Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Matvei Gridin’s Preseason Is TOO GOOD To Ignore 👀 | BB Clips
Episode Date: September 30, 2025Video Link: https://youtu.be/9zEC_Xaj9h4Boomer, Pinder, and Rhett dive into the buzz around Matvei Gridin 🔥The rookie is having a huge preseason and might just be forcing his way onto the Calgary F...lames roster.Things get a little heated as the guys debate whether the Flames should make room for him now—or keep him waiting.#calgaryflames #calgary #nhlhockeyislife #nhlteam #nhlshorts #nhlshorts CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER BLONDE https://originbrewing.myshopify.comFLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
So we go to the shootout.
Matt Bay Gridden.
I love the hand right there.
Take it off.
Coming in.
Sing.
He's a sniper, boys, and he's sniping.
And people are very excited.
I would love it if he would make the team.
It would be fun.
Because I feel like that's the direction.
Well, Pinder got into it on Twitter last night.
Oh, really?
Oh, yeah.
Yes.
Yeah, he took on.
I can tell you a little edge.
You're a little edgy, too, today.
Me?
No.
Well, I think, uh, if, uh, if, uh, if, uh, if, uh, if, if,
I can just, like everyone's very excited, and this is a great development.
Before we start getting into the brass tacks and roster moves, like, this is what you want to see from a first rounder.
He led the USHL and scoring.
He goes to the queue.
He lights up the queue.
Ryan Huska last year at camp says, I want Matt Biggerton to come back and make this team.
He's having a great preseason.
He's scoring a ton.
This is all great.
If you put Matt Vig Grin on this team, who are you subjecting to waivers?
And is that worth the role of the dice when you probably, I think real expectation would be like, that's not a full NHL team?
Matt Bay's good at our weakness,
but I would suggest like most 19-year-olds,
there's a lot of defensive details
that the head coach would want ironed out.
And like we see with most players of his caliber,
you need some HL seasoning.
Holy Christ.
So that is sort of the crux of the debate.
Is it a reward for him for having a good camp?
Do you want to lose a player that might help you
when you find out he's not ready in two weeks?
I think that's the decision-making conundrum right there.
anything you want to take umbrage with aside for me actually thinking about you know waivers
that matter that happened in this league well thank god you're here that's all i think is we're
grateful to have other than me thinking about uh real matters no i trust me if there's anyone
that can't just have a fun conversation about shit it is you well i just try to think about it like a
gm would right like that's because that's the that's the that's how this is going to be made and you
have to do that no because if we're going to guess what the flames are doing let's think like
i don't have to guess i said hey he's
doing great.
Awesome.
I'm not saying you guys have said anything.
I'm just telling you about the people last night.
They're like,
wave all these bums,
bring in the kids.
It's like,
well,
what if they're not ready?
Like,
that wasn't a full NHL team.
Like,
Ryan Huska's going to get measured on this season,
wins and losses.
He's not like,
it'll be fun.
It'll be fun if Matt Bay made.
No,
he's like,
I want to win games.
Right?
Okay.
Hey, Ryan.
Yo.
Happy birthday,
Paul.
Thanks,
what did you,
like,
I got a serious whack of,
what did you do?
I got, you want to hear about the hall that I reeled in on birthday?
That's what you did for your birthday was have a fucking Twitter battle?
No, no.
I just saw people saying that he's a star in the NHL and I was like, okay.
It's not a lot.
Now you're over.
That's not true.
Allow it to just like the development of the player is top priority.
For all these Twitter nerds that are getting excited about some kid that scored.
I'm glad you're allowed to be excited.
I'm not telling you when they can't be excited.
I literally said this.
Don't get excited and ahead of yourself.
What I said was this is a great development.
One of your young prospects on the deal that Rhett panned hard is giving you two of your best three prospects.
Griddons is the Lindholm deal.
Bristewich's a lend home deal.
You got Kuznetsov,
you turned into Morgan Frost with some other pieces of all.
Like,
this is part of a big long-term process of trying to get young players and good difference makers.
Thank you for the depth analysis.
That's wonderful.
So who you put on waivers to confirm to make the team?
I didn't say, yeah, I don't give a five.
I was asked.
He's not going to be a difference maker in five years.
I don't discreet to that.
That's,
I mean,
it's not,
you can be that guy or you can just,
whatever.
Sam Hodzick made the team out of camp last year.
And to no one's surprise a couple weeks later,
he got hurt as well.
You're kind of glossing over the fact.
And so I'll say this,
if there is a way to get Matt Vey on this team and not put someone on waivers.
Who are you worried about losing is right?
Like,
I guess where are you going to play Matt Bays, my question.
Okay, that's fine.
That's a good question.
And then it's like, okay.
But if he's scoring goals, you find a spot.
That's what you do.
Right?
Yeah.
Trade someone else's ass with Erasmus when he wants out and do a pack.
Like, there are ways to work this out.
There are.
There just aren't really trades in who are you moving out?
Like, does someone want to pay Joel Farabry $5 million?
No.
Now I'm swearing because you're annoying me.
I'll send Kirkland down to the miners.
If he gets picked up,
I don't care.
If you're okay with that,
I am totally okay with it.
If Gridden's earning it.
I know,
I've watched seven minutes,
seven minutes,
seven seconds of a guy's going to be able.
This is awesome.
I just don't see the harm of saying like,
go light up the aim.
Nobody's saying it's,
you're like boring tone about it that everyone else is an idiot
for just saying he's playing good.
No,
my tone is when people are like,
he's going to make the team.
They're losers if he doesn't make the team.
But again,
you're overstating it.
I'm literally telling you.
Here's my,
Here's what I would like to.
Here's what would be my opening night roster.
Yeah.
And then like,
okay,
so what are you doing with who are you putting on waivers for these guys to be?
Hanley on waivers.
Well,
you might need Hanley.
And so I'll,
if you're going to trade or assets.
If you lose,
you know,
I don't.
Does the world end for the flames of Justin Kirkland is picked up on waivers?
Did it come to an end because they lost Shwinz a year ago?
Like,
what could you trade Justin Kirkland for right?
Nothing.
There you go.
If he gets picked up on waivers,
that's not really a concern.
Like,
you have three NHL centers, right?
I don't think Pospicill is proven to be a center.
I think they like Ryan Longberg a lot.
I think Ryan Huska likes Ryan Longberg a lot.
I think they want to see what you've got in Klappka.
And so I just don't know that,
that excuse me, Matt Begridden on the fourth line is what works.
Like, that's what happened to Coronado.
He made the team after playing NCAA the year prior.
He had one goal in Pittsburgh, like a week into the season.
And a month in, they're like, yeah,
like he can't really we don't trust him enough defensively yet he's not a special teams help on the
penalty kill fourth line minutes aren't helping him develop they send him to the a and he's come back a way
better player i don't know why people are so afraid of the american league let him touch the american league
and then bring him up when you got injuries like you're going to get on the wing at some point it's your
lack of ability to just just roll roll that's kind of what you have to come down hard
You have to come down hard on every fantasy or just excitement.
It has to be, no, it's not real.
Oh, my God.
Yes, I know.
You didn't play make-believe when you were growing up, clearly.
Well, I mean, Craig Conner can't play make-believe.
He's got to make a decision that affects is wrong.
He's talking about Craig Conroy.
I don't have, I'm not talking to Craig Conroy right now.
No, but my point is that like, Craig is the one.
Are you next in line for the GM?
Is that what you're trying to pander to?
I think when people.
follow this team and they like want to project roster
decisions, they'd want to understand like what
how do these decisions get made?
Listen here, all you fans, you're idiots
for not doing a deep dive analysis
on for the whole depth of the roster.
They've got how many is it, Dino, 50?
You could have 50 guys under
contract or something like that.
You should know every one of them.
You should know how they're going to project. You should know
where they're going to end up and the best way to utilize
that. That's as a fan.
That's your job.
Nope. You can fan how you want.
Yes, and I think that's...
But if you're going to throw out a projected roster with three rookies and throw
Joel Hammer and waivers, it's going to be...
You're going to throw that out on Twitter.
Because you're going to get straight-not.
If you're just going to go to Twitter and say, man, it'd be great if this guy made the team.
So now, did this person, like, send this directly to you?
No, I just saw it.
I'm like, okay, well, so interesting, but you understand the consequences.
Okay, can I clarify one of the...
Was it your birthday yesterday?
There's my birthday yesterday.
And this is what you were doing.
I went to watch.
some of the flames game after my hyenas were put to bed and I was geo locked out.
So I went to the old Twitter.
How do I get geo locked out in Calgary?
I'm on the freaking Wi-Fi network.
What the hell's going on?
Figure that out, people.
I was to, I know.
How did you try and do it?
On the website on my phone.
It doesn't happen.
It's weird.
Yeah.
Anyway, so I couldn't watch.
But obviously,
immediately it was like, let's go watch Bobby Germany's highlights that he's
clipping.
Let's see what the people are talking.
And so like, this is great.
So for those that are just listening, some, somebody who, on Twitter's,
And here would be my opening night lineup.
Blah, blah, blah, blah.
And he's got Gridden in there.
And he's got Saloviav and Bristever.
Cairns is on a wing.
He's not put Hanley on the roster.
There's lots of interesting decisions here.
So you kind of come in from the top rope.
There's no Klapka.
There's no.
So to be clear, you're placing three of Klapka, Hanley, Pahall, Kirkland,
Longberg on waivers.
So you're just kind of engaged.
Yeah, I'm just saying, okay.
So that's your lineup.
You're comfortable putting these people on waivers?
You could.
That's how you have to.
So does it hurt to lose?
lose a couple on waivers.
So now,
now,
now he's engaged with you.
How could you say losing Hanley would hurt a lot when we've just,
because you shit talked about?
So are you going to trade Rasmus this year or not?
Yeah.
And so who is going to play minutes?
Like you need someone.
Someone.
So then who's the someone.
Okay.
Well, give me a little.
I don't even know who.
That's the.
Like,
yeah.
That's the whole.
But it's not like you're going from.
What's the percentage of difference between Hanley and the next up?
Uh,
100%?
Like,
are you going from Z?
zero to 100 because Hanley is going to drive the bus?
I think Hanley was the best
of a top four they had last year
after this big 3D.
That's again an indictment on the depth.
Right. And so the indictment of the depth means that that depth
is what you're going to ask to jump in the top four year.
And if you trade Anderson and you have to play Solovia,
how does that affect your...
I mean, if you're on team rebuild, it's great,
but Ryan Huska doesn't want to do that.
That's like he wants to win games.
You have an answer to everything.
So if Huska doesn't want it, it can't happen,
but you want it to happen.
So if you're thinking you're taking that side of the argument,
then they should.
Again,
if Solovov plays and Hanley doesn't,
how many points less do the flames end up with at the end of the year?
Couple.
I don't know,
not much.
So what are we talking about?
We're talking about a team that's aiming at 97 points
and lost by a tie break last year.
I think this all comes back to like.
And how do you know that the kid when he comes up?
Because I can tell you,
it's harder but easier to play in the NHL,
which is a weird statement,
but it's also true.
And is there any chance that he might improve?
The guy that if Hanley's gone,
I feel like Brosevic is closer than we think.
Yeah, we've called it.
He's going to be up at some point this year.
And then on the flip side,
as if you're getting some goals from Gridden,
then...
Like last year at this time,
they kept Hanley and didn't put him on waivers,
and we said,
what the hell are they doing right?
Yeah, and then he rodded for the first third
and then played top four of the final two thirds.
It was crazy.
And like,
Miramato,
I've had to play top four for a while.
It wasn't pretty.
You love to be a man.
The great challenge here for the flames is that all of this,
all of this stems from their mushy metal.
If you had a clear MO to get young, rebuild, pick high,
this is easy.
But they're literally talking about 97 points.
And so I don't expect a front office and a coach
aiming at 97 points to make any of those types of decisions that are suggested.
They are.
You can want to do it.
It's just not what the team's trying to do, right?
aren't making those choices.
But that's not a tank.
Red Twitter dude.
That line up that that person proposed.
That's not a tank lineup.
Well,
you're going to trade Rasmus if that's your team.
Like,
I get them Mavitton scores goals.
What are the odds he outscores the opponents
when he's on the ice this year?
Like,
I think it's really low.
He's the type of guy that'll score,
but it's like,
whoops, out of position two in your own net.
Like,
that's the profile of a young,
offensively gifted forward.
It's like,
we got to go out of the defense of it.
If it's Kirkland and not Gridden,
how does that change the team's face?
He can play center.
So that'll help.
If you have an injury at center, that's a huge piece.
They have three centers.
I think center is a huge weakness.
So I think, and I'm not saying Kirkland has to make the team.
I didn't love possible center.
Did you?
No, I don't.
And so it's like, okay, so you know you have Backland for Austin Codry.
Two of them are 35 or older.
I would probably yield to center depth when we're talking about a 13th rush spot.
Now, are you hurting Kirkland's development if you have to sit in the press box?
No, he is what he is at this point.
he's in his late 20s.
I just, it's fun to fall in love with young players.
It's also okay to not rush them.
Like the Red Wings won forever in a different universe without a cap by letting their prospects
dominate and they called them up and slaughtered them properly.
I don't know how you put Matt Begritt in the top nine.
Are you quitting on Sharon Govich?
Are you quitting on Farabee?
Like, how does that happen?
Those are reclamation projects that I think the team's invested in, aren't they?
Sure.
Yeah.
So is Maivigrid in a fourth line?
winger i i yeah i i i didn't uh it was the whole thing to me was how how engaged you got
over someone on twitter saying it'd be like i'd put gridden on the team and then you got cba on him
no it's not even cb you got you got you got you got roster management you got 23 sports and you
got waivers like i want to see what clapka is you could lose him for nothing and he maybe he's
nothing no one's saying get rid of clavka but there are options of people
But if Roy Cairns and he make the team, you're putting Clapka on waivers.
Like, that's why that didn't make sense to me.
It's like, I get that you're excited about kids and you're allowed to be.
But what's Clapka?
Well, we're trying to find out, right?
Like the last 20 of the year, he was playing, he was riding up top.
He looked good.
And it's like, it wouldn't be the first huge guy that took some time to develop.
He also might just be a quad A guy that scores 20 in the American League and can't impact
the NHTSR roster.
But like, what you saw those last 20 games last year is like, this is intriguing.
And I know the flames are intrigued.
about him because it's such a unique package of skills.
Like he's not a der, put it in the corner, bump and grind.
He can score Andy's got that size.
We've seen him score some pretty goals.
Like there is no risk of losing an asset for nothing if you just let Matt Begritt
and go to the A and dominate.
And it's just, oh, well, we're not patient.
Well, you couldn't wait two months.
Like, let him dominate and bring them up when you got an opening in the top nine.
You're acting like Conroy put this out there.
This is the opening lineup.
We're going to go out.
It's a guy on Twitter on September 30th.
It was just, again, I'm not, yeah, you're right, even earlier.
Like, I'm, I'm not debating any of what you're saying.
It's the, your, your inability to just let this roll.
I could have, but it's just like, does this person understand how the league works or no?
I don't know.
It does feel like that was your, I must step in here.
I'm like, I'll play along.
So you're going to put Paul and Hanley.
No, but it's like, you've been on Twitter.
People discuss the game and other people say, yeah, I like this guy too.
Or I love him.
Let's put him on the team.
And you set him straight.
I didn't set up straight.
I'm just like, you can do it.
But do you understand the ramifications of doing it?
Well, he's probably slept better after.
Clearly he didn't.
To be fair, he's like, I totally forgot about Hanley.
So I, you know, I did not take into account the ramifications of my careless actions.
Like, look, if we're going to talk realistically about how this roster is going to be built,
we kind of need to understand that, like, you don't want to lose assets for nothing.
nothing. I don't think that's crazy. Now, am I a weirdo on Twitter? Probably, but I don't feel
like any of those takes are irrational. On Twitter they were. If we're having a serious discussion
about it, we want a deep dive into it. That's where you can add that. I think Ryan does have
fun. I think there are some things that Ryan can kind of roll with. And I've been out with them.
I've seen him engage with others. He's a fun guy. He's a fun guy. I'm a very fun guy.
I love fungi.
He makes a lot of times he makes the event you're at more enjoyable.
Then there's a tipping point.
There's also a tipping point.
There are other things where-
There's a critical mass there.
Where-
12 beers usually is the critical mass.
And again, I'm not annoyed.
I said I was getting annoyed with you,
but in a fun way because you, you've,
very passionately.
It's like this,
this is not an area for just careless fun.
Look, I see people on Twitter.
Are you trying to be an expert?
Are you just saying this,
is fun and i think that guy was trying to be an expert but you took him to ask understand how
the league works
