Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Jerry Jones Debate - Should An Owner EVER Be The GM?? | BB Clips
Episode Date: October 1, 2025VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/Di4S9V3HhUQBoomer, Pinder & Rhett go head-to-head over Jerry Jones, the Cowboys owner who also calls the shots as GM. Is he killing it, totally out of his depth, or ju...st… meh? Pinder thinks an owner should never try to do both, but can Jones really handle the pressure of running the team and making the big football decisions at the same time? The debate gets heated—who’s right?#dallascowboys #cowboys #cowboysnation #nfl #nflfootball #nflshorts CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER BLONDE https://originbrewing.myshopify.comFLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
That's why the Cowboys aren't good because Jerry's playing fantasy football.
He's not actually building defenses and no lines and things anymore.
They look so good though the other night.
Did they?
Yeah.
So good.
One,
all of us decide that the owner of the team that's been around it and has been involved.
We're way smart.
Yeah, that's gone.
You're an idiot.
Ten times up in value and is still one of the ones.
Oh, he's very good at making money.
No one's to debate that.
But, I mean, if you want to recount.
How many teams?
Okay, but okay, then smart ass.
How many other teams have won the Super Bowl?
in the last 20 years.
He's at zero.
He's tied with a lot of teams.
So.
In the last 15 years.
Well, I would say since he took over ownership.
Oh, yeah.
He had some sex in the early,
mid-90s there.
Yeah.
Yeah.
No,
he's the only owner and pro sport that I know is the GM.
And that's just really unusual.
Is his team that worse off because of it?
And I don't,
I'm not on Jerry's side and I don't like the Cowboys.
But if you look at, yeah, like the bill,
how the bill's done in the last 30.
Quite a bit better than the Cowlors.
Well, they haven't.
I'll get 30.
But I mean,
recent.
That right now they are.
Like,
what are you talking?
The last decade,
they've been worlds better.
And because of,
because the owner's not pretending to be a GM.
Yeah.
So you don't think,
just to be clear,
that the owner of a pro sports team
in his 70s being the GM is a weird look.
Like,
that isn't unique to you?
Who cares if it's a weird look?
The guy's been around the game forever.
It's not a complete clown.
Like, yes,
it comes across his clown because he's the owner and you should air,
and he says weird shit.
and I, but you're making it seem like Jerry Jones on his own has dismantled a
a juggernaut franchise that should be guaranteed to win every year.
It's not the case.
It's a pretty good league.
And there are other teams trying to win.
Is he perfect?
No.
But how many other GMs have been ass hats themselves?
Like hiring someone doesn't make the,
the cowboys necessarily better.
No, I, I think it's, you've got a really good chance.
being better if you have a real GM that does that.
Why? Because there's all kinds of GMs
that haven't won. Right. And are
terrible. But not a lot of them started
with the Prescott, Lamb, and all that.
So I don't know. Like it's just... Yeah, but they had to get
press caught and lamb and all and do all these things.
So is he an asshole? Because he got them? Or he's...
I think he's a great owner, but I think owners
have huge demands on them. And I don't think you can be a
good GM with all the demands you already have as an owner.
Well, how much worse is he doing than other GMs?
Average it out. Yeah, I think...
Do they make a low-
playoffs not often okay to the cleveland browns do no Pittsburgh makes it I'm not saying they're the worst team in the NFL I'm saying Jerry's holding them back from being successful because an owner can't be a good GM in my mind and I might be wrong I just haven't seen it in the last half well nobody does it but you're you're making it's odd well it doesn't have good people around them but it's just it's a really weird look when no one else in pro sports does it like I'm trying to think of one team other people any of the pro sports and I can't think of one other things that's the thing that's they're
choice.
He can do what he wants.
It's clear.
He's the owner.
And again, I would say, well, if they're last place and everyone's making fun of them,
okay.
And it's,
you can pick on any GM that makes a move.
Yeah.
They lose in that deal.
Yeah.
And if Jerry hires GMs and they're not going to get to replace them.
The problem with Jerry, if he's not a good GM, he still stays GM.
The thing about it is, though, and I, like, I think it's somewhere in the middle.
I think maybe that Jerry has a little bit more, probably knows a little bit more about the game
then you're not that invested in the game like he is and not learn anything.
Yeah, like I don't think he treats it like,
I'm going to go in today and make some trades.
Like I think he is,
he loves football,
he loves the NFL,
he's very invested.
Are there people that would be better at it?
I don't think there's any doubt.
The other side of it,
I think,
is you can't be a meddling owner when you're driving the bus.
Like I wonder how many other teams would have a similar record
where the GM,
you've got to pass everything through the owner.
owner anyway. And then if the owner is given green lights or saying, no, I don't want to, don't, no, it doesn't
seem like a good deal. It's almost the same in a lot of ways. Yeah. The only difference is that I think
constraints on an owner are extremely high. You're running a business worth probably 10 to 15 billion
dollars. There's lots going on. I don't believe he can do the job to the level that you would want for a 10
billion dollar asset. There's no reason the Cowboys shouldn't have the best GM in football. They got all
the reason why does that even if you do what's a what's that get you
guarantee more wins in theory how different with the roster in theory how are you
how are you better than kansas city over the last five if if jerry's not i'm not saying
they're they're a jerry wouldn't be kansas city what i'm saying is that i don't believe
that they are going to be elite ever with the owner being the gm and i think that that's an
important distinction that the rest of pro sports has figured out now maybe i'll be wrong but
they've had a lot of weird interactions i just think it's easy to personnel moves and drafting
does he kill I get really high?
Like that's a really anticaly analytical poor move.
Jack, can you look up with the Cowboys
and how often they've made the playoffs
in the last 15 years? And it's more
curiosity and we like to argue and it's something
to talk about. But to just say that
Jerry Jones is the issue for the cow, okay,
that's easy. But we have to go down to the
other teams that have done what the Cowboys have
done and less. Yeah.
And they're not the worst. And they have GMs.
They're not the worst. So there's other
really shitty owners. You go to Cleveland and Cincinnati
and things. I'm not saying that everyone's perfect
and the Cowboys are bad. What I'm saying is
you know, if you go look at the preseason expectations for this club over the last 15 years,
they've almost never met them.
So who has?
And who cares?
Well, I think the owner would care.
No, but I'm saying, so you sit in a room and say, I think they should get 12 wins this year and they get 10.
Well, they didn't live up to expectations.
Well, not me.
I like the sports books.
They just hit the under every year.
I don't know.
I underperform.
And I'm not surprised.
Six times in the last 15 years.
That's pretty bad for the wealthiest team in the league.
What about the Bengals and Browns and Dolphins and Dolphins and.
That owner?
Oh, okay.
I'm not saying to the worst in the league.
Don't twist my argument.
I'm not saying they will not have elite general managing,
and that's going to keep you from playing.
They've been in the top third of the league ever, every year.
Yeah, and how many one playoff win the last 15 years, too?
Yeah, that's pretty.
But how many other teams, Ryan, you're just, you're, again,
you can admit, you can just say you're right and you kind of are,
but you're saying that because Jerry's running things,
they're terrible.
That's my take.
I don't say they're terrible.
I'm saying it's limiting their ability to be an elite team.
They won't win.
And they've won way more playoff games than half the league.
Not in the last 15 years, no.
Below average.
I would.
Yeah.
Two playoff wins in 15 years.
Well, I think, yeah, I think their thing is they get there and then they do shit themselves.
Okay, but still, two in 15, how many other teams are probably half a league?
Anyway, smart enough Jerry.
Jerry's got the boys rolling.
He's got the ones rolling.
There's nothing to see here.
I love a big tie in the weekend.
Ties are good.
Trade of that pro bowler and tie.
He showed him.
He gave up 40.
Still got a tie.
They know how to put up points, boy.
