Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Full Olympic Hockey Breakdown - Has USA Officially PASSED Canada in Hockey?? 😬 | BB Clips
Episode Date: February 24, 2026Boomer, Pinder, and Rhett deliver a full breakdown of the men’s Olympic hockey tournament, highlighted by Team USA defeating Canada in the gold medal game and what it means for the balance of power ...in international hockey. The guys discuss whether the United States is catching up to Canada, Connor McDavid’s legacy after another tough loss, Sidney Crosby’s injury, and the roster decisions that shaped Team Canada. They also dive into Connor Hellebuyck’s incredible performance and whether he’s building a Hall of Fame resume, Russia’s absence from the tournament, and answer fan questions including the impact of 3-on-3 overtime in international play.Youtube Link: https://youtu.be/HoCgVMdPS4I#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #olympicgames #olympicfinal CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
In the U.S., this is, you know, I don't know that they're going to make movies about it in 20 years.
Well, they can use AI to do it, Dean.
It only takes a couple of prompt lines.
It'll be easy.
But it's, when you snap a drought against your most hated rival in that fashion, on that stage,
it is the things that scripts are made.
That's beautiful stuff.
Was it the fashion at all, though?
Because it wasn't like they outplayed Canada, right?
It was more just the stage.
It doesn't matter when you win.
There's no style points, right?
They just want.
They finally beat the Canadians who are only cocky about one thing and it's hockey.
Otherwise, it's all.
And no longer should be.
And polite and, oh, there's such nice people.
But when you start talking about it's our game, it's our game, it's our game and all this sort of thing.
So I think one thing, just kind of seeing different people reacting on online and that is the scar tissue that is there, was there for U.S. hockey fans became evident with just how emotional and how huge the win was, to see the players choking up about it, to see, you know, I watched the chicklets guys just to see how they had the biz, Whitney dynamic Canada versus U.S.
to see those guys.
Like, it was,
granted the Whitney played.
But what it means to the American hockey fan,
I think we take a little bit for granted
how many times we've beaten them specifically
over at best on math.
Yeah,
and best on best.
When they win it in a round robin at Four Nations,
that doesn't matter.
The finals is the one that matters.
And it kind of felt to me like the Four Nations final
was the script flipped of what we just watched.
I thought the U.S.
with a better team.
And, you know, you had Bennington steal you won at four nations.
And then, you know, your goal is miraculous.
USA gets goalied.
Canada says, we're still on top.
And to your point, let's say you've played six or seven best on bests.
You're not going to win them all when it's the two top in the world, right?
There's also something.
And they're getting better.
They're catching up.
Catching up.
Yeah.
Like, in terms of just number of bodies playing hockey, there used to be a massive chasm
between Canada and the USA, and that's not the case anymore.
And, you know, we've talked about developmental pathways and you develop differently.
You say in the States, you're going only with your birth year.
It's not two years of its time.
We know they have a U.S. national development program.
There isn't an equivalent in Canada.
We can discuss how they're different, but it is not Big Brother, Little Brother anymore.
It is the top two countries in the world at hockey.
I think we'd better even pause that and go, we might be the little brother.
I wouldn't have watched that game and thought that, but I think it's coming in the sense of like the numbers.
Right.
It's a foresight to think that the Americans have more people and they're getting more into hockey.
And now they just won the Olympics that may be more.
Yeah, in 12 years, if you had to ask me who I think is the best in the world,
it's probably states.
The numbers that suggest they've got the best chance at that.
What they haven't done yet is produce continually the best players in the sport.
They've got a lot of stars, but who's their superstar?
Is it Eichael?
Is it Matthews?
You'd take McKinnon, McDavid, Crosby over all of those guys, right?
There's another Connor out there.
Another Connor.
It plays for the Americans.
Isn't that?
Yeah.
He's better than what the Canadians out.
Okay.
Yeah.
And was goal-tending why they lost Sunday?
I mean, not their own goalie, but Hella, Buck, yeah.
Right?
Yeah, I was thinking about that afterwards.
I don't even, he was awesome.
He was really, yes, he was awesome, but it was also just a matter of circumstance.
And it was, I kept saying it to the people I ran into yesterday.
It was just a good game.
It was great game.
Like, you, we don't have to get in.
into the weeds of, oh, Hellebuck beat us.
Well, he was part of it.
But Bennington made some saves too.
Yeah.
Like it wasn't a completely one-sided affair.
You have an empty net.
You miss it.
Faber hits post post.
You think don't like robbery of tapes on the goal line with your paddle.
Could we have had a penalty?
Should we have had a per?
It's a good hockey game.
It's why it has the makings of that legendary game.
And it'll be viewed through the USA lens different than we see it.
because they hadn't won for so many years,
and it's Canada, and they were, you know, they were,
they were, they were, they were, they were, they were backs were against the wall,
and Canada was the better team, but they found a way,
despite all of it.
And can I say that it's so fresh in our memory,
well, we've felt good going in.
We are the world beaters because we won last February,
the four nations.
That's a made-up hockey tournament.
I like it more than this one, but yeah.
But you're, just let me finish.
You're talking about the importance.
that the American hockey fan is feeling it,
it's Olympic gold.
Yeah.
That is a,
it's the biggest stage,
the most unique winning you can do.
It's not a,
it's not a Stanley Cup,
it's not a made up tournament.
It's not,
these are the Olympics that have gone on for a millennium.
Right?
Yeah.
So it's going to hit closer to home
for even the more casual fan.
There would have been people watching the Olympic
gold medal game that didn't give a rat's ass about the four nations or hockey at all yeah right
this is a usa yeah this is olympic hockey this is important so there is that side of it if you zoom out
this is why we were yelling and screaming for more best on best for the last 16 15 14 years before
four nations it hadn't been since sochi and how insane is that that we've robbed ourselves of this
every at least four years and potentially even two years which is what it'll be
now because they are going to go back to France.
The one after is going to be in Utah and you're going to drop World Cups,
staggered two years in the middle of those Olympic four-year blocks.
So we needed this.
It was taken away from us.
There were some bad circumstances around it.
COVID for one of the Olympics.
Pyong Cham is not a place for the time zones worked well for to go to the Olympics.
But we have it back, best on best.
I am somewhat concerned because the best on best is turning into, and again,
the Russians were out.
I think they would have been had something to say.
Another good team.
I'm going to get bored of it.
like I'm I guess I'm making I'm not saying I'm is that a question that will become a concern
because the American women are kicking the that one's boring because that's a two-team tournament
I know but it's the odd time there's another team that's putting its foot in a door in hockey
yes it's best on best and yes it's been very entertaining but who are you circling that it's
for the next tournament yeah I mean
If Finland has Barkov, I think they're much better.
Swedes could be better than the point where
Bet365 is going to...
No, and to your point, if Russia gets back in,
and you've also watched two of these in the last 12 and a half months.
That's never going to happen again.
It was only a circumstance of them trying to get something on the books
before the Olympics that you're going back-to-back years.
It's not going to be every year of this.
It's going to be every two, and there's ways you can augment.
It can be a World Cup, and the other could be a Ryder Cup,
where you do a best of three against a rival.
You can swap those teams around.
You can do some in Europe.
It feels very unique.
because the NFL's the NFL and they want to go global but they don't they're only one country
with all the players they're not best on best is what we produce and what we provide like there's no
so basketball not really in the sense so the only other comparable is soccer yeah and their best
tournament is nothing to do with the Olympics but it's so global then like if i was going to design
what's the model eight teams
But they've got to be good.
No, I agree.
And I think there is.
Let me sell you.
Because we just watched a tournament with 12, and there was too many bottom feeders.
I don't need to see France again.
I don't see Italy again.
And then those other teams that have some NHLers, like your Germany.
Those teams I'm not worried about.
But like, it's the Denmark, Germany.
Like, let those teams play in to join the group of hockey nations.
Because you've got seven countries that continually produce NHL stars.
It's Canada, USA, it's Russia.
It's Sweden, Finland.
and then the former Czechoslovakia, which is Czechia and Slovakia.
Let everyone else plan for that eighth spot.
And an eight-team tournament would be more exciting than when we just watched
because how many preliminary games actually had a good team against a good team?
There was one.
And in the end, maybe you could say Czechia, Canada was two.
But like, Finland, Sweden was a preliminary round game.
Nothing else I was terribly interested to watch.
Aside from just watching Canada play.
So is that the only downside then is just an inspiring hockey to watch?
If you're going to go for two weeks, I want to see more of best on best.
Because Switzerland, while they are respectable, they're nowhere close to where the powers of the sport are.
And it's even worse for Italy, even worse for France, even worse for Denmark, right?
Yeah.
So I was going to ask you guys this, and I kind of mentioned you the other day, it's like,
when we look at the tournament and take away the spotlight and the stage,
was Four Nations not a way better experience for hockey fans?
It didn't take as long.
have any bum teams and 10-2 finals and the talent it was like you're watching almost 100%
in the inch dollars not like 60% of the tournament because you didn't watch preliminary I know why
the games are there wasn't good country against good country I agree with that I would say so yeah
so that I was not and I was not the stakes are nowhere near the same well the stakes are in the minds
of the people watching and the stakes in soccer are much not that though but I but it can change them
say it's not just the fans watching it's more to the
athletes. True. True. Yes. Both of those things. But my point is that these things can change.
Like Canada Cups and World Cups used to mean a lot. How many do we have? I don't know how many
we had. I just can't imagine in our lifetime, a NHL World Cup will surpass the prestige of an Olympic
goal. Sure. But I mean, we also had a lot of people that said that tournament last year was going
to suck and it was very captivating. Apple and oranges, not the debate.
What I'm saying is things can surprise us and change. That's what I'm saying. But like I say,
I just don't think in my lifetime we'll see Olympic gold pale and comparison.
You don't necessarily have to be right even.
It's the Olympics.
The tournament itself, yeah, there's no question.
Oh, it's 8 a.m. Canada, France, I don't probably need to get up for that.
If it's Canada, you ask, Canada sues, oh, I might get up.
So, yeah, from a fan, from a spectator perspective, it's not as, for sure.
For sure.
But the stakes are higher, I get it.
Yeah.
But you've got to remember, too, that the.
I don't know if we're even on the same train of thought,
but the Olympics are completely different because
the Jamaican bobsled team
wanted to be in the Olympics.
It didn't matter where they finished, right?
Like you've got athletes in events
that are so near and dear to their hearts,
they live and die for it.
Yeah.
We didn't watch it.
And if it's not Olympics,
we're certainly not watching it.
But for that 17th place finish,
they're pinning that on the fucking wall
and this is when they have kids like
yeah it's big yeah
I went to the Olympics I was at the Olympics
I was at the Olympic Games I finished 27th
so then put your NHL owner hat on
or your Gary Betman hat or your head of the players
association hat on just just let me play a long for a bit
because you're telling me the stage is huge
and it'll never change can we name five players
off either the Canadian teams in Pyongchang or China
because the NHL is going to say yeah it's huge
when it's the Olympics but only when I
our guys are there and I think they're right.
Well, you're talking about, if you're calling it best on best,
and that's what, Matt, like, you don't need to get discussed it.
We're just going to have a conversation.
I'm going to try to win you or prove anything wrong or right.
I'm just saying the discussions that are happening at the actual office.
Why do I care what the fucking NHL?
Because that's what they're going to, that's what's going to happen is what the
NHL and the billionaires want.
That's what's going to happen.
Okay, well, now we're starting to argue for no reason.
There's this, yeah, there's no point in having this conversation.
Well, it's fine to have the conversation.
It's just I don't care what the NHL owner wants.
me as a person, as a human,
view the Olympics as bigger than the Stanley Cup final.
I'm sorry, globally, the Olympics are bigger.
Yeah, like if NHR players are never allowed to go to the Olympics,
is why we don't care about the Spangler Cup.
If it's a lesser product, then of course we're going to care more where there's best on best.
So what I'm not trying to do is convince you of anything,
but what I am saying is what happens to the future of best on best,
these are the discussions that are going to be happening.
Is that, is anyone caring about what happened in Italy,
if the NHL isn't there?
No, okay, so the NHL...
Italians care if they're part of the Olympics, though.
Right, but we just said it.
We didn't give a shit with China and Junction.
This is you being an arrogant prick again,
to a certain extent where I'm only worried about hockey
and we're only focused on hockey,
and I'm saying, well, you know who liked the Italians being in the Italians?
Yeah, the host country.
There was a cool thing for the Italians to play in the Olympic hockey tournament.
Yes, we got our asses handed to us,
but guess what?
all those guys that played on the
Italian Olympic team
what do the Olympics
not to play like I understand
what you're saying and financially and
best of best but I'm just
saying that again I go back to the
point of globally I don't
care like if I'm a fan
and you're trying to grow the game I don't I can't
just take into account what the NHL owners
want because it works best for them
like it's important to the Olympic
people that love the Olympics that the Italian
team was there and that the French team was
for them it was everything.
If you're from France and you get to
play in the Olympics, this is the greatest.
So we're just going to eliminate those people.
I guess, are we doing all the above or
are you saying through the Olympics?
I'm just trying to forecast what best on best
can look like in the future. And if people don't want to have
the conversation. It'll be very well. I'll show you what's the
format. Best and best is exactly what you just
said. And it doesn't matter how you create it.
It's the top eight countries.
And so this is what I'm saying is that
the NHO will want to make a world.
Cup that is the best 18 tournament.
The difference, and that's fine.
And we'll watch it because we're Canadian.
The difference being that the World Cup of soccer is massive and huge and envelops the whole globe.
Yes.
NHL hockey players, best on best for NHL hockey, is maybe, maybe at best eight countries.
Maybe at best.
So it's such a small subset of sport in general that, yeah,
for hockey fans it'll be important but no one else
I don't know why it will move on
let's talk about the game yesterday
again just
I'm always curious I like to kind of eavesdrop in other people's
conversations so just you know social media different
podcasts that sort of thing and I think
everybody kind of feels like Canada
had the better they probably play their best two periods of the entire
the whole thing in periods two and three
scoring chances.
Hella Buck was terrific.
Bittington made saves.
Is it
because I feel like there's the one
cyrus, it was a good game.
If there's goes post and in Canada,
maybe you win 3-1 in regulation for it.
It's whatever.
On the flip side, it's, well, why did Canada,
McKinnon didn't have any even strength points
in the tournament?
Where is the depth scoring?
Do we need to pick,
do we need to pick more of a team,
a second line, a third line?
because Garen was kind of criticized for that by taking Miller and Trocheck and those kind of guys instead of Jason Robertson and Cawfield.
Sure.
Do you need four lines?
Do you need just take your best scores?
Just take your best offensive guys.
And because defensive play at best is we're seeing it kind of deteriorate.
Where do you fall in?
I think you're saying it's just a game.
But would you look at roster construction differently in four years?
I would.
Well, I would have looked at it differently this year.
Okay.
I wasn't pumping my fists.
Sarelli.
Bennett was off the team.
They were,
I would have constructed it differently this year.
So I'm not in agreement,
but to hang the loss on roster construction is ridiculous.
They were good enough to win, right?
You can't really do it.
And it's the same with the U.S.
You're going to say, oh, my God,
they went 18 for 18 on the penalty killed,
Trocheck and Jim.
J.T. Miller being there, that's the right decision.
Well, if McKinnahams, Sam,
that narrative doesn't really work.
I don't. Right? And so you, what we
had was the two best nations in the world
at hockey right now play an incredibly
entertaining game. And if you played a five game
series, I don't know who'd win three. And that's just it.
It's a one game winner take all.
Everything's so, and
I was like, how do you bring? No one
knows better than you. How definitive
things are. Yeah.
By just the smallest little
bounce of a buck.
bounce of a puck.
Canadians are losers,
US are winners.
If it was flipped,
US are losers.
See,
you took the wrong guys,
you did the wrong thing.
Now in four years,
it's like,
of course you've taken
some penalty killers.
Did you see what happened in Turin?
I guess that's exactly in,
in,
turn is a good example
because they got lost in the
they killed in the quarterfinals.
Like it's just,
it's just crazy how,
how much swings
just on literally one goal,
one bounce.
Well,
don't care.
You're,
damn right and it was over the it is one goal one bounce but it's also one goal one bounce per game
because they had to go to fricking overtime check yeah and then fin moved like they were in our
sun death the whole time yeah all of this again is we lose on wednesday or whatever we did
now we're having a summit now we're having a summit so do you see any because i i don't like you've
said this i just didn't love the way they construct their deed did you okay so we'll get back do you not
think just feels like there should be more offense from a team like canada
That's what I'm talking about.
When he started talking this morning was,
be real careful because, like, and he agreed, finally,
in 12 years, we may be the little sister.
Yes, we have McDaniel.
You're telling me that they're not going to be able to produce high, high.
They have high.
Whatever it is, if they scored four or five,
even strength goals in three games.
I think sometimes maybe we overanalyze that
because I look at the Americans,
and they scored one in regulation against the Swedes,
and won in regulation against Canada.
No one's going to say they didn't bring enough scoring, right?
It's just that when you get to these huge...
They lost yesterday they would have.
Correct. And so this again goes to the point of like one bounce
changes the entire narrative around it.
Could you have had better tournaments from your middle six guys?
Yeah, absolutely.
But it wasn't like the Americans hung a six spot on you, right?
It's just a low scoring game where the goalies were great
and you had a ton of scoring chances.
If they didn't create like 30 plus scoring chances,
I would be worried.
That isn't what we've.
watched yesterday. It really isn't. Now, could they
have finished better? Yeah, but again, now we're kind of
getting into luck. Post out, post in.
Oh, hit the knob of this. Oh, there was McAvoy's
chest. That stopped that one from going like, oh,
the paddle kept it out. Like, if all those
go in, Canada can't it win this 4-1.
Yeah. Well, and how deep into the weeds you
want to get? We've brought it up over the last couple weeks
because it's, the Olympics going
on, or you're comparing
development programs.
You can go all the way down.
Like, I read an article today
saying, what would we finish in the Olympic
medal race. It's one of our worst ever.
The 21 medals, which
if you sort by gold's first is 11th,
if you sort by total metals, it's probably like eighth.
Regardless, the point being that
we're not trending in the right direction, and the
same thing can be said for hockey. Now, does
that mean that we have to have a complete
overhaul of the approach and what we're
doing? No, I think it comes down to a bit
of science where numbers
matter. Yeah, and you also had
your heaviest metal favorite was a speed
skating superstar from Quebec that ended up
with zero medals. He was a guy that could have
four like just like the Americans had their star skater falling it's just things happen halfway
through the olympics people were saying everything's bleeped burn it down we're on pace to get 12
well they finish it 21 they're kind of where they finish in almost every olympics minus when
they hosted in vancouver won the whole bloody thing because they pump a ton of cash into the system
for that Olympic cycle well now we're talking about all kinds of stuff and then you think about
the smaller countries that did better than us well one of the benefits of being the smaller
countries that you can have one venue that everyone can go to and if it's norway everyone cross
country skis and there's 26 bleeping metals in cross country ski or whatever we can cross country
ski ski here and that would care yeah but but i'm just saying that if i live in halifax
and the training facilities in vancouver yeah that's yeah that's it's not totally the metal
counts are just misleading because like the germans finish really good metals if you take away the
sliding sports it's almost nothing it's not it's not
misleading. Let me finish your thought. And then it's the Norwegians finish the top of the
table. The most goals by a mile. It's all one sport. And so if your country doesn't have an affinity
for that sport and you love hockey, but there's only two medals for hockey, that's not the same
as love in cross-country skiing. Like there's 36 golds to give away, right? If you can't get all the
hockey medals, maybe. Right. And then it's the same in summer because swimming's got so many
medals. And if you're a country that loves swimming like Australia or the US, okay, there's so much
work you can get done in the pool.
But if it's a team sport where there's one medal
and that's the sport we care about the most
and it is, it's not going to show up
in a metal standings. So let's say this
though. Is that part of the issue?
I don't use any issue with it.
Oh, no. Well, okay. Because I'm not too worried about the metal
standards. I'm not talking about the metal standards.
I'm talking about general sports
and athletes. Should we
be producing more or because we're
so hyper-focused on one sport
that these kids don't have a chance to even
learn if they like anything else. You like hockey?
Yeah, well, then on the ice, morning day, every day, seven days a week.
We've got to go to Vegas for a summer camp.
We've got to go to everything gets poured into one event.
Just off top of my head, I would suggest there's more Canadians on the PGA tour than has ever been.
There's more top-end tennis players on the ATP tour and the way WTA than I can recall.
There's a ton of Canadians in the NFL, majoring baseball.
I don't think that's what you feel is what's actually happening right.
I think we're actually really good at a lot of other sports right now.
They just don't get the limelite than how it is.
You got seven, eight Canadians on tour or an event.
That's insane 20 years ago to conceive.
Anyway, back to hockey.
The roster construction part.
And I try and be honest with myself because, okay, when was it announced?
Well, the first group was announced long ago when we knew who was,
oh, Sid and David.
The first six or whatever.
Yeah.
And Braden Point was going to be part of that group.
And, well, was part of that group was going to be part of this team, but obviously
couldn't.
And then it was done.
December 31st, where the rest of the squad was named.
So, you all, we were sitting there, boy, Matthew Schaefer, be fun to have.
Yep.
Well, on December 30th, would you have, were we that, were we that in love with the 18 year old that he was going to be?
See, I don't know that you were.
Well, we have the show on you too.
I'm just trying to be honest.
I, I, I, I, I wanted this and I wanted that.
I mean, we loved the kid, but were we really lobbying for the 18 year old?
we talked with noodles about Baderd and celebrating.
Okay.
And so it's not crazy to suggest that by the end of December,
we're talking about Schaefer because he's been on a heater before January.
I don't know if we had a segment where we lobbied for him,
but if you let me guess,
I think all three of us would have taken him over Travis Sandheim.
Would you feel comfortable with that guess of mine or no?
I'm just trying to be, I try to be fair.
I know you are,
December 31st.
What's your overall concern?
Because you keep going back to roster construction
and you want to have a debate about it.
It's like, well, you could debate.
And I'm not stepping on it.
I'm just hosting a show.
I'm just trying to come up with.
Okay. And I'm just saying that we've kind of explained that
you could take two teams from Canada.
And you might have just the hole in the oilment
would be your goal tending.
But if you got Kemper on another Canadian team,
can you say that when the one team that you thought was best lost?
Yes.
Because it would still be better than France and Italy
and you're telling me that a second Canadian team
wouldn't be as good as Slovakia?
Yeah.
The point of getting there is that the bronze game.
There's never a clear cut, let's call it, how many guys did they say?
24.
25.
Okay, so there's never going to be a clear cut 25.
You've gone to kids evaluations.
If you're in tier one and you're at the bottom of the group
and the top of tier two group,
they're the same player.
Yeah.
we're not debating between McDavid and Bennett right like these aren't the debates
yeah it's Tom Wilson versus Bennett versus Sirelli versus yeah like I get it I'm totally
we're totally pull up 10 other guys that could have beat on team Canada and maybe should
have been he's Schaefer but are you go younger bring a wide Johnston like there are there's
there's plenty of chickering's got 20 goals already on the blue line on a blue line where we're
like geez who they they could use a few more
movers. You're big. You can
defend, but there's a lot of guys that look like third pair
guys, not second pair guys. Now, the Josh Morrissey
injury magnifies that. If you knew
he was getting hurt, you might bring
old close eyes up in Edmonton there.
But I guess at the end... He's the guy that would help your power play.
Yeah, at the end. That's right. Bouchard was
100%. There'd be a lot of weather
fans going. And if he's
just there as an eight, only in his insurance,
if your power player, a guy gets hurt, I like that
strategy. Do you want Bouchard on that last power
play at the end of the game? You sure would.
When you lose Morrissey, the first game,
of the year. Could Bouchard help you more? Like, good.
Oh my gosh. That's hard. I know
it's hard. But
it doesn't matter. All I'm getting is they did
not lose this tournament because they picked
the wrong list.
The other part of this
whole thing is that you usually have four years between
you pick these teams, right? And so you
allow yourself
to understand that guys aren't what they were last
time you saw them. Like, oh,
in 2002, I really like this guy. Let's bring him
to 06 and it's like, well, it's four years
later. Or like, clearly he's not
as prime anymore.
They built this team a year ago.
And so Ty just kind of went to the guys that were there.
And so if they were picking this team and there wasn't four nations, I think
Jacob Chikrin gets in there ahead of some guys that were.
But it's like, well, they were just on this team last year.
It was only 12 months ago.
They have a bond.
They have a culture.
They won the thing.
Let's just bring the guys back.
I guess what I, I only bring up roster construction.
Not to say go back and you win.
It's not that it's just now that the tournament's over.
Who impressed you?
Who didn't impress?
guys there were some quiet bodies i thought
was massive for me because last year in four nations
i was like holy this guy is going to be a massive
superstar and you didn't
he wasn't that didn't notice yeah
and for me celebrini if we weren't
sure that he was a superstar already
i feel like he he led
he led the tournament and scoring chances
it's crazy
he got a nine goals last three games a poor guy
was snake but and crying at the end you're like i feel
this kid's so bad. He is such a weapon.
19. It's amazing. I think
they'll use pen when they write his name down.
And to your point,
on roster construction, are you more open-minded
about taking a teenager after seeing that?
Because I wouldn't be surprised Matthew Schaever
looked like a star in this tournament either. The way he moves?
Yeah. And you, oh,
it's a three-on-three to break ties in overtime?
I could use that guy. Yeah. You see him
in the night, Austin Matthews broke the record for goals as a
leaf? Oh, it was Schaefer that scored in
overtime and spoiled the whole night.
I mean, obviously, we're a day removed. But I
think that if you don't use what happened and at least incorporate that into your thinking,
it is kind of pig-headed.
You got to look at a little bit and be while we were, we had a real chance to win the
gold medal.
Let's not rover react.
But at the same time, through the round robin and into the quarterfinals and semis, we could
have used this.
They were dominant.
They were dumbed.
I just don't think that you will ever.
If you win, you're shutting up about it because, oh, we picked away.
and they were a quarter inch away from winning,
I just don't think that you can ever not have that debate.
Yeah.
It's always the roster construction.
Because if that guy's there, that guy's not, right?
And they're very equal or like it's not.
More so on the other side,
because if they do not win yesterday,
the Americans and Bill Guerin is going to have to answer questions
about Jason Robertson and Cole Caulfield after scoring one goal
in a gold medal game for the rest of his life.
after watching the same thing happen in Four Nations.
Remember, he didn't take Tage Thompson.
Tage didn't just get good this year.
Like that's even maybe more bold than Robertson not being on this team.
Like, Tage can play center.
Tage is huge.
Tage wires the puck.
You said no to that guy?
Yeah.
It's an amazing event.
Oh, amazing, like, event being yesterday.
Yeah, just because we were coming in here to see how many people were on the streets
and out, they were out watching the game that it had the,
that it went the way it did.
First shift, America.
Oh my God.
They score one nothing.
If you just said they're not scoring again in regulation.
That's it.
Yeah, nonsense.
How would you have felt?
You'd have felt,
I hope we get one at least,
tie it.
Because it did not seem like,
to me,
and I know,
it seems to me that offense was harder to come by
than I expected it.
We sat and watched Czechia, Finland,
and all of us,
We watched all those games.
And it just felt like, where's,
I wonder.
Where's Stone?
Where's Marner?
Where's Horvett?
Where, where's,
because you knew when the top line was out there.
But it felt like there was nothing really threatening.
Well,
if the guys weren't out there.
Nobody did score in the tournament once you got to elimination play, though.
That's the whole thing.
The Americans had one in regulation against the Swedes,
one in regulation against Canada.
Like who scored a lot?
Okay, but so what, so.
So what I'm saying is not, it's not a thing?
No, because it was, it didn't,
against their competition, they weren't bad at scoring.
If everyone was scoring the term, you weren't.
That's an issue.
But if you aren't, it's just a low-scoring tournament.
I think it's still off.
Playoff style hockey where things get tighter.
Now, the goal tending matters too.
You run it, like Saros and Helibuck were the top two net miners in the tournament by goals saved above expected, which isn't everything, but it's not nothing.
Those are two of the three teams they played on the way to the finals.
So do you give goalies credit for holding pucks out?
It's okay to hold the...
Suzuki makes that great tip and scores, right?
But you didn't.
I don't remember here's name yesterday, a whole bunch.
Stone wasn't.
Good and preliminary, not real good once the pace picked up.
It's okay to critique guys for, hey, you could have been a difference maker, bud.
I don't know where Bo Horvatt came out of to even make this team.
Am I outraged that he was there?
Did I?
I just thought, well.
You could score a bunch of girls before Christmas and hockey Canada.
Didn't look at a shoot percentage.
But that's why I don't understand where you had Sam Bennett on the team last year who made a massive impact,
one of Stanley Cup, one of Colin Smyth,
and you don't, like,
that still to me is the one that stands out as,
okay, so you get Sorrelli and you got some of the,
even these other guys,
Horvatt specifically,
and you're not bringing,
and you took Wilson,
but this guy was like,
if the argument is we're going with the guys we know,
what I still don't understand what Sam Bennett did
to derail his,
conclusion because I'm with you one or two players I don't think changes the outcome and they
were good enough to win with who was there yeah you'd love sid to be there yeah we're not talking
about that enough that we're not talking about that enough the consummate winner the leader
when you needed one bounce one tip one play just control of puck in certain circumstances right low
scoring one goal game that's a sit game as john cooper to look down the bench and have 87 there
in a sitting. Okay, I need some defensive
I need to get things going. I need to calm things
down. You can use him in so many spots
and it's not, that's not why the U.S.
won is because Sid wasn't there, but man.
You can argue
that the reason the Americans lost last
year was because Hughes was hurt
on defense.
And you can argue that part of, a big part
of the reasons the Canadians lost yesterday was that Sid
was out. It's fine to say, man.
Like those are two
Finns without Barcoff.
Yeah.
Right?
You're telling me Finland couldn't get one more good look with Barkov there.
Maybe they're in the finals?
Fuck, I don't know.
Right?
Every, there's, this is pro sport.
Everyone was missing a good player.
I think about what must go through his head.
Wakes up yesterday.
And in his heart of heart,
as,
as Sidney Crosby, I need to say I can't go.
Yeah.
Even, even though if, maybe I can play one or two shifts and so.
He's clear.
No, I'm not going to do.
it it's for the team and then to sit and think maybe i maybe i could have done something i just don't
think he's close enough where it was i i know that they're saying it was a game time decision i'll bet you
that's what or if or if i don't if i don't get hurt could i have well that i have done something here
today to change this and yes you could have said for sure and also if you had an empty net it wouldn't
matter just like it's this this is talking for six personal i know we know we're talking but it's like that is
We can play the, this is the thing about looking back in time is like the littlest.
I guess just specifically on Crosby because it just feels like he's that guy.
There's an Elizabeth games it feels like, right?
Yeah, he was with, especially after four nations when he stepped up at that event is like,
boys, McDavid, you're this and they're, I'm still one of the best in the world.
Well, I think that's just it.
I don't think he, he's not second fiddle to anyone.
I just feel like you throw him in that lineup yesterday
and you just have that much more control of the game
and you already were controlling it, right?
Like you just have like.
And what do we keep saying that they felt like they're missing?
It was lines two and three.
Well, we're a Sidplan.
Yeah, who's driving?
Like one, you go one more line on there.
It will be interesting on the Crosby front
to see what gets announced and when.
There are some significant injuries coming home.
Miko Ranton did not play in the bronze medal game.
He's a huge piece for Dallas.
Crosby, are we talking?
season. Are we talking weeks? Are we talking days? Are we talking months? How does that change
the Penguins approach at the deadline for a team that's second in the metro?
Nealander was missing a ton of time leading into the tournament. Wasn't practicing
with Sweden at portions in the tournament. Kevin Fiala.
Was he going to play with Penarin in L.A.? Fiala was, was that a guy that was going to play
with Panarin in L.A. Not anymore. He's down for the year.
Yeah. I just see that. I hadn't heard about the Hammond and drank.
Headband was hurt, came back, played two games before the break, and then didn't play.
in the quarters.
He was on the bench but didn't end up not playing
against the American. So that's something for
Tampa certainly coming back.
Seems that are in tight, like
playoff Pittsburgh. Those are the teams that are worried about it.
Fiala.
That's huge. Right? Like I think the Morrissey
thing for the Jets.
Oh, big time. Right. Is brutal
for them. But I think
they're hooped anyway and it might give them more clarity
that we can't fill Josh Morrissey's hole
and climber of a 15 point deficit.
We'll just ask San Hallibuck to play three of the next four nights.
I don't know they're doing that either, right?
So rant and thing?
Yeah, it sucks as long as it's,
but if you're Dallas, you're going, we're going to playoffs.
We're playing Minnesota and round one anyway.
Get like ready for that.
Yeah.
Hellabuck.
I thought about all the way in today.
So if somebody sat down and said, I don't really follow hockey,
but I've got my candid jersey on.
So what about their goalie?
You know, he's really good,
but he cannot win the big game.
When the ratchets up, like playoffs,
five goals a game, he's just not as good for some reason.
It's going to sound like hyperbolic,
but yesterday punched his tickets with the Hall of Fame.
Because he's got multiple Veznaz, the numbers are there,
but he did not have a signature win.
Now he's got one.
And not just a signature win,
one where he pulled one off the goal line with a paddle
and held, you know, the top team on paper to a goal.
Yeah.
Like, I think that punched his ticket.
I can't I can't deny it.
It's not my take, but I'm repeating it because I thought it was fascinating.
It's one of those, it's one of those things that.
Oh, you didn't win the, but that gold medal game.
Yeah.
For US, the ending the drought, that whole thing.
It's a massive deal in the US.
That's just as it should be.
It's like I said, the scar tissue and that I was.
See, and I know it's scar tissue.
this and I'm not trying to take umbrage with that opinion I think it's a massive deal because
it's the Olympics I don't think it's a yes beating the the Canadians is but that's who you had to
beat I think for the Americans it's Olympic gold it wouldn't be both it would be both but it's it's it's
as much sweeter because it's Canada oh yeah if they beat the rival Finland then it's a gold medal
and it's great, but it's not quite the same.
I'd agree with that.
Now remember, it's a year ago, so memories fade.
Americans lost the Four Nation final
and did a late-night TV tour
with the Kachucks talking about the fights.
That was a huge deal.
And they even win that tournament.
So, you know, I think we've forgotten
how big that moment was.
Jack's like, my dad's in Alabama. His buddies's like,
are you seeing this hockey? They're fighting.
That was strictly based on NHL rules
and the fact that those boys went out of his heart.
as they did.
It certainly helped a bunch.
Without that catalyst,
then that it's not being washed.
But whether it happened and it happened, right?
I do believe, and I have a lot of CTE,
did not the president of the country
text or tweet something out,
X on X before that final game?
Don't, like,
those things matter in America.
Yeah.
Right?
You get the president tweeting about,
is it called?
What do you do?
I still just keep saying.
I get confused.
And I don't know whether he did that for,
Four Nations or not, but I believe he did
before the final game.
That would drive
a lot of people that are casual
not even know it was on.
Anyway, it is anytime
you can get best on best, it's such a huge win
for the sport, because who could have watched that game and been like,
yeah, I don't know, it's just a little boring.
Like, no, that was a phenomenal
hockey game. And when you get
these condensed rosters of stars,
holy shit is a good hockey.
Boy, I feel like I can with you today because
it was a one-one game. There would
be people that don't know the game of hockey that were watching it because it is the Olympics.
Yes, it went to overtime, but they still would have, if you're from South America and you're
trying, okay, I'm tuning in because this is the Olympics and it's a gold medal game,
they probably was, oh, those soccer's only one.
Lots of scoring chances, right?
That was with the saving grace.
The score was misleading in the sense that I think your expected goals was like five to two.
It was a seven to eight goaler.
It was more than your NHL average.
But the goalies were great and the posts were ringing.
Faber, McKinnon, right?
We thought it was in.
Like that's the thing is, because I agree with you.
It was a one-nothing game, one-one.
There were some dead, there was some dead at times for sure,
where there wasn't things happening.
But then you go back as well, the first shot goes in for the Americans.
For shrift, it's phenomenal.
And the taves and the double doink and the McDavid and Celebrini missing five on three,
power play. Then the guy that gets
high stuck to draw the four-minter
takes a penalty of Canada's
rag in the puck. Now they're going to get a power
play. Then it goes to overtime.
Then the guy lost his teeth wins.
I'm sorry, that's great theater. It's
crazy theater. It really is.
What about McDavid?
I feel for this guy and I don't usually feel
for this guy. Cool.
I think Connor McDavid has
sacrificed everything and anything he is
as a hockey player to try and win everything.
And he's getting royally screwed.
And he feels like he's cursed.
And he's stuck in the cultural capital making 12 and a half.
What the is going on in your world?
Like, I am with you.
I feel bad for him in all.
I don't,
I've lost and it hurts.
And I don't care if the Oilers ever win.
But I know what it feels like.
And you lose back to back.
And then you go.
and you perform the way you do
and you still can't.
So that's a tournament record
with the NHL is there for points of the Olympics.
It's like another handshake.
MVP.
Yes.
Oh my God.
And I get that they won four nations,
but it just,
it can't feel as big as the Olympics
because of the stage.
It's the world's not watching.
No.
The world was watching yesterday
and you created enough to win.
Like what's he hanging?
You had multiple breakaways, right?
What's he hanging his hat on as far as,
Yeah, well, he can hang his hat on it.
You're the best player maybe him.
Absolutely.
But the best player maybe ever does not give a shit if he's the best player maybe ever
if he doesn't win something.
You don't want to be.
And it's not like, oh, I can't wait to get back to North America
and the California son.
He's going to Evanston in February.
You don't want to be Dan Marino.
Nobody lays in their bed thinking, I want to be the best that never won at all.
Yes.
And that's kind of what he's up against.
now and I don't put almost any of it on him.
No, that's like I've continually railroaded their front office
because I think they've cost him multiple championships
with their idiotic decisions over the last 10 to 11 years.
But God, you've got to feel for him.
All he wants to do is win.
And he's not going to be popular.
And he steps up and performs.
Now, I didn't think he had two game seven.
That was.
Well, that's the flip side is the, the haters will say,
well, you look at game seven, game six against Florida and then this.
What about four nations?
I don't like I don't but I'm talking to the haters I'm not talking to you so did you
haters can't jack that's right Ryan those haters um did he try too hard in yep the overtime yeah
he almost won the game if you look at that play again the missed poke has him behind the two
defenders and alone on hellabuck and jack hughes makes a hell of a play as a forward back to get it off
them. I mean, we're going back to the
quarter inch bounces game, right?
I had more of an issue
with McCar and McKinnon's
pursuit of that puck after
McDavid's reading, I watched it.
McCar, I believe, is reading that McKinnon's
going to go get that puck and he's going,
fuck it now once Nate gets that.
And Nate pokes at it and it, like, we're talking.
But he stops skating. He should have just went and got it.
He could have just... Well, I'm talking about the one in the ozone.
But you're talking about the diesel.
I'm talking about the diesel.
just get it.
There's some weird hesitation there.
Chop at, get at something.
He just kind of freezes for a moment and that's all they need.
He hesitated on whether he should be going enough and you 100%.
100% could have got there and got that puck.
Yep, I agree.
That's what we said.
If you go back to the live stream, we're just like, how do you not get that, how do you not get that puck?
You're right there.
You're bigger, stronger, closer and faster.
Get the puck.
And all you.
And he's the poking.
the slot as well that if it just flips a half inch higher,
Connor is behind the defense at the hash marks alone on hellabuck.
It's just all the bounces.
And we know how he's wired on the ice when they lose to have the puck at the
tip of his stick to hit a goal post on a wide open net.
He may never recover.
I would not talk to him for weeks.
You can take a private.
Until he,
until he strikes up a conversation, I got nothing to say.
I'm so fascinated to see what, because they do have to return
do their day jobs tomorrow
like tomorrow
tomorrow
there's a party tonight
for
the U.S. team at a strip club
in Miami like
I think one of the White House tomorrow
like it's I'd have a hard time like I want to
watch what is what do you do with Helvick
what happens to McDavid how
surly is Nate
like there's a lot of guys you're watching to say
what happens who's playing and who wants to kill
people let's pause for a second and yes
Nate too bad sucks
a strip club in Miami
so the fellows
that are married and have kids
and stuff so they're all headed to
the Miami Pure Plata
I sent it to Jack
I can sift through this together
like I'm just I'm just curious
as to and this is what
the Ameri the Olympic Committee
and
state events over
what happened was they were supposed to fly back
to New York now
serendipously or coincidentally or
whatever that flight got rerouted to miami due to some serious stories there's terrible weather
on the east coast and so for whatever reason here you are in miami like oh shoot we were supposed
to fly to new york but when in rome come party with team usa at one of the most notorious strip
clubs on the continent it's quite something is this yes but is this just them saying i don't know i just
Oh, this before we went on air.
Seems very bold.
It seems like, hey, if you guys want to come, we'll give you.
It's, uh, and this is an open.
To be fair, the 11 people are tight with one Matthew Kachuk who has had two years in a row
partying with the Stanley Cup there.
It doesn't mean that.
I'm not saying it means in it.
Well, you did say that there.
You said they're going to a strip club.
You kind of said that we're flying back.
And because we've got rerouted, the whole team's headed to the strip club to celebrate.
We shall see.
I don't know if in Miami if you even call it a strip club.
It's just a normal club and people just walk around naked.
I don't know how you called it the strip club.
You did.
For Calgary and that's a strip club.
I would have been there.
People were naked.
I don't know if that's normal Miami or not.
Maybe that's just going up for dinner.
It just feels very bold.
Bold.
Bold. To promote it as, hey, teams.
Yeah. Maybe you would go there.
Feel odd that they're, it's a good market.
Brock Nelson's got to show his grandfather's gold medal off with his.
Gold diggers.
They've been invited to the White House, that I know.
I believe that.
I think they're what state of the union?
That feels Tuesday night is always state of the union.
That'll be interesting and fun.
I don't know if he's being serious or not.
It's your guy.
He'll be electrifying.
Oh, so good.
I was a great baseball player.
My mom said I was the best I could have played in the majors.
Okay, bud.
Back to the politics, maybe not.
We'll do this and then we'll shift gears a little bit.
Super chats, all the money goes to the youth centers of Calgary.
Good spot local charity doing great things for the young people in our city.
Flames and Joyer, two bucks.
Why would you want to end section?
You don't.
You don't.
We said it before overtime.
It ain't right.
Nobody agrees with it.
And we can be.
Oh, BX, I thought it was good.
Yeah.
Good take, Kevin.
He is like the bar.
Barbie doll can, right?
Like, funny, affable, but don't really love that take.
Well, and I think he's saying it just to say, yeah, he's full of shit.
There's no way you want to.
Okay, well, when I said, I don't know if I said, do you do.
So in the, the NBA go to the Olympics?
Yes.
Do they ever tie games?
Well, no, but basketball's not right with ties.
Okay, but if they were, like, they can tie.
There are over to a dunk competition for.
Exactly.
Right.
What are we talking about?
I know.
I know.
We're all on the same page here.
It's two bucks for the kids and everyone agrees.
You want to see that played out to its end.
Cheeks McGee, nah, na-na-na-ne.
Hey, Jack, this one's for you, bud.
USA, baby, we're number one.
Insane game from Hellie, by the way.
But here's my na-na-na-na-na-to-the-kids-n-na-at to the kids who need it.
Canada played their hearts out.
Good game.
Love you guys.
That's a good sport.
Cheeks love that.
Sheesh.
Lend with class.
Working man, $10.
I won't lie.
If I didn't say I want to run.
I'll be in just a little bit as an American hockey fan.
But I won't.
Canada outplayed them.
Just couldn't finish.
Hellabuck finally clutch McDavid still brides me.
Oh, working man.
So much there.
10 bucks for kids.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Hellabuck clutch indeed.
Scott Kerr.
Five bucks.
Fellas.
Maybe we've been too hard on Bouchardner.
Scolies and Y Coilers can't win in that cup.
We can't win that cup.
Cry baby can't get it.
It's a Mick Crybaby.
They should trade his ass.
Get him on.
I can't believe.
that we had some Bouchard love at this table.
Just a few.
Well, I remember, though, the selection one I was in Windermere,
and you got me in on my phone.
I literally made the case.
You just bring him as an 8 and just increase of emergency.
I disagree.
I did say that you could have used them on that power play.
I didn't want him on the team.
And if I had to choose between him and Schaefer,
it would have been Schaefer.
And I would put Schaefer on the power play.
I feel like I heard a lot of the,
you want that guy on the ice doing that at the Olympics?
I feel like we heard that.
That was his day.
take. I was in the truck getting really cool about my buddies saying that I'm the biggest
Bushard fan ever because I lobbied for him to be an eight as an emergency. So one day in like
October you said one nice thing about Bushard. So that's your no shard story. The day the
Olympic roster was announced we went over it. Your your pursuit I can show me right is
fucking it's not about being matched. I just said I lobbied from to be an eight. That's it. Sorry.
Sorry if you don't remember that show. That was a passing comment and I don't think.
you truly felt it. I didn't feel your heart
was in that. I still get my balls busted by by. You
wanted Bouchard on that. Yeah, you're a Bouchard
backer. It's still not really best on
best until Russia is allowed back because
they would have had something to say about who's
playing for gold. Yes, they would have.
It's not a sound like
Deep Everard team, but God, there's a lot of stars
on that team. Like, their goaltenders are the best
in the world. It's not close. The
decor is a little, ma' and there's not a lot
of centers that aren't ancient. But
the wingers are superstars, the goalies
are superstars. You would have seen a lot
a Zaddog and Orlov
and guys like that on the blue line
but I mean the checks
and they didn't have a lot of
big name and D-Men and they caused problems.
They would be a good team.
The lefty 250
fellas, you all played a great game yesterday
sometimes you outplay your opponent and get
goalied or johnnyed.
That was beyond special to have his kids on the
ice, have a great week fellas.
Good points.
Emotional for sure.
Yeah. Did love.
Loved it and didn't like it because
had to dab.
Yeah,
loved every,
every bit of that.
RB six,
is McBride's
made's defensive game
slash backchecking
to the same standard
as other greats?
Crosby, etc.
Wayne was not known
for back checking.
As a center,
he's not as solid
defensively.
Crosby's a different player.
Poor guy.
I don't know
about his back checking.
He's still the fastest
player on the ice. If he wants to back check, he probably can. I had this conversation with
one of Bedard's coaches where he told me as a, when Bedard was a youngster and junior, that he
needed him to play both ends of the ice and swiftly got his ass fired. You don't, you don't
reign in McBride's maid, right? Like, let him run. He gets to do what he wants. I'll read off of him.
thanks. Phil Phillips 499.
Whose career will benefit the most going forward with this win?
Matthews, Hellebuck, or someone else?
I don't know what you mean by benefit.
Like, whose legacy changes the most?
I didn't hear Matthews name yesterday.
Hardly at all.
Hellebuck.
I'd agree with Hellberg.
Yeah, like, who's now tasted winning and it changed the narrative about a guy?
Yeah.
Can Jack Hughes had a good day?
Finally won something.
Nobody said Matthews.
was out there whoop an ass.
He's actually one of those centers that is quite good defensively,
but he didn't dominate the scoring.
Yeah, I'm not besmirching him or trying to say he didn't play well.
I'm just saying that if we're talking,
how many times have we brought up his name to him?
We were very happy when he elected to pass on that one play.
Yeah, but how many times have we brought up his name right now
and how many times have we talked about Halebuck in the last hour?
Or Quinn Hughes or Jack Hughes or Eichol or Cichuk.
Yeah, he was one of the guys.
he was not a superstar of the tournament.
I think it's Helibuck's brand
to the point earlier. I think that gets him in the whole
fame. He's now got a signature W.
