Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Stanley Cup Playoffs Night #4 | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: April 20, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & WarrenerThursday April 20th, 2023 - Stanley Cup Playoffs Night #4- The Flames GM search continues- #ASK RHETT... - The Pinder Report for Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Da Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
All right, we're into it.
No messing around.
Usually Alex is like, hey, is everybody ready?
We're good to go.
Is everything?
Just fucking let's go.
You just open the shoot and get it.
Let's go.
Let's roll.
Welcome to the show, I guess.
God.
I guess.
Here we are.
Pender, you're not even done.
What do you think?
Oh, just number and stuff are good.
Number and, uh,
how much, how much tea for the Pender report?
You're going to smoke today.
Yeah, man.
Um, Rett, how many people, you're at a rental and
Buffalo. You still have your home in Calgary. How many people live in the house? Five.
Got a picture from the shoveler yesterday. Might be an intruder. So watch for that in the Pinderbord.
Oh dear. What is with the shoveler in these like loose lips sink ships? She's just firing out videos.
It's never anything that's too, you know, you got to have a sit down. Dangerous.
You got to have a sit down. She understands it's important to keep people in the loop on
I got you, you know, the shoveler family. So what is the shoveler day? So what is the shoveler
today.
Because I mean, you do this and you, you know,
you brag about going to the gym and stuff.
Okay.
Hang on.
Yep.
What's you doing?
And then I got this.
Oh, getting your nails did.
Oh, yeah, nails.
Those nails look good.
Big day.
Yeah, that's a big day.
Did you go to Phoenix to get that done too?
Or closer to home?
No.
I got to get my nails done.
I'm going to Scottsdale.
I'll be back Monday.
Yeah.
I'm going to Fort Lauderdale to get pedicure.
Here we are.
Night number three coming up of the Stanley Cup playoffs.
That was last night.
Night one rocked.
Night two, no good.
I don't know.
One, two, something three.
One, two, skip a few.
Last night.
Probably some more.
The shits again.
You know what?
The Islander Carolina game went to overtime, but it's like,
I wanted it to be good, and it was a controversial one,
and that series could be so good if it's tied going back to Long Island.
You know what I mean?
They've been one goal.
Haven't they been one goal games?
It's been tight.
It's been the whole way, but still it's,
what more can they possibly do?
They've given us an overtime game.
There's been controversy and all of that,
and I still feel like this is the least attractive series of the bunch.
And I'm telling you that Dallas, Minnesota,
it was a blowout last night, but it was fun.
Two goals in 11 seconds from the wild.
That's followed up by two goals in less than a minute and a half from Dallas.
And Flurry getting air rated, breakaways, physical play.
Yeah, those are the series.
It's kind of tough to.
Oh, okay.
But no, the, it was an offensive outburst last night in Dallas.
Old Mark Andre Fleury, mixing a save, seven.
We'll just get Gusus in a night rest and throw in.
Oh.
So.
Why do they go?
away from Gustafson.
Is he exhausted after the 50 save, 51 in game one?
It's probably not as fresh as a daisy,
but I think what they did is did what they've done all year to get here.
They basically alternated for ages coming in to the playoffs.
And so they thought, okay, well, it's got us here.
It's worked.
Dare we try this in the playoffs?
They did.
Flurry was bad.
They're split coming home,
and Gustafson theoretically should be feeling good for a game three.
Didn't work.
I don't mind the process.
Yeah.
Was he bad?
They allowed three breakaways to one player on the other team,
never mind all the other shit.
They weren't good in front of him,
but he wasn't great either.
Rupert.
Didn't help us gone.
Hat trick.
Power play,
short-handed,
even strength.
It says on this board he had four.
This is the series.
Oh,
yes, of course.
Right?
So he scored,
yeah, I don't like these boards.
Alex between you and me,
throw these in the dumps.
Alex, between us,
just between us, girls.
These stink because it looks like,
Are they still in overtime?
Wow, Dandenov, too?
I can't believe it.
That game is tied at one.
How'd they get to 10?
Yeah.
7-3 was the final last thing.
Yeah.
The goals against them seven even would probably tell you that Mark Andre didn't have his best.
No, not ideal.
There it is.
And so that's fine.
I think the real question will be if they win game through with Gustafson or lose,
do they come back with Flurry again?
Or is it like we tried it.
It didn't work.
We're done alternating.
That's interesting.
Hayeskin and had four assists and didn't,
get any love on the
I mean while Tyler's again
whatever listen it's not about
whatever shut up boom
but yeah it was
stay in your lane fat boy you said
before we got in and this is not
breaking news but that
crowd in Dallas
they love that hockey team
they get into it they get the horn
the goal song is annoying as shit
but they're always on their feet
and rip snorting and
go back to your
playing days? Have they always been like this? Because it sure
seems like they are wound up all
the time. Yeah, what was the finals like there in 99?
It was wound up tight. Yeah.
It was in the other rink though.
The old barn.
Oh, so, yeah, that's right. And they also got
flying rubber necked mulleted children
getting punched by a grown-ass man.
But that looked like the Dallas stars
that I think you fear if you're
the other teams in the West. Your goaltender is solid.
and they can explode on you, that rupe hints.
I remember when that deal got done,
and I guess if you didn't pay a lot of attention to dollars or what is,
Jesus,
a lot of money for rupe hints,
this guy's a star,
guys a hell of a hockey player,
then Jason Robertson comes in,
and again,
it's a couple games,
but...
Cheesy lines.
The puns you didn't like that.
Dallas Star,
yeah,
yeah, he's on today.
I'll fucking leave.
I will.
I'll leave right now.
You got one breaking news story in the world's fastest calendar.
I can't make a pun or two.
No.
And no Joe Pavelski, but Ben has been, again, it's a couple games,
but this is not like a year ago when coming into the Flame series.
We were questioning, what is this team?
Is it young?
Is it old?
Because Sagan hasn't been very good and Jamie Ben hasn't been good.
Ben's had a great year.
Well, and the goal he established himself as a legit one last year in the first round.
It wasn't supposed to be his year.
He was third on the depth chart.
They had Hidobin and Holtby were going to be their guys.
And then Hadobin goes to the minors.
Holti gets hurt.
So it's really the coming out party for this team.
What changed everything is when Otenger looked like a fucking one last year in round one, wasn't it?
Why do you laugh?
How funny is it to think that Holtby and Hadobin, we're going to be your guys?
Yeah.
We're not going home!
That's the thing.
And it's a different conversation.
but as we sit here and talk about long-term contracts and how long you lock in,
that was last year.
They didn't know.
Ottinger?
I don't know.
Remember St. Louis?
Prospect.
Bennington.
Bennington's what?
Is it East Coast League?
Stanley Cup?
It's just things change so fast because it does.
It makes you laugh to think that they, we're good.
We're going to bring in Holtby.
Yep.
And how good was we're not going home for us in the playoff from.
In the bubble.
We're set.
we've got our goal-tending set.
Maybe the Kittle-out play had opened, but it's clearly
Holpe's crease. You brought him in as a free agent.
Sagan had 21 goals this year.
Jamie Ben, 33 goals,
78 points. Jeez.
And it looked there again, it looked like they were
kind of off to pasture and you were going to start
to bring in the younger guys.
Both are there still. Decent.
46 goals for Robertson
and hints, 37 goals,
75 points, and 73 games.
Gurianov, who only scored against the flames of
because he didn't score any goals.
You love him.
He played the flames.
He scored the goals,
so he thought he was amazing.
He got swapped out for Daddanov,
who's been a nice add to that mix.
Had two last night.
Daddy?
Yeah.
Don't.
And in overtime,
he hit the shaft of the goaltender's stick
above the blocker that could have won it.
So that's how close Dallas is to a two-nothing series lead.
That's right.
Daddy.
Game three.
You're going to go to Minnesota.
You're going to go to St. Paul.
We have learned.
St. Paul.
Crazy town.
Crazy.
Lucid dreams.
Yeah.
Let all those maniacs in St. Paul into the building.
That part will be jumping too.
Yeah.
Yeah, sweat.
What happened to Boston last night?
Bad period.
That's it.
Did you see the box score?
I think the illness.
I think the illness got them.
The tummy, the stomach, the tummy bug.
Yeah.
Sour.
sour stomach?
Yeah.
Bad bellies.
They needed the sway dog.
They didn't go to the sway dog.
Bad bellies.
Lieness.
Come on, man.
Yeah.
Unleanus.
It's good for the series, though.
That's a good board.
We can keep these, Alex.
Yeah, I like those.
So he's actually tell us what the fuck happened.
Had they give up?
That was the first time they gave up six all year.
Is that true?
Sounds about right.
I don't.
The pundits that cover the Bruins say,
worst game of the year.
Oh, you got to get those out of the way in the first round.
Let's go.
Our boy,
Sam Bennett gets back in, hasn't played since March 20th,
a goal plus two, seven shots.
And yes,
a text from Greg Keller of Bontan meets.
Come on.
That is so beautiful.
It's like art.
The least surprising.
I'm sitting at home and it doesn't matter.
I'm watching the game.
And for whatever reason,
I have a very, I don't want to mention the company,
but the company I'm using for my television
is quite a bit,
it feels like it's at least 30 seconds behind real time.
A bunch of corksokers.
So I'm friggin' watching the game and,
oh, Benny, in comes the Greg Keller text.
I'm like, see, he going to score?
Blang scores.
So the first thing, the first thing Greg did
is grab his phone and text me.
Before it even happened.
Benny.
Yeah.
Just to let me.
me know. So it's 2-2 through 40,
Rhett. Florida scores 22
seconds into the third, then at the 7-minute
mark, 12-30 mark,
1735 into an
empty net, and then one more
late from Boston when it was too little too late.
Four in the third.
I was watching. My kid's a big
Panthers fan. Heartbreak hotel.
I thought he had a Bruins fan. You had a
Bruins fan, didn't you? He's got three kids. A lot of fans are.
It's the same kid. He's switched
alliances. He's like, where does
he get that? It's weird.
Can't imagine.
That's really,
is a Red Sox and a Yankees fan,
but also likes the Blue Jays.
Yesterday, I was really into the Yankees,
but I'm feeling these Red Sox today.
But it sets,
that's, again, if you don't
really care, and I don't, I just,
let's go, perfect for the series.
Yep. Right? Because if the
Panthers play well and he still lose
somehow, it's in their friggin' heads.
The Bruins are just that good. Best regular
season ever. How are we ever going to beat these
guys? They flexed last night in the
And now not only do the Bruins look like mortals and not gods, there's some, I guess, questions about Patrice Bergeron who didn't play a lot the last few weeks of the year, came back for a meaningless game 82 against Montreal, I believe left that game with injury. And they're saying it's not illness with him anymore. So how hurt is Bergeron? What does he have to play through? And, you know, the Bruins are obviously very good without him. It's not like they lost all those games without him, but you certainly would want your Selky, you know, future Hall of Fame or sentiment.
leader.
All that.
I saw a stat they were 8-0
without him in the playoffs
or something ridiculous.
Bergeron?
Yeah.
Not anymore.
Not anymore.
And just a swath of misconducts
handed out at the end.
It got good.
I got some video for you later.
Radco Gudis.
And there's a bunch of former flames in there.
I know.
We got the Lamborghini.
We got the Jackie Bear.
There's some...
Sugar?
Yeah.
Sugar too.
That's right.
Oh, Port your living's
watching, he's like, these are the bastards, I thought I'd have it a playoff series.
What the hell happens?
This is what I was trying to put together.
And the Oilers blow another two-goal lead, but hang on to win.
Again, good for the series.
Good for the series.
I do think forcing the Oilers down two wouldn't have meant it was over, just with all that firepower and, you know, the whole greatest player that ever played thing.
Well, and again, I figured he would explode last night.
He didn't.
Dry Seidel has been the best player.
Again.
By a wide margin.
And I suppose if you're the LA Kings,
all of your attention is like you watch McDavid driving the zone.
There's three bodies around him.
It's like guys around him might do stuff,
but we're not letting this guy beat us.
But you can't do that to two guys.
He's one of those guys.
It looks like it should be easier to stop him, dry sidel.
I get that he's big,
but he doesn't look like he's moving overly fast.
You know what I mean?
And it, he's a monster.
You can't.
stop him, obviously, right?
I understand what you're saying, but I disagree.
I'm shit scared of him. I'm glad I don't have it. He's huge.
And even on the empty netter, he like zips a backhand passer
for someone's legs to find cane and you're like, mother, this guy.
Best passer in the league. It's insane. Yeah. Best passer in the league. I've said this
story. I remember being at the draft and it was, it felt like such a random,
kind of a weird, this guy, his, his backhand pass. He's one of the best backhand
passers. We've ever seen. We've ever seen.
seen in his age.
What the fuck are you talking about?
And then it's like, oh yeah.
He really can dish that thing.
With that canoe paddle of a stick.
Yeah.
Which they talked about on the broadcast again.
And you remember last year how
gimped up he was, he had a bad leg.
Regular season probably wouldn't have been playing.
And now he feels good.
Yeah, it was somewhere in round one against the kings,
I believe.
Against the kings he got banged up.
But against the flames, there was a lot of talk about how healthy
he's Leon.
Yeah.
So there you go.
That's the scoop.
Can these guys leave already?
I'm sick and tired of Empton being competitive here.
Wait, we had two years left on Leon after this.
Let's go.
Let's hurry up the clock.
I thought it was great when the king's tied it.
I thought, yes, here we go.
Third two goal lead blown.
And then just a shit burger on Corpusau.
Not good.
God.
Yes.
What are you doing?
Come on.
Come on.
Damn it.
We're here in the Tower of Chrysler Studios.
Tower Chrysler, of course, is a consumer choice award winner.
Calgary, I'm going to say Southern Alberta.
Yeah, so you're going to say that in there.
Unofficially.
I'll put them up head to head with anyone.
I'll tell you that right now.
Unofficially, Southern Alberta's favorite Chrysler Dodge Ram dealer.
Any Dodge Chrysler Ram dealers?
Want to step up?
You want to step up?
I got towers back.
Take Serge on.
Did you get that vehicle back, Brett?
I was a little concerned that.
I don't know.
It's like, are we insured?
What's happening over there?
You have a,
you have a history of accepting things
and not necessarily always giving them back.
I just wondered if there was a nice Dodge Ram
just quietly hiding in your garage.
Yeah.
Like that,
we did get that back to where,
to its right,
full owner.
It was delivered,
washed,
full of gas,
looking sharp,
a few miles on it,
but that's okay.
Where did you go?
You've brought this up numerous times
about how many,
how many kilometers
you put on the truck?
You're only in,
you're here for what,
10 days?
Max Tew.
Dyr lives out near Prittus.
I go out there a couple of times.
And my nephew was playing in Strathmore,
so I went out there a couple times.
My kid went to that edge
skates one weekend.
So I had to go there.
A couple was like,
holy,
felt a little sheepish.
Sorry, search.
It's fucking oil change.
Do the island?
boarded for 10 days. That's right. He's got more clicks on it than you in your truck.
You've got it since November.
Speaking of delivered, I took, I got some photos of what got delivered to tower the other day.
Oh, you were telling me about this. You like horsepower at?
Now coming, there's the Dodge Challenger, the Demon 170. There are 3,000 of them being made on Earth.
That's it. 300 coming to Canada.
That's it.
is getting one.
And that's coming up later this year.
This is the challenger.
It's the, like, S-R-T, it's the jail break.
This one is, it's got the, the big,
the big hemian at the Hellcat,
800 and some horse.
Jeez.
This thing will blow your hair back.
And it's, and a, to me,
it's one of the best,
it's one of the best recreations.
I like what they've done with the Ford Bronco.
take of the old style and tried to recreate it.
Some of them I don't look at,
I think what they've done with the Challenger is awesome.
I love the old challengers back in the 70s and this one.
And it's already been spoken for, like it was ordered in.
Yeah.
And you leave.
He's going to leave it in my garage.
Yeah, that's right.
I'll get back there in a couple weeks to,
looking forward to it.
Thanks, sir.
And see, it's got the wide body thing.
See the fender flares?
Big fat tires.
Big.
So there's two things you mentioned there.
What was it?
The Hellcat and then the jailbreak.
This is the jailbreak.
The jailbreak is essentially kind of the badging.
It's the model.
Okay.
There's different tiers and entry points on the,
now you can get a Challenger that doesn't have the Hellcat.
It's just got the Hemmy, which is still tremendous.
So how many of these are there around it?
This has to be ordered in and I guess you were getting to it,
but like if someone wanted to set their eyes on this thing.
You can special order, but I know that sadly,
think Mopar and Dodge are doing away with all of it.
The big horsepower that is sought after is kind of going away again.
All more reason.
to get yourself one now before they're going.
There's a jail break.
Yeah.
God,
I just think it's,
there's some day.
It's going to be someday,
it's going to be someday, right?
This thing's going to turn out, right?
This podcast thing we're doing.
Well,
I have always wanted to order a new vehicle and have,
you know,
be there for the delivery.
You're romantic,
okay?
Love it.
Yeah.
They have a,
the GM plant in the state somewhere.
If you,
you can go down.
If you order and you get a brand new Corvette,
you can go down there.
And they roll out your new car.
The whole thing,
it's a big kind of a ceremony
and all that sort of thing.
Sing the anthem.
It's not the same as going to tower
and having search strut around
and say, hey,
here's your,
here's your Hellcat.
But it's close.
So that's what's going on at the tower.
I can't wait for that 170 to get in.
You're going to add down there.
So this one is spoken for,
and so too is that one.
Yeah.
those are big time popular.
His and hers.
Yeah, that's right.
Yeah, yeah.
Shabbler.
Redster and the shoveler are looking forward to cruising.
I remember Redster was looking at classic cars at one time.
Wasn't there a truck that you saw at an auction that you told Rhett to buy and he didn't?
And you saw it go at an auction a year later for like double the price or something?
Yeah, it was a, well, it was at the...
Redster owned a 69 Dodge Corvette.
What are you talking about?
I had a old beauty.
was that the one you could start with your with your finger no that was my first car that was a Honda Civic
or a cord was it a cord a little hatchback you said a cord the other day buddies would steal it
i think it was so you just literally did how do you you started it with a finger like the key
hole was usually they'd use a pencil of some sort or so but i'm pretty sure you could have started it
with your finger you just apply some pressure in the right spot in the way she went
Wow.
Off you go.
Where'd you guys go?
We went to McDonald's to get some food.
I've only been here an hour.
Thanks, fellas.
Bastards.
The jail break takes the SRT superstock engine.
It's the red eye, the 6.2-liter supercharged V8,
and then they give it a little bit more juice to 807 horse.
Just a?
My God.
that's not a thing per.
I think with the,
I'm pretty confident that the Hellcat,
or like this one,
it comes with two keys.
One's red.
And then there's the other key.
That if you really want to unlock
all the horsepower, you need the special key.
So if you're like somebody else,
I gotta go get some milk at the Super K.
All right, here, take the black key.
You don't get the red.
Yeah.
Dad, I've got a date coming up.
No red key.
No.
No.
I mean, you're not driving that.
anyway.
Probably not.
Yeah, you get the idea.
How was your day yesterday, retro?
Busy day.
Yeah.
Some couple hockey sessions.
Started some flag football.
Oh, yeah.
Doing some wind sprints out there.
You're wearing the same shirt as yesterday.
Or am I having like a seizure right now?
I don't know, but I went to the gym two days in a row.
So I might be wearing the same shirt.
buys them in bulk.
Sorry, I interrupted
that.
I was just blown away.
Just hit me.
buys them in bulk.
You guys got some nice jerseys on yourself.
Good tarps?
Well,
you had on yesterday, is it, Dean?
This is not the one I had on yesterday.
This is what Ryan was wearing yesterday.
Not this one.
I have my own as well.
I had a modeling gig yesterday.
You've got the...
The Flames Nation.
No, we're the same size.
We, uh, these were on sale.
The barn burner hoodies at the inaugural draft,
the playoff draft the other night.
Limited edition.
Very limited.
edition and like hotcakes they were like hotcakes.
Mrs. Wolverine was handling the cash, getting things done, zipping people through the line.
Funny, she left town right after.
Did you see that?
Haven't seen her since.
Hey, good to see it.
How's it going?
Yeah.
Why she screech out of here.
Yeah.
She had the red key.
She's right out of here.
But these, do we do that.
They're going to be on sale.
They're on sale.
Nationgear.ca.
Now, when you go to nationgear.ca.ca.
when you go to nationgear.ca, because all the nation network and all the,
it's going to be a lot of oilers there on that front page.
So just kind of hide your eyes, go to the Flames Nation drop down.
Yep.
And you're going to be able to find these there.
Yeah, there's going to be like Clemcaston for mayor, all kinds of nonsense.
Just skip past that, get right to the barn burner gear.
Yeah.
And some teas as well, t-shirts, the red t-shirts, red hoodies.
And some stuff may just go up there because we are slowly but surely.
there's Ryan from yesterday.
Nice, very nice.
And you want the T-shirts, though.
And there's Retro in the Barnburner T-shirt.
He's what to spit.
That's rude.
He's loading one up there.
Now, see, I was looking, because I knew all these photos,
all these photos were in the drive.
And the first one said Pinder hoodie.
And Jack labeled this one as fat fuck.
Oh, geez.
Come on, he's leaning back.
That's an arched back.
Jack.
We didn't have, I got a big sway.
He's flexing out a bit.
That's all right.
He had that social anxiety.
He had to have, he's a few drinks in there.
It's a great shot.
I love the Tumblr, which is, it looks like it looks like you need a refill, which is about right.
You're ready.
The other hand I'd like to see.
There might be one there too.
Yeah.
But I like a skit.
You kind of got your.
You are sharing some knowledge right there.
Let me tell you something about something.
I play with him a junior.
I'll tell you.
Honda cord.
You can start it with your toe.
That's the gear.
That's the gear.
And a lot of people have been asking about hats.
We're going to get more hats and stuff made.
But right now, look for it today.
Nationgear.ca.
Go to the Flames Nation drop down.
You'll find some stuff there.
There you have it.
But I was asking, now, what did you do with your day?
I had a whopper of a headache.
I just had to go home and shut the mill for a little bit.
Yeah.
I've been able to shut the mill much this year.
too bad.
I pick up kids every day at 2.40,
and then it's just we need an activity.
I built a hockey net in the backyard.
So we had a hockey net that's been sitting in the garage
waiting for things to be ready.
So now I just need to lay down some plywood behind it
and some plexiglass for the boys to shoot off of.
Nets not in yet, the mesh.
One of those crazy hockey nets now.
Yeah.
Year round, eh?
Got them shooting year round.
100 shots a day.
Baseball starts next week.
We're excited about that.
So lots of playing catch too.
Baseball, right?
No, we're playing everything.
Play it all.
It's better than deal with criminals.
Get them in activities.
It's good to, if you're listening,
do get your kids involved in activities outside the house.
And I highly suggest team sports.
Team sports the best.
Because people are having a hard time figuring out
how to be around each other.
I think it would be good for the kids
if we could reestablish this society type of thing
that we used to have.
Is that what's happening?
Like Rhett was saying,
you don't need school anymore.
The chat,
GPT,
or whatever is going to do all your homework.
So screw school,
but you need team sports
because we still need social skills
and we need to understand how to,
you know,
do this.
Yeah.
Have you seen some of this stuff?
Because it's now,
it's coming out almost daily.
And there's music now.
The Drake and there's the weekend one came out.
Did you see the Joe Rogan one?
Get,
be scared.
Folks.
Be scared.
I, for one, I'm here to bow immediately to our robot overlords and can't wait.
Should we feast on the goo inside?
Yes, I do, can't.
But yeah, the technology is bananas.
This AI stuff, it is crazy.
So I don't know if you heard the music one.
You obviously caught wind of it.
Yeah.
So someone, I don't know what's real and what isn't.
This is the era we live in now.
With AI, it's like even harder to know what's real and what is.
And never mind what we could do with Photoshop.
but allegedly a streamer, which is someone that will go find music and maybe grab a release before it happens,
had AI create a Drake and Weekend remix, sort of like a co-lab.
And the song sounds like a top 40 banger that should be netting those to millions and millions of dollars.
The problem is that they aren't because it just sounds like them somehow through AI.
It's been created.
And the music industry lawyers who have probably been in their hyperbaric chambers,
Napster have come out a swingin.
Take that down. This is fraud.
It's like, what are you talking about?
This is just, you know, if I'm a singer and I want to sound like Drake, that's not fraud.
Yeah.
Like, get ready.
Wild.
You're worried.
Hey, Retro.
Oh, yeah.
I like, I listen to a lot of podcasts and there's plenty of concern about out there from people that are extremely smart.
Yeah, I don't trust the people that are in charge of how this, like the people that are starting these AI companies.
Like these massive tech companies haven't really been the leaders in ethical behavior.
I read you and it's obviously it's an old quote.
George Carlin quote that I saw online today and I think it, I could throw it out right now.
It's kind of applicable.
Think of how dumb the average person is.
and then think that half of everybody else is dumber than that.
It's very kind.
It's like,
because the average person,
dumb.
And then half of everyone else,
dumber still.
So you're telling me like half the planet's dumber than that idiot?
What hope do we have?
And I put myself in probably that bottom half.
You know?
I put you in the top half team.
Thanks, Ryan.
I mean,
just barely,
but yeah.
I'm just happy to be there.
It's like the playoffs.
Just got to get it.
Just need a dancing.
Ship in a chair, just get me in that.
I'll take it.
I put together a little something.
It was an interesting day yesterday.
It felt like the temperatures were high.
There were some people upset flying off the handle.
Is it a full moon?
What was going on?
I don't know.
But it felt like it was one of those days where everyone was just kind of having a bad day,
lots of swearing.
Even we've seen there was a couple of instances on planes and airports where people are short-tempered
and flipping out.
It's not ideal.
I'm checking in on the full moon.
You notice that sometimes?
You were talking about the day after daylight savings.
Accidents, like bad things happening.
And there's other times where it's like, you know,
it's just like, why is everything weird?
Like, I couldn't sit by and you can sleep.
I can see it.
I know.
Something's out there.
At the start of this video, if you watched,
and we didn't really get into it,
but the Carolina New York Islander game last night,
Tuave Oterra Vinen takes a slash on the wrist.
Brenda Mortell's everybody post game, yeah, it's broken.
He's going to have surgery.
He's out.
So he was sour.
Lane Lambert, the head coach of the Islanders.
Mayfield gets high stuck by Jordan Martinuk.
Right before the game.
Right before the game winning goal and overtime gets in.
So the Islanders, they're sour.
Carolina Hurried, you're sour.
So you know what they say.
When both teams are pissed, you know that the refs have done a bad job.
So we can get into this now.
This is, if you were having a bad day, this is kind of,
This might give you an idea.
We're a long.
Yeah.
Remember,
Max is always animated.
Well, Max Scherzer.
He's like, it's resin.
It's resin.
It's sweating resin.
He's just saying this over and over again to the umpire.
Because you can't have the sticky shit in your hands anymore.
He's like, no way.
No way.
Oh.
So Scher's kidding me.
Scher's having a bad day.
Here's Lane Lambert.
This guy would make you feel right before.
Father of something that they potentially missed a collar.
Yeah.
425 marker.
He broke his hand.
With the puck, takes a shot.
The guy absolutely Tomahawk chops him.
Absolutely.
And I know we had all the power play,
so you're not going to make it a five on three.
Go take a look at the video.
And he's out for the series.
So there you go.
And they're going to complain about all power plays.
But it's a tomahawk chop.
And we just watched it.
He has to have surgery tomorrow.
There you go.
So I'm a little pissed.
I'll be honest with you.
The athletic therapist going back to the Florida bench.
Oops.
Oh boy.
Yeah, well, they're not happy.
No, they're apparently they're not.
Do you want, why don't you moderate, Ray?
You're kind of a diplomat.
Maybe you can be a statesman step in there and try to...
Actually, when I was playing, I was doing that.
But I, from the safety of my bench.
Oh, wow.
Aledmi's Diaz has been called out.
Oh, boy, here we go.
Oh, no, he's fucking hurt.
Hey, over here.
Why is he have to tell you, he's fucking standing here with his bum.
He's fucking...
So the pitch timer got to let miss Diaz.
He's fucking hurt.
That's bullshit.
Oh, yes.
Diaz and he's not moving.
Marcotte is really probably as animated as we've seen.
See ya.
Adam Hammer, he throws him out and now Marcotte is going to get his his piece here.
Which would have been right into that pitch.
Oh, man.
You've been in there 97.
97.
It's 3 and O.
Oh.
We're going to get an ejection.
Val out there.
I'm not happy with what's gone on and what you have here.
There's a pitcher who hasn't been out there for quite some time.
And a manager who's upset and trying to put a little fire into this situation.
All over the place.
So this is Madison Bumgard.
For whatever reason he doesn't like
He's like, shut the fuck up.
Puccy.
Oh, fuck you.
Doing some lip reading there again.
Oh.
It's not your words, Steve.
I wouldn't talk about that.
He is a red ass that guy.
Sorry.
Then he walks him.
Big bat flip.
Huge bad flip for a walk.
Preet.
A long rope down toward Cadreras.
And the three two.
Check swing.
Did he go?
Yes, he did.
Trump doesn't usually make a scene.
No.
Doesn't need to.
No hits, no errors and two men left on base.
Phil Nevin does not like the call, and he is making a known, and he's been throwing out a game.
Yes.
All of this was yesterday.
I love it.
Yesterday.
I like that one.
He's already been thrown out by the first base.
Then the home plate umpire, you're fucking out.
Yeah, you can't toss me, because he already.
tossed me.
They can't toss me twice.
I'm coming to get some.
There you go.
What a day.
So I don't know.
I just hope everybody's doing a tease and peace to everybody.
I hope everybody's all right.
Is it the umps or the umps having a bad day?
I don't know.
There's a lot of umps involved.
Yeah, maybe.
This is the thing with robot umpires.
I like,
AI.
I'm,
I'm ready for our benevolent robot dictators.
That's right.
But we're going to miss the tosses.
So you got to keep on up to call safer out at home.
Just so that there's someone to yell at and that we can still get
manager ump interactions which is the greatest thing i mean i've never seen a cycle i've never seen a
no hitter i do love me a good manager getting tossed it's like one of those things you go to a game
you never know what you're going to see you see some runs and hits maybe a home run sure but man
when you get oh yeah you get as soon as he comes out here we go come on oh come on oh oh it's the
best and it doesn't matter which manager if it's the visitor it's like oh oh oh and if it's a home
guy's like, bleep you out, bleep you
blue! But it's so good because it's
early season and some of these ballparks
have hardly any fans in it.
So you hear all the audio.
It is true. Clear as they, like that Mark
caught so, he's fucking hurt.
It doesn't have to fucking tell.
You know, he's fucking hurt.
Somewhere there's a producer in a truck
just like, oh my God,
oh my God, oh, take the
audio down, which audio? No, the
other one. Oh my God.
I like the, I like the
Bruins panthers ones it's like they went right in there to ferraro and it's like what were you expecting
to hear yeah like you know they're screaming at each other ice cream yeah yeah vanilla sure that's great
yeah you stinker you stuck me right in the back of my knee that stung golly gee you son of a gun
and ferraro again perfect yeah i was doing that do you think the total rat loved him yeah
Ferraro could lob them with the best of them.
Hearing, and in case, maybe you did hear that, maybe you couldn't, we certainly could.
Hearing loss clinic, hearingloss.ca is the website.
Sound up. That's great. Sound up.
Men and women of all ages, of course, children, everyone can suffer from hearing loss.
It has been, it's been proven now.
Serious health risks can be linked to untreated hearing loss.
It just makes sense to go in and get it checked out.
See what the situation is.
four Calgary locations, obviously, to make things convenient for you.
If you feel you're having issues, come in for evaluation.
You can book it.
You can find out more info on their website, hearingloss.ca.
I was in touch.
I was in communication with Travis, Travis Rhodes, who is...
Roadsie.
He's very busy.
I would...
It feels like he's jet-setting.
Really?
Like it's probably some work involved.
Oh, I've got some conference.
I could have a work thing with the...
I don't know about that.
You're in Swift Current?
No, you're in some...
Yeah, it's a nice spot.
Anyway, conference in Boccar Rotton.
It's not about Rhodes-Z.
It's about you and your hearing.
Hearing loss clinic, do go and get that set up.
We're in the short...
I'm getting it all figured out.
It's coming up here.
Now that there's no Flames playoffs or anything to...
Got some free time.
It's look quiet these days.
in Flamesland after a hectic, what, Friday and Monday?
Because yesterday was the alleged sit-down between Don Maloney and Daryl Sutter.
I don't think it's quiet behind closed doors.
I wouldn't suggest it as either.
Yeah, I think there's a lot happening behind closed doors.
They also had to unpack that press conference, which wasn't the smoothest I've ever watched.
Brett, did you watch the John Bean?
No, I couldn't watch.
No.
You couldn't because of technical difficulties or just.
Just you, you couldn't stand it.
Wow.
I wasn't going to waste
30 minutes of my day, I guess,
is what I was getting at.
Yeah.
The Coles notes probably got you what you needed there.
It was a little bit cringy.
So the,
and we've talked about it a little bit over the last few weeks.
The voice for the franchise was Ken King for a long time.
And then, you know, Brian Burke obviously was in that role.
And since Berkey's left,
there really hasn't been anyone.
It's been tree, really.
Yeah.
And so when he's a lame duck, it's like, well, so now who is the voice and face of the franchise
on hockey matters?
Like, if you want to talk business, like, sure, John Bean, but like he's never been front-facing
the media talking about hockey.
So is it Don Maloney now?
Absolutely.
He's poho.
He's got Brian's old job.
Okay.
Po-ho?
President of hockey ops.
Okay.
It's easier, right?
Appropriations.
We're going to use all the saved time at the end of our life.
and we'll go golfing together.
All the time we save using abbreviations.
I'm going to read you son.
I'm going to have to get my goggles on,
but I am going to read you something.
Please full screen on this.
No, don't.
I'm not ready for it, so don't bother.
I said it after the show yesterday.
I'm not looking to make anybody look bad,
but the press conference
to announce that Brad was not coming back.
And Dawn, yeah, unveiled.
It wasn't a good one.
No.
Not that you expect, hey, we're having,
we miss the playoffs,
things look to be in somewhat of turmoil, hey, let's throw some zingers out and have a ball.
But it's been a couple of days now, and it's, you talk to more people's like, how about the,
how about the press conference? It wasn't really confidence building for anyone.
There wasn't a lot of like, hey, we've done some soul searching and here are some of the issues we
have to own. It was a lot of, what are you talking about? A year ago, you loved us? And it's like,
Well, that might not be the best tact here when, you know,
there's a long established track record of mediocrity.
You've always-
Trust us, guys.
Trust us.
Come on.
How far back can you,
and how far back can you go?
Like, can you go back like really far?
Like, 89?
Because I love you then.
89 was a great year.
A lot of fun.
What a cup lately.
Or is that too far back?
Well, so I don't know.
If you're trying to tie things to,
the org and say these people have these results.
I would love to know when Murray Edwards became the majority owner.
And I don't know that that is something you could necessarily find out.
Maybe it is.
But, you know, the ownership group has changed.
Clearly management's been a lot of change.
They've had a million coaches.
Like, there'll be 19, if you include Daryl twice.
How many Sutter's haven't coached this team?
Like, it's been a lot of change everywhere.
But if you wanted to say, okay, you own this thing,
you own more than half, you're the leader.
This is what you're tied to.
I think that's a really large sample that says,
you could revisit your practices and maybe try to tighten them up.
Does this feel like the first time that we're hearing more of a groundswell of that?
Because in the past, I just think it's been, he's fired.
Okay, good.
Get the new guy in, whatever.
The new coach is, okay, well, let's see how this goes.
I feel like, and Rhett, you would, you've been here.
I feel like for the first time in a long time,
Fans, media, just people I'm talking to, there is that sense of it's time to change the way this team does business.
The way things are, has not worked. You mentioned it. One horseshoe up your Wahoo run in 04.
And outside of that, you're in, you're out, you're in, you're out. You've never been considered a cup favorite. It's a weird time.
I, and I don't know, I'm an old fart and I've been here a while,
but I just feel like this is the first time,
which is not to say it's like, sell the team.
I don't think it's that.
I just think the overriding philosophy of how ownership conducts business
with the hockey team.
I think people are starting to look at it.
And because the evidence is around the league.
I think it's, it's been a conversation in circles that were a lot tighter and closer
to the team.
but I've never felt like this conversation's been so mainstream and public
and that every fan seems to be saying,
here's my issue with this owner.
You're like, oh, okay.
Well, that used to be sort of people that worked for the organization
and you really got to see how people were treated.
You know, like, oh, I'm on another one-year deal
and my family doesn't know if we have a job in a month again.
Like that's really, really close to it.
But the common fans now talking about this owner,
might be a part of the issue here.
It's a considerable part.
Well, it's like he said, Pender,
when did he take over as majority owner?
I'm sure he had influenced before.
But now there's a track record,
whenever that was.
It's been long enough, whether it's shorter than we think
or longer than we think, it's been quite a while.
And now there's a pretty good track record
to show that maybe
the approach doesn't work and and the only i mean the only caveat to that is no one expected last
summer yeah no one ex no one expected last summer we didn't expect to lose all those guys
cut punch right so that totally derails things whether that makes it more clear that how they were
doing things was wrong or it puts them in a bad spot
You have to think about there was a bit of a rebuild and they didn't use the word and again like I said John Bean don't use the f'n word.
You don't have to use rebuild retool like there's lots of ways around doing this.
Hey, we're going to get we're going to get some use that don't call it a rebuild retool.
Yeah, we're going to tweak the core.
They kind of had to do it because they weren't very good from what?
2010 to
16
right before that it was 96 until you arrived in 04
they didn't make the playoffs for 7 years ago yeah
so I think maybe we're
first of all you're right there hasn't been as much talk about this
in the general public as there is today
and that's because we do a podcast now and we say more than we used to
but it did get
derailed and I think they did have a bit of a plan I think true living did put together a decent
game plan with the Bennett Monaghan Cah chuck that's you know you had Godrow come in those are
pretty integral pieces for quite a few years and if they were able to stay healthy or pan out or
blah blah blah you know you might be in a different situation but they haven't and I think what
people see you this year is that you went out and got Hubertoe and you signed an old
and you've signed an old Brower and you've signed an old you traded for an old luch each because
you signed an old neal and you there's too many of those hey let's get an old guy and pay him big bucks
and it might suck at the end but instead to get in this year yeah instead of getting a pelche and saying
oh yeah maybe maybe pelchay i'm just using pelch because he's fresh in my mind but maybe pelche or
someone like him would have scored five less fucking goals than neal
but he's 21 and cheapest chips they've never had that approach right and no and
and part of that goes back to the owner because the owner again I'm trying to speak
for him I don't know his mind but I'm trying to imagine what he's thinking I know what
Neil is let's just pay him I'm not afraid of paying to the cap just pay to the cap I know
what Neil is I don't know what that kid is he might get seven goals
and we might be screwed and not make the playoffs because of it.
Give me the guy I know.
I'll overpay a little bit.
That's okay.
Just get us to the playoffs.
It has to end at some point.
And this year is a good year to do it.
It's a high on some guys.
There's always going to be talented.
There's always going to be talented teams out there.
But having McDavid three hours north should make you hit pause.
not pause as in you're never going to time out that your franchise is in a good spot but
probably not making any sense but mac david's there how the fuck are you going to get from where
you are to beating the oilers team than a macdavid dry-sid's combination take the next couple
years maybe some of those things change maybe they get a little bit older and you're coming
through as the next wave of a high-end talented team and set it up you know we criticize the oilers
because they haven't won much and the Leafs and but those teams are making the playoffs and even though
the Leafs haven't advanced through the first round they're a team that if they did get through
the first round you would not be surprised to see go to the finals same with the Oilers I mean they
lose to Colorado and the same my point is make a team that
You're going confidently for a five to seven year period where yeah, there's no question they're making the playoffs and not only are they making the playoffs
We will judge them on their playoff success
That's you know Toronto's been criticized because they haven't had playoff success
But that's what they're being judged on
Fuck, we don't we can't even judge our team after Christmas because they're so out of it half the time
Give us a group of guys you believe in that can stay there together grow
learn to win together and give us a nice long window of success.
You're talking about a long-term plan.
That's what you're saying.
Instead of this very, very short focus, long-term plan.
You've said it all year.
And it happens around the league where a team will,
I doubt it.
They'll put together, like you say,
let's find that group of players, and they had it here.
Bennett, Monaghan, Goddrow, Kachuk comes in.
There's some guys in the back end, obviously.
And then you can understand, you may not agree with it, but you can understand, well, they're all young.
So let's try and insulate them a little bit.
Let's bring in some veteran presence with a Brower.
Again, it's hard to defend that one looking back.
I like Troy, good guy, but it was that would, good a James Neal.
What we need?
We've never had a right wing, scoring right winger.
Here's a guy.
He's going to come to Calgary.
We'll pay him.
Okay.
Didn't work out.
Where they're at right now, that whole.
nucleus of young guys, they're all gone.
Yeah, they're not a young team.
They're going to hold real quick last summer.
So, so yeah, it feels like, and it's so easy for us,
but it does feel like it's staring you right in the face.
Let's try again.
It happens to a lot of teams.
You build a core of young guys, you ride them, try your best.
If it doesn't, then you move on and you try it again.
they have to be at a spot right now
where the cupboard feels more or less empty.
But you have Wolf, you have Peltje,
you have corner, you at least,
you can kind of squint and see, all right, all right.
We're not talking about starting today
and bringing in new, we need some draft picks.
We have no, we have nothing.
Little thin on the back end,
but okay, so that could be your focus.
You're not old on the back end.
Yeah, I would, I guess, yeah, just with, with,
I know what you're saying, but yeah.
I know what you're saying as far as...
It may not be as bleak as you think
because you do have some years without knowing it,
if you want to call it a rebuild or a retool,
you're kind of a few years into it if you want to look at it that way.
If you wanted to sell high on someone like Chris Tanna,
and Tyler Tafoli, who are going to want one more deal in their careers
because if you're signing those guys, you're getting older.
Like Tafoli said in his exit meetings,
he likes Daryl, he'd love to be here,
he wants to talk contract.
That doesn't make a younger.
And he's a really good player.
and he's coming off a career high.
This summer is maybe the best time ever
to sell a Tyler Toffoli.
He's way below market value.
The cap's incredibly tight.
How many guys around the,
how many GMs around the league could say,
I can have a 30 goal guy for four and a quarter?
That's how you get younger quick.
You turn him into a first at the draft in June.
And now it's like you add that guy to this group.
You already have your own first,
which is going to be 16th overall.
And it's like, this doesn't have to be like an eight-year walk through the desert.
And you don't have to suck.
to retool a little.
It's just about thinking about these assets more than just this year can we get in.
I need this guy to get in.
Think about in two and three in four years.
Do you want to add an aging Tyler to Foley and an aging, you know, in theory,
Chris Tanev to a group that already has cadrey at 34 or five,
Hubert O at 32, 33, McKenzie Wiger mid-30s.
Like you're married to a few guys that are going to be old.
Don't collect more of these guys.
That's a Foley deal.
And I'm just kind of curious.
You think you get a first.
Is that now or in season before deadline?
Well, I mean, you could do either,
but you're selling high now because he's having a career year.
It just feels like if you can get a first,
don't you have to.
I don't think it'd be a challenge at all to get the first.
You look at the rate that guys went for.
And he's a rental.
And shit, if you wanted to get really savvy,
you go to a contender and say,
we'll eat a million bucks on this thing.
You can get them for three and a quarter.
Yeah.
But we need another pick.
Now it's a first and a third and a prospect.
Let me ask you, and I brought him up before.
Because I agree with you.
And I think if that's the path, it becomes very clear how you can do it.
We joked earlier about it was not long ago that Dallas looked at Holtby and Hadobin as their goaltenders,
and that changed in under a calendar year.
It can happen so fast.
What is your tact then?
If you're going to youth movement, don't call whatever the hell you want,
but you're going to try and move out some guys and you have to be really kind of savvy in who you're bringing back of these expiring contracts next year.
where does Elias Lindholm fit?
Because it will be a long-term high-dollar contract.
It's the elephant in the room is the coach back,
because his comments were incredibly non-committal.
But again, it's going to be an eight-year,
you would think he's going to want max.
Oh, he's getting max term.
He's getting eight to nine million.
We know the contract.
So is Elias, is he going to look at an eight-year,
I like the term, the dollar, everything's good,
but this coach could be here for 14, 15 months.
I'm out.
I don't I don't really do you think you would I just think players only get more leverage
the closer they get to uFA status and I don't think Elias lynhom's going to have a tough time
finding suitors if he gets to July 1 2024 and hasn't taken the money from the flames I think he'll get his
I'm going to defend darrell again in this instance because I don't think it was all darrell
that upset lindholm that's fair I think Lindholm losing his linemates played a huge role
role in his lack of production this year and probably lack of enjoyment during the season.
You know, he lost his two linemates for his top line in the NHL, has a kid, the team's not
doing well.
It was a bad year.
So I'm not, I don't think it was, I think there's probably less a focal point on Daryl than
what we're imagined.
Well, and to your point, I wouldn't be surprised if he had issue with the way.
that Huberto and Cadry
handled themselves this year.
And that, so what we're not asking is,
does Darrell like Elias and does Elias like Darrell?
What we're saying is Elias Lindholm,
a number one center,
and the only guy you can squint and imagine is the number one center
in this entire organization,
does he want to come back to this organization
with this owner?
Okay, I'm just going to stop you.
This team, this ring.
I'm not up for what he wants.
I'm saying if you're the flames.
Oh, you're off from everything this summer, yeah.
So he's a part of your, you're okay keeping,
because we're going younger, right?
We're retooling.
You know, who are you bringing back and who are, you okay?
I mean, everyone has a number where it's like, that's too much,
or it's like, yeah, we got to do that.
So, I mean, he kind of slots that $8 to $9 million range.
But again, we're asking what would a different organization?
What would this team do?
What would you want to see them do?
I'm asking what you would do.
Well, I think you have to have that conversation to see,
A, what he's worth in trade, because again, this is a valuable piece at well below market rate,
and then weigh that against what that next contract looks like.
And we don't know either of those things.
We're just guessing.
But we know he's worth a lot, and we know he's going to be expensive.
I know that my answer from my two buddies here is that I'll be an idiot.
But I'm not doing anything with Lindholm until I can figure out what I can do with Huberto and Codry.
And so if you come to the realization you can't move those guys, then what?
Because I think that's like that it changes my.
Yeah, and you're right.
I'm not saying, but before I get to lend home, honest to God, this would be my approach.
And I actually, so do things.
I don't think they should have signed Codry because he's getting older.
And I don't think he was a piece they needed.
And I think he's, to be quite honest, more worried about Codry than he is about his team.
So I would love to get rid of Codry.
I don't know if anyone's out there that it would take them.
Is there?
If you eat a million bucks on cadre?
Who wants a guy?
$3 to 37.
Huh.
Coming off a bad year.
I don't think anyone wants that term at that age, right?
But again, but again, Pinder, you told us last summer, it's only a year in that this was
highly desirable and we were lucky to get him.
And now you're saying at $5 million bucks, no one wants.
No, I didn't say they're lucky to get them.
I said, you know, he was a top free agent out there,
but you know that on July 1, how these things go,
the back half's going to be ugly.
And so if the front half isn't looking good,
why does a team want to get married to the back half of this thing?
If they're close, he, listen, he is a center.
And we forget how good he was at the start of the year.
He was the leader of this team.
And if you, and we'll see what happens.
Every year there's going to be some teams where the pressure was red.
He was not the leader that we think he was.
No, I guess.
They've swung and missed on who they thought guys who were on for ages.
He was the straw stir and the drain.
All I'm saying is that player,
he's a centerman who has a lot of years under his belt.
He's won a cup for whatever if you put in.
At $5 million?
So it's not the money.
It's the term.
I understand.
So he turns 33 before the start of next season.
Tampa Bay gave up five picks for Tanner Genoa.
Tanner Genoa.
Tanner Geno is not 32.
You do things when you're in your window to win.
And like Breezebois said,
we'll recoup picks down the road.
We'll worry about that.
We have a position to win now.
If it's a similar situation,
a team can add a centerman like Cadry.
I don't think there's ever been a 32-year-old move
with six years left on a contrary.
All I'm saying is,
I don't think it's crazy.
I don't think it's,
I think Hubert,
the Hubert O one, man, I don't know.
It's so much money and the deal hasn't kicked in.
And the way it's structured.
Yeah.
Structured, right?
Yeah.
The flames might have to pay all that upfront money and then just give them away for nothing.
I don't think there's ever been a hockey trade with that much term on someone that old that's been made.
Never mind the season we just had.
So here's here's the thing then it doesn't matter because who cares.
But then we should have been throwing our hands up in the air and refusing to buy season tickets last year if this guy is that bad.
Well, no one, no.
I mean, it's easy after a guy has the worst year he's had in a decade to see it.
But no one saw it in the summer.
But then how?
Because you paid him for a Stanley Cup winner.
I don't get your take.
You don't get my take.
He's coming off maybe the worst year of his career compared to expectations.
And you're wondering why teams wouldn't want him?
You're going to have to show you can be that guy again before teams are going to want you.
At age 33 next year, no one's going to buy 20.
27-year-old Nazim Kadri.
They want to see the 33-year-old
Nazim-Cadry that has been paid
can look good in this league again.
It's 33.
Like, when did you start realizing this league's too tough?
You should be harder on Trilliving for signing him.
Well, if you knew at the time that he was going to look like this,
you'd hate it.
But it's the worst we've seen him.
Like, if you knew a 115-point guy
was going to have 55, of course you'd hate the fucking trade
or the signing.
The contract structure was always,
but at least you were going to have
four or five years of a star player.
We didn't know these things were happening.
I don't know that you could have said,
what's a worst case with this.
But he's not a good player because of coach, I thought.
No, but I think there's a factor there.
No one here has said anything is 100% Daryl's fault.
And you keep trying to paint me with that brush red.
Like I've said,
a billion times,
there's blood on everyone's hands here,
especially the players.
And I haven't said it maybe loud enough,
but I think there are guys that like Daryl a lot
and that will play for Daryl.
I also think Daryl is an issue with a few guys that are here and that happen to be the hardest contracts to move.
This isn't me trying to scapegoat Daryl Sutter.
You were the one that first jumped on at saying he's having a bad year.
He's overcoaching.
He won the Jack Adams.
He's trying to prove to the world he's not this and he's not that.
He's not going to rest on his laurels.
But all of a sudden now when people are critiquing Dary, it's like, it's not his fault.
He's not all his fault.
No one's saying it's all his fault.
But you can't change everyone.
You can't trade Hubert O'Codry, get rid of the GM and the coach.
just doesn't happen.
No one wants those deals.
I have a 33-year-old
coming off career worst,
where do I sign?
No.
The Hubertoe is,
I don't,
you're going to have to just find a way
to make that one as palatable as possible.
I don't think he's getting one 15 again.
That's all you can do.
How about 80?
Got 80 with you.
Can you get close to 80,
be a point of game guy?
Why the fuck do we believe
Huberto can get to 80
and Cadry's going to be horseshit?
What the fuck are you two saying?
Well,
So where do you think a realistic expectation is...
You can't speak both sides of your fucking mouth.
They're either fucking came in and they can't fucking play anymore
or they're still capable.
So what happened to Jeff Skinner then?
Brett,
how did he find it again?
I thought I would...
He found it again.
So are you saying that's the point?
And I said, go get fucking Jeff Skinner.
And you could have had him for four and a half.
And you looked at me like I had seven heads.
So are you telling me that Cadreys fucking done?
Are you telling me that Cadre and Hubri are done?
Because if that's the case, we're in big trouble.
They're not done.
So what I'm saying is the best chance of them not being done
is getting them a new coach.
Because it looks like they quit on this guy.
And that's not blaming Darrell.
That's understanding you're stuck with these contracts
if they don't start looking like they used to.
Covered a lot of ground there.
Lots.
Covered a lot of ground.
So then you have to trade Lindholm.
Because you can't trade Codry and Huberno,
then you have to trade Lindholm.
I mean, and honestly, if this team look,
What are you going to do with the same fucking lineup for the next eight years and have Lindholm get old with fucking two other guys that can't perform?
Like you were saying, and we've all agreed, if you have a long term plan, it's probably also the time you have to sell Elias Linholm.
But knowing how this owner operates, they are going to kind of run it back, which, you know, depending on what week we talk to you, you're not interested in until January.
And oh, they're only a few saves away.
Like, they're bringing them back.
And if it really goes sideways, they'll sell them in season.
and you're going to get a shitload.
Well, that's the nice thing about Lindholm and Backland.
You can trade both of those guys and get it's,
and that's what we keep saying.
It's actually not.
And Hanifah.
Oh, we don't rebuild.
Well, don't.
You've got fucking valuable assets that you can trade and retool quickly.
Yeah, you can, you don't have to take picks for these guys,
or you can take a pick and then turn it into player.
Vancouver trades Bo Horvatt.
They get a first rounder from the Islanders.
They take that first rounder, they go get Philiparonic.
You don't have to, it's like, oh, geez, now we've got to wait four years.
of this pick. You can move a first the same day for a roster player. If they don't want to
have to be patient, you can still, their valuable assets is for sure. Hanifan in his prime,
Lindholm, in his prime, right? DeFoli career year, Zedorov career year and some veterans that
can help you in Backlin and Tanniv. Those are all marketable assets. Those are seven, six free agents.
So what for you, what do you think is, and a guy, when I, when I,
I was talking about cadre.
I was just talking about could he be dealt?
And we've seen deals where, you know, Funuf moves
and one team keeps a chunk and then another.
I just don't think it's as,
I don't think it's as crazy to think that he could.
You could package him with assets and move them,
but the notion of you're like,
you're eating a part of the salary
and you're not going to get anything helpful back.
Like, do you want to move your first with them?
You could, maybe you can move them that way.
Do you, so what's your,
Well, go down that far.
Sorry.
Sorry.
I'm interrupting boom.
But go down that far.
If we're doing a retool.
If you're doing a re-s,
is that an option?
Don't give up a first.
Because you could, if you,
you know, stop, stop.
Yes, you can.
Because if you give away your first with cadre,
you're going to recoup that first when you get rid of Lindholm or
backland.
I mean, I like more firsts if you're trying to get younger,
but sure.
Yeah.
Okay.
Like, you could go down that path.
If you're stuck with the guy for,
like,
you're getting,
you're getting cap relief.
He doesn't want to be here and make it a bunch of,
right?
Go ahead,
no,
I was going to say,
if you're,
you're getting cap relief.
You're not getting nothing.
It's,
that's,
yeah,
you're spending a first to get cap relief.
Yeah,
for sure.
And not ideal.
No question.
The best case scenario is he can reestablish himself
as a number two center in the NHL.
Because he didn't look like that last year.
And he's,
still hit like what 24 25 goals yeah he was in the all-star game that's what I was going to ask
default so what but what what do you think is where's that where's the over under for you if you
were betting on points for nasm cadre next season well what did you do this year because the points
weren't bad it was the work ethic and the give a fuck that killed you I agree I agree so it's not like
what what drove you nuts wasn't the lack of production it was just like how could you be that
apathetic in a game on season online game against Chicago
That's what drives you nuts.
Like if he's a 20 to 25...
He scored 24 this year.
He wasn't a great year.
Like he scored 60 points...
Several times in his career.
But I just think if you're looking at goals,
you've missed why he's disappointment.
He said, oh, he must have been great this year.
Everyone loved him, right?
24 goals?
No, but again, if this is the worst he's ever looked,
I mean, that's pretty bad.
24 goals?
No, the goals are bad.
The give a fuck was bad.
The quit.
That was what was bad.
That's why, like, it's not crazy to think
that if he really has that much of a hate on for the coach,
like why couldn't he get over 30?
Well, and that's why I say a trade isn't crazy.
But if he's the other team.
So until he establishes that, then you can trade him.
Yeah, if he can go back score 30 and look like a great player,
of course you can trade him.
No, no, at these, it was a shit year and he still had 24 goals and whatever.
And yes, the body language, but I'm saying he's a centerman.
And if you're a team that's close and you're getting a little bit of kickback on the cap hit,
you'll worry about the remainder of the contract later.
I mean, I see the point you're making.
I just don't think I've ever seen a 33-year-old with six years left move.
There have been a lot of bad deals that have moved.
Teams have found away.
I mean, teams have found away.
I know what you're saying.
If you want to package first and move them, of course you can.
I don't think.
If you could sell them in a year as a back to a number two center,
now you can actually make a hockey trade.
Well, now, let me ask you then.
Because if he gets back to a number two center, you don't want to friggin' trade him.
Well, I mean, again, that's how that's going to go.
That's how it's going to go again.
It's wow, now he's,
guys been awesome for us.
Like, let's say, you know, hypothetical land.
Man, it's, we had no problem with his work ethic.
We had no problem with Nazim Kodry, the player,
until the all-star break.
Yeah, which was funny, because he said,
if we play like a team, we'll get in.
And then after the all-star break,
we talk about, we've talked about it for years.
It's too obvious for something not to have taken place.
Well, and it was around that time that we heard,
oh, Nazim Kodry is actually a really vocal member of this room.
interactions with the coach.
And again, I'm not blaming the coach.
I'm blaming both of them.
Because it's clear that whatever happened between those two
that fucking sewered the season.
Not the only thing.
There's a shit low.
The goalie could look like an NHL guy that'd help
for more than just a month and a half.
But like that,
he was said to be what about that group with Daryl?
The guy that would confront him and talk to him.
And we went from saying, like, this guy could be a captain
to like,
I've never seen someone quit like this.
Does that not wreak of an incredibly horrid relationship
between coach and player?
Which is fine.
I don't think we're debating that.
We debate things for fun and we don't get paid to make any kind of moves.
But my thought is that if you're the other 31 teams in the league and you're watching
and you are close a top five or 10 team and you can have like I never thought he had
these kind of numbers he's 56 points in 82 games which maybe isn't even up to his standard but it's
certainly not far off a five to seven million dollar player right and if you can look at it and go
this cadre guy if we could get him out if we could steal him out of calgary because we believe
once he gets out from under darrell he's absolutely going to revert back to being a number two
centerman and they're going to eat two million bucks. Let's do this. I guess your point might be
it's not really a hockey trade. All you're doing is dumping salary. You're getting nothing in return.
But let's say, you know, for whatever reason, let's say Mitch Love coaches this team and Nazim has
the joie de vivre back and is like, wow, like great season, 25 goals, but was an emotional leader and
did come up with some good play when you needed it.
At that point, it's like, yeah, a half price or three-quarter price, Nazim,
you can take to market.
It's just there's a lot of guys that GMs will look to buy low on.
The last one they'll get to is the longest term, right?
There's a lot of other sentiment like, oh, he's only got a couple of years left,
and I'll buy low on that.
Of course, teams will think he's better than this, but they're just going to,
there's less risky deals to make out there.
Like, I'll go bet on a bounce back from Adam Henrique.
who's only got a couple of years left before.
Would he be attractive on July 1st?
If there's a team in this mix and there's so much pressure in the NHL,
is there a team on July 1st?
If they could get Nossum-Cadry at six years, five million per.
If you go half-priced, I think there's a market.
I just think the cap's so tight in a normal year.
I agree.
And again, who knows if they eat, whatever.
But just to push this one step further,
and then we will move on.
If you're a team that's close and you're a GM,
that's like, I gotta get, we need to win now.
Just because it's not what it is,
but look it in those terms.
There'd be a six,
six years remaining and the cap hit instead of seven is five.
To add that centerman to your team that's close.
Trying to think of a team,
because that's kind of the best way to measure.
How would it look?
You know what?
You stopped and paused and that's all I'm saying.
Oh, yeah.
It gives you, it gives you for sure.
And I think that's all the more reason to think
if you could get this guy aligned and work.
working again. It's not a problem, but as long as it looks like he doesn't want to work,
it's time for the Pinder report.
It hasn't been enough of me. Have you got enough? You got energy left?
Go do some. Can Rocky do the last two rounds?
No, you're in. Village Honda paying top dollar for your vehicle. They got a million
dollars to do it. Sell them your used vehicle. Get a tropical cruise for two and cash.
Find out more at villagehonda.com. Village Honda presents the Pinda report.
in the flames organization. We'll start with it.
So plentiful. It's like plucking apples
and off the tree in September,
Dean. Dustin Wolf, we knew
it was going to happen and it did his second
consecutive net minor of the year award
in the American Hockey League.
That very good. Back
to back for the
Aldidge
Baz Bastion Memorial Award
winner. And yeah, that's a pretty
good run his last four years, Rhett. That's goalie
of the year in the HL, his
first and second season. And his last two
in the WHL goal of the year, goal of the year,
and was also the CHL goaltender of the year
and the USA Junior goaltender of the year prior to that.
And lowest full season save percentage,
junior through pro, 928.
Bring up up.
Go ahead.
And if he's 6'3, he's been here for two years.
I love it.
What would you get for a wolf and you could trade?
You can trade that.
What could you get for him?
Hey, Retro?
Wait till he wins a Vezna.
So many picks.
Don't sell now.
Don't be selling an HL MVP.
You're going to love this too, Rhett,
because it's not just that he's good at net.
Here's the quote, courtesy West Gilbertson of Post Media.
At the end of my career,
you get to go home and see all the hardware in your shelves,
but the hardware I want is right now a Calder Cup
and a Stanley Cup eventually.
They'll start next week, I believe Wednesday is when they'll open.
Or is it Tuesday?
Next week, they start at home waiting the play in-round
in the Pacific Division. Do you like that quote retro?
Trophies are cool, but I want the team one.
Absolutely.
Love it.
That's what you want guys to be about, for Christ's sakes.
It's robust times in Flamesland.
Just a bumper crop coming in, right, Dean?
Yeah.
I don't know how they're going to fit all these kids in.
Wipe out the last 40 minutes of the show.
We'll move along to the NHL.
We start in Carolina where, I mean,
we kind of gave some guys some heat at the draft.
Now, do you remember when Stefan Nosen was selected at the draft?
Oh, you mean the Nason?
Nason, yeah, the Barnburner inaugural playoff draft.
And I believe it was the Grey Eagle team.
Of course, we were hosted there.
And we had some of our guys helping out the Grey Eagle guys.
And took a little bit of heat from the drunks on the mic.
Old Loudmouth and Fat Boy didn't like the Stefan Nosen pick.
Well, two goals and two games.
And look at this beauty, Rhett.
if you don't see natural goal score here on this tally,
like how did we not have this guy penned in as a first rounder?
I'm going to say you won't see another goal like this in playoffs.
Flummock's shot like that.
Oh.
That's incredible.
So we take it back.
Clearly an amazing pick and we should have seen it coming.
For those that aren't watching, and you've seen it,
Nason's just dumping the puck into the corner.
I don't know. I plan that out. Defenseman, Aho, tips it,
and it somehow beats his own goalie.
No, we saw Aho score on Sorokan earlier in the series,
but this is his teammate Sebastian Ajo, not the Hurricane Sebastian Aco.
It didn't just tip it.
He tipped it up into the air.
Flutterville.
Above just inside the blue line.
It's still.
It's goal scorer, score, all right.
We take it back.
Great pick.
Overtime we go.
Islanders trailed 2-0, led 3-2.
Back to even terms, came Carolina at home, and we needed extra time.
Third, overtime game of the year.
Pretty good.
Three days in, right?
We got the overtime winner for you.
We'll watch that and then we'll show you why there's a bit of an issue.
So Burns to Esper Fast the winner.
I'll let you comment and then we'll jump to what everyone's freaking out about on Long Island.
Sorokin is a sieve.
One, first comment.
Second comment.
What the F is your captain doing on the back check?
Let's revisit.
Let's play that again, Alex, if we can.
Okay, so we're watching for,
was it Anders Lee?
Who's the captain there?
Yeah, there's Anders Lee.
Where is he?
Number 27, correct?
Coming up the wall there?
Yeah, oh, geez.
Don't move your feet.
Don't move your feet. Don't move your feet.
Oh, I really dug in.
That's a very nice.
All you had to do is skate a couple strides.
Take away to pass, you dumb ass.
He was watching for a bit there, Dino.
Yeah.
Pedestrian.
Yeah, he was kind of, is he the one wearing the bubble right now?
Or is that Brock?
Somebody's wearing that.
I wonder if maybe his vision was important.
You're looking for an excuse for him, Dean.
That's very kind of.
Yeah, I know.
It's a shitty back check.
And worse than the shitty backchaggeret might have been the worst, the missed call as Scott
Mayfield had a very legit high stick into his face right as the puck was turned over in
neutral ice.
That's, uh, Mr. Svatchnikov, Jordan Martinuk's stick, I believe that gets right up in his
grill. Play continues, winner goes. So instead of, you know, an Islander's power play with a chance
to soft the series coming home, it's you're down to nothing, missed call. The debate, though, is that
Mayfield lifts his stick. It's not a debate. The rulebook is clear. And the stick goes into his face.
It doesn't matter. Right there, it's all. He didn't lift his stick at all, and it's no debate.
I mean, look, stick lift or not, you're in charge your stick. That's the rules. It's written in black
ink on white paper.
There's no room for interpretation that if you lift a guy's stick,
it's still controversial.
It's still Sorokin being a sieve
because they shouldn't have scored the time goal either.
2.0 going back to Long Island.
Let's hope UBS Arena, that billion dollar palace
in Long Island.
Should I go to that game?
Why not?
They'll be pumped up there, Rhett.
I would like to get your, the new ring.
Who's what? Frank the tank will be out there.
Frank the tank will be out there.
Remember a New Jersey transit system.
That's right.
incompetent!
He'll be there.
So what's the percentage?
Four.
Okay.
Four percent.
I can also go to the Rangers game.
That's a better move.
On Saturday at MSG.
Percentage?
How far?
Yeah.
Percentage?
Six.
Six percent.
And what about your odds of getting to Jersey tonight for the game two?
Devils.
Rangers.
I refuse to go to Hoboken.
I hate Hoboken.
Zero percent.
0% got it.
Florida, Boston, that was the other early game last night.
It was tied heading to the third,
and the Bruins picked a bad time for maybe their worst period of hockey
in the entire NHL season.
Four from the Panthers, one into an empty net,
and a late meaningless goal from the Bruins.
6-3 your final.
We got a series going back to FLA.
Got to be happy, Rhett, your Panthers.
Yeah.
The Big Bad Bruins are wore out.
They were two focused on that fancy.
best ever trophy
whatever when in the
set in records.
They're tired.
They're sick.
They're done.
Bathers are rolling.
Look out.
Sam Bennett.
I heard it here first.
Sam Bennett.
Bergeron still lots of questions
around his availability,
how hurt he is.
It's not just illness anymore.
That's a big part of this team
that got hurt in was a feeling
like a pretty meaningless game 82.
And in case you think the burns
are going to go meekly,
rat.
Here's a little rewind to the last few minutes of play here.
Oh, look at that.
3.7 seconds left.
Still time to send messages, right?
Send a message.
There's Chuck Coyle.
This is going to be a long series.
There's Tyler Bertuzzi, the rat.
Sugar.
Lomburgini.
And just wait.
We'll get a tilt here.
Watch the middle of the screen.
There we go.
I like how they keep the gloves on.
Yeah, Trent's worried about a major with three seconds left.
Dude, just shed the mitts.
Because if you get a suspended, Ryan,
And if you take, if you fight, they can't do it.
Okay.
So that's not a fight.
That's just where it's just roughing.
Yeah.
Concental minors.
We have the flow on the Lombardine.
We have the wharfing right there.
It's horse playing.
They should have got, with one minute and 44 seconds, they took forever to call a bunch of calls.
The guys are chirping at each other.
The rest should have dropped the puck and got them out of their dummies.
Oh, yeah.
You, get out of here.
You.
This has been a trend.
Everyone's blaming the ref.
In every series, no matter where we're at.
And I kind of think half of that's actually well deserved.
So we're tied heading back to Sunrise, Florida.
Ret, probability, percent chance you fly down to Florida
and catch a game in the series.
Well, I've been asked to, aren't the heat plane as well?
So I was going to go, they asked me to come throw the ball up at the heat game
and drop the puck at the Panthers game.
You have to throw the ball up.
Throw the ball up, yeah.
Opening, opening, tip off.
Tipy
Yeah
Percentage
Heat and bucks
So zero
Oh dear
Zero
Let's go to our next series
Minnesota
I can't be in New York
And
Can't do it all
Florida
You're one man
But there's lots of
Percents left
I saw you were
Yeah
We're like 10%
Over 4 that you could
Go to the island
It's be more
Because the Panthers
and Heat
That's two games there
It's we're
Double off
And
I'll give you one
I'll give you
100%
100%
I'll be watching
The Js
mop up the
Yankees.
Is he going to be sure for the Jays?
Is that what I just heard?
No.
But you know what?
Maybe to start by about the fifth or sixth inning, he'll have his Yankees.
What's the move?
Do you go jersey over top of the other team's t-shirt?
How do you?
I got to see how Vlad's playing before it.
It's like a wrestling swerve.
He'll turn on the shoveler and then put on.
He's got a Jay's jersey underneath.
How could you do it?
Oh, my God.
I see it coming.
That'll be fun.
And look, you're in New York.
The Rangers games.
be way higher than 6%.
Nope.
Last time I went to a Rangers game, I sat there for seven minutes and then I left and went.
Who were you banging?
Six minutes at a range of game.
That's what he was scouting.
Oh, scouting.
Hey, Rhett, we're going to send you to the game, do some pro scouting for you.
I was there for a wedding.
I caught the first seven minutes.
I think he's really good.
Okay, we'll move.
Minnesota, Dallas.
It's been a really good series last night.
Not a close game, but certainly an entertaining one.
Let's check in on old Rupa hints,
who checked in with a hatty last night.
Brick up player.
Do you remember how they got him?
Let's swap with Detroit.
Jim Nill pulling the wool over his old buddy's eyes, Kenny Holland,
just a throw in.
For who, Rupé?
Really?
Check out who drafted him.
All right.
Tell me what to do.
Ah, the old hat trick.
2015 draft a second rounder,
drafted by Dallas, but that pick came over to Detroit.
Oh, so he was a third.
Yeah.
It's not a throw in then.
It's not really a throw-in then.
I knew there was a tie to Detroit.
I don't take that back.
Do your homework, Pender?
Fuck.
That one's 1-1 going back to Minnesota.
A lot of the conversation,
why didn't they just roll Philip Gustafson,
who's been great?
Yes, this is a future Hall of Famer,
but Guston 51 saves,
and the only reason they got a win in game one in overtime.
Double overtime.
Why didn't you roll with your comment?
It's not like any of us we're going to double check it.
I actually.
I care if I'm right, but yeah.
Maybe I shouldn't have.
Gustafson.
and I'm glad they played Flurry.
I wanted the stars to win.
Okay, good.
We got a series.
And it will be Gassafson tomorrow.
Don't worry about that.
Don't think Flurrie's seven goals against average is going to get him
unless he's hurt.
You know,
why wouldn't you start?
Oh, goodness gracious.
Alternated him down the stretch.
Oh my gosh.
It's the playoffs.
Yeah.
That's the one that got you there.
Dean, come on.
Come on.
Guys.
Come on, guys.
Nightcap, L.A.
Edmonton.
Some nervous times in Edmonton,
not unlike game one,
a roaring start.
euphoric building and then a two-goal lead blown.
Unlike game one, they only blew one two-goal lead up QE2 last night and two-two
heading into the third tense until the real Klim Shady won the game with a horrible goal
on Eunice Corpusallo.
How about this for a post-game interview?
Oilers fans are going to need to smoke after this one.
They love this guy.
I'm sorry for my English.
You guys can't even imagine how proud I am to be in the team.
You guys, it's just amazing.
Thank you so much.
God bless America.
That's it.
He's done.
See you.
You know what?
I know you like taking shots at old Kenny Hall.
Look at the lady done the interview.
Just something happened.
Twitch and she's so happy.
Yeah, I know.
He was a good ad for them.
Yeah.
I mean, you could do better with 750 grand, or is that about as good as you can do?
That's probably about as good as you can do for league men.
Not bad.
Pretty good.
Not bad.
Maybe they can do this.
the Curtis Glencross thing and take him for granted and the flames could scoop
this guy or what do you think?
Not a UFC.
He likes playing there.
He told you how excited he was.
Well, he's very excited.
Yeah. Arb Wrights.
We'll see where that one goes.
1-1 going to L.A.
Kings have to be happy with the split, but man, so close to really being in control here.
Tide hitting in the third.
I mean, at the same time, though.
Been outplayed most of the series.
Oilers of, yeah.
For sure.
And McDude hasn't done anything.
And that tying goal against Skinner.
Yeah.
A little soft.
Skitter.
Soft.
So that was last night.
Here's tonight.
Another four games.
Now the road teams,
perfect two nights ago.
Road teams all up one zip on the screen you're seeing.
Tampa, Toronto, lots of storylines from there.
A lot of questions about Victor Hedman.
Did skate also did chat with the medical staff at morning skate.
Lengthy chat at the bench with the doctors who,
but I don't know if Rhett trusts those doctors.
Tampa doctors?
Game time.
Game time decision tonight, says John Cooper.
Also on that front, Michael Bunting, suspended three games
for that dirty, dirty, jump shoulder into the head
with the puck is nowhere near them.
Yeah. Dirty dog.
The league doesn't think it's similar to the other hit, by the way.
The Bevelsky, no penalty, this one, three games.
So you're siding with the league?
They're so good and consistent, I have to side with the league.
But it is funny.
Like, coincidentals and three games.
They were almost the exact same hit.
Yeah.
like in terms of head dog wild and yeah the other games we showed you there
what are we thinking on the slate fellas i love new jersey to get a win here it feels like
they're a little over their head but just keep this series going longer i think there's lots of drama
that's unfold that ret's going to be in new york on the weekend like get them down to msg please
abbs will talk about you and the betway bets of the day coming up later and can connor
Hallibuck and Rets Jets, who he picked,
keep the good vibes going in Vegas tonight.
Vegas looked like shit in game one.
17 shots.
This is always that test.
We live in, that 24-hour cycle.
Oh, the Leafs sucked and Vegas was no good.
And then it's, you know, oh, or Boston.
So good.
Florida, not very good.
Oh, that's how it works.
So?
Of these, I was, yeah, so of the teams down 0-1,
who has the best shots here at evening things up.
Yeah, or the flip side is,
which underdog do you think can come home up to O?
Like which dog?
And Tampa probably top that list the way they looked on them.
But I least have to be better.
I think Leafs win.
Well, I think the Leafs will win.
Okay.
And I think the Rangers will win.
Right.
Just come home, too, oh, that'd be big.
I'd have to imagine the Ave show more than they did.
Yeah.
Did O Vegas?
But again, keep squintinting.
Retting.
in lockstep.
I think it's Rangers Leaves,
Avs Vegas.
All right. Very good. We'll move to baseball.
That might be Jets.
What?
Lockstep.
Reds Jets. Rets.
How about Rets athletics?
Moving to Vegas. Is this your new baseball team?
Been rumbling's about this for years.
You're from Oakland. It's the thing to do.
If you're a team from Oakland, it is the thing to do.
So Raiders used to play in Oakland. Where are they?
Vegas.
Vegas.
And the Warriors used to play in Oakland, across the bay.
San Francisco.
I don't know where the, you know, the California Golden Seals eventually ended up.
But yeah, everyone's leaving Oakland.
No sports teams left.
The athletics, they gone.
They're apparently finalizing some land deals in Vegas.
And the city's like, yeah, stop using us for leverage.
We're not even pretending to make a building with you.
See you later.
27, they're hoping they can be in Sin City in Major League Baseball.
Let's go.
How would it, yeah, like, what do you do in Vegas?
Remember, this is not winter.
The season runs spring to fall.
And tourism in Vegas is always a thing,
but it's especially fall to spring.
Like, not a lot of people are there July, August.
I know you've done it a couple times,
but it's hot as balls.
Like, are you putting a roof on this thing?
I don't know you want open air if it's 115.
Retractable.
Retractable would be so great.
What's a cost to air conditioner?
50,000 seat stadium.
It doesn't seem like money is the issue.
No, not in Vegas.
It'll pale in comparison to the value increase
or franchise value increase
of that team moving from Oakland to Vegas.
I'd agree with you.
Yeah.
Other baseball, we saw Scherzer got tossed,
but oh, staying with the A's.
It's also been an awful year.
They've played 19 games.
Do we want to wager their record?
Guess how many wins they've got?
19 games.
10.
Nate.
They are three and 16.
Now, somewhere, somebody's job is to tweet out the final score for the Oakland days.
And you're, oh, it's social media.
You got to be witty.
Let's come up with something funny.
People aren't looking for jokes when you're three and 16 and you just lost again.
So here's the post.
Pretending is playing Uno.
Post the final score graphic or draw 25 cards.
Yeah, I'll fucking draw on the 25 cards.
How good is that?
That's how you do social media.
Yeah, that's good.
And, you know, the dads are getting better.
The Padres are bringing back a guy that we've, maybe had forgotten.
He's gone.
They got Machado.
They spent a lot of money.
Mess around with free agents.
Fernando Tatis Jr. is back.
And we've got the mural in downtown San Diego to prove it.
Yeah.
Yes.
It's tonight, baby.
I forgot how good this guy was.
Rockstar.
Remember him and Acuna
were just like,
oh my God.
Dynamite.
That and like Otani.
He was fucking cheating.
Yeah, he definitely got caught
with something in his system
that was not allowed to have.
I don't,
that may be cheating.
That may be him eating street meat.
Who knows?
Well, we saw what it did to you.
That's right.
Put me in the toilet.
He hit Homer's,
you hit the shitter.
Calvary FC in action tonight
on Vancouver Island.
They play Pacific.
It is a Canadian championship game, so you win and move on.
Why don't you go?
I would love to go.
Why don't you go?
Fly out there.
I'm about to leave you guys for a week.
I don't want to take another day to miss that.
Where are the...
I'm sorry.
And they'll actually play Pacific again and league play on Sunday.
So they're going Thursday, Sunday, just stay out there, win them both.
Let's fucking go.
The look on your face.
What the fuck?
Win a...
I'm sorry, Rhett.
We're going to have to force Boom to take some.
vacation. He's falling behind the pack
here substantially.
No. Take me.
He's like my old man. If he has to take vacation,
he's grumpy. So let him just
do his thing.
And Rhett, we teased it. I were not grumpy.
How do you know if I'm grumpy? Five humans
live in Rett's rental property in Buffalo,
but the shovel are saying there's other
guests as well that might not be as welcome.
This is a shot from Rett's washroom.
Let's take a look here. Earlier, oh.
How the fuck does the mouse get all the way
up there?
You got no traps?
You got a palace in Calgary and this is the dump you're renting in Buffalo.
Kind of a hovel are you living in.
Mouse infested trap.
Not a big rodent fan.
I don't love the rodents.
No.
That looks like a pet.
That's a pet rodent.
God,
I remember you talk about living in a hovel.
Maybe just married.
Long time ago.
Anyway, the woman I live with.
And had the baking sheet of French fries, took them out of the oven,
sat on the kitchen here,
get your chicken fingers sitting and watching
watching TV and you're
Ketink, Ketink, Ketink, Ketink, Ketink.
No, is that?
Somebody in the next unit over doing something.
Ketink, Ketink.
No, it's frigging mice tap dancing
on the frigging cookie sheet
with a wabbling on the stove top.
Oh my God.
Look at that cute little guy.
What's his name, right?
You named them?
No.
Is that blinky?
What is that?
You just grab them by the tail there
and swing them around?
Play catch with the kids.
Ever tell you my dad caught one in the toaster?
No.
Oh, this isn't going to end up.
Delicious.
How is the scent, Rhett?
He actually, he didn't use the toaster, but he grabbed the toaster.
He saw it go into the toaster, so he grabbed it and dumped it in the garboreator.
Oh, wow, that's a plot to us there.
You're going to get him in trouble.
Peter.
I was just trying to imagine what.
what burning fur and smoking flesh was going to smell like it.
Instead, now it's to imagine a mouse and a garbator.
Who's making toast the next day in that one?
And you know there's some mouse bits still hanging out in the bottom of that garbator, too.
They're not all getting flush.
There's some remnants.
Somehow, some way, every single day,
the Penderport brought to by the good people at Village Honda.
Such a good value.
I don't know why or how.
Unbelievable.
Yeah.
Unbelievable value.
Turn your vehicle into cash today during the million-dollar buying event.
They'll buy yours even if you don't buy theirs.
Sellers receive a tropical cruise for two exclusively at Village Honda in the Northwest
Automall, your dealership for life.
Name them, right.
You got to name your pets.
Yeah, I don't like mice either.
No, I'm...
But again, nothing...
Nothing worse than a snake shimmying up the toilet pipe and coming out.
You keep, this has never happened.
It's only in movies.
This is scaring the shit out of you.
It's a movie plot.
Fake.
Snakes don't, they're cold blooded.
They can't be in a cold toilet sewer system.
It makes zero sense.
Next time you see Ozzy Sheila,
ask her about the snake under her bed when she was a teenager.
Snake in her boot.
Snake in my boot.
I just wanted to give a little bit of love to Mad Rose Pub today.
If you're in,
God, it feels like.
We're due again. We were there last week, but I missed that pizza already.
But you know, because they were, of course, hooking us up with flames experiences and that.
There's no more flame stuff.
But I don't want you to forget about Mad Rose Pub.
They're up in Royal Oak, 20 beers on tap.
Kid friendly, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.
15 Royal Vista Place.
And you're thinking, what's today?
Today's a Thursday.
I wonder what they're doing at Mad Rose on a Thursday.
Because every single day, there's something.
They have, now they have daily specials, Monday through Friday, kind of like the lunch specials.
And then every day, they had to say, okay, Tuesday.
What do we need?
on a Thursday, and I grabbed a screenshot of what they do on a Thursday.
If you needed any more incentive to get up or down or over, whatever, geometrically speaking,
whatever it is for you.
But Matt and the folks up there, we were in there last week.
It was like cheers in there.
Hey, guys.
I, Barber, love the show.
Love the podcast.
That's our spot.
That's Thursday.
Jeez.
25% off all pasta dishes.
and half-price bottles of wine.
Also, buck-off feature glasses and wine,
featured pints,
and $9, 2-ounce kettle one.
Gabago.
With cucumber, mint, great fruit,
rose, peach, orange blossom.
Half-price wine.
I'm in a, I've ventured a few ways
through the 20 on tap,
but I feel like, got to collect them all.
It's like Pokemon.
I'm probably five in.
I've got to keep going.
I've got some things I've got to do here
before we get out of here.
We kind of, we went on a bit of a rant.
didn't see it coming either
there's no flames news
didn't see it coming
and I kind of jumped in
I was going a completely different way
and then swerved
so maybe tomorrow I'll bring up
what I was going to bring up today
somehow I think it'll still be
still
who's yelling
keep it down
the shoveler
or is it your kids
zero concern for others in life
hey no
goodness gracious
oh I got the finger again
Oh, jeez.
Wow, shoveler.
Shoveler.
Gray Eagle, resort and casino, the event center.
We talked about it before with, she coming in for a, for a cameo?
She can lean in.
Now I got one for my kid.
Well, that's not going to go as well.
The kid gave you a finger.
Oh, boy.
Oh, he's pretending he had an itchy face.
Yeah, that's a good one.
I like it.
You know what?
Chokeslam him through the kitchen table.
Just pick them up with just right through.
Grey Eagle, as I was saying, the events set.
There are lots of events going on there.
It's starting here right away.
It's never not stuff happening.
Next Tuesday, Whitney Cummings, one of the best comedians going.
She actually had a sitcom.
She was writing on a sitcom, then got her own sitcom.
She continues to write for other people.
She does her own stand-up.
She is going to be there next Tuesday, and we've got tickets to give away.
So we're watching our social media, Flames Nation, on both Twitter
in Instagram. There you see it.
She is going to be, you know what she's going to be doing? She's going to be tickling your
ribs. Oh, baby. Give me those ribs.
Thank you, she'll be just laughing. Tee-he, ha-ha, with Whitney Cummings coming up.
She's funny. She is funny. And then later in the week, and we'll give, we'll talk about it next week, but the Hotel California, the Eagles
Tribute Band is coming through. Go to their website and check out everything that's going on.
Our buddy Brian, Green Drop is going to be front row.
for that.
Hey, Brian.
I hope he's not front row.
No one will be able to see anything.
That's true.
He's tall, lanky bastard.
Go and get tickets for all events at the event center at ticketmaster.ca.
There you go.
If you have to, sure.
Boston's around.
But I do kind of want to.
I miss comedy.
Every time I go to comedy, I'm like, I don't do this.
I don't do it.
I don't wait for like four years.
I'm like, why?
Every time I do this, I say, do this more, dummy.
And then I keep not doing it.
Yeah.
It's just one of the many.
conversations you have with yourself.
Yeah.
Many, many.
It's usually about drafting goalies in the first round.
That's right.
CHL's 19 year old rule.
Yeah.
KFCF at night.
Yeah.
I sent a,
I sent a message to Mike out at St.
Eugene.
Oh, good.
Because we were talking after the show,
and I said,
just missed a call from Cranberg.
Is that right?
Maybe.
Unbelievable.
Maybe.
Because again,
I sent a message to Red asking about,
you know,
I want to do something.
I still waiting to get to hear back from Red.
But I know you're very excited about potentially getting out to St. Eugene, the golf resort casino and having the time out there.
I'm going to finally get my hole in one and then I'm going to get a nice massage at the spot.
Oh my God.
How sloppy it would get if you got a hole in one?
Jeez.
They wouldn't welcome us back at all.
And then Royal flush.
Oh, yeah.
Then a royal flush in the old casino.
What a day.
If you're on a heater like that?
Yeah.
You coming alone?
Are you bringing the signature?
significant one.
Single.
Two seats.
Two seats.
One person.
You're going.
Championship golf course out in Cranbrook,
St.Eugene.ca.
We keep talking about it,
but it's coming up.
Details on something.
St. Eugenie.
St. Eugenie.
Very St. Eugenie coming up.
On Instagram and Twitter
at St. Eugene Resort.
They have the spring swing golf
package on sale.
259. You and a friend
enjoy a night stay in a round of
golf.
including the power cart.
Chop, chop.
Yeah, get going on this, fellas.
They're not sitting there
and rejecting other people calling in
for you to finally get a hold of them
and book your week.
They're not holding off summer longer.
It's coming.
This is the spring deal.
Didn't you say it's snowing?
Yeah, snowing here.
Come on, people. Don't be dumb.
Don't be stupid.
Go on.
St. Eugene, golf resort and casino.
Happy to have them on board
with Barnburn.
I love it.
Getting out there.
Getting out there.
The Betway bets,
you kind of teed up your,
you're loving on the abs.
First thing I,
when I went,
I just,
okay,
so who's bouncing back?
Yeah.
Who lost game one and we're feeling like,
oh,
they're in trouble.
And tomorrow you come and it's like,
yeah,
they're not in trouble.
They just weren't good in game one.
They're actually still very good.
It's the best of seven
and they're going to win it in five or six.
Yeah.
Because as you said,
all these are the higher seated teams
looking at,
rebound tonight. Dogs are all up 1-0. There's going to be some favorites winning tonight.
We just got to figure out who they are. Got to figure it out. Figure?
Got to figure it out. And do it with your Betway app. Betway bets of the day. Get the
Betway app on your phone. Play along. Be responsible. You know? And enjoy yourself. So I got a
couple here. I got a couple. I wish I had the conversation with Rhett about Rhett's Jets earlier.
I said to you it's Winnipeg has good value going.
into Vegas tonight.
There's still Vegas is loving Vegas, oddly enough.
Shifley and Marcia So to each get a point plus 200.
And I did not like what I saw out of the New Jersey Devils.
I think Shisterkin.
The Vanichek is a decided advantage.
And the Rangers, despite being up in the series, are still plus money.
Plus 110 for a Rangers win in New Jersey.
I'll take the Rangers.
I might have to tell you on that.
They look good.
A little bit of stage fright for the devils.
Does that go away after one throttling?
I don't know.
Because I was a couple power play goals, right?
Crider, those were on the power play,
but still the one goal they scored was on a penalty shot.
On Shasturkin, so yeah, give me the Rangers.
Yeah, and Colorado left a lot more to be desired.
I know they're defending champs,
and I'm kind of the mind that they know how to flip the switch
because we have seen them flip the switch
and that maybe it just was a bit of a lackluster effort.
Tip your cap, Seattle, and, hey, I mean,
played well in the first.
regular season. My bet's focusing in on the
abs getting back on track, baby.
I'm going to take a regulation win
and over five and a half goals.
And I love the bet two days ago.
They weren't good. I still love it today because he's still
Kail McCarr. All hail, KL two points, pays,
plus $197. Go get that.
There you go.
I'm worried about the Seattle team.
I tell you what, if they go home up $2,0,
there's legit reason to be concerned about the Seattle team.
because that crowd, I think, is going to show us something.
First ever playoff game there?
Heck, I didn't.
Yeah, hippies will be wound up.
What were they got?
I said, I haven't followed the Seattle team very much this year,
and they got 100 points or plus in the sea,
and I give them zero credit for being any good,
and yet here they are doing good things.
I think you're just like everyone else here.
They got off to the good start,
and other teams in the division were struggling.
Everyone was just like, oh, I guess Seattle's getting in,
And then no one paid attention the last half of the year.
And they're kind of okay, not bad, not great.
But here they are.
That's a second year expansion team.
Up one on the defending champs.
This one kind of feels like, oh, it's the abs are still the abs tonight.
That's where my bets are.
I mean, jinksie pants on, but that's what you'd want to see if you've got the bets I got.
That's it for today.
I think we've done all we can do today.
I'm exhausted.
Yeah.
we'll have another one tomorrow.
We've got to tone it down.
It's too much today.
420 today, Rhett.
That's right.
We were listening to Bob Marley for a couple hours before the show.
Glad I'm done.
I can spark up the bong again.
Is that legal in New York?
We don't want to get you any trouble.
Is that what you do?
Spark the bong.
Honey?
Every morning.
Put the kids to bed.
It's time to spark up the bong.
Kids, come get a hoot before bed.
that's it everybody Friday edition coming up on Friday weird how that works tomorrow
order suck wine t-shirt order suck see you buddies
