Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Jay Rosehill (FULL INTERVIEW)
Episode Date: January 29, 2026Pinder & Rhett are joined by former NHLer Jay Rosehill to break down the absolute nightmare unfolding in Toronto as the Maple Leafs continue to spiral. From Craig Berube’s rising “panic meter�...�� to brutal on-ice performances and mounting pressure from fans and media, the boys dive deep into what’s gone wrong, what (if anything) can be fixed, and why Jay says it best — “It’s a god damn disaster.” Honest takes, Leafs meltdown energy, and zero sugarcoating in this must-watch breakdown.Youtube Link: https://youtu.be/MDrgqdO3-ZM#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #leafsnation #toronto CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Let's welcome in Jay Rose Hill.
We'll see what kind of a prize fighter our pal is.
He's probably just been 12 rounds,
beaten up Leafs management,
crushing everyone in the organization.
Apparently they just gas,
sports science people and other leading the league in injuries,
blaming injuries.
Rosie, you got anything left for us or what?
I forgot that you guys don't start on time,
so I apologize for coming in when you said.
You should apologize, because you know we always start not on time.
Yeah, I don't mind you waiting.
I know what we do.
You know, it gives me time to take a breath after all the shows I got to do with these
Toronto Maple Leafs of ours.
My goodness, it's been a grind.
You know what I always say?
Don't be surprised by expected behavior.
Like we say, hey, Rhett, we got a meeting on Feb 30th.
Can you be there?
Like, don't be surprised when he says, yeah, I don't know.
That's what we expect.
So you can't expect it.
We're never on time.
I should have known.
I should have gone to the bathroom or something and giving you guys an extra five.
but I'm here now. I'm ready to rock.
All right. Well, just give us the goods then.
Let's go.
It's going on in the center of the universe.
Like, it doesn't seem good from my vantage point.
No, it's not.
It's a goddamn disaster is what it is.
This team is out of a playoffs,
by all accounts, and it's January right now.
It has been frustrating.
It has been, oh, it has been so uninspiring.
The way this team responds this season,
And the sad part is, I agree with Craig Baroube thinking that it's in there.
It's in, they're capable of it.
And they just can't commit.
It's like it's, it's like it's too scary.
It's too hard.
It's too uncomfortable.
And they've just dropped so many points along the way that they're cooked right now.
And I have no idea what direction this is going.
Everyone's waiting for MLSE to address the situation here.
There is opinions from Trade Matthews and Nylander to,
can everyone else and the coaching staff and get rid of tree living.
And it's just everyone's going nuts right now, pointing at everybody to the point where
it's the sports science people that aren't there this year, which is why they're in the
situation.
And how that, yeah, I guess Dakota Joshua wouldn't have a lacerated spleen or whatever right
now if they had the sports nights people in this.
That's the problem.
That's totally.
Who's throwing it on that sports science?
So I think it was a Jonas Siegel from the athletic, noted that they had made some cuts in their sports science area,
which is, in theory, supposed to lower your injury risk.
You're able to better see fatigue approaching, make sure timelines are appropriate.
It's been very wishy-washy on some of these injuries this year.
Vague timelines to Lars, Tanna, but this might all just be a coincidence.
But they get the guns today.
Tomorrow we'll find a new victim, right?
Do you think they are good enough, though?
Like you're saying that it's in that room?
I mean, it's hard because they are beat to piss.
So it's like, well, is Tanna playing?
Has he ever playing?
I don't know.
It's hard.
Yeah.
Well, it is tough.
I mean, what does have it mean?
When you look at the teams that do have it, you know, the Florida's and the
Caroladals and stuff, they have a bunch of dogs that want it so goddamn bad.
And they put that on the ice.
You can see that.
It's apparent with your eyes watching from your couch.
And this team, like when the rubber hits the road and you need them to do things that,
I mean, it's the national hockey league.
And that division is clogged up.
Everyone's fighting for their playoff lives.
And there's these huge games on the docket that everyone's anticipating and there's this
big buildup and you want to see this response.
And then out of the locker room comes, oh, it's just another game.
And, oh, I don't really notice what's going on.
Oh, is this?
Oh, is, is Marner back?
in town and are the Vegas Golden Knights Hero I didn't notice when everyone else has had it circled
since July on their calendar and they downplay it. Meanwhile, the other team and the other locker room is
going, we're going to win this one for the boys and we're ready to bear down. This is a huge one.
We've been looking forward to this. We want to come together as a team and give our best.
And they go out there and they shell the Leafs and they wonder why. And then you interview them
afterwards and the guys are like, oh, I thought it was pretty fun out there. It was a good
atmosphere. And yeah, I thought we played pretty good. I thought our team came out,
came out really well and had the good stuff
and they got shelled from start to finish.
It's just this head scratcher.
And you can see it in Craig Barube.
He's starting to get, you know,
visibly annoyed with this team saying,
I demand them to do this and I show them the formula
and tell them what it needs to look like.
And you can see it in their body language
and their facial expressions.
Do to do.
It's just kind of another day out there.
And like nobody gets pissed off.
No one gets mad.
No one thinks to go to run anyone or fucking hit anyone
or cause a scrum or challenge.
anyone or call on a bench or heaven forbid fight anybody there's none of that going on it's so flat
and uninspiring and i imagine craig broubae who they brought in to get some of that going because it's
where they've fallen short every year in the playoffs they can dipsy doodle and get their extra points and
their empty netters in the regular season rack up some points and look pretty good but when it's
fucking hard and it's the playoffs and you're playing a gritty team they are never anywhere to be found
and that's why you brought craig broube and to get that and that's what he's been asking for and it's
just never there and it's so frustrating and people think if you retool and move Joshua and
Bobby McMahon and move this guy and all these perimeter pieces around it's going to be this
different team and I just can't help but see the common denominator with the last 10 years and
it's it's kind of the studs in the leadership group who just aren't there when you need them.
The memes are meming and that's what happens when you're in a big market and people care and you don't
meet expectations and I thought this one was pretty accurate about where the Leafs are at right now.
scared.
Look at that score.
Honestly, I don't know
what Craig's doing at the gym.
I'll walk around and pretend to work
out and stuff when I go to the gym.
Jay,
we got a decent explanation
of what the hell happened. This guy should be in a
hospital, not coaching this team
of wimps.
It feels like that sometimes at
night when my phone falls on my face,
but in reality,
how do you cut yourself from
eyebrow to eyebrow,
on a round forehead dropping something like some kind of everyone like he was all shady about it too
like that's all I'll say and I don't want to go into it any further everyone's like what like why not
just say you dropped a dumbbell or a plate on your head or something he didn't but I cannot think
of anything that would cause that kind of damage besides being in the gym and dropping something
heavy directly on your head but what a scar he looks like he's ready for battle a lot more than
the players on his own little that much I feel for berube because like we know the type of players
and you would have played against him, Rhett.
But like, I don't know that there's a coach that has a way they want to play and a team that's further away from that than what he's got.
Yeah, from where I'm sitting, you're bang on with that.
It's like, there's no way this is what Perubi is trying to.
He's like, get me a set of skates.
Like, I will go rough someone up in a show.
Yeah.
I feel like he's done a good job of actually maintaining his composure and not just selling these guys out.
Yeah.
You could go a lot harder on him.
He's thrown a couple digs.
He mentioned the goalies last interviews.
they've got to be better, their D's got to be better.
But like there is a 10 game strip there, which, you know, we thought that they had found
the formula or whatever and they were put in the beginning of this.
Yeah, it's the premature wee baculation is what it is in Toronto when they, when they show
a little something.
But it, it was it.
It was 10 games and consistently playing.
I mean, you know, they beat the Colorado Avalanche and they're playing the Florida Panthers.
And they're leading the charge and they are dictating.
the play and they have momentum, you know, halfway through the game, so the Florida
Panthers are going to say, what are you going to do against the Leafs when that's happening?
Let's run them out of the fucking building.
And they tried.
And the Leafs responded, like, domi's fighting and Nick Waas crushing people and every, they
just got on their toes, furled their brow and said, no, and just completely played the Florida
Panthers style of hockey and put them right back on their heels.
And then they were just ejected and they smashed them.
And everyone's like, oh, my God, that's what we've been dying for.
Like we have the skill, we can put the fuck in the net.
We've got some goaltenders that are capable of playing well.
If you have that mentality, that's what they tried to retool in the offseason is play more like that.
It leads to wins.
It leads to, you know, having the momentum and controlling the game and coming together as a team and getting chemistry going.
And they were doing it.
And then inevitably, you know, they come off that road trip, come back home.
You got a five game home stand.
You try to get yourself in a position.
where you're close to the playoffs and you can go into this three week break and everyone can heal up
and they just drop the ball and lose every goddamn one of them season up in smoke.
So was it a complete 180 from what they were playing?
Because he said, it was like, okay, here they come.
They're playing well.
I don't watch them directly, but you're like, no, Florida tried to flex and they're like, no, we're here.
We're ready.
We're going to take you on this time.
Yeah, I mean, it turns out to be just a blip on the radar.
It's, they had it and you ask for it and it's just, the mentality of the guys, you know, it just pisses people off.
The stuff they say before they downplay all the big games, they don't address the fact when they play like garbage,
they like try to say that they were pretty good and they were close.
They walk into the rink with all their goofy shit.
It's like they prepare for their goddamn outfits more than they do for the game on game days.
And you got Willie Nealander laughing.
You're season slipping away in front of you.
You're not playing.
You're like nursing, whatever and waiting for the Olympics, I guess.
I mean, that's going to be a story.
He's going to play one game and then go to the Olympics probably.
And you decide to nudge your buddies like you're 12 years old on the playground.
Hey, boys, watch this.
And then finger a national broadcast for the kids next generation game.
Like, what the hell is going on with the leadership of this group?
It's the question that I have.
And I get torched when I mention it because apparently these guys are,
untouchable and you can't even question the idea of
shopping them, getting it on the people. You know who's untouchable?
Wendell Clark and Doug Gilmore.
They're untouchable in leaf royalty.
And they don't have that, man. I don't know why these guys are so untouchable.
Leave honk idiots that say these guys can't be touched and they're special.
No way.
Wendell Clark was special.
Doug and Gilmore was special.
Kurt fucking Mueller was special.
because they went their asses off for the team
and we're proud to be leapsed.
From where I sit,
it doesn't add up.
These guys are spoiled brats.
It's like it's a chore.
It's like it's a chore playing in that market
and it's supposed to be a privilege.
And like to win in that market would just,
it would be like nothing.
I hate Darcy Tucker's royalty
compared to you lazy pricks.
He's like my favorite player.
Those guys didn't win screw all either,
but they're on legend row and their royals.
And the son Dean, be a wallflower or cater?
No.
We're yelling over each other.
The crazy thing is this group has, you know, the firepower and the talent,
and they've done the drafting, and they've put this core together.
And it's like they've been stroked so hard that they don't think they need to do anything else.
It's like the typical new generation of, well, mommy says that my, I'm the best player out there.
So everything's just going to happen for me.
And they want it handed to them.
And that's just, it seems to be their mentality.
like there's none of that haybail throwing farmer kid from Saskatchewan in these guys who's like who's pushing us around and what are we going through right now and we're what's happening here fuck that i'm going to change that right now get on the train we're going and you start playing that way of all the guys that you just mentioned you would have had a chance to win a stanley cup now 10 years have gone by everything's fractured everything's in disarray i don't even know what they're going to do to try to fix it they're just between a rock and a hard place and i i just i can't help but voice my opinion
that the problem is the mentality of the leadership.
Like when it gets hard,
they're just looking around going,
holy,
is anyone going to do anything here?
And you're the guy that needs to do it.
It's,
looking for somebody else.
100%.
And I'm not saying trade all those guys.
It's going to be so hard to win that trade.
But I think that.
No,
is it though?
You're missing the playoffs.
You're going to miss the playoffs.
It's the same as we get sold here.
Well, we're really good.
It's like, you just missed the playoffs.
Well, we don't want to do a rebuild.
Well,
You've four in a row.
The playoffs for three.
And it's going to be four this year.
What you're telling me and what's happening are completely different things.
So, yeah, you can't win the trade.
But what do you mean win the trade?
You have one.
The Sabres have more playoff series wins.
Yeah, then the times here in the last 20 years.
And I mean, if you wait and you do what they're doing and you wait, like, okay, then, you know, Matthew has two years left on his contract.
Okay, wait, wait, wait, and don't address.
this elephant in the room.
Then it controls and screws you.
Lose them for nothing.
Then you want to see some major problems.
Your cupboards are empty as they are.
It's a top spot they're in.
And the hardest part is what Rosie said at the beginning.
Because they have had stretches where you're like,
there it is.
And that's almost more indicting because it's not like you're watching
the Vancouver because where you're like,
okay, they're just coach killers.
And it's so to know that they have it in them and that
it feels like they're choosing not to do it as often as they should.
Is that overstating?
do you know it's not it's uh and everyone gets on the market and the fan base and whatever of
of the tronal maple leaves but if you go out and then you you have a bit of darcy tucker in you
you're like no one's ever going to be wendell clark again but if you play with that jam and leave it
all out there and come up short the crowd will be on their feet clapping and saying fuck are we
proud of the boys but they haven't had that in 10 years it's always like yeah everyone's telling
us we're good and we have these trophies personally and everything but like think of the
playoff losses they've had that are not just like,
oh shit,
we lost,
they're embarrassing.
They're getting looted off the ice on times where you need to show up.
And they just don't have that sand.
And it's character to me.
It's the character that they're lacking.
So there's one person that needs to reach down and give them a pole and a squeeze and a tug,
and that's for living then.
And can you do it?
If they let them.
Would you even be allowed to do it?
Like Keith Pelley comes in and he says,
you know, being good's fine.
We're about winning. It's banners.
This is about championships.
When you say that, that puts
Keith Pelly, the man who said it, in a
spot where it's like, is this acceptable?
Is there a quick fix here? Or is
it like, I'm not going to let a person
I'm not bringing back next year to
start the sales process. Or maybe he is bringing
Is there one star on that team
that you
couldn't or wouldn't trade?
Or would want to build around?
Well, I've put out there yesterday.
that I think everyone should be on the table
and they should voice that.
And people, some people went,
some people completely agree,
but some people go nuts.
But, you know,
Neelander's a really good player, obviously,
and so is Matthews,
but like, why, does everyone forget
about the beginning of the season
where it was two and a half months
and they're like nowhere to be found?
Like, this inconsistency and inability to play
your best and your hardest,
like, I don't know,
like there's that meme or jiff or whatever of Matthews
in that in that Montreal series
where they're trying to rough them up and he's he's
standing there like a raggedy and all getting ragdolled around he's
looking at the ref smiling going what is this it's like
no one's ever won a cup with that mentality it's always the guy
doing the ragdolling and saying
I'm gonna I'm showing that I'm pissed off I'm showing
that this isn't acceptable and they just always accept
things and like Neelander missed whatever it was like a game
six playoff game with migraines
and I know migraines are serious but like he just doesn't
play the last couple of games of a series or something.
Then they got a TV crew and all his buddies in his
apartment and he's smiling and laughing and sitting laying around
and watching the game with all the lights on him and the cameras
and shit. It's just like, who else would do that?
Nobody else would do that. He's been praised
for not letting the pressure get to him.
And I've always been like, F that. He's never
stepped up to do any, like.
He's probably been the best of that group in terms of
forming in the lights. But then to Jay's point, when you need him,
it's like, yeah, I'm out. It's like, well, Wendell
be playing with a broken arm, you know, right?
Yeah, and we don't have to compare.
I just, it's always easy sitting in these chairs to say, do something.
And we're just fans at this point, but we have a microphone and people listen.
And I'm sure it's way tougher when you're the guy on the other end of the phone trying to make these deals
and trying to answer to your boss and the ownership, the ownership, he's got to move them all.
reset this
honestly
and all he did
was surround these guys
with grit red
like you look at all the moves
they've made
it's been like
Lawton you're like
there's a character guy
but they don't even look
like a tight knit group
like to that again
they're supplementing around these stars
that aren't tough enough
like these guys are living and dying together
and hanging out all the time
and
I don't get that feeling
I don't either
like the tightest teams
that I've been on, they have a bunch of guys cut
from the same cloth who are on the
same page. And like,
you know, Willie's got a YouTube channel
and they're wearing $10,000
jeans and they got earrings
and chains and purses and shit.
Like, is that really going to get
a fucking locker room to go to war
together? Like, I don't see it.
And it's like, it's to your
point about tree living, like, that's why we're
waiting for MLSE to speak. Are they going to let him
have the reins for whatever needs to be done
here? Or are they going to make a move? I mean,
people are pretty pissed off about the Brandon Carlo trade.
You know, you give up a first rounder and a mint,
and every guy we ever give up from Toronto turns into a, you know,
a star ahead of schedule.
And minton looks great in Boston and they're ahead of us taking our playoff spot probably.
And that might be too much to handle.
You might have to burn them down because you lost that trade.
But everyone was happy with it when they made the trade.
Their teams leading the division.
We're going to the playoffs.
Everyone thought they're different.
And we need this piece.
We need this D-Man.
We need this guy, this big.
right-handed defensemen to move the puck and play strong and have some experience
and you get him in there and he just doesn't make a difference.
And now you're down a first rounder in one of your prospects.
People are thinking that's going to be enough to have him lose his job right there.
But I don't know where their heads out of it.
And you had the Panthers on the ropes in the play.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
And you pissed your pants.
But that's why it's a seven-game series because you go to war and the men are always
going to win that series.
And yeah, the boys took control of it early.
Panthers woke up.
Sorry, boys, it's a seven game series.
They look like children in game five and seven
and predictably lost it in embarrassing fashion.
You know you did have them on the ropes.
Yeah.
It's not a quick fix.
We're piling on pretty good,
and it's easier when it's that loud mark,
and it's easier when the stars have big personalities
and make huge salaries.
I'll say this.
I don't care if you have a noseering, a purse,
and a necklace if you pay it like Matthew Cuck.
Go get it.
I agree.
It just seems to bug you more when,
there seems to be this apathy, right?
Yeah, and when they're soft, and then you, that just leaves you open to that.
Like, I don't, whatever, the dress code and all that stuff, I'm an old guy.
It's, I'm not up with the times and the fashion and all that.
But, like, I can't imagine playing in that market and showing up looking like Justin Bieber
and then putting all that shit back on and walking out of the rink past the fans and stuff
and, like, and feeling like you can hold your head high.
I just can't believe this season the amount of times that it was time to say enough of all the
bullshit. Let's go out there and do what
needs to be done. And they just don't, it's, it's like
that doesn't even cross their minds.
You want to flabbering. You want to make a
statement, you're Austin Matthews. You go to the
rink today and say, I've fucking got
this. It's all work.
I don't need the media to tell us how to do it. I've been
around long enough. And that
never comes. And that ain't
going to happen. No. It
doesn't. And it's frustrating because I'm not, I
just, I know he's a good player and those
don't come around all the time. He's got like three
Rock of a Shards in a Hart trophy for a
reason he's capable of playing like really well to have to have the right guys around him to do it and if he's
not the right guy like there's that's kind of the thing that's our captains that need 100% support from
the other guys to lead because some guys don't have it they're a figurehead and on the other hand you can
put the co they've had different coaches they've had different general managers they've put the pieces
all these different types of pieces around these guys and it's the same thing because at the end of the
day, you can build a car that looks nice and has all the pieces. But if your engine doesn't do it,
it's the thing's just not going to perform. And the engine on this team for the past 10 years has,
there's a theme that's clearly emerged. And some people are unwilling to, to see it that way.
And I just don't know how many times you can look at these seasons capped off with this one and not see
a common denominator here. I'm excited for the next least game. What are they playing, Jack?
They got Seattle tonight. So Seattle tonight. How? How do you have a lot of them?
the sabres look just quickly the other day.
Barnstormed though, right? They looked good, man.
They looked like they got a bunch of wagons.
It makes you question why they couldn't put it together earlier.
Obviously, all these picks they've had are developed and there's a bunch of monsters and
they're switch hitting it line by line.
I mean, Dahlene had the game of his life probably, but there's like three or four guys who
on any given night can just take over a hockey game and they seem to have, you know, the
environment now, all the negativity.
They're starting to get success.
And I think that's all that they needed to take off.
But they look like a team that you're going to have to address here this year.
And in the future, and you look at Montreal Canadians, like I've been saying for a couple of years,
that team is coming, Matt.
That team is coming.
And they are coming.
And now this division is flipped on its head.
And, you know, Tampa is looking hot as ever.
And I don't know what's going on with Florida.
But now you're talking, now you're having to deal with the Detroit Red Wings and the Buffalo Sabres and the Montreal Canadiens too.
And the sands if they could get a goaltender, then.
What's funny is after their win last night, everything on TV,
the Sends are talking about,
oh, they could, if they could play like 640 hockey,
I mean, they could sneak in.
They have the exact same record as the Leafs.
It is funny.
James Reimers are starter.
Anyone can make it.
If you go 900 hockey the rest of the way,
you're going to give yourself a chance.
I know.
I'll play the scene, man.
It's shitty, man.
I know you guys have been doing it with some teams that don't have a big hope,
but it's no fun, man.
People get on us, too, saying, oh, you guys love this shit.
You tear the team apart.
for clicks. And I hate it. I hate being negative. I love the, the buzz of playoffs and
thinking about who we're going to play and what the opponent's going to be and who do we
rest down the stretch. And all that stuff is so much funner than whatever this is. I think
the next couple months are going to be a nightmare. Let's get into more positive topics.
How's kid hockey going? What's the story in old? How are the boys?
Oh, kid hockey's going. It's, uh, oh, we had some fireworks on the bench. This guy came from,
I don't know what team he was on.
He has a skullet, like purely
bowled all around and then down
to about his shoulder blades with the skullet and he's
MFing these two girl refs that are about 14 year olds.
He's motherfucking them. He's yelling over at our bench.
He caused a kerfuffle in the handshake line.
So when you talk about the National League and everything,
and then you go down to like U-13 and see how fire people get up,
this game just never seems to bring the passion out of it.
See, that guy needs to, they got to draft him.
Yeah, bring him in.
He could use him.
Get a guy with a skull.
Go get to that.
Their ally Afrady to mix shit up.
Let's go.
It's hard to find these days, I guess.
Thanks for joining us.
I know that you needed to get some stuff off your chest.
It's not like you talk about you for a day every day.
Yeah, we've got to rely on each other for stuff because we've had a very slow week.
It's like, oh, my God.
Red turned 50 on Tuesday.
This is the poker tournament this week.
The fellas are gray clouds this week.
We appreciate the ray of sunshine.
That's always you talking about the week.
Yeah, sorry to contribute to it.
You guys are good at plowing through that stuff.
Lots of talk about.
Next time I come on, there'll be some positives maybe.
I don't see how or where, but I like me positive.
More than I like being negative.
I know that.
It doesn't seem like it sometimes.
Positively, one of our favorite guests on the show.
Thank you.
God love you, Rose.
Thanks, boys.
Enjoy yourselves.
