Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Stanley Cup Playoffs Recap (Day 3) + Flames Offseason Priorities | FN Barn Burner - April 23rd, 2024
Episode Date: April 23, 2024FlamesNation Barn Burner with Boomer, Pinder & Warrener- Lindy Ruff (1:30)- TOR/BOS (8:00)- NYI/CAR (18:00)- EDM/LA (25:00)- DAL/VGK (28:00)- Flames Talk (40:00)KylingtonMarkstromYegorMang- Pinder... Report (01:19:00)- Betway (02:03:00)- Demko (02:06:00- Markstrom Mentor? (02:10:00)BARN BURNER BLONDEhttps://originbrewing.myshopify.com/products/barn-burner-473ml👍🏼 McLEOD LAW https://www.mcleod-law.com👍🏼 MAD ROSE PUB https://www.madrose.pub👍🏼 VILLAGE HONDA https://www.villagehonda.com👍🏼 OUTDOOR DENTAL https://www.outdoor.dental👍🏼 VENA NOVA https://venanova.com👍🏼 BETWAY https://betway.com/bwp/flamesnation👍🏼 GREY EAGLE https://www.greyeagleresortandcasino.ca👍🏼 GRETA BAR https://www.gretabar.com/locations/ca👍🏼 ORIGIN BREWING https://originbrewing.ca👍🏼 WENDYs https://order.wendys.com/rewards👍🏼 Servus Credit Union https://www.servus.ca/win👍🏼 Great Clips https://www.greatclips.com/👍🏼 KAL TIRE https://commercial.kaltire.com/👍🏼 BeAroused https://www.bearoused.ca/ Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Oh, hi, buddies.
Welcome to the old podcast here on the, uh, the, the Tuesday, the first Tuesday of the week.
April 23rd.
How we doing everybody?
Uh, it's boomer.
It's, uh, the other guy.
The Buffalo.
Look at the Buffalo.
Boy, you.
Very proud.
Very proud.
Yeah.
Must have just signed a one year extension with Buffalo.
Wow.
My boy, Lindy's.
My lindy's boy, Lindy's back.
Hope.
Hope is in the air, Dean.
Kevin Adam said he wanted.
somebody with experience.
Check.
Yeah, he's got that for sure.
Did we,
because it's funny,
like they've been chanting Fire Lindy
in New Jersey for a few years now.
Yeah.
I get that he's experienced.
Is he what they're missing,
Rhett?
Is he going to bring them
the structure and work ethic?
Because that's what they're missing, right?
Can I start a, well,
I don't think it's conspiracy.
Anyone with a brain
could probably figure it out.
Was that a Kevin Adams hire?
You're in Buffalo.
Give us.
your conspiracy.
I believe Mr. Ruff is quite close with Mr. Pagula.
How long was he there in the first?
17 or 18 years or so.
Yeah, yeah.
He was still, he was here when Pagula bought the team.
Right.
Yeah, yeah.
Now, you could, you could argue that the best,
the most success that the theme has ever experienced and never had and enjoyed
was with Lindy behind the bench.
I could also argue this point.
Okay.
Dominic Haschuk,
Ryan Miller.
That's exactly what I was going to say that it's probably more to do with the
goal setting than the coaching than that era.
And I,
hey, don't take this as,
I like Lenny Rough.
It's not,
I'm not trying to poo-poo them.
It just doesn't feel,
it does not feel like a Kevin Adams hire.
It doesn't be,
it actually didn't feel like it Kevin Adams firing.
So I was,
a lot of people around here would have,
were surprised that Granado got let go and are probably doing
the exact same thing I'm doing where it's like,
does not feel like a Kevin Adams thing.
To the point, I would say that Lindy roughs the next GM of the Buffalo Sabres.
Is that right?
Hmm.
There's a lot there.
That's a lot.
Yeah, it's a lot.
It's conspiracy theory for sure.
If you'd like to go back a few years and check on my other conspiracy
theories. Feel free.
100%. He's batting a thousand.
Yeah. Now, are you talking hockey
conspiracy or real
world or the environment
or what? Let's stick to hockey.
Got it. Got it.
Got it. Goething. GMing, that sort of thing.
I think we had the Sarich in studio
a couple of years ago. I'm trying to remember the context
of it, but I'm pretty sure it was Serich.
And Lindy's
team had to have been the Devils or somebody at that point.
And he just talked about like, that's, they might have just hired him in New Jersey's
what it might have been.
It was probably Regear, because Regear played for him and Regear texts me last night.
Well, maybe he's, for some reason I had, I think it's Serish, but he's just like, when you say
that name, I don't think structure.
Like, that's the last thing I think of.
And I just keep looking at that Buffalo group being like, okay, you got to get them to work.
That's clear because they have a lot of skill, but they're just missing structure.
And so to me, I'm like, I don't see the fit.
Aside from the resume, there's a lot of overlap between Buffalo and Ruff.
And I believe Kevin Adams worked with Lindy Ruff on the bench back in the day.
He was an assistant coach to Lindy Ruff.
So they certainly would know each other.
Yeah, no doubt.
Meddling owners.
But it's their, it's their team.
Do you do whatever you want?
Maybe it's not.
But it is something to consider.
It just does it feel like a Lindy Ruff?
We got to get Lindy Ruff situation in Buffalo?
It feels like, it does not feel like a 2024 hire.
It feels like Lindy could be a support guy.
Wouldn't Lindy be a great guy to have alongside a younger coach who needs some to navigate
the waters and the pressure and every the day to day rigors of being.
I feel like that would be a nice hire.
And you could even because he was in Buffalo.
He knows what it's like to be a saber to be all of that.
Yeah.
But not the head guy.
It feels like Jacques Martin coming in.
an interim in Ottawa.
That's it?
Oh, interim.
Right?
Like that would make sense.
If Lindy...
Yeah.
Steered the ship for the last two months of the season,
one bought them some time.
That would make sense.
But like, signed it up for two years.
I didn't think was a...
Was he on anyone else's radar?
No.
No.
Maybe TSN to have them on the panel.
To be honest, I saw a billboard driving home and it said,
Welcome back.
Lindy.
I actually thought someone had...
tried to be funny.
Yeah.
And then Regear texts me, I'm like, oh, I guess it's true.
What did, uh, oh, bad blood for Lindy.
Yeah, did you check in with, should we have checked in with Rob Ray on the breaking news?
Uh, what are, what are we talking about?
What are we talking about?
Uh, so, uh, no, he's going to need a staff, Red.
He's going to need staff because they gunned all the other assistants.
There's hope, abounding hope around there.
Abounding.
Abounding.
Hoping, hopping, abounding.
Yeah.
Mr.
P.
He's had such a great relationship with him, yeah.
Yeah, we can see that.
Now, Mr. P, did I not read?
He was also going to be selling off some of the stock in,
was it both teams or?
The other rumors in innuendoes are that there is a major bill coming due for the stadium.
And that perhaps there's.
there's a bit of a and the other rumor is that perhaps it's another NHL owner that just wants to
dabble in the business with Mr. Pagoo.
I really.
Well, listen, it, it's not cheap to put a roof on a stadium.
I would suspect that the bill would be sizable.
It's very large stadium.
You've got to be in the mix.
It's massive, massive.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Anyway, a little, not where I thought we would start the show, but here we are.
We'll move on.
Did we enjoy night number two?
Night number two, three of the night.
I watched.
I thought Toronto looked really good.
They showed some moxie red.
I did too.
And honestly, self-inflicted wounds out of the gate to put them down to one,
late goal, dumb decisions.
They had full fingerprints on that game.
All the Boston goals were their idiot decisions,
and they clawed back in one.
And that sort of got us back into yesterday's conversation of,
You want to really know everything about a series after one game?
You just don't.
No, just for the idiot decisions that you talk about.
Well, so it was,
Camp on the penalty kill,
has it on his backhand,
and should easily clear the puck.
And instead says,
I'm just leave this for my guy over here.
Tim Lilligrant, I think it was.
He can just skate into this on his forehand and clear it.
Except that it's literally on his stick.
He leaves it.
And Lilligren's like,
oh, my boy's got it.
And then a brune sweeps in.
They keep possession.
Zing back of the net.
And then the next one,
I'm trying to remember.
It was how do you lose Pasternak with like 10 seconds?
At the end of the period.
You had three guys or then a foot of the blue line like fellas.
It's 10 seconds till the end of the period.
Like the one thing you don't do is,
A, have four guys fly away from your net.
And secondly,
you might want not to lose the guy that scored like 100 goals the last two years.
Yeah.
You don't lose that guy.
And if I'm correct, I think it was Marner, who was the closest guy who was ready to bust out of the zone when to your point, maybe the emphasis would be let's not let up.
Let's make sure.
Maybe if I get this in three seconds, I can score on a break.
It was a hell of a pass.
It sure was.
But again, hell of a pass.
Some simple defense.
If Warner was there, that that gets cut off.
Oh, you'd be upset.
Lindy.
You'd be upset.
If you were solid D coaching.
Yeah.
If you were what, Sheldon Kee.
Keith. If you roll Keefe,
Keithy boy. And Austin
looked unbelievable.
You know, Frank took a shot at Matthews sort of saying
he doesn't have a game where he's sort of taken over.
Like last night, he absolutely did that.
And would have had another point
had the high sticking goal accounted.
But it did not. I give them credit.
They, they dug in last night.
They controlled the game.
Yeah. A late goal like that and some mistakes
that you, that can crush you.
So we saw some teams,
under pressure. The Leafs did not.
Game winning goal for Matthews of beauty.
One goal, two assists.
Gets the game winner was 7.54 to go.
The Bertuzi goal
was called off. Yarncroak,
some, like that's saved by Allmark.
Yeah, that's wild. Against the post.
That's a true. Now, again, I guess it gets a little bit higher.
But, um,
the Leafs, they deserve this one. I was surprised.
I saw this stat this morning.
Since 1994,
in a game two after losing
the opener, the Leafs are 13 and 3.
They've been a bit of a resilient bunch here.
They out shoot the Bruins and they look good.
I thought they looked good in game one, not as good as in two,
but they got to be feeling real strong.
The one thing you're doing-
You get the split, and you got to like the way you've played for the most part
for six periods in Boston.
You've stolen home ice and you're probably going to get Nealander back
your second best player at home.
It doesn't mean you win the series,
but you've got to love that compared to how you felt after game one.
The one thing they're doing is they're just,
chasing hits so hard and taking dumb penalties.
I know. That's the one thing they could clean up.
Like they really want to out physical the brunes and they have,
but to their detriment in game one because they just kept handed to power plays and
last night even the same. Like I love that you want to finish checks,
but are you going to put yourself in a bad spot to finish a check?
They're doing that a little too much. It happens a lot, right?
Like I said yesterday or the other day when when your grit and your toughness is called
into question, well, look out because we're going to come out and we're going to show you
what kind of mocks you, what kind of balls we got.
And then you get, oh, we're power play, a minute 50 into game number one.
And then power play goal.
And, you know, Max Domi, it's a hell of a play by everybody involved.
The Domi flip to the far blue and then Matthews grabs it on side down, gets separation, goes in and scores.
That's a, that's a hell of a goal.
So it's weird.
I was assistant savers coach, Matt.
Matt Ellis, his kid was on our team last year.
And so we're watching practice.
And we're watching a drill.
And he's watching how the forwards are performing against the D.
And if they make a nice play.
And I'm watching the D going, what the hell are you thinking?
So I'm stuck in the same thing where it's like, now I, I totally appreciate the flip and the catch and the move and the goal.
Beautiful.
What the was McAvoy doing?
Like Chuck.
we talked about pasta with 10 seconds left
probably that guy can't get on the back side of you
and have.
Yeah, there were some options there.
Tackle him.
Intercept or pass.
Do something.
I do what it was.
Like it felt like 80 to 90% that thing was going in.
The game he was having, a lethal finish.
I mean, I think probably most players in league are probably around 30 to 40% on breakaways.
That one felt like it was going.
going in and the penalty to take was the smart move if you could prevent a goal.
There was no way he was missing on that.
Allmark was, no.
Yeah, MacAvoy,
MacAvoy will not be playing corner for the Patriots any time suit because he got
beaten on the,
the deep shot there by Max Domi.
And for Domi, a goal and an assist.
And he was one of those guys that we were critical of.
You're running around, you take a dumb penalty.
They score while you're in the penalty box in game one.
Yeah.
And so here it is.
It's the flip.
Whoop.
Yeah.
Anything but that.
He's kind of turning around.
That's, yeah.
And on his,
Maccabwe's defense,
it was defense.
It's an odd play for the flip at that point,
right?
Most of the guys are going to try a pass.
It's true,
because it's only blue to blue.
Or chip up the wall.
Like they're,
and I got to be honest,
I don't think domy,
I don't think that was a perfect.
to pass by Dombey. I think there was
it was a directional pass
that happened to turn out perfectly.
Well, I was going to say, if you were, if you were going to
try and replicate that
in a game scenario, how often is that
going to have? It's minuscule.
It's where it's going to be right on the money,
where it's on side, where
the D-Man is out of sorts and
you couldn't have expected a better guy.
I don't know, I'd find myself kind of
it's like, all right, Toronto, come on now. Let's
go for it. Let's get it going here.
Which is odd. I don't know what is.
Yeah, it's almost like when you watch someone fail and get, you know,
tread it upon and beaten so badly for so long.
You almost kind of want to see them buck the train.
I remember even having a soft spot for the Oilers.
And then that decade of absolute irrelevance.
Then they won the lottery a thousand times and it went away.
I think part of the reason I have a soft spot is because the fan base is a true fan base.
The people that annoy us aren't are typically the media coverage.
Where it's, oh, someone's got a hang nail and they try and
spin it into this story.
And it's like, right?
Like the most of the fans, they're very passionate.
The Super Bowl was awarded today, but first the pain of glass,
it leaves training camp.
Yeah, it is the media for sure.
And the thing, the thing about the fans is they are passionate.
They love that team.
They've had nothing to cheer for in any of our lifetimes, let's be honest.
And there's really been very little reason for them to be obnoxious because there's
been no success to be making for them to become obnoxious unless you go back to
you know, 92, 93, they were very good.
But outside of that, if you're a fan of the Leafs,
it's not because you're a frontrunner.
It's because you're a fan of the team.
So I get ahead.
Sorry.
The Matthews night, just statistically,
12 shots, attempts, eight on target,
six hits, only Reeves had more with seven.
He goes 70% in the face.
soft dot 16 wins, seven losses, a block shot.
Austin Matthews played 23 and a half minutes and was far and away the best human playing
hockey on the ice.
And he was good in game one.
Yeah.
And so now you're going to add your second best player potentially for game three.
And then the other thing that I see people, everyone's outraged at everything because, you know,
it's 2024.
How come they're alternating goalies?
And I wonder about this thing because, well, no one's.
done it in the past. Like, right, but no one played with
non-wood and sticks until
the composites came around. And, you know,
no one used to play their starter
used to play 45 games until
we learn more about sports. Like,
this is really bothering some people that
they went to Olmark, who was great last
night, but just played on the inferior team.
Yeah. There was,
I would love the people that are outraged
to look up, and I'm trying to do it
quickly here. Like, what are the
differentiating
stats between
Allmark and Swetland.
Yeah. Swainman might be having a little bit better of a year, but
Olmark won the Vesna last year. You have two number ones.
Why not use both of them and keep them fresher? It seems
you're not trying to force something that doesn't fit. You're not, you're not
alternating like Brasaw and Hellebuck here.
Poor Larry. Poor Larry. But yeah.
Back up. Yeah. I, I guess it's one of those things. It's good
until it doesn't work. And then regardless, people are going to have some ammo. But
I mean, shit. He was.
good last thing. Allmark was just fine. For Matthews, it's already his sixth game winning
playoff goal. That's fourth, I believe, all time for the Leafs, which again goes back.
It lets you realize not a lot of playoff success for the, uh, for the Leafs. Yeah. Not a front
run. It's been dysfunctional for a long time. Sundin, seven, Mahavillich, nine, Ted Kennedy. Uh,
is he running for office? 11 going back in time. So there you go. That was, uh, that was a humdinger.
a heartbreaker for the New York Islanders.
Oh, boy.
I was snuggling the shubler.
We were watching the game.
It was time to put the kids to bed.
You snuggling?
You were mid-snuggled?
Big snuggler.
Oh, yeah.
Is that right?
Okay.
Yeah, yeah.
How are you doing?
Yeah.
I was spinning like a hurricane.
We could move.
We can take this party somewhere else.
Yeah.
I had the fucking Islanders and the under boys.
How did I feel?
It's perfect.
with like four minutes left and they lose
in regulation no less.
Yeah, I think we went through some of those
mathematical scenarios that would have had to be the under.
So 5.3, was that?
Oh, Islanders led 3-0.
Oh, they were total control.
And like total control as in 32 to 13 and shot.
The shot attempts are like 111 to 28 at the end of night.
I'm going to say this again.
Again, I always, I think that's how they play, though.
Like, that's, isn't that Islander?
The Islanders? Well, that's clearly that, they know that's how they're going to have to win this series.
They don't want to be, uh, the ice to be tilted that badly.
But if they're going to win, they're going to have to find a way to win when getting outshot for sure.
And you can squint and see that they could, if not one, one, they could be up in this series because it was a one one game in game one.
and they were probably, I mean,
I don't know, they haven't been the better team.
I can't.
But you find ways to win.
And that's,
whoever,
Patrick Guad,
that's the only way we're going to beat this team
is if we bore the shit out of them
and protect,
just try and protect,
but like you say,
shots were still 39, 12.
It's not like you shut them down.
They're just not,
they're not as good as the Carolina Hurricanes.
but man, two in nine seconds with two 15 left.
I don't know how in game one, game five,
game whatever, how you come back from that.
And it reminded me of the Vancouver when they got that second goal in 12 seconds.
Like there's all that tension in the building.
One ties it.
The next gives the lead.
And it is a complete pandemonium.
They then add an empty netter and the islanders are melting down.
Like guys are just taking swings,
dumb decisions, getting tossed.
You could see, you know,
that that was Chernobyl level for the islanders
to not only just blow the lead, but they are to
let them tie it, but then the next shift
before they've even announced the goal, there's another one in,
like, whew.
Heading home, 02.
I wonder if Patrick Wall was upset post-game.
I was actually thinking about that.
Like, you can't rip guys in the playoffs.
Like, it's, you just, it always.
You know, what do you, Retro, you've been in rooms.
I'm sure you've had some, well, I mean, obviously we not, not,
this is not to throw you under the bus.
And I'm not talking about 99 or whatever, but there would be losses where it's like,
shit, we were a minute away or whatever from getting a win.
And now we've lost.
Just a bad loss.
Shut out.
You just pack your shit and we'll talk tomorrow.
That would have been game six against Vancouver, right?
Because you guys, it looked like you had that one.
No, it was the opposite.
We came back.
We were down four to one and tied it four and the third.
It was late game seven in regulation then that's what it was
Yeah
Listen I've had enough
Yeah
Losses and playoffs are in big games
Where it's like oh my God
What the collapsing and like
And they are hard to come over
But as a coach
You don't walk into the room
We're saying what the thing?
What are we doing?
It's a we had them
Just finish it
Next game we finish it right
Next game we finish it
Back your shit let's go
That's the only message
as you can have.
Yeah.
And it was weird because I was watching.
And Frederick Anderson made some saves.
It's like, oh, Freddie Anderson was pretty good here.
He allowed three on 12.
Oh, my God.
Well, I guess numbers being what they are, it's not ideal.
But one's a power play goal and all that.
But he, uh, he didn't give up four, I guess.
The Islanders lead was three.
So that ended up being.
But the, so they tie it.
And you're thinking, okay, overtime.
Let's get to overtime.
And then.
The dump in, the turnover, Martinook in off the back of the leg.
That's tough to take.
The shot attempts at the end of regulation, 110 for Carolina.
28 for the aisles.
Like that is, if you want to know where the puck was all night.
Guys, we got to get some shots.
Eh, don't worry about it.
We're hemmed in our own zone all night.
So the recipe for victory for the Islanders seems a bit flawed.
Not getting shots, giving up a bunch of shots, can't protect leads, getting leads somehow, but not hanging on to them.
Carolina, they won the cup.
You'll remember back in 2006, I believe it was.
Good for them.
Dating back to 06, Keynes are 10 and 0 in a game two after winning game one, and have won eight of those nine series.
They've had some deep runs for a team that.
They've had some good teams.
Since 06.
Right?
We don't,
they're just a team.
We don't pay super close attention.
We've talked about they've had three consecutive 50 wins seasons.
They've been good for a long time.
When's the last time?
When's the last time they've missed the playoffs?
Like there'd be probably the odd year like there can be sometimes here and there,
but they're a pretty consistent playoff.
Final four team pretty regularly.
Yeah.
I'm just looking last time they missed would have been 17, 18.
That's a while.
You know what it is?
here's the thing. Patrick Waugh,
you were a hell of a goaltender. Islanders, I can get behind you.
But we don't want that kind of shit getting into round two.
Yeah.
We love upsets,
but when you're that badly outclassed
and your, your method is so clearly
to just fucking white knuckle
a boring bullshit game.
Yeah.
Beat it.
And that's why we didn't want them in the frigging first place.
Yeah, what it said?
Get Detroit in there.
Get Philly in there.
there. Get Pittsburgh in there.
Hey, Jack, would Pittsburgh be doing this
right now? No, they'd be
way more entertaining. You're damn right.
We would have had 15 goals last night.
It would have been Colorado, Winnipeg all over here.
That's right. That's right.
They haven't used Sorokin yet.
And it's probably time
with them getting home. I know
Barlamov was better down the stretch, but so
was Alex Lyon for the Panthers last year.
You've got to get back to your number one at some point.
Yeah, and if for no other reason,
then just a shake. Just a shift moment.
Yeah, just to shake it.
Oilers, I guess, played last night.
When?
Yeah, last night.
Well, you were, you probably advanced from the snuggling stage.
He was outside I'd have a stroke.
To the sleeping.
Yeah.
Right to the sleeping.
You shovel or snuggler, you.
7.4.
McDavid, five helpers.
It's a lot.
Gretz.
He had six in 87, someone named Miko Lainanen for the Rangers.
What?
Six against Philly in 1982.
That's a fake name.
And then there's a group, but McDavid is now part of that group who have had five helpers in a single playoff game.
Evan Bouchard, four assists.
Jeez.
A hat trick for that pampered, silver spoon, Zach Hyman.
well thank goodness his parents had lots of money or the oilers may not be up one nothing in this series
um yeah this this was a lot of edmonton disallowed goal could have made things a little more
interesting but it just helped it wasn't it didn't look interesting again i was sleeping and i did not
watch it but it's watching the highlights it didn't look difficult for never really felt in doubt
when you get up four rip yeah and when you're post coit hole you know you're kind of
out of it a little bit.
You didn't miss much, retro.
You didn't miss much.
Yeah, I think that's,
uh, whatever.
Yeah.
Go.
You, uh,
you had,
Edmonton minus one and a half.
You can go Edmonton minus two and a half next time.
If you'd like and I think that would be just,
feels like it, right?
Yeah.
It feels like it.
Kings are going to find a way to do something.
I did, I don't know that they did not look good.
No.
They looked.
Wow.
Shit.
Overwhelmed.
Yeah.
Great news in the gold sending,
market. If you're Craig Conroy, I mean, who knows how these series go? But after one game,
what do you think the appetite for the avalanche and Kings are to go get a number one goalie?
Yeah. We're one game, one game in for years. One game, but still. And you know, Toronto finds a way
to screw this thing up. You know, they're going to need a goalie too. Yeah. Well, true living.
Knows Markstrom, likes Markstrom. And then is there a greater villain than Mark Stone?
beautiful stuff walks into Dallas in a black hat like you white in Texas you might wear one but in this
case pure villain as a minute 23 in back from the lacerated spleen I don't did any crutches to get
into the building did they have to wheelchair him in I'm not sure but it did not take long a minute 23
and Mark Stone tips the puck in off of a Noah Hanifan shot who will talk about in a moment and just like
that back from the dead.
Yep. And contributing once again.
I heard he lacerated his own spleen so they could go add more talent.
That's like wrestling, right? When you, you blade yourself to get color, you know, maybe
that's what Mark Stone did. He lacerated his own spleen just to get on the LTIR.
He bladed himself to get a hurdle. That's what he did. Yeah, that's right.
I don't, you know, I don't have, whatever. Again, if you're going to sit him for two months or
whatever it ends up being, then sit him for two months. And if he's good to go, then he's good to go.
then he's good to go. Other teams
could do it if they want it to try it.
Yeah. And some teams do do it to mixed success.
It's worked pretty well. You have to play without one of your best players for a long time.
That's the part people keep forgetting.
Yeah.
Where it's like, yeah, you don't get to keep Mark Stone in your lineup and then you have to play without them.
Yeah.
Shots on this night for Dallas 30 to 15, but Ottinger allows four on those 15.
two power play goals
and then a weird kind of a seeing-eye shot
from Braden McNabb finds its way through
bad turnover by Thomas Harley
Harley Hanley Hanley Harley Harley Harley Harley
on the Marsha So goal
but a turnover nonetheless
but what's interesting
and you know stars had a goal disallowed
Ryan Suter scored a goal that was offside
so you know it's a one goal but
Noah Hannifan
Vegas's power play quarterback.
The power play goes two for two.
Haniffin, two power play assists,
shots from the blue line,
tipped by stone and then hurdle,
respectively.
Did the Vegas have a power play quarterback?
Well, they had one in Theodore.
I'm not sure that.
I just want to say,
usurped him.
Well, last night, anyway, he was the guy.
He was the guy back there.
Interesting.
Flame second.
rounders tied to this, sorry, the Vegas Golden Knights have a second rounder tied in this series.
If they win it, it goes to the flames.
You can, don't get too sucked into this villain thing.
Vegas could help Calgary here.
I was also, I did.
Yeah, I do too.
Yeah, I do too.
I was also thinking last night that, yeah, Vegas would have been the better fall for the oilers here.
Yeah.
You really get stoned with two birds or whatever where you.
Something like that.
You're against the oilers and also get that second round.
But here we are.
And again, it's still, we're still very excited.
It's all very fresh, but a hell of a night to play off hockey last night.
You had some drama with the Leafs and Bruins.
Also with Dallas Vegas.
We talked about Carolina doing what they did.
Hell of a night.
Hell of a night for playoffs.
And you're right.
It's Hannah Finn and Ikel playing the points on the first unit.
And they have Theodore Petrangelo as a two defenseman on the second unit.
That is wild.
How about it?
Who.
Missed opportunity for flames.
How long was Hanifah,
Is it wild?
He ran first power play here all year,
and it was one of the worst power plays in the league.
Oh,
did he have Eichel?
Did this is,
do you have hurdle and Mark Stone?
No,
is that Hanifin's on the first unit.
I don't think he's running the first unit.
Yeah, he isn't the first unit.
He's one fifth of it at most.
Yeah.
You was one fifth of one here that operated
at about 12% for three quarters of the year.
I could operate the power play if
freaking.
At 12%?
believe you.
Yes.
God it was bad.
And of course he has that extension in his back pocket.
Life's good for Noah.
Love in Vegas.
Yeah.
I mean, geez.
Yeah.
You got all the leverage in the world when you're going to be a free agent in months.
Players got the hand on the wheel.
Yeah.
You know what those are?
That's kind of our opening statements for night three, I suppose, of the NHL postseason.
For McLeod Law, Peter Klein.
He is the go-to guy in Calgary for your disability insurance claim.
He's also the guy if your long-term disability insurance company isn't paying those benefits that you need, that you desperately need, contact Peter.
He will get on the job.
He'll get you the benefits you paid for and you deserve.
He'll get your peace of mind back, the peace of mind that you paid for.
They are Calgary folks working for Calgary people and they're the best in the business.
MacLeod-Dashlaw.com, whether your challenge is business or personal.
stuff happens in life where you need some legal assistance and legal help.
It's the easiest thing going.
Contact McLeod law and whatever it is, they will step up and work for you.
Tonight, we've got another four-banger of games.
But you know what?
We'll get into that.
I just wanted to, we kind of talked about the flames a little bit here.
About, you know, whatever.
It's probably now pretty quiet, I would think, down at the dome.
The Wranglers are kind of getting ready for their thing.
coming up.
On the road in Tucson.
Yeah.
Go out outside of that.
The players will be gone.
Depot will just be, what's Depot doing?
Is he shampooing the rugs, getting just, I don't know what,
there'll be not much left for him to do, count shoe laces.
You know what?
Inventory.
Yeah.
You got to know your inventory, so next year you're not short when he started.
You got to see how many pit sticks, Roman Hammerlick stolen?
Just figure that out.
Hammerlick.
The mo.
Points with.
It was a stat on TV last night.
Well, this is a good one.
Yeah.
Do you know what I'm going to say?
No.
Hammerlick has the most points in the playoffs with different teams.
With a different team.
Do you know what I mean?
He has a point with the most teams in the playoffs.
Ah.
So the most number of teams recording a point in the playoffs?
Yes.
Okay.
You got there.
It's hard to say.
Let's take a look.
see here. Let's prove it.
You ask me to prove it? No, I'm just
I'm not, I just want to see
because I know he played
So he's a little travel
to playoff games for Tampa Bay,
Edmonton, the Islanders, the flames,
Lehabbs, the capitals,
and the Rangers.
Lehabs. So there you go.
He has one point in two games for the Rangers,
has four points. They had four points as a cap.
Nine points there in one.
season as a hab
a big one point in six games
for the flames in 0607 thanks a lot
were you there for that one right 0607
yeah it was crazy
um
islanders well hey
congrats to a Roman hammerling
suck on that one
gretzky
stop the hammering
you want that one
oh
stop the hammering
guess it works
imagine if hammer was still playing
How much we could use that.
Yeah, you're right.
Or Dave Schultz.
Yeah.
All right.
What would you play for him?
Stop the hammering.
Right.
Because he was as he's punching someone in the face.
That's right.
Roman Hammerlick.
Oh, boy.
1,395 games.
Good Lord.
Regular season.
Jumping, yes.
Just shy of 1,400.
Just shy of 1,400.
another 113 playoff games.
Wow.
Sheesh.
Of course, he was the first player selected in 1992.
Who went to, Dean?
92.
Well, I don't know off the top of my head,
but I'll take a looksy for you.
It was Alexei Yashin.
Oh, the Ottawa Senators.
And then Rhett's brother Todd Warner,
selected by Quebec at four.
Now, why did your pair spell his last name differently?
What's up of that?
Todd.
That's a pretty high pick for Todd.
It is.
I didn't realize he was that.
Highly touted.
Then the Philadelphia Fly.
The Flyers at 7 take one of three guys who never played a game in the NHL.
Oopsie, Daisy.
Flames to Corey Stillman at 6.
That's a heck of a pick.
Flyers pick.
Flyers are a guy named Ryan Sittler.
That was Darrell's kid, right?
As I recall.
He did not have 10 points in one game in the NHL?
Is that correct?
No, no.
What year was Scott Sizzons?
Sizzo?
It was the Yager year.
I remember because I was
9091.
You heard that one, Pinder?
1990.
Rings about all, but I can't tell you much.
Well, do the list.
You got the list there, Dean?
I got it.
First overall in 1990,
Owen Nolan,
Buster plays an even 1,200 games.
Wow.
Peter Nedved to Vancouver at two.
Oh, at the Max tournament.
Yes.
Detroit takes Keith Primo at number three.
Works out.
Mike Ritchie, fourth to the Philadelphia Flyers.
Beautiful.
Who was set to be traded.
Do you remember he was part of that big trade with the Eric Lindross?
Quebec, that whole deal.
Yeah.
Yarmour, Yager at five, decent.
He's.
Five.
Decent.
Oh.
Scott Sizzins of the Saskatoon Blades at number six.
Two NHL games did not crack the score sheet.
Bad back, Dean.
Bad back.
Back old sizzle.
Grub at Saskatoon.
And then the L.A. Kings had to settle for Daryl Sador.
Oh.
How many games for him?
1291.
Jeez.
Yeah.
What are these guys?
is eating rat i think it was because you didn't train back then when they started
well you should have played about two thousand games then yeah no then they started to train
and i couldn't catch up it was too late it was too late it was too late she those errors changed on you
that's tough now this 1990 draft you may remember no boy here he goes so sidore at seven
Darien Hatcher at 8.
This is when the flames moved up
the draft board
to take Trevor Kidd.
But the pick that they traded away
to move up to get kid, went to
I believe it was New Jersey.
And they selected Martin Broder.
Right.
Stop the hammering.
That guy's not a Western Nocular.
It just fucking sucks.
You blew it!
It's an endless number of fail clips
that you could have for that one.
Yeah.
But at least you trade it up to get the guy you want.
Shit.
Yeah.
Draft better would be.
Chuck.
Just don't get to like 95, 96, 97.
It gets worse for the flames there.
The top, the back-to-back years in the top seven or eight and just.
Okay.
So, I mean, we kind of got side.
And I'm happy to do it.
I'm happy to get sideline like that.
Get, you're welcome.
The beaten paths.
Tremendous, tremendous, tremendous.
And probably a real feel-good moment for the flame.
claims fans to be reminded about that.
Yeah.
You'd have had no kipper.
If you had Martin Broder, you're right.
You might be right.
So instead of 34, I mean, it might be a different number hanging for the banners.
Just saying.
I suppose.
Look at you.
Bright side.
Always look on the bright side of life.
Service credit union has the big share.
It's back for the sixth year.
It's your chance to win a million dollars just by saving money.
anyone can enter by becoming a member in saving with service.
Every $500 saved gives you five entries into the Big Share contest.
Now, how can you know you save in a daily banking account?
Fast track your savings with a high yield savings account.
Invest in a GIC service has during this contest period with great interest rates and term lengths.
Save in a TFSA or RRSP for those short and long term goals.
What you need to do more than anything else is transfer your existing savings to service credit union
for chances to win $1 million.
Contest ends April 30th,
2024 skill test required.
For rules, visit service.ca.
slash win.
That's S-E-R-V-U-S.
You see it up there.
Service.
Service.
dot-C-A-slash-win.
So flames.
I don't know what Conroy is doing.
He's hanging around.
So we know the Depot is,
yeah, he's counting,
counting sticks.
And I,
what would be
the first order.
What's on the to-do list for Craig Conroy?
We know that the draft is coming.
There will be a U-18 championship tournament that's going to be.
Every team needs to take a look at that one.
Rosture's been finalized for that.
Tees is going to that one along with some others.
But, you know, there will be some,
there's some things for Craig to do.
But in terms of the roster and roster word,
what is on what's what's what's the priority list as you see it for Craig as we get into the off season here
and we'll assume all exit meetings have been done with players right yes yeah we'll assume that everybody's
done their thing everyone's gone staffs unpack the season yeah players have all been drunk
and have sobered up since and have gone on their merry way they got drunk again and then sobered up
and then yeah yeah don't they have those but you're not talking about the long
painful meetings that they have to go through every player
and have everyone's opinion from management on them?
Yeah, I mean, let's assume.
Let's get past that.
Yeah, that all the, you know,
the mental work has kind of been done.
You have a Shillington extension.
He is in, he's the UFA.
I don't want to get cracking on that, yeah.
So that would be one that would be on the board.
Now, we're led to believe
that there's really not a lot of drama to,
expect here that this is
Schillington knows what he's got. The team's
happy with him. He's happy with that
whole thing that this
this could be as close to being done.
It could be any day. Is that what we're
being led to believe? Well, this is what
we're kind of led to believe is that
we're going to get something done.
The player's happy here. The team's happy with the
player. He was already making two and a half
milly. Yeah.
Now, we talked about this
previously, you don't want to go long term,
Red on a Shillington deal, correct?
Oh, did I say that?
If I said it, I'll stick to it, sure.
Well, what is he?
I would.
The conversation starts.
What is?
I don't know.
I don't know what he is.
And so, on a long term deal.
How do you go long term on a guy when you don't know what he is?
You don't want to overpay.
The agent doesn't want to give up too much if he improves.
It's just a really hard thing to do.
with the kind of mixed bag results he's had over the course of his career.
He went from seventh or eighth defenseman to top four when Darrell put him with Tanev.
He missed 20 months, came back and kind of looked somewhere between a second and third
pair guy.
I don't really know what he is.
So what do you look like long term, Dean?
Well, I mean, when you say you don't know what he is, I think that's overstating it a little
bit.
If he's between a second or third defense, then you know he's an everyday NHL defenseman
who skates well.
Right.
I don't know that he's going, he's a big point producer necessarily.
But I don't think there's great hand wringing to be done overhanding him a contract here.
No, no, no, no.
I'm just saying.
This isn't.
If he's played every night this season with Chris Tanna for the beginning of the season to the end,
he's a top four defenseman in that command sort of four to five million bucks,
depending how much offenses there.
If he's playing on a third pair with Pahal,
that probably dictates you're going to make between two and three and a half million dollars.
It's a very different number of minutes, and the rolls get paid very differently.
So if you don't know the difference between a second and third pair, what's the number long term?
And why would the agent give up the ceiling if he does blossom into a second pair?
You're not doing it.
If you do long term, you're very brave, I would say.
This weeks of a one year, $2.5 million deal because that's the season he got paid for that never happened.
It's a great meet in the middle and you can come back together and figure out more about where he is on this roster.
Yeah, I mean, I don't disagree.
I don't know how often guys come back for the same, though.
You know, I don't know that he's, you just, guys get raises.
And I think that probably he's a guy that gets a raise if it's a one or a two year deal in that three.
I think it'll be around three.
One or two years is three million bucks.
You've, you've very much changed your tune, Ryan, on, on Oliver Schillington.
Well, I think the whole reason that we think he's going to resign here.
and he's a free agent that got past the deadline
is because this is a unique set of circumstances.
Would it be understandable for both parties
if they understood that the flames did a solid
to Oliver Shillington, paying them $2.5 million to not play hockey last year?
Is that a fair assessment?
I don't know that.
We did be a solid here.
Yes, you did do us a solid.
Are you clear?
That's how it works.
Is there insurance there?
I'm not saying you're wrong.
I've just, he's...
Was...
Do you think the player is happy with how the flames treated it in terms of the cone of silence that surrounded?
Like we don't know what happened.
We're all left to guess, right?
But from the outfield side, it would seem like, yeah, that he came back and played.
But at the same time, this isn't the team that's, they got D-Men falling out of the cover.
It's either.
Well, they got a 20-year-old guy who skates really well.
Yes.
And if you want to squeeze and get him at if he'll take two,
then they should just announce it.
I don't know what.
If he's doing a one or two year deal at two and a half or whatever he was at,
why hasn't it?
Why would be?
Well, that's what I'm wondering about.
It seemed like everyone was so,
this is going to get done, no sweat.
But maybe they wonder if he's a five, not a four.
And that doesn't sound like a huge difference, but it is.
It just is.
You shelter your third pairs pretty heavily and the minutes aren't nearly there.
Is you not going to run a power play?
Yeah.
Are we worried about a relapse in whatever you never told us happened before?
Like I would have.
That's why I keep coming back to a one-year deal because there's just too many unknowns here.
I said one year three.
You're at one and two and a half.
Yeah.
Yeah.
If you want to play the inflation game on two and a half from when he signed it three years ago, sure, whatever.
That's all I'm saying is you don't often see guys that there's just, there's a bump.
There's just always a bump whether or not you really feel like he's played 200 games,
which is not a lot for a guy who's 26, to your point.
But I think that there's, I don't, like I say, I don't think there's a wealth of defense there.
I think they would love to have him in the fold for another year or two.
and maybe by then you do find out exactly what he is, even though.
Now, maybe on the other side for Schillington and his agent,
I'm a UFA at 26.
I skate like the wind.
I can get two and a half pretty much anywhere I want.
I would think so, yeah.
Right?
I could probably go to market and get two and a half in any place.
And two and a half in a tax, you know, right?
So I don't know.
Maybe it is as easy as we think it is.
And, you know, if you knew you had Chris Tann,
have coming back. I feel much more comfortable telling you what
Oliver Shillington is. You keep alluding to this. I don't think
I can't imagine. I'm not saying bring back Tannaver, they're going
to. It's just like, if you're drawing your lineup,
I just don't know where to put them. I still think
that Conroy's got, they're going to have to get some sort of a
veteranish defenseman. I agree. They cannot come into the,
now they can, right? But I just think if you're truly trying to build,
even if we're not going to make.
the playoffs we're you're going to have to get an NHL yeah especially if you're telling your veteran
players that you're you want to compete next year because you know nasm alluded to that and i don't
think he's pulling that out of midair making it up um i think they do want to compete they probably
also want to have the option if it doesn't go perfectly to get back into the top 10 and sell
assets of the deadline um but again you know whether it's you know there's a bunch of veteran
right shot defenseman that you could bring in and if you put one with shill
that covers his own Fortwell and that allows Shillington to use his legs to get up ice.
That seems like the type of fit he's worked with.
It's really a hell of a mixed bag in his career.
From eighth guy to second pair.
Another item on the to do list, I would suggest, is to figure out the crease in some way, shape, or form.
And some of that is probably out of his hands a little bit.
I don't know what I would love to nuts of it.
What the Markstrom conversation was at the end of the year.
Because Markstrom gave,
the media gave the fans nothing.
I talked to Conroy and that's all I'm going to say about it.
And that's his right.
But without knowing,
I want to stay, trade me RFN,
without knowing where he's at,
it's tough.
But I think it's probably fair to say that Wolf needs to be on the NHL roster.
We've talked about this for two years.
and then a year ago and all of that,
it wouldn't be nice for him.
You got it.
You got to get him on there.
Lidar's coming off injury.
So I don't know.
You don't make a Markstrom trade
just because you've got Vlodar for another year.
But this is something that's got to figure itself out
over the next four or five months here.
Yeah.
And I don't think now the next month is when it happens.
I think when the dust settles after the playoffs
and you've seen which teams have been let down
by their net lightning,
that's probably when we always see that middle of June to the end of June leading into the draft
is like blockbuster trade season it's the hall for Larson it's you know a suban for Weber like a lot
of these monster summer deals happen at the run up to the draft that's where they'll probably
move on some goal tennis I just don't think he can move Lidar when he's hurt until he's healthy again
and Markstrom holds the cards how much he wants to let Connie hold the wheels up to Markstrom
it's a funny one it's a funny one
I think the situation soured enough.
It just has that feel to me.
I don't even know if it's sour.
It's just so obvious that the best path forward
for both sides is without each other.
Like, Marshall wants to win.
Marcher wants to win.
What the fuck is he going to win in the next two years here?
That's what I mean. You're saying he's not sour.
I'd be sour if I signed a six-year deal with a team that was supposed to win
and they dumped everyone and they had my name.
I wouldn't care about that.
But he was sour about it.
He could pretend that he wasn't.
He was definitely sour about his name being in the media.
It's sour.
And it's fine.
It's okay.
We don't have to always be hugging and kiss him.
He wants to win.
He controls the process.
Just ask for trade.
Get out.
Bye.
I hope he did.
He didn't say what he said to Conroy.
Maybe he said.
Yeah.
And I wouldn't be surprised if they both looked at each other and said,
hey, it's been great.
I think both parties, we'd love to see you succeed elsewhere.
Conrad.
We'd love to get some young assets back.
Go win a cup before your career's over.
in public Conrad comes across
a real nice guy, you close that door to the office
and he's a mean bastard. Is that what it is?
Oh, yeah. I didn't want to sign you anyway, you're silly
sweet. Get the hell out of you.
You silly sweet. Yes.
Language, Craig.
I language.
And if you need to, if you need to spin it to your veterans,
you don't have to squint that hard to suggest.
Dustin Wolf is ready to play more games at the
NHL level. He's improved as the, you can, I think you can sell that to your cadres and
whoever else needs to be sold. You're also getting assets back, right? And Craig hasn't taken many
what Russian, uh, what Russian ninth defense? Lebuschkin is available out of Toronto. Oh, geez.
But yeah, Connie hasn't taken a lot of straight futures deals like the Zadora of what it was,
but everything else has kind of been tied to a player that could help the roster pretty quick.
You know, Kuzmenko comes in, Sharongovich comes in,
you've got Miramanov on the roster already.
Like the sales pitch might be,
look at this really good player that's on the team that wasn't before.
You mentioned a name.
He is also on the, I would guess, the to do list.
And it doesn't have to be because he's got a contract for next year.
But Yeager Sharon Govich had a tremendous season, a career season,
one that you would think would have him thinking,
this is a good place for me to play.
But you just don't know,
making $3.1 million.
He's got a year left.
It's a deal.
You can start talking to him this summer.
But what does the player want?
And what are you prepared to pay a guy who just had a season like he did?
It's fascinating question.
What position does he play next year?
That's another one.
31 goals, 59 points in 82 games.
Was a centerman for part of the year?
Was not a centerman for part of the year?
I don't know where I think it probably.
First liner and a fourth one.
First, fourth, yeah.
Everything in between.
What is he?
Both way.
What are you, Yeager?
All four lines.
Swiss Army knife, Dean, that's what he is.
He's, uh, he's Tulsie.
That's what I like to say.
He's a toolsy guy for sure.
But he's a guy that can score and he's still young enough that you can give him a deal.
But what's, it's, it's, what's the, what's the goal?
I'm, uh, for, for Craig Conroy and all and Jerome and all those guys.
when they sit down, do you have your vision board?
We're going to, here's what we want to be and by when.
And if you sign Sharon Govich to a five-year deal,
a four-year deal, a six-year deal, whatever it is,
does that make sense on the vision board
for when they see this team culminating
or starting to peak in terms of being a playoff,
a perennial type of a playoff team?
I don't know.
It's 26 this summer.
I think he's probably got a good four to seven years of good hockey left.
It's not like there's a ton of hard miles on the chassis.
This is not a 220 pound power forward that fights.
But just looking at the player's tools and the stats,
if that's a centerman, he gets paid.
If it's a winger, it's less.
That's just what the market has shown you.
So how you view him down the middle
and how the agent views them,
it probably has a lot to do with how you frame a contract.
It would be pretty easy to say,
okay, here's your production as a center iceman,
here's your production as a winger.
We know he had a lot more shots
and a lot more goals on the wing,
but he also was a pretty responsible center
for a guy that hadn't played a ton of it in this career.
If you agree with the agent on the position,
I don't think a deal is hard to get done
because there's a lot of comparables out there.
But if Dan Milstein is trying to sell you
that he's a number one center,
this might not go well.
that's the thing on what what tact do you take well we got to sign this guy because we might get
a deal now if he's going to be a center then maybe we get to or do do you use the other side like i it's
not the same as a it's not even close to the same as a huberto thing red but i almost wonder okay
so you scored your 30 goals and you played center is there a rush to sign him do you bring him back
you know what yeah you're a 30 goal guy and you can play the middle when we need you it's going to cost us
more than maybe if we'd have taken a dice roll
in the off season, but we'll pay you.
You've proven again for two years in a row,
as a Calgary flame, you're versatile
and you score. We're more confident in making a bigger
investment, and it might cost us more, but we're
prepared to pay you now that we're more comfortable knowing.
Or do you feel like you know enough?
First of all, I think you have to know the depths of what the,
I think you need that vision board and to have a little more,
because what's their caps?
And I know that Ryan, you know, yes, he's a winger and he has played center as kind of what we're referring to him as.
But the flames don't have a damn centerman that can, you know, they don't have enough high end centerman.
So they're missing one on the roster big time.
He was there out in necessity more than him being so good they put in there.
Yeah, but he did excel.
He played pretty damn good.
Did he not?
And you maybe know the stats better.
I'm not interested in going, well, what was his comparison between wing and center?
I thought he had a decent season at center.
I didn't notice him out of place.
I didn't think that his game downgraded significantly.
The offense was muted, but I mean,
it was muted for a chunk,
but then it came back near the end of the season.
And maybe that's just the way it happened.
But yeah,
he was on a torrid pace before he moved to the middle.
Yeah, so if you want to just look at his one year here,
he doesn't get on to anywhere near the top line until a month in.
And so then he goes on that,
scores six straight games heater that I think bridge November and December, if I'm correct,
against some pretty good opponents in there. Then after Lindholm moves, they slide him into the
middle. Right. It's pretty quiet offensively. Yes, he does score some goals here,
there, especially the longer he plays. Then they move Zeri to the middle once they're eliminated.
He gets back to the wing and he scores again. If you just sort of lined up, ignore October,
he was playing on all four lines. I didn't know where to put him. He's not a fourth liner. We know that,
but he spent a lot of the month there for whatever reason.
Break him down to build him back up,
get him to buy in, whatever.
But his center stats might be,
I'm a half point per game guy,
and his winger stats might be,
I'm a three quarter of a point per game guy.
But I don't know that,
I don't think he's a center.
I'd wait.
I think he did a great job.
I'd wait.
And so if you can get a deal on a 30-goal winger,
go get it,
but don't go pay for 30-goal centerment this summer.
Yeah.
And I don't know for him,
because this is another thing.
we will fall maybe we're wrong but it sure does not seem if they trademarked either way it just does not seem like this is going to be a a lock for a playoff spot let's let's be safe and go there there's going to be another challenging season for the calgary flames if you've got sharon govich who's 25 goals ish by the deadline and you've got kuzmanko who's 25 goals ish by the deadline conroy could again be one of the deadline conroy could again be one
one of the sexiest ladies at the ball come deadline day.
And if you're committing to this thing, yeah, Sharon Govich, he's a good player.
He came and replaced, look, he scored 30 goals.
That's great.
It's 26.
Guzmeco, 28.
Yep.
Just outside of that window where you probably want to be on the vision port is you could,
you could argue.
So do you again go back to market and trade two guys that are on expiring
contracts that are scores that we it's not the same like tomash hurdle is a center and he's in a
lead player he's got a caught but we see what kind of assets you can get for these guys now i think
maybe fans are a little disappointed with what you got for tannive and what you got for hanafin
but it's still it's better than a kick in the pants and i just wonder if what you potentially get
there you might be better off in the long term than having sharon govich at 30 and 31 years old
when the team might be good again i agree
I think I would wait.
I think some of it has to do salary cap
and how all the rest of it's going to play out.
If I sign him up, I'm really,
I'm not that excited with him because you're right.
I think if he has a good year,
you can trade him or I can decide to sign him then.
And if he earns it, he earns it.
That's fine.
You've got so much cap space.
If he wants to turn into a 40-goal guy
and you have to pay him, great problem to have.
You've got a lot of cap space.
Yeah.
I think Craig, like we talk about the philosophical thing,
like how much of a tear down this becomes?
is a big piece of this puzzle, like the biggest,
because if you know that they're intent on collecting top 10 picks the next three years
and then trying to be really good in 2027,
versus like, no, well, you know, if you're contract to inspire and we'll trade you
and we'll try to collect as many young assets as possible.
And maybe if the right things click and we add a center and go get a veteran defense,
we can sneak in, like those are two very different approaches on what you do with
Kuzmiko and Sharon Govich.
Right.
And again, I think your vision board joke is probably true because who's the defenseman you're going to go get this off season?
So play it out the different scenarios.
You might have three vision boards, four, because if you think that you're going to do it as quickly, you know, on the fly, they call it.
Dallas.
Okay.
Who's your defenseman?
You can't go with the defenseman you have.
You can't.
You're, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's two topboard defense.
name.
Was Marksum's thing?
Okay, he is.
Okay, we're going to retool this on the fly.
We're going to, who's it for, who's your, who's your defenseman?
Who can you get?
I just went through the list.
There's, you're squinting.
There's some guys, but there's nothing that's sexy.
And the sexy ones are going to want to go to contenders, not to.
100%.
So,
Mentor young kids while you miss the playoffs for two, three years.
Yeah, but you're saying you're not.
This is the one where you're retooling on a fly and you're going to be on the cusp of making
the playoffs.
Wow.
I mean, that might be your vision.
but go sell that.
I know, but this is what I'm saying is we're playing out the different scenarios
and different scenarios dictate different approaches to guys like Sharon Govich.
Right?
If you're going out and you're going to go sign two defensemen long,
I don't even know who the hell they would be,
we're going to trade for two defensemen and you're going to retool this.
And you think in eighth place next year, well, then maybe you sign Sharon Govich and go,
yeah, we're going to lock you up, right?
Like, but I don't see the path.
it's too hard too many things have to go right yeah i don't it's not impossible but god it feels close
first thing is you have to keep markstrom okay does you want to stay great we've we've decided we have
we have marxrum and wolf and we'll ditch flodar for a bag of pucks if we have to but yeah there's our
two guys okay great now you got your goaltending sorted out who are your defense yeah and who's your
who's your number one center you're still missing one of those if you're going to make the
play oh i was going from goalie no but i'm with you you need to add a d
and hopefully Shillington can be a second pair with that guy.
And this D, this D can't be just Joe Dick and his hat.
This defenseman has to be able to perform and play.
You're not going to get Lubushkin and go from where you are
and make the F in playoffs.
It's got to be a top 4D.
A legit top 4D.
Is Joe Dick a free agent?
How do you get that helmet?
His hat.
Right.
Yeah.
The hat.
If you take his hat, they'll trade them to you.
Is that how it is?
Yeah.
But Brady Shea is going to, someone's going to break the bank for him.
Brady Shea ain't coming to Calgary.
Exactly.
And look, if Calgary's a piece away from a cup and they lost in the final,
Brady might come to Calgary.
That's nowhere they're at here.
Hey, Brady, you like Carolina?
Oh, yeah.
No, it's going to be a guy who's got some limited options.
Yeah.
And looks at it and saying maybe I come from a one-year deal where I'm going to play 20 a night.
And maybe next summer I can get a better deal than what I got.
this year. And so that might be a Matt Dumba.
It's, uh,
Brett Pesci's out there. I think he'll go to a sexier spot than this.
But the, the, the,
Dumba had a few years where people were quite high on them and now the shine.
Yeah. He turns 30 here pretty. Yeah. And you know what?
But those are the types of names, I think. That's the types of guys that's going to be here.
My point though to you guys is those are the types of names you might get.
Those aren't the types of guys that are going to get you into playoffs.
No. No, there's stopgaps. They're placeholders. Yeah.
Like Brandon Montour is not signing in Calgary.
He's going to make some big money somewhere with a contender.
That's the one goes.
But I'm trying to say this retool where you're fighting for the eighth spot.
I'm not even saying a lock in the place where you're fighting for an eight spot.
Matt Dumba ain't doing it.
Shea ain't coming here.
You're going to have to trade for a defenseman that can be impactful.
And you don't want to do that.
I don't see the path to this quick retool.
Hence, no rush to sign these guys.
guys. Well, I mean, yeah, I agree with you entirely. I just think this owner has always said to the GM,
make it happen quicker. Don't give me the long play. Like, speed it up, speed it up, speed it up.
And so. Conroy was smart. He would just say they don't want to, they refuse to say. Just lie.
Yeah. And you know what? It's, I think in both Sharon Govich and Kuzmanko, those are guys,
they are not budding superstars. They're, they're older players. They've been in the league.
for a while. They've kind of established, I think, what they are and what they're going to be.
And they're very good players, but they're not, they're not franchise altering guys,
but who you get in a trade for them might be. And I think for a lot of these teams,
they aren't bad for one year and pick high and then turn it around. It just doesn't really
happen that way. But if you squint this year, you got a couple first rounders, top 10 pick,
next year, maybe a little higher into the top 10 with more picks.
It just, as I sit here today, it just feels like the smarter thing to put your pen away.
Don't extend guys because they were pretty good for you in a non-playoff year.
Yeah.
And if you wanted to go say, okay, Igor, we love you.
We'll give you seven times two.
And then we can eat half and move you in three years.
Like, whatever.
Maybe I feel like it's a neutral move.
but unless there's a deal where Connie's like, shit,
I have this guy worth X and they're willing to sign under.
There's no rush.
And, you know, I will push back a little on the established long time in the league.
What is this?
Igor's third season and Kuzmiko's second.
So they might not be at their ceilings,
but there's a really good ballpark of what a great season from these players looks like.
It's a 35 to 40 goal season for Kuzmiko where, you know,
you just load them up on everything offense.
Power play one, ozone starts, puck distributes, puck distribuble,
I guess that's what I was trying to say.
I'm not sure how I got it out there.
And then Sharon Govich is like, yeah, he's probably a second line winger,
complimentary piece on a cup champ.
And if he's on your top line, way, you're not that good.
Sorry.
Like, I don't think you're going to, and it's a different scenario, but I don't think you're
going to be four or five years down the road and be like, shit, we had a Marty
St. Louis and we let him get away.
I don't think that's what you're looking at with the other way.
I think this was that big year for Sharon Govich, right?
He's coming off, what, 16 goals last year?
He's had some good years.
he might be a hell of a player,
but he's a,
he's a good player
that can help a good team.
He's not a,
I don't,
he's not a core piece.
He's not a centerpiece for a squad.
No.
I like him.
Yeah,
he's had a guy where if you did sign him,
I'm like, yeah,
I don't give a shit.
Look.
Yeah.
You clearly see you can play wherever.
He played all four lines last year.
It still got your 30.
Like,
he can do things.
He might be a guy you need.
But no rush at all.
too sign.
Yeah.
If it's not a deal, I'm not too worried.
And I guess also on that list.
And it doesn't have to happen because there's, there's a contract.
But we've talked a lot about how many wingers there are and the type of year it was for
Andrew Mangupani.
I think people are, well, you're going to be a trade.
When do you trade Maggapani?
This is another one of those things where I'm not holding my breath because you're trading
him potentially at the lowest point.
spot possible.
Yeah.
He's,
it was,
it was an awful year for him.
You have no cap issues.
Zero.
You have no,
you have plenty of space to keep him,
even though you have tons of wingers and you're going to give him away to save
cap space?
That's what you're doing?
Who's taking him?
What are you giving up to get Andrew Manjapani after the last two years?
5.8 million dollar Andrew Manjapani.
No thanks is what you're going to hear a lot of.
Yeah.
How much half?
and you might not get much back.
Right.
You only way you would justify it is if you feel like you need to open a spot in the top nine.
And to be fair, like if the right injuries happen, they usually pop up anyway.
Like, Jake and Pelche went down in training camp and didn't play on the big club till well into the new year.
That opened the room for Zarian Pospisal to get ice.
Now, much, I think probably much like the market, we couldn't be more down on magic panic.
I think that we're kind of let down and it's been a disappointing year.
He's not happy, obviously, and neither are we.
I just never thought about it.
What are you going to get for him?
Pinder, you said, well, I don't know, maybe third.
If you eat half, you might get a third.
It's like, ooh, shit, that's not great.
But that prospects.
You may not even get that, right?
You might.
Who's excited?
You might be in a spot where,
that's just an expiring contract at the end of next season, depending on how his season goes.
It falls on his head and it should.
You wanted the money.
You earned the money.
And then you shut it down.
I don't know that he's trying to do that.
There was an injury mixed in.
Okay.
Sorry.
No,
it's just.
I'm not disagree with plain devil's advocate.
Like it.
Fuck him.
I know.
Score.
We had some.
It also be a pain in the ass once this year?
Once?
it was not as regular, but I didn't see a guy not trying.
I wouldn't go that far.
But he was...
You never say that because you think that if you cross that line that you've crossed over the spot of...
If I was Rett Warner and I was playing through all kinds of stuff that the media I didn't know about
and someone said that I wasn't trying, I'd be fucking hot.
So I don't like to say guys don't try.
I don't see a guy not trying.
I see a guy that looks a little lost that's had the best puck luck in the world one year and it's not there anymore.
You just see him agitate at all.
That's the thing.
The numbers are one thing, but even when he wasn't scoring, he was a dog and a bone.
He was a pain in the ass.
He was turning pucks over.
He was in, think of it in the net, in the crease, pardon me, in front of the net.
Face washing and getting under people's skin.
You guys are, you guys are techies.
So you could do the split screen.
Techie.
Played the year where he was playing well beside last year and tell me he's trying this hard.
Can't do that.
Yeah, I mean, I just look at the shooting percentages would tell the whole story on
the goals. But I do agree that
like when he got to the higher
traffic areas this year, you notice
it because like, geez, we haven't seen as much of that. Where's that
gone? He didn't hear his name.
How many games
did he play were you just, did
he play? And the other thing, and it
happens, he's lost
Who do he play with? He's lost the step and he
wasn't blessed with speed to begin with.
Right? It was his body
position and kind of his intelligence
that would get into the areas where he needed
to be. And
I do. I think he's lost a step and isn't
there's not the extra, you know, whatever you want to call it. There's not that
intangible stuff. 5.8 coming.
Yeah, he's definitely not worth 5.8. No question about that.
Do you see if everything goes right for him again, is he a 20 goal guy? I think that's
probably what you're selling on the market, isn't it? If you're trying to trade him.
Again, so this is part of, you know, we have to explain this.
We don't want Andrew Mani, Jepani to be shitty.
I want him to score 35 again, please.
Right?
So yeah.
Yeah, I absolutely think 20, 25.
But it's the outlier when you, to Ryan's point.
It's not even close.
You look at the five years where he essentially,
and we got lockouts in there,
but the five years, he's a full-time NHL or 17.
These are his goal totals.
17, 18, 35, 17, 14.
So flirting with 20 outside of this year.
And then one year he got 35.
So 20.
Get 20.
Which he hasn't done except in the 35 goal year.
And he's,
now he gets 18 and a 56 goal year and 17 and 68 goal season.
So let's call all those pro rated low 20s to mid-20s.
But yeah, I think if someone else is looking to buy low on Andrew
Medjapani, what they're telling themselves is we're going to get him a fresh start,
change of scenery.
This was the Dylan Dubay thing before all that legal shit came down.
it's a guy that screams,
change of scenery is going to help.
Go play on the third line in Toronto and get to 20 goals again,
and you're a helpful part.
Right now he's just clogging up spots for young kids.
Third highest paid forward on the team.
And there's some high paid forwards on the team.
Yeah, no, we understand he's not earning the money on the contract.
The contract was earned on a 35 goal season.
That's a tough spot.
But it comes and we started the conversation.
So Conroy, what do you got to do?
Well, Manjapani, what do you?
there's no rush there.
Sharon Govich, you got to get a deal and play.
I'm not sure you do.
I'm not sure there's a big rush there.
What about Cozbenko?
I think we're all in the same.
It's the same thing.
Up and up, baby.
You're hanging on for,
no way are you talking extension.
I don't think with him this summer.
And Shillington,
that's,
he's a UFA.
So that would be probably most pressing.
And then you've got to figure your crease out.
And that's a lot of it.
That's what kind of said.
I feel like it's out of your hands.
What does Markstrom want?
And it's not like you're just going to do whatever it is that he wants,
but if he doesn't want to be here,
then that probably is top of your priority list.
We got a Markstrom deal.
We got to get done.
I agree.
Yeah, unless you really want AJ Greer back,
which he was a good warrior,
but you find guys like that on waivers
or at the end of September every year.
And you kind of got some guys in the system
you might want to look at anyway.
I mean, they clearly like Dryden Hunt more than
some people did.
I looked at, he's got another year?
At what?
Like, you could put him in the end.
That's where he spent most of his time here.
Friken guy.
Ski mask and handguns.
You get a multi-year deal
when you're fucking Dryden Hunt.
What are doing here, fellas?
Traded for Redeem Zahorna.
Miso Zahorn.
So there you go.
That's a little flame channer.
But yeah, there's nothing for a burden, Dino.
It really isn't.
Frigin Conroy, eh?
He loves Summers off.
He loves to kick the feet up.
Well, relax.
Chill.
He might have May off.
I don't know that he's got summer off.
June's going to be busy as health of this.
Well, when's the U-18s?
He's got to go to Sweden, Finland?
He's got to go over to.
Well, tough life.
Yeah.
Stay in the pod.
Yeah.
Fly in the pod.
Oh, the pod would be nice.
Yeah.
Oh, God, yeah.
Have you ever flown on the pod?
Of course, yes.
Do people know what we're talking about?
First class, little bed thing.
First class, you get your little room there.
You and the shoveler.
snuggling away in there?
Is it for two people or just one?
You all just snuggle on the pod?
Can you snuggle on the pod?
I think there's actually planes now with like real rooms.
Yeah, you can really upgrade.
You're flying it out of Dubai right.
You got lots options for rooms and stuff.
My kind of dough.
Oh, baby.
Chris is chiming it.
Boomer is negative.
Must be a riot to live.
What did I say it was negative there?
Actually, you know, right?
Don't sign any.
He's just saying, are you new to the show?
And today he's not being negative.
Jesus Christ.
I'm good spirits today.
Come on,
guys,
I'm going to roll.
Jesus.
Come on,
Chris,
Jesus.
You can play the DFO
Playoff Parlay Challenge.
Here is the website,
games.
Dot daily faceoff.
Dot com.
Every day.
Four questions.
You pick the winning team,
the over under for points,
total goals,
predict who is the first goal score,
and the highest scoring period.
Daily winners,
you're going to snag gift cards each round,
champs are going to pocket some cash.
Get after it.
Every single day.
Games.daily faceoff.com.
I wonder how Frank,
because what Frank was going out to Greta last night in Vancouver?
He was.
I saw a picture of a bunch of people with mustaches wearing Oilers' jerseys.
There's like there's 12 guys all in Euler jerseys in Vancouver,
wishing they were in Edmonton and three quarters of the bed mustache.
I was like, how?
Is this Stuart Skinner influence?
What's happened?
It's, you know what?
It's in.
I blame Matthews.
I feel like Austin Matthews
was one of the first young guys
who decided to wear the mustache.
And now it's all cool.
Where's yours, Warner?
I thought you were going to grow it out for the draft.
I was going,
I started to shave before the draft
and my first cut
was in a, oh,
what have I done?
See, that's why I never shave.
Can't make that mistake.
That's right.
Do we grow playoff beards, boom?
we need lottery beards or lottery mustache.
Something for good luck.
We got to get our boy Tim Nacky in studio.
Like it's a big day that draft lottery.
That changes everything, rat.
Yeah.
Hunt was effective, admitted.
So we got the Dryden Hunt fan club.
Well, I mean, guys, he's a 15th forward.
Let's not get too crazy here.
If he was a good 15th forward, Dean.
775.
Yes.
Yeah, why he hammered on the 775 guy?
Seriously.
Who is Hunt?
That's right.
That was different.
Harold's opinion on him. That's correct.
That's right.
Well, I guess it's time for the fucking minute report.
Oh, God.
You can see, my mood was so good.
So, Dean, when was the last time you went to the zoo?
Years.
Years and years.
Got up to speed.
Great.
2024 Honda,
Cord redesigned last year,
chosen by car and driver magazine is the number one,
mid-sized sedan.
One of the most reliable vehicles on the road is better than ever.
Superior ride.
quality, reliability, and
impressive fuel economy, all thanks to the
EXL hybrid. Check out
the Accord, the Civic, the pilot,
CRV, all of the
Honda line at the Northwest
Automol online at VillageHonda.com
and our buddies at Village present.
Ryan Pinda, Ryan Pinda.
The Pender Report.
Fellas, what would it be like
if say your dad was a hero
playing sports in a certain
city and then you had to rise
up through that
city and organization.
Trying to chase your
dreams in the shadow of your father.
Ask Josh Dohn, because
Ryan Pike did.
Two sons of franchise icons.
There's interesting parallels between Josh
Donne and Teage Aginla.
You're going to read on Flames Nation.
Josh Done, a full two weeks
of having to live in Phoenix.
Yeah, it's a lot of a while ago,
but I hear you. Yeah, it's
uh, yeah. He's a soker now, Dee.
He's a total soaker.
That's a good get for Ryan Pike, though.
He had a chance to the coyotes while they were still the coyotes.
So they're no longer the coyotes.
They don't have a name.
Whatever they are.
They're you too.
Where the streets have no names.
They gave Ryan Pike great access to Josh Dohn for a little sit down interview.
So check that out, flamesnation.com.
To your point.
Speaking to Teach, his season was over.
Wrong.
Yeah, the rockets are done.
But look at this.
Teage has been added to the U-18,
men's world's roster.
He is the 25th body.
That is it. It's done. Fini.
Without sounding like a Pots, what is the U-18
men's worlds?
It is a tournament for men under
the age of 18. So those aren't men.
Those are teenagers. It does
seem odd to see the word men's there, but yeah, that's
okay. Oh, rad.
Semantics.
All right.
Didn't you play any, sorry.
Is it the Ivan Helenska?
The clinch.
It's not the clinch.
The folk.
Clutchco.
Isn't there,
there's no,
the Halenka Gretzky Cup.
This is not that.
I believe that was in the summer.
Is that still going on?
I believe it is.
That's right.
Just to say it.
What was the one in Japan where you found the beer
in the vending machine with Jason Weamer?
That's the one.
Okay.
The Halenka,
or you,
the U-18?
Yeah,
Halika's Japanese.
That's right.
Teague's dad,
Jerome never played at the U-18s,
but he appeared at the Copa Mexico,
a Holinka-Grenski Cup precursor event
and Big Sister,
Jade won gold with Canada back.
It's better than all those
bum brothers.
So Teague, better than Jerome.
Craig, don't mess it up.
Yeah, what's the hierarchy here?
Is Jerome at the bottom?
Jade's at the top?
And then Joe might be...
Sounds like Jerome's the fucking bum out of this crew, right?
So it's Jade.
Just pay for the shit, would you, old man?
Speaking of the bum of the crew,
a video came up on hockey fights socials yesterday.
They have a random fight thing where they just play one.
It doesn't have to have anything to do with anything.
And it was a fellow for the L.A. Kings wearing number 88,
scrapping a younger Patrick Maroon of the Oilers.
Saw that.
And that was Jerome McGinlaw wearing 88 for the Kings,
nearly 40, having fought Derek England within the night or two prior.
God damn it, was this guy fearless?
And he takes some early and then starts the lefts.
And he absolutely handles fourth-liner Pat Maroon.
It's wild man.
He's a snapshot.
I think the old bugger started doing some boxing and Muay Thai at the end of his career.
So just to top things up.
You did have some extra time in the spring in Colorado there for those three years.
Hey-oh.
So if you're going to go to, you know, Mad Rose Pub and you see Iggy having a pint and you think you're going to test the old guy.
Be careful.
It's been taking Muay.
That's right.
Keep looking on you.
Keep punching.
Cooney.
The flames have added another prospect to the Wranglers.
What?
Hunter Bristevich.
That means Kitchener's season's done, T's and P's, Rangers.
But it means the season's not over for the highly touted second round defenseman
that, well, has had his stock surge this year being included in the Lindholm deal
and putting up OHL defenseman point numbers that are preposterous.
Welcome to the pro rank, sir, ATO.
He could be here next year.
as he's a late birthday, playing full time with the Wrengers.
odds it could as well.
Lippinski, I think he's well.
Brew.
I bet you that's what they'll say.
Brew, if he scores or gets, yeah, that'd be.
We got our baseball team for the kids.
It's the Brewers.
I mean, the Jays last year, the Brewers this year.
That's great, Ryan.
Oh, love it.
Thanks for that.
Timbitt.
Pat McAfee doesn't know where Winnipeg is,
but I don't care, Dean.
This is beautiful stuff.
when you get this guy talking puck.
Oh, my God.
That was fantastic.
In Winnipeg, I couldn't even, if there was an empty map of Canada, okay?
And they said, Pat, go ahead and pin this particular whatever, Mountie, a horse.
Pin this horse.
Got a hundred chances.
Pin this.
Hunter.
And it's big, so there's a lot of different options.
The leg of the horse isn't going to take up a city and then shoulder is going to be in another city.
I have to actually, I could not.
guess for the life of me.
Nope.
Where the hell it is, but I do know it's
place I would like to be one time.
That barn last night was
fantastic. Colorado, obviously
St. I'm a Cup, Chalachar,
Golden Night's St.machan Cup Chance, Colorado before that,
Stanley Cup champs, you're talking about a
very good team in the Western. Look
at this place going
bananas. Full whiteout, full
commitment, full banana.
He's a puck fan, man.
It's good. And he's also
on ESPN.
Well, that's what I mean.
It's in his best interest to talk about it.
You got the rights now for a second year or third, I guess.
Not often Winnipeg's getting brought up on ESPN, though.
You're not getting the joy of watching P.K.
and mess muck about in the emissions?
Dude.
Oh, we got it up here.
Okay.
I was curious.
But it is, I'm going to call it unwatchable.
Two springs ago, we went down to the States in, I think it was the Stanley Cup.
It was the conference finals.
And so ESPN had one night and the next night would be Turner.
ESPN the next night, then Turner, TNT, back and forth, back and forth, back and forth.
How painful that ESPN panel is compared to how good the TNT one is with Wayne and they had talking at that point and the clown from the desert business.
It's just one's amazing and the other is so painful.
Well, and they've got Henrik Lundquist on there now who's also, he's got some personality.
mess is a mess.
We had mess on the old show a couple times.
There is not a more disappointing interview than mess.
He's just melbatosed.
Yeah, it's, uh, and then P.K. tries to compensate.
He goes too far.
And it's like, it's, yeah, I'm giving it a solid goosh.
How many?
Now you consider you're the host of this show.
It's the boomocracy.
Yeah.
Does that look like people that would be fun?
Like, I felt for that.
I forget what his name is, the guy that's,
trying to steer that ship.
Yeah, this is worse.
No.
Dean, you're being negative again.
Do you want to hang with P.K.
and mess more than us?
Yeah.
Oh, shit.
No, you don't.
Do I want to be on ESPN?
No, no.
No, I didn't ask that.
Or on Flames Nation YouTube.
Do you want to steer a ship with Pinder and I
or those other two duds?
I'd make them, I'd make them good.
Oh, God.
so messier bang madonna huh tell me about it he wouldn't even talk about the stupid lays commercials
that guy was dead no he's lame yeah he's so lame which he can't i feel like he lost the cup of
strip club you don't have one good story what the hell and i feel like he's he's got he's not that
guy right no he just has this thing where he's doing media and he becomes an all right guy
he on does that for no sense of humor good guy then camera microphones cameras
unless it's canceled, it's not canceled.
Jesus Christ.
You got to get neon on the show.
We are this summer.
Come on Dion.
We got a couple, we get some tentacles now.
Because Rhett's always had all these guys' numbers,
but he just never asked.
But now I have two different people in Dion's inner circle.
So three, three.
So I think we can get them.
Okay.
News in Buffalo, we talked about it, Lindy Ruff.
He back.
Okay.
is that an awkward looking walk or what?
That must be on ice, right?
Got to be careful with those shoes.
Those wood bottom, they're very slippery.
Two-year deal?
Okay, sure.
What do they pay in him?
So we know what they were paying Donnie Grinado.
Donny Grinado, we made a mistake.
It was a two-year deal worth 3.9.
We thought that was the AAB.
That was the total dollars.
We got Derek England on that.
We were totaled.
That was our fault.
No one.
That makes more sad.
Donnie Granada making 1.9.
Yeah, that's fit.
Who gave us that info?
Julian McKenzie tweeted.
We just read it wrong.
He had it right.
All right.
We got Englanded.
We went sideways on that.
What about Alex Tuck?
Your boy, Red.
What does he think about Lindy?
Because that's an important at Buffalo guy,
culture setter, big piece coming back for Eichel.
The goat heads.
What would it be like if Lindy Ruff was the coach here?
Wow.
Wow.
Yeah, that I,
I think I've probably watched Lindy coach about as many games as I've actually played
more than the amount of games I played for the Sabres.
So he was my favorite coach growing up.
That was the teams that I watched and sat in the couch and watched from my dad.
To see what he was able to do with those teams was really cool.
It was really special.
I got to actually meet him for the first time this year.
I didn't even think about that.
Lindy's a great coach, a really smart guy.
I've always been a huge fan of his.
I have no idea.
That'd be pretty cool, though.
So that was obviously prior to the news, fellas.
I was just, yeah, I was about to snap because I'm like,
what is this idiot doing at the Rick still?
Yeah, that would have been last week at the exit clean out.
No, maybe, eh?
That would have been the last day of media available.
I would think so.
But yeah, he's wearing street clothes being asked about, you know,
a Buffalo coaching icon because he grew up in the,
area. So lots of respect there.
Let's all be wrong about the
sabers for once, shall we? Because it's been too long.
If he's got so much respect for Rough, brings
back some of the old saber guys.
So you know, maybe. I really enjoyed that time.
If not for this one plug on defense,
I would like them all.
The keys right there.
Contest tonight, what do we got?
Four bangor, Dino. It's a four.
Bangor. Look at it. Let's start a five.
Manhattan will feature
the 91 point capitals. You suck.
against the Rangers.
We got some details on this game.
Let's move forward here.
The Caps are playing some very green and young defensemen,
and this is why Nick Jensen and Rasmus Sandin
couldn't go in game one.
They're not going to go in game two.
So you want guys you never heard of before?
Look to the Caps third pair.
Dylan McElrath, the old 10th overall pick
in the Camp Fowler draft that the Rangers made.
He's actually suiting up against the Rangers.
And an interesting twist.
This was the game.
this is the game you're going to, right? Retro?
Yeah, you're there tonight, right?
Tuesday. It was the Tuesday. You're going to do Yankees?
Tuesday. Yeah, I'm going to do ranges and then tomorrow, Yankees.
Right. Wow, that'd be great, Redd. Can't wait.
Back to that slate, if you don't mind, Jack. Let's look at some of these other contests.
You don't mind if I take tomorrow.
I don't know how many people caught game one of Panthers Tampa because it was right in the middle of the day here, if not, I think a 10.30 pucks up.
It was a 10.30 a.m. Ryan, yeah.
I saw bits and pieces and I really liked it.
And Tampa scored late to make things very interesting.
I think this still.
has the potential to be the best series in the first round.
We'll have some eyes on it tonight as should be fun.
Yeah, you're probably going to watch that one over Caps, Rangers.
Hell bleeping, yeah, that's, yeah, totally.
And you've got that, you'll get the bulk of it in,
even if you're ready for that Jets ab, so.
Totally.
It was an interesting, because the Panthers were all over them in the first.
Lightning had, I think, zero shots on net until there was eight or seven minutes left in the period,
and then they scored and then nearly scored again.
Yeah, I don't, this.
Bob was great for the, not the huge number of shots Tampa created,
but Brod's going to be some big saves.
Yeah.
Look at right.
He's going through.
The other contest, night games, we go back to Winnipeg, which has been insane.
We'll see if McAfee can get up there.
And then Vancouver, it wasn't easy, but they showed some guts and fortitude against Nashville.
Can they take over a game?
Can they get some production from Miller and Pedersen?
Or are they in for this tooth and nail every game all series against Nashville?
We'll find out tonight.
Let's go.
I can't get on my flight now.
Can't get on your flight.
What flight are you got?
You're going to New York?
15.
Direct.
Can't get on?
Adam Henrique, long time between playoff goals, friends.
Check this out.
12 years.
He scored as a devil in the playoffs back in 2012.
That was three years before McDavid was drafted.
2012.
What happened in 2012 where we can stamp that?
Like, that is wild.
I mean, clearly,
the devil's play in the cup final, but
4,333
days between goals.
Well, I think, and I feel bad now
because I think I laughed at pay-built
when they selected Adam Henrink
at the draft.
It was the two other tables. Someone was going to get him.
Yeah.
He's a good fit there
up front. It's just, he's not
pushing Cody Sisi down the death chair.
That was the issue with that trade. They gave him first.
More news from around the league.
Timel Meyer's going to have surgery.
tough year with the devils. Remember he came over
that blockbuster from San Jose who's going to be the megastead?
Yeah. It hasn't really been the megastead.
I thought he was okay though.
I mean, let me go look at the guests. What do you want to guess on points?
I mean, I think he probably missed half the season as my guess.
Yeah, I think down the stretch, I thought he was pretty good.
He was better down the stretch for sure.
Timo Meyer.
Well, good. Teeze and P's to Timo.
Timo. Well, it's funny. Not that long ago.
It was Timo, Hurtle, Carlson, Marlowe, like that whole crew.
and San Jose.
Yeah.
No.
52 points in 69 games.
That's more games than I thought, more points than I thought.
So Timo, I take it back.
Oh, boy, Timo.
Someone, I think, is puck daddy.
Greg Wyshinsky of ESPN was thinking on this one.
Pretty good.
Shea Weber's contract now moves from Arizona to Utah.
He can be the Sokers' first hall of fame or team.
Congratulations, Shea.
Yeah.
Do you think he'll be there for, uh, to help?
help launch the Sokers franchise?
Is he going to wear the Sokers jersey into the hall?
That'd be big.
I guess that's baseball.
They make you pick a hat.
Base in hockey, they don't give a shit.
Yeah, they don't make it.
And finally, shoutouts to Jacob Vorichick,
who has called it a career.
Over in Chequia, he done.
34 years of age was a very, very good player for the Flyers and other squads.
Rhett, do you have a Vorichick anecdote as you're checking into your flight?
No.
I don't give a shit about it.
Okay, they'll move along.
You played for the blue jackets as well.
I do.
I do have,
it was my Commodore who played with him in Columbus.
Okay.
And said that Jacob Vorichek would eat peanut M&Ms by the family sized bag.
Oh, close sound good.
The big, you know, two pound or just mowing.
But peanut.
You have a guy that doesn't like the peanut butter cup?
Yeah, you know, not really.
No.
I like the Reese's pieces.
because the, just the texture of that they click against your teeth when you put them in your,
and I kind of like that, like Skittles.
But I just peanut,
you think about.
Peanut butter.
Stay, get on my toast.
Stay away from my cookies.
Stay away from my desserts.
Stay away from chocolate.
Get on my.
Take.
You have a home always on my toast.
And how about when you go to some places like a breakfast place and they don't have peanut
butter. They got the little things on the tables. Like, oh, I need marmalade, I guess. No, you don't. No one ever
needs marmalade. That's the worst. What do I need? Worst. Could I get some, I got to ask you to get
peanut butter. How many do you want? How many do I want? What are we doing here? And I upset the table
and take a dump on the, uh, all right. In front of the register and I leave. Now,
you're, uh, Yankees, buddy, Aaron Boone. Off to a great start this year. The kind of, Booney.
K of late and Booty
was on the receiving end of some
whoresh shit umpire. Check this out, Rhett.
Wow. We're not going to need a job boy breakdown
of that one. We got a very clear
there you go.
And now Aaron's saying, I didn't say anything.
Aaron's saying, hold on a second.
I didn't say a word.
This is great.
And it was.
was the guy right behind the dugout who chirped the um so the ump tosses boone because he's already
been warned now boone's getting his money's work he's like all right you're gonna toss me you guys
are a bunch of pricks i've never seen incompetence at this level you idiots someone else said something
aggressive rapid ears tell you what we're about three weeks in now what three weeks to a month
into the baseball season and i feel like the umpires are
just getting crushed daily.
Oh, yeah.
Well, because now we actually...
It's never been worse.
No.
And like, look, we know how to do the strike zone box thing.
It's on every fucking telecast.
Did I tell you about this?
I went to the Bisons.
They could review it.
The players could challenge.
They can tap.
You get to,
it's at a certain point of the game or a certain count
or only a certain number of times.
It never is just rules about it.
It takes less than 10 seconds.
There's not many rules.
And I'll tell you what.
They were doing it left and right.
Yes.
And I will say this.
that ump dialed in he missed one out of like 13 and it was like yeah well good news there's some shitty
umps that he can replace in the majors holy and i still want to keep the umps behind the plate because
you need booty coming out to yell at them but don't make them do balls and strikes put a buzzer
in their pocket whatever you can call home and stay for out come on dean let's you can't lose
the um yelling we need that right team oh i i need more prep i'm getting older now i can't
just pulled that out on very relaxed you put me up in front of a crowd on Friday night yeah I
did dance monkey and yeah and you did what we do and you did I stick your fingers on
man I was feeling it yes he was good do we want Rhett to talk no just wait till he has a few more
beers and then then we'll send him up okay now's the time he's wobbling a little good
put him up.
Jack's a big hardo for anything, Pittsburgh.
So when the pitcher does something like this,
choked up on that bat.
Whoa, did he go?
He did.
Wow.
That is dirty.
Look at this.
But, I mean, he's thinking the same thing I was saying.
Wings at it.
I'm probably going to see it again.
Oh, my gosh.
And you got to gear up for a hundred miles an hour.
And there's that slide.
The pitching ninja calls that a sword.
Is that what it is?
Tough for someone to beat.
that sword this year.
Yeah.
What's this guy's name?
Jacob Jones or something?
Jared Jones.
Rookie, I have no idea where he can.
He designs all the flames merch and he pitches for the guy.
Double J.
Canadian Jamal Murray, speaking of daggers,
was ice cold shooting the basketball
almost all night, got a little momentum in the fourth
and then they're tied with less than five seconds.
Murray,
makes a move.
Gaines of Hawaii.
Yeah, pretty damn good.
First ever Canadian buzzer-beater in the playoffs.
Love to see it.
Game day, fellas.
Cavalry FC will be at Akko Field.
It is their preliminary round matchup with Vancouver FC
in the Canadian Championship tournament.
If you're confused by all this,
there are multiple seasons.
There is the regular season,
and then there's the Canadian Championship.
If they win this game,
they will host the Vancouver white caps of MLS,
which would be an absolute blast.
That happened back in 2019,
where the Cavs did quite well,
I believe, drawing white caps in that contest
in their inaugural season.
So a big one, if they can win it,
maybe game of the year at Echo Field
coming up in a few weeks.
Show me the way to go home.
Show me the way.
Somebody.
I want to go to bed.
7 p.m. kickoff.
I had me a drink a couple hours ago when it went straight to my head.
Remember that one?
You're okay if they were the greens tonight, Dino?
No.
No.
You're all about the reds?
Yes.
Okay.
Fair?
Come on now.
Vancouver 2 and 0 to start the regular season.
They were an expansion team last year, so we'll see.
Exciting.
Should be feisty.
House of weather?
14 degrees of kickoff?
Beautiful.
Come on.
I'm 16 today.
Shut the front of all.
That's beer drinking temperature.
Look who's in Vegas.
Our boy, Tim Dot Naki, found a casino and dumb enough to give them all their money.
Let's go.
Carpet with the money.
We did at 50K, but the max we can do is three squares.
So that's my money, almost.
30,000.
Thank you.
I need tens and aces, tans and aces.
tens and aces you could go low
8, 5, 4, 19, 9.
5, 6, 5, 6, 5, 6.
10.
Oh, it's just so good.
Never insurance.
I'm gonna.
Never end up boy, 10.
Give you 10.
Oh, you beauty.
We just want a double.
Picture for 20, picture for 20, picture for 20.
Oh, that's 15.
You're not staying at 15?
Against an ace.
Oh.
A seven here.
I'd damn me, marry you.
Annie.
Oh, that's a...
Seven-E?
Yeah, we stand up.
Yes!
Yes!
There's going to his trip.
My kill!
Oh, that is a Ripper!
I think let's go three again.
That'll make it 100,000 NZD on the line.
One more time.
Last three, here we go.
Tens all out, Tens all out.
Tens all round.
12's gross.
14's worse.
Go low for me.
Two.
Two.
I hate twos.
Yes, please.
It's gross.
Ah.
Stand.
Is that 15?
Yeah, go to the end, please.
Oh, that's not good.
18.
Bugger.
Bugger, bugger.
All right.
You can't win them all.
You cannot win them all.
It could have been much worse.
So a lot to unpack there.
First off, the casino won't let him play 100 grand a hand.
Secondly, it's New Zealand dollars that he's playing,
which is about 50K American with the rate.
So all the money he's been doing,
has been at a Kiwi casino in New Zealand,
Kiwi dollars, not American dollars.
So he got to spend over 100 grand there,
but he had to do it over six hands and three at a time.
I just, I'm not getting the adrenaline rush like I was.
He won the first hand.
You want two of the first three.
No, no, I know.
Yeah, exactly.
Exactly, right.
Exactly.
You should be up a hundred grand.
Yeah, I don't, yeah.
I can't endorse this to me.
I know it was a brave idea.
It's just like what did Quentin Tarantino just do?
He was supposed to have his last film.
They were like part way through it.
He's like, fuck this.
Through it in the trash.
We're done.
This thing's not.
Yeah.
I don't care if I'll make a hundred million dollars.
Can't do it.
It's shit.
Damn it.
Timmy.
But Jack.
Lost more than two hands in a row there.
Does that count though?
Well, I don't know.
It's just that we never.
Yeah, this is a completely different thing.
I don't like this at all.
Which is not Tim's fault.
No, it's not as well.
He's trying things.
That's fine.
Got to go back to the well.
So he's already talking about tomorrow.
He's going to do 50 grand online and then do another lap at the table.
This has be concerned.
And I'll tell you why.
We have more than one pick, don't we?
When he goes to the draft?
Or is he just going to the lottery ball?
thing. We want him at the lottery ball thing.
Okay, I thought he was going to the draft and I'm like,
wouldn't that be awesome if they like pan to the flames table and there's
you know, Connie and Don Boloney and the whole crew and then there's just Tim Nacky
wearing the fucking Kiwi hat with the tray.
How weird is it going to be seeing Maloney with Iggy and Conroy?
I don't know. Maloney's been at the table for how many years in a row now?
It's not weird at all. Yeah. He's a veteran.
Is his chair a little further down the table now?
I'm just wondering like when Iggy and Conroy get arguing, like if he's ready to intervene.
I feel like at the tables he's been at before, he wouldn't have had to put up with their BS.
And now it's, this is going to be a totally new.
We might have to get Don on.
Let's get done in that a little bit.
Listen, do you need some help with these two idiots?
Like, we know them.
We know their reputations.
Yes, they're these best of friends.
But we all know.
they're going to be at each other's throats.
Do you, how's it going?
Do you think that us calling him Don Bologna
might stand in the way of us getting him for an interview?
Did we call him Don Maloney?
Did we somebody, I did not call him Don Maloney.
I called him Don Maloney.
Dean, did you call him?
Ryan.
Pinder worries about saying someone's not trying,
but then he'll just be a complete deed.
This is, it's on the internet.
What is talking?
I mean, you can...
Was there a Freudian slip?
Leave that shit out.
Did somebody...
Did somebody call him, Don?
I'm not sure.
Did that happen?
What?
I hear he's a wonderful man and actually,
you're rather progressive.
So tip of the clap to Don.
This says car F up.
Okay, so pause here.
This is good.
This looks like some sort of either
incredible car show or just a garage
of like supercars.
Now, there's going to be some sort of unveiling.
They're building some sort of a domino structure with branding on it around the car
so they can knock the domino down and unveil the car.
We know how it ends, but it's still fun to watch.
No, it works.
Some jerk had to go rev the engine right when he was.
Work.
I mean, yeah, they all husha, husha.
They all fell down.
So what else did he want?
Yeah, nobody got hurt.
Like this trick with a car, this could go very poorly.
Let's have a look.
It looks like he's riding the roof at a high velocity here.
Whoa.
There's a bit of a fall,
but I'd say that ended pretty well
considering the other options.
Now, at first I'm like,
oh, this must be a movie scene
and a professional stuntman,
but this just looks like drunk rednecks doing stupid.
They're Russian rednecks trying to get on the internet.
I like it.
Right on.
Would you like a little bit of an update, Ryan?
Yes, please.
Yeah.
Because tonight you have Vancouver, Nashville, game two.
Yeah.
Elliot Friedman among a number of media reporting.
Thatcher Dempco injured and questionable for the rest of the series.
Timelines are unclear at this point, as is specific info about the injury.
So that is no bueno for.
Just back from injury late in the season.
Just buy some time while I put Tumox in Nashville.
There's a pick tied to them, yeah.
Nashville and regulation plus 212.
Okay.
Five bucks.
Turns to 15.
Okay.
Let's keep moving.
Now, I don't know how this happened.
And I think this is Toronto.
Even this is,
though this is off an Australian Instagram account.
Basically,
someone wrong with a crane, Dean.
I think that's Roy Thompson Hall in the background there between.
There's not many building shape like that.
I really think this is Toronto.
It could be wrong.
And listen to the accents.
Oh, is that is that hard hat?
Hang on.
Hang on.
Hang on them.
Just let your hard.
Thanks, guys.
Yeah, I wasn't sure what to do.
I was going to let go, but I guess so hang on then.
Oh, my God.
How the fuck did this happen?
Turn it up, Jim.
Holy, we can hear it.
Oh, we can hear it.
Jesus Christ.
Is there a swamper there?
Like, somebody tell him to stop now before he gets crushed by this.
Fuck.
Stop!
No, don't tell him.
Don't yell.
Don't yell.
I don't know if this is like a big promotional
Stunt or not, but there is a new
TV show launching
with Ricky and it's called The Trades.
It's the trades, yeah. And this
feels like a scene from that. I haven't even seen it
but it feels like that was Ricky yelling.
Not a good, that's a new fear unlocked there, Dean.
Yeah, that wouldn't be
now give the guy credit.
He was hanging in there.
Great. Survived it.
Your shoulders would be just burning retro.
I wouldn't be able to do it. I guess I'm
dead. Right? If you survived that,
buy you a beer.
I'm gold for it then.
Well, in that case, then I guess I'll hang on.
Well, I was going to let go, but then Dean yelled, hold on!
Hold on!
Got it.
Stop.
I'll hold on now.
Could you wait until my feet are touching the ground before you tell them to stop?
Humans.
Let's go to the zoo, Dino.
This looks like some sort of a lizard.
Now, here's the thing.
This is, okay, so now it's...
Before we start it, Dean.
The Honda cord.
Does this look like...
the lizard has come into this young man's house,
or has the young man gone into the lizard's turf?
This feels like this dummy has gone and is bothering this lizard of some sort.
Well, I bet you are the lizard's actions will tell us.
Here we go.
I go for my arm here?
Oh, wow.
Yeah, he did a great job there.
Much better than I thought.
Yeah, I'll probably use to just.
Apparently, there's a saliva, the saliva of,
said lizard or iguana
were being told yeah
sure whatever
the teeth are
they cause
it's very difficult to stop the bleeding
and oh good it doesn't let your
blood quite stop the hammering
so if you do
get bit it's a real bugger
what do you know about snapping turtles
though rat because I know they like to bite
we even had one on the Pinda report a month or two ago
yeah
any saliva issues there
very dangerous little fellas
let's go back to the
Everglades here's Roland our tour guide
What's he grabbing?
CRV sits atop the pack of compact SUVs
I don't think you look at
What are you doing? You don't want to get bitten by this
Careful now Roland
Oh my God
Look the size of this cat
Yeah you don't have to pick that thing out
I don't put that in our boat dude
Don't put that in our boat dude
He just said don't.
What are you doing?
Eating that corn moran.
Oh, easy, bro.
Oh, he's pissed.
Don't let him go.
What are you doing?
Roll it.
Oh, my God.
Look at that thing.
Look at his head, bro.
Oh, he's pissed.
Oh, look at that thing.
Oh, my God.
You're wild.
Roland, you're crazy, man.
Turtle soup.
delicious.
Now, there was some sort of a nuisance
under a little walkway bridge,
so someone set up a trap.
Now, if you look at this rope,
it looks like it's a trap for the animal here.
Let's see what it is.
Good music.
It's going to be dramatic.
The anticipation is,
it looks dark in color.
I see some movement there,
but I don't know what exactly.
Now!
Oh, it's a huge, epic snake.
Oh, shit.
So now that you've got it,
what are you going to do?
Oh, that's a...
That's a thick boy, Dean.
I definitely would walk up to that.
Bare foot.
That's a move.
Yeah, good work, guys.
Got him.
Yep.
What a catch.
Deadliest catch, Dean.
Dean, have you ever seen two hippos fight?
He's moves.
How are you going to fight? What is this going to be?
Shoving match or something?
Hey, you're out of here.
Oh, look at that. You got to open your jaw nice and why, Pete.
I hear their teeth cracking.
Peace.
This is hot.
Oh, that's when they poop.
Yeah, it's taking a huge dump.
It's like, hey, this is my turf.
Get out of here.
punk.
Sounds like...
You couldn't even
pull the chair
and come up.
Oh, get them now.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, go get them.
Yeah.
Ooh.
Wow.
This is retting the
shoveler last night.
Still a big open-mouth
kissing into that.
When's the oiler game on?
I don't know.
Whap, whep,
whack,
fw,
whip, whupe, fw, whip, whi, fow, fow, fow, fow.
Now, we met the guy
that was trying to teach us
about alligators by basically going
in the water,
talking about what not to do
with the alligators.
I'm sure this is going to work out for him long term.
Short term, he's been very healthy.
Let's go to a video of him underwater.
Definitely surprising an alligator with bubbles.
So I was just playing around with him a little bit,
hanging out underwater, blowing some bubble rings up to see how he would react.
And so he just kind of sinks down to the bottom.
Isn't it so cool how they can just be floating totally fine and then decide to sink down?
But then he sinks down and tries to get a little bit nippy.
And that's just really him being more curious, just trying to investigate.
And as you can see I kind of touch him a little bit, but I'm also very careful. You seem kind of twitchy
I'm very very careful because these slow exploratory swings where he's just kind of feeling around can turn very quick very quickly
And so I do things like this all the time with him where I just kind of explore and experiment and see what he's gonna do and
Try blowing bubbles or move my hand around or moving the water around with my hand like that just to try to see how we reacts
And it allows me to learn more about his behavior but then also gets him a lot of
more used to interacting with me as well.
And as you can see, hearing, so hold him up, and he's totally fine and chill about it.
And so just always want to be careful, though.
I always want to watch out.
He's always still an alligator.
We saw the crocky back ride there the other day.
That looks like a gator back ride there.
Things are going to go well for that guy.
He keeps making a video every day.
I don't know.
I don't know what can go wrong.
That was a gator dean, not a crock.
So if you wanted a 17-foot crock from the northern territory, this is our boy Matt.
I'm not too worried about him being out. He knows where his pen is.
As long as we've got a bit of food, I can slowly chokes him back in there.
I'll give him another piece here now. Next year, here go.
Just a 17-footed here, that's a...
Can be gentle?
Gentle?
Gentle.
Your hands are at here.
Eat that.
Yeah, get more pet.
So I still got some more peg.
Gonna try and fill him up a little bit.
I'm going to slowly get him back into his pen.
Come on.
Oh, look at the size of him.
He's being stubborn.
Helled him up too much.
Yeah, he's good now.
Crodham and poke him, Dean.
Yeah, they don't like that.
Yeah, he doesn't want to go on.
What do you do?
Dog doesn't want to come back in, right, team?
Leave him out there.
Just leave him out there, yeah.
Throw some pig legs at him.
That's his, uh, crock camp.
the rescue camp up in the Northern Territory
where they're inviting all of us
to come see you in the Northern Territory
on the Pind Airport for Village Honda.
Huge selection of pre-owned vehicles
at Village Honda.
All makes all models, all budgets.
Over 90 units on site.
More than 500 more inside the dealership group
is why Village Honda is.
Your one-stop automotive destination in Calgary
worth the trip.
Your dealership for life.
Drive new, drive pre-owned.
service department is second to none.
They're your,
they're your friends.
You got a friend in the business
when you got Village Honda in your life,
Northwest Automol.
Even a better friend than that Gator was
to that guy in the wetsuit probably.
They look like good pals.
So how did,
so what's with the crocs,
crocodiles?
So what is it about?
I don't know.
I don't know.
Because like it's every,
like every day,
like is it a thing with like,
is it a joker?
with it. Yeah, I don't know what to tell you, man.
I knew you're hungry today, so I didn't have any eating in there. Well, I had one, but
decided not to. Are you guys Australian or is everything because it feels, because it was
kangaroos for a while. And then it was like all all all,
all all aviators and crocodiles. It's spiders and snakes. All outback stuff. No, not,
not, not, not, never been and not from there. Can you to go? Not, not sure really what.
to start the shows from there.
Yeah, that's right.
Yeah.
Whether you're an owner, operator, or just have a small fleet of trucks, listen up.
Cal Tire has brought out a new free program.
It's called Cal Pro Plus.
Dedicated Tire program just for you.
I mentioned free program.
Provides access to exclusive deals and savings.
A price match guarantee, flexible financing options,
prefer pricing on everything that you drive, including your own family's vehicle.
You'll get dedicated member support, answer questions, recommending and sourcing the best tires for your application and budget.
More than 260 Cal Tire stores are there to help.
Now, you sign up for free.
Here's the website, calproplus.com, CalProplus.com.
Exclusive deals on tires.
One free flat tire repair a year.
You get bringing your old tires, make money for the new ones, the casing credits, up to 50 per tire, financing options available.
the dedicated member support
they're going to recommend the best tread and compound
for you depending on the condition
and the terrain that you're on,
best pricing, monitoring inventory,
it's a free program.
So why wouldn't you?
Owner operator or a small fleet of trucks,
this is built for you.
CalProplus.com sign up today
because it's free.
Thank you, Cal Tire.
Is it time to switch Summers to winter, summer?
I never said, get her done.
Yep.
Get her done.
Let's do the, let's do our Betway's.
Let's do our Betway bets.
Some Betway bets.
There are four, banger, as mentioned in the National Hockey League tonight.
We got some dandies for you.
But let's tell you about Betway.
There are gaming partners.
You bet the responsible way with Betway.
Get it on your phone.
They got the app.
You get the app on wherever it is.
Or you can use the website as well.
find it's easiest on my handheld to just have,
have the app on there.
And, yeah, like Pindigant, home in Vancouver, I said,
with Betway, you can get a free bet up to $200 if your first bet loses,
create a new account, scan the QR code on the screen, redeem that bonus.
You place your bet.
If the bet loses, you'll get a refund of up to $200,
depending on what your initial bet was.
Then use that to bet on your favorite sports.
Offer only available outside of Ontario.
So let's get at it.
A couple here for myself.
lots of goals in game one.
I don't think there will be as many,
but looking forward to see what this game two has in store.
Gabe Valardi's been really good for Winnipeg,
so good around the net,
plus 200 for an anytime goal.
Give me some Gabe and a plus 200 in Winnipeg tonight.
And Mika Zabana Jad of the New York Rangers,
an anytime goal plus 175.
Zib.
I dig the Zib.
Give me some Zib tonight.
plus one, seven, five for the Rangers.
I feel like this has got, this is going to be a short series.
So get in on some Rangers while you can.
I agree.
I'm going to spend a lot of attention on the Colorado Winnipeg game.
I do like Colorado to continue to score.
I don't know that they're going to get saves,
but they made six look pretty easy.
And I don't even know if they were playing that well.
So I'll take plus 135 to hit four more goals against Telebuck.
And if they're going to be doing that,
I love Valenichie getting at plus 250 for a pair of.
points. It's been good.
Nichuskin.
Yeah, it's close.
H that, uh,
Hey, Jack.
Nichuskin.
Jack is there, right?
Is he?
Nchuskin.
Hey, Jack. Hey, Jack.
Yep.
Oh my God.
Those are your way bets. You can use ours. You can go out on your own.
But I would encourage you.
Create that new account, scan the QR code on the screen, redeem your bonus, a free bet.
of up to 200 if your first bet loses.
Offer only available outside of Ontario.
Betway, join the action.
The guy's so pumped.
It's a playoff.
He's ready.
So ready.
Bet the responsible way would betway.
They will be,
there will be a solid puckering going on to,
uh,
to our friends to the,
to the,
to the west and the left.
Oh yeah.
So what,
Casey to Smith.
Yep.
Or archers sea loaves.
The other two goalies in the Canucks camp.
DeSmith, to your point,
the Smith has been okay,
but we talked about their record with and without Demko this year.
Changes that series.
Two when you hear day to day or the series or.
Definitely a backup, not a starter in this league.
Maybe a good backup, but it might be a night you need
Elias Pedersen and J.C. Miller to do some things offensively.
Hmm.
What does that do to the,
I just wonder,
that's a,
that's a kick in the junk for,
like there's the,
there's the on ice.
And then there's the guys in the locker room.
Hey,
we're good.
Don't worry.
We're good.
We're good.
We're good boys.
Don't worry about it.
We got this.
I don't know.
Rollis and played game one in the semifinals of 99 when Hasch
happened to be hurt.
Now,
we didn't expect Haschick to be out for any extended period.
For the series, yeah.
But you were still confident.
But that was also the semifinals.
You kind of built up some bravado, I guess.
I'm not sure what Vancouver will be.
Might have been a blessing in disguise that Smith got all that worked down the stretch,
although it's probably related, I'd think, with Demko to come back from injury
less than two weeks ago, I want to say.
Groyal.
Could be.
We don't know.
And look, we've talked about the eight experience of,
Vancouver in the playoffs.
They had the one run in the bubble in Edmonton.
They had the last time they had a home game in Vancouver,
Michael Furland was playing against them.
This is where they're going to have to lean on Rick Talkett's experience.
This is not a group that's been through something like this, right?
Because Demko came back.
His first game was against the flames, right?
In that game last week.
I think that sounds about right.
So that's a week today.
That was last Tuesday for one Vancouver win.
So yeah.
They're used to playing without them.
And fairness.
He's been back for two games.
He's out already.
That line for Nationals moved a bunch since, you know.
There you go.
There you go.
Well, enjoy the playoff hockey.
Enjoy the four-banger.
Enjoy the rest of your day.
Big up the calves.
There you go.
Get your green on and go cheer for the calves.
Watch some hockey.
And I believe, no, it's maybe an off-air conversation.
But I think we're going to continue with the insiders into the place.
I'd like to have some.
I'd like to.
tomorrow.
Shit.
Yeah,
there's enough going on.
Yeah.
I hope so.
Oh,
like,
you know,
gosh,
I'd sure miss him
if he wasn't on.
So Jane McLeanan,
going to join us tomorrow.
Like,
you don't want to hear
for the insiders heading into June?
Absolutely,
I do.
Yeah.
Of course you do.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Absolutely.
I do.
I wonder what,
because TSNN not being a rights holder.
He's probably just doing studio work,
right?
His travel schedule,
I would guess,
is slow down.
For what studio?
Yes.
Yeah.
Like,
at home.
have the rights to anything.
Well,
but I,
but I'm on that hockey a bit probably.
That's about it.
So maybe.
Still doing his,
his big show every day, right?
Right.
He'll doing the big,
the big,
overdrive or whatever it's called.
But he can do that from home.
Yeah.
We'll see.
Hard to say.
Uh, just before we go.
Just some,
some stuff,
uh,
coming in here from K man.
Got my barn burner blonde today.
Can't wait to try them camping this weekend.
Uh, finger red number.
Either way.
I'm not sure what.
appreciate you for support
in the barn burner blonde,
origin brewing.
Boy, it was a hit on Friday.
Don't worry for camping.
Not sure.
It's always too early for camping.
Michael,
we were talking about peanut butter.
Glad I'm not the only one who shits his pants
when I can't get some damn PB
on my multi-grained bread.
That's right, Mitch.
Oh, Mitchie.
What are we doing?
We're hogging.
What are we hogging the friggin the friggin'
peanut butter for?
Gunford.
how come everyone so set on trading Markstrom?
I get he has high value, but he has value in the organization.
He's the number one, wants to play.
Why he'd be a great mentor for Wolf.
Now, all that would seem to be true.
He is the number one to his desire to play here.
Maybe that's changed a little bit.
We don't know.
And I think he would be a great mentor for Wolf.
Yeah, and you are weighing not Markstrom being valuable,
the organization against nothing.
You're weighing it against what a theoretical return in trade would be,
which would be young players that aren't in their mid-30s
and then gone in two years.
And you could also be, we're unsure,
and I don't know that it's happened,
but has he gone in and said to Conroy trade me
right friggin now?
Kind of doubted it.
I think everyone's probably on the same thing.
We just settle down.
Everyone just settled down.
Well, folks,
well,
that's our program for today.
Enjoy the rest of your,
whatever it is Tuesday.
That's it.
See you tomorrow, buddies.
