Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - The Calgary Wranglers Kick Off Pacific Division Final | FN Barn Burner - May 11th, 2023
Episode Date: May 11, 2023FlamesNation Barn Burner Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! - Leafs vs Panthers Recap- Oilers vs Knights Recap- Preview of Tonight's Games- Calgary Wranglers Playoffs- Flyers News- Pi...nder Report Presented by Village Honda- Betway Bets Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Here we all are. Time for another edition of Barn Burner here on the YouTube's and on your podcast platform, whatever your favorite podcast platform is.
Tower Chrysor Studios, we are all separately together once again. Tower Chrysor Studios. Consumer Choice Award winner, Calgary's favorite Chrysler Dodge dealer, 10-901, the Cloud Trail South.
I've been saying this week
it's now Thursday so time
she tickin
anyone who buys a vehicle new use
the tower will be entered to win a $350
gift card to the Nordic spa
in Canaanascus in time for
Mother's Day which is in fact this weekend
so still this weekend coming on
you know if you're stuck
on an idea to get for
mom let's go buy a truck go buy a rig
from Serge and it's all taking care of
I'll take care of you
Hello, the Redster.
How are we doing?
Are you making a road trip today?
Is that what you were saying?
Going to head, Darth, got to get to Toronto,
got to watch the Leafs and the Blue Jays and the Raptors and the,
I forget the name of the soccer team, but lots of, lots of luck.
Are you going to go see the Rock?
Welcome to the Rock.
And you'll have to excuse me because I'm very distracted by the WHO draft.
Are you eligible?
I'm not, but I would like to say immediately, I've put it out on Twitter in years past.
Don't get too caught up in it.
It's a great honor to get drafted, but it's also not a end of the road if you aren't.
Remember the year that my birth year, it was Justin Mapletoff, who was the best player by a billion miles.
There's many good NHLers taken after him.
We're not taking at all.
Yes.
Congrats on being a great 14-year-old hockey player.
He never, I mean, he was a junior hockey player.
I think he was a CHL player of the year, one year, was he not?
It's very good junior player, but it never really translated to the NHL, I believe.
I think there was maybe a few games for Justin Maple Toft.
Toftur?
Toftur?
Noah Kosick, Kossack, out of Victoria in the Pacific Coast Hockey Academy,
the first round selection of the Calgary Hitman.
Oh, there you go.
It's happened.
Oh, there's an again lot.
There's an again lawn there's a Joe.
There's a Joe available.
Don't be sleeping.
Not anymore.
Gone?
Going to Edmonton.
Oh, duh.
12th overall.
12th.
What are you doing, Hitman?
What are they thinking?
Well, are they on the, where did they pick?
I'm actually wound up about this.
If Joe, if you have,
if you have Jerome's son in the same flippy floppy situation,
like he went the next.
So the hitman,
I'm just flipping back and forth,
the hitman draft 11th,
and pick a kid from Victoria,
B.C.
Might be a health player.
It's irrelevant.
Joe Ginnler goes next to Edmonton.
So in other words,
Joe clearly has to be recognized in that vein or in that,
similar class.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, it would not have been a reach.
Would not have been a reach for them.
Yeah.
And you don't take Joe Wigginle?
What the F are you thinking?
And not only that,
do we want Jerome McGillow involved in the Flames organization?
Yes.
Yes, we do.
We do.
Do the hitmen?
But the hitmen are run by who?
Well, yeah, no, I, the three of us want him involved.
I can't speak for John Bean and anyone else.
How do you know how many sports and entertainment?
should want Jerome and Ginnla involved in everything they do.
I think that'd be a great idea.
He hasn't yet.
But the point is, Ryan, if...
What is the point you're making?
I think...
Are you saying...
This is idiotic.
No, I'm with red.
Like, we would love to see Jerome work for the organization.
We can't speak on their behalf of whether they do want to do or not.
It seems like the guy's fricka teflon beauty.
Like, why wouldn't you want him?
I don't know the kid from Victoria.
If he has a way better W.H.L.
career than Joe McGinlow, this will look smart.
I can't critique this.
I have no idea.
I mean, there's lots of guys that have great last names that are drafted every year.
They need impact players.
If Joe is going to be of the same value, of course the tie break should be that, you know,
your dad's numbers in the rafters, of course.
I don't know.
How much better does Noah Kosick have to be than Joe Ginnla to make this worthwhile?
Probably substantially.
Right?
Hugely, right?
And let me tell you something.
size may not matter.
Noah Kosick is 112 pounds.
Is he 112?
No, I'm not...
5.112.
Yeah, I don't know what projecting 14-year-olds is...
I've no skill at it.
I'm not going to pretend to.
Exactly.
So that's even more reason to take Joe McGillah.
How the hell am I supposed to know if this 5-foot-5-110man is going to be better?
I might as well take a gin-la because at least that will butter up his death.
to hopefully come back to our organization and give us some leadership.
Well, the good news is in six years we'll know whether you're right or wrong on this.
Right?
I am right.
All we have to do is wait until 2030.
It's irrelevant what Noah Kosci.
It's irrelevant what Noah Kossov does, in my opinion.
If he's way better and it turns out to be the better player, that's not, that's irrelevant.
But better by how, it's not just better.
It has to be better, better, better.
Yeah, no, way better.
It's relevant.
to what because if joe is part of the hitman it jerome is even more inclined to come to
be in calgary next year what the who is down there making these effing decisions
here's what's most unfortunate about can i shut it off i i think i'm not in no i'm not in studio
jack isn't as that ryan is in there because someone needs to give him a fucking headbutt right now
yes the fact you're arguing is here but that's what
Pinder is. If you want to talk
to him about milk, he will win
that argument. Whether you're both like
chocolate milk or not. To reassess
my only take, I don't know anything
about either of these hockey players. It would have been
very nice if Jerome ended up a hitman.
Joe. Those are my hot takes.
I'm not saying they made the right move.
I'm not here saying... I'm not here saying...
Calgary Sports Intertintamian Corporation does or does know what they're doing
on this front. I'm saying I have no intel on the
badham draft. The kid better be better than
own where you look silly, right?
Terrible take.
Okay.
Headbut.
What's your take, Dean?
Give us your high take on this.
Well,
you take again,
like Rhett says.
If he's right there and he's in that
group of players,
it would not,
if he was a third round projected
player, you don't take him.
Just seems like that's something you'd do.
And now he goes to
Edmonton of all places.
It's so stupid.
It's, it is,
it literally to the point where I'm actually fed up it not fed up because they don't give a F
what I think but get Schenelth on the phone I want to understand what shenouth is
what the fuck are you thinking it would be like if if the Edmonton if the Edmonton if the
Edmonton oil kings owned by the Oilers were picking one pick after or one pick before the
hitman and the hitman selected Joe Messier or Joe Gretzky.
No, so again, I think they have to think this one player is quite a bit better than Joe.
I mean, I'm guessing here, because what you're explaining, it would be idiotic if they were in the same box and you didn't take the one.
I'm with you here.
That poor fucking kid doesn't have a chance.
Because even the fans that are hitman fans aren't going to be excited that he's there over Joe McGinla.
Holy flip.
Holy flip indeed.
Holy flip.
Who was taking next?
I just said, don't get excited about the WHL draft.
And then you got wound the fuck up.
You got excited about the WHL draft.
We had takes about people we'd never heard about 10 minutes ago.
This is a total, unless this kid goes into the Hall of Fame,
and how many times have they done this?
The flames and the hitman,
where they got guys growing up in their backyard and they don't take them.
for some idiotic
stupid, well,
I don't even think they have real.
I guess we could have taken a bow.
First overall pick was Daxon Rudolph
from the lovely town of Lacomb, Alberta.
Daxon, there's a good W.HL name.
To Daxon.
I want to look at the results here.
First, Calgary kid is off the board.
Cruz Pavow.
Cruz.
From the Edge School.
That's a good handle.
Cruz he goes at 13 and in fairness Riley boy chuck of Cochran
I just go to that says to for me if I'm Joe Jerome McGinla and I would and I'm thinking about
getting back in the game and the hitman let my kid go screw you screw you there are
30 other teams I can go work for now one of them being the
fucking oilers.
31 other teams.
Whatever.
Yeah, that's even more.
There's one team out there that won't take.
Yeah, pissed them.
While we're in the vein of Pinder sucking,
I have a video that I would like to share
that is entitled Pinder sucks.
Now, I don't know what it is.
But let's take a look, shall we?
This is the day I got back.
Well, looky, lucky, lucky.
Look, the gang is all.
here. Remember retro yesterday we were doing the show and I think near the end you had said
oh is he going to be sick when he gets back so he goes on holidays and then whenever he comes
back from being away is he going to be sick. The answer is yes. Credit to you, Rhett. Right as
always. Right once again. You asked the Rettster. It was an easy plant your flag in that
hot take you're going to be right. A hundred times out of a hundred. You're blaming the
drinking water, but I hear of very much there's some rasp in your voice.
Well, there's that too.
Which only comes the last time you were what karaokeing after a bachelor party or something.
My sister's 40th.
Right.
Yeah.
Karaoke again or?
No, no karaoke.
Just some drinking games and such.
You've kind of got that thing.
Pool party?
A lot of pool parties.
A lot of pools, a lot of parties.
The fatigued vocal cord is what we-
rained here yeah and i i'm glad almost that i woke up in the middle of the night
shitting myself because it gave me a bit of an out of just drinking for eight days yeah
three days later i don't need a cold plunge but i do have a cold thanks to uh where'd you get that
some i'm guessing it's some ass hat hello feeling sheepish here hi hi dean how are you feeling today
sorry yeah real good ryan at least
You look, you know, it's okay.
I feel bad that I'm not in studio because it's always good to see Jack when we get in in the morning.
Jack's also not, uh, he's not feeling so well.
Oh, is Jack? He's, uh, oh boy, sorry.
Jack's also at home.
So both guys?
But hey, is there anything you want to say, Ryan?
Well, I just, you know, I've been working with a rat for about 10 years.
And he just talked about toughing it out, playing hurt and, you know, doing what?
what's best for the team.
Yeah.
No matter what, always.
I'm sorry.
Always very sorry.
No, it's great.
It's real good.
That's all, folks.
So a little piece of work there from our friend Jack, who is also home and sick today.
Jack, Jack has had some downtime and has been able to cobble that together.
If I had any sort of time, because this would get passed along.
I would not have come in.
I'm sorry.
I've also during the time of that wonderful interlude
looked at the stats from the same league
that Joe Aginla and...
So did I.
What's his name, Cossack play?
Would you like to read them out to us,
Wrette?
I believe Cossack had 96 points.
In 29 games.
And Joe, playing one more game, had...
35 or 33.
That's right, 35.
Top of my head.
Now, again, we're projecting 14-year-olds,
but there's a substantial gap at the 14-year-old age
between the production of the two fellows in the same league.
I do think you've made a valid point about the size.
I hope young Kasa, he's not done growing.
That'd be nice if that's the case at 14.
I still say no matter what, it's a miss.
Okay.
We'll write it down.
We'll revisit in six years.
This is easy.
Because if Jerome doesn't come here,
and that was the icing on the cake for it,
I don't give a shit what kind of career Mr. Cossack has.
He can put up 150 a year for the hitman,
and I don't care.
Because guess what?
If he puts up 150 a year,
he's fucking gone in two and playing in the NHL,
and we still don't have a Ginnla.
I wonder where Jerome thought his kid was going to go.
Because the points per game,
maybe he thought he was going third round.
I don't know.
I am not the guy to ask about the W.
Mitchell draft.
I don't,
I didn't have
first round vibes
around Joe,
but,
um,
again,
don't give us your scientific
take on things.
Let's just go with the right and the wrong.
Let's do the heated,
not scientific takes.
Yes or is,
is binary like,
yes or no?
Is that what binary means?
Yeah, yeah,
yeah,
one or the other.
There's no middle ground.
That's binary.
Yeah,
it's zero or one.
Oh,
let's look into the science and the,
uh,
the advanced stats and see if the puck was moving.
forward more.
What was the right thing
for the Calgary Flames
organize the CSEC
to do?
Take the best player
and hope that it's
Jerome's kid.
Then they win both, right?
You get the best player
and you get Jerome.
I think that
probably not great
to be trashing
14 year old kids
or however the old
I think I just hope
everybody has fun and
I'm trashing the pick.
I'm not the kid.
I'm trashing the people
that made the
decision. Coming up on tomorrow's barn burner
will have Hitman Head Scout and
director of Skate. Don't care.
What is Shadale's thinking?
What's his number?
Let's get my call right now.
I want a
PCU McMahon.
Elbow smash is left to me.
Anywho, moving on, the
least. So I have zero chance of ever
so just to clarify,
I have zero chance of ever coming
home and being part of that.
No, I think you got a great chance.
I just think you need to do that research before the take and then do the take.
I still, this is the thing with you.
You think if you back it up with this bullshit, whatever, I still think Giddler is the pick.
Okay.
Because you say the kid had 90, I don't, you, you can't say, I don't know how to evaluate 14-year-olds and go,
oh, he had more points, so he's better.
I'm not saying he's better.
So he's going to be a better W.
I have no idea.
You just said that.
You said that I should research my takes.
No, no, no.
I'm not saying you're wrong.
If I research my take.
I'm just saying if you want to work for the team,
the, okay, what were they looking at, who was available,
then come to the internet with your take.
That's all.
You're right.
You got out the same take.
That's fine.
You know what, though?
The team that should take me because I say and do the right thing,
not fucking base it on something stupid.
Oh, well, maybe he'll be better.
No, what's the right thing?
I tell my kids that.
Okay, do the right thing.
If you do the right thing, it's never wrong.
So I would do the right thing,
and I would honor Jerome's legacy in the city
by taking his child whether or not Noah Kosick is going to be better than his kid in junior hockey.
Got him fired up today, Dino.
You're welcome.
Yeah, thanks.
I wish he was in the same room, though.
I'm here.
You know where I'm at.
It would be. We're close to headbutt territory.
I don't want to get.
So you want me to get sick.
No, I don't want you to get sick.
You're right.
You're better off where you are.
You're better off.
Round two continued last night.
Wait, before they put this out on the internet, can they put a thing saying they're swearing again?
Yeah.
Would you like them, would you like the clips to be censored?
Yeah.
Beep.
bleeps
need a few sensors in there
that's two kids
so are you going to see the Leafs and Panteros on the weekend
you're going to Toronto is this a thing now
after they stay
I am going to Toronto
I'm going to try
I can't imagine seats
or give them maybe Primo can give me
some tickets he's an ex-leaf
he's got Wayne
Wayne
there's a
Primo no I don't think Ogo
it'll be a
I can't imagine
he can get tickets and tickets ain't
going to be free and I couldn't
be bothered to deal with the mess
of getting downtown Toronto to watch
that.
You're going to be downtown Toronto to watch a Blue Jays at some point, that's right?
I think I want to go to the Mother's Day game.
You invited your mom, you told us, she said, fuck off, and
you're going without her.
Harsh. Yeah, in honor of you, mom.
Cardboard cut out right next to you. Two seats.
Yeah.
love your mawere two one leafs win in florida at the fLA live arena we willie mitch marner
part of the core four finally coming to life uh for marner a goal and an assist joseph wall
the rookie netminder 24 saves it's now a three one series lead does this give you any at what
point in this series what would the games count have to be
before you'd say, okay,
like is it 3-3?
Do we have to get to the game seven?
If you win five, I feel like the pressure starts to switch.
And I think we saw that a bit in round one,
where it's like, oh, okay.
Well, now we've got to take care of business here.
Because if you get to a 7,
it feels like the Leafs have all the momentum in the world, right?
So all of a sudden, the Panthers will feel the heat to close it out in six.
We can't be, oh, we can't lose a third in a row tonight.
I saw the Kachuk stuff yesterday before the game.
So there's no pressure.
on us. Well, no shit. Not yet.
A 3-1 series lead. Of course, there's three-nothing series lead. There's no pressure on you, of
course. There's not. Um, this, and you said it yesterday, Pinder, this has been really the only
series that has had close hockey for a four of time. Yeah. And to be fair, where else is just
a shit show. Leif's about played them three or four now. Not that that means shit. Like,
they're down three-one, but it's, uh, it's the one bad game under the big spotlight that everyone's
talking about, not the three games where they've outchanced the Panthers pretty handily.
They called yesterday some saying their best effort of the season.
They got a lead.
They never gave it up.
It was low scoring.
It was tight checking.
I'm not saying they're going to win this thing.
But, you know, if you take away some goalie effects, they're in the driver's seat here, not the opposite.
Just thinking, retro.
Just thinking.
Me too.
Tickets are bad, buddy.
We're talking 360, 370 bucks.
for the Leafs game?
I thought they'd be like a thousand.
Sorry.
Get in there.
No, he's not going.
God, he's not going.
Canadian.
He was in New York
and didn't go see Rangers' devils.
He's not going to go watch the Leafs.
Those were extremely expensive.
I looked at tickets for that.
It was like a thousand bucks for shitty seats.
It was the most expensive
resale ticket in round one.
We saw that,
I think we had that image one day
where it was a thousand bucks to get in the door
at MS.
Uff, U.S.
Anyway, what we're talking about?
The Leaves?
I just, because on one hand, I really like all of the, the, the, the, the,
wo is me.
It's good drama.
The season's end, and the media comes and picks on Marner, and they crush Matthews,
and Riley stinks and all this.
I do enjoy that.
But I got to admit, once the Leafs are out of the playoffs, it's less excitement.
They do bring that.
It's, whether you love or you hate it.
Even if you hate them, it's a black hat.
You like having that in there.
You do, but the Oilers will still be there.
And the Panthers will be the plucky underdogs that are finding a way to get it done.
Eighth place team came in, beat the big bad Bruins, the best team ever in a regular season,
then go into Toronto unexpectedly, stop the leaves, knock them out.
Oh, you got a great story in the Panthers.
Plus, you'll have all the drama of what are the Leafs going to do, right?
Well, yeah.
The grenades going off in that room.
Are they going to blow it up?
Who's coming back?
What are the moves?
Oh, my God.
Right?
There's lots to.
You're in a no-lose situation, Dean.
Yeah, I would think the Leaf's got to jump up right with flames for off-season power rankings.
We're like, oh, my God, shit could get crazy here.
Like the GM's out of term and those two pending UFAs and Neelander and Matthews, there's some good drama this offseason it's wrong.
Nick Alberger was on yesterday.
Now, did he say, because you asked him, and I wasn't quite sure of the context, when you asked him about where is Matthews going to play?
Yeah, in 16 months.
So after next season, he'll be on a new deal.
Yeah, so after next season, he thinks that he's going to resign with the leaves.
Yeah, which I thought was kind of crazy, like Batchett crazy, given that A, you might have a management team that says we need to change the mix.
And B, that if a guy likes getting paid, they're up against it on the cap where there's some other massive markets that would love to pay.
pay him more than Toronto would, I would think.
Like Chicago, for example, with Bedard.
12 and a half a year? Yep, let's go.
Is he worth it?
He will be if the cap goes up
$8 million, yeah.
60 goal guy. I question what he's
I question how he's
performing in the playoffs and we will
until he performs better. I think
his points maybe are okay per
game, this and that. It's just you want to see
him carry the team a little bit and go,
no, no, no, we're not going to lose this game. We're going to
win it because I've got the desire to win it.
But it might be a situation.
Stevie Y was criticized forever.
Not team.
Doesn't get the job done.
Now we regard him as the greatest leader
of maybe all time.
Well, and it's a GM too, right? The Tampa couldn't get
over the hump with his group either.
It's like, oh, these guys, they're not tough enough. They're not this.
They're not that. They've gone to the Eastern Conference final
three times in four years, lost every
time. Yeah, they're just a bunch of losers.
And as we said the same thing about OVie.
Like, I feel like OVie is the best
comp for Matthews. He's a pure goal score. Matthews is the center. Matthews is better defensively. Neither have had
success in the playoffs early in their career. And like if I ask you was OV overpaid? It's like,
I mean, they made a shit ton of money with him. The building was always full. They eventually got their
cup. Was his AAV a little too high? Maybe. But like, what was it worth to have a superstar filling your
house for a decade and a half? Like, that's what Matthews is. Is that not the best comp for his career?
Well, man, he's going to be how old?
26.
Like, are you kidding me?
These types of guys never get to free agency at this time.
26-year-old 60-goal guy?
Richard Winner?
Is there a slim comparison to be made,
and partly because it's Toronto.
But because it's a lot of what we heard about Phil Kessel.
He came in, multiple first round picks.
The guy can score, but then at the end of the day,
it was the, you know, the conclusion was, great goal score, but not the guy that's going to lead you
to the promised land.
You'd either maybe he could be the support guy, which is pretty good for a guy who scores.
I put him a different class than that.
But I think, yeah, I think Phil's.
I'm not saying the same.
Yeah.
Yeah, like he's.
There's some vibes there.
He's a step ahead of, of Kessel, for sure.
But there is some vibes, right?
Kessel won two cups being like the third or fourth best forward on his team.
And I don't know that there's three or four forwards better than Matthews to put
on the same team.
But I think
the legacy piece is similar.
And again,
what Phil Kessel had that signed
that contract like a fucking decade ago
was $8 million?
11.6 doesn't sound like crazy inflation
when you consider how long ago
about Phil deal was signed.
And look,
like we're where
sorry,
go ahead.
You said that Matthews,
sorry,
so in your power rankings
of NHL forwards,
where would you put Austin Matthews?
Well,
I don't know.
I mean,
I don't have the list of everyone in front of,
me, but he's in his prime.
He's a guy that's a threat to score, pardon me.
You know enough about the league.
You don't need a list.
Yeah, no, I mean, I just, I'm trying to think out loud where you've got dry
siddle, McDavid, McKinnon, that's probably, like, and then who else would be
worthy to be in that group?
That might be the top three centers, but after that, who would you rather build around
than a 60 plus goal, you know, Richard Trophy winner?
Like he's been playing hurt most of the year.
This is not a great year.
Last year he had, what, 75 games, 63 goals?
Like that's some rare shit that we saw.
Now, to your point, great goal score.
I'm not debating his goal scoring,
but if you're going to be paying $12 million,
he better be your best player, not just your best goal score.
I just wonder when you...
I sort of put up in that past a range, right?
In terms of an all-around...
See, I'd rather have past.
Asternack, I think.
Winger, not a center.
Defensively, Matthew's stronger results.
But, I mean, past is fucking awesome.
You're not going to turn down a 60-goal winger, right?
Centermen.
Well, that's playoffs.
Damn it.
Sorry.
Keep going.
I just think, again, we talked about yesterday.
Franchise centermen are really hard to get your paws on.
Scott, feels like a top five center.
Yes.
In the league.
Hearingloss.ca is the website, the Hearing Loss Clinic.
They started back in 1993, simple mission, make a positive impact and difference on the lives of our clients.
Men and women of all ages, of course, children can suffer from hearing loss.
Serious health risks have been linked to untreated hearing loss.
You've got four Calgary locations, and then you've got five.
There's Invermere, Creston, and they are rolling.
And for good reason, they are the best at what they do.
If you feel like maybe you're dealing with some hearing loss or something,
you're something just not quite right.
Go and see them.
You walk in there.
It's, it's, there's a reason why they are as successful as they have been,
because they make you feel at home.
They make you feel comfortable.
And it can help,
you help you out in a big way, turn your life around.
The at the hearing loss on Twitter,
Instagram at the hearing loss clinic.
22, Chamber of Commerce
Professional Services
Excellence Award winner
and I'm just texting with Roadsie
as we speak.
There you go.
Nailing it down.
It's been a long time.
It's been,
you know, it takes a little while.
Get ready, Hannah.
Hannah, Alberta?
Boom.
Your location?
Sounds like it's going to be
the university location.
Oh, very good.
Lovely spot.
Lovely spot.
Lovely spot.
Now,
the other game from last night, the, the Oilers,
they put a boot in the Vegas Golden Knights.
This one has been...
Dallas did. They were going to...
Another one of those series.
Up down, up, down. The scores have been all over.
This time it's the Oilers 4-1 over the Golden Knights Skinner
with the win for the Oilers,
although it was really not much about him at the end of the day.
Lots of controversy in this one near the end.
I don't know if you caught some of this red.
I know you're in the Eastern Times Zone.
You're sleepy.
You're very sleepy boy.
But late stages of this game, Darnel Nurse got into some troubles.
As did Alex Petrangelo.
So we'll start this clip over again, if you don't mind.
This is the Alex Petrangelo stuff.
In the third period, he's hit by Evander Cain along the sideboards.
And I mean, listen, you're down.
You're getting beat on the road.
gets hit into the sideboards and isn't very happy about it.
I'm not sure what, yeah, so this is just,
sorry if I put this, if I put this clip in there.
This is not, this is not the one that, that I put together.
Anyway, it's, there's a, this is, this is the one.
So this is Petrangelo going back to gather a puck on a P-K.
And then a little carunk into the sideboards.
So he's sour about that one.
think so yeah and then later uh comes in and a two-hander to the hands or the handle area the handle
region of leon dry sidle windshield wipers it doesn't look as vicious from that angle the other one
from behind looks worse um i'm curious your thoughts red he is going to have a hearing it's across
the arms it's he's going to have a hearing petrangelo is he was given a
slashing major in game misconduct
for that right there.
Too obvious and blatantly.
They're going to suspend them for a game probably.
I don't know how many,
but I would think.
I don't know.
Like we've seen worse stuff unsuspended.
We've seen lighter stuff suspended bowl.
Like I just don't fucking know with this league anymore.
Blatantly like that,
do you think?
Yeah, I think of the Ryan Hartman one on Rasmus Anderson.
I threw on Twitter like an hour or two ago.
And it's not the same at all.
but it's a regular season game.
The play has come to an end,
and Hartman comes in and gives a two-hand whack right on the wrists.
And that was like 5K.
And the video going around Twitter was like,
how many games is he going to get?
And we looked at it and said,
you know,
he's probably going to get a game or two.
And sure not,
you got a fine.
And that doesn't mean that Petrangelo isn't going to get a fine.
And then, you know,
someone had found a Brendan Dillon,
Washington's Capitol slash
from the playoffs in 2017,
which was similar.
It was over the top,
into the hands.
That one was much more innocuous.
it landed right on a glove and it did get a game.
I mean, it's just become an exercise.
We don't have a fucking clue because the league's so inconsistent on this stuff
and it's spin the wheel of justice.
So was it a good play?
No.
Was Petrangelo pissed?
Yes.
Should we have any idea how the league's going to treat it?
No, because they're incredibly inconsistent and there's no real standard to measure things against.
Oh, and now it's a playoff game, which is worth more than a regular season.
I just don't have a clue what they're going to do.
If it's two or one or zero or a fine, like all of those seems like reasonable outcomes.
You said it, right, though, it's, I mean, it's stupid.
The ref is standing right there.
And I think what, I think it obviously it does.
It looks worse than it is because he's got the stick up so high and it's in a chopping, you know.
So there.
Are we okay with that hand or no?
So it's, I don't know.
Does that change how we view it?
So this is just moments later.
Look at the, like the ref's right there.
I mean, it's going to get caught.
He's not worried about a penalty, do you know?
It's not about the ref.
What we're talking about
it's a suspension or not.
Like, it's clearly a penalty.
I'm with you.
It's,
but it's stupid.
I think that's not some dumb rookie.
That's Alex Petrangelo.
Yeah, he's sending a message.
Just games over.
Bleep you.
The question is whether he gets to play the next game.
I think the hits irrelevant.
I don't think they put those things together, right?
I'd agree.
No, they would, for sure.
I'm just, that's kind of where.
It's why Petrangelo's pissed.
That's where Patrangelo's head is at.
That's the, that's the,
context of the anger, yeah.
We should not to be outdone.
Player safety should we,
if we were player safety, we would have better standards.
It'd be hard to do a worse job than player safety has for 20 years.
Just the things we need to get out of the game, man.
It's just sad to see.
Now, same game as you might expect.
Dying seconds.
So that's at 1833.
Then at 1910, a little, again, I don't think this is the one.
Darnell Nurse was into it all night with Nicholas Hague.
And the plays below the net.
And Hague is tied up with Fogel.
And then Nurse comes in.
Yeah, if we have the nurse, the nurse video,
unless this is the one I'm calling Nurse.
They get into it behind the net.
Nurse gets an instigator penalty.
And animus conduct, which comes.
with that an automatic
an automatic suspension
well it's an automatic because it was
in the last five minutes of the game
yeah so here it's
yeah so here it comes here this is going to be
there's big Bukestead
your buddy
who's what easy
and now here comes nurse
into the fray
he kind of comes at
he's not asking he's telling they both dropped the gloves
I don't know if
I just wish they had to give him
the instigator like I'm surprised
they gave him the instigator.
Well, they don't see it.
He comes in to...
Well, he came a long way.
The rules in place
for this not to happen, right?
That's the thing.
But it's also
interpretable by the refs a little bit.
Like, if they don't call that instigator,
any of us
wound up about it?
No.
You know what I mean?
Just don't call it.
You think about the Boston series
when Kachuk was doing that stuff
in the final minute of the get,
it always happens.
It's not.
as though you had a player who was
had his gloves on it was trying not to fight
yeah that's a dumb penalty I can't believe they call
that instigator to be honest
I mean it's
now that also be on it is what it is right like he's not
I think is how far did you travel
how far like it by the rule of law
that's the right call it's just
it's like getting pulled over like
the ref can knock off
a few kilometers on your speeding
It just don't say they were scuffling and it wasn't an instigator and they fought and let's move on.
I would think that's easier.
Dozens.
I think there's dozens of situations where you see players skate into a scrum like that and then things happen and it's never called it.
It was why it was so crazy coming out of the All Star break that you got an instigator given to Tanna when he went up to Truba after the heavy hit.
His hands are down.
Truba throws a punch before, you know, Tanev's even arrived.
and it's, oh, you're going to get the instigate.
You're like, how many of these do we see a year now
and you're going to put one out there?
I mean, it kind of throws cold water in any of the conversations,
but until the league knows what a penalty is
and what a suspension and what one in two games versus the finals,
like we're just guessing.
Fucking, who knows.
They're all over the map of this shit.
Speaking of not knowing what a penalty is,
to go look at the first penalty.
Theodore's first penalty for slashing.
It's a, on McDavid.
It's a joke.
The team with the 60% power play?
Yeah, early on McDavid loses the puck
And Theodore kind of taps at him a little bit
I don't think he actually touched them even
Like two minutes for slash
It's like what?
What are you talking about?
They weren't very good.
No, that was a tough, sick couple minutes there for Shea
Theodore because he kind of turns the puck over
And the Oilers make it one nothing
And then he takes the slashing penalty
and of course
he took the slashing penalty
oh took the slashing penalty
turned it over
get scored on
and then I think he took
another penalty
yeah he had two minors
in the first seven and a half minutes
and this thing was over at what
the 13 minute mark
it was three nothing
yeah
yeah pretty much
pretty much
so and I know that
we had the graphic of the scores
through the first four games
because now this thing's tied up
at two apiece
they'll go to Vegas for game
five on Friday
um
Try and predict it.
Try and figure out which Seattle and Dallas have been the same.
64-5-1-4-1.
So somebody swept somebody, right?
And a bad team against the really good team.
No, two, two.
Best of three.
It's been the story of the second round outside of Toronto and Florida.
There's just been a lot of lopsided games.
Weird.
So it's the New World Rett.
high scoring.
It might not be, though.
It might just be a weird round.
Like there wasn't a lot of this in round one.
There wasn't.
Like there was a lot of close games.
A shit ton of overtime.
No sweeps.
Like this,
it just feels like the second round's drunk.
But scoring was, I mean, scoring.
We had one of the highest scoring seasons in history.
Yeah, I'm not saying scorn is not down.
I'm saying blowouts are up here in this round.
There won a lot of blowouts in around.
Aside from Bobrovsky, nobody's talking about any goaltenders.
Yeah, it's true.
Ottinger's been, whoa, bad.
You've seen a lot of them.
Toronto in a bad way, right?
Yeah, Skinner gets pulled.
Is there a team?
Seattle, it's been Gruber the entire way.
I was thinking, I was thinking, is there a team where we haven't seen both did it?
Yeah, we've seen everybody's goalies then, right?
I think even Wedgwood got in.
Yeah.
Yes, he did.
Like in terms of whoever's left here, Campbell's come in.
Vegas has played, yeah.
We haven't seen John Quick yet, but they've used two other.
guys.
Yeah.
So there we go.
What's your vibe
now moving forward?
With the Edmonton series?
I still think Edmonton's going to pull it out
because I think when it gets down to,
I mean, I don't think
I almost give
goaltending advantage to Edmonton.
I have to. Now, that could be debated,
right? Sure.
And I think their offensive talent is better.
So I picked them to win.
I think they're going to win.
I just don't see.
I think they've had a couple of flat games.
Yeah.
But I don't think that if it happens again, I'd be surprised.
Yeah, unless the whistles go away.
It's going to be real tough for Vegas.
They've been rock solid five on five,
but you can't be spotting Emmington leads.
Like last night, you look at that,
a lotter in the third,
but you can't be giving that team four power plays in the first.
40 minutes.
Six power plays in the night?
Curtains.
It was over.
You're right.
It was just by the time,
it was 3-0 in the first period.
You can move on.
I don't know what.
We haven't heard a lot about the TV ratings.
I guess in the first round,
I always hear that shit from ESPN and SportsCEN about.
I just can't imagine that these blowouts are good for people watching games are hanging in.
But if we get, you know, games six and seven and they're good,
that could be really good, and it means there's seven games, not four, so we'll see.
Can we fix it?
If you get a Toronto, Florida game seven, that will be the highest rated hockey game we'll probably have had in the last decade.
Like that's your biggest hockey market on the verge of only the fifth time ever a team could come back from 3-0,
but there's a long way to go to get there.
Mother's Day this weekend, Vina Nova, we've been telling you about it for a while.
We'll tell it until we're blue in the face.
We're going to tell you about Vena Nova, Calgary's only, lab-grown diamond specialist.
That's the only store in Calgary that specializes exclusively in lab-grown diamonds.
You don't need to walk in there and be, well, which ones are these?
Which is the?
Because the fat guy always tells us about how great lab-grown diamonds are.
Same composition and structure as a natural earth-mine diamond savings up to 80% compared to what you'll pay for mined diamonds.
If you want something special, you want to custom design something, you can do that.
It takes, you know, four or five weeks to get that done.
So plan ahead.
And yes, spring engagement season, but more pressing is this weekend is Mother's Day.
Still time for you to head to that location, downtown, second avenue, a second level of Stephen Avenue place.
Or go online and take a look around Viena Nova.com.
I just know for myself when I took the woman that I live with.
Your roommate.
When we went to Vina, she was pumped.
So I know we love having that element of surprise when you give a gift.
She was as Jack
Just with the anticipation of going to this store and taking a look around and seeing all of this stuff
So
It's not the worst thing in the world to do a hey, we're going to Vina Nova kind of a gift
That's the surprise
How nice is that?
Wake up right in the card say hey, I got an disappointment down at Vena Nova. Let's go
Yeah then she just pat patted me on the head and sent me off to go do my own
my own stuff.
Carry on.
That's great.
Thanks for the ride.
I'll take over from here.
Vena Nova Calgary's
lab grown diamond specialists.
I don't want to steal
too much of your thunder
because there's some other stuff.
Obviously there's news coming out of Philly
today.
There's Seraveli stirring the pot
in Calgary.
I don't have that.
If you want to talk about that,
that'd be interesting.
Okay.
Frank Saravelli,
who is our NHL
insider fired out a tweet, I guess it was this morning, reading, why hasn't Brad
to Living's name popped up for front office job openings? Teams are interested.
Sources say early indication his flames do not plan to permit Trilliving to interview for
vacancies until after his contract expires on June 30th. We will see if that changes.
Yeah, and some important context is I was kind of generally speaking when this
situation. I was curious what that was going to be.
because generally if you're...
Not working here.
When you're fired,
they've decided to move on with you,
so they're going to let you go and do your own thing.
Here, he was offered the job,
chose not to take it.
There's a mutual you parted ways.
Yeah.
I mean, it feels petty, if that is indeed the case.
I just...
It's unfortunate if that's the case, for sure.
I'm going to ignore it and pretend that it isn't true.
if that's on that report.
Certainly they wouldn't act that way.
Frank's typically right.
Frank doesn't know that Sarah Valley is way off in this report.
I'm hoping he's been fed bad info.
He would never repeat make up bullshit on his own.
But I'm just,
I'm going to keep my fingers crossed that that is not true.
Yeah, I think we're used to seeing the scenario that you later, Dean,
which is a guy that's been fired.
And at that point, it's like, well, he's not working here.
Like, do you want to do the guy a solid and allow him to try to get another job?
Like, be good to a human.
It's a little different because he didn't sign a contract that was extended to him.
But I'm seeing people on Twitter with like, oh, no, he knows what the flames are doing this off season.
It's like, they haven't hired the GM.
Their amateur scouting meetings are two weeks.
Like, what massive piece of intel is he going to like, ooh, I'm going to tell them?
And we see guys move all the time where it's like, okay, well, you.
You just can't share draft until.
They're not even that far down the line.
Like, what's he going to tell someone?
Elias Lindholm didn't like Darrell Sutter.
They've seven free agents this year.
Like, I don't really get that take here.
There's a young goalie.
Yeah.
Oh, they've got a possible goalie.
I don't really get that.
They've got a couple guys on some really bad contracts.
I don't know who signed them to those contracts.
They're paying some guys too much right now.
There's a couple in particular that you're going to want to
try and get off the bugs.
I'm not supposed to tell you this.
But they've got a certain number of dollars
allocate to the cap next year.
Yeah, it's on a website.
Everyone knows what their cap it is, yeah.
But look,
one of the common complaints you'll hear.
They should.
The hitman should have taken a gildless kid.
It's rat spreading these.
They just messed up.
You can't believe what a mess it is
over there.
I hope for Trees case that something happens there, right?
It hates seeing a guy, I wait a whole year, right?
There's only 32 teams.
There's only so many vacancies in terms of general manager spots.
One has been filled, as expected in Philadelphia.
We'll hear in the Pinder report, I'm guessing, on that.
Yep.
Not a lot of them out there, fellas.
Yeah, Pittsburgh's still there, and then we'll see what the fallout is.
I think Toronto is a curious spot to watch if, you know, that series doesn't turn around more than it has.
We'll see some other stuff than potentially.
But what you'd like to see is an organization that values people that have, you know, worked hard for the organization and put the organization first.
And never at any point did I feel like Bradshaw Living was not doing his best for the organization here.
He wasn't setting up his next job and doing bad by the organization.
he was doing well by the organization,
even understanding he might not be here.
It doesn't feel like that's being reciprocated here,
and that's a shame because, you know,
you can question some moves and decisions
and signings and things,
but I don't think anyone would question his, you know,
work and dedication to the organization
and is near decade here.
Not a good luck.
I agree.
It's not a good, if it's true, it's not a great.
I'm with Brett.
I hope it's not the case.
I hope it's not true.
Sarvelli doesn't know what he's talking about.
It's not a good look at that.
See, I've dealt with a lot of stupid today.
I've dealt with a lot of stupid today.
You have.
More stupid than we need in the day.
So Village Honda, located in the Northwest Auto Mall, dig up.
VillageHonda.com is the website.
They are continuing to pay top dollars for your used vehicle.
They've got a million dollars to do it.
Sell them that vehicle of yours and get a tropical cruise for two.
Where's the downside here?
Find out more at village honda.com as Village Honda brings you the Pinder report.
Fellas, it's Ranglers game day down at the Scotia Bank Saddle.
Don't play off.
Hockey, let's go.
Game one between the Coachella Valley Firebirds and the Calgary Ranglers,
the top two teams in the American League.
Remember, it was that last weekend of the season to determine who would have the one seed
through the entire H.L playoffs between these two very clubs that will meet in the Best of Five Pacific Division Final.
You want a little more intel.
there's Mike Gold's article up on flamesnation.ca.
A little how do we get here?
What are we looking at?
A great season series between these two.
The Firebirds won the first two games in Calgary Ranglers history at the dome.
And then later on in the season series,
Wranglers did quite well,
wanting, I believe, a pair on the road late to help solidify top spot in the league.
7.05 puck drop tonight.
Retro, game one and two in Calgary.
games three, four.
Out of that grand total of five max, right?
Yeah.
So they'll either have two of three, two of four, or two of five.
We shall see how this goes.
It's funny.
You don't like it.
A lot of people don't like it.
I don't really understand necessarily what the logic tree is on deciding whether you want the first or the last.
Mitch Love says we're good at home and the road.
Pick your poison.
But it's like, no, Mitch, you're picking.
No one else is picking.
They don't pick the poison.
You get to pick which poison.
You're picking the home two poisons first.
This opportunity has been extended over 20 times in the HL.
Only the Calgary Ranglers have chosen the first two at home.
They're two and O one doing it.
Interesting.
I'm more appalled at the fact that it's a five-game series.
Yeah, well, and that's beyond anyone in CSCC's decision-making.
That's an HL thing.
So it does feel a lot, doesn't it?
But to that point, just because it's, yeah.
I wonder what the American Hockey League is thinking on that.
It's not a play-in round, right?
It's round three.
This is a semi-final.
It is a quarter-final.
So the winner will move on to play the winner of Austin and Milwaukee.
And then on the other side of the bracket,
you will have the winner of Hershey and Hartford playing the winner of Toronto and Rochester.
So there are eight teams left.
They all get started this weekend.
They're all best of five.
I would imagine the conference finals are best of sevens
and the finals are best to seven.
But this league is always changing its playoff format and things.
It used to be best of sevens right out of the gate.
No, it's not.
I don't get it.
Come on, AHL.
Come on, Dave Andrews or whoever it is now.
Yeah.
Come on Dave.
Not Dave anymore.
I'm going to do.
Get down there.
Drink some beer.
Nachos.
Double butter.
I was going to bring up the Joe,
Gintla thing, but that's clearly not news
at all today. So we'll move along to
Today is the day
of Bantam draft. He gets selected
by the Eampton O'Kings one pick
after the Calgary Hitman selected Noah
Cossack. Interestingly, Cossack has
NCAA options. So they
might have taken a kid that goes to college
one pick ahead of Joggin.
That would make you even matter, Red.
Now, he may come and be a superstar.
There's lots to unfold here.
At 112.
Joe's going on the Western League route.
Yeah, I would think he is.
From the start.
Next up, I've got some reading material for your, Rhett.
How's your French?
Janky.
Well, get ready for a janky read.
This is Jonathan Huberto's autobiography,
expected to hit shelves this summer.
Oh, for Christ's sakes.
I'm done.
I just have to be done.
I can't go anymore today.
I've had so much to be.
I didn't pack my kids a lunch because we woke up late,
And I'm like, I'm just going to get them a sub and I'll drop it off at the school.
I walked out in.
I said, I got lunch for the boys.
And they told me, you can't have, you can't bring outside food into the school.
I gave them a blank look and a stare.
And I said, just, just sign them out.
I'm done.
Just give them to me.
We're leaving.
I can't do any more stupid today.
I have to.
I'm done.
I'm out.
What kind of subs were they?
Meatball, pizza, and the BMT.
Oh, so good.
And I got the meals, the chips and the drink.
Wow.
I was trying to be a good dad.
So where are they now?
What if you told them?
Outside.
I didn't even, I didn't bother saying it's all outside food.
It's in their lunch kit.
Yeah.
I own a subway.
That's my kitchen.
bother. I stopped. I just, I didn't bother because I thought this is, this is going nowhere. I had a
nice, long, silent, disdainful stare. Yeah. Just, just give them to me. Clearly, if you're
teaching them something, there's nothing to be learned. Let's just, we'll take them. Some pickleball.
It'll be great. So, look forward to that hitting shelves, Red. Let's go to the end of
The NHL last night.
Mother's Day.
Mother's Day.
That's a great reason.
Does your mom speak French?
So why did that push you over the edge?
What is it about a Jonathan?
Don't Dean.
Don't play dumb with him.
He's not doing any more stupid today.
Okay?
There's too much already.
It's not like even if there's a cafeteria at the school,
the thought would be that they're bringing food in to the cafeteria and then serving.
And it's not as though they're grinding up frigging wheat and in the,
the back to make flour to bake bread.
Like I think that probably all the food is outside food, to your point, Red.
I'm with you.
That's stupid.
But Jonathan Huberdow has quite a tale to tell, I would think, over his years in the
National Hockey League.
Perhaps I'm underestimating much like Noah Kosick in his great 13-year-old year in BC.
Maybe I'm the stupid one.
I don't know.
But I hope you get a copy, Dean, and read it.
And let me know what it's like because go, John.
I'm excited about some poor Google translated paragraphs.
I'm very excited about it.
What does that mean?
That's him.
I think it's, this is my story.
It can tell you about me.
It's going to be about him.
I hope it's a good.
I hope it's a good.
I hope it's a top,
bestseller.
Hit the bestseller list.
Page Turner, yeah.
I'd like to see the last chapter what that says.
Okay.
So last night, Rhett,
the story of last night.
A low-scoring game and a two unders.
So don't include me.
I told you.
Two unders.
Brett's done.
He's done with stupid.
There's your results.
A couple things to note.
You're going to like this, Red.
Huge game for the Panthers.
Chance to sweep the Leafs.
Embarrass this huge hockey market.
Let's show Florida hockey matters.
Pre-game warm-ups.
We got a huge flag.
We're going to zip it around the building.
Let's go Panteros.
Oh.
there.
They see more
going as
well as
we'd hoped it was going.
How much did we pay
for this thing?
Yeah, there's a lot of people
not in their seats.
I think they know
it's a playoff game there, Rhett.
And look, this is maybe the fourth.
I can't believe you talked
me into spending
seven grand on this huge flag.
Yeah.
What a waste of seven grand.
It's going to be great.
The place will be rocking.
The way we go.
Did you see?
I don't know what the feed was up there,
but they showed
the owner after the Panthers scored
and he was not overly ecstatic.
It was kind of like, yay.
Didn't stand up. Just kind of.
He's like one more fucking win
and I get third round gates.
Let's go, you pricks.
It is pretty nice outside.
I wonder if that's what it is.
If it's a late, not even delayed arriving,
but they got all that stuff going outside the building.
It's beautiful.
Sunsets at the beach are awesome.
I got time.
How far was that place in the beach, by the way?
I felt like we were close to the water,
didn't it?
felt like we were close to a mall.
The whole place felt like a mall.
We were not close to Miami.
No, no, close to Fort Lauderdale.
I remember that.
The announced attendance last night was, well, 19868.
That's a big building.
They just put the flag in the wrong spot.
It's like California.
They're late to arrive.
It's a long drive out to sunrise.
Yes, it's this trendy new sport called hockey.
That was a bad omen for the Panthers.
They lose.
Leafs are still alive. Game 6 in Toronto.
Cheapest seat in the house.
Visual impediment in the way, Rhett?
Like a speaker in the way or something?
$329,000 Canadian.
Not as bad as I thought.
So we'll see you there.
Let's go.
Let's go.
You're in.
The real talking point from last night, we talked about it a little already.
This is the Alex Petrangelo slash on playoff alpha.
Leon Drysitle.
Ha, wango.
Okay.
Right on the wrist.
now Leon falls down but then immediately gets up and starts laughing it off.
Faker.
Made sure the arm got up.
There was no doubt that was going to get called.
And so the question is, what do we get?
Well, before we get there, let's show the hit that had Patrangelo pissed.
This was a little bit earlier.
This was the captain coming to Leon's.
I'm going to help you, Leon.
Then he's like, okay, zebras, get in here.
Come on now.
Come on now.
I don't actually have to fight.
And look at this laughing.
Like, that didn't even hurt.
He's like, I can't believe that.
That paint shot all the way to my feet, and I fell down from that slash across my forearms.
That's right.
Tricle-down effects on that.
So we'll go to the next clip.
This is the hit.
This is why he's mad.
He's turning, but he also gets headfirst into the deck.
Don't know that.
It certainly wasn't justify anything, but it explains why he's pissed.
Next video.
Was that not called?
No.
I don't think of it was.
Watch the stripes.
These stripes, like.
Well, especially when you talk about it was soft, the first.
That is, yeah.
Like, it's, and it directly leads to a scoring chance.
Like, what the fuck are you doing?
Who broke their neck in the first round?
Cogliano.
Like, what?
And I believe that's on an oiler power play.
Correct.
It was the easiest chance to raise your honor in the history of the sport, and they didn't.
It led to a scoring chance.
It was already an odd man situation, five on four the other way.
It was a great chance to even them up.
And a guy could have been, you know, broken neck.
But sure, no call there.
You know what it is?
the refs hate Alex Petrangelo.
It's got to be the only thing I can explain it all.
Either that or maybe this league isn't good at, you know, officiating.
Or Department of Play Safety shit.
Huge asshole.
Here's the Heat Daddy.
Always good to get a take from one of Twitter's bright minds.
Heat Daddy 69-420 says if I'm Peter Angelo and Kane just cross-checked me from behind,
three feet from the boards, no call.
I'd try to chop someone's arm off too.
Honestly, that's just all-time hockey.
He's not wrong.
The question is, how does new-time hockey interpret what's happening?
So I throw a couple together just to show you how bad the league is at this
and how impossible it is to guess at what the hell's going to happen.
Here's Ryan Hartman on Rasmus Anderson after a whistle.
So this is tweet, plays over.
Wang.
Intent, aim, two hands.
His second hand's lower down the stick here.
This legit cut from Hartman.
and Rasmus is clearly like you son of a
and, well, you get a penalty.
And then he punched someone in the face,
got the double minor.
But it's like, you know, there's the punch.
Like, Ryan Hartman got five grand for that.
That's a parking ticket.
So I guess the league's okay with that, right?
We're not really discouraging it if it's just 5K.
So that tells me no way could darnel nurse.
No way could Alex Petrangelo get suspended if that's not even called.
That was after the whistle intent to injure.
like that that's a regular season game.
It's not even nearly as valuable as being suspended for a postseason game.
Now the flip side is that here's Brendan Dillon.
This is 2017 and this is a very similar motion to the one we saw from Petangelo.
Whoop, I'm falling over the top, thunk, but it's right on the glove and that got a game.
So until someone at the league actually can tell me they know what the hell they're doing,
we're just guessing.
Hey, it's spin the wheel.
5K0 games one game 5K 0K1 game like good luck ready for outrage because no matter what you do
it's not going to match with shit you've done prior stupid everywhere ryan too much stupid today right
too much stupid here's tonight's action we'll look at the slate as uh yeah we still got some
games going on uh what do we got what do we got what do we got Carolina can be the first team
to punch their ticket to the final four they've quietly done that what i think uh
Four years ago, they were a conference finalist?
Not eight, no.
But round three, you'd be quite a feat for a team missing, Svechnikov and Patcher Ready.
What's that?
Like, 75 goals?
And Tara Vinen.
80 goals, 90, 100.
Like, this has been quite a masterclass put on by Rod Brindamore's side,
quickly dispatching of their first round foes of the Islanders,
and could be quickly with the Devils as well.
They're up 3-1.
I friggin't love Rod Rindam.
He's the best.
and they almost screwed him there too.
You love that guy.
Taking way under market.
They don't deserve Rod Brindamore.
I'm saying that right now.
That market, that owner, that team does not deserve wrong.
He's loyal as hell and he's abused.
He's Carolina's Jerome McGinn.
That's right.
They better draft his kid.
Hurricanes wouldn't pass on Brindamore's kid.
They didn't draft him.
He actually was signed as a free agent and it's going to play for Sharma.
This is the situation arose.
I don't think Carol did the Trump.
He's a cup and he stayed there and he's committed.
He loves the city. He came back.
Yeah.
Do the Carolina Hurricanes own a junior hockey team or a college team?
No, I don't think they do.
That's right.
I'm sure.
And they own an HL team and they signed.
We've got a best to screw it up.
The Seattle's are in Dallas tonight.
This series has been back and forth, back and forth, back and forth.
We'll see if we get a competitive game.
History would say no.
That's 730.
There's your slate.
We'll revisit in our Betway bets of the day, I'm sure.
Anything else that you'd like to talk about.
and more of Jerome McGillow, the flames of the Carolina Hurricanes.
Hopefully this game between the Hurricanes and Devils is not decided by five.
Would be good.
It would be great if we didn't have an 8-4, a 5-1, a 6-1, or a 5-1.
That'd be great.
I'd like it to not end already.
Yeah, that'd be nice.
We're going to get into that area where we're just not going to have games on.
It's not.
It's done.
Dino, you know what we need?
We need low-scrower.
scoring overtime tonight.
That could save the series.
About three overtimes. Let's have a...
Oh, yeah. It's early start. That's right.
Yes. Yes.
Come on. Yes. Triple overtime.
Let's go.
Yeah, let's go. And then...
The Pantarros were down three to one.
Let's go.
Exactly. It's happened already. It can't happen again in the same playoff season.
The proof of something existing means it can't ever happen.
So, we got some news out of Philly.
This is, I don't know how Rhett feels about it.
This is great.
This is former players, but it's also an organization that feels to me like they,
they're not really interested in doing the internal audit of how should we run our business and have a plan.
Keith Jones has been named the president, lovely guy, great broadcaster, amazing player.
Everyone loves Keith Jones.
And Daniel Breyer, who was the interim, is now on full time as GM.
They've removed the interim tag.
The Flyers are taking some heat for this, not because these are bad individuals,
of course, because they're great guys and everyone loves them and they played for the team.
But I think people are looking for a substantial change of philosophy in Philly.
And I don't know that these hires represent that.
Fellas, what are you seeing here?
Well, how do you know?
First of all, more stupid because Pinder hates ex players getting handed anything.
I just said I love these two guys.
They can't, no.
You said you like them, but you question their abilities, which is fine.
Go ahead.
If they are smart, they'll do a smart.
thing and hire people in positions where they're not good.
Right.
Surround yourself with good people.
Good things can happen.
And to criticize their plan, how the F do we know what their plan is?
Yeah.
They just got.
We were criticizing the plan the flyers have had the last decade.
And I was, I was asking, does this reflect a change in plan for you or not?
I don't know.
I'm not the owner because I didn't interview that, but I got to think.
think that they had some sort of idea what they were going to do.
I had heard kind of the understanding was that even if Danny Breer didn't get the GM job,
if they brought somebody else in,
that Breyer was still going to be in some executive mix that he would have a say in player operations or player.
So it was a general manager job then.
Right.
And I think that's part of it too, that there wasn't going to be, as a GM,
you weren't going to be able to come in and just run the team.
Pat Lafonte.
No one does it on their own.
But Breyer was going to be in this mix regardless.
The Jones one is interesting for sure.
Yeah, I'm trying to think, like, I don't know what they're asking the president to do there,
but clearly he's a man that would have everyone's here in Philadelphia that everyone knows.
The area you don't know about is what kind of experience does he have running a business
is probably worth, you know, billion and a half to two billion dollars.
Or does that not matter?
There's lots of people there that can do it.
But we don't have the answer to those things.
Isn't he just
because Threat's point
you'd have business people
that worry about the financial side
you're on hockey operations
and I think the point you made there
Philly is a tough town
they're a loyal town
they want their own
which is why we always talked about
Rick Tocke's got to go back there
I mean Bobby Clark went back there
and it doesn't mean it works
but the one thing that Keith Jones has
is he's been a flyer
and flyer fans will
appreciate that I would think
and then they'll rip on them
when they don't succeed
That sounds like Philly.
We hate you.
Get lost.
September 7, mark your calendar, retro.
You're busy.
We wouldn't do that.
It's a Thursday.
Just block it off.
I'm sorry if it's anyone's birthday.
We're sitting down to watch four-down football.
Let's go.
Now, this game doesn't necessarily have the sizzle that we've seen in prior season
openers, or does it?
Because didn't the Lions go on some massive heater down the stretch where they almost made the playoffs?
Shit, yeah.
Yeah.
And we get the ankle biting.
coach. Patty Mahomes and Andy,
like, yeah, okay, I'm in.
I was going to watch it anyway, man.
Yeah, all right, that's exciting.
We got a date on the calendar.
Let's work from here.
September 7.
That means our fantasy football draft,
you know, we're going to have to hold that
the sixth, the fifth, the fourth,
okay?
Okay, perfect.
And you're going to pick first overall.
Robo draft.
After the first pick of the draft,
you will proclaim this,
the worst draft ever,
because that's fucking history.
Tradition.
That's how we do it.
Last one for you, Rhett, you don't like stupid.
I'm sorry.
This is peak stupid, and this goes right into the scar tissue of some of the things you hate the most on earth.
A, tipping, and B, taxes.
Here is someone catching a pick of a bill that is highly illegal where they created a tax on the tip.
I'm sorry to do this to you today.
I'm sorry to do this to you today when you've had too much stupid.
Here's a bunch.
This is against the rules, and business owners are trying to get cheeky and sneaky.
Blame you, this is not fair.
But that's not stupid.
Can you describe to people that are just listening?
Yes, sure.
So this is a receipt from some sort of restaurant, the Jasmine Rice, spice level four, and vegetables.
It looks like a stir-frived.
There's also other things on the menu.
Your subtotal, $55.
Sales tax, $3.35.
The tip added was $4.72.
A bit of a bad tip.
That's one less than 10%.
And then they added a little tax on the tip.
So once you put your tip in, we're also going to tax that.
And you lost another 28 cents for the tip.
So that thing that we added after we paid for the meal, we're taxing that.
That is a bullshit tip.
Cheap-tipper.
And that's not stupid.
Do you get a tip tax if you actually tip?
Oh, man.
That's how you get ahead.
That is some seriously greasy behavior.
But now, is this pickup?
That's the only way that tip.
tip makes sense, right?
Like, you can't be, you can't be tipping 6%
unless someone's spitting it of food.
That's got to be takeout.
It's got to be takeout.
Got to be takeout.
We're sorry for all the stupidity,
but that'll do it for Thursday's edition
of the Pinda Report for Village Honda.
I don't know if I,
I don't know if I can go spicy level four.
That sounds,
what's the rating system?
Is that a 10?
It feels like it's out of four or five, doesn't it?
Yeah, I like,
There's a five there.
Very hot and scary.
It's got to be a five point system.
If not four.
Even with the tip tax, it's a $5.
Tip.
Get off your wallet.
You get off your wallet.
You probably tipped five and they said,
oh, actually, we're taking 6% of that tip.
It's tax.
Just make it up new taxes.
Get a report.
Presentation of Village Honda
located in the Northwest Automall online at VillageHonda.com.
Get that car of yours detailed.
Maybe mom would love to love to.
to have a beautifully, just sparkling, clean car inside and out, huh?
Get Mama's car detailed.
Starting at just 7995 detailing packages available now at your dealership for Life Village, Honda.
I like that they give you the old, because I'm stupid, that they give you the, when you're paying with the machine.
The tip?
What kind of tip?
Do you want dollars or do you want the percent?
Well, I'm going percent.
And then it gives you the, well, here's, you know, here's 10, 15.
20, whatever.
Thank you.
I hate having to sit there and do math at the table.
You know what?
Looking at you, it's like, this guy doesn't know how to do this.
You know what the greasy shit is now.
They're starting those options.
Hey, here are your tip options, Dean.
2030 or 40?
Yeah.
Other pass.
No.
Pass.
In fact, I'm going to dock you a dollar for that.
I like when they throw the tip on and don't tell you.
Have you softened your stance on tipping, Rhett?
Yeah, I've come around.
I think we caught him on the wrong day that morning.
He got some immediate feedback that wasn't so positive, I think.
We're all allowed to have bad days.
Yeah.
I think Rett's a very generous guy.
Is there a lovely tipper?
Are you free of, because as far as this day, are you going to be able to avoid stupidity for the rest of this day for the most part?
No, it lives in my home, so it's near impossible.
Well, how quick can you get out of your house?
I can't.
No.
I'm aft.
I got to dodge and duck and dive and hide out for another four hours.
Oh, my gosh.
The sounds at four hours.
And then are you driving?
You're going to take that private jet for another 12 minutes to get there.
747.
Yeah, we'll probably just drive.
St. Eugene, Golf, Resort, and Casino,
championship golf course, casino, spa, restaurants, all at one location.
That sounds like a good.
Not stupid.
Where do you have to go to get all of that?
You go to one place.
They're smart about it.
St.
Eugene, golf resort and casino.
Cranbrook, British Columbia.
There is the website.
St.
Eugene.
dot CA.
There's the 1-800 number.
Is it still a 1-800?
If it's 866,
we still call that a 1-800 number, right?
It's in the 800s for sure.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Spring swing golf package is available for a limited time.
Kind of hitting into the last week of the old
spring swing golf package. Starting at just
$259.00, you
and a friend can enjoy a one night's
day, around a golf, including a power cart,
only during the spring swing,
available until the 17th of May,
limited time. Book now. Don't miss out. Get that
reservation. And hey, listen, this is, we got
life's busy. We've got Mother's Day coming up. Maybe you can't
make it. Make it a party
your summer plans. Early summer,
right in the heart, late summer. Get out to
Cranbrook. Look how beautiful that is, dude.
That is pretty nice.
I mean, look at that place.
I'm relaxed already.
I'm feeling less stupidity around me, just looking at it.
You know, I bet you's real good there?
The air.
Oh, I bet you.
Bring a whole thing of zip locks.
Just open them, close it when we leave.
Let's go.
Take it back to Buffalo.
Mason jars, seal it up with you.
Yes.
Friday, 23, Saturday, 30, Sunday, 30.
Oh, 30.
Oh, 30.
Oh, baby.
30.
Oh, wait. Friday, 23, 23, 30, 30, 20.
There you go.
Come on.
Does that sound good when he says 30 like that to you as much as it does to me, you know?
Oh, dear.
Things are exploding here.
I feel bad for the people that aren't watching on YouTube and not just kind of looking at,
we're looking at the location, the layout.
Well, there's a green there with four green side bunkers.
And in the background, you see the clubhouse and the beautiful mountains in the background.
I believe that is the Columbus.
range as you've now entered British Columbia.
Please enjoy the air.
I've heard that the beers are ice cold.
Oh!
St. Eugene as well.
Stop it.
Ice cold.
St. Eugene.ca.
Killing me.
I wanted to call up,
just to not belabor the point on Danny Breyer and Jonesy.
Here's a look at the resume.
Now, obviously, Danny Breyer's been around.
He was the interim GM.
He's kind of, we've been using the word groomed a lot.
He's been kind of groomed for this spot.
And then when Fletcher leaves, they hand him the reins.
He has some, I don't know if you call, do you call it management experience when you're kind of learning on the job?
I guess it is.
So there you see it.
He obviously played for a great deal of time, 973 games.
for one season he was the special assistant to the general manager
while also overseeing the main mariners in the East Coast League
VP of hockey ops general manager president now he did both of those
at the same time so I guess kind of like a Brad Pascal type of a spot right where
you're an assistant this is your special assistant but Pascal is kind of running the
Wranglers that's his thing and is the AGM of the flames would that be fair to surmise
Yeah, Connie's too
Because Connie ran I believe the HL affiliate for one season
Yeah, I mean this is typically what you see in a front office structure
Is one of the AGMs will serve as the GM of the American League affiliate
You know, other guys might take on more scouting as a result
Yeah, most teams have two or three different AGMs, right?
And they split that workload, someone's got to be your capologist guy
You want someone with a strong legal background for contractual stuff somewhere in the org
Then there's a window there
between the end of the 16 season
and the start of the 2021 season,
but then two years,
special assistant to the GM once again
and served as the interim GM
here after Fletcher was gassed.
So that's his,
does that satisfy you, Rhett?
And I know you don't need to be satisfied
because you're fine with it.
I like Danny Breyer,
one of world juniors with Danny Breyer.
So I'm fine with it.
Always.
Sure.
Yeah, I think what's really important
and I think the same thing
would be true for Connie here
is what do you have surrounding this person
to put them in a spot to best have success?
Who's your capologist?
Who's the guy that does your contracts?
Maybe they're brilliant.
Maybe that's what he did during those years.
We don't know, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
And it's like, was he a great scout?
Was he amazing with numbers?
Like, we don't know these things.
I actually do know, but I can't say.
Okay.
Oh, okay.
Wow.
Now, what about Jonesy?
Because he steps right into the...
Great broadcaster.
to the top job there, President of Hockey Ops, or what Poho, as you call it, Ryan.
Pooh.
Just under 500 games and the National Hockey League as a player then has been on your television as an analyst for a significant amount of time.
You see it there from 05 to 2023, where he then said, screw you, I'm getting back in the game with the Philadelphia Flyers.
So I don't even know what that role is asked to do.
That sort of varies organization.
I was going to say, is there a, what is the criteria of being the president of home?
Yeah.
And some places it's like, okay, well, what is it?
Like, it's Ken Holland the poho in Edmonton, even though we talk about him as GM?
Is that not the case?
I'm not sure.
Either way, it's like some of these guys are running the hockey team and others are figureheads that it's their job to, you know, when Berkey was here.
Like, sure, lean on me for experience, but like Brad's running the team here.
I'm going to meet with season ticket holders and suite owners and.
we're going to be at events and make sure that when this
organizations in the community,
I'm representing them as part of,
you know, an extension of the brand as a face of it.
So I think some presidents are what we used to call GMs
and other ones are faces of the franchise in a sense.
The thing about Berkey when he was here as president of hockey ops,
he brought with him extensive experience as a general manager,
Hartford and Toronto and like he had,
or he had run teams.
He was with the NHL,
for Betman, that sort of thing.
I'm not sure what the experience, aside from being a player and then being around the game that Keith Jones has,
not to say he can't do it, because again, we don't really know what it means.
I think probably a big part is he was a flyer.
Which might be great, depending what you're asking that person to do, right?
Like that, if he has to go do all the contracts and cap work now, that's not a good resume.
But if he has to go out and chat with people in Philly and sell the brand of Flyers hockey,
it could be great.
Everyone knows who he has.
Been on TV for how long?
It's a new era of orange.
Oh, is it?
I don't know if you knew that.
It's a new era of orange.
As the Flyers put out alongside this,
I think a lot of people knew this was going to come,
but they issued this,
that's not even a press release.
It's, was it a mission statement?
What was that in,
Show Me the Money?
Philadelphia Flyers organization
was built on relentless ambition
and loyalty to this city.
Relentless.
You're playing for Philadelphia.
You're playing to Woodland.
win and you're giving it your all. That's the bottom line because when you represent this city,
nothing less is acceptable. That extends beyond the ice two. Character, sacrifice, integrity,
most importantly, resilience in every single single single. It's something. Yeah, it's a lot of
WWE promo cuts. Like I'm ready for because Stone Cold said so and loyalty, commitment and
passion like John Cena. Like, okay, we get it. It's been a shitty run and you're trying to tell
everyone you're different. We have new voices, new perspectives and new plans. But this is,
still Flyers hockey so the goal remains the same win. Welcome to a new era of orange.
Okay. I gotta say, I do like Gritty. Yeah, Gritty's been their best move and lost 15 years.
I don't know. They've done anything better than that. Does president of player hockey ops?
Do they like would that have been something that you do, bring in if they did, if they wouldn't have
fired the last person. I was going to say. I know. If they're out of cap. God, and what's crazy?
you know what, it's a good lesson for all of us.
Don't be too hasty to cast judgment.
Because when we first saw Gritty, remember he fell down and it was like,
what is this mascot?
This guy is, what are they thinking about?
Gritty.
This is terrible.
And then all of a sudden, he kind of turns things around, and now you love him.
And between he and the Philly fanatic, and I'm assuming it's a he, I don't know,
they, I'm out here to, you know, it's 2023, whatever you are.
are gritty. We love you.
But you've got the Philly fanatic and Gritty in Philadelphia.
They are crushing the mascot game.
Is there another city?
I know that, yeah, the San Diego chicken, but.
Don't hear about chicken.
Town.
What's there to do, right?
You don't even hear about it.
Yeah.
Look at that guy.
Oh, yeah.
Gritty, you're the fucking best.
He's very good.
So good.
We don't want to judge too hastily.
But this guy I just heard of that got drafted a minute to go.
I'm teasing.
Reserve judgment on things.
That's right.
Take your time, really be measured and balanced.
Especially if just a short time earlier you had mentioned,
don't overreact to anything that happens.
That's right.
Almost in the same breath, really.
I'm not excited about this job.
Whatever you do.
I can't believe there's draft.
Do not put too much stock into this draft.
What?
They did.
Who?
Think rational.
I've done.
I had too much stupid on my plate today.
Rhett, you were great today.
First star.
Green Drop, have the best looking lawn in your neighborhood.
You know what?
Yesterday I had Buzz Boss came by.
Oh, really?
When you're on the website,
greendrop.com, go and check.
You'll find the link for BuzzBoss.
It keeps all the critters and bugs and, you know,
all that stuff.
because you get into spring, things thaw out,
is that an ant-hill?
Is that what, it's that it's a bugs?
Have we got voles or what do we do?
Buzz boss.
Buzz boss will take care of you.
In terms of the lawn, it doesn't get better.
It's easier than you think.
Choose one of their lawn fertilization programs.
The beautiful basics program includes micro-nutrients,
weed control, and then you go all the way up to the beautiful,
the beautiful premium package, airation, overseeding,
the exclusive soil booster, help make your lawn healthy and lush,
all summer long.
If you're not satisfied,
they're going to make it right,
100% guaranteed.
They'll come back,
give it a look,
see,
and treat it over again
to make sure that you're satisfied
and happy, happy, happy,
visit greendrop.com.
I'll tell you what,
we had some rain here
over the last couple days.
Ooh.
You can almost hear everything growing.
Dude, I'm saying.
Bud's exploding.
It's that neon green
on all the trees right.
We're very excited here.
You know,
the long it takes for spring to get going.
Let's do our belly bets.
Let's do it.
Betway bets of the day.
Be responsible.
Get the app on your phone.
Play along with Betway.
Bet the responsible way.
There you see it.
19 or over.
Two games tonight.
I know you had now yesterday we were talking about over, over, over last night was not the night for over.
I think we get back there.
I'm taking both of the games tonight.
New Jersey, Carolina, Seattle, Dallas.
I'm doing a little parlay, taking both of them to top five and a half.
half plus 224.
Very good.
So let's go sucky goaltending.
As Rhett would say, I hope they all sieve out.
Siv out, you sieves.
And we'll go on the parley at plus 224.
It didn't hit the other night, and I don't know how it didn't,
because Carolina scored a shit ton of goals and Aho didn't have a point.
Hughes did.
I'm going back there again.
Jack Hughes, Sebastian Aahoe, both to get at least a point each plus 145 for my
betway bets today.
All right.
I like some overaction tonight as well, Dino.
I've got over five and a half goals in the Seattle Dallas game
that has been wild blowouts back and forth,
plus two points for Robo for a good old plus two hundred.
Triple your money, Red.
Other one, I also am jumping on Rope Hints
because he's been sensational this postseason for a single point,
plus the over, that pays plus money in plus 110.
That we bet to the day.
They're starting to get down on Robo a little bit.
Two goals in 10 playoff.
games for the guy who's electric as far as goals.
Well, what, New Jet 100 points this year?
He's got eight points and 10 games.
Yeah.
But there again, it's a marathon, not a sprint.
Don't rush to judgment.
Don't start crushing Jason Robertson because after 10 games, he's got two goals.
I'm sure he's not forgotten how to score.
Just give it time.
That's our message.
Just give things time.
Definitely don't rest to judgment.
Yeah.
And don't be stupid.
but we're both's fault.
And don't be stupid buses fault today.
Yeah.
That'll do it for today.
Tomorrow's a Friday show.
I'm excited for it already.
I hope to be here.
It's Friday.
So I will,
the repeating segment now on Fridays,
not just Hawaiian shirt day,
but also we're going to have our stadium fight of the week
because there's just a billion out there,
apparently, that we never knew used to happen.
So I'm going to effort to scour the internet
for a good stadium fight for tomorrow.
Like and subscribe.
Go to our, go to nationgear.ca.
Go to the Flames Nation tab.
You can find some barn burner hoodies and t-shirts.
Maybe you want one of those for mom.
I betcha that's what mom would love.
Nothing's going to get mom all saucy more than a barn burner tea.
Have her strutting around, just getting all their friends jealous.
Heat the oven.
Let's go.
Hey, heading to the back alley with your little cut that thing into a crop top.
All right.
Settle down.
Probably time to end the show.
I'll see you tomorrow.
All right.
Oilers suck.
Bye.
