Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Nashville Is A MESS — What Exactly Went Wrong?? | BB Clips
Episode Date: December 2, 2025Boomer, Pinder & Rhett dive into the Nashville Predators and try to figure out why this team is so unbelievably bad right now. Sitting at the bottom of the NHL alongside the Flames, nothing has go...ne right despite having big names like Filip Forsberg and Steven Stamkos in the lineup. The guys break down what isn’t working, what’s gone wrong since bringing those players in, and why this team looks completely lost.VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/XeGQfTubRec#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #nashvillepredators #nashville CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Predators. Now, when you look at those standings, right,
I have some players on the Predigers.
Well, I was going to walk it as good.
The Predators have 20 points. They've played 25 games.
The Flames have 22 points. They play 27.
So that's two more. There's a chance there if the Preds, I mean, tonight's a
must lose.
You go.
It's a proverbial four-poena.
Some unfortunate bastards are leaving with two points tonight.
Yeah. And you know what? Worst case scenario, three.
I know.
The three-point is always the worst.
When you're trying to get into playoffs.
Can they both pull the goalie in the final minute?
Could.
Good.
That's a strategy.
Tie game.
The hell is Brunette up to here?
This guy's brilliant.
The hell is he doing?
What's Saros doing beside me?
If he's here, then who's in the whey-
Shit.
They don't score a ton.
No, they're not really good at anything.
Flames have, but they should score more.
It feels like they should.
If you do the...
If they were three years younger, they would score a lot.
Because that's what Boodles does, right?
Yeah, yeah.
The roster's over each other.
overlay,
a lot, slotting.
Right?
Because they got some guys that are Hall of Famers.
Yes.
At least
one, two, three on this team.
I think Sarosiosi and Stamco's.
Talk to me, Dean. Let's hear.
Oh, look at that.
That boy, Jackie Bear.
There's some folks here.
You might not have heard of Retro.
That guy won a Stanley Cup and was the Con Smyth.
Who do you want a shit talk knowing that they'll come back and score?
I was kind of leading toward Matthew Wood.
He was good against them in Nashville.
I think we were at,
He's drafted in Nashville too, I believe.
I don't know if it works that way if we specifically bring them up to.
No, that's true.
We kind of have to make fun of the d.
that kind of usually bites us.
Well, maybe we'll look at the D.
and we'll find someone.
Eric Hall is your number two center.
That's probably explaining it.
And Marsha, so he's an exclamation point.
He's a hazard sign.
Why is that?
That's the, uh, you're exiting the, the, the ski.
How much is that good dude make?
He might be a hot commodity.
You don't want a turn left.
it could fake an injury and be it hurt in a couple of years
he wants to go back to Montreal I'm guessing really
well he is French Canada
who does not want to play for
everybody there's a lot of guys that were French that didn't
want to play in Quebec
and look to you know okay
probably a polarizing
I think it's changed though with Marty St. Louis there
anyway what I can tell you
is between
that roster there not including defense
and what the flames have
just a quick look at the scoring leaders
in the National Hockey League
and you'll not find any of them there.
Yeah, we went through the points leaders yesterday.
I didn't see any preds or flames.
Right now, Morgan Geeky, what a story.
20 bingoes.
How old are you?
40 something, I forget.
Morgan Geeky, Nate McKinnon tied 20 bingoes,
which is how adults talk.
I don't know what a bingo is.
Sydney has 18, Caprizov 17,
Bedard Robertson, 17.
Good players.
No one on the ice tonight.
As the game starts,
we'll have double-digit goals on both.
Neither side.
So who is?
Philip Forsberg has nine goals.
I guess this is Coronado and Coleman are eight.
He's got bad on his, doesn't he?
I was going through the
take away from my
nine
from your deep research
Cadry has 21 points
recollecting
Ryan O'Reilly has
18 and 25 to lead the way
it feels like he should
even with that roster say what you will about it
he shouldn't be leading that team in scoring
so what the age well this is okay
Marsha so Stamcoast Forsberg
how is Ryan Oryon?
Why is this roster so okay I'm going to
take a run that
you what okay or are you actually buying it on so shish 12 months and then what how many is
September from December September October if we make it four so 12 plus four is 16th
so 16 months ago you're you were part of the crew saying Stanley Cup robust for this squad why are
they so fucking full you you're so full of shit you guys are all in on these guys just because
I don't care about that I'm saying how much
has the roster changed from that?
Not. So what has, I'm not, I don't, I don't, I showed, I told you.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Like I care. What has changed in that, like, honestly.
No, what I'm saying is Stephen Stamcoast should not have nine in 25.
We're saying the same thing.
What age do you expect Stephen Samco's to stop scoring?
Not scoring. You brought in Marsha show and Stamco's and you have Forrestberg and you have
young evangelista.
Luke
Luke?
Like,
I don't think this was what they were expecting.
I think Barry Trots sort of did what we saw with Daryl a bit,
which was he was reading the name bar and forgetting to read the birth certificate
on some of these guys.
Stamcoast was 35.
I should have talked to me.
Marshall's supposed to talk to me.
Like,
are you expect,
because they had 40 goal seasons the year before they came to national.
How old's Ryan O'Reilly?
35.
So all I am saying,
I'm not saying they should be good that Stamcoe should have 40.
I'm just saying on a roster that has these players,
I don't think Ryan O'Reilly should be leading them in story.
I don't think we're discreet with you.
That's all I'm saying.
No, we're not fighting you on that.
Well, you're coming at me.
No.
I feel like you think we're coming out.
We're trying to actually re-enforcing.
You got upset that he said you thought Nash would be good last year.
You did.
I did.
He was the old liar.
Nudels did.
People had them as a legitimately intriguing team coming in because you had guys
coming up 40 goal seasons, two of them.
People forget Jonathan Marshall.
40 tucks two years ago.
Tucks?
And bingoes.
Goals.
I know.
It's tough.
You're so hip.
Well,
this beer works so hard.
You've got to come into here and listen to guys use slang.
I haven't hoped you're okay.
But literally,
like if they have the similar seasons as they did two years ago,
you could understand why people would think they would be good.
What obviously Trots didn't account for and what,
you know,
us and the rest of the hockey analysts figured was that the decline wouldn't be as steep as it was.
These guys fell off cliffs.
Yeah.
Stamco's had a bunch.
He left Tampa.
Papay and went to Nashville, correct?
40 goals, then to Nashville, hasn't looked the same.
Marsha, so 40 goals went to Nashville, hasn't looked the same.
Like, there wasn't a stop?
No, it was the same offseason.
And so you should get excited about the name bars for sure,
but you cannot expect Prime Stamco's and Marsha's so,
and that's probably what hooked us a bit.
Yeah, Stammer, six goals, nine points.
Samco's at six is,
that's a Patrick Linae thing,
because he shoots the puck good enough where you should just be able to pass
it to him and he should have.
And he's what they don't have.
Ryan O'Reilly's a good 200 foot center.
He's not Nick Baxter, right?
Like he's not going to have an assist
the game. When you played with Kutcherov,
you could get him those looks. So maybe that's
what happened to me.
Fucking Jay McKee.
When you stopped playing with
he wasn't good enough to feed me.
I had the shot.
You were Stamcoast-esque-in-your-
I had the shot. Yeah, it's people saying.
People couldn't get me the box.
Shot like Stamcoasts.
Iggy.
Yep. Puck hog.
Yeah. When we
They're all worried about someone to play with
Biggie, what about Rehir?
Denny, go,
we're talking about.
Loser.
We were talking about Danny.
At the, that's your place.
Do you remember that?
Yeah.
Yeah, the Empress gin was flowing for you.
Yeah, what's going to?
When we were at the game in Nashville,
Jonathan Marcia so scored,
he has three goals other than that one.
All year.
All year.
So four?
He's got four and 20.
That's my man.
Yeah.
Yeah, it's one every five.
And here's the flip side.
Here's how you get to 32nd.
Their goal tenders, 889 and 850 save percentages.
I would say that Trotsie has 100% bamboozled.
They're in tough here.
Bumble-Fed this team and organization.
You lose the goalie.
Ascarov's looking nice or Ascarov in that.
This is the exact same.
I'm so smart.
Is this your Pittsburgh thing?
But seriously, you're better.
It's not the same.
But Saros would have been a smarter move.
What a chip.
If you had Ascroft's still there.
What a chip to be able to play this guy.
But using your analogy,
Pittsburgh would have done the right thing
by keeping the young guy in trading, the old guy.
Whereas with that one, you said they should have kept
flirting and traded.
So they're controversy.
Yeah.
But you're so good at it.
But either way.
So good at it.
Trots has done a lot of stern.
of the drink to no avail.
Yeah, they are firmly.
And is Brunette the guy that we thought he is?
Or do we, is it?
I look at that roster and I'm like, I don't know that if Badge Bob or Scotty
Bowman gets back to.
Why?
Because they're not that good talents.
But are they dead last?
And I feel like a team that should be last.
Sarleson Nett.
A year ago, we were talking to their playoff bound.
And now we're saying, no, they're terrible.
Okay, but even if you were, if a year ago, okay, so just we're off.
just looking at that.
How off can we be?
But they're 32nd?
That's what I mean.
So I always like,
but I'm saying right now as you look at this team,
like maybe it is the coach.
That doesn't,
you have a good,
you have a good goaltender.
Yeah.
To like league average or better.
He just signed an extension.
When he signed it,
he'd got Besnevotes like four last five years or something.
He was on a,
he was a top 10 absolute no discussion goaltender in the league when he signed that deal.
Like maybe the D is the shits,
but you've got Brady.
Shay, Nick Hague.
Hague they brought in this summer.
He was Roman Yosey.
And then up front, even at their advanced age,
Stamcoast, Marcia So, O'Reilly, Forsberg.
All those guys are deep into the back nine.
That's the same.
I'm just not buying it.
That they're not good?
That they're 32nd.
So I would say that I would have thought like a Chicago or San Jose would be the team at the bottom,
but those young guys are coming.
When you look at a team and match up second line,
centers. Who's got a worse second line center than Eric
Halla? I don't think anyone in the NHL.
That's who's doing it here?
Well, I mean, I just can't. Like Eric Halla, second line center,
he's a fourth liner on most teams. They have
huge center deficiencies. That's the hole in the roster. It's been there
since Trots was GM. He has not been able to address it.
And that's why I think, you know,
if they move Ryan O'Reilly, this thing is a full
tear down. You're moving everyone.
He thought they were good. We thought they were good
minus RET. And when you think you're good, you don't go to the young goal tender that may or may not be a star in the league.
You go with the known quantity that was Saros. But the entire initial point of we think we have a young team.
They made the playoffs. They played Vancouver in round one, almost beat him. And we're going to add these vets that have won before. We're going to be great.
What are these kids then? They're thinking they're.
I mean, they really like the evangelistic kid. I don't know that he's a star at all. But it was just young, hardworking. They've got some size. But they're missing.
star power. Now they drafted really high
last summer. They'll continue
to draft really high. This is a rebuild.
This is a tear it down to the studs one coming.
It's got to be disheartening
for Marsha show and Stamco's
too. To stay or get some
move somewhere else? No, stay.
Yeah, I mean, that's why I think they'll
move them. If they can.
Yeah, you could probably eat salary and move both.
I mean, Matt, as you said, Matthew would. He was
the first rounder. I think when we were in Nashville.
When we were there, they also took Tanner
Mollandike, Calgary Kid.
He plays for the Blades.
No, he doesn't.
He played for the Tigers last year.
Oh, whatever.
He must be in the Myers now.
He got traded last year from the last year.
Fedor Svetchkoff.
He was on that roster.
He was a first rounder in 2021.
Askiroff, they traded away.
Evangelista, he's been playing.
So I,
in some respects,
the young guys are kind of there.
I think they got old.
Yeah, there's not more coming.
Well, who did they draft five last year?
Was it a Martone?
Yeah, but that's last year.
Right.
So my point is none of these young guys are that young or that good.
The actual good young guys are good.
But three, four years ago, you'd be saying that they were good.
Yeah, when they went and got Stamco's and Marcia, so they thought they had kids that were good.
And the kids weren't as good as they thought.
It's a Brady Martin at five.
Thank you.
It was Mark.
I told him what to fill you.
But they were probably, oh, this Joachim Kemmel.
He's great.
They took him at 17.
Well, okay.
they're not good
it's not a good roster and their best
name bars are old
great talent no great rank
yeah as we've laid out
out of Nashville food music doesn't matter
he's got to be kicking himself
I know he's got to return for
Ascarov but
you've got a first
Can you imagine if you had them right now?
Conditional first
which they used at Riker Lee
Did you imagine if you had them right now
like I feel like I don't know yeah
I mean are they any different
like he's obviously
so young and good.
I'm not saying he's helping their team as a trade chip.
Sure, or long term.
You've got Sorrows or.
Yeah, that's fair.
You would probably be sitting,
feeling quite comfortable in your ability to win the deal.
Whatever, I don't care.
It's natural.
And now the issue becomes, okay, let's say,
you know, you wanted to move UC Soros.
He's assigned until 2033.
Why does no one want this goal?
tender that was a top 10 goal tender though why is that a concern because goalies are voodoo and
there's so much term left that's the thing is he's string in this too much yeah he's 30 entering year
one of a year deal massive deal 7.7 per season that's why when people were talking about
seros as an option for edmonton it's like i feel like are they not how are they adding a 7.7 million
dollar goalie with those five more than skinner makes yeah who are you trading to make room for
them should have kept the young guy probably and the other one that's the other one that
though what talks about is Wedgwood, who's been phenomenal for Colorado.
They gave him up for spare parts.
Justice Annon or Eustace Annen is
part of that deal, and he's not nearly as good as Wedgwood.
So basically what we're telling you is that Trots is a shitty GM.
Great coach, not a great GM.
Hence the Daryl comparisons.
Yeah, it's, I mean, you know, a lot of similarities there.
Similarities, excuse me.
