Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Oilers Suck | FN Barn Burner - May 15th, 2023
Episode Date: May 15, 2023FlamesNation Barn Burner Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! - Rhett Live in Studio- Oilers/Leafs- Stars vs Kraken Game 7- Flames GM Search- Pinder Report Presented by Village Honda- B...etway Bets Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
smiles all around.
Everybody pretty happy today.
It's a beautiful day out there.
Yeah.
Got on the bikes this morning, sunshine and bluebird day in Calgary.
Got bike lanes at least.
So that's good.
Lots of lanes.
Well, there's more coming.
Building more.
Yeah, it's good.
No, I mean, I'm sure it's because you're here with us, right?
I'm sure that's what it is.
I do bring sunshine and happiness.
He is vitamin D.
Sunshine.
Vitamin Red.
What is that?
Rainbows.
It's sunbatin.
Something, though.
It's, yeah, the air is a little sweeter today, whatever it is.
Rhett came in and he said, what do you guys do and crack a window?
It's beautiful out there.
What a time to be alive.
So we have our first window open show today.
That and you stink in here.
Yeah, it's a little foul.
A little foul.
Welcome to the Tower Chrysler Studios.
It's Bar and Burner on a beautiful Monday Tower Chrysler.
The number one, everybody's favorite.
Tower Chrysler, the number one Jeep Dodge,
Ram Chrysler dealer in Southern Alberta.
10-901 McLeod Trail South online Tower Chrysler.com.
I wonder who got that gift card.
Gift card.
Only talked about it every day last week.
Of course.
You buy the vehicle from the tower.
The gift card for the spa.
I wonder.
I thought you were changing gears on this.
No, I wonder.
Some lucky devil.
Some lucky devil.
There's always something going on over at that town.
Well, you get yourself a nice rig and you get to take care of mom at the spa.
Yeah, damn right.
Tower Chrysler.
Did we all survive Mother's Day?
How'd that go?
You're out of town from, well, your mom and your wife.
Mother's Day was a bit of a mess.
It was running around, winning championships.
That's what we do.
The Warner Household.
Or just fall short.
Just get really close and then.
Yeah.
Can't think any of those.
No.
So Mother's Day was not very mother's-y.
Mother drove from Toronto.
to Buffalo on Friday morning,
and then back to Buffalo.
Toronto, from Toronto to Buffalo on Saturday afternoon.
Okay.
And then Buffalo to Toronto on Sunday afternoon.
And back to Buffalo Sunday night.
Those Border Patrol guys will be first name basis with the shoveling.
She's smuggling.
She's smuggling.
She's got to smuggling darts up in the...
Wait a minute.
There's no speakers in these.
Ma'am, is that a pack of ketchup?
chips in your bra.
What have you got?
Is that coffee, Chris?
You don't have to hide those.
So yeah, it's, uh, yeah, Mother's Day.
Not, not great on our end.
Yours was all right?
We had Ozzy grandma here, my own mom, and then the mother of my children.
So there was a lot of moms.
We got a, we got a nice brunch done.
I got some cards done, but I feel like the amount of work my hyenas have been that
maybe I need something on top of the card that I wrote as nice as, you know, that
piece of prose was.
You can pass it off sometimes because it's Mother's Day.
It's not, you know, the significant other, the person you live with is not.
You're not my mom.
I don't.
What do you talk?
Why is this on me?
They, the boys had some work done at school.
Yes.
The kids are supposed to be.
Yeah.
If they don't appreciate you, that's your, you got to work it out with them.
That's right.
Big shout out to the teachers getting that done.
Easy to say.
From here.
Real tough over here.
Yeah.
Damn right.
So maybe it's because of, you know, Mother's Day being finally in the rearview mirror.
Maybe it's the weather that Rett's here.
I'm not sure what it is.
It's a long weekend coming.
That's what it is.
May long.
One big dump of snow left.
That's what it is.
May long.
You get screwed and then it's official beginning of summer.
Once that last snow comes.
Yeah.
That's fall spring right now or fall summer.
Yeah.
And then we do third winter and then we're in.
Or maybe there's something else.
We're all wearing shorts.
Is there something where we're missing?
Is there?
What else could there be that would have us in such a jovial,
mood today. Well, Blue Jays walk off.
Rets going to games all the time.
Big fan. Big fan. Big fan. Your Blue Jays.
I was worried about them. We've got a game seven tonight.
That's got to be it. Exciting.
And then something else.
I don't know.
Oh, Vegas 5-2 win over the Oilers last night.
Oilers are done. Is that series over?
Over. That was it last time. Because I had heard they had a
commanding 1-1 series lead heading back to Edmont.
I didn't. I saw that they were really liking
their lead in that 2-2 series.
So the trip to the beach didn't turn out?
Laguna, that's where it was.
I'll tell you what, Leon's up in two years.
If I'm him, I'd settle right into that Pacific Coast.
He was on a heater coming out of Laguna.
He needed to go back.
Cooled right off after that four-goal game in game one.
It's not nice to take pleasure in other people's misfortunes, man.
It's not nice, but it's probably the real world.
But yet here we are loving the shit out of it.
Just loving every minute.
Like a cozy blankie.
Just, it's so good.
It feels like if you are a true born and bred Calgarian, there is a spite for Edmonton that only, it can't be taught.
It's just, it's part of you.
This is one of those great days on the calendar.
The Oilers are now done.
And you look at the scoring.
It's perfect.
They didn't get two five on five goals yesterday, but they were the only two.
and we knew those power plays eventually would dry up,
one opportunity last night.
Should have been more.
Probably should have been more.
Now, call me crazy, that Stewart's Skinner save percentage,
a little off.
Check the math on that.
Oh, wait.
So defense and goal-tending?
Yeah.
The 962, that's not 13 to 17.
Maybe like a 762?
Yeah.
So defense and goaltending.
And goaltending is still relative.
Yeah, I guess so.
It's part of how you have to.
I feel.
for Skinner. This was not what he was supposed to have to do. He's a rookie in his first full year
in the league. He's always feeling for Oilers. Well, he's got a great mustache. He does an MFSD when he lets
him in from half court. I like the kid, but he should have been the backup all year. The $25 million
goalie would have played himself out of the league if he was on a one year deal. That's how bad it was
with Campbell. They were missing what they tried to buy this summer, which was the number one
goalie. You look at the goaltending they got in the post. He's just awful.
Three and a half a game.
I'm happy for it.
I'm really good with it.
I don't care if Skinner was the one that screwed it up.
He'll be back next year.
He's got more chances.
Don't feel,
hey, Ryan, don't feel too bad for him.
Who do I feel bad for?
You get to feel bad for Skinner.
What if he played well and they're still playing?
I'd feel bad.
Yeah, you'd really feel bad.
Who do you feel bad for?
Leon was choked up in the fans.
Except they've turned into absolute juveniles of this playoff run.
Like, it's the first time they've been.
Yeah.
People fighting each other.
I'd say the, no, not the management team.
No, not the owner.
No, I don't really feel bad for anyone.
I said this to Wolfie this morning because, of course, he's part of that group.
The cult.
Maybe it's because it was over the weekend or whatever, and we kind of joke about it,
the one-one lead or the two-two lead.
It just felt like, well, the Oilers are, okay, so they lost game.
They just have another gear.
But they're fine.
They're going to find a way.
In Vegas, well, after this third-string goalie, and I don't know, what are they doing?
It just came to an end so fast.
It was just as I was watching the game last night.
I'm like, holy shit, there's, you're down 4-2 here.
This, this, this, the whole thing, Canada's team, this could be all, this whole Canada Stanley Cup final thing everyone's been talking about.
Poof, she gone.
And I have to think that if you were on that team or a big fan of that team, it has to even feel more so like it ended just like a thud.
Well, I think what it is here is that there's a runway.
There's two years left to Leon.
And I think Oilers fans are smart enough done.
understand that it's probably not the most likely scenario that a guy like that stays. A,
because he belongs in maybe the top two or three paid guys in the league, they might not have
room for him. And B, because every great oiler is always left. And to be fair, he's a German. He's
not a Canadian. So it's like how many, okay, scratch another season off the board. There's two
left with Connor and Leon. I don't know what to make of, because I don't disagree with you,
but I don't know what to make of it. If you're the Edmonton Oilers, you're going to do everything and
anything to keep that guy, clearly.
Yeah, it's going to be about where Leon wants to be.
He has pick of the litter, pick any market.
The cap's going to jump massively here, not this year, but the one after.
And teams will be well aware of a player of that caliber being available and make room.
You will inherit problems and deal with them later to get a player like that.
And no one stays.
But does he seem, well, you're right.
No one's like Wayne left, Messier left.
Wayne got Ryan Smith got a town.
Like it's.
I mean, yeah, Wayne got sold.
Wayne got sold, for sure.
And had four rings in his mitt when he left.
I just wonder for a guy like Leon, like you said, is he Tinsletown?
Is he New York City?
I'll say this.
He doesn't seem as likely to leave as a guy like Matthews in Toronto.
Well, on Matthews today, he actually came out and said, my intention is to be a leaf
moving for it.
I want to get an extension on this summer.
So, I mean, that feels like, ooh.
I wonder for a guy like Leon, to your point.
He's from, I just, I don't friggin know.
guy. But I wonder if it's a situation where he and Connor kind of look at, we have something
here and we're frigging close. And I understand, but only one team wins this thing. I'm not signing
for another eight years, but do we want to, because Connor's up soon too, right? Do they kind of,
yeah. To a dry three of Connor. I don't know what, when you're that good, what's important to you?
Winning. For sure, they want to get their name etched on the cup. But what's after that?
Taxes?
Life style?
Money, yeah.
I don't know.
Honestly, you know, because there's a lot of people, a lot of people will say this,
and it's a stupid comment.
Well, if you're making $12 million, you're going to make $100 million,
what difference does it make where you pay your taxes?
It makes a lot of difference.
It makes more.
15, 20 million in difference.
Yeah, it makes more.
There's more reason to move.
Yeah.
It's a bad tax.
And I think when we talk about it, we always think about it in this binary term, like,
what's important to them?
It's always going to be a blend of where am I living,
how famous are anonymous am I?
What are my chances of winning?
What's my legacy?
What are my taxes?
It's going to be a blend of all those things.
Some guys don't want to be so famous.
They can't go get a coffee.
They love the anonymity of smaller markets.
Other guys thrive on playing in a hockey market.
All those things are into the equation.
But as much as you might say,
we got something special here with Connor and Leon,
they've been together for like eight years
and they've had two runs through the first round, three?
I can buy that they're close,
but you could also build that element of doubt
where it's like, this team isn't well run enough
and they've screwed up too much of my prime.
I could also see a bit of that.
Yeah, I don't know that they get bitter,
bitter about it, but 100%, it's been managed poorly.
Like if you're, the only thing holding the Oilers back
is their ability to be efficient with the rest of their cap
because you've got Connor and Leon at 20.
That's a steal.
Yes.
Like if all that you have to do is be really smart
with the rest of that money,
if you graded them on how smart,
they've been with their money it's not very good it's a really i still look at i mean
hopkins has been unbelievable 100 points and two five on five points in the playoffs that's but that was just
hymen disappeared a bit canes on the back end of of like he's still a good player but you're getting
less each year now he's into his mid 30s like it's i don't know that they believe in the management
as much as you would in other markets necessarily like hey we they they got us a goalie this year
while he wasn't any good yeah we've had yeah jeez
We've done this a few times.
I feel like this is a, yeah, repeat business.
Oh, and we're spending $2 million a year on James Neal the next two years.
That could be a guy that could score 25 with Leon or Connor, like a $2 million winger.
Every team makes mistakes.
And even to kind of separate because, oh, what about the flames?
Just take the flames out of this equation for now.
Just have to be out of the equation because you shouldn't be comparing to them.
You should be comparing to the Lemieux's penguins or Crosby's penguins or Wayne's Oilers.
Do not compare to a middle of the pack team.
So for the sake of this, you just look at this team, cap space, salaries, and all of that.
If VanderKane didn't have a great playoff, what did he end up doing, one point in his last seven games?
But at 5.125, good value.
Nugent Hopkins comes back, 5.125.
Good value.
Good value.
McDavid, dry-sidled together, as he said, 20, good value.
Yeah, 21, so, like, unreal.
That's, you know, going rate for a superstar in the new world is going to be like $12 to $14 million.
Zach Heimann, $5.5 million.
Wanted a better playoff, but yeah.
Decent value, right?
Like Coleman's right there.
And I'm not going to do trying to, but yeah, so Hyman's not.
Yeah, they're totally different.
Like, Hyman's great in the Ozone, not great defensively.
Coleman's not that good offensively, very good defender.
They're opposite players.
They did well on the at home trade.
I think everyone agrees.
Great player, got some term left.
Right? He's set six million per.
McComb makes six and he's 32.
So three years left.
I don't know what he looks like as he ages,
but he looked really good as an order.
And it didn't, that was the whole thing.
It didn't matter what it looked like.
You had to do that trade for this team now because we're Connor and Leo like because
I think it's whatever.
I think that call him's a good fit.
You had to do that trade now.
They didn't have a lot of defensemen that were good defensively.
Bouchard has come through.
They're going to have to pay him.
He's an RFA.
He's going to get huge money.
I guess all I'm saying is it's easy to point the day.
after they've lost and they've made all these mistakes.
Every team makes shitty, has shitty contracts and ones that they'd like back.
But they,
they are not the most poorly run team by any strength of the imagination in my mind.
You look at some of the moves that they've made, some of their draft picks,
even some of their young guys, like McLeod had a hell of a playoff.
They brought in that Klim Koston in a, it's a nice swim.
He was, found money.
This was not a terrible.
No, no.
What happened was is, yeah, Nugent Hopkins has one.
goal in 12 games.
Hyman was not the same after he had that Charlie horse.
He got nicked up there.
Kane, one point in his last seven.
We've talked about Skinner.
He got pulled in three of the six games.
Four in the playoffs.
And Drysidal in games one and two had six goals.
And then three, four, five, and six, no goals, one assist.
So as he heard it after the slash.
The one thing it does, to me is it, again, double underline and bolds the
boldface just how hard it is to fucking win.
This tournament's wild.
Because if even a few more of those things,
maybe if Nugent Hopkins isn't struggling or if Kane is getting,
their five on five thing is, it's an issue.
18 to nine, they got outscored five on five.
Not close.
But I think it just goes to show you that it's friggin hard
for all of it to fall into place.
Yes.
At any given time.
You need luck.
You need health.
need to be very good on top of all those things.
And we've said it.
It's a crapshoot tournament.
There's four teams that'll be left after tonight.
You might have two wild cards in there.
It's insane.
But there are some mistakes in there.
And when Leon and Connor started in Edmonton,
they were probably one of the worst run teams in the league under Shirella.
You saw incredible mismanagement of the cap space that they were afforded when both
those guys took deals.
But that wouldn't affect Drysidl's mindset moving forward, what happened years ago.
Well, I'm not talking about Leon.
I'm just saying, like, you're still handicapped by a lot of those moves.
So, for example, like, you've got Neil on the books for two more years because of a luteach
deal that Shirelli signed.
And, like, when Kenny Hollins said, we don't need more forwards, we're loaded it forward,
I'm taking a D, and he reaches for Broberg, you miss Caulfield, you miss Boldie, you miss
Zegris, all those guys were there.
That's a mistake because it wasn't a consensus pick to go get Broberg.
And why are you drafting for positional need?
Like, you could trade Caulfield for how many defensemen right now?
Are you kidding me?
And then they were supposed to solve their goal.
Goaltending issue this summer with a $25 million check.
That looks like a massive swing and miss.
But yes, all teams have these swings and misses.
I just think when you have those two stars,
you just need someone to make good, smart bets,
and they've made too many bad bets.
Look at their decor and goaltaker.
Their decor and goaltending is not qualified.
And they're so mediocre.
And that's why they sucked five on five.
They did a great job getting at Coleman.
I think it helped a lot.
So how much better they played.
but who they have two defensemen,
Echholm and Bouchard.
Nurses are making way too much money.
He's not a bad player, but he's not a number one.
You're paying him like he's an all-star.
He's not.
He's making more than dry-siddle.
Yeah.
I mean, he's a top five or six-paid defensemen in the league, I think.
He's a second-payer guy at this point.
Wow.
And like the timing of his career year was perfect for him,
but, you know, again, nine and a quarter for that guy is wild.
Yeah, they gave him everything.
thing.
Yeah.
And they felt like they had to, and you could squint to see why, but it's, who's after
him?
They still have, like, Brett Kulak is a sixth defenseman, isn't he?
Like, he's not supposed to be a tough.
I like his defensive game, and I don't mind his contract, and he's what they don't
have a lot of, like, he's better in his own zone.
But he's still playing higher up the chart.
The CC and Kulak.
They're missing a top pair.
Like, Bouchard, maybe now you could call a top pair guy, but they've, they've not had
a top pair for a while.
And yes, at Kohlensman good, but what's a guy look like at 32, 33, 3, 3, 3, 3,
33, 34, 35.
That's what they just got.
They have missed on so many high-end
or first-round picks over the last decade.
Well, Appalachia R.V was the cell low moment.
They got magic beans.
But even before that, like Hall was fine.
I didn't.
Yakopov was a huge bust.
Yakopov, brutal, right?
Like, they're, like, top and, or top of the,
now, I don't think that the,
the draft class jumped out at you at that time.
And I don't know.
Right.
But then they also got the Connor draft class.
Yeah.
So it all evens out a bit.
You should have done better with all the, you should be stacked.
You should be stacked.
That said, if they were hiring for a GM and we understand they might be.
There's one year left on Ken Holland's five times five.
You would take that job in a heartbeat.
Of course you would.
Right?
Because you got a chance with two superstars.
Not many teams can start off with 21 million bucks for those two guys.
That's incredible.
And the goaltending is so volatile.
Yeah, it's hard.
Were we all outraged that they went after Campbell?
I never trusted him.
No.
He never felt like a firm number one so much as a fringy guy that was in a nice environment.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And that was my take too.
But I don't blame them for.
They were desperate.
Trying.
And they lost out on Markstrom,
so they probably got a little too horny to not miss out another guy.
Last year,
they won a playoff series with Mike Smith in net.
He was better than what they got the show.
This year, they lost the series with Aidan Hill in that.
at the other end.
Like what do you,
how do you,
what the hell do you do?
Yeah.
Well, and that's the whole goal thing.
Like,
Bobrovsky's a Vesna guy apparently again.
And Aden Hill,
who you probably could have got
for a bag of chips
at points in the last year and a half,
was the fourth string guy on the Vegas depth chart,
and he,
he did it to you.
That's wild.
Like, you can't write this shit.
Yeah, so I don't feel sorry for them.
And it's not just because I picked them.
But I just, this was,
this team was,
this team was better than the team that got
through round two last year.
To me, they're better this year
than they were a year ago.
Yeah.
And this will be, if you want to look
at just, they didn't get as far as they did a year ago.
It's a step backwards, but I don't think
it is really.
They need to figure out if they've got a goalie.
And Skinner had a great regular season.
Campbell had one of the worst you could see
for that price tag.
You still have to consider it a step back.
I get what you're saying, but it's still a set back.
It's one more year off the clock, right?
You have to, we all know it's hard.
to win. That's not a tough statement to make. Like, it's not news to anyone that it's hard to win in the
playoffs, but that's what you're designed to do. The other reason I think it stings for Oilers fans is
that the path is clear. Colorado had all these injuries pile up, a weird Natchewchkin thing.
They get ousted, okay, so that maybe was your favorite if they ever got healthy in the West.
Then you see other big guys falling out along the way. Vegas has Mark Stone with a bad back,
Gimpy leaving skates.
They're down to their four-string goalie.
Robin Leonard's missing the whole year.
Braswa gets hurt.
It had all unfolded in front of them for this to happen.
It isn't like the murderer's row that Florida is going to have to face where they play
the best team in the history of the NHL regular season and then go play a top five
regular season team and now we'll have to face another top five regular season team.
The way the cards got played out was perfect for the Oilers.
It feels like such a missed opportunity because they might have a way tougher out early in the tournament next year or you have an injury, something like that.
There's no easy path.
And I agree with you.
That's why it stays.
That's why it appears that way and it looks that way.
But Vegas is better than what I thought they were.
I mean, it's.
They're going to get goaltending like that from the four-stern guy.
So, yeah, you're going to get goaltending.
They've got depth.
They play a structured game.
They work their asses off.
They're all on the same.
Better team than I thought.
A team is the word for me.
And that's what you're finding with all the guys moving on.
Like when I see a team hitting 60% on a power play that doesn't do much at five on five against Vegas.
Like Vegas just wreaks team cohesiveness structure.
Like you know how they all play.
Over here, we're waiting for the stars to get a five on four.
Yeah.
And those stars are good enough.
They're phenomenal.
Yes.
But all the teams moving on and it doesn't matter who wins tonight are this, I think,
I think they're teams. They're teams. Teams, teams.
Yeah, the sum of the parts greater than the individual pieces.
So what is Vegas, right?
They win.
You think about their early exit. They missed the playoffs last year with bad injuries,
and then they got that crazy major penalty on the Pavelski faceoff thing against San Jose.
Other than that, like they just march through wins in the playoffs every year.
It's wild.
Fourth time they've gone to the...
It's the fourth.
Isn't it?
That's what I was looking for.
Is it not their four?
trip? I think it is.
Because Bruce
Cassidy's the third Vegas head coach
to go to a conference final
because DeBoer and then
Ghan. Obviously him and Gerard Glant did in
year one. That's
a lot of playoff series wins
for a team that's been around for six
friggin years. Yeah, it's
considerably more than the flames of put up since
1989. Yeah.
They missed the playoffs
once. Last year.
and that's when everything goes wrong, that happens to anyone.
Tampa did it as well.
They had four-year run where they went to the Eastern Conference Final three of those years,
one in the middle they missed injuries.
Bad luck, goal-tending's not hot.
Shit happens.
Problem for the Oilers, though, I know we've switched gears.
What's the approach next year?
Just keep it.
You have to.
You're committed.
Well, I mean, what are you going to do?
You got two more years of these two stars.
You floor it and trade your first again and try to improve the areas that sucked,
which was your bottom six forwards, your defense.
in your goal. Yeah, I think, and I'm with you. I don't think that Campbell, I didn't at the start,
I think if it's going to be anybody, it's going to be Skinner. It feels like a platoon at best.
You have to find a way to just look at it and grit and bear it that you got a $5 million backup
and that if you need him can come in and give you some time. I mean, he did in this playoff.
He played all right for them when he came in, but I don't think. All those games are lost when
you pull them in anyway. They won one of them, I think. It was almost a consensus, right? Whatever
happened after these polls you were going back to Skinner yeah in the next game were
were you or I think there is that talk out there where hey why didn't Woodcroft yeah change the
I I understand that's the Monday morning quarterbacking of it like look at this numbers they're
happened in Boston they did it it didn't work well and Omar got hurt too right he wasn't 100%
right he'd missed some skates he wasn't 100 so and they were a platoon all year a little different but
I see what you're saying it's just
If Jack Campbell comes in and not relief and gets air rated,
think about the critiquing they would get.
This season, like, awful.
You could never trust him,
and you went to him in an elimination game.
So I could see people playing it both ways,
but at the end of the day,
their better goalie all year.
Well, you know, and to be quite honest with you,
you brag about how great their top guys are.
They didn't get the job done in the final game.
They were not good last night.
And Leon was good to game one,
but the rest of the team was still on.
story over and if they're not going to win you hockey games,
when you need them to,
then you're effed as an Oilers organization.
And who did them in last night?
A natural hat trick in the second period for Jonathan Marsh or so.
The draft lottery gift.
Right?
Yeah.
One of their main guys.
Riley Smith scores in the first period.
It's one of their guys.
So,
yeah,
I,
then you flip it a little bit.
And I don't know what happens with this friggin' Seattle game tonight.
But if the crack and,
so how do you?
how do you build a team?
If you have the Vegas Golden Knights who are given scraps
and have now won, I believe it's eight series,
wild.
Seattle, on the verge of winning two in their second year.
Yeah.
So when you look at the flames and you feel like,
okay, this is how you have to do it.
You have to do it this certain way.
You said it.
You need a team.
Team.
Not individuals, not stars.
you need to find a way to put a team together.
And I guess we crushed Ron Francis.
Right?
The hockey world point is like, what is he doing?
Why aren't you weaponizing your cap space, this whole thing?
There's something kind of special there.
And you go back to a year ago, if their goaltending wasn't terrible.
The worst.
Not to say they'd have made the playoffs, but they'd have been better.
And even this year with just okay, goaltending, they were a playoff team and are a win away
from a conference final in year two.
I think what it speaks to when those two teams are doing so well is just how demanding the salary cap is
and that maybe the advantage that these expansion teams had is none of them had like six year albatrosses to deal with
whereas most of the league has one or two of those like that freedom to be young and not have huge capitalifications.
It's always the case and it's always happens and we've discussed it and I've stopped doing it.
Leave yourself some room.
Stop with this.
We have to sign them.
Bullshit.
You don't have to.
And if you don't, you give yourself the room to do what you need to do.
And that one guy typically isn't the difference as you're seeing with these teams moving on.
They got 18 million bucks in Capspace for next year.
And if you're going to have one guy, it's your goaltender.
that's it if you're going if you're going to structure your team and pay someone i mean there's the
outliers of mac david for sure fine but if you're building a team get goal tending and same as always
it's the hardest thing to get right because because we just we talked about it three times already
markstrom was horseshit this one he has more saves we're in the playoffs 100% every team's that like
you could talk about team and all these narratives,
which I think there's a lot of validity to.
You can also just look at who's got goaltending the last month.
Like if Florida doesn't get goaltending,
they don't even get through round one.
No.
Sunk in five games.
Like they lose that series in four or five to Toronto
if Bobrovsky is superb.
He steals games one and two for them.
And are you thinking that,
I don't know if he has a no move or whatever,
but if the Oilers had called Florida and said,
listen.
Oh, for sure you can get them.
I don't want Campbell.
You eat half his salary will take Bobrovsky.
You just can't see it coming, right?
Like, who would have thought Phil Grubauer after, like, you're like, that is all.
He was so bad last year, so bad.
And you're like, he's a win away from a conference final a year later.
And it was so good the year before that in Colorado.
Exactly.
And then we talked about it before the show started.
Like, you're looking at Jake Ottinger allowing four or five a night here.
When a year ago, it was like, you cannot beat this guy.
Well, but the games they win, too, are he plays unbelievable.
So like it's this if you can tell me how you know who the good goalies are and when they're going to be good you've got cups.
It's almost impossible.
It's well, and the good goaltender you would think that's Schisturkin.
Yep.
Right?
Like he was supposed to win years.
Scherken, Serochin and Olmark are your final?
No, Schisturkin wasn't this year.
Like I was thinking your Vesna finalists like how many got three on one.
Right.
So the guys that you would expect were going to be.
Even in season, it's volatile.
Yeah.
Like, O'Mark was 935 all year or something crazy?
I think players are too good.
Got to dumb it down?
Make a play with one hand.
I'm not even joking because,
and the reason I say it is because
think about last year I saw it today
was a year ago,
Goddreau scored, right?
Yeah.
There was how much room.
Yeah.
Like he meant to put it there.
Yeah.
On Friday night in Toronto.
Yeah.
There's, you know, people are saying,
well, how could he give up that goal?
Brabara, oh,
there's this much room.
Yeah.
And he put it.
Mail slot.
And right?
So a goaltender can be doing absolutely everything right.
They've got position.
They've got.
I know.
Yeah.
They're making, players are making perfect shots.
Not flukes.
Not maybes.
Yeah.
They're doing it on demand when they need to.
The size of a puck.
I'll put it there.
Yeah.
They know where the goalies can't cover in certain situations and where it has to go.
and they make the shot and they make the play.
We'll move on, spoiler alert there too.
But anyway, hearing loss clinic,
hearingloss.ca is the website.
We've been talking about it for a long time
and hopefully getting people in that frame of mind.
Train of thought, yeah,
maybe time to go get your hearing looked at.
You go maybe have an eye,
you go to the dentist all the time.
You go get your eyes checked.
Why wouldn't you go and get your hearing checked?
Four Calgary locations, nine in total,
five in British Columbia.
Fernie, lovely area.
I don't have you ever been.
You like Ferndog?
Oh, that's great.
If you feel you're having issues with your hearing,
visit one of the locations for an evaluation,
and they'll point you in the right direction.
Maybe it's treatment, whatever it needs to be done.
They are the very best.
The 2022 Chamber of Commerce Professional Services Excellence Award winner,
and it's men and women of all ages.
Even kids can suffer from hearing loss.
Serious health risks have been linked to untreated hearing loss.
And it can improve so many facets of your life,
and it might be things you don't even know you're dealing with.
Go get that evaluation.
done on Twitter at the hearing loss
Instagram is the hearing loss clinic
and again as you see right there
hearing loss.ca
Rhodesy is the website
Rhodesy. He's got one of those
Travis Rhodes, he's got one of those social media
you just want to unfollow it.
It's why I got off Facebook. It's like everybody's life is so much
better than mine. See that's jealousy deed.
You should be happy for him. No. Jet set
and look at God, beautiful people everywhere. Love and life
God, unfollow.
And we're telling Rep to do more.
That's just going to make you angry.
Thumbs down.
That's what it gets.
I was going to talk about that Seattle, Dallas, just in terms of Seattle.
I don't know how, because there's some good players there.
And obviously, Maddie Baneers was one of their top first round picks.
But they don't have that influx of studs that they picked high because they were bad.
These teams didn't have to be bad.
So is it just because they're unencumbered by bad contracts that,
the GM has brought on, which kind of goes back to the conversation that we had, I guess, a week ago with the flames moving forward.
They have an opportunity after this season to have a, they're going to have some bad contracts, but cap space.
As all those guys come off the board, it's almost a reset that a lot of times teams have to spend draft capital to get.
I just wonder, would they be screwed without Elias Lindholm?
Yeah, they, yeah, it's who's going to do it?
There's lots other guys.
But where are you wanting to get to, I guess?
And then you've got to use that cap space wisely.
And the crack could have not won a Stanley Cup by any means.
I just, there's no tried and true way to do it as you watch Vegas do it again.
Well, there is a tried and true.
I mean, Vegas hasn't won and you like the success they're having.
And I think that the GMs around the league screwed up mightily when Vegas came in.
But I think the tried and true method.
is the
you build from within
draft well
and you don't overpay for guys
and that's not really what Vegas is done
they've been hyper aggressive
in trade and free agency
and they aren't afraid to move guys
no of course no loyalty no loyalty
and then pivoted hard
like every first rounder they've moved away from
I believe
yeah like it whether and I'm not
and I'm not saying I don't think
Vegas is the poster child as good as they've been
I think Tampa is the poster child
I think Chicago was the poster child
I think that Colorado
has done a good job of building from within, right?
Like Carolina in a way.
Carolina continues to do business the way they do business, right?
And Seattle and Vegas.
Don't forget where Ron Francis came from.
Yeah, yeah.
And that's what I was just going to say.
Like, oh, their expansion teams, look at them go.
They've gone about it totally differently.
Vegas got a really nice hand dealt to them.
Seattle had to play a little more patient.
But they weaponized their cast face a bit.
Like when the Columbus Blue Jackets bringing Johnny,
they got to free up some cash.
Well, who can go get Oliver Bjork Strand who's making 5.4?
We'll take them.
cheap, boom.
They grab Ely Tollivan and off waivers,
a guy that's always been highly touted,
couldn't find a role in Nashville,
boom,
he's scoring a bunch of goals to them.
Like,
they have not gone about it the same way,
and yet both of them now have a chance
to be in a conference final.
You know,
and for Seattle,
one playoff run doesn't mean that they've got to.
No, but they're deep, right?
Like, they look good.
And Vegas made that conscious decision
to pivot away because they went to the cup final year one.
Was Patcheretti the first one where it was Suzuki?
and so then I think that was the first okay now they're they're really going for it and then the stone deal happened and they gave up well and then Peter
Angelo wanted to go there Petrangelo goes as a free agent yeah right and then as a result of that it's see you later Nate Schmidt you're a good soldier see you're a good soldier see you're making too much mark
Robin Lenners available like there's been zero loyalty there I guess I get it because it's like they want to win immediately they're they see this is their window to win where I think Seattle's looking further down the line than first couple of years so let's look at
Rather than how do you build it, why is it working for Seattle?
Because Grubauer, good goalie, but he's not a top five guy.
Because they've all bought in and they're playing the same style.
It's the same as Florida.
Bobrovsky's been great, but everyone is on the same page.
It's the typical playoff run where everyone just, this is how you play, this is how we play,
we make the other team react to us.
They're all on the same page.
And to be fair, if they lose tonight, it's one series one.
It's impressive, but it's not like, what can we copy from them?
They're so good.
It's like, it was a good year.
No, listen, their year has been outstanding.
Yeah.
It was like, oh, how long till the flames catch Seattle?
Well, you're not going to catch Seattle.
And then they beat Colorado.
And now they've got to, they're in a position to go to a conference final.
They have some, there's the way they're playing.
And is it the way they're built?
It has to be.
Because you talk about Tampa Bay.
Stamcoast, first, first over.
all, headman, but then you also need Vasilevsky and Kuturov and point. You go down the line.
Even Chicago, would they have had three cups if it's just Kane and Taves and not Keith
and Seabrook? No, but they built them all right? And down the line, right? It's, yeah, I don't
see Seattle doing what Tampa's do. It's very different, right? I'm not comparing the two. What I'm saying
is there's something, there's no way, there's no reason why, talent wise, Seattle should be doing
what they're doing.
They're deep, but they don't start.
Deep at what?
Deep at,
they have a lot of guys that could score 20 goals.
That's what I'd say.
Not a lot that could score 40.
I guess the argument back to you would be,
well, they haven't done anything yet.
They won a series.
It's great.
And they look really good and they're playing.
I like how they're playing.
But if they lose tonight, what are,
what's the story?
Well, we want to copy Seattle's.
Well, here, I guess now I'm coming back to having sat through
watching a flame season where it just seemed like,
no one was buying in.
There was no chemistry.
There was no chemistry.
But again, those guys,
they've been together for two years now.
Clearly they like playing together.
And you can't,
you can't know.
And that's what I said about the Hubert O thing
and the cadre thing about signing the longs.
You don't know how guys are going to fit in
when you bring guys out and give them a big contract.
Find out if they fit first.
And that's,
Seattle has that, at least.
The other thing is,
like if we'd had this conversation a year ago, no one's
bullish on what Seattle's done.
No, we were like, hack stole's the wrong hire.
How could you commit all that money to a goalie when goalies are voodoo with the
group hour signing?
Man, you really didn't, you know, extort some teams that were in tough spots with the
expansion draft.
Like, I like what they've done and it looks good, but a year ago we didn't like it.
And maybe next year, it doesn't come together for whatever reason.
It's a really nice season they've had.
But that's on us.
So who cares what we have?
Well, no, no, no. Their results last year were awful.
That was on them.
You said, but you were at the front of the bus talking about how it was their goal
tank that sewered them, not the team.
But they overplayed their goaltending this year.
And we wondered about their coach.
It was a weird hire.
Dave Haxell didn't have a lot of success in Philly.
And prior to that, he ran North Dakota forever where you recruit.
Like, we did, I think those look better than they did a year ago.
Watching what happens with Toronto, what happened here,
and what happened with the Oilers.
It's just so, it's just right there.
You can't just have good players.
You need something else.
They called it the Stars over Kansas
when they were arguing about contracts.
When the lockout happened in 05.
And good now saying,
you don't want, your high-end guys
are going to take all the money.
They're the stars.
They're going to get everything.
and then the rest, Kansas, flat.
You just, yeah, two, a couple million bucks for everyone else.
It just won't work.
And, you know, that was talk about how teams are going to operate and us.
There is a little bit of that.
A lot of that in the markets with big stars.
He didn't want it that way because he wanted all the players to spread out the money more.
Whereas what we're talking about is organizationally,
if you allot too much money to a couple high-end guys,
and they don't get the job done, you're Edmonton.
Now, it's McDavid and Dry Settle, and they are extremely, you would still take that organization because that talent is.
And those deals.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But again, if you have a couple guys that are here and everyone else is here, it seems very difficult to win.
Yeah.
And I think today that is especially notable that the flames want to chat with Brandon Prittam, the AGM of the Leafs.
That was Frank Sarvalley noted that.
and what Pritam has had to deal with managing a cap is that you've got 40 million bucks
committed to four forwards and everything else to Rhett's point is how do we squeeze the most out of
850 grand for this roster spot 1.1 you know can I send a dead guy over here get cap relief
LTIR this guy move it in like it now becomes a game of like how much can I get out of my last 10
million rather than like oh just add another good player and that that's that's a hard cap system that
you're in. You love having stars, but now you've got to be really efficient with the rest of your
money. Seattle doesn't have that issue because their highest paid guys making 5.9. They can bring in
someone at four. It doesn't fuck up their cap. And I think the other thing I think about is with
all this and moving forward is that and watching Seattle, players are good. And not relying on a star is an
approach. Do you know what I mean?
Like, that's, that's, it would be a bold approach. It's working for them right now.
Baneers will get his money. There are going to be guys that jump up in that salary cap or those
salaries are going to go higher. But it is an approach to go, no, no, we're going to have
a whole bunch of guys that could score 20. And we're not going to rely on. That's Carolina's approach.
Yes. And it's, they've had success for a long.
long time doing it that way.
Yeah.
And look,
you want stars,
but you don't have them.
Sorry,
but all the,
what I was trying to get at the most
and I completely forgot was kids these days,
like I said,
all of them can hit that.
Yeah.
Not all,
but a lot of players today can hit that little spot,
that little male slot and score those goals.
The talent level that kids are bringing into the game is just,
it's so.
high. It's so, so high. And if you allow one of those kids to have the ice time to get comfortable
playing and get on a roll, who the hell knows? They can be as good as a guy that you're paying
10 million. Yeah. And they're costing you nothing. And he's brought them from within. Tolvin and
waivers, skilled guy. Yeah. Yeah, man, I don't know what he is. I don't know what he is. Well,
the scouting report for five years was a really skilled player that was going to be a guy that could
play, you know, top six wing, 18 goals in Seattle.
A lot of teams don't have room to roll the dice on that in Seattle.
Yeah, why not?
Let's give it a go.
If it doesn't work, doesn't work.
So then, as, and just to check in here in mid-May, as of right now, if you were the
GM for the flames, are you taking anything that you're seeing?
It's always kind of a copycat league and you're with the cab.
You can't just go and do everything the way you want to do it.
But what would your strategy be right?
now with what you're seeing out there keeping in mind that i because i agree with you i feel like the league
has changed it's so high skilled there's leads are blown it's come from behind it's it's it's a it's a fun league
to watch right now you think about the flames defense and if you can get stetcher back i thought he played
well shillington you got marksstrom who you think's going to be better you've got a kid in net the wranglers
that's supposed to be a stud that's my focus build around that make that your identity that
solid because you watched the teams that have struggled in the playoffs
and they get roasted defensively.
They get roasted.
They can't cover.
They can't make plays.
They got no depth.
So they got to play one guy way too much.
Well, eventually that guy's going to wear out and get tired.
They've got a nice back end.
Yep.
If you get a bounce back from Markstrom,
you've got an outstanding goalie prospect and a very deep blue line
to fall over Shillington looks anything like you did.
Never mind bringing back a stetcher type.
Like that was always an area that we thought they were deep.
And then Oliver Shilm didn't show it up and still kind of was an area of strength unless Tanna was hurt.
So my approach, I guess to answer your question would be keep all that solid.
Keep adding to that cupboard when you can because those guys, TANF's going to get older.
Guys will switch out.
Yeah, yeah.
I don't give a shit what you do up front.
There is no one that I get that Lindholm's really good.
backlands being here forever.
I'm not loyal to any of them.
They aren't creative enough,
and I don't see enough high-end
what I'm just talking about.
I don't see out of that group enough high-end.
Maloney talked about it.
He said he'd like to add more scoring.
In today's NHL, you need,
they didn't score enough.
They shot.
They shot the puck a lot.
They didn't create a lot.
And when you look at the construction
of their bottom six,
they have a lot of guys that are good at defending leads,
which is harder to do than before.
Like the whole fourth line construction all year was like,
why aren't you giving a look to some kids that are scoring at the league lower?
Like the whole Daryl identity of what a fourth line looks like,
they need to move past that.
Way past you.
You need to start rolling the dice on skill like a Tolvinan,
you know,
like a guy like Maddie Phillips getting more than two games.
You know,
like letting Peltje play ahead of big body Nick Ritchie down the stretch.
And look,
it's not all on Dary.
I'm not saying that,
but I think philosophically, I liked hearing from, from Domaloni that he sees that as a priority
because there are other ways to reimagine your bottom six. It does not have to be dump and chase
grind guys. You can be big and physical, but be young, have pace and a little offensive upside.
Like if you had Dure, Coronado, Phillips, that type of a group, Zari, like, they're not all
going to pan out, but like let those guys have a little run. You talk about a skilled these young guys
are. They look lethargic and low energy and slow at times. There are some young assets you can at least
roll the dice on and see what they are. They did a bad job of that. BXA was talking the other night
about how it's still, you need to, you need size and strength and you need, you need to have some
of that in, in the playoffs. So where is that, where are you on that? And it's not even just about
size, but these are skilled guys. None of them are overly rugged. Stop. So I get a hundred percent
understand your question and 100% agree with BX's take,
but I don't think it's about the size is about how you play.
It's the dog in the fight in the dog, right?
Yeah.
It's the fight in the dog.
It has nothing to, you, it's great if you're 6'6 and you can skate and you play like
Adam Lowry.
I love Adam Lowry.
I would absolutely love to have Adam Lowry on my team.
100%.
I'm more concerned with what's the pace of play.
Are you doing what you're being asked to do?
Are you getting in on a four check and creating it?
Right?
And less about, oh my God, he just put that guy into the third deck on a hit.
And like Walker Dura checks a lot of those boxes.
He's young, he plays with pace.
And yeah, he is big too.
Ryan Lomburg is not big, but when he was in the lineup of Florida, he was a pain in the ass.
But Pellche, Phillips, Coronado, those guys aren't.
I've just, does that shape you're thinking when a physical guy?
Not huge, but it's how you play.
They can still finish checks and get in and be pricks to play against, right?
You know, like I understand the size want and the grind want, and I agree with it.
Everyone thinks, I hate doing it because it's like an old guy talking about it, the good old days.
The 0304 flames weren't massive up front.
We had Olawa and Chris Simon.
Sure.
But they couldn't get in, right?
What we had was Sean Donovan and Matthew LaBardi and Dean McCamond and a bunch of guys that when the puck went in the offensive zone, they were on that thing.
And when you think about what Dubay and Manjapani look like when they're playing well, they're not big guys, but they're physical players.
They go to high traffic areas.
They run into people.
They're pain in the ass to play against when they're right.
So I wouldn't get too hung up on the hockey card height weight because next thing you know, you got Kevin Roe.
Rooney at 1.3.
And he can't keep up.
He's in the minors now.
There was this thing I had taken a screenshot of it, but you know me with math and gloss over.
But it was somebody had gone in and had done, I guess, the math or the tracking on it,
that Florida and oddly enough Seattle were the two teams that their goals, I forgot,
a high percentage were coming within five seconds after they forced a turnover.
So somewhere on the ice, buzzing the piss out of the park, turnover.
pace, turn it up quick, attack, goal.
No one was scoring quicker off of forced turnovers than the crack and in the panthers.
The Florida might be the best team on the forecheck in the league.
Like the way they have success is disrupting things with their forecheck and to your point,
turning that into a scoring chance right away.
It's not like hold, wait, cycle, fire a muffin from the point.
It's like get on you, pressure you, turn it over.
And it might not be the first time you turn it over.
Yeah.
That you get the scoring chance, right?
the thing about the forecheck and getting on it is that now those you're the defender you're exhausted
I was going to say and it's it's got to be a mental fatigue on top of physical right these guys will not
fucking stop you remember furland on bexa speaking of which like it was that yes it got to the point
where he was so worried about this freight train come behind him he started spitting pucks in the corner
or turning early or mishandling or bribling or just firing it without looking that's exactly
what you're talking about with mental and physical 100%
You need some dogs.
Yes.
Some young dogs.
Winibo dogs.
And this Wrangler's thing is good.
They play tonight.
Like this is the,
you want to start breeding some dogs?
These types of runs are very good for your young players.
Very good.
They got to learn how to win.
They got to learn how to play hard.
There's a lot to be gained.
But I hope they can.
And you had said it weeks ago,
it's too bad the Coronado can't be part of it.
It is.
Yeah.
He's at the World Championship.
He's playing well.
but it's too bad that he can't be in that nucleus and start building relationships and bonds like that.
Grady's playing against men.
Grady's there, but you're right.
To be a part of a run right now would have been nice.
But you couldn't add him to the roster because he wasn't out of the deadline.
McLeod Law, Peter Klein, just the best when it comes to personal injury lawyers and helping you.
If you have suffered personal injury, it's the only, it's your first call is your only call.
It's McLeod Law.
Peter Klein and his staff, they take all of the pressure and burden off of your shoulders.
They handle your legal, your insurance, your medical claims.
You focus on recovery, and all of a sudden you've got a stud teammate alongside you.
Let them handle it all.
U-B-U.
At McLeodlaw, LLP on social media.
Their website, macloud-lashlaw.com, good people who will fight the fight for you.
And you mentioned it earlier.
Now, this one's going to hurt.
This day in flames history.
Again, a Calgary.
McLeod Law, proud Calgary business.
they like to celebrate all things Calgary.
This was this day in Flames history.
We don't have to go back all that far.
Don't be a year ago.
One year ago today.
Take a listen.
Goodro to Chuck in the corner.
Back to Johnny Goodrow.
Goodrow in front.
Deves a pass to Lino.
Stop by Altonger, took up high.
If you were just listening and a watching, that was.
I think you know what it was, yeah.
May 15th.
2022.
There's the Kleenex.
box you noted, right, the hole for the goal.
And I don't know how many people will remember, but Markstrom in that same overtime period,
breakaway save, or two.
The scores, the final score is in that series, 1-0-2-0, 4-2-4-1-3-1-4-2, and that was a
3-2 overtime final.
And this year, the Stars and Cracken have had six or more in every,
Was right here for it?
Because I don't know if we mentioned it.
I mean, we should say it anyway because it's the show.
But the scores they've had in this series, I'll read them from game one on.
So it is 5-4-9 goals, 4-2, 6-9 goals, 7-2-9 goals, 6-3-9 goals.
5-2, 7 goals and 6-3-9 goals.
The fuck is happening here.
This is like 1980s.
Yeah, this wasn't back in Moog-fear shit.
Oldie times day.
This was a year ago.
In that series, it won nothing.
You were like, fuck, this game's over.
Ottinger and Marshall were too good.
We're never going to score in this guy.
Remember when Madhupani scored?
It's like, how did he ever score?
How from there?
How could you do it?
Oh, my God.
How did you beat a goal?
That was what game five?
Yeah.
I hate to say it, but part of the issue, we just talked about it.
It might be the flames.
But it wasn't, though, because that line was so fucking good.
Last year was a different team.
But yeah, if it was the same team, I'd agree.
Yeah, they were settling for a minute chances, but no,
Ottinger was awesome.
And Markstra was awesome.
Yes.
And that's, again,
what hell's Johnny doing in Columbus?
What is he doing?
That's so dumb.
Columbus.
I didn't even get Bernard.
That's crazy to think what this organization has been through.
Well, it mix in the coach and the GM, like when that gets done,
that's what I'm saying.
It is a wild, wild year.
You think back to last year.
Last year, this game.
One year ago, no one was talking about...
Even losing to the Oilers, okay.
We got beat and we weren't great.
But damn, we're in a good spot moving forward.
We got some top line in the NHL.
Things are good, boy.
Chuck's going to make $9 million,
and it's fine.
We'll deal with that at the end of the next year.
Ves the candidate net with nothing to worry about here.
Johnny wants to be here, get Johnny signed.
Yeah, let's go.
Best line in the league?
Why wouldn't Kachuk want to be here?
Johnny, for sure, he's staying.
A lot's changed.
A lot's changed.
Daryl's the guy.
Pull up the lineup from that game last year and look at today's lineup and you go, oh, God.
Because that's the scary part for me is I don't know.
You asked, what are you going to do?
I like the idea of keeping the deep and the goaltender.
I don't know how you deal with the forwards.
You bring in the kids, absolutely.
That's great.
And I agree with it.
Let him run.
Tafoli is the perfect example of the tough spot you're in.
Because if you take him out of the lineup,
you're like, that's the finisher for this group.
And yet if you extend them, you're like, man, this group's going to get real old, real quick.
And then the other is, oh, we'll just trade them midseason or whatever.
And it's like, if you're second in the Pacific and this guy's leading you in goals, like, that's a hard deal to make.
And that's what I.
So like, just to Foley alone seems to like crystallize it for me in terms of like how difficult some of these decisions are because you're really balancing a lot of short term versus long term.
and if you move it to Foley, guess what you've opened up?
A to Foley-sized hole.
And you had him at four and a quarter.
You can't go buy his production for four and a quarter.
It's impossible.
Wow.
Do we expect the next year there a two seed with some saves?
I don't know.
Like we just talked about where we thought Seattle would be a year ago.
Like it's just this leaks too hard.
And what's the goal?
Is it to kind of bubble gum and string and tinfoil this thing together for one more year
and hope it was an anomaly or to start?
building that young team full of that skill you talk about.
It's both.
Because there's not a lot of that these kids that are coming in that can put it here.
Flames don't have a lot of that on this roster.
And look, like it's,
it sounds like a cop out in a way,
but if there's ever been a year to remind you,
you just need to get in, this tournament's fucking crazy.
You want to get a hot goalie for a month?
Anything can happen.
I'm not saying, hey, there's our plan.
But the notion that just getting in and you'll get knocked out in round one,
that doesn't exist.
Bad lesser teams winning around one all the time.
Take that out of the equation though.
But if you, you're either going to go with this group and run it back or the thought process being, you're just going to.
I think you have to do both.
Like you keep some guys, but you also absolutely have to turn some of these expiring assets into younger parts for sure.
Probably the approach is to bring in some of those kids that we talked about.
Yeah.
And let it go.
See how the season's going.
You're going to know really quick whether you're on the same page as Noah Hanif.
on a new deal, on an Elias Lindholm on a new deal.
You know, Chris Tannav's health is a different sort of cloud of mystery because he's always
playing through something.
But like if you needed to move a Chris Tanov because you think you've got an embarrassment
of riches on the back end or it's like, hey, we like Stetcher and Shillington's looking
great, you know, that's a move you can make if he's healthy that gets assets.
But yeah, I don't think this is a keep them all or sell them all.
This is going to be a blend where you try to get younger and you also try to remain
competitive in the short term.
My gut tells me they don't have the right mix, to be honest with you.
And when I hear, well, we can sign Lindholm and we can sign Keep Backland and
Or this is the challenge of the GM.
I just, I cringe because I go, even if we have success and make the playoffs, it's a short window.
If we're locking into those guys long term, doesn't it?
It depends what you do, though.
Like if you're moving Noah Hanifred, what are you getting back?
It's not nothing.
I'm not talking about Hanifan.
I'm talking more about the forwards.
Okay.
So, but To Foley, then.
To Foley, lend home.
I'm just saying, look at their age.
Oh, no, I'm agreeing with you.
But I'm saying, if you decided to sell to Foley this summer, which feels like I sell
high moment for him in his career, maybe only outside of that monster bubble shortened year,
like you're going to get assets and you get to pick what type of assets there.
Do you want a first rounder or two seconds or a bunch of prospects?
Do you want a young cost control player on a team that's ready to?
to win now and he hasn't quite found a role.
Like, there are going to be options to get younger moving a guy like Tofoli.
And the guys that could step into the roster this season in theory, right?
I would trade To Foley and I would, my philosophy and it's hard.
We just talked about it.
So hard to be a total hypocrite and say, well, I would sign guys.
No, bring in a bunch of kids and allow them to do it by, by, I don't think
to Foley's getting you 40 next year.
No.
He's a good player.
So high.
Backland.
I'm sorry.
We've got Cadre and Huberto on long-term contracts.
I don't know how so.
And I don't think you need to go long-term for back-lund.
If this is a guy that's fixated on being a leader.
Okay, well, just finish that point.
So my point is I would allow any forwards that I think I can get that are of that age.
You know, lend home even.
I get that you're going to have a Lindholm-sized hole,
but what have we just talked about?
There's guys out there to fill it,
and they don't have to be paid 10 to do it.
I start looking at...
I don't know number one centers,
but I think there are a lot of talented...
Who's Seattle's number one center?
Let's go look at their lines with them.
I don't know.
And I mean, it's easy to say for me to say Seattle,
because they're new and they...
And it's happening in front of us right now today.
Yeah, I get that.
Right.
But I...
just to me it's that whole thing and I don't like the I don't like the mix that's exactly it I don't
trust the mix I agree but so the GM's job here is going to be fine how do I tweak this mix to make
it the mix what what is there two moves I can make that change everything is there a guy that I
know like an Adam Lowry type guy that maybe could shake like what I agree the mix ain't right
but you don't need to not break back anyone because the mix isn't right you need to
figure out the problem, which puzzle piece can you add to fix the mix?
But remember, it's two different things. It's a, like there's, there's, there's,
to Foley trade him now because he's taught you get the most now. Trade him now.
But it's also keep Chris Tanev and just let him expire at the season's end.
Do that you're saying? That's what I'm saying. That's, these are the decisions. So by,
what I mean is in a year from now, neither to Foley nor Tanaver here. Yeah. That's what I'm saying.
With this group of RFA's, well, what are you doing with Hanifin and did.
like that whole list. I just, man, I don't want to go in long term with anybody. I want cap space back.
I want youth. I want skill. Because they just, they're, you said, who, what, what jersey are the
kids buying? I don't know. Like who, where's the high end skill? Where do you look and you can
kind of see, you know, three years from now that, those guys could have, those could be some
30. And you have to allow the kids to come in and play. And anyway, I think, the, all,
All of us are an agreement that we don't trust the mix.
Part of the issue being that I think without being too harsh,
Hubertos on a long-term deal and you'd love to get rid of them.
Yeah, you're not.
And you can't.
And cadre is going to be so painful.
It's not worth it.
Right.
And so bounce backs.
The problem is that you're moving assets you would probably prefer to keep
because you've mismanaged the other side of it.
Yeah, you need bounce back from those two guys.
And look, the way you talked about Weager in November is very,
different than you do now. Like, it's not impossible for these guys to bounce back.
But yes, those are the pieces you're married to. And so how do you work around the edges with these
soon-to-be UFAs? That is literally the greatest challenge this new GM's going to be faced is this
offseason. It sets up the next five years. If the cadre and Huberto contracts weren't there,
I think this team is in fine chain. You look at it and you would be like, we've got lots of cap space.
We've got a decor that's good. We've got two goaltenders that are capable.
maybe three maybe three we have assets that we can move to fill we've got kids that haven't been
going to being given an opportunity to prove themselves like if you didn't have those and again yes
they could come back and have great ears with a new coach and your opinion can change but what my
opinion won't change on is that three years from now those are sad those are anchors for your
squad yeah and what you hope is that in three years
you've done a good enough job of getting younger
and the cap's gone up enough
that it isn't these incredible,
boat anchors you have to drag everywhere.
And that's a roll of the dice.
It's not a sure thing at all.
And to be fair,
they don't have a lot of great young prospects right now.
I like this Jeremy Porre on the back end,
but he's not ready yet.
Zari will see there's some nice,
a nice bounce back season after an injury played one last year.
Wolf's going to graduate.
You're going to get Dura Pelchay Coronado
a chance next year.
but it's not a ripe, overflowing cupboard
because you've traded a second and a fifth for a yarn croak
and a first plus plus for Tofoli.
Your job as the GM this summer is to say,
what pieces can I maximize this summer to help me get younger?
Because you know in three years those guys aren't going to be as good,
and you better be awesome at collecting young guys between now and that.
And I think we're all a little bit jaded because they have, wow,
it's not man you you know in three years
probably what michael backlin's going to be
you would love to have him
but i just i don't think he needs a long-term deal just like christanavo
they're at the age where it's like there might be one-year deal
backland is a what do you want michael exactly if you're staying we're not paying
one year three million let's go yeah like and that that would be great for the city
that would be why do you assume he would take a one-year deal this is well everything we've
heard from him is about wanting to be a
leader and loving Calgary and if that's the case those are the types of situations you may be able to it's not a
debate four times four but that's just but that's not a debate then because then you trade him yeah right like
no it's not happening if that's the case no one is here saying give him four times you keep saying you keep saying
backland just give him a one year deal as if he'd be like yes please i'll just give me whatever scraps
he's not taking a one year deal he'll be 35 at the end of it i think what his season next year looks like
has a lot to do with what he'll accept like he's a very good defense he's a very good defense
defensive player, but he's a third line center when you slot this team. Does a 35-year-old third-line
center dictate four times four? I don't see that. How many guys take one-year deals in Michael
Backland's spot? He's a center. Who's taking a one-year? Why would he take a one-year deal?
So maybe it's two. I mean, I'm just saying, I don't think it's going to be the decision that you're
facing with Hannafin and Lindholm where it's like, these guys are going to want max term. This isn't
a long-term deal you're talking about. I think it's like you can put a number on the table one
or two years. To me again, it doesn't work. Either way, the, the, the overriding.
point I think is get younger without punting on next season and because of the contracts you have
you're not going to be punting you're going you should be a competitive team and i just the man youth is so
it's infectious and i think it does exciting young players make some of the older guys better it just
it's the it's the way the league is going it's the it's the sport right now it's it's a blend too though
We've seen a lot of young teams.
And that's what I'm saying.
Because of what they have on board, because of what they have on board already,
it's going to be a blend regardless.
And yeah, I think anyone framing it is keep them all or sell them all.
It's not.
It's clearly you have to be very tactical about which one or two you'd keep and which
four or five you sell when, whether it's in season or this season.
I don't know if it's even tactical because I don't think it's back.
land.
What do you want?
Yeah.
That decision's made immediately.
Hanifan, what do you want?
Haniffin.
And Haddon's going to be eight years because that's what he dictates.
Linholm's going to be eight years because that's what the number one seven or it's
29 will.
You can't have Backland, Lindholm, Lindholm, Huberdow, cadre, all on.
No.
And Backland won't.
I think he'll get a three year deal.
But even at that, three years from now, and you have all four of those guys?
Not going to work.
You're not a successful team.
And that's why I just, I don't like the mix.
I don't like the age bracket.
and how they're set up.
And it's been a horseshit run of luck, I'll call it, for the flames,
going back one year to today.
Mm-hmm.
And how do you get out of it?
I think you have to start asset management and moving those guys.
You'll have.
It sucks.
But it's what a team like Carolina would recognize and do, right?
Instead of trying to squint and squeeze and think that you,
you're, and you know what?
On top of that, too, you can look at Peltier and Coronado and Wolf and be like,
we really like that.
That's not enough.
If you can get one or two more guys in that age bracket,
in those other, because that's the other thing.
What?
It's unfair, but Pierre LeBron wrote the story, Carolina versus Florida.
Natchez.
And they've got Matthew Kachuk, who almost went to Carolina.
What would it be like if those rules were reversed?
and Carolina was in that.
So what if you had Marty Natchez and whatever else that came into Carolina rumored?
Well, you don't have Hubert O and the Albatross contract or Uighur.
You have Natchez.
I just think it's not just shedding old guys and being bad next year or whatever.
It's...
You don't have to be bad.
You have good D and should have excellent goaltending.
Should.
you don't have to be bad.
And this team was 11 and 4 and 4 after the trade deadline.
Let's be honest.
So what is, sorry, what's to Foley worth out on the open market?
Right?
I would go back to the trade deadline.
We're assuming that everyone's going to go, oh, yeah, cheap, we want them.
But then we're sitting here going, well, I don't want them long term.
Are you going to want a long term?
No, no, no.
He's a rental.
That's why he's attractive.
Because what you're seeing out there is that teams don't bring guys in that are old
and long in the tooth at big money because
like a team like Boston at the deadline,
what would they have paid to get?
Like we did?
Well, I'm just saying you're selling a guy in the last year of his deal.
You know, whatever the flames did a year ago.
I guess the difference.
You're selling a guy that is theoretically a $6 to $7 million forward
that's making $4 and a quarter.
Caps tight.
It's incredibly attractive.
And if you like them, maybe you can re-sign him,
but if it doesn't work, you're not pot committed.
If you look at the types of player that moved at the deadline for a first,
he's in that neighborhood.
And I'm doing it.
Like, Dmitri Orlov and Hathaway got a bunch for the Bruins.
He's a better player than both those players.
They're both really good players.
But like, it's not crazy to think you should be able to get a pick between 20 and 32
or the equivalent in a younger already in the league player for a Tafoli because there's teams that need scoring
and you can't spend four in a quarter and get a 30 goal guy.
The market doesn't bear that.
All right.
We've got to move on.
Time for the Pinder report.
Brought you by Village Honda.
Top dollar for your used vehicle.
They got a million dollars to spend on it.
They want that lot up there, that big lot, just all fat and full of great used cars.
Sell them your vehicle.
You'll get a tropical cruise for two.
Find out more online.
VillageHonda.com.
They're your dealership for life.
Village Honda presents the Pindraport.
All right.
We start with Flames News Fellows as, well, Frank Bomb, Frank Baum.
Frank Bomb.
It's a Frank Bomb.
Frank Bomb.
another external candidate linked to the Calgary Flames in their search for a new general manager.
Brandon Pridham, who has been the capologist AGM type.
Pridim.
Don't even know him.
In Toronto under Kyle Dubus.
Listening to Elliot talking, listening to Frank and other names, the list of external candidates we've heard.
And some of this is smoke from actually being interviewed.
Others is guys trying to keep their names relevant.
I don't know which is which.
Mark Bergevin, Stan Bowman, Mark Hunter,
Ray Whitney, and now Brandon Pridham.
That would be added to the internal candidates
of Brad Pascall and Craig Conroy,
who we know have been AGMs for a long time in the organization.
That is kind of the public list at this point.
I don't know how much of that is real,
but they're names that have been tied to the flames.
Pridham joined the Leafs in 2015 to help manage the team's salary cap.
This is from Frank's report.
excelled through the ranks, excelled through the ranks to later serve as the AGM to do.
But before that, he worked in the NHL as the league's salary cap enforcer.
His work has been essential for Toronto and maneuvering through all the salary cap rules to put out a optimal roster.
So he's worked with the league prior to the Leafs as well.
Yeah, and had a role with central scouting as well before being that sort of cap guru guy that people would call with questions.
Nerd!
CBA interpretation, which is good.
I don't want any nerds.
No, you definitely need some nerds.
They don't all have to be nerds, though.
Yeah.
Head nerd?
What's that?
Is it going to be the head?
I don't know.
I don't know.
I mean, he'd be interviewing for head nerd, I guess, isn't he?
Although it depends what you think of the president.
See the head nerd?
We don't really know how the decision-making truth is going to work.
The nerd hierarchy.
Let's go to some Flames News from overseas.
Mackenzie Weeger and Milan Lucci in action with Team Canada.
Is there another flame is wrong?
I feel like there's another guy.
I'm forgetting there's one other guy, yeah.
Yeah, that guy.
Anyway, McKenzie got a taste of the dasherboard in Latvia, Rhett, which I'm told is delicious.
This is in front of his own bench.
Oof.
Earlier today, they would beat Slovakia in a shootout that I think went to the seventh round.
Canada's three wins and three games.
Wiggers set a monster start to the tournament offensively.
Games one and two, nothing today.
And a couple of miscues today.
Oh, I see.
Hyven.
Wigsie.
High event player.
It's high weeks.
We're high.
Matthew Cornado got his first goal to world championships this morning as well.
Let's have a peak as they played Germany.
Stood as the winner.
Power play goal, three two, they're three and oh to open their tournament.
Good eyebrows, eh?
Great.
I'd you could grow eyebrows like that.
Because I didn't even see him.
I'm telling you, him and Dubet, Stup brothers.
Yeah.
He's here.
He's there.
He's been everywhere.
So we'll watch it again.
Good experience for the kid.
If you can't be playing with the Wranglers,
Why not this for Team USA?
Watch the feed from the far point.
There's a retro.
Bring it across.
Rag, rag, rag.
Voop.
Back door.
And look where he puts it.
Tip, tip, tippy.
Pretty good.
If you want to be a player, kid, we'd all be okay with it.
Speaking of the Wranglers, they're in action today in Palm Springs.
Ret, what is it like playing with sun tan, sunburn, I should say?
It's not good.
It's pinchy, ow, it hurts.
Flaky skin, dehydrated.
It's hot down there right now, I'm guessing.
It's hot.
Too hot.
They did a great job on Friday evening up the series,
had a ton of penalties to kill.
The Marbles never really got evened out in the refs pants there.
It was a lot of power plays for Coachella Valley.
They won that one hung on to even the series.
So it is a game three tonight tied at one.
Nick DeSimon there, I believe.
Buffalo's finest, right, right?
Yes.
If you can't have Gilbert.
Go get them, boys.
Go get them, boys.
Go get them, boys.
And the rest of that series is going to be played there.
That's right.
You got to have to win in Palm Springs twice if you want the don't rock.
It doesn't look great when he lose game one.
Thank goodness.
It's only a best of five, though, you know?
Gosh.
I don't know how to feel about that.
It's so lucky.
I don't know that any of us think it's not janky.
To NHL news, well, I don't know if it's a holiday in Calgary,
but certainly a lot of smiles and whistling and skipping down the streets in Cowtown
as it happened again, the Emmonsonon Oilers did not win a cup with the best player of our lives.
one more year off the ledger.
There's Leon Drysidal.
It feels like a failure or a wasted year almost.
It hurts as it should.
When they were right, they looked dominant.
They erased three goal deficits.
They scored with ease.
And it appeared it was a better mix than ones we've seen in years past.
And yet they never led in this series.
They didn't show up in game one.
And at five on five, they scored half as many goals as a Vegas Golden Knights team that was
playing their four-string netminder and their best player had.
a bad back. Was Leon pissy last night or?
I could think there'd be good reason to be pissy if you're Leon.
Jack Eichel, big series, and last night it was Jonathan Marsha So with the dagger.
Did they change one of his goals?
Tell you what, Barbashev is a sneaky out there. He had a couple assists, I think, last night.
Scored some big goals in round one for them.
And look at the handshake here. Yeah, see you.
Give back my hand. Shake my hand. Shake your hand. You can't believe it.
Give it. Give me that.
Have you ever seen a non-handshake in the line?
I'm putting you on the spot.
Yes.
Yeah.
Marty Broder didn't shake Sean Avery's hand.
Oh, that would make sense.
And then he called him Fatso, if you remember.
Who called who Fatso?
Avery called Fatso wouldn't shake my hand.
Oh, that is something I would say.
I don't like, you know, I don't like Avery, but there are some stuff he's done.
Well, you need a black hat, right?
If he's not in the league, there's a lot of entertaining things that we don't get to talk about.
Fatso.
It's a little doughy.
I don't know.
I guess it's all that up in body gear, yeah.
I guess, yeah.
Okay, we'll keep going on Edmonton.
He's a called or finalist, but it was not the postseason
Stuart Skinner wanted.
It's first ever playoff action.
He didn't play last year.
It was Mike Smith time.
368883.
Those are Smith vibes.
Worst, sadly.
And I think, was he not an option for them down there?
Once they pretended he was hurt, they had to go all in on pretending he was hurt for
the whole year.
You know, that injury after.
he finished the game healthy, their last game of last playoffs?
Because they needed the cap space.
Tough to undo that.
They filed the paperwork.
Yeah, they filed the paperwork.
And that way Smith gets paid and they get the cap relief,
everyone wants.
Except this team that didn't have league average net mining in this.
What's his cap hit Smith?
Four?
No, 2.2.
Just sit around, do nothing, hey?
It's good work if you can get it.
Good.
Scott.
Rick out one year like that, eh?
I said, I told you guys.
There's a guy that was on sickly for 15 years,
and he sued the company because he didn't get a pay raise.
Brid.
seeing the price of inflation.
Apples these days?
How's a guy supposed to afford that shit?
And it doesn't take long when the Oilers lose
that Calgary trolls will be on the internet after
the troll of the day so far,
because we're less than 24 hours out from Edmonton's elimination.
Well, it's a Jesse Piliyarvi tweet.
In the conference finals, the Oeastern Not.
James Johnson from top row, well done.
Excellent troll work here.
Pilaravi may or may not even play
and may or may not even be popcorn for these games,
but the facts are the facts.
That is a fact.
And in fact, that's a great tweet.
If you're trying to troll the Oilers,
I don't know how many you can do better than that.
Please give us your best effort, submit them to me
at Pinder Report on Twitter.
And as you'd expect, things going over swimmingly in Edmonton
where, yes, it was on home ice last night,
where they lost.
And, you know, after a tough loss,
things get emotional.
I think you probably want to hug the people around you
and share to each other's pain.
Yeah.
So this is the Oilers support group
from the upper deck last night.
Come on, guys.
Well, look.
Tough game.
We are as always next year, guys.
Oh, focus on high ground here.
High ground.
You always want high ground, right?
Yeah, old Dr. Phil there with the cranium,
watch him.
See, he's protecting his grub.
Pull Yard V jersey out?
Oh, kick.
Oh, man down.
High ground.
High ground.
And then Superman's coming back.
High ground.
It works both ways.
Can come back to bite you.
Gravity works for both fellas.
It's a 19.
Come on 19.
Jeez.
This is well after the game's over, too.
I think, uh...
Hey, hey.
McDavid's in there breaking it up.
Thank you, Connor.
It's never happened at the dome.
Security beyond them right away.
It's true.
Yeah, I'd never see that happen here.
Well, and, you know, it's a new team, new fan base.
They're just figuring out what it's like to be in the playup.
Isn't it weird?
It just looks like all of a sudden such a juvenile fan base.
I just, you know, it's like a lot of fights, people biting fingers off at outdoor parties.
I didn't realize that people thought so much in the stands.
Maybe it's just cameras in people's pockets, but it feels like there's more of it, Red.
Likes to fight guy everywhere, apparently.
Yeah.
Everybody's mad at each other nowadays.
There's no love.
Well, you know what people were really mad at last night.
The start time of that game.
Yeah, they were.
I'm on board with that.
10 p.m. Eastern.
The question is why on a night where there was no other games, was this not in?
in prime time for most of, you know, North America,
rather than a 10 Eastern start.
Well, the rumor, per ESPN rumors,
Dan Kingersky, the scuttlebutt from ESPN Insiders,
is that the NHL asked to move it up from 8 Eastern.
Is it 10 Eastern?
Up to 8 Eastern, excuse me, because it was a 10 Eastern start.
And then ESPN said, no, we don't really want it.
We're going to keep Sunday night baseball on the main network,
not move it to ESPN too.
And then the league's like, well, cool, then can you give it to TNT?
They'll put it in prime time.
Nah, we're good.
So that's the rumor.
Why does it matter?
Our boys, Troy Stetcher, made a very key point here that was probably not to be lost.
They stayed with a 9-1 baseball game in May while missing three goals in an elimination game
with a ticket to the conference finals on the line.
Clap, clap, ESPN.
Let's go, Troy Stetcher.
Talking about people picking up their dog shit.
Can they sign it right now?
Let's go.
Get it done, Troy.
He hasn't changed his jersey.
Hey, Troy.
You don't want to go to free agency.
It's not all typed up to be.
Let's get a deal done.
Going back to Arizona, Troy?
Let's go.
Just the side conversations about how things are going in Arizona.
I don't see that the top option for him.
Well, apparently they're cheap.
Oh, geez.
Remember when they forgot pretty em in the bubble?
Whoops.
It's the same ownership group.
Sources are telling you.
Not Troy.
Not Troy.
Stetch dog.
Let's go.
Let's go, buddy.
Bring it back.
Run it back.
Then we could trade the Zad Dog.
How old is he's a young kid?
He's part of that group we're talking about.
Young guys?
Eight years and more.
It's close to 30.
Let's go.
Young.
That youth.
He's not a Ute.
No.
Not a Ute.
The two Uts.
Okay.
So here's what we got tonight.
Another game seven coming up for you.
We haven't had one in round number two.
This will be good stuff.
It's either Joe Poviv.
Voski and the stars, or it's going to be this rag-tag group of second-line wingers that
apparently is the Seattle Cracken.
Wild, wild score, as we talked about it, the lowest scoring game in the series six goals.
They've had three goals where they've reached nine goals.
You'll hear from me and our betway bets the day later regarding these totals.
Game seven tonight, eight Eastern.
Everyone's happy about that start time.
Who did we pick?
Do you pick Seattle?
I've got Dallas.
I don't know what Dean did.
I got Dallas.
Brett can really make a move here
because we know he had Florida and
we know he had...
He took the canes, rock me like a hurricane or whatever it was.
But I was the only one that got Vegas.
So this is a big swing one here
for who's going to have the best predictions in round two.
Jack Love a graphic for us tomorrow.
Can't wait.
Can't wait.
So good.
Speaking of Toronto being eliminated,
if you missed it, the Leafs are done.
Which brings us some talking points.
First off, everyone's wanting that the league never,
it's fixed against Toronto.
Today it's fixed against Edmonton.
It's fixed against Canadian teams.
And remember,
the Gretzky high stick, this generation of Leafs fans now has their own Gretzky high stick.
But before we get to that, really, it's again, Sergey Bavrovsky's second round numbers,
let's have a peek at this tidy piece of ours.
How come you're not doing the sounds anymore?
It's an audio format as well, right?
943 save percentage, 189 goals against.
That is Mika Kipersoff and his prime type shit.
And we talked about how high scoring these playoffs have been this year.
year.
Sergei Birovsky.
Take a bow.
Take them off the milk cart.
Leaves getting seven, eight shots again.
Is that what it was?
No, kind of like 45.50.
Oh, really?
Wow.
Unbelievable.
And here is the new, we're going to whine, and here's what we're going to whine and
complain about in Toronto.
This was just after the Leafs had tied the game in game five at home, setting up
overtime, eight seconds left in regulation.
A bit of a foul here.
Watch the puck here.
Marner.
Oh, that's an elbow.
But there's eight seconds left,
and it's, you know, we can't be,
the refs can't be decided.
The puck was in the zone, though.
I mean, yeah, so if the puck's in the zone,
you can elbow guys ahead.
Yeah, if the puck's in the zone, elbow away.
Wink.
Oh, like how in the world?
Oh, please.
No, and look, it's,
it's not, hey,
poor Leafs.
It's this entire postseason.
I have no idea what they are
and what they aren't going to call.
The league has a massive issue.
They always have had trouble.
I don't know that officiating
has been more talked about
than as this post season.
Not a smart play.
If you're going to get away with it,
it's an incredibly smart play.
Free elbows,
two, two.
Five seconds left in the third.
Taste the elbow.
Zoom in on that.
He did hardly get him.
That's the rest.
The refs take.
A rough's always,
an apology just for the refs.
I know.
Always.
We got to move on.
We're moving on.
I'm hungry.
Let's go.
Blue Jay's getting hot in time for Rett.
Did you see a game this weekend or is it next weekend?
I couldn't go because they switched the stupid kids.
You said you're going to the Mother's Day game.
I know, but they switched all the times.
Okay, okay.
So kid hockey screwed you.
Here's what you missed.
Nice little walk off yesterday.
Base is loaded two outs.
It all looks terrible.
This is not it.
This is the catch.
We'll do the catch next.
Oh, that's right.
We'll do the catch.
Jason. How's this for a catch?
Oh, on the mound, Ben!
Oh!
Hey! Kelly Green!
Great jerseys.
Awful team.
Great jerseys.
And possums in the press box.
Only team in the majors.
How about that?
They're on track for the worst record ever.
It's a good time to leave Oakland because you've really embarrassed the entire city
with the teams you put on the field for the last decade.
That whole bullpen thing there is...
Yeah, it's weird.
God, you're taking your life in your own hands there.
It's almost like playing baseball in a football stadium, not ideal.
Weird.
Well, they're not playing football there either.
No.
No, they move that team too.
Sad.
Okay, cavalry game.
Let's go back.
Actually, here's Danny Johnson.
Hey, this is on, Danny.
So this is big Danny.
Big stakes, two outs.
Come on, Danny.
Any bag, guys.
Touch any bag.
Let's go.
Big crowd retro.
And the place is jumping.
That's going to win it.
They sweep Atlanta.
We're very good at baseball.
Not good enough, my friends.
Yankees.
Coming up for four, then the Orioles who've been a huge surprise.
The ALE East have five teams well above 500.
They have the six best record in baseball to the Jays.
They're third in their division.
Wild times.
Let's go to Atco Field at Spruce Meadows, Cavalry FC in action.
Be better.
Be better.
Speaking to be better.
Another lead for Cavalry Rett.
Another lead?
Well, I don't like how another lead.
I'm setting you up.
follow up. And then they completely
miss what should have been a penalty kick
for the calves. They fall down 2-1.
And so now they need this to tie
in the second half. Great crowd. Beautiful day.
This is live from your pal
Jimmy McCreeth, sweet.
Jimmy.
Oh, hi-me.
There's the whistle. Trotty, trotty-trot.
Hoang-o.
Watch the end. There's a pal here. There's a pal coming
in hot here. Ready?
There's Anthony. Our boy for Village.
Honda for the Pinder Report.
Is that a product placement?
Is that how that works?
Well, we had our contests we ran last week,
a pair with Pinder.
So it was Anthony and myself
and our two winners, Dara and Nicole,
got down to the pitch.
There's Mason with the team.
How about that?
Everyone very excited.
We had a great day, perfect day.
And next up, I believe,
next Sunday, which is not.
Which one are you?
Really had to get your chest out.
Apparently I'm flexing there.
I didn't realize I was doing that.
Huh.
You're deplorable.
Yeah, thank you.
There was one with gratuitous hands over shoulders.
I thought I'd leave that one else.
Just a hateable human.
Thank you very much.
And they had a great time.
Thanks to Mason and the Calvary crew.
Are you done?
And last one for you, fellows.
Are you a fan of a club toss and golf?
Oh, yes.
You like a good club toss?
I do love it.
This is next level.
Let's go.
I like a good club toss, too, but I've never seen this.
Like, hazel?
Oh, awful.
I've done that.
How's he feeling?
Not so good.
There's the helicopter.
It's good toss.
It's not it, though.
Don't need this belt anymore.
God damn,
screw this.
Do you ever get the belts that pinch your belly there a little bit?
Oh, yeah.
Get the hair.
Hey.
Don't like that.
There's a hat.
So we want club belt,
shoe hat,
and there's the glove.
Don't need it.
It's great work.
That's how you do it, fellas.
That's your Pender Report for a Monday.
That's terrible.
That's well done.
Northwest Autumn Mall is where you'll find them.
It's Village Honda.
Your dealership for life detailing packages started just $79.
95. Clean yourself. Clean up your act.
Book details. All the details. Get it booked in at your dealership for life.
Village Honda, Northwest Automol and Anthony, who you saw there, come in with the cavalry.
He will be there if you want to four hours of your time, talk soccer. He's your man.
That's true. If you could call it soccer, he'll be like, I can't talk to you.
No, he'll understand. Really? Yeah. There you go. It's a village honda.
All right, we've got some things to do here. We got a job job.
Long.
No, it's, we can just, today's, we got, we got to, people.
Speaking of golf, St. Eugene.
Get nice out there.
I hope, I hope people listen.
Because we, we've been, you know, you got the spring, the spring fling golf, spring
you got to get out.
It's limited time only, though, book from April to May 17th.
So hopefully you were listening.
But you know what, even with the spring swing golf package, which expires on the 17th,
you know, maybe it's a talk sweet.
Maybe go on there.
and here's the thing.
I just love that passion.
259.
You and a friend enjoy a night's day
and around a golf,
including power cart.
You can't beat that.
Look at the scenery right there.
Stay out of those bunkers.
Get right, just drop it right on the green right there.
But yes, they have the spa, the casino,
the restaurants, mountains around you,
that fresh mountain air.
It is a beautiful spot.
You go travel the globe, I dare you.
And that's as beautiful as you're going to find it right there.
Discover for the first time or rediscover the St. Eugene Golf Resort and Casino.
There's the website, st.ugene.ca, 1866-292-2020 is the phone number.
And you split aces?
That's what you're saying?
Split aides.
Well, yeah, you would split aes.
Okay.
Yeah, for sure, you.
It's an aisis.
Yeah, yeah.
Split them all.
Yeah, well, I mean, hey, if you're a riverboat gambler like you, Retro.
Let's do our betwi-bets.
Let's do it.
Bell we bets and
moving on.
Only one game tonight, Ryan.
Yeah, only one game seven.
That's right.
You were talking about some overs or something.
Midnight?
What time's it start?
80s turn.
Midnight local start.
It's a six mountain time.
Welcome to the best sports viewing time zone in the world.
Pavelsky's got big balls.
Anytime goal.
Must win game.
I'm going with Joe Pavelsky.
Anytime goal plus 155.
And yes, he said overs,
overs.
I am going a little,
combo bet on the Betway app, over five and a half goals and an Eberley point.
Eberleys had a heck of a series for them.
Plus 200 for a point for Ebs and over five and a half goals.
I'm hitting the over six and a half because it's happened in five of the six games already in
this series.
And I'm also going to dance on Rope hints over two and a half shots.
He has been superiors.
Rope.
Shots, he might have over two and have goals.
Yeah, he might have over two and a half goals.
Let's go.
There you go.
It's the Betway.
Betts of the day, Betway app, get it on your phone.
Bet the responsible way
with Betway.
Tomorrow on the program, I assume we'll have our buddy
Franks or Valley or any challenge.
I'm going to come by.
Good to have you around.
That's great.
It's great to see it.
That's great.
Maybe special news.
I don't know. Who knows?
And that could be separate than what we're doing.
I don't know what we're going to do.
Enjoy a game. So who's when, game seven?
Seattle.
Stars.
Stars.
That's it.
We're sticking with our picks.
See you tomorrow, buddies.
The Oilers proved they suck.
There you have it.
It's a fact.
Bye buddies.
