Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - FlamesNation Barn Burner: LIVE from the Grey Eagle Resort and Casino - Flames Red Wings Recap
Episode Date: February 17, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener Friday February 17th 2023 - Live from the Grey Eagle - Flames Red Wings Recap - Th...e Pinder Report Village Honda- Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Look at us.
Here we are.
Look at us.
Hey.
Hey, look.
Hey, look at us.
Hi.
Hey, yeah.
Hey, Dean.
The Tower Chrysler Studios on the road today.
A little road trip.
On the road with the nation wheels.
We are Ud and Aboot.
Today we are at one of our new homes away from home.
We are at the Grey Eagle Resort and Casino.
The Griegs.
We're on the stage bar.
We're on top of the bar.
Pinders usually under it.
Today we're on top of it.
I'd like to get behind it later as well.
I've been in front of it.
Here we are.
We are going to be a few times a month,
heading out of the studios in Mardaloup,
coming here, doing our thing,
invite you to come down and be a part of it,
come see us.
Going to be doing some afterburners here as well
after some flames games.
It's going to be doing some afterburners.
It's going to say, if the flames don't get their shit together,
what a place for an afterburner, right?
You know, they didn't want to lose to awful teams continually.
That would be a great place to do an after burner.
The playoffs.
Of course, yeah.
All the big playoffs.
When they're a one seed welcoming a wild card, we could do our away games from here, right?
There is the Rettster.
What do you think of the Tower, Crieser Studios, bud?
I think you guys look sharp in there.
Really good.
It's a good setup, Brett.
You'd like it.
Coffee's free all day, baby.
You just find that lovely lady on the floor with the coffee cart.
Alex was saying in the back, it looks like you have sluts.
There may or may not be, but it's a sign that says slots.
That's comedy right there.
comedy. Let's not waste any time. We got some things to get to today. We sat here yesterday
on the show. First came back after a road trip for the flames. Yeah, but you know, you kind of had
an embarrassing outing against Detroit last week when you play them. Two to one. It was really
disheartening. Yeah, but that collapsed against Ottawa two nights ago. That's got to be sticking in
your cry. You're going to come out fired up. You're going to come out and avenge all of that. And
I'll just
I'll hand it over to you, Rhett,
because
they weren't blown out of the water.
They lost the lead.
They tied it.
They were in the hockey game to a point.
You got the goaltender in the net,
I think that everybody wanted,
that we all felt we wanted it in the net.
And even more so,
a lopside had lost to Detroit
than it was a week ago.
Walk us through it.
What'd you see?
I just saw again that team that isn't really committed to winning.
And I don't think there's a lot of heart in there right now.
I mean, can we press repeat on an earlier show and just go play this lots?
Because we're talking about the same thing.
You're talking about teams that aren't supposed to be as good as the flames are.
And a team that should be.
desperate for a win in the flames
should be getting home
you know, take away though.
It's hard to play at home after long road.
It doesn't matter. You're not in a position
to take nights off.
But I don't think they care enough
and it's sad and I'm sick of talking about it,
to quite honest with you. Me berating
the flames for showing up and playing a shitty
hockey game and having a goaltender
and a soft goal, well,
you've heard me say it before. Everyone's bored
of it. He's fatigued. It's been a week of this show.
Change something, right? It's been a week of doing the
same show. Well, it feels like it's been more than that. It's been more of it for me. I've done it for
longer. You guys held out hope a lot longer than I did. You kept waiting to see some stabilizing
here and it hasn't really happened. I mean, I think if there's one thing that this group has been,
it's incredibly inconsistent and maddening. Like you just don't know what you're going to get to the
point where I almost expect them to look a lot better against New York on Saturday because, well,
they, you know, they seem to play well against good teams and they seem to shit the bet against
bad teams. It's, it's wild to watch this group play.
because even beginning of last night, they had a really nice stretch,
and you're like, okay, here they go.
And then it's just like sleepwalk through the second,
three offensive zone penalties.
It feels like the game's on the line early in the third.
You got a power play.
It's like, okay, you get it within one.
Here you go.
Instead, the other guy's scored.
I was at the game.
I left.
I was like, was it 15 minutes left?
There was no way they were coming back.
Like, it's down three.
That point you make about the Rangers,
you come and you expect them to play well.
Don't you feel like that has more to do with the Rangers
being the Rangers than the Flames answering the bell?
What do you mean?
The range should be harder to play than Detroit, the better.
That's what I'm saying.
All the flames seem to do is just play to the level of their competition.
I don't give, I'm not, as I sit here, I'm not really prepared to give them any more credit
if they're good Saturday.
No, to the point.
Oh, so you've got a good opponent, now you play better.
That's the inconsistency we're talking about.
That would be the season in a nutshell.
To lose a season series, get zero points against Detroit and to, you know, like beat Tampa
at home like they did on the last.
last home stand or to get three out of four points against the Rangers who look really good if
they were to win for example but you just don't know what you're going to get um like if trouba
ret said this last week earlier this week if like if truba doesn't run you know dube and then
cadre and sammy blay doesn't run over milan luchich is it an invested physical game or is it
just you know like i don't want to give them too much credit for that to your point because
of course you've got to stick up your teammates but i just i don't
I don't think it's a bad group of players, but the fit isn't working.
Like, I think individually there's a lot of very good players here.
But for whatever reason, this group cannot put forth a 60-minute effort regularly.
It's win-one, lose one.
You've got...
No, go ahead.
And what changes?
You stick to it, and I keep...
That's what I keep coming back to now, is that...
What changes?
We've talked about it.
But something has to change.
Are you gunning coaches?
Well, the GM is the first thing.
Are you gunning GMs?
I mean, I just look at the contractual status.
I don't think that true living is more of an issue than Sarah.
Where's the issue?
But where is the issue?
If you want, like to Red's point, if you really want to get at it, what do you do?
Well, you got what, seven games now to the deadline, six.
So I think you give them that runway.
I hope this team, honestly, rather than like a two, two and three mark or something into the break here,
you'd almost rather they lose five in a row.
Like, by all that means, we'd love five wins.
It's just hard to imagine this group doing it.
But you'd love the GM to get a good message,
because if you know they're going to miss,
shit, you can sell some assets and help turn this thing around.
They're just probably too good to lose that many, right?
They're going to win a couple.
And they'll stick in there and kind of ride it out and be close
and annoy us even more.
Yeah.
But I don't think you can do anything right now.
I think you have to give them until the deadline.
your GM at that point, it's interesting.
I mean, okay, so let's say they're out of it and there's a bit of a gap.
Like, Trill Living doesn't have a contract.
How does the deadline even operate at that point?
Like, do you let a GM without a contractor on the deadline?
Do you terminate a GM?
Do you let it come to its expiry on June 30 and then they part ways?
I don't know.
Because he was without a contract.
He didn't resign an extension until the season was over.
So he's done a trade deadline as a lame duck if you want to call it.
that. So, I mean,
are they going to fire him in
the next two weeks? I don't see it that way.
No, but it complicates, you know,
if this guy's going to be gone. What does that change anyway?
Yeah, go ahead.
I'm just,
with everything that's going on,
I'm expecting Bradshaw Living
isn't driving this bus
come July.
I mean, I'd be
stunned. I mean, and I don't
care. I'm not against Brad Schilliving. I've just,
I just don't see, well, if you wanted him back, you'd sign him,
or he doesn't want to come back.
It's one or the other, right?
And I don't think it matters.
Because he's assembled this team, and they're no effing good.
I'm worried about who to replace him.
That's a concern for me.
This organization does not have a track record of bringing in people that are good at this job.
It's almost always first timers or heavy retreads.
That's our summer fall shows.
Yeah, fair.
We can have that content.
But to your point, Red, what does it change?
If you really want to salvage this season and you feel that the playoffs, you can get,
just get in.
Chipping a chair, you get in and anything can happen.
What do you do?
I want to bring up this, there was a tweet, and he's good at it.
Player agent Alan Walsh, who is the player agent for Jonathan Huberdow, among other people.
Remember, he had the tweet that went out about Mark Andre Fleury and had the DeBore spear through the back.
Social media hero.
He is one of those guys.
And he defends his clients, as you would expect.
That's nothing new, but he goes, he's very outward about it.
Here's the tweet that he sent out.
The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result.
Also, negativity sucks the joy right out of players, C.C.
The Calgary Flames.
And he tagged the flames in that tweet.
So a couple of things, obviously, the trying to just continuing do it again.
do it again. That is
what they say. Insanity comes down
to. And then the negativity sucks the joy
right out of the players.
I think that's pretty obvious where that's pointed.
You brought it up a while ago retro
about the room. You just kind of got the sense
that there wasn't something quite right.
The Cadry comment, again,
maybe we're sniffing. Maybe we're finding stuff that we really want to find.
But when Frank Cerravelli asked Cadre on the
podcast the other day, the flames make the playoff
if and he says we start playing like a team not continue start start playing like a team and then
there's talk of and then there's this the negativity in a way we all know this is happening right
this is not this is not breaking news but what it does it seems to enforce that view if you have it
that there's things aren't right in the room that the makeup isn't right if it isn't obvious enough
in the results then we're getting enough clues aren't we there's got to be fire where there's
There's enough smoke now.
Jesus.
Negativity.
This is Daryl.
I don't think it's like, man,
Chris Tannav sure does.
He's so negative.
Like, this is clearly about the way this coach goes about his business.
And today's player is a lot different than the player 15 years ago,
and never mind 30 years ago.
And, you know,
we're now 15 years past that 014.
You played on, Rett.
But, like, you've always said, like,
Daryl would break guys down in a sense and would be very negative.
This is what he's talking about, isn't it?
It is.
It's 100%.
what he's talking about.
And so I get that Alan Walsh is trying to defend
or stick up for his client, but
Darrell with an extension in his pocket,
getting called out on social media, it changes what?
It doesn't make him wrong.
Just because Darrell's got a fucking extension
doesn't mean that he's the right guy.
Oh, I'm not saying.
If you want to fix it, if you want to fix it,
where's the problem?
I think the coach is a major issue.
The players are done with the coach.
It's a tale as old as time.
I'm not.
not saying they aren't, but it's also a fucking cop out.
It's an easy, I mean, Darrell pushes buttons, and he can be a real prick to play for,
but he wasn't last year, apparently.
He was a great guy yet last year, so, I think you just, some of it comes down to the,
you put up with winning, right, don't you?
You put up with stuff more?
I'm being a, I'm being, my point is, I think you're, you're not picking up on my point.
Like, at some, there has to be some accountability on the players.
For sure.
Right?
Daryl hasn't changed that much from last year.
And coaches wear out their welcome.
And Daryl's just a tip.
Does it too, blah, blah, blah.
But protect your, I mean, if we're talking about Walsh
and his idiotic tweets that nobody really gives a shit,
I mean, I'm sure it gives him a whole bunch of followers,
and that's great.
And I don't care.
But to your point, Peter, it doesn't change anything.
Thanks for pointing out the obvious.
Yeah.
Like, we needed you to clarify what insanity means.
The issue I have is that he wants to protect his client.
His client should go play hockey.
Yeah.
Shut up and play hockey, put up some points.
No one's going to complain about Jonathan Huberdow if he's putting up points.
And I don't care how much Daryl's a prick.
He doesn't influence how you skate or handle a puck.
You might, like, you can.
rise above the negativity
and still perform
and there's been plenty of players.
Dustin Brown did not get along with Daryl Sutter.
They won two Stanley Cups.
Right?
So go do your job.
And if Daryl's still a problem,
sure, give them the heave-ho.
But there's, you know what I mean?
What do they say? If you're pointing,
there's three pointing back at you?
Like, a lot of fingers.
Those guys in the room can take a lot of responsibility too.
Because go back over the course of the last, well, 40 games.
How many have they shown up and absolutely put a stamp on it and said from start to finish,
we're 60 minutes.
We're going to take this one.
We're desperate for a win.
There's been games where they should damn well be.
Yeah, there should be games where they're damn well should be desperate.
for a win, guess what?
They're not winning them.
Yeah.
I think the biggest challenge they're facing, Dio, is that, like, let's say the
organization understands that Daryl is the issue and like, okay, this is a problem.
And I think Dustin Brown's a good example because he played well for Daryl to a point.
And then he got shuffled down the lineup.
Daryl talked about him as if he couldn't play in the league anymore.
His numbers went to shit.
Daryl left and Dustin Brown had this massive bounce back.
We talked about it last week with what's an example of a guy that got a big deal,
and you thought he was dead and he came back to life.
We mentioned Skinner. Dustin Brown's another.
He was played so far down the lineup and unused by Sutter
that we thought he wasn't a functional player anymore.
I think he's bounced back and scored 30 after Daryl left.
But I just don't, this organization has no track record
if the coach is the issue, to be able to, with an extension in his pocket,
change the coach.
And so even if you want to make that decision,
what, I'm a lame duck GM and I want to fire the coach with an extension?
Like, who the hell's green lighting that?
I'm not saying that that,
if you're asking me the issue, what do you do?
Yeah, go ahead.
I was just going to, you're more likely to see Daryl GMing than fired.
Which is worse than, yeah, that would be a nightmare.
Yeah, I don't disagree.
I, I'm not saying that he's, that if he stays out of the room and his negativity is gone,
then maybe it's not a nightmare.
Well, his draft and development, his free agents, it was really something he was out of his league.
I understand.
It's a tough spot.
But what have we gotten out of the last 10 years?
Well, at least you're, you know, they're much more competent at drafting and developing.
But again, that's a low bar.
They couldn't do that worth of shit.
Who's, yeah, like.
In the 90s.
I mean, I guess I keep forgetting that a whole whack of guys have left, but also they had to be shitty to get those high draft picks.
No, but they've mined some good late years.
I don't think they're exception.
bad. They're probably a middle third in the league in terms of draft and develop.
And I thought Darrell was one of the worst when he did it.
Like, one awful.
Well, he didn't have a great record on it, but I don't know.
Anyway, I think we're splitting hairs here.
I think it's...
Are they going to draft that much worse and be that...
You don't mean as a GM?
Again, we're playing the what-if game for I don't know what reason, but...
I don't think he was a good GM, but...
I think what we're seeing here is a guy trying to amass power in the organization.
And I see this is an almost untenable spot for the current GM.
Beyond that now, you know that Daryl doesn't give, he won't care about Alan Walsh or anything.
But what it does do is what, how does Huberdo handle this?
Because now the guys in the Roos, oh, your agent went to Twitter for you, you hate the coach or whatever the thing is.
The players, we, if there's a.
rift between he and the coach or the coach just isn't a fan, they know that.
But now how does Huberto react to this? Is it just the same?
He's going to be asked about it in the media. You know, the people are, you know,
Francis, they've got to go and ask him about this now. What does that do to him moving forward,
even in the short term? If he's not an, if he's not an idiot, he tells him to go talk to Alan Walsh.
I didn't. It's not my quote. Talk to my, you know, he put it out there, go talk to him.
I mean, that's the response he should have as an answer.
I didn't tweet anything about our team or our coach or our locker room.
My agent did.
He can do whatever he wants.
He's a free person.
I've got no control over that.
And so I see what Alan's trying to accomplish, right?
Like he's putting a spotlight on a situation that's not functional,
but he might be making it worse for his client.
Like, how's Daryl going to look at Hubro when he walks in today?
Like, I know what Alan's trying to do,
but it might do the exact opposite, right?
You better be damn confident that the change is going to benefit your client
as opposed to hinder and hurt them.
And you know what?
I'm going back to where at the start of the year when they made these effing trades
and they had to sign these effing guys and everyone told me,
oh, you're an idiot because they have to sign these guys.
They have to sign.
We got to.
I get that there's a, there's a,
that Darrell Sutter is the focal point of all these,
and he's the guy, when you're at the head of,
if you're the guy driving the bus,
yeah, you're going to be responsible for where it's headed.
But they assembled a bunch of players
that had never played together that it might not jive,
and they sign them all to long-term F-in contracts.
Daryl didn't do that.
Now, Daryl should be trying to work with these guys
and make them better.
And it feels like,
the problem is,
I don't think Daryl's deliberately sabotaging.
And if that's the case,
then you know what,
this whole organization's the shits.
And we should all stop watching.
If this is how nasty it is
behind the doors of the dome,
then we should ignore them
and say,
we'll come back when you get your shit figured out.
Because we shouldn't be,
as fans and followers of this team,
we shouldn't be forced to watch that.
If there's that much infighting,
and it's that nasty behind closed doors,
why are we paying for tickets?
You guys figure it out, call us when it's done,
and we can get behind a team.
But Darrell didn't sign those guys.
If those guys weren't signed
to long-term contracts,
we'd be treating this whole season differently.
It would have been an experiment,
and if it didn't work,
you'd be talking about making a trade,
the Hubert will get them out of here.
Codry wouldn't be here,
so who knows what that.
Uyger, same thing,
you're recouping assets.
Now you're locked in with these guys,
but don't work and you've got to change the coach,
the GM. It's a shit show.
Who compiled this?
Yeah, if they don't get in,
this is a shit show for sure.
And it's hard to envision this team
getting their shit together. The only thing is saving them,
really, is that Minnesota isn't a tailspin,
and the West isn't that good.
Like, it's the point threshold,
the cutoff for the last playoff spot in the West,
is way lower than what you come to expect on a usual basis.
That's sort of 95 point.
line that usually is like, okay, if you get above that, you might get in, you're probably
pretty safe to get in. It's way lower this year. And that's artificially, I think,
making them look more competitive than they are because they're going to, they get a point last
night. They're in a fucking wild card spots. Like, it's ridiculous. So, I mean,
if they can get in, everyone goes back to zero and zero. And anyone in this stupid tournament is a
hot goalie away from, you know, maybe getting outplayed, but winning a series.
And I'm not saying that's likely, but it feels like the only thing that can save this season at this point, isn't it?
That they somehow get in and start looking like a cohesive unit that they've rarely done this year?
Well, let's go through the options of change, the change options.
You can fire the GM.
What the hell is that going to do?
He's gone to the summer anyway, right?
The only way you do that is if you want someone else selling at the deadline.
And so you would have to make a decision.
quick and someone else would have to come in and run the sale.
But we're talking about improving the team to get them into playoffs.
How are we going to get into playoffs and actually show that we have a chance at winning?
Okay, well, you could get rid of the GM, change GMs.
To me, that does nothing.
Okay.
Well, you're going to bring guys, you fire the coach.
Okay, well, who's taken over?
And what is the likelihood of that?
Not.
All right?
I just got an extension.
Okay, I'm keeping track of these options.
GM, coach.
GM, okay, coach, now what else is there?
You can, or trades.
And who that wants to trade with this team?
Because you don't know whether you should be trading or deleting guys.
Yeah, if you're trying to get into the playoffs at all costs.
You trade your future.
That would be horrifying.
If you moved your first or like wool for Peltje, you'd be like, what do you do?
Yes.
What?
do you do you got to stand pat you got to watch a play you're going to get what's it
Anderson for pelchie who's happy with that no and I think that may be exaggerated I don't think that
makes any sense to for the category frames it doesn't but that's the whole problem with this
the team yeah that's the problem with the whole or with the organization as it is
what are you doing with it yeah and what's
You're standing pat right now, Rhett.
I mean, it's the only thing you can do after walking through the list you gave us,
none of those are feasible.
Because you're inspired by the shit.
Because you're inspired by the efforts that these idiots are put.
Like, no.
Like, they're half, they've quit.
That doesn't fix anything, right?
If you want to fix something, standing pat isn't the answer.
Change needs to happen.
Whether it's the players somehow start playing better.
Yeah.
Or, yeah, or you have to change something.
Standing Pat is the comment that's just what's going to play out, but it's not going to fix anything.
Yeah, no, and I don't think there's a smart external solution available.
Like, sure, you could go trade your best prospects in your first, but Jesus, now you're just adding another guy that wasn't here and hasn't played with these guys.
It's a tough spot.
The best thing, here, I'll give you the answer, if you want the right answer, you send Dustin Wolfe's your goalie?
and you can bring up two other kids and let them fucking play.
I wouldn't mind a walk or doer right about now.
Listen, I was going to say if you look at this team.
I don't give a rat's ass what anyone complains about
or what the salary cap situation is.
If you're spending the cap, you've got the money to do it.
Send those pricks to the miners.
I don't need Trevor Lewis on this team.
Send him to a contender.
Trade him to a, I'm serious.
He's contributing nothing.
And I don't know him or dislike him.
Get him out of there.
There. Luchich, send them to Buffalo.
They need some strength.
Richie, gone. Get them out.
They're not doing anything.
They're not doing anything.
They're taking up space.
And I actually think Richie would be fine if there was other youth involved,
and he could run around anyway, and he's dirt cheap.
He ain't issued to me.
Backland.
Gone.
Gonzo.
Trade him.
Trade him.
is the last year for Tifoli,
Lindholm, Backlin, Tannov,
Hanofin, Zedorov.
So if you want to move those guys,
I think it all happens
over the off season or during next season.
That's the answer.
Of course, I've been saying,
but the off season I'm talking about now.
Yes.
How do we get better now?
We don't get into playoffs
if we wait until the summer.
If you're sitting here now
and you look at this team is we aren't good enough.
This collection,
it's veterans and older guys
and high-priced talent.
You know what?
It didn't work.
how do you fix it you start getting rid of players you start changing the players you start shaking up
i get it but there isn't expiring contracts on guys that i think are coveted out there i think
next year you would get more appetite for these players when their deals are expiring when there's
more caps they're everyone's capped out but on the flip side you always hear it's you get two playoff
runs out of a player if you trade for him now so who like i get what you're saying i'm not against that
I just think that it's not like if you don't do it now that it's like, shit, we've missed the boat.
I am curious about one thing.
Is it possible this group of players could work and be a cohesive team and play well
and be a playoff team under a different coach?
We don't know the answer to that.
And I don't know that we're going to find out because of the contractual status that Daryl's got.
But that's the only thing I wonder about.
Like you watch Ralph Kruger's Sabres versus, you know, Granados Sabres.
You see coaching changes on the island where you go.
to trots.
I'm not sure that
I have no clue what the answer is, but
I don't know that you want.
Either way, it feels like Daryl's an issue,
because you don't want him running a room
of 25-year-olds, do you?
Like, if you're selling.
He's not the coach for that.
Right, and he's still got that fucking extension.
Like, it's a nightmare.
I think you look at that roster retro.
Maybe he is the coach for that.
You look at that, to your point.
All of those players that either expire
at the end of this year, but even next year,
but even next year.
As you see, you can look at that list.
Who in your mind's eye
is going to be here?
Who is signing an extension?
Who do you want to be here?
Who do you realistically think is going to be a Calgary flame
beyond the end of next season?
And if the answer is not that guy,
then he's fucking gone.
And do it now.
And I'm just picking a name.
Noah Hanifan.
You'd get something.
Oh, you get a shitload for him.
For Noah Hanifan.
Yeah, you would.
You get a first plus, I'd assume.
He's a top pair minute munching guy.
And does it cut your, you're right at the ankles if you're the flames right now?
Not really.
You got to replace them.
You got to move those minutes.
You find, you can get, you can go and you can chase the playoffs this year.
You can get in and all that, the whole, just give me a chance.
Fuck.
If you're hoping for 04 over again, what do you got to cross?
Fingers, toes, cross them all.
Because that's the, it would take an absolute miracle.
So let's look at those guys.
Backland's been a career flame.
I think everyone would understand if he wants to move on
or the team wants to part ways.
If this is going to be a rebuild,
it doesn't feel like a spot you want to be at
in the last few years of your career.
I think he's still in a bunch of shut down.
I think he wants to stay here forever because I think he's here forever.
I was going to say, I don't want to interrupt you,
but he's maybe the one guy, I think,
sure, that would have the roots that would stay.
And so let's go elsewhere.
Like, Tofoli is an easy guy to move.
He's a scoring guy that can play in the top six.
That's easy.
A guy like Lindholm is a cornerstone piece for this organization.
and here's my gut on Elias Lentholm.
He ain't having a fun time this year.
And so if you wanted to talk extension with him this summer,
he's going to say, I'm not even thinking about it if the coach is here.
And so again, the coach becomes a massive issue here.
Like, I think if you like Lindholm and Hanofin
and you want to build around them, you could bring them back.
But there's no way they're signing up for more of this shit.
They look like they hate their lives.
He's on pace for 20 fucking goals.
What?
Like, who wants to sign up for more, Daryl,
if you have the choice to go else or.
I don't think it was a small part of where Matthew Kachuk decided to do what he did.
Like, do we really, am I?
I don't necessarily disagree, Retro.
I just look at it from real life standpoint.
If you're at a job and you like your coworkers and you like what you do, but you hate your boss.
Well, why, why, I get it.
I get it.
And I'm not saying, and Darrell is a lightning rod and he's a prick and all of it.
But Lindholm's a guy that had success with him last year and didn't hate him.
And all of a sudden he does.
Now, that can change year over year.
I'm just, all I want to say is,
don't give the guys in the room passing grades just because they're players.
Yeah, no one's giving passing grades.
Take some effing responsibility, right?
Hey?
Would Daryl have been easier to get along with last year?
Would Daryl have been easier to play for last year when they weren't struggling to this degree?
100%.
Absolutely.
100%.
And the other thing is.
coaches. Of course. Winning is the greatest medicine, right? We get it. Like, you can put up with a lot of
shit when the winds are stacking up. And just like on the flip side, you want to see guys that
repels that all of a sudden don't want to look at each other? Just throw in five losses in a row.
Like, it's poison. We get it. We understand that. But there's also the grind that he asks out
of you. And you're like, okay, the end of the year's coming, like, I'm almost there.
Am I going to re-up to do more of this? Or like when I'm, I got buddies playing another two.
They love the fucking guys. I'm talking to me because of Benadjad in New York. They love Gerard
Gland. Holy fuck. Like, why would I sign up for this? If I can go anywhere, why would I sign up for more of
this grinding, playing every single game like it's game seven? It's not. I listen to the Spit
and Chicklets podcast this week. And those guys in the same podcast, they had Rod Brindamore on and
Ryan Suzuki. And Brindamore, we've said right across, who wouldn't want to play for this guy?
Love the guy. Everybody that played with him, respects him. All those players love him. He's got a very
good team, but they love playing for that guy. You hear him talk. You just see the way he conducts himself.
Yeah, I could, I would take shit from that guy. If he comes at me, that, it hits me hard because I know
where it's coming from. Suzuki comes on in the same podcast. They ask him about Marty St. Louis.
He's like, we fucking love Marty St. Louis. The guy's unbelievable. He's hard on us, but we know what he's done.
He's fair with us. And they're, and they're a shitty team. They're out of a playoff picture.
I just don't know, man.
I like Darrell, right?
We've shot the shit.
We've known Darrell for years.
I'm not making an excuse for Darrell.
I'm not trying to deflect from Darrell.
All I think Darrell is a major, and he has to be.
He's the head coach.
You have to be the guy that where the buck stops, right?
Like, you have to be that guy.
all I'm saying is that
there are guys in that room
we said it three months ago
when Darrow was apparently being a tyrant
well where's the leadership to deal with that
aren't there supposed to be guys in that room to
deflect that and figure it out that have been around them
again Lewis DeFoli
Loochich Lindeholm
Backland Tanev
whole bunch of guys that been there long enough
and should be like
again, I think Darrell probably is grinding these guys.
But if they don't have any backbone to stand up to them, then yeah, it's going to go shitty.
Anyway, we're all in agreement.
We are all in agreement.
I just think that there's a little more responsibility that has to be put on the players as well.
Boy, and you mentioned...
I'm not...
Sorry, right.
I just thought...
Because Kron asked me about it last night on Afterburner, and you mentioned Dustin Brown
and that L.A. King's team.
And that King's team, they got to the point that maybe hate is a strong word.
They were done with their own.
And they locked the fucking door on them.
And you think of who was in that room, Carter, Brown, Doughty, the leadership that they had in that room.
They told him, hey, fuck you.
This is our team.
You're the coach.
We get it.
But they ended up taking over, whether that's strategy on Sutter's behalf.
And it's not the first time it's happened.
It does happen.
Bob Hartley, Colorado, another.
But as you take the roster and Cron said, who are the guys in the room that are going to be,
locking the door on the coach and saying, no, no, we fucking got this.
Luchich is done at the end of the year.
He's maybe that guy.
Is Lewis going to fucking say, Lewis is the only reason the guy's playing 15 minutes, 16 minutes
a night, like it should be his best friend.
Who, Tanev, maybe, seems awfully kind of quiet.
I don't know who it is.
But, okay, so let's say pick a guy and they do go talk to Daryl.
What does he do?
Is Dary going to change his ways?
I just don't see it.
It's the most stubborn cat in town.
Like, oh, sorry, guys.
Am I being too hard?
today's joke of the day
why did the chicken
like no he's still
Darrell like what does
explain to me how this works right
I'm explaining to you right now
is you don't tell Darrell how to do it
you tell the guys after he walks through the room
just to ignore it
we know what we have to do
just fucking ignore him
he can rant and rave
scream yell
let's laugh about it
let's go have a beer
let's enjoy being together
yeah
If you allow him to influence your day-to-day feelings,
well, shame on him, shame on you.
It's probably hard to do, right?
It's like you saying it's probably really hard.
It's not an easy thing, but that's how it has to work.
You're not going to go in and tell Daryl to F off and change your ways.
What you're going to do is say he's giving us a system,
and I don't even think he does much of that.
I'm guessing the assistant coaches do.
And we have not talked about the assistant coaches.
Perhaps it's the assistant coaches that need to take a little responsibility
and they don't understand how to deal with Darrell.
And they don't know how to be the in between the players and Darry.
I don't know.
I don't know.
I'm not saying that that is what's happening.
But there are assistant coaches.
Are they doing everything they're supposed to?
There's no way to know, right?
Right?
It's hard to imagine.
Jimmy Playfair and Rico,
Jimmy Playfair and Rico made everything fun for the guys.
They knew Darrell was the heavy.
Yeah.
And they interacted differently with the guys.
Who knows?
I'm just, it's a mess.
It's a mess.
It's a mess.
It's a puzzle that looks really hard to fix with any sort of ease.
Like it feels like there has to be major surgery and a lot of pain.
And, you know, the habits of the organization.
are not to have two coaches on payroll.
They really don't like it.
When they do, they go get cheap replacements
that aren't head coaches like Jeff Ward and Glenn Gulletson.
So I just like, if you're not going to entertain the coaching change,
and I get it, right.
I don't want to absolve the players of responsibility.
It's just you can't swap out half a roster.
You can't change a coach.
It's the nature of the business.
And if that's not an option for whoever is going to run this team this summer,
whether that's true living, whether that's the owner,
whether that's Conroy, whether that's someone else,
if that's not a card to play,
it looks like a lot of misery in the near term.
And you look at Daryl Sutter.
Which speaks to the ridiculousness of why did you sign him?
Like, where the hell did that come from?
I don't get it.
And I'd love to find out more about that.
If you're a GM that knows a guy has a short shelf life,
we see coaches all the time coaching into the last year of their contract.
That used to be a really big thing.
Oh, lame duck coach, can't do it.
It'll have no power.
It happens all the time now.
And I just thought at the time,
Like, why?
It's a totally new group, and he's had one good year.
Like, are you worried about Darrell leaving as a free agent?
Like, no.
If he does great, you pay him.
And if he doesn't, you're like, okay, well, you know, the shelf life of the average coach
at two and a half years, okay, that's about it.
I mean, that extension made no sense to me,
and whether Darrell wanted it or the owner wanted it or somehow the GM,
I just have the toughest time believing that that was a front burner item for Brad Trilliman.
I agree with that.
So I think we're kind of answering the question, aren't we?
Without knowing the answer?
We have hunches, but I don't know.
Why would your living feel the need that he wouldn't?
Yeah.
So who would want it?
Would Darrell want it and the owner want it?
Daryl would sure like it.
The owner's a smart cat.
I don't know that the owner doesn't know that this guy's got a short shelf life too.
Like it just felt odd.
And it came out of nowhere.
Like, what?
Huh.
And for Darrell, I was going to say, and we can move on,
here's a guy who's top five, top 10
across the board in games coached and wins and all of that.
He is doing things the way he believes they should be done
that have worked for him in the past.
Is he now, at this point in his life and coaching career,
going to start questioning what he's doing?
You have to morph and change.
But he's doing things the way he's done things.
And he's expecting his players to respond in certain.
Ways and they aren't.
So the mix is wrong.
Yep.
And you blame whoever you want, but it ain't no good.
And you know, you can blame Afterburn.
Yeah, I fucking blame After Burner.
That's some bullshit.
What the hell did we do to this team, Brett?
Fuck.
2, 6, and 4.
2, 6, and 4.
Don't blame us.
It's not our freaking fall.
Two wins and 12?
Two out of 12.
It's decent.
Again, and then you look at it and you go,
they just need to get on a run.
They'll be right there.
It'll be fine.
It's the shittiest fucking division in hockey.
You look at it.
It's like, okay,
Vegas has no goalies you've heard of
and stones out for maybe the season.
Edmonton can't defend worth fuck.
Sure, they can score five a night,
and they're a wild card team.
They have the best player on the fucking planet,
they're a wildcard team.
You don't know what they're getting for gold in it.
Seattle's coming back to Earth.
They might sell because they understand
they got 20,000 people on a season,
at wait list and that it isn't about
this year. If they've got a guy that's expiring
like if you can go get some more
young players to build around
Wright and Baneers and these good young players, they might
sell. Calgary, it's like
fuck on paper in the summer it looked good.
It sure hasn't looked good on ice this year. Like this division
is so bad, they're still in it.
Like, you know what's frustrating
and I said this to Kroner
last night, it feels like
because we do this stupid show every
day. And I just, you go over the checklist
of things that we didn't like.
Well, you're bring up the kids, bring up Pelchay.
Why, Phillips?
Bring up Phillips.
Bring up Phillips.
They bring them up.
Okay, it didn't, not instant.
11 minutes for Phillips.
Hang on.
So then Pelchay, like, you get Pelchay up.
Pelchay's up.
Well, you got, but you got Luchich on the second line.
Get them off.
Pelchay to the second line.
Okay.
Well, you know what?
Now you're playing the wrong goalie.
You got to get Vlodar in there.
Play Vlodar more.
They put Bladar in last night, five two.
Well, fuck.
And so you look at it now.
It's like, well, now what do you want?
I don't know.
I'm with you.
I feel like the roster construction,
can they go on a run?
Anybody can.
You look across sports,
there's been miracle Cinderella runs.
But it just looks like,
as I,
you look at it.
Wow, you better put Hubert O with,
I don't know.
I will say this.
Vladar has lost his last two
and is 10, 2 and 3 in his last 15.
I just,
I hate the sense that Daryl's going to go back to Markstrom tomorrow
because it feels like what he'll do.
But I feel like it would be nice to give the guy a run.
And maybe it doesn't work.
Last night was not a good example of it.
But he has been pretty dependable outside of only a couple games here.
I'd love to see it.
Not that that's the be-all and end-all.
But it's like if Markstrom's in on Saturday,
I feel like it's 1-0, 3 shots in again for the Rangers.
I'm fine with playing Vladar.
It's just I'm not up.
after last night, I don't know that...
It's not the magic potion.
It's one game.
It's only one, and this is a worst game in a while.
You know what?
I'd have more excitement if they brought Wolf and said,
You go.
We're going to run with you.
I would be like, yes, let him run.
It's interesting conversation.
I mean, I know that the detractors of that move
would say young goalies can be ruined by coming up too soon,
but it's not like you're bringing them in
to run the show like Carter Hart here.
If he doesn't play well, you can send him right back, right?
If you have Jacob Markstrom and Danville.
No, no, I'm not saying now, but if you were out of it with 10 games left.
Well, yeah, but that's not what you mean, right?
You're talking like, bring them in, play the kids come in at the end of the year when you're out of the playoffs or whatever.
You give him NHL time.
But he's not ready to be a potential answer to the situation.
Something.
Is he?
Something made.
has to change to create a bond or an explosion or a whatever in that dressing room.
There has to be a binding moment, a come to Jesus, a rally cry, a song because you're
drunk in Philly and you're the St. Louis Blues and we've found a song.
You need something to galvanize this crew.
You could fire people, change this, there are different options, but the only
way that this team makes the playoffs and makes you feel like they got any chance is if something
happens maybe it's a brawl maybe it's a this i thought the rangers thing might be true was hit
beautiful and then anderson gets hit on his scooter there they are they didn't take they didn't use
them let's rally there were your moments let's rally come to like they've had two in the last week
nothing and a half the truba game fights that's why rasmus like come on boys they who's got and
And Darrell can make it miserable, but Darrell doesn't make you not like playing with your teammates.
And to me, they might not like playing for Darrell, but they sure don't love playing for each other.
That's fair.
Doesn't look like it.
Let's do the Pinder Report.
It's a presentation of Village Honda.
The website is VillageHonda.com.
The all-new CRV hybrid.
It arrived.
We were there for it.
It was a big night.
The new Honda Passport Trail Sport is in stock.
The new Accord, the newly redesigned Accord, is on the way.
many good reasons to head to the northwest
automaul and visit everybody at
Village Honda, villagehonda.com.
It is the Pinder report.
Fellas, last night at the dome,
the first of a three-game homestand for the Calgary Flames,
Detroit Redwigs.
Chance for revenge, finally, Dean,
after that disheartening two-one loss in Motown.
No, not unlike the first time they met
eight days ago, a goal in the final minute of a period,
seemed to swing the momentum in the contest,
another loss.
Five to two for the Calixton.
Rotary flames falling at the hands of Detroit.
The wings get all four points of the season series.
If you missed it last night, still out there on the interwebs.
After Burner, it was Brent Cron sitting in the guest chair with Dean last night.
Have a listen.
But this does not look like a team.
This just looks like another three forwards and two D every 45 seconds to a minute hopping over the boards.
It's all it looks like right now.
There's no purpose.
There's zero purpose.
There's no desire.
these guys are just hopping over the boards like you said
just doing their job so-and-so
you know quote unquote just getting out there
going in for a shift change
there's nobody that's getting pissed off out there
there's nobody that's losing their mind
if you're going to lose a game like this
grab somebody and beat the shit out of them
do it with a purpose
get yelled at oh where was this emotion all game
I don't care there's zero emotion
out there from any of these guys all there is
is leaning over with their sticks on their shins
with their head down
Yeah, not their most inspired effort, Dane, to be sure.
It felt like that Dubeday goal came maybe, but then no, right back the other way.
And three-o zone penalties, like, geez, it's just they didn't look like a smart hockey team nor a hardworking one last night.
It was go through the motionsville.
And felt for Vodar early, the first goal goes off of Stone's hand and in.
Yeah.
If you look at the angle, it was probably going to miss the net altogether.
Last minute of play.
and then Stone takes a penalty and they score on that power play.
It was one of those nights.
And the bingo card would have been full.
They had the post early with Hubert O.
Like, it was all the hallmarks of this season were on display last night.
And you left.
I don't leave.
I left.
Dutton's?
I was like, what's the gift where the guy just throws up the paper?
Fuck it.
I'm out of.
Up set the table.
Five two.
Dutton's all right.
What's left?
No.
Ship.
But, uh,
here's Alan Walsh. He didn't finish early. He waited to the very end, you know, and nobody represents their clients and goes to social media and tweets things that probably won't help anything at all for his client like Alan Walsh. Noted Michael Frolek, usage expert, Alan Walsh.
I get what he's trying to do. It's just not going to work, Alan. I'm sorry. Like, oh. Oh, was I being too hard on your clients? I'll bring him in. We'll have tea this morning.
I get the negativity part because I know where he's taking a shot at there.
I don't get why he's giving us a definition.
The quote for people listening.
The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again,
expecting a different result.
Also negativity sucks the joy right out of the players,
CC, the flames.
Yeah, I mean, is it line mates?
Is it the coach?
To what scale is he talking about?
And if it is line mates, if it is linemates, F.U. Huberto.
It's not like you've played with the same line the whole year.
You've had different line mates.
How about you perform?
It's fucking luch each there three weeks ago.
I was just going to say.
I was just going to say it.
I like that you cleaned up the FU for the listening audience.
I'm cleaning it up for you.
You know what also would tie into maybe not being happy is not having good seasons.
Here's a little tidbit from the hockey writers.
The two players in the NHO with the largest point per game drop from last year to this year, you guessed it.
Both members of the Calgary Flames.
Both.
Codry and Jonathan Euberdo.
And Codry was our all star.
Well, you got it to someone, right?
Come on.
Yeah.
And I bet if you spun it and looked at goaltending numbers,
big drop there, too.
You probably have a significant drop from March.
Well, I know Markham's got nine less shutouts, so that probably wins that.
Eight or nine less shutouts.
A lot more.
The number for the goals against is a lot higher.
They're five-on-five, eight percentage, fifth worst in the NHL.
That's bad.
Really bad.
Stannings look like this.
I mean, for all the negativity, it feels like we're talking about a Connor
Badard team.
Sadly, we're not.
They're right in the mix.
For the final spot in the West, yeah, tied on points.
One point out.
And Minnesota's got a game in hand, and they're circling the toilet bowl right now as well.
It's a race to the bottom, folks.
Minnesota's lost five of six, didn't play, and pass them.
Yeah, there you go.
Here's your schedule coming up.
If you want to learn about the flames,
we're at, I know the deadlines halfway through this,
but it's pretty much a row of playoff or playoff caliber teams for the next 10.
This courtesy Audi James...
Doesn't matter, because you don't know how they're going to play against shitty teams.
I don't agree.
They're going to play bad against good.
It might actually, in a weird way, be a good thing for them,
but it is not powder puffs
and not that you've ever chocked up
two points of the flames anyway this year.
There it is.
Rangers, Philly, Arizona is not great,
but they're playing loose and free.
Philly, not sure exactly what you are.
The rest are pretty established playoff teams
and the wild who you're competing with.
Two games against the wild and four nights,
pretty huge in March.
The other thing that we have brought up.
I wish you had those before the trade.
Yeah, seriously.
Magnus Helberg?
Yeah.
Back up.
Matt Stranger to start the year.
Mad's so go.
Third Stringer.
Jackson Stobber.
Third Stringer.
They've all beaten you.
Yeah.
They've all beaten you.
You've been Christopher Gibson a lot this year.
So if you're kind of, oh, geez, what's the lineup tonight?
Oh, maybe, hey, maybe a soft touch here.
Forget about it.
No such thing with this group, to be sure.
NHL, we're getting ready for that outdoor game.
I know you're pumped, Red.
You're flying down to rally?
Is that right?
Go see you the canes and caps?
No, but my kids playing in the outdoor game on Monday.
My kids playing an outdoor game on Monday.
In Buffalo or in Carolina?
No, where the college game is being played in Cleveland.
Oh, there you go.
Ground Stadium.
Do you know what college is a plan?
I'm putting it on the spot.
It's Michigan and Ohio State.
Oh, wow.
That'd be fun.
Is Bimo going to be there?
Probably will be.
They love him there.
He was very good.
He was a very good Wolverine.
Huge.
Major League Baseball players.
arriving, showing up, and opting out of their contracts, Dean,
as Mani Machado met with the Padres, with the media,
yeah, I'll opt out after the season.
There's a lot of cash out there.
Got to go get it, baby.
And why wouldn't you?
Remember, like, the last couple off seasons,
it was like no one was getting signed until January.
They're icing these guys out.
All the money was thrown around this year.
They got that new CBA down.
I was like, yeah, if I can make another five sheets a year,
why wouldn't I opt out?
I can still sign with the Padres.
What the hell?
And he's not the only one that doesn't really care to lock up long term
is superstar unicorn
Shohei Otani has said,
I'm an angel for this year
and that's what I'm focused on.
I'm not thinking or talking
about anything beyond that.
He gone or he gone?
Come on, Toronto.
They spend, though.
Get them, right?
They do spend, but they don't win, right?
That's the problem that Otani's probably looking at.
Like, he want to win.
He's going to get his money anywhere, right?
Oh, yeah.
So it's like, well, you want to win.
You don't want to be an Anaheim.
What kind of history you're going to leave in the game?
If you play for my trout, right?
Trout's taking the money.
Man, I made the past once.
Trout. Trout. Sillet little trout.
Pretty little trout.
Tragers back in L.A. Rett, his first tournament of the season.
The Genesis, it's kind of his tournament, right?
He's got the big sponsorship deal with him.
He hosts.
And I said, I wouldn't be playing if I didn't think I could win.
Proof of that on the 14th today.
This is earlier this morning, Retro.
Of his wheelhouse, usually that five to eight feet.
This on a superb line.
the right way.
Big kick and roll towards the cup.
Tiger Woods at 14.
Tiger Woods at 14.
Three inches.
Four inches.
He looks fat.
Tiger fat.
Well, he's not.
You know who also looked fat, but it's definitely not.
It was an inebriated Travis Kelsey,
who was a phenomenal MC yesterday in Kansas City at the Super Bowl parade.
This is a very small sampling.
There is a ton of Travis Kelsey.
Hypen up the crowd.
like the rock at WrestleMania.
He was unbelievable.
Hey, in Trowell, end this thing how we supposed.
You got to fight!
It's a Friday.
We're going to end on that note.
They're going to party.
And so should you, Rhett.
What a...
That song is still such a banger.
Vice me too.
Oh, man.
I didn't party.
Well, you got to fight.
I was ready to just celebrate a huge flames win at Dutton's loss.
It didn't happen.
I'm ready.
Let's go.
Pit to report a presentation.
Village Honda. Get those detailing packages. They start at just 7995, protect your vehicle from the harsh
elements of winter, and just have a beautiful pristine, clean car. Book your details today. Online
VillageHonda.com. We're here in the Tower Chrysler Studios, which is on location today. We're at the
Grey Eagle Resort and Casino. Look at this, eh? Usually when I'm in a casino at this time
of day, it's, I'm in Vegas. That's right. I can't sleep.
or something's going on, you're just kind of walking, sifting around.
Of course you're one or three.
Three card?
No, I'm not going to play a big.
Oh, what's that?
Caribbean poker?
I don't know what I got.
Relat?
Do you like to touch the felt, Rhett?
Do you like to get out there, play some cards every once in a while?
Tickle the felt?
That's right.
Oh, I was a big gambler.
Absolutely.
Yeah, yeah.
I don't know where I'd, I want to go more here.
Him regaling us with gambling stories of the time he went back to the camera room
and ask the people to follow some girl around a casino.
Yeah, how did that go again?
It was just someone, did she steal your wallet?
You got to have some pole to get that.
Seriously.
Oh, your old friends.
I think this blonde in a tight miniskirt.
I think she took my wallet.
Old friends.
And I'm going to need her contact info as well because I may press charge.
I need to know what room she's in.
Montana's barbecue and bar.
It is the family.
long weekend. Why not gather the kids, gather the family, gather your buddies, do whatever.
Head out to Montana's barbecue and bar. Go to montanas.com.com.
You find the one nearest you. And just start chowing down. There's daily deals. They've got the
comfort menu. And of course, there's a draw at every location. You could win a with every
fridge. You buy a Mosul Canadian. You get an entered into the draw for the fridge.
You can win a trip to the NHL Awards in Nashville as well. And as well, on our social media.
We've extended it to Sunday night. So you got a little extra time.
to get onto the Flames Nation social media,
find the Montana's page.
It'll be pinned in there.
And do accordingly.
You tag and you like and you follow and you get in there.
You could be winning a $100 gift card to Montana's.
Maybe you use it.
See, I was going to say maybe you use it on Wednesday for all you can eat ribs,
but you shouldn't use Wednesday because you can all you can eat.
You'd get a lot of wings on half-price wing night.
You get a lot of taco and beer too.
Yeah, there you go.
So go to our social media, Flames Nation, on Twitter and Instagram,
and check out the Montana's posts and get in there.
We'll have the winner for you on Tuesday because we're not here on Monday.
We will have an after burner Monday.
Monday a day off?
Monday after burner.
Are you in Monday after burner?
After burner.
Two o'clock matinee against the.
Philadelphia Flyers.
You're traveling on Monday you're saying you're going to be back.
Would you be back in time?
I'm traveling on Monday.
I know there's one game probably depend.
Anyway, I'll make it.
I don't know if I'll be ready to go.
immediately following the game.
Two o'clock mountain time.
Two mountain, four sabers time.
Four.
Okay.
We should be all right.
I like it.
Close.
They'll be wrapping up a two-and-one homestand
with back-to-back wins over New York State teams.
So, Philly's not in New York State.
Whoops.
I thought it was both a mom.
What's the Groundhog Day animal?
Right.
Let's do the betway bets of the day.
Speaking of New York State teams.
Yeah, New York State teams, the Oilers
are taking on the New York
Rangers.
That's right.
Two of them.
It's a heated.
It's a color rival, yeah.
Rangers at Oilers.
I'm going to take the Rangers on the money line plus 105.
Plus money for the Rangé, six in a row.
Are you kidding me?
They've been pretty good.
And you know what?
I've been dipping in here and there with the Rangers and Zabanajad and all that,
and it's been coming through.
I'm going to go with this one.
The Nuge and Zabanajad.
If each of them get a point or more, plus 110.
Sneaky good year for Nughey and Hawkins as well.
Sneaky good year.
Scored the other night.
It seems like Zabana Jad.
dude just all over it.
66 points or something?
Isn't it wild?
How many guys are having career offensive years for the wildcard holding?
It's like Barry's having a monster year.
Hyman best year of his career.
David may be the best of his.
Dry-settle being dry-settled.
Barry's got as many points as Huberto.
Yeah, I'm surprised there's no more to be honest.
He's on a heater.
Who's his agent?
Is he tweeting?
Is Barry Barry's agent?
No.
Those are my betway bets.
Len?
It's not Len.
My bet we betts today.
I'm going to stay in that same game, Dino.
Artemi Panarin has loved life since, well, for a while.
But now that Teresanko's on that line with him as Abinajad,
piling up points, scoring two.
I'm going on the two-point night for Panarin plus 187.
It's a big number.
And I'll also take as Abinajad goal and a Rangers win.
Both those things happen plus 275.
It should be a fun one.
It's the first playoff team the Rangers have faced since,
like mid to late Jan.
It has been a long run of mediocre clubs,
and I feel like it doesn't mean
or others are in trouble,
but they should be at least up for this one.
There's been a lot of dreary bottom feeding.
Like they lose,
in the shootout to Philly,
they lose to Detroit the other night.
Guaranteed Montreal.
Kind of, they've lost three of the last four.
So we'll see what they do tonight.
That way.
It's the bad way bets of the day.
It is.
I guess it happens to everybody.
I guess so.
Two wildcard teams.
just doing, you know, what you do.
So it's a Friday retro.
Are you going to swing by the old liquor store?
What's on your, what's on your docket?
I got a five-hour drive ahead of me, buddy.
It's going to be awesome.
Can't wait.
To the cleave, eh?
I get it.
I'm going to check out that train derailment where all the talks of chemicals.
Right.
Danger.
Drive away from that.
Get as close as possible.
Dumb.
Tournament is like two hours.
Is two hours too close?
So what is the situation?
Do you have to drive right by it?
We don't drive right by it, but we're driving towards it.
So because you're in Buffalo and your kids are playing sports
and you're going to all these different locations,
some of them were exciting than the other.
So where are you going this weekend?
Cleveland.
Cleveland.
Rock and roll Hall of Fame?
Like do you go inside?
One kids?
No, no, no.
What are you going to do in Cleveland?
One.
One kid is going to Cleveland.
One kid is going to Johnstown, Pennsylvania,
which is the one I'm attending.
Yeah, that's the one near the trouble too.
Yeah.
They're actually both about two hours away.
It's not, I'm not overly keen on it, to be honest with.
Trying to do the math on the five-hour drive or two hours away?
You're doing both on one swing by or what?
He's got a two hours from, no, two hours from the train derailed.
I said what you're talking about.
Okay, that makes more sense.
Irritable bowel.
A lot of stops.
Trips taking me five hours.
I'm stopping to take a shit all the time.
God.
Sorry, Red.
Sorry to hear about that, by the way.
IBS is no fun.
It's no joke.
The boomcats looking at the camera there.
I think he's got,
it looks like some first-end experience.
It's no joke.
He's pointing.
He's got his pointer out.
Let me tell you.
That's going to do it for this one today.
I did after.
We got a, we can't.
No, we got to end on something positive.
Positive.
You guys want to see my birthday present?
Is it a tattoo?
It's awesome, and I think all the flames should get one.
Then yes.
Should I get it for you?
Should I get it for you?
Hang on.
I'll be right back.
I'll be right back.
I only have horrible ideas popping in my head.
What can I say that wouldn't get us in trouble?
Is it something with food?
He said the flames.
Yeah.
The flames.
This is a stupid whoop thing.
Remember he had that watch that told him about his heart rate and sleep?
Maybe it's just a big big bag of gummies.
Something to keep them happy.
Yeah.
Something to light in the mood?
Maybe Alan Walsh should send a group 23 of the most congregate.
Maybe it's some sort of a tickler.
Hey?
Some sort of a device that gives you the tickle where you need it most, when you need it the most.
I'm not sure.
What could it possibly be?
Don't think his kids would be.
We can hear you.
We're now going to come back to Retina.
We're going to come back.
What the hell is this?
This is a red light mask for your skin and for your body.
Look at this idiot.
He looks like some villain from Star Wars.
No, no, it's called the Cleopatra.
Are you from the Mandalorian?
What the hell's happening?
What's happening here?
Charge your mask.
Put your eye protection in the eye slots.
Flip the on switch.
Then the lights turn on.
Can we screenshot this place?
It's going to be healthy.
So what does it do for you?
Your skin, you said?
Flames need this?
Fire light.
Red light therapy.
I don't really.
It's so scientific you guys wouldn't understand.
It's kind of like math.
I think the flametering.
flames could use this.
So was this something...
They're wearing masks because they're stealing money.
Is this something you asked for,
or was it bought for you
knowing just how crazy a person you are?
So my
birthday was like three, four...
End of January and the shoveler was like,
I got you a gift and I'm really
think you're going to like it and you'll be excited
about it, but it's not here yet.
So it showed up the other day.
Yeah, she knows how
quirky and idiotic I am.
Well, I know how big a fan
you are of wearing masks over the last few years.
So I can see why she thought that'd be a great gift for you.
Looks good.
Well, it's not just a mask, right?
It's a red light therapy, you know.
It's a treatment.
It's a treatment.
That's what we needed, Red.
Thank you.
There's our positive no time.
Going by the looks of you on after burner boom, you could use a little color in your face.
I could.
I'm war right down.
Yeah, I am war right down.
You know what you did?
I'm going to do it.
Going to do it.
That looks like a man that's killed someone before.
That's a gristled face.
Health personified right there.
That is the picture of health.
You could slide a little toothpick in there.
That's kind of you got a little...
Oh, there's boom.
Look at this.
Hey?
Look at them go.
That's what I'm doing.
You must have been on gummies.
I've never seen you that fired up.
This is like your body with my energy here.
This is something.
I hope we all have that kind of weekend.
Yeah.
Let's all do it, everybody.
Love that shirt, too.
That snaps for sure.
Back on Tuesday.
Have a great family day long weekend.
Enjoy your families.
Afterburn or Monday as well following the flyers.
Oilers suck.
See you,
have a great weekend.
