Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Frank Seravalli (FULL INTERVEIW)
Episode Date: June 23, 2025DFO's Frank Seravalli Talks Rasmus Andersson's Future, Short-Term Deals & More | The Insider HotlineThe Insider Hotline | Presented by Crystal Waters Plumbing Company https://www.crystalwatersplum...bingcompany.com/Join Boomer, Pinder & Rhett as they welcome Frank Seravalli for an in-depth discussion on the latest NHL news, rumors, and game highlights. From trade talks to player performances, get all the insights and analysis you need to stay in the loop! Don’t miss this exciting episode packed with expert commentary and behind-the-scenes stories from the world of hockey. Tune in now!#calgaryflames #calgaryflames #nhl #nhlshorts #nhlnews #stanleycup #hockey #nhltrades #nhlrumoursLet us know what you think in the comments below!!BARN BURNER BLONDEhttps://originbrewing.myshopify.comFLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTShttps://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8INSTANT REACTIONShttps://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-dO2AraHTeftSpPt00evo8M&si=lY5D3nk8zVtrQgql🚨 Subscribe to @Flames_Nation on Youtube 🚨➡️ / @flames_nation🔥 Barn Burner with Boomer, Pinder, & Rhett Warrener➡️ • Flames Nation Barn Burner🔥 After Burner➡️ • Flames Nation After Burner@dailyfaceoff2563 LIVE with Frank Seravalli:➡️ / @dailyfaceoff2563💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on Twitter: @FlamesNation @960boomer @PinderReport @Warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @Flames_Nation Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
buddy frank sarah valley joins us here frank frank how we do it buddy here frank good nice to see you guys
and i was going to text you was like oh we got ziger steel coming down if you need some extra time
or maybe it's too tight we'll uh we'll get you later but here you are yeah the only thing too tight
are my pants ah there we go you got to buy them bigger frank
i'm getting to the point where they don't make them that much bigger
See, that's the ultimate motivator.
And I'll tell you what, and not to like, you know, whatever.
I'm down 36 pounds since September.
And that was like, it was like when you get to 2xL and you know that the shirts don't go any further without going to special sections of the store, you're like, God damn it, I really need to get it in gear.
This is on me now.
Yes.
Yeah.
Well, good for you.
That's a ton.
That's a ton.
A lot of help.
bees. Well, you know what? We can talk about the Zegers, but we're right in the middle of
kind of Anderson's stuff. Your report came out Friday, Saturday. You were kind of the
head of the group and good on that. And then it's just it's, we're not surprised that the ask is
probably one where it tells you all you need to know. Well, that's a lot of dough. So we need to
just say goodbye time for a fresh start for both sides this gives the flames an opportunity you would
think to get a very good return being that july one money hasn't been spent yet that draft picks
have not been spent the the likelihood seems very high for a rasmus anderson trade in the short term
would you agree um i'd say it's moderately high i i think this isn't like bluster or cover or
spin when I tell you that the flames are absolutely totally fine heading into next season with
Rasmus Anderson on their blue line because teams are going to go nuts on the trade market
and free agency this summer and all the same teams that are in contender mode at the deadline
are all going to be hungry for a right shot defenseman who isn't afraid to play physically.
And all that will add up to is the flames potentially having the premier right shot guy available.
So his value in March is going to be no different.
It may even be better than it is at this exact moment in time.
So is there a chance that he gets moved this week?
Yeah, there's a real possibility.
But if the flames don't get everything that they're looking for,
they're going to sit back and go,
that's fine.
We can wait until we're the only team standing
that has a player of this caliber and will be just fine.
Last time they went into the season with significant free agents,
I would think it would be silly to suggest it wasn't a big distraction.
You had Lindholm, you had Hanofin, it wasn't just one.
How much stock do you put in keeping that out of the room,
that sort of storm cloud potentially of a guy that,
oh, he's going to get traded at some point.
When's it happening?
Yeah, I think Craig Conroy is very sensitive to that because he's lived it already.
And two, I think the other thing that you really want to guard against
is this team that has Dustin Wolf take maybe even yet another step this upcoming season.
and drags you into playoff contention again, and you go, man,
really don't want to cut the legs out from under my team
in trading Rasmus Anderson at the deadline.
But if you're going to go through this process, you have to,
and if you're not going to pull the trigger this summer,
you have to make an omerta with yourself,
a blood oath that under any circumstance,
no matter what happens, the best situation for the Calgary,
flames moving forward is to trade Rasmus Anderson.
You can't talk yourself into, oh, well, maybe he could be the own rental.
No, no, no.
That can't be how it works.
So you have to know going in that you're going to be able to rip that band-aid off.
It feels like the flames have been there so many times, right?
Well, we're three points back.
How do we trade this guy?
This is we're going to make a push.
The ultimate flirt.
Don't confuse yourself.
What is a good return for Erasmus Anderson?
Do we have an opinion on that?
I think it's got to be pretty significant.
Like, I don't know exactly what that looks like, but I was talking about this today on the DFO
rundown with Jason Greger.
And I threw out my hot take, which I might need an oven mitt because it's scalding.
And someone somewhere is going to say, Frank, you are the dumbest person I've ever seen,
which they say.
I hear that all the time.
Well, you or Frank?
Me.
Okay.
But I said, if I had a choice between the.
I think I'd actually prefer Rasmus Anderson to Noah Dobson.
Why?
Am I insane?
Well, we don't see a lot of the Islanders here.
We know that that was a pick the Flames had that got used by the Islanders and the Hamannock deal.
But explain why you'd prefer Rasmus to a guy that had what, like 70, almost 70 points two years ago?
He had 70 points two years ago.
But his career average is actually, I know he's three years younger, but his career average is
somewhat close to Anderson.
Like, it seems like that 70 point year is.
an outlier. Anderson's a pretty consistent double-digit goal score from the back end.
And I just think he brings a more well-rounded game than Dobson does that I don't want to say
that Dobson is a specialist by any means because I think that's a bridge too far.
But I just think he does other parts of the game better than Dobson does as a defenseman.
And then you throw in the one additional year at a very reasonable cap hit.
like I think there's a case to be made that especially when you get into talking about Dobson at
nine plus million dollars a year in the long run yeah you'd have to pay a trade acquisition to get
him and then re-up him on the next contract but in the long run is Dobson a better fit for your team
and what you're looking to build than Anderson I really don't know the answer to that so that's a valuable
asset then. I think so. I think it's an incredibly valuable asset. Like I'm with I agree with you. I don't I don't want to drag it into the season. He's going to be a pro. I think knowing he is going to come in. He's not going to be a, it's not going to draw attention to himself. But it's just going to be there. And then you run the risk for, you know, potential like you, well, like you say, oh, hey, we're good. Now we can't trade him. Plus just injury, all of that sort of thing. I just think Craig needs to not often he's been in the driver's seat. It's been, well,
what who's in a position to take Noah Hanifan or or here you go the cap hit is manageable for
everybody he and the thing is right now with the Florida Panthers everyone you need dogs in
the playoff you got Rasmus Anderson's a dog he would slide right into that Florida team and
fit in like a dirty shirt yeah he can go anywhere that's the type of player you're getting
I just if I'm Conroy maybe it doesn't have to be done because it's not about this year's draft
picks, but I need, I want a deal done before the start of the season.
We turn the page, we come to camp with whatever it is we got.
And it gives you time to address, depending on what you get in a trade from somebody,
you can go to July 1 and add a defenseman of some sort to fill that hole if you don't
think you can internally.
What, like they have pick 32, pick 18 and Rasmus.
Do you think there would be teams willing to move out of top 10 picks?
for Rasmus because there are some teams we didn't expect to be picking high there be it
Nashville, Boston, theoretically Utah.
I don't really see any of those three teams being a fit though. That's the problem.
Like I think Utah's top four is pretty well solidified.
Yeah.
I think Boston, same thing.
Dallas seems like a fit, doesn't it, Frank?
Yeah. When I think about Nashville, I'm like, they need a center, not a right shot defense
been.
So they need both.
I think Justin Barron's their best.
So Dallas, we've heard a lot about Jason Robertson, which we can talk about.
They trade Mason Marchmont.
They re-sign Matthew Shane.
They're moving, they're making, they fired their coach.
They're trying to get things going.
It's busy time for Jim Nill.
Why wouldn't the flames have been one of those teams in on Marchman?
That's another guy.
We talked about Zegris, but Marchman.
Well, he's 31 year left at four and a half.
I don't know.
What does he?
25 goal.
potential in calgary though does he or that's well that's the thing you have to like you have to take
everyone and like all right adjust it down a little bit because the team struggles to score so much but at
some point when you add a couple of those guys maybe that conversation changes what are the flames
like i i think that that's part of the problem that honestly why why are we not getting marchments
i think probably because you don't know exactly what you are you going for a playoff spot then
Why are you moving Anderson?
Well, because Anderson's going to want not just the dollars,
but I'm just saying that down the way at Saddle Dome Rise,
I think there's still some confusion as to are we?
I do too.
How far are we stripping this back?
That's the cost.
I don't think there is any, like,
I'm not being funny.
I don't think there's any confusion at all.
I think the flames know that they are a fringe playoff team.
And if they're going to go and become a team that is not just eventually a solid
playoff team, but then trying to vault into the next highest category, that it's going to take
time. So by the time they get to where they want to get to, Anderson's going to be 31 or 32.
That's not part of it either. But I'm taking, for that price, that was free 99.
The flames have an abundance of cap space. You gave up not even spare parts. What the Flyers gave up
for Zegras was spare parts. Honestly, the Flyers had seven picks in the first six.
64, they traded pick number 45 and Ryan Paling, who anyone could get in free agency for
middle tier dollars and a fourth? Like, are you kidding? Like, that's the type of player that you
look at and you go, why we're, I'm telling you just from the messages I've gotten since I've been
on the show, I'm seeing them pop into the right corner of my screen. Other teams are like,
wait, that was it. We could have done better than that. We didn't know that this is what was
happening. I'm with you. I don't, I just, my.
only disagreement with you is that you think they have got clarity i don't i think there's i i still
think there's pull in both direction to strip it down and go younger and to go for the playoffs i don't
think they're stripping it down i think they're just finding or why weren't they in on zegras and like
that's zegris is a perfect and they didn't use their cap space last year at all and that's
moving forward they're going to be a budget team they are they're going to be an internal cap team because
at least until the new building is open,
they're not going to be able to generate the revenue necessary
with salaries being paid out in U.S. dollars
to be that team that is competing for top-end players
and spending to the cap.
Well, it's Calgary.
They're not going to compete for top-end players
and free agency.
So it's not so they're competitive again, right?
Like you got your Tannivs and Markstroms and Coleman's.
Yeah, you have to be good to attract people in free agency.
By the way, speaking of Markstrom, I'm glad you brought him up.
could we see a Jacob Markstrom, Dan Vladar reunion in New Jersey?
So Jake Allen's up there.
They're looking for a backup.
And it's my understanding is those two guys ended up getting along pretty well.
What's the market for Allen like?
It's the bell of the ball.
Crazy enough.
Like he's the top free agent goalie available by a significant margin.
He's been a great sort of platoon mate 1B type guy.
Anytime he's asked to be the number one, it hasn't been as good.
Is that fair?
Yeah, I think that's fair, but I don't think you need him to be the one A.
You just need him to be the one B.
That's the description of a backup, right?
Oh, that can give you some solid starts, but I can't on a regular.
Yeah, so it's like, would the oilers be like, hey, let's put this guy with Stuart Skinner?
Or is it like, no, no, we got to go bigger than that, those two.
I think they have to go bigger than that.
But I was talking about where Vladar goes and then what do the flames do with their backup spot?
Everyone just assumes that Cooley would be the guy.
And I think the flames would be comfortable with that if an,
only if Cooley plays the way that he did to start the season,
as opposed to the way that he ended the season,
which has left them with a little bit of a question mark as to,
do we also need a backup?
Well,
and look,
let's just,
I just want to go back.
I mean,
the goalie thing will be there down the road.
Just in terms of Anderson.
A backup goalie thing doesn't get you horny?
Not so much.
I'm kind of,
yeah.
Tough to please.
Dallas and Jason Robertson,
I don't know,
is it tricky?
How would you describe that?
he scores 20 to 25.
He feels like he's got 40 potential.
He's highly skilled.
Was injured near the end of the season and then just wasn't right in the playoffs.
Are they loathe to move this player?
Are they ready to move this player?
What's your take on Robertson and Dallas?
I think there's somewhere in the middle.
They recognize that they're in Cape Hell,
that this is a guy who, for the second half of the season,
was one of the very best players in the league.
the first half, he played his way off of Team USA,
which is an amazing thing for an American roster
to turn down a 40-goal 100-point player in the NHL
would have never been possible 10, 15 years ago.
And moving forward,
they know that if they trade Jason Robertson, their team is worse.
But the flip side of that is that they also need to pay Jason Robertson
that next contract,
which is going to be a raise from 775,
to what?
Something over 10 probably.
Probably.
And so then that just compounds the cap situation you already have.
My guess is that they hang on to them,
that they've taken the temperature of teams to figure out
what they'd be willing to offer,
that everyone recognizes the position that they're in,
so they're not going to be getting a great deal.
And you figure it out next summer
or at this deadline,
if your team doesn't play well,
as opposed to trying to do that now.
If I were the stars,
I'd be doing anything possible
to unload Dumba and Lubushkin
and then figure out the right side of that defense,
and you're right,
Rasmus Anderson would be a great fit there.
I just also don't know that they have the assets to get it done.
Yeah.
Now, I know Rett asked the question.
In your mind, what?
And I don't know if I, maybe a space down.
A return for Rasmus Anderson.
What is the ask from Craig Conroy,
one year of this guy given the cap hit and all of that.
I don't know.
I don't know if he's more focused on roster players or futures or a blend of both.
I don't think that part's been made clear because I think the truth is he doesn't really know.
Yeah.
I think in a perfect world, when you talk about the clarity of where this team is at and where they're heading,
they prefer roster players.
They'd prefer guys that they can plug in to this team right in the here and now that are somewhere between 23 and 20.
that they can control for a while.
And that part, there's not a lot of teams that are willing to cast those guys off of their roster.
When I look at the Lindholm deal, I sort of see that is probably the best deal that Connie's made in terms of a return.
He got a first, he got a prospect, you got a couple, another late pick and another prospect.
And the roster player that was Kuzmenko, who, you know, they theoretically could have flipped and they didn't really flip him when he was high, but they did flip him.
Like that to me is kind of the template.
Player prospect first.
And then if you can get more than that in a bidding war, pull the trigger.
Those in-season trades seem to always be a little bit different.
I think when you're doing it in the off season,
you have the opportunity to maybe shoot for a little bit higher end.
Okay.
So in terms of the players.
In terms of roster player.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And by the way, we're all old enough to remember that Craig,
John Roy was ripped for that trade.
The Lindholm one?
Yeah, all the trades.
Not enough.
Not enough.
I like the Linholm one.
Yeah, the Hanif and one.
I think he'd have been ripped more if he'd assign that extension than if he would have moved.
Same thing with Linholm.
Could you imagine if this team had those guys under contract now?
I think there, I said this also this morning on the rundown.
I think if you're the Golden Knights, yeah, Petrangelo has some LTIR conversations to have for sure.
but they might be in a spot where they need to consider moving Hanifin.
You didn't have a great playoffs from some accounts.
Well, neither did Chey Theodore, but I think he's the guy you hang on to.
Hanifin is a really, this is how I view him, a really nice accessory piece to have on your team,
but not a driver.
100%.
And the other flip side to that is, as everyone is going to be blowing their brains out on
Gavakov and whoever else is on the market,
Would you sign Hannafin to seven times seven three?
Someone probably would somewhere.
Yeah, for sure.
So they'd have a window to move him,
but it's going to be really...
I would not be a cap space for Marner tape activities or what?
Yeah, that's, I mean,
that would be the thought process is that that's who they'd be looking at.
Is there any amount of panic level with Brad forliving,
do you think, in Toronto?
Because Marner will not be back,
which is foregone conclusion,
it feels like.
So there's a hundred point player.
And then if Tavares doesn't take this hometown discount that everyone thinks,
the expectations are that they're the one team that gave Florida a run.
I just,
what happens if Marner leaves and then are they going to swing for free agents?
What are they doing in Toronto if both of those guys?
Or even if Marner is going to go.
What do they do there?
I think everyone in this league gets so twisted about,
oh my God, what are we going to do when this guy?
leaves, how are we going to exist? It's like the ultimate opportunity. You get a chance to
remake your team to do things in a different way with cap space and flexibility and options.
You've got other assets that you can trade if you want to. You can't when you're signing
another guy to an $11, $12, $13 million deal. You're right back in that hell. And I think
feeling the pressure? No, I'd be feeling the excitement because that's how you make things different.
Yeah, I don't, I don't think Brad for Living is crushed. I think maybe could you have traded
him, that sort of thing, but he is not, he is not that the type of player that he covets or that
would seem to be. That still is going to come down. Who's, who's willing to spend the money
for that player who has serious questions about his ability to elevate in the playoffs?
You know someone somewhere is drunk with the idea that they can be the team that actually proves that he can be a playoff player.
I'm starting to hear some thought about players maybe going really, really short term with the huge cap growth we've seen and then jumping back in when maybe the cap's $130 million in a few years.
I mean, is that something we're going to see more of this off season?
I know even with speculation around McDavid's next deal, if it's in Edmonton, maybe it's a very short one is one of the things suggested.
I think it's a case-by-case situation.
I don't see Connor McDavid taking a shorter-term deal less than max
because I don't know what's his incentive to do so.
First off, this is a player that will hate the discussion around taking a shorter-term deal
as if it signals that he's not a believer or that he wants to put his team's feet to the fire.
Two, I don't think he wants to go through this again, period,
because it's not what he's interested in.
he wants to play hockey.
Three, he's going to make a pile of money either way
and an extra couple bucks here or there.
Let's just call it eight times 16.
That's $128 million.
He's already made $110.
Again, not a concern.
I don't even see the incentive for him to go shorter term.
How much more could you possibly make?
And then the truth is, oh, well, he can have some leverage over his team
if they're not making the improvements that he needs to see to win,
he's the best player in the world.
If he raises his hand at any point and says,
I want out,
the Edmonton Oilers are going to do whatever it is that he says,
because that's how life works.
So with that,
will Mitch Marner take less?
Maybe,
but I would indicate that that is a player who's unsure about a lot of things.
Yeah, he wants to go to the trough again to get paid for an higher Aav.
Sure.
But he's also probably not sure about,
where he really wants to play, where are the most competitive teams are going to be,
and frankly, what the market for him looks like at this moment and time,
given a lot of the uncertainties that we just talked about.
I don't think his market is as big as everyone makes it out to be.
How many teams are really in line to pay that type of money?
Carolina and Vegas are the two we've heard the most.
Is that fair?
Probably, but if we're really being honest,
given the lack of playoff success and given what he's already been earning,
wouldn't you just make a case that if you're really only taking a two-year deal
that you shouldn't be getting that much of a raise?
I just, look, I think the way that agents should view this and probably do is a percentage of the cap.
So even if you make the same percentage of the cap in three years, that's just a bigger number.
I understand how math works.
I'm saying that agents,
are drunk on this thought process that percentage of cap, percentage of cap, percentage of cap,
like, that's just, it's not always how it's going to be. And with the cap rising, there's going to be
some teams or some players that get caught being sold a bill of goods about what they think it should be.
When I just talked about some of the new economic realities that are going to be existing in this sport,
Calgary is going to be just one example of a third of the league that's, we're not going to be at,
the cap anymore.
It's not how it's going to operate.
So is it baseball?
We're going to start watching.
Like I brought that up last week.
And I'm not like if I've got friends that work in Winnipeg
and you see Edmonton go to the finals and you're in Calgary,
lived in Buffalo.
Those are not top of the table teams, right?
If the ownership's not going to spend,
is it because the ownership won't spend to it?
Or is it just that the revenues won't get you to what you
can spend and does it turn into a baseball type scenario?
It's not going to be that extreme because at the end of the day,
there's still a floor and there's still a ceiling.
But owners can always spend whatever they want.
They just need to be willing to write the check.
And I don't think the Flames ownership has ever really signaled that they're willing
to write the check for a long period of time.
Short windows, maybe yes.
But when it comes to, I mean,
look at how much fans are being charged.
When you open the new building,
you're going to have new revenue streams
that you never had before,
and that's going to be hugely important
and critical to the Flames' long-term success.
But you can only still charge so much
for a lower-level seat or for a suite
or for whatever it is
before there's this market imbalance
and fans start to turn away
no matter how good the team is.
And so when you, three years from now,
or two additional seasons from now,
when the cap is going to be
$162 million a year Canadian,
you're going to have this imbalance
where you just can't charge enough
to possibly make back the money
that you're spending in salaries
in addition to operations
and running everything else,
that you're going to have to make adjustments somewhere.
You just are.
It's a fact of life.
Well, and counterpoint,
Oilers top revenue generator
ever in a season this year?
Um, well, I don't, I think for a playoff run, I don't think that the like that they've been
Rangers or Maple Leafs or Canadians in the long haul. No. Okay. Well, Frankie Boy, uh, and I think it's out
there that, uh, you are moving on from daily face off in the nation network. This is our, uh, you know,
this is a little, uh, say hello, say goodbye. You're, and you know what? You're kind of responsible for
This Barnburner thing being a thing.
So I don't know who to thank you or punch you in the mouth or what to exactly do.
Well, I appreciate that.
I mean, I guess I'm probably due a punch in the mouth.
We all are, frankly.
But, yeah, I wanted to come by and say thank you guys for everything.
It's definitely a bittersweet week for me.
Being part of this and helping build it from the ground up, it's been pretty emotional.
going the other way out the door.
And I wish you guys nothing but the absolute best
and all the success in the world.
I'm a huge believer in all three of you and the product.
And I know that you guys are serving the Calgary market super well.
And can't wait to watch you from afar.
Oh, thanks, buddy.
I'm just glad you got your jacket back.
Did he get the booze from Rhett yet?
I'm concerned about you got to clear your debt.
It's a stuck in custom.
Isn't that what it is?
The tariffs, it's,
Some of pay that tariff on it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So are you working July 1st?
Are you off or?
I'm going to be working.
Just not a daily face off.
Yeah.
All right, buddy.
You're a sweet boy.
We love you.
Great of what you do, Frank.
Take care of you.
Thank you guys.
We'll see you down the road for a beer somewhere.
You bet.
Thanks, Frankie.
Frank Sarah Valley, one of the good ones,
one of the very best of what he does.
We will miss him.
