
It's not everybody is receptive.
We've been telling Rhett to go and visit outdoor dental for weeks now.
Months even.
Months.
Dr. J. Patel has said, I can help, Rhett.
I've seen the video evidence week after week on Barnarder.
Are you sleeping on the beach in Florida?
I've seen it.
It's just a matter of time until something happens,
either physically or something breaks or there's damage.
It's fall asleep at work.
The fireworks are going off.
Take a look at this week.
Look at poor Red here.
He's watching the Flames game.
He's got the laptop.
Oh, he's taking, that's your game notes, hey, Red?
Taking your game notes.
Focus.
Okay, that's a whole first shot in a goal.
Look it. Hang on to it.
You're going to drop it.
Buddy.
Buddy.
Red.
A nice little shoveler.
Have you taken this video or not.
No, no.
Save the...
Ruffler!
That's an expensive computer!
See, because you're falling asleep
because of the app, man.
Oh.
None of us.
See?
What bad?
I know.
I know.
Dude, I gotta put this on YouTube.
See, that's not.
Jack.
That's right.
Now you need to go.
That's why I've built that.
That's why I built that.
belly so I could pop it on there.
It's supposed to stay there.
Put some cashews up there and just hang out.
Once again, don't be like Rhett.
Go to outdoor dental and visit Dr. J. Patel.
Snoring treatments, it's the laser treatment that they have for their dental work.
It also works for your snoring treatments.
Two 15-minute treatments.
It increases the tension on your soft palate.
That's what ends up nine times, ten times.
of 10 leading to your snoring. It's non-surgical. It's pain free. And as I said, two treatments.
You're going to notice a world of difference. And you sleep better. You feel better. Those around you
are happier to be around you. All of that. And you don't need to buy new laptops.
The other thing, I'm not going to fall asleep and just drop it. Another big take.
I didn't realize crop top seasons here, but it must be very, very warm in Buffalo and
Rhett, always ahead of the curves and fashion. We're taking notes. Crop tops are in for 2023 spring.
razor at the coffee shop too, right?
Sleeve monster got him on.
The sleeve monster got him.
We had a couple of sleeve monsters at the old place, didn't we?
I recall us talking about sleeve monsters.
Yeah.
The website is Outdoor.dental J. Patel, great guy.
One of the best at what he does.
And again, the laser that they have, it's one of, it's one of the only ones in Calgary.
You're not going to go into your run-of-the-mill dental office and find this thing.
Selerra.
Outdoor.
Dot dental.
Find the website.
Book yourself in.
Go for a consultation.
Learn more about it.
They've got all the details, obviously, and change your life.
Feel better.
Feel confident.
Said he's coming back.
I mean, he'd be an idiot not to go to Dr. Jay when he's back.
We'll book you in if you come back.
My mom is pumped.
My mom is pumped right now.
The DUG needs to get in to see Dr. Jay.
Is that right?
The DUG is in Australia and now my mom can sleep for a month.
Have we connected him with Ozzy Brad yet or no?
It's still further north.
There's no sense yet.
okay not yet well i'll send a note to to dr jay he will for sure get him in he'll get him in
a little that the topical cream you don't even come on come on doug poor mama how long's
he been snoring like forever she's not sleeping oh decades of rain yes decades and i'm like mom
why do you sleep in there like go somewhere else old school right just old farmers they can't
change yeah she's in love
She loves the DUG.
Yeah.
Do you doing any fishing down there?
No, Doug doesn't do hobbies and stuff like that.
He's working.
He's a working man, Dean.
Of course he is.
Of course he is.
Let's do the Pinder report, shall we?
Lots going on.
This trade deadline day thing that they've got for Frank.
Tomorrow we'll talk about it later.
What the hell are they going to do all day?
Well, he's not the only one.
I saw Sarah Sivian, who was a longtime Keynes beat reporter.
She tweeted out,
NHL.com, 10 hours live.
Kill yourself. 10 hours tomorrow.
Yeah.
What?
We were going to take the day off.
I mean, I,
if there was actually a lot of moves we made,
we could clear out and say,
just watch Frank's show.
But I mean, the insider cam,
he's going to be sitting on the toilet,
just reading one of those fact books.
No, because we, you know,
if Kerr wants to do it,
because Kerr is chomping at the bit, right?
Oh, he's just, yeah.
So what time, what are we doing?
What's, uh, what's happening?
for the uh just a what three why don't we get out of the way and let them come in early and just go
he'd be happy to do it well what that that's why we have this platform is so that we can adapt
and adjust you know what red i wouldn't do it to our to our listeners not not oh geez because of
cur but we are here we have sponsors that we need to take care of sponsors have come on board we need to
be fair to them you can't mention you can't mention that so we can't mention so we
Rob Kerr, a career
broadcaster,
couldn't mention these
drinks. I'm sure. I mean, he hasn't tried wings at
Madrose. I don't know that he knows they're
baked after they're fried.
Does he know about the flour salad? Hey,
you don't need to tell me not to come back tomorrow.
Four day work week.
It is the Pinder report. It's a presentation
of Village Honda. They'll be at work
tomorrow. You want to go in, sell them your used
car. You want to go see the new CRV hybrid.
I want to test drive a new vehicle. They'll be
there.
Get some cash in your hand in 24 hours.
Go do it.
VillageHonda.com, the website, that used car, they're still buying used cars.
If you have one, 24 hours, you're going to get your cash.
It'll be on their lot.
They will thank you for it.
No obligation appraisal today.
Stop by the Northwest Auto Mall and visit Village Honda, your dealership for life.
They present the Pinder Report.
Fellas, game day, as noted, Leifes in town.
The one visit of the season, always an elevated atmosphere at the Scotia Bank
Saddle.
home for the lone visit for the almighty center of the universars.
Let's have a look at the Calgary Flames lines like tweak ahead of that Bruins matchup.
And yeah, same same. We've seen the same lines for quite some time.
Walk-a-doer has been excellent fellows and that fourth lines come back to life.
So Milan Luch each can thank him. All those setups, Luch had was all from...
Chita to the...
Wogaddy-Dir. South Dakota represent...
Sioux Falls. So, Sioux Falls.
Falls finance.
Sioux City.
Sue City.
I was going to say that's what I'm going to name my kid, but I already got kids.
So I can't really walk or do or Warner.
You haven't had a vasectomy.
You're going to have another one any day.
Sioux City Sassboro.
Is that a good sass broiler?
I think there's certain activities that have to take place.
I'm not sure.
I'm not sure.
That's part of it.
Yeah.
I want to have your punters.
Carry on.
Pinder.
Thank you, sweetheart.
Thank you very much.
There's going to, you got to do something.
Let's pan down to the defense pair.
We saw McKenzie Weger playing with Rasmus Anderson on the top pair against Boston.
Everything that looked good against Boston, so I don't want to read too much into that.
We'll keep watching that.
That leaves Hannafin and Tanev on the opposite sides of the ice is what you see here on this chart
because someone at Daily Faceoffs got whiskey in the coffee.
Whiskey.
Same with Rasmus Anderson.
Nikita Zedorov and Dennis Gilbert are on the right sides there.
So one for three, you're going to the Hall of Fame and baseball.
Good work, fellas.
Standing.
So let's go Leafs first.
Leafs, Leafs, Leaves, Leaves.
Last night.
Shalact in Edmonton.
Not good.
Best players, weren't their best players.
and yeah, they got McDavid had pretty darn good.
Really didn't generate much.
It was not the high-octane lease who kind of expect.
I don't know if that's good or bad news for the flames tonight.
But they certainly didn't leave it all on the ice in Edmonton last night.
Shelton Keith was surly post-Kalry.
We didn't compete.
We didn't do anything out there.
Our best players.
The other team was ready to compete.
We were not that whole.
I like Shirley Keefe.
Yeah, he was Sirly Keefe last night.
Yeah.
Yeah, not really close.
I think the scoring chances were like a billion to zero.
not close. And it was five, one.
A lot.
They got, there it is. Two dislod.
See, that's copying. Now, look, that's good
work on the head transplants.
But, yeah, it's a good
meme. Don't mind it.
Oh, boy.
Who is on the right there?
Is that Randy Carlisle?
I don't know who it is.
It's good, though. Oh, dear.
Anyway.
Oh.
What's the bad for?
How are we doing this one tonight?
I assume it's a seven.
It's a Thursday.
It's a seven.
9 o'clock Eastern.
Sorry for my elite fans back in Ontario.
I know we got lots of Ontario people watching right now.
We don't change the time zones when the lease passed through.
Didn't there?
I'm shocked.
Shocked.
It's not six or five.
3.30.
4 o'clock.
Yeah.
Sorry.
We talked about one of the Achilles heels of the flames being their netline in
this season has not been up to par after allowing the fewest five on five goals
in the entire league last year.
One of the culprits has been not a particular goalie,
but a particular time in the game.
Someone finally went.
did the legwork, sifting through line by line of play by play,
the Calgary flames have allowed a goal on the first five shots of a game
in half of their games.
So quickly run through the math with me.
Five shots, if you let one in, that's four or five, that's 800 net mining.
Now, that's assuming you've only ever let in one in the first five,
not more than one.
And we know that there's been two on two a few times this year.
They are getting sub-800 net minding on the first five shots of the game.
Not good.
That's so you're always coming from behind, I guess.
The zero wins when trailing after 40 as well, mix that in.
It's been tough.
It feels like it's time to ride Markstrom.
So says the coach.
We'll see how we looks in the first five shots tonight.
And I'll tell you how I feel about it, guys.
Get me through the first five.
Just five.
There's no first five shots anymore.
They've got eight up there.
Come on in.
You're good.
Now, is that the player's fault?
They're giving up quality scoring early in the game.
They're not ready to go.
I would suggest that on some nights that is the case.
I remember the Islanders game.
The shots were like 11 to 1.
And then it was like breakaway or Dan Vladar breakaway against,
was it Phoenix the other day?
Line A.
A line early.
But then there's also like in Colorado, I don't know that the first two going on.
Or was it,
it was the Bruins game
where like none of those Orlov ones
are great A's, I'm sorry.
So we've seen it all right.
We've seen good chance to go in
and shitty chances go out in the first five shots.
It's not just the team.
Okay.
Hey,
it's nice to have things to work on.
Isn't it?
And let's see what they have to work on in the standings
because here they are.
Work needs to be done if they want to get into the dance here.
We know eight teams will get in from the West
and all of those eight teams separated by six points.
Vegas L.A. M.
in Dallas, Minnesota, Colorado, Seattle, Winnipeg.
Those are your eight playoff teams that stand.
Six points separating them all.
Huh?
No.
You're five back and I've circled points percentage.
Edmontons and a wildcard.
Seattle's third in the Pacific based on points percentage.
Two games in hand, two points back for Seattle.
Winnipeg?
Like someone's going to have to mess something up here to really open the door for the
flames and the flames are going to have to play well here.
We understand those things, right?
No, I don't understand.
Well, if the flames don't win another game,
the max number of points they can get, obviously, is 67.
That won't be enough by my sources are telling you.
And at this point.
Yeah.
So win some games.
Win some games.
My takeaway from that, Ryan.
Good stuff.
Great takeaway.
Let's move to anniversaries.
We love it.
We could have done McLeod Law another trip down memory road today.
Is that right?
And this one has got many angles of backpack in it.
Because it was on this day.
Lane, not road.
When Retro was seated at Center Ice
and we honored, as Calgarians,
the greatest flame of all time, in my humble opinion.
Twelve went to the rafters, a ginnless spoke.
It's a hot take.
Connie told some jokes.
Everyone was laughing.
Noodles was here.
Rhett was getting wasted.
There's Peter Mar.
Oh, Peter Mar.
And do you remember.
Dinger was a cheer.
I do.
Talking a year on.
What happened after this?
Backpack.
What happened?
Tell us.
No, you tell us.
It's your thing.
Mike fucking Smith went behind his net, made a campfire for 10 minutes.
In the wild won a game.
Justin the Flinch started to play while.
He ruined it for everyone.
He was back there so long, so long.
It was great.
I do this happen because on my phone, you get the photos, the, everything.
Yeah, yeah.
There was so much energy in the building that night and stupid Mike Smith was.
So you got the notification of the this happened on this date,
but you don't have Jerome texting you on that.
phone you won't call you back yeah no I sent him a note the other day he didn't answer either and look at
him there now you had a picture of that old bugger a couple days ago that's a different face I I disagree
I think it's just a simple bick on the on the roof that's all he needed that's a different it's not a
different face it's mean yeah I bet if we were to run into egg right now it's probably really
let himself wouldn't recognize him I bet hey dude probably got some mustard on the side of his
Jim. Iggy shouldn't be wearing
that hoodie. He gets food
all over it. Was that the
video of Iggy, not Rhett? Is he lost it?
Yeah, dropping laptops.
No, put it together.
Iggy's fine. He's in great shape.
Come on back.
Jersey's look good the other night, too.
Warmups.
Yeah. Okay, that's a flame's over.
Let's get to the NHL story. We have more trades
to announce. You're going to want to hear this,
Rhett.
Lars Frickin' Eller.
Is he still playing?
getting a bottle of wine.
It was perfect.
Still playing.
Still playing.
And apparently getting moved for a second rounder.
Good work, Washington.
Christ.
A 72 years old.
He's older than Iggy.
Good grief.
Did Lars Eller have a kid named Lars Eller?
Is that what's happened?
Here's this Lars Eller.
That's Lars, boy, Lars.
Colorado, they know what they do.
They brought in an ancient Cogaliano last year and they won the cup.
We're not making fun of Colorado.
They know what they're doing.
Didn't he get moved for a second about a decade ago?
Maybe.
I mean, that sounds about right.
His brother was playing for the oil kings.
I have not heard this man's name since Dallas.
Lars.
Lars.
Well, all of a sudden, he might be on the big board for the playoff draft.
Like, if you're doing a fantasy pool, that's a guy.
If Colorado's going to play 23 games, why not take Lars Eller?
He's relevant again.
More trades.
The ghost bear.
Remember when Philly's like, this guy can't play.
take a second rounder and pay him and go away.
They also got a third rounder trading him away to someone else after he got his game back.
And Carolina, of course, they're buying low-ish on the market going at Shane Goss despair.
I still a low offensive ad to their blue line for just a third.
That sounds like a Carolina thing to do, doesn't it, right?
They're not getting involved in bidding wars.
They're going outside the box again.
Yeah, they must know things people don't.
I like that trade.
you know what you might like or you might laugh at but probably both is look at how many picks
the coyotes have after the swap well maybe not after this swap I guess it's after the other swap
five first rounders 11 seconds and nine thirds in the next four years so wait that's too many players
you can't even that's no you know what it is that's more than your roster 20 seconds and I'm
going to take your 16th overall pick. Let's go. And I'm going to take that 16 and put it with my
four and I'm going to move up to one and I'm getting badard, whatever it is. So on one end,
you've got team saying, here, take our first picks are overrated. Arizona's like, give me all your
picks. And I love it at this point. And here's, here's my, my, uh, my thesis on what's going to happen
to Arizona. Oh, good. And I ready for it? Yeah, seriously. I don't know if this is a backpack or not.
They will be very competitive in three or four years when either a, there's a, there's a,
rink and tempi or b you moved them the fuck out of phoenix because you couldn't get the rink and tempi
that's when if you want to maximize value for this franchise as an owner you're good and i think
bill armistrar's played this brilliantly acquiring assets here hello bill uh they made another deal
we'll allude to that in a moment uh the vancouver connect still really don't want to draft with their
first rounder rat they add fill
Pironick, Grondog, from the Detroit Red Wings, who suddenly went liquidation mode yesterday.
Peronic to Detroit, a first rounder going back and a second.
Let's go one year left on a deal paying them in the mid-fours, RFA when it expires,
and that's just as Tyler Myers deal comes off the books.
That's a 2023 first rounder.
This is a deep draft.
A lot of protected, I'm sure.
And remember, they gave out number nine overall, Dylan Gunther in the OEL
trade. This is two first rounders in three years they've moved.
Fucking too. Wow, things are going so well. You don't need your picks, remember?
Yes, that's right. And, uh, you know, clearly in the same spot as all these contenders,
they're already capped out for next year. Let's have. And does this not feel like one of those
things? Stevie Y is going to absolutely slam dunk this first round pick. Dude, it's going to be high
too. Like, I know it's probably protected at a certain extent. It can't be badard. But,
yeah, this is, this is Stevie Y. being smart.
and Vancouver convincing themselves they're good.
Connects over the cap for next year already.
83.6 committed.
And they still have RFAs and empty roster spots.
Jimbo would be so proud of these guys.
The legacy lives on.
Speaking of dunking,
there is no one you like Dunkin on more than Vancouver.
It's just incredibly inept.
It's like early Kate's Oilers.
It's like,
there's the Oilers, yeah.
You couldn't do a,
worst job. Like if you had,
okay, we're going to let this
grade 7 class for a year run the
Canucks, they wouldn't make blunders like that.
But Philip,
Philoeronic is going to be better than the first
round pick, isn't he? No, but they
put themselves over the caps.
Yeah, it's like, it's
the price you'd have to pay to get a
Philiparonic type guy. It's not an overpay. It's just
where they are in their life cycle. This makes no
sense. Like, you're, you're, you're, you're
committed to J.C. Miller. You're
getting older. You just added six years
OEL you don't want to get rid of your captain like if Tampa does it I get it it's great
you're in a window to win now at four more years of Oliver at Larson at seven plus Dean remember when
seven point two six that might be one of the worst deals we'll witness in our life in this league
number nine overall oh my god good player chronic and one thing to think about Vancouver
scores five he's uh he's gonna put some points I think down the stretch here
I'm not just saying that because I'm in fantasy.
Please, please, please, please, please, please, please.
Yeah, please.
He's okay.
Vegas added bottom six checker, Teddy Bluger.
It's a good name.
Teddy Bluger.
That feels like an American college guy, doesn't it?
Teddy Bluger.
It does.
The Teddy for sure.
Yeah.
Teddy's, you don't hear.
Somebody else would do Ted.
Yeah, no, Canadians, there's no Teddy.
It's all Americans that are Teddy.
Teddy Van dermer.
He was Ted.
Did you see Pete Van derogne?
There's no Teddy.
for the van derogere did you see pete van dermer when we're just recently usually you don't want to
no it's that kind of video it was seeing your hockey i'm not sure you'll you'll see them and then
you'll see a fist right in your mouth and then the ambulance backs out to center ice oof
pow tough uh grandlin gets move marcus mikhail one of them marcus still still playing yeah
he's uh there's a lot of a lot of second round pick there's some moaning and crying in
pittsburgh that uh ron hextall doesn't know what he's doing because they had uh
cap an lost waivers then spend a second to get grandlin back not to say that grandland
isn't better than bluger out for a third happening but i think the challenge you find yourself
in is that they're not a great team but they still have those superstars that you
want to be competitive for.
And I think Ron Hextell's best work is rebuilding.
They're very old.
They can't really rebuild with Latang, Crosby, and Malcolm still there.
For Tuesday, gets moved this morning.
That's Tyler from Detroit to Boston because why not?
The Bruins add another.
A first, sure.
So Detroit, yesterday, Rhett, added two firsts in a second.
That's Stevie Y.
He's good.
Well, Steve Y.
Now, again, Tyler Bertuzi feels like a Bruin.
Yep, dirtball.
Just like Garnett Hathaway felt like a Bruin.
Greasy.
Yeah.
He's going to be good.
And Hall and Falino are on IR.
We have Bruins injury notes there.
I know that's later in the script, but we can jump on it now because it's topical and you got the lines up.
That allows them even more caps.
You know, our only box in space now with Folino and Hallout.
If they were to remain injured all the way through to the playoffs,
you could fill that void.
So when-
Felino and Hall come back,
you're going to take out Frederick and Greer,
and look at that lineup.
Yeah, and this is why when people are like,
send Milan to Boston,
I'm like, they don't need a 16th forward.
Milan can't crack this lineup, right?
But he's not going to play.
And that's not a shot at Milan.
That's a nice thing.
I think people are saying send Milan to Boston as a,
courtesy if Boston would be that kind.
Let's bring Milan back.
Good.
It would be lovely for Milan.
What do you care?
What do you care?
So they trade for them and they put them in the effing rafters.
What difference does it make?
This difference does it make?
5.25 million against the cap.
That's the difference.
Hey, uh,
Bruins weren't done.
Flames also if the flames had class,
shut up.
If the flames had class,
they'd just say,
we'll pay for his contract,
take him and go.
You can do that, right?
you can eat the cap hit part of it half uh and then get er how did they get another 25
yeah that's the broker come on pender use your head so he can be their 17th forward figure it out
when all in full in or back that's a matter with you uh injuries happen ryan staying with bruns
spragistered to the minor and grere we don't have to keep those guys no we thought
rosy david pastonac had a chance here to become the highest paid player in the n hl that is
not a homeless man. That's David Pasternak signing a contract. They will pay him over 90 million
dollars over the next eight years. He avoids free agency. And dare I suggest, he leaves a lot of
money on the table as the billion dollar IOU that the owners are holding for the players is
almost paid off. The cap is almost about to jump. And he locks in at 11 and a quarter, which is a lot of
money, but will not be a lot of money in five years for a guy that looks like you could score 50 in his
Who the hell are you to judge him?
He can do what he wants.
Good for him.
And you know what?
You sound like the idiots at the PA.
You got to get the mouse anywhere.
Don't worry about if you're happy or not than money,
money, money.
He's got more bloody money than they ever spend.
Is he 11 and a half?
11 and a court?
11 in a court?
I mean, that's not leaving money on the table.
You don't think he gets 13 of free agency?
You make it sound as though this is some big hometown discount.
No, no, no.
I think it is a hometown discount.
I think it's a discount too, but that's the whole point.
He's earned the right to decide whatever the F he wants.
And you're going to judge him for, well, so he's,
so he's going to have $100 million instead of $105?
No, no, no.
I'm not saying it's a bad decision.
I'm saying he's left money on the table.
And if you're going to stay in a place you like and win cups, it's great.
I think he's set himself up to do that.
This is a really nice.
You know what else he's done?
He's selling himself up.
If things go to shit and he wants to get traded down the road, he can because he will be worth
11 and a quarter and someone else will be doing cartwheels to bring him in.
David's a brun.
He wants to be a brun. He's a brun.
Have a day, David Pasternak.
11 sheets a year.
Give me a pen.
Is this the paper here? I'll just sign it.
Thanks.
You should use your thumbprint.
A lot of hockey there, fellas.
I'm sorry.
I apologize to Frank Sarvelli and everyone else.
I don't know how many trades are going to be tomorrow.
We do have an update.
Did you notice Dean's been a better mood, lost two days?
He was an absolute sour post on Monday and been really good mood yesterday.
Not true.
Had a great chat, great mood today.
I'm pissed right off.
He's been a great teammate around here.
Not true.
And you know why?
Because we got into his hands that Bob Ross positive energy drink.
You just chucking those things left and right, boom, boom.
We found a retailer.
in Calgary. Thank you to our friends on Instagram
who sent us
the location of a store.
You can get your Bob Ross positive energy drink.
That's kind of you, but I don't need them.
I'm very pleasant.
An upbeat.
Yeah, you don't need them like you don't need to wear
those sunglasses and the lights.
Or sleep. You don't need sleep.
For the Bob Ross drink, check out
Toost convenience out by the airport. I've seen it there
with ton of other imported candy, chocolate chips
from all over the world. Small but the best different treats in the
So they are. Shut up!
Shout out.
to the Bob Rosh energy drink.
Finally, because Boom's in such a good mood today, Red.
We're going to send him out with a big old smile.
Now, what was the thing that Boom would do at the old shop?
If there was like five minutes to kill at the end of the show
or he just wanted to throw the middle finger at the boss for a bit,
what would he do to wrap things up?
Do you remember?
I think he called it the bird going in the air.
Now, the thing about the bird in the air is that's an absolute mammoth of a guitar solo, right?
Oh, yeah.
Have you ever heard the solo on bagpipe?
Can't say I have.
You're about to.
Is that right?
You ready?
All right.
This is putting the bird in the air with the backpack.
I'm sitting there.
Ready?
Ready?
Come on, lady.
That's it.
I don't think she's got some lungs because this goes on for another eight minutes.
That's why you feel the bag full of air.
It's a Pinder report?
That's the Pinder Report.
Brought to you by Village Honda.
That's an absolute banger of a bagpipe solo.
Best I've ever heard for our positive friend.
I do love it when the bird's in the air.
Do love it.
Village Honda, not only new cars, use cars.
I mean, you know what's going on up there.
Those detailing packages continue.
It's going to be awfully, you were getting chirped.
Mucky.
For having a dirty vehicle.
7995 detailing packages.
They start there inside.
outside underneath, take care of your vehicle.
The harsh elements of winter do wreak havoc on your car.
Book your detailing package today online.
VillageHonda.com, your dealership for life in the Northwest Ottawa.
So here's the problem.
It's been mucky.
It's been colder.
It's warming up.
It's only going to get muckier.
What is the move?
When do I go to Village Honda to wash it?
Because I don't want to drive up there wash it only to be coming back in a mud bath.
It's dirty.
It's going to be dirty.
Do I wait it out or do I just have to bite
a bullet and clean it for an hour.
Don't detail it now.
Okay.
Just, I, uh, I just went through this.
I just went through this.
I had to get a vehicle when I got down here.
And I washed it for the first time on Monday.
Have some pride.
And they insult.
Idiot.
Yeah, it's not like you're in Arizona.
You washed it once.
That's appall.
Think of the buildup of your wall.
Boogs on the pillar.
Gross.
Under the seat.
that thing
I didn't clean the inside
I'm talking about just the outside
I didn't clean the inside
that's what we're talking about
if you haven't cleaned the outside
in six fucking months
how many boogers are hanging off there
you're dragging about two extra pounds
because I haven't cleaned the inside
but the outside looked sharp for a day
that's awful
I once again it's boomer
it's boomer
shut up it's boomer
host of the barn burner
podcast
as an avid hockey lover, Dean Barnes, has collected the 100 plus rookie cards of every black and biracial player to ever play a game in the National Hockey League.
You can hear from Dean himself as he interviews players from his collection on the My Hockey Hero podcast.
It is sponsored by eBay Canada, which, incidentally, is where he almost exclusively found all of the player cards.
Was right on eBay.
hosted by Dean, all kinds of interviews, as we mentioned.
It's suitable.
It's a great listen for every hockey fan and your family.
Sponsored by eBay Canada, proudly supporting hockey equality.
It's available wherever you get your podcasts.
I'm all for a podcast with a dean who's in great spirits.
I'm sure Dean Barnes is in great mood.
I think so.
Don't know any deans that aren't.
Show us that Lindy again.
Up for grabs.
Get it.
It's a beauty.
You know, the thing about these unis are, you know what they look.
They look so much better in person with the name bars and numbers, right?
And like I'll say this, it was a rough era for the flames, but the color scheme is dominant.
They wore it them again.
Have you come around at all on the logo?
Because there's a lot of people.
It just can be better.
The color scheme's elite and the logo is a solid seven out of ten.
The color scheme is a 10.
Yeah, I'm good with it.
It's a flaming donkey.
Rhodesy.
Travis Rhodes and the people over at the hearing loss clinic have hooked us up with a couple of jerseys.
We're going to do the Elias Lindholm.
There it is, hearing loss.ca.
But follow along on their social media, our social media, and we will give that a way.
A bunch of entries came in yesterday.
We announced it yesterday.
Probably early next week, eh?
Hey we'll give everybody
This is already Thursday tomorrow
Kinds of things happening next week
You know when Lynn home is
There was a dude
There was a dude at the gym down here
With with one of those
He had a t-shirt on with the horse head on it
But no sleeves
I was like wow
It's another sleeve monster
Did you go up and say hey
You know I wore that hey hey
You know me? Hey hey
Four's here
Fores
Please leave me alone
I'm trying to work out
Hey
Hey I want no listen
Hey
You want to come
Let me sign that
I'll sign that for you
Clean the boogs out of my truck
It's filthy. It's disgusting. I haven't washed it once in six months.
You and your boobs.
I think we're ready for Ask Red. How about you?
I got one this week. Do you?
Yeah. Sweet.
Thinking about it.
It's Ask Rhett.
You won't see. Your laptop got smashed.
So I will take care of all the questions for you.
It is a presentation, a proud presentation of Hope Street rental property management every Thursday
here in the program, you can email Askrette at flamesnation.ca.
But it's all about Hope Street, managing tenants, finding those premium rental rates,
allowing you to not worry. Put it out of your mind.
It's no hassle when you hook up with Hope Street.
Book a virtual meeting online, let Hope Street get to work for you.
They are the property manager of the year in our fine country.
Locations in Vancouver, Edmonton, and Calgary.
The website is hopestreet.ca.
And this is Askrette.
So basically for 10 minutes, you get to be Rett's apprentice,
and you can just pick away at that massive bank of wisdom.
And boogs.
Pick away.
Hey, Rhett.
This is from Jared.
I am going to the Sabres Rangers game next Saturday.
I've not been to Buffalo before looking for good places to eat slash drink near the area or downtown.
And where should we stay for the night?
Thanks.
Jared.
Stay at the Marriott Harbor Center because it is connected to the arena.
Lovely view.
It's the hotel is a, okay, so the first five floors are parking garage.
The sixth floor is a double ice rink where the kids practice and above that the seventh
floor and up is the hotel.
So you get amazing views.
There's a restaurant called Panorama in there, high end restaurant just down the street.
is the
is it the Seneca casino
I believe there's a casino down the street
and as well as the Hofbra house
where you can go and have the Steins
and it's a hell of a time
don't go too early
because after 10 the kids have to leave
and the party really starts
so go there and yeah
you'll be all you'll be all taking care
lots of going on
do they have the servers that have
the leader hosen and hold like eight Steins
in each hand
talented
very talented
you had a lot of support
Because last week we had Mark chime in about the wedding buffet with the parogies.
Yeah, a lot of support.
You struck a court.
There were a lot of people who I think were inspired that to grab a hold.
If you're doing any wedding planning, let everything else go, control the menu.
Especially the midnight snack type stuff.
Yeah.
Control the menu.
Hey, Rhett, M&Ms or Smarties?
Canadian both.
American none because they taste different.
But I would go Eminem.
I would go Eminem.
I was going to ask if they had smarties in the States.
I knew the M&Ms are different,
but there are American smarties that aren't a step.
Actually, that's a good point.
I don't know if there are.
But see, well, I'm leaning towards the M&M
because the shovelers got an M&M addiction
and she can't seem to push them away.
She's got them stashed into little nooks and crannies.
the house yeah yeah but we don't traditionally find many smarties laying around so so which look
there and yeah same damn things too tail as old as time which m&m because you've got the peanut
you got the chocolate you got the peanut butter the whatever there's a bunch well i housed a gummy
yesterday and then i proceeded to house a big jar of chocolate covered almond
and they had the sea salt and the chocolate
and it was phenomenal.
Just like, couldn't stop.
Could not stop.
So I like the chocolate with the nut inside.
Yeah, I do.
It's called turbinados, aren't they?
Something like that when you get the almond covered with the dark chocolate
and then sea salt on the outside?
Sure.
Oh, yeah, what?
Loves them.
fills her suitcase every time she comes back from California.
So good.
Yeah, this is a follow up from, again, I can't say who.
And I kind of let the cat out of the bag yesterday from G.
GK about the sweaty meat product you had in here.
Is it true that it was not a, in fact, a brisket that you had in your,
a sweaty brisket that you had in the pot or whatever?
Yes, it's true.
It was what you have?
Chuck roast.
Okay, because again, the briskets are big, right?
It's a big, it's a big slab of meat.
I wasn't sure how you're fitting that in.
Yeah.
All kinds of holes in his story, say?
I think this thing's sounding a little fishy.
I don't think GK is any more convinced that that was a good idea or that's the way you should be doing business.
But, well, G.K. should stop by and eat some of my food at some point.
I don't think he'd be disappointed.
Hey, Rhett, you've been away from Calgary for quite a while now.
What food do you miss the most?
All of it.
tell all my loser people down here that the food in Alberta is better.
Alberta beef cannot be beat.
It's not a joke.
It's not even close.
Milk products.
They last for six months here.
Like,
you go buy a jug.
You go buy a jug of milk and you last forever.
My wife and I were in a store the other day and there was chocolate milk.
But it was organic,
it was an organic chocolate milk sitting out, just sitting out.
No, no refrigeration.
should need it apparently for this sort of stuff so the way they treat food is appalling down here it's
disgusting food if you turn on the TV it's food it's drugs it's drugs it's drugs it's
it's medical it the all the advertising is for shit things it's that aren't good for you it's
craziness down honest to God I'm not lying the food is just better in Canada
I'd have friends that won't eat meat when they travel to the States, but they will hear no sweat.
I've been very curious about when you see the milk that's just sitting out in like those tetrapacks, those things on the shelf.
Or the meat that sits in the plastic bag.
Jerky is one thing, but I still feel like that's kind of you got to shut.
Here's some sausage.
Not sure.
Call me fancy, I guess.
I need buy sweaty meat fresh.
Hey, Rhett, looking to spice things up in the bedroom with the misses.
Any recommendations?
Yes.
Wait, wait.
There's a website or an app.
It's called couples.
There you go.
Done.
Bam.
Haven't used it.
Saw it the other day.
Don't need to.
Why would you need it?
Yeah, I mean, I'm so busy.
Hey, even the greats are always improving.
Don't need it.
McDavid's the last guy off the ice at practice.
Don't give me this nonsense.
Gretzky ran it.
at 5 a.m. even if it was party night before.
The greats never stop.
You're always
tailoring your game.
So nothing specific?
I was kind of, I was looking forward
to the answer from that. Well, maybe he could explain what the
app's about and then that would be a little more specific.
I don't even know, but I just saw it.
This was be a good thing. So you want to go
into bedroom talk? Should I bring the
shoveler in and just let's do you talk about?
I'd watch that.
Spice things up in the bedroom.
He's just wondering what if, you know,
We should start a shovel or sex column.
She can come on once a week and answer as part of Ask Red.
What are you asking me for sex advice now?
So I'm going to talk about, like, get the out of here.
It's not, unless it's not saying.
It's an hockey question.
What do you do that he's just kind of, it can be a difficult thing.
Okay, well, let's debate this.
I feel like this is what we do on the show.
What are you guys up to lately?
You guys got lots of new moves that you're pulling off?
you get approached with different.
I'll say that it's not a bad idea
to send the kids somewhere else and go up for a nice candle
at dinner. And I know you're big into writing notes.
You know, dude, the mind is the largest to Roger the son.
That's a Bigelbosky line.
Anyway, it seems romantic, dude.
It doesn't have to be graphic.
I'm pretty open about my life, but there are certain things
that feel like are going too far.
I might just like even candles.
Yeah, you know, some, maybe some musings.
Well, what the F does can't?
Well, that's original.
That, listen, you idiot.
If you haven't tried candles, go ahead, I guess.
I don't know.
Candles, music, a swing.
I'll say, what kind of moves are you guys pulling off?
Like, it's like asking, what do I do at Vegas?
I'm an idiot.
And I can't figure out what to do in Vegas.
I'm going to go to Vegas.
Is there anything to do?
Anything to do in Vegas?
Anything fun?
Looking for a show.
Listen, if you don't know how to figure out how to go to Vegas
or how to handle your bedroom situation, pack it in.
Just quit.
Don't do it anymore.
No sex questions.
Do you have a final question for our friend?
I was thinking about it.
And it seems like a silly question until you have children.
And then A, they're rammed down your gullet for like the first five years of parenting.
but also you get a little softer because you got kids
what's your favorite Disney movie rat
like the animated
I know there used to be one a year and now they're pumping them out like crazy
is any one of them you're like yeah that's a banger
I watch that anytime it's on now
are we talking about when I was growing up
sure or now
probably now because you're a parent right
is there anything if you wanted to tell me your favorite
just kids sure but Disney now has all those
marvel movies right like my kids we could
We've sat during COVID, we did the whole from one to a hundred of the marble.
Not Marvel universe.
No.
Okay.
So,
Star Wars.
Now, when I was a kid, I watched Fox and Hound about 800,000 times.
That was my go-to.
Copper.
Okay.
Nowadays, I don't know.
That was.
Moana.
Robin Hood was nails.
I remember that as a kid.
I liked Aladdin.
Aladdin's good.
When it came out.
Yeah.
That was just a love little mermaid.
That was a big one.
And as far as now, I don't even know, I don't think it's Disney, but when finding Nemo came out, that was a big one for us.
And I am, I against not ask me, so who cares?
That movie Up.
Yes.
With the older gentleman loses his wife, the balloons.
Up.
The grumpy old man.
He's got the golden retriever.
Up was the first movie that my old, we did an official movie night with our oldest.
Wow. So, Moana's the bag.
Cars.
Cars is good.
Cars is good. I might be Pixar too, though. Although, same now.
Yeah.
Is that Dreamworks or everything?
Well, that's just it that Disney's kind of swallowed up a bunch of stuff.
They got the car, yeah, because they got a cars ride at Disneyland.
I think they bought it just like about Star Wars. They're buying everything.
Buy us.
Yeah, we're available for sale.
I'm a Barnburn ride at Disneyland.
It's called the Cedora.
Fire a saddle.
There's no seatbelt.
What a great hit.
Oh, shit, break away.
Take that saddle and swing from Rett's bedroom.
Take it to Disneyland, hook it up.
Ride the Zadora.
It's hard to get all your toys.
It's hard to get all your toys into a rental.
That's the problem.
Yeah.
Hope Street rental property management.
Save your own valuable time.
Let Hope Street get to work for you.
We've been telling you for weeks.
We've been telling you for months.
They are Canada's property manager of the year for a reason.
They have been, it started small in Vancouver.
it's Edmonton, it's Calgary, it's hundreds and hundreds of staff and people that are here to, as it says right there, we match good people with good homes.
There is a fit on both sides, whether you're looking to rent or renting your own.
It's only Hope Street.
Canada's property manager of the year, the website retro one more time, of course.
Hopestreet.com.
A lot of singing on the show last couple days.
Boomcat was just belting out Ario speed.
Bird in the air.
You know who booms in a good mood when he sings.
He loves music.
And when he's a,
not singing,
he's a dick.
Like,
that's totally what,
like you,
it's,
he's not hard to read.
Sunlasses or not.
Yeah.
No,
you can tell them two minutes.
We got to trade.
All right.
Go ahead.
We have a trade to announce.
The Vegas Golden Knights,
we're not going to do nothing.
That's quick.
Double negative.
With their cap space given to them by.
You want to start again?
The Vegas gold nights have acquired John quick.
Quick turnaround from the start of the show.
I knew it.
I knew it.
I knew it.
Apparently there's major hurdles to clear cap-wise.
Apparently.
This is what they do in Vegas.
They'll trade a-
cap, yeah.
Dad and off even with a no move.
L.A. told us it was fine.
L.A. told us he was making 700 grand.
John says he wants to come.
You're going to tell him no, Gary?
I talked to Rob Blake.
He said he was league minimum.
What, it's not my fault.
It's not Rob Blake.
It could be Yarmow or Yarko.
Because he's Columbus property.
Well, I mean, whatever.
And it wouldn't that be delicious.
It would not be crazy to suggest those two teams could meet in the first round.
Columbus and Los Angeles.
Incorrect.
The Vegas Golden Knights and the L.A.
I see.
Right.
He's in the robbery.
Wouldn't that be amazing, John Quick against his old crew in round one?
It'd be great.
It would be.
And do you know what else?
It would also be great because their Twitter and social media accounts are awesome.
They used to be the best two and things change quick in that biz.
But at their peaks, Supreme A plus.
Wow.
Trolling and social media work.
They've officially done it.
There's Franco.
Frank bomb.
Frank bomb.
It's a Frank bomb.
No more Frank bombs after 1 p.m. tomorrow.
That's the trade deadline.
And there's a big one.
And quick UFA, right?
Last year of that 10-year $58 million deal.
And we all thought, there's no way.
He's got 10 years left.
Like, I think halfway through there was injury issues.
Like, I can't admit.
May it that's 10 years?
I tell you what, your buddy Eichol looked good for them last night.
Ever since you rip in the puck.
Yeah, if you can put that kind of a curse on, you know, Ike.
No, no, these guys listen.
Remember when Iggy was horseshit and I called him out on the show?
And all of a sudden he was good again.
He went and fought guys and did the way more details slow down here more details where are we when are we what's happening
I don't know when we are we're in Calgary and we're at the old shitty studio and he was terrible they had that
a bunch of old farts on the team and no one was playing with any emotion I remember Eric Francis was still doing
radio he came running over and was knocking on the door because he heard that I said so controversial
Oh, well, but that's important because when you said it first, I thought it was when you were playing together and you called them out through the media.
But this is when you were on the show and early on, I think that's an interesting tight wire to walk for former players that, you know, played with guys in the room.
How critical can you be?
How much can you say?
Interesting.
Yeah.
It wasn't so much critical.
It was get back to what you do.
Get what are you doing?
Yeah.
Well, his calling card was being the hardest to play against and all of a sudden he wasn't so hard to play against.
Yeah.
Or not even hard to play.
He was just so competitive that he was a win at all cause.
And half the reason he scored 50 goals just because he damn well-willed it and wasn't going to be stopped.
It was like, screw you, I'm scoring.
And then all of a sudden it was weird things.
Weird that Iggy isn't returning his text.
Yeah, that's odd, isn't it?
It was one of those things, don't poke the bear.
That kind of was the book on Iggy the last half his career.
Like, don't hit him.
No one challenged him to fight.
Leave him alone.
And he might not wake up.
That was kind of like, if you engage him, you're screwed.
and I think that kind of speaks to what you were talking about,
Red, like once you pissed him off
and it was like, okay, you want me to show you, I'll show you.
Oh, and as a fan, there was nothing better.
After a scrum where he was wound up
and he had those eyes going, his eyes,
crazy eyes going.
It's like, look at Eggie.
I'm going to get you.
That was the shift against Vancouver in 2004.
It was just like man possessed.
Will not be stopped.
Yeah.
And now he's an old man.
He's got, now he's got a different face.
He's got somebody else's face, Red.
He's got a shitty haircut, whatever he's doing with that.
Again, he can't get a text back.
You know who's back on Barnburner, our friends up in Jasper?
Really?
Jasper.
We had a blast in Jasper.
He told everybody about the cabins.
Everybody about Christmas and the skiing and all of that.
And now it's, well, it's March.
It's going to be spring.
I guess there's nothing to do in Jasper anymore.
Not in.
Please.
Experience Jasper in the spring, you say?
Why wouldn't you do it?
Spring skiing, warmer, tent.
drinks on the patio escape card still available for half price lift tickets conditions are
still great lots of new terrain is open clearer days for those epic views I am very much a
fair weather guy when it's a spring year is the best two months of skiing of the season
start now it's tough when you're on that lift longer days and sun it's windy and warmer
weather more snow accrual you can sit outside and have a beer you don't worry about you're
freezing your fingers on
It's the kids school here.
It's called Ellicottville.
It's a little shitty fake ski hill here.
Anyway, so you can sign up for ski clubs.
So they sign it, not my kids, but some of the kids signed up for ski club.
The lift broke down.
Five hours.
How cold is it?
Wow, it's never that cold here before.
It's a long, effing time.
You die.
It's the wrong way to five hours.
I don't want to do anything for five hours.
see a doctor for last
doesn't happen in Jasper
go ahead
I said it doesn't happen to Jasper
summer is around the corner
the golf course opens May 31st
lakes are thawing
enjoy canoeing rafting
start thinking about summer start getting your summer
plan the other thing
can I say something here
the nice thing about the lakes thong
if you can go in this
the cold water therapy
you gotta get you gotta do this stuff
it's great for the body
so I
So, Rhett's Twitter is a tiny little window into his brain, right?
And I think he retweeted...
Or a window into his tiny brain.
Call it what you want.
A massive brain, it's all perspective.
It's just what...
I mean, do you think of all the conspiracy theories in wacko medicine?
It can't be a small brain.
There's a lot held in there.
There's a lot going on up there.
He gave some props or a retweet to some famous, like, Netflix show, like deep plunger.
Like a guy famous for taking cold water pumps.
It's about his toilet.
No.
No, no. This is a guy that is part of a medical thing. He will plunge in cold water to like refresh his body and the dude's doing like these marathon plunges.
You're supposed to do like 10 seconds at some of these spas. He's doing like an hour and crazy stuff.
Not like someone not getting up with your practicing his breathing. You're a plunge guy, aren't you?
Yes, absolutely. He claims Kilimanjaro and it's shorts. No shirt. Eff it. No problem.
That sounds like a line for like Kramer.
I'm a plunger.
You're a plunger.
I like that got more shorts than
Winnipeg.
It's a plunger.
But yeah,
summer's coming,
start thinking about
Jasper,
Jasper Park Lodge,
golf.
I mean,
it's all up there.
The lakes,
the sky tram.
We're doing a summer trip up there,
fellas?
We're going to do a trip.
Yeah, buddy.
Get your ass back here.
Would you?
Travel,
Jaspper.
Go Google it,
go to the website,
start thinking about it.
Wrap your head around it.
And of course,
sooner than that.
Skiing right now.
Spring skiing.
It's the best.
Conditions are ready to roll.
Remember when it was just dark when you left the house?
You got home when it was already dark?
It's bright now.
It's bright when you leave.
It's bright when you're back.
Think about how much better the skiing is right now.
So much better, Ryan.
Golf course, there's nails too.
And how about the hot pools at the hotel?
Very good.
Well, here's the thing.
It was nippy when we were up there.
I need to go back up and experience the warmer weather.
Did you notice we had, we rolled a suitcase out to the hot tub?
We?
I did. Ryan, for everyone, the collective benefit.
Ryan filled his suitcase with beer and rolled it to the outdoor hot tub.
Incorrect. I filled Mandeep suitcase with his beer and rolled it out to the hot tub for all of the drink.
Just throw him right under the...
He owns a Lekistar. He doesn't want people to be thirsty.
He's just under the bus, hey?
No, it was Mandeeps.
I rolled it out. He may have not known it was happening.
What a good wing man you are.
You know what?
He's not his fault.
Speaking of Man Deep, fuck.
Afterburner tonight.
Yes.
Christ Almighty.
Another moral victory on tap.
What do we got looking?
Hey guys.
Welcome to Afterburner.
Well, the Flames out shot Toronto, but Jake Gavarsson will add three on his first two shots somehow.
First time in age of history and the flames lives by one after out shooting them 700 to four.
Can't make this one.
Hey, Red.
That's a shame.
I love to.
Let's do our betway bets of the day.
Can I put a suggestion out there before you pick?
Please do.
Go ahead.
The Buffalo Sabres are one of the few teams to have won in Boston this year.
Boston and Buffalo in Boston after Boston was in Calgary on Tuesday night.
First came back.
Big.
Go big sabers.
Oh my gosh.
That's tight turn.
I'm pulling up the line on that way here.
But it's first came back.
This is one of Rett's hallmark excuses for teams.
And no extra day.
Is that what you're saying?
And no, one day in between a West Coast trip to back home.
You know back at 4.5 a.m.
Yes.
And the Sabres lost to Columbus at home.
And they're horny to get into the playoffs.
Horny.
Go big on the Sabres.
All right.
And look at this.
Plus 225.
Saber's money line.
I'm telling you that's.
There's your fucking Betway Benz today.
There it is.
There it is.
What do you got, Dino?
No, I like that.
I love it.
I do.
I think it's great.
Honestly, I'm with you.
And Pastornax drunk right now.
Oh, dude.
Oh, Cameron.
He is in the bag.
Yes.
Mamosis, guys are what?
Hey?
Get past that's game day.
We have eight losses.
Who cares, man?
It's absolutely liquid lunch for pasta.
Yes.
Hey, tell me, is Taylor Hall ready to go because I'm, I'm hammered.
I'm drunk as shit.
You just put them on IR past it.
You got to play tonight.
We're going to need you, dude.
See, there's Dr.
Nick.
Oh, Dr.
Nick's got.
Hello, everybody.
Ready.
April 17.
Isn't that on the playoffs?
Yes.
No timelines for Taylor Hall or Nick Falino.
Yeah,
Felino got things up here.
Poor bugger.
Oh,
yeah.
Well,
here's,
I mean,
I went with the flames game.
I mean,
we kind of,
when the flames were in action,
we're in Calgary.
You like to go with the flames
This game is what I'm going with.
It hit last night.
Would you hit the Mitch Marner, power play point.
Yes, plus money.
I'm going to, let's roll.
Let's roll.
Mitch Marner, a power play point plus 140.
Codry against his former team.
He'll be jacked.
Matthews likes to score goals.
A goal for Cadre and Austin plus four hundo.
Four bills.
So going, taking a bit of a reach, but I do like the shot there.
Those are my two for tonight.
What do we call it?
Bottom one.
Big game
Big game hunting
Yeah
More hands
How many words?
Three words
The opposite is small
Ship my pants
What is it?
Hoop and agree
Big game hunting
Big game hunting
I'm going big game hunting
With Codry
And Austin Matthews tonight
You're not hunting with bunting
though I noticed not
Hot hunting will move along
I'm going to do flames in leased
tonight as well
We hit last night
And the Nitchikushkin two-pointer
There you go
It looked like a lacrosse score
between the Devils and the avalanche last night.
Almost hit the Dougie two-pointer as well,
which would have been huge.
Johnny Euberto, and that line's looking better,
and it might be mostly Jacob Pellche,
but, hey, even if he banks in enough,
someone's skate to Peltje, I like Huberto with one.
Hey, merci beaucoup.
Merci Bac.
Hey, signor.
Merci beaucoup.
Signor.
Spanish.
What?
Elche from Thiawana.
Plus 135 for a single helper for Hubido.
And Rasmus Anderson power play point.
Look at this number.
Plus 240?
That's big.
The Flames Powerplay is,
been looking pretty darn good since they went back to the usual units coming out of the
all-star break well the only shitty thing about that is they play the leaps the leaps will have
preferential refref treatment so they might only get one that's true do you know who's a net tonight
for the leaf sir would you guess it's uh because it was last night samsonov and he wasn't good
i had to look it up and i don't know who the guy is woolly mammoth yeah joseph wool wool
not whole the defenseman wall now don't be jinksy because he was 14 and one with the marlies an
a hl all-star Mitch wall those were our betway bets of the day sorry bet responsibly
shouldn't have said anything with the goalie that way bets he's got a 929 safe percentage
gratitude he's played very little this year 931 in the a do I thought that we're
that's what you're talking about 929 in the
I'm like, that's good.
29 in the NHL over a couple of games.
But yeah, he's 14 and 1, a 2.32 and a 931 save percentage with the Marley.
So if Shen gets in tonight, that's at least five newcomers in the lineup.
You could see an Eric Gustafson, forever fine, potentially move into this lineup.
God, you love Eric Gustafs.
Well, I mean, he just absolutely cheats the game for offense and is brilliant at it.
Pinder quizzing me before the show.
Do you know how many teams Eric Gustafsson's been playing?
It's unbelievable.
And Eric Gustafs.
drafted in his 20-year-old season, didn't play in league till he's 23.
He's 30 now, seven years in the league, seven teams.
Wild.
There's got to be, I mean, because he puts up points on power play.
Love does a teammate, apparently.
Not really interested in here.
Absolutely zips it around in the power.
I don't know if you remember.
It was the bubble year.
They brought him at the deadline.
He was awesome on the Mett advantage.
One of those.
The stage and was pissed off because they moved Gio off the power play.
Remember we had stage in the studio?
That didn't last too long.
I can't believe you'd do that.
And then he's, oh, you know, maybe this guy's all right.
Then he told you, you don't.
I can't believe you'd do that to my buddy.
He gave you that how many games have you played?
I've played zero games.
Everyone knows I played zero games.
Matt played a lot of games.
Stage and cut throat just smashed.
He's a great, great human.
Not very many playoff games, though.
Oh, right from the top.
See?
And we like Matt.
Why does it end up happening like the Dudley boys in here?
It's a lovely man.
That's why you do it because Matt would do it to us.
We got to do it back.
Yeah, we're palsy.
You want to cut down his haircut too or just
St. Barber or Zick?
Wasn't that the head's trimmer?
He's just looking for working the winner.
Are we going to get an extra 15, 20 minutes?
Are we going late today?
We are.
Just throw everybody under the damn boss.
Poor Alex sitting there trying to get another show ready.
There's nothing that's going to break his drive right now.
Big Sends win last night.
They're winning the cup since.
Come on.
Alex is.
Pierre Dorian.
Pierre Dorian makes hockey to see.
There is that.
There is.
Thank you, Alex.
Thank you.
Yes.
He's been waiting.
All show for us finally to mention the mighty sense.
There it is.
It's like shot like out of the holster.
We couldn't even ask for it.
It's already up.
Yeah, we're looking at the Eastern Conference standings and as most of them, but you see the extra
teams below the two wild card.
Right.
So you always include those two extra teams.
Of course.
Yeah.
Now they are above Florida, which I'll give them credit for, but they're also below the
Islanders, which doesn't sound good either.
So, hey, look at it.
playing well and to Alex's point they played some really good hockey from the new year on
but this is this is that that was all house money stuff now it's like okay are you for real because
guess what happens now you got expectations you got pressure you got four point games you
got people playing the number one goal is against you all the time etc it's a talented young team
chivalry helps wait look at the deep herrings now Alex's got deep dive check that as many
is two or three top four defensemen didn't I see is he wearing six I saw them make in the
jersey yeah I saw six
The Senators jersey there.
They were getting the name bar.
Chick dog.
I like chick dog.
Can shoot it.
Now, of those five teams, you've got...
Let's go about there.
Pittsburgh and Buffalo.
The islanders, the Sends, and the Panthers.
Yeah.
I'd even scroll down because Washington's falling out.
Detroit just fell out.
Maybe a week ago.
Obviously, I know where you're going, Red, but I'll start with you, Pender.
Which two teams out of that five do you want in?
So the game's played have evened out a bit.
do I want in, I'd love to see the Sabres in. They're fun. And when a team's been so bad that you don't
actually even remember them being good, you're like, was that a real thing? Just for entertainment value
watching them? For entertainment value? And that building, that goal horn? So I am all in on the Sabres going
So which two teams purely for entertainment purposes. It's absolutely Buffalo and I'm having a tough time
between Ottawa and Florida because Florida is fun. And you could get Battle of Florida, which I think's
Van all, although probably couldn't happen.
But I also think Ottawa would be a riot because
they're young and they don't seem to give a fuck.
And Brady Kachuk was MF and the Detroit
bench the other day.
The Sends would not be boring. I don't think they're good
at defense a goalie. That even makes it more exciting.
The Sends are boring because no one cares
about the Sins. The Sabres and the Panthers
please. Let's go.
The problem with the senators is that
98% of the
hockey world does not give
one rat's ass about the Ottawa Senate.
just go away. Get out of here.
So,
I want you to answer it too, Dino, if you don't mind.
Not trying to crush you, but I want to set up something.
So who do you want in out of those?
Well, I find out neither of you pick Pittsburgh.
Well, and this is where I'm going.
Who do you want in?
I want Buffalo in.
And I kind of want Florida in in a weird way.
Yeah, I think it could be just for the Chucky.
And I think they could, if there's somebody that could give one of those top teams a scare.
Yep.
I think it would be Florida out of that group.
just, man, the islanders are so hard to watch.
Pittsburgh, I wonder if they are a little long in the old tooth.
Sabres are fun.
And, yeah, the senators are fun.
So, now that we've all answered that,
if the Pittsburgh Penguins and Sidney Crosby and of Guinea-Malkin and Chris LaTang
missed the playoffs, I'm trying to think a lot of time that happened.
Are we like early double O's?
Are we mid-Os?
Like, this feels like, um, and Ovian,
the caps seller is not even in that
graphic. This is a
mate, and I think Washington's
kind of done a good job of a little bit of a retool here.
But like this is not what
we've, it's been, just put them in cement. They're in every year for like a
decade plus for both these teams. That would be something.
If neither Ovi and the
caps or Crosby and the pens were in.
In a weird way, I'm kind of okay with it.
Well, we both just, none of us pick them because it's, you've seen it.
And who doesn't like Sid,
obviously, and they
I don't know.
I feel like I'm ready for some...
I respect them. I just bored by them.
Yeah.
And I'd love seeing Sid in a playoff series,
but yeah,
I've seen it like 14, 17 times.
That's maybe a lazy take, right?
I'm just sick of them,
but that's the way I feel.
The last time that it didn't make this.
Personal question.
I don't want to see Pittsburgh in the playoffs.
I'm done. I've seen them enough.
05.06.
Rett was playing.
God, that's a long time.
And like had a lot of...
That's the first year after the lockout.
Last time.
Wow.
That shoulders.
20 years ago right now,
I was probably planning a trip to Australia or something.
Yeah.
Something.
Well, good talk.
Now,
tomorrow,
Alex is just Jack to talk to what the sense.
I know he is.
He's not so Jack.
That's late.
He's got another show right away.
Frank Silver Valley,
of course,
going to have the big four-hour program.
The hell is it?
Chuck,
put it back.
That's me.
This is Brady.
Kachick.
Kind of looks like the boom.
A young boom cat.
Tomorrow, Frank Sarah Valley Daily Faceoff live,
four hours of trade deadline day coverage.
Good luck, fellas.
Really looking forward to that JVR deep dive for four hours tomorrow.
But I think we're doing our, we're going to be doing our show.
It might be a bit of a pivot.
There's some things behind the scenes we've got to figure out,
but I think we got them figured out.
And of course, we'll have our take on the Leafs and Flames.
And after burner tonight post game, Pinder and myself,
Lafferty Samuel. Lafferty Samuel and the Toronto Maple Leafs.
And yeah, do join us for some Afterburner tonight on your YouTube.
Wherever you get your podcasts, not long after the final buzzer,
we'll be going live on the YouTube's with our postgame coverage.
That's it for today, fellas.
It's going to do it.
See you're right.
Good show, everybody.
That's it.
That's it. I'm not doing extra everyone.
All right.
All the best.
Oilers suck.
See you, buddies.
Do an extra.
He does more.
He's extra miler.
