Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Has The U.S.A Passed Canada In Hockey Development?? 🤔 w/TSN's Noodles | BB Clips
Episode Date: February 15, 2026Boomer, Pinder , Noodles & Rhett dive into the growing debate around whether USA Hockey has caught — or even passed — Canada in international hockey development, breaking down the evolution of... grassroots programs, player pathways, and how development models in the United States compare to those north of the border. Rhett praises the structure and progress of USA Hockey at the youth level, while the guys examine questions surrounding Hockey Canada’s recent challenges and whether systemic mistakes have impacted development from minor hockey all the way to the professional ranks. Has the balance of power shifted in international hockey, or is Canada still leading the charge when it comes to producing elite talent?#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #canada #unitedstates #olympicgames CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Can I add some fake drama to our conversation?
Sure, what do you got?
I got two things for fake drama because we can pretend they're a big deal.
The Canadian women's team got snobbled again last night.
Yeah.
The World Junior team hasn't won.
We won four nations, but she's tight.
Yep.
Is the Canadian model starting to wane a little bit in the American approach taking over here?
They do things a little bit differently.
I like how they do it down in the States.
Is it that dramatically?
I am trying to make something probably out of nothing, but
I don't think you are.
The depth of Americans have compared to the Canadians is significant.
I will go a step further, Red.
Am I concerned that the U.S. beats Canada if they play in the finals?
Yes.
Because when I look at it on paper, clearly the Canadians have the three best players,
in my opinion, which is McDavid, McKinnon, and McCart.
But after that, you know, I look at it.
look at the goal-tending, obviously
we know where people are at with
that. On paper, you could argue
most countries have maybe
a little bit more depth or a little bit more
comfort level there.
Although I like Logan Thompson, I like
Darcy Kemper, and I think Jordan
Pinnington has shown that he can play in big
games, so we'll see what happens.
But the defensive core for Canada,
outside of Macar, I think, is
really good.
But you look at, on paper,
the U.S.,
when you're looking at, you know, Quinn Hughes into Werensky into Jake Sanderson,
into McAvoy, into Faber, like, like there's a six-pack that scares the hell out of you
because they can move and they're all talented and they all compete hard.
You know, I love Perrako.
I love Dowdy, but, I mean, they're...
Well, it's thinner.
Just as a side note, that son of a bitch, Sanderson could be playing for the Canadians as
Damn,
call us dad again.
What the hells?
Listen,
I will never,
like I don't understand the whole under,
well,
I do,
but I don't,
put it that way.
My understanding is that,
that they chose the U.S.
program,
but there was some bumps in the road
along the way through minor hockey
or through other things.
So my point being is,
you're right.
Sandy could be playing for team Canada,
but I believe that,
you know,
it comes back to the junior system,
comes back to things there.
I,
the U.S., I'll come back to your
whether fake outrage or whatever.
The U.S. has caught
Canada on a lot of different things.
Their program doesn't worry about
you know, and believe me,
I have to be sensitive in nature here.
Canada has made their bed on some
things here. Let's just, I'm just going to leave
it on that, okay?
But I think
what's happened is you're
still, they're still chasing
that and they're still like, that's still
hanging over the program
instead of just developing great players and worrying about all of that,
there's a lot of hoops that they are going through now
because of the mistakes they've made in the past.
And where these other programs,
and you could argue,
all the other programs have really caught up.
You know, Sweden, Finland, Czech, Slovakia,
you know, a lot of Germany.
Like, some of these programs have really progressed.
And you look at it, like, I look at that German team.
There's not just one player on there.
There's four or five that.
are really good players.
The Czech, Slovak's.
So if Canada has stayed the same,
everyone else has come up.
And that's where I kind of feel like.
Is Canada staying the same?
And it's not so, well, it's all the above because hockey Canada wants to be involved
in everything.
So then they have to be responsible for everything that happens.
And I'm not talking about the side shows.
I'm talking about developing players, how they, how they,
the Americans, I bring it up to everyone.
The year of birth.
Why can't we just play year of birth?
09s play 0-9s.
10s play 10s.
2011s.
20-11s.
2015s play 20-15s.
Why are we combining that?
Why?
And I'm serious.
This is a self-serving somewhat.
I ran into Colin Forbes outside the rank the other day.
I ran into Robin Reger outside the rank the other day.
And I've run into various guys that have played high-level hockey outside rinks.
Yeah.
Not allowed to help.
Really?
Not allowed to coach.
Not allowed.
Not allowed to coach.
Period.
Stop, exclamation.
Not allowed.
Why?
Parent.
Well, wouldn't you want a parent who has pedigree there?
No, you don't.
No, you don't.
That's the point I'm making.
It's an idiotic thing, and that doesn't make everyone that played a great coach.
But there's something to be said about trying.
If I want science, probably,
Einstein's a guy I should pay attention to.
Right, right.
Yeah, but his dad did this thing.
He's not allowed to.
You know what's funny?
He's got a kid here.
We can't use him.
I'll go a step further.
And you guys know, our dear friend Jerome McGinla has produced three great hockey players.
And, you know, he was a coach in Colonna and now he's involved with the flames.
But like, when you think about it, when I picked Jerome's brain about hockey, he said something to me,
years ago and I it stuck with me. It's pretty interesting. He said you know, because I would tease
him about like geez, you know, you're you're just you're a crazy hockey dad. And and he would laugh and say,
you know, Jamie, hockey's my business. And I said, well, what do you mean? He goes, my dad was a lawyer.
He goes, my brother's a lawyer. My sister's a lawyer. He goes, it's the family business. He goes,
you know what my family business is? Hockey. He goes, that's what I was trained in. And it's
really interesting to think about that because
his expertise, he can pass on to his kids.
Why would I not want Jerome McGillard to help out
in coaching? Why would I not want... How about Robert
Greer cruising around the ranks? And no, he's an idiot.
Yeah, like it... Now it comes back to, again,
the mistakes of the past in Hockey Canada, I...
You know, I'm not going to gloss over them.
But I think what... Is there a rule?
Again, my son's eight. And he's just starting to get into the
the craziness of the GTA here in Toronto and stuff like that, right?
And I'm the other way.
I literally, my, I just found out about a month ago, which is the coolest thing.
My, there's a boy on my son's team.
His mother was Prince's guitarist, which is, like, Prince.
Like, crazy.
Yes, Prince.
Like, right.
Wow.
Which is unbelievable.
It's just a really cool story.
But that family is like they come, they're musical.
And they just show up and they hang out.
They're not inclined to like force feeding and crazy parents.
And so I talked to the dad the other day and we were just talking music and hockey and how it all ties into each other and stuff.
It was just, it was neat because I think you come to the rink and you should be able to sport your children.
But like at eight, there's parents that are bringing cowbells.
and screaming at other kids and stuff.
I'm like, what is going on?
And is there a rule when kids get older?
Like, you have to, you can't change around each other.
And you've got to do all these things like, is that happened or is that, again, I'm not.
Yeah, you're not allowed to be in the room with kids that are, like,
you have to have more than one coach and there's a changing and stuff.
There's some rules.
Well, hockey can't.
That's true.
Hockey Canada, a couple of years put in the fact that you're not allowed, you're supposed
to wear.
you're under armor.
Yeah.
To the rank so you're not.
Right.
I don't know.
I don't think it was adopted by the smaller governing body's gear, but yeah, it was a thing.
I understand that, you know, they're trying to protect the children, understand.
Listen, I played junior in the Graham James era.
My, you know, one of my best friends played on that team.
You know, it's, I get it.
But I just, I think when I look at it, the raw hockey pack, the package that they're putting together,
let's not forget the best players are still Canadian.
Not goalies, but yep.
But you're right.
But I do believe there, we might be in a down cycle,
but I do think there's a chance.
Maybe Joel Hofer is the next Marty Burdard.
I'll sell that.
You know?
Vinder's not sold, but I just think that in general,
like I said, am I fake drama?
Somewhat, but there are things where it's like,
this is interesting and doesn't seem right.
It seems dumb.
And some of the examples I gave are things.
that I believe to be true.
They aren't doing what's right.
Can we get to the goal anything?
Yeah, go ahead.
I just the last thing I want to say.
If you had to list five superstar forwards,
you've got them all, right?
Yeah, the fact that Robin Regere and Colin Forbes can't coach,
I think is ridiculous, though.
Like, I'm sorry, I'll leave it at that.
That's it.
