Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Rhett Goes OFF On The Calgary Flames Lineup Decisions 🔥 | BB Clips
Episode Date: October 30, 2025Boomer, Pinder, and Rhett take a hard look at the Calgary Flames’ lineup — and Rhett doesn’t hold back. With Zary, Coronato, and Parekh all out of the lineup, the guys question what the Flames a...re thinking. Are veterans really being prioritized over the young talent again? The boys debate the team’s direction, lineup choices, and what message this sends to the future of the Flames.Video Link: https://youtu.be/HKTPBQ19PH4#calgaryflames #nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️FLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
There's some funny business with the flames lineup going on.
Aside from what's going on in the net?
Yeah.
Okay.
Because we had the lines yesterday at practice.
It looked like Coronado was going to be the extra.
And now we're seeing Zeri out late after morning skate getting work,
which is usually an indication you're not in tonight's sun,
which is not what we want to see for Connor Zeri,
which might suggest that Coronado is in and Zari's out, or Zari.
Excuse me.
How can you not, is Perak not from Ontario?
He definitely played in front of friends and family in Toronto two nights ago.
So yes.
Do it again.
What are you doing?
What are you doing?
What are you doing?
Maybe they're not there.
Maybe they went to the Leaf game and.
They're like, oh, Canada, that's such a hate.
We hate Ottawa and cavernous.
All the politics in Ottawa.
Yeah, they won't be caught up in it.
I doubt it, Dean, and I think this is ignorant.
So just insane.
Sure.
they're at a spot where they don't even have pospousal back and it feels like they have too many wingers
and they seem loath to remove ryan lomburg from the lineup which i kind of understand but kind of don't
it would be a really tough case for someone to sell me that
that ryan lomberg is a better hockey player than connor zerry but you would also say hey if you need
someone to run around and bang and crash and scrap ryan lomberg absolutely is better than at zary than that
so i don't know if he's cemented in forever or maybe when pospals back there's a reasonable
facsimile of Lomburg and you could see him come out.
But it's not like when Ryan's Lomburg is out there, you're out chancing the
opponent.
You're bleeding chances and you're trading that for the energy and, you know, the lift that
psychologically.
Yeah, he didn't play a lot.
I mean, does he win a Stanley come?
Yep.
All right.
Did I?
Depends how you feel about that.
So I'm a loser and he's a winner.
I think you're both winners.
The rest of your life is determined by the six.
Two of you got paid money, a lot of it, to play a child's game.
And the rest of us are losers.
Yeah, you made more money.
heated. Yeah, screw you, Lomberg.
Did I? Yeah, I think so. I think so. He's not done yet.
Anyway, it's not about Lomberg.
Yeah, I mean, I'm not looking at Lomberg to pull this team out of.
No, but my point is, is like, would you be more comfortable with Lomberg in the rafters or
Zari? I told you the other day that these, they're not, they don't score.
Well, they must think they're highfalut. No, they got five and then three.
Ooh. Three before that. What a heater. Look out. We're really coming.
Talking 11 goals and three games.
you can fuck a lot if it
possible you could put the lineup
so I could critique it and give a shit about all this
you're going to send mess this is
remember they sat possible or gave possible
shit after a game last year for taking a penalty
for roughing or something and I'm like
so you're going to tell the guy you want to play with
high energy and be a prick
not to play like a prick
okay that makes a lot of sense let's blame
the loss on him
agree
and he's not
played that way since for any amount of time.
Anyway, and it's not about, but you're not a,
no one in that lineup is so good or so bad that you can't make an argument one way or
the other.
But if you're at all worried about scoring and where to fit in all these third line,
second line wingers, then just make four lines of average and let them go.
I said it,
yes or say it again.
Like,
what's there you at center?
First line,
you don't have a first line.
No.
You can call someone your first line, but you don't have a first line.
And you know what?
Some of the best coaches ever.
Oh, my God.
Scottie.
Scottie.
Daryl.
Good coaches.
Hall famers.
Yeah.
Al Arbor.
Oh.
Let the players decide who's playing well that game.
Stop.
You don't get to dictate, coach.
What I'm getting at is everyone gets a shift.
How's this?
How do they look?
How's the effort?
How's the energy?
You guys are playing more today.
That was kind of the Bill Peters thing, right?
He would roll through and then by midway through the second,
heading into the Thursday.
Like, you guys aren't going tonight,
so we're going with these other guys.
Give them a period.
Give them 10 minutes, whatever.
There's game circumstances.
But I'm not going to dictate that you get more ice
because you're supposed to be your first line.
I don't know.
You earn your ice every game.
That is what I would say.
Husk is listening.
Obviously.
That's your.
that's your key for the rest of them.
And I don't think he's been afraid to do that.
I think we've seen him do that.
But to me it hasn't been more of a reward.
It's been juggle, juggle, juggle, juggle, juggle, juggle, juggle.
And there's two things we're talking about.
One is before the game starts.
And that's when you say, who's in the rafters, who's playing.
And the other is, who's going tonight for me.
And can I get them more minutes and who looks flat?
I'm going to take minutes away from them.
I definitely think to your point that Huska feels the pressure of a really bad start.
You're in last and feels like, I've got to come.
up with a new recipe.
Yeah.
Every game.
And so what you've seen over the last five games,
Yigor, who certainly isn't perfect, but has scored 30 in the league, Coronado,
who you might have is your most promising forward in the rafters.
And now Connor Zeri, potentially, who you think is probably one of your most creative
offensive players who can play the wing and the middle, he's going to go to the rafters.
That feels like overstering.
It's 100% overseeing, and I'm going to go off right now.
Good.
These fucking coaches follow the same.
standard all the time it's the same i'm gonna blame the young kid i'm gonna send a message
the rest team's gonna sit backland who turned a fucking puck over so we got to sit zerry because
he's horseshit but backlin can screw up constantly get out of here it's bullshit that's what i think
the reward like you say the reward system up until about a week ago it was hard to look at anyone
on there and say you deserve more ice time than he does it fair would be it and this group this
group of three are certainly better than that group of three.
They were all kind of very middling to blow middling together.
Now, as of late, there's been some improved play.
So without knowing, if Zeri skated yesterday and isn't today, I mean, he's on the ice,
so he's not injured.
So he's not playing.
I don't know.
I think it's safe to say that Hansick, Backland, Coleman, they will remain together,
as will Huberto, Cadry, and Frost on the right side.
Yep.
Those.
So then, how are you mixing?
the rest. We saw Shara Gowicz skating
as a setter yesterday at practice. I don't
is that where they're
what they're doing at center to remove
Zeri? I don't know. Putting
Coronado back in the fourth
line, that didn't do
much of anything for anybody. No, it's the wrong spot
from it keeps your promise.
That's all it is. Don't worry about your promise.
Can we get
those that's who's even on this
team right now?
We don't have lines officially for tonight, but I don't
care about lines. I just want to see players
that are roster player forwards because...
Let me walk you through them real quick.
Because, well, go ahead.
Okay, so like Boom said, you're keeping together, Huberto,
Codry, Frost.
Great. Ross scored at home.
You don't have to keep Frost there.
You don't.
He's the center.
Yeah, so that's...
Next line.
It appears it would be Sharon Govich,
Fairby, and Coronado appears because Zeri's skating late in Coronado
isn't, despite Coronado being an extra practice yesterday.
So maybe that's a message sent.
And Zari, it's your turn to sit.
Igor down the middle is not the best
Igor we've seen.
Thank you.
And again,
if Zeri's out,
these aren't terribly accurate,
but there's your picture.
They're not going to break up the back in the line.
There's been some egregious turnovers.
They're also the line that scored the most
the last three games.
Coleman's got the team lead.
Conzik gets his first.
My argument is,
I'm over-emphasizing sit backland.
What, in all reality.
Instead of a vet, if you really want to shrap the cage.
Yes, that's the point.
Is that are you, is it, was Zeri horse shit?
And I don't think Sharon Gow.
So much.
What percentage worse has Connor Zeri, Yager Sharonovich,
Coronado being than any of your supposed top players?
Now, I'm a Zeri guy.
I, I, but he has one goal and one assist.
He is sitable.
Right?
It's not that he's not sitable.
Go to the other guys.
What are they?
I understand. No, I understand.
The point I'm making is that none of them are.
And it goes back to just the typical coaching standard of your younger, you sit.
You're going to learn.
We're going to be lean on you more because the other guys.
If you sit your captain, it's not.
It's over.
What they shouldn't is sit anyone.
Who should they sit?
The fourth line.
Agreed.
Why do we need this?
especially when you don't shot against them but that is not move frost or zary into that
get Sharon go to govich out of center it's not a centerman in my opinion if you played
zeri sharon govich and coronado is a line i don't care where it shows up on the screen
that's a different look than kirkland quad a player clapka we're learning about you and longberg
pure energy but always gets out chance you don't need no play these guys if you're a team that's
got great lines one, two, and three, I totally believe in the energy line. When you cannot
score enough, you're last in the league. An energy line is a luxury you might not be able to
afford. You can't be sitting guys that can actually put up numbers. And they're doing that.
Igor, Zeri, Coronado, those are guys that can score. Get them in the lineup.
100% agree with that. That's the point. I was getting it. Yes. If you're trying to send a message
by sitting a Zeri and a Coronado, yeah, you can. It's fine. But you're not
housing your best lineup.
Why are the fourth line guys, they've also sat,
but they are the more sitable.
Yeah.
And you're monkeying these lines all about and you're trying to,
and then you're going to sit a guy and you're going to play a guy out of position.
You're trying too hard.
So what happens if you were to sit Ryan Longbrook?
Why is this so hard?
Walk me through why he has not been healthy.
Well, the other thing I was going to say is that I like,
again, I actually like all of them on the fourth line,
but only if it's an effective fourth line and your team is having success.
and not at the expense of the long-term development of other players
because Kirkland ain't going to be a key cog in the wheel when this team's good.
He ain't down the spine.
I'm sorry.
Clapka, we don't know what he is.
They don't need, are they an energy line?
Like, again, I look at it and I don't say it.
The other team is putting your lineup up on the board in their dressing room.
are they looking at
Lomburg, Kerklin, and Klafka
going, oh shit, these guys,
they get in on us, this, hey, heads up.
I think they're probably saying,
I've heard of one of these guys.
Who are the other two?
It's a, yeah,
they're going to try to be an energy line,
but are they shit disturbers?
Do I like Lomburg?
Yes, I do.
Do I dislike Kirkley?
Absolutely not.
But you're sacrificing other guys
that might actually have a game.
And if your approach is,
fellas, here's our top
12 offensive talents.
And we're going to make lines out of these 12 guys.
And say it to him.
And whoever's playing well is going every other shift.
And whoever's not is stapled to the bench.
Have that.
Go.
It's the same with Perek.
I don't know what the, who the F do they need to get?
in on D that you're going to take him out.
And I've gone from, he doesn't need to play all the time to play him.
And the reason I've gone from he doesn't need to play all the time is because the other
guys aren't that good.
Yeah.
Yeah.
To watch Jake Bean play.
What do we do?
And have Perak in the rafters to me is like, what are we trying to accomplish here?
Like what is the end game where you're like, oh, I'm glad they did that because now look
at what, like I don't think Zane Perak's going to get better watching from the rafters so
much as he just needs to keep playing in this league that is.
is, you know, 20 miles an hour fast in the league he played in the last three years.
He needs to just keep playing.
I play him with Uyghur.
I would too.
You know, apparently Ball and Anderson can't be separated.
That's the only, the immovable forces in the lineup.
Everyone else gets thrown around in the blender.
I wouldn't mind seeing Perak with ball.
You stay at home, big physical, guy that likes to come up ice.
But no, it's only on the fourth line.
It's only with the third pair, and it's with Bean or it's with Hanley.
Why? Why does it have to be that way?
Because it's a standard that has been accepted around the league.
Oh, this is how we approach it.
It doesn't make any sense.
What is the grace to killies hill of this team?
They can't score.
Can't score.
And now we're going to see two guys that can score in the rafters
so that Bean and Hanley and Lomburg and Kirkland can play.
What are we trying to win this one-nothing?
Who's intimidated on the other team by the fourth?
Where have they affected positively the outcome of a game for this squad?
Totally.
And it's like,
where have they been overwhelmingly?
When have they dumped the puck in and not one shift for a whole game
and got in on a four check and caused havoc?
Yeah, I'm trying to.
I mean, yeah.
You don't disagree.
I know that face.
Yeah, it's hard to disagree.
It's one game.
Can young guys sit for a game?
Sure they can.
Absolutely, but it's a typical standard stupid approach where it's like,
well, I'm going to, we got to sit someone who goes, well, we can't sit back.
They're calling.
And not even like those guys because they were letters and I get that that's a thing,
but like they literally will not even sit Lomburg.
Yes, Lomburg's in the lineup.
Kirkland's still in the line.
Clapco, okay, well, you want to get him.
He is a young guy.
But you're going to sit these other guys because it's,
the easiest thing to do.
It's not the best things
to do. You can do it.
That kid, Zary, can't walk in and go, I've been
undeniable, I should be playing.
Agreed.
But what's the long-term
plan? And is this one game the end of the world?
No, but you're not housing your best lineup.
You know what, it's funny. I was just kind of thinking about it.
Because, I mean, Ryan Huska's a long time coach, but he's still a young
NHL coach. The words he had for Coronado the other night,
Like, don't try and do too much.
Just come back and be court.
Just come back and be yourself and just play.
It feels like with so much tinkering and jockeying of rosters and all of this sort of thing,
someone needs to tell Huska, just, just coach.
Just take your best players.
Don't worry.
Everyone knows what's going on here.
A lineup tweak or sitting this kid or whatever.
That's not going to change the fortunes of this team.
Just coach the way you feel.
You just put the right guys in the right spot.
Be honest.
Walk upstairs and have a.
No, make sure there's no spy cameras or any bullshit in Conroy's office.
What are we up to here?
Yeah, we're trying to be good.
Why do I have too many wingers and none are good enough?
And how, and, yeah, I know I'm supposed to try to win these games,
but how much should I try to win these games?
Because I actually think he's not trying to win the games with the lineup.
He's housing.
You're not, you are not as good as you could be.
Ryan Longberg is very good at being Ryan Longberg.
his best game does not give you an opportunity to win like Conner's Aries, Matthew Coronado's.
And long term, we can score two.
We saw it the other night against St. Louis.
Coronado is a pair and you're like, they're up to nothing against a team that was in the playoffs last year.
He must, Lomburg can't do that.
It's like he, Huska knows this.
Because again, I'm just trying to think counterpoint because I do it.
Is he thinking macro?
For the best for Zeri and Coronado and Perak, long term as players, is that what he's
doing. We don't know. Maybe he's seeing behind the
per exal, not overwhelmed, but like he's wearing it or he's stressed. Just let
the kid rest for a night. Is there stuff that potentially with young players going on?
It's three and four nights. So if you're going to rotate guys, sure. It's just that this isn't
a one-off. And since a slow start, we've seen what we both described as oversteering or
overtinkering or like you're breaking the blender out immediately. Like, it's tough for guys
when no one's going good to say keeping together. But at the same time, how are you going to
build chemistry when you got a different line mate every night.
It's been that for the young guys.
It's been that for Zarian Cornynado.
And you don't have to, and I don't know that he's done it, but you don't have to
break up a line because they have a bad game.
Just play them us.
So if work it out in our own brands.
Are we geniuses?
We're close.
We're pretty close.
Play your top 12 forwards.
Play the guys in the position they want to play in.
Put them in as a line.
If that line's not going one night, they sit.
You don't have to break it up for the next game.
You're already last place.
So if you lose another game, it doesn't mean by juggling the lines.
You're going to win the next one.
And who the F cares if you do.
So keep them together if they're happy and they like each other,
like without any other things that we wouldn't be privy to.
If you play your top offensive players, leave them together.
pull back on their ice time if they're not performing
because there will be nights when they don't
and reward them when they are performing.
You want to go, give her.
And don't worry about wins and losses right now.
Don't worry about it because you're that far back.
Don't sell me on this BS.
We're going to win six or seven.
If you win six or seven,
you're still not making the playoffs.
You're still not making the playoffs.
making the playoffs.
Yeah, that doesn't even get you to 500.
So there's 18.
Dream on.
500.
And look, like long term, we're all on the same page.
And I think Conroy's got a very legitimate read on if this team isn't good, what's
going to happen.
But like when you look at players under 25 that you want to be the core pieces and the
pillars of this team when they're competitive again, it's literally Zeri, Coronado,
Hansik, Perak, Wolf.
These are the guys we've seen
thrown on different lines with the exception of
Hansik who stayed on the back of the line.
They're the ones going to shuffle all over the place.
This isn't easy for them.
Those guys, you want to be your leaders
when this team's good again.
They're the ones eating popcorn
instead of 30-year-old energy guys.
How can you not scratch Ryan Longberg at all?
We understand what he is.
He's good at that job.
That job doesn't help you win
as much as someone that can put up two points.
And I don't care about the win.
I'm, be realistic.
They, it doesn't help you win.
And if you think lining up the other, the kids is going to make, be worse for you.
It isn't.
And they're going to get better down the road so that you're improving.
It, it doesn't make, well.
The coach is coaching to win and this roster ain't built for it.
That's what it looks like.
And there are circumstances that we don't know.
Prec might be sick.
they might be exhausted.
He might be asking for,
I don't know that, but it's the same as everything.
Well, I don't know what to trade.
Whoa, we're going to trade.
Yeah, I love straight.
That was just kind of the thing.
Well, maybe they're, well, they skated yesterday
and they're skating again today.
So if they were,
if they were hurt, they probably wouldn't be making them
skate after practice.
Right.
They were sick.
They probably just stayed at the hotel.
They're not absent.
They're working extra hard.
So it's a little confounding.
And I feel for Huska, because
you know that in that room, the expectations were very high.
And it could not have
on worse. They have one regulation win in 11
games. I don't think it would
be fun in that dresser. No. Part of the reason
that Longburn might be in there is because
he keeps it loose and has
some energy even. And
again, he's doing a great job being
Ryan Lauberg. What he can't be is a top nine
forward. The guys you're putting in the rafters
can. So can gridden, so can pass
with someone he's back. It also speaks to if
Longer, I know why
I think Longberg is meant for energy
on and off the ice. That might
speak to your team makeup.
if he's that integral.
You know what I mean?
Where's your top nine guy that brings that energy?
Yeah.
Where's your leadership group to bring that?
So we have to have,
and again, we like you, Longberg,
but we have to have Longberg in
because the rest of you duds
have no emotion to play this game?
The list of forwards that have had a good start
through 11 games is like Fairby
and you could argue Coleman
and then I'm out of names.
And even there, Farabee has one goal.
No, but he's just created a ton.
It's like he's doing the best he can do,
and he's do some puck luck.
But like at least you notice him every shift.
He's playing with energy.
He's taking the puck to hard places.
He's going to the front of the net,
albeit missing tap-ins.
And Coleman, you know,
certainly has had puck luck on the opposite end of the spectrum and has five.
But like after that, it's like,
if we're handing out letter grades,
I mean, maybe Nazim's a B plus.
Now he was.
Everyone's below that.
Like, Huberto, okay.
Frost, okay.
Sharingovic, worse than okay.
And I was okay with moving Frost to the wing,
but what are you trying to achieve?
To keep Kirkland in the lineup?
Like, why?
I think that's, yeah, I mean, it's not that.
It's trying to get him going, but still.
I guess if, if Cadry has a bit of a lip on,
he's a guy with some skill that Nazan can play with.
So Coronado.
Yeah, I mean.
The issues you can argue with the other side.
I appreciate what you're saying.
It's just.
And if he's got the lip on,
that's,
Bob Scowler, wasn't it?
But I don't like you.
And I don't know that he has lip on.
I'm just saying,
if he does,
and you have to cater to that,
in a last place,
team for a 35-year-old,
what are we talking about?
It's October.
I was just going to say,
it's a lot of this for October 30th.
Yeah.
Out.
Welcome to last place.
It's not comfy and you're going to get second guest.
