Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Heated Debate: What Should The Flames Do With Connor Zary?? 🔥 | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: July 20, 2025Boomer, Pinder & Rhett dive into a heated debate about Connor Zary and his future with the Flames.Zary is an RFA right now and Calgary needs to make a decision. What will he get paid? What does he... truly deserve? Is he a full‑time centre in the NHL or better suited as a winger? And with his history, can he stay healthy enough to reach his potential? The guys break it all down.https://youtu.be/Ydooz5Kbjk4?feature=shared#calgaryflames #calgary #nhl #nhlshorts #stanleycup #yyc #nhlteam #nhlrumours Let us know what you think in the comments below ⬇️BARN BURNER BLONDE https://originbrewing.myshopify.comFLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Let's get Pinder going on Zeri again, because I like this.
It's relative to our show.
What's the latest on Zer?
Still no deal for Cotter's Zeri.
Yeah, there's no time crunch.
Trent Camps in friggin, September.
What are they going to be?
We got a bet on that.
We do have a bet on that.
Jack thinks he's going to get more money A.A.V. than Frost.
And I said, uh, no.
I put down my pizza money and I made another bet.
And then I pretty much got told I was stupid by Steinberg and Ryan.
Yeah.
Well, Steinberg's an asshole.
So you can't be careful around that guy.
And again, framing.
This was that the Wild Horse tended about two.
I was going to say what time of day.
And first of all, you're mistaken right off the top to be throwing this around because that's not your money.
That pizza is mine.
That money is for pizza.
Tuesday is pizza day.
So you're betting my money.
Exactly.
So if I lose Ryan bought the pizza.
That's ours.
so you guys are out at stampede i'm moving that bet back to dino dino you're in a tent having beers
having a good time and you guys are debating the r f a contract of morgan frost and you fucking
losers jesus i don't uh know get laid yeah i don't know it's a four point two five oh well yeah
but uh he's uh he was the first uh top first round he went to half of the first oh but you know he five
for arbitration.
Cowboy boots walking by.
But if it's team,
team sell arbitration,
then they're,
Jack's got to be in his bonnet over this area.
He's like,
why is it done?
Why is it done?
I'm like,
well,
what's it done?
You got two months to camp.
What do you mean?
Why is it not done?
Why is it Connor done?
Is there people freaking out about that?
No.
What do you mean?
It'll get done.
Oh,
it's done.
But yeah,
hey,
look,
it doesn't mean that you,
you like Morgan Frost more than Connor's area.
It's just that Connor's area is zero leverage.
He doesn't have our rights.
and that's how it works.
That's when Andrew Manjupani is a great year
and Trillivings squeezes him for $880,000 because he can,
not because he doesn't deserve more.
And when Manjipani has the screws, he scores 35 and he gets $6 million a year.
I mean, when you have leverage, you use it.
The flames have leverage over Conner's area.
He's not going to get a lot of money unless he is,
to make a huge long-term commitment to him,
which I'm not sure they're ready to do.
So was just just in passing this came up?
or? I don't know. Jack really had to be in his monitor with the Zeri thing.
No, I didn't. You guys were talking about and I walked up.
No, because you were asking me at the Stamps game.
Because that was the night we went, that was sneakie peek night.
And it was like, why isn't Sarah did? Why since Sarah done?
No, timelines may be foggy.
I'm with Thane on this whole.
I think I saw Pat and I'm like, oh, here's Jack.
What do you think Zeri's going to sign for?
He laid out like exactly what I'd guess was going to happen.
So that's when Jack thinks he knows he's in trouble with his pizza money.
Steinberg said it was like a two hour conversation with Pinder code contracts on Flames.
See there there is the truth.
That's the truth.
We had to try to talk about it and you were.
I think I was, you know, I was, uh, I was grabbing shooters and dancing.
And I was just on my way back and over.
I just added my two cents.
There was a lot of talk.
I'm sorry.
That's okay.
Nerd alert.
Big nerd alert for sure.
My boy, Monty would have been all over you, fellow.
Nerd alert.
So what is, do you have a number in your head?
I think it's going to be two years at like three and a half.
It's a bridge.
Because if you can tell me exactly what Conner's area is going to be for the next six to eight years,
then I'll go long term with you, but we don't really know what he is.
Can you not say that about any human in the world?
No, there's guys that you definitely know what they're going to be.
Like Macklin Celebrini is going to be a number one.
his center is really, really good.
Like, Matt Coronado is going to be a top one winner that scores a lot.
Conner's area is going to be.
You're convinced the Coronado's going to be a top guy that scores a lot?
He went from almost no scoring to 24.
Like, he's, the trajectory is great.
He's scored at every level.
He's young.
What about the guy we're talking about?
He's had two seasons that are really similar that hasn't shown huge progression.
And I don't know if he's a center or winger.
Why does that matter?
because you're trying to go out with a contract
you get paid differently.
No, but just in terms.
Like if you're a lawyer or janitor.
You can pay differently.
It matters which one you are.
Well, I understand.
But just in turn, is,
don't know what he is.
Just take the position.
Is he a guy that's in your top six or top?
I think he's a middle six player.
Yeah.
I don't think he's a top line guy.
So if you're the agent and it's like,
oh, just give us the money.
Like it doesn't matter if it's a winner of center.
Well, the agent's like, geez, if I can sell them on him being a center,
I can make more money for this kid.
Who is?
No, can't pay you that unless no years.
Who's better in their system as a younger?
Who's better?
It could Coronado for sure.
I don't think it's for sure.
I think they're very similar, but that's...
Yeah, I mean, he's just younger and you've seen huge steps taken.
How much?
He's already had a better season than zero years?
Like...
Oh, it's a year and a half or a year, yeah.
But it's less the age so much as like,
Connor Zerries had three pro seasons,
and the first NHL campaign that,
uh, that Coronado's had is significant...
Was he not the most electric?
Who was better at the start of the year this year?
Probably Zaire.
So why does that not matter?
Because you just continued to see great progression from Krona.
Yeah, but he was allowed to go to the A.
Progress.
What's that?
There's something there.
Yeah, there's something there, right?
There's something there.
Because you, you are, you are with contacts and nothing's ever linear and it takes time and all of this.
You're very off, Connor Zerry.
No, I think he's a good part.
know that he's
who's better as a young guy even if coronado is okay
who's but after that um okay so who's young like
ygore is not really young i don't are ygore frost isn't young yeah i don't know like
if you're saying younger than him that like you've hoped you've drafted some kids will be
better than him you've got a lot of forwards in the system like your griddons and your
bashes and reshny who is a center and you know potter um there's you've drafted
a lot of forwards that you're hoping could
you know be top six guys
that's a part of the core group
that's like not yet
you're still prospects you're going to make it but
you know the point I'm making right and now
you're going to draft picks and that's not
really this I mean I guess no but they
don't like who's like he's
what do you compare him to like Hansick
Frost better
I don't know
Frost is a center for sure he's a better center
than Zeri is well I think
Zari could be a better offensive player
like if you if you put a gun to my head i'd rather have zary than frost he's younger you got more team
control but frost's gonna make more because he's you know you know what he is in this league
he's just probably a third line center okay well then let's i'm just arguing because he's got our
bright so you did the market a bit you did uh sam bennett let's use him as an example he wanted
to be a center they wouldn't allow him to be a center they didn't allow him to grow as a center
he couldn't take one's job as a center either but yeah all those things
are true. But don't you learn
like you have two children, right?
Yeah. Would you say you know more
about child rearing now than
eight years ago? I'd hope
so, yeah. Well, so
can you look back and have any
thoughts on, you know, we kind of mishandled
this Bennett thing. Like, I'm not saying
Bennett's free, clear of any responsibility,
but as an organization,
you should look
at this and go. And same thing with
Kachuk. Now, you bridged
Kachuk, and then he
ended up saying, I'm gone.
Do you know what I mean?
And I'm playing the devil's advocate.
If you bridge Zeri and say, well, you're not as good.
We're going to bridge you.
Well, the next time he comes back is he is excited to stay in Calgary because I think
that is an important piece for guys that want to be in Calgary.
Yeah, you can slice them both of us.
And if he wants to be a center, why are we rolling out all these old, excuse me, all
these old pricks to
stop him from being a center.
Let him be a center.
Like, why can't we allow him
to grow into that?
Yeah, hey, look, I mean, there's two ways to look
at a short-term deal. He's either really motivated to prove
you wrong or you pissed him off. You can play it either way. We'll see.
All he has to do is have two really good years and he's going to
make even more money than he ever would have this summer.
So I'm not too worried about that.
The part about being a center,
it's like, okay, well, he's not a top line center.
Nazim Kadri isn't even that
and he's trying to do that here.
Backland's your checking center.
That's your point.
That's my point though.
Is Cadry and Backland,
you and I agree in this.
Cadry and Backlund aren't here
when the team's good.
Correct.
Would it not be more beneficial
for the organization to go,
you know what?
I'll take a stab at you, kid.
Yeah.
So here's a scenario that I'd like to see.
I'm going to play you at center.
And they have three
NHL centermen right now.
It's Backland,
Codry.
and Frost.
Zeri may be that guy,
and it would be really nice if you turn into a second line,
sir, that'd be great.
How do you get them minutes?
Well, if there's an injury, it's easy,
you plug him in.
That's what happened last year.
You had Bacchland get hurt.
He slid into the middle, played there.
It was okay.
He wasn't dominant.
The points were crazy,
but he can play some center.
Do you want to play them on your fourth line
instead of posth missile at center ice?
Probably not.
He's more minutes than that.
So are you literally taking one of your only three NHL center
and moving them away to get time for Zererner?
that's sort of the challenge that they're facing.
I would.
The really big brain thing that I think they should do
is start taking calls on Nazim Qadry
and say, look, if there's going to be bad,
this might be it.
Trade Rasmus, see we can get for Cadry,
slide Zerri in the middle.
You'll know at the end of the year
if he's a center or not.
Well, and at the end of the year, Michael Backlin's deal
is done too.
I mean, it's, yeah, the landscape
is going to change here very quickly.
And I would say,
underestimating how good Zeri looked
at the start of the years.
The other point I just want to make.
I think that Zeri was the most,
exciting offensive player we had up until whenever the hell he got hurt.
I agree. Yeah. And the injuries are part of it too. You don't want to say a guy's injury prone,
but it's now, I think, three or four years or four or five where it's just like,
dang it. He's hurt again. And that hurts development. You'd love to see a full healthy season where
he could really get on a good role. It's been two years in a row where you're like, shit.
But I'm, I'm with you, Red. There is no reason why you cannot have patience and let some
people develop in what however you play center you're no good at it play some more center it's the
nchel well where you want to develop it but play and even on the bridge deal which i i would pay him a
little more on a bridge if you want to bridge them you're not up against the cap i don't think you're a
threat for any again i was out to lunch last year so happy to be wrong but i think it's going to be
bad for the organization if they continue to muddle about in the middle.
But regardless, I don't think you're up against the cap.
If you're, if you're nickel and diming this kid over 500 grand, which sounds, it's easy
for me to say, I think it's a waste.
If, if you are convinced you want a bridge and they want a long term, okay, well, you can
fight about that, but if your bridge is, and I'm just stupid, three and a half.
And they want four or something like that, yeah.
We will give you your four.
you come and you show us you're a centerman we're going to play the piss out of you at center
stay healthy improve us and come back and we'll it's right like they don't not my money how how do you
grand to appease this why are you like what's the point of this extra squeeze i guess is my like
what for yeah and i don't know we don't know where things are at we don't know if things are
immacable or if there's huge gaps or what a gap is or if there's any hey we're just busy we'll
circle back in august we don't know what what's going on i do i do wonder though like sorry you can't
say that to a kid if you get coronado signed you think he doesn't think he's as good as coronado
and you're going to tell the kid hey we'll get back to you we've got fucking time i hope that's not
the message they're saying well i don't know what the message is is my only point we don't know
what the conversations are it's not done that's what we know Dustin wolf's extension's not done i guess
This is part of the problem.
It doesn't seem like that difficult a thing to figure out.
It'll get done and there's zero threat.
Why are you putting a squeeze on a kid when it does, like?
We're assuming they're putting a squeeze on.
We don't know.
Well, they are putting a squeeze because the deal's not done unless the kid is trying to put a squeeze on.
Exactly.
So who's being irrational?
Is the team or the agent?
We don't know.
We don't know the numbers being traded.
Maybe they're both exactly the same distance away from what a fair deal is and they end up there anyway.
We don't know.
But I'll ask you this.
Like just play him at center.
Okay, sounds great.
Ryan Huska, we'd like you to play this guy at center.
Well, these are my top three centers.
This guy is one of the best checking centers in league.
This guy scored 30 goals.
And you guys just literally brought this guy in because you don't have young centers
and he's 25.
Okay.
Well, who is who in that?
You've described three players.
Who is who?
Backlund, Cadre, and front.
Who is the best checking, one of the best checking centers in the league?
Backlin.
Not anymore.
So he doesn't play, who plays tough minutes at center on this team?
Well, again, it's fine.
But you do this.
move back into the wing. I'm just asking you how you're making room for center ice for
I move backland down he can down to a fourth line center 40 years old like it's build I can't
he be the fourth line center build this team he's got why do you need Michael Becklin has no potential
to be a 90 point player no I agree entirely yeah so would so why were you playing him higher up
the lineup than well because you need someone to play against other team's top lines four
line he's the best that you have even better fourth line play against the other team's
top line. You got a roll. Awesome.
No, I mean, we've seen Michael here for
15 years and, like, the most
recent iteration is him and Coleman and another guy
your checking line, and they play a lot because
other teams, top lines play a lot.
If you're going to tell him he's a fourth line,
he's a third line, he'll play 12, 13 minutes a night,
like,
that would be one way to get
center minutes for Connor's area, but
Ryan Huska is coaching to keep coaching
in the NHL for a contract.
That's not a logical
decision he's going to make, right?
we acknowledge that.
If you're going to burn this thing down, by all means.
But like, Huska's coaching to win games.
No?
Huska better get.
I just, I don't think by putting Michael back in a fourth line,
you're torpedoing the season or the rest of the room.
I've not suggested torpedo.
It's just that you're going to have less effective defensive centerment
out against the McKinnons and McDavid's and Matthews of the world.
That's the role he plays on this team.
He's not an offensive dynamo.
He's never been that.
He's going to be 37.
Yeah.
Why do you need to,
why do you,
the team doesn't make the playoffs and,
and,
well,
it's been Backlin and Coleman.
Yeah,
it has been.
And where has that got you,
number one?
And it's the 25,
26 seasons.
Both guys are into their,
like late,
getting into their second half of their 30s,
if they're not there already.
So you should be trading them.
Do you just continue to roll them out
until their contracts are done?
Backlons up at the end of the year.
I think they'll probably extend them and keep him as captain.
Coleman's got two years left.
I think you dangle him at the deadline.
Rasmus gets moved. Nasm's a big question mark.
I think you get stuff for him.
I'm with you.
It's just that it's not what the organization's doing.
They're not actively rebuilding.
But he's never been this old before either.
Do you know what I mean?
Like time is ticked.
Things evolve.
Things change.
Why are you looking to be like that?
He's 37 years old.
You just.
Yeah.
You're making points that are true.
But so is boom.
The problem is, you know what?
It's what I always say.
And it's they don't know.
what the fuck they're sorry swore what they're doing and they know what they're doing but they're
they're not choosing a path they're letting it come to them a bit and like to say and i i know you're
not saying a hold back a kid like zerry because backland has to play up the line up to know what
there he is but we never got a chance to play him at center because we had back like you're
figure out what he is play the shit out of him if he's not a center then he's not a center but then
you know. Yeah, and he's had
less than two full seasons in the league.
I mean, it's not this. If we're in
year six or seven here, the Sam Bennett conversation
is one we can have, but like,
he gets mopped on the dot
and he has a limited
reps at center that we're just okay.
And we're arguing that he wants to be a center.
Yeah, and he might not. I don't know.
I mean, it's for his markability, it's better
if you can play center, but maybe he sees
himself as a winner. I don't know. To me, it's less about
center or wing and what you're going to put up
in points. I mean, I get
your thoughts on
well, is you say you get him, okay, yeah.
But if he's going to be
a 75, I don't know, is that a realistic number?
He's been a half point per game player
his career, two years in a row.
That's all we have is a sample.
I think there's more ceiling there,
but we didn't see the big step that you'd probably hope for.
And injury was a big part of that last year.
It wasn't a big part of it.
It was a huge part of it.
He had no chance to put up points.
Yeah, he played 54 games.
after playing 63 the year prior.
You'd love to see a healthy full season from Zeri
where he piles up points
and you don't even care what position he's playing
because he's just creating offense.
Like that's what I want to see Connor Zeri do.
He's creating offense.
If you're going to get a less effective offensive player at center,
leave him on the goddamn wing.
Who cares?
And don't, again, just I don't know if it's out of sight, out of mind.
Didn't we come in and do the show a lot of days
and feel like Connor Zeri was the most creative guy
That's what I, that's where I'm weird.
Anyone else was making things happen.
Boy, if you had some people to play with this guy, you might have something.
I think the offensive instincts are great.
And we loved what we saw early in the season on the power play from him.
But again, I think also sometimes it's like, oh, it's a 23-year-old that had a half-point
per game.
Like you'd love to see the stats start to match the creativity when he was good that you saw.
right? Like when he's really going
like, Jesus, you're saying.
Like half, half point per game forwards are not rare.
We need to see some more of the ceiling, right?
It's,
it comes back to the original point where you,
where you are on Zeri.
Which is he's a really good young player that has a put together.
But you make it sound as though you could put him on waivers.
Like, ah, he's, you know, half point a game, he's 20 years old.
No, you definitely don't put him on waivers.
He's a good young player.
I think you've convinced yourself of how I feel about Conner,
Zeri.
I think this is a really good middle six winger right now
that has a potential to be a centerman.
How do you pay that guy?
I bridge him because I'm not exactly sure what it looks like.
I'd play it.
I just,
I get it.
And I don't think you're arguing philosophy.
I think you'd be happy to see it.
It's just that you're using the team the way it's designed right now and saying,
well, he can't be a center because he can't take that spot.
And I'm arguing with,
F that.
Make her for me.
And again,
I don't care if he's a center.
But I would rather see Huberdo Zari and Coronado as a line than
Cadre or whoever else in that spot.
I get it.
And look, we're all on the same page where it's like,
burn this thing down a bit so you can actually get really good.
And let those kids play and find out what they are.
Because I don't know who's better on their depth chart as a young forward.
Yeah, I would have Coronado a step ahead and then no one else really is young.
Yeah.
And I would argue that at the start of the year,
Zeri was better than Coronado.
They looked better.
And that's why I'm so big on Coronado
because he's just taking such great leaps.
He's gone from like a guy that clearly couldn't play in the league
that had to go to the A.
So, okay, he's carved out a roll
and he's playing bottom six to like,
oh, shoot, he's starting to score.
He's our best finisher now.
Like that's fine,
but you can't argue that Zeri's no good
because Coronado is.
I've never said Zeri's no good.
What?
I really like Connor Zeri.
I like Coronado.
That's okay.
Yes, but I've asked you
1800 times and you're saying
that Cole Reshney is more important
right now that Connor's area as far as depth chart.
No, you're just saying if who's younger and I'm like,
And you said that.
Rushney's a prospect.
Like we don't know what he is at the NHL level, but like he's a high pedigree
center iceman.
But why isn't Zeri in your eyes with a guy that's done what he's done?
That's the confusing part.
I think that boom and I have is that you'll give the benefit of the doubt to a guy
that's done F all instead of a guy that was the most dynamic, exciting, offensive threat.
had for three months at the start of the year.
And now he's, well, we're not sure what he is.
I like the player, but it's a career high of 34 points.
I'm just not going to start losing my mind.
Like that's, it's a good player that you hope starts to chase that ceiling you see
offensively, right?
How we got into it was kind of what's going on?
Why is there no deal?
Now, the flames have announced three deals this morning for RFA is not named
Connor Zeri.
Rory Karens, Yan Kuznetsoff and Jeremy Porre have all signed.
You take it or leave it deals time of year.
Yeah, one year, two way, this sort of, this sort of deal.
So Zeri, and that's the, like, and we've said, who knows?
Maybe is the player saying, I'm not taking, I don't, I want a bridge.
But I can't, how, how do I dig my heels in based on the points that I've put up?
I've had good points when, you know, I'm with you.
And I thought he, I thought he was.
in line to have a strong season before he got hurt.
Are you surprised through 57 games you only had 27 points or not?
Like does that total feel low?
Why is that bad for a kid that is what you just said he's really young.
We don't know what he is.
So half a point of game is no good and you don't see upside.
On a team,
you're walking the line between say you're putting out stats that say that are,
you're trying to paint a picture that.
why would you pay him?
And he's not that good.
Oh, I mean, and define getting paid.
Like, if he wants the Coronado deal, I'm not going there.
I'm just not.
Like, the hardest thing to do in the league is score.
Matthew Coronado is shown very early.
He's proficient at it.
Conner's area I really like, but I'm not giving him the Coronado deal.
I don't think that's an unreasonable take.
And I think the flames probably feel similarly.
Yeah, I don't think it's an unreasonable.
I think that it's probably where they're at.
I don't know what the comps would be around the league.
You'd have to go and look at the draft class and all that sort of things.
And this is kind of why I think that it hasn't happened because the flames are like,
we really like you.
But like when we start to give this to our numbers guys and find comps,
there's a lot of guys that can go a half point per game on the wing that we like you.
You don't have.
You don't have.
I don't have what?
The team doesn't have those guys.
You're comparing to teams that have these guys, which is fine.
I'm not arguing that you just open up the door
and give the contract.
You don't have those guys.
If you're saying they're just everywhere,
then that's the point is that he's a disposable asset.
Comparables aren't going to be favorable for Zeri's
camp if you just look at a statistical production,
which is why I think there's a gap in negotiations.
The team's going to say, here are your cops.
And his agent is going to say,
but we want the Coronado deals.
Well, you didn't put up numbers of Cornell put up.
You're not scoring as much.
you're not as healthy as much.
Year over a year,
we didn't see a quantum leap.
Like you're,
I see that's the way
I still stop you and see you're a quantum.
He was playing.
He's played two seasons.
And he was one of the best,
like you're absolutely glossing over the fact
he was the biggest offensive threat
for a lot of games this year.
With no other offense on the team.
And we can't score.
I look,
I mean,
I like the player.
I just am not going to go long term
if it's the Coronado number.
so I don't know.
Like it's,
it's not like we're talking about a 60 point kid that's,
it's 23 years old, right?
We're talking about a guy with a career I have with 37 points.
You need to show that closer to 60 and then you'll get paid.
That's how this league operates.
And I don't think you're wrong.
I just think that, and we'll end this because we're just kind of spinning.
I just think Rhett and I have more.
faith in his ability to succeed, I guess.
I just,
is I don't get the sense that you really have much of it.
Like you're saying you do.
You're saying you like the player.
But when you talk about him,
it just sounds like you say,
oh, there's a lot of guys that can get half.
It sounds like he's very disposable the way you describe it.
Oh, it's just,
it's how contracts get done.
If you look at the comps,
it's not going to be favorable for Zeri.
And that's why the deal's not done.
Now, if you believe there's a great certainty
that he's going to be a 60 to 80 point.
guy every year. And it's like, shit, we got the cap space now. We are going to be tighter when
this team's theoretically good down the road. Like, that's the case for the for the long term deal,
right? And I think you guys are in that camp. I would be more in that. I would be. And I just want to
see something closer to 60 before I'm paying that deal. Like last year, I just felt like you
watched Coronado score and you're like, this guy's going to score like bad years, 25. Good years, maybe
flirts with 40. Like he feels like a 30 goal.
guy. I don't know
that Conner's area will ever score 30. I think
he could, but I'm not like, it's happening.
We have to pay him now before he gets expensive.
He doesn't have to just score.
No, but it's just as an example.
Because one guy got the long-term deal,
the other didn't, right? Or hasn't yet.
And again, that's fine.
You're arguing that Coronado's good.
I'm not arguing against that. I'm saying
that you don't have any young
kids that look good offensively,
and you're not, like,
I believe that this kid has more potential
to be in the Coronado numbers,
the 60 to 80 points,
than obviously you do.
But he's not going to get there
if you can't play him
because Backland and Cadre
are holding up the fucking center line.
Right?
They can't move up the ladder because those guys are in the way.
That's no good.
And I don't know who's coming up.
I don't know who's coming through in the ranks.
that's going to push him out of a top three centerman rule.
If he's a center, I don't even care.
If he's a 60 to 80 point guy, he's worth a certain amount of money,
whether it's on the wing or at center, more if at center.
And we'd be happier if he was at center.
And we would like to learn from our past mistakes,
which we've made plenty of in underestimating what some of these kids might be.
Blab, you're not up against the cap.
You have no, who's taking the spots if he,
I guess he's not.
leaving, but it's not.
I'm more in the line that you should be paying, pay them because I don't see,
I don't see who's coming along that's going to be better.
This team is not signing free agents.
And if you're signing a free agent, you're spending way too much.
So if I overpay on counter Zeri by half a million bucks a year, whatever.
Now, we don't know the numbers.
So we can be completely out to lunch.
Maybe he wants eight.
Maybe he's crazy.
Like, we don't know.
So it's all speculation.
but you would think that it's a Coronado type deal or the Flameswana Bridge,
and that's what makes the most sense.
So what you don't want is the San Bennett scenario.
We all agree with that.
And again, it's only two years in.
There's lots of time for a young man to find a spot in the lineup.
Bennett felt like, what was that, like a seven-year death march?
And, you know, it would have gone too long.
It needed to change.
The flip side is you also don't want to probably do a,
Joel Fairby, who put up better numbers than Zare at the same age, and the flyers went and paid.
And all of a sudden, it's like, oh, maybe we'll just, we'll do the deal, but you got to take this money off the books, too.
You just traded for Joel Fairby.
They did.
And I think what you're seeing is like, the Flyers aren't missing Joel Farabee.
He's young, but he's probably overpaid, and he's a middle six winger.
And I don't know.
You had 22 goals one year.
I think Zari's better than him.
But if you're going to say, you know,
that's the cautionary tale is you pay a guy too soon and then you plateaus.
And I don't think that's necessarily going to happen to Zari,
but that's,
I think when I look at Farabee,
you're like,
that's a fear of why teams might not want to go along with every young.
The thing with Farabee is if you take away last year,
granted,
he had eight goals and 50 games in Philadelphia.
Prior to that,
22 goals, 15, 17, 20.
So he's a 15 to 20 goal guy,
maybe gets you over 20, but he's in that 15 to 20.
You're paying him $5 million?
Is that a terrible overpay for 15 to 20 goals?
Yeah.
I mean, when you look at the guy's signing,
and he signed the cap is way lower,
like Andrew Maghpani is going to do that for you in Edmonton.
They're not giving him anywhere near five, right?
He's playing with dry sidel.
No, but my point is that you can go find a guy to get you,
like a 15 to 20 goal guy is,
is what?
Is less than $5 million on the open.
then why don't the flames have a shit ton of them?
Because they do have a shit ton of them.
They got Hugo Scheringovich.
They got Farabee.
They got Coleman.
They got Zeri.
They got Huberto.
Like, they're full of guys that can get you 15 to 20.
That's the whole point.
You need someone that can do better than that.
And then you have good teams.
15 to 20s, it feels like replacement level for a top nine guy, right?
Like, as long as you're not an energy role, it's like, if you can't get 15,
it's like, well, maybe they'll go back to Europe.
Like, what did Gus Nyquist sign for?
I don't know.
Like, you could probably get 15 to 20.
Look what you did, Red.
Hey, good job.
Started it up nicely.
Bought some time.
I don't know how you and Steinberg got talking.
So for hours just went on, apparently.
It's weird.
Jack was very confused about how Arb played into anything.
No, it goes to Arb.
It doesn't matter.
Yeah.
Leverage.
Leverage.
Should be doing pizza today.
It's a pizza day.
Yeah, it's kind of pizza day.
Soup day, maybe, Red.
Yuck.
That shiggy.
or whatever you took it to them in years
stand in the rain though
yeah
now let's just drop my name
jackal just letting me
come by
and a fake QR code cool
yeah
