Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Recapping A Chaotic Weekend Around The NHL | FN Barn Burner - November 13th, 2023
Episode Date: November 13, 2023FlamesNation Barn Burner with Boomer, Pinder & Warrener- Recap of Flames weekend (4:30)- Vladar (5:30)- Zadorov (8:00)- Rhett Rants (10:30)- Lindholm (16:00)- Ownership (18:00)- Need better player...s (20:00)- Need to eat money (23:00)- Fans will embrace a young team (28:00)- More on Big Z (29:00)- I dig it (34:00)- What if the Flames went young after Johnny & Matt (39:00)- Rhett isn't buying Huberdeau was ever good (40:30)- Pinder Report (47:00)- Oilers Shit Show (57:00)- Betway (01:29:00)- Day in Flames History (01:31:00)- What's On The Menu (01:37:00🚨 Subscribe to @Flames_Nation on Youtube🚨➡️ / @flames_nation🔥 After Burner➡️ • FlamesNation Afterburner@dailyfaceoff2563 LIVE with Frank Seravalli:➡️ / @dailyfaceoff2563💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on twitter: @FlamesNation @BarnburnerFN @960boomer @PinderReport @warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @Flames_Nation💻 Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.comSHOUTOUT TO OUR SPONSORS!!This episode is brought to you by BetterHelp. Give online therapy a try at betterhelp.com/FLAMESNATION and get on your way to being your best self.Play the Wendy’s Daily Faceoff Survivor Game for your chance to win (link in description below)👍🏼 BETTER HELP https://www.betterhelp.com👍🏼 BON TON MEAT MARKET https://www.bontonmeatmarket.com👍🏼 McLEOD LAW https://www.mcleod-law.com👍🏼 MAD ROSE PUB https://www.madrose.pub👍🏼 VILLAGE HONDA https://www.villagehonda.com👍🏼 OUTDOOR DENTAL https://www.outdoor.dental👍🏼 VENA NOVA https://venanova.com👍🏼 BETWAY https://betway.ca👍🏼 GREY EAGLE https://www.greyeagleresortandcasino.ca👍🏼 HEARING LOSS CLINIC https://hearingloss.ca👍🏼 ALBERTA BLUE CROSS https://www.ab.bluecross.ca👍🏼 GRETA BAR https://www.gretabar.com/locations/ca👍🏼 ORIGIN BREWING https://originbrewing.ca👍🏼 TELUS - https://www.telus.com👍🏼 DOORDASH - https://www.doordash.com👍🏼 CROWN ROYAL - https://www.crownroyal.ca👍🏼 FINNING CANADA https://www.finning.com/en_CA/campaig...👍🏼 WENDYs https://dailyfaceoffsurvivor.com/Visit www.nationgear.ca for merch and more.Follow us on Instagram @flamesnationdotcaFollow us on Twitter @flamesnation @barnburnerfnFollow us on Facebook @FlamesNationReach out to sales@thenationnetwork.com to connect with our Sales Team and discuss opportunities to partner with us! Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hey, welcome to another week of a tremendous sports broadcasting here on Flames Nation and Flamesnation.ca,
on the YouTube's, on your, wherever you get your podcasts, you know, that whole thing.
If you're listening to us, I think you found it.
If you have not, then I'm not sure how you'd be hearing it.
Maybe a friend.
They'll teach you how to do it.
You just go get the app and then you download it.
It's super easy, right?
My friends are idiots.
Are they?
Yeah.
No chance.
It's not that.
it's not that hard.
And then you can kind of, there's a thing, Bluetooth,
you can Bluetooth to headphones or you can Bluetooth to your car stereo in a lot of
vehicles.
That has never worked for me, the Bluetooth to me.
Really?
Do you have it turned on on your phone?
What?
Start there.
What?
This will talk after the show.
How are we doing, everybody?
How was your weekend there?
No Pinder.
Pinder continues.
He's California dreaming.
soaking up the sun.
How was your weekend?
I went to Rochester four times.
Yeah, you did.
How good could it be?
Give me one second.
This thing's falling apart.
Oh, my gosh.
Poor retro.
First, he lost, he had the studio at the rink,
and then lost his gear,
so I had to use the headset.
And then last week,
the chair was either falling apart or uncomfortable.
Still not good.
Still no good.
So you had some kind of beanbag thing going.
I broke my arm
thing. Okay, yeah.
It won't, so I have to hold the thing now.
Let's see that, which part of it?
This is the base, you know, the sits on the table.
Oh, the mic arm, the boom arm.
The boom armed, yeah.
And it busted.
Oh, no.
I'm going to have to,
you're going to have to take a hard look at this setup
and maybe get some work done.
This,
the setup that you use every day.
The chair's no good.
The boom arms broken.
Did you see what happened to me this morning?
And the group chat?
Well, it's coming up.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Well, it's not been good.
No, I can see that.
Yeah.
It's not great.
And this,
I didn't think I had that bad at double chin,
but this angle in this choke color I got going.
That's why you need the camera higher than
your head so that you kind of
down one of these things.
But then I got to sit in the regular chair and that
what do you got for a chair now?
Credit, I got the beanbag on the chair.
What happened to your gaming chair?
Bring a chair!
I only remember till I come into my
illustrious office.
Yeah, it's beautiful. I do like it.
Then I forget about the chair.
Yeah, I came in here yesterday
and everything was everywhere.
Like, what the hell has been going on in here?
My door dash bag is gone.
My Crown Royal has just been shoved over.
I find out one of my kids, I'm like, were you in my office, my room there?
Well, yeah.
Not, well, yeah, that's where I do my stuff.
Well, you were watching football and I hadn't seen Smackdown from Friday.
So where am I going to watch it?
Well, maybe.
Yeah, if you could just not move all.
my shit. Like what did you have to move that stuff for?
For your two liter of root beer or some friggin thing.
So,
so Rochester, they're back, they're back. Was it worth it? Did we get the Ws?
Lost in the final five.
Goaltending.
Ran out of guess. Had to play a semifinal because the team that beat us in the round
Robin. That's we played in the final.
Did they get the straight through? They went straight through.
So yeah, we were up at 6 a.m. on Sunday morning,
driving to Rochester. It was great.
Yeah.
And the,
I give the sniffles
to the shoveler.
Not happy.
Well, and it's interesting
because you have no tolerance
for that.
You hate when someone else
gives the sniffles.
Yeah, that won't be going over well,
I would imagine.
And hence the soup.
Right.
Which we'll get into, I suppose.
So last we talked,
it was game day for the flames.
They played the Leafs that night.
Then the Ottawa Senators.
Yeah, I was all guys.
hole for Afterburner and you guys didn't show up.
Hmm.
That's,
now that is usually how it goes.
Anywho,
what did you,
I guess,
we don't need to go.
It's friggin Monday by now,
but they get a point in Toronto.
Happy.
Again,
I go back to get the points.
And then Saturday
against Ottawa,
Dustin Wolf goes in.
Happy to see him get a start.
I thought he played, I thought he played fine.
Just, you know, too many goals.
Too many goals got behind him.
It was a problem.
I didn't think Lilar was sharp.
No.
Did you?
Or was I misreading that?
Are we worried about this?
I have not been in here.
And the reason I'm only worried about it is because what you and I can kind of tend to agree on is
a lot of people get very excited
about the flames prospects and how good everybody is
and then the rest of the league's like, well,
no, you're not getting a first
or a second or a third or anything from us
if you want us to take them off your hand.
We'd be happy to, I guess.
But all this,
all these people and players that were going to trade
for high value. Oh, yeah.
Are you trading floor?
Are you going to get out?
Pick up Vladar right now.
Makes 2.2 million.
Then you've got to give up something of substance to get him in terms of an asset.
You have to.
And then you have to believe that this is, cures what ails you.
This is the answer.
This is the upgrade.
And I, uh, he's been just okay.
So just.
Has he been okay?
What's his goals against this year?
Yeah.
I mean, I can, we can find it out here.
But no, it's not been.
there were times last year where he was playing incredibly well,
sometimes in losses, granted.
I think that there was the one game he was in Boston,
and I thought played pretty well and they lost that one,
but the Bruins were having an epic season.
Yeah, it's not, it's not great.
It's not idea.
No, it's not good at all, in my opinion, but whatever.
Anyway, where are we talking about the week?
Just kind of talking about the weekend.
The senators beat the flames by a score of four to one.
I like Wolf for whatever it's worth.
It's, it's,
it's fun watching him play the position.
Yep.
He,
you know, he's,
he's six foot,
so he's already a bit smaller,
which again,
he's tired of hearing this,
but just, you know,
his,
the kind of way he kind of crutches,
crouches down and he's kind of,
he's always in the play,
right?
Like he's part of it.
Yeah.
It's fun watching him,
uh,
play net,
which is,
which is,
you know,
by all means,
if anyone else wants to,
you know,
make us enjoy them playing that.
But anyway, so they come home,
they're going to come home after this game tomorrow against Montreal.
Not sure what to expect.
Montreal lost last night to Vancouver.
But I guess probably the big news or the bigger news
or what made headlines over the weekend
is coming out of that Toronto game where Dan Milstein,
the agent for Nikita Zedorov,
who we just talked about on Friday.
Now, I think Pinder has been more anti-Big Cat than us, for sure.
know what he is but i i i did i liked him what he had to say when he came out of the dressing
room a couple weeks ago not too many guys playing individually and we got to play as a team this
whole thing but so just just quickly interject not only because of what he said because of how he
does play there are mistakes but i do not doubt for one moment that nikita zad orov the
big cat the big is giving everything he has yeah yeah there's some try
He's invested and he cares about wins and losses.
That I do believe.
But it was, hmm.
Now, did he say it or did the agent say it, right?
That's one thing.
If there was no agent, would Nikita Zedorov have come out after the game and say,
I would rather play elsewhere.
Please, I've asked for a trade.
But it is inconvenient to on one hand talk about individuals caring only about themselves, sort of.
And then coming out and saying, I want out.
I think it speaks to bigger issues.
And I know what you're saying.
You're saying, well, you've got to look in the mirror.
If you're the guy saying, we have to be more team and we've got to be here together.
And I'm out of here.
Okay.
I get that people would be upset about that.
But I believed what he said.
And I think the agent is saying the other thing because he's fucking had it.
Yeah.
Yeah, I do too.
And I don't think it's because they lost to Toronto in a shootout.
I think there has to be more bullshit going on in that room.
And don't, I'm going to get wound up again.
There's going to be swearing.
Don't get me going.
Dean, just let it go.
I don't want to get you yelling and screaming again.
There's no fucking way it's changed that much from last year.
We've watched them again, shit the bed.
And they aren't playing as more of a team.
I thought there's been little bits and little glimpses of a change over the last week, maybe, as far as effort is concerned.
But you're starting from zero.
The bar was at fucking zero.
So you're up this much.
Like the rest of the league, you'd be looking at going, you guys are horse shit.
But because they set the bar so freaking low, any improvement, oh, well, we're 50% better.
Yeah, but you started at nothing.
nothing when i there for years we've questioned what's going on in that room and i think it's a
continuation and i don't know how with all the changes that have been made it can still be the
same i just don't understand it so clearly clearly something's going on in how many guys in the last
two years have asked to get the out of here yeah it in it i think the point yeah yeah kachuk
Lindhoma has kind of said it
Hanifin has said it
Backlin said it at one point
To Foley said it
Zedorov said it
You don't think
Codry and Hubert don't want to say it
Yeah they do
They just got new contracts
So they're kind of feeling sheepish
Than they shouldn't
Yeah
Like there is shit going on in there
How has no one gotten to the bottom of it?
I have a feeling you could probably lump Coleman in there
And there's not
I'm not
Yes
But he just strikes me as a guy
That's been part of
a culture of winning and he's been around that.
I was, I was going to say, I don't,
nothing has changed because there's been no standard set.
There's been no level of accountability.
I shouldn't say accountability because probably,
you know, Daryl certainly has that and I'm sure that Huska has that.
But there's no bar.
Yeah, like there's no bar of success that,
that says, guys, we're not, we should be better than this.
Here's what we should be.
Here's, why are we down here?
There's nothing.
It's just, I, I've, I've said,
it's just a group of players going out to play hockey every night.
There's nothing bigger than that.
And you look around the league and there are some teams that you have a history and a culture and an identity.
And these are all really catch phrases.
And there's nothing tangible about them.
But you can tell that the flames have none of it.
There's nothing been set here that says,
this is what it means to be on this team.
Here's how you have to play.
Here's what it means to wear this jersey kind of a thing.
They're farting to win.
and the point you make about Zadorov is probably the bigger point.
If you're frustrated, if it's like a well, F you want to out, then beat it.
We talked on Friday that out of all the guys on the back end that were UFAs.
He's maybe the one you want to keep because he cares and gives a shit and has some,
some bite to him, has those leadership qualities.
Couple things.
We can be wrong.
Maybe he's a pain in the ass.
Maybe he's moved around so much because he's part of the fucking problem.
I'm we're not in the room so that's fine too but you can also think he's a good piece and if he says
he wants out get him the out of here there's no room for people that don't want to be there and if
lindom don't want to be there and him and him then it's more imperative to just do it quit waiting
for this this the biggest christmas ever like we fell into a pot of
fucking gold and for some reason this trade deadline oh my god the rest of the teams are all going to go
brain dead and just give you everything like your whole fucking team's going to be first rounders for
the next two decades like what are you talking about if anyone was desperate for these guys they
to fucking went and got him.
Well, they're not there.
They're trying to hand Conroy a
anvil when he's swimming.
Yes and no.
These teams want to make the playoffs.
They want to improve.
They either believe the players that the flames have
are worth it or not.
You don't risk your chance at a Stanley Cup
because you're trying to screw Conroy out of a second.
Yeah.
There's this holy grail of picks and prospects
that's waiting for the flames.
Yeah.
So the flames are going to go to the dead.
line and they're going to move Hanifan and Lindholm and Zadouroff.
Who else needs to go?
One of the goalies.
And so they're going to make like five or six fucking move part.
I keep swearing.
I'm sorry.
Five or six moves at the deadline.
And we're going to get what?
What are we getting in return?
Like it must be Nirvana.
Like we're going to end up next year in first place overall because this return is
just going to be so good.
I worry.
We've talked about
Tanav has to go.
Something's going on. I got to
something's going on. I got kids. My daughter
had a sleepover. So I got giggling
girls all over. You know what?
We talked about it. You brought it up at the start of last year.
Elias Lindholm was on one of the best lines in the national
hockey league two years ago. And the
toast of the league. And the toast of the league.
And then his two linemates, both of them leave in the same off season.
And he's left by himself.
Yes, there's other guys that know how to play.
But all of, and then his points dip.
So it wasn't you.
It was them that made you good.
That's kind of what the mentality or what the, you know, the sentiment is going to be.
I think he needs to go.
I think his, and it has nothing to do with his play necessarily,
even though he's not playing as well as he could or should.
but I can't help but wonder if this is a guy who's been moping around for a while.
We know that Hubert owes moping around.
I don't know what Codry's situation is.
I think he can be a bit of a lightning rod for criticism.
I think Codd be a player, but he's not going to lead you.
He's going to be your backup.
And Michael Backland is back and that's great.
But I don't think Tanev is a leader,
but I don't think he would say shit if his mouth was full of it when it comes down to it.
Hadifin's a quiet guy.
There's just nothing.
There's nothing there.
And when you have guys in the room that are moping around,
it sucks the joy out of it for everybody else.
You can't win.
There's no team that wins when the emotion in the room is that,
and then you throw in Daryl, if they hate Daryl last year,
and it's all negative and black cloud and stuff,
that they were in the mix for a playoff spot at all,
maybe last year is miraculous almost.
And now they're not going to be.
from the looks of things in any kind of a hunt for a playoff spot if this continues.
I'm with you.
I think if you're just sitting and waiting,
the longer,
the longer you wait,
you risk injury,
certainly with Tanev.
Zedorov's play is as good right now as it's ever going to be.
Move them.
Get them out.
Get something now.
It may not be what,
again, I don't know what the,
you have to, again,
the only issue with moving guys now is the,
Cap.
You have to convince your owner to, because it's money and money out for most teams, right?
Somebody somewhere's got to chew on some money.
And if you can't convince your owner to do that, then it makes it tougher.
Our philosophy, I think what we're saying is correct.
And I think that it would have been wise to have just moved all these guys prior.
I thought that and wished it could have happened.
I understand the reason why some of this stuff didn't.
I can go back all the way to when they made the fucking trade.
for for Weger and
Huberto and saying,
why are we signing them to these massive deals
when we don't know what they are in Calgar?
Like we can go back a long way.
We can go back years before that
where the team doesn't show up
and compete or play hard
and you're going,
and the bullshit coming out,
oh, we love each other.
Like Geo's captain,
oh, we're the greatest leader
and we got all these great players
and we love each other.
It's just we're fine in our game.
No, you're not.
You have no emotion.
you have no care, you have no compete.
Get lost.
Don't try to sell me that BS.
And they've done it for years.
And I don't know what my rant is about right now,
but I'm sick of seeing it.
Well, you're right, because it still comes back to ownership.
If you have a plan in place that you believe can turn some things around,
but it involves moving players out and in the salary cap world,
it's harder than it's ever been.
So you've got to maybe eat some money.
And if the ownership isn't prepared to do that,
then yeah, it makes things even harder.
but I just how does a team start to put an identity in a field together and I know it's maybe not
the same because the Chicago Blackhawks they went through it for years they had Eric Dauze and Mark
Bell and like all they tried to rebuild and they were no good for a long time and no one wanted
to be in Chicago it was and then you started to get high draft picks and then your
some prospects started to come through and that's that young group
together, Taves, Kane, Seabrook, those guys as youngsters started to make Black Hawk hockey
what it came to be known as. And that's just what it's going to be here. You can't bring in 30-year-old
guys. Go back over the last, I've never done it. Have you ever done it? Can you off the top of your head?
Let's go. Who won the cup last year? Vegas. I don't know. Phenomenal. Yes. Year before that.
Tampa? Mm-hmm. Who's their ringleaders? First overall pick?
First overall pick, Stephen Stamcoast.
Edmund, Stamcoastafsky.
All first round guys, yeah.
Right?
Who else is wondering?
Chicago, you can just name those guys, all top, top high-end picks.
Boston?
Well, yeah, Boston a while back, but certainly Pittsburgh.
Pittsburgh?
Right?
First overall picks.
Washington?
Yeah, they all have top of the first round town.
On our teams, go into the whole.
Hall of Fame.
Who?
No one in there.
No one.
Who?
Honest to God.
Yeah.
L.A. when they won,
Doughty.
Quick.
Copatar.
Copitar.
Like, these are Hall of Fame guys.
Who's winning these fucking Stanley
Cups without Hall of Fame guys?
Yeah.
Maybe Vegas last year?
Only because Ickel's so young
you don't know.
Yeah.
Colorado, somebody's, yeah,
Nathan McKinnon.
Van Hollandiscag.
Menon, McCar?
Yeah.
What are we talking about?
And we're going to, dube?
No, no, no, no, no.
And there are no guarantees, right?
You can try a rebuild and it may not work.
But if this is the alternative.
Yeah.
If picking, if either trading away picks.
Who are the up-and-comers right now?
Out east.
Go out east.
You even go west.
you want. There's a team in BC that's doing pretty good. Who are their studs? Yeah,
Elias Pedersen's leading the league in scoring right now. Quinn Hughes is leading, I think he's
still leading defense and scoring. Yeah, you just go around, even go down to Anaheim. They're starting
to turn some things around. They've been bad forever, but they have some high picks. Leo Carlson
was second or third overall. There's your answer. Do you want to be competitive? One year
in and one year out? Or do you want to fucking win? Jesus, I swore again.
But it's frustrating.
And it's,
this and this is the opportunity, which is why some fans,
guys like Pinder are like, what, what are we doing?
Now is an opportunity.
It's a, it's forced upon you to rebuild almost in a sense.
It just makes sense to get something for these guys.
And I'm with you.
The ideal perfect world Nirvana idea is wait to the deadline because that's when
the bidding will be at its risk.
richest and people will be just taking wheel barrels down Olympic way to dump it off at Conroy's
office door. I just, I don't want to rule those guys.
I don't want to rule those guys. Honestly to God, if the Calgary Flames organization from
top to bottom want wheel barrels of return, get the owner to eat the money. That's where
you'll get the return. That's, you want to get your best return.
Mr. Edwards will have to chew on bad money.
Have to.
Not have to, but that will be your best return.
You want this guy?
Sure.
You want Vladar at a million?
Does that change anything?
Probably for a lot of teams.
Yeah, it would.
Right?
You got to eat a million bucks.
You want Hanif in it?
Two and a half?
Yeah, we'll trade for him right now.
We can get them at two and a half for the rest.
Damn right.
and you look at a team like Vancouver.
Why do they need to wait for the trade deadline?
We think we're good.
Let's add now.
Why wait?
Why wait till after Christmas?
Let's get better now and continue to roll.
How many trade deadline acquisitions are the key or the winning the, right?
Yeah.
The additions that take a team over the top.
Not very often.
There'll be accent pieces for sure.
They'll be,
support guys. So anyway, it's and you couple it. And again, is Connor Zeri or Matthew Coronado or
Dustin Wolf going to the Hall of Fame? I don't know. I, they would be great. But they've got a
better chance at doing it. Those guys, those guys have that you're starting to see what youth can do.
We're kind of a broken record. And God, we just want it to happen. Because it's, it's painful to
what's what's going on here and it's the same just watching it the the toilet drain it's out
there's Ola Yoken and Todd Bertuzi and Owen Nolan right like just it it's never worked for
them but they keep trying the same recipe when Brower sorry it's true in the rest of the league
yeah so that's what it is I think for a lot of people that are hoping that it's just going to be so
clear there will be no confusion there can't be any for for ownership and in my message to conroy
would be you don't have to be in 10 years when people look back at this you don't have to have
to have been so wickedly better at general managing because you can't be because you will win
and lose that you you outsmarted them by waiting and oh my god your your brilliance showed like
get them out get them out and start putting your plan in place and start building maybe you get a third
instead of a second well you still have to make a good pick like it no one's handing you the keys
to success in five years you're going to have to make decisions and choices and get on with it
get on with it because waiting sure there's patience but lots of guys have shown patience and it hasn't
helped out, right? So just go. Do your best and let things happen how they'll happen.
And again, we've said it till we're blue in the face. To trade these guys away now or this season is not
throwing in the towel on the season. You have them. You have them. You have them.
Yeah, you've got them on the ice nightly. And you're you've got whatever it is for friggin wins.
You're not good enough with them.
What's the alternative being not good without them?
But I'm with you.
You get more caps in there?
You have three wins instead of four right now?
Yeah, I don't know.
And I don't think that those guys that you have are the ones that carried you to those
victories anyway.
Oh, we can't trade Markstrom because, I mean, he's to eat half and tell me you can't trade Markstrom.
Four eight and two is the, so four wins in 14 games.
And I don't see any reason to think that there's going to be.
Who's going to make the playoffs first?
Who would you pick?
You got a hundred bucks burning a hole in your pocket right now.
Are you betting on the flames or the oilers to make the playoffs?
Well, yeah, it'd be Evanton for sure.
Exactly.
So what's the pipe dream that we, what are the odds of the flames making the playoffs now?
They can't be very good.
But we're going to, because we're fans, we have to really.
realize that the math just don't add up and the team doesn't play in a way that gives you any hope anyway?
Like, just be, hey, hey, Flames Fence, put your glasses back on and start cheering.
All right.
And the fans here, you know what?
They just want to be entertained.
And I think they would be just as eager to buy tickets and support the team that is going young and bringing in some kids who play with some
zip as opposed to guys who are watching the clock run out.
I get a bunch of kids and go get,
I don't care if it's Reeves, but go get that Deloree.
Go get and who,
they're not trading Tom Wilson probably,
but even if,
but guys like that and put them on every line,
let them bang and crash it.
If there's any shit that happens,
the flame spans will be out in droves.
Yeah.
I just go back to the way it was when it was,
when it was that influx of talent.
Now, granted, Bennett was a high pick,
but you had Goddrow and Monaghan and Bennett
and just younger guys coming in.
And it was instant.
I don't know that they won any more games
than they would have if they'd have kept Tangay and those guys.
But it was just, it was more exciting.
It was the, what maybe have we got here?
So now, and, you know, just to go back to Zedorov,
I don't know what they do there.
I'm with you.
Would have liked it if you'd stayed.
But if you're not in, you're not in.
And usually sometimes these things happen.
We talked about waivers when Elliot threw that thing out a couple weeks ago
that they might put a veteran on waivers.
That sometimes that happens.
It's a GM's response to the agent and player when he's like,
I've tried to trade you.
And you may not believe me, but I have tried.
I'm not asking for the moon.
I have tried.
I'm going to put you on waivers and see if anybody will take you just for the cost of your contract.
and then they go through waivers and then usually the volume goes down.
But I wonder for Milstein, who is the agent for Zedorov,
if that little tactic was maybe a, okay,
you say you've tried to trade him.
What GMs has he talked to that he thinks there's a good deal to be had for the flames?
And Conroy's not, that's how I read this.
So sometimes I just think it's frustration on the agent's part to say,
look, we want out, get us out.
Yeah.
And I've talked to some GMs.
and I know there's deals to be had, Craig,
and you're not pulling a trigger.
Yeah.
That's what I think.
And I see it from Craig's standpoint,
because he's going to be judged by everything he does right now.
And if you make a bad deal.
He's probably like, it's the same as Lindholm-Kajuberdo.
Out of those three, who do you want?
I think I wanted Lindholm,
although it looks like he's pouting and has packed it in,
to be honest, don't you think?
Yeah, he's not coming back.
He has no interest in staying.
And so, but even if you wanted Lintome,
but my point is Conroy might want Zadora of out of all these guys
because he does like his jam.
Yeah.
And now he's like, shit, I got to get rid of you.
I kind of like you.
Like, I'm going to get through this, keep you,
and get rid of the other bastards.
But the agent's probably going, no, no chance.
And end of the day, they're doing you, they're doing you a solid
because you don't want to sign guys, take a look.
You don't want to sign guys to extensions.
And then 60 games in, 80 games, 150 games in.
We signed this guy to a five, six, seven year deal.
And we're a year and change in.
And already we regret it and he regrets it.
Here's the lesson.
Keep a bunch of guys that are hungry and wants to work or trying to find success.
Not the guys that have had success.
And they're collecting checks.
Yeah.
And yeah, you got to get some draft picks.
You got to get some youth for sure.
But man, it wouldn't be get a good prospect out of each deal.
What are we talking?
Two, three, four deals?
What have you had another two or three young guys into this mix of Zeri and
Pospisal and Wolf?
And stop worrying about Calgary being in Calgary and in Alberta.
and in Canada.
There is only one way to fix that.
When?
Win.
This only way.
I don't care if you have a new rank.
Sure, that's better.
But they are not coming.
Every rink in the league is good.
Where's the shitty rink?
Scottsdale?
Ask 100 hockey players.
Would they rather play in Scottsdale at the small rink
and live in Scottsdale?
Or in Calgary at a new rink?
they're not coming to Calgary because of a new arena.
That will help keep them and make them happier.
Sure.
But that's not enough to go longer.
I got to go to Calgary.
They got a new rink.
Well, so does Detroit.
And so, like, all these places have nice facilities.
We're going to be so much nicer.
Our hot tub and cold tub are going to be that much better.
I don't think so.
No, you start winning and all of a sudden,
Banff is about 10 minutes closer.
And the temperature is about 5.
five degrees higher in winter, and the winter's a little bit shorter than it used to be.
It make no mistake.
It's not the most desirable place in the National Hockey League, but things change when you're on a winning team.
And yeah, there will be a new building and a city that supports you and and and, but it's got to start there.
Win.
I want to do a little bit of this.
It's interesting that we're talking about this as I get ready to talk about.
finning and finning cat with a little I dig it for you today. Get ready to save with the
Finning Black Friday sale. It kicks off November 20th, savings on new used and rental equipment.
In addition, there will be deals on finning parts and service. November 20th to 24th,
look out for daily specials and those will last each for an entire week. It gives you the chance
to take advantage and save big on the things you need to keep your business running. For more
information, go to finning.com slash black Friday or, where is it here? There, the QR code. You can
click that QR code on the screen, Finning Cat. Cat is a proud partner of the NHL. A little bit of
I dig it today for Finning Cat while we're talking about prospects and trying to pick high. Now
this is exaggerating to make a point, but this Connor Bernard kid, I dig them.
He was at it again yesterday.
Watch the move he makes here in the corner.
A little bit of boop, steal the puck, roof.
And then gives the Florida fans a little bit of how she going down the glass.
Look at click, skate, short side roof.
That's, it's, and it happens so fast.
I mean, it's so fast.
And then the same game, he's at it again,
kind of grabs a loose puck along the wall, cuts in,
backhand, forehand posting in.
And like, like,
the goal is looking at you like beat it, you punk.
It's like, what happened here?
Click, click,
zing. Not bad.
This guy in his rookie season is just tearing things up.
And it was funny, I saw a clip on the weekend.
He was talking one of his teammates like,
Jesus, I can't shoot the puck.
I don't know what's going on.
I'm not getting shots away, blah, blah, blah.
It's like, you're, you're doing just fine.
Just hang in.
there and is it fair that Chicago has you know after cane and taves or whatever he's got 13 points
in 13 games point per game nine goals in his uh in his in his first season Chicago wasn't afraid to do
get bad cut bait yeah and you and there's probably some guys they could have done it sooner with
yes they made hard decisions with cane and taves but they didn't languish for five to eight years
thinking that these guys were going to find their way again.
Yeah.
And I mean, could it be argued that they could have done it a year or two earlier?
Maybe.
But there again, two things.
You've got a salary cap.
Both guys are making north of 10.
Who could take on a $10 million player?
And B, they have no trades.
They kind of control things.
And when you've won three cups, there is a bit of that.
What do you want to do?
You've resurrected the franchise.
You've brought Stanley Cups.
We've had parades and banners and rings.
and everything. How do you want this to go?
But yeah, they made some tough decisions.
And they got lucky. They won a draft lottery in a year
where there's a transformative player.
And God, is he fun to watch? I dig it.
The flames could have been part of that.
Yeah, they could have been.
They could have been.
Sorry, I could have jumped on here. I dig it.
No, not at it. I was just thinking of how they could have been.
Well, because when Goddrow and Cachuk decided
to leave you go okay we're redoing this goodbye lindholm and you sell it as we got handed a bag of
crap and they did they really did i think that they they tried to read they didn't try
they had moderate success true living had moderate success putting a plan in place to build a team
You got Monaghan, Goddrow, Bennett, who didn't pan out like you hoped.
Cachuk, though, like, they did a lot of the good things.
They had the pieces in place.
And those guys decided to leave, which is they're right.
And as soon as they did, they should have said, we got to do this again.
Got to do it again.
And they should have been smart enough to go, there's a kid out there.
But I guess it's easy to say.
It's easy to say.
we'll wrap it up here once again finning cat it's the
it's the finning black friday sale it kicks off november 20th
savings across the board new used and rental equipment in addition
we'll get us have those deals on finning parts and service
that's from the 20th to the 24th look out for daily specials
each of those will last for an entire week gives you a chance to take advantage and save
big for more info finning dot com slash black friday or you can hit that QR code
Finning Cat, Cat, a proud partner of the NHL.
And great to have Finning on board with us here at Flames Nation and Barnburner.
The one other thing that's interesting to think about now, and again, hindsight being what it is,
and we have the luxury of that.
But what it, not only if you take Hubert O, and Weger kind of gets lumped in there, I'm
okay with Weiger, it's kind of whatever, he's fine.
I haven't liked him a ton this year.
but what if what if you went young what were the other offers what if you didn't get cadre
what if you even made the florida trade and didn't sign those fellas you would have got a
first rounder for huberto easy last year at the trade deadline you would have got a first
rounder probably last year at the trade deadline all of a sudden your cupboards are restocked
or should be.
And you wouldn't have lost...
You would not have got rid of the Monaghan first rounder.
You have three or four, five more first rounders.
What are we talking about?
And it would have been no better...
The only downside to doing it that way,
and I preached it when they effing sign these guys,
the only downside was a re...
was a Goddreau scenario happening again.
Where, oh, my God,
Huberto had a hundred and some points
and he doesn't want to resign
and we got now you risk lose
how often has that happened
in the course of the history of the NHL
it's it made me down
I'm just trying to think it
it's a colossally bad
deal
yeah
Cachuck is a superstar
a team every team in the league would want him
you got back a player who had the biggest plummet in terms of points from one year to the next.
But also one of the largest jumps in points.
23 more assists than the year before.
You can't have one without the other.
And my point being, yes, he plummeted back.
But what really was he?
I think we were sold a bunch of bullshit.
you heard his name and he was always
yeah okay point get some points good player good player
he was never
ever once in a conversation I had with anyone
referred to as a guy you have to have on your team
and he's a super stall Hall of Fame type player
yeah he had 115 points
and I didn't I don't recall hearing that much about it
how 115 points
and again, maybe I'm making,
I didn't pay enough attention,
which I tend to do,
but I'm not buying that this guy
was the do-all end all.
Go look at his points.
And tell me why.
Everyone thinks he's a hundred point guy.
Yeah, it was once.
I just have to be honest
because at the time,
I thought it was a great deal.
It was a good deal.
The deal was good.
The bad part of the deal was a sign.
It wasn't the trade that was bad.
It was the signing that was bad.
It was the all in.
We don't know what we have in Calgary.
These guys have never fucking played before.
And chemistry matters in the NHL.
And Lindholm just lost his two best buddies.
And I don't know what I'm going to have in that room,
but I'm going to fucking put it all in on, throw in all my chips.
Yeah.
That's what it was.
It has nothing to do with the trade.
The trade's fine.
Don't sign those guys.
It's real simple.
Well, we can't risk losing them like we lost control.
How often does it happen?
And don't trade him at the deadline.
If he won't sign, he's gone.
Playoffs be damned.
And at the time, the, you know, the emotion in the city and around the team, it was fragile.
Because Goddrow left.
And now Cichuk wants out.
And here's a guy coming in.
Even if, even if he wasn't 115, he was a top, he was a top six, top three, he was a top guy.
Look at the stats.
But I mean, there's a 92 point season in there.
There's two above what, 80.
But then take a lot, but he's over a point of game.
I'm not saying there's a lot big difference.
No, but in a deal where Kachuk says,
I want out, here's five teams that I'll go to.
I'm not saying the deal was bad.
I'm saying 10.5 not knowing.
Oh, yeah, I mean, honestly, I think that Trilliving or the flames were just
in a headspace, they were prepared to pay $10 million to Godreau.
And now here's a guy that's over a point of game.
And he'll stay.
We need got, we can't, our city and technically he's not over a point of game.
Like if we would look at it.
Well, he was over those four years.
92.
Why do the other four years not fucking matter?
Or however many.
Like he's got 764 games, 675 points.
That's not a point of game.
That's not an 80 point guy.
But in his 29, 28, 27, 26 year old seasons,
he was over a point of game, starting in 1819,
92 and 82 and 82.
Then in the shortened year he had 78 and 69,
then 61 and 55 and 115 and 80.
I don't think 115 stands out to you?
No, for sure it does.
But just look at the game.
played. I don't know if
if you pro rate that 55
game year to 82
or whatever. Look, I,
this is, I can't, there's
no, there's no debating it.
But the point, now that you know
where you are, and you think,
even if you make this deal, do you
spin those guys off last year at the
deadline, or what were those other, because you heard
St. Louis, you heard Carolina,
what were those offers?
Were those, did they
have firsts and Jordan
Cairo or
Marty Natchez, those were the names
that were kind of bandied about.
And then you get another raft
of firsts from this year's
expiring contracts.
But there was no way
when that went
down that ownership was going to say,
okay, well, let's just completely change
course. We just want to play off round.
We had a game seven overtime goal.
The city's lit up.
Pack her in.
There was no way ownership was going to let you do it.
And in fairness, I think it probably would have been hard to do it.
Because even at the start of last season,
there were a lot of people who were saying this team might be better than last year's team.
Yeah, you got no Kuchuk and no, no goodrow.
But look at this.
Look at the guys you brought in.
Might be better.
Yeah, you got a group of players.
Yeah.
This, is it this Thursday?
We're going to Greta.
Pinder apparently is going to come back to Calgary.
and we're going to Greta.
Greta is our home for live watch parties throughout the season.
Afterburner doing afterburners there.
It should be your spot before and after the game.
Grab a cocktail, something from the menu.
Maybe get into the game yourself, over 50 arcade games from vintage to state of the art.
Load up some credits on your Greta game card and get at it.
Greta Calgary located at 2.13 10th Avenue Southwest.
Check them out online at Greta Bar.com.
We have got the Thursday night football game,
Vancouver and Calgary are playing at the dome.
And Pinder has to finally make good on his chicken nugget bet.
We had a fantasy football bet a couple of years ago.
Me versus him, and he's always quick to tell you,
I had a bad team, and Boomer had a good team.
Hey, me, they don't make the deal.
We had a bet that whoever lost would have to eat the number of points,
whatever the point differential was in defeat in chicken nuggets.
And he lost by 42.
Tremendous timing.
So yeah, he's going to sit down and we'll stop talking long enough to shovel 42 chicken nuggets into space.
He's probably a bit of training on his trip here.
He's probably,
maybe, maybe.
Again, I don't know that he stops talking long enough to eat.
That's probably why he's skinny, I guess.
I don't know.
So that's coming up on Thursday.
We'd love to see.
Again, 2.13. 10th.
Avenue Southwest. It's no ticket at a vet. Just come on by. They've got a great spot on the one side of
the bar. They've got the TVs above the bar. There's a bar. Restaurant. It's a great spot.
Looking forward to getting there on Thursday. We'll do the Pinder Report. It was a busy weekend.
I don't know if you knew that. There was football. There was hockey. CFL.
Sport football. Yeah. Yeah. From now until November 30th at Village Honda, they're holding
their veterans food drive.
Village invites you to stop by the dealership
with non-perishable food items to help fill
the Honda Ridgeline that's currently
sitting in the showroom. They're going to fill it up and then
drop it off at the Veterans Food Bank
of Calgary. That's again, until the end of the month,
stop by Village Honda. And while you're
there grabbing a cord, grab a
ridge line, buy the one. When you're
done taking all the food to the food bank
for the veterans, toss me
the keys to that Ridge Line. I'm taking that sucker
home. You can do that. They're going to allow
but Northwest Auto Mall online at village honda.com.
Village Honda presents the Pinder Report.
We will start.
Yes, we've talked a lot of flames.
We continue going back to the weekend.
A extra time lost to Toronto and then a 4-1 defeat at the hands of the Ottawa
senators.
Dustin Wolfe made 34 saves in that Senator's game,
Blake Coleman, the lone goal.
Nice feed from Marty Pospisal.
It's got three points and four games since getting that call.
So for the team after wins over Seattle and Nashville,
it's back-to-back losses.
Four, eight, and two.
They wrap up the three-game Eastern trip
tomorrow in Montreal.
Practice lines.
Today's a practice day out in La Belle Provence.
Maybe go for some schmoked meat
while they're out there.
Julian McKenzie, good guy,
firing out the lines here.
So a little different, for sure.
Lindholm, still at center,
Manjupani on his right side,
but Huberto off Ruzichka in,
the line of cadre, Zari, and Pospasal stays together.
Backland and Coleman remain a duo.
Huberto goes to the left side there.
Sharon Govich with Dubay and Walker Duer with Greer,
skating is the extra.
Rosie's been a got, being getting a lot of vice time, right?
Which one?
Rosie Greer or Ruzich.
I haven't minded him.
Yeah.
I mean, he's never going to be one of those guys that's so electrifying.
Like, whoa, I got to get a jersey because this guy's unbelievable.
But he has made some plays.
He's, he's, he's stronger on the puck.
He's hanging on to it a little bit.
God, it's baby steps.
And it does feel like, boy, the cried wolf, because we've talked about this for a lot.
He goes on a little run and he gets some points.
Hey, there you go.
All right, Rosie.
Let's keep her going.
And then he doesn't keep her going.
So this would seem to.
be a pretty good opportunity to play with Lindholm and Manjapani.
The D. Pairs, Weiger Anderson, Hanof, and Tanev, Zedorov, and D. Simone.
So Denny Jilbert continues to watch.
I thought D. Simone's been all right, though.
He has quietly. I agree. I think he's been just fine.
Nikita Zedorov by way of his agent online has requested a trade out of Calgary.
The kind of throughout Toronto. Hey, Toronto. Get your tickets.
to watch Nikita Zedorov something along the lines of this.
You know who didn't appreciate that was Bradshaw Living.
I don't know why I got roped into all of this, but thanks for that.
I appreciate that.
So Zadorov continues to skate, continues to play.
Will it be traded sooner?
Later remains to be seen.
I know that Conroy spent, he did not go, at least immediately,
did not go to Ottawa with the team.
That's why when you were watching the game, you saw Dave Nones and Don Maloney up in the press box.
I think he was part of the Hall of Fame
Sir. Yeah. Mike Vernon going into the
into the Hall of Fame. I'm happy. You know what?
Happy for Vernie. You forget how much goes into that and how much
I mean, they just gush the praise and the love over these
men and women when they go into the Hall of Fame. You know what though?
And I,
maybe it's because I know him personally and I've been around them
and I've played against him. And he's such
part of the community in Calgary
he's so genuine
like I was actually almost
emotional watching him talk
in between periods the other day
yeah because to me he's just
he's just a guy that's
ended up in a situation
and it didn't change him he's just
happy for everyone
that guy's a good guy I like
hey how's it going good to see it
it's it's walking down
4th Street in Calgary
hey Bernie
and that
It's who he is, and that's what you get.
And I think it partially because of that, when he was inducted into the hall,
I think a lot of people were like, well, it's Vernie, right?
That says, is he a Hall of Famer?
And then you go back and look at the numbers.
It's like, oh, yeah, there was that run in Detroit.
And he continued to play late into his career.
San Jose Sharkley, there's a lot there that you don't realize.
And I think it is because of that, because when you see him, he's just Bernie.
What's up, Bernie?
Yeah.
Proud him.
I mean, not that it matters if I'm proud of him, but I was that, it was, it was, it was pretty happy to watch him telling stories and bullshit and there's, there's nothing fake about it.
Yeah.
No, he's, he's, he's Bernie.
He is Bernie.
So pretty cool.
He, uh, the ring, the jacket, the ceremony.
It's been a very cool weekend.
Uh, no question for him.
Uh, and yes, Zadora wants him.
So we'll see how that goes.
Good old Conroy.
I wonder how he's doing.
You know, because you talk about a normal guy.
Oh, geez, guys.
Oh, gosh, Guy.
Oh, now, oh, Nikita.
See, how come you had to?
Oh, geez, you know, I'm trying.
You know, gosh, geez.
I love him.
NHL last night.
We mentioned earlier, Vancouver beat Montreal,
Vancouver Flames tomorrow night, Vancouver.
They continue to roll.
They beat Montreal 5 to 2.
They are 11, 3, and 1.
Not bad.
They've collected 11 wins through their first 15 games for the first time ever.
So this is a historically good start.
Quinn Hughes, 18th assist and 23rd point of the season.
He's elite company now, as far as points through the first 15 games of a year for a defenseman.
Second defenseman to do it in multiple years because he did it last year as well.
Bobby O're the last to do it.
Not bad.
Had 21 and 15 in 6970 and 21 and 15 and 7475.
So Quinn Hughes is doing okay.
Elias Pedersen is leading the league in points.
Didn't have a point last night and still is tops in the league.
So you okay with it?
It's Vancouver.
I am, and I think part of the reason is because they've had to deal with a bunch of bullshit
as a franchise for quite a while.
They've been put through the ringer there
with their GM, their owners
made some questionable decisions
and make no mistake.
They have not been very good for a long time.
When's the last time they had a good team?
Dallas thumped Minnesota 8 to 3, Joe Pavelski.
His 100th goal as a Dallas star.
When he signed...
He's done. He's going to play one maybe two.
I mean, when he signed that deal,
it was, ooh, this is...
This is a retirement deal.
Balls are by Stars here.
Yeah.
The Stars had five power play goals against the Wild last night.
Decent.
Artemi Panarin extended his season opening point streak
to a franchise record tying 14 games.
So from game 1 to 14, at least a point in every game,
Rod Gilbert, the last Ranger to do that.
Where is Panarin?
He's second in league scoring 24 points in those 14.
14 games. William Neelander, the Leaf who is unsigned. What are you going to do there?
Your Living? He's got a point in 15 straight to start the season.
We got goalies. We got Cennerman. We got D. What do you need? Oh, Willie. Willie was born in
Calgary. Isn't that what it was? Get him in. Get him in. Two games tonight. One, we have not talked about,
which we'll get into here in a moment. The debut of Chris Knoblock behind the Evanton Oilers,
Bench's head coach.
Chuck's boy.
New kid on the knob block.
That's right.
They fired.
Oh, the ball player.
Yeah, and then, and then he was the one that got the yips,
right?
He couldn't throw from short to first.
Yeah, then it fell apart.
And it was all over.
Then he decided to coach.
So we, we celebrated last week.
The loss of the Oilers to the San Jose Sharks,
we reveled in it.
We had a great time.
Raised a glass, I think.
made a toast of crown royal to the San Jose sharks as a group.
Yeah.
And then the Oilers would go and beat Seattle.
And then Jay Woodcroft fired on Sunday morning.
The Oilers are 3-9 and 1, 7th in the Pacific ahead of only the San Jose Sharks,
2-7 and 1 in their last 10.
They have yet to win a game at home, 04 and 1.
Their win, the one home win came at the outdoor game.
So whatever.
going to do there. So who is knoblock? He's 47. Imperial. Or sorry, he's 45, be a first time
NHL head coach, which is what you said they cannot do. You cannot bring in a rookie. You can't
bring in a guy who's untested. But what he does have is coaching experience with Connor
McDavid. I don't know if you know. I don't know if you knew this. I think I mentioned something about
him being involved in a lot of the decisions last week as well.
Yes, we'll get into that.
Knoblock was coaching the Rangers
AHL team in Hartford the last four years,
but he was Connor McDavid's junior coach in Erie.
I can reach out to Jay McKee, see if, uh, see what kind of guy.
Cheese.
He was coached with him.
Is that right?
Uh, so.
One saving grace for this bugger.
Uh-huh.
His birthplace.
Right.
Do you want to do it again?
Imperial.
Imperial, which is, what's the,
It's east of Alberta.
Right.
Okay.
So just that he's a, he's from a Sasker.
Okay.
All right.
He's got to be good.
Yeah, that's right.
So interesting.
There have been awkward press conferences held.
The Flames had one last year.
If you remember.
Sometimes the gold.
Awkward can also be awesome.
It's the word you want to use.
Yeah.
So you had
Kenny Holland and Jeff
Jeff Jackson, who is actually Carter McDavid's former agent,
who is now, he's kind of running the Oilers.
Weird.
Less is boy.
So two kind of messages.
Somebody went to the effort and the work here of kind of putting them together.
The question was, did you consult the players before making this move?
The first person you'll see is Kenny Hall and see if you notice a bit of a difference
in opinion here.
I did talk. I have talked over this past week with some of the veterans on our team.
I'm not going to tell you what they said. I take the information. I ultimately have to make, I have to make decisions.
Obviously, Jeff's got a long, long relationship with Connor. You can probably talk about that.
Yeah, no, I mean, we didn't consult with the players on this decision.
Never spoke with Connor or Leon or Nuge or Nurser or any of the.
other leadership group these guys are here to play hockey that they they know that
that's what they want to do they don't like being involved in these types of
decisions that's my experience so the fact that you know Chris was Connor's
coach in Erie in 2014 15 it it only has somebody to do with this because I think
Chris Knoblock's a very good coach Connor didn't have anything to do with this
decision and neither did the other leadership group.
Let's clear my throat so I can tell this with all seriousness and truth.
Yes, yes, I have talked to the players over the last week.
No, no, we didn't talk to the players.
So great.
And then you have...
I don't disagree.
I don't think the players do like being part of it for the book.
No, they probably don't.
Could you, could I not?
Yeah.
And the fact that this was Connor's coach, it just means, it's just totally circumstantial.
Pishaw is what I would say to that.
You want to go down the conspiracy route.
Go ahead.
Why are you guys trying to stir up shit?
Disinformation.
This would be labeled disinformation by the fact checkers.
So good.
In addition, now Dave Manson was also.
fired.
Feel bad for Dave.
He's had a tough go.
He's had a tough go.
So he is out along with Woodcroft.
And Paul Coffey is in,
who basically said at the press conference yesterday,
no, I didn't want the job.
I was very happy just kind of doing what I was doing.
But, you know,
Kate's, I respect Kate's and I'll do anything for Daryl.
So he asked.
And so, yeah, I guess I'll do it.
But no, I didn't really want to do this at all.
It was a tremendous, it was tremendous press conference.
So good.
Oh, you think?
Yeah, maybe, maybe.
So back to Kenny Holland.
This, he had more to say, less about knob block and more about the outgoing Jay Woodcroft.
When I talked yesterday afternoon, the team was on the road, obviously in Seattle,
and made a decision that we were going to, obviously, to get the wheels in motion.
We have to, we have to get permission from the Rangers.
had to obviously negotiate a contract.
You know, we played Saturday, played Monday, we played Wednesday.
So whether it was yesterday or the day before, it wasn't something they could just transpire in 12 hours.
It was, you know, we got to, we had to get him from Hartford to here.
So officially made the decision at some point in time, Saturday during the game and made the decision that when we got home last night, that I would talk, I would meet with Jay and Dave.
and I met with him this morning.
So there you go.
Woodcroft,
granted it's a small sample size,
but his winning percentage is tremendous.
He had great success with the Oilers.
There's playoff success in there.
I don't know.
I mean,
are they better off today?
I don't know if Woodcast is a good coach.
I don't know if Knoblox is a good coach.
I know that you're inheriting a,
a player.
and maybe two players that are Hall of Fame caliber.
And where they go is where you'll end up.
You're going to try and squeeze and get more from the other guys,
but let's be honest, who's carrying this team?
It's been a lot of coaches.
Now, again, it's glass houses.
I get it.
But this is another one.
You go back to the year 2000.
Craig McTavish, by far and away,
had the longest stay of 650 or 656.
And then both Pat Quinn and Tom Rennie came in at about the same time.
Quinn lasted the season.
Tom Rennie, two years.
Then Ralph Kruger for 48 games.
Dallas Aiken's just over a year.
Craig McTavish, interim coach.
Todd Nelson, remember him, 51 games behind the bench.
Then Todd McClellan came in and lasted, you know, three seasons.
And looking, now Tom McClellan's running.
the Kings who looked like they've got their stuff together.
Ken Hitchcock for 62 games, Dave Tippett, Woodcroft, and now Noblock.
It's a lot of coaches.
It's a lot of coaches.
And some guys have been here for a lot of coaches.
I know that Ryan Eugene Hopkins, of course, signed the extension.
He's been here a long time.
He's had a lot of coaches.
I would be very concerned that now.
Conner's too involved and Ken Holland's not in the.
involved enough.
It's a good point you bring.
I was, because I was going to ask you,
if you think that knob blocks there by coincidence,
you're fooling yourself, this is,
they're doing whatever they can to keep Connor happy.
And that, so his,
his agent starts running the team,
his junior coach is now coaching the team.
I don't know,
I don't know that I do any difference.
Buddies are on the team.
Yeah, Connor Brown,
his linemate from junior got,
brought in.
I'd probably do much the same, I think.
What do we do to keep this guy happening?
To a certain extent, though, right?
Yeah.
So now it's on Knoblock to see if he can do
what Jay Woodcroft didn't, and I'm not sure.
It's the shitty.
Just to be an argumentative prick,
I don't think it's on McDavid again.
Fucking Knoblock ain't there because of his resume.
It's who we coached.
And that's fine.
I don't begrudge knoblock
it's a good Sasker
but the only
there's one reason he's there
because he knows Connor McDavid
and Connor McDavid likes him
this is nothing to do with him
Connor's gonna have to step it up
and you know what and he will
and it's not because
and it's not because
knoblock's the coach it's just they're
those guys are too good
to be where they're at it's
I don't know historically
bad but you hear it all the time
regression to the mean
And he and Leon are just going to get back to where they traditionally play,
which is over point per game guys, power play 30%.
You're going to outscore some problems.
So yeah, it may not happen right away,
but knoblock is going to be the beneficiary of that.
And I think somewhere Woodcroft will be saying, shit.
Could you have started that a week earlier or 10 days earlier because I probably still have my game?
Well, where did he go wrong?
is my curiosity with Woodcroft
because those guys
stopped performing for them
and whether it was circumstantial
I don't know why they're not
where they should be because they aren't
they should be better than they are
and what will knob block do differently
and if things don't change
is he going to put Conner's feet
to the fire?
Yeah, are you putting him upstairs?
You benching him in the third period?
What's he going to do?
I mean, what's any one?
one going to do to the best player maybe ever.
But what do you do differently?
What do you need, Connor?
You think that Woodcroft is going,
no, you can't do that.
I don't want to play that way.
Not a chance.
McDavid says, I want to do this.
Okay, we'll do that.
I think that probably part of it,
and you hear some of it out of Edmonton,
is that Woodcroft, good guy,
but the players just kind of saw him as a good guy,
nice guy coach kind of thing.
The defensive structure that they tried to,
employ didn't work and he couldn't pivot quickly enough.
And I just, it seems like the players just didn't believe he was going to be able to get
them out of it.
But if you're not Connor and you're the rest of the group, like how much does McDavid have
to sell the rest of these guys to listen to the new coach?
There's got to be some of that, right?
Like, sure.
Maybe I'm an idiot, but last week you said it, I'm like, you can't bring in some new guy again.
you got to have someone with some history and a guy that has a reputation,
you know what you're going to get so that he can take over the room and run it the way
it needs.
What the hell do I know, I guess?
But I got to think that if McDavid's going into the room going, dude, we've got to listen to this.
He's really good, you know, whatever it might be.
The other thing that would be curious, too, is do guys feel like they have to be a little bit guarded now around Connor?
I mean, if you're pissed off with the coach and you know that the coach and him are tight,
are you saying, I can't believe I got bench.
What are we doing here?
I wonder if you're having to be a little bit tight-lipped.
I don't like it.
You're not critiquing.
I don't recall.
Again, my team, I never played with the best player in the world, blah, blah, blah.
Jerome Gala wasn't begging for coaches.
Connor Mc, sorry, Crosby.
I don't think he's gone and begged for certain coaches.
Ovechkin, I don't think has.
I don't remember Gretzky doing it.
I don't remember Messier doing it.
I don't remember Lemieux doing it.
There is a bunch of changes that have come across almost societally,
if that's a word.
Last year, how the flames got rid of Daryl Sutter
for good or for bad.
thing for bad because it just appears
that he knew exactly what the hell was going on
and they didn't like it
and they've got them, they ran
him out of town. It doesn't
see, all these things that
never used to happen
they sure
seem like it's socially
acceptable and doable now.
And I would guess
none of it's going to work out for the best.
Well, and you saw it in that
press clip, which again was edited for
effect. But
that Jackson would come out and say,
no, we didn't talk to any players.
The players don't want to be involved.
We didn't talk to anybody.
When Ken Holland basically said,
yeah,
I've been talking to the players for a couple weeks now.
I don't think,
I just think of a guy like Sidney Crosby.
You would go to him and ask how things are.
You'd want a temperature of the room.
You're the captain.
What's going on in there?
But to your point,
I want the honesty.
If you don't think the coach is working,
then I want your opinion.
And then we use that,
obviously, but I don't know that has there been a coach that has tight ties to guys like
Crosby or Ovechkin that you bring up. It's not a good look. Now, maybe it works. And then
that's how every team will do it. Get your best player and get whoever's worked with him and who
he likes. And then there's harmony and there's winning. But it doesn't feel like, I'm with you.
It does not feel like a recipe for success. And it's nothing to do with Noblock, who's probably a very good
coach, but I think probably Woodcroft is a very good coach, too, and was a scapegoat here,
because the players, their offense went in the shitter.
I just feel for Edmonton T's and peace.
I hope it works out.
God, I hope it works out.
I don't want any stumbling blocks, no.
People stop going to the ice palace up there and having drinks and fun.
Northlands used to be a place to get to.
God, because you know what?
It's going to get so bitterly cold up there right away.
late November and December in Edmonton or Northern Alberta.
NFL five games yesterday.
I don't know if you saw it.
Five games ended on the final play of the game.
Drama!
We bitch and complain sometimes that the Thursday nighters or the Monday
nighters don't have anything.
It came down to the wire in five spots.
Cleveland beats Baltimore and a last second field goal.
The Browns trailed for 59 minutes and 20 seconds before getting the last second win.
I was kicking myself because the line was five and a half for the Ravens.
And I didn't get into my,
my betway in time to get the five and a half.
And then they went up by a touchdown.
Yeah, like 40 seconds in.
I was like, Christ, Almighty.
They cover less than a minute in and they're just going to cruise.
The gambling gods looking after me yesterday.
So yeah.
No team in 23 seasons.
The last 23 years has won a game after being down that long.
as the Browns were yesterday.
The Texans and C.J. Stroud do it again.
The Bengals had it, lost it.
3027. The Texans win that one.
That was a hell of a ball game back and forth.
Kyler Murray back. Arizona wins it on a field goal at the end.
Murray 19 for 32 and 249 through the air, rushed for 33 yards and a touchdown.
Detroit and the L.A. Chargers.
That game was drunk.
It was just back and forth and wobbling and plays.
last second field goal.
Lions win at 41, 28 and go to 7 and 2.
And Seattle, with zeros on the board,
gets a field goal to move to 6 and 3 as they win at home.
How about Jack Steelers?
Jack, they're 6 and 3?
And he gave up on him.
No, I didn't.
You totally did.
Totally did you.
A month ago, you were done.
I've been back for a couple weeks.
Oh, no, that's not how it works.
You don't abandon your team of your childhood.
You've been on and off the bills this whole year.
No, no, no, no.
Decades of Bill love over here.
I get frustrated with the bills.
I have never thrown in the towel like you did.
I did not throw in the towel.
You even stopped including them in your bets.
That's all I did.
You were Canada.
Dude.
Do we have to call Pinder?
Please don't make us call Pinder.
I mean, please.
No, I mean, Pickens and like, you were done with Kenny and it was Trubisky, we're done.
I think you even wanted Tomlin fired.
No, Tomlin keeps the team together.
But speaking of one score games, I do not remember the last time the Steelers won a game that wasn't a one score game.
Yeah, they don't like doing it any other way.
No.
Than just a white knuckle ride right to the end.
Like Tomlin football.
Yeah, that's Tom.
Get your hands in the dirt and take it right down to the wire.
So congrats on the win, six and three, buddy.
Nice win over Green Bay.
Tonight, the three and five Denver Broncos head into Buffalo to take on the five and four
bills.
This bill's defense has struggled the last three to four weeks, just besieged with injury.
The Broncos coming off a buy.
And prior to that, at 24,
Four nine win over Kansas City.
Puckersville and Buffalo, buddy.
I'm not even going because Denver's so shitty.
Whoa, you're not going?
I can't decide if it's worth the hangover to watch the Broncos get shit pumped.
Russ has been cooking.
They've let Russ cook.
He's been better.
Russ can beat it.
Cortland Sutton.
Javante Williams is going to be running all over the place.
You can make up all.
kinds of names. I don't know any of them because they're
horses shit. What's the
line on this game? I didn't even look.
It can't be
that it was five, six somewhere
in there?
Seven right now. Seven?
Oh, for the bills?
Yeah. For the bills.
Seven even?
Yeah.
Where would you be
putting your bet, Jack, if you were
doing your betway bets right now?
I go the bills.
They need this win bad.
Like if they lose this.
Oh,
they need this bad.
You got to go to this game.
I don't have to do nothing.
Feels like the season's hanging perilously in the balance here.
The problem with the game is it's very late and then I'll get drunk and I'll get home late.
But then I got to get up and drive kids to school.
It's not a recipe for success.
And get ready for the show.
You got to show tomorrow.
No, I'm always ready for the show.
Right.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Are you really not going?
This is a big football game.
Every game's big.
If the shoveler wasn't sick, I'd probably go,
but I can't rely on her for anything.
She's worse than me.
Worse than you.
Slight case of sniffles and the world crumbles.
Oh, Jesus, no good.
Meanwhile, the coop gray is set.
The Montreal Alouettes upset, the Toronto Argonauts,
3817, the coup de grace.
Oh, actually, you know what? Before, I missed a whole bunch of stuff here. Jack's got the video. Before we go leave the NFL, which one to, let's do, do want to do the Raiders? The Vegas Raiders are loving life. Josh McDaniels gets yarded out. And do you think they were sick of Josh McDaniels? Last week, they get a win, their first win with, what's his name, Antonio? Damn it. What's his name? What's his name?
name. Anyway, they get McDaniels out and it's nothing but cigars and tunes blasting in the locker
room.
I love it.
I don't like that carpet.
It's had to be freaked out there.
Did it?
What if you're, what if you were a, if you had an allergy to, uh, to secondhand smoke,
be very difficult?
And you're not on the Raiders and you're a whim, but they don't want you.
I guess so.
I guess so.
So another win.
I mean, it's not impressive.
They beat the Jets and the Giants,
but still you take that.
Joey Burr mentioned that his Bengals lost
at the last second field goal.
Look at his.
He's got the, his old man played for the Alouettes.
He's got his old man's
Alouettes jersey on as he heads into the stadium yesterday.
What's that?
He looks like an ass.
He looks to,
he looks to be like if he was not a successful quarterback,
he'd have been the total nerd throughout high school
and would still be a guy that wouldn't, you know,
you see him dancing and smoking cigars and stuff in the locker room.
It's like,
not natural.
I'm not sure I'm buying it.
And speaking of the Bengals,
I thought for sure this had to be Bill's Mafia,
but I knew they hadn't played yet.
They're playing tonight.
A little tailgating outside the,
the game yesterday in Sincey.
Where's the blue tent?
He's going to fold up, though.
He's a smart man.
He's a smart man.
I thought he'd be cut open.
Oh, I did too.
For those that were just listening,
it was a very drunk Bengals fan
who was taking full cans of beer
and just smashing them into his forehead.
And I guess for the purpose of shotgunning the beer,
but it felt, it looked more like a waste of beer.
than anything else.
But with authority.
Sometimes you've got to have some theatrics.
If you're selling something,
you got to make it look good.
Yeah.
And I'm sure people were very impressed.
You know what else?
There's a real fan.
I wonder where his seats are.
I'd like to catch up with him at the half.
The other thing I'd like to say about the wasted of beer,
I'm guessing,
just by how things were unraveling there,
he'd had and will have plenty.
you don't think that was his second drink of the day.
If he dropped half a beer or two, no problem.
Maybe he had a mamosa at breakfast.
He's still going to make his quota.
Went to the,
whatever pancake house.
It had a mamosa with his breakfast and then went to the ballpark
and started hammering beer cans into his forehead.
It would be mayhem right now down at the Bill's Mafia.
It's almost too much the Monday night.
Because what time is kickoff local 8, 8, 810, 820?
Yeah, that is late.
That's a lot of lubrication.
Yeah.
Oh, shit.
Why am I not there for this game?
I invited you and you refused to come here on numerous occasions.
This is such a big game.
Huge game.
You love the, it was Bears of the Broncos for you too.
I know that you were when your fandom was being announced,
you were not sure which team to go with.
I was never going with the Broncos.
Broncos beat it.
We come to a Monday night football game in Buffalo on a nice night in November.
Yeah, yeah.
Probably could still make it.
No, quarter to one, if you went there, you're in Toronto by six.
We could do it.
Yeah, I don't think people, I don't think that's how most people do it.
Well, like, look at the clock and say I've got, okay, if I, if I get to the airport,
in the next 45 minutes.
So there's a flight that leaves every hour.
You have a passport.
Somewhere in the house, yeah.
Right.
The CFL, the Grey Cup is set.
I'm not, don't bother.
I'm not getting on a plane today.
The Montreal Alouettes upset Toronto,
3817, our buddy Corey May, sorry court.
That hurts.
But hey, didn't they won last year?
So, you know, spread the, spread the wall for,
I don't feel bad.
at the game probably tonight now.
Who won last year? Is it the bombers or the
Alouettes? Meanwhile, Winnipeg,
they're going back to the Grey Cup.
They beat BC 2413.
I believe it's the fourth straight Great Cup
for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers.
There were some COVID years in there, right?
We're,
anyway, the Grey Cup,
November 19th,
in Hamilton, close to you.
You're not going to the Monday nighter.
Will you be going to?
the we could do all three if you get on the plane we can go to this then we can go to the great cup
uh i don't know what the third thing was going to be where's the flames game on the 19th
like no how long am i staying on tuesday tomorrow montreal we could go to montreal five hours
see the last time i brought up doing a road trip with you it was a hard note because you wanted
to drive 33 hours.
33.
That is a far cry from five.
Okay.
So if let's, so if I fly to Montreal for tomorrow night,
you meet me there.
When's the next Bill's home game?
Are they home for a bit?
It turned your mic off.
Sunday afternoon, 425.
Sinci.
No, Jets.
J-E-T-E.
Jets, Jets, Jets, Jets.
Right. Yeah. Well, I'll think about it. It's expensive to fly to Montreal, though. That's not cheap.
I didn't, but just fly to Hamilton.
Okay, well, I'll fly to Hamilton. It's very cheap. Is Hamilton on the way to Montreal?
No, you idiot. Go to the football game, then we'll do a circuitous.
I don't see how. Secuitus. Circuitus. I don't know how I'm, I don't think I'm getting for the football game tonight.
I don't think I'm getting there.
That's the PIL report.
A presentation of Village Honda.
New in-stock inventory, huge selection of used vehicles,
all makes, all models, all budgets.
They had their used car clear out last week.
Still over 70 units on site,
access to more than 400 more inside the dealership group.
Village Honda, your one-stop automotive destination in Calgary.
They are worth the trip.
Northwest Automol and online at VillageHonda.com.
Now, our buddy Anthony, who is the guy up there,
Village loves footy also loves F1 and F1 is in Vegas on Saturday night this coming Saturday.
And apparently, remember when it was first announced, it'd be, man, go to Vegas, but how could
you ever do it? Hotel rooms would be, you couldn't get a ticket. It'd be just crazy. Retro,
the prices have absolutely bottomed out. You can get hotel rooms. You can get grandstand tickets.
the, it was tens of thousands of dollars.
Somebody looked online over the weekend.
You could get a full cause for concern.
Like what's going on?
You could get a weekend pass and a bunch of under $1,000 to watch the race this weekend.
It's this weekend?
This weekend.
Saturday's birthday.
I think the people of Vegas are very unhappy because it's taking up a lot of Vegas.
They've basically,
you can't see the Bellagio fountains.
They've turned the fountains off.
The gondola thing at the one down,
the Parisian, what's the Venetian?
They drained all the water out of it and put like seats and grandstand shit in there.
And people hate it.
People are very unhappy.
And apparently the drivers don't even want to be there.
They're like, this track is stupid.
This is the worst thing ever.
Why is it stupid?
Like I don't, I like.
fun because of the Netflix series, but I don't really watch it.
I just, Max Verstappen.
No.
He says, the track is, I am not a fan of the track.
I will go and I will be getting out as soon as possible.
So he's not looking forward to Vegas.
Oh, that's a great added to have.
Great attitude.
And he's right now, probably the, uh, could be considered the greatest racer of all time.
He's just winning race after race after race.
Red Bull can't be stopped.
Wings or something.
Don't you have wings?
When do you have?
Red Bull gives you wings.
That's true.
There it is.
Geez, I got a lot of stuff to get to here today.
I'll hurry up because I got to get my kids.
Sheple of Luchos, there you see it.
They are, I'm going to say proud presenters.
I'm sure they are.
We're proud to have them.
We're proud to have them.
I mean, we're proud.
And hopefully some of that residual pride rubs off on them.
I apologize for the swearing.
Jan 11 to 13th, we are off to Phoenix, Arizona, to see the Calgary Flames take on, the Arizona Coyotes.
We've got hotel rooms.
We've got flights.
We've got tickets to the Mullet Arena.
And we've got good times that are set to be rolling, January 11th to 13th.
Based on double occupancy trip 1499.
Again, flights, hotels, tickets, all of that included.
to and from the airport. And you can get those tickets at nationgear.ca, the website,
nationgear.ca, I would recommend strongly. This is not a scare tactics. But if you were,
if this sounds like, oh, I heard the guys talk about it. Don't dilly dally is what I'll say.
Because a dilly dallyer might be on the outside looking in if you were to dilly dally.
It is a presentation, as we said, of Alberta Blue Cross, creating memorable moments.
The only thing better than sharing memories is making new ones.
Alberta Blue Cross Travel Insurance protects those memories wherever travel takes you.
Visit ab.blucross.ca slash travel for more information.
I am looking forward to it.
I am looking forward to it.
What else would we want to do while we're in, if there's one other thing.
See, the other thing is they play Vegas right around.
around there too. It's not part of this trip, obviously.
I could do the betway bets.
I could do some betway bets.
Tonight, there is a football game.
I have stayed away from it entirely because I don't want any jinxy pants.
I want your bills to do what they do.
As Jack said, they are seven point favorites.
I'm going the other way.
Rhett, what happens when a hockey team hires a new head coach?
They win.
They win that next game.
Tonight, the Edmonton Oilers are at home to the New York Islanders.
Ooh, that's...
Chuck Knoblock behind the bench for his first game.
I'm taking the Oilers.
They did get a win going back to Seattle.
I think that is a great bet right there, Dean.
I think the Islanders, I don't think they're great.
I think they're average.
And I think the Oilers at home will roll, get their first win at the bar,
plus 135 and McGM will get the first goal of the night,
Connor McDavid, to open the scoring a plus 700.
So I am going to go on the Oilers tonight to have great success
in their first game at the new head coach and at home against the Islanders.
Those are my betway bets. Get that betway up.
If you don't have the betway app, I'm telling you,
football Sundays, it's a different, it's a different experience.
all together when you got the endgame stuff going, you're watching along, checking the lines because they're moving and the scores are coming in.
You got red zone going.
Bet the responsible way with Betway.
Go to the app store.
Get the Betway app.
Thank you, Betway.
Great partners of ours here at Barnburner.
Yeah, I really have been, we've just been talking.
Like I got no, no things to do here.
Okay, good.
No, I got a bunch of stuff I got to do here.
Oh, I got it because, you know, talk about pride, McLeod Law, right?
Super proud to be on board with McLeod Law.
And we got stuff, cool stuff in the works with McLeod Law.
I don't think you even know.
Well, that's shocking to hear.
High level stuff with McLeod Law.
Should we have got a lawyer to handle these dealings with McLeod Law?
Because I feel like they're lawyers and we're down.
I did. I'd get that Austin guy.
Yeah. Anywho, you know Peter Klein at McLeod law? He's the personal injury guy, ruthless.
He's also the go-to guy in Calgary for disability insurance. Basically, if you are getting worked over and you just want somebody with some common sense and who is the best at what they do to restore that common sense and peace of mind, it's Peter Klein.
he'll get a hold of that.
Your disability cup?
Hi, it's Peter Klein calling.
Damn it.
It's that Peter Klein from McLeod law.
Okay, just pay the guy.
Just give him his disability insurance.
I'm going to go out again with this Peter Klein.
Made me cry last time.
Peter Klein bringing people to tears.
That's what he does.
Get your peace of mind back.
Peace of mind that you paid for.
It's Peter Klein at McLeodlaw.
this date retro
this date in
1986 where were you
I was
dominating as a Saskatoon Raider
probably at the old arena
cheering on
Saskatoon blades
Maroon and gold
maroon and gold
is that the shirt you were wearing
you had that t-shirt?
Yep
nice
who else
some awful
name drops. Who else would have been on that team?
Oh boy, the bomber.
Bomber. Kurt England.
Yeah. Maybe Jeff Salmasso.
Okay, that's good. So on this date in
1986,
Brett Hall. Bobby Douglas and Andy Fox
scored his first goal as
a Calgary flame.
Look at him in that uniform.
Looks odd. It looks odd, but it makes you think,
hmm, what if, huh?
Yes.
On this day in 86, Brett Hall scored his first career NHL goal.
He did it as a member of the Calgary Flames.
They signed him to a contract.
He got in, scored the one goal, spent the rest of the year with Moncton,
where he had 50 goals in 67 games.
Not good enough.
The following year, stays with the big club, 26 goals in 52 games.
so only a half goal a game.
And then of course, later that season in March,
part of a blockbuster deal,
he and Steve Bozek off to the St. Louis Blas for Rob Ramage and Rick Wamsley.
And anyone who is on that 89 team will tell you
that Rob Ramage and Rick Wamsley were key components of that championship,
that they likely do not win without the likes of Ramsey.
Wansley. Fred Hall did go to St. Louis and kind of work his way to a fine career.
Yeah, he garnered some attention. Yeah, he managed to carve out a decent little career for
himself as a member of the Blues and Stars and Red Wings. I didn't say Stars, sorry, PTSD.
McLeod Law, this day in Flames history, proud of their Calgary roots, big part of their long
standing client relationships.
They understand this city, the people in it, and the way things work.
Like the communities that they serve,
McLeod Law team is varied and diverse and share a commitment to making a positive impact
on the city of Calgary.
MacLeod-dashlaw.com.
And we kind of have some fun with it, but they've been so great to work with.
They've been great partners.
And we can't say enough.
It's one of those things if I just know for me, something comes up.
Well, do you have a lawyer?
Uh, no, I don't, uh, I don't think I, I do the cloud law.
They'll point you in the right direction.
They'll get you one of the best in the business at whatever it is that you need.
And you'll just, uh, you'll feel much better about it knowing that they're working for you.
We got to do the door dash.
I forgot about door dash.
I didn't forget about door.
Door dash. Get your door dash over here, restaurants, groceries, pharmacies,
bakeries.
What is it you want?
What do you just, you, you.
Flowers for the shovel.
birthday probably good idea get the door dash app get it on your phone shows up at your door contactless
delivery if that's just standard if uh if that matters to you it's easy ordering super easy it's kind of fun too
you know what i mean it's kind of like online shopping but for it's better than social media i spend
it's so it's so great i can order and eat because we'll do this i don't know what do we want to have tonight
let's go on DoorDash take a look see.
For a limited time, our listeners can get 25% off and zero delivery fees on their first order of $15 or more when you download the DoorDash app and enter Nation 25.
That's promo code Nation 2.5.
So what's on the menu tonight for DoorDash?
No question about it.
It's Monday night.
It's Monday night football.
The Denver Broncos have been better.
Yes, the bills D, they've struggled.
They're, they're, they're injured for sure.
But this is a big game for the Buffalo Bills.
I think this is going to be a hell of a football game.
So that's on the menu.
And then of course, if you are so inclined, as I mentioned earlier,
the Islanders and Oilers, still keeping tabs on this Oilers team.
Saturday, whatever day it was, checked in.
Oh, oilers up four to one.
That's all I need to see.
Moving on.
Yeah, if they're losing tonight, two to one.
Yeah.
Because that game against San Jose, it was just locked right onto it.
So that's what's on the menu.
You got some football, you got some hockey.
That's how it goes.
Get some DoorDash and make your night complete.
Again, limited time only, 25% off, zero delivery fees on your first order of $15 and more with that DoorDash app,
which you can get at the app store, promo code Nation 25, Nation 25.
Right there.
Use that promo code right there.
That's how that goes.
One final message.
And we will let you get on your way.
Barn burner is sponsored by BetterHelp.
Give online therapy a try at betterhelp.com slash flames nation.
And get on your way to being your best self.
This is finally, you hear it all the time.
The stigma, the stigma around mental health.
I think that every day it becomes a little bit easier for guys, specifically guys like us, to talk about it.
But it's still an intimidating thing.
It can be a private thing.
You don't really know.
Okay.
Ask for help.
Go ask for help.
What does that mean exactly?
And that's why better help is such a great option.
You get past the awkward stuff and you get better help.
It's because it's all online.
It's entirely online.
Designed to be convenient, flexible, and suited to your schedule.
They'll give you a questionnaire.
You fill that out.
And then based on that, they're going to find a licensed therapist who matches well with what you have there.
If it does not work, if you switch therapists at any time for no additional charge.
Therapy helps.
You can identify what it is that's going on.
Start building strategies and coping skills to help you become the best version of yourself.
It's about having those strategies in place that lets you start to maybe get that traction that you don't have.
Make your brain, your friend with better help, visit you.
BetterHelp.com slash Flames Nation today to get 10% off your first month.
That's BetterHelp, H-E-L-P.com slash Flames Nation.
Tomorrow, I believe Pinder still in California, but is coming on the show.
Don't care.
Irrelevant.
Stay off.
Go on your vacation.
Doesn't matter.
And you may have noticed no Frank Sarajevoi today.
I believe he is going to Stockholm.
Did you know that the NHL, they're heading over to Sweden?
Awesome news.
Great to hear.
They will be playing at the globe, which is now the Evichi Arena or something.
I've been there.
We can talk about this tomorrow, but did you see the dome in, is it London for the NFL game?
Yes, the roof?
Yeah.
That was unbelievable.
Hello, Buffalo.
What have I been telling you, dumbasses on the show for?
I actually have the video.
I grabbed it for today, but I didn't put it in.
So it's got the...
I've got to go.
I'm already late.
You can't go.
You can't go because I got one more thing.
And then the roof...
To go.
Into the jumbotroney thing at the top there.
Well, anyway, I know you're having a bad day.
And the shoveler, she's got...
She's got the sniffles or whatever.
So what did you do that you went to make a nice gesture this morning?
Get some suit or something?
the turkey because you've got a you've got a
turkey club and the soup from johnny sees deli on transit road
phenomenal uh-huh so how was the sub better instantly huh how was the sub
it was okay today yeah i had two or i bought two yeah i bought two
i bought two subs and two soups okay so sub was pretty good then
it was great yeah how was the soup
second one was good
60 bucks for soups and subs today
American American
okay so I mean the
the second soup was okay what about the first one
first one's on the grass outside
oh dear what happened
a paper bag who put soup in a paper bag
oh man that's
that's on that's soup
couldn't you salvage some noodles or something
start scooping the noodles up for 30 bucks i should have and you know what here's the thing
if somebody if anyone any of the people watching listen whatever you spend 60 bucks on soup
and subs and then you dump one of the soups on the ground you're upset you're pissed off and
you're mad you the lover of soup don't i don't know how you rebounded and came on the show at
all today i lost my trust me i lost i don't know how herbal
berate yourself? Well, that was
I didn't listen to my own, to the
advice. You idiot.
Yeah. You'd even smashing your head like
that guy at the Bengals game.
Such an idiot.
That's going to do it, everybody. Thanks for
being a part of the show. We'll see you tomorrow.
Later, buddies.
