Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Jonathan Huberdeau’s Calgary NIGHTMARE Keeps Getting Worse 😬 | BB Clips
Episode Date: February 4, 2026We head to Rhett’s whiteboard corner to break down a brutal turnover by Jonathan Huberdeau, who backhand-sauces the puck directly to the opposition — leading to a breakaway goal for the Toronto Ma...ple Leafs. After reviewing the play, the guys zoom out to a bigger-picture conversation on Huberdeau’s struggles with the Calgary Flames, including buyout speculation, confidence issues, and how dramatically things have gone sideways since arriving in Calgary. From costly mistakes to long-term roster implications, we dig into what comes next for Huberdeau and the Flames.Youtube Link: https://youtu.be/rc4mh27q9yA#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #calgaryflames #calgary CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
What do you do with the puck just inside your blue line, Red?
I like this backhand sauce.
Fuck around with it, yeah.
Try something that people wouldn't suspect.
As a former NHLer, you played in the Western League.
I sure did.
Now the hockey league.
And you've since you've been coaching boys of many age.
World Junior Star.
How to play the game.
I got told I was an idiot.
I think we need a white.
Have you ever, have you ever recommended the blind backhand sauce across the blue line?
It's a select few that I was.
I offer that advice too.
Do we see it? Do we have the job?
Post-Apex Todd Bertuzzi.
Love that one.
Jonathan Huberto got a knack for that
backhand sauce with the neutral zone.
Here's what it is. When you can't get there with your speed,
you try to adapt, and then you F up.
Right.
It's kind of like when Keenan started to sit mean,
I'm like, why would he sit me?
And it's because, well, you're not hitting anyone
and you can't skate with the puck.
So really, what are you doing out here?
Good in the room.
Huh.
Okay, so where is our boy?
They're still doing the lugs here.
Oh, it's 30 seconds.
Fresh start.
Fresh ice.
Yeah.
The fresh ice.
So, uh, Dr.
Wolf.
Okay, let's watch this.
Let her go, Jack.
Yeah.
Frosty.
Oh, no.
Okay, let's back that up.
Well, shit.
Stop the puck wolf.
Great seat for that.
Yeah.
Right there.
Yeah.
Okay.
So right there you're going the wrong way.
Definitely going the wrong way.
If he, if he had a white jersey on, it'd be like, oh, shit, they got numbers.
Yeah.
Well, you got to get yourself open, Dean.
maybe that's part of it.
Okay, just slowly.
You know what?
Here's the thing.
It's brilliant defense.
Yeah, you get four guys already.
What is what hell is you supposed to do with it?
I'm surrounded, Dean.
And I like knee-handed.
He's like, he's going to backhand sauce this.
I'm totally, this guy is.
I'm making a jail break here.
I bet I'd know it.
Oh, shit.
You know what?
You could laugh.
Well, I can't decide if you can laugh about it now because it happens a lot.
Or if you'd laugh about it.
it more if it happened.
I also wonder, I'm sorry, I know this is Warner's Whiteboard.
I wonder what's going through the D-pairings.
Don't, no, no, don't, no, don't, whatever you, you're not going to, you're not going to.
Eat it.
It's like, why are you facing me, by the way?
And.
Netsov, get your ass back.
What is Hugh be going to do here?
This guy had 150 points.
Don't worry, he's going to, oh, dear.
See you.
Locked it out of the air.
It's a good.
play but it's totally unnecessary on coozy like diving nearly gets the stick on it
think he's he kid and johnny says uh ooh zu to lor almost gets it there you're right
i actually think he got his like slowly i think he actually and it's screwed up wolf because
i'm not joking i feel like wolf brent kron in the shorzy game stopping this shot we got to give
some credit to like one of the top 10 scores in the last half decade shut up pinckon what out
Crona 20 minutes in the league.
Like 20, not 21, not nice.
20 minutes.
Like one year.
Cronner would have just windmill dead.
No problem.
He's the man that I can no longer speak of.
Tronnet.
It's all right.
He sent me a nice note.
Dave's all hammered at the poker tournament and trying to butter me up.
Yeah.
Well, he knows where his bread is butter.
He does.
Speaking of butter.
A lot of butter.
A lot of butters are.
Is it even a thing?
Sorry.
I know we're going to carry on with this, this.
this game and this storyline,
but it's not even a thing that Huberto
does that, because that's just...
That was the play where I noticed Hubertoe last night.
And that's a $10.5 million occupant.
The rest was just a guy.
It's honestly, we kind of talk about it bad.
It's a lot of that where it's...
Here comes, I can't, like you say, I'm not
going to be able to get there. So I have to
make a play with the puck.
And it's backhand sauces that are waist level.
Missing guys. Like, what am I doing with that?
thank you.
You may as well just dump it in the corner and change.
It's safer than what you're doing.
It is so bad and it's a conversation that we've seen coming for so long and it started
so poorly and then there was an eight year extension after that year.
Like it's just the difference between Calgary and Toronto is that this guy would be torn to shreds
and everyone would be calling him, you know, horrible things.
And here it's just we're pretending it's not happening.
We're pretending it's not happening.
I don't disagree.
but what would
in defense of us
if we were going to come on every day
and have the Hubert old blast
what would it accomplish?
Nothing.
Because we all know we're living with it.
I'm not accusing anyone
who can't do anything wrong.
I'm just saying like yelling at the guy's not going to fix it.
We know you're fucked for the next five years with this guy.
It's totally full of signing bonus money.
Is there any arguably an effective player?
We're screwed.
To buying out.
No.
What is the buyout?
Gwen.
Let's do the buyout.
You want to save $600,000 a year?
Let's do it.
But honestly, that's, eight years now or 10 years.
If it's a sunk cost.
So any signing bonus money cannot be bought out.
And we'll walk you through the signing bonus money
on this contract.
Because if you got relief from signing bonus money,
absolutely buy them up for sure.
Knock that cap it down from 10 to 3 and double the term.
But let's just, because I go through the process.
Yeah, I'll kind of buy some time
because I'm totally putting you on the spot here.
But I do see some people, it's another year in.
Does it make more sense now, even if you look beyond the cap?
Because you're without 10.5 million for the next five years.
It's just gone.
Sunk cost.
If you recoup any of it and don't have to put that guy in the ice.
Wow.
Is there any value to it?
You got to remember the double the term thing, right?
Right.
So you're married to this issue.
If it's five more years, now it's 10 if you buy them out.
And so I, like, are they going to be good between five and 10 years?
I fucking hope so.
Right? Like you almost want to just eat all the pain now so that when you're coming into the second and third contracts of good players that you're drafting high the next few years, then he's not on the books.
You don't need the cap space the next four or five years.
What kind of dude is he is he good in the room? Because if he's fine in the room and good with the young guys, you're not in a position where you need the 10 and a half.
So his signing bonus is $9.5 million, $9.5 million, $7 million, $9.5 million, $5 million, $5 million. So you could buy it the last year and it would help you. The rest is pretty much you're saving a few hundred grand. Yeah, not good at all. His base salary, $1 million, $1 million, $3.5.5.5. So the last year, why would you do that? Because it's a benefit for the player because he's getting...
Because Alan Walsh had Bradshaw living over a barrel and he did something emotional.
which is something we talk about GMs always
it's bad when you do that.
He wanted to prove someone with signing coverage.
I know.
So that's how you got it.
I understand that he,
this is a bad contract.
But what's the benefit to the player
from the signing bonus?
Instead of getting two thirds of the money
when the buy mode,
he's going to get all this money.
So maybe the last.
Is it just,
is that so it's not more as buyout proof.
Yeah.
That's all I'm asking.
No, sure.
I was trying to talk down to you at all.
I just think like,
we've called it biop proof
since the moment it was signed.
because it's the vast majority of this money is in bonuses,
which cannot be bought out.
See, I didn't know.
But there's a lot of players that have that kind of structure.
No.
Not to that extent.
There's maybe a dozen in the loop.
Luchich was the same thing when Edmondson signed him.
Which was one of the worst signs of all time.
I'm saying,
there's no one else that the flames have signed ever with anything similar.
But I think around the region,
it's one of one.
Do you think,
but I'm being serious.
Do you think Hubert O is having fun?
No,
I think he's putting on a brave face and trying to be a leader.
What I'm getting at is he's going to get older.
He's going to feel more removed from, but he's going to feel worse.
Well, I don't want to see finds the fountain of youth and rejuvenates.
I don't see that coming.
He's going to get hurt.
If there was ever a Robida Island, Carrey, Christ, Pavledad.
Like, yeah.
It's going to be one of those.
I got a bad back.
Oh, yeah, go see the doctor.
You got a bad back?
Yeah.
Was the doctor going to tell you got your back's not bad?
No.
Bad back.
I'm out.
So again, it's a little conspiracy theory, but if that were the case.
LTIR.
He's going to get his money.
But it's insured, so it's LTIR.
Who cares if it's insured?
Is an ownership.
What I mean is he's getting his money.
And you get the cap space.
But the team would get the cap space.
He's going to get his money no matter what because of the way the contract is structured,
blah, blah, blah.
It sounds like there's no real threat of him.
If he ever gets to a point where he's so frustrated with how he's playing and
then maybe that's the last year would be there'd be some savings from a biop and you're and there's
no rush to get there because we're i think you watched the game last thing they're not close they're
not i did any sort of no no um it's almost so they've got three years before they need that 10 and
a half and even then what's the cap probably 130 million are you are you paying the cap yeah like
what's interesting and i just want to
What's he on pace for?
He's less than 40 points.
Less than 40.
He has 24 points.
He has nine goals.
I thought we were high.
Less than 40.
Yeah, he's on pace to miss the 40.
You know what though?
He's got the break coming.
He's going to come back rejuvenated like the boom.
Like the boom cat.
