Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Lottery Recap & Playoff Hockey Ft. Jamie McLennan | FN Barn Burner - May 8th, 2024
Episode Date: May 8, 2024FlamesNation Barn Burner with Boomer, Pinder & Warrener- Intro (1:00)- Noodles Joins (4:00)- Noodles Pride & Joy (5:30)- COL/DAL (9:00)- VAN/EDM (14:00)- Tij Iginla (26:30)- Leafs (29:30)- Tra...vis Green (52:00)- Noodles Leaves (58:00)- More On Green (59:00)- Toronto Media Debate (01:08:00)- Flames Drafting Americans (01:18:00)- Pinder Report (01:36:00)- Betway Bets (02:11:00)BARN BURNER BLONDEhttps://originbrewing.myshopify.com/products/barn-burner-473ml👍🏼 McLEOD LAW https://www.mcleod-law.com👍🏼 VILLAGE HONDA https://www.villagehonda.com👍🏼 OUTDOOR DENTAL https://www.outdoor.dental👍🏼 VENA NOVA https://venanova.com👍🏼 BETWAY https://betway.com/bwp/flamesnation👍🏼 GRETA BAR https://www.gretabar.com/locations/ca👍🏼 ORIGIN BREWING https://originbrewing.ca👍🏼 WENDYs https://order.wendys.com/rewards👍🏼 Great Clips https://www.greatclips.com/👍🏼 KAL TIRE https://commercial.kaltire.com/👍🏼 BeAroused https://www.bearoused.ca/💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on twitter: @FlamesNation @BarnburnerFN @960boomer @PinderReport @warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @Flames_Nation💻 Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Oh, hi, everybody.
Welcome to the program.
A little podcast for you here on a, I believe it's a Wednesday.
I believe it's a Wednesday.
It's Boomer.
It's Warner and it's the macho man.
Rhyme always rises.
Cream.
Where did you get that shirt?
Because it is tremendous.
So I've got this lunatic group of pals I play fantasy hockey with.
As I scored is like tangled behind my.
back and I'm trying not to die here.
Yeah.
And we had a weekly wager between me and the commissioner and the loser had to buy a
t-shirt from like the WWF shop.
Nice.
Yeah.
I won.
Were you the winner or the loser?
Oh, I was the one.
You get this.
Come on a t-shirt like this?
I was going to say.
This isn't shaming.
This is incredible.
I was going to say either way.
I think I wore it the day you were at WrestleMania as well.
Yeah.
If that was picked up or not.
Vegas next year,
WrestleMania.
Who's in?
Is that right?
Yeah.
Yeah. One of the big footbally stadium thing there that they got.
Oh, my God.
Allegiance or whatever.
Yeah.
That's a large building.
Retro?
You didn't make Philly?
Less weather concerns than Vegas, I'd suggest.
We'll be indoors, all of it indoors.
Real good, yeah?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So is that next week?
Next year.
Next April.
Oh, that's annual events.
I'm giving you see, I know you like having enough time.
Yeah, way out there.
He's too much time.
He's a big planner.
I'll be there till
okay yeah you let me know Wednesday
today I'm in good good enough
good stuff I'm excited
we have you know we're
you know what it is we're just kind of
leisurely making our way through the postseason we're into round
number two Frank Saravalli said you know what this round number two
might be one for the ages ladies and gentlemen
and through one night
a little pee came out last night
watching these hockey games man
how many over time loved every minute of it
three and Rhett said it yesterday, Dean.
The Colorado Avalanche or must watch television.
Yes, they are. Yeah. And don't, don't, don't turn them on and then leave.
No, thinking that it's over.
I'll look at the score and think, oh, what happened.
I can't believe it. That's, uh, you got to hang in there.
You got to hang in there. Only down by three, stay tuned.
If it's five, even then I'm not sure.
Let's bring in our hockey analyst from TSN, Jamie McClain.
Lenin Noodles is, there he is, the vintage goalie himself.
A hell of a start to round number two.
You know, it's too hockey.
It's too sportsy.
How are you?
I'm good.
Guys, what's going on?
I don't go to WrestleMania.
I don't know much about it.
In the year 2000, when I played for the Minnesota Wilde, when they were opening the
building, I played with a guy named Steve McKenna, who was like 6.8.
He was a monster.
And they, WrestleMania invited him to be.
be a guest referee.
Oh, yeah.
So we went down that afternoon and we had to go through like the routine of what was
going to happen, right?
There was going to somebody was going to come out of the crowd and go nuts.
And then there was going to be a chair involved.
And then McKenna was supposed to be distracted and then somebody else came on.
And like it was like a whole, but he had to be aware of it.
And he was really good.
It was amazing.
And I, you know, those guys are peer athletes, but it's also like I say,
It's a little bit like, you know, choreographed, but then all hell breaks loose with the emotion.
What?
It was really cool.
I just remember they gave us floor seats.
I was like two rows back.
And right behind me was like an 80-year-old woman who was just giving them the finger and yelling.
I'm like, where the hell am I?
Am I on the moon?
Yeah.
It was pretty cool.
So that was my like WrestleMania or whatever it was.
One of these, you know, I can't remember if, you know, it was WW.
or what you put it was, but it was pretty cool.
So, sorry, this was in Minnesota?
So it was the year 2000, expansion.
And it was like early on.
They just opened the rink.
So we were just, you know, new Minnesota wild players.
And they invited Mack and Mac, you know, we had a bunch of beers and went down.
It kind of made a night of it.
It was awesome.
But it was like he had to put the referee jersey.
He was a guest referee.
And he had to kind of play along.
and there was, you know, there was a bunch of mutants, including him in the ring.
It was awesome.
Yeah.
They had Jason Kelsey and one of the other, one of the other Eagles part of the event this year.
So yeah, it's tried and true, buddy, tried and true.
How's the backscratcher?
Back scratch.
Back scratch.
So I had to bribe my kids because this is my pride and joy, and it never leaves my office, okay?
I came home from a road trip.
it was missing because my idiot son, who's six, and his friends decided to take it somewhere and play with it.
And then he couldn't remember.
And then he blamed it on his sister.
So I scoured the house looking for this for weeks.
And then I finally snapped the other day.
And I said, I will bribe you all.
I said for my son, Roblox money for my daughter.
I said, I will buy you something, Taylor Swift.
You find you.
Both of them looked for about five minutes and gave up.
And then I decided to look and I found it in the basement under a bunch of toys.
So I was so mad.
And now I'm guarding this thing with my life.
I love my back scratcher.
Like it's my favorite thing.
And I keep it everywhere at the house.
It's my pride.
A holster.
It's in a holster, exactly.
Keep it on you like a weapon.
Well, it's good for a few things.
Keep the kids away a little bit.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
To tune them up.
Give them a whack.
No, you can't touch anybody, but you can't give them a whack of it.
the hands anymore yeah that's right you know crazy story i used to do you guys remember this i'm old
enough i mean i don't know retro i got the strap a few times in elementary like i don't know
school yeah it's school from the principal i know it existed i never got it i had heard some kids did
get it really i got it you're supposed to back then you're supposed to take some hair and put it on your
hand and then when they strap it you pull it off and if they draw blood the teacher would get in
trouble that was what i was told they never drew blood but i remember my principal
scientific my my principal was chris osgood's dad john he was awesome but i think he had to lay down
the business one time for me it him and there was another guy named john carilla they had to
strap me one time i call johnny i threw a i threw a snowball and hit hit one of the recess
teachers right in the face by accident so doodles she walked into it there wasn't my fault i didn't
You know, I...
Sounds like my kid.
Not your fault, hey?
I got in big trouble one time.
We were, there was one kid and we were in the hallway.
I think it was after lunchtime, after recess, and we were,
somebody had gotten his toke and whatever.
They were kind of, you know, keep away, throwing it around,
throwing it around.
The next thing, you know, we're getting called down to the office.
And the assistant principal grabbed me and the one other guy by the scrub,
like, and was holding us up against the wall with our feet dangling,
that sort of thing.
and he's like,
it's 40 below outside.
What are you doing?
Taking away the kids too commits it.
It was like a curbier enthusiasm thing.
But it wasn't outside.
It was, but no, it wasn't outside.
It was in the whole,
you got this all wrong, man.
And he was very, very upset.
I thought we were getting the strap that day.
But luckily, just scruff of the neck and banging our head against the wall of his office.
prick was wrong though it was not that big a deal it was in the hallway nowadays you get a stern
talking to a pat on the back we don't do it that way we you know here's a participation badge
you all of that type of stuff we don't do there yeah is there a reason that you took the two commits
are you are you upset about something else do you want to maybe have a chat exactly so well
heck of a start around two last there is great hockey though i will say that and that
that colorado team is serious man
Like Dallas is a, Dallas is a great team.
I just feel like I've never seen Miles Wood skate that fast.
That was an unreal.
Like, where did Miles Wood?
Like, it looked like that was McKinnon, a left.
I know.
It was unreal.
That whole team flies.
I was just going to say, now I'm sure it's team philosophy.
And I'm sure they try and bring guys along that do have speed.
But some of it has to be McKinnon and McCar and rubbing off on those guys,
play fast.
They are always where the puck's going.
Yeah.
Not where it's being,
not where they're not chasing.
They're not catching up.
They're there.
And you would think a guy maybe like Miles would.
If he's got the puck on a break,
on a partial break or whatever,
he's going to,
I'm going to take it through the neutral zone.
I'll get,
and I'm looking over my shoulder.
Who's with me?
Have I got a two on one?
Have we got an odd man rush?
No, it's pin your ears back.
And I'm going to blow the doors off this guy.
Who is hastening?
Yeah.
You know, it's not like you're,
you're getting by.
me on the blue line or something like that.
He absolutely just smoked.
And I did the same thing.
So this eight years with New Jersey before signing in Colorado, July 1, 20, 23.
Who is this guy?
And I'm with you.
I saw the two on the jersey that had to be McKinnon.
Yeah, it was, but you know, good on him.
Like they, like they were down three Cobb and I thought to myself, old Georgie V is in trouble there.
And all hell's going to break loose.
and they just found a way to push back into it.
And it started with their power play.
I mean, that's really what it is.
Their power play gets them back into it.
And then special players and then a special play by a non-suspecting guy, Miles Wood.
But, you know, they, I've, I think I told you guys this.
When we chose our teams, I thought Colorado and the Rangers were going to be in the finals.
Now, it could be.
Who knows?
but I think Colorado, I watched them live twice near the end of the season.
I'm like, these guys are a serious, serious team.
Now, again, if the goalie decides to look like me in the net, that's no good.
But they found a way around it last night.
And we'll see if Dallas has a response because they're a hell of a team too.
Well, they're a great defense team.
They held them to four.
No one's done that yet.
There's playoffs.
Exactly.
It's that crazy.
They don't need necessarily anything but just okay goaltending.
They won a cup with Kemper.
Yep, that's true.
And you know what?
They need Yorgiev to be solid.
Yeah.
Give them a chance.
That's it.
Stop the ones you're supposed to.
That's fine.
Well, and he did last night.
He was good when they settled in.
But man, oh man.
Surprising a little bit to me how much of an impact the power play is having.
We know that it tightens up and that'll start to go away.
But you go back to the Edmonton series and they feasted on the power play and the kings
had basically killed them.
The other game last.
night. Cains go 0 for 5 in the power play, 0 for 10, their penalty kill was no good. They lose.
They're down. And like you say, Colorado, they got back into this game because of the power play,
which is not to say that they wouldn't have otherwise, but and even the overtime winner by
Trocheck is a power play goal. And there were, I think, both teams had two tries with the man
advantage. There were multiple power plays through the overtime. A little surprised, I think, a little bit.
even that call that led to the game winner in the Carolina game,
a little, you know, kind of a cross check on the trochecks.
I thought it was thin based on the timing of the game.
You know, in the playoffs to me, like it's prison rules.
And, you know, if a guy's on a break where it has a wide open net
and you try and chop his arm off, then, you know,
that's a slashing penalty.
Outside of that, you've got to let them play.
I thought it was a thin call.
Carolina was awesome.
Like, Schisturkin was really good.
That could easily be a one-one series,
and it probably could and should have been,
but the Rangers find a way, right?
Power play special teams have been the difference.
We'll see how, you know, I mean,
I don't think Evanton's going to go.
So Evanton went nine for 17,
but they scored two goals within three seconds
of the power play, you know, expiring.
In one game they did that.
They were really 11 for 17.
Yeah.
They're not going to do that against Van.
But I, you know,
be interesting to see.
I think Vann's going to try and bully them.
You're going to have Zadorov running around.
Carson Sussi.
You got to be smart about it,
but I think that's where Vann's going to try and go is,
hey, we're going to, and there's where a guy like Evander Kane
can be a difference maker because he'll keep some of those guys in check.
So how do you bully when you know the millimeter cross line and there's a power play given
to that team?
That's the one thing you can't do.
And talk and said it is you can't turn over the puck.
you can't get in power plays. Can you bully without the fear of taking penalties?
Like, walk us through that. That feels like a fine line to walk.
I think the only philosophy, and I would speak to Rhett said about this is you're going to take a
penalty. You take a chunk of somebody. Like if you're going to take a rough in a scrum,
you punch a guy square in the face. Like you take a roughing penalty. You don't, it's not a little
slap and a cuff and hey, like, like if you're going to, if for some reason outside of like a stick
infraction where a guy gets around you, end up hooking him by accident, whatever.
Like, it's just a live play.
But if you were going to take an aggressor penalty, you get a piece of that person.
That's what I would be looking at.
So can you do that in a close game or only when it's out of hand?
No, you can't.
Like, I think it's out of hand.
But I don't, I would, I don't think Zedorov is a guy who's going to go, you know what,
I'm just going to tread up to the line and, you know, walk it.
I think he's a guy who doesn't control himself.
So, you know, I think he's a, it makes.
it makes him good, but it also makes him a liability.
You know, on a night where he's skating and playing to his capability,
he looks pretty good.
But on the nights where he can't control himself whistle to whistle,
you know, Abington can expose that.
Did you have something there, Red?
Oh, just, I'm with noodles.
If you're going to go ahead and take one.
Like when you want to take a penalty,
get it so that he's got a bloody nose and he can't sleep at night.
Like, you're going to take a roughing?
Take one.
I'll give you the prime example, and it ended up being a bad penalty that cost Vegas.
Petro-Angelo forearm glove to Sagan's nose that broke his nose.
That was a two-minute roughing penalty.
Initially, they called it a five-minute major, and then they went back to two minutes
while Sagan was fixing his face on the bench, and they were stuffing the cotton up there.
And now, Dahl scored on the power play.
So it was a difference.
And Bruce Cassidy took a shot at Petro Angelo after the game and said he needs to know better.
But that's what I talk about.
You know, that was a penalty.
That's a flat out penalty.
Tyler Sagan, you know, felt that probably, he's probably still feeling it to this day because his nose is probably still cracked or something.
But that's what I'm talking about.
You can't, if you're going to take a penalty, you've got to stay out of the box.
That's the best kill.
But if you're taking one, you've got to take a piece of somebody.
Yeah.
And see if I'm knoblock and the Oilers,
if Vancouver saying, you know what,
we're going to have to bully these guys.
I would be saying, you know what?
You definitely need to bully us.
Yeah.
For sure, bully us because we'll put our 55% power play to work.
And if it's not a one goal game,
we'll take our chances for sure.
But I don't know, I'll be honest,
I don't have a whole lot of high hopes for this series.
I feel like Edmonton is going to cruise here.
I do.
I think people are sleeping on Vancouver's ability to defend.
Okay.
Tell me,
tell me how and why we can third spring.
Nashville was a very,
very good offensive team that scored a ton.
And Vancouver dragged that into the muck
and wet toweled the crap out of it by their decision.
And they turned it into no event hockey.
That's the only way you can beat the Oilers.
I'm not saying that they can't play good D,
but come on.
We're going to prepare Nashville to...
I'm just saying like...
Like the notion that this is a team that was no good.
Like that's probably a top three team
in the second half of the year, Nashville,
when you look at their record.
But it wasn't based on overwhelming offensive prowess.
The second half it was.
They were one of the best offensive clubs in the season.
Come on.
Okay, I'll go find the stats.
So you're comparing Nashville to Edmonton offensive.
Nashville was second in the league
from the end of the All-Star break
to the end of the regular season in goals per game.
Only Toronto scored more per game.
And what do we say about the regular?
season and how it lends to the
season series, I don't really give
a shit. I don't care that Vancouver swept
the Oilers. I don't believe in that.
But I think the 40% of this
regular season, that's not nothing. That's a high
scoring team they shut down. Well,
the thing too is
Nashville played
that series was a low event
series. Like when you look at just the
shots on goal, there
was no ice to be contested out there.
I don't know. I would argue
that Vancouver, Eminton is going to be
higher event because I don't know if either one of these teams has a hundred percent discipline
to play that Nashville style where it's like, you know, just blanket.
Like to me, Vancouver wants to score.
They want to be, and they've got depth.
That third line is a hell of a third line.
Like they can score and I think that they can play, you know, a hard style.
It's just my question is how is Edmonton going to adapt to Vancouver style?
or is Vancouver going to have to adapt to Edmonton?
Like who's going to impose their games?
But isn't that the issue right?
That's the winning and losing of a series.
You've been enough of them to know that if you're starting to adapt your style
because the other team's having success, you're effed already.
Like any team that I've had success with, it's,
I don't care what the other team does.
This is what we have to do.
And they have to adapt to us.
And once you get a team doing that,
It doesn't guarantee you the win, but it certainly speaks to you having the upper hand.
Yeah.
I think there'd be a lot of factors, right?
The goaltending.
Like who's starting is, is Shilof starting?
It looks like it, right?
We got Shilof starting.
You know, Stuart Skinner's got still stuff to prove.
I thought he was great in the first round.
He had one bad game and that ended up costing them that game.
But outside of that, he stole one in L.A.
I thought he absolutely stole that even though there wasn't a lot of high quality chances.
he was really good.
You know, the goaltending will be a factor because, you know,
Shilov has obviously had three great games,
but like he hasn't faced that power play.
He hasn't, you know, there's going to be a lot of pressure here.
And Ebenton can score.
I will say that.
They're a high-scoring, you know, very talented team.
So, you know, is Vancouver going to try and dumb it down,
try and bore the game down?
and play five on five and just see them.
That would be the game plan if I'm Rick talking.
I don't think they can beat them six, five.
The only chance Vancouver has is to do what they did the last series,
which is to play two one.
No one gets more than 25 shots.
Make this as dull as possible.
I don't know if they can,
but that's the only path for them.
I can see.
Now, when you say last,
do you mean Vancouver, Nashville?
Yeah, because that was like as low event as it got in terms of chances.
But who was that by design?
I think it was by Vancouver's choice.
When we asked Frank, who covered that series, he said, you know, this is Vancouver's choice to do this.
They're choosing to dump it in and hit rather than try to carry through the neutral zone.
I think Rick Tockett's trying to teach his team how to defend and be difficult to play against.
Well, it did work.
They were patient.
They hung around.
They ended up getting rewarded in the end.
But I, you know, I look at it in, you know, even against L.A.
L.A. tried to step back into that one-three-one and Edmonton just decimated them.
Like, you know, there was times I pointed out one, I think, on Sports Center where Darnell Nurse stood with the puck in front of his net.
And it took about 10 seconds for Evan.
He called everybody back and said, let's regroup.
And they ended up getting a chance off of it because they got speed through the neutral zone.
They skated it.
They broke the one three one.
They got a chance off of it.
Like to me, Evanton will decimate that if they move their feet.
I still think tonight might be a sloppy game.
you know,
Evanton hasn't played in a week.
And you know what it's like.
You're kind of like, it's kind of like what Florida had the other night against Boston.
Boston just rolled from great game seven right into game one, kept rolling.
You know, their emotion was high.
They knew how to play.
They knew how they wanted to play.
Florida had to start the engine up again.
And they,
you know,
they had a decent start,
but they couldn't sustain it.
And it would be interesting.
Both of these teams have had a little bit of a break,
Evanton,
a little bit more.
You know,
will it be sloppy early on?
trying to establish your game plan or will it be kind of slow and hey let's feel this out what
are you going to do we're not sure what we're going to do yet here like so i i'm fascinated the only thing
i'm pissed about and this is an easterner speaking right now is it's a 1020 eastern puck drop
which is to choose where you left come on you can come to the mountain time zone whenever you want
you're right or if you want to sell your league which we are in the business of selling your league
you could have a 6 o'clock start in Vancouver, make it 9 o'clock Eastern, which is prime time,
and you have the best player in the world on display.
Think of the people in Newfoundland that want to watch this.
I want the double header.
I understand it.
It just my point is, I think there is some flexibility there.
Can you start a game out east at 6?
I don't 5.30 tonight, yeah.
So that's right.
5.30 Eastern time?
Yeah, they could go up earlier.
Sorry, they're 7.30, Eastern, 5.30.
So you're right.
They could have gone at 6.30, bump everything up.
I'm talking at 6 o'clock Eastern.
Yeah, it's a pain in the ass for, but anyway, whatever.
Okay, but even, let's do this.
Let's just say this.
You're starting it at 7.30 tonight.
Why not start it at 7 and 9.30?
So you could do 6.30 in Vancouver, which isn't going to really kill anybody.
But that extra half an hour gets you into prime time, gets people engaged in it that
when they're channel surfing.
because like I say, it's 10 o'clock start.
It's actually, I read this morning 10.20 puck drop.
So that's a 720 puck drop in Vancouver.
You're still, people are going to stay up to watch it because it is it's going to be a great series.
My point is, if you're trying to drag in a casual fan, just like to me, get it right into prime time.
Get it there.
And, you know, in Stanley Cup finals, 8 o'clock every night.
So whether it's in L.A. or it's in Boston, it's an 8 p.m. Eastern start because I've been to them.
Vancouver, the finals in 2011, that was a 5 o'clock start in Vancouver.
So they can do it and people take off work to do it.
I just, again, this is somebody who lives in the Eastern Time Zone complaining.
It's first world problem.
Sure is.
But.
But you know what?
On Sunday, you've got Florida, Boston starting at 630 Eastern.
and then the Oilers in Vancouver at 9.30.
Why does it have to, why do?
Yeah, but then we complain when they started at 10.30 the Sunday that opened the playoffs.
I mean, no, no, but there's fewer games now.
There's two games that day.
Yeah.
Why do you have to start Edmonton, Vancouver at 7.30 mountain time?
Started at six.
Yeah.
Move it back.
Yeah, and I don't know what the building and nobody is and all that, but I mean, look.
I'm nitpicking, but it's just, it's stuff to me, like, it could be a win because you're trying to sell the league
grow the game and have everybody lay eyes on it instead of just,
this is all about ratings.
It's all about having people, you know,
actually watch your game.
Who's going to watch it live other than the diehard fans that are in,
like a guy in Newfound, like, what is it?
The time zone out there, another hour and a half out to Newfoundland or whatever.
Half hour.
Yeah.
Like, it's ridiculous.
I just,
you know,
maybe I'm.
You just have to rig the lottery and put all the best players in Toronto in New York.
And then the ratings will be great.
No one will have a problem with that.
Come on, noodles.
Let's go.
How about John Butchergras sending that tweet out that rattles some people because it was just,
I think they had the draft order up there, but people are like, it's rigged already.
It's rigged.
You know, like him deleting it was the problem.
Yes.
Yes.
Like the moment you do that, then it's gas on the fire.
Yes.
Why delete it if it's just a dress rehearsal?
Like that's when the conspiracy theorists went nuts.
Look at the bottom of the screen.
This post has been deleted.
Like, John, come on.
A, don't take the photo.
But then B, don't delete it.
That's not going to make things better.
Yeah, yeah.
Well, it's, you know what?
I kind of chuckled about it because that ended up.
Now, he had, that one had Utah at two.
I don't think Utah chose second.
It was not the same lottery.
Okay.
Utah moved up a bunch of them.
So luckily it didn't end up being like that.
So I don't know.
What the flames at nine, I don't think they're going to get Iggy's boy.
I don't think.
That's right in the mix, though.
I don't know.
I heard a vicious rumor the other day that he's creeped his.
way into top five type of scenario.
Well,
McKenzie at him 10.
All it's going to take is one team, right?
Yeah, totally.
Yeah.
He hasn't got there yet on the across the board list,
except for one that I've seen this out of the top 10,
but I think these NHL teams are with you,
noodles.
And the boards are all over the place.
We talked about it yesterday.
There's no consensus after number one, basically.
If I had a coin flip, like think about this.
And there is recency bias with this,
but there is, you can point to something.
can point to Keith Kachuk and go look at the boys that he produced and both of them are rock
stars and you know in their own way right sure like the apple doesn't fall far from the tree so you've got
a hall of famer in jerome ginnla and it looks like the apple hasn't fallen far from the tree
so you better be damn sure that the ones you're going to choose in front of tija ginnla
yeah they're going to be better than him eventually like that would be my so i again that's
my bias because I love Jerome and know Jerome,
then know the kid.
But if you're picking at five or three or four or whatever,
and they're pretty close,
I'll go to somebody who's grown up in the business
and I know the dad and I know what the bloodline looks like
and the competitiveness and stuff and, you know,
the way he's been raised,
that might put him over the top.
That was one of the arguments the scout told me is that he could,
that could be a tipping factor with Tij.
is if you like two players at five or six or whatever
that are close.
Tie break.
Tie breaker goes.
Yeah, we've talked about that.
And I mean, three, four, five, maybe not six, seven, eight?
You know, it's conceivable.
Like you say, if you're going to use something as a tie break,
you could do worse than Hall of Fame,
ultra competitive dad and great family and kid and all of this.
And also the trajectory.
Yeah.
He did nothing last year.
Was he 16 points in Seattle?
You know,
nothing.
On a very good team that was loading up for the Memorial Cup.
And then this year,
so you wish you had more data,
but he's also got all this helium.
He's going higher and higher every time you see a list.
Can't live away from home?
Is that what you're saying?
It's home cooking.
Yeah, that's what it is.
Yeah.
Trade up, hey, Rhett?
Go get them at five.
Yeah, better trade up.
Damn it.
All these extra picks.
Now you need them just to get the guy
you thought you were getting at nine.
Quite a week in Toronto.
noodles.
How's, uh,
I like that.
Man,
oh man.
You're talking about Drake?
Well, yeah, exactly.
Yeah, he's getting hot there too.
All these disc tracks.
First,
well, the players,
the Leafs are going to talk on whatever,
Monday and then the brass aren't talking till Thursday.
Now they're not,
now they're not talking till Friday.
And what's happening?
So now as we chat today,
it's Wednesday.
What,
uh,
what's cooking?
Good.
out there? Well, it's black armbands for sure because the market's just deflated. They win those,
like somebody told me, again, I just kind of sit back and listen, but somebody told me this is the
most leafiest thing to do. Get down three one, charge back like you're going to win the series
and then lose in overtime in game seven. There's two funerals, right? We did it after game four
and then we got to do it again after game seven. It was incredibly leafy. They literally had two seasons
and in that series.
And then some of the comments have been just outrageous.
Like,
Sheldon Keefe at his post-game presser was like,
yeah, teams prepare for the Leafs,
the Leafs to beat themselves.
So he's putting them in like third person,
like not my team, like the Leafs.
Like there was just like,
even in the players media,
it's like, oh, you guys always find a scapegoat.
Like you and the media and the fans always find a scapegoat.
Mitch Marner, you know, he's a friend.
I'm like, just come out.
Like all I can think of, now this is one example.
There's plenty.
But all I could think about, Nathan McKinnon, the year before he won the cop, said,
I've been in this league nine years and I haven't done, you know what.
And he goes, I'm tired of it.
And that was, that's the sound bite I remember.
Like, not once have I heard William Neelander,
go, you know what? Like, I'm sick of losing. I want to do something about it next year.
Austin Matthews, you know, it's because they don't want to shine a light more on themselves.
It's like, hey, they've been coached up. It's the same message, same everything.
They all are united and, hey, let's, you know, everyone's against us and we're the victims here.
Not having a press conference at the end of the year if you win. That's the thing. Like,
you look at the hard facts is Brendan Shanahan's been here for 10 years.
They've got one playoff round win.
Every team in the league,
excuse me,
every team in Canada in the last 10 years
has more playoff wins than the Leaps.
Ottawa went deep.
Calgary's been in the second round.
And Calgary, I think, has more, for sure, two of them.
Edmonton, for sure.
Vancouver in the bubble.
Montreal went to the final.
I'm not sure about Ottawa.
Yeah, Ottawa went in 2017.
With Carlson.
Eric Carlson.
That's right. That's right.
I apologize.
That was the last time they were in the playoffs and they went to the conference final and lost to Pittsburgh in overtime.
Montreal went to the cup.
Winnipeg has gone to a conference final.
Like in the last 10 years, the Leafs are the only team who has, they've got one playoff round win.
And so when people point that out, it's like, oh, you know, we're victims, you know, like,
You're not.
We're just looking at the cold, hard truth is, yes, you believe you've had a team.
Regular season heroes went from 115 points to 110 points, 105, 104.
They've been a hundred point team.
They've been last eight years in the Matthews and Marner and Nylander era.
Regular season, they've killed it.
They've been great.
You can't just have the excuse so you run into a hot goaltender.
Because they have.
They ran into Kerry Price.
They've run into Vasilevel.
ski they run into corpusallo in columbus in that grass swamming yeah they've run into but you guys get
paid 12 million 11 million a year to break through like that's you know at the end of the day
i think there's going to be change here i'm not sure how much keith pelly has just taken over at mlsce
he's been on the job one month you take a look at it the raptors are a mess the tfc team
has Herdman back, but they've been a mess.
The Blue Jays, or, you know, Blue Jays is, you know, it's separate, but they're not doing well either.
And now the Leafs have lost again in the first round.
So I think you can't just keep running the same band back and hoping the tune changes.
I don't know.
So we'll see what happens.
Who said it the other day.
Only bring it up because what they need is a defenseman.
they had to give, they brought in Marlowe and then to dump his contract.
Amarillo signs Marlowe to a three year deal and Dubas is so up against the cap,
he moves the last year of Marlowe's contract out Carolina for a first.
That turns into Seth Jarvis.
Yes.
There was, there is a crazy tree here.
Like you can do, we can sit for hours and go, oh, even the kid in Boston,
the six foot five kid who scored the other day, Brie, um, Laura, Laura, no,
Not Lord.
Forward.
Breezo or whatever.
Yeah, Justin Brazzell.
Brezzo.
He played for the Marlis.
Yeah.
He played for Toronto.
Like, you know, Mason Marchment,
Cardover Hagee.
There's players that have come through,
you know,
but that just have gone out because they've,
listen,
I don't mind an aggressive management
that it tries to add to their team
at the deadline.
They've been trying.
But unfortunately,
this team has to be treated
like Tampa,
like Chicago,
You know, like L.A.
Then like teams that have won that have to cycle through and pressed up against the cap,
the Leafs have to act like that, but they don't have the wins to back it up.
You can give Tampa a pass.
You can give, you know, Chicago and L.A.
They're in, you know, the retool or they were in the retool.
They won.
But that's the challenge here in Toronto.
They haven't won.
And they're still having to dump players and move salary around in that because their team.
is acted like they've won from a management standpoint, you know, the cap part.
I just thought they can have four guys that make in double digits next year that play
relatively the same position up front.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Lots of teams have four guys make it 40.
No one has four forwards doing it.
What happens with Marner?
How big of an issue is Marner and the full no move?
I mean, I think everyone would love to see fireworks here, but if he says I'm staying,
what the heck controls me to?
Well, here's my question to, and it would be to him and to everybody.
Like, at what point does he go, I need to change?
Like Mitch Marner, the person, the husband, you know.
Does he have enough?
Yeah.
This is tough because this goes, this is me speculating.
But does he have enough say in his own life to even understand what he needs or wants?
I don't know.
Because from what I've, my understanding is that, and it's not a shock, the guy's unbelievable,
but there's been a lot of control and oversee on what Mitch Martin is going to be and do.
And it's turned him into one of the most talented players in the NHL.
But some of these guys, and you're around it more than I am, you're way closer to NHLers than I am,
they don't seem to have a depth to their personality.
Is that, do you know what I mean?
It makes sense.
Yeah.
Where he would even understand that maybe moving would be a good thing.
Yeah.
I know what you think or what you're saying.
And you're right because, you know, it's no secret.
His family's close.
They're from here.
His dad's been around is, you know, they're a tight-knit family.
This is all he's known.
So sometimes what you, you know, they say the grass may not be greener on the other side.
But if you've never been over there, you don't.
Grass doesn't have to be dead either.
Right.
And for me, I just look at this as a human.
And you pointed to it, Red.
This guy's an unbelievable player.
He's the first team All-Star, right winger,
who drafted, developed by the Toronto Maple Leafs.
Yes, he makes a lot of money.
During the regular season, he earns it technically
because he gets 95 to 100 points every year.
This guy's unbelievable.
He plays power play, plays penalty kill.
the challenge is is the framework of this team is not working.
You've got an $11 million centerman who will be 34 years old.
One year left on his deal.
Okay.
Matthews has signed.
Neelander just signed the extensions.
They've committed.
You've got to figure out, to me the question marks are on two players.
John Taberis in his final year and Mitch Marner needs an extension off of an $11 million
contract. So he's not going, hey, I'll take six or seven. He's going, I'm a hundred point guy.
I'll take 12, whatever the raises off of 11. So, like personally, the Marner family,
including Mitch and his representatives, they've got to make a decision. Do they want to stay through
this? Secondly, the organization has to make a decision. Do we want to pay this guy and have him part of
it. And if those two, all of them have to sit down together and go, it's come up with a plan here.
But Mitch Marner might just, I don't know. I'm not going to speak for him.
But he might put his hand up and go, I need a change of scenery. It's best for my health,
but me as a player. But or the Leafs might go, we want you to have a change of scenery because
we can't afford to continue on the same path that we've been doing. And then the question becomes,
and I put it to you guys,
if you traded him,
you're going to lose that trait,
no matter what it is.
Because, you know,
people are like,
get a D.
Okay, well, Taylor Hall went for Adam Larson.
Like, that didn't work out on paper,
obviously.
Ebenton needed a D.
And, you know,
you're going to lose that trade,
unless it's something crazy
where another guy needs a change of scenery
and it's star for star.
So I just, I think it's a really tough predicament.
Because you're not just getting cap space.
You got to replace a superstar player.
And you might do it with, hey, two players that are really good.
But you're not, you know, Mitch Marner is Mitch Marner.
He's a hell of a player.
Here's the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.
Like if you have the patience for one year, you've got $22 million bucks in cap space.
Right.
There's no excuse to have mediocre goaltending in a shitty decor if you have $22 million
in cab space.
Martyr's money's done in a year.
Tavares' money is done in a year.
I don't even care if you lose a deal.
You might be just better served,
not being up against the cap for the 10th year in a row or whatever it is
and getting a deeper club, having some money on the blue line.
Which I agree 100%,
but then you've got to sell to the fan base,
and I'm sure they would.
And it's not really you'd have to sell it.
It's just we might take a step back to take a step forward here.
You just let it run off, though, is my point.
have to trade them. Like you don't have to take a step back next year.
You want to lose an asset for that. Like,
think of how much heat that the Johnny Gudrow situation for treat. Like I think you can move
the asset. You just have to be mindful that you're not getting a Mitch Marner back. You might
be getting cap relief. You might be getting a different structure of a team. And you might
get a hell of a player that's either younger or just needs a change of scenery or something
different, but they will always compare to each other.
That's my point.
Mitch Marner got traded for Player X.
And if Player X is just a really good player, but he's not a superstar, it's almost unfair
to bring that guy in and go, unless you're going, well, he's bringing us cap relief
and a different look of the team.
Oh, just go get DrySelt.
He's for Agent the summer, right?
And I wonder, because if you talk about Goodrow, don't they share the agent?
Isn't Darren Ferris the agent for both those guys?
I thought it was Lewis Gross.
Isn't Lewis Gross?
Oh, Louis Gross is for Johnny.
With Ferris, I think he was, anyway, I just, for, for Marner, I think I would be sitting there thinking,
okay, number one, I'm not going to be the scapegoat.
I've got the no move.
I negotiated.
It's in my deal.
I'm not the reason you lost, but I'm, I'm not going to be the one that gets dished out here.
In a year from now, if I want that change, I can knuckle under for one more year.
I need to be in a spot where I put up big numbers going into my UFA.
Right.
Where can I do that?
I know I can do that here.
Yep.
Yep.
You know what?
Tree,
every shanny,
all you guys.
Sorry,
I,
I think I'm just going to stay here for one more year and beyond the power play and put up my 99 points or 100 if I get more.
And then go into free agency and cash in.
Which is totally,
he's earned that right and totally good.
But then it goes back to what noodles has said.
And I've said to at the end of the year,
none of those guys that you signed long term and got those deals have ever come out and said they want to win.
And what you're alluding to is a guy playing out a contract just to maximize for his own personal game.
Go ahead.
It's just sad to me.
It's just sad.
I just got the sense.
And again, action speaks louder, comments.
Like, but McDavid had started the season.
Sounds like he wanted everybody in there two weeks early to mean business.
all season long he's like, I don't care about the scoring race.
I just, I'm trying to get, you know, we're trying to get right here.
Took them a while.
It was ugly.
For the two weeks, it was the worst start we've seen there in ages.
It was ugly, considering how focused they were early on.
And it just, you could tell the injury lingered with him and it just, they couldn't get right for a while.
And then they got right.
But I just look at special players that would go, I'm not being denied.
Nathan McKinnon just wasn't denied.
night. Like, he watched that guy. He plays violently. He just plays, he plays like he wants to hurt
the puck. He doesn't want anybody in his way. Like he's just, he's got this intensity about him.
Sidney Crosby has that. Sidney Crosby, poor Sidney Crosby, they didn't make the
playoffs. That guy was a man on a mission. Like, I don't know how many times I watched him live.
I got a chance to call games. He just was another level of focused. He almost damn near dragged that
team into the playoffs by himself.
And, you know, they come up short.
But I look at special players and I'm kind of waiting, you know, for Austin Matthews
or Mitch Marne or, you know, these guys to go sick of it too.
We're sick of it.
Like, you know, and I'm sure they are.
I'm sure they are.
They just don't articulate it.
Again, they don't owe me anything.
They don't owe anybody.
It's just you kind of wait for these, like these moments where it's like that's that,
that's the moment I knew this guy, you know.
We're dragging you out here again.
I'm fine.
Tavares is the captain.
Yes.
He doesn't scream.
Get on my back.
I'm going to pull you through.
You got Matthews.
Unbelievable talent.
Like just clearly.
Marner.
Awesome.
Kneelander.
Unbelievable.
Who's leading?
And do they not lead?
Because they, like,
is Mark?
or better off in a situation where he is the guy?
I don't know.
Do you grow up and actually have to take responsibility for that?
Never seen it, right?
Right?
Like, I don't know.
I'm curious if you think that because there's four of them that are focal points,
and they're all talented and Tavares isn't what he was,
but he's reinvented himself and he does indifferently,
works his ass off.
I get that part, blah, blah, blah, blah.
But there seems to be four of those guys and none of them are leading.
Yeah.
I know what you mean.
I don't know if there's,
is there an alpha in that group?
It seems like it's Matthews.
It's Matthews team.
You could argue that,
and again, in hindsight, you go back.
When Matthews signed his extension,
Tavares probably could have put his hand up and said,
here's the captaincy.
I've got two years left.
You're the face, like, here you go.
That's not a slight on John Tavaris.
He's a hell of a person, hell of a player.
But he's at a different stage in his career than Austin Matthews.
So now if you took the captaincy or he gave the captaincy to Matthews,
is it perceived that they've taken it away from him instead of him going to Matthews going here,
here it is.
I'm in the last year of my deal.
But it doesn't matter if the guys know.
The media could talk shit, whatever.
It doesn't matter if the guys know.
If the guys know, like for me, I've been on team.
like Chris Pronger was our captain in St. Louis.
We had Al McKinness, Brett Hall, Pierre Turgeon.
You know, we had six captains on our team.
But Chris wore the sea at 23 years old.
These guys were 30, 31.
And, you know, Chris was the figurehead.
But when push came to shove, our leadership group made the decisions.
You know, look at that 04 team, Brett.
Like, you know, we had a, Iggy was a cab.
But you had a bunch of leaders in that room, you and Reggie and, you know, guys that just,
you know, Kipper had a voice even though he didn't speak much, but he had a voice.
Like there was a leadership group that led and everybody kind of fell in behind and was like,
okay, we know that the group decided this.
Like, it just doesn't have to be one guy.
And Conroy moved the C shortly before that run, too, if you remember.
But it was the right move.
But Connie, you know, Connie Jokes and tells that story was like, Iggy's like, yeah,
like, yeah, not even thank you.
He's like, yeah, it's about time kind of thing.
Thanks, old man.
Yeah, thanks so.
But it is, there's a, I think that will be story number 15 of the stuff that's going to happen here in Toronto or should happen to kind of.
And the one thing I will say, this will be Brad Tree Living's kind of first year.
He jumped on a moving train.
I think a lot of things they handed him and just said, you're, you're signing this guy, you're doing this.
you're doing that, you're executing what we had planned already.
This might be the first time he gets to shape the team.
And they're all away.
Yeah.
Well, and this is my whole point.
One shot.
For all this shit, they were down 3-1,
kneel under missed three games.
Matthews was hurt half the series in Walder,
best goal.
It wasn't available in game seven,
and it still went to extra time.
They had one staker in the series.
Don't tell me they couldn't have won that thing if they were a little healthier.
They absolutely could have.
They were shot away.
But the argument, you're right,
100% the counter argument is they've got eight years of history to tell you that they will find a way to lose instead find a way to win.
Totally.
That's where the market is at here.
The market isn't because if they would have came out, if they've been to a conference final two years ago and had some runs and stuff, on Monday, people would have been like, Willie was hurt for three games.
Austin's not right.
Joseph Wall, you know, we don't know.
Hey, next year, like, that's how close we are.
People are like, we've seen this before.
Nice looked good.
The Benoit kid on the back end looked.
There's reason to think that, yeah.
There is reason to believe or think.
The problem is not to believe because they're up three, one against Montreal with everybody in their prime.
They found a way to piss that away.
You know, there's just been, instead of finding ways to get over the hump, they found a way to get the other way.
That's what people will argue with you about.
And a lot of people also.
well, Ovechkin wasn't going to win until he won it,
but Ovechkin would win series.
They moved on.
They couldn't get through the big.
You knew that they were close.
They were getting there, right?
This team, as it's constructed, hasn't gotten there.
So I can make all the excuses that you just laid out, Penn,
because you're right.
Willie wasn't right, and Austin wasn't right,
and the goal he didn't play, and all of these things.
But at the end of the day,
they have a track record of going the wrong way
instead of the right way.
And that's where I think people are at in this market going,
you're not going to bring this and roll this back again
and say you're one goal away.
You can't do that.
Even if you believe it, you can't trot that out.
That's the definition of insanity.
That's really the definition of the other guy had a 966.
Like it's not fair, but that's what you get when it's a decade of this shit, right?
But that's, but that you know what?
It was Kerry Price outplayed Frederick Anderson and
Jack Campbell and, you know, there was Vasilevsky did, like, there's always an excuse.
And as we say, I think Darrell said, excuse are for losers.
Excuses are for losers.
Like, you don't have to make excuses if you win.
You know, what you start to do is make excuses when things didn't go right and you point to,
ah, that didn't go well, that didn't go well.
You're right.
We're all seeing it.
Like, but it, unfortunately, I don't think they have the bandwidth for everyone to go,
bring it back again because you're.
your one goal away.
Yeah.
No,
it's,
again,
I know people get tired of it
and it'll be over soon.
This is just a big week
and I am very intrigued
to see what happens on Friday.
A lot of drama there from a few miles away just to kind of.
I don't know if the coach survives.
I just don't.
I don't.
And I like Sheldon,
I don't think he,
I just don't think he does.
What about green?
Yeah,
that's stunning to me.
I don't get that.
None of us got that.
So I do.
And you guys know I'm pretty close.
with Travis. So I mean, I played junior with him when we were 16 together. Like I've known him for
35 years, literally, literally 35 years. What was surprising for me. So I will say this,
and I swear on my life, a month ago I had heard his name. And then I didn't hear again because
I assumed Barubi, Todd McClellan, Dean Eveson, you know, Gerard Gallant, there was a bunch
of names. And Ottawa does their due diligence, believe.
me they've dug into it so darren drager tweets out hearing Travis green is getting the job
and i text greenie and i go you got something to tell me and he texts me and he goes uh i'll call
you in a bit i go i'm on air i call him after the show and i go i got to find out from a tweet
and he goes yeah you know we're kind of you know just kind of keep it things
under wraps it's been and he goes I don't even know how it got out and I go and I go what's been he goes
well it's been a process and you know Tommy fits in New Jersey said that he was in on coaching there but
gave him opportunity and so I just the point being is I had no idea it floored me too and the one
thing I will say is I did a podcast last night for Ottawa and I told the guy because they're not
happy in the market because Greenies you know it doesn't
like he has this long-standing, you know, history of winning and all of that.
And there's a ton of guys available that have that.
But the one thing I will say is I would wait until everything's done.
And what I mean by that is they got the coach, they got a lot of work to do to shape around
that, that, the core of that team.
I really like the core of the team, like the spine of it.
They're young.
They're really good players.
But they need veteran players.
They need the Chris Taneves.
and a Blake Coleman type.
They need guys like that to help these kids
be more mature on and off the ice.
And that's coming.
And then you're going to have a better team
for the coach to work with.
So I know there's rumblings that,
you know,
they couldn't get it done financially with Barubi.
I'd be shocked about that.
I'd be shocked.
Ann Lauer has nothing but money.
He's not going to nickel and dime and go.
But that's what's so weird is that it feels like
something old Audit would do,
not the new owner.
This feels like Pierre Dorian Eugene Melnick's shit,
because how in the world can you look at all the candidates and say,
this guy's the best?
It goes against everything in his track record versus all those guys.
He doesn't have a cup ring.
He doesn't have a winning record in the regular season.
He doesn't have a great track record of not burning out stars.
He didn't get re-up by New Jersey where he just was.
If you're telling me that's the best candidate out there,
I don't know how you can prove that to us.
Maybe you're right,
but like what in the world would make him a better coach in Craig Barube?
I can't see anything.
Well, you're assuming that Barubi would go, right?
I am.
That's not having money off from 10.
Like if that's really what you want to do is win.
If you're trying to pinch pennies, okay.
But all I would say is there, to me, there's probably something where they, if
if Barubi was a choice, it maybe didn't work out.
Maybe he chose somewhere else.
And we're just going to wait for it to fall.
That would be.
And who knows?
Maybe it's here in Toronto.
Maybe trees already got him.
Who knows?
You know, we don't know.
Something must have shifted or changed, but, you know, to me, the one thing Ottawa needs,
so Travis does check those boxes, is a former player who's hard but progressive.
And to me, that is why Rick Tocke is successful.
You're looking at guys like that that the players like, but they also, the accountability has to be there.
That's why Dean Everson, Todd McClellan, Craig Barubi, Travis Green, there's, you can see a common theme there on the hires,
or the guys who were, they were interviewing, sorry.
Anything there, Rhett?
Well, I want to keep bugging the noodler, but the noodlers, I mean, he's got kids and families,
some backscratchers.
I've got stuff to do.
I've got the pool guys.
The pool guys are messing with the cover out there.
I got to, I need to swim.
I got a dip.
I don't even swim in that pool.
You don't go outside.
No, I don't.
But I got the pool for the kids and my wife.
I don't swim in it.
I've been here five years, six years coming up.
I've been in there three times.
What?
Yeah, I don't swim.
No.
I don't know what I do.
Just work all the time.
You're insane.
I do have to work late tonight because 1020 is the drop of the puck for the eminent.
Now we know why he's all bent out of shape.
There.
I don't know what you know.
Suddenly cares about Eastern time.
Yeah.
There it is.
You're a good boy, Jamie.
Thank you, pal.
We'll talk to a week.
Thanks for having me.
You bet.
Jamie McClain joining us.
You know what?
For McLeod Law, let's do this time around.
A little McLeod Law there for you.
Of course, we tell you about it.
It's business personal, whatever it is.
It's Calgary people helping Calgary people, the very best, with a common goal helping
clients meet their needs.
They're proud of their Calgary roots, big part of their longstanding client relationships.
They get this city, the people in it and the way things work.
McCloud-law.com, great people and the best of what they do.
I guess just to kind of, did you have it?
So what were you going to go with there, retro?
Anything else?
Travis Green, just the higher there?
There's lots.
I mean, there's lots going on around the league.
But with Travis Green, I was, the,
Noodles is very honest.
And he wouldn't skirt the question.
But my question would be, do players like them?
Because I got the sense that the guys in Vancouver did not like it.
And if they liked them.
much in New Jersey, why isn't you there?
Right?
Like, he's his friend.
And there would be attributes that Green has.
And he does have experience and he checks some boxes.
I don't think it's the right hire.
That's just my opinion.
And he would, you know, he might not even argue it,
but he might make points that support the hiring.
Maybe they talked to all those other four or five guys that we just mentioned.
Evanston, McClellan, Gallant.
Maybe they talked to all them.
They're like, I don't want to go to Ottawa.
Well, and that's, again, just to play devil's advocate, I was, that's kind of what I was going to say.
If you're Ottawa, McClellan, Galant, those guys, they've been out there for a while now.
I'm guessing you've talked to all of them.
But if you're Todd McClellan, are you, are you signing with Ottawa today?
If you're offering six or seven.
Not with all those jobs available, no.
You know, and who's paying their coach seven million dollars?
Well, and I just like, like, I know you're using, if you want to pay them 10, pay him 10.
I mean, within reason.
You need a coach that wants to be there that you believe in that you think is a good fit.
And I'm guessing that some of those guys said, no, I'm good.
I'm still getting paid on my contract.
My contract has yet to kick in.
So I have lots of time.
I don't need to go to Ottawa today because they're so close.
This isn't knob block going to Edmonton.
And it's Ottawa.
It's Ottawa.
Yeah.
And I guess it underlines two things.
Like it's still, I don't care how wealthy the new owner is.
It's still going to be Ottawa, I guess.
Like until you get a new rink done, that's not in Canada.
it's a really enticing young core,
but there's clearly issues with it.
And look, he could do a great job there.
I just have a tough time saying
that was the best candidate available
in the whole universe of coaching hockey.
That's right.
What did they say?
They said they wanted someone who has experience.
He's been behind a bench.
Yeah, look, I'm...
I mean, the guy just hasn't wanted anything
or accomplishing at the NHL level.
That's all.
That's so maybe he will.
Hasn't yet.
It went sideways pretty quick, right?
Because he was respected.
A HL, this guy's
common, it's all of this, but then went to
Vancouver. Six, five years
in Vancouver. He pressed everyone off.
Immediately. Do you not remember
the video of those guys laying on the ice?
Guys don't show up at
training camp out of shape. If they do,
there's one or two.
That's not a good record, fellas.
He begged those guys to the point
of exhausted puking.
Like it was, it's not,
what the fuck are we doing? Sorry,
I got to do a push-up, but
what are we talking about?
Yeah.
These guys show up nowadays.
They're elite level and you're going to put them through the ringer to prove a point.
Now, you can learn from it too.
That was my next question.
Do you think that there's a, you know, he's a better coach he was for sure.
Dallas Aiken said that.
I needed to be different.
But Dallas Aikins was the up and coming coaching guru for a while.
It has not turned out for Dallas Akins.
Similar trajectory, right?
They were both guys that were very successful at the American.
American legal level are perceived to be sexy coaching candidates and flopped hard in their first
spots and bounced around a bit to no success any later. And you look at Atkins and how he came
into Edmonton, there was a real swagger that he brought with him. He was a Marley said coach. He was,
I mean, the media is not going to be eating coffee and donuts anymore. We'll get the veggies
out. You guys got to, it's like, oh, it was a look at this, look at my big brain. Yeah.
Look how smart I am. There was a very condescending kind of a feel almost from the jump. And
I don't know if that's what what Green had in Vancouver.
I just wonder if you, if guys change.
If it's like, you know what?
I went in there.
I was going to.
I had to be hard-nosed.
Again, back to Pender's point.
Four years?
That's the other thing.
Four years?
Well, now was the roster good enough to be better with a different coach?
I don't know.
Where's the gun?
So you couldn't give that guy a two or three-year deal even?
One year less?
Yeah, we're talking about, sorry.
Yeah, Rhett's talking about the new contract.
That also is insane to me that he'd have the leverage with that
record we just saw to say I need a fourth year it's not getting done. Now maybe they keep the
AAV lower or whatever but like if we sat here and made a list how many names would we get through
the three of us before we got to Travis Green. Jay McKee. 12 ironed to list for me 20. I'd be looking
at other guys that didn't have experience behind us. Yes. Yes. You'd take the up and coming guy
because this guy has failed. Yeah. And I don't think he's like he's absolutely got to have learned from
his experiences, but he was just in New Jersey and he's not there now.
It'll be a big,
they had months to sign him.
It'll be a big fucking helping of Crow when they have home ice in the first round next year.
Well, and look, it's a talented enough Jack Adams finalist or something like that.
Everyone thought they would have been on the bubble this year and there's so much talent
on that roster, something's not right.
But then again, it's like, yeah, I guess when you give Eunice Corpusallo that deal as well,
they still kind of feel like Otto, even though,
And Lonic and Dorian are gone.
Yeah, it's a little, a little bit.
So now it's Seattle, San Jose, Winnipeg, L.A., and New Jersey, correct?
Those are five teams that need a coach.
I don't know what they're doing with Hiller.
It sounded like he was going to be in the final mix with Rob Blake.
He had said we, he was still going to interview for the job sort of a thing.
Winnipeg will just be starting.
The thing is with those.
Now, Seattle's may be different.
New Jersey's little LA, but to go into San Jose, you're not winning anytime soon and you're
probably going to be gunned before anything good happens. In Winnipeg, you got to want to go
to Winnipeg and deal. It was a good team, but you got blown right out and you have some issues.
There's no real sweet spot right there. Jersey might be, but that's, yeah, because they're young
and they were a playoff team two years ago. Like LA got blown out. New Jersey didn't make the playoffs.
it's not like you're strapping a rocket to your back
if you go into any of those spots, I don't think anyway.
Wow, poor Travis Green.
Taking some straight.
I'll direct that.
Right in the friggin.
And sorry about the leaf talk, everybody.
Sorry.
It'll be over soon.
It's too.
What are they?
Fire on the coach Friday?
Friday fire?
It feels like it, right?
Yeah.
Poor bastard.
Well, a couple things.
Even if you think he's good,
you're going to subject your,
organization and your job?
I mean, Tree just got there so it's not really his job, but
you're going to allow it to happen again.
And they just signed him again.
In August,
they gave a two-year extension that kicks in in the fall.
But they paid Babs to be not there for like four or five years.
The thing about the least is they don't give a shit about the money.
The money,
what difference does it make?
They make.
But if anything,
you know,
you look back,
don't give,
sorry,
I don't want to be a lame dot coach.
Then don't be a lame dot coach.
you're not Scotty friggin Bowman.
You know, that would have been a signal to the coach, to the team, to everybody.
There's no free lunch here.
Yes, I think that's an important.
What have you done to earn this extension of year early?
Show me these pile of playoff series wins.
Yeah.
And yeah, they got all the money in the world if they want to pay this contract out.
But then if you fire, I don't know.
I just, and you talked about it, Red, with Marner, and I think he's a great player.
He's got world-class skill.
But as limited viewings, I feel Austin.
Matthews, he's got a bit of that dog in him.
I think even Willie Nealander, I think he's got some of that in him too.
We saw, I scored, scored big goals in playoffs in a limited amount.
Tavares is whatever he is.
I just don't think Marner is that guy that can go to another team and be the guy,
which makes it hard.
I think he's, I think he's got to go somewhere.
You're a hundred point guy.
You are the guy.
I know, I know.
And what's weird with all those guys, it was they couldn't score.
They got swaying.
They got goalied again.
I don't know what you do.
And it's a, so if you're Craig Barubi, because that kind of seems to be the roof.
Is that the challenge that you want if you're Craig Barubi?
I'm going to go into Toronto and make that team work.
100%.
Well, you're going to be one of the highest paid coaches in the league, if not the.
Have everything.
And when you have success, you are immortalized for.
It's the allure.
Toronto is. It's also the, the, the, the, the, the shit that Toronto is. And go through the
ever get over the hump there, you're a God. And go through the list of teams. Yeah. No, I, I, I'm
with you. I'm maybe LA. I don't know. Sunshine. The thing is, that's what the Babcock thing was. Now
Babcock, great resume. He's going to go in Toronto. He's going to be the one that's tied to this
team that's going to take them to the promised ladder. He'll be immortalized. I never believe that
Babcock was that. I don't think Babcock was that good or that bad a coach.
is my take on Babcock.
Yeah, he seemed to thrive in areas where there was a little bit of a talent
deficiency and he could structure some wins out of a group.
He did in Anaheim.
But then he thrived on teams that were so talented,
he didn't have to coach.
Well, and he only got one cup with Detroit, right?
So that's not unreal, given the roster he had.
What about those gold medals with Canada, though?
Exactly.
Exactly. It's not like a head of broccoli.
He couldn't have coach those teams too, gold.
No.
Delicious.
Just delicious.
But when the least were bad, that's when he showed up.
And they structured their way in and lost to Washington.
He also showed up because he wanted the spot on him for this.
He wanted to get the coaching fraternity elevated into the upper contractually.
He did take that on.
If you're a coach in the NHL.
Public salaries.
It absolutely helped Babcock.
Yeah.
Mike Babcock.
because Mike Backcock needs to help things.
But he did.
He did try part of his thing was I'm going to make more so that everyone else can make more.
Why are we only making, we got coaches in the NFL and the NBA or whatever major league sports.
And we're making peanuts compared to these guys.
Now with Barubi, if you take away the miracle run in St. Louis where they are last and then go all the way to the cup.
Is there a little, is there more shine on him than there should be?
Yes, there is for sure.
And that was a team that was good.
But the thing about it is he got his group to rally.
Right.
Like you consider where they were when they were.
That's maybe the most improbable cup we've seen in the last 10 years.
And that's not all on Broomey, but no, the goal he got up.
And what you don't hear is the guys dislike them so much.
Like I haven't not heard much of that talk.
No.
What was it?
Kyru was happy?
was gone.
And then immediately took it back.
I don't know.
I mean, if you're universally loved by your team, chances are there's not been a lot of
fucking winning going on.
Chances are.
So.
But I don't know.
There might not be a more well respected guy.
If Joel Quinville's not allowed to come back and coach, that's,
Burby is the most respected guy available.
Buffalo Sabers.
Who did they just hire?
Yeah.
Has he ever won?
No.
Never won.
30 freaking years coaching.
in the NHL, never want.
And it's not a shot.
But when you talk to Barubi, well, is there,
I think it's with all coaches.
We just talked about Babb.
Darrell Sutter.
How long did he coach?
Before he won in L.A.
Yeah.
25, like a long effing time.
Chicago, San Jose, Calgary, finally in L.A.
Who, like there's coaches that were out there.
Brian Murray never won a Stanley Cup.
Lindy rough is,
Now, again, it's when you hang around a long time, I guess,
and it's a testament to him.
Fifth all time in coaching victories behind Maurice, Trots,
Quenville, and Scotty Bowman.
854, 679.
Paul Maurice has not won a cup.
Has not won a cup.
Yeah, there's your guy that's going to have the most games coached
when it's all said and done.
Trots got one.
Quinville has a few, and so does Scotty, as I recall.
So.
Cwomble looking good.
again. I'm starting at Quinville, New York Rangers. Why am I black and hard? Labulette.
Yeah. If you are, and this would be a question, again, I don't know why I'm captivated by it.
If, if you were to talk to agents, I wonder, truth serum, couple beers. Where would Toronto be on
guys lists of
don't really
if you aren't born in Ontario
or grew up a Leafs fan
Just another team.
I think it's totally different.
It has to be the right person for that.
I just 100% disagree.
There's just so much pressure in the market,
you can't live a normal life.
You can live a normal life in a lot of markets.
That's not for everyone.
You have to be cut a certain way.
Like there's guys that'll put Toronto on the no move list.
There's other guys that'll be like,
I'll go play there for 800 grand because if it ever happened,
that would be the ultimate.
That's sort of what I'm speaking to.
Yeah, because I just wonder if you're not from there and you're not tied
to the mystique of being a leaf,
it's just another team that's never won.
It would be great if you win, but there's tax and I can make money
anywhere and the winters are cold and I just, I don't know.
Yeah, I'm not saying that it's attractive it is.
Yeah, I'm not saying it's sexy to go play there.
It's just another team.
I don't think it's here or there.
I don't think it's Montreal.
I don't think, I think
they're way more protected than Montreal.
It's the largest hockey market in the world.
It doesn't matter if it's the largest.
Like, I get what you're saying,
but just because it's big doesn't mean they're hard on the players.
There's this perception and noodles will talk about them,
guys that are there.
There's this perception that the media is just miserable to these guys.
And it's a bullshit perception.
The media in Toronto is soft on guys.
So when it was Mitch Marner,
the invisible man on the cover of the,
paper. You think that's normal in every market?
I don't think it's that hard.
I don't think it's that big a deal. I think
you're soft if you can't handle it.
I agree, but I think there are a lot of guys in the league that would say that's not
for me. I'm not going there.
I think there was, and I honestly, I think it's changed because
how the media has changed.
It's, so it's the Toronto Sun. That's one newspaper.
I think the reporters are way softer. All the
reporters are fans now. When you go to
any of these markets, there are people probably that live there
grew up. Who is the
ruthless reporter in Toronto?
Simmons.
Does he even go, like, does he write anymore?
He wrote a mostly fabricated
piece about Phil Kessel putting a hot dog vendor.
Yeah, so that was, and that was what, eight years
one of the most disrespected reporters going.
Personal shot.
But today, when you go into.
Yeah, but again, so today,
2024, Ryan, when you go into the locker room,
who's going to crush you?
Simmons.
Just like he put Marner on the cover.
What city is biggest Toronto has hockey on the front page?
New York?
No.
Yep.
It's jets.
It's giants.
It's Nick.
Bullshit.
Go read.
It's the fourth and New York team.
I think the Rangers aren't on the fucking front page.
Well, okay.
They can be, but it's not the most popular team in New York.
It just isn't.
Sorry.
So it's the one, the reason why I think the market size matters, right, is because there's no place that loves,
that has that many people
that hockey's their favorite sport.
Like there's New York,
yeah,
that's a passionate fan base.
There's more hockey fans
in Toronto by a mile.
And if the Knicks are in the playoffs
and the Rangers are
and they're comparable,
you know who's getting center stage.
You're talking about your ass.
I'm not.
And the Knicks are a way bigger brand
than the fucking Rangers.
Come on.
You've not been to New York.
I'm not saying,
I've been to New York.
I've been to a Rangers game.
Suggests that.
What are you talking about?
Toronto is like this,
this,
no other.
market. Like, I just don't buy it. I just don't buy it. What don't you buy about it?
That's so hard. I think you get a lot of attention, but is this, this is not the same scrutiny as it
used to be. Can I just say this? It doesn't matter if the market is bigger. Like, I don't look at the
newspaper in Calgary, but back when I was playing, were the flames on the front page? Of course.
There's nothing else here. So what difference does it make if there's four million people reading it or one
million. Well, because all the
scathing writers in Calgary end up in
Toronto if they can carve people. That's where
Simmons started. But again, you've named
one. Well, because that's the
hitman there. But everyone
knows he's a hitman, so he's
disrespected and disregarded. James Myrtle had
public battles with Brian Burke.
What about Brooksie in New York?
Like, I just
it doesn't matter
if there's 4 million fans or a million
fans. If the paper has you
on the front page, it's the
You're saying it's the same thing.
No, no, I'm just like, it's, there's no other place where hockey means as much as this
Toronto, in my opinion, in terms of just.
In Edmonton, the people in Edmonton don't take this.
There's one million of them, not six in the area.
That's, that's my point.
It doesn't matter.
Where we're not interacting with, how many media outlets would there be in Edmonton versus
Toronto?
A comparable number or not?
Did you see this, Ryan?
When you leave, there's like 20 plus guys in there.
Yeah, but when you leave.
What do I have to listen?
As a player, I have to listen to every.
media outlet.
You would get interviewed and it wouldn't be two people like in Florida or five in Chicago
or six or seven.
That's not how the interviews even work.
They don't walk into the room anymore and just pick out of the crowd.
The people that the PR guys grab the three guys that are going to talk that day and go,
here you go media.
You can talk to these guys today.
It's not.
I think it's changed.
I really do.
I don't think that it's the same is.
to be. And I think it would be as hard or harder to disappear in Edmonton if you're a star
that's struggling as it would be in Toronto. And yeah, there's more, there's more media,
but I just, you go to Montreal, there's two medias there. I think it would be, it would be as
harder, harder to be a Montreal Canadian. I don't know. I, I guess the original point I had was,
unless you grew up there,
I can't imagine
why, what kind of desire
there would be to be there.
Why did Babbs go there?
He's not from there.
Money.
So that's another reason.
No one pays as much as a player,
but as a player.
As anything.
I mean, we started here talking about coaching, didn't we?
Not as anything.
If you get the same money somewhere else,
what is it about Toronto?
Are they that close to a cup?
Do you care about what it's going to mean to the GTA?
No, no, no.
My point is we started
talking about coaching here. We didn't start about talking about players when it's wrong.
No, I brought up if you were going to talk to agents about players. Okay.
That's, that was my point.
Would it be a hot spot the team guys want to go to? And I said, I think it's just another
team. And you were like, I don't think guys want to go as much.
I think there's some guys that would have a no flyer list just because of the pressure.
That's all. I don't think. And look, maybe there are. I think it's because of the,
the, the, the taxes and the size of the city and the fact that it's in Canada.
Yeah, those would be factors. Sure.
My only thing is like, there might be places that are difficult to play,
and there's certainly lots of them.
My belief is that Toronto is the hardest, and I could be wrong,
but I don't think that's a crazy take.
I think it goes to expectations,
and you could be right that, yeah, they're always expecting to win,
I guess, in Toronto, but I just think that anyway,
I think the players should want to win.
I wanted to bring this up, and we're going to have a great conversation about this.
the Calgary Flames, draft a ninth overall.
With the history of the last few years,
do you have any concerns or beliefs
that you should be targeting Canadian kids?
No.
Why?
I don't think any of your college kids are out of Fox risks
because they'll be too good for college to play the,
I got four years card.
So then you get your rookie contract or five or six years out of them,
but really that's their.
probably get your five to seven years like you did Kachuk.
And then you're hopefully a winning team.
And I don't worry about Americans staying in Calgary when the team's winning.
I mean, we haven't really seen that.
What we see is people want to leave when they're not good.
Well, but Kedro scored game seven overtime.
They were winning.
They lost seven.
What do you mean?
Yeah.
I mean, that was also a time where we said that group can't win.
They'll never win anything.
It was the first time they got out of round one since 15.
you want to build something better than the Godreau era, don't you?
I mean, you do.
You don't think there's any thoughts to that at all?
Because I would argue, I would say it wrong.
It might be a tiebreaker, but like, so are you afraid of Russians staying in Russia?
Are you afraid of Americans?
You're afraid of Swedes?
What are you afraid of?
Talk me through.
I'm mostly afraid of Americans.
Okay.
So if Zeev Bouem is a defenseman at D.U.
wins a national championship.
50 points as a freshman.
and you're worried that in 2031 or two he might want to leave?
Sure.
I think you'll be able to trade Zeev Bouem and get a good return if he's a good player.
And that it's probably...
This is one of those things that you're not going to take with any credence.
Like you're just not going to.
Yeah, you can tell that it's...
Right, like you're just...
I'm an idiot for thinking it.
No, I think it's a good question to ask.
It's just that, you know, a lot of teams are scared of Russians
for a long, long time and they're really,
it's proven not to be as big of an
issue as people were afraid of.
I mean, everyone was so worried about Matt Coronado
being drafted as American. It's like,
he signed like immediately.
Yeah, but we, moment he was ready.
I mean he's going to stay here when you need him.
No, it doesn't. But if he's a good player,
you can move them. Did you think that Conroy's
Tre Living's and Conroy's last couple years
were enjoy, like, what you,
that you envision a NHLGM having to deal with?
And it's not a Calgary thing.
but there are, when you talk to agents,
there are guys that just don't want to come to Canada.
They're just, yes.
Sure.
And so did the,
did the Cichuk deal kill this team?
That's what I'll ask you.
Would you rather have Cichuk or would you rather have had to trade him?
You had to Chuck, you had a top line in the NHL and you had none of them now.
None.
Ryan, none.
I get it.
You're playing all of this and that it's,
it's,
well,
so letting Johnny in his final year not have a contract and walk to UFA,
that's the mistake of my mind,
not getting a first,
a top pairing defenseman
and a hundred fifteen point player for Florida.
Like the deal I still don't think is a bad deal for Calgary.
The extension is not going to make that deal.
More of the issue.
You're not making,
you're not going into that summer going,
talking to Florida about Kachuk and go,
hey,
well,
it's irrelevant.
You don't want to trade Kachuk.
You're forced into it.
And I feel it was,
I don't want to,
I don't want it to be a piling on here.
But they knew Kachuk was going to be leaving.
when they signed the deal prior,
which is why it was structured for him
to be a $9 million player in his final year
and then going UFA
because he was going to get to UFA
as quickly as possible and leave.
So you think if Goddrauss days,
Chuck's gone on?
I think Kachuk, he was leaving.
I do.
I really do.
And it's not a shot.
It's, hey, he's not from here.
He had no ties to Calgary.
It was a team.
He came.
They paid him well.
He played well.
But he's a,
an American guy wants to play an American.
And he's not the only one.
There's a lot of them.
Noah Hannifan was quietly that guy too, remember, turned down $60 million.
The team's no good.
I just don't think that's a good comp.
Of course, you don't want to stay for eight years.
They're starting to rebuild.
You know, my answer, if you were to ask it to me, I think that it is a concern,
but I don't know to what end.
You could do anything.
Would you take a lesser player for a past?
Where do you, especially with a higher.
It's a topic of conversation, and it's proved out.
I wonder how much stock they put into it.
And you can ignore it all you want.
I don't ignore it.
I just think it's minimal.
We're all talking about all these guys are trying to get to cities and states where the tax is no good.
Well, not only are Americans wanting to go to those states, but they also don't want to come to Canada.
So it's not it's, it's best city and state for taxes, number one, competitive, number two.
And they get competitive because they get the players because they want to fucking stay there.
Right? Like, that's part of it.
Vegas is the benefit of being Vegas is that you can keep those guys for cheaper.
Tampa Bay, same thing.
Like, we can't just say that it's nothing.
So,
it's definitely nothing. They see this.
They want that first. Secondly, well, I'd rather be in the states, no matter what,
as opposed to Canada.
Like, there is a trickle down to it.
Like, and you know what?
Green might be a great example.
Maybe.
They don't want to go to Ottawa.
Maybe.
I'd love to see the salary on green.
Because it's like if you were like, we need a top flight coach and then you're like paying them two, it's like that's not a top flight coach.
But we'll see.
I mean, I don't know.
And look, like I just have a tough time with people say in America's don't want to play here.
And it's like, I think the order you would have been isn't what you said.
I think you would have competitive to win a cup number one and then your money second in terms of taxes.
Because you headed the opposite order.
And when this team was competitive, they got a top of the market.
Jacob Markstrom was not Canadian.
They got a top of the market, Chris Tanna, who's from Ontario, could have gone to the states, could have gone to better tax climates.
They had a top of the market, Blake Coleman, who just won two Stanley Cupson as an American.
And could have chosen to live in a tax.
And paid them the most.
All those guys that paid the most.
So my point is that if you're a place that can win and you, you know, they're not going to say no to you.
So, like, okay, do you have to spend an extra million on Steve William?
to build your winning window.
Okay.
But they did that.
And all those guys fucking left.
You said it before.
The Bennett Monaghan careers
exploding on them was a bigger
part of that than I think we like
to talk about.
Like who was their second line center when Johnny
was here in round two. They won the first round.
They got beaten by Edmonton.
The projection was that they were
trying to get better. You're passing it off
as if these guys were shit.
No, they made it every other year.
and they they got to round two once.
Those are the facts.
Like, what was it?
Johnny was 2015 his first full year.
They make it that year.
They win the conference once.
They win the division once.
They miss a few times.
So they were so shitty guys wanted out of here as your take?
No.
My take is that they were a very middle of the pack team over the course of Johnny's tenure.
They won the division.
They win the division of the conference.
They won the conference.
The middle of the back team that won the division.
And they also missed the playoffs half the years.
The other thing is, too, when a lot of these agents are negotiating contracts,
everybody wants a no move.
And if they don't get a new move, then you get a modify.
Then you five team, 10 team, eight team or whatever.
And some of those times players, if you've got an eight team,
you can get to your four or five pretty quick.
And then you just fill up the list because you have eight teams.
And just sometimes Calgary gets put.
on that list. I just know from talking to
GMs and AGMs in this town for a while
there it was hard to get anything done on July 1
or before the deadline or in general because just a lot of
times either players had Calgary or Canada
on their list and whether they were I am never
going to Canada or if it was just we'll pick eight teams
for your list. Okay well Columbus, Winnipeg
whatever Calgary it just they made it on the list a lot of
times.
Yeah.
And I would expect they'll be on a lot of lists until they're a contender again.
It's not the only thing, though.
I'm not saying the COVID thing in many ways, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
And look, J.T. Miller was going to leave Canada because of COVID.
He's re-signed and is still there because we're through it.
It doesn't mean everyone's changed, but the further away you get from COVID, unless you're
worried about that situation again.
And the other thing, it's not a blanket thing.
some guys don't give a shit.
They're happy to be in Canada.
They're happy to play wherever.
And some guys, it's.
Some guys love the city, right?
Like lots of guys retire here that didn't play here.
There's a lot of pros about Calgary.
It's not the sexiest market, but like, you know,
I think Chris Tanna will have an appetite to come back here,
even though this team's not great.
I think there'll be conversations July 1 between Chris Tanna
and the flames if he's a free agent.
Let's move on because we have all summer to do this,
or at least the next couple months.
Pinder report?
I got a Piss. Can we do that first?
Yeah, go ahead.
It's not buying it.
And which I guess, it's true, because it's not a blanket statement.
Yeah, it's not 100%.
But I just, there's been a lot of times.
So what about so-and-so?
Any chance?
If you were, he's not coming again.
If you were Johnny somebody and you were a very talented player and you had the option of
going anywhere,
where are we on the list?
Even if where are we three years ago on the list and take COVID out of it?
Where are we in 2010 or 2007?
A couple of years removed from a Stanley Cup final run.
Yeah.
Where are we signing that's after the, after the 04 run.
It was because everybody had watched the red mile and the building was electric and
And Darrell behind the bench and Kipper and Net and Nguinla, there was, yeah, it was, it was far more sexy.
A place.
And who'd we get?
Well, Amante and McCarty, right?
Zeus, did Zeus come in?
I'm trying to think of who it was.
Tony Amante.
Yeah.
Bones.
And then Owen Nolan.
Yeah.
And I'm not taking shots.
And Darrell focused on veteran guys, which was the.
opposite of what he should have done.
It's never going to be, and I do think you have to at least recognize and know who you're
talking to.
Because again, not a blanket statement, but you better, well, Cachuck, we, we loved Cachuk.
They should be here forever.
Johnny Groot's going to the rafters and chose to leave.
Yeah.
Like, I think you have to have the conversation about or understand the character of the player.
I guess that you're picking.
And you should do.
I'm just catching the tail on it.
That's tough too, right?
Because you sat down with Adam Fox and he said all the right things for two years, right?
And then all of a sudden, ping, everything changed.
Turns elite.
And now you can kind of pick your spot.
Now, I'm a year away from free agency and I'm not going to sign.
And I'd actually like to be a ranger.
Yeah.
This is a good one from Piker.
What's the sales pitch to come to Calgary and join the flames?
Put yourself in the war room with Conroy and Iggy.
Right now?
On June 25th, as you're preparing.
in the war room trying to sign guys, I'm going to have to go down there and cut.
Well, yeah, I mean, that's the question. Is this the draft or is this free agency?
Because free agency, shut the hell up. Don't say anything.
Yeah, free agency.
A lot of them out for a year or two here. Yeah. But I know even at the draft, there have been some kids that, really, they were first round, you know, caliber players.
It's trying to remember, what was his name, Rocco Grimaldi.
Oh, yeah.
Rock of Grimaldi came in for his meeting, sat down.
I'm not coming.
I don't want to play in Canada.
All right.
Thanks for coming in.
Now he didn't turn into a huge NHL player,
but at that 17 years of age to have that kind of balls,
I guess, I don't know.
But you also know that you have some other teams
that you're going to get drafted.
I don't know.
I don't know what the image of playing in Canada is.
Ryan made a good point.
one of those kids.
Well, how, what are you going to do?
If you get drafted?
Yeah, not sure.
Well, not what's the kid,
what are you going to do as a team?
Take the 20th most talented player at number seven.
I know.
Maybe in rounds four and five and six,
it's like, well, we know that kid.
Or the parents,
that have no leverage anyway.
Yeah.
Let's be honest.
The players don't have our leverage until they're into ARB.
And so you've got that sort of like five year.
and again, if guys are great, you can trade them and get value,
especially at that point because they're not into the monster money yet.
Like, it's not like dealing a 28-year-old martyr making 10.9 in last year of his deal.
Right?
But what hurts, and you brought it up yesterday,
Kachuk where you got him is great value.
Fox where you got him is unbelievable value.
Go draw where you got him.
Unbelievable.
Huge.
Yeah.
Imagine this, like, yeah.
You're going to win more when you have Kachuk control
when those guys out of Fox in the blue line.
The other thing with Kachuk that we don't talk about enough,
they gave him that three year deal.
And you noted that the last year was nine,
which said, hey, I'm going to get a monster raise in my next deal.
They could have given them seven that summer,
but they didn't have the cap space because seven would have come with a bigger number.
And they were capped out with, you know,
paying too much to the bottom half of the roster.
If you're like this all has to be in sync.
If you can see this stuff coming years
out when your team has the leverage, you can avoid it or at least be positioned to succeed.
And allowing Goddrow to get into his final year without either having a deal for him or a contract
was a huge blunder. And whether that did or didn't impact the Kachuk thing or how much it did
or didn't, we don't know. But at the same time, and I'm not trying to play defense, but if we
would have said that summer going into Grodrow's final year, because remember, he was the guy who
couldn't win that couldn't put it up in the playoffs. And Tristan, you got to give this guy
10 million a year times eight right now.
No one would have said that's the move.
No, he hadn't earned that money.
He was probably a seven low-eight.
Even if you would have committed big dollars
over a long-term deal,
everybody would have been saying,
how can you commit to this guy?
It's like if you're going to sign Marner in Toronto.
Right now, Marner's the guy,
he's highly skilled, but he can't help you win.
So let me rephrase that then.
At the deadline, you trade or you sign?
And I think Connie's basically said as much
as an inductive press conference.
We can't allow assets to walk for nothing.
What would you have done that year?
You're in a playoff spot.
Well, it sounded like that fall.
They were close on an extension
and the number of the team floated to Johnny
was not what he thought
and he was a little ticked off at it.
And then you are first in your division.
You have a great year.
I think you have to deadline.
I have to say, like it's not easy decision.
But I mean, the closer you get to it,
the more it makes, okay, I understand what Tree did.
But just a general policy of like,
let's get this shit,
it ahead of time.
You had that whole offseason before.
It was a tough year to evaluate.
They had a rough year the year before, but I just don't know how you're going to
trade good draw at the deadline when you're a playoff team.
Yeah.
I know.
But again, if you don't let assets turn to zeros, you don't miss, you know, superstar
talented players.
Is there a scenario because we all look at it now as it was like it's a lost situation where
Goddrow would be as disappointing after two years in Calgary as he has been in Columbus,
and that would be a horrendous signing.
Like I don't think that money he gave it to Hubert O anyway, but what?
Exactly. Yeah. I was going to say, you've got to live in it with a different name bar here.
Yeah. But would do, is Goodro having the same sort of underwhelming time here if he stays?
I think that Goddrow, wow, Cachat's worked out for. He's been great.
Right.
but I think that Lindholm got a pouton.
And anyway, that doesn't matter.
Those guys had a chemistry that I don't think they were going to have that big of a drop off.
They maybe weren't going to be.
Cuberto's universe was flipped upside down.
Entirely new team, new linemates.
If Johnny's here at status quo, it's a guy he knows how to play with.
And maybe there's a Kachuk.
We don't know.
Maybe Kachuk says, okay, I'm still not long for this market, but I'll sign on a shorter thing.
like a three years, 30 million by the short term.
Who knows?
That was attacked.
I always thought they should have tried with them, but it never, never did.
And you know what?
Just going through game notes and different things,
because with Florida now and back to back playoffs,
Barkov has done this last time,
someone that was Jonathan Hubertoe back in this.
And the last time somebody had this kind of offensive output,
it was Huberto in this year.
Huberto was a very good player for the Florida Panthers for quite a while.
Five seasons, point per game in a row before he left.
He was a very good player in Florida for an extended period of time.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
God damn it.
Maybe one.
Yeah.
It's probably appropriate.
And then I'll do this because it's time for the Pinder Report.
Holy smokes.
Look at the time.
Seriously.
Doing a sports show today with the age.
It's the CRV.
We've seen it with Calgary.
It's hot.
It's cold.
It's snowing.
It's dry.
It's raining.
CRV, it's ready for you no matter what.
It's perfect for our city.
Sets atop the pack in the compact SUV field.
You can feel confident behind the wheel of your Honda CRV.
A plethora of driver safety features come standard.
You can see one, take one for a ride, and maybe even purchase one.
At Village Honda, your dealership for life in the Northwest Auto Mall.
And Village Honda presents.
Ryan Pinda, Ryan Pinda.
The Pinder Report.
Fellas, let's go to the action yesterday as the NHL's draft line.
lottery occurred in Toronto.
So that was the math going into it, right?
That was how that was.
This was the math going in.
And this was the math coming out.
There it is.
Nobody moved, but we sure did talk for 90 minutes on the YouTube channel.
Not a lot about percentages and moving up and down per se,
but really more familiarizing ourselves with who's going to be around,
certainly at 1, 2, and 3.
And then when we knew the flames were at 9,
rather early in the program, in that range.
in that range.
What are the pros, cons, risks?
It's a top 10 pick.
It's a top 10 pick.
It sure is.
You know, it didn't slide to 10 or 11.
I heard it's a top 9 pick.
To the top 10, that's where you can get very good players.
Yeah, and as we noted,
and as we heard from Stephen Ellis
and as Bob McKenzie talked about,
there is not a lot of consensus between 2 and 9.
You might get your second or third favorite player
at number 9.
you might get your ninth, but I mean, it's just that much lack of unity in terms of how these guys are viewed by NHL team.
So we'll see.
Here's Stephen Ellis's top 10 of daily faceoff.com.
This is a post-world U-18s.
We floated this list yesterday.
This is the better looking version.
Obviously, Celebrini's at 1.
Demadov, the kid playing in the Russian Junior League is a sensational winger.
He's at 2 to the Chicago pair him with Bidad.
Top defenseman off the board could be Lev Shunov, the Bell Russian playing at Michigan State.
And then there's Eve, Boullium, who we talked about.
And he's as high as three and as low as double digits around draft boards.
Interesting.
Eiserman, huge variance there.
Dean, we had, Bob McKenzie, had him at 13.
Probably the best pure finisher of this draft class in terms of goal scoring.
Other defenseman from the O in Perrick, Dickinson as well.
Katten is he a winger, is he a center?
while he had 50 some goals and 110 plus points as a 17-year-old in the Western League.
And then yes, at 11, the greatest player in franchise history, son.
Not to mention the 6'7 Russian defender.
There's something for everyone in here, boys.
Something for everyone.
Silev Monster, as high as two on a lot of lists.
Yeah, yeah.
And then there you see them at double digits than some.
It really doesn't have a huge offensive upside,
but you just don't see a lot of 17-year-old 6-foot-7 players to be.
begin with never mind playing in the second best league in the world.
Charra maybe.
Could be a Zadano Charra right there for you.
I'd take that.
You have his chara.
Yeah, you take him at one.
You don't worry.
Oh, he's Celebrini?
If you knew he was Charra, I don't think anyone knows he's Charra.
But yeah, like Celebrity is clearly a safer pick.
But yeah, you're right, right?
If he turns into that type of play, if there's some nasty and he's already 210 at 17,
like he probably plays at 225.
Chase.
Oh, at least he's six seven.
Right?
And he's a wee babe.
But then you can get into the fears.
Never mind the Americans.
What about their,
when's his contract up?
Is he going to stay in Russia?
What if he doesn't want to come over?
Lots of Russians here.
They'd be happy to come over.
All of a sudden,
a lot of Russians.
Connie's not afraid.
And Connie loves Russian D-Man.
And Bell Russian D-Man.
Yes.
He's excited.
Sylvia Plovak.
Come meet Grushnikov and Miramanov.
And Milov.
Salov.
Salov.
Salov.
Let's go to our boy John Bucci Grah,
who did a no-no, I think, yesterday, D.
Either that or he did a promo.
I'm not sure which.
We've arrived.
And then, whoops, there's a draft board that's up.
So for a few hours, people were sure this was rigged.
The guy that just spent $1.2 billion on a franchise,
saw his team move up to second.
I just talk about it.
And then rather than really explain things properly.
he just deleted said tweet, which only added fuel to the fire.
Leave it up and just giggle.
Didn't happen that way.
It's too bad.
Any takeaways here, Dean, or is all PR good PR?
I think it would have been easy just to say,
they're testing the digital port.
Yeah, guys, we're doing a dress rehearsal.
Would have just had been easy to probably,
because you're right, deleting it adds fuel to the fire.
But also, we're all crazy.
Quiet riot, I think, said it best.
Yeah, it is quite funny.
I feel the noise.
I feel like a very, very large percentage of NHL fans
actually in their hearts believe that the draft is rigged
and that we're all crazy, right?
Like, you're right.
They would put Connor McDavid in a market that could sell tickets anyway
after they've won three draft lotteries in the prior six years.
Yes, that's exactly where the league would put them.
You know what?
I'm all for enhanced Olympics.
rig the
rig the draft.
Yeah.
Rick the draft.
Or just don't have the
draft.
Don't have the lottery.
Just.
Lottery.
Yeah.
Have the draft.
Don't have the lottery.
You know what the PWHL is doing?
The women's hockey league.
From the time you're eliminated,
that game fourth,
your points percentage the rest of the year.
So it's like,
okay,
you're the highest.
Yeah, they get to pick first.
Now, it's a smaller league.
There's not as much variance.
up or down. Some team might be eliminated with two games to go, another with 15.
But I think it's called like the golden rule or gold something. And it's like,
yeah, it potentially doesn't help the team that just really sucks.
Yeah, which I guess is what we're doing anyway when we pull from the lottery two or three times.
I know. And it does it definitely, there's no tanking on that way, right?
Tank away. I don't care. And you could argue San Jose tanked all year.
Yep. As the Sabres did in the McDavid year.
only to have an 11.5% Oilers lottery ball pop up.
Crazy world, friends.
Let's go to a game day.
Calgary Wranglers in Palm Springs.
Getting some sun?
Nope.
Heading into a cold building?
Yep.
Air conditioning?
You bet.
Saddle up.
It is, there's Dustin Wolf, our boy.
It's going to be tough for noodles here.
Eight o'clock start.
Jesus.
Can't they move this up so the people in Toronto can see this in prime time?
You are very argumentative.
in the HL, the MVP last year, the league.
It's why he's good at this, right?
You are very argumentative today because Nudels is right.
They don't have to start at that late with the best player in the world.
And you told Nudels to move to the Mountain Time Zone.
Yes.
That was your rebuttal to his, why don't we start games earlier.
Like the Eastern Time Zone, by all means, leave the Eastern Time Zone.
What about those folks that can't move?
And would you be happy if everyone from the East?
Nuddles can move.
That's fine.
Yeah.
Right.
So it's not about whether we can start the games earlier.
It's because Noodles has chosen to live.
I think we should just keep all the teams in Eastern Times.
Don't let anyone outside of the Times don't get a team.
It can't be keeping people out late.
Goddammit.
I think moving up the time of the games a couple hours or an hour.
Oh, what?
Wait, what did you just?
Calgary Hitman will have a Calgary Flames prospect on their blue line next year.
Dino.
Do you remember this fellow from Nashville?
Axel.
Axel.
Axel Hurtig?
I don't actually, but he was the seventh round monster they drafted with their final pick at the draft.
We were drunk on day two, remember?
We didn't even go on day two.
Were we driving through the night trying to get home one day two?
Something was happening.
Maybe that's what it was, yeah.
They did indeed take him, though.
And he's coming to the hitman.
So exciting.
So exciting.
What a bunch of beautiful games last night, guys.
What just incredible stuff.
Unbelievable.
Back to back.
overtimes. There's Jacob
Truba. Chauveler loved that
one. I don't know.
He hurt himself.
Oh, my God. I went from worried about,
I believe it's Tara Vinen's life, to
immediately worry that Truba
finally had to deal with the Truba hit.
Yeah. Yeah, Marty
Natchez kind of lost an edge and also
bailed out on it. And then Trubo was mad.
God, I was trying to decapitate you. And then you
ducked out, you puss.
There is another angle, too, where
he swings with the elbow and just,
just misses the head.
Look at Glenn Anderson there in the
in the gray suit.
Is that Glenn?
Yeah.
Look at these boys out there, giving it there all.
Truba's dangerous, eh?
Didn't Truba F up?
What?
I mean, he's planning New York. He's making all the money.
He got his ass out of Winnipeg.
There was a play where I'm going to have to find it.
You're going to find it?
He's aggressive, like a,
the train. Yeah. And it was like there was a play at the net and he comes charging into the
offensive zone and I think they went back the other way two on one. I'm like, why are you going
rushing in there on that play? Like time and place, but yeah. Sorry. But when when you're young
and you can when you're that solid and you can hit like that. God, you, I mean, you, you, you were kind of
that guy when you were a kid.
How you see a guy coming across the middle?
How big to your eye?
I'm going to kill this man.
Like it's got to be the most fun feeling in the world.
Oh, it's weird.
Oh, you don't, you don't see me.
This is great.
Here we come.
A buangelo!
Gotcha.
Gotcha.
Good.
You'd want to do it every shift, I would think.
Dion seemed to his first few years.
When he stopped doing that, that's when, eh, what do we got here?
Physical game, though, right?
Did you guys watch?
Because I watched a good chunk of it.
That was a hell of a hockey game.
I thought it was awesome.
They were a lot of them.
Both teams.
Yeah.
Here's another good image from the game.
I don't know if you saw what I ended, guys.
I don't know.
It might have been too late out east.
There's Fini Trocheck against the glass.
Yeah.
Unbelievable.
That is awesome.
That looks like AI, Rhett.
That does look like AI.
It's like, that is.
Make me a Vinny Trochechek spider made
of hockey gloves. Okay, here it is.
Crowd was wound up.
Double O.T. Great building.
Awesome building. President's trophy
winners, 6 and 0 in the postseason. The Rangers
are humming. And both
goalies made some huge saves in that overtime.
Both overtimes, yeah.
What was it
because for the Keynes?
54 saves for Shisterkin?
57 shots, 30 missed shots.
Rangers block 27. That's 114.
Directed towards the net.
and lose.
The late game had a bit of a misapp.
I don't know that you guys caught this.
That's late in Buffalo and it was off air.
Here's,
no, that's Mark Rycroft, I believe, on our left,
the right of the photo with,
not Craig Simpson, but someone looks like Craig Simpson.
Look at him as he takes, goes for a little sip of coffee here.
Oh, that's my chew spit.
Oh, there.
You've all done it.
It's no good.
You put your dip in there.
Music kind of fits that, actually, doesn't it?
Ted Lindsay award winners are announced.
This is the players vote, not the media vote.
The media vote had McDavid Kutcheroff-McKinnon.
The players said Matthew's in,
McDavid out.
I understand that.
Sixty-nine goals is a lot.
And four amazing seasons.
Players hate McDavid.
But it's clear as day.
I guess so.
These is you won in a row.
Tonight's action, two games.
Boston,
Florida, followed by Edmonton, Vancouver.
Do we want a Florida wind to even this out?
Do we want to see Boston really push the road in the ropes here?
What do we want?
I know where your interest lied.
Do you know what's up?
Yeah, let's go.
I don't, we want games.
It's going to be sad when there's no games on.
We got to wait two days for, let's go, Florida.
Let's go.
And we'll see how Vancouver deals with that dynamic,
Ebbington offense.
Can you bully?
Can you stay at a penalty trouble?
Can you defend them?
Or are you fucked?
Put it eloquently.
You wish,
I guess if you're an oily fan, you don't.
You wish Demko were in there.
Yeah, that's kind of their game,
like their superstar, right?
It would be helpful for sure.
Wow, the kid's going to play well.
Let him go, kid.
Celops, yeah, he's too new.
This is you in Florida, right?
You're too young and done to realize what's going on.
Cannot fail.
Yeah.
Just go play, kid.
Stop thinking.
Now, here's the thing, Vancouver, we thought was hexed because they had that stupid song that got released.
And we in Calgary are familiar.
There was a bad rap song that came out in flames immediately shot into the sun.
Soiled themselves.
And the franchise has never been the same.
The months that followed basically have thrown this team into a rebuild.
Not taking any caution there with the Vancouver Canucks with a song.
And now we get this from Edmund.
I'm sorry
Island
He's parked in front
He's parked in front
And on the honey
I suddenly think the Canucks
Canucks can win this thing guys
That is awful
And that is a hex
You have placed upon that team
Wait, let it play
No, that's any more
And we're going to lose
YouTube viewers
And
Boom
We thought the
The Canucks song was bad
Which it is
Now,
I mean, they are
bad.
Those people are trolling us.
This was the,
remember this one?
All right,
you faded a little bit.
One time for Thatcher Demko.
Yeah, he's hurt.
Thanks, guys.
Good work there.
He did get one time.
We got one game.
Yeah, one game for Thatte Demko.
If you thought that the Canucks song was bad,
how do we feel today?
They're trolling us.
That's a spoof.
They're winning.
They're loving this.
They're sitting at home, dying laughing.
I hope.
I just want a plague of injuries on both these teams for this nonsense.
You've got to get smarter people.
And the good news, Rhett, is at least there aren't any politicians
trying to capitalize on this nonsense.
Well, hang on.
Jack found something.
Amy or so he, how's it going?
Now, I hear your Edmonton Oilers are going to be playing the Vancouver Connectionate,
and we're actually pretty excited about it.
So much, in fact, that we don't.
like to challenge you to a little bit. So if the Vancouver Canucks or when the Vancouver Canucks
beat the Edmonton Oilers, we'd like for you to fly the flag of our beloved Canucks above
City Hall and rock one of these amazing Vancouver Canucks jerseys and in the unlikely event
that Edmonton actually wins we will be the same and so my here we go Dan.
Oh, you have the challenge?
Because we are.
Hey, little buddy.
Oh, and there's Finn.
Who could have?
Yep.
And what's he going to do?
Wow.
Can both these teams lose?
Is that a possibility
that is allowed in this tournament?
I'm just glad that it's starting at 1020.
And then, of course, there's the usual back and forth on social media,
broken car meme.
You know, the broken car meme?
Be careful out there, folks.
I left some darn on this rookie card in my car.
car someone broke in and left five more like back and forth because this season as series doesn't
even started yet just we already had a boston pizza people are boycotting and pentictin of all
places like this is going to be insane and it's too incredibly obnoxious fan bases as calgarians would
know this is potentially going to be very hard to watch i'm just glad it's starting at 1020
easily red how about this palis show darcy horticuch a little news surrounding
his son today, top pick in the U.S. priority draft.
The boy, Braden.
He plays like his old man, apparently.
Scots China.
Some physicality.
Off to the Pats.
And, yeah, the real draft,
not just to the real, the non-U.S. priority.
Regular, full-scale draft goes tomorrow.
Our capitan.
Our capitol.
WHL, sorry, Rhett, look at this.
You kidding me?
Another overtime game.
What the age, man.
So mebs.
Six overtimes in a best of seven,
game seven overtime,
Moose Jaw 3, Saskatchez Chin,
two.
I can't have nice things.
And you guys can't either
because I was going to come back.
And now,
F it.
So we lose out because you're not coming back.
He was going to commute to the games
from Calgary, I guess.
I don't know.
Right.
Okay, I don't get that either.
Tough break.
No, Jay Cuda is a reporter in Chicago that covers baseball.
Jake Cuda, all he pumps out is bangers.
He's found a new advanced metric using bananas to talk about how good teams.
The White Sox ruined beyond any hope.
Those are black in bananas.
The A's, very green bananas.
It'll be a while.
Now we get controversial here.
The yellow banana, Jack's Pirates, almost but not quite.
And then the Padres are the, well, hang on now.
Are we doing some?
some baking jay you can't actually think the browned up yellow banana is the good like it need some
it does match the padre's logo i'll give you that um banana bread time there almost that's it's that's
cooking dean that can't be throw it in your backpack well it's good for jack as uh pirates then go pirates
jack let's go to a game come on down fellas we got to welcome someone into the club i think rent's
still a part of this club but i'm confused a little bit look who is now officially
a Canadian.
Oh, David.
Hey.
Hey.
Hey.
Look at you.
Oh, Dave.
It's a little flag and a huge mask.
You have a huge.
You have a little.
You're eating fool you.
Yeah.
Yeah.
What was the deal there?
Somebody by David Cheeseburger.
Welcome to Canada.
Dave.
Doesn't like burgers or
only.
Yeah.
It's like the Nolan Patrick didn't like pizza.
Red flagsville there.
Happy.
How come he doesn't call us?
Citizenship, Dave.
Yeah, he doesn't have internet.
I think he liked us.
I think so.
I think he did.
Yeah.
I'm just going to ask.
People like you.
I'll be sure.
I like I'm on here.
All right.
That's the good CFL news.
Oh, yeah.
Now back to being CFLE?
Yeah, nine game suspension for violating
gender-based violence policy for who?
Oh, just the league MVP, Chad Kelly.
Whoops.
Yeah.
And yeah, the Argonauts actually didn't,
reach out to the league despite
at least nine games.
He's got to do some counseling and they're going to see
whether he's learned and what he has to learn.
It could be more.
Not the best.
Not ideal.
And Chad, some poor decisions based on
what's being reported about your behavior.
Sir, Calvary FC hosted the white caps last night
at Atco Field. Fellas, a great
first half. Calvary had all the ball.
A 45th minute stoppage time goal from the
stick in white caps and a gorgeous one made it one.
nothing. The white caps said add to that and here we are in stoppage time.
93rd minute.
From sporting and in for Shaw, Malcolm Scha.
Shaboo!
Oh, great crowd, incredibly crappy weather.
I think over 4,000 is the announced attendance.
That's for three degrees rain and wind up to 25 clicks.
Buckle up soccer fans.
It's coming this summer.
How did the old jean shorts?
enjoy it. Gene shorts did all right. Didn't want anything to do with the, what do you call the big thing
that wicks the rain off you, just the hole in the top. Pancho. Yeah, he didn't want the poncho. Nope,
screw that. Unbutton his jacket a bunch, maybe did it up a couple times. Unbottoned it again.
Yeah. Got some chippers, the homemade potato chips out there.
Nice. Happy kid. Do they have a dip?
You can't get the dip, yeah. It's good. Not sure if it's a ranch or a cheese. It's pretty nice.
Yeah, maybe it is.
Tim Naki, let's go.
He's on a losing skit, boys.
He's not.
He's back, maybe.
Come up.
86.
Go on a blackjack,
committing 10 cents for every Instagram follower.
I've got there are 1,210,000 of you and E now.
So a $121,000 bet is coming right up.
Day 86.
And we are nearly in Hail Mary territory.
A $121,000 bet going on a line.
We've gone for a female deal today.
She looks regal.
Uh, potentially an equestrium background off tangled with these demons before.
Historically told I will leave...
Down in cash and a hitch in my giddy up we see King.
Give me 10.
20!
20!
20 plays a 4!
When we need it most!
We shall not celebrate too soon!
But in good stead, thank God you all voted no side bets would have been absolutely fucking torched.
121K on the line! Please go low, low, low, low!
10, jinnit!
10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10.
Not too many! We are back, baby!
Manifestation of the Millie!
Oh, Gondor calls for aid, and our fair maiden doth answer!
And I will see you all tomorrow!
When you better believe, we will be bidding.
Even more, thank God for that.
When he had the four, I think if a seven shows up, this poor bastard.
I know, yeah.
Out of point, Timmy.
Big bounce back.
Great dealer.
Start of a new,
hey,
you got to stay with the female.
You get to choose?
I think he was saying
when it was less than 50K a hand,
there was lots of different deals
you could choose from.
But when you get to this huge numbers,
there's just,
they don't have that many dealers
standing by waiting for bets that big.
You get what you get.
Yeah, the guy that pissed the pool.
Yeah, the Sam Smith Love Child.
Great.
Yeah.
There's lots of.
Good work.
Yeah.
You ever gone,
climbing, rappelling, caving,
Redd? Oh, yeah. Outdoor adventuring.
I'm betting this wasn't you, so he's got his harness on
and he's going to belay himself down, I believe.
Nice and slow.
No money. No money.
Don't worry. Someone in the internet said he made it.
So we are okay. Let's move on.
Fishing, Rhett. Have you ever gone fishing for Sturgeon?
Because you need to do it in a really, really,
it would be all right after that.
Yeah, it's a little false fall.
There's a couple feet just making viral.
They made it on the Pinderport.
The success achieved it.
Fishing in a small boat for Sturgeon.
Love it.
Look.
The fish is bigger than the boat, literally.
You ever done Sturgeon fishing rep?
Is that Morrison?
Brendan.
He's coming up river.
He's going to jump.
He's going to jump.
It does make it funnier in the small boat, doesn't it?
Dane.
I'm telling you, honest, there's a frightening.
Cushing.
Dinosauri.
A giant surgeon in the world's smallest jet boat.
Oh, wow.
Look at the size of that bastard.
Jeez.
You just need to wait for that thing to tire itself out.
I'm going to pass.
I don't know that I need that.
Any interest in that, Rhett?
I'd go do it.
And I'd take it.
take you, but I don't know if a whole day on the boat.
No, it's too much.
I want a big, I want a boat.
Not that thing.
Yeah, you want some dirt thing that he had going there.
This one's called Crocodile One.
Let's take a peek here.
Well, it looks like we're in the Everglades again.
Come on, big boy.
You got a big, big body.
Come on, come on.
Come on.
There's a big guy.
Yeah, good.
Oh yeah?
Really?
It's starting a motor cycle.
It's where the skin meets the head.
You shoot from the back and 22 magnums all you need.
But you shoot a big one like down on top the head.
Take the least at 357, 9mm, something of the caliber of the pituit of the skull.
And right on the end of the south, that's what you hit.
If the alligator ever grab you, you pop that as hard as you can and pisses them off to open them out.
Watch your leg if he tries to climb in.
You slide your head as out.
Sometimes he climbs in, it's hard to get it back out.
This is like Creole Rob Ray.
It's not going to do this.
Yeah, it is it.
Yeah.
You're not done.
It's very comfy with the...
Yeah.
Cool, huh?
Big dude.
See, Dean.
Happy ending.
Yeah, real good.
You look good.
A little meat.
God can get his arm bit off.
Everyone's a winner.
Crocodile 1.
Didn't have any yesterday.
You have a treadmill at home, Rhett?
Oh, no.
Dino?
Yeah, we've got four of them.
There's your roommate.
Yeah.
I, me, guys.
I, caramba.
A bit capita.
That's why I don't use the treadmill.
It's so dangerous.
Very dangerous.
Yeah.
This one's called tree.
Let's have a look at it.
Brad?
Big week.
Now, is this part of Rob Ray's package?
Real moly lawn and cut down the trees for you?
It's got it started pretty good here.
Being the smart guy he is, he's going to get.
Robert, you're all right.
A lot of raw gray in the Pinda report today.
Yeah.
Yeah, that's a lot of momentum there.
I do like to just incoherent screaming of a young...
So do you think that's the professional that they hired?
That's DUG.
That's DUG in Northern Sask.
That's not Trees or us?
That's someone doing it.
themselves, okay.
This one's called jump.
Let's have a look at this.
Oh, my God.
Because it's Andy at the bottom, but
if you have three of minds.
Kind of walks it off, okay, but I don't know.
You know what?
That's BS.
He's like, I'm good.
I'm good.
Broken Joe.
He's not good.
You're not good.
It's been a while since we had one of those videos of Rett falling asleep when
he's snoring, you know, with the whole outdoor dental, the 15-minute treatment across the soft
palate.
Yep.
I finally got another one sent by the shoveler.
Here we go.
And I've disappointed to Dean.
I haven't got a snake video until this one.
Here we go.
Oh!
Don't pull.
Don't pull.
Happens quick, yeah?
Yeah.
Don't pull.
that's because i would think that means it's some yeah look at the size of that thing
oh stay in your house today dean that's your pinned report yep deal pre-owned vehicles they got
them at village honda all makes all models they are part of that dealership group the wood
automotive group 500 or more vehicles for your choosing that's why you stop in talk to the good folks
at village honda and they will get you set up with exactly
what it is you're looking for your one-stop automotive destination in Calgary worth the trip
located in the northwest automobile and of course online at village honda.com
but but but but but but but
Capitan a Capiton or Capiton.
Let's do some Betway bets
the Betway bets. The Betway bets. Betwebets of the day.
There it is. If you have yet to get yourself your Betway account, create a new one.
Scan that QR code in the screen.
redeem your bonus, you place a bet.
If the bet loses, you'll get as much.
There's like up to $200 refund.
You then use that to bet once again on your favorite sports.
Only available this deal outside of Ontario.
Bet the responsible way.
With Betway two games tonight, I am going in on just the one of them,
Edmonton at Vancouver.
A regulation win for the Oilers pays 120 on the plus side.
And not a lot of value in the McDavid's and Dryside.
of the world, but Hyman has been
almost as good.
Two points or more for Zach
Hyman, a plus 220
as the Oilers stroll into
Vancouver tonight on the
strength of that inspiring
little musical ditty.
How can't they fare well after that?
Those are my bet way bets.
Let's start
out east for the earlier
start of the two. It's game two between
Florida and Boston, big game hunting,
Sammy Reinhart. Let's get going.
plus 700 for the first goal score.
Nobody scored more in the regular season than Reinhart in this series
and not named Austin Matthews anything anywhere in the league.
Let's go!
And then I am going to put my money where my mouth is.
I've said Vancouver can defend and make this low event.
I also using every ounce of will that my human corpse has
to believe that the Canucks can beat the Oilers,
and this is my path forward.
Under five and a half goals pays plus 125.
It's not the most confident rationalization that we've
ever gotten out of you.
But, but it's there.
I'm hoping and I'm hoping I'm right.
And because of that, I'm going to make this bet.
It's freaking Edmonton and please let that song put a pox upon their organization.
Yeah, all that.
Yeah.
So again, you can use our bets or not.
That's correct.
And it's that there's so many options for you.
You can go in and bet, uh, any number of them aside from the under five and a half.
I hope you're right.
Listen, I'm, I'm not, I'm four of the last six Canucks games.
under five and a half.
Now remember the LA Kings,
it was a one nothing win for the Oilers that one.
There was a low scoring one in there.
There was a three two in there.
That's an under.
Some that were not as low scoring.
Betway,
bet the responsible way with Betway.
You get the app.
Get it on your phone.
Get it on your tablet.
Get it on your desktop.
Whatever it is.
Just get in the action.
Get it.
With Betway.
Scan that QR code.
Why wouldn't you?
Not available.
You stink at Leafs fans, though.
Not in Ontario.
No, sir.
on Friday we'll do the Great Clips inbox
if you want to get your questions in, email them through
Great Clips inbox
at Flamesnation.ca.
And coming up in a couple days,
it's already Wednesday. Friday, we'll do your questions,
thoughts, whatever it is that you have inside the Great Clips Inbox.
So send them in.
Great Clips Inbox at Flamesnation.C.
Did you have something?
It had been dropped.
I'm not sure. I've not been monitoring.
You would know the imports, wouldn't you're at?
A lot of Yankee Doodle dandy's the Dundee's the Dundee.
dude to have seen.
I don't know if you're allowed to say that.
I don't know either. Let's find out.
Hitman Parker Schellenberg from Irvine, California,
from the J. Sarah Catholic Prep Lions.
Oh, Shelley.
Hey, Shelly.
Good pick.
Let's see if there's any buffaloons here.
A lot of California, my goodness.
It would be that side of the problem.
Who?
I think it's Tebradoski.
Oleg?
My great trade.
which one was that?
Oh dear.
That's the Jets one, isn't it?
Paddock, idiot.
Sorry, I'm sure
Paddock's a nice guy, but awful deal.
Chad Kilger, is he in the Hall of Fame?
No. No.
Not the NHL one.
Tebradovsky?
Is he
hanging from a raft
rings, anything like that? No.
Eli Tebradovsky
from L.A. was playing at the Okinawagon
Hockey Academy, U-15 prep team.
Is that your boy, Rhett?
I don't know.
So, Red.
There was a way for a long time,
and we started doing Barnburner,
you would end the show with a little phrase,
a couple words.
And I just wondered,
do you feel like that would be something
that we bring back to life right now?
They're heading into a series against Vancouver.
I would always say, that'll do it,
and we'll see you tomorrow and that sort of thing.
and then you would have a little kind of a footnote
and then we would go on our merry way.
This ties in.
I don't know.
I got a gag order kind of thing.
Because there's some WHL teams that have called.
Bridges.
I mean, it's Ers versus Kings.
I mean, that's we suck.
There it is.
There it is.
That'll do it.
See you, buddies.
