Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - The Calgary Flames are still Alive | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: March 29, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Warrener Wednesday March 29th, 2023 - Flames Kings Recap - The Pinder Report for Village Honda - Betway Bets ...of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
That's fun.
So, do we just kind of pick up because
Pretend none of that happened?
Pretend nothing happened.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Very interesting pre-show today to the Barnburner program.
And I'm with you, Rhett.
The discussion we were having,
Ryan, you think it would get us in trouble.
Well, I don't know if it gets trouble.
I just feel like it's a very slippery slope in which you could be
well down the path of things you shouldn't be talking about,
even on a podcast.
even on the YouTube's.
But therein lies the problem, isn't it?
That you're not allowed to talk about it.
So it's not allowed.
They just think, you know, like if someone's tuning in to say,
hey, oh, they beat the Kings.
I wonder what, oh, my God, what the fuck is happening?
Oh, this could be an all.
Yeah, maybe.
Maybe it's not a barn burner.
Yeah, no, it's another show.
The three of us or our group could have that discussion.
Just not on this where I think people are coming into here.
But hey, when's Coronado?
play. How about that Walker, dude.
Coronado ain't playing.
Carnado ain't playing because they're making the
flipping playoffs. Let's go.
Oh, Rett's back in.
Are you in?
Are you in?
Uh, uh, uh,
two points.
Hell yeah.
I'm telling you, these bastards are going to do it now because it's
easier to chase someone down than to keep the league.
We talked about this a while ago.
I don't know if it was you or if it was you,
it was you,
that mentioned it, but the posture of a team being chased versus the posture of a team that
people have already quit on and says it's us against the world, like, let's just go.
To watch the Jets post-game stuff last night, like, ooh, beaten animals.
The hunter versus the hunted.
Big time.
Big time.
And I heard you talking about it, but last night was a very good reminder of like, oh, yeah,
this has been five weeks of this slowly sliding out of their hands.
This was a team that was first in the Central Division for a significant.
amount of time this season.
Now,
I understand this,
and we talked about it on Afterburner last night.
It's all still contingent on the flames,
winning more hockey in the next three weeks
consecutively than they have all season.
That's right.
Yes, but you're making it sound like that's not the case for any,
you have to win hockey games to make the FF in playoffs.
So fine.
But not every team has,
seven games left.
We have to be all in on this.
They've played like,
are they seven, three, and two in their last 12 games or whatever?
I think last night we looked at it was five, two, and three.
But the two before that may have been wins.
It's been respectable.
What's been disappointing is in the overall record.
It's the losses that they have had.
Anaheim at home to Friday, losing an extra point to Arizona.
When they did get beat by L.A., it was a slobber knocking.
Hey, I'm already on.
the other side of the road here we're going we're into it let's go the loss is this that shit don't
matter now no no two points to make up you got seven games to do it and you play the shitty team
that's absolutely floundering look out national is not floundering and they've got a really tough
schedule but they just won in boston they'll be a part of the story as well be guns you play
nashville as well they don't too many injuries ah boston overlooked them just like winnipig overlooks
San Jose. I'm telling you.
Who is this? Who is this guy?
Is this Todd Warner or is this Rhett Warner?
What the fuck's going on?
Post game show with him the other day.
And he said if I was buying tick, I wouldn't be bought for this bullshit.
He was, if the whole thing was bullshit, he wasn't coming back next year.
Screw all these guys.
Shame on them.
Shame on the GM and the coach.
Players are atrocious.
Fire the coach.
Get rid of the GM.
And now?
I said, shame on them.
If that's true, then we were.
were speculating that there was a lot of things behind closed door. I think they probably are
true, but I can't confirm that.
All right.
Anyway, what do you want to do? You want to sit and play in the mud or do you want to get
dusted off?
I have a question.
Now,
now boom's a big pellet.
Boots,
boom's a big pelvis tongue guy.
Oh yeah.
Can you still burn as many calories backpedaling as you go forward?
Yeah.
Because rats are not a fucking clinic here.
Get them in a studio in fucking New York and you can sell tickets to this shit.
Look at you.
Games, let's go.
You know why?
You know why?
I wanted to charge.
He's coming back.
Because he's coming to town.
He's coming back.
Yeah.
If you rip them again and then you start blocking.
I was on the show Wednesday.
You guys said you guys were making it.
I'm all in now.
Or he's back.
It's like, well, you know, if these games meant something, if they're in, I'd love to go to one of these games.
If anybody's got a sweet, you know, I'm happy to come by.
I'm still alumni.
Dumped the salsa into the cheese dip.
And quickly this is based
We'll go ahead fine
You're going to say it.
No, you're good. You're good. Go ahead.
You said mostly this is based
This is
Mostly this is based on the horse shit going on in Manitoba.
Oh yes.
Yeah, that's fair.
The planes haven't done enough to make up the grid.
Winnipeg is absolutely floundered
And good.
Good.
What are we going to do, bitch about it?
No, hey, the thing is
Last night was sorry.
I was going to say the thing is
they have been for a while.
It hasn't,
it just didn't start the last two or three games.
No,
it's a month and a half.
Winnipeg hasn't.
So why are the flames
still the hunter?
Why have they not been able to pass these guys?
Because they've won three in a row.
They should have overcome them by it now.
But the point is,
there's no sense living in two weeks ago.
And I don't.
They are dysfunctional,
but you know,
the hell with it.
Be dysfunctional and make the playoffs.
It's better than being dysfunctional
and being out yesterday.
Yeah, that's true.
I agree.
For our perspective,
it's certainly more pleasant and uplifting to have some hope than to be the other way.
But what are you seeing right now that gives you reason to believe that this team,
whether they win three in a row twice, like that's the extent of their extended winning.
Why now with, what is it, eight games?
Seven is it.
Seven left.
Winnipeg can keep losing, but the-
Winnipeg continues to- They still have to pass them.
It continues to F it up.
And quick distinction.
So what?
You're two points out and you play.
them and they're playing as I'm sure I did not think the flames were and again I could be
wrong I thought I read this morning they're seven three and two in their last 12 that's pretty
effing good if that's true I don't know it seems odd to me that they went seven three and two and
we were calling them dysfunctional anyway the team that's the most dysfunctional yeah is winnipeg
and let's embrace it never liked winnipeg anyway so piss off winnipeg continue to
suck they sound like beating dogs and the flames pulled off a win against a team that it just
won 12 in a row and it's better to be excited about the last two weeks of the season and thinking we
got a effing chance here and the other thing is what have we said about the flames all year well if they
could get a safe marston's been great since awesome kid well your special teams be a little bit
They were never, what was it, two weeks ago when Lou or the pregame, they showed all the losing by one goal or one goal chances or not coming back at a third.
Like there was a long laundry list of shit that had gone wrong.
They've been this close.
Oh, here.
Yes, it's been frustrating and pissing us off.
But if Winnipeg is going to play this poorly, let's get down to the dome and make some noise.
We may as well enjoy it.
He's selling tickets.
There's no guarantees they make it.
We may as well enjoy a run.
Yes, everyone will agree.
Meaningful games, 75 through 82, way better than not meaningful.
This is a death march of Winnipeg's playing decent hockey the last two months.
You're not, yeah, you're talking about getting into draft.
Oh, God.
And it's who's staying who's going on.
Lose games, come on.
Like it becomes a chore to watch pro sports, which is it should never be.
Like this is so much better where you're looking.
forward to Friday's game in Vancouver.
Like that's a chance for three in a row.
That's a team they're playing twice.
That's a team that's out of the playoffs.
Like, can they be at their best against Vancouver?
It matters now.
It's way better.
It's night and day.
So two things.
You're right.
7.3, 7.2 and 3.
in their last 12.
That's dead on.
And secondly, they're not two out.
They're three.
They do not hold a tiebreaker against Winnipeg or Nashville.
So if they end up square,
but that doesn't really change how I feel about anything,
nor should it you, Rhett.
It's still winning.
Winnipeg sliding and it's still a Calgary team that does not,
if they're going to make it,
there will not be a single playoff team left on their schedule.
The two best teams they play, Winnipeg and Nashville,
and if you're in, they're not playoff teams.
You have the rest of your season against non-playoff teams
if you can get your work done.
And if these guys can just put the shit behind them and keep going,
they were a goal short or a save short all year.
All we need is seven games.
Give me seven.
Come on.
Come on.
Give me seven good ones.
Five one and one.
That gets you in probably.
Sure.
What's that total points?
11.
I was going to say, what if,
so Winnipeg has seven left.
Let's say they still struggle,
but win two or three games.
Let's say they go three and four,
they get six points.
So that's,
so you would need to get three more than that.
That's nine points.
So you'd have to go four,
two and one.
You got to win five games.
You got to win five.
Five makes it easier.
I don't,
I don't want it to be tight.
I think, well, ideally, ideally, you win the next couple,
and that game against Winnipeg, you jump them with,
and put yourself in the driver's seat where you're not worried about what they do the rest of the way.
It's all on you.
Same on the Nashville.
You got to get to the driver's seat.
Yeah, these are big games.
Like, it's what, April 5 and April 10, the Winnipeg and the Nashville game, I believe?
Like, that's, that's massive.
Nashville's, I just feel like Nashville's schedule is just so hard.
It is.
They're so beat up.
They don't have a full roster.
It's like, yes, they beat Boston.
100%.
Tip your cap.
That is a tough task.
But I just don't know that they've got the horses to get through this.
Here's their schedule.
They've got nine left, but they're all over and they got tough teams.
Pittsburgh, fighting for their playoff lives.
Did you grab that graphic?
I do have the graphic.
Yeah.
It's in the Pinda report and it's numbered six, Alex.
There's a graphic that came out this morning and it kind of illustrates it's got the remaining games.
It'll help for the YouTube purposes.
Yeah, and that's a good call.
But you can roll through.
Yeah.
So Nashville specifically, Pittsburgh, who's a good team in a playoff spot fighting for their lives,
that's coming up tomorrow night on the road.
They come home for one against St. Louis, who suddenly looked like a much better team.
Jacob Vranas scoring a ton for them.
I get a pair last night.
So that's it there, right?
So Nashville will be fourth from the bottom there.
St. Louis, after them, it's Dallas.
There's a team fighting for first place in the division.
Vegas, there's a team fighting for first in the division.
Carolina, there's a team fighting for first in the division.
Winnipeg, just don't go to overtime.
You cock suckers, like you did a month ago.
And then it's Calgary, Minnesota, Colorado.
Like, is there a bad team in there?
Yeah, they have two games in hand, but that's not an...
But what would we have said going into Boston?
That wasn't an easy one.
No.
I guess the point is that, you know, if Saros wants to go 35 on 36, nine times, they're going to get in.
But those are a list of very good teams.
And the worst team they play is a St. Louis club that I think is better than the record and, you know, actually feeling pretty good right.
And then there's the Jets that sit at the bottom.
Winnipeg has got Detroit, New Jersey, Calgary, Nashville, San Jose in the last two games,
and who the hell knows what these teams are playing for if they're resting or fighting for their lives.
the wild and the avalanche.
So same as Nashville, just kind of...
Yes, they just play them a week, a couple days later.
So, Rhett, is this you honestly feeling
like they can, that they will do this?
We know they can do it.
But every time, we have done this,
I said it's Lucy with the football.
Every time Charlie Brown thinks she's going to hold that fucking football,
she pulls it away.
They go and they beat.
Dallas, they beat Minnesota, they come home, they lose to Anaheim. They win against the good
opponent, then they lose to friggin, lose a point to Arizona, they lose to Chicago. They have
done this all season, and I get it. There's no reason why at the 70, 75 game mark, you can't
suddenly just not do it anymore. But is there not part of you that thinks, fool me once,
twice, three times.
They beat the LA Kings, good team,
and pretty much it feels like every time this season,
they have followed it up with a dog against the team
that you feel they should beat.
Well, first of all, I mean,
I'm pumped at the two games out.
We asked for it.
I'm shocked that they're seven, three, and two in their last.
If they go 12 and 5 to,
even better to finish the season that's the kind of games that's the kind of numbers that we talked
about they have to do to put on a charge does it guarantee them anything absolutely not we know that
they're not in the driver's seat at this point but what the what are we going to do be pissed off that
that they've lost a freaking win it so what about winnipeg so should they just hand it in now
because they lost to san Jose but chicago is one left
Lately, teams do win.
The flames have shit the bed for the most part of the year.
But if you have seven games and have to make up three points and you play that team,
yeah,
in Nashville has something to say about it, but you also play Nashville.
So I'm just saying that watching those other teams, it's,
it's right there for you.
And you only have to play seven good games.
And you have the schedule makers have given you a favor.
Vancouver's played well
but surely the Christ you can rise up
and elevate your game
what I'm looking for
is guys like cadre
you know what I'm looking for
Markstrom's done it since having a kid
he's elevated his game
what needs to happen now
is that the big dogs
who got the fat contracts
and that are supposed to be the focal points
and the key to this team
I want to see Huberdo go holy shit
we're there I'm elevating
I got to get past my dislike if that's what it is for the coach and I'm just going to go play for this team because playoffs are there and if we get a playoffs, anything can happen.
Cadry, get over yourself and go play like you did last year in the playoffs.
They're right there for you.
Lindholm, elevate some more.
Play even more.
Backland.
You've been on the cusp being a great player and a great leader, you know, the last eight years of your career.
seize the moment and solidify yourself as one of those guys
that's been a great flame for life, right?
Like the opportunity for all those guys to erase any bullshit
that's happened up to this point is it's right there.
And all they've got to do is play seven games.
Yep.
Seven games.
They all for Christ's sakes.
And you said they're not in control their own destiny.
As early as Friday at midnight, they could be.
If you get a Nashville loss and a Winnipeg loss,
on Thursday and Friday, and you beat Vancouver,
you then will play each of them one more time,
you're in control.
As soon as that.
Now, the flip side is also true.
A loss on Friday against the Vancouver Club
that's played at a very brisk pace under Rick Tockeet
and has scored goals all year,
even though they've lost a lot,
that would be a devastating blow.
I mean, it's great.
We have a meaningful game on Friday, fellas.
We thought this would be a death march.
You know, if you look at it, though,
it's still, it's like the whole thing has been,
can the flames play the way they've been playing?
The way they played last night,
they snugged things right up on the LA Kings.
So that third period,
the special teams was strong.
They score a power play goal.
They killed off all the power plays.
Two one, we heard Daryl after the game.
He's like, no, I don't, this is your kind of game.
Hey, no, I don't, maybe I used to.
10 years ago.
I used to preach that.
Now it's, if you got a one goal lead,
go get the next one.
Keep pushing.
It's less about what Vancouver's done.
it's, I'm just, it's not PTSD.
It's just that's what the flames have done all season.
We've seen them lose to every team, it feels like.
Yeah, of course Vancouver can beat them.
There's a lot of teams that are below Vancouver that have beaten them.
Vancouver's got more victories or whatever it is.
They're tied for wins now.
But if the flames can avoid this friggin banana peel, repetitive thing that they've been doing
where they are, you feel like they've finally figured it out.
To your point, Redd, all those things have finally dropped into place,
and then they come out and play a game that makes you just put your hands up
and be like, why did I think that it was different?
Why did, how did I get sucked in?
Because it's sports, that's what you're supposed to do.
That's the whole, right?
Like, it would be wonderful to say that we're the Boston Bruins
and we're breaking records,
set in records that have never been set,
and we're going to clinch for 10 games.
most teams aren't that way right like most teams aren't that way and i don't think that the flames
were designed to be in this position i don't think that was most people's expectations at the
start of the year me maybe being one on but if you can't embrace the excitement of it and go holy
even with all the shit that's happened it's right there again let's not be naive they've i i can't say to
I'm shocked to see it's 7, 3, and 2 in the last 12 games.
I didn't realize that.
I was like, whoa, okay.
That is a very tidy number.
It's Winnipeg that's giving you the opportunity.
I'm not talking about Nashville,
and I might be an idiot for it,
and I can be proven wrong on numerous occasions.
I just think Nashville is too injured, two beat up,
and they got too tough the schedule to make it happen.
Could be wrong.
Winnipeg to me is a sitting duck.
They're wounded and they don't even know which way to turn.
They look beat.
They're reeling.
Three nothing to Santa's thing.
But it's been a death spiral for two months.
Like what would, okay, here's a question.
What would you rather have?
Which team would you rather be cheering for?
Winnipeg or Calgary?
You'd rather be where Winnipeg is in the standings,
but you'd rather be playing like Calgary right now.
And you'd absolutely have.
frustrated because Winnipeg was fighting for home ice freaking playoff in the west spot and
seating yeah right in the wet they were they were fighting for home ice in January they might not
make the playoffs it'll be a disaster there if they miss right like you we you got to get excited
for it and and if they lose Anaheim or Vancouver well then it's the death march again well and but
you might as well enjoy the roller coaster ride while you can.
And you know what else they've got?
And I grabbed a clip from Afterburner last night.
They've got marks from playing well and they've got a lot of things going on.
But as we're about to show you with this clip from last night,
there's one other thing that the flames have right now,
that Nashville doesn't Winnipeg.
Nobody else does.
The Flames have something special.
What it could be.
You were there.
A little Afterburner last night.
A little secret weapon.
My toast of the game, broken record.
This prick's going to get it that he stops scoring or playing like a stud.
Five shots, one goal, 10 minutes, 40 seconds of ice,
six points in his last six games on the fourth line.
Walker fucking doer.
There you go.
Love this guy.
Walker Buccane doer.
Apologies for the language.
Again last night, Redro.
You want to keep scoring, kid?
Wait till you get into the playoffs.
You want to score there?
Ooh, that's going to buy that jersey.
You're back in a couple days.
You're getting a Doer jersey.
Let's go.
Doer is great.
And I don't think you can underestimate how important he is to that team.
He's been great.
He is a heartbeat for them.
And don't kid yourself.
The rest of the team's watching them,
they can see how flippant excited he is for everything.
And they're feeding off it a little bit.
Does he remind you?
He's a leader right now.
In your playing career, do you remember a guy coming in like that,
like shot out of a cannon?
and maybe it doesn't last forever,
but God, that guy lit up the room.
Yeah, you're thinking of guys that you're cheered for,
and you're just good people that you could get behind.
I know there's examples of guys,
my brain doesn't work good enough.
I can't come up with names,
but yes, it's a kid.
He comes in, he works, goes about it honestly,
and gives her a result,
and you're absolutely pumped to see him have success.
Like, he's doing everything,
and anything and everything you could have.
ask of them. And there's rest of the guys
they have to be
happy for them. And it's
setting an example. Listen,
Luchich to me looks better.
He's crushing guys last night.
Running into guys, banging the piss out of them.
You think that's, you think that's an accident?
I think it's a big part of it.
Walker Doers drag them back into the excitement.
They need pace on that line. It's a huge
difference when you have a third plotting member
of that line, like when it, or
someone that's blazing and making some
plays to get the puck to the net. I mean, that
line threatened. They got the game winner. I can only imagine that when you're an older guy and
you're on the fourth line, you have to feel like at sometimes you don't matter. Any ice time you're
getting, why are they out there? Why are they playing so much? You know they're not going to do it.
They're a threat to get scored against. But all of a sudden, if you can start to contribute,
I just have to think that you pop up your chest and you feel so much better about yourself and life and
everything and I'm with you.
I think that it does look like there's some youth injected into
luch here the last little bit.
Maybe it's the run and all of that.
But I'm with you.
There's something, not to get carried away.
There'll be people, other markets,
all those guys out of South Dakota calm down.
But you know what, though?
These are the little things that do matter.
And we said it last night.
It's why I'd like to see Pell Che get back in.
Youth.
Youth and vigor.
It's infectious.
and it can change things.
And who would have picked Walker Doer to be a guy
that would be contributing regularly here in the last couple weeks?
Nobody, but he has been.
It's intangibles a little bit.
But he's also the way he plays.
You can see there's a spark there.
Here's how I know I'm excited about it.
Because last night watching the game,
I'm half-ass disinterested.
Because I'm like, well, this is, you know,
it's death march, right?
You're like, oh, this isn't going to go well.
I mean, you might get help from Boston.
They'll probably beat Nashville,
but Winnipeg's going to clean up on San Jose.
So even if you do win,
you're still one less game to make up ground.
They win.
Wake up this morning.
Check the box scores.
Holy F.
They're two points out.
San Jose beat the Jets.
The Jets reading the quotes.
They don't know which way is up.
and now I'm actually the Vancouver game on Friday night
did I have any interest in that
it's must watch no it's absolutely must watch now
so important question for Red
he's coming into town he's got to get his doer jersey
can we get a customized doer jersey with like 12 or 13
use and ease in the middle of like do
like can we make the name bar this big like all the way
the big rainbow to get
Deh!
We need it.
I got videos people sending in on social or doing the doer at the game.
It's fantastic stuff.
And you know, one of the other things, too, that hasn't happened all year,
that is slowly it feels like it started having.
It happened last night.
It was the Anaheim game, I think it was,
Andrew Mangrapani is now scoring some goals here and there.
It was long, double-digit game droughts.
He's got two goals in his last four.
It feels like he's feeling it a little bit more.
I like him on that line.
Manjipani, Lindholm and Tofoli have been
Just fine.
I've liked Blake Coleman,
even when he's not scoring.
He drew a penalty last night.
He's been engaged.
Backland is back in chance.
And, you know,
Hubertoe with Backland can't be a bad thing.
Yeah.
He can get some guys playing better.
Then that fourth line, Lewis,
Lu Cheech and Walker Dewar,
and you might think it'll move Doer up.
Get Nick Ritchie off the third line.
Put Belche back in with Cadry and Dube.
Lots of speed and stink between the three.
Get Pellier back in.
It's not a hate against Nick Ritchie.
It's just, it's more youth.
It's more speed.
It's more, well, Richie has scored.
But I just feel like there's more offensive potential than with Peltzsche.
And I like the pace that he brings.
If you got Dubey on one side and Peltier on the other,
that's a lot of weaponry for cadre to use.
And, you know, Nick Ritchie teases you because he's got all the skills,
but it's just you want to see them more than a flash here.
He's very much.
He's still Nick Ritchie.
What did we look last night?
Pellchae's played two of the last seven.
It's time.
Come on, get them back.
Get them back in there.
Yeah, and the benching from the last one is he made a big error when they lost eight, two,
like late in the game.
Anyway.
He's been good.
I'm not going to be negative.
I'm not negative.
I'm with you.
Bring them in.
Well, and you know what?
We're in the Tower Chrysler Studios, of course.
Tower Chrysler.
I checked in with Serge.
Good.
How's he doing?
He's good.
Because, you know, I just, Serge, everybody's talking to me.
Are they in or they on?
Is that going to make it?
They're going to make it happen.
They're going to make it happen. Jets game, Preds game, win those two, you're in.
Let's go.
Those are huge games.
Winnipeg's in Winnipeg, Nashville is here in Calgary.
I wonder, I was thinking about going out to Ken Weeb or talking to somebody about what's happening in Winnipeg, but it's been, it's nothing new, right?
And I know I think you've got the clip, but Rick Bonas after the game.
We've talked about the other part of it too is when's, when's, when's, you know,
it fun to go to the rink and wins it not fun to go to the rink. The Jets want to be away from
the rink big time right now. They don't want to practice. They can't believe what's happened.
For the flames, for the first time, they get a day off today after some travel.
Let's go. When do we practice on Thursday? And when do we leave for Vancouver? It's the first time
in a while, Rhett, that they've probably looked forward to get into the rink and being around each other
and getting ready for a game. Okay, so here are the numbers on the Jets. Their last 21 games
seven, 12, and two.
Like that's a ways off 500.
So you're talking 16 of a possible 42 points.
Ouch.
Yeah, if they 500, you're dead with the flames are doing.
Oh, yeah, you're cooked.
Like just 500, just.
And look, it's, you make a good point.
It's not like the flames have played well for two months to get in this spot.
They've kind of hung around, but it's been Winnipeg and how fragile that group has to be with the last two months they've had.
And it's been a spot where they haven't been able to go to their backup, David Riddick, A, because he hasn't been great,
but B, because all these games are must win.
And they're already saying, like, jeez, like, Hala Bucks are already playing too much.
It's a tough spot.
And the psychology of being chased every night, one of Nashville or Calgary's playing.
That's, ooh, no fun there.
I'll say this. Every flame's loss is going to feel like a absolute kick.
It can only probably have one or two.
Right in the old...
If you think about it.
The old dick.
The pebbles.
Yeah.
Well, I didn't expect that today to start the show.
We've always been an unblinding source of positivity.
I don't know what you're talking about.
When you want to feel good, you need that little pick-me-up.
Turn on Barnburner.
It's the Barnburner boys for you.
Barnburn and in Lanny McDonald's, one in the same.
Yeah, that's true.
The Hearing Loss Clinic.
Remember, we gave one lucky viewer slash listener, a Lindholm jersey.
Jersey.
Yeah.
We've got a Hubey jersey.
Oh, do we?
Yeah.
We got a Huberdow jersey.
Wow.
We sure do.
And it's not like this is a real.
Yeah, it's real.
I think someone said it was signed.
Is that right?
It's autographed, yeah.
It's a signed, huby jersey, blasty on the front.
It's a beauty.
We're not going to keep that?
Because we could keep that.
No, we, I think.
Rhodesy would want us to give that away.
Rodsey.
Although we could probably tell him he didn't.
He's going to come in here and start sniffing around.
Don't worry about it.
Hearingloss.ca is their website.
Watch our social media is here between now and the end of the season.
Probably the next week and change.
We'll give that bad boy away.
Beautiful number 10 autographed the Blasty,
which do, they still look great.
And I said it before.
They look better in person than they do when you're watching them on TV.
So watch our social media.
Watch the hearing loss as well.
Their social media.
They'll be putting it out there as well.
Well, they're just want to get it right.
They're hearing loss at the hearing loss on Twitter,
on Instagram at the hearing loss clinic.
And we will have a beauty,
beauty little jersey for you to give away here in the next little bit.
I mean, you're going to need a nice fresh jersey for the playoffs, right?
And we'll get to it in the Pinda report.
They're not by the numbers, they're not coin toss,
but you got to like the vibes when you consider how Win a Pina.
Big's got to be feeling.
If I buy this bullshit,
Brett's car with this bullshit back next to you.
I'm not buying tickets.
I was like 80 hours ago.
It was a...
Not many.
It was a safe statement, though, boom,
because if they missed the playoffs
and continued to play and be dysfunctional,
you knew changes were coming.
So I had an out.
Like, I could buy tickets.
Like, they were...
Yeah.
There's going to be changes.
Well, they heard Rett's thing.
Right?
So it spurred them into action.
I mean, clearly,
Rett's the catalyst here.
If he hadn't made those comments,
what are the odds we see that type of performance last night?
They should have been listened to me,
and they wouldn't find themselves in such shitty spots.
They would still have Yuselamaki.
That's right.
They would.
Rosie'd be a star.
Yeah.
Think of all the guys they would have traded over the years.
Yeah.
All those chicks.
Yeah, they've been just flush with picks.
Let's do the, you know,
we're going to do some ask Rett,
because we believe you're traveling tomorrow.
Tomorrow's a bit of a travel day.
I don't want to risk it.
And then if you're here on Friday,
we're probably going to be, you know.
Don't mail it in tomorrow.
Do try to get on the show,
but we'll do the heavy lifting of the Ascrette today.
Are we drinking on Friday?
Well, you know me, Ryan.
Are we doing a spirits?
Are we having a spirits show?
I know I said that only at Christmas we should do the spirit show,
but I wonder.
First day he's back here for like a couple weeks, isn't he?
I do think we might want to go see a client or two.
Oh, how you doing?
One of them has a pub.
So great to see it.
Friday. It's my first day back.
I might need a couple days to settle in.
I'm back for a while, fellas. It's not a
two-day weekend. So,
Madros, how's your pootene?
I'll have another place.
Let's do the Pinder report its
presentation of Village Honda. They can't
wait to see it Village Honda, Red. They're pumped
that you're back in town.
Mr. Fowler. See you next week.
That's right.
Village Honda.
Can we wash our vehicles now?
I did. I was treated.
I came back from the vacation and Mama Bear had washed the truck, first time ever.
Village Honda has detailing packages starting at just $79.95.
Clean that winter salt, the grime, the skunk off the inside and the outside of your vehicle.
Book your detailing package today.
VillageHonda.com in the Northwest Auto Mall.
It is the Pinder Report.
All right, fellas, we start last night at the Scotia Bank Saddle on where the L.A. Kings, you ate to see it.
They got thumped
The Flames by the Kings last week,
a chance for revenge.
And, well, Jacob Markstrom
wanted to pick a night
to be at his best.
Last night was a very good night to pick.
Here's just a small sampling
of some of the monster saves
he made in a one goal victory
for the flames.
This is chronological order, I believe.
This is right after the Flames,
2-0 goal was disallowed.
Cubertoe didn't play that one.
Sick.
So there's a big glove save
on a two-on-one.
But he just looks like a different human red, doesn't he?
Like the confidences, the poise.
This is a goal in February.
Hoo!
Kick-save and a beauty.
That was a bit of a shit show.
Don't dive there, by the way, Zedoreov.
That's not helping anyone.
Such a pass.
Another one, another glove.
And then the last one is we get the reverse angle here.
This is late in the game, still 2-1.
And that's the leading goal score for the L.A. Kings.
I don't know if he misses it a bit, but Markstrom gets that left arm on it.
I had six saves start in the old game notes last night.
He was great.
And boy, it seems like a long time ago.
We talked about this guy being lost,
not knowing if he'd ever be an elite goalie in the league again.
And goal tenures remain.
Just keep doing what you're doing for seven more games.
But it does seem, right, and I said it to Ryan last night,
since he's had the kid.
it's that feels like we were waiting for that moment in the season where things turned
it's it feels like a very clear and definitive or defining moment on when he decided to start
playing yeah or whenever he was just feeling good again yeah yeah anyway weird how
personal life might F up your professional life never heard of that how's Buffalo by the way
Oh, sorry.
So we will get to Afterburner from last night.
We were live at the Grey Eagle Resort and Casino Rett for the postgame show.
We talked about Marksson.
We talked about walk and doer.
But most importantly, we hit some of the hard-hitting topics that other places in the media aren't comfortable talking about.
Am I led to believe that there were some people at the dome tonight who are in the part of the Pinder Army who had to shut down the wave in the third?
period. The wave got neutered tonight at the dome.
And look, I'm not anti-wave. There's a time and a place.
When you're in L.A. and your team's up eight and two on the flames, you do the fucking
wave the whole way home. I don't give a shit if you do that in your sedan and the fucking
car ride back to the coast. Whatever. When it's out of hand, do the wave, have some fun.
It's, you know, wop it up a little. But when it's a one-goal game and it's like, well,
if they lose, their season's probably over and it's misery. And if they win, you know,
we can still hang on to these,
these slim hopes of potentially a postseason.
That's not the place to do the goddamn wave.
And so here it is.
Kelly Pollock on Twitter,
Section 213 successfully shut down the wave.
Sit down section 212.
It's a one goal game.
Look at that.
People doing the Lord's work.
Shut down the shitty wave
with a third period of a one goal game
in the last three weeks of a season
where you're trying to chase down a playoff spot.
Thank you.
to everyone booing the wave.
Got shut down on multiple spots
and the don't happen.
Big win.
Sit down section 212.
That's right,
2212.
You watch your ass.
Don't do it.
Don't do it.
There's hunger.
Okay, so let's look at the probabilities
from the game last night,
obviously a Nashville win in Boston,
a Winnipeg loss in San Jose,
a Calgary victory at home over L.A.
First we'll start with Money Puck.
These are their playoff probability.
Updated this morning.
Oh, I had some graphics written on.
They didn't go on.
My apologies, I uploaded the one without the notes.
Flames up to 31.5%.
They've got Winnipeg 59 and Nashville at a lowly 10%.
Dom was gestician of the athletic and his model.
Also saw a big bump for the flames.
I've got underlined these ones.
I think these ones do have the notes.
He's got the Calgary Flames up to 28%.
Winnipeg at 53.
and Nashville at 20.
So either way, they take big jumps,
whichever model you're looking at.
And the one thing the model does not account for is vibes.
And the vibes are shitty as shit in Winnipeg right now.
If you're watching the post game,
it's a hard no-buelno.
We'll get to that in a moment.
Here's your look at the standings as of this morning for the first time.
It was seven points not long ago.
It is now two points.
And your points percentage, if you zoom in there,
it's still Winnipeg 8, Nashville, 9, Calgary 10.
but the gap is very tight to the point, as we noted,
you could be in control of your own destiny by as soon as Saturday of this weekend.
We showed you the schedule coming up already,
so we'll skip that.
Walker Dewar scored again, boys.
And this is a great piece of investigative journalism.
And I don't know if these are put beside each other.
They're in the same room at the same time.
But nice when you get two of the greatest of all time in the same place,
or at least to be able to compare,
whether that's Tom Brady and Joe Montana,
maybe it's Pele and Messi.
Let's have a look at this tweet.
Are you going with this?
Yeah.
But it's...
Walker Doer we have a walkerdure?
That's all right.
Because you've kind of skipped one and then...
It's all right, though.
It's all right.
This is a tweet.
You're on Twitter.
It's on Twitter.
You're in the Twitterverse.
We'll move along.
We can save this...
Oh, hey!
Let did the end!
This is from James Johnson.
Wayne Gretzky and the greatest player of all time.
How do you like that, Red?
Hey.
That's David Moss.
That's cute.
That's walking there, baby.
We may be getting ahead of ourselves.
David Moss might not be far off.
But as Rhett said, why be anything but excited?
Have some positivity, positive vibes.
Yeah, positive vibes only.
Positive vibes.
Positive vibes.
Sad day today is Brad McCrow.
and would have turned 60 ret.
He, of course, passed in that horrific airplane accident in Russia and the KHL.
Just saw that on sort of a note for what happened this day in history.
Was beloved by his teammates, Flames alumni, tweeting out some love for Brad McCrimand
on what would be his 60th birthday.
Sad stuff.
Beloved guy.
Yeah.
The hockey world.
Loved.
64th birthday.
Love it.
This from the Flames alumni.
He was tough as nails.
Beast was his nickname and one of the kindest souls you'd ever meet off the ice.
A leader, he inspired all of those around him as a player and as a coach.
Okay, we talked about Winnipeg.
We'll move to some other stories in the NHL.
This is Rick Bonas, the head coach of the Jets, his club with a sensational first half of the season.
And, ooh, not good since.
Let's see if you can pick up some of the whibes from the Winnipeg hallway.
after their loss in San Jose last night,
Rhett.
Not good vibes.
Some quotes.
It's not.
No good.
Don't have it?
No.
Don't have it.
All right.
Essentially,
the quote that's going to make some waves is the,
if these guys,
some of these guys think that that's giving their all,
they're dreaming.
I.e.,
I need more.
And he's been critical of veterans and kind of reminds me of Paul Maurice the last
couple years being critical of veterans.
But how about your veterans totally?
How long has it been since Shifley and Wheeler scored?
That would be a good question for a Jets podcast.
It's like 20 games I think for Wheeler.
21, I think, and 12 for Shifley?
It's a sick feeling.
Right?
No, I'm just by your fingernails hanging on.
And San Jose.
You had to think.
Like us, you know all fans, media, the team would have been looking at those games coming up over the next two weeks.
You had to have San Jose.
Had to.
And then you get shut out.
That's, you know.
You got to score against those teams first.
The longer you go and if they're, the pressure on those teams is zero.
And when you're the jets or the flames and you get down to a team that you're supposed to be beating.
The pressure, it just is going to grow and grow and grow
the longer that game goes.
So Winnipeg's next action, Detroit, New Jersey, then Calgary.
I just think of these teams playing the Jets,
knowing what they're going through.
Like Detroit's season, they're not going to make playoffs.
But like, how fun is it to be like, boys,
we get up early, we can shatter these guys' hopes and dreams.
And like San Jose last night, like, how loose are they?
How good are they feeling?
If you don't do it, you're okay with it.
But it would be, there would be that.
Let's ruin their lives.
Or that's the prick in all of us.
Yeah.
Let's go out there and watch them get uncomfortable if we get up one nothing.
Totally.
Let's make these guys squirm.
Yeah.
To some non-hockey and Canadian sporting news,
huge shout out to 16-year-old Summer Macintosh,
who I believe competed as a 14-year-old in the Summer Olympics for Canada in the pool.
She set a 400-meter freestyle world record.
It's 16 Red.
World record.
Holy shit.
Aren't you a swimmer at?
Can you swim?
Long and lean.
Huge arms.
I never lost.
Yeah.
Never lost.
Never lost.
16.
World record.
Very nice.
It's great.
And also tip of the cap to our Canadian men that beat Honduras 4-1 as well last night.
Cuddy Hardos.
Cuddy Hardos.
To our men's soccer team.
Macatosh, isn't that the toffee?
Don't they make the toffee?
Yes, delicious.
And good apples.
Computer?
Oh, wow.
What a successful family.
No wonder.
We shouldn't be surprised at all.
Finally,
Rhett, this from the Shoveler.
It appears there's been an event in Buffalo that may...
Shuffler sending you friggin' notes?
Again.
I'm sick of the shovelers sending you pictures.
Well, I haven't asked her to stop
because it's really helping the show
and I get a big kick out of it.
This apparently travel day tomorrow
and look at Rhett's passport.
I don't know who you had over
or if one of your kids wasn't fed.
This is horrible.
Just shredded the passport.
Page is missing.
Good luck at border control there.
You're getting turned around at Y, Y, Y, Y, C, buddy.
I'm out.
I went to France once with a passport
that had gone through the wash.
They were not happy with the rest of it.
That's the most rare thing ever.
He also told us a story a month ago
about playing for the Detroit Vipers
when he never played for the Detroit Vipers.
going up to Windsor for the night, but didn't bring his passport and tried to get back in the States,
or didn't bring his papers.
Yeah.
I'm working papers.
They keep an eye on that stuff, yeah.
I'm working.
I'm working over here.
So I don't know if you've got a new dog or what the story is, Rhett, but I hope they can expedite that new passport for you.
I got the 24 hour.
I got to pay the extra Hondo to get her in 24 hours.
Come on.
Let's go.
All right.
There's a Pender report for us.
There you go.
Pender reported presentation of Village Honda.
get your piece, just a sliver of the million dollar buy an event that is on the go at Village Honda.
Get cash for your vehicle.
Village is paying top dollar.
They'll throw in a tropical cruise to boot.
Seymour at VillageHonda.com.
They are committed, dedicated to getting that lot filled with quality used cars and trucks and SUVs and vans and all of it.
So get up there, check them out.
Maybe they're going to buy your car.
Maybe they'll put you in a shuttle.
they're good at that.
They'll put you in the courtesy shot.
It'll take you home.
Northwest Automall online,
village honda.com,
your dealership for life.
What's going on
with you,
Red, just curious,
and this dog talk.
My passport's not going to help.
Dog talk.
Yeah, well, you asked me yesterday
about, you know, the dog.
Is he kind of,
is he calm?
Is he kind of?
Then about a week ago,
you were asking something else
about the dog.
And it's like,
and you say,
you're thinking,
are you thinking
about getting another dog?
Well,
when I got that dog,
I'd put my name down
for a different breed of dog.
Yeah.
And so the lady,
actually,
the reason it came up
was because the lady
contacted me.
And she's like,
are you still interested
in a puppy?
I don't think I am.
Really?
Who is?
going to give this dog too if you get a new dog that's going to be
that's the question right like how do you hand it off after three months
i know where it could go boom would take the dog what loves the dog what kind of dog are you
talking about.
The Leavondog.
Huh?
It's like a Leavit, L-E-A-V-I-T-T.
Leav-I-T.
It's not an old English, one of those little porker ones.
Yeah, yeah.
Huh.
Love it, Bulldog.
So it's not totally dissimilar to the one that you pawned off for Trick Boomer into keeping.
That nice color scheme there?
Yeah, not totally.
Got the white shirt under the
Nice jacket there
Yeah, yeah, yeah
I'm not sure if I'm gonna
Why, you want to give me my dog back?
No, no, I'm putting a
I'm trying to say
I want to
This file probably isn't going to work
But I had something yesterday
I should have put this in
I haven't
It's not an MP4
So I don't know if Alex is going to be able to
I'm going to be able to do it
But I was going to
I was going to show you a little something yesterday
Because it was your
your old dog
that is now my dog
it was his birthday yesterday.
Ah!
And? Was it really?
It was.
My daughter,
because it was a year ago,
the shoveler
after everything,
you know, so we got the dog. For people that don't know,
I have Rhett's dog.
Ret bought a dog, left the country for months,
left the dog with me,
it never came back to pick up the dog.
He tricked you. Yeah.
But we got some of the
info about the breeder and, you know, the, the litter that the dog was born into and that,
well, that's what we need to know what his birthday is. So last year we missed it. My daughter was
very upset. So yesterday was his birthday. So we had to celebrate the boy's birthday yesterday.
Thought you'd want to know. Louis. My next dog, Louis. Yeah, you know. Was Louis? Buster.
Buster. It's all right.
We took them out yesterday for car rides and treats and stuff.
It was great.
If I could do a dog, Walker.
Yeah.
Yeah, that would work.
Yeah, that would work.
All right.
One of the, I was going to do something here.
I don't know if you guys knew this about me.
I am a, I'm an accomplished lip reader.
Is that right?
Yeah.
It's one of the things over the, uh, COVID.
The pandemic, yeah.
Trying to do something.
What can you do?
Go to school, do some online learning or whatever,
but I took a lip reading course.
I've actually gotten to be very good at it.
I was going to show you.
It's the first time I feel like I kind of want to strut my stuff and show you again.
Yeah, it must be feeling confident about it.
Yeah, because something happened last night.
Boy, I wish I could read lips.
A lot of people won't know.
If only I knew people that could read lips,
but I'd know what there was going on here.
Yeah, there's a lot of people aren't going to know what the heck that guy was saying,
but I can clearly see it.
So let's take a look here.
is in the Detroit
Pittsburgh game last night.
Tough loss of the Penguinos.
Derek Lalonde
is the Detroit head coach.
So there's Zucker.
Now this goal is, they're challenging
for, you know, goalie interference.
The puck goes in. It's called a goal.
Detroit says, uh, he pushed his puck.
So here's the thing.
So watch Lalonde here.
You have to be fucking kidding me.
What the fuck is goalie interference?
What the fuck?
There was no goaltender interference to call in the ice.
Stan's good goal.
Really?
Yeah.
What the fuck is going on here?
What the fuck is going on?
So you may not have known otherwise.
Oh, I mean.
You always want the microphones on the earful to the goalie.
Like you got to stop that, but he was talking to the rest.
I mean, that's, wow.
They want microphones on the bench and all that sort of thing.
After coaches challenge video review.
Yeah.
But call the ice.
That was helpful.
Yeah.
You have to be fucking kidding me.
What the fuck is goalie interference?
What the fuck?
Boom, I'm proud of you.
That's a lovely skill set.
What the fuck is going on here?
What the fuck is going on?
Oddly, he got the toss.
Oh, he inspired his troops.
The official had enough of that.
Big win.
Yeah.
They're gripping.
They're kind of doing Winnipeg.
have you noticed.
A penguina?
Are they?
Oh, yeah.
I hope they miss out too.
You're not,
is you still upset about Mario
breaking her ankles in the playoffs or what?
Well, who do you want in, though?
Because we've talked about this before.
I mean,
the sabres or the Panthers to make it.
So they have dropped
six of their last eight,
excuse me, seven of their last nine.
The penguins?
Yeah.
And that's lost to Montreal, a pair to the Rangers, one to Ottawa, at Dallas, the Red Wings.
It's like, oh, boy, poor Alex is hearing that about Ottawa.
I know, yeah, yeah, I know.
Two wins in their last eight.
Ouch.
Goosh.
500, you locked it in.
Instead, fighting for your lives again.
Travel day tomorrow, you'll be drunk on Friday.
Apparently.
We'll do some askrette today.
You feel like you got it in you?
I feel like, I feel like your emotions are high.
I feel like you're,
you're alert.
It's positive today.
That's good.
Yep.
It's good positive advice.
Can you hear me?
Am I frozen?
No,
we're hearing you.
Yeah, we can hear you.
Perfect, but we're okay.
Why, your Wi-Fi stinks.
Your internet's no good.
It's windy.
Whenever it's wind you,
my Wi-Fi is.
Oh, I see.
Or the shovel's got some.
On my screen, I'm about 12 seconds back.
Season two, we can get them a hard line.
You guys can be.
Oh.
Shelver's got some P-Hub going in the other room.
Hope Street rental property management.
Save your own valuable time.
Let Hope Street, find or manage tenants,
earn premium rental rates,
letting you sleep easy knowing that your property is safe and protected.
Book a virtual meeting online.
Let Hope Street get to work for you.
Canada's property manager of the year,
locations in Vancouver, Edmonton, and Calgary.
They are online rent at, what's the website again?
the, that's the, uh,
Hope Street.com.
Yeah, it might be a little,
uh, it might be a little clicky.
Uh, okay, this was from,
oh yeah, this is, see, I don't know,
we try and run a clean ship here.
This is from Kevin.
He emailed into Askrette
at Flamesnation.ca.
Hey, Rhett.
As a fellow bad shoulder hurt bag,
I have a question.
After my shoulder search,
My right arm was in a sling for eight weeks.
I found it next to impossible to wipe my ass with my left hand.
I basically had to take a shower after every crunch.
What have you found most challenging about having bad shoulders?
Thanks.
Birds.
It's from birds.
Birds, is that really the question?
Come on.
And he is frozen.
He doesn't like that toilet humor.
I guess not, yeah.
Well, we got talking about the squatty.
potty while you were away. He's got one. Yeah. So tough to do ask Rhett when Rhett's not here.
It's a good teaser for tomorrow, though, once he gets on that very reliable airport Wi-Fi.
Yeah, there he is. You're back. Did you hear the question?
Nope. I'll paraphrase. Birds, he's got a bad shoulder, had shoulder surgery,
sling for eight weeks, had to learn how to wipe his ass with his other hand, was no good at it. It was not
an ambidextrous wiper,
had to take a shower almost every time.
What tips do you have for,
or what did you find most challenging
with bad shoulders?
This is not a difficult thing.
It's called a bidet.
Very reasonably priced the ladons to your toilets.
Now, didn't you buy one
after you broke your ribs?
I did.
And then you didn't install it?
I did. I didn't get it installed,
but it's still the right answer.
I mean, why can I have a whole shower
where can you just take care of things
that need to be dealt with?
Now, the other side of the coin
for that question is
you should all practice doing
I brush my teeth with my left hand.
It's supposed to make you smarter.
Supposed to make you smarter.
Yes.
What?
Oh, yeah.
You're using parts of your brain.
You don't use.
Just do something simple.
I brush your teeth the other hand.
Genius.
That's why he's a good idea guy.
Savant.
Yeah.
Really?
Just switch hands.
It's true.
It's true, Dean.
You could get that brain move in different ways.
Yeah.
Mm-hmm.
Hey, Rhett.
My current jersey is an 04 cup run,
Oliwaw jersey, complete with a Stanley Cup final patch.
Wow.
Is it time to replace it?
And if so, whom?
What in the place?
Are you talking about replace it?
That was one of the greatest jerseys ever.
The only team to go past the...
30 years to advance of a couple of rounds.
Like, and it's an Oliwa?
No, no, no.
You hang on to that and you don't spill on it.
Treat it like gold.
Now, you can get another jersey because I think you should support the flames
and give Murray, Edward, some of your money.
That's a good thing.
But keep that bad boy.
It's an absolute gem you've got there.
I think he needs to rephrase.
Replace is absolutely the wrong verb.
What if he wants to bolster his lineup with another jersey?
Do you have a recommendation?
Well, I think the three of us would agree that there's only one and one and only walk.
You need a 71.
There's no conflicts.
It's a 71 you need.
Him or Malcolm, best 71, it's push.
I just say go with the home team.
It's tough, yeah.
Now, are you can, so you're all, this is the walk a door, you buy a 71 walker deer jersey today, two, three, four years from now you're, you're fine.
You're happy.
You think this, this door has staying power.
it's frozen again or pensive very pensive
you get a new effing phone every year probably
why don't you get a new jersey every year if you have to
I think walker dure will be here long enough
that you'll get some enjoyment out of that jersey
if he keeps playing like this it'll stand for something good
it'd be like if you got a hathaway jersey back in the day
you never cheated you on effort
you'll always see a hathaway jersey he's like yeah
that was a nice little chapter wasn't forever but it was a good one
have you seen hathaway as a bruin real stunner he's fit in
have you seen tyler bertus
as a brune. Have you seen Dimitri Orlov as a brun?
Everyone they've added is fit like a glove.
Some last fucking night when it could be
Nashville, those clowns. Yeah.
Dean in the lineup, you'd have 20.
Maybe.
Hey, Rhett, WrestleMania 39 this weekend.
You're watching?
I wasn't going to, but now that you bring it up,
maybe that's something a guy could do.
I feel like...
Is it on a Sunday night?
Bill's Mafia would be into that.
Probably a Sunday afternoon type thing.
It's changed the lot.
They do it.
It's like a two-day thing.
Really?
Saturday, Sunday, I think, is what it is now.
Yeah, it's over two days.
I can't do back-to-back.
I could do one.
Maybe my kids, I'll be hung over, so that'd be a great Sunday night.
Big bowl of popcorn.
Throw that on.
The boys will be jacked up.
Yeah.
You're going to be here, though.
Are you bringing your boys?
Is everyone coming or what?
April 1st?
The whole crew.
The clan.
Really?
The clan will be there.
Nice.
So April 1st is the Saturday?
Or the Sunday?
The Saturday.
And it says here it's a 730 Eastern, 730 Bills time.
Inglewood, California, it's so far.
That shade ain't going to work.
Saturday night, are you kidding me?
I'm beyond all my old haunts.
It's WrestleMania.
I've got to hit some of my old haunts.
It's WrestleMania.
I'll buy it cheaper on Sunday.
Right.
The deal of the day after.
Yeah, that's not really how it works.
Uh, hey, Rhett, charcoal for the grill.
Overrated or worth the work?
Worth the work.
Absolutely. It's the best.
Explain.
It doesn't work.
Well, it's just a longer process, but the flavor is just, it's a hundred times better.
It's way better.
You get a grass gas grill.
It does the job.
And I don't ever complain about using a gas grill, but charcoal.
Oh, yeah.
Take your time.
Get that baby lit up.
get it smoldering.
Is there a...
Bricketts, I'll heat it up.
Yeah, because you can buy the bags, right?
That's...
Like, you buy the, whatever, it's...
The round cubes of charcoal.
But then there's the bigger...
You buy the bigger chunks of it, right?
I've had it a couple of times.
Yeah, guys have made it.
It's been like, ooh, that's...
It's too much.
Don't want the dust on there.
I feel like there's got to be some limit
to how much you use, or how does it work?
I don't know.
I think you're an idiot.
Okay, good.
So I love it.
Fair enough.
Put that if you'd like.
Who the F you're hanging out with, but clearly they're amateurs.
Yeah, you don't know what?
You're not wrong about that.
It was clearly a friggin amateur.
Hey, Rhett, saw the photos of Tom Brady hanging out with his ex-teammates the other day.
Is that what it looks like when you and your old boys get together?
Yeah, look at this.
So there's Brady.
How?
He's, what, 44?
45?
And then I think that's...
Edelman.
Edelman or yeah.
Look at Edelman.
That's a knobs these guys.
Oh, shirts.
Day.
Day.
Look at fucking...
Football guys.
Big deals.
Go back to Gras.
Look at frigging Tom.
I get together with my buddies and you know what we do?
We throw the cameras into the garbage because we don't want idiots taking pictures of us.
This looks almost staged.
Jeez.
You think?
Tom Brady.
They re-res- Their own version of Top Gun?
Girlfriend.
It does kind of look like, yeah.
Where's the volleyball net?
You're right, Rhett.
Those guys.
A professional photographer out there.
Beat it.
You're right.
Those guys are losers.
Billions.
Friggin' losers.
You ever hang out with a football guy, boom?
Chevreier.
There we go.
Yeah.
Kind of it.
That sounds very nice.
Yeah.
You see Tom's new girlfriend.
Jeremy, we love you.
We love it.
Author.
She's not going to sink.
And finally, do you know what a puppuccino is?
Do you know what a puppuccino is?
I'm not a ass pender here.
I'm stumped.
See, a puppuccino is a product.
And if you're a dog owner, you can go to Starbucks and get a
a puppuccino.
So they take the little shot glass.
Whip cream.
And we've got the video here.
Alex does have it.
We went and took Buster and our other dog, Bertie.
We took them for some puppuccinos yesterday for Busty's birthday.
Listen to this.
Look at him go.
Jesus.
Just pop.
It's like bulb.
Oh, is it?
See, it's easier for the bird dog to get in there.
She's got the longer snout, but poor Busty.
He's got that stout, snout there.
Good.
Yeah.
Then we have to take some stuff to the dump.
Dude at the dump had a big pail of biscuits.
He's like, oh, what do we got in there too?
Yeah, we got two.
Here you go, guys.
Nice.
A heck of a day.
So there you go.
It's Ask Rett.
Presentation of Home Street property.
Save your own.
valuable time. Let Hope Street get to work for you. Canada's property manager of the year
locations in Vancouver, Edmonton, and Calgary. Hopestreet.com. Let Shaman and all of his staff,
his people, get it done for you. Good people. Good people.
Where are we at? What are we got to do. See him wavering on dogs again? What an asshole.
Listen, I just hates dogs. I knew something was up. Some of dogs. Now he's loving dogs again.
Because he brought up the dog. Wofflin. And then he asked the other day about so is a dog because he just kind of
So what is he doing now?
Because as a pup,
dogs are a lot.
Oh, yeah.
They're rammy.
They got chill out of it.
They're into everything.
They're chewing on stuff, right?
They eat a little gravy.
And now he just kind of,
kind of, does a big stretch in the morning,
goes downstairs, stands in the kitchen by the bowl,
looks up at you.
You're going to feed me or?
What are we doing?
I'm frigging starving over here.
So then you feed him.
Then he stands by the door and just kind of stares at the,
oh, do you need out?
Yeah.
then you let him outside.
Okay.
Goes and takes a deuce.
Comes back,
kind of stands at the door.
He's not loud, eh?
No, no barks.
Let him in.
Comes back in.
Another big stretch.
Hits the old beanbag chair.
Out.
Out.
See in a few hours, guys.
Wow.
Yeah.
It's good living.
Got a great morning.
Yeah.
I'll see you guys.
Have a good one.
Then he fires up a computer,
does a podcast.
It's exactly like red.
That's unbelievable.
Yeah, that's right.
Well, I think you should get another dog.
No, you don't, because he'll end up living at your house.
No, he knows now.
When the first time, it's like the first kid you have, it's like, this is, what have I done?
My life is ruined.
I can't leave.
I can't go anywhere.
I can't do anything.
But then you realize over time, things get better.
If you were to have a dog now, you've already been through the puppy phase.
You know that it's challenging, but that it does come around.
Listen, part of the dog issue is that the other person in the house has brought up adoption.
Of a dog or a human?
Not a dog.
Really?
Yeah.
So you're trying to cut this off at the pass with a puppy.
I see what's happening here.
Well, I don't know.
I mean, on one hand, what are you going to do, right?
Anyway, that is quite a topic.
But I didn't see that coming.
You're not a cat guy.
A lot of twists and turns today.
Yeah.
Yeah, the pre-show is fucked.
Yeah, the pre-show is a disaster.
Amazing.
We got a guy sitting in here for the first time.
Oh, let's see what goes on behind the scenes.
You see it like nice fellows.
We've got Jackson in here.
And then Alex starts talking about all kinds of gross shit before the show.
Serious.
Come on, Alex.
A lot of questions, Alex.
A lot of questions, Alex.
A lot of questions.
Too much, Alex.
Too much, buddy.
Betts.
I bet you will never do that pre-show again.
Belly bets.
And we'll get out of here.
Yep.
Betway bets of the day.
What do we got?
Three games tonight?
Three, four.
Yeah, just three.
Three games.
I can start off right at the very top.
You go to the Betway app.
They got the Betway boost.
They got a Betway boost for you today.
Okay.
Tell me about it.
Toronto, Washington, Colorado.
all win plus five hundo all at home Florida visiting Toronto Islanders visiting Washington wild visiting
abs wild have been awesome at home they're in first place right now you're seeing this well that's the
thing take a look at that central division stand it's toyed Colorado can pass Minnesota with a win
they're one point back Dallas is right there yep it is a slug fest and the aisles have kind of been on a
sneaky little heater remember they're out of the playoffs and they added Horvad and they're tucked nicely into that wild
card one, in fact, close to jumping into the top three in the metro.
The other game, so I'm going to take those.
Toronto, Washington, Colorado, all money line wins plus 500.
And then I went inside the Florida Toronto game.
One of the pre-built bets is a Leafs Moneyline win and a Barkoff point plus 100.
If you go Leafs Money Line and then like a Marner or something else, there's not much value,
bark off.
Give me a Barkoff point and a Leafs win plus 100.
Those are my two bedway bets.
I got too excited about the Islanders.
They're way back for top three in the Metro.
Okay, here are my picks of the day.
I'm focusing in on Pantaros at Leafs.
These were two playoff teams in the Atlantic last year.
We know Toronto's in.
They got a nice bulge over Tampa for second.
Florida fighting for their lives, but not really well.
They got pumped by Ottawa the other day, I think.
You're going to get in?
What are you doing here?
I like the season that we, Willie Nealenders, having,
a power play point plus 155.
And Austin Matthews
been playing through a hand issue all year,
finally starting to get it going
on the goal scoring front.
First of the game, that's all we're asking, Austin.
You spell your name fucking weird,
at least score a goal for us first.
Let's go, plus 600.
That way bets of the day.
Wild have 95, Colorado 94,
Dallas 94.
One point separating three teams.
One will get a wild card,
the other will start on home ice
against another one of them.
What would the first round matchups be in the East if it started today?
If it started today in the East, Boston would face Pittsburgh.
Okay.
That would be fun.
I'm sure my good things are anything.
Sorry, I'm really putting you on the spot there.
No, no, that's all right.
It would obviously be Toronto, Tampa in the two, three for the Atlantic.
The Metro would be won by Carolina.
they would face the New York Islanders,
and it would be Devils, Rangers, and the two, three.
That's some good series.
Boston Pittsburgh, that's just, I like that.
I'm with you.
I don't want the Islanders in there,
but I kind of feel like I'd like to watch the Panthers miss.
Yeah.
I'd kind of like to see them miss.
That's just personal, though.
Frigued Chucky.
Yeah.
Show him.
You and your 9, 10 million living in Florida tax free.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Huh.
It doesn't sound so great to me.
Just a couple of things I was going through the notes this morning.
Kind of a, hey, did you know?
And I didn't, I don't profess to have spent a lot of time watching hard core details on the Oilers.
Humming.
But did you see Nugent Hopkins and the season he's having?
Four points away from 100?
Jesus.
Did you know, hey, did you know, he's got 96 points?
The offensive seasons that the Oilers are having,
If you just look at all of them and put them on the same page,
like, oh, shit, they must be doing what the Bruins are doing.
They're fucking third in their division.
35 goals, 96 points in 75 games.
If he hits the Hyundai, they'll have 300 point guys for the, like, last time was Mario.
Mario and Jogs and France or whatever it was.
Jesus, 300 point guys.
I had no, I, I know.
It's not if.
Like, they got fucking seven games left?
He's got these four points.
Like, I knew Nuge was having a good season.
I didn't know he was 100 points.
Did you know, hey, did you know, Tim Stutzland, this is not for Alex.
Alex settled out.
He's got 80 points.
Oh, yeah.
Monster sophomore year, right?
Not a playoff team.
He's got 80 and 70, 82 and 70.
And your boy, Braden Point, he's three away from 50 goals.
We were talking about it.
Quietest guy to 40 this year for sure.
41 was his previous high.
He's just been chipping away and chipping away.
He got 47.
A couple of the other nights.
Yeah.
Calgary boy.
Calgary boy.
Brady-Dakry kid.
Go, pity.
50's a lot of goals, man.
The Braden Point could be a 50 goal guy.
It's a lot of goals.
And what, like the fourth best player on that team?
That is the crazy thing.
I said it to you a few weeks ago.
I was like, I wonder what kind of year a Kucharov.
I haven't heard much about Kutraub.
No, third and score.
Yeah, whatever it is.
There'll be an interesting one to watch.
Yeah.
And if you look at the last couple deadlines they've had,
they gave up two firsts and two assets for Hagel.
Good player.
Not a great player.
So I think it was Kachuk,
radish, and two first.
This year they do the same thing,
first, second, third, fourth, fifth,
for Tanner, Jeannot.
And with Blake Coleman,
who was on a really team friendly deal
that had some term left,
they gave up a first with New Jersey back in the day.
They did the same thing,
a pick swap with San Jose for Barclay Goodro,
who was on a cheap salary for another couple of years.
This has kind of been their move,
but they're like out of first rounders for the next three years, I bet.
And they're not stars, they're tertiary support pieces.
I just, I wonder if you can keep doing that.
Is this the year they don't get through or are we fools to expect them to be what they
aren't every other year, which is, oh yeah, they'll just hit a switch in the playoffs and
be like, oh yes, we forgot.
It's Tampa.
It doesn't matter that they're a three seed.
They'll pump Toronto.
You wonder if that is indeed, because that's,
That's what it's going to be, right?
That's going to be the matchup.
It's cement.
No one's, yeah.
No one's catching the third place team in that division, and no one's catching Boston for first.
It's two, three, Toronto, Tampa, seven points between the two before yesterday's games.
Like, it's happening.
Do you feel retro with Toronto Tampa?
Gun to your head of who are you picking?
Does it feel like this is maybe finally the year that Toronto does it?
The only thing I do feel like it is, I just.
have a hard time going against that Vasilevsky.
100%.
You can break down these teams and they're both deep and they're both talented.
There is a decided edge in net.
There might only be one or two teams that you can line up against Tampa and say,
yeah, goaltending is about a wash.
And it might be Shasturkin in New York.
Maybe it's Sorokin with the Islanders who might win the Vesna this year.
But if Vasselowski wants to be the best goal in the world for two weeks,
it wouldn't be new.
He's done it before.
And you can outplay him.
You might lose the series.
It was interesting hearing Julian Breeze while I talked about all those draft picks,
and he kind of ran through his rationale by it.
And it's, if you then get into the slide and you realize, okay, we're not,
Cup champion, Cup champion, lose conference, lose round two, don't make, whatever,
they're going to have enough skill, enough players there to sell off and recoup some of those picks.
Yeah, for sure.
They're not going to go five years or six years without a first round.
You're going to get picks.
And I don't know, I kind of applaud it.
Of course, it's great.
Seeing teams that are close and in their window and trying to win,
that's what sports is about?
It's why you're like,
what the hell's Kenny Holland doing,
using his first round picks to the last three years or whatever it is.
Some teams you squint,
you're in your fucking window with McDavid.
Like you're waiting for, like, Yamamoto to be something.
What are you doing?
Like, Eckholm is way better than a guy that in three or four years
might be a really good player.
You've got two years left after this with Drysidal,
three left with McDavid.
you should not even be thinking about drafting in the first round
last couple of years and moving forward.
Now that said,
if you want to spend that assets,
the draft pick capital,
that's one thing.
When you spend that much of it for Tanner Janot
or Brandon Hagel.
How much better are you?
Yeah.
I don't know.
Well, in the year they won the cup,
we heard a lot about the line of Coleman and Palat
and the other people.
I just know to Goodrow.
Yeah.
And they, you know,
and it's kind of the thing we fall prey to.
It's like everyone praises the third line.
Like, oh, it's that Paulson line in the ducks.
Like, well, it's the fucking stars that are really good.
And if your third line can play well, it's amazing.
But like, it's really about Kutcheroff point,
Stamco's, headman, and Vasselowski,
because it always is.
And if your third line happens to be tough to play against,
great bonus.
Do you want to give up four first rounders to add the third line?
It's pretty much what they did with Coleman and Goodro.
Now while you're chirping the oilers,
they're on heater.
Do you see where they are?
They have a legit shot at winning the division.
They're third in the division.
I'm sticking to my guns.
I understand their third.
How far back of first are they?
Three points.
And Vegas is a game in hand.
They are further from first in the division
than the flames are from a place.
Oh, there it is.
You're something else.
It's possible.
It is wild, though.
To think that McDavid's going to,
going to put up numbers we haven't seen since like the 80s, maybe once in the 90s.
To think that like dry sidle is a second gunner will have what, 120 points, some stupid.
The third player of the 100 points.
Tysonberry was having a career year.
You know, like you look at all the seasons they're having.
It's like, oh yeah, and then, you know, they were in a wild card until about two weeks ago.
McDavid has 60 goals, 143 points.
Leon has 47 goals and 116 points.
Jeez.
And Hyman's having a great year.
33 goals.
Nugent Hopkins having a great year.
They have 100 points.
I don't know.
They score goals.
Can they fucking defend?
Go look at their last five.
They're playing bottom dwellers,
beating them 7, 6, 5, 4 going overtime.
They're going to score a lot.
Can they get saves and play defense when it matters?
LA's a nightmare matcher for them.
I really believe that.
That'll do it for this program.
tomorrow, Warner from an airport, perhaps.
And then on Friday, just right gunned.
What's all this tricking on Friday things?
What are you talking about?
I don't know.
It's a Friday in the boys in town.
I'm the one that's supposed to be cheering on a drinking show on a Friday.
What are you doing here?
I'm not worried about you.
I'm not, I have zero concerns.
What if I have plans?
Right.
I need a ride Friday, Dean.
I need a ride.
Home or like you want to be?
vehicle.
Yeah, that's both.
Well, both.
You're either drinking or you're driving a vehicle.
You're not doing both.
So that'll do it for the program.
We'll see you tomorrow.
It's a little quiet time now for the flames.
Off day today.
Off day today.
Back to tomorrow.
We haven't talked about it at all.
Chris Tanna's now missed what,
four or five in a row.
And his stall.
Not there.
I know.
Coronado's in,
Gilbert's in.
They've got some bodies around now.
There's no roster limit.
after the trade deadline.
Ret mentioned it last week after that game
when Tannave left
and Daryl used the
Z. You know, Z is going to have
to be better. You're going to have to play some big minutes now
for us. And you said,
does that mean
Tannav's out? Yeah.
Not ideal.
Now, I mean, it doesn't matter. It'd be nice
to have them, but it's
seven games, let's go.
Be ready for game eight, Chris.
worrying about Tanna.
We hate the Canucks.
We hate the Canucks.
Canucks suck.
I need you for game one of the Battle of Alberta.
Let's go.
Let's go steal one in Edmonton.
Just get home ice right like that.
Let's go.
That'll do it for today, everybody.
Thanks for being a part of it.
Support the sponsors.
Support the show.
Subscribe, like, share.
Tell your friends.
Five stars.
If you like this show, tell your friends.
If you don't like it, then just shut your mouth.
Just shush.
And we'll see you tomorrow, buddies.
That's it.
Sparm burner.
Oilers suck and so do the jets.
All right.
See you, buddies.
Spicy.
