Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - FlamesNation Barn Burner: Gameday Show Calgary Flames vs Nashville Predators
Episode Date: November 3, 2022Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener Thursday November 3rd, 2022- Flames vs Predators Tonight at the Dome - Mad Rose Pu...b Ticket Giveaway - Pinder Report | Village Honda 💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on twitter: @FlamesNation @BarnburnerFN @960boomer @PinderReport @warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @The Nation Network 💻 Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialFlam... Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the show. It is Barnburner on your Thursday. It is Boom Pinder and Rhett Warner who has some shrubbery. It looks like in your shot today. If you want to if you're on the old U-tubbs.
There's in the Carolinas, eh? That's right. It's beautiful out there. Yeah, it's picturesque here in the Carolina. Is this sitting on a patio here at the hotel? I got a nice olive tree behind me. It's good.
Olives. Do you like olives?
Yeah.
don't really it's i'm okay with all those i'm not i wouldn't say i like them i think olives
get a bad rap i think they're better than ever i just think people don't even say if it's on your
pizza or whatever what's they're actually quite tasty i think no you're talking all olives you're
talking about the black variety all of them yeah okay i'm not a i'm kind of with
The red world's racist.
If they're there, I'll have them.
But I'm never like, damn it, I could use some olives.
Stuffed olives.
I'm a big, I like stuffed olives.
Little feta in there.
Blue cheese.
peppers.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Or in the bottom of your dirty martini.
Yeah.
I do like a dirty martin.
That's pretty good.
Pretty good.
You know, here, here we are.
It is, it's great to have ret.
So you're not in the Carolinas.
We were unsure.
What happened?
You were supposed, what?
why were you going and what has happened i was going to uh i was going to go down to the carolinas and
wow some of the buffalo savers corporate sponsors really entertain and yeah yeah give them some
great insights and entertainment that's what i was going to be there for like kibbitts
who the long arms making a scene here and i'm familiar i don't know who he is vaguely remember
who played for the sabers safe like our sabers yeah the team that went to the finals you
duds yeah yeah everywhere you went there's only so many buffalo sabers that ever played in a
stanley up finally huh think about there's two panthers too i'm surprised you're not flying down for
a panthers well to be quite honest while you're in the neighborhood to be quite honest there's not a
whole hell of a lot of calgary flames players that have played in the stanley cup okay
feels like a shot okay you're not in the carolinas you're not wowing what happened
I'm well, I had the sniffles yesterday to the point where I actually wondered if it was
uh allergies you know I'm in a new locale maybe there's a different pollen or some sort of
because all the leaves are falling and rotting and going to hell I thought maybe maybe it was an
allergy my nose was running like crazy you know the nose drip when it just it just
you stand up and it just comes out yeah it's just you got it down your chin now that's how I was
yesterday. So I slept for 12 hours. I took some cold and sinus pills here this morning and I
chugged a massive coffee and I'm going to crush it for the next hour and a half. I'm going to kibbets
with you guys and then I'm going to go to bed again. I thought he was going to say he chugged a
massive bottle of NyQuil. I was like, yeah, let's do it. So have you taken a COVID test?
I haven't. Don't have any in the new.
what's COVID i thought in uh western new york it's dead some are still getting it apparently
apparently yeah well it's good to have you i'm happy if i do if i do the test will it change my
symptoms it'll all change everything changes uh well i'm glad you're along to kibbitts on the show
today i didn't realize on tuesday i didn't really think about it i guess if i then i start
kind of jog the mary well like maybe did i somebody on social media just a wonderful place
The social media.
Isn't it?
Yeah, positivity.
And somebody shared two things that I was at both the sabers and the crack and losses.
So the flames have three losses.
I've been at two of them.
And I'm even more responsible because apparently on Tuesday,
there's a thing that I have just said on a game day that you're supposed to do.
And I never said it.
So somebody was listening very closely.
And apparently I didn't tell you to put your helmet on on the game day.
So I was at the game and I didn't do that.
So sorry about the loss on Tuesday.
Ooh.
Well, so you've now set it for today.
God, it's been uttered, yeah.
And you're going to go.
Yeah.
So I feel like back to 50-50.
Even ground?
Yeah.
Let the team maybe decide who wins.
That's fair.
It is a game day.
Get your helmet on.
The flames are going to take on the Nashville Predators who were thumped
sound Lee and Edmonton a couple nights ago big night for mcdude big night for leon vander kane
a hat trick 7 4 just a great night i said this to you the other day kind of off the air
said it's a big win everybody's like oh look at leon look at these guys big goes still needed five to
win i said it to week two you got to watch out for jack campbell after those first three go in
he really settles down yeah anyway it's not about the oilers the beauty of them they they can score five
whenever they feel like it.
Yes, they can outscore their problems.
Yeah.
You brought something up that maybe the flames
dropped the ball on.
I think we all had opinion on it,
but are we in need of a winger?
We haven't talked about this, eh?
Yeah.
Before they blew a third period lead against Edmonton,
I think the answer was no,
but it's been a rough four periods since that.
No, no, we've kind of started the year.
It's like, geez, they could use another winger.
For sure.
It just didn't seem like it needs to be done.
Now you could probably address it later in the year.
What's that Cain making up in Edmonton?
Could have had him for nothing last year, no?
Or does he make too much?
It wouldn't fit.
Mid-season, you could have.
Essentially, yeah, in the whole, you know, big picture.
Kind of nothing.
Because he was no longer, you didn't have to give up a pick.
Bad human, I think is what it came down to.
Confirmed.
Yeah.
Because we did talk about it.
And I remember the reaction, whether it be text or whatever.
No, it's, that whole thing.
Can't happen.
Don't want him.
I'd be lying if I'd
players said that I haven't been thinking
the same thing as you watch
Kane in the playoffs and
once he signed that deal
to go to Edmonton it's a bad human
but I'm sure there's other bad humans
in the national hockey league
few kicking around
just how holier than thou
are you I guess is what it comes down
yes who's been accused of what
and whose rap sheets the longest it really doesn't matter
if you can score 30 goals and be a power forward
but what if what if the guy because remember in in winnipeg he basically got jettisoned out of there lost the room there
buffalo same deal san Jose said we don't want him back don't bring him back in our he he warroed us welcome
in three rooms so to put us back in the shoes we were in when he was available was he hadn't
had a good run in a locker room that lasted and it's been what less than
and 12 months in Edmonton, it has been a good run.
But to suggest that was the most likely outcome would have been a little bit crazy at the time.
That's a good point.
It's a good point.
Anyway, we can't have them now.
Five and a quarter, five point one to five a year for four years.
And I think that deal was done knowing that there was a settlement coming with San Jose.
Right.
Because that wasn't like he was terminated.
It was some, I don't know.
Here's another question I had because I'm down here in Buffalo and I'm watching the Sabre.
play a little bit, huh?
Who's, have we screw, did we screw up on this skinner guy?
Skin dog.
He, he, he makes way too much money, granted.
But you could have had him two years ago for what?
They would have eaten half of his salary at least.
Oh, they would have, they'd have flown him to your doorstep.
Yeah, and probably throwing in a pick.
I don't know.
And now with Eichel out of there, the deadbeat bum.
Just kidding.
Jack, you're great.
But honestly, the talk around Skinner is completely different.
How was his season last year?
You didn't get 25?
I don't, can't remember.
I think Ralph Kruger at him on the fourth line.
That's not a place for Jeff Skinner.
Yeah, come on, Ralph.
Elias.
Harrison was playing on the fourth line under Travis Green.
And oh, look, a coaching change.
And he's better again.
He has fought.
This is one of five years remaining on his contract at $9 million per season.
And you can't eat salary for just.
a couple of years. If you eat, you eat for every single year. I don't know that a team in a rebuild,
as the Sabres have been, would say, we're going to blow up our cap spot for seven years. Like,
three or four, sure. Like, we're going to be bad, no worries. But they are planning on being
good at some point in the short term here. Looks like it might be sooner than later. So I'm not
necessarily convinced they'd eat half that money. Let's just move it to today. Would you, would you,
would you want Jeff Skinner at nine million for five more years? If you're the flames, if you're
the buffaloes or who well i mean who are you moving out to make room i don't the money doesn't work i'm just
saying we want the player yeah i'm you and i don't at nine okay i see what you're saying yeah so
without i was saying not at nine i'm saying a couple years ago when they were dying to get them out of
there if they would have eaten half was that a mistake not to yes if it was half at half
price absolutely you take them i just don't know that that was on the table i mean we're all
speculating here right yeah what we're because it was i mean he was i mean he was
was it was horrendous. Yeah, he had the 40 goal-ish year. The massive is 40. In 1819,
had 40 goals. And that was the year they had the 10-game winning streak, all of them by one
goal, I think. And it was like, everyone was like, yes, Sabres. You've earned it. No one can hate
you. You've been bad so long. Go get them. And then the bottom came out in the second half of the
year. And they signed them saying like, okay, we're not going to trade them. We're going to sign
them. But you basically bought at the top of the market for Jeff Skinner. He's not going to have a
better statistical year than that one following year that's the 1920 so COVID hits in spring 14 goals
in 59 games then in 2021 seven goals that was Kruger yeah fourth line 14 points seven goals in 53 games
and then last year 33 goals and this year two but uh two and eight 10 points 10 games
take that 10 games right like weird things happen you know kailin addison's not going to have a
hundred point season like it's a small sample if it's the middle 10 games of the year we'd never even
react to it but for the skinner like yeah he's a good player he's fits them nicely yeah the skin
dog's been around long enough though right you're not talking about 10 games of some rookies he's got
a bit of a history yeah totally yeah i guess my point being whether it's two goals or eight
assists like we know he's a good player the original point though i think is valid whether it be skin
dog or evander kane another body that would improve that top nine has to be on the
yes to do neither of those guys fit cash wise but they do need to find another winner i don't know
that there's dead money to move out i don't see this team moving away from alan luchich um they like him
he provides something that i don't think anyone else can do as the dorov showed us at center
price you're big but you're not really an enforcer and that's the only real inefficient money
they've got in the books in my opinion after giving up a pick for to Foley a year ago
to and what we hear about this draft coming up supposed to be quite good for
don't don't don't keep your picks this year yeah okay keep your picks I know
it's so enticing but again I thought they were
all in one team not they were all I know aren't we all in aren't we all in all the
you're not going to trade a picture all in what are you talking about boom now you're confusing
everyone this is two games is so living doesn't know what to do now no I that's
you sending a mixed messages at some point all in that that's it but are we wearing
how they are they no is the helmet on today or not like what do we do helmet is on today
listen you're paying seven million to cadre you're paying 10 to huberdough your side you're in it doesn't
mean you have to continue to throw things at this well okay so what's their window to hang a banner
what's the window like i've sort of said three to five years you'd agree with that i agree with that
i guess my point would be let's get to january and see what this team is oh 100% i'm with that yeah
Because I may, if they're, if they look like they're a contender,
this team's really got something.
Then it's like, gosh, you got to do it.
You got to spend that first.
The other thing, too, is 16th overall is a whole lot different than 29th.
Everyone says a first to first when they talk about trades, but it's absolutely not the case.
You'll have a really good idea at the trade deadline where that pick's going to fall.
They have their own first, their own second.
They traded somebody else's second already.
So like it's, they're in a good space.
in the sense that they can keep those if things aren't perfect.
And if you do look like a contender, you can still trade them.
Like Florida's traded all their picks forever.
First, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first, first.
But remember Daryl's thing was the seconds.
That's right.
Don't need a second round pick.
What do you need a second round pick for?
If it's going to be Mitch Wall, you certainly don't.
You certainly don't.
So, be it's, are there any other candidates, Rhett?
Skinner's the only one.
The cane, the cane is a good one, certainly would have been available a year ago.
go well I just sight let's talk about options that actually exist now like where's a
where's a way you can go get why can't we just have fun mr. serious like every time I try to
have a just a ass and giggles talk conversation oh can it's unrealistic it's terrible dumb
Prince he's got his finger on the swear drawer about right over there he's waiting for you
I know I'm catching myself no coffee are you are you sorry
Tonight it's the Predators, though.
The Predators started the season, if you recall.
And Rhett, you said there's no way they should be playing regular season games abroad.
They opened in Prague against San Jose.
They beat the Sharks twice and have lost seven of eight games since.
They have...
Stinky.
Yeah, they have one win in North America.
Three, six, and one.
They are one and three.
on the road and as mentioned took a savage beating in edmonton the other night yeah
roman yosi's been good but not norris good which he's been the last two years
your buddy ryan johansen set to not tonight but within a couple he's a couple games
away from 800 i believe in his career i'll text him if he texted me back does he not text you
i just start trying stop trying what do you uh what do you think of the of the of the of the
the predators.
Retro.
I think I was actually thinking about moving there today,
thinking, geez, J.P. Dumont.
He runs the hockey schools down there.
Maybe I, the junior preds program,
maybe I could get in with him and get a nice little side gig
and live in Nashville.
That's what I think.
So you've already soured on Buffalo that,
so the Sabres, there's no one in the Sabres organization.
You've cooled on it now.
There's not enough.
There's not enough honky time.
in Buffalo. There's not enough
honky talk. No. It's more
rock and roll. It's hair metal
for sure in Buffalo, right?
Very Aussie. Yes.
Very.
So.
Now, Nashville's a team stuck in the middle
not knowing where they're going, I think
is what they are.
If you never rebuild and you always
try to contend, you usually end up
mediocre unless you've got a superstar
or two. All right. I like
their goalie. The D-depth is
slowly worn away to looking like a normal blue line not the best in the nchel they don't have you know
they lose i guess they bring back forsburg but he's he's a great a good not a great player probably
i don't know like they kept at home they brought in ryan mcdona roman yosi obviously is a stud
um dante fabro player they're always they're always going to be good it seems on the back end
to a certain degree you're never going to look at the predators and say ooh that's a rough they have
always they've drafted them they've kept them they've coveted defense that's not as vaunted a top
four as they usually have that's like the nash yeah that's not a national predator's defensive
phabro's that's pair a couple years ago there a young guy though right yeah but i mean that's how is he
a star or is he just elevated because they're out of good guys they added nino needer rider
in the offseason he is leading them in goals five goals through 10 games there's a guy you want to talk about
Could have been a flight.
Free agent this summer.
All costs is a contract.
I don't believe he was making that much dough.
I think they were in on them.
I think there was interest, but Nino likes country music, apparently.
Yeah, he's not honky tonk enough up here, apparently, for Nino.
It's Mike Gertrude.
They got Philip, Philo Foresberg.
We thought he was coming, eh?
Swede.
Get in here, Phil.
Yeah.
Bring that curly mustache of yours.
Get in here with your boys.
anderson and lindholm and just starts sweden you have all the meatballs you want you love it here phil
a lot of last year's success as well was a huge bounce back for duchesne and johansen saros is a
vezna finalist i think you probably could have had duchin for a song red four years left at eight
million yeah i didn't know if i wanted him i'm still not sure what he is there was a time in place where
Yeah.
Swedish meatballs,
Aquavit restaurant,
New York City.
Unbelievable.
I ordered three orders.
I ordered one order.
They were so good,
I ordered a second order.
Again,
so good,
I went for the third.
I tripled.
Finished all them?
All of them.
Some lingonberries on there.
Some mashed potatoes.
Alex, can we go to a full shot?
There's Bontan meats.
Well,
we're talking about meatballs.
Very good.
Very timely.
Can we go to just a full shot?
full shot just a full screen on on rat can you show me how big so how many meatballs per serving and how big like
because some of them are you know little guys some of them are bigger like the italian you go for the meatballs
they're big honkers okay so uh tunie tuny size what bigger red's hands this is
his audio's gone your audio's not as big as not as big as my glasses here like smaller okay
So not huge.
And how many meatballs?
Probably eight to ten, eight to ten little ones.
Reload, reload.
So just a quick 30 banger of meatballs.
The gravy was phenomenal.
I remember the Swedes.
It was Johann Garpenloff and Magnus Vinson.
They're like, we're going to Aquavit.
Whatever.
Okay.
What year is it?
2020.
I guarantee you, I have not heard Johann Garpenlov's name in seven or eight years.
Johan Garpen Love.
So great.
And you know what?
It's funny that Rhett, as he's looking to rekindle his career, whatever it is he's doing,
that you played in Florida and Buffalo.
And the one alumni you're chasing is the one in Buffalo.
If I was to pick gun to my head, he's going to Florida.
He's moving to Florida for sure, but instead it's buff.
There's no, the alumni down at Florida sucks.
They don't get together.
They don't do anything.
There's two spread out.
You know what they need?
It's no good.
They need an idea guy.
They need a glue guy.
They got a Randy Moller down there.
He takes control of everything.
Randy.
Randy.
Question for you, Rep.
Now, while you're looking for a top nine winger, I think it's possible.
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, top six.
Okay.
You're looking for a top six winger.
You might have one and not know it.
Is that so?
Brett Richie's on a four-game point streak.
Power play two, two goals in his last four games.
Do you see that one-timer from the slot?
He buried that thing.
We looked this morning.
He had 17 goals one year with the Dallas Stars.
Maybe you've got them and you don't even know it.
We wouldn't be screaming.
We'd know the top nine four then, would we?
We're looking at, does Luchich, should Luchich be on the second line?
Probably not.
No, God, no.
Get the, get another guy on that fourth line up there.
I'd prefer that, to be honest with you.
They will have about $6 million in deadline space.
So cap room when you get to the deadline.
That allows you to do some significant shopping if you choose to.
Although, to your point, Dean, they're already paying Brett Ritchie, $750,000.
He's already there.
He's at the rank right now.
That's right.
I put him with Uberdo.
I bet you they're just off to the races.
I like that.
I'm going.
Choice better than the list.
I'm sorry.
It is.
It's a better choice.
We love Luch, but we know what Luch is.
He's not, right?
He's got a perfect role.
It's not on the second line.
We love Luch.
And I said this at the Edmonton game going back to Saturday.
And it sounds convenient to cherry pick it now after what we saw two nights ago.
But I think he skates as well as he did a year ago or two.
I don't think that's noticeably different.
But does it not seem like he's less trustworthy with the puck?
He's always had that puck into a square if he has it too long.
But it's just, I feel like this year it's been glaring turnovers.
And yeah, it happened to go into back of their net, but it feels like now.
You just forgot it.
It happens.
Reasonty by us.
Yeah.
He's never had good hands.
I'm not saying he had good hands.
No, he's been a turnover machine like when he wasn't going right under Jeff
the lawyer.
I just feel like talking about quitting.
That was the same luch.
He's more prone to just like it's not the plays, plays die on his
stick that happens not even protecting the puck now it's rough to watch got to get
better get him off that second line there what's the hell's darrell thinking truly like we love
darrell he's going to the hall of fame so you doing with these lines two days in a row taking
shots of darrell what you told him you used the f bomb on him yesterday I told him it drove me
f bombing not yeah that the way he was doing things was driving you effing crazy like if uh if
if rosy commits some of the turnovers luchich does I mean you may as old
your career and start get to get over to the old rental card desk and start learning things speaking out
the keys speaking of rosy yeah chances are he'll be watching tonight who's coming in think who really why would he
who might come back in tonight oh the roon dog the roon dog yeah that's who i thought you're gonna say
maybe runy needs to go up on that second no i you just did so i need i need one of these i need like a game
sheet to even know who that fucking guy is why did they bring this guy in well the fourth line the guys
around them are scoring i i don't notice him but like brett richie's having a wail of a start you can't shut
up about him and playing on his wing he was a day one ufa guy it's classic flames malo shimman gilbert
day one let's go man day one it's not classic flames richie should be up there instead of
lute shouldn't he lewis was early you know it was good branson phone call and opening hours of free agency
a year ago? They signed him at the before training camp.
The phone call. He said in the interview,
Darrell called me. You love to cherry pick stuff.
Okay. Sorry. If they sign on July 1 or get a phone call,
is that different? Of course, it's different. I didn't say they signed.
On the first day of free agency. And then you're saying Good Branson.
I signed Good Branson right before the season. So if someone falls in your lap in September,
that's different than having them at the top of your list the day for agency opens.
That's all I'd say. Okay.
So anyway, sorry, Luch.
I still think this has to be a criticism of Daryl,
and as much as I hate to criticize my third father.
Third.
Well, he's not giving the kids a chance.
Most, most, yeah, no, most, most GM's coaches, teams,
you're not looking at this lineup.
I don't know that that veteran leadership that Daryl relies on
who loves so much is what's going to take this team to the next level.
But you know what?
I take this team.
But that's my whole point.
You're not even going to find out none of those guys.
And Richie might be the best option.
None of those guys are top six wingers, right?
Like to the point where you'd want to break up the third line, right?
You're not taking a Lewis or Rizekka or Ritchie, blah, blah, blah.
My point is, where's the youth that might turn into a talent that scores you 30?
you can't take the guys they have and throw them in there there's no one there it's great to want them
to grow and and to get better in the hl and there's a lot of benefit to that but sometimes
they turn into muckers and grinders down there too the other thing is if you don't get sniffs
and you get to free agency why would you stay with the organization if they don't give you a chance
like matthew phillips is he going to resign here i mean i would he's had one game
Glenn Godin chose not to.
Kirkland had the best year of his career.
He gone.
I'm not saying these are difference makers necessarily.
But what about my boy?
He's going to choose to go to other organizations if they don't get chances.
Alan Quine.
Al Quine, your boy.
Quine time.
Quine,
that's right.
Sneeze again.
But you know,
your point is,
it's like there's the bigger one.
Who's going to want to sign as a potential NHLer?
If you're kind of a tweener,
you're hoping to get some NHL time.
the flames have proven they're not really a team that does that if you're thinking maybe i'll go
and i'll start with the wranglers but i'll be called up by the 10 15 20 game mark because they love
bringing up youth it's the exact opposite tried it's just under darrell they're not going to do it like
austin zarnik signed here he's exactly that he's a quad a guy right flashed a little and small samples of
the nchle scored a ton of the eight came in here didn't work out great got hurt i guess what i'm saying
is we spend more time moaning about why don't they bring this
guy up or why don't they give them a chance than we do saying that guy's clearly not ready i
wish they'd send him down totally yeah no and hey you so valamaki he's not perfect you so
valamaki zero reasons not to play him a million reasons to play him and he barely saw the ice
in a season where it was going nowhere nothing games crows they were playing flipping playoff
games when this guy couldn't get on the ice in a regular season
I mean, the playoffs had started.
That's how bad the year had gone.
And he still wasn't good night this time.
If there's a criticism to make of Darrell, this is what it is.
Yeah.
And he's not here right now, but they were, I would suggest, a whisker away from losing
Oliver Shillington on those same parameters.
Waivers too.
And then he came in, night one last year was a forward, but then started to play better.
And you look back, you forget because he's not here, but.
what if you what would you just lose this guy for nothing
you still don't know what bala mac he is he might turn into something it never even
and shillington you're right he hung around about as damn long as anyone was going to hang around
and it finally turned for him and it was i don't know what the circumstances were that
got him in the line him got him playing and got darrell's trust but whatever you but
honest to god that has to be the one criticism isn't it
And again, I was one here yesterday saying, we don't need to go freaking out.
I think this is a playoff team and this and that.
But you're going to end up in a playoff spot.
And what happens?
You win around, blah, blah, blah.
You get an injury.
Who the hell is going in?
And now you've got a kid that's not played, has no feel for anything.
Guys haven't played with them.
Or you're putting Trevor Lewis on the second line.
Oh, great.
Yeah.
No, no, and.
Yeah, you're going to get.
Yeah, you're going to get some.
up par play you're not going to get someone that can make the difference
Trevor Lewis is a shutdown guy when you're up three two with five minutes left in the third
he's not going to get you the third goal to put you up three to there's a difference
yeah they've got like four or five fourth line guys and they haven't left room for a kid
to blossom and play with talent um like even if just rotated I still even knowing
Darrell, sorry, Ryan. It's a question. Why? What's the worst thing that can happen? What is the
where is the like I need like I can't grasp it. There has to be reasoned Daryl's head. It's not just
because, right? Like he has to have a belief system and a reason for doing this. He typically
has a reason for a lot of things. You don't maybe understand it. But this is one where I can't make sense of
I didn't make sense of his moves as GM when he thought we needed to get older,
but whatever.
We're on that later, by the way.
He had a thought process on that.
But I, and maybe Peltier and them aren't good enough, but how the hell do we know?
How do we know?
We don't.
And you know what?
They know more than we do in terms of reports and stuff, but they don't know what they look like at the NHL level.
Phillips has played one game.
Zeri's played zero.
Injury plague, different story.
Peltier's played zero.
Easily could have had them up for a week.
week last year. And you know damn well, it's easier to play in the NHL than the HL.
People are where they're supposed to be. I was going to ask you that question.
And it sounds crazy that it would be easier to play for a still player. Yeah. Can you can you kind
of explain what you mean by that? Well, it's just everyone does the right thing. There's a
really. Okay. So think about, uh, Christmas time when the world the world juniors is on.
How exciting that hockey is. It's full on.
right and those kids they fuck up right because they aren't good enough they're going to make mistakes
where at the NHL level you through even if you throw a good huberd or a bad pass what's he doing
with that puck he's picking it up making a play he might make an unbelievable play that's not
there's no bad pass right you know everyone's in the right spot all the time you're not got some
kid that can barely keep up trying throw it a pass to him
You're throwing it to.
Codry.
You got as cadre as your support, right?
Like it's probably not in your case.
If it's coming back too, right?
Exactly.
Both ways.
Yeah, yeah.
The other thing is those rosters rotate a ton.
They churn heavily.
Someone that's really good gets called up.
You're pulling guys up from the East Coast League.
Everyone's trying to play the same systems.
Three games in 48 hours.
Like, it's scrambling hockey in the American league.
Like, very scrimly.
Shit travel.
Yeah.
Oops.
You look back to.
last year too. And Phillips, as you said, played one game. And he had a chance at the side of the net and nearly scored.
It was great that game. I keep thinking, what if he scores there?
Coach liked them too.
Nice things post game. But you're right. It's just he wants a certain identity in his bottom six.
And then it's like, well, how's the guy supposed to break onto the team? Like Andrew Manjapan, he started on the fourth line.
Then he moved to the third. Then he played with Backland and said, where's he looked better?
letter of M and now he's in the key he worked his way up and I don't see room
Darrell's created for someone to come in and earn a job on the fourth line they're
they're flooded with fourth liners man japani had to score in the first nine games last
year to right like yeah and people say oh he's got to give a kid an opportunity yeah
it's because Phillips is from calgary and he plays you oh you that's why you like him you bring up
man japani and on one hand people will say well how many how many little guys
do you need and not on the other hand I would think maybe did man japani not give you cause to
maybe pause and say well give the guy a chance wouldn't you give a guy maybe a little bit of a longer
look despite size because of what man japan he's done for you given his size I would think he's
kind of rolled out the red carpet for some small i honestly don't play small right like i'm sure
the conversations are had with gms and you know an assistant gym every team yeah i'm sure they meet
and they did well got a lot of smaller guys
I don't think they give a damn.
There's, there's, it's great to want the size,
but when did we not grow up and realize, oh,
Marty St. Louis is a damn good player.
Huh.
The hell was side.
Like, I don't think it's a concern.
It's a concern.
It's,
it's not a shut off point anymore for size.
Yeah, I agree.
Right?
Yeah.
There's no way Jack Hughes goes one overall.
If,
our philosophy bit there's still room to come like it's still a market inefficiency in my mind
like johnny going in the fourth round that's wild but the market but the market inefficiency
is sometimes driven because of playoff success too right like and there's a time in place in the
playoffs where it swings a little bit back and there's maybe the bigger guys or the tendency is try
to copycat teams that have won right yeah so if a team wins because they have some good size oh
Wow, we got to have some size.
If a team wins because Detroit was, didn't give the puck up ever and they were the best at it and held on to puck.
Oh, we got to have guys that can hang on to puck.
It's a copycat thing.
But I just don't think that.
If Daryl's telling Brad, I don't want that kid because he's too small, then there's a problem, isn't there?
This is the what I'm really fascinated about.
I have no idea.
What happens if Brad's really keen to get Peltier in for a bit?
and darrell is less key what does that conversation sound like how does it work and i have no
idea darrell's but it's a team and the gm could probably sell them on we need to help develop a
player that da da da da da da i just wonder both how that would work like what do you think the conversation
should be it's absolutely darrell's decision and i think tree has said that but that being said
i think tree has to have the ability to go down there and say hey listen big boy it's all fine and good
that you don't want to play these kids,
but guess what?
I can't get you a top six winger.
So we either get this guy to play top six
or we're not going to be as successful as we can.
And to be fair, I feel like Trees let Daryl have some influence
on player personnel when you're signing the Lewis,
Richie types Branson was clearly a Daryl guy
that was underneath his watch at Anaheim.
It's not like, oh, that's the coach decision.
He makes it.
That's a G.
Daryl's had influence on the GM decisions.
And especially after the way you've seen Daryl affect the lineup and the results, frankly,
you're going to feed to that coach's strength, gives him the players that will play well within his system.
It's probably smart.
But now we do sit here.
And the thing is, when we look at that lineup, that set of forwards with Luchich on the second line.
And again, you can move some things around there.
But they're totally healthy.
Yeah.
That's as good as it gets.
What if what if you get somebody that's dinged up or they've got the flu and can't go?
I just like those original sets of lines so much better.
I thought Caudry, Dubay, Man, Japan, he had an identity and you knew what you're getting.
The top line created some chances, but maybe not with the regularity alike.
And if it's Lewis Coleman, Backland, that doesn't feel awful.
It's like, yeah, you could upgrade that.
But this just looks like one of these things ain't like the other ones.
Milan's a fourth line at this point of his career.
and like does the job well he ain't a second liner that's too much ice and what happened when he got all
that ice brutal turnover is that cost him a win and you look at it there and you think you put put those
original lines back together lindholm goes back up to the to the top line and to foley's there
if huberto's just a little bit better and he's admittedly not had a good start and anybody that's
watched knows he's got one goal he's not been crisp enough darrell said he's got to speed his game up today
yesterday he said yeah same thing i got to do that if he's a little bit better
then probably mandropani looks a little bit better and you're not worried about that
line and then you don't have they don't even switch the lines because the if he's looking
good you still roll the lines you had and he was scoring cadry's a goal again or a goal
every other game he's been he's been terrific i saw it's almost funny it's almost funny
because darrell opened to the floodgates on this by changing those lines
it did feel a little bit oversteery given that they had two losses through seven games
and did they lose that last game because the line combinations needed to be switched
well they were just fucking sloppy yeah but my point is so is that the lines or did they just
overlook Seattle I don't know it was awful wow but they all very possibly might have played better
if the lines hadn't been shook up because maybe they're not yeah we'll never know they're
The only line that was good was the back line.
Yeah, we had three lines that were tossed around there.
Court shirt.
And had an awful first period.
And Luch each on the second and still had a two-goal leading the third
and should have won that.
They were not good and still should have found a way to win that game.
At worst, Dube's got to move up.
I'd go back to those original lines.
I would too.
Yeah.
Yeah, I would too.
Because Lewis on the fourth line isn't nearly the squinter as Luch on the second,
albeit numbers or whatever.
whatever.
It worked pretty well.
They're five and two.
Best starting franchise history, five out of six, whatever.
Their power play's gone cold.
They scored in the Pittsburgh game and then had one try in the third period.
They didn't score on then nothing against Edmonton or Seattle.
So they're on an 0 for eight stretch.
Probably one is awful against Seattle.
I got no,
I'm not great on the power play,
but I was watching the game and they had a shot of a,
there was a timeout or something.
And they were going on a power play.
And they only got one defense.
that can play the point and i don't even know if i mean i think anderson's good but he certainly isn't
elite at run under power i could see him on a second power play unit on a container he looked really
good through those first five games but it does look yeah i don't know that he looks
he really is and it's like it's he's going to be fine it's just he's ripping it's right
It's always radiation.
I just think I'm glad we all agree that clearly, you know,
Richie's the answer.
Yeah.
Yeah, right.
You see.
Thanks.
Madrose Pub, there you see it.
We have got some tickets to give away for the matchup tonight.
It's a paperless society.
You don't need to bring out your cash.
You don't need to have tickets.
It's all on your phone.
Super easy.
So whoever gets these tickets today,
emailed, boopoo-boop, in seven o'clock start, flames and preads.
7th clock right i believe so yeah would seem right uh now we made you go to work you had to do some
social media stuff you had to you know be following mad rose on social you had to tag a couple of
friends need a lot of interacting and princy went to work and who is our winner princey sorry i did not
uh no it's funny i'm actually talking to her as we speak oh is that right yeah her yeah it's two
girls in a row chicks on a heater i yeah no girls love the podcast they do yeah they do sarah do
Jobson is her name from Twitter.
She.
Sarah D.
Yeah, she looks like a good Flames fan.
So we're going to send her to the game from Mad Rose Pub.
So Sarah, congratulations.
We don't want any bad flames fans, go.
No, we need good ones only.
We're not sending the Wolverine.
He's a bad one.
I miss him.
I do too.
Well, congrats to Sarah.
Throughout this entire season, we're going to have Flames tickets to give away
courtesy of Mad Rose Pub.
We encourage you to go and check them out.
20 beers on tap.
They rotate.
Constantly rotating through there.
You're not going to get the same thing all the time.
That gets stale.
like it's boring that's not what they do at mad rose pot full entreece burger past the stakes
one of the best pizzas you're going to have in the entire city they're making that dough and that sauce
fresh every day go to their website you can order order in maybe you're going to stay home tonight you're
like oh it's pretty cold boom not going to go madrose get after 15 royal vista place like that wheel
next chance for you to win because they have two more home games here including tonight
then a quick roadie three games in what four days and then they're back so november 12th
Winnipeg in town.
We will have tickets to that game.
Jets get him some fits in the preseason.
They played him tough last year.
Rick Boness gave him nightmares in the playoffs
with Dallas last year.
Yes, it's been well either.
How about Nautanger?
Hot dogs.
Dialed.
That might have been a bit of a reason.
That's right.
All right.
Well, I think we've done a pretty good job.
While we're on the topic,
do you have any bets regarding tonight's game?
Well, I'm on a bit of a heater.
All right.
What you were.
I felt great about my picks yesterday.
Boy, did I feel good about them?
Oh, for two.
And you had a rally for the ages.
I did.
I had to come back.
I had the,
had a couple.
I had a couple.
I had Tage Thompson,
who's been on that scoring streak to score again.
Just keep it going.
No shots through 40.
Didn't look good.
Found the net in the third.
No, hey.
No, no bings.
You're not even listening.
He's just chat off.
You're chatting with Sarah.
Sarah got a bar.
Hey, settle down.
you're married for fuck sakes.
And then the second one was the, you know, sabers to, what was it?
Sabers to win and reg?
What?
Is it in regulation or did you have the sabers?
No, he's sabres in regulation.
That's what it was.
Yeah, that's all.
Yeah.
So hit on ball.
I just couldn't hear you.
Sorry, man.
Busy talk.
Trying to help.
Yeah, I know.
So that's the story.
But now more, more bets today.
It's the Betway bets of the day.
We're going to talk about the flames and the predators.
And I'm confident again, feeling really good.
good there they are oh i've got a couple for you both playing quadr plus money wow big plus money
two huns plus flames money line just win just win and a cadre goal plus two 30 flames to in the other
bet i've got is flames money line and under five and a half i think with markstrom we know markstrom's
playing tonight he's going to want to play better you go back to edmonton he's been hearing a lot
about how he can't beat Edmonton and is he this or is he that i think he's going to be
very good tonight i think Nashville scuffling i think that the flames they're going to get some
goals but i don't see a big a big total here give me the under five and a half and the flames to win a
plus 240 so if the flames lose tonight they've completely screwed you that's right sour to
yeah yeah so i'm feeling it dean full guns blazing if they lose if they win fat cat buying lunch
tomorrow fat again still all right i'm going uh
Yeah, it's not good.
I'm going up QE2.
You talked Flames.
I'm going to talk Oilers here.
McDavid and Drysidl have been on a heater here.
Like things are,
this team's really taking flight.
As long as it's not Jack Campbell,
everything's going great.
If they both score plus 300,
don't they just always both score?
Am I crazy here?
So I like that bet.
And then I'm going to take the over seven and a half.
New Jersey's been in some very high scoring affairs,
like a 7-1, 7-2, 6-1.
Yes, per brat.
And the oilers have been in their fair share.
of high scoring looking back to that game against Nashville i'm going to take the over seven and a
half that's plus money at plus 140 i like that one a lot i mean who knows i liked yesterday is
skin are going to go because i know how you feel about jack campbell i skin dogs are better goalie
but i feel like they probably want to get jack campbell going if they're going to give them 25
million over the next five years and you know what i was going to mention we have because tonight
and then Saturday is going to finally wrap up this big home stand for the flames.
And they go out for three.
Following that nine of their next 11 will be on the road,
which it feels like is probably a good thing.
We talked about yesterday.
Get this team out of town,
get away from all the stuff that happens at home.
You know what it's like right.
All the pregnant wives at home.
I was looking at the schedule.
They come home for two,
Winnipeg in L.A.,
and then go right back to the eastern seaboard.
Yeah.
They could have just stayed out for 10.
No, why bother?
The schedule will make.
It makes tons of sense.
At home.
And now go to Florida and then back to Philly, Pittsburgh, Washington.
We were just there.
Yeah.
So we've got tickets to the Winnipeg game, as I mentioned.
And then later this month, the return of Chucky.
Oh.
29th.
Was that the date on that?
I believe the Friday, Thursday, the 29th.
Yep.
Yeah.
We have tickets to that game to give away.
It'll be very, it'll be a hot ticket, a hot item.
I wonder what kind of response and welcome he'll get.
I think I know, but I wonder.
I could see him and Johnny both being mixed responses in a way.
They both decided to leave.
One said trade bay, basically.
I'm not staying.
And the other kind of said the same thing.
Got knots and eventually said, thanks, but no thanks.
Johnny here, obviously for much longer was a fan favorite.
Did sign out of Boston College.
He'll get the, uh, the, uh, the,
montage the salute people will cheer i guess you do the same for chucky but i think chucky
sound mode i think it's sound one i think the dro gets lamb-baseded as well i i'll be some booze
but i also think people will think okay look at the body of working what he gave the franchise like he's
pretty much top five a lot of categories for the franchise it hurts the way and they suck and you're
good without him that's great you can't even complain about while we train
I'm like we got rid of St. Louis for another.
You don't even get that complaint.
It's just buggered off and left you hanging.
I mean, most of those I told you about the whole time, the whole time was coming.
I knew it.
I knew it was coming.
I knew it.
I knew it before he knew it, that he was going to tell us that he told us to trade him.
Yeah.
I did.
Should it done years.
What should the, you know what else?
I'm sure you could have had a top six.
If tree would listen, hey, maybe trade geo.
Don't worry about that.
Because last year, last year, while the team was playing great down the stretch,
going to be a playoff team, you said trade good draw.
How do you do in the playoffs for you?
Well, scored one big goal.
Well, you scored a big goal in round one, as I recall.
If I remember.
Aside from that, yeah, you're right.
It's decent that, sirs.
You mentioned it earlier.
You know who's going to have a tough time with that Florida game is our buddy Greg from
Bonton meets.
Torn, like completely torn because he couldn't like, thank you, Greg, for getting Kachuk out of here.
What a wonderful return.
However you coordinated that good work.
But coming back is, I don't know if he's his godfather or if he just feels that way, but
Sam Bennett's going to be back in town.
It's not just Kachuk return night.
It's eggs coming back.
And I guess the question is, is eggs that star next to Huberto or is he turning back into
Calgary Flames early minor and no points eggs?
I haven't paid much attention to what he.
He's got five points in 10 games, one goal.
That's how it feels about it.
But yeah, Greg, it's a good thing that with you don't pay by the text.
Remember, that kind of used to be a thing.
You'd have so many texts.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
If I was paying by the text received, it'd be hundreds of dollars from Keller.
Just on Bennett and Kachuk alone.
You can't pay this guy $9 million.
Me and my friends were saying the other night, we were watching.
You just can't need nine and a half million.
That's superstar money.
That's elite money.
I said you should play Bennett higher up.
I said Bennett could be this.
Look at them now.
Oh, hey, Ben.
When Bennett scored, the mesh or the net had barely stopped moving before I would get
Benny!
A Benny text from Bon Ton.
Oh.
Is Florida playing again tonight?
My phone's on fire.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Bennett scored.
Yeah, good.
Fair enough.
So I feel for Greg, thoughts and prayers with Greg is he'll have many emotions, mixed emotions
coming up late of this month.
He'll be able to cheer for it.
If it gets too stressful, just go hang at the Mickey Elder.
club just get away from the ring go sit in the old sit in the bar yeah uh somebody on the uh
the youtube on the on the on the whatever you call the chats ben had his video montage dummy
kachuk and godreau don't be stupid you're gonna get on there and start lipping at least have your
shit together all right prince he's usually fighting with people in the comments dean's cleaning it up
on prince he's flirting with these busy things i'm was clerted with women on there
I forgot to set my line up tonight, NFL.
I've been trying to interact with people on YouTube,
but they just berate me.
I know.
Did you see the speaking of bets and football?
Did you see the line for tonight?
I got it in the PIN report.
Whoa.
It's a lot.
It's a lot.
Two touchdowns.
It's a lot.
Well, at least it's going to be a competitive game in primetime.
It's time for the Pinda report.
And it's brought to you by Village Honda for everything out of motive.
visit Village Honda in the Northwest Auto Mall, 7663, 110,000 Northwest.
They're online at village honda.com or you can take your camera on YouTube.
Give that little QR code, a little pick there, and it'll take you right there.
It's time for the Pinder Report.
Thoughts and first of those listening on the podcast.
We have a lot of things to look at here in the Tender Report today.
Well, we'll see.
Two games in the NHL last night.
I don't want to get too focused on it, but there were some pretty nice plays and or controversial
little happenings. Let's start with a reincarnated. Is this orange and blue, John Tavares?
See this rush last night to score retro? Oh, it was very pretty coming in from the right wall,
round a defender after going through his legs, tucks it in around the other side of the goalie.
He had a hell of a night. He did have a hell of a night. It's a lot of money.
They win. Well, they did win. And while they were up five too late, it appears that
you know, Austin Matthews was challenged to a little tete-a-tete with Travis Kineckney, noted
weasel, dirtbag, moustachioed Kineckney wanted a piece.
Love that guy.
He is a ball, just a slime ball.
So there he is.
Gives him the shoulder.
Austin says, okay, well, whack, whack.
And then watch this, wait for your old pal here, Rhett.
Paul from the top rope.
Mark Giordano with a spear.
You can't be fighting, Austin, Matthews.
So a lot of discussion today.
I didn't see the spear.
Well, it was like the dive.
Was this what Torz was mad about?
He's mad about everything, but he was mad before this, I believe.
Yeah, now everyone else is scrapping.
Matthews isn't going to fight.
Now, I get both sides.
You don't want to look soft when you're Matthew's size,
and you probably should at least grab a guy and pretend you're interested.
The flip side is that guy's had, what, multiple wrist issues,
including surgery and his value to your team is scoring goals.
It's 5-2.
This game is over.
So I see both sides, but feel free to weigh in, gentlemen.
Matthews does not have to fight.
Get out of here.
And it's funny.
If it's Panera, no one's even thinking it's the possibility.
But because he's 6-3, it's like, well, he probably should fight that.
Why would Matthews fight?
Now, if I'm connected, I pop a one right in the gym, but Matthews don't have to fight.
What helped, what made it worse there?
Pop of one.
Yeah.
What made it worse there, it was.
his teammates come flying in.
Yeah.
Yeah.
As if it was,
go help him.
Go help him.
If it just dies down,
then it's not as bad.
I mean,
look at Gio.
He loved Gio.
Oldest skater in the league,
I think this year.
And he's diving,
like stopping someone at the one yard line,
keeping him out of the house,
playing like a linebacker.
That's a captain right there,
right?
Yeah,
see,
there's a guy,
right?
Get guys like that,
you never trade them.
Or let him walk for nothing.
Don't do that.
Just let him go for a zero.
That's always better.
So Torz is hot.
They lose.
Leif's miserable road trip is over.
They come back home and get a big win.
And I guess they won't be firing Sheldon Keith today.
So I'm off to wait till tomorrow.
That's too bad.
That's shame, isn't it?
And you know what?
Philly, that hot start, torts, expectations are high.
They've been along a ton of chances.
This is going to come a tumbling down.
And torts is good of.
Is that number six that got walks?
What are we doing?
Look at this move here.
Whoop.
It's not a good move.
That's a shitty.
It's a play.
It's a terrible de-play.
It's nothing.
Oh, it's great.
That's Travis Sandheim.
That's Manitow.
That's Manitow.
That's Manitouin.
Travis Sandh.
Watch your mouth.
Hey, Travis, maybe play the body.
Oh, fuck.
Oh.
Oh.
So Leafs win that.
I'm telling you.
I'm telling you.
I'm telling you.
The world of hockey is going to crap because they don't teach these kids to,
to anything about playing a man right there.
Quit worrying about the puck.
I feel like it's a young Don Cherry.
This is lovely.
I think we can't have Rhett in the basement.
No, we neither.
You've got some daylight.
You're energized.
I love it.
Vitamin D.
Olive tree.
Love olives.
On fire today with his lions, not sheep shirts.
Love it.
Okay, the other game was Buffalo Pittsburgh, gentlemen.
Sheeps?
You're going to like this.
In Buffalo, Rhett was very destroyed.
They had the nerve to play an NHL game in his city that when his kid had kid hockey.
Sorry to deal with that, Red.
But it was some horrible jerseys for the Sabres.
White pants, white?
Razor lovesos.
He said he loved them.
The penguins went back to the mid-90s penguin.
Let's have a look as there was a salute to the past from Jason Zucker.
Zucker the looker.
Remember he almost came to Calgary?
Yeah, that's right.
For a leak in a first.
Look at those.
There's a salute.
I like that.
I saw Yager do that, the ass in overtime.
Against you?
Yeah, we got put out first shift of overtime in Buffalo.
Yager and Lemieux are out there and me and McKee.
We're going to shut them down seven seconds in goal.
Oh, cheese and red.
That's tough.
Come on.
Cheese, just dance to.
Hey, it's four Hall of Famers.
May the best team win, eh?
I know you had your guy.
So why didn't cheese have Yager?
Hey, Yogs plays the right wing.
He's coming down the left side.
That is not my side of the ice, McKee.
You handle that.
Yeah, apparently he didn't.
I knew it.
Without seeing it, I knew it.
I don't know if we're going to see.
Yeah, we are going to see.
Check out, do you see the Owen Power head fake here?
I did not.
First overall pick from the Sabres, went to Michigan last year,
and an absolute whale of a play that sets up,
I believe the Victor Olifson Power Play goal.
Now look at those Unies, first off.
White Pants.
Oh, I love it.
But watch at the left point here, watch power.
Just out of screen.
It's coming.
Yeah.
Everyone in the building.
Kidding.
Oh.
Zink, wide open cage tie game.
Yeah.
Kids going to be a player.
I did that once.
Five goals in the third for the sabers.
Looked like they were cooked.
At five in the third, they've won three in a row.
All of some's got eight.
And on the flip side.
Sixth loss in a row for the penguins who got swept in Western Canada and then blew a
huge lead against the Bruins now blow a huge lead against whatever team where is white and yellow
barf those are the two games last night uh flames in action tonight they'll host the predators
seven o'clock at the skushmanck saddledome it is game nine of their 10 games in alberta to start
the season and let's check in with national predators beat reporter adam vinyin
hey adam how are the preds doing this year tweets about it because he's a beat reporter
Yeah, yeah.
He goes in the locker room.
So he's got insights.
He's done it for a long time.
Very long time.
Was he with the Tennessean or something?
Probably, yes.
If not the athletic at some point.
But nobody knows the Predders better than Ving.
Yeah.
And we'll get to his comments in a moment, I suppose, because the tweet's not coming up.
Was it, was it salty?
I would think the tweet went something like this.
The Preds are bad.
Really deep.
End tweet.
Yeah.
And great detail there.
As you noted, seven of eight, they've lost since coming back from Europe.
Nothing like a European vacation and getting to play the San Jose sharks to boost one's morale,
only to be sucker punched when you get back to the real NHL in North America.
Yeah, not a great start for them.
We'll see tonight.
Boomer would have just snapped.
The bad news for the flames is if the team doesn't look good, they're probably going to lose to them because that's Buffalo and Seattle.
Everyone else is a contender they've played pretty much.
what are you saying boomer would have snapped if because you always give me crap if i don't have enough
detail in my answer if i just get a give a blunt done answer you roll your eyes at me the reason is
is i know you're you're capable of so much and you're we as as fans of you deserve more we're just
mere mortals we didn't play in the league right you should have very detailed answers for us i don't know
what the food tastes like i don't know what the ice sounds like on your skates that's been
very good today.
An excellent.
Early runner,
contender.
Oh,
yeah.
Anytime.
Uh,
final in the flames.
Wait,
you end yours when you're,
where's the Rob Ray thing?
Rob Ray is like part of the show.
Did you guys not see this?
Come on.
That's not real.
Come on.
I love it.
Yeah.
It's not real.
That's,
you know what they did is they actually,
they made Ray look bigger because it's stage Thompson.
He can't be.
happy with that. Doesn't he look like some Yugoslavian center that plays for the clippers?
Like he's a monster. Oh, it's our butus subonis. Yeah, sure.
Zedrunaselgalskus.
Dolf Thompson. You talked yesterday about how Daryl really thought after 04 and then the lockout.
You should get some old guys on the back nine to come in and bolster the crew. Well,
apparently Jeremy Ronek was almost one of them. He last night must have had money on the flames.
He was pissed.
They blew that lead two nights ago against Seattle.
Hope you hymns like this don't haunt you in April.
J.R.
Stop laying thousands on the flames against Seattle.
Oh, yeah.
And someone says, hey, you must hate Canada.
And he said, no, I almost signed there in 06.
The only reason I didn't sign in Calgary is because the great one conned me into coming to the desert.
I don't know where we are in the JR career arc, but that sounds like a very
Daryl post-final type signing.
Might have even been better than the Tony of Monte Daron McCarty signing.
It would have been included.
That would have been part of it.
JR and Bones reunited.
Awesome.
I love JR.
The tuck flying around.
Electric.
Loved him as a Blackhawk.
Didn't like him as a coyote,
but that was,
there's reason.
So that year,
he goes to Phoenix.
He ends up with 11 goals and 28 points in 70 games.
It was about the time to,
say thanks but no thanks to jr did he go to when was he in san ozre prior after so finished with two years
in san ozre 38 and 39 years old the two years there in san jose 14 goals and four a tough time to staying
healthy yeah but again that was that was that was a gm there guy on the 18th t-box you guys could have
gone and got your frosted tips together at the same time discount volume i think i got ripped with jr once with
Depot in Scottsdale during that year.
So used to.
I almost believe.
I heard shots fired that night too.
Outside of a bar.
It's all coming back to him.
Steel.
Someone was shooting a gun.
We had to run for it.
That was elegant.
Yeah.
Hammered Warren running from gunfire.
Just limbs everywhere.
Speaking of limbs.
Houston Astros could pitch boys.
They've got some arms.
Hey, I bet you, if I had 100 tries,
you think I could hit a baseball once?
No, not against the Astros.
Look at some of these pitch overlays of the pitchers they went to.
Javier first and then a brayu will be the overlays you get for the pitches here.
Like, good luck having any idea where these balls are going.
Sounds sturdier than it is.
But, oh, yeah.
Same arm slot.
And then halfway to the plate, different directions.
Oh, left at Elbuquerque.
You're out.
Have a seat.
Oh.
That's their starter.
And then they go to the bullpen.
It gets even better.
It's absolutely not.
You need that new VR thing to figure that out.
This is holy.
Anyway, they no hit the Phillies last night in game four that saws off the series of two.
One more game in Philly, Dino.
And how did they take it in Philadelphia?
Pumped up.
Yeah.
Match smack would be.
How did they handle it in Philly?
Well, people were fighting in the women's washer as only Philly can cell phones in hand
Wacking each other a bathroom floor that a Mike Schmidt jersey
It sure is
P on the floor like we do like that it's gotta be gross it can't be as gross as male but look at the all of cell phones as they're whacking each other
This good stuff here and then there's one coming by she's like I just took a piss I gotta get out he just walks over the two fighting yep see a later
Okay bye nothing to see here. Yeah. Okay guys. Yeah, that's Philly we lost this is a
what you expect.
Oh, that's great.
Look at Mike Schmidt, though.
That's a classic.
Yeah, Mike's growing his hair on.
Okay, speaking of Philly, they are in action tonight in the NFL.
It's another primetime stinker for you.
Let's have a look at the odds for the 7 and 0 Eagles against the one-win Houston Texans.
It's going to be a real competitive.
Yeah, lay 700 to win 100 rat on the Eagles.
But what's just 700?
DeShon's back.
It's good.
They're good.
This is the wrong team.
talking about but good try and then yeah the the line 13 and a half it's been worse it was 14
yesterday at one point because Brandon cooks was listed as out so I think it jumped to 14 or yeah
it's a lot it's all pissy because he didn't get traded at the deadline and finally a couple more for
you HL Wranglers in action in Calgary last night just under 2,500 in attendance at the dome
uh you ever seen this before guys the uh the shots the wranglers had through 40 minutes
30 they finish the game with 30 oh zero shots in the third one one turns the three one
good night not ideal zero shots maybe it's a technical are they not dominating like last year
jumbotron broke they're not dominating last year yet didn't it dominated last you know i was going
to bring this up actually i think the shot clock guys uh in the sauce a little biased
And finally, we got the save of the year already from the KHL.
This is a fun one.
I want you to just watch and enjoy.
It's a league that's known for, well, here we are.
Okay, so this is, you got a game between two cities you've never been to, rent.
I love those guys.
I've been to my favorite.
The NASCAR jersey is going here.
This is.
That's a, let her ride here.
That guy there.
Zing.
Shoulder.
Slot.
What is that?
Just hang on, hang on.
We need the replay here.
He's lost his glove.
Okay.
Glove gets knocked off.
It's in the glove on the ground.
All right.
We missed the best part of the video, but that's how it rolls on the Pender report sometimes.
Loses his glove.
It's loose in the slot.
Snipe to the empty net.
Goes directly into the glove lying on the ice.
Love to see it.
Village Honda, your one-stop automotive destination in Calgary.
You'll come and see why Calgarians are making the trip to Village Honda.
They are located at 76, 6,610 Ave, Northwest, VillageHonda.com.
I would say get your vehicle in, because winter's coming.
You know, get your service, do whatever you know, get your fluids topped up and get all that done.
Your oil change, get your winters put on and all of that.
Would have been a good message for a couple weeks ago.
But you can still do it.
Go VillageHonda.com.
Book your stuff.
Book whatever you need.
Get it done with...
Buy a new car with winters on it.
Go.
Or just buy a new one.
Yeah, just leave your...
That'd be a good message.
That'd be a Warner move.
Yeah.
Just going to leave the old car there.
I needed a new one.
I don't want to fix the old one.
I had about a quarter tank left, had the oil change, put the tires on.
I would siphon the gas out.
There's no way I'd leave it.
Can you siphon?
Have you ever done that?
I'm a good.
I'm a good siphoner.
I've done it once.
Yep.
Siphon and fuel.
That's Manitoba, Saskatchewan for you.
Well, trailer park boys too.
Yeah.
Like, how do you tell the difference in lead it and unleaded?
It's like, oh, it's a little bit saltier.
What about diesel?
Oh, diesel actually tastes good.
Yeah. And you still ask the guy that know, so, so how do you know when, when to, well, it's going to be, you know, it's on your tongue.
Yeah, when it's there. Well, when, there's only one way.
You'll know. Because you inevitably do it. And then it's like, there it is. Yeah, that's awful. That's awful. And it was probably because you're, you're a teenager and five bucks worth of fuel. It's a ton.
Five bucks. That could be your weekend.
back then yeah right you get that five dollars fuel out of your buddy's car anyway you can do it
hideous horrendous um it's not good for you either me is that right
doctor's not prescribing diesel shots i had a bad day yesterday after because you you were making
fun of me yesterday i was in a bad way i had very sour stomach i was having a hard time
I was bed with you are a sensitive you are a sensitive fellow when it comes to your
delicate flower I am very delicate have some crackers and just don't don't venture out on anything
different crackers and ginger ale yes just yeah exactly so red there's no way these two idiots out
here are cutting the grass and they're on riding mowers and there's what a hundred square
yards of grass and there's still going like this is the epitome of lazy and slow
Welcome to America.
Crack open your window there and give them a piece of them know.
Yeah.
Hey, dummy.
Yeah, what do you get off your?
Looks great, huh?
Why are there no fences in America?
Or are there?
Are they crazy?
No fences they are.
Friendly.
We share friendly.
Are they?
You know what?
There are a lot of his power lines.
My God.
You know, they hide them underground where we come from.
Here, they're just everywhere.
So that when the ice storms come, they get wrecked.
they're out of power. It's great.
Are you our man for the job if we need a Buffalo Sabres,
great underdog story of the year?
I feel like you should have been on this earlier,
and we need someone to cling to this.
They are off to a great start, six and three.
They just rallied two in a row, huge comebacks to win.
I feel it's under your nose here. Come on.
Well, what do you want me to go down and talk to someone?
Well, you were right there yesterday, and you're pissed they were playing.
I wasn't right there. I was right over there.
in the recliner i didn't go anywhere i slept for 12 hours and go anywhere shoveler had to deal with
it i was the shoveler she didn't bring you anything today no cookies no coffee rated her
shovelers out shopping for craigs sakes spending money that we don't have it's awesome keep it up
it's okay i got prissy didn't do something he'd be all right um yeah i get that for sure
now i i i thought i wondered if this was going to make the pinda report we're going to wrap it up here
shortly. But I'm not good at math. Correct. I'm awful at it. Some other people apparently are as well.
Yesterday, the Canadian Football League had to release this earlier today, the CFL issued a news release
announcing this year's East and West Division All-Stars, which were voted on by coaches,
media and fans. A subsequent examination has revealed that an error was made in the tabulate.
and waiting of votes.
Oh, which resulted in errors in the release.
CFL is sincere apologies.
Everyone, and apologize to have everyone involved.
There were some people listed.
They were incorrectly left off the list.
They've issued apologies.
So the CFL in naming its all-stars got their math wrong.
Yeah.
Counting.
Oh, they're going to apologize.
Very CFL.
Incredible.
And idiots.
All those guys that have all-star bonuses,
Hope you didn't go out for steak dinner and champagne before they got the real All-Star list.
So here's the thing.
I would just don't do it.
Why?
Yeah.
Who's going to know?
Hey, Mr.
Commissioner, the votes were wrong.
Don't care.
Shush.
There's been bigger things shoved under a rug.
I can tell you that.
No question.
So being honest, actually, worked against them in my point of view.
I've said it yesterday in a chat.
The greatest threat to the CFM.
is not the NFL.
It's not bad weather.
It's not stadiums.
It's the people running the CFL.
It's really a remarkable survival story
that they've somehow survived
the people that run this league.
But maybe they're all in on being CFLE.
If there's no such thing as bad PR,
that was genius.
It's just too CFL.
They probably weren't making the show today
without that.
100%.
Yeah.
I think there's probably.
All PR is good people have.
Whatever to say about that as well.
Yeah, Greg Kellogg,
don't get them going.
You should be the commissioner.
off already. Well, people were texting where's Brunt?
Stephen Brunt.
Commissioner Brunt, get him going. Get up going.
Fired up. And yes, we'd love to have them on the show, but I'm wondering if I'm thinking there's maybe some
technical issues there, some contractual things.
Technical. Anyway. And we've been doing, you hear the ka-ching every time somebody has a
foul word to say it's the South Street burger swear jar.
I apologize to the kids today. Yeah, apologize to your kids, earmuffs kids.
But I think we have, we're going to close it out for today.
but we have one more
and this was
because you mentioned earlier
in the Pinda report Houston
kind of hung a licking on the Phillies yesterday
Kyle Schwabber
has been great for the Phillies, been
unbelievable
he was asked some questions post game
and courtesy of Schwabes
we will be adding to the swear jar at sea
this would be part of this end
of baseball history just
how does it fail when you
really like this is just the second world series
no no
yeah I really don't get
Nope, didn't say it. No, no ching. No, no ching. I thought we had the library.
Is he a library? That's the locker room. Look at that little safes there.
Yeah.
All right. Mark McGuire's got his HGA up there on the back shelf.
Hey guys, go touch that. That's just for me. Yeah.
Philly still win this series, right?
I hope so. I mean, Houston's the better team is Sirrocatollas.
Philly's got all the mojo.
I'm with my trouble mattress mac.
I want mattress mac to win that 75 mil.
Enough of that guy.
Why?
Just because you got two bucks?
Chicken.
Flames or Preds tonight, man?
Flames or Preds?
Well, like I said before the Seattle game,
it better be the flames or it'll be a great show tomorrow.
Yeah.
Yeah.
No, no, it's, they'll be better.
Because not only were they not great the other night,
but they pissed that lead away in the third.
Yeah.
That everybody,
and everybody had a hand in it.
It wasn't just one guy.
It wasn't bad goals.
Everybody has some credit in that.
So I think they're better tonight.
Yeah.
And I'll tell you what.
If they're not better tonight,
those lines are ancient news.
You'll be on the second line wing.
Pick it up.
The one guy's line.
That's the one guy.
Yeah.
Are you on the show tomorrow?
Ooh.
Yeah.
Tune in tomorrow to find out.
Of course I'm on the show.
What are you're talking about?
I'm MVP this week.
I'm,
Alex,
I was going to say you have completely changed her.
Ever since Alex's mom ripped you a new one,
you've been tremendous.
If I knew that's all it took.
Yeah.
And I had her on board a decade ago.
God,
think of the times we'd have had.
I like the olive tree too.
I like the sunlight.
Rats very alive here.
Doesn't feel like he's captured
and stored in someone's basement or meat locker.
There's the lazy.
Way better vass.
Out there going.
Slow he's going.
Look at it.
Come on, dude.
Kidding me.
Are we back in Vegas at the day watching Duke vacuum the floors?
Same spot.
It's going to do it for the program.
All right.
Rookie card or?
Everyone, what's happening?
Did you ever find that rookie card?
No, I never did.
No, couldn't find it.
It's happening.
Oilers Nation every day is coming up next on YouTube.
See you.
Oilers suck.
