Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Pete Blackburn (FULL INTERVIEW)
Episode Date: November 7, 2024Pete Blackburn On The Bruins Rough Start & Zadorov/LindholmBoomer & Pinder are joined by Pete Blackburn host of the podcast "What Chaos" as he previews tonights matchup against the Boston Brui...ns.Check out the What Chaos Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/@WhatChaosShow/streamsLet us know what you think in the comments below!!BARN BURNER BLONDEhttps://originbrewing.myshopify.comFLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTShttps://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8INSTANT REACTIONShttps://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-dO2AraHTeftSpPt00evo8M&si=lY5D3nk8zVtrQgql🚨 Subscribe to @Flames_Nation on Youtube 🚨➡️ / @flames_nation🔥 Barn Burner with Boomer, Pinder, & Rhett Warrener➡️ • Flames Nation Barn Burner🔥 After Burner➡️ • Flames Nation After Burner@dailyfaceoff2563 LIVE with Frank Seravalli:➡️ / @dailyfaceoff2563💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on Twitter: @FlamesNation @960boomer @PinderReport @Warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @Flames_Nation#nhl #nhlhockey #nhlshorts #calgaryflames #nhlpredictions #nhlplayoffs #toronto #mapleleafs #leafs #bluejays #canucks #vancouvercanucks #tiktok #boom #senators #sens #podcast #leafs #toronto #NHLPodcast #CalgaryFlames #FlamesTalk #HockeyDiscussion #NHLTradeRumors #CalgaryHockey #HockeyNews #NHLAnalysis #BoomerAndRhett #HockeyCommunity #FlamesNation #NHLFans Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
What's happening out there with the Bruins?
Because two years ago, the best team ever.
And yeah, they, you know, losing the first round, that's kind of the shits.
But then it's still a good team.
And then they bring in Lindholm, we can address the center position.
And Zedorov comes in.
We're familiar with those two guys, I'm sure, as you know.
But now it's maybe Lindholm and Pashternak.
There's not a lot of chemistry there.
And the coach is yelling at Marshan.
And then Pashtenax getting sat for a period.
It's what, where are we at right now with the Bruins?
It's a lot of it's inexplicating.
to me just because you had a fairly underwhelming roster last year overperform.
And for my money, I feel like they improved.
They addressed a lot of areas where they needed to get better, which is down the middle.
I think Lindholm was a nice fit.
Zedorov gave them size on the back end that liked their blue line.
Obviously, take away Linus Olmark, which is, you know, half of their key component of success over the last few years.
But you can only play one goalie at a time.
and I don't think that their goaltending has been a major issue outside of the first week of the season.
And, you know, the one real mainstay for the Bruins over the past handful of years has been leadership, coaching, and just consistency with approach and attention to detail.
And none of that has been there this season.
They've looked completely disorganized, disoriented.
The leadership really hasn't been there.
You've already seen Marshan and Posternak have run-ins with Jim Montgomery.
And discipline has been an issue.
So, like, there's so many areas where they have been so solid for years,
and it's just disappeared this season.
I'm looking.
They're not good at anything.
They don't score.
Their special teams are dog shirt.
And, you know, defensively, this team with Olmar and Swayman's always been great goals against.
You love the blue line.
They protect their own zone.
That's not happening.
They're literally bottom half the league on everything.
of some shots against their 15th.
That's their great guiding light.
We're 15th and shot attempts against.
Yeah.
Like how much of this is sustainable versus, well,
at some point they'll figure it out.
I do think at some point they're going to figure it out.
And I do think at some point they're going to look a lot better
than they looked in the first month of the season.
We saw a bit of it last weekend,
albeit against pretty underwhelming opponents with Philly and Seattle.
But they took a step forward.
and I think you got another two steps back against Toronto this week.
So I think they're going to figure it out.
I think they're going to be a little bit better than what we saw in the first month,
but I still don't know if they're going to be a good team.
Like they could figure it out and just be okay.
Yeah.
But based off what we saw in the first month, they've been bad.
Like not only just underwhelming and surprising,
but just straight up bad for most of the first month of the season.
We kind of talked about it as Swayman was, it's not a hold on.
He was waiting to get a contract, but he definitely wanted all the money.
And then what happened there in the media with he and Cam Neely?
But watching Marchand get interviewed, it's like, well, wouldn't you love to have Swamen here?
This is in the preseason.
He's doing his thing.
And I just wonder what that does in the locker room.
Guys get it.
They've all got contracts.
They do what's best for them and their families and that whole thing.
But when the goalie doesn't show up for preseason and he's late getting there and then you get into the regular season.
And now you're however many games in.
and he's sub-900 in terms of save percentage.
And his goal is against is over three.
You want to hold out for,
you want to go for all the dough.
That's fine, but be ready to go.
How much of this has Swamen not been good?
Or is he just kind of part of everything that's not clicking right now?
I wouldn't say he's been his best self.
But I also think that that excuse runs out after like the first two weeks of the season
when you should be up to speed.
Like you can maybe make it an excuse in the first.
first couple of weeks where, you know, he wasn't there.
You're just kind of trying to get caught up.
If you're still using that as an excuse, a holdout in preseason in November when your
team is struggling, I think that's a cop out.
I think that there's been so many issues outside of goaltending that it doesn't make sense
to point the finger at the goaltender.
Honestly, at this point, I would say that the goaltending returns have been better than
expected for me.
And that's not from Jeremy Swayman.
It's from Jonas Corpusalo, who was one of the statistically the worst goaltenders in the league last season.
And, you know, when you acquire him with term in return for Allmark, that felt like a red flag.
And he was really bad in his first appearance for the Bruins on opening night.
I honestly think that he's reined it in.
He's had a pretty good couple of starts his last time out.
So like, goaltending is not the problem.
It's the play in front of these guys.
What are they doing breaking up McAvoy Lindholm?
I feel like since they added Hampus and trade and immediately extended them,
that pair has been just set it and don't worry.
Like they're really good.
And now they're trying to shoehorn Zadora of into a top pair.
How is it working?
Have they tried other things?
Is this experiment going to work?
We saw a lot of Nikita Zadora of here.
And one thing that was true was the more you played him, it didn't make them better.
In fact, when we saw him isolated on a third pair with Eric and Branson, they were phenomenal.
The more he played, the more of the circus music we heard.
Yeah.
I mean, you guys know it as well as anybody.
buddy the circus music does not detach itself from Nikita Zedorov I like him as a player
I like him in the fit but more as like a four or five not on a top pairing and I think the
the lack of stability and the lack of clicking that the Bruins have found or you know
again lack there of in the first month of the season has been a problem there's been a lot of
shuffling. But once
you settle in, I think they're going to be okay.
I don't, I don't think Zadorov's going to be a top pairing guy.
He shouldn't be a top pairing guy.
They may have overpaid him, but you can't force,
you can't force him to be that for you.
What about Lindholm?
Now, again, we're so far away from it just kind of going off.
And like you say, it's only been a couple of weeks.
But getting, sorry, getting Lindholm to find a little bit of chemistry with
Pasternak has been a bit of a challenge.
I mean, is it glaring? Does it feel like it's close to clicking? Or is it something where maybe that's not going to work? Because we watched it here. Huberto comes in. He's going to play with Lindholm. Top center, top winger, they're going to have to make it work. And it just didn't work. And they had to eventually just kind of scrap it. Yeah, I would say it's been disappointing, but it hasn't been fully discouraging. Like I don't think that there's a, you know, no hope there. Linholm is generating. He's not executing to, to, to, to,
lead to results on the scoreboard.
I think the most disappointing thing is the lack of clicking with Posternak and finding a real groove
there.
And it's been ugly at points with just how disjointed they've been and there's lack of flow
to, you know, their five-on-five offense.
And a big part of that, in my mind, too, is not to keep pointing fingers at Zodorov.
But like Zedorov has been part of a bigger problem, a big part of a bigger problem with the Bruins,
which is discipline, he's taken way too many penalties.
And the Bruins consistently find difficulty in generating consistency with their five-on-five offense
because as soon as they get into a flow, they take a penalty and they have to try to kill a penalty.
And that's been a huge problem for them.
If they can keep it to five-on-five or the power play, I have more faith in Linholm being able to find a rhythm
and be able to develop some chemistry with whoever's on his wing.
I often find it funny when you see Zedorov, be Sadorov.
We call it.
It's kind of like the roller coaster.
It's like, get ready because you never know when the dips come and, whoa, you get excited.
He is one of the most entertaining players in the league.
Yeah, he is.
Better and for worse.
And when you bring him in, you know that you're getting both.
We often wonder about somebody like Macca Voice.
How, you got to be aware of what the other team's doing.
You also got to be looking over here to see what your D partner is doing.
I guess you got to be on your toes.
keeps you sharp, I think.
Home was always here.
Is it nor of?
He's never,
where'd you go?
Oh, you're up there.
I see.
All right.
Fair enough.
Okay.
So, Peter, if they're going to be just okay this year or take a while to get
going, who in that division is a threat to take a spot?
Because I think we all know the four teams, two Florida teams, Boston, Toronto.
I mean, it feels like tails all as old as time.
Those are the four that are playoff teams.
They're all sort of viewed as contenders.
But then you've had these four below them that it's like, oh, yeah, it's going to be
soon.
It's going to be coming.
the rebuilding it's coming soon Montreal Detroit Ottawa Buffalo if there is a scuffle for the
Bruins is there one in there that you think could jump in and take a playoff spot I don't love
any of them I definitely don't love the wings the wings of they haven't impressed me I
would lean Ottawa I like Ottawa but they'd have they'd have to figure out quite a bit over
the course of this season but you know if I'm pointing
at one, I think it's probably
Ottawa based off of what I've seen to this point.
You're a Boston guy.
I don't hear a lot of the Boston thing.
So is that a,
is everybody else just, are they full of shit?
Or how did you,
how did you dodge this?
How do you like them apples?
Come on.
The way that I'll put it is,
there are certain,
uh, certain pockets of, of the state
that it's stronger.
And I love,
I love all my Boston people.
but I do not fit into the category where that would be super, super strong.
So you're not a mass hole.
That's what I'm hearing.
Is that correct?
Yeah.
Well, I, um, just remove the M.
And that's me.
Yeah.
The accent gives the M.
Yes.
Yeah.
And we're all in good company with that group.
Dude, a fan of the podcast.
Thanks for coming on.
I know it was short time and you did your show.
But tell us about what chaos, obviously we find wherever we find podcasts.
But what's, uh, what's it all about?
It's just we have fun. We cover the entire league. We try to have a lot of fun entertainment-based show, whether it's we're trying to be entertaining, whether we're trying to illuminate some entertaining storylines or create some entertaining storylines and bring some personality out of the game and out of the players that we interview. And we had a great interview with Joey DeCord, incredible guy this week. And we just got back from Detroit last weekend where we sat down with a couple guys.
So those will be coming out next week.
So very, very excited about those.
And yeah, find us on YouTube because we do a great video component.
And a lot of our stuff is video based.
So YouTube, we're nearing 10,000 subscribers.
We would love for any recruitment that we can get from this.
I love the set.
Love the studio.
Love the set.
Looks awesome.
Love the Twitter.
And I agree.
I think David Pasternak looks like he has robbed at least three trains.
Yeah, I would love for him to be robbing less money
from the Bruins at this point.
So I need that production to start
picking up, please.
Tonight against the flames,
I know your fans don't want to hear it,
but.
Yeah, they're okay.
I need some,
let's go.
I can't head into the,
head into the weekend with horrible vibes,
which is basically the only thing the Bruins have given me to this point in
the season.
Thanks, dude.
Good to talk to you.
Thanks for coming on.
We'll catch up again.
Awesome.
Appreciate you guys.
Hey, guys.
Thanks for watching.
Be sure to check out more of our content right here on the Flames Nation,
YouTube page. We had a bunch great long-form interviews. You can check out some videos we've done as well
outside of the studio. And of course, if you want more writing or merchandise stuff, flamesnation.ca
or nationgear.ca. Appreciate you watching.
