Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Last Chance in Winnipeg for the Flames | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: April 5, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Warrener Wednesday April 5th, 2023 - Rhett is LIVE in the Studio - Flames Blackhawks Loss- Game Day in Winnip...eg - The Pinder Report for Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Look at us.
There's red in front of the dome.
Scottsman's Hill, I believe.
Yeah, yeah.
And you and me sitting here in the Tower Chrysler Studios.
Tower Chrysler, Consumer's Choice Award winner.
Be a sad day over at Tower.
Be some whole soul surge.
He'll be...
Surge was wound up last night.
Yeah, he was texting me last night.
What are you talking about?
That just...
It's a big one.
Oh.
Just sets up the even greater Cinderella finish to the season.
Right.
Yeah.
Obviously.
Clearly.
fake being that positive.
He was fond of you.
Everyone is.
Like, Redd seems like a good guy.
It's great in the room.
Great on the ice.
Hall of Fame career over there.
A freaking great guy. Idea guy.
You're shocked by this wise.
I know. Long arms.
Well, here we are
in the Tower Chrysor Studios.
Consumer Choice Award winner,
Calgary's favorite Chrysard Dodge
Ram dealer.
and I was it was kind of the first thing that went through my head.
Well, there were a number of things that went through my head last night as we watched.
We're going to probably talk about the hockey game.
I did see you tweet the word,
Goosh.
Yeah, it was.
And I didn't need to any, I knew exactly what that was and why you tweeted it,
even though I didn't see it at the time.
I was like, oh, that was then.
Yeah, I know when that tweet came out.
Goosh.
So I was a little, because I started up a little late and then caught up.
And, yeah, Goosh.
And Earmuffs kids.
All that just went, just like,
You fucking guys.
You fucking guys.
Hey?
Yeah.
There's a bunch that was right out of their playbook this year.
We've seen that script unfold six to eight times.
That's not new.
It wasn't a one-off.
And it was part of a really disgusting pattern that this team's had all year.
I want to know where their flights are booked for.
Yeah.
Because they're excited for it.
This must be one hell of a deal.
And they've got it's penciled in and they're ready to go.
The bags are.
You know what?
No cancellation.
That's right.
They,
there's,
you can pay less,
you're paying regardless,
whether they go or not.
So that's expensive.
They've got better things to do.
That's for sure.
Yeah.
Flames lose again,
this time to the Chicago Blackhawks again.
But they're nine,
four,
and two in their last 15,
right?
They're the best.
Yeah.
And it was guaranteed win night.
It was.
Did you say wing night?
Because I heard you say win,
and I'm like,
they haven't beat Chicago this year.
He must be talking about wing night.
Yeah, because Tuesdays, some places they do wing night,
other than it's Wednesdays, guaranteed wing night.
I would have preferred to go for wings and watch that shit.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
That's an easy trade.
Now knowing what it looks like, yeah.
Yeah.
One of a possible six points on the season?
That's correct, yeah.
Yeah.
Now, those five points they left on the table,
do you think at the end of the year those would feel like lost opportunity
or maybe, oh, geez, if we could do that,
Yeah, and don't get greedy.
Maybe five or four.
Maybe not you're getting all five, but even three.
Yeah.
Another three right now would feel a lot different.
So I watched the game, and I watched on, I watched social media and the Twitter and all
that to get, to get the vibe.
But to really get an understanding of what was happening there, you see it if you're
watching on the YouTube.
Hey, outshot them, though.
Outshot them.
They were so good, yeah.
Yeah. Just bad luck, I guess.
I mean, we're being very smarmy and cheeky right now,
but the flames lose their biggest game of the season.
It was a had to have.
Math is one thing.
It feels like realism and the real world is another.
You're going to go into Winnipeg and win tonight.
And that's the thing with this team, and like you say, very flamesy.
They may, sure, go ahead and win.
But then, you know, you're just, at every turn when you think that you've maybe figured
them out a little bit.
They throw you one of these.
That Anaheim game was a big one after they'd won those two.
They win in Dallas.
What was it?
Minnesota Wild, they win that game.
Back to back on the road.
Then you come home and you lose to Anaheim.
Gross.
And we said it yesterday, there was two things at play.
Are you a good team and trying to make the playoffs?
And are they a good team?
That's one thing you can feel a certain way about it.
But right now you're trying to make the playoffs.
We're less concerned about that.
Do you have issues?
Yes, you do.
No style points.
By all means do that.
But just win.
However, you know, by, whatever, by hooker by crook.
You say that?
Is it?
Something like that, yeah.
Are the crooks and hooks mad at us these days if we see that?
But at the same time, it's such, well, Vancouver, who does have, I believe, still more
wins than the flames.
Well, not a very good team, and you did beat them, but boy, it was close.
And then you look at the games against Anaheim and these other, well, you win.
I don't really have a problem with the Vancouver one.
Vancouver had an effort.
Ugly.
And Vancouver's ugly.
And Vancouver's been on a nice role with Tauket.
They got their number one goalie back finally.
I really had it.
Sunday was a bad performance.
No style points, but they do find a way to come back.
You know, all you needed was Luchich and Stone to score in the third to get two points.
I told you guys.
I said that.
And it was, you know, you get your fourth line, a D-Men all over the place,
scoring goals.
Anywho.
And help with that.
If you really want a pulse of what's going on,
you go to afterburn.
Okay.
You go to After Burner and to find out what the people, what the, what the people are thinking,
because he's the common man.
He's the every man.
He's the every man.
He's Red Warner. He played in the National Hockey League, but you know what? He's just like you and me.
And here's a little collection of some of the emotions and reactions from Rhett Warner shortly after the 4-3 defeat.
No. I think they were just hush-shirt.
tired. If you can't get more than one
point against the 32nd
place team, this is what you deserve.
Richie was harsh shit tonight.
Coddrew was brutally. Maybe his worst game
to fly. If that's what you
get out of your big
offseason signing,
that's what you get into big games.
Done. That one
in the corner and the first
he gave up was, ah,
I've seen my, I got a
kids hockey. I've seen
braver kids. I'm sorry. I'm
so sick of watching the defenseman on a two on one first of all don't give up the two on one yes
i'm guarantee you every time there's a two on one and the puck goes across this in front of the
d and then back it goes in the net do you ever practice a two on one ever oh geez i wonder what
i'm supposed to do here the other thing slow they'll say oh we're tired and no you're slow the coach
with the season on the line.
Ten games, ten minutes left in a third.
He's just rolling lines.
Let's roll up.
What are you talking about, Darrell?
If you, so this is my response to that is,
Darrell can do those things.
If you got the guns to do it,
if you have the lineup to do it,
you can't coach a certain group of players.
It's the same way you coach another group of players.
They're different.
Dysfunctional.
I'm back to dysfunction.
That's what we talked about weeks ago,
and that's what this is.
And I just ran out of time.
Oh, there's lots more.
I wrong.
I ran out of gas.
We had to start the show.
This is good.
Rec came in this morning.
He's like,
I meant to call you last night.
I wanted to apologize.
I kind of hit a wall late.
I'm like, dude,
who had 50 minutes,
and you left it all out there
in the first three rounds.
Don't worry about it.
Like, you were ahead on all the judges' cards.
I'm not worried if you slowed down a little on the 12th round.
You destroyed it.
You know what?
You're a drag racer.
You're not an endurance racer.
It's a quarter mile run for you.
And you ran hot last night.
He's like watching Zadora of in the top four.
I mean, it's like these guys are losers.
They're in, it's only seven games.
God damn these idiots.
It's a ride.
I love it.
I'm being a fan.
Yeah.
And back.
Dysfunctional.
I sat there and we've talked about it.
And I know you guys talked about it.
on an afterburner. And again, if you haven't seen afterburner, you got to.
It's, we do it after every, every game during the week so that you've got fresh content for
your drive to work. It's cathartic last night. If you want to lie down on the couch and hear people
scream and yell about all the dumb things this organization does, it's a really good one.
Yeah. But as I watched that game last night, and you guys talked about it, and we can hear too,
about who is going to pull you out of this? On this team?
Who last night, down by a goal, third period, okay, who's stepping up right now?
Who is it going to be?
And you guys talked about how there isn't a captain.
And then having the letter is one thing, but being a leader is another.
It is telling that there isn't a captain on this team for two, three years.
And who was going to do it?
It was going to maybe be to Foley because he's been hot.
But outside of that, did you have really any faith that somebody was going to
grab that game by the balls and say,
fucking come with me, guys.
I got this.
Let's go.
So here's what I was,
last night wasn't the game I was
going to need that guy to grab hold of it.
It should have been a group affair where we're just,
we'll outplay the piss out of this AHL team.
We're going to get the puck, get the face off,
it's going in their end and it's not leaving.
Until we score and then we drop it and go do it again.
Like the team we're playing against isn't good enough
to be on the ice with us or shouldn't be.
So it was tonight's game
where I would be looking for that guy to go,
all right, big game, big moments,
Nidja, who's doing it?
Like if you think about Jerome and his prime,
tonight's the night,
that guy makes the play to win a game.
You're down one in the 30 ties it.
It's a tied game late scores.
Like the shift against Vancouver in round 1 in 04,
like your superstar,
your future Hall of Famers,
your captains, your best players,
tonight's night.
Last night, all of them match up across from the Chicago roster,
and you're better than the guy across from you.
Your whole top line's better, your whole second line's better,
all the way through to your backup goal.
You're better at every position, and you got outplayed.
But to answer your question, no one.
You're right.
Tofoli, you might say it,
but Tofoli, to me, is not a captain-type material.
He's doing exactly what he's supposed to do,
and we appreciate the effort.
He's at a great year.
Love it.
But I don't look to him as a captain-type of guy.
No, and we talked about it last night.
Cana's a leader, but it's like, how does a defensive defenseman grab a game by the horns?
It's tougher, right?
So I just, I don't think there's anyone.
And the guys that you might think, Backland doesn't rise up.
A tough game last night.
He's a frustrating guy because I've been hard on him his whole career.
Then he plays 900 games and he turns into way better a player than I ever imagined.
But he still leaves me wanting where it's like, last night is a situation where if you want it,
etch your name in flames history, do it tonight or last night and go score to when the team needs you.
He's been their second best four, but tonight was last night was not a good one for him.
But that's my point about Michael is that he doesn't ever in those big games.
He played great against Edmonton last year.
He was probably the best player, but it's still, it's he just, it's like he's right there,
but he doesn't know how to take it over the top.
And I think what you're saying about Backland, we can say about, okay, well, Lindholm could be a captain.
could be a captain. Caudier could be a captain. That's got quiet the second half of the year.
Or maybe Backland could be a captain. All these guys are candidates only because, to our point last night, Dino, you don't have one.
You don't have one. Yeah. And I mean, that's, that's, that's the point. That's, it's how you ended up where you are. And you think about this, this isn't the first big game. And it's part of this whole dysfunctional thing. And you guys talked to it on a very kind of a macro level from ownership, from
you came to Calgary, take a look over the course of time.
How much success has there been?
If Kipersoff doesn't play his balls off in 2004, how far does that team go?
And that's part of it.
You're a goalie.
You're on the roster.
You're on the payroll.
You're part of it.
Yeah, and teams get lucky in transactions, but it's too much.
But at the same time, that was...
It's not a plan.
You didn't get back there the year after or the year after or the year after.
It was a anomaly.
It was a one-off.
Yeah, it was.
And how many times have we sat, not just like not in this room, but
either collectively doing a broadcast or just shooting the shit.
Who was the good player in this playoff series or in this high pressure moment?
And you finally, you finally come up with maybe one or two.
It's Jerome and nobody seen so.
In this round, maybe Sam Bennett was their best guy.
You go to like, maybe Michael Backland, but you always go to their core guys.
And eight, nine times out of ten, it feels like he wasn't very good, he wasn't very good, and he wasn't very good.
And you know what?
This team could sneak in.
we've kind of limped along on this, well, maybe if you get in, you can make some noise.
Like, bullshit.
They've had opportunities to win big hockey games and have just absolutely stepped on it every single time.
And it's just the only reason they'd have a chance of the playoffs is because that's the tournament.
It's not because they're good.
It's because anyone's goalie can turn into 940 for two weeks and that's the sport.
But they're not better than any team they'd line up against.
And I hear you and there's no way to predict it.
No one saw Montreal doing what they did.
Totally. I can sit here and confidently without any ability to prove it to you,
this team's not going to do that.
Yeah, just like we felt a little much of them.
Watched them last night when you say that they're obviously better than the Hawks.
The Hawks with 32nd.
Tied now because the Flames screwed them over and gave them to them.
Three-way tie for last.
The Flames didn't have more speed than the Hawks.
No.
They are slowish.
They are so slow compared to other teams in the NHL.
and there's no change from the top line down to the bottom line.
What's more dynamic about the top line than the bottom line?
Oh.
There are a group of players that go out.
Last year, the other teams would look at the top line and say,
oh, shit.
If we can shut down that line, well, then we got a chance.
Now it's, I don't know that we need to focus on anybody because it's,
there's no goal.
Tafoli is I guess the only guy,
but really,
to fully on a,
put Tofoli on any of the other,
what we consider to be elite
to very good teams.
He's a nice secondary piece, right?
He's very much a secondary piece, right?
Like, he's a second, third line guy,
and he's great to have and all of that.
But look, you could put him on McDavid's wing.
He can be a top line guy.
But the point being is,
your scoring winger in your top six
can't be your best guy.
You need your centers.
You need, you know, a captain type.
You need something that looks like a superstar.
that's what they were supposed to be getting in Eubrido.
Like down the middle was supposed to be the strength of this team.
You were pumped about the centerman down the middle.
And like their best center has been their third line center and backlit.
Cadry's had a miserable second half.
Cadry's had a terrible second half.
And you know what?
And Lynn Holmes's been just okay.
Like not bad, but certainly not like...
Not noticeable enough.
And to be fair, there were a lot of people saying this is the captain.
I think he's proved he isn't.
When you...
Because you talk about Cadry and he signed the deal and all of that.
You go back to the offseason, and it wasn't necessarily adding Nossum-Codry.
It was, what's our depth down the middle going to be?
It's going to put Backland in a position to be that third line guy.
When you can go Lindholm, Cadry, Backland, and then whatever it...
That sounds awesome.
It still sounds awesome.
If they're playing well, it is awesome.
It sounds wicked.
You look at it, go, yes, that is a solid, solid group of centers.
And you add that to a decor that could have been...
included Shillington and you looked at the guy that was second in Vesna votes last year and you're like,
this is a team that is built to play in division against McDavid. You're deep down the middle, you got a really
good blue line, you get good goaltending. The problem is the two centers, one's been okay, one's been
shitty. Your third guy's been your best center. The fourth line center should be in the rafters half the time,
but the coach is in love with them. You're not getting any speed or skill there. It's Plumbersville,
instead of seeing some kids. Your blue line's been hurt with injury. You haven't got a single game from
Shillington. It was a slow start for
McKenzie Wigger and your goaltending has been shitty.
Five on five, you have bottom 10 goaltending.
All your strengths weren't.
And you lost two 100 point guys.
You thought you replaced them with at least one.
Yeah.
And he got you 50.
Gross.
And even like circling back to your point about the playoffs and
big money performers.
It's good as that top line was all those guys have had bad playoffs.
And that, because that was the original point.
Geo had bad playoffs.
When do you remember being like that guy's got like he's got balls?
I thought Matthew Kachuk had an awful postseason last year.
The one game he lit it up was a 9-6 exhibition field game one
against the Battle of Obes against Edmonton, the Battle of Bird.
That was it.
I thought, like, we talked about it.
He hasn't had good playoff games ever.
No, why is he trying to fight Klimberg?
Like, why, like focus on your game.
Like he was distracted.
He was not focused.
He didn't play that well.
He suddenly looked slow.
if he's hurt. And we talked about it at the time. I remember being excited. That was the one guy.
You thought he was made for it. You are, here it is. This is your wheelhouse. You've, all year,
you have to have just been waiting. Get me into those playoff games. And I think he got hurt,
right? I think Ben concussed him. And he got into the fight with Klingberg and he cut his hand up and all
of that. But still, it was got hurt in Edmonton in the bubble. It's been a lot of lackluster.
Lindholm's had very meh post seasons. Johnny's track record is,
you know, kind of plays to the reputation of a smaller skilled forward that doesn't like contact,
but he did have come up with a big goal against Dallas, credit that.
But the whole roster and the core we've talked about for six, seven years that's now almost
fully turned over, all of them flopped in the postseason.
Gio was fucking awful.
And you made a point.
You made a point last night.
And I think it's, I think it's real legit.
And you kind of, you touched on it there that they're slow.
We've sat in here and we've talked over the course of this year about, have you seen how many
come from behind wins there are.
The Flames did it, and it was 139th,
battle back from a multi-gold deficit.
Yesterday we showed the tweet from Pierre LeBron,
that you're going to have six or however it would have over 100-point players and all that.
And you said it last night, and I think it's bang on,
whether we know it or realize it, and maybe we do.
Maybe I'm just out.
The game has changed.
Oh, it's the game.
There you see it there.
6.37 total goals per game.
Highest since 93, 94, 12 players on pace to hit the 100 point mark.
Jamie Ben won with 87 points.
The game has changed.
It's young.
It's fast.
It's offense first.
And then when you look at this flames team,
you are crafted incorrectly for hockey in 2020.
Go ahead, Pinder.
I think it's the coach that doesn't fit this.
I don't know that this roster isn't built that way
because I think the GM wanted to see Matthew Phillips
and Pellier and some young guys that have some speed.
I don't think the coach has any of Lewis 70 times this year.
Maybe, but the GM still had all those guys signed, right?
Like Lewis and Luchich and whoever else, right?
Like you may think that, yeah, we should get.
Well, Luce they're stuck with me, yeah.
Philps more time or and played, oh my gosh.
Belche more, but they aren't fast.
No, but those guys are faster than the guys they'd replace.
Even Huberto, Michael Backland can be fast,
but it doesn't play fast all the time.
I was watching last night because I think one of the big indicators for me
the teams that are desperate to win and are dialed in is backchecking.
Yeah.
They don't fucking.
Aud man rushes only.
Lazy ass back checking.
They aren't moving all the time.
They're standing still.
So you're either out of shape or you're slow.
Or you don't care.
Or you don't care.
And if you don't care, that's your fault.
That's not the coach's fault.
You might be mad at the coach, but you're playing for the guys in the room.
So I don't buy that, oh, I'm pissed off at the coach, so I'm going to go play slow and not play hard.
I agree.
Well, screw you.
I don't want you on my team then.
Because all you're caring about is yourself at that point.
You have a group of guys in the dressing room that should want to win, that want the opportunity to win a Stanley
Cup.
You don't get it forever.
You don't get that chance forever.
And you're supposed to be competitive.
If you're pissed off about the coach
and you don't like how he operates things
and you can't play the game for your teammates,
you're a shitty teammate.
Hit the road.
Another thing I thought of last night is I watched
and it's been that way for a while now with Nazim Kodry,
we went to a preseason game with Johnny Winwick and ATB.
They were playing the Seattle Cracken.
Marty Jones in that.
That was my first chance to see Codry is a flame.
And I was, his tank was full.
Every shift he was out digger.
You don't need to be trying this hard.
You don't need to be going at it as hard as you are right now.
You don't like this guy.
But he was all over it.
He was a dog on a bone in a preseason game.
And then the season started, it's like, this guy is, he's, he's the pace setter.
He and Manjupani and Dubay started as a line at beginning of the year.
And that was their best line.
And it's like, oh, he'll start clicking later, give him some time.
But that was a great trio.
And you're like, wow, that was like maybe Nossum will have the C by Christmas.
He looks so disinterested right now.
It honestly, I'm not trying to be a shock job.
He looks like he's trying to play himself out of town.
And I'll take it one step.
Or get the coach fired or he looks like he's trying to make a point with his indifference.
I can, here's a.
If you want to find out who Nassim Kodry is, go back and watch after they win the Stanley Cup in
Colorado last year. Watch the interview between Kail McCar and Scott Oak, I think it was,
and then watch the interview between Nazim Kodry and Scott Oak. Like David Amber, but yeah.
Well, whoever was, I don't know who was there anything. Just watch them. Yeah, he says,
for all the people said, you can't win with Nazim Kadri, stick it up your ass, something along those
lines. So what was it about? It was about him. And I get that some guys need to be me against the world,
but it's a lot and it's been selfish play.
And this is where I want to talk.
So what's your read on it?
Well, my read is interesting that there's a couple things happening here.
First off, it's been reported by people in the know that Cadry has been the vocal guy
on behalf of this room to deal with Darry.
It's clearly this between the coach and Cadry,
probably more than any other player in terms of back and forth.
There's guys that might hate him more, but Cadry's the guy that's actually going to go
in his room and talk to that guy.
And when I see that effort last night and how good he can be when he's on,
it looks like he's trying to get the coach fired
because I'm sorry, you signed seven years,
you're not getting out of here.
Like, if you're going to play like that,
you're going nowhere.
If you want to get traded,
play well and they can actually move you.
Well, that's good for him because he's trying to get the coach fired.
So it doesn't matter to him.
I'm not going to say what matters to him.
I'm not getting between his ears.
But it looked like a guy that didn't want to try last night.
The goal that everyone's moaning about,
the second one, Chicago's up to 1,
he makes an incredibly lazy, shitty play
at the Chicago blue line
before he makes an incredibly lazy,
shitty play behind his own goal line. It's two. And then the next goal's on him. And Sutter keeps playing
him. And I keep thinking, what is this dynamic here? If that was Peltier and an 8-2 loss, he's sitting for a
month. What the fuck is happening here? What do you stand for, Dary? You know this guy has been MF in you,
and he's playing like shit and you won't even staple him. And then on top of that, it's like, okay,
so Nazim Kodry, you sign here, you don't get along with the coach. Maybe you're trying to
run him out of town. Like, I just, how can you at the All Star
break, sit down with Frank Saravale and say, if we play as a team, we'll get in the
playoffs. Who's been the most selfish player in the second half? The guy that said, we need
to play as a team. I can't figure it out. He, selfish in his lack of effort. It does. It looks
like he's playing with some sort. And maybe he's hurt. Maybe there's other stuff going on. So it's
probably maybe it's unfair but it looks as though he's playing with some sort of agenda
to take his foot off the gas to make some sort of a point and if it if you're a fan
and you were infuriated last night or you've been frustrated wondering what the dude
what are the guys in the room thinking you give up a goal you sit down on the bench you
watch the jumbotron okay what the hell happened oh fuck twice holy fuck yeah that wasn't even
he's playing shuffleboard behind the net it was it
After he turns it over at the other end.
He better have a flight book because if he's walking around town here,
people are going to freak the F out when the season's over there.
And you're not playing yourself out of town.
Nobody wants that.
And this is the kind of shit you don't trade for.
I mean, he can be whatever he.
I just thought that this guy was a competitor.
Because you go back to Toronto when the fans were all over him
because he was getting suspended in that.
He was kind of defending teammates.
He was playing hard.
He was hitting guys.
He was playing hard.
this is not that at all.
He is playing as though he has no interest in being a Calgary Flamer playing right now.
And that's why I wonder, is there, I bet he is unhappy with the coach.
I bet there's a lot of guys that are unhappy with the coach.
But it's just at what point does your professional pride kick in and just say,
I'm better than this.
I have a guess when the coach changes.
As selfish as that is.
That's the sad, I'm not saying you're wrong.
even. It's just, I, it's disappointing.
To me, that I can't cheer for the guy then.
To torpedo an entire room, an entire
season. To screw your teammates
out of an opportunity to play in a playoffs.
I'm not saying it's a good move. I'm just telling you, I wouldn't be
surprised if it's a coaching change and he looks like Nazim of last
year. I just can't imagine anybody being that selfish.
In pro sports.
Win a Stanley Cup and it's all about
Nazim. Well, and I think
if you take a longer view, and I don't want to defend him, but I just think
Nazim and some of the other guys that are here for a long
ass time might be thinking we need to get this guy out so we can build something that works.
This ain't working. And I don't think that means he's not trying, but it just, I'm,
you're missing the pit bull that you saw in a preseason game, which is wild because that's when
you really can fucking not try. So I just thought you think too back when Hartley was here.
Those guys hated Hartley. But they played together and made the playoffs.
And one, right? Like they. And Darrell did some things last night that were weird.
So he's asked about star players within the last couple weeks,
and he says,
The only carrot I have is ice time.
So what did you do with Nazim?
You kept fucking rolling out.
Okay, so let's switch the conversation.
I think Daryl's throwing his hands up.
I agree.
I think that's why he is playing the fourth line just consistently.
He's going, I don't give a shit.
None of you are actually trying.
So what difference does it make?
Yeah.
Like if you're saying...
What message am I sending by giving the first line more ice time?
You guys have been horses shit.
So I'm going to reward you with more?
And he's not wrong.
but to me that's throwing in the towel.
So, dysfunctional.
Yeah, it is.
You've got numerous people throwing in the towel.
And so the problem is what you said two weeks ago,
which is when there's this much dysfunction,
it's really hard to scout a game and have rational conclusions
because there's some fucked up shit.
We don't know what's happening.
Like, if you watch these last 15 games,
it's really tough to identify what's real and what's drama
and what's an actual player's best effort.
and it's the nature of exactly what you said dysfunction.
If the coach is throwing his hands up and he's like he pulled the goalie with three minutes left.
All year he's been pulling it with like a minute, a minute and a half.
It's like, are you abandoning your philosophies?
Are you now trying harder?
Are you quitting on what you believe in?
Do you have doubt in your philosophies?
Like, Darrell was not even himself in a lot of decisions.
I had that in my notes to bring up.
Where was this on year?
But it just got to the point.
It feels like a small part of the real big story.
but 333 or whatever it was left to go and you're pulling your goalie.
And we were asking for this.
They had ozone possession in a game they were down one in the third period with three minutes left and they wouldn't pull.
So like, Darrell, what do you stand for here?
Or you just, just flippy floppy as everyone else?
Like he's usually stubborn and sticking to his guns, but he didn't.
He didn't bench Ice Time from Codry.
He didn't stick to his goalie pull philosophy.
He didn't acknowledge the only human in Western Canada that didn't acknowledge Markstrom's fucking exhausted here.
It's a spot for your backup.
Daryl's fucking had a shitty week or two.
Well, season.
I'm sorry.
Six weeks on the second line for Milan Luchich.
And I wonder at the same time,
is it kind of a spiteful thing where for Cadry,
if you're going to go out and play it 60% or 50%,
I'm going to keep trotting out there for the world.
I said that to build your last end.
I said, I'll play them every other shift.
You out, you go.
And so again, is that selfish and is that bigger than winning?
It is.
It's horrible.
It's just like saying Cadry's not trying.
The coaching trying either.
And it's the overarching point I think that we've all had in here
is that there's,
at your point.
There's blood on a lot of people's hands.
Everybody, oh, your heart, it's, it's Sutter.
Yeah, it's not just the coach.
It's the players, but it's not just the players.
It's the coach, and it's not just that.
Management decisions, all of that.
Owner.
It has all come together in a big, just cesspool of failure
for a team that should be so much better,
regardless of what you think of them today,
because they're going to miss the playoffs from all appearances.
To a man, they're better than this.
Even the guys that we, Manjapami.
He should be better.
He might not be a 35 goal guy, but he should be noticeable.
Got to get to 20, come on.
You're not, yeah, and even the goal total, get noticeable.
You're supposed to be a little pit bull too.
Has he pissed off anyone this year?
There's been a nice little balance lately, but it's not enough.
A 20 game stretch ain't it?
It's got to be every night.
He had a tough first time.
He was one of their most important guys on a nightly basis.
last year for sure, right?
That good start they had on the road.
They were fantastic.
He was a machine on the road last year.
And so here we are, and this is a tough spot for an organization.
You got an owner that hates paying two people to do one job,
i.e. a coach that's not there and a coach that is there.
You got a GM without a contract.
You got a group of players that's quite talented on paper.
You have what feels like a mutiny in that locker room against the coach.
And like, how do you solve it?
Who makes the decision?
The GM that contracts up at the end of June?
or the owner that continually has short-term vision not long.
Like, it ain't pretty here.
And my question to you two would be,
if cadre is that kind of guy,
is he doing it for the team?
Like, what I'm saying is for next year.
This group comes back together.
What? I'm trying to put myself in that room
and I'm watching and I'm part of the team and I'm going, okay.
What's my feelings towards that guy?
Right?
because you have to create cohesiveness in that dressing room.
If I'm pissed off at Codry and I can see he ain't playing hard
and he's supposed to be one of our top guns,
even if he is mad at the coach,
I'm still going to have an opinion on what I, you know,
how I feel about this guy and whether I want to go to war with him.
Because guess what?
He didn't want to go to war with me.
Do I trust?
He's got,
and I could,
it could be that they're all feeling of saying.
I was going to say,
is it,
is it me and me?
I don't know.
Like it's,
are you willing to,
whoever's GMing this team,
are you willing to go back into next year,
even if you change the coach
with this group of guys that hasn't ever stepped up?
Well,
there has to be changed.
Like,
they're over the cap.
So there's going to be moves.
The questions are what moves are they?
Do you try to sell high on to Foley?
Do you move a defenseman?
Do you say Lindholm's not going to extend?
Let's get as many assets as we can.
Because they just can't return with everyone.
It's financially impossible.
If the cap goes up a million, they're already over and they've got empty roster spots they have to fill.
I would have a hard time.
Even if I was on team, the coach needs to go.
At some point, you sit down before last night's game and think, well, with a win here.
We're in a spot.
And yeah, maybe if we make the playoffs or if we win or whatever, then it looks good on the coach.
But as a group, can we put our collective voices together and go into a GM or an owner's office?
And as a group, say, here's where we're at.
at.
Don't torpedo the season.
We've played 70 some odd games.
Let's try and get in here.
Let's play our balls off.
And at the end of the season,
whenever that is,
we'll come together as a group and let it be known.
I think the exit interviews will be very tough.
But I just can't.
I would just have a really hard time
being a flame last night,
watching that.
That's unacceptable in preseason.
Well, and we've seen
seven or eight of them, sorry. It's three against
Chicago now. There's one against Anaheim. There's one
against Arizona. There's one kind of
against Philly. There's one against Columbus.
That wasn't new. What was
new is that we started to believe
that this group was different because they won four
in a row and because they finally came back
after 40 and because the stakes were higher.
But it was the same team we watched all year that played
last night.
What was new also was
that you expected
guys like, well, it's not
new, but you, I'm
stunned because I just felt like the natural instinct as a professional hockey player is your
compete level. And you can see the opportunity ahead of you and you don't show him.
I'm floored by it. Bad time for his worst game is a floor. Flored by it. Was it the L.A. game,
the other one where we did after Bernie U. And I, you know, I think it feels like the last two weeks
and you're like, oof, that was the cadre's worst game. There's competition now. And it started a number of
weeks ago where I just remember
talked with you about it, I didn't
realize that Cadre was maybe that careless
or reckless with the puck. He turns the puck
over a lot, tries to do
a little bit too much on his own, too much individual
type stuff. And, you know,
some of that you can kind of forgive. If you're in a tight
game, you're a leader, you want to try
and do it yourself and lead this team to victory.
But when it keeps happening over and over, now it just
looks like you're careless with the puck. And then you've
gotten to this, to this point.
Are you at all interested in
tonight's performances?
No, I don't give a shit.
That's kind of, I'm like, I'm going back to, I don't give a shit.
I just think, like, we know who they are.
And this is what you said earlier.
We know who they are.
The question is, can you get in?
And their chances are so slim right now.
You have to win tonight and get a shitload of help.
But if they win tonight, it doesn't change you the dysfunction we've talked about for the last
months.
Change your opinion on what these guys are?
No, they go out and have one hell of an effort tonight.
Like if cadre goes and plays like you did in the playoffs last year,
are you going, oh, okay, well, this is okay now.
Well, it'd be nice to see, but I don't know that it doesn't mean you still have issues with owner, management, coach in the locker room and the cap.
Like, all those things are still there, right?
I guess I shouldn't say I don't give a shit.
What it is is I'm no closer to being a believer in any of it.
It's the jilted lover thing.
It's the jilted lover.
It's Lucy pulling the fucking football.
Again, I feel the same way here as I did with that Anaheim loss after the stars in Wildwyn.
It's...
Phoenix.
Fool me once, fool me twice.
times, four times this.
And you talk about the change coming.
I wouldn't be surprised if Daryl's just done with it.
I wouldn't be surprised if Trillivin regardless, I'm just leaving.
That's it.
They might offer him a contract.
It's just with the way things are here in this, with the ownership and how it works here.
He's been here long enough to know.
It's done with the law.
It's written in, like it's how the franchise works.
The marching orders are written in stone.
So it'll be a good job for somebody else.
to do if he just moves on.
It seems like a bad job for everyone that shows up.
So I, yeah, I, you wish it was different.
You know where to point a finger, right?
Like you'd like, because you can go all around that organization.
I'll keep going up.
That's usually it.
All the way around that organization.
Good, good culture and good process starts at the top.
The people you collect are, is reflected by what the person at the top wants.
How you treat people set at the top.
Everything set at the top.
You run an organization, you own an organization.
Here's how we treat people.
That's all at the top.
You know, I sit here and I don't, I've met him a few times.
I don't know, Murray, right?
I don't know.
But I do think when I feel like when the marching orders are to make the playoffs,
I don't think it's to get a worse draft pick or to, you know what I mean?
Like I think at a certain point, his heart is in the right place.
I'm the checkbook is open we want to make the playoffs and I want I want playoff games I want people in the seats you want all that
here's the question I put to you though again I don't know Mr. Edwards at all met him talk to them but yeah it's not like we're friend
does you want to make the playoffs because it's it's we got a chance at winning or does he want to make the playoffs because
it's good business it's good that's business good bottom line thing to do right you if the mandate
is to make the playoffs, sure, you can respect that and it gives fans a chance and you always have
that outside. You get into playoffs, anything going to happen. And half the teams don't make it,
and that sucks. Only half do. So the trend they're on every other year kind of goes. But are you
trying to build a team to win or make the playoffs? Yeah, I agree. It's half the league gets in.
Getting in is, it's something that if you view yourself as better than half the league, you should do all
time and I think the owner feels that way, but the problem is I don't think he wants to be a top,
like a 90 to 100 percentile team. Like we want to build the best organization on Earth.
Well, okay, then you've got to think longer than making the playoffs every year.
Who are the top teams for?
They've all picked tie.
Toronto has Austin Matthews.
The Lightning have Victor Hedman and Steven Stamco's.
The Lightning built that team. Toronto has been built.
Yes.
Edmonton had four first overalls in seven years and yes, Summer Swings and misses, but they got a generational talent.
There are not contenders that don't pick high.
Avalanche had McCar and McKinnon in the top.
And Atlanta was built.
And Landiscag's a high pick.
Yeah, like, I'm sorry, you can look longer term.
And this fan base is smart enough.
They won't abandon you if you show them a bit of a plan.
No.
This isn't like trying to sell losing hockey in Miami.
Yeah, you are not going to have 5,000 people in the building ever.
Like, show them a plan.
And then the one thing I wonder about because Marie,
for people that interact with him in his other spaces, oil and gas, et cetera, very bottom line focused.
And as a business person, you respect that because that's what you're in business for.
You're not there for friends. You're there to make money. He's very good at. He's an
senely wealthy man. I think with a new rink on the horizon, and look, nothing's done,
but all the comments we've heard out of City Hall from the flames and from the provincial
government has been incredibly positive. Things are all coming together. I wouldn't be surprised
at all if we have an announcement by the summer about
things getting back underway.
If you put a date on the calendar, does he change his approach a bit?
Because I tell you what you don't want to open a new building with.
A shitty fucking hockey team.
But I don't think they ever think they're going to have a shitty hockey team.
I think they're going to meet middling.
Honestly, I think this is probably been an eye-opening year.
I think you're right.
Like, history has been different.
But the only variable that changes in my scenario is
we need to be good in 2027, let's say.
Okay, well, maybe I will accept a couple steps back
to make the big leap forward.
forward. But again, no one knows. The guy doesn't say anything. The city was going to cut him
and check for $300 million. You didn't even show up for the ribbon cutting. Like, we never hear
from the fucking owner. It's fucking $300 million of public money for your profit factory. You're
wealthier than any other person in this city. You could fart out an arena if you wanted to a
decade ago. We're giving you the money. You couldn't even show up and say hi. And I get there's
politics and you don't like the mayor and look, there's been so a lot of dysfunctional city hall.
But like, that's how little we know about this guy. He says,
nothing publicly.
And I think that hurts this team.
And what you're missing is a Ken King or Brian Burke.
Yeah.
Because there's nobody that's the face of this team that can stand up and drum up any sort of,
you know, civic.
Oh, I know that guy.
He's the Flames.
Yeah.
Ken was a great presenter of Flames, right?
Like he got the word out on what was going on.
He was able to give people updates.
You trusted, whether you liked what he was saying or not as irrelevant,
but he was out there promoting and telling you this is how we're going to do things.
this is what we're about.
He was the mouth of the organization, right?
He was the face because the owner doesn't want to be.
And he doesn't have to be.
But the problem is it feels rudderless.
We don't know how decisions are made.
The other thing is they're not going to tell you shit anyway.
Ken did and Brian Burke could give you a little bit.
Ken was good because Ken was bold enough and had enough backbone to go,
I'll stand by my words.
Yeah.
This is what we're doing.
And I didn't agree with Ken all the time, but Ken did his job.
He was acting on behalf of that owner and that organization.
He did a really good job of doing that.
And people knew where the organization stood on all the issues.
It is, it isn't a component that's missing for sure.
Because I don't know in the NFL, do you hear from the owners all the time?
Some of them you do.
Obviously, Jerry Jones already.
And craft you see every once in a while.
And those guys are all in it as a business.
They're also fans, but they're in it for a business.
and they don't all win.
But it's since Ken is gone and Burke isn't here,
but certainly with Ken,
because he was out in the public.
And again,
think whatever your opinions were of Ken,
he was out there.
He was at golf tournaments and luncheons
and speaking engagements.
He was a Calgary flame through and through.
He was promoting it and selling it,
and he wanted you to get on board,
all of us to be on board.
Loved the brand.
Yep.
And it was the brand.
If we ever had, you know, an issue or he took issue with us or whatever, I remember I sat with
him one time. He called me in. And his whole kind of message to me was, who's the best play-by-play
guy in the world? And what's the best rink in the world? And what's the best, what are some of the
best? Why can't we have that? If we think of anything less than having the best rank, the best
player, the best broadcasters, the best people, then we're not doing our job.
His, and it was, it was true to his heart. He wanted the best possible, and why wouldn't we in
Calgary think we should have the very best? And that's why he rubbed some people the wrong way.
He didn't want to settle. Remember when the flood hit the, the dome? No one thought that
thing was going to get. No, no. We're going to do it. And somehow it came through. And I'm sure there's
some backstory there too, but I don't know if Murray Edwards is doing a biweekly
I think Murray press conference. I don't know if it changes anything, but you don't want a meddling
owner, but here's a thing. I don't know that he's meddling, but I think he's involved.
Yeah, he is for sure. Right? And he doesn't, so it's odd because he doesn't say anything publicly,
which is his prerogun, do what you want, but you don't hear from being about anything
business related either or long-term plans.
but you then you hear, okay, so he doesn't talk publicly, whatever.
But then you hear he's involved in everything.
Every decision that is made, he's part of.
Yeah, we've all heard.
But is he meddling?
I don't know if he's meddling.
Like, it's a confusing, and maybe that's part of it.
It seems a bit dysfunctional.
It is.
And we've all heard, whether it was this GM or the ones before,
of instances that a deal is done,
and we're waiting on owner approval.
I wonder why John Bean isn't more,
front facing.
I don't know if that's who he is.
I don't know a lot of John being.
That's probably part of the problem.
What I know of John is he's a very well liked,
very nice gentleman.
I think he would be a,
he'd be a very good guy to have out there as the face.
And if I'm correct,
I think he sort of comes more
from the financial background,
whereas Ken has been that sort of face of organizations,
be that in the newspaper business.
John hasn't ever really been.
I don't know if that's who he is.
No, and one of the knocks in the organization
with Ken was that he wanted to be
hockey guy too, right?
Like he wanted to be
his opinion to be heard on it.
And what makes you a hockey guy and what doesn't?
I don't know.
If you've watched 8,000 NHL games front and set,
probably you're a hockey guy, right?
Like, whether you played or not, yeah,
you're going to see things differently.
But all of us being Canadians feel like we're hockey people.
The whole market does, yeah.
But he was a media personality,
and he knew how to get the word out
and have a presence.
And that's where he came from, right?
A newspaper guy, he understood how John is totally finance-driven.
He doesn't have the history of public speaking and engagement that Ken did.
And maybe he doesn't want to do it.
Well, and to be fair, like, they put him in that spot.
That's what they want.
The owner wants that guy there.
I don't know what message John's going to give me that's going to make me feel better about any of this.
I mean, he can come out and say, we've got a plan.
Okay, well.
What is it?
What is it?
Because the one we've had for the last 30.
You know what, though? And we kind of chastise teams for sending out letters and doing that whole
public declaration.
I might be sometimes.
When New York get it right.
You bring it up, man.
We haven't heard it.
Maybe it's not his job.
But we have not heard anything from above Brad Trilliving and just hockey stuff.
I don't hear anything.
In years.
And remember when the Bill Peters stuff went down, you're like, God, do they miss Berkey?
It looked like Trilliving aged five years in a month there.
And it was like, why is it?
a GM have to be the public facing piece on this. This is clearly legal, organizational contract.
Like, I'm sorry, that was a complete waste of, you know, your resources. This guy, it's like training
camp or early season. It's early season. It was like in the first 10 games. And he, he should be trying to,
okay, like, what are we doing with coaching staff? You know, how do I pivot? Like, he shouldn't have to
be legal wrangling with Bill Peters's people. Like, geez, like, they needed that, they missed
Berkey when he was gone. It was funny because we always joke, that's the cushy skig around.
Berkey goes and shakes hands and tells stories and everyone loves them and, you know, you're in the
sweets and you made a ton of dough and if the team's not good, it's the GM's fault.
And if the team's great, you're soaking it out.
Like, what a gig.
But that was an event where you needed someone.
And they haven't had one since.
No, they haven't.
And he would probably, if he hears this or sees this, he'd be like, oh, guys, you're not doing me any favors.
But we've said it more than once, and I believe it, as I think we all do, how great it would
be to have a Lanny McDonald as the face of your franchise,
forward facing, speaking to the fans,
to the business sector of your city.
100%.
And not just because he's a nice guy and beloved.
I think he is a hockey guy.
He has, you know, roots in business.
But I believe he will give you honesty as well.
And I do, too, integrity.
What he was going to tell me.
Yeah.
It doesn't always, it doesn't have to be,
we sit in here where he can be as negative as we want.
We don't work for.
the team so we're not obliged to pump their tires. But if Landy McDonald's working for the Calgary
Flames and he comes out and says something publicly, I'm not going to go, that's just Lanny talking
nice because I believe what Lanny McDonald would tell me. That carries weight. You're a hundred percent.
He's an order of Canada, Hall of Famer, Calgarian through and through, philanthropist,
successful businessman. You see him at every charitable event. This is a top.
Pop-shelf human.
And I think he's going to give you honesty.
He's going to have a better, more positive way of saying it than I'm last night,
me on after burner.
But it's going to be an honest and not sugar-coded BS answer.
Yeah.
This is what I think.
He can say it the right way.
You feel good about it.
And you trust what he's telling you.
And so the challenge is, I think everyone, if you ask to say that's a good idea.
The organization has it if they want it.
They clearly don't.
Like the owner, for whatever reason, doesn't want that.
he'd have it.
But like you say,
I've been here for fucking two decades.
He's applied for jobs.
I forget who I was talking to.
It feels different now.
It does.
There's four games left here.
By a week today is the final regular season games.
That's right.
That Thursday morning, when their season's over, the hockey stuff is done.
I'm, I'm, we're fascinated.
I can't wait to see what this offseason is going to be.
It's, it's going to be maybe a dreary few games here.
kind of a, what could have been kind of a week.
Yeah.
But then it's okay.
What now?
So I was looking at the calendar and chatting with some beat writers about this.
You play Wednesday.
The entire league minus you and one other team don't play Thursday.
National Place Thursday and Friday.
You're probably nearly dead after Wednesday's result.
And maybe you're waiting on a Thursday or a Thursday and Friday miracle.
You clear out your lockers.
You do your exit meetings.
By Friday, the players are gone.
You make a decision on the coach after your exit.
exit meetings, your GM, is he allowed to make that decision? I mean, by next weekend,
the wheels of change are in motion. Potentially, yeah. Like, there's, whether it's, we see it publicly,
or it's only behind the scenes. The self-audit is well underway by next Friday when, you know,
there's teams playing that night. Which is all fine and good. Who's running the audit?
That's the one thing we keep asking. Is it a lame duck GM that's going to make a decision on the
coach.
And there again, who relays that message?
Ordinarily, it would be Ken or it would have been Burke.
It would have been so.
And then it's true living after that.
So your GM doesn't have, you know, he's lame duck or his contract expires.
And we know that the coach has a, as an extension.
But who's holding the state of the union address for the franchise?
The GM who has.
Who has an expired on his contract?
Well, or the president who doesn't speak ever publicly about these.
He speaks on business stuff, not the hockey team.
And it might fall into his shoulders, but it's not a shot.
But because I've heard so little from him, if he's going to do it,
I hope you've got something good planned because it's going to come across awkward.
I don't know what to think when you start talking.
And honestly, like, if Craig Conroy steps to podium the next month,
that'll show some cards.
I don't know.
That's a problem.
Like I said it last week or whatever.
I just can't imagine that if
if your living isn't brought back
or doesn't want to come back,
I can't imagine it's anybody but Craig.
I think it's different.
I think it all plays out differently.
I said, if tree's gone, that's one thing.
And is Darrell going too?
Because if Darrell's not going,
then he's going to want someone that he likes to work with.
He's still going to have a say in that.
And if,
and I'm sure he likes Craig and all this,
but I don't know if Craig is Daryl's first choice.
And if Daryl's still here,
he clearly has some clout
and he's going to have say on who's...
Daryl want a couple things.
Someone that thinks and wants to work the same way as he does,
but also someone where he can exercise power.
You said that name last week.
Bob Murray.
You said Bob Marie's name and I'll tell you what.
She's...
Wouldn't be out of the left field.
I don't like it, but...
Well, who was he with in L.A. too?
Google...
Bombardi.
Google what was said from Stats.
on the way out and people on the way out.
Yeah,
well,
and Murray's tenure in Anaheim.
He was loathed by people in that building and in that room.
He treated people terribly.
So does that sound similar or dissimilar than what you hear about Daryl?
It's, listen, I, similar.
Sorry.
The funny thing, it's not just Daryl,
you had a bunch of coaches come through here.
Bob Hartley as well.
Bill Peters clearly in prior Storops didn't treat people well.
I can't speak to here,
but like it's it's I you if Daryl remains here I don't think it's just deck chairs
him with this group doesn't work if there and him with a green management team that ain't
going to work out here's the then here's the message they better to be considering down
and we're playing the what if game yeah tree might be back and Daryl might be gone or
Daryl might yeah if Daryl's back you have to make changes in the room and who that
is going to be able to do that well who's your jam like it's my
regardless.
If you're the GM, how are you making the moves and the room that need that?
And so, Steve, the greatest GM of all time.
What are you going to do with that room?
And so where I'm going with it is that that GM will have all the exit interviews and then
we'll have to say, hey, it's the last year of your deal.
We'd love to talk extension.
What are you thinking?
And it's like, I ain't here if he's here.
They're going to get a lot of things.
I think you're right.
If you're changing GMs, it's before the exit interview.
in my opinion.
So next week?
Because if I'm, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if, if,
hearing the players out, right?
Like, like, I, walk me through that a bit more.
Well, so, so, so tree's going to do exit interviews with all the guys.
Yeah.
Okay.
And then a week later, he's gone.
Why don't you want the guy that's going to be running things for you the next year doing those
interviews?
So he has a pulse on what the hell is going on in that.
Because you walk into something in June, you don't know what the truth of the matter is.
Months have gone by.
Nobody's wound up about it anymore.
And you don't have a clear representation of what happened.
And why did things go to shit?
Yeah.
My belief would be that Tree is such a pro at this part of the job.
It's nothing against Tree.
That there would be very, very thorough notes on all your exit meetings.
And if there is a new GM that comes in, he reads that file and it's like, okay, here's the high,
I got to follow up with all this.
But I agree.
In a perfect world, you're not in this spot at all.
And look, if you're going to have a new gym for exit meetings,
how's the GM search going?
You're a week away.
You're right.
And you haven't heard anything.
But I do think it's important.
I think it's important.
I do not doubt for one second that Bradshaw Living does the right thing and has
thorough notes.
It's thorough notes and does it.
That's not the point I'm making.
You have to know, sit across.
from a guy and see his eyes and face and his delivery and his emotion to understand.
If I read a text, I don't know if you're pissed off.
Yeah, it's almost like you need to go to Sweden.
You have, yes.
So I guess that's the other thing.
But after time, things get different too, right?
I want that, if there's a new GM coming, put them in place, the moment this team is
eliminated.
It's just going to get weird, Dean, if this, if, if, if, if you're living walks away with
the contract up and he and the team agree to part ways, whether that's a contractual issue like
pay or term or work conditions or last say, it's just going to be really clunky if you see him
doing draft week preparation and then July 1 clicks over and a different guy comes in?
Yeah, I see, I, I think he, I think even if he is not back, I think he still conducts
those interviews because you'll have Conroy and Pat, like you're going to have your other lieutenants
in that room.
I don't disagree with you.
I just can't imagine that you would have that done by next weekend.
It doesn't, you mentioned dysfunctional.
It doesn't strike me as a scenario or a situation right now where they have that much figured out.
Here's what we're doing with the coach.
Here's what we're doing with the GM.
Here's who's replacing the GM.
To have all of that, I can't imagine that they have that.
Well, and again, who is making those calls?
It's got to be the owner, right?
So the guy that we never hear publicly and doesn't speak,
like that's the guy that knows.
And as you mentioned, like John Bean, he's going to,
there are some higher ups.
But in terms of hockey people or who's got sway and clout,
it feels like it's Murray and then a steep cliff down to John Bean.
He's worked in the last year of his deal before,
but I believe he's extended in the fall,
not like in the summer.
It was October 3rd, 2019,
which was following their first round exit to call.
Colorado is the one seed that he was extended.
I remember the season opening game, I think they announced around that time.
It's just a really odd spot.
It's so odd is the right word.
There's nothing normal about this hole.
And you go all the way back to last summer where it, you know,
that's where they fell off the cliff.
Guys leaving, shit happening, signing extensions,
making these big deals, feeling, I said it last night.
I feel this team was not a plan.
It was a reaction.
It was a reaction to circumstances that were kind of out of your hands.
Now, they weren't because you could have managed it differently years earlier on.
But, okay, shit happened that you kind of, you had to deal with.
It's like, holy.
And we're around it.
You're watching it unfold last year.
Go, geez, Goddra was going to sign?
He's not coming.
Oh, my God, he's gone.
What are we?
Now what?
And you knew damn well when Goodrow was leaving.
No, Kachukh.
Kachuk's not coming out.
Holy Christ.
Like, we're a first place team, and now we're losing our top two guys.
Two hundred-part players.
How do we do that?
Anyway, it was a reaction.
It was a reaction to shitty circumstances.
And it wasn't the worst.
Treated a decent job and maybe a great job of,
recovering assets, making the best of that shitty situation,
but he doubled down on it.
Before he saw it.
In a panic mode.
I think reaction is the best way you first.
So let me throw this at you.
Because he signs Hubert O and he signs Uyghur and, I mean, it's hypocritical.
I thought it was all, you gave him all the money,
but you were in a situation where it felt like no one,
you couldn't keep anybody.
You had two guys walk out on you.
I thought the,
I thought the trades were good.
The money was a lot,
but you were getting a superstar forward.
That's the price you pay to have a star.
You have to pay them top market.
The same number of points as Johnny.
It was easy.
We just give him Johnny's money.
It's made sense, right?
How confident or what level of belief would you have
that's,
that Hubertoe and Codry and some of these guys
can get back to,
more so Huberto than anybody else,
his former self with a different coach.
Yeah,
Not 115 points, but like the point per game guy for four years in a row.
That's probably what we're.
I think he'll struggle with it.
I think there's too many guys you've watched that lose it and have a harder time gaining it back,
especially at that age.
You can say 30 is not young anymore.
No.
It's not young.
It's not young in this game.
And it's not going to get better over time.
Even if he comes back, are you going to get two years of it?
Yeah, you need at least a couple.
But yeah.
The back end of that deal was always going to suck.
Yeah, we knew that.
And that's fine.
You can look past it if he's putting up 80 to 100 for the first four.
That was the tradeoff for what we thought was a three to five year window where you're a contender.
I think there's other coaches on Earth that he could perform better for.
I think there's a lot of beef there.
I feel the same way about Nazim Kodry.
And I think the low-key move that really has sewered them a bit was an extension that didn't make sense for Daryl in training camp.
Because if his deal's up this summer, as it should have been,
a lot of the questions we have aren't here.
Yeah.
And I think a lot of the conversations
you're going to have to have this summer,
whether that's extension with players
or like,
what do we do about these issues?
Like, they're just not there.
And it was so weird the timing.
And, you know,
we don't really get a lot of clarity on this.
This isn't public facing stuff.
We don't see salaries.
You don't hear contract stuff so much as like
you might get a tidbit here or there from an insider.
But it sounded like the owner presented both the GM
and the coach with extension offers.
What if,
what if,
and I don't know.
What if Daryl says,
I don't coach as a lame duck?
As a Jack Adams winning lame duck?
I mean,
I get that,
but it's just 10 years ago,
that was a real thing.
It didn't happen.
It was like,
why would you do it?
But it happens all the time now.
Like,
freaking run for Enfrey.
But he's old school, right?
Oh, he is.
For Daryl Sutter,
if he says,
listen, we made the playoffs,
we went around,
I won the Jack Adams.
I'm not coming back on a lame duck con.
Yeah, I mean, he very may well have.
It was just the one thing you knew
was this guy wore on people.
And already last summer,
were some cracks showing with players saying, I'm not really up for this.
Like, it wasn't, if you went through the regs of meetings last year, I bet you there's all kinds
of red flags.
Well, I'm sure there is.
But if he, if he's going to really speculating, have no reason to think that happened.
But if Daryl is going to say to someone, I won a Jack Adams, I won you a playoff round,
I'm not coming back as a lame duck.
Who's he talking to?
One guy.
And the guy is the owner who's a big fan.
Well, and this is where again, the problem is not going to say, oh, well, there's
some rift, you know, some guys in the room and there's maybe some red flags, be like, hey.
I'm not saying it wasn't a decision that, you know, played out exactly how you're saying.
What I'm saying is that's low-key, the worst decision they made this summer.
As we, well, it's hard, it's hard to look at the Huberto extension.
Yeah.
It's, it's forever and it's all the money.
Yeah, and you know what?
Like, we talked about it mid-season.
It's not super probable that he'll ever be 100 plus again.
But what happened to Jeff Skinner when they changed coaches?
You're watching them, Buffalo.
Yeah, but they were going to.
sent Jeff Skinner to the minors even.
So it can happen.
It's just not going to happen with this coach is what I think we all know.
I just, I don't like, it's hard for me because it speaks to the guy's character if you've
quit on your teammates.
And sometimes it's fit more than quit, but there's certainly got to be elements of both
here.
Yeah.
That's right.
I'm not, I've not said Daryl's done anything right this year.
I think he's mismanaged almost everything.
And so he's done a piss poor job of running the bench this year.
but on the other hand it's like it's still the players that are supposed to play and you can't tell me last night that that was Darrell Sutter's fault i don't i bitched about the moves that he was having guys in certain ice times and pulling the guy I still got to go play it feels like an indictment when you're going to put your own personal feelings differences with the coach whatever you've got going on when that supersedes the guys in the room your teammates
you're not going to win.
And as we said, the coach did it too last night.
He abandoned a lot of his hard, tried, tested, and true philosophies about the game.
He talked within two weeks about the ice time being his only carrot,
and he played the shit out of cadre in his worst game of the year when he made
incredible mistakes and turnovers and clearly wasn't in it.
So we're going to just play this show every day now until the draft or until something happens.
What about after they win five nothing tonight?
We've covered it.
What if they win five nothing tonight?
Well, I think you're back in a spot you were a month ago with just less runway.
It's still not like hurrah.
It's like, oh, they need so much help.
Yeah, I'm back to, you had seven games to play hard, and you didn't, and I'm, I'll watch.
And look, like, I don't love Calgary's chances going into Vancouver on Saturday.
I don't love their chances against a plucky Nashville team on Monday.
I don't love the chances against a jet team that figured it out over the last two years.
They just lost on home ice to the worst team in the league.
Again, so how do you have any kind of swagger going into any game?
Yeah.
And that whole strength of schedule bullshit.
It was a banana peel right from the start.
Well, look who these guys have and look who these guys have.
We've watched 70 plus games of them doing this.
This is their Achilles heel.
If their record against playoff teams is right there with everyone else that's in that dance,
their record against the worst five teams in the league is the difference.
And maybe you do it once or twice.
Seven or eight?
Ah, we looked past them.
We knew we had a big game against Winnipeg and we lost to Chicago.
but we beat them the other two times.
We'd...
No.
You lost all three.
Anaheim, Chicago three times.
You barely beat Columbus once.
You came back and got that one in a frigging overtime.
Arizona, Philadelphia.
It's all fucking season.
Our feelings are hurt.
But beyond that, it's time to do the injury report.
Okay.
For McLeod.
What's our, are we day to day or week to week?
Oh, man.
Hurt feelings.
Yeah, we are day to day with hurt feelings.
This could cost.
us the rest of the year. McLeod Law, personal injury lawyers, taking the stress off of your shoulders,
you're not alone, you let Peter Klein and his folks handle the legal, the insurance, the medical
claims, you focus on your recovery. They're the best of what they do. They are Calgary born and
bred and raised and they love this city and they know what Calgarians are all about. Look at Peter
there. Good looking guy. P. Klein at MacLeod-d-law.com. Their website, macloud-law.com.
Here is the injury report.
Grissy Christy Kristanov back last night,
his first game after we're missing a bunch with what was clearly an upper body,
and also to see the still unwavering disregard for his body as he lined up
and threw the heaviest hit of the night.
Now, I don't know about who won the collision,
but I know a guy coming back from injury,
still don't give a shit about his body the way he was throwing it out in the first period
in his first game back.
And the first of two games at two nights for Kristanov.
Michael Stone returned on Sunday.
He'd missed 20 plus with his issue.
on the blue line.
We still know that
Oliver Shillington's in Sweden
all year.
And last night,
I don't know if you,
if you were there live,
you might have missed it.
On the broadcast,
they had to go back to show it.
We got some video.
Watch what happens to Walker Dewyer.
And Rhett had a bit of a little.
Watch this.
This is not good.
Pisses me all.
Close the door.
Idiots.
Oh.
Like,
that's the corner of a stationary object,
right in the midsection.
Lucky's not in the hospital.
And Vlodar feels bad,
but don't ever let that happen.
You should have that figured out.
by pee-wee. That is awful.
Fellas.
His right hip.
There's going to be some black and blue and gross all over Walker Dure's.
Middle body.
Walker deserves better than this.
Come on, Dan.
Walker Dure deserves that.
See, that's what happens.
If they start Dan Vlodar, he obviously hangs a zero.
They win, and Walker Dure doesn't get hurt because Markham is better on the gate there, yeah.
More responsible gate.
Simple.
Elsewhere, it's the Jets tonight.
Perfetti, the only jet missing.
Recall they played early in the new year.
I think the flames came back from their holiday break.
It was Jan 3rd.
I think it was our first afterburner.
It was like, oh, boy, they're hurt.
This guy's missing.
There's walking wounded.
They ain't that.
It's cold perfetti that's out.
Upper body injury.
He was hurt late February.
2-month timeline means late April,
which is like, if they get in,
maybe he can help in round one,
but that's it for them.
Other notes around the league,
Karel Kaprizov of the Wild.
He got hurt in that game against the flames.
Remember that?
He skating,
but with a non-contact jersey for the wild,
they were very hopeful the timeline meant he'd be ready for playoffs.
That's a week and a half away,
so he's in a good spot, it looks like.
Ryan O'Reilly skated yesterday with the Leifes,
but did not play in their last game.
He's on track to potentially return against the Bruins tomorrow.
And speaking of which, Taylor Hall,
skating, but doubtful for tomorrow's game between the Bruns and the Leifes.
So those are some of the bigger names and injuries,
including Flames and Jets for tonight.
We're into that final stretch.
where you'll be watching those teams.
Who has things to play for?
Who doesn't have things to play for?
Who's in, who's out?
If it was the playoffs, I'd be playing.
I wonder who, what kind of load management teams are able to give some key players?
Boston's probably got lots of room.
Yeah, I feel like anyone else does.
Maybe Carolina?
Yeah.
But everyone else, like look at the central and the Pacific.
Everyone's like rammed in.
And two, three in both the Metro and the Atlantic are pretty close too.
So that's the injury report for McLeod Law, as I said, Calgary Roots, big part of their longstanding client relationships.
They understand this city we live in, the people in it, and the way things work.
They want to make Calgary better and Calgarians better for it, sharing that commitment for a positive impact on our city.
You got to love them.
MacLeod Law, full service law firm, and Peter Klein specializing in the personal injury front on social media online.
Visit McLeod Law for all your least.
legal needs.
You probably don't want to have legal needs,
but if you do, you need good people.
Sometimes you have them and,
well, sometimes you have them
and you don't know that you need them.
Okay.
It's like, you look back,
it's like,
I probably should have got a lawyer for that.
I should have got somebody
that knew what they were doing.
Ah.
The Jets won that game, by the way.
I went back and looked when they had...
It was an afterburn.
All they did was nice.
They had a whole bunch of people out
and no one was playing.
Hellibuck was great.
Yeah.
Buy it or sell it was,
is Hellebuck in all world?
guy. Yeah, yeah, yeah. How happy would they have been last night watching that game?
It was as happy as we were at the Griegel watching San Jose shut out the Jets.
Yeah. Because you would be thinking if you were sitting in Winnipeg, looking at the schedule.
Guaranteed one. We've got our game, beat that, win that game on Wednesday and we'll be in good
shape. They're not going to lose to the Hawks. They lost to the Hawks. It was wing night.
It was guaranteed wing night.
All that's left is what?
Throw the soil.
Say the eulogy.
That thing in the paper.
Hey, I'm well established as glass half empty guy.
Yes.
If they win tonight, then I don't begrudge anybody for being back up and excited.
Maybe you're still up and excited.
You got Nashville and you got, like Serge said, you're going to be able to lose a couple games.
You win against Winnipeg.
you win against Nashville, you're going to be okay.
I'm more worried not that they can't beat Winnipeg,
but that they're third in four nights and their fourth and sixth,
given how flat it is,
and that Darrell didn't rotate any bodies through.
Like last night was such a prime opportunity to get a Rizitschka in
or a Peltche in, or maybe you buy Tanev another day
so it doesn't have to play a back-to-back coming off injury.
Like, put Vlodar in.
Tanaf I get.
You get Tanev in.
Yeah, it's just two games out of the gate in two nights.
I mean, you weren't putting Ruzitschke in.
You said it last night.
If anything, it was maybe.
Pelche Vlodar.
It was maybe Peltier, maybe Vlodar.
But again, we talked about those, what, the three back-to-back sets played the same goalie.
And they look wiped.
They do?
And so how do you look not-wined now?
They were wiped.
They're tired or disinterested.
I don't know what it was, but it certainly was not an effort last night.
It was not a full.
100%.
We're going to get even 100%.
Would you have got some jump?
Yes.
I wouldn't.
It seems obvious.
It's easy for us.
It's easy for us.
And if you'd have done it and you had the same result, then you'd have people moaning and complaining about that.
But this team, go ahead, figured I'll watch, but I'm not going to get to.
I can't be hard getting invested.
You couldn't give me seven games.
You couldn't give.
seven games of effort.
Now what if they go six and one?
Got to win tonight and all the rest.
But yeah.
But you still didn't give me seven games.
No, they were bad against the honor.
Vancouver, they played hard.
I really liked their effort in Vancouver.
They weren't playing hard last night
and they didn't play hard against Anhein.
They were fortunate to be playing those two teams.
Well, they lost to one of them.
But if you're playing Minnesota last night,
you get shit pumped.
Oh, yeah.
It's 5-1 and you're, like, it's not even close.
And that's why it's hard to think about Winnebigh tonight,
who are feeling good and haven't played since Sunday.
Oh, boy, like legs feel great, maybe an off day in there.
They scored six against the devils.
Their goaltenders back.
Every guy in a cold streak is on a heater all of a sudden.
Does Marksure looks like he's ready to steal you a hockey game?
It wasn't maybe go to Vlidar.
Everyone with a fucking brain, including people in that organization,
except Daryl wanted Vladaar yesterday.
He's going to feel better tonight.
than he did.
No.
So much better.
I feel great to me.
We said it.
You could have played Vlidar last night and had Wolf backing up or somebody else.
Marshham could have been in a fucking hotel when Winnipeg last night.
And neither team.
The players, right?
But neither team really wanted that result last night.
No.
No.
The Hawks are taken.
Let's get the best percentage possible.
We won.
We lost eight in a row.
How did we win for Calgary?
A horrible.
game for the Hawks and the Flats. That's what Frank tweeted. It was awesome. They should have just,
why don't we just agree before we even play this thing, how this is going to go? They should have
pulled their goalie with three last. Oh my God. Yeah. Luke Richardson outside of Fox. I love it.
Why are you in the net? And then Athens see you and get the hatcher, watch. It's just, yeah,
I mean, it all boils down to that. Like, you're at home, you're on a chance to win five. You have a chance
Pull even.
Give us an honest effort.
And you lose to the last place team in the league.
Not on puck luck, not on running into a hot goalie, because you fuck the dog.
You don't care.
You didn't care enough.
It was just an awful effort.
There are some teams that are going to make the playoffs.
16, I'm told.
Give or take.
We'll call Gary and get back to you on that.
Probably 16 teams, right?
We'll make the playoffs.
I hope.
I think this year they're going to go with 16.
which means a lot of people, if you're a big hockey fan,
and you like doing, you know, if you're a big football,
you're getting football pools and rotisserie drafts
and all that sort of thing.
Now, we've been talking about this for a while,
and I'd say, extenuating circumstances,
we've been doing a lot of homework behind the scenes,
but our inaugural, Barnburner, playoff draft,
is going to be held at the Grey Eagle,
and details, again, I don't even really know how to trot this out necessarily.
Okay.
But it is happening.
It's sitting like a week in a couple days.
I know.
I'm excited.
We were there.
It's the room's going to be phenomenal.
I know.
We were there yesterday.
It's going to be fantastic.
I'm excited.
Can you tell me more about what's happening?
We have a title sponsor of the inaugural Barnburner playoff draft.
Damn right.
And not only do we have a title sponsor, we have a group,
there'll be people with tables.
I feel like the heartbreaking news for our fans is that essentially,
we don't know this, it's essentially sold out.
And we were going to unveil it,
but, you know, if you advertise with Flames Nation,
the Barnburner guys or you're on after Burr,
you had first dibs and people want to be at this thing.
I don't know if I, see, that's details you didn't need to share.
If you want to advertise with this,
you're going to have a good chance of knowing about stuff.
I don't know if that's how it goes.
but it is going to be held next Friday night at the at the gregal what was the name of the
I was going to write down what the name of the room was we're actually getting two rooms it's
kind of they got the two side by size they're going to take one of those dividing walls out
food and booze and fellas and hockey and the podium and charity and charity but there you see it
pay built on board presenting sponsor
of the inaugural Barnberger playoff draft.
Love it.
Paybilt, Calgary company.
We make alternative payments mainstream.
You have payments, business to business.
Say hello.
These guys are great.
So it'd be, you know, because I don't like to,
like I use my own credit card.
How am I going to, you know, tell me how this works.
Give me the old pay built story.
Well, they're working with some partners of ours.
So like Betway, for example, needs to have payment stuff going on.
They would be using it.
I know there's other big payment companies.
or people that have to transact with other businesses,
paybilt's a company that would help you with those services.
They're fantastic.
They're on board and we're excited about the relationship.
They're going to be in the room, having fun,
chatting with our other 15 tables at the playoff draft.
It is going to be hard to get in.
It's become a very exclusive affair.
I don't know what we do with this.
I asked, I definitely, this is a classic boom thing.
I'll say, hey, here's a question.
Here's some options.
What do you think?
And it's just like, yeah, there's not going to be an answer here.
What do we do with our last team, Dean?
This feels like an off-pod conversation.
That's how you would address things with us is on pod.
So we're going to give you some of your own medicine.
See, here's the thing.
I feel like no one's really grabbed the stick on it.
Okay.
Which is how we've gotten to, you know, a week before the event.
It's going to be a great event.
We just need to know what to do with this last team, right?
Do you have any ideas?
You can auction it off.
We can find some friends.
Listen to offers.
Maybe we could bring in some all-stars.
Because it kind of feels like it's now an event that hasn't gone on sale and that won't go on sale.
It's sold out.
I mean, do you want to put one thing up for sale?
Feel badly that it's sold out.
I mean, it's the curse of popularity.
Reach out if you want to get involved.
There is one team still available.
Is that correct?
Sponsorship opportunities.
Maybe.
Paybilt's got a table.
A lot of other pals.
It's kind of, it's a good problem to have.
Kids sports loving it.
It's great for kids' sport.
It's great for kids' sports.
It's great for the kids.
It's great for the kids.
Contact Jared.
That's what I would do.
Yeah.
Get a hold of Jared.
Jarrod at the Nationnetwork.com.
Jarrod.
That's right.
But we are,
the folks at the,
was it Shelley yesterday?
I believe it was.
It was She was dialed.
Holy smokes.
I need her in my house.
Sam, your good hands there.
This event's going to go just fine.
You need some round tables?
How many bars do you need?
Okay, what kind of?
What do you need at the bars?
All right.
What kind of food?
This would be the snacks.
This would be needed.
I think your clientele would especially like this.
Tablecloth.
What kind of napkins would you like?
It was unbelievable.
So it's good that we have at least somebody that knows with them with their poop together on this.
This is a very good case of like I think we're now three idea guys.
Rett's really rubbed off on us.
We can come up with them.
We need Shelley on logistics.
We got the ideas.
Here's the thing.
It's going to be a.
It's going to be a banger.
It is, it's going to be a sellout.
We're going to raise a bunch of money for kids' sport.
We are pumped to have pay built on board.
We are so thankful to the Grey Eagle for partnering up as our host.
As they have been, they've been a great partner.
They're going to be again.
And just going through that room yesterday, I can't wait.
This is, this is going to be a fun when we did it at the old place.
We're bringing it to the new place.
And, yeah, give us the vibes.
Like, if people have them in, what is the room like, what's happening?
Well, Rhett drinks a lot and then gets on the mic.
That's always good.
And then starts to kind of.
Well, I got so.
Social anxiety, so I have to have a couple things and I get loose.
So then he said, I thought it was your sore shoulders.
I thought it was way out.
I thought it was general anesthetic.
That's why I double it.
Double those.
And he starts to chirp people.
Yeah.
It's good.
Dress up.
Make sure you look to part.
Well, and look, you're all, it's tables of eight.
So every team will come to the podium to make their picks in the first round.
Like it's the actual draft as if we're on the draft floor in Montreal.
And hey, look, there's, you know, a geek carbano at the desk there.
And we're like, we're going to come to.
come up, make picks.
The 16 teams in the NFL playoffs will be selecting players, getting their points.
Well, if we have the forward, D, goalies.
If we have them by then, I think there's going to be able to.
If there's, yeah.
If we go.
It just makes it even more interesting if the Nashville results hanging in the balance on Friday night.
But I'm excited.
If you're a team, what are you doing?
We have lanyards for you're going to be at their own table.
You want to wear suits?
Are you going to dress up like goofs?
Are you wearing Oilers onesies?
Come dressed up for having fun.
Don't call my dad for jerseys.
He did it once.
It's not happening.
No.
Do your dad did jerseys?
Yeah.
Some team took all my old jerseys.
Remember, Vipers?
Yeah.
All the old Vipers jerseys.
Was that kids support?
They did that?
Those darn kids.
I can't believe those kids would do it.
We're very thankful to have the support that we've had on this,
and it's going to be a great one.
We'll be doing the show there next week, day of, we believe.
And then rolling right into the draft and we'll have some exclusive video and some stuff from that night.
It'll be up on our YouTube's and that moving forward.
but we'll have some, we just, we wanted to say a big thanks today to paybill. Paybuild is on board.
And a huge thanks to them for being a part of it and the other sponsors and all that.
We'll have some details trickling out here over the next few days.
Partnering with Paybelt gives you instant access to Canada's best Interact E-Transfer Automation,
but that's not all paybilt, the industry leader, also in real-time disembursment,
Visa Direct, and their proprietary e-transfer payments provide solutions for every type of business.
So is this like maybe with your, I'm just saying, if you're,
in some of some city,
like Vegas.
Maybe you go and you buy something.
You don't want that showing up in your credit card.
I don't know.
That's not that.
Is that how that good is that?
No.
It's pay built, babe.
Babe, it's pay built.
I got,
no, is that?
That's not,
damn it.
Oh,
it's Sirens,
a restaurant.
That's still a hard one to,
harder to explain.
Babe.
That's not paper.
What's Sapphire?
Go to their website,
paybuilt.
Sapphire's restaurant.
It's a jewelry place.
You're going to love it.
God damn it.
You go to Venanova.
Speaking of Venanova, they'll be there.
Yeah, Vena Nova.
We've been telling you about that Viena Nova is going to be there.
Justin's very excited.
Calgary's only lab-grown diamond specialists exclusive in lab-grown diamonds.
Where are we talking to?
Oh, it was yesterday here in the studio.
Yeah, we were talking about when you were rattling off some of the clients and some of the partners that we have.
And I think that the point you made that a lot of the guys that watch our show are, listen,
they appreciate paying around 20% of what you would normally.
For a lab grown diamond, you can save 80%.
Our guys like 80% off is what we heard.
Justice of telling us, guys seem to like 80% less than what they were expected to pay.
Not cheap.
It doesn't make you cheap.
No.
Smart.
It's efficient.
Very smart.
Smart. Largest selection of loose lab-grown diamonds and jewelry in the city of Calgary.
And there are savings, almost across the board, 80% off.
80. Custom designs. You can sit down. You go into Vinova. You can plan all that out.
It takes a few weeks to get that all whipped up for you.
But if you're, I guess if you're one of those people here, here's what I want.
I want this on the side and this in the top. It's got to have horns here and then a tail coming out here.
I don't, I don't know. I don't know.
I don't know.
I don't know.
It's custom, I guess.
It's custom.
But either way.
Second floor, Stephen Avenue place, lab-grown diamonds.
If you haven't heard of it, you're going to hear a lot more about it because it's the way everything's moving.
It just makes more sense.
The diamonds are, in a lot of cases, better quality than the ones they're digging out of the ground.
Less imperfection.
Gross.
You know. Where do this come from?
I don't know.
I dug it out of the, I'm wearing that in my hand?
You're going to get one of those big necklaces like a baseball player and you're going to get like goosh or whatever your rapper name is.
You can get more diamonds in there for the same price.
Right in my teeth.
You get your fronts put in, yeah.
Got to talk to Justin.
He'll be there.
Venanova.com is the website, but truly, this is, we've all, the three of us have been there.
We've done and gone through the Venova experience.
It is well worth your time, and it's going to save you a ton of cash to get the very best.
And more importantly than us liking it, our better halves, loved it.
Oh, like, there's your win.
Success.
That one was.
Yeah.
Chatching.
And if you go in, you mention Barnburner,
I don't know that it gets you any kind of a discount, but...
Can't hurt.
It's a nice icebreaker.
Oh, really?
Oh, yeah, okay.
Still full price?
Yeah, that's right.
Okay, good, yeah.
Let's do the Pinder Report.
You know what?
I got these tickets to the San Jose game on Wednesday.
Let's do the Pinder Report.
Northwest Auto Mall.
They're online at village honda.com, and they are continuing with the million-dollar buy-in event.
Top dollar for your vehicle.
A million bucks to do it.
Sell them your vehicle.
Get a tropical cruise for two.
Find out more at village honda.com.
It's the Pinder Report.
Guys, we start the Pender Report with,
well, we'll pull back the curtain a little bit.
Before the show, we have to get all kinds of images and video,
get them to our boy, Alex,
who's going to play them when we call for them.
Clip one of the Pinda Report today is called
Cadry Shift from Hell.
Let's all feast our eyes.
Well, it doesn't really narrow it down.
Which one would it be?
Well, there's one egregious turnover.
That gives Chicago the puck.
Don't worry, it's three on four.
It's a ton of numbers.
Three on four, and how do you...
So, A, soft play at the Chicago Blue Line leads to change a possession.
B, lots of time and space here, doesn't get it to a teammate,
and shies away from potentially having to take contact,
and it's an easy setup for the Hawks.
That's Nazim Kadri's worst shift as a flying fellows.
Shiza, all right.
That could be his worst shift in the NHL.
And to make one mistake,
every player does it, it's not a thing.
But after making a soft play at the Chicago Blue Line
to follow it up with an even softer play 10 feet from your net,
I have a tough time.
My buddies would be playing that clip all summer for me.
Hey, Redster, nice shift, right?
Like guys close to you,
and you would be just feeling shame.
It's like, can't hide from that one, can you?
And look, I'm not here to say
Codry's not going to be a good flame
and this guy's bad and get him out of here
and this or that.
It was an awful time to have his worst game as a flame
and we've said it before.
This is a dysfunctional team right now.
I'd like to see him on a non-dispunctional team here very soon.
That would be nice.
Here's Afterburner last night with more thoughts on Cadry.
Dean and I didn't Afterburn.
It was like, yeah, that's the worst Nassum-Codry game.
It's got competition with tonight.
That might be the worst when it comes at a horrible time.
And I can't pretend to be between people's ears.
and when sometimes the guy's trying too hard.
But it just looked like,
how could you be so laxidical in this spot?
Both the second goal,
which ties the game for the Hawks,
and the third goal, which gives them their second lead of the night,
are lazy, low effort plays from Codry.
Chicken shit.
That one in a corner and the first goal, he gave up,
oh, that is, I've seen my, I got a kids hockey.
I've seen braver kids in the 10-year-old hockey.
That's scared.
Yeah.
And not caring.
I'm sorry.
Dean, would you like to add on or do you feel like we covered it there?
I feel like you guys covered it last night.
I feel like if you need further opinion is rewind.
Rewind the show today.
You know what we haven't heard from today?
Who's that?
Nazim.
Here's his comments after the game.
Don't know you're going to like him necessarily.
He was asked about that second goal for Chicago.
or the game the two-one lead?
Just turn it over.
I made a nice play.
You know, ice was getting a little chippy there at the end of the period.
We got a simple fire game and just, you know, can't make those mistakes.
He kind of own it, but he throws a little chippy ice.
I don't know.
Chippy ice.
That's not a nice thing.
Old times was it chippy?
Would you crapped yourself in the corner?
Is this chippy here?
That's chippy?
There was a chippy ice play that you...
You'd like him to own it a little.
more. You know what? If you're the Chicago
coach, you're probably even sour at your guy.
Could you finish a check? What are you doing?
Lollig gagging in there?
Like, go through after him. Go cause a
turn over. He was not in a crosshairs
had to spit it. Oh, I guess
of time in space. I guess you did cause a
turnover.
What's shameful.
It's like, it's like, one hand
and turning away from the play.
And how about not, like, do you try to get back
to the front of the net? No.
No. No. I'm just going to sit here.
Oh, dear.
That was bad.
It's really bad.
Here's an interesting thing we mentioned earlier.
This is a tweet from one of our listeners, viewers, whatever we call him now, Dean, one of our boys, Pedro.
How is this the guy that when he sat down with Frank Saravale at the All-Star Game said,
we need to play as a team and we'll make the playoffs?
It has been some of the least teamish play from 91.
And look, I think he's a good player.
This has been a miserable half year.
This guy had a broken hand.
and scored an overtime winning goal in the playoffs
to eliminate the Oilers last year?
This isn't the guy.
And it's...
Look, it's not the guy.
And that's...
Got to give you some hope in a weird way, doesn't it?
That if things are different, he could be that guy?
I don't, because it is the guy.
That is the guy.
It's the same guy.
So, apparently he can do either.
Apparently.
If you want more, Cauder, which I'm sure everyone...
There's an article as well, dear.
Ryan Pike weighing in on really laying the hammer down with the...
Not a great.
Didn't have a great night.
What's another way of saying didn't have a great?
Had a bad?
Soiled undies.
It was brutal.
Tragic number for the Calgary Flames is, well, very small.
And that's not good if you know how a tragic number works.
It's a combination of flames, losses, or Winnipeg wins.
It's only three.
So Jets have five left.
And that's assuming Calgary.
Oh, boy.
Yeah, that's what they're up against math-wise.
Here's a look at your standings in the West.
Nashville did win.
Back-to-back, Dallas and Vegas.
They pull off an OT winner, I believe it was Phil Tomicito,
that drew the penalty in overtime and then scored an overtime.
It went out, glass shot, and I think it went off the skate of the defender and in.
Either way.
That's some gutsy shit from Nashville here after sell.
with four significant injuries.
Tommy Novak on the board with two more.
Are you kidding me?
They're one back of the flames with a game in hand.
Calgary's two back of the Jets.
Jets hold a game in hand and a tie break.
You're three back and the Jets have a game at hand
because you lost to a 30 second place team on your home ice.
Crucial stretch of the season.
We've gone over that.
Here are the Jets lines for tonight's contest.
They've been humming since they came home, Dean.
They've got shutout at the end of a road trip in San Jose,
but since then, 6-2 and 6-1,
they're two victories,
and they've moved some guys around and got some success.
Shifley was cooled off.
Eelers was on the third line.
Wheeler wasn't getting points.
All of them heating up in a big way.
Hear more about this maybe in our bet way bets of the day.
They're feeling good with back-to-back six goal victories
and, you know, a few days to rest up for the flames
who are limping in with their fourth and six and third and four nights.
Oh, they'll be very tight, though.
It'll be very tense and tight.
Especially after watching the Flames game last night.
Yeah.
You guys got afterburn it tonight.
have fun with that with James.
Yeah.
Tees and peace.
Is that the...
Well, it won't be an hour.
I'll tell you that.
No, we needed an hour last night.
You might not tonight.
You might be able to start in third period.
Was it a non-Kur record?
It was, what, 54?
No, it was close to a non-Kur record.
I think we had 104 was the Kerr record,
and we had a 101 or something.
It's like, damn, if I knew that,
I would have gone through this one.
Non-Kur is a big show, though.
If you're flirting with a non-Kur record.
Let's move to the Eastern Conference,
huge game last night for Rett.
He's in a 11th.
as he would say of two teams that clashed.
It was a huge win for the Florida Panthers
who started in that wild card three slot playing Buffalo
who had games in hand and a chance.
They lose two to one.
Alex Lyon and Devin Levi put on a show.
Both excellent, a two-on-win
and Florida Leap Frogs not only Pittsburgh,
but also the Islanders.
Pantaro's officially have won the trade.
That's it. I'm sorry.
They get the place to win.
The Panthers have put on.
on a charge too.
Ever since Keith
to Cichuk errated them for being soft.
Even before that, if you go back to the All-Star
break, I think they're way out.
And they've played, I mean,
they've dropped games and Cichuk
had to call them out.
They've come a long way back to get into this.
They've had some nice stretches and then it seems like
not only this team we cover here, there's been the hiccups
after those, but they've needed it now
and they have performed.
Keith called them out, man.
There's your east.
Pittsburgh.
Last time Sid missed the playoffs,
I got some facttoids for you.
This is rookie season.
Mario played the first half of the year and then retired.
That's how long it's been in Pittsburgh.
05-0-06.
Yeah.
That is a hell of a run.
And look, they're not dead yet,
but it's been an ugly hard watch for Penguins fans,
similar to the flames.
See, and I like the players on that team.
I'm just sick of seeing them.
And it's weird because there's still enough guys there.
You felt like when that string was going to come to an end,
it would have, that whole group,
but it's still the tang and Malkin and they all re-up.
They're all kind of still there.
They all got new deals.
Kind of shocked that they are in that spot.
Let's go to the W.HL.
Overblown Connor Pettard with another show last night.
Did he do well again?
Back in Regina, up to nothing on that favored Saskatoon Blades.
He's set up the first two Regina goals as we go to the action here.
Benard pokes it to center trying to split the defense he does.
He's all alone.
Bernard.
Scores!
Three points gets them to 11 at that juncture of the series.
They would blow that lead, Red.
The blades come back from 3-1 and win it in overtime, 4 to 3.
It's a 2-1 series lead for Regina.
Game 4, I believe, tonight in Regina,
a chance to make a 3-1 or a 2-2 saw off going back to Saskatoon.
No lead is 2.
Did you see him split the D?D.
You won with 10 minutes left.
Watch this, Red.
It looked like Chad.
Allen and Brett Warner back.
No, we just slashed them.
He's going to say,
it would be water skiing off him.
Calgary Hitman in action again tonight.
We told you on about Monday's loss at home.
They're down 2-1 to the Red Deer Rebels.
7 o'clock start at the dome.
If you want to cheer on the Hitman, man,
if they could go back to Red Deer tied 2-2,
that would secure a Sunday-fund-day game 6 at the dome,
which is what we want.
It's a good thing, right?
That's right.
Sunday Sunday, very good.
To baseball, here we go.
a reminder that despite how dark times can feel in Calgary Flamesland,
we are living in the golden era of baseball in some ways.
So there's a tweet here about,
well, the god, no, that's not,
our god Shohayotani, who is sensational.
Also, our good pal, Mike Soroka back in action,
we just showed that.
He made a AAA start, one earned run,
up over 60 pitches.
He's building back up after missing time in spring training.
Great bit of work for our boy, Mike Soroka.
Stretches.
We've got to stretch those hammies.
Mike.
Stretch those hammies out.
Get healthy and let's go.
I'll fax him some stretching.
He can ask him some hammies.
Master's week continues today.
Final practice nines and then the par three contest.
You remember that one?
No.
Okay.
You don't.
All right.
Here's a look at the Canadians.
Who do we like? This is one of the things we're asking you in the master's pool.
You've got to pick one Canadian.
Corey Conner's three straight top tens at the Masters.
No one else done that. That's pretty unreal.
Also, first ever Masters for Adam Svensson.
We also see Mike Weir on the far right and McKenzie Hughes in the white with the blue slacks.
He's won this year, as did Svenson.
That's how they got in. Connors is just really good.
So he's there every year now.
And we're, of course, won it 20 years ago.
Do you have a Canadian you like here, Dean?
or do you remember the names of the guy's not named where?
Pete Connors.
Stomping.
Stompomboys.
That's right.
You walk carefully on those greens.
Stompin' Tomp's boy?
I didn't know he's awful.
There, bud, the spud.
I like to Lusselberg.
My back still hurts when I hear that word.
Rhett, do you have a favorite out of those,
that group of the connection?
Mackenzie.
Mackenzie.
All right, very good.
Here's the menu.
Inflation's killing everyone,
even in the States.
rat except in one place at
Augusta National Golf Course.
It's a deal to be had, Dino.
You might have to zoom in, Alex, a little, but
there's your pimento sandwich.
Dollar 50.
$1.50.
Yeah, beer, five bucks.
Commy's going. Bottleed water, $2.
Is he going on?
Comey's going to bring some back for us.
Chicken salad on a brioche, $3.
Is this a currency we don't understand that's like
worth 10 times the American dollar?
How are these prices a real thing?
Soft drink, $2.
It was like 1985 pricing rights.
Just another reason.
You got Augustin National, right?
By the way, over 425 people this morning had already signed up for the master's pool.
Check our links on social media.
Get in there.
Pricing announced.
We got a golf bag.
We got you and a buddy golfing the Glenco Forest with our buddy Derek Newman,
who's an afterburner sponsor.
And we'll have some Barnburner swag as well.
Winner will get to pick which three prizes.
Might be a putter thrown in that golf bag working on that.
Second place, he'll get to pick what's left.
and then third will probably end up with the barn burner.
Unless that's the guy who wins it.
I got to get the barn bars.
I got a broken TV if we were.
Stop it.
Speaking of Rhett and Tom Foolery,
there are visuals of,
now your boys haven't fallen back to Buffalo yet.
Nope.
But they are with you now in Calgary.
So this must have been the Buffalo to Calgary flight earlier this week.
Don't know why it took me this long to get the photos.
Probably not the shoveler,
but look at the arrogance and this is a foul.
You cannot get on a plane and kick up bare feet
and inch away from somebody's head.
I was on a plane
with the shoveler
and the lady sat beside the shoveler
took her sandals off
and started picking skin off.
Dean's gonna appear.
I'm not joking.
What do they call that Dean?
Tojam?
Is that it?
Or is under the nail stuff different?
Big long strips of dead skin.
That's a hoof rot.
Hoof rot.
Yeah, what's that stuff under the nail
that's kind of like dirt
but it also looks kind of like danders?
It's fungi.
Yeah.
You're a fun guy, right?
So there's your Pind Report.
Teacher boys smart enough.
Smart enough.
Parent, your own kids.
Village Honda, they have the million-dollar buy-in event.
Buying those used vehicles.
They'll buy yours, even if you don't buy theirs.
And they throw tropical crews to boot.
They are doing everything they can to get your attention.
VillageHonda.com.
Online, Northwest Automall, they are your dealership for life.
For life.
For life.
I could be making a visit.
We'll be out there soon enough.
Next week, maybe.
Clarity on the golf pool.
Just like more specifics because it's free to enter.
Free to enter.
So where do we do it?
So again, I believe the Barnburner Twitter account has got a link.
Also on my social media, there's a link.
And I think Flames Nation has tweeted out as well.
So just go to our social media.
You'll find the master's gift driving up, what they call it, the street there?
Pendbullet Highway.
That's incorrect.
Good try, though.
All you'll need to do is enter the link.
And then there's a code you'll put in to enter for free.
you'll be asked to select one or two players out of a certain box.
So we'll have like live douchebags.
And you'll pick Patrick Reed or you'll pick Bryson DeShambo or Brooks Kepka,
the four Canadians, pick one.
Here's some former winners.
Now are they all for sure playing or do I need to?
Are you trying to.
Already all of them are in the field and confirmed to play.
Trying to fool me.
Also right next to them are there wagering odds in sports books and where they are in the
world golf rankings.
If you know nothing about golf,
you can still do a very good job of picking good golfers.
And it's free.
And it's free.
And the prizing we told you.
And the surprise.
You want to golf the toughest course in Alberta with our boy Derek this summer,
buy a round drinks for you?
You want a new golf bag and putter?
You want some barn burner gear?
Let's go.
That's cool.
We'll do our betway bets in a moment.
Again, talking about giving away stuff.
We brought it up yesterday.
The, uh, oh, boy, not this again.
There you go.
Oh, yeah.
Bill.
Yeah.
You're good.
Yep, nail it.
There it is.
Back it up.
Autographed Bill Hubert O. Jersey.
All Bill.
What team did he play for?
Was that the sweat hogs in the old international?
Yeah.
Tallahassee sweat hogs.
Autographed, blasty, huby, jersey, provided by our friends at the Hearing Loss Clinic.
Today is Wednesday.
We might do this tomorrow.
Get after.
You know what?
A lot of people entered yesterday.
They saw the clip and they've been doing that.
So you've got a little over 24 hours.
Get in before the, let's say, EOD Thursday.
before the long weekend.
And this could be yours,
courtesy of the hearing loss clinic.
Takes me back to my days of doing, like, weather.
Did you ever have to do that?
Oh, a little bit, yeah.
You look here, there's a bit of a high-pressure cell
coming down from the...
Are you stretching there?
What is this?
I was going to say, there's some physical comedy,
but not having that.
Betway bets of the day
and we'll get out of here.
There's a game tonight in Winnipeg.
Big game of the year.
I'm having a hard time getting wound up.
Totally pumped.
I had my menu planned out and everything.
Did you?
And now it's...
Can you let us in?
Well, it's mostly popcorn.
Okay.
It's a big game. He's got a popcorn.
Speaking of big game, I'm going big game hunting.
Oh! Here's my...
Here is my...
My couple of Betway...
Betts.
Flames love giving up the first goal.
Let it down.
Calgary guy, Adam Lowry, I'm
going for it. First goal score of the game
plus 2,000.
Oh my God.
Look at that. Mr. Lowry.
It's a thing of beauty.
And I'm going to go back to To Foley.
Nearly had one there.
I mean, it was nearly had a tying goal.
If there was a guy that was going to get one, you felt like it was going to be him.
Tofoli anytime goal plus 155.
So those are my two for today.
You did tie the game at 1-1 as well.
I know, yeah.
He's just on an absolute heater.
Lowry, so if you bet $100, you would win $2,000 on Lowry score on the first goal,
do you know?
$2 million.
That might be the biggest big game hunting we've seen in the history of our Betway.
I figured you'd like it.
I figured you'd like it.
It's ballsy.
The balls on that guy.
And I feel like there is a slim.
I was going to go with Dubois, but it was nowhere near plus 2000.
Yeah, no, yeah.
It's not a big number there.
I'm on the same game.
Let's go to Winnipeg.
They'll be busing up from Fargo probably right now, right?
since then anyway.
I don't really get the joke.
It's.
Shifley, a helper.
Plus 140.
He's at back-to-back two-point games.
He's humming and back to himself.
That feels like the wrong number there.
Plus money for one assist from a guy that,
well, they've scored 12 their last two games,
and the flames looked fucking exhausted last night.
I don't know.
Also, one of the guys that's quietly been stirring the drink,
that's straw's name, Vlad Nemestikov.
They got him on a line with Eler.
and Wheeler.
Ealing and Wheeler.
If he scores, that's plus $3.50.
That line's been really good the last two games.
So I'm going with a little big game hunting myself,
the Mastikov plus $350.
Very good for you.
Those are the,
it's an assist you're going for.
It's not that important, I suppose.
Shife, you said?
Yeah, plus 140.
That's your saying.
You get on that?
So I might need to get on that.
I can't read anything.
Yeah.
Double up here.
Full screen, please.
Alex,
you know what?
Should I fly?
No,
full screen,
Dean, yeah.
That's going to do it
for the program today.
Tomorrow,
now what are we doing
for tonight?
You guys are doing
Afterburn?
So what are you doing?
I don't know.
What do you mean?
What am I doing?
Because I have a home studio.
You're inviting them over?
No.
Why?
Well, thanks, buddy.
I don't have room for two.
I can't spare a square.
I don't have a square to spare.
It's, I don't know what,
are you coming in here?
I thought about coming in here, but we'll do it from my home studio.
Do you have your stuff to do it from home?
He's got a laptop.
That's it.
That's all they use.
But you have your stuff.
Lighting.
Yeah.
We will have, now what time is this game?
Sixer.
So we'll start a little bit.
You know, right?
Be done earlier.
Yes.
Shouldn't run too late.
You've already said you're not.
You're not talking for very long.
He left it all out there last.
Unlike Calgary Flames, he left it all out on the ice last night after Bram.
Yeah, he really did.
So look, you really, really wanted this one to feel like it was a massive game.
And it would have been.
And maybe it still is, but you'd have loved just get that thing last night.
And in a lot of ways, the Western Conference, the hockey world,
it would have been one of the games that they'd all be watching tonight.
You're in the playoffs.
Last night, win tonight.
might 5.30 start tonight? I don't know. 530. That's why I was asking.
530 seems early, but maybe there's a... I could work really well. I think it is.
You know what? On flames.com. 530 p.m.
They might know a thing or two at flames.com. Well, Wednesday, right? Well, I hope they start on time.
Double-header night. That's why. Even better retro. Yeah, they're going to go Edmonton,
Anaheim is the nightcap. You and me are going to go clubbing after. Yes. It'll be good to get...
Lock up your daughters, Calgary.
We're going out.
From the house.
That's right.
Going to the...
We're going to the Circle K.
Grabing some O'Grattons.
Heading back to the basement.
Nail it.
Look out, ladies.
Hey, thanks to all of our sponsors.
Thanks for being a part of the show.
It was...
I mean, today was a good show.
I feel like this one's going to get a little bit of reaction today.
Again. Afterburner's got some...
If you haven't sampled that last night.
Yeah.
We'll be back tomorrow with our reactions and that on
the on the matchup tonight. Support the sponsors, like, subscribe, follow all the social media stuff.
Remember the jersey. Old Bill Hubert O for the Hearing Loss Clinic. Get in on the master's pool.
Lots of things going on. So we appreciate you. Big shoutouts to pay built as well for jumping on
title sponsor of the playoff draft. We're about 10 days away. It's going to be a super and sensational
ret drinking too much on the mic fast. I can't wait. Excited. It's going to be huge, sensational.
It's got to be huge. Fantastic.
biggest ever.
Drinking, hockey.
How's he doing,
by the way?
He's in jail.
I know yesterday was kind of a big day for him.
I didn't pay that close to.
It's got a lot on the go.
It's got a lot on the go.
Yeah.
Not golfing.
Is he golfing?
I don't think so.
No, no.
The fuck just scores another day.
Shame.
That's it.
Liggers suck.
See you, buddies.
