Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - The Final Flames Game of 2022/23 | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: April 12, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Warrener Tuesday April 11th, 2023 - Rhett is LIVE in the Studio - The Final Flames Game of 2022/23- Flames Sh...arks Game Day - The Pinder Report for Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
So how do we feel, gentlemen?
Best day of our lives.
It's a marathon, not a sprint.
You think macro, not micro, just relax.
It's an 82 game season.
It's game 82.
We did it.
Here we are.
Or is it, do we have to see what happens tonight to must win?
I feel like this, this doesn't have a must win feel to it.
Biggest game of the year?
Have we looked, is there any possible, can they move up or down a draft slots?
potentially. Well, okay.
I saw last night they can draft as high as 14th and as low as 16.
So there's a little wiggle room.
It is a good draft class.
But it's not like, you know, that year they were playing games while the playoffs were on.
And they kept rolling out their number one, not Louis fucking Doming.
And, you know, dropped to 13.
Which interestingly is the spot they drafted Matthew Coronado who make his initial debut tonight.
Oh, okay.
Well, there it is.
Yeah, there's a standings.
You know what?
So too for the sharks, apparently.
Apparently.
they are also out of the playoff picture,
not a lot on the line for them either tonight.
So very much exhibitionist.
Yeah, that's right.
Are you an exhibitionist?
I can be.
Yeah.
Have you been?
Have been?
On occasion.
Might be again.
Do you have a particular go-to exhibitionist move?
Is that the same?
Or are you more of a voyeur?
I feel like there's a lot of those ven,
that Venn diagrams a lot overlap.
It is, hey?
Oh, yeah.
Good to know.
Yeah, good to know.
Some other words, I'm not sure.
And I don't know if I can say on the show.
It's the internet.
I can probably say it just about anything.
Hey, welcome to the show.
It's Barnburn, a presentation of Boomer, Pinder, and Warner.
That would it is?
That's right.
We put our heart and soul into it every single day.
We're here in the Tower, Criesler Studios.
And I grabbed a photo.
I saw it on the old Sosch yesterday.
I was like, isn't that nice?
Soch!
I keep telling you about the people at Tower.
Now they are the Consumer Choice Award winner,
voted Calgary's favorite,
Criesler Dodge dealer.
Talking about the champs.
And they do good things for good people.
They were a big part of our Christmas campaign.
They come back, and in the month of February, it was clothing to the mustard seed.
And this month, or at least the last four, six weeks, they have been collecting food for the food bank in support of the Owen Hart Foundation.
Look at that there.
That was yesterday.
Took the vehicles, filled them up.
That's a lot of grub.
That's a lot of grub.
It's a full couple of jeeps, if I can see properly there.
So, obviously, kudos to everybody who brought their non-perishables in that by Tower.
But awesome.
Good work.
Nikki.
Nicky and the staff going to take that over to the food bank and help out people.
And then Nicky'll be like, now what are we doing?
There's a different thing to help people.
Never satisfied.
Just like us.
Rest on your laurels.
We wouldn't do that.
Nope.
I don't even have laurels to rest on.
We're reaching for the stars out here.
Yep, I got nothing.
Rat new ideas today every day.
It's a fresh batch.
What was your idea today?
What did you have today?
Well, yesterday it was a good one.
He was telling you to move to the other side of the world and open a franchise.
Yeah, you want a franchise.
said I should move to Australia and open oil change.
Drive us on oil change, drive-thers or something.
This was our secret to drop it.
Jack, can we delete that?
Spoiler.
Take this off the podcast.
You could have just said move to Australia.
Well, we're going to, yeah, move to Australia.
You could go down under.
Well, I know that.
I think you're a Southern Hemisphere type of fella.
Am I?
I believe it would be good for you.
The stars, lots of stars.
Different constellations might set you up.
Maybe you're upside down.
why everything feels so backwards to you.
How's the humidity?
Is he glass half full?
Is he great?
Yes.
Is he glass half full upside down?
The toilet flushes the other way.
It's going the other way.
And the glass would be half up instead of half empty.
Yeah.
Let's do it.
Well, all right.
Sounds fine.
Well, the NHL's going.
I saw that yesterday.
Exactly.
Maybe they stole your idea.
I immediately texted our boy and I'm like,
you got to send us a video about this.
Yeah, we need to know.
The NHL and Austria.
Listen, you can't skid out and enjoy some sad.
How did the locals feel about the ice hockey?
coming to a...
So there is a league over there.
I believe it's called the A.I.HL,
the Australian Ice Hockey League.
And it's usually just a bunch of guys
that got spat out of the East Coast League
or done playing college and just want to go surf
and make like 400 bucks a week.
But they love violent physical sports.
I'm shocked. It's not bigger
because they do love violent physical sports.
I would think going inside to a room
that's minus 5 to minus 10 isn't really the move there.
But I agree with it.
I think it would be the move.
When you show Aussies,
hockey, like my wife's Australian, so I get the relatives.
They're like, this sport is the best.
It's like rugby on ice and you're allowed to fight.
Like with bare fists.
What's this punching each other thing? Let's do it.
Like, we're all about this.
The only thing they're trying to do is like, can we take the sleeves off?
Like, no, no, no, you need the sleeves.
You can't get cut.
Nah, that's those take them off.
Not enough mullets.
Okay, well, there used to be more.
Well, you got very excited and you jumped out in front to get your tidbit out there
about Matthew Coronado.
You couldn't wait.
You had to get a, you had to get
out there.
It was a segue.
But it's, what does the game mean tonight?
Practically nothing.
Potentially some draft order, but outside of that, not a lot.
However, don't tell Matt Coronado that.
Right.
And don't tell Dustin Wolf that.
Tonight's a very special night for these two gentlemen.
Whereas Dustin Wolf, you see there, his stats, a sparkling 41, 9, and
at the American Hockey League level
will make his NHL debut tonight.
He was goaltender of the year in the American League
last year as a rookie, which is pretty rare air.
He was goaltender of the year's last two years in the Western League,
and I'm seeing people that cover the American League
suggesting he is the favorite to win the MVP
of the American Hockey League this season.
He's been sensational.
Seven shutouts, 2.08 goals against 932 save percentage.
Dino-mite.
32 save percentage is...
Tidy. Very tidy.
Yeah.
The best goalie outside the NHL, probably him.
Seventh round pick in 2019.
And if he was 6-2, what round would he go on?
And isn't it crazy to think it doesn't feel, I don't know,
does it feel like this is something that's finally happened?
Is this the right time?
I don't know where I've, does he feel young?
Does he feel like this?
No, this is the right trajectory, the right timeline for him.
What's interesting is he was the same draft class as, if I'm correct,
as his team USA teammate in Florida, Spencer Knight,
who went top half of the first round of Florida,
that same offseason they signed Bobrovsky,
which seems like ages ago.
And Knight's been up for a while,
and Knight has shown the skill,
oh, wow, he can be really good against the city game.
Knights away from the team dealing with issues.
And Wolf, who had almost the same numbers
in all the same leagues and all the same tournaments,
but just wasn't 6364,
has had the long and slow cook development route.
I'm not here to say he's better, but I mean, the season he's had is phenomenal,
whereas I think there's probably some questions starting to rise about where Spencer Knight's at,
because he's not even with the team.
Wow, and he's six, two.
And so one guy went top 15, and the other guy went last five picks in the draft.
It's wild, isn't it?
Quit bringing it up.
No one cares who's tall or not.
Well, I don't.
I'm just saying the scouts did, clearly.
And there's still, you know, a bias there.
There should be.
You're bigger.
You take up more than that.
Yeah, no, I get it.
is it a gap of, you know, but you're making it sound like we hate, there's only,
you have to be six to play.
He's been said he's too small to play.
He'll be too small for the way.
He'll be too small in the A.
He'll be too small.
We'll figure it out.
But I don't think, this is the perfect path.
I'm glad he's,
I'm glad he's six feet and went in the seventh round.
I love that he hasn't been rushed the whole way.
And I think his attitude about it's been a.
really good. It doesn't feel like a guy who feels like he's getting screwed and he's, you know,
just dialed on the one league he's at, best goalie in it, four years in a row now, it's wild.
There's not been a better goal in him in his last four years in his life in the league he's
split it. Dumb Spencer Knight should have went to the minors for four years.
The hell is he thinking, Dean?
That's happened to you. You came up too soon.
Too soon. Didn't develop enough.
Too soon. I felt like there was some meat in the bone there. I thought you guys were going to go for a little bit.
No, I mean, there are very few short goaltenders that are elite.
We saw one the other night in UC Soros.
He's very similar in stature, and it's a good thing to see a guy like Soros succeed
because it reminds you that it can happen.
It is the outlier, to Rett's point.
There's not, you know, 15, 6-foot goalies that are being screwed by the league that aren't in there.
But it's nice to see a guy excel and be up for the Vesna last year in Soros
that is of a similar stature.
He's a...
Just be that guy.
Please.
We would move in, work with Markstrom, Markstrom leaves.
Just let's have a decade.
We said it off air this morning because our boy Jack here is a Penguins fan.
He said, man, the goal tennis has been tough this year in Pittsburgh.
And it's like, isn't it a really, really tough league when you don't get saves?
And maybe it's not Wolf, maybe it's somebody else.
But if they're going to get more saves next year, boy, that's going to make up a bit of a gap.
And there isn't much of a gap.
They'll rely on wolf to make all those.
No, but if he's part of a platoon or if he allows them to get out from some salary owed to a guy like Vlar via trade.
Any concern?
Just as a question.
Any concern that if he's not the top guy, that there's a falter?
That's a good question.
I don't think he's played less than all the games in his life.
He's been heavily reliable.
But it's also, there hasn't been a situation where he hasn't excelled either.
So concern to be too strong.
I'm definitely curious.
Like,
I think for Markstrom.
Like, if he,
like you think about the best season
Markstrom's had in his career,
it was last year with the Flames,
and it was his last year,
or second to last year in Vancouver.
The one of Vancouver,
Demko was coming,
and they knew Demko was real good,
and they didn't have to play the brakes off him,
which hasn't been an issue for him down the stretch this year for Markstrom,
but I could see you get both of these guys going next year
if Ladar is the guy that goes out,
but I feel like you have to make room for Wolf now.
He can't do,
better than he's doing in this league.
He's ready to graduate.
Is there a benefit to allowing him just to continue to play?
I got.
If you're not going to hand him, my point is, if he's there and you're not handing him
the reins, even though if he's ready, I feel like give him the reins.
Do it.
I would love to see them come into camp, and I don't know who's coaching, and that'll play
a big role, because you know how Darrell loves his one and his two.
He's not into platoons, he's not into 1A, 1B, but if there is a philosophy in place that
we're seeing around most of the league now, like, look.
at Olmark and Swayman in Boston.
They're going to win the Jennings, and I think, one guy's going to win the Vesna,
and it's like, yeah, you're going to get 50, you're going to get 30.
It's almost every other, you just alternate.
And then guys don't have to worry about getting too run down.
I guess what I would want from my perspective is if he comes in and he's playing well,
that it's a true, it's a true whoever plays better players.
I was going to say, what if he comes in and he's the best goal.
Yeah, and that's my point.
is that I don't want him to play 20 games if he's capable of playing more.
Then you're not going to like him with this coach.
Right?
I think that's what I said.
Because I think Darrell, it allows you to trade Markstrom.
Yeah, but Darrell also loves number ones that are legit number ones.
If Wolf is good.
Yeah.
What coach isn't going to love a guy regardless of age if he's the best goaltender out of the three?
Oh, for sure.
I just think that there's other guys that would be quicker to allow him to win that job than
Darrell.
That's all.
Like if he comes in once every 10 days and wins,
it's going to take longer for him to Daryl,
for him to allow to prove he's going to.
I don't know if that leads into goaltending.
Did you see Marsha this year when he struggled for like all of December
and it took a long as time for they finally gave Vladar back-to-back starts?
I don't think that was because of age though.
Well, it's proven.
I mean, in his mind, have you proven yourself at this level?
Like when Vladar...
But it's very easy to prove yourself, I think, as a goaltender when you play a game.
You play well.
Do you remember when it was a month between starts last season for Vlodar?
And you're like, he's getting great.
But Markstrom was tremendous last season.
Right.
And it was like you're on a back-to-back ahead of the All-Star break,
two games and two nights on the road.
And you're using Markstrom.
I just because Markham was playing well.
And so was Vlard.
He was great last year at that time.
Anyway, I just think,
if I'm going to get out to dry suggesting that Daryl
slightly prefers vets to rookies,
like nail me to the wall.
I think it's going to be harder to win over this coach than most others.
That's all.
I'm done with the sacrifice of Daryl Sutter, though.
Like, we can be critical of them to hang everything on the franchise.
It feels like that's the word in the street.
And that's just the only way to answer things is,
Darryl Sutter, he's an idiot.
Shoot him to the moon.
I have been critical of them.
We all have.
It's a rightfully so situation.
But to hang every aspect of what could and may go wrong on Daryl's,
Sutter isn't is bullshit.
Of course.
Yeah.
And we said it the other day.
There's lots of blood on a lot of people's hands.
The owner, the GM, the coach, the leadership group, the players.
Dustin Wolf won't be any good because of Daryl Sutter.
No, that's overstating it.
I think there might be a better opportunity for him if there's a different coach.
That's all I'm saying.
Like if Mitch loves coaching this team next year, do you think he needs to be won over like
Daryl does?
But do you think Daryl's ready to be won over by a goalie after this season?
Could be.
Yeah.
Please come in and play well.
for me. And to be fair, like, to your point, if it's clear, Wolf's their best guy in camp.
And that's what we're saying in this scenario. If Wolf comes in and is clearly the best guy,
he's now 21 turning 22, he's not, you know, it's not like you're rushing him. He's cooked.
He's been at the HL level. He's played big, high leverage. Like, he's done all of it by now.
He's going to have a playoff run here. I could still see Daryl saying, oh, it's game one.
Markstrom goes, right? Like, it's, sure, but you want him to be the one down the road. No question.
How long does it take? We haven't seen him play a game in this.
League. How does he perform at this level? I think that's the most important point is to say,
okay, come in. The door's open. Not the doors open, Markstrom. See, it would, I would, it would be a
different situation for me, how would it go out if, if Markstrom was really good this year? And then you
have this kid who's really good. Yeah. Should he be playing? Maybe he's good enough to play,
but you'll also have Markstrom, who's very good. I don't know. I, what have you seen the last 24 games from
Markstrom where he's played in 23 of them?
looks more like himself, right?
Yeah, but that becomes the issue, right?
Is that I don't, we're playing the,
if Wolf looks good enough to be a number one scenario,
what do you do with your goaltending?
And I don't know if it's a friendly,
are they playing splitsies?
I don't think either one of them wants to do that.
I mean, Wolf would take that over an AHL assignment.
Again, I thought Markham was great with him and Jimco.
Are you, is he have a no trade, Markstrom?
Yeah, I think so.
Yeah.
Like are you cap, in a cap situation where if you get a vibe or you think Wolf is the answer and can handle it in a tandem with a Vlodar or something like that, are you in a situation where you can maximize a return on Markststri?
I was going to ask you.
I was going to get to put your GM hat on because we've had this kind of conversation with other veterans or whatever.
again, if Wolf looks, if everything just continues the same and who knows what kind of playoff run, God, if he goes on a hell of a run here, then it's even more so.
But I don't know, is there a Markstrom trade that could be made in the off season?
Are you, are you kind of clenching a little bit and rolling the dice if that's the case?
Do you have enough faith in Vladar that if Wolf isn't ready that he can handle the load?
Markstrom has three years left at $6 million.
He has a no move.
And I'm very much not sure what the market would bear from.
Are people believing that sample at the end of the season post childbirth?
Are people more concerned about the four months that he looked fucking awful?
I think he'll find a team in the playoffs that goes, we need a goal.
We need a goal.
And maybe you have to eat a million or two, but you can get more in a return.
If you get rid of Marksham, you're opening up a lot of cap space.
And this team's already over the cap.
Now, Vladar makes two and three quarters next year on a two-year deal.
And that's the type of deal that teams have had a lot of success with this year.
You look at Vanichick going to New Jersey.
It was like, oh, he's kind of a backup.
Maybe there's more there.
Samsonov in Toronto, backup, minimal money or media money.
Maybe there's more there.
That might be the more marketable asset.
But to your guys' point, if you can free up $6 million, like, whew.
See, this is the funny part I have.
Pinder makes awesome points.
He looks into it.
But the Markstrom situation is exactly the same as what we argued about with Huberto yesterday.
where I thought these guys were highly regarded around the league,
and now we can't move them for what we're paying them.
Well, I mean, Marx was coming off the worst year of his career.
I don't think the contract.
But the rest of the league also saw the year before and his career
and the last 25 games.
Yep, which is why I don't think it's hard and fast that it's bad or good.
I think it would be interesting to see whether it's a market for.
I know, but you're saying that he's a very difficult asset to move.
So to me, that's like I thought we had a Vesna-caliber goaltender,
and most teams in the league would be interested in that sort of goal tender.
I'd say it'd be difficult to move.
I just don't know what the market is from.
Like, I'm sure there's a few GMs that really like them.
I'm sure there's a few that would say,
eh, age, money.
Like, goalies, like Carolina is just going to say,
we don't pay goalies six.
Like, we're going to go find short-term, medium money.
That's our philosophy on goal-tining.
Well, we'll buy low on bad years.
We're not going to buy high.
Well, we talked about it before the show.
What about a team like Pittsburgh?
Yeah.
Jari is probably not coming back,
potentially not coming back.
If they miss the playoffs here,
and if the flames eat some money or what it's three years.
Yeah.
Burke knows him I believe once there
Are there? Maybe not, maybe Burke was gone back. Either way, it just popped into my head. I'm with you. I think that
You need to have the need for a goalie
And then have the cap space, the financial wherewithal, and then the assets to get a trade done. And then if you're
Do you want to move? If you're Calgary, yeah, and you got, Marxem's going to want to go there and you got it all of it. There's a lot. But I think the Huberto situation is different because it's so much more money and so much more term.
And he shit is the bed this.
Yeah, yeah.
And we saw it yesterday.
No one's had a worse one year to the next.
And you can buy out of Markstrom's last year of his deal if you want.
You can't buy out that Hebrido deal.
Like it's all signing bonus money.
He's making like a million bucks a year in salary.
That's all you get relief from the salary.
So you're stuck paying July 1 bonuses of $8, $9 million a year for the rest of time.
You can't get out of it.
If it goes completely sideways, you can buy out most players in this league.
The only contract the Flames has ever written.
It's essentially bio-proof.
You ever done that?
Spent a bunch of money on something and then kind of regretted it
and realized I'm not getting...
I could try and sell this thing,
but I'm not getting my money back.
I just gave it away.
It was a dog.
What sucker took that on?
I feel like Rott's got a few of these on each side of the way.
I'm appalled at the fact that it's the worst contract in the world now.
Huberto's.
Oh, that's the greatest thing we sign.
But you know what?
Yay!
Because remember at the time,
and you know what,
it's another one of those things where
when you get into the mindset,
I'm going to spend $500,000 on a house.
Well, this one's $575.
Ooh, that's a lot.
Well, maybe that was $5.70.
That one's six and a quarter.
Well, we were already talking about $575.
So now $6.25.
Well, you know, it's kind of one of those things.
Because if you go back, remember,
you were given somebody 10.
Cachach, Johnny,
Huber.
somebody take 10.
Which guy would you rather have for 10?
We're spending 10.
Well, why are you spending 10?
Well, because we were talking about having to spend the budget.
Well, and to be fair, at the end of last season,
when you saw Huberto with 115 points in Johnny Goddrow,
who would you rather have?
I don't know that it's like, oh, you got to take this guy.
And everyone was comfy given Johnny 10 and a half here.
He was playing on the top line in the NHL.
They were fucking unbeatable at even strength.
He was running the power play.
He eliminated Dallas in game 7.
And so if you're going to tell me,
we knew that Huberto was a fraction of the player at Godro
and he didn't earn that money.
Okay, it's idiotic.
But I also think that he was not a 55 point forward move forward.
I think he's going to be better than that.
This is about as bad as it could go for him, right?
Just like Daryl's, he's not this, he hasn't forgotten how to coach.
So why are you convinced of that and the rest of the league wouldn't be interested in?
Because of the structure of the contract, signing bonus money.
Even if you get an 80 point player.
So we're the only, well, nobody saw I'm going to 55 points, right?
You could question how the fit was going to be.
wonder about all kinds of things. You could. Absolutely. That's what I'm getting at.
Sure. That's what I'm getting at. Well, and so the reason they got that is because this organization was
worried about optics and they said, we got to punch back. We're not going to allow, you know,
this city to get besmirched. And Alan Walsh had him over the fucking fire and said,
we'll sign long term now. Here's what it has to look like. I just, I'm quite positive.
I said this was a shitty idea from the start. Anyway. You were very skeptical.
of extending before seeing the guys.
For sure you were.
And there too.
At the time, you just had two superstar players essentially say,
we're not coming back to Calgary.
And then you found another superstar player who was willing.
Who was willing to state for a lot of money,
but it's the same money that probably Cachuk said no to
or would have said no to and Codro essentially said no to.
Yep.
It wasn't crazy to think that he could be as good as Codra or Cich.
You're not wrong.
At the time, I said, hey, well done.
you got up off of the mat, you lost two superstars,
Hubert was a superstar,
you were prepared to pay that kind of money.
Let's go, drop the puck.
And if it's back to being a superstar,
there's not a lot of issues here,
and that can be something that's marketable.
The question becomes,
how do you go from 115 to 55, 57,
wherever he's going to finish?
And if whatever happened is,
we can figure that out and reverse engineer it,
can you get back to being a superstar?
And when you watch a guy have the worst year,
of his career, it's really hard to imagine them being a star again.
Think about Jeff Skinner on the fourth line with Ralph Kruger and Buffalo.
Yeah.
And so I'm not saying it's going to happen.
I'm just saying right now is the hardest time to imagine Jonathan Huberto being a superstar
again because you've just watched the worst season he's ever had.
Also tonight, mentioned earlier, we are expecting now we know that Wolf is going to play
and we also expect that Matthew Coronado will make his NHL debut.
See, that playoff chase, if they were in for the playoffs, if tonight's game,
meant something, Coronado's probably not getting in.
So it's all for the best.
That's the tradesese we'd do? Yeah.
Oh, sure. That's one game for sure. Why do you want to seat at the table? Why do you want
to take it to the dance when you could have one game?
The guy I've never met. Uh, yes, Matthew.
Yeah, eyebrows, though. Good eyebrows. That does, yeah. Now, and I think you brought it up and
it's, it's known, I think, now that Coronado didn't have to play a game this year for that
first year of his entry level deal to come off the books. So it's, it's just, it's a feel-good
story. And in the skate this morning, he was on a line with Nazim Codry and Jacob Peltje.
I like Peltier coming back in, too. We haven't mentioned his name amidst all this. He's hardly played
in the last month. So there you see Coronado, first rounder back to 2021, went to Harvard,
as we all really did. I'll never sign here, guys. He's American.
Careful. That's what they said about Huberto. 20 goals, 36 points, and 34 games. The guy can
shoot the puck. He's what they don't have a lot of. He's a right-shot finisher.
Finisher's.
And that doesn't mean he's going to score tonight three times, and it doesn't mean he's going to
be a lock for anything next year. But what he's good at is the type of skill set that they've
been looking for since Jerome left. Not to say he's Jerome. He's clearly not. But a right-shot
winger that can score. It feels like it's been on the shopping list of this team for 15 years.
So that's exciting. It's exciting for Flames fans, for those two guys. There you see the
highlight pack, Coronado.
Plus they get to learn from a Stanley Cup winner.
That's right. He's centering them, right?
Yeah.
Ultra competitive.
There you go.
The game's on the line.
No walker doer.
What?
Walker doer.
I'm telling you.
Is it that gate?
I bet you it's that fucking gate.
Oh, Lidar, we love you.
That's a huge, huge black mark on your resume, buddy.
And as I speculated yesterday, if maybe it would be the case,
not expecting Nick Ritchie to play tonight.
Really?
As you look at the lines, Lewis with Luchich and.
Coleman.
Well, they're just dressing for the first.
So from most important shot and season on the line.
Season on the line to popcorn.
That's right.
I feel like it could be good with the popcorn.
It wasn't that great with a shootout, though.
I have popcorn.
Lots of butter too.
Great time.
Mandra Panny and Hubert O'W with Backland as always, and then Lend home with Tifoli and Dylan.
Are there no other kids they should be playing?
Should?
Who would top of your list?
Like, I think they're, sorry?
Sorry, the only other guy.
Zerry, I'd leave there.
I feel like Wolf, it's been a couple years of dominating the A,
and it's like, you've earned this.
Zari's in the midst of a first full, really strong campaign in the A.
They play tonight.
They play Friday, Saturday in Abbotsford, all three,
last three of the regular season in B.C.,
I guess worth mentioning Rizigua not playing either.
I guess that's a kid that's sitting there not doing anything.
And he'll go down to the miners.
I haven't seen, and it might be on Twitter by now,
but we'll learn more about the severity of whatever Chris Tanniv was dealing with
if he's going to play tonight.
I mean, that's this game.
Does not, I don't, well, he's banged up.
We know that.
Yeah, clearly.
And that's probably how you're going to describe
the second half of his career, right?
That's just going to be that way.
Yeah, it might be.
The way he plays, like the complete disregard for, you know,
his human vessel that his brain's trapped in.
Like, he don't give a shit about his body.
It's crazy the way he plays.
It's wild.
And a very good point brought up by Ryan Pike,
who is our something of something on flamesnation.
That's good.
His title used, he's the something of something.
I'll read the tweet.
I'm curious about the etiquette of the warm-up solo lap
for NHL debuting players when there's two-and-one game.
Do Coronado and Wolf take the same lap together,
or do they each get one?
And usually it's the starting goalie that goes out first
and then holds back the non-debueing players
to allow the rookie laps.
I assume Michael Backland.
Usually the first skater out behind the goalie
will be the arbiter of rookie laps.
And he's the guy that knocks the puck's back on this one.
Who's knocking the puck's going first?
Are we doing two laps?
Is it two at one time?
God, it's a lot to get through.
I'm so done with that stupidity.
What's the matter?
You old grump?
Not grumpy.
It's not funny anymore.
It was funny the first time it ever had.
Yeah, it's gone from funny to like this is a right of passage and we do it.
No one's laughing now.
It's just cool because it's like this is his first game.
Oh, so cool.
It's so cool.
It's nice for the kid.
I don't think the kid gives an F.
Like, I don't, I really don't.
You don't have to go watch warm up.
That's the beauty of this.
It's not going to be rammed down your throat.
I think you're a bit of a geyser.
It's definitely like fist-jigging the club here.
I don't have to have an opinion on it.
Trust me, when I go to bed tonight, it won't be.
You'll be all right with it?
It won't be on my mind.
Yeah, I'm not going to.
Yeah.
Too upset.
No.
But that's, uh, these are the, these are the questions we need answers.
Yeah.
It's a good point from Pike on it.
We have got Pike on it.
Also, one of the things that Pike brought up yesterday,
that gave me a little chills was that you do have to watch cap space now.
There's no roster limits.
So the more bodies you add, the more people you're paying daily.
And there are Trevor Lewis performance bonuses that they have to factor in, which I thought was.
Well, I was going to say.
Sensational.
There's only one coach of the world that would lobby and ensure that.
You wonder why he was playing.
Big Ds getting his performance bonuses.
Hey, we see that in the NFL, a lot of guys.
It's, hey, how many, you need another catch?
How many yards do you need?
That sort of thing.
It happens.
It happens.
And maybe that's why Ruzichka is not playing,
because Lewis is playing tonight.
And the question that I had here, and I have a list,
who potentially is taking their last day as a flame.
Yeah.
You're going to have to put the names back up from here.
Well, I'll just, I'll read it out.
I've got a list here.
Go slower.
I'm going to write them down.
Do you want to start at the bottom or the top?
I'll start at the bottom.
Troy Stetcher.
Back.
Sorry,
am I asked a guess?
I was okay.
I'd like to see him back.
I hope he's back.
Not an answer.
That was a non-answer.
I also hope he's back.
I apologize.
I was writing down.
You're asking me whether I think they'll be back
or whether I want them to be back here.
Are they playing?
Or is it their last game?
Is it their last game as a flight?
I'll say no.
No.
Well,
it probably is.
Nick Ritchie.
Yes.
Yes.
Trevor Lewis.
He's not playing.
But in,
got you.
Not coming back.
Trevor Lewis is not coming back.
What do you know about the coaching stuff?
I'm with you.
Last game for Lewis.
Lou Cheach.
Yes.
Last game.
Michael Stone.
Hell no.
Never.
Not coming back.
Now here's the thing.
He might be back, but does he get into a game next?
He'll be on the roster.
This guy's on payroll next year for sure.
No chance.
It's in the drawer every fucking year.
The PTO comes out in September.
Jacob Markstron.
No.
He is back, excuse me.
He's coming back.
This is not his last game.
He is back.
Darrell Sutter.
Back.
Last game.
Bradshaw Living.
Not back.
Last game.
It's a long list when you think of it.
Now, it's open to debate and there's...
Never mind the people that might request a trade if one of those people is back.
Yeah, I didn't get into the...
You wonder about Codry.
How does that play out?
Exit meetings.
I get that.
No, no, that's where you would say.
I actually mean, so further pass, they bring, so fun zies again,
because that's what we get to do in the off season.
Conroy's the GM.
Sure.
Coach is back.
Players X, Y, and Z have said, get me that out of town.
Won't play for that guy.
How's that facilitated?
If it's a Huberdough or you just told me it's untradable.
Yeah, it can't be here.
So what happens?
But he would be one of the guys that would be saying it.
He has to.
Because Dylan Dubet, he's not walking in there going,
I'm God if he's here.
No, and you know what?
He will be suspended if he doesn't show up to camp.
He has to play.
Perfect.
Now, what a more realistic scenario is,
because Hubert was going to say,
look, I'm here long term.
There's more from me, but I can't do it with this coach.
He's going to lobby that way.
And if the coach comes back,
he has to deal with it, he'll out last the coach.
The more interesting scenario is a guy like Backlin,
who was rumored suggested that,
that last summer, wouldn't mind to change the scenery,
not seeing eye out of the coach.
He's got one year left.
What if it's,
you talk extension with Lindholm and he's saying,
I'm not extending if that guy's here.
You could just say the same thing about,
you know,
a Hanofin, whatever it is.
I'm just making up names.
But if those guys that the end is near anyway,
now that's a realistic asset to move.
It's an expiring contract.
You go pull the GMs.
You see who you get value for.
Is this a good time to sell any of these guys?
The whole team is not walking in there.
I was going to say from the outside looking in,
it would seem like there's two guys.
It's Codry and it's Huberto.
And Hubertos' play dropped off more than anyone in league history.
That that is budding heads.
Been all season.
If Huberto goes in and says,
I'm not playing for that guy.
To your point.
Oh, you suspend him.
He's not going anywhere.
Same with Cadry.
Season he had,
no one lost that country.
So you don't entertain a coaching change?
No, I would entertain a coaching change,
but if you're the flames and you have a chance to get out
from paying Jonathan Hebrough,
10.5 million a year next year, aren't you jumping for joy?
Like, don't, perfect. Perfect. You don't play this coach and he's coming back.
And look, I think there's a lot of good reasons to change it.
He's showing up. He has to. It's the only way he collects 10.5.
Point is that what's the agent who we know is
Alan Walsh. Very vocal about things. What's the agent doing that?
He's kicking up a stink. He's talking to Angelin side. He's trying to make it as difficult
as possible for the coach to return, which kind of feels like what he's been doing on here.
That's not what I'm getting at. The coach, the scenario I, the, the scenario I
laid out as the coach is back.
Yeah, and so he'll continue to make life difficult for the coach, I would suggest.
What else can you do?
You can't not show up.
You need to collect the money.
Is there any?
I guess that was,
is there any chance at a reconciliation of some sort?
You would hope that as professionals and grown men,
there would be like I had a huge culture shock.
I went from my career in Florida to Canada to Calgary.
The system, the coach, everything.
Awful year.
Clearly, how do we make this work?
For the coach, the coach, it's in his best interest for it to work too.
He'd love to have an 80 to 100 point guy on his team.
It is an absolute mess.
Yeah, I think it's an incredibly low probability of that happening.
Like, I won't say impossible because.
No, which are you saying?
That they could kiss and make up.
It's been a nightmare from almost the first week of the season.
And it's why I keep coming back to the more rational,
you look at this, the more you have to yield to the player that's got that $100 million tag attached to him.
And it's not about enabling players and empowering these entitled millionaires.
It's more just like you're stuck with one for eight years.
The other's two.
The less painful financial decision is to part with the coach.
It's just he's going to win the tug of work because he's got more leverage.
The player's got a ton.
this contract is going to haunt this organization.
I don't,
even if he bounces back to 75,
there's no way Hubert was going to 100 points again.
No chance.
Who knows, right?
I'd like to see him under a different coach before.
I know,
I'll bet you.
Well,
I mean,
yeah,
I wouldn't take that bet unless you gave me serious odds,
but I hear what you're saying.
It's very unlikely he returns to being a superstar.
We knew this contract was going to be shit.
At the back end anyway.
Even at that,
if you get 110 points.
Oh,
even still.
The only effing reason you did this was at a panic mode
and thinking that maybe he'd play well enough,
and in the first four or five years he's going to win.
The Edmonton Oilers are going to kick the piss out of us for,
I don't know how long.
Unless there's changes.
They suck.
Well, and so you have to ask yourself,
if you're stuck with Hubertow,
what allows you the best chance of success?
I point to this all, I guess,
is I'm running him out of town.
If I can.
To do what?
Not show up to collect money or?
There has to be, I don't know.
That's the whole problem.
So this is the thing you're stuck with, right?
You can't run him out of town.
He's going to keep showing up to collect his 10 and a half.
Maybe his back is.
Maybe he's allergic to his equipment.
Who knows?
It's wonky.
There's no, is there any kind of precedent?
The only other side is where the player would say I'm out,
but he won't say I'm out to 10 million.
No. God, no.
He could say, I don't want to play for this guy.
I'd like to get moved, but he can't get moved.
And he's not walking away from all this money.
That's why I find it so hard to see Daryl winning this power struggle.
Because you think in the past of guys like,
who's misconsiderable time, didn't yash and miss time?
And Mike Peck and there have been guys that power struggle, Pinder.
You don't think so?
Well, I think Huberto's camp is lobbying hard for.
Well, no, I just, I think it is power struggle.
That's all.
I'm surprised to hear that.
But I think it's bullshit that there's even,
discussed as a power struggle. That's the coach and you're the player, play. I agree. So my point
being, there is a scenario where Darrell is back and there is a scenario where the owner says,
Mr. Hubert O, deal with it. Deal with it. I think that's a scenario for sure. But what I would see
is if Alan Walsh and Hubert O and his family and they're in a full court press talking to the
flames saying, we need change at the coaching position and Darrell's saying, don't let the inmates run the
asylum, I can fix this.
Is that not a power struggle? Because I kind of
see that's what's happening here.
I think it's semantics a little bit.
I mean, there's no way Heardos camp isn't lobbying for the coach
to be gone. And regardless,
if he gets the coach canned, he'd best perform.
Yep. And he's not the only one that would be getting him
fired. Like, Daryl's made some missteps this year.
And if it was one guy and everyone else was in on Daryl,
I'm even more in your camp. Like, suck it the fuck up.
It was first place last year. So I don't,
And most of the lineup was the same.
Right?
Like there's,
They lost their best line.
I know,
but that's exactly what I'm saying.
Most of the team was the same,
except the new guys who you brought in and over,
fucking paid.
And they never battled hard the whole year.
I mean,
I've liked Uyghurs.
Weger's come along.
You're right.
But yeah,
the give a fuck for Cadre and Huberto
has to be incredibly disappointing.
That's not, like, if I'm saying that...
I guess what I'm getting at is whose problem is it?
Well, I mean, the owner,
because I don't know who else is in fucking charge right now, really.
Like, is it not all coming down to the owner here?
Like, who's conducting a GM fucking search if they're getting a new one?
That's what I was going to say.
It's less than ideal when you have your star player and your coach at odds,
and it's been the whole season, you miss the playoffs, a wasted year, the whole thing.
It's bad enough when you,
have a GM who's been in place and is driving the bus and has a handle on things.
You also don't have that.
You got a lame duck GM right now.
It's a terrible scenario.
Is there a scenario where the rest of the squad, like, I'm far away from it,
and I have no clue, but we're playing.
Yeah.
Still the what if game.
Is there a scenario where the rest of the room is this pissed off at the big,
the high end players as they are with the coach?
Could be.
Like, if you're watching Codry shit his pants in the corner.
Yeah, that's tough.
Is it the coach's fault?
Are you looking at Dary going, man, see what you did?
Or are you looking at Codry going, you really don't give an F, do you?
You're setting the tone?
You're a leader for the next six years?
So we got you for six more?
I could see both of those situations.
I don't know which one it is.
What's the exit meeting when the, whoever it is that's asking the questions?
Exactly.
He says, so what's the issue in the room?
is there, like, I'm guessing there has to be a little bit of, well,
Darrell was hard on us for sure they're going to hear,
but there has to be a,
some of the guys didn't respond or try very hard.
This is the predicament you're in.
You're in the spot where you're letting the inmates run the asylum
if you get rid of the coach,
but it might be the only way you can solve the problem.
It's a dangerous thing to do.
Because what you're talking about is you're enabling these people
that may or may not have quit.
Yeah, so what happens?
At the biggest time of the year.
And this is the problem, right?
And so there's no easy way out of this.
There just isn't.
There's not a, hey, look, they won the division again.
And Hubertos is a star again.
We use Winnipeg, or at least some people use Winnipeg as a measuring stick or a comparable.
Is there a Paul Maurice potential comparable here?
Yeah.
Maurice walks away.
I've done what I can with this group.
They need a new voice.
Is there?
Paul Maurice knew he was going.
going to Florida.
He left midseason last year.
Are you sure of that?
Because they were talk, like,
if Florida goes on a deep run,
I think they re-up their head coach.
No?
That won the president's trophy?
How do we know?
I mean, it's...
Yeah, and we don't know what they're asking.
I just think,
Maurice knew he was done there.
And maybe he had other jobs in his mind.
Maybe he didn't.
But it wasn't working.
He saw issues.
He knew he couldn't fix him anymore.
That's a little more inward-looking
than I think,
and less stubborn than how Darrell will operate.
rates. But if you told me that you could change the culture by changing the coach and get better results from people, I buy that for sure. I wonder, because I wonder if Daryl, who is, well, you know, he's extremely intelligent. He's on that bench every day. He's on the ice with these guys. If he has even a shred of what, but here, just let me finish, if he even has a shred of what you, of the way you think and the way you believe, that he looks at this team is like, there's no fucking heart here. We're not winning with this team. Am I going to, am I between salary cab,
and personnel and GM and all this,
are we going to turn this thing around in the next year or two
that we're going to round four of the playoffs?
So Huberto won't walk away from his contract, right?
Right.
And I don't care how much money Mr. Sutter has
$4 million or whatever the rooms are that he's making.
Sure, two to four, it seems reasonable somewhere in there.
Yep.
Is a piss pot.
And he knows it's his last piss pot, right?
I don't get that expression.
You're saying that this is a big deal or not a big deal?
He's saying he won't walk away from that money easily.
I think if you look at his track record, is he stubborn?
And he believes in himself.
I don't think he questions his ability to coach.
I agree.
I think he questions what his team was willing to sacrifice.
And there's both sides of that coin.
That's what I mean.
Does he feel like he has the intangibles,
the team that's willing to sacrifice to get to that next step?
Not now.
Again, we can one save.
One save a month.
from October, November, December, and January.
Once save a month, might put you in the playoffs.
Yeah, they're only going to miss the two or three.
Because I'm with you, and I kind of, at the end of the show yesterday,
I did kind of feel like, Jesus, like we've just torching these guys and torching
Sutter.
How do coaches become, you know, how do they become frustrated with players?
Generally, when you've put them in a position and they've let you down.
Once you lose that trust as a coach, you're like, do, what do you're killing?
How could you do that in that situation?
I put you in it when that happens over and over.
I don't think that Jonathan Hubert all strolled into the room
and Daryl kind of looked in and said,
I don't like the cut of his jib.
Fuck him.
Yeah.
Like that's not how,
whatever you think.
Something happens before that.
Something happens.
Before he says he's taking a shit,
something happens.
During a game,
during a practice behind,
there's something.
You don't just out of, out of,
you're the coach.
You don't just grow a dislike.
for no reason.
And obviously,
you're saying
an Albertan
wouldn't just
dislike someone from Quebec?
Something with,
with Codry,
it was the same thing
because his play was fine
and then it wasn't fine.
After the,
the All-Star game,
I don't know what the hell happened,
but something went sideways.
And is it,
we look at it and say,
well,
Sutter can't get along with anybody.
Well,
we also know that Codry
is a guy who's
rubbed people the wrong way over time.
And maybe,
maybe that's what makes them great.
Maybe that's what you want a player.
Is there any whining
with the teams that he's left?
that he was gone.
I just wonder if there's more on the other side
because generally coaches,
you get sour on players when they continually.
That's why I think the most likely scenario
is coaches back and players are back.
You're going to have one or two small changes
and see what happens.
That leads us to yesterday's conversation.
That's capital A apathy, if that's the case.
Well, perhaps, but what we just said,
one save a month for the first four months,
puts you in the playoffs.
Yeah, unless the 5-1 start doesn't death spiral
and you actually maintain some kind of consistency.
Right, like there's no apathy if they're in the playoffs,
and they have been established.
The goaltending is under 900.
Oh, yeah.
No fucking team, regardless whether they love each other or not is going to do anything.
Because that might be the big change right there.
You've got a guy like Dustin Wolf.
He comes in.
And again, we've talked about it.
We're trying to be positive now.
So you feel the tone of our voice.
Is it positive today?
Really positive.
Got it.
Nice and warm.
So, Dustin.
And Wolf comes in and wins you another game and Markstrom's plays better and doesn't shit his pants and sieve out.
Remember the shot in Ottawa in overtime?
It's like, oh, my God, come on.
Make that safe.
Never mind the comeback from 3-1 in Ottawa that same night.
Right?
So, and you've said it, and we've said it, if they're in a playoff spot the whole way through,
is the whole room not more positive?
Is the disdain for each other and the coaching?
Not winning's fetter
Winning is the best deodorants on earth
And so this is where we're at again
It's yes, it's dysfunctional this year
And yet look how close they were
With shitty goal tending a bad power play
And a lot of guys having the worst years of their career
In terms of shooting percentage stuff that typically bounces back
But I also hear you're saying
They're not talented enough and they look too slow
I don't think they are fast.
So it's like, so I get both arguments
They're both pretty strong
I was reading something online
And I guess it's not a short
shock, but they were discussing the two most disappointing players in the National Hockey League
both played for the Calgary Flames this year. Jacob Markstrom and Jonathan Huberdo.
And Cadre could be added to that. You went from a Vesna guy to a sub-900 save percentage.
You went from 100 and whatever, you had a 60-point drop in, so far. There's not a lot of teams
that can have their star goaltender and star forward or whatever, have those kind of loss
and absorb it.
Yeah, and then mix in some drama in the room.
I mean, yeah, it's not hard to imagine.
I never really thought about it.
We talked about it every day.
No way.
Because if either one of those doesn't play out,
you're probably in the playoffs
and you haven't been chewing on each other
for the last five months,
mad and frustrated and the coach would be less.
Like, he's always going to be pushing buttons,
but how many extra time losses was it?
17.
17.
Franchise record.
You're not going to be able to do that again.
next year.
Sorry.
17,
you might be a little
irritable in the
room after.
17 of those
sons of bitches.
53 one goal
games, including
empty netters,
they won 20.
It's hard to tell
me this group
ain't, doesn't
have the talent to do it
when almost every
game they played
is a one goal game
and they got shitty
goal attending,
had a below average
power play and there
was drama in the room.
All right,
so we're going to be positive.
Where's the,
I feel it,
where's the lineup?
Where's the lineup?
Can you have
Alex?
Alex, let's get that line up.
We're going to make,
we're going to make a couple
of changes here.
A couple tweaks, right?
You want the cap?
Jesus, we're already putting things back together for these.
It's game 802.
I feel like we're really looking past the sharks.
I feel like we're really not giving the sharks.
They're due today.
That's not fair.
Okay, you're going to add Wolf.
Blood Ars gone.
Now if Marksdrab doesn't make the saves,
you've got a guy that's ready to take the reins,
and he's going to win you some hockey games.
932 save percentage.
All right?
There it is.
So we've got 10 more points coming.
from our goal tending.
How many points we're going to end up this year?
Even if we lose tonight.
Let's say they're at 90.
90.
So that 10 points puts them at 100.
Now we've got 100 points next year.
101.
What are we doing up front?
We're going to add a little speed.
Walker.
Dersen full-time.
Lewis Gonzo,
Luchich-Gonzo.
And we're going to have Peltier in.
Coronado.
There's more speed there.
Look at the lineups there.
Luchich and Lewis are gone.
You're going to have Duer and.
Rosie?
Peltje, Coronado.
I'm frustrated with Rosie because he's got what it takes,
but he doesn't play with the emotion I need for,
and I want someone with some,
Azaria center?
Zari's center and he's got a little bite to his game.
There we go.
So I got Duer Azari and Coleman on my bottom line.
I got Peltje, Cadry,
and there's the rest of it.
The bottom line's the only one that's changing.
And on your blue line,
it's not crazy to suggest when we see videos of Oliver Shillington working out
that he could return to this club.
There you go.
you think? Oh, I do.
Yeah. But I mean, the only issue I have is
do we have enough cap space for all this? Well, if you're
moving Vladara out, you make a little bit of cap space.
If you're bringing up Stetcher, what does he cost? Luchich makes
money, he's out. Well, you've already
ate up the... Again, so Huberdo goes
5'9. That Huberdo raises... 5.9 to 10 and a half.
A thing. Weager goes from what, four-ish to
six and three-quarters. And Vlodar goes from less than a million
to 2.75. You move that out, you freed up
a couple million. Or... Wolf would be cheap.
Entry level.
Question.
Question.
Question.
As we look at the defense,
are Hanofin and Weger
enough of the same guy?
Hanifton.
That you move Hanifin,
knowing that you have Weger?
I just, my concern there, Dean,
is that you have a Chris Tanev,
who we love,
but can't trust injury-wise moving forward.
I don't think.
I think he got crunched with his shoulder there.
It's two years ago.
I'm with you.
Keep going.
My concern would be he's going to be aging, slower, more prone.
Love him, but I just worry you're not going to have enough depth.
It's the fourth year of a four-year deal he signed as a free agent in his 30s.
What you'll get next year from Chris Tannav is probably just gravy.
He's been really good for three years and he didn't miss any time practically at all until last year's postseason and then about 10 games this year.
I would, can you trade Zadorov?
Sure.
Because I would move Zadourov before I would move Hannafin,
because I don't, I don't love Hanifin's game.
I like it, and I think he can play big minutes where I think if you're playing Zadorov a ton,
you run a bigger risk.
I don't like Zadorov in the top four.
And the other question you have to factor into all this is you've got seven key guys
that enter this season coming up as their last.
So you should, if you're doing your job, talk to Noah Hanna,
about what an extension costs and what the future looks like and does he like this market.
Because I think it might be a sell high moment for Noah Haniff's career.
And if he ain't going to resign here or he wants 80 a year,
if he's looking for it.
And that's too much money.
And that's what he's going to be.
He'll want six plus six to seven, yeah.
I mean, he doesn't have the points.
So you can't really put him in that big money category.
But he's close.
I think he'd look at Hampus Lindholm's type money that got extended in Boston last year.
And that I think is like mid six.
because he doesn't miss.
He doesn't miss a lot of time.
No.
He skates well.
He's a good one-on-one defender.
There's no, if you're asking him to run the power player, it's miscast.
But he's minutes.
He's a legit two, three in this league.
So Zedorov trade that you say you can.
Is this one of those Zedorov and a second to Arizona for futures?
No.
Is that how this works?
Oh, he's got to be good.
What, he's got 11 goals?
That's not nothing.
I'm telling you.
He's physical.
It's a roller coaster with him, but he's a,
Other teams don't want to play against him.
He scored 11 goals.
Like, he can, no, he's a valuable asset around the league.
The money's not egregious.
It's when he's there that the issue is.
And whereas I'm saying they're on the top one.
But I'm telling you what, that's on our D.
There would be decors out there that aren't this good.
And he might be a top four on some decor.
Or some GM will fool himself like Yarmou Kekyllian did in Columbus and say,
Look how good this guy was on the third pair.
I'm going to bring him in and elevate him,
and it's been a nightmare for Goodbranson.
They gave him too much money.
But like if Good Branson draws that,
don't tell me you can't move to the door up for somebody.
I mean, he adds offense, he's physical.
It's not for everyone, but there's enough GMs that like that.
Yeah.
And if you're rolling out, Hanifin, Anderson, Weeger, Stetcher, Tanev as you're...
And Shillington.
I'm leaving that out there.
If Shillington's back, even better.
That's pretty impressive.
You kind of jarred your head when I said Schillington.
You've said Schillington, you've been taught.
I don't know what, unless you're hearing something that I'm not,
I don't know why you have the.
I'm not saying he is back.
The belief that just.
I would be concerned that missing a year of hockey ain't easy.
What does he look like?
Yeah.
And why does, if he's coming back, then what's changed?
Well, he's able to play.
That's the difference.
Whatever issues didn't allow him to play are less serious than they were,
or he wouldn't play again.
Anyway, we fixed it.
Let's not get into the Shillings.
No, but he won't be back.
You can't, we can't predict.
We don't know if he's going to be back.
I just feel like if I,
we didn't see him not showing up a camp this year.
We don't know if it was an injury, personal.
It doesn't.
Don't.
I just think it's safer to operate under the assumption that he's not going to be.
And that was,
and that's the way I would operate is under the assumption he's not.
You can't pencil.
If he's in,
wow.
Even better.
Yeah,
it's a bonus.
Totally.
Even better.
Now,
I will say this.
If you're Oliver Shillington and you're coming off the year he had last,
year, I'd be stunned if he doesn't give this league another go at some point.
Issues are not at home.
It's just, I don't see another career path for Oliver Shillington to make millions of dollars a year.
Whether it's easy or not, he'll give this another go because that's what happens in most of these
instances.
Guys in their 20s that disappear for a year, give it another try.
Whether he's the same player or not, we don't know.
He'll try again, I'd suggest.
Okay, so let's finish this off.
So the forwards.
Where's the parade?
This is great.
We've got that.
We've got 10 more points, team points coming from our goal tending tandem next year.
That's good.
The defense, I think we got figured out.
If Hannafin's looking for eight a year,
that's going to be tough.
It's going to be tough.
He's in that right age.
He's basically five, right?
He's making five now.
Five and a change, yeah.
Five and a halfish.
Four nine and five or what.
I think it was just a smidge.
And I don't even know if I'm,
I might even pay him except I don't know if it fits under our cap situation.
Hampus Lindholm got traded from Anheim to Boston last year at the deadline and almost immediately signed a massive extension at six and a half a year.
And he's been paired with Charlie McAvoy.
When they're both healthy,
they've been one of the best pairs in the NHL.
I see lots of similarities between the two.
There might have been more upside in Lindholm's game earlier in his career.
And frankly, like Hanifin,
it just sort of, if he's on a team that has a dynamic offensive year, there's more points.
If the team struggles,
there's less.
He's not a driver of offense in my mind.
Okay, so we've got to figure it out, though.
We'll keep them.
If we've got to trade someone,
we might have to trade one,
but.
Who are you prepared to live without?
4-9-5 a year for Hanifetz, sorry.
On the point?
Or just because there are all those impending UFAs after next year.
It would behoove the GM to investigate.
So you're trading is the door out?
We've got a lot of Johnny Goddrow's syndrome going on.
Uh, winning fix this thing, even though Godrow and Katruch laughed after winning.
Yeah, tops in the West or something like that.
If you enter this year and it doesn't go as we're predicting now, it should go smashingly.
If it doesn't, uh, and those guys aren't interested in resigning, isn't that the time to trade them?
I mean, this is the, the fly in the ointment of all that what we're doing is that there's a lot of guy.
We're making a good case of their playoff team.
And we also just mentioned there seven UFAs.
So if you're in a spot like you were last year,
how do you approach the middle portion of the season
when you've got three defensemen in your top five
that are expiring,
maybe four of your top six could be expiring.
Zedorov, Shillington, in theory, Tannuf, Hanifin.
Like, how do you approach, do you just sell them all?
That's why you got to lock up Stetcher.
Well, and so not that,
but this is why you have to talk extension
with all these guys this summer, right?
And that's where I wonder how things go.
You'd love to have to Foley,
but I don't know if you're going to love them
on the next contract he has as he gets older and older, right?
What do you do there?
Brett, what do you do?
I wait until next fall or next spring and see how the teams know.
I don't know that there's a bigger sell high moment for Tyler Tofoulli in his career than right now.
I would be actually fine selling to Foley because I agree with you.
I think he's a professional.
I think he's done great.
He's the one piece that we can't really complain about here at Gallagher this year.
But I would absolutely be listening to.
Okay.
I was going to say,
Rattle off for Red,
and for the people listening,
watching,
that list of,
this is after the end of next season.
So people going into their final year
of their contract.
When you think of the flames,
this team that you're building
and molding character,
player skill, ability,
all of that leadership,
put it all into your thought process.
Who are you prepared?
And some of it will come down
to it's just too much money,
but just on the level,
who is a flame?
Who are you prepared to live without?
Well, the challenge is the list.
So, yeah, the UFAs, it's your number one centralized Lindholm.
So Lindholm, it's cool.
Is he a guy that you feel like that's, he's an integral part of our team?
Well, if you want my honest, depending on the whole, I'm trying to put a positive, I sell everyone.
That's how I feel about this group.
He's a core piece.
It's really hard to imagine this team.
But if you're, yeah, if you're buying that this team can come back, my guy,
concern is that how do you compete with the oilers blah blah blah blah yes he's back because i said it to you
the other and it all comes down to price but he just strikes me as a guy that can just play he's my
hanof of the forward group for a long long time he's he's the hanifin of the forward group where you don't
worry about him he might not do everything you hope but he's proven he can be damn good on both ends
and imagine this team without elis linholm it just i can't see anything but a retooler if you lose exactly
Exactly. If you're losing Elias Lindholm, you're retooling the whole thing.
Because it's Cadre and Backlund at 35 is your 1-2 and center.
And the season that Cadre had was not good enough.
And Backland might be having a career year.
He's one goal from 20 and he's good defensively.
But God, the whole idea was to be able to put him as your third-line center and then you'd be good, right?
If you'd chew on some of Cadre's money, can you move them?
Probably.
But I think people will want to see what they haven't seen for the last two months.
Anyway, then you're back to the scenario where you don't have to.
down the middle.
We're aware of the belief that we're going to rally this team.
Okay, Lindholm, we've got to have them back.
So that's going to cost you eight to nine a year on an extension probably.
I don't have to worry about salary caps.
No, and I'm just,
that's,
yeah,
because we're just talking.
I'm a podcast.
Yeah, yeah.
It's the last year of Michael Backland's
contract with the flames next year.
He's a career flame and has been,
I would suggest their second best forward this season,
uh,
remains great defensively.
I wouldn't be surprised if he gets a little sulky love
this year, but you're also into the mid-30s, and it's like, okay, are you coming back,
hometown discount? Do you want a chance to win elsewhere if it isn't happening here?
Backlin's an interesting case.
Backlin will be back, and I actually believe that he is committed to, especially if they're
somewhat competitive.
I think he's back, and I think he's a Calgary guy.
He is, but I also think he's had a tough go with Sutter more than many.
Like there was whispers he had politely asked that if it's a possible.
thing. He was feeling so good.
He's a Calgary guy. You're right.
We don't know who's coaching. He's a Calgary guy.
It would be great if he was a career flying.
I agree.
And he does love the city and he's incredibly
philanthropic here and I think he's a great human
and we've seen him come such huge strides.
The other thing is, if he wants to go, go,
I mean, as good as he's been, I think that
if you let him go, you're letting
a guy go that's not accelerating his career.
He's reached his cost.
and you like what he offers
and you like what he does and he's a good fit.
But if he leaves,
well,
that's a spot for someone else to step up and
sure.
And to your point with Gio in his last year,
like you can't,
if it's not going to happen here,
you can't really judge a guy
for wanting to get a deep run.
Like his deepest playoff runs
to be 2014 that Bob Hartley
Findaway Flames that beat Vancouver in round one
and then last year, that's it.
So you're two for two.
Lindholm-backlander on Team Red.
Tyler Tofoli is one goal away from 35.
It's the best goal scoring total of his career.
The only season he scored at a better rate was the shortened one in Montreal
where he left Vancouver and seemingly scored eight goals on the Canucks
every time he played them in that Canadian division.
He is up at the end of next year and has been their best player, you could argue.
Oddly enough, I think he's replaceable.
You wouldn't worry about leaving something on the table and selling low if you moved them.
And I love the player.
but what is the next contract for him look like if you signed it this summer?
It's going to be too much and too long.
I think he'd probably be 31.
Yeah.
Not fleet of foot,
but he is a finisher,
which we've said we don't have,
there's not enough of.
The other thing is,
I wonder there too,
traded here,
didn't sign here,
how badly,
as you said,
you got to have guys that want to be here.
How badly does Tyler Tofoli want to be a Calgarian?
Yeah,
and to be fair,
at this age,
he turns 31 in a couple weeks.
A lot of where he chooses to go is probably going to be like,
it's my last paycheck in the league, who's going to give me term and money?
Yeah, I agree.
Because he was the guy that had that monster year in Vancouver in the bubble,
but that's when the economic,
NHL climate just collapsed.
And he didn't get much money because we're like,
where's the fucking cap?
And Aqualini's like, I'm not spending any money.
I've got to put him on my, is tonight the last to Foley night now?
See, his last night is a flight.
I don't think so because I don't think they did trade him right now.
They don't have to, but you certainly need to know the summer
what sort of stuff you could get from, right?
Who wants them?
I think any contender would love to add that guy that number.
Four and change for a guy that scored 35,
you cannot go shopping for that.
That's a very, very tantalizing skill set.
Chris Tanna, we noted last year on the back end of his four-year contract.
Play it out.
If a contender wants to add him next year mid-season,
he'd be a really nice out of health things a challenge.
If we're in a playoff run and we're looking good next year,
like I said, we're going to have 104 points.
and Tanna wants to play out that contract.
That's been a good signing.
It's not an asset I think you need to maximize and get returned for.
If you're going to the playoffs, you need him.
The youngest UFA is just 26-year-old Noah Hannafin.
He is going to be right in his prime as he negotiates a new contract,
which will probably be a max term,
come be a pillar for the next eight years with somebody type contract.
Again, don't expect them to run your power.
do expect them to play 25 minutes a night and be able to play against anyone.
Skates really well.
The type of guy that I think ages well because his feet are so good.
Back.
And again, it's all dependent on dough.
But.
If it's in that because he's making five.
Tenev's leaving.
I don't know if you need to bring him back after next year.
I think he's done what you wanted.
If he wants to come back, are you getting him for cheaper or more?
And to be fair, what can you expect from the way he plays?
What's left at year from now?
Yes, right?
Zadorov is up.
It's a lot.
Irrelevant.
There's a lot of tools.
He wants to stay, stay if it's the right price.
If he wants, if you can move.
But again, he's a piece where if you're in a, like, they hung on to Gerdano.
When they knew damn well, they weren't making the playoffs.
And just let him walk for nothing.
I'm okay with letting Tanev and Zadorov walk if they're part of my playoff.
performance, right?
Like, you can address that at the deadline to your point, I think.
Right.
You don't have to resign.
Now,
if you're in a playoff spot, play it out.
Are you happier with Nikita Zedorov at three and three quarters a year next year?
Or Troy Stetcher at half that money?
That's maybe a way you view it trying to get some cap savings.
I love Stetcher.
You do or I do?
I do.
It's been a good little sample for him.
It's,
it might not be go pro rate these numbers and that's what he is over 82.
I don't care about his numbers.
What was that stat they had to say?
He got three goals in his last 10,
and he had one in his last 100 or whatever the hell it was.
This guy's a flame.
Well, and I vaguely recall him having a good big goal
against the Oilers in the playoffs last year.
My concern is that I don't recognize anyone on the Wrangler's squad
that screams, I'm ready to play.
Not on the blue line.
Jeremy Porre is really unpolished and super crazy offensive upside,
but I don't believe he's knocking on the door.
And Gilbert, I think, is going to be what he is,
which is six, seven, eight.
right?
Yeah.
It's like, okay, we're into injuries and you come.
Gotta have stature.
So what did we do?
We didn't do anything.
You kept everyone.
Well,
you're going to trade Vladara this summer.
That's probably it.
And he's not even worried about,
I'm selling this scenario that you come back with these guys and play it out.
You are today.
You definitely are today.
I told you, this is, yeah, there were the positive lives now.
Because I think I still got the clip.
about if they're bringing this.
Well, hey, if we only want to talk shit, let's do that.
You said, they're not going to win me over until January.
I mean, it's a well-organized argument.
It is.
And the flip one is also a strong one saying there's so much dysfunction here.
You need change, almost just for the sake of change in a way.
And this is the hardest conversation to have right now.
The one of exhale.
What if next year you have better?
goal tending. What if you get, you're not, you don't have 17 extra time loss.
That's, because right now everybody's pissed off and yeah, other teams are making it and this
team isn't. What the, everyone's pissed on trade. Everybody, the core, we've heard that for years
and years. And I don't think that that's wrong because there are some maybe bigger fundamental
issues that are around this team that probably need changing. But between the cap and contracts
and everything else, because really in terms of expiring guys this year, what is it, Richie Lewis,
Luchich, that's not a game changer.
Who will get his PTO in September.
Yeah, that's not a game changer for this team.
No.
You almost,
you want those guys.
You almost have to.
It's the youth movement.
Speed.
You're bringing everybody back.
How do we try and make it better?
That's kind of what in the real world,
that's almost what you're left with.
If you're Trilliving or whoever's running the team or coach.
Well, and if you've got an owner that's saying,
got to make the playoffs.
You guys, like, even if you bring Trilliving back,
whoever's is a GM
you got a coach that's
making a contract and you got players
that have contracts
you idiots down at the
dome place there and so
you figure it out
fans and media
don't phone me
we've got guys signed up here
that are supposed to be running this shit
let them figure it out
so two things Frank said he thinks it's an almost zero chance
both guys are back but I think only Murray Edwards
really knows that. Also, Frank's almost never wrong on this kind of stuff. So I wonder about that.
And then secondly, the scenario that you really hated with Johnny Godreau was that they
entered that last season without something done. You didn't extend him. He was a, so are you okay
to him without Lynn home or do you have to have something done? Like, because I just wonder about your stance on
that's maybe their most important guy, Lindholm in a lot of ways. It's tough to see this team competing
with anyone.
He's the only guy you can squint at and say number one center.
Are you okay to walk in?
I think you're underestimating the, how do I say it without,
I think you're underestimating the personal aspect of what happened with Goudreau
and the COVID rules and the lockdowns and the fear of having a child and not allowing
parents to see and wasn't his dad down and out and he couldn't see his dad.
Like, I don't want to get into any of that shit.
But to me, that is why Johnny Goodrow is not a Calgary flame.
I don't think it was anything in the flames did wrong, right?
Right?
So I'm with you there.
So to compare those two, I get it because it looks the same, but I don't, I think it's a different.
I just don't think Godroll is an example of how things typically go.
So you wouldn't have a problem then walking into the season with no contract for a last,
Linholm and no contract for the line.
Here's what I think.
I think that winning changes everything.
I agree.
And so if you go into next year with Lindholm with the same team.
So if Frank's right, you got a new GM, don't care.
Triller ring or whoever it is.
It's hard because I've gone off the rails.
I don't like how the flames have managed their organization for 30 years.
I don't think there's been a long-term game plan.
Anyway, I'm going to take a step back and do the deep breath,
which is what everyone says you need to do.
come back next year.
The owner says, you idiots figure it out.
You're getting paid to do it.
You made it.
You fix it.
Darrell, you're staying, but you're fixing it.
Don't be a stubborn prick.
Jonathan Hubert, oh, get in a room with Darrow
and figure your shit out.
And Mr. Cadre, you as well.
So, Lindholm doesn't have a contract.
You go into next year and you start winning.
Does he want to come back then?
Probably much more likely, right?
You go into next year and you shit the bed,
huge asset to move.
Huge.
Massive return.
Should be.
Yeah.
The challenge is if they're good and the contract's like,
fuck, he's got us over the barrel.
We can't pay him that.
He's not a $10 million player.
That's the challenge is that the player and the agent know
when they have all that leverage.
And the best leverage scenario for Elias Linholm and Noah Hanifent
to negotiate a deal with the flames is with them in first or second in the division,
on their way to the playoffs, right ahead of the deadline.
I think you could approach Lindholm, though.
But so here's the other thing.
You can't make a guy sign.
Elias Lindholm can say,
I'll let you know.
So sure, you could trade them over the summer.
Okay.
I'm not saying that, like Johnny a year ago.
Yeah.
I'm not saying that it can't,
if that's the vibe you're getting as a new GM
or the old GM, that don't.
I can see.
this scenario where you go, yeah.
And I'm okay with it because whatever you do with Lindome, whether you sign him,
which would be great because I think he solidifies your lineup or trade him,
which would be great because he's going to massive return.
It's okay.
Whatever.
And that might be the deciding factor for how things go.
But what then if he walks?
Because that's been your greatest fear always, right?
And we talk about that.
If you're a good team and you're in the playoffs, you're not trading your number one center.
The dro thing.
How did you like it?
If you're bad, you're probably not recently.
You know what I mean?
It's kind of, that's...
It's a tough spot.
The G-O-1 was the one because they weren't making the playoffs,
but there was an expansion draft kind of part of it,
and should they have signed them before...
With Goddrow, should you have signed them before that season?
But here's then where the other, the GM that's there now
maybe shouldn't be back for this scenario,
because you've got a guy like Lindholm,
who you'd rather have, you brought in...
Huberto and gave him everything and didn't play, right?
Like there's a, it's being created.
Yeah, it doesn't matter who's GM here.
They inherit the mess that's here.
Whether it's tree or somebody else,
you're stuck with the Eurl contract,
you're stuck with the Cadre contract,
you have what.
My point, I guess, is that you guys are now saying
that Lindholm hates it here in Calgary,
and if that's the vibe.
It's not about it.
Nobody said that.
No.
I'm asking you,
comfy starting the season with him as a UFA.
It's hard to trade him.
Last year.
You said you wouldn't have done that.
It's hard to trade him because you know how that goes.
we're not talking once we're in the season.
All that bullshit.
And then you're a good team.
And while we can't trade our leading score.
And I just see this owner, if they're in a playoff spot,
is he going to let you trade on Iceland?
No he wants to make the playoffs.
And no teams really do that when they're in a playoff spot.
Not often.
Hey, we're in a playoff spot.
Let's trade number one center.
Like he's got you over barrel.
And he may be an $8.5 million dollar player.
And he'd love to extend him at that.
And he wants 10 because he knows,
to get over a barrel.
So the new DMC.
But extend him,
I'm fine with extending him this summer if that's,
yeah.
You're going to get a fucking vibe, right?
You'd love to have that work done this summer, no doubt.
I was going to say,
if you had a better,
the scenario is that you guys are saying,
I can only wait until I'm in.
No, no, no.
This started,
and I said,
are you comfortable with him starting the season as UFC?
So now we're back to, yes,
it's probably good to address this this summer.
Yeah.
Ideally, you address it this summer.
Yeah.
And that's, again, where it's like,
okay, so if Elias is,
exit meeting says love it here would love to be a career flame not going to sign up for more
Sutter that's i mean we're into this vicious circle of like who's making the decision who's the june
that's going to walk in there and say Sutter's a piece of shit you've been playing what if all morning
i'm allowed to too i'm just saying that could be a scenario but that's your always scenario
every player in that because i believe there's a lot of guys that don't want to return if darrell's here
i might be wrong i just don't it's it's stay and you you can be right but it's staggering to me
me that we didn't hear a fucking peep about that last year.
It's stunning to me.
It's the deodorant, man.
They won.
And you can put up with an asshole treating you poorly if things are elsewhere in your
life are going well.
But if, if you know, work sucks and you have to deal with an asshole boss,
I might be.
The history of Darrell Sutter's career hates him.
But at the same time, he might have been easier to get along with last year.
I think for sure.
Probably everybody was getting along a lot better.
The worst thing that could happen is Daryl Sutter wins Jack Adams.
and then he ramps it up and turns into a tyrant to prove he's not soft because he wanted to attack at us.
And so you'd understand if someone said, look, I'm a year away from making a decision.
You're asking me to be honest, my preference would be to not play for him.
Now, I'll come back and be on my contract.
Okay, here's the other thing that everyone believes that they have a fucking opinion on who should coach.
Never once in my career did anyone ask me about a fucking coach at a year end meeting.
You didn't get coach, exit meeting and stuff?
I had coach exit meetings.
Never once did a GM say,
hey, what do you think of the coach?
You know what was asked?
Mind your own fucking business.
That's told, I think, not asked.
But yeah, I hear what you're saying.
Yeah, I know.
I'm sorry.
It's a different world.
Like, you're right, but that's not how it works anymore.
They're going to ask about the coach.
He's been in the meetings, I guess.
Well, okay.
If you don't think they're going to ask about the coach,
you can hang that on your plaque and put it behind you for the rest of the show.
It's like they'll ask about the coach.
Is the GM not going to ask?
Who's fucking GM?
You don't even know.
Maybe there are no GM.
Today it's true living.
And so when exit meetings start,
if he's the GM, he'll do the exit meetings.
And if it's somebody else,
they'll do the exit meetings.
You've talked so much about dysfunction here.
You cannot pretend they're not going to ask
about relationships in the room and how the coach's treatment.
My point, Ryan, isn't that.
They will ask.
But not everyone's going to go in with a noose.
I agree.
And throw it around someone's neck.
Agreed.
And start yanking.
That's what you're saying, though.
every player that you've brought up is going to sacrifice.
I said what if, Fred.
And you've been saying what if all day.
So I'm allowed to say what if two.
Okay.
So that's your.
I'm just saying like I'm not going to be.
What if what if's being about?
You know,
what if Markstrom's back?
What if the coach returns?
Like the whole day's been,
so I have different what ifs.
Yeah.
And I have no problem with that.
So just allow me to have a what if or two.
That's all.
I think it would be silly to suggest that everyone's excited to return and play for Daryl.
So we don't know who these guys are exactly.
but we probably have a good idea.
Like if we're going to suggest that Huberto and Cadre
have issues of the coach,
I don't think that's hard for people to believe.
Their thing is that they're locked in long term here.
The real interesting parts of this off season
are the seven guys that expire.
And if you're going to talk extension,
this is the type of thing that I think will come up.
I also think that it's a little naive to think
that the GM or that they're going to be sitting there.
So what do you think of the coach?
Because we have no idea.
We've, we've been out of town.
all year. How have things been going with Daryl? Are you guys? I would think they probably ask for more
details on what could have been done. Players have conversations with agents who talk to the GM. The GM talks to
players. The GM is on every road trip. This isn't a hands-off kind of a thing. I don't think that
there needs to be a ton of clarity tomorrow or Friday as to how the harmony in the room is from the,
from the players to the coach. I think it's a huge thing they have to address this offseason.
I think it's going to come back or not, right? You know what I'm saying. I think,
They know where it's out.
I think they're very aware of what's happened between Daryl and certain players on the team.
Agreed.
And I also think Brad's really thorough and a pro and that he will get it in writing in his reports for whoever takes over this job or if it's him.
I don't think he's not going to ask because I think he knows a lot of the answers.
But are you going to see clarity?
Do you want to get it in writing so the next guy understands what he's inheriting?
Like I don't think Brad's sewering this team on the way out.
That's not how he's wired.
If someone's going to read through the files of exit meetings,
it's not going to be like didn't ask him about the coach.
It's going to be like, there was an incident here.
He wrote in like it when said this.
And what really matters doesn't know how Huberto feels.
He's here forever.
It's seven guys that you either have to part with,
resign, or go into their final year as you have a phase with.
But I guess just to go back to the original one,
which is where you scoffed is about a Lindholm talking extension.
Yeah.
So if you're talking a seven or eight year extension,
where does I don't like Darrell right now fall into his list of
priorities. I don't know. That's a good question. I think if the money's right, you'll probably
grin and bear it because you know that coaching shelf lives are short anyway. Like,
if Daryl's back, it might be his last year. At worst, it's his second last year. You're not
signed up for eight years of Daryl. I get that. But also, we know how grading he can be on some players.
And some will just say, I would do it, but this isn't the circumstance I can deal with again.
I'm not saying Lindholm is saying this.
I'm saying someone likely will say something like that of the seven guys who are up at the end of next year.
And I'm not saying you're wrong.
You're probably right.
I wonder how frequent a thing that is for teams where you have your own player and you're having the, let's talk extension.
Do you like it here?
How are things you start to get into that?
how often I don't like the coach or the coach and I.
That's what I'm getting as it doesn't happen as often.
I just don't.
I wonder what happened in Boston last summer
because Cassidy's a really good coach
and he's going to make the playoffs and likely win a division with Vegas.
And he knows what he's doing.
But it crossed the line with those players
to the point where David Critchie went back to Europe
and to the point where they really didn't have to reinvent the wheel this year.
It's kind of the same team.
And yes, they made some nice ads.
the deadline, but they overcame some serious injuries this year.
And I think the players talked to the management about the coach.
Well, and the thing there too is you have guys like Bergeron and Marchand and Creachie.
Like the guy friggin left the team because of the coach.
And look, because they're at first, no one's going to critique it, right?
But they did.
They talked about the fucking coach.
Had a first ballot hall of famer in a Patrice Bergeron who has been there.
If you had that here, I wonder if it's a little bit different.
as opposed to Huberto,
I've been here for 81 games.
I hate the game or 20 games, right?
Yeah.
The thing is, guys will always sign.
That's what Huberto did.
You think that the room is a Daryl's not hard on guys?
Oh, geez.
That's, I didn't know that.
I didn't know Daryl was so hard on guys.
Huberto would walk into that room and.
He knew.
Right?
He's like, this can be a lot.
I don't think he knew exactly what he was getting,
but he knew it was going to be tough.
Yeah.
And it's the same thing.
Then, then, then walk away.
Well, I can't because it's a lot of money.
It's 100 million dollars.
Yes, that's what you signed.
And you knew at the time.
84 million.
Maybe not to that extent.
And yeah, it's a Lambo.
Not a lot of winter tires.
I got work on the old Lambo here.
So did we, were we positive?
Well, I tried to be, but I know what you did.
I think it's easy to be reshuffle things.
It can be better.
it's also easy to be like you can't scream dysfunction for three months around here and expect
it it's going to all disappear if they just have a summer off like both of those things are probably
true how much needs to change and how much kumbaya let's make it work can can happen there's going to
have to be an element of both yeah and i don't know that the coach is good at kumbaya you know
better than i do ret it doesn't feel like a let's meet in the middle it feels more like i'm this old i've
had this much success, you're going to tell me I have to change.
You know what they maybe need is a little team getaway, like a team building thing out at St.
Eugene Golf Resort.
They have a ropes course or maybe they go to the hot pools.
Well, they've got the championship golf course out at St. Eugene.
They've got the casino, the spa, restaurants, mountains, that fresh air.
That air, I'm already feeling better.
Aren't you?
That's what we...
And Rack can go cold plunged in the river.
Yes.
That would be good.
Get that circulation going.
Opamine way up.
Slow down that ageing.
Look, and see, that's the answer.
Cranbrook, British Columbia.
Beautiful.
Get your golf game and gear with the spring swing golf package.
Starting at just $259.
You and a friend can enjoy a one-night stay
and a round of golf, including a power cart.
Spring swing available April 21st to May 17th.
The 21st, goodness.
Soon.
We're getting there.
Don't miss out.
It's a limited time offer.
Book your package.
package today, St.Eugene.ca, as you see there is the website. And they treat you're right.
I am looking forward to getting out there. I've heard about the hotel and just that spot for a
long time. I've never been. So I'm looking forward to getting out there. And I don't know about
the cold plunge. I'm very soft. Do you good. You only have to muscle up for about two,
five seconds. It feels like it's going to be going to take your breath away. It's going to freak you out
and then you're out. That 10 seconds, a lot of good. All right. I'll see. One of a minute. But you
You also have to be brave.
Go in for a minute.
You're already discounting it.
Once you get over the.
Discover or rediscover a true gem,
the St. Eugene Golf Resort and Casino.
You realize how long we went there without a, like.
I looked up and I'm like, do we have time for the Depender Report?
How did that all go?
Well, we have plenty to talk about.
That's the problem is that you can spin this story in a gazillion directions.
You're going to be able to tell our moods on the shows moving forward.
Depends on whether this team is fucked or whether everything's just fine.
Today wraps in a good manner.
Well, and you know what I had,
and now we don't have time for it.
It's probably for the best.
It's just some numbers on just how good the oilers have been.
Yeah, we can push that.
I mean, maybe you've got it in the Pinder report.
I don't know.
There's got to be tons of Oilers content.
You know what you love the Oilers?
Thunder.
Talk about war on organizations.
Let's go.
Connor McDavid, one of the best.
Is that what he is?
Yeah.
Village Honda in the Northwest Auto Mall
and online at VillageHonda.com.
They're paying top dollar for your vehicle and your vehicle.
And Jack, have you got a vehicle?
Your vehicle, too.
They got a million dollars to do it.
Sell them your car, truck SUV.
Get a tropical cruise for two.
Find out more at village honda.com,
and village Honda brings you the Pinda report.
Jack, take your lady on the tropical cruise, would you?
Yeah, do it.
Get on a bike.
They're just sweeping the gravel off.
Get a tropical cruise.
Lots of bike lines.
He looks like a guy that might need some SPF, though.
A little pasty?
You burn easy?
It's winter.
That's a shot.
Let the guy see some sun.
I'm just saying.
Geez.
Welcome aboard, Jack.
Good to help you get along with everyone.
Start with the Calgary Flames.
Francis Tweet.
And some rumors swirling confirmed this morning.
Tonight's the night.
Why didn't you find that thing?
Wolftime.
Yeah, remember the Wolf gun?
Yeah, I don't know where it is.
Put some effort into it.
Let's go.
It's not just Wolf Time, Coronado Time.
The guy that would never leave Harbor inside.
I'm kidding.
We'll see what he looks like.
Right-hand shot.
great year at Harvard, two years of college, 13th overall, a few years ago from the flames.
If you're going to have a meaningless game, at least we got a little intrigue here.
And if you want to sell hope, those jars are full right there.
It might be nothing.
But you want to sell hope?
These guys play tonight's not a bad thing.
We'll see how they look.
It's a huge step up for both of them.
Neither have played in the NHL and it's Coronado's first professional game.
It should be fun.
How good's Wolf been?
Well, let's take a peek.
In fact, look at this.
This is at morning skate today.
Tre Living, Conroy, Coronado, Wolf.
They're starting to band.
Who plays the bass, Dean?
True he feels like a bassist.
Conroy's got to be the front man.
He's the lead.
Wolf feels like the drummer.
For sure.
He's solid.
He's got good rhythm.
Coronado, those, I don't know.
He can say his sax.
You got a horn section?
I feel like Tre Living is just kind of keeping the rhythm.
I think he's just kind of the rhythm guitar maybe.
maybe the bass.
We'll find out from Cori.
He's got good hands.
You need to have quick hands
to be a,
forget,
have those fucking face melters going.
Let's go, Coronado.
Let it sing, boys.
Make some music.
There's your,
oh, look at this,
eventual.
HL.M.
Presumptuous,
Shane.
Top 15 in the world.
We'll find out tonight
what it looks like.
Wolf was,
if you see that,
and read it correctly,
the fourth to last.
pick in the 2019 draft.
That close enough being drafted.
And in 100 games, 74 wins.
Is that good, Rhett?
Well, my math, that's a 740 win percentage.
It's really, really good.
Seven shutouts.
Goalie of the year is a rookie in a league where not rookie goalies win that award.
He's won goaler of the year, three years in a row.
He's probably going to get it again.
And now we're seeing maybe the favorite for HL MVP.
It's an incredible feather in the cap of Wolf and the flames and the Wranglers the success he's had to this point as NHL debut tonight.
And if you're an American, which you are, you must be so excited for both Coronado and Wolf.
Yeah.
Yankee doodle dandy's galore going today.
Connie's just beside himself.
I mean, it's just he's got his Coleman, Stars and Stripes got John strutting around.
If there's ever best on best again, it might tear this team apart.
I know.
I don't know if they can handle it.
So that's what we look forward to tonight.
If you're curious, Wolf will wear 32, Coronado 39,
and Jacob Peltje is going to be back in.
Sporting 49.
Finally.
Yeah.
But we lost.
Finally.
Peltier has come back.
And Forever Flame Nick Ritchie.
It's been fun.
Kind of.
Who has, who had the,
because I'm trying to think,
if that's the last,
the lasting image of a flame for Nick Ritchie,
Brian Elliott had a bad one here?
Oh, there's still that shit.
staying in the cruise from that one.
If. Fuck me.
If Daryl had played Coronado,
like Richie's spot like he is tonight,
would have got the shot?
And would he have scored?
I like the confidence of a young...
What's the book on Coronado?
Who fucking knows what he's doing?
I'll tell you who would have scored.
Matthew Phillips.
I don't know.
Sadly, no Phillips tonight.
Oh, yeah, we didn't talk about bringing him up.
Matthew Phillips scores that goal.
I would love to have seen it.
If things got spicy last night,
between the Jets and the wild.
Divisional foes.
Let's take a bit of work for these two to play in round two, though.
Let's take a peek.
Rick Bonus, first year head coach.
Oh,
Oh, Dean Havisand, former flame!
Spicy!
Look at Dino.
Is he rattled?
Oh!
He looks like a cold-blooded murderer.
So did he say, you have little man syndrome?
Yeah, you, little, you're a little...
Is that Hannibal Lecter on the right?
Look at how stoic he is.
He's like, I will eat.
your flesh. I'm not even worried. You're my dinner. And this is all resulting things. He's got a little
chippy with Caprice off. So Ryan Hartman absolutely blows up Nikolai Eelers. Nowhere near the puck
crushes him at full speed. Eelers leaves the game. Bonus and Evers enter sizing each other up.
Ryan Reeves fought Adam Lowry. This was an absolute doozy. Good on Lowry there. Good on Lowry is right.
I don't know how many guys.
Lowry is not, I'm in the league to fight only guy.
That's a massive step up to fight arguably tough sky league.
Certainly handful guys in that class.
He does well.
He's tough Lauer as well.
Is there any, now, didn't Reeves go out with 30 seconds left and start a fight?
That's what Bowen S, I believe, was Pistible.
What are you doing here?
And to be fair, both these teams, this game means nothing in a week.
You're in a fucking playoff series.
You don't need hurt people.
What did you just do?
That's really mean a lot.
But it kind of meant something to the Jets last night.
They kind of wanted to.
Yeah, they clinched.
Qualify for the playoffs.
That's fair.
It's just at this point of the season,
if you're Minnesota,
the one thing you don't want
is an injury or suspension effect in round one,
right, when you got Dallas or Colorado or something.
But either way,
that was a hell of a game last night.
Yeah, those two could play again in the playoffs.
Let's go.
You know who they want playing in the playoffs like you did last night
was the Jets,
Netminder, Connor Hellebuck.
Did you see the safe?
save of the air, I'm calling it right now.
He goes empty net, Minnesota.
Johansen sweeps it back to the blue line.
There's a shot by Spurge and Lusick drunk.
What?
Full 4 by 6.
Watch the replay on this.
It is absolutely zany that somehow this doesn't go in the net.
This angle will show you a bit.
Diving, the heel of his stick is the only thing on the ice, gets the puck, no goal.
Now, it was late, empty net, 3-1, makes it 3-2 maybe, but how's that?
of the year. Look at this.
Woo!
I mean, score.
For sure.
And if you're the Jets,
hey, Connor, you don't play that for two weeks?
We'll play anyone.
When he's on.
Look out.
Okay.
So, that win to your point,
Dino confirms the whiteouts back.
Blizzard forecast in Manitoba.
There it is. I didn't realize this.
A little factoid from NHLPR.
The whiteout was a response to the
C.E.
of red in a Calgary Winnipeg-Smyth Division playoff matchup.
Cool.
All right.
Unless they're liars.
I mean, I can't speak.
That's what I remember.
It is, eh?
Yeah.
Yeah.
You love Winnipeg.
Big historian as well.
Yeah.
Florida's in as well.
The unthinkable happened last night.
Pittsburgh lost to Chicago.
No.
They allowed four in the third.
Come on, Chicago.
Lost five, two.
All Pittsburgh had to do was meet Chicago and Columbus to get in.
Controlled their own fate.
Lost to Chicago and the win for Chicago 32nd, up to 30th.
I was going to say, and hands up, if this sounds familiar, neither team wanted that result.
Just like last Tuesday when the Hawks beat the flames in Calgary.
Deja fucking boo.
What the fuck are we doing?
Don't do this.
We're going to beat Pittsburgh in Pittsburgh.
And so now here's what we know.
A, Pittsburgh's in trouble.
They don't control their fate anymore.
There's their new logo if you need it.
Chef Boyer, we fucked.
And the islanders who have one game left only need a point against Montreal.
Montreal, come on.
Who are rolling out the La Val Raquette.
We'll see.
Yikes.
Sidney Crosby, 16 years in a row.
It was Mario's last season and Sid's rookie year the last time they missed the plow.
16 years in a row, they're down around the Hail Mary range.
Get some rest. He's played a lot of hockey.
That is fair.
Burkey will be some sour.
I would think so.
I mean,
Mike Sullivan,
that might do it for you.
It's been an incredible run,
but lose into Chicago,
controlling your own fate.
And then, of course,
yes, Rhett,
the Pantaros are in.
Spin the trophy.
The cats are back.
President's trophy winners last year,
they bowed out to,
what, Tampa round two?
Sweep.
Sweepy,
Sweepy-s-a-ch has a better playoff this year.
Round two, who'd they beat?
They won a series?
Yes, I believe,
who was it?
Boston, it's like Carolina.
They crossed over.
Somebody else.
It was a wild card.
It was a first series
and see you guys.
Right?
Isn't that what it was?
Yeah, I don't know.
If they did, then it was.
Moving on.
What else do we know?
Well, the Islanders, a point.
That's all they need.
They're in.
Here's your look at the standings.
There it is.
You'll clinch a playoff berth,
single point against the halves.
Stupid sabers.
Like the Horvatt comments.
Like Bo Horvatt.
The goaltender's amazing.
The building will be rocking.
It will be nice to get three
of those New York area teams
into the postseason.
But I don't know.
It's still the Islanders, right?
Anyway, we shall see.
Eastern standings and Western standings.
We'll start in the West.
We know the eight teams.
Still nothing sort of in the West.
There's not a single matchup we know what's going to happen.
Edmonton can still clinch first.
Seattle's going to be, it looks like, in a wild card.
I don't believe they can catch L.A.
Vegas can still in the Pacific.
Colorado is in first, but Dallas can pass them.
There's a lot going on here.
Not a single thing we can talk about.
East is the same.
The only series you know is going to happen,
the ones we've known for four months is going to happen.
It's Toronto, Tampa, the two, three in the Atlantic.
Everything else is up for grabs.
This is wild.
And almost everyone in the league, I think it's 20,
sorry, 30 of 32 teams will play tomorrow night.
Pretty impressive that the last full slate of games on the schedule
will determine all the matchups.
Good little run here in terms of vying for seating and playoff matchups and such.
Tonight, here's your games.
Lighter slate tonight as we gear up for the massive extravaganza tomorrow.
East we can show as well.
Sorry about that.
There it is.
Florida's crunch.
And there's...
Florida's In-Rat.
They get the back in with the Pittsburgh loss.
One game left.
Islanders one game left.
Just need a single point.
Pittsburgh.
Tees and peace.
You do hell merry here.
Tonight, here's what we're looking at.
Habsiles, we noted it.
Single point.
Dallas, still vying for positioning.
and we talked about flames and sharks here,
nightcap, which will be on T&T in the States.
That'll be a little fun.
Late start?
Ranglers are in Abbotsford.
They will not have Dustin Wolf tonight, as noted.
He's going to start tonight for the Calgary Flames.
That's the remainder of their schedule.
Wednesday, Friday, Saturday.
That tease them up to open a series in Calgary next week.
Home ice in round one of the playoffs.
If I'm correct, maybe some weird buys or something like that.
Please don't be buys.
Let's have a good little run here at the dome.
Some good playoff hockey at the dome.
Please.
Please, please.
One final non-hockey bit before we close out the Pender Report.
It was the first day at the newly redesigned outfield walls at Rogers Center for the Toronto Bliejays.
And we knew Kevin Kiermire was good at Centerfield.
But in the second inning of the first game ever at the redesigned outfield, he did this.
It was pretty good.
Did you watch that one last night?
It was back and forth again.
Kiermeier-Mire scales the wall.
The game was in the afternoon.
And I'm like, come on, he's got to stop drinking in the afternoon.
I'm like, you know, donkey.
And finally, the Yankees are the Yankees.
Here's the catch first.
Yeah, this is good stuff.
So Manoa struggling.
And it's the second inning got blown up.
Could have been worse because look at this.
Zoot!
Oh, yeah.
Just my second inning here.
You guys going to like me?
Pumped up.
They would win rallying from down 3-0.
A lot of dingers.
Nine, three, five dingers.
And they didn't have a lot of ding-dongs on that opening road trip.
Final note, the Yankees,
What do they hate, Dean?
Anyone showing personality with facial hair or long hair?
So let's go to the ball boy.
On the left half of your screen.
Yes.
The ball boy two days ago.
Yep.
On the right side of the screen.
The ball boy.
Clean it up.
Yesterday.
Get your shit together.
Look at this beauty.
Apparently he's in a band.
And he went from the hot red shoes to the Yankees,
dark black or navy blue plays.
Settle down, Jr.
Don't be.
Even the ball boy can't have fun.
He does have the vote for Pedro mustache-going vibes, which...
Does he still have the stash?
Yeah, it's blonde hair.
He'll be gone next.
A ball boy, I don't know.
And it doesn't look like he cut it.
It looks like he's got it tucked up under the back there.
I was going to say, I think he's tucked it.
Yeah, he's been told something, though.
Hey, listen, rock and roll.
Red shoes to blue.
Ah, Yankees got a Yankee.
That's your Pender Report.
All right.
Brought you by Village Honda.
Shave those sideburns, Madagley.
Turn your vehicle into cash during the million dollar buy an event.
We've been saying it for days.
It continues.
They'll buy yours even if you don't buy theirs.
Sellers receive a tropical cruise for two exclusively at Village Honda, Northwest Auto Mall, online, villagehonda.com.
Your dealership for life.
That's how that goes.
You want to hear something funny?
This is a true story.
I might embellish a little bit.
I don't even eat pepperoni pizza.
Ha ha!
That's right, yeah.
Uh, Bing Bong at the door the, uh, two nights ago, last two nights ago.
It's like, you guys know how I feel.
Oh, people ringing my dad door, but all.
If somebody's coming to the house, they've texted ahead of time.
Don't just, don't just show up.
What?
Well, and the first thing it went through my mind because we were talking,
maybe some girl guys are selling cookies, something like that.
Maybe some kids are doing a bottle drive, you know, it's, all right.
Croc open the door.
Sure is bleep.
somebody trying to sell you something.
Hey, just, we're in your neighborhood.
We're doing a little for yard maintenance,
for lawn care with the aeration and power rake and this and that.
So I always just kind of wait, let the guy do his things.
Yep.
I'm tired out a bit there.
Yep.
Just wondering if you're interested?
Actually, we have green drop.
The look on his face.
It wasn't just,
oh,
it wasn't just, okay,
it was,
oh,
he just knew.
It's like,
can't compete with that.
Can't top that.
Can't do it.
Oh,
green drop.
And then,
bam!
Then slam the door on is
cut the,
and you ever,
and fuck off.
Oh,
wow,
geez.
Perkins,
I'm going to make a buck.
Tadies his resume.
How else are you going to keep people
from coming to your door?
You're going to have to have a list of things on your doors.
If you're awfully,
if you,
oh, thanks for coming by.
No,
you got to,
dress them right down on the way out.
I'm never going back to that house again.
You're goddamn right.
You're not.
That security dog and a fence at the front.
That's right.
Hold busty.
Walk the plank to get in here.
Bark more.
Scare them away.
Green drop.
Everyone in your neighborhood should have green drop.
If anybody's using one of the other ones, go knock in their door and say,
you're wasting your money.
Get the green drop.
And you know what?
More specifically, go, you know that barn burner thing.
Go and they've got a QR code on the
screen. You do that thing.
You're getting a discount. And subscribe
while you're out. Subscribe and like and for sure
follow and tell your friends. Unless you hate it, then don't
say a word. Greendrop.com,
the greenkeepers come by your house.
They apply the micronutrients, the
overseeding, whatever the lawn needs.
They know. They know. It's a few minutes. It's
100% guaranteed. If you aren't satisfied,
they'll return and make things right.
the healthy lawn is not as hard as we dummies make it out to be.
It's a tough winter here.
You need some experts.
Just get green drop.
And then water it and cut it and let them take care of the rest.
They have a number of different fertilization programs.
They've got the beautiful basics.
They've got the beautiful premium.
Premium throws in the aeration, the overseeding, the soil booster,
alongside those micronutrients and weed control and everything else.
And there's some other things on there.
There's other add-ons.
I saw it today if you want to keep
like your driveway in that
you want to keep it nice and clean
and have all the weeds taken out
they do that too
I know what they're doing
They've got the buzz boss
Get those pests out of here
Greendrop.com
Go and see everything they have to offer
And as I said last time we said
It was it felt like it was one of those things
Like oh that's that's for fancy people
No it's for smart people
It's so much easier my God
It's just why weren't we doing it sooner
Greendrop.com is the website go
Go and do it today
has a show there.
Yeah, we're not done.
I got to do some reads here because we rant it for an hour.
We got Betway Betway.
We got to tell you about the playoff draft coming up.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
I looked, because one of our things,
we have the playoff draft on Friday over at the Great Eagle.
And when we were picking dates,
well, we couldn't.
Well, there's so many games and who knows, right?
That's right.
You don't even know the seating, the matchups.
How am I supposed to pick players?
I don't even know what they're playing.
Are we going to do it on a Saturday?
Well, Saturday people have weeks, yes, their weekend.
You don't want to have a,
How about the Friday?
Well, there are two games.
What if, what if?
It is Buffalo at Columbus.
Don't matter.
Colorado at Nashville.
Maybe for seating, that's it.
For seating, that's it.
So our fears have been put to bed.
Quelled.
That's right.
Quashed.
Allayed?
Sure.
Sure.
Friday is Hawaiian shirt day and the inaugural.
Barn burner playoff draft.
Oh, baby.
I'm going to wear the most obnoxious outfit I can find.
And that is going to be a high bar.
I like it.
I don't really have anything.
Just a proper too.
Doesn't have to be much.
Even just a single top hat would be lovely for you.
Just the top hat.
Or like one of those canes with the big snow cone at the top.
My top hat and monocle closet and grab one.
And that's the thing for the teams.
If you've got your team, it's a sold out of any, you know,
get your wigs and your makeup and whatever.
whatever you need.
Dress up.
We got the lanyards for you.
You got to do the rest.
Let's go.
We got your tables,
the lanyers,
your VIP section.
I have this setup.
We got a few things,
kind of,
you know,
some Easter eggs dropped in
that will,
uh,
you won't know where happening
until they happen,
that sort of thing.
Friday at the Great Eagle in,
it's presented by,
okay.
Thanks, Alex.
Let it go.
This is Friday.
So you want me to bring that.
That's what I should.
Hell yeah.
Get that sport coat from the 80s
and that short,
bad winter tie.
And do the jig.
Do that dance.
Guys, I love to dance.
You know that.
You know that about it.
Now, have we got that cake made yet
that Rett's going to jump out of
at the intermission?
I know it was custom order.
Nipple piercing tomorrow afternoon.
Waxed up today.
That's right.
Pierce tomorrow.
Ready to jump out of the cake on front.
I don't understand any of it.
Paybilt.com is our presenting sponsor.
Thank you to Paybilt for coming on board
and being a big part of why this is a huge success for all of us,
including kids sport.
It's for the kids.
hashtag for the kids.
It's really the main reason we did it.
Someone would say,
you guys just want to go and get all bozed up and play, you know,
blackjack.
You really don't know us very well if you think that's what we were thinking.
It's backer out, you idiots.
Paybilt for businesses who want to accept more payments and skip credit card fees.
It's got a small business, big bit, you're online only, it works for you.
Paybilt.com.
This is, I mean, it's not brand new.
Obviously, we've been paying with cards and stuff, but,
We're finding there's a little bit of, you know what, there is some chicanery and tomfoolery sometimes.
You look clunky sometimes, Dan.
Well, online payments, it could be, oh, well, that didn't work the way I wanted.
Well, did I get, I got some double charges?
I got, what is this charge?
That's why you want pay bill.
Disputing the charge.
What are you talking about?
Just don't do it.
Just don't do it.
When a customer uses their debit card, there's fees.
And as you say, there could be some, there's some unsavory people out there.
They're looking to steal your bleep.
Don't let them steal your bleep.
That's where pay bill comes in.
shifting away from cards and cash, whether it's in store, whether it's online, maybe you have an app
for your business.
B2B?
More options for your customers, making your customers' lives easier.
They're more inclined to purchase.
That is what it's all about.
It's about safety and saving money and all that.
Paybilt.com is where you need to go and learn more about what paybilt has to offer.
It just makes sense.
Pinder, it just makes sense.
De-risk your life, Dean.
Let's go.
That's right.
It's all I do.
Just try and strip away risk at all.
Cain.
At all turns.
Monaco.
Top hat.
I don't have any of that.
O-tie.
Tap dancing shoes.
I guess I got to be...
Are you going to do anything?
I've got to do something.
Probably should do something.
After he jumps out of the cake, he's got that social anxiety thing.
He's going to have to get a couple stiff rise into him.
And then he'll settle in.
Before I get in the cake, too.
That's right.
Delicious.
Yeah, it's claustrophobic in there.
So it's going to be a puddle by the time this thing's done.
we've already got, I believe, the first four picks, teams are,
yeah, that was a, if there was a kind of a fundraising challenge put on by kids sport to see who was going to draft.
Now it's, you know what, it's a snake draft.
So you do one of these to the bottom and then back up so that you want to pick first.
You can pick first, but then you got to wait for a while.
You're going to pick 30 second in your second round.
You're going to have to wait first, which is how I got screwed in our football draft this year,
especially when your first round pick has a shh.
shit year.
Jonathan Taylor, you prick.
Me as a commissioner, when I get to pick first, it's rigged.
And then when Dean does, I was screwed by the first overall pick.
Fuck.
Jonathan Taylor did fuck.
I had one of those picks, too.
Oh, it's.
Poor bastard.
Was there anyone who, that's the other thing you listen to,
you read side of the high, really, no one screwed more teams this year than Jonathan Taylor.
JT.
He missed a month and, yeah, I got it.
Yeah, it'll be better than that.
You don't have a team to worry about here.
You just be cheering for a fun time.
Just shotgunning beers for the kids in support of kids' sport.
Okay, betway bets of the day.
We can do betway bets of the day.
And then we'll...
How jinxy are your pants, I suppose the question is.
No jinxy pants.
Okay.
No, I'm nothing but good luck.
Yeah.
Yeah, let's just...
You just want to do betway?
Yeah, hell yeah.
All right.
I just do the betway bets of the day.
I...
Oh, it's flames of sharks.
You got to go there, right?
No, I don't need to do anything of that.
So you're not going to jinxie Pats.
You are sticking true.
Just a smidge.
I went into the Betway app on my phone, my mobile phone,
and they have some of the pre-builts.
Yo.
EK 65, is that what?
Well done.
Nailed it.
What he is.
Yeah.
Eric Carlson, Tyler To Foley, to each get a point plus 105.
TT 73?
TT 73 and KKJG 105.
and Suzuki and Ben
two shots or more each
shots
and both have had two or more in four or five straight games
That's not
It's not Jordy
Jordan, yeah, it's not
Which Suzuki's?
Yeah
Who was the
Who was the guy on TV?
Which Suzuki?
David?
David Suzuki?
Yeah, David's not getting two shots.
No.
Plus 130
for Suzuki
Ben.
All right.
Am I going to be a dick if I do this?
Now, I'm not going to go whether you do it or not.
That's true.
And that's a fair point.
I wasn't sure if I was going to do it, but I did look at what a shutout would be for
the Gary Flames tonight.
The storybook career of Dustin Wolf makes its first NHL appearance tonight.
I'm going to take the under on two and a half for San Jose.
Play well in front of them, gents.
Backlands won away from 20, anytime goal, plus 187.
You really wimped out.
Like I thought
Couldn't find the shut out.
Couldn't find the shutout.
It would be a wolf for coronado.
That's the best I could do.
And look, you know, there's lots of bets out there,
but this one feels safe.
Two in your debut, we'll call it a win.
There you go.
That's the Betway bets of the day.
Get that Betway app.
Put it on your phone.
Odds are subject to change.
You see it there.
Oh, that's right there.
So when you go in and looking for that backland anytime goal,
maybe people see this and they're racing to the app.
And all of a sudden,
we can't continue to give that kind of value
for a backland goal.
gotta,
yeah,
or the,
you know,
there's a horrible injury
and skate for the sharks
and Brent Cron's in net
for the sharks,
and you're like,
well,
we got to change the over
number here.
Christ,
we can't be living with this.
Take it down
because clearly
Cron is going to stand
in his fucking head.
Oh,
you're thinking that way,
okay.
That's so,
what other way would we possibly?
That's only one period.
Small sound.
That's right.
Bigger golies
take up more room.
Did you hear that?
I did hear that.
About an hour ago.
Smart not,
Pender.
That's it for the show.
Final game of 82 tonight
for the flames. We will react
to this
match. Sharks
and flames
with everything on the line
in game 82.
And
get set for a marathon
after burner. Oh yeah. Because Kerr's
working today. Is he? That's right. I don't know who he's
got. He doesn't even need anyone. He doesn't
need anybody. That mofogo two hours if he wants.
Now speaking of Rob Kerr,
just the game every Monday, Wednesday, Friday. Today
on the show
Billy Jaffe,
nice, veteran broadcaster.
I believe he's still doing what, Nesson broadcast, still in Boston.
And what a season.
Marco Carducci.
Yes.
Hey, Marco Carducci, come on.
Just the game today on Flames Nation YouTube.
Big shout out to Carducci.
Dosticular cancer.
Beat that last offseason came back.
It was phenomenal again and open to talk about it to help raise awareness for men's health issues.
Good on.
And I know that'll be part of the discussion today.
Rob for sure. That's a little barn burner for you today, everybody. Thanks for being a part of it.
Support the sponsors. Follow, like, subscribe. See you tomorrow.
Rupp. Oilers suck. See you, buddies.
