Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - The Flames are Eliminated from the Playoffs | FN Barn Burner
Episode Date: April 11, 2023Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop! FlamesNation Barn Burner: Boomer & Warrener Tuesday April 11th, 2023 - Rhett is LIVE in the Studio - Flames Fail to make the Playoffs- Flames Pr...edators Loss Recap - The Pinder Report for Village Honda - Betway Bets of the Day Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome inside the Tower Chrysler Studios here on Tuesday.
I believe it's the 11th of April.
It sure is, Dean.
Yeah, it's the 11th of April.
And we're all together.
We're here to offer each other support and strength.
Playoffs are overrated.
No fun.
No fun to be had in the playoffs.
As a former player, Rhett, do you get played?
Do you get paid to play in the playoffs?
No, sir, you do not.
What a rip-off.
Right?
And it's supposedly the most important time of the year.
You'd think you'd be compensated.
And I love to train, so it cuts into my training.
Big times.
Yeah, there's one thing, yeah.
Traveling all over the place and games.
And I'm told these tickets are more expensive for these games or the players aren't even paid?
I know.
Huh?
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Weather's turning.
Let's get the golf clubs out.
Play 82.
You're done with it.
Yeah.
It's good.
You know the schedule then.
Exactly.
Set schedule.
You've always been a proponent of a set schedule.
No one what the hell is going on.
You don't need those kind of surprises.
You don't know who you're playing.
Like I was reading this morning,
there's only one playoff series set.
That's correct.
Four days,
30 games left.
There's seven series.
They don't know who's playing who.
Where is it starting?
Where are you traveling to?
Where do we book the jet to?
This is hard.
I'm getting anxious.
Damn, kids got baseball started.
I can't go to.
How do I know?
if I can go or not. Are you buying milk? Are you buying bananas? You don't know. You might be out of your
house for six bloody days. My home or my away team to start? I don't even know yet. How am I supposed
to plan my life? I'd rather just be done with it all. I'm glad we're all in the same
page. Flames also drinking what we're putting out there because they are also out on this whole
playoff thing. Yeah, they don't. Fuck it. Not interested. Not interested. No. Last night,
three two shootout.
Extra time loss.
Made it look good.
Yeah.
One goal loss.
Another one goal loss.
30 of them now, I believe, on the season.
31 goal losses.
If you include empty netters, it's now 53 one goal games.
They've won 20.
Yeah.
Ouch.
I was watching the game last night on the television.
And it went to a shootout.
I think I was telling Pindra, me I was telling you.
Sometimes when you're watching, I'm watching it by my
I saw if kids are in bed's late.
And a thought comes into your head.
I don't know.
That seems like something.
But maybe it's just me.
And then you go to social media, the soche, to see.
And for me, it's Instagram and sometimes Twitter.
I find Twitter because you have a lot more in the way of, you know, people are sharing thoughts.
Instagram, it could be photos or videos, but this is just kind of.
So last night I'm sitting there and watching the shootout and I see Nick Ritchie go out to
to shoot.
And it just kind of,
odd choice.
Haven't seen them.
Feels like an odd choice.
But maybe.
And then didn't score.
And then Nashville, of course, did score and would win.
So I was,
that does feel odd.
But maybe, maybe it's just me.
Go to Twitter and see,
maybe I'm on the outside looking in.
I grabbed just a small segment of some of the Twitter stuff
that I saw last night.
when I went on.
And it was,
it was trending.
Oh.
So that was what,
that's what was on Twitter
when I went just to see.
And if you're not watching on the YouTube.
Oh, geez.
That's a tough list of trainings.
So NHL Live Predators at Flames.
Hashtag fire Sutter.
Trending in Canada.
Treliving.
And then Nick Ritchie.
And there's also some Sutter and Tofoli in there.
So then I start to kind of just go into the time.
line and I'm I'm I'm strolling through if you stroll on Twitter I'm not sure I guess you
may be a scroll or stroll the way tomb scroll and then uh some people really were starting to uh
to put their thoughts to some maybe taking some memes or some gifts or whatever some gifs whatever we
call it so there was one um and you could just kind of roll through these we don't need to go into
uh into the exact exact detail on each ones but safe to say
The internet world, the social media world, was also quizzing,
quizzical about why it was Nick Ritchie with your season on the line.
Oh, boy, that's, with your season on the line.
That's obviously Eastern time.
I don't want to confuse people.
That's right.
Yeah, that's right.
So it was, were we, and I'm guessing we're all in the same boat.
It's a, this is just a little small tidbit, and we can move on from it because
Nick Ritchie did not cost the flames the playoffs, but it was.
It was an odd choice with your season on the line.
Yeah, it kind of felt like one of those things.
Retro, were you in the same boat?
How can't you be?
Yeah.
He was picked up as an afterthought almost, it feels like.
I mean, he is what he is, and he's going to be the face of the franchise when you need a goal in a shootout.
You know, there's a lot of guys that are here for a while.
There's a lot of guys that have had phenomenal.
offensive seasons. Okay, there's a few that maybe don't have great shootout track records,
but let's go to a guy that's been here a hot minute, and maybe he's on a PTO in this league next year.
You know what I would do? I would, I'd let him, I'd healthy scratch him for game 82 and let one of
the other guys play on home ice, just to save him maybe some grief.
Scorn? Yeah. Let's bring in our, our NHL insider. He is, of course, the man with Daily Faceoff.
Daily Faceoff Live, he is there, he's Frank, Sarah Valley.
I didn't see anything on, or did I see anything on your Twitter?
I think maybe you were out there.
Were you also somewhat questioning the choice of Nick Ritchie in the shootout?
Somewhat questioning?
I mean, sure.
Let's just leave our, I don't care what the numbers are for Tyler DeFoli.
Let's just leave our leading goal score and leading point getter on the bench.
He's been awful in his career.
It's weird.
To Foley, two for seven, yeah, two for 17.
One for two this year.
He scored in Minnesota to win the game and then didn't score in Vancouver on Saturday.
I mean, I'm with you.
I don't want to spend too much time on it because it's a small part of it.
Yeah, let's not get lost in the weeds of what is essentially inconsequential.
When this team lost to the Chicago Blackhawks last week, that was their season swirling down the toilet.
So how did we get here?
How did we get here?
because I was kind of going through
and we'll do it, as you guys were saying on Afterburner last night,
we got a lot of time to go through everything.
You don't want to do everything on day one.
But when you think of the start of the season,
there were a lot of people.
This was, could be a home ice team.
Absorbing the losses of 200 point guys.
Looks like they'd be all right, this whole thing.
Depth down the middle.
Depth, the strength of the team.
When you could finally go three centers deep,
finally backland is in that third line center spot where he should be how strong it would be pretty much everything outside of tofoli
and i'm sure there's some other some other stories for dube he matches a season high in goals i guess or a career high
but outside of that it is a laundry list frank of things that went sideways or just straight downhill for the flames this year i i did not see it coming
who did i mean i picked this team to lose in the stanley cup final
It's a kiss of death, Frank.
I just, well, yeah, I mean, that's a story for another day.
But like the point being, they were a trendy pick.
And the reason, the multitude of reasons, there's a million of them.
I'm going to start with the goaltending.
That to me is just look at that, that go back, Alex, to that previous stat board,
Jacob Markstrom 892, the difference between 892 and 920 or 922 last season, that's eight points.
Easy.
You want to go to the one goal games, 18, 13, and 17.
That's the record.
30 out of 48 games, Pinder, you took it a step further and included the empty net wins.
I don't know why you'd further bump up the number to 20.
It's a half measure.
Out of the losses.
That's what it was.
Okay.
And then let's start with the Ritchie decision in the shootout is like it's the, it's the cherry on top of the head scratching coaching decisions and lineup choices from the number of months that Milan Lucci spent in the top six to the four months that Jonathan Euberto played on the right side of the lineup.
up. I mean, let's go through them all. There's no shortage of them, but the richy one was just
like, all right, yeah, whatever. Let's just add it to the list. Is there, is something like,
we talk about all the things that went wrong, like power play was awful. Goaltending, like at five
on five, one of the worst two or three teams in the league, brutal. You had massive career low seasons
from two of the biggest drops in the NHL last year this year, your two prized free agent additions.
with all those things that went wrong,
they still only got eliminated in Game 81.
Is that a weird silver lining in a dysfunctional room
where it doesn't feel like the players and coach
are on the same page?
Does that give you optimism
or does it still scream to you blow it up?
It ain't working.
No, it further underlines just how damn disappointing this season was.
The fact that you have that collection of talent
and you still almost backed your way into it
and if not for the Winnipeg Jets to open the door,
in the last month, you would have had no prayer.
That just makes it nine times more frustrating than it should have been for this team
because clearly they have the goods and the talent to do it.
And if you want to talk about chemistry and culture and all the things that go with that,
to me, it starts right at the very top, right with Darrell Sutter.
Because for whatever reason, and we've talked about this a million times,
if you're new watching the show, this is your first time.
welcome in, come in and take a seat.
If you're a regular, you've heard us discuss it
just about every week that I've been on,
every Tuesday all season.
He was a flat out disaster this year,
managing this team and everything that went on,
pushing every button incorrectly that you possibly could.
He oversteered the ship.
You said it, seven games in.
They lost to Edmonton in a game they played really well and should have won,
and he started shuffling the lines.
I am, I am, see, I know him,
and I'm not surprised by them.
this because when he won the Jack Adams, I knew he was going to overdo it because he wants to
to prove that that wouldn't change him, so he's going to squeeze even harder.
He's one of those guys that pushes buttons and pushes guys and his hard on guys.
He didn't want anyone in the outside looking at him going, oh, he won the Jack Adams.
Now he's kicking his feet up.
That's not his style.
So he overdid it.
That's what I think.
And I don't buy that the players don't deserve some responsibility in this too.
You just said it, Markstrom, make it effing safe.
Make a save.
Darrell Sutter does, you played for him last year and you're up for a Vezna.
That didn't change.
So he didn't make the saves.
The list is long of where you want to point fingers.
But certainly Daryl's, he's going to be facing some heat over this because I guess I'd, for me,
I wasn't convinced this group was going to come together and be successful.
but when you do almost back into it and you do look at Markstrom and you do look at the misses the coaches had
maybe there is optimism I don't know to me it's still peak sadness you are drafting in a shitty position again
and you didn't get there and I just think there's too much tendency or trend here from 89 to 2023
from 89 to 2023 and you could say what the hell does 92 have to do with anything well maybe it doesn't
but i'll tell you what it's been mediocrity forever ever and ever and when will that change i don't know
but they could bounce back make the playoffs next year i wouldn't bet on them but they could
the year after, same shitty misses playoffs,
draft an average player again.
I was going to say,
so does this resonate as one of those playoff misses
that could shake a franchise and a philosophy,
or are you going to see what you just said
because of the cap and contracts that are already handed out?
You're going to roll this team back for the most part
and try and just be better next year.
I would expect, given the commitments and terms,
and term and frankly, I've said this before too. The guys that exceeded their value on the cap this year,
you know, Heffoli, go down the list, Hanofin, like, why would you trade those guys?
Well, if only you're going to lose it for nothing. What I'm saying is the surplus value that
Backlin and these guys all provide is more valuable to you, I think, than it is to others.
So is this loss, is this season, this loss season going to be franchise foundation shaking?
Of that, I have no doubt.
Zero.
There are changes coming.
I just don't know what they are yet.
And I think everyone that's around that team knows that there's changes coming too.
Because to my knowledge, and this extends, you know, pretty far into the staff, you know, equipment staff, trainers.
I don't know about assistant coaches,
but head coach, to me, to my knowledge,
is the only guy that has a contract for next year.
It's not like he's safe.
Whether that, I don't think he's safe at all is what I'm saying.
So I think whether it's change at general manager and the coach is back,
that's one option.
Whether it's change at coach and the general manager's back.
That's another option.
Whether they're both gone, that's another option as well.
So I'm not spitballing here.
telling you that there is a more or less zero chance that both GM and coach are back next season.
And I'm not pitting one against the other because that's not the way that it is whatsoever.
It's just that it's happening.
Something's happening.
And it's going to shake this team and should shake this team to the foundation that there's going to be no, hey, and you know what?
We talked all season long.
Could the flames be next year's version of the Winnipeg Jets?
Redd, you just talked about mediocrity.
Watching this Jets team falter and revert back to a lot of what they were last season is the exact reason why you'd want to make some changes.
Don't just roll back the same thing next season and say, well, you know, hopefully the chemistry is a little bit better.
The guys get along better.
Different coach.
Maybe everyone comes together.
The Jets sneaking into the playoffs as the eighth seed in the west by the skin of their team.
teeth is the exact reason why there needs to be some sort of change, some process moving forward
in a different direction because this isn't working.
Does it not speak volumes because we can point fingers at the GM and then you point fingers
at the coach and rightfully so when things don't go well, they all have to answer the bell
or whatever you want to call it?
At what point do you look at the players?
And there's a few specifically I want to point out.
Cadre in that Chicago game made one of the weakest, softest,
chicken shit plays in a must-win situation I've ever seen.
I don't know how the rest of his team can believe that he's going to show up when it matters again.
And secondly, in a situation such as the flames were in,
does it not speak volumes of your group that none of them stepped up?
and took control and took a leadership role.
There hasn't been a captain now for a few years,
and I wouldn't give a C to any of those guys.
Where do you, how do you pull apart the pieces
and get these guys to realize it's bullshit?
Even if you don't like the coach or the GM,
you're supposed to like each other and go play for each other.
The idea is to win a Stanley Cup.
you none of them showed none of them showed me that they truly cared or wanted to yeah i think at some
point instead of just throwing your arms up and saying enough with this you band together and say we're
going to win in spite of this guy or to spite this guy if that's what you end up being having as your
rallying cry and instead um in in situations when it mattered most this team folded like a cheap tent
in a soft wind. And that's the truth. So who? It's almost rhetorical. You're going to make changes.
So if the coach leaves or the GM or one or the other, all right. So it's an emotional time.
You don't make big decisions when you're emotional. We're told that's the case. But then who?
because it's generally been a, here's a first time general manager, here's a first time head coach,
or whatever the case.
How much they're getting paid?
I mean, that's all kind of relative, I guess.
But it's not as though you're getting seasoned outside of Daryl, right?
But you're not getting those seasoned NHL coaches or GMs coming here.
We all love change.
But then, and I'm not, I agree.
there needs to be changed.
But I just wonder, knowing how that this team operates,
why would we have any faith or belief that it's going to be better moving forward,
depending on who they bring in,
knowing that they don't go out and get the best candidate possible all the time?
Or that the best candidate doesn't want to come here.
Exactly.
Yeah.
That's part of it too.
I see an issue with the owner wanting to pay market value.
And I think in the contract conversation with the GM,
there's probably a bit of a difference in opinion there,
where there was offers extended to both Daryl and the GM.
One of them accepted one didn't in training camp.
It wouldn't surprise me one Iota if this owner didn't have any interest paying market
value for a top coach.
And when you look when Bob Hartley was on the books, they went cheap.
And when Jeff Ward was hired, when Bill Peters was on the books, if Daryl's on payroll
next year, they're going to bring in somewhat cheap if we've learned anything about how
they do business.
Maybe things change, but I would expect if Daryl's gone, it's a first.
time NHL head coach making 25 to 32 money in the league.
If Daryl's gone, it's Mitch Love.
And if it's not Mitch Love, you better impress me with something else.
Because Mitch Love is doing a hell of a job.
He's clearly worked with some of these kids.
We're screaming for youth, and he's gotten the most out of his youth in the
HL.
If it's not Mitch Love, I'll be stunned.
Now, does that mean success, and are we excited about it?
If Mitch loves behind a bench next year?
I don't know.
Yeah, you said at the beginning, Frank, everything starts at the top.
I have a hard time envisioning, just to put a bow on the coach conversation,
I have a hard time envisioning a path back for Darrell Sutter next year.
I expect at the exit meetings whenever they take place this weekend,
whenever it is, that there will be some difficult conversations of,
and we know that you can't change out more than a handful of guys in any given season based on the contracts, any given off season, that there will be a handful of guys that more or less given ultimatum.
If the coach is back, I'm not.
And that's the rumblings.
That's what everyone has heard that spent any time talking to people around the flames.
Does Darrell care about that, though?
because the only way I see him not being here is if he decides not to be here.
Not a fire?
I don't think they fire him.
Based on money?
I don't think the flames will fire him.
They didn't fire him last time.
That's GM.
It's a tough conversation to him.
He won the Jack Adams.
Like a year ago, he won the Jack Adams.
Like, that is something.
But remember Hartley did too.
I'm not saying, I, but long list of guys.
It is a long list of guys.
Yeah, go through the Jack Adams Award winners that were then fired the next season.
It's a bunch.
Shelf life.
Long and distinguished list.
And I don't even think it necessarily has to do with shelf life or anything like that.
And I don't think the award really means much in the sense that everyone knows that, you know, you could be gonged in short order following that.
I just in this case this was this like let's go let's rewind it back and really look because like
Rhett you're big on process. It sounds kind of hard to believe. You're big on process and you went
back and you said this was not the plan. Like what is first off what is the plan? Let's go 30,000
foot view five years down the line. What are the Calgary Flames? And I can only tell you this. Darrell Sutter was not brought
in for a five-year run.
It was a year and a half, two and a half years and out.
And when this extension happened, that was a hard right turn from the plan.
So what happened?
And I think more to the point, who's calling the shot?
That's why I don't know.
And that's why I don't know that he's gone.
Because I don't think that was the GM walking into the room going, we need you for a couple
more years.
Here's a contract offer.
I think it was someone higher up making that.
That's got to be the owner.
Who else going to be?
And so if that was the case,
the owner has belief and faith in that man.
And that's why I think Booms say,
and I don't know if he's gone, right?
We started the conversation talking about the top of the organization.
The top of the organization isn't Daryl.
The top of the organization is the owner.
And the problem is no one's closer with the owner than Daryl.
So he may well be very worthy of not returning.
Is the owner convinced?
And no one talks to the owner.
We don't hear from the owner.
I don't know who knows the answer to that question, aside from Murray Edwards.
And maybe it's semantics.
Maybe Daryl hears that the locker room, I think, God, Daryl knows by now.
Jesus, we're game 81.
But for Daryl to hear in exit meetings that there was a chorus of players who were really unhappy with you,
that that will be what sends him back to Viking.
If he's not back, I think it's that be damned.
He sees what this team is going to be.
he was here all year.
I'm just going to go home.
Let's negotiate a buyout and let's...
He's not, I don't think he'll go home.
But the other point I want to make about the whole franchise and the whole...
How many coaches?
Like how many times do we make fun of franchises?
Change the coach, change the coach, change the coach, change the coach.
It's coach's fault, coach's fault.
Holy Christ.
We have been through a lot of coaches here now.
Like, it's getting...
You get a one and a half year shelf life as a coach?
Like, you get two years?
that's the heartley
gulletson
Peters circumstances
Ward was no good
Sutter Sutter was no good
Like Keenan
Another Sutter
Darrell
Jimmy Playfair
We're talking about every other year
Minimum
Greg Gilbert
We've changed coaches
What in the
Is going on
And again I'm not saying
That Darrell didn't do a shitty job this year
but at some point
you know there's a lot of guys in that room
that have had a lot of coaches
the next coach will be their 19th
they moved here in what 1980
so that's
every other year
so if so if they bring in another coach
do you feel like
well let's next year is another year
I don't because I saw Nazim Kadri
not give a shit
was that outlier
or was that
Something you expect under a coach, he respects more.
I think as a player, go ahead, thank.
No, I was just going to say, I see a complete change next year with the players and their
attitude.
I think they were so far gone this year.
And again, Rhett, I'm not absolving them because to your point, that also says a lot about
them and the way that they played.
But I think they were so far gone this year from Cadreys to Huberto to, you know,
backland.
and the rest of the guys, they just were like, this ain't working.
Can't do it.
And again, I'm not within those walls.
I don't know what is said and what isn't said,
but it was lost in January, if not well before then,
but it was like the wheels were off in January.
And there was just no, let's use a barn burner phrase,
there was no way to put that horse back in the barn.
It was gone.
So you, and that's fine.
I don't, coach can change and maybe they bounce back.
After watching this squad, I mean, you probably didn't have to watch it as much as we do.
Is the talent there?
Like, is the talent really there?
Because they don't score the goal when they need to.
Well, they also didn't get the save when they need to.
But does anyone think Jacob Markstrom is a bad goalie?
We did for four months here.
I don't.
Yeah, well.
That's a bad at all.
That's also the nature of the position.
Like, it is a year-to-year coin flip.
You don't know what you're getting.
And yeah, maybe Markstrom, I don't know, maybe he, you know, his best days are behind him.
Maybe the Edmonton Oilers broke him in the battle of Alberta last year.
And that's all she wrote.
Maybe, but I doubt it.
And just in the same token, did Jonathan Hubertoe after 115 point season for get out of play hockey?
Like, I don't think so.
You know what?
And it kind of comes back to a point that Rhett made.
And we've talked about this before and just to kind of bring it.
I have a, the hard time I have is when you're in March and you're within,
you get, it's the playoffs.
Within that room, you can look around, do we hate the coach?
We hate the coach.
Okay, fine.
Yeah, everybody hates the coach.
You know what, though?
Let's get into the playoffs.
I don't hate you.
I don't hate you.
I don't hate you.
at the end of the year, you know, we'll go into the, we'll go upstairs and we'll tell our story,
but we may as well try and put it together. And I guess they kind of did when you look at their
record, but the losses were so bad. But just watching the team play, we've talked about this.
Troy Stetcher has been the most, he's been the emotional leader and heartbeat of this team. And
Weeger's been pretty good as of late too. But when the new guy, the 5-6D man from Arizona is out there showing
what heart and compete looks like.
You got a problem.
That's what it comes down to me.
You can hate the coach.
But how do you sit in the room
and kind of look at each other?
And it's like, let's at least try.
Let's at least try.
Yeah.
And you have Andreas Athena Skiu
come into your building last Tuesday night
and like the scene out of dumb and dumber,
reach into your chest
and grab your heart out
and put it in a doggy bag.
Good night.
So how does this play out?
got a game tomorrow. That's game 82. They clean lockers probably Friday.
So I think they're doing it Thursday. I think you missed the playoffs. It is get this shit
over with. What are we waiting for? Get back here at noon on Thursday. Have your chat.
Yeah, it's a home game. You might be right. Get out of town. Yeah. Done. So what's our what's our
timeline and crystal ball here for for changes? Well, I guess ask yourself the question.
is the man from Switzerland going to be around to come in and and sort through this?
Who's making the call?
Who's calling the shots?
I'd assume it's Mary Edwards, but is he going to?
What happens here?
Does this happen via Zoom?
Like, how does this work exactly?
I don't have any insight on that.
I don't know, again, what this means for, like, you know, I go back to the, like, let's go back to process and let's start at the top.
Like because everyone thinks that there is talent here,
and I think everyone sort of universally agrees that the work that was done last year to help give this team a shot by Brad True Living, like, was, how much of the blame does he, he, he assembles the team.
And if we agree that someone else was calling the shot on Darrell Sutter, how do you then, like, do you just, okay, you're out.
I don't know what the answer is here.
I really don't.
And does he want to come back?
You know, what is the situation moving?
There's a million questions to answer here, and I don't have any of them.
But you ask for a timeline?
Like, you have to start there, do you not?
Who is running this team?
You collect all the data and intelligence you can from the exit interviews.
And then what?
You relay that to the man upstairs and he makes a decision?
How does this work?
It's never, I can't recall a situation like this.
Usually you end up gonging the GM a few weeks back so that you can at least have a fresh set of eyes, a fresh approach, a fresh something in interim in place to run the show that, you know, whatever you're getting in return is something different.
We've used the word dysfunctional a lot here the last few weeks.
And that's when you talk about Trilving.
Should he be renewed?
don't know. Does he want to come back? Don't know. Daryl's got a contract. Does he want to come back?
Don't know. Do they want to work with each other? Do the players want to play for the coach?
Do the players want to play for each other? Where's the owner? And we talked about it last week.
By now in a lot of places, like Christ Philadelphia put out a letter to fans or whatever.
You would have had somebody front face and come out and say, here's where we're at. This is what we're doing.
Since Ken King passed, we've not really had anyone, brought.
Weinberg leaves and Ken King passes away.
There really hasn't been a face of a franchise here to speak to this fan base about the good,
the bad, or other.
What's the plan?
And that was, you know, another point to make on that is I think the fans are fed up.
I don't know if you return with the same crew next year that your base is going to be of supportive of it without some sort of messaging from the top.
Nobody knows what the F is going on.
Yeah.
When Frank doesn't know, I mean, like, this is the problem with the organization is that if you have a lame deck GM, you don't have a president of hockey operations.
The guy running CSEC has never heard or speaking publicly on hockey affairs.
And the owner can't even show up to cut ribbon when he gets 300 million of tax dollars.
Like, who's saying what to who?
This is all dysfunction.
And auditing a dysfunctional team feels really hard.
What's real?
What isn't?
It's all like, fuck.
I don't know.
And then you're supposed to say, hey, Breast.
Brad True Living, give us answers.
Well, he doesn't know the answer.
Like, who are we supposed to ask here?
It was one of those things.
It's not fair to him to even be in the spot.
I think that's the most alarming issue with this team is you're asking for answers of people that don't have them.
Remember Ken King, one of his things he would always say is when fans can be upset, fans can be excited.
It could be frothing at the mouth or, you know, buying your cheering.
but what you need the most frightening thing is when they start not to care when there's some indifference
apathy towards the team that's when you need to be concerned and for a lot of years this that's what
this fan base has been they've been sour they've been loving it it's been red mile or it's been
that whole thing and i'm not maybe i'm just not talking to the right people but i i'm starting
to get a bit of that well i'm yeah i'll tell you what if they're
bring Darrell back, you're going to get a shitload apathy. At least you'd be able to believe in some
new process. And there was enough missteps from the coach and you could look back at the years the guys
had two seasons ago and say, you know what? If these guys can get rid of their pouty pants and this guy
can be a little more modern and, you know, play some guys, not just 32 year old guys in the same
jewelry club. Like, I think that would help. But if you're bringing Daryl back, this is going to be
apathy central. So what else is this? I don't buy the apathy thing for one second. There's
631 people watching this stream this exact second, a passionate fan base that wants answers
that's not getting them. And we don't have anyone to hold to account because we don't know
who's going to be here or who isn't. And frankly, they don't know. So let's get some answers.
What else is going on? What's for lunch? What's happening? Yeah. We've got, I was saying,
we've got, what, one playoff series set, four days left in the regular seat. And,
season. There's a lot to be decided yet, Frank.
Where are you going for round one?
Slating. Oh. Well, I was, I was hoping to be in Calgary.
Yeah, I'm all right. That was my plan. Flames get in and I was like,
uh, I don't know that's happening.
Well, it's sad we won't see. Yeah, well, tore up.
It's really sad for local restaurants.
It's really rough. Yeah, it's really rough. Yeah, it's really, but yeah, look at
tonight's slate. I mean, you've got three division leads.
up for grabs.
Colorado's playing, New Jersey's trying to chase down the Carolina hurricanes, the Oilers
are trying to chase down the Vegas Golden Knights, not to mention the Sabres trying to keep
their season alive.
You know, the Pittsburgh Penguins control their own fate again, when and you're in after the
New York Islanders opened up the door.
Just the fact that we, I can't even believe that we're having this discussion right now
about Calgary based on the way this team I think was assembled earlier this year.
I just, I don't buy it for one second that they don't have the goods to get in and to be a team
that can do some damage. I don't, I don't buy it. I'm sorry.
We're trying to leave that conversation now he's bringing it back.
Well, I mean, we've kept Frank for long enough. Is there anything else anybody wants to talk?
It does feel like it's a very flames heavy kind of a day.
Well, maybe we'll go here. Is there a matchup you want or one that you're curious about?
it doesn't sound like the Leafs are going to start Samson off tonight and Murray's hurt.
So I don't know that we put much stock in tonight's preview of that series.
But there are seven other first-year-on matchups to be determined.
Is there anything you're really wishing, wanting for in this divisional format?
By the way, what a crock of shit that is.
The Leafs likely are going to start a goalie tonight on an amateur tryout contract
because, frankly, they don't even really care about the cap situation and the impact
because they're so locked in.
they can't go anywhere in the standings their matchup is locked in they're starting with home ice
this game is utterly irrelevant and meaningless samsonoff hasn't started on back-to-backs all
season long and for the third game in a row we're just going to go with the guy on an amateur contract
because instead of actually bringing up a goalie once we sent down wayne simmons on sunday
we prioritized signing matthew nyes out of the university of minnesota and therefore that ate up our
cap space and when we went back to the NHL and said, hey, we'd like to get an emergency exception
and add a guy to our roster for zero dollars. The league said, no, no, no, you spent your cap space
on Matthew Nye, so therefore you cannot have a goalie under emergency exception. That's where we're
at. I'm the Leafs and I don't care about the cap. So I'm just going to start. They had two
random guys today at their morning skate in Tampa. Check out the video. No one has any idea what these guys,
who their names are and where they've played hockey.
And I'll tell you what, that turns a...
This is the National Hockey League.
That turns a meaningless game, to me,
potentially into something that you could look back and say,
that's where they fuck themselves.
Why if you're the Leafs?
When you need to...
Can't get out of the first round, can't get out of the first round.
So you're going to go and play the Tampa Bay Lightning,
who have lost three in a row.
They're on a slide.
So you're going to help Tampa get feeling right again
and then get into...
all the PTSD comes right back with one game, two games left in the regular season.
I feel like this could be one of those things that the Leafs are going to regret.
That you put Samson off, do whatever you need to do, figure it out, don't bring Nyes in,
whatever the situation is.
You play this game as though it matters, that you do set the tone for this playoff series that's coming up.
The Leafs, out of anybody, I think, they need to prove to themselves that they're ready for this series.
They can't throw a game like tonight's away.
Frank don't agree with you.
I would.
I couldn't, I couldn't disagree more.
You got, you know what?
You got to grab your balls and give them a tug.
In 82 games this season.
Mitch Marner could have scored 179 points and Samsonoff could have won the Vezina.
And it does not matter whatsoever what happens in this regular season for the Toronto Maple Leafs.
Which is why it's a men.
mental thing to me. It's a mental thing for this Leafs team. No team is more focused on getting
out of the first round than the Toronto Maple Leafs. And if they get taken to the tool shed tonight
by the lightning, what do you think they're thinking about when they're leaving the rink tonight?
They're going to shrug their shoulders and say, we had a guy that prior to entering the rink
today, we didn't know his name starting in goal for us tonight. You might be right. Exactly
what they're going to say. You might be right.
That doesn't strike me as a team that's mentally tough.
That doesn't strike me as a team that is unaware of how things have gone for their playoffs,
their playoff lives in the years past.
You might be right.
I don't like, I don't like they might not care.
They might be mentally fragile, but that isn't going to change in the next four days,
regardless of whatever happens tonight.
I said yesterday on TV, what will it take for the Leafs to win in the first round is for them to develop.
and have some killers in their lineup
because they don't have any.
There are no assassins.
You need them.
We'll check out the score sheets
from the last few game sevens that they've lost.
Who scored?
No one of any significance or importance.
I just said the flames folded like a cheap tent
and a soft wind.
That's what their stars have been doing,
the Leafs when they get to the biggest,
you know, stretch of the playoffs.
How many opportunities did they have last year?
Take a three to one series lead.
Take a end in the series in game six.
Then you go back to your building in game seven and lose.
Like, come on.
You have many upteen chances to slay your demons and you don't do it.
It ain't changing in game number 81 of the regular season if you don't have it already.
Do we know when that series starts?
It'll be Monday or Tuesday, Frank, when all those series open.
Is that right?
With the last regular season games being Friday night?
Yeah, I don't know.
I didn't look at the building availability.
No, I just,
the Leafs kept it wide open.
Just for our purposes,
I was going to ask you before you leave,
because it's the one series we know.
Who do you like?
Is it,
are they finally poised to get by the Lightning
or to get out around one?
They've been the way better team this season.
And I think if you've wanted the Lightning
at any point in time,
this is the year to get them.
Like, they haven't been as good.
Victor Hadbin has,
he's not in the Norris conversation for the first.
time and feel like I can't remember. Vasilevsky has looked way more human during stretches this
year. That said, I still think, not think, I know Tampa has the better goalie. And what about
this Tampa team? Like, I don't think they give a shit about the regular season and what happens either.
They're like, yeah, we're in whatever. Who cares? We'll turn it on when it matters. And
I would knock that thought process and theory, except they've shown an ability to do that in the last couple of playoffs.
And until, here's how I'm going to answer your question about who do I like and who's the favorite.
Until the lightning are slayed, I'm not bending against them.
That's where I'm at.
And I think the Leafs Open his favorites in Vegas and tempt people to take that money.
All right.
Well, we'll know more by next week when we talk to you.
It'll be opening night or we'll have a game to react to.
Well, and I'm even thinking here.
What we know about?
Oh, shit.
Yeah, Calgary.
It's going to get an awkward party if there's not something.
Yeah.
I need something has to happen somewhere.
All right, Frankie boy.
Be good.
Thanks.
Talk to you next week.
See you guys.
Have fun diagnosing this post for a morning.
Yeah, that's so great.
Thanks.
Franks are of Alley, our NHL Insider.
he's very convinced, it seems,
or he's very much leaning towards
Darrell not being back.
And he's kind of hinted towards that
over our last few conversations.
I think he believes that what he's hearing from the room
will be enough to influence it.
I just don't know if it will.
I don't doubt that what Frank's hearing is true.
You could watch the games
and see that the players were tuning Darrell out
and not playing hard for him.
Cadry being a perfect example against Chicago.
But I don't think Frank understands Daryl's connection with the ownership group.
To be fair, only Daryl and the owner know that.
It's not a public thing.
We don't see those guys.
And I don't think that Frank is looking at, there are other options, right?
Like you can bring in a new GM and change things.
And if the owner does believe in the coach, and I do think he does.
because you can get rid of guys.
It might not be easy.
Darrell might not, you know what I mean?
The feeling might be mutual.
The way Darrell used his players,
the feeling might be mutual between how they feel about Darrell
and how Darrell feels about them.
I would think very strongly that's the case.
The challenge is the two hardest things to move on this roster
will be Codry and Hubertoe.
I think those are two biggest issues with the coach.
And fair or not,
you can't evaporate an eight-year-old.
deal at 12 and a half million loaded with signing bonuses that you can't buy out.
You can evaporate a coaches contract.
And I don't think that's warranted based on merit that one guy is holy and mighty and the
other has to go.
But I think it does become a bit of a thing where it's like, well, I'm an owner.
I've invested $100 million in this one player and I got four or five million bucks in
this coach.
One I can get rid of what I'm stuck with.
Whether it's fair or not or whether it's giving the player too much power and enabling them
or not, you have to find something that works for the guy that you've committed a hundred
million dollars to in the next eight years.
If that's what your owner thinks.
That's what you think.
I'm just saying, Mr. Edwards very much might say, hey, big boy, and I'm not talking about Daryl.
I'm talking about Huberto.
Who's writing their checks?
He's getting them anyway, though, right?
That's the problem.
But if that's, that's a cop-out then.
For the player?
Yes.
It could be, yeah.
It is.
I mean, you're at a point.
point where one of these guys ain't going away for eight years.
And we all know who that is.
You cannot trade that contract.
It's all signing bonuses.
It's too much money.
It takes until he's, what, 38?
Remember when Burke didn't trade Camelary because it was sent a bad message or was
a Camelary for?
Yeah, at the deadline.
He said he didn't get a good enough offer.
Ownership very much could take that stance where we pay you, you play.
You don't want to?
I got lots of dough, bud.
You could.
a rot, have that.
No, you absolutely could.
I just think that's the more painful of the two decisions you got.
For the franchise, maybe, but it does send a message to the rest of the group, say,
you don't want to play?
It's going to be tricky.
If they're both back next year, Huberto and Sutter, and one guy, I can't get moved.
I saw and I grabbed it on TSN last night.
But does that, sorry, I'm going to jump on you there.
I want to.
What does that say about Huberto?
It says he can't get moved.
No.
Who's, is it Darrell's, so the rest of the league doesn't want the guy,
but it's Darrell's fault, he can't play?
They don't want the contract.
Exactly.
But when we signed that contract, brilliant.
Brilliant.
I don't know the brilliant was what I think.
115 point winger.
We got them.
Everybody else wanted him.
We got him.
I think a lot of teams.
Nobody wants them now.
Nobody wants that contract.
I agree with like, it's just, it's not even an argument.
it's stunning.
You're telling me that we're stuck with the guy.
I would see it's almost,
I can't think of a way you could move it.
Like, is that not staggering from a...
It's like Mark Edward Vlasic,
it's like P.K. Sub-Bans.
It was like, I'm sorry, there's two...
Sub-Ban moved?
No, I'll post that.
But essentially,
the problem we have here is a coach
that was a Jack Adams guy last year
and a player that was...
The problem's are, the list is way long.
And I'm jumping on you.
And I don't disagree with what you're going to say.
And we just went with it.
Frank,
and we've talked about it.
GM, coach, ownership's part of it.
The big part.
Players are part of it.
It's so dysfunctional.
You can't point at one thing.
And that's why it's easy to argue with the other side.
We're like, well, why isn't the player responsible for how he plays?
And if he's that shitty, why were we applauding the GM to sign this guy?
And now he's no good and nobody wants him?
Clearly, we overpaid.
You did overpay on the contract?
But like you said, did Daryl forget how to be a good coach over here?
Something with Hubertos.
The fit's not worked.
We can all agree on that, right?
No one's saying, look at this.
This partnership of Daryl and Hubertos has been great.
It's a huge fucking problem.
What I'm saying is you can spite someone for eight years and have a shitty fucking room for eight years.
Or you can say, you know what?
I like Daryl, but he's not going to win this power struggle because he doesn't have eight years and a hundred million on the table.
And it sucks.
But if you're looking at the bottom line like this owner always does, are you picking $5 million?
or 100 million.
And probably the bigger point is it isn't Sutter versus Huberto or Huberto versus Sutter.
There are a number of players.
It's the room versus.
It's the room that seems to be very unhappy.
I think that room is.
And some of it is earned.
Some of it's probably legit.
And some of it is it's an easy, hey, why were you guys so bad this year?
Oh, the coach.
That coach, you know, the coach.
It does give everybody a bit of a, they can sneak.
out, skulk out the door and head off the summer. It sucks because it takes them off the hook. It does. And I see how much that angers you. I agree 100% with you. To take the players off the hook for this season feels like a massive injustice. I just think two things can happen at the same time. You can say to the players, that's fucking bullshit. You owe us more. That's not professional. Show some spine and leadership. And you can also say it ain't working with the coach. And we need to salvage, you know, making money for the next eight years. Because this owner, to be fair, if you can tell me what he likes more,
about owning a hockey team than making money?
I don't know what the answer is. It's not winning.
Nothing he's done long term says,
I want to win a cup. Everything he says
is bottom line.
Bottom line,
you can't switch out eight guys, you can switch out one coach easier.
And you hope
that it's something
potentially as easy as making
a coaching change. That's my concern.
I'm fine with changing the coaches.
I'm just not convinced that it changes the room.
They have to earn your, to be fair,
New group. Have they shown you they can be leaders and winners? No. So of course they have to earn that.
They're just going to have a better shot with someone else as the hunch we all have.
I mentioned Hubertow. I grabbed this. This was a TSN graphic that was on last night talking about Huberto.
And it's, again, it sounds like we're picking on Sutter and we're picking on Huberto. But when when you're front and center, you're going to draw that.
Largest point declined by a player ever. Ever. From one season to the next.
Next, Bill Barber in the 75, 76, 76, 70, so he dropped 57 points.
That was the leading drop.
The number one passed this year by Hubert O, who was 60 points off of the pace from a year ago.
He had 85 helpers last year.
He has 55 points this year.
I'll watch you put up four tomorrow so I don't have that record.
It's been awful.
And it makes me wonder about even if you don't hire the guy,
wouldn't it be a really good use of your time to talk to Joel Quenville
about what a system that works for this guy is?
And I don't want to empower the guy, but you're pot committed.
How do you get the most out of him?
He's not going to.
I want him to be better if he's back here.
I don't see it.
He's not a leader.
I don't see him being a hundred point guy again,
but if you could get a point-per-game player out of there,
you could live with it.
And he can be your fourth or fifth,
most important leader in the room.
but I just nothing that we saw looked like a dynamic player the way he was used this year.
And a lot of that's on him.
A lot of it's on, you know, he's on his offwing for half the season.
And we didn't see it for three, four game stretch even.
Oh, there was weeks where we saw, nothing looked dynamic.
We saw nothing that resembled a hundred point guy.
No, I absolutely not.
Never.
I remember I think it was the first game of the year.
He did that kind of blind facing the boards back past to whoever.
Preseason.
He looked like Bert.
turning his back to the play and throwing it out there we go. This is fancy.
Well, and I actually really liked him last night, but it's like, where the fucks have that been for the 80 prior?
Like, he was creating a ton of chances. He was, he seemed to, the give a fuck meter was on and engaged.
It's just, you can't have six or seven of those games. You've got to put 60, 70 of those out.
I just, I question the whole leadership group in that room.
You should. There isn't any.
Well, and we said at the beginning of the year, who should be a captain? We've had this conversation a million times.
there is a true
fucking leader
that deserves a
sea on their chest
nobody took
that opportunity
this year to prove it
there isn't one here
and when you can talk to fans
and say who do you think
it should be
and everyone's got a
six answers
or a blank stare
you don't have one
you don't have one
no yeah you
they probably
it's probably the right move
not to put a letter on anybody
because it doesn't seem
as though they really have one
no
that stupid word
keeps popping back in my head
dysfunction
Yeah. Oh, yeah.
It's funny because we're trying to make sense all this.
You said it two weeks ago in an after Burner with Dean.
It's like you can't make sense an audit and like you can't parse through a dysfunctional situation and get results you can trust.
Like how can you watch a team where the players and the coach don't get along?
I bet you there's some player to player conflict on this group as well that probably we don't hear about, you know, there's been whispers about some of that.
There's a lot of whispers going on.
What you know is that everyone in this organization dreads going to work like you shouldn't
when you're working for a professional sports team.
This should be whistling Dixie and coming in, best day of my life.
Like this is amazing.
I think everyone dreads coming to work, whether that's assistance, hockey ops, scouts,
you know, equipment guys, players.
It's a toxic situation.
So how in the world are you supposed to watch this and say,
oh, here's what they'll do next year if it's a, we don't know.
You can't make sense of it?
And another thing, you said it early.
They don't look like they are enjoying the game.
They don't celebrate goals.
It does not seem like there has been, and obviously they've lost a lot,
but even early on.
But some of that, this has not been, this has been no fun.
Some of it isn't old people that have contracts that are forever, too, right?
Like, I'm sorry, that plays into it.
I agree.
A bunch of guys we talked about retirement homes, where are you building?
Oh, I'm going to build a massive shack on the west side of town here.
Looking at the mountains, it's going to be great.
I'm going to retire.
Kids are in private school.
Life's good.
That's a part.
You can have a couple of those guys, right?
Those can be your leaders, your guys.
Yeah, but they've proven that.
It's scary.
Bring some kids and let them play, please.
Give us some direction.
Let us know that he actually care about winning as a franchise.
So if you want the silver lining of hope.
I'm for hire, by the way, if you need.
Red's available.
Just contact Jarrod at Flames Nation.
Sales opportunity.
Cheapest chips, too.
Just bring in red.
You want silver linings.
They've got the best goal outside the NHL right now, I believe.
Yeah.
You've got two of your best skating prospects that are, you know,
could be graduating onto this roster next year and replacing some old guys.
We don't know who the gym and the coach are,
but, I mean, to suggest Coronado and Pelchick could play next year isn't crazy at all.
And you're going to pick 1314 here in.
in a very deep draft class.
Like, to say that this is an old stale group and there's no speed and energy,
think about what one little tweak to the fourth line with Walker Dewar did for this group.
And think if you could bring three of those guys in,
including one guy that could come in and give you theoretically anything close to league average net mining.
And that idiot backup goal,
he left the door open and hurt him.
That's right.
You can't change the salary cap situation,
but you can bring down the average age.
100% you can.
Fairly quickly if you want to.
I think you can flip this over real fast if you so choose.
We just get stuck talking about the same shit because you're like,
okay, what about blah, blah, blah, blah.
You don't know what the direction of the squad is.
You have no idea what the direction of the franchise is.
I don't know who the GM is for the offseason, this crazy offseason, all this change.
Who's the GM?
Who's the coach?
Who's deciding who's GM and coach?
And that we haven't heard now?
Okay.
the season is still on.
But at what point after the buzzer goes tomorrow night at the dome,
how long before it becomes one of those...
What's going on here?
What?
Okay.
Now, what?
And if you're making a change, why didn't you make the change?
Like Frank said, right?
Weeks ago.
Maybe you're waiting to see if the miraculous get in happens because the playoffs is...
Yeah.
But now it's not off the table.
If that's the direction.
I would say...
Why, like, you can...
could absolutely have been interviewing people behind the scene.
Maybe.
That shit gets leaked.
How is you're scared of?
But, and who's conducting the interview?
Who is conducting the interview at?
Bean?
Right?
Who's doing it?
You're the hockey guy?
Yeah.
This is where they miss the Brianberg type.
I had a thought.
That's going to move on.
Hey, I want to.
It's too many.
I know.
Too many, Trevor.
Too many.
Too many.
Trevor.
is Calgary's lab-grown diamond specialist,
the only store in the city of Calgary
that specializes exclusively in lab-grown diamonds.
I feel like we're doing...
I feel like we're doing a good job getting the word out there
because I didn't know a whole lot about it.
I didn't really hear a lab-growing diamonds.
What is this?
That's a jewelry.
No, it's a separate thing.
Oh, I had no idea.
I think people are finally coming around.
I've heard lots of good things.
People are asking.
Is there a promo code right now?
I don't know.
Just tell Justin, your big listener,
your fan of the show.
You've heard good things.
largest selection of loose lab-grown diamonds and jewelry in Calgary.
When you walk into Vinanova, you don't know, is this the, this or which is, all lab grown,
which means savings across the board, around 80% in a lot of cases.
80% compared to the mined diamonds, which I mean, it's kind of dirt, right?
You're digging stuff out of the ground.
It's a dirty history in mining diamonds.
It's gross.
Lab-created diamonds are referred to as synthetic, you know, because they're chemically and physically.
The same as a natural diamond, but they're man-made.
Often with fewer imperfections, Dean.
More clarity?
I know.
We talked to Jesse.
He says a lot of times I can't tell them.
If you got those things, I can't see the difference.
Aren't you a gemologist, dude?
Oh, yeah.
It's probably why I has the store with Just Lab Mades.
We can't confuse them.
I can't be confused.
That's right.
Venanova.com is the website in the, if you want to go in store, why not?
Second level, Stephen Avenue Place.
Maybe you want to get something custom made
can take four or five weeks to get that done.
So get that done now.
And yeah, I guess now that the weather's warmer and stuff,
people are all like, oh, will you marry me?
That sun, is it?
The sun is in the weather?
Why do people do this?
Spent the whole season in a cave with you in the dark.
Let's get out there.
Let's go outside.
Love each of your soulmates.
I love these walks now that it's not minus 20.
Spend our lives together.
Know what I'd rather do it with.
Venanova.com is the website.
Venanova, Calgary's labgrown diamond specialists.
I mean, get married.
Go ahead, if that's, you know, do your thing.
Today is Tuesday, so then Wednesday and then, so Friday is Hawaiian shirt.
That's right.
It's also the inaugural Barnburner playoff draft over at the Griegel.
Yes, indeed.
The first ever.
The first ever.
Oh, for Barberner.
we've come up with a strategy.
Strategy?
That's right.
We have table.
It's a sold out event.
It's at the Grey Eagle Resort and Casino.
Convention Center, yeah.
And we're going to probably slide down, eh?
Probably do a little bit of, yeah.
Be able to hang out of it there.
Yeah, double down.
A little bit of that afterwards.
But it's going to be a great night.
It's presented by Paybilt.
Tell you about them in a moment.
But we have, we've kept one.
And it's in support of kids sport, which again, it's about the kids.
It's for the kids. It's for the kids, guys.
It's in support of kids' sport and presented by pay bill.
We have the, we have one table remaining.
Now, we've got the room set up.
It's actually the two rooms.
We're going to get it all set up.
We got the tables.
Tables, I mean, it's for tables of eight.
You can bring however, you get the team, do whatever you want.
Bring as many people as you want.
But it's tables of eight.
We're going to have the draft board set up.
And I know that with kids' sport, they've been setting up.
The draft order and how that's all going to take place.
And we'll have the details.
I don't want to bore you with it.
But we have one team that was held back.
Not for grabs.
And remember, it's for the kids.
So by way of auction.
And we're thinking we opened it just before the show started today.
It's on our social media account.
So you go to Flames Nation on Instagram or Twitter and do a DM,
slide into the DMs.
Woo!
And with your bids.
and we'll close it tomorrow by the end of the show,
which will give you a couple days,
a couple nice days to get your team assembled and ready
and start planning and be there on Friday night.
Get your shirts made?
Yeah, get everything,
your face paint and your togas and...
Eight people at the table.
Your wigs.
You're going to want to make sure that everyone's got a responsibility.
You're going to need your head of drafting.
The GM's going to make the picks,
but you've got to have the nerd that's just watching the spreadsheets
and saying, okay, this team over here doesn't have a goal yet.
They're pecking head, like, you need your nerd there.
You're also going to need your guys that's going to stay up top of your drink orders.
Like, geez, like, he's going to,
low over there. Let's get up bar lines about six long.
Get there. Boom, boom, boom, done. And then wardrobe. You need someone in wardrobe.
Maybe someone's in charge of pins. Make up. And I think you probably need a loudmouth
there just to intimidate some of the teams picking before and behind you. Heckler. Intimidation
is key. So you got a table of eight, give everyone a roll. And, you know, to the victor,
go the spoils. That's what they say. We'll have, uh, we'll have a hell of a time.
I'm, I think it's going to be a little, a little drinky. Well, Brett was saying of the social
anxiety he has. He needs a few, just a kind of doubles to take the edge off.
I just want you to be comfortable, Rhett. I'm going to find a way to get there.
If your therapist can't be there to talk about these problems and you need a couple drinks to
get through it, I'm in support there with you of you. Now, if you don't have the Sosh,
by all means, you can email the Wolverine with it. We'll take it. However you get a hold of us,
we'll do it. I don't have Twitter. What if I don't have Twitter?
You can email Jared.
Jarrod.
Jarrod at the nation network.com.
Jarrod.
Jarrod.
At?
At the nation network.
com.
Jarrod.
And there's, if you're looking on 780-940-8-9-85, shoot them a text, shoot them with some dickpicks.
Whatever you want to do.
No.
Or your bid.
Whatever you're prepared to bid.
Good picks?
Jarr-rod.
VPs?
We'll let you know.
And I believe we've already got a bid in for 1,500 was the update before the show.
So expect that from there.
There you go.
Paybilt.com.
They've come on board.
They're our presenting sponsor presented by paybilt.com.
It is kind of, if you, do you own a business?
Kind of.
You big, small.
It's about making things, whatever you can do to make things easier for your potential
customer.
That is what it comes down to with paybilt.com.
It's about making payment safe and easy for.
for your customer.
When they use a debit card, you get charged.
When you're using Visa MasterCard, there can be some questionable charges.
I'll just pretend I didn't buy that.
I didn't do that.
That wasn't me.
Some people just aren't comfortable putting their info out there.
And it makes good sense.
That's where paybilt.com comes in.
It's a payment option for your customers.
70% of carts are left with stuff in them.
Don't get bought.
I really want to buy it, but, uh, uh, in store.
online. If you have an app for your business, it can go in there. Get away from cash and cards.
Everybody's doing it. You take the pain out of payments with paybilt.com. No risk.
That's what I'm all about.
What with the no risk? It really is. In some ways, it's like, oh, you got to scare yourself every day.
Safe. It's less is more for some people. That's just, let's keep it easy, peasy right on the ground.
If you're having a bad day or something's bothering you, shut her down.
Paybilt.com.
God, it's my kind of people.
Just take, removing risk, Dean.
That's what it is.
Your vibe right there.
Yeah.
More risk or less?
What do you want?
I want less risk.
That's you.
Right across the board.
What with the least risky first overall pick?
You go Bruins pasta.
Is it McDavid with the oil?
David Legwand.
That's incorrect.
Anything but legwine.
You're going to get a shot for that.
That's a balk.
Take your base and do a shot.
He was bad as a first round pick back in the day, even worse now in a playoff draft.
Particularly awful, not playing and his team we know him for, not making the playoffs potentially.
Now, didn't you suss out some kind of bullshit story that he had about his dad not taking him in a playoff draft and it cost him?
He took John Leclair or something.
Didn't we find out that was a bullshit story?
The years were a little off, but I don't recall how the audit went.
I feel like the spirit of the story was true, but some of the things that he made.
matched up in the same year.
It didn't happen to the year.
Leclair didn't play.
I had like almost 20 points that year.
20 points.
He was, uh, D-U-G finished second.
Could have taken him over the top.
And we haven't really found a year where LaClair had fewer points than red.
Is that what we kind of got?
It's a little fishy.
I don't recall how the audit went.
What are you thinking Mike LaClair, the former Duck and Flame?
Is that, uh, Clark?
Look it up.
There's seat.
It's awesome. Let's do the Pinder report, presentation of Village
Honda, they are in the Northwest
Automall. They're online at
VillageHonda.com and they continue.
We've been saying it every day. We'll continue to say it.
It's the million dollar.
Buy an event. Get cash for your
vehicle. They are loading up the lot
with used vehicles and need your help. Top dollar
and they will throw in a tropical
cruise ta boot.
See more online at
village honda.com village
brings you the Pinda report.
Let's start.
2000, 2001.
John Leclair
played 16 games, 12 points.
So again, the year that John LeCler had zero points was...
I didn't say zero.
I said I had more and I could have won him.
Like I said, the spirit of it was true.
It was just some of the details.
2002, 2001, 77 games for the Rettster.
19 big ones.
Seven more points.
Suck it, LeClair.
See how it changed a little there?
All of a sudden, the zero points just disappeared into the eighth.
Let's start with last night's, well, playoff dream ending shootout loss to the National Predators.
As always, if you like to lay down on the couch and talk about your feelings, join us on Afterburner.
Here was Rhett last night as we decided there was a myriad of issues, Dean, not just a single thing holding this team back.
But I will not point the finger at one person as opposed to the whole group.
The whole group fucking failed.
Agreed.
Darrell Sutter failed.
Tre Living failed.
Caudry failed.
Hubert had failed.
Weiger was shit for most of the year.
Anderson missed an open net.
That's a fail.
Backland had a career hiring,
but he didn't help the team win when he needed.
That's a fail.
Like, Tafoli is the only one that didn't fail you, really.
Dubei didn't score enough.
Manjapani didn't score enough.
Your defense wasn't that great.
Tanniv did get hurt.
Like, the list goes on and on.
You can't.
If you're good enough, you score the goal.
So yeah, some issues there.
He only listed about half the roster, the GM and the coach.
Forgot some names.
You know who doesn't have blood on their hands?
Our boy, Walker Deer.
And they had 23 Walker Durs.
We would be in great shape.
Yeah.
I mean, they might not make the playoffs,
but at least you'd know that giving it everything they had.
That's a coach likes them.
Low money.
Lots to wrap our heads around.
it did feel like the perfect most fitting ending of the season for the flames.
There was a horrible marks from giveaway in an empty net goal.
They really didn't get much in the way of puck luck.
In fact, the other goal, aside from the marks from giveaway to an empty net,
was off the ref skate into an open side of the net for a tap-in.
They did out chance of our opponents.
The power play was fucking awful.
Couldn't bury four just amazing chances in overtime.
There was some weird coaching decisions like potentially future,
future PTO guy Nick Ritchie with the season on the line
needing a goal to keep their...
And yeah, they lost an extra time.
There's a lot of...
That's the full bingo card there.
I didn't think of it that way
until obviously Robert put it to print.
That's Bob Munich, our boy, by the way.
That's... Bobby Munich.
Do you know if that's... Is it Munich?
He reached out. It's not Monique, it's Munich.
And I think, I don't know if he likes Bob or not,
but we're pals, Bobby.
That a boy, Bob.
Bobby Munich.
Yeah, that's...
That all took place for sure last night.
All those things were real.
None of those were fabricated.
Following up on that, here's Ryan Pike with the pain of being close,
but always being not close enough.
That was their 53rd one goal game if you include empty netters.
They play 82.
That was game 81.
If it felt like, you know, all the time they were one bounce away from winning,
be it at one end or the other,
it's because they were.
And they only got 20 wins in those 53 games.
17 fucking loser points, I believe.
It's the FLP in the Colompson fucking loser points.
And more on that, by the way.
17th overtime setback, a franchise record.
That's going to be a tough one to get.
It's hard to be that bad in overtime,
but be good enough to get to overtime enough.
Yeah, it's a conundrum.
And it does tie really nicely into a debate
of are they skilled enough?
Or is it just dysfunction?
It really, it feels both sides of that.
It really doesn't sway the ledger one.
way or the other. It was unusual that a guy we don't really know has established himself as a guy that
will continue to get contracts in this league was picked in round three of the shootout where a goal
would have secured you a victory. Goal, Heubert O, cadre, Cid, miss, shooter three over the boards.
Well, I mean, it's clearly going to be Toffoli. He scored in Winnipeg and won the game.
He was the third shooter in Vancouver just a couple nights ago. And then climbing over the boards,
oh, red-faced big boy Nick Ritchie.
As stunned as anyone.
He was, that's right.
And Sutter, post game, did say, Nick scored on him earlier this year in a shootout, which is true.
I believe he was the fourth or fifth shooter for Arizona in a win over Nashville.
That was one of his five career shootout attempts before last night.
I think it's amazing.
He knew that stat.
I think that's probably the exact type of prep you do.
If we're going to get to extra time, what do we know?
And it makes it a little more reasonable, I suppose, but it's also Nick fucking Richie.
And here's the other thing I looked at.
There's some guys that are good players that aren't good in the shootout.
In his career, Elias Linholm's 2 for 13.
Tyler Tully, 2 for 17.
Magic Panny, 0 for 4.
Lindel.
Michael Backland, 1 for 12.
It might not have been as easy as we thought to find someone that was really good at shootouts when you got to shooter number three.
In fact, the next best guy, Lynnholm 2 for 13, one of those since arriving in Calgary.
I really have to tinkle.
Anderson.
Anderson at 2 for 4.
Has anyone seen a lion?
Is he back in the room?
Is he okay?
Limpie.
Did the concussion spotter get him?
All right, go, Richie.
You have to take a shit.
Rasmus Anderson at two for four.
Yes.
And a guy that he cares.
The guy that we think cares, absolutely.
His last attempt wasn't great.
Well, and you know why?
It's because his first two were the same move,
and he got him both times.
So the third time he tried the move of the goal,
he was just waiting for him.
So we don't know if he's got the next move in the repertoire,
but there isn't a plethora of great options in this shootout.
Okay, but even with the stat that Richie had scored,
and even if you didn't want to go to Lindholm or To Foley or Anderson,
so like there's still other guys that you feel like...
I'd throw Walker Dure out there.
Honestly, I would.
Oh, you'd have got roasted, though, if he didn't score.
More than you are right now?
No, not more than now.
It would be the same.
No.
You're putting a kid out there.
Dude, you would.
If you put the fourth line.
Do you think so?
I think you would, but I think Walker Duer would have scored.
I think Walker Durer is made of the right stuff.
Ran that damn UC Soros right through the end of the net.
Might not score?
We'll hurt him for the next shooter.
Puck is in.
But there again, it kind of comes down to the same thing as that captain material.
It's like, well, who should you put out there?
Well, it's not round eight.
No.
It's round three.
This isn't Merrick Malik in the 16th round.
We're not at the end of the bench here.
There should be some better fucking options.
It should be written in stone for the year your first three guys.
You three are going.
And you for sure go in one or two because if we get to three in case we don't even get to you.
You're for sure our one two guy.
Oh, God almighty.
It's weird.
Another fun stat from last night.
You said it.
Pred's very workman like not a lot of skill or speed or structure there.
They got a great fucking goalie.
And they're quite young.
Here's our boy Darren Haynes had this from last night.
We could walk into a young guy in the flames, right?
I mean, it's four years, but nine players younger than Waukineer
suited up for Nashville last night.
Five rookies.
And without Dushan, without Forrestberg, without Johan, without Romanoz.
So you don't need...
This blue-collar young group of muckers are still alive in the flinch or not.
Ute.
You need the Ute.
So guys that want to make names for themselves.
And okay.
Here's the list you don't want to be on.
You showed it earlier.
This is the same thing worded differently.
Jonathan Euberdow's largest decline in a single season.
Last year's 115 to this year's 55.
There is a game left.
It's not a good list to be on.
I wouldn't even play them.
Like, how many did Gretzky have the year before he retired?
Even that wouldn't be a 60-point drop.
No.
From 60 to zero.
Did that?
Standings in the West.
Flames are done.
Nashville's behind them in points,
but they've got, well, obviously, games playing.
You were talking about these games in hand are horrible, Dean.
They've got so many more games now.
Both the Jets and the Preds have one Colorado, one Minnesota.
They each have two games left.
The gap is three points.
Winnipeg, you win one, you're in.
In fact, they're probably on the regulation wind tiebreak as well.
Can you lose any points?
Like, can Winnipeg are they guaranteed?
They're at least at 93.
They're not going to go backwards.
More interesting is now in the east where the islanders stumbled.
Florida is in a wild card after being out of a playoff spot for like half a year of late.
Buffalo is still alive.
And Pittsburgh has Chicago Columbus remaining.
If they win both, they are guaranteed a spot.
That's tough outs, as we've learned.
As we around these parts.
Chicago is going to show up and put you to the test.
They are there.
If you only watch the flames, you would think that Chicago Columbus could be a Stanley Cup final preview.
The flames, 02 and 1 against Chicago, needed overtime to beat Columbus and lost in regulation in the other.
They have one win in five games against those two fucking dopes.
And it came in overtime.
Shoot me in the face.
Tonight's schedule, here we go.
We thought it would be a real good one, but the Leafs are going to start Zambooney driver,
and net it appears.
Or Matt Anuska of the Windsor Spitfires, who I think someone's tried to identify is out at morning skates.
They haven't used Samsonov in a back-to-back all.
year and I'm kind of thinking this is don't show anything meaninglessville you're going to play for
seven in a row here like potentially Tampa Bay is worried about what Toronto's doing no and I wouldn't
show him my number one goal like why show them or not again Tampa Bay does not give a shit what
Toronto's up to correct play Samsonov play whoever play the Pope it's right Brian Elliott
net for Tampa who knows oh the Pope good is Pope got his own pads Pope pads I heard his rebound
controls a bit of action yeah
other interesting games in there the nightcap should be a fun one you'll see the top one there's the most that's the only one you're going to tell us about it right well that's the uh that's the blue and gold the buffalo sabers putting on a charge they will not say die in buffalo buffalo that's their motto don't say die don't say die is the motto and they're playing doesn't matter jersey against the devils and it doesn't matter's been no good lately well they lost to fucking nashville lots of losses thanks devils and a lot of losses lost to win a pick
as well in Winnipeg.
They have lost one in a row.
That's a few where they haven't been great.
Winnipeg and Nashville stand out here.
Edmonton, Colorado tonight should be fun
and Vegas, Seattle could be a first round
playoff preview as well,
not to mention that.
Am I still allowed to close the show
the way I normally do now?
You do you, bud.
I'm starting to feel shupish.
No rules here.
Whatever you need to do to curse them in the first round,
I'm here for it.
Seemingly more difficult each passing day.
Your trademark.
That's maybe not the best trademark.
Sorry.
Hiatus.
I've got something that's going to spin this mood around.
Did you see the big dub last night?
Oh, baby.
From Rets.
Saskatoon Blades down to nothing.
Drop a pair at home.
Don't sweat at game seven victory.
Four one Blades.
Mailing it.
Blame Bedard.
Right in front of 15, almost 15,000.
And in the blame Badard.
It fries at Saskplace.
Overblown.
prospect leaderboard.
Let's go to Connor Bedard chipping in offensively.
There's his season,
rat, seven playoff games, 20 points.
Not enough, kid.
Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, not enough.
Overblown, he says.
Not enough.
He was in on 77% of the Regina Pat's scoring.
All of it.
Still not enough.
I don't know when he was off the ice what that team looked like.
When he was on the ice, he was fucking amazing.
Boom, phone paddock.
See what happened.
I don't talk to Paddock anymore.
He traded the team of the prick.
Fuck that guy.
Tebradovsky and Chad Kilger.
Get a pick or something.
Other W.H.L. News.
Let's tip the cap to Calgary boy Chase Wheatcroft.
That's a good prairie name right there.
We go to some video here.
It's been a long time down in the dumps in PG.
Well, hang on. Hold on to your hat.
He was a Calgarian with a Cape.
Who doesn't love the Cougar.
A big goal.
Who do they play?
16 years.
Who do they play?
Because the team that they're playing just went.
They won't let us fly?
What?
You're making us, bus?
Here's your playoff tree.
You asked for round two of the WHL playoffs.
Looks exactly when this, you know, anytime now.
Like this.
Do we know sass tunes through?
They get the rebels.
Look at that.
That's like Saskatoon Red Deer.
Like that.
Who's playing the Blades play the rebels?
Blades Rebels.
Let's go up there.
Obviously, I'm very excited.
Sutter can get us a ticket.
Winnipeg Moose Jot.
It's okay for travel.
Camelps, Portland's going to be a bit of a hike.
In Seattle, P.G.
That, you know, border and that.
Gross.
I like the East Division travel a little better.
That is going to be a long drive for the Seattle,
Thunderbirds.
We'll move.
Either sweep or get swept.
That's what I'd be saying in my team.
You lose game one.
Okay, we're done.
Ten hours.
Boy, this is really, really a non-traditional tactic.
Coach Mulberg is suggesting his team get swept because he's sick of the trouble.
Five hundred and fifty-one miles.
Is that all?
Could be worse.
A lot of kilometers.
It's.
A lot of kilometers are at home.
The new dome.
It's halfway done, the Renaos.
We heard the power rankings of the bars in the outfield.
They've redone the five hundreds, three hundreds, two hundreds.
Next off season will be the 100s.
And finally, the Blue Jays after a 10-game road trip,
we'll have a home game this season.
Manoa against Manning, Jays, Tigers.
The Rays will follow up.
Anyone seen the standings?
The Toronto, excuse me, the Tampa Bay race.
Yet to lose.
Dumbies.
Remember when we flashed A,
least odds were like,
why does the Rays never get love?
You should bet the Rays every year.
They're fucking 10 and O.
This only happens every year.
Wow, this year the race will be bad.
Why?
They're never bad.
That's a bunch of guys I've never heard.
of you've always never heard of them wait till july and once you hear of them they trade them for more kids you
haven't heard of it's a brandy a rosa rosa i don't know who this guy i don't know who these people are alabukerky
the hell we're talking about pete fairbanks anyway they're still good uh of note some trophies to hand out tonight
look at that the crime dog fred mcgriff he'll throw out the first pitch do you know alahandro kirk silver slugger romano
tip o'neal that's for the top canadian baseball performer of the year
and Vlad Guerrero-Jutor, a gold glove at first base,
will all get their awards.
Should be a fun one for the sold-out capacity crowd.
Elsewhere, NBA playing tonight.
Rett, are you still a part of the North?
Seven against eight seeds will play tonight.
Winner will go into the tournament as the seven-seed.
The loser will play the winner of the 9-10 matchups.
Raptors 9, Bulls 10.
You win that, you get the loser of the 7-8, you win that, you're in the playoffs.
Feels like a lot of work to be a part of the...
I thought they were totally screwed and out of it,
but if they're in the playoffs, I'm back.
Well, that's a play-in tournament.
Can you imagine if I had to put that together?
Holy shit.
You'd have a heart attack before that happened.
Gold Globetrotters would be playing.
It's a mess.
That's, I think making you draw this up
would be essentially like giving you a lobotomy.
That would break your brain, I think.
Why does the NHL do this?
More games?
See, the flames would be playing.
Yeah, you want more flames spreads after that last night?
All or nothing.
Okay.
Okay.
And finally,
Rhett, big decision tonight.
Now he's a huge Jays guy,
actually a huge fan of the ALE East.
Yankees fan,
Bosox fan,
Jay's fan,
soon-to-be-raised fan.
So fish and chips or chicken pot pie,
Dean.
Which jersey does he wear
when he's eating his chicken pot pie?
There's so many great stories out there.
Oh, dear.
I never like Stromont.
So that guy's not allowed the building,
that kind of heinous thing.
Yeah, they took his name off the bad choices.
Jesus.
Rhett, that's just tough luck, man.
Those are the jerseys you have to pick from?
Trying to sport the squad.
Frigg.
Screw me over.
I got to buy another one now.
Where are the good apples here?
Holy.
Don't meet your heroes.
You got to go strolling in the six, and that's tough, I guess.
Take the name off the back.
I'll keep the number.
Jeez.
That's your Pender Report.
Did they give out 12?
12?
The number, the jersey number, or is that still?
I don't know.
Bad vibes there, Dean.
I don't think you want it.
I think you probably just pretend that number doesn't exist anymore.
Yeah, maybe.
What if you came up and you're cranking homers your whole life?
Don't give them 12.
Tough.
Or do McCain Punch commercials.
That's that taste.
Village Honda.
Turn your vehicle into cash.
The million dollar buy an event.
They'll buy your vehicle even if you don't buy theirs.
Sellers receive a tropical cruise for two.
exclusively at Village Honda in the Northwest Automol and online at Village Honda.
How's your pen doing over there?
It's doing all right. Yeah, it's doing all right.
Irisnally, all right.
I feel like you should have all the stress removed now that you don't have to worry about,
you know, geez, all these dates for playoff games.
Yeah, you were probably worried about that.
I was, yeah, I was wound right up.
Totally anxiety.
Just eliminated from your body.
Perfect.
It does suck, though.
I mean, we're talking.
Was it on the show?
I'm not you're stress-free, right?
You can look forward to round one.
You don't need to worry about anything.
Day one of the playoffs when your team isn't in it blows.
I mean, the hockey's great.
The hockey's great.
If your team's not in it, it's better than not.
But everybody else is like, where are you going for the game?
What are you doing for the...
Yeah.
Well, yeah.
It also sucks for the financial well-being of the city.
The economic impact is significant.
Yeah.
Yeah, tough, tough.
Tees and peas to publish.
I like not being allowed into bars on 17th that I made famous.
you made famous.
Do they,
that you weren't allowed?
Last year,
me and Commi,
even big Mike Commodore couldn't get,
you got turned away somewhere?
It's that right.
Dare you name,
said establishment?
No, I don't because they don't sponsor.
Lovely.
They gave you the heave-ho,
or you never got in?
He said, no, we're full.
Really?
And then you said, do you know who we are?
Commie did.
Comey did.
Of course.
I didn't do it.
Comey did.
And the guy actually checked his ID
and still said,
That's great.
Oh, that's great.
Adios.
Yeah.
Maybe the fire marshal's just hanging around.
Can you do me a favor?
No.
What is it?
I can't answer unless you know.
I'd like you to, and I'm not sure, I'm not sure if the camera would do.
I'm wondering if you could show people your sweater today.
Oh, yeah.
If you could, if you stand up, is it going to be in frame?
I think it's perfect.
You might need to do some, some lunges or a crouch.
I think the stand's going to work.
Because it's kind of, uh.
See?
It's freaking me out.
I don't like it.
Judge!
It's your Costanza hoodie.
It's my fireplace.
Or sit around the fire hoodie.
Who got you that?
My lovely significant other.
Really?
Chauvelerina.
Old chauveler.
Wow.
She likes to shop.
What were you saying?
I was a question.
Paid the visa yesterday.
That's nice.
Get down to zero?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like looking at when it's zero.
Yeah.
Two, two.
It's quick.
$200?
$200.
$200?
Up.
Oh.
Since yesterday.
Yeah, less than 12.
Is that the daily average or is that outstanding performance?
That's a good one.
Usually, well.
Maybe it's just one of those things where they get, you know, it's like when you get a tank of gas, it's like, well, we need to get $200.
pre-authorize it.
Maybe it was a hold.
Maybe she just had a cob salad somewhere.
Either that or maybe it's layaway.
It's like that's the first fifth of that purse.
Thoughts and prayers,
Redd.
Yeah.
On the 15th,
another two.
And then on the first,
another two.
What is this?
The other day,
are those Gucci shoes?
It's a comfortable shoes,
Brett.
Yep,
very great.
I'm sure they're really comfy.
What's the most valuable piece of clothing you own?
I own?
Yeah.
A sweater.
I don't know that's true.
We're wearing tuxitos on Friday?
A valuable piece of cloth.
I have a very nice leather jacket.
That jacket is a very nice.
That's a jacket.
Yeah.
What about the,
didn't you have like a velvet?
I do have a velvet,
but that's not.
That's cheap.
Well,
I don't,
it's a couple of them.
Yeah.
What about you?
You got the glittery jacket.
Are you wearing that thing?
I think it's a hundred box.
I could totally wear that.
Yeah,
I got one.
That was a great little mom and pop shop called Amazon.
com.
How do you get the puke off of it?
Because every time I see you wearing it, you're just...
No, they hosed us off.
It all came off easy.
It was wet for a while, but you just...
It's really thin material dries like that.
Garden holes, yeah.
Yeah. Yeah.
A couple things before we go.
We'll do some...
Well, we'll do our betway.
And you know what? I need to...
I took the leaves tonight.
You got to change that.
But I got to have to change that.
That was before I heard about the...
Or I saw that they were putting in...
Go on with it.
Bill Toilliger.
Come on. Go with it.
Of the Rocket City trash pandas.
Payouts better.
I just thought that the Leaves aren't going to want to go and play Tampa Bay and just lay down.
I thought that you'd want to maybe show that you got some balls, but I guess not.
So there was my betway bet.
Leif's money line plus 120.
I don't mind the bottom bet, to be honest.
So scrap that one.
I'm going to take that one off the board.
But McDavid and Matthews, one goal each.
Matthews scored last night.
Did he not?
Yep.
Got his 40th.
McDavid just scores all the time.
It's fair.
It's a lovely day.
One goal each or more plus 240.
So that will be my lone betway bet today.
Okay, very good.
That's all I'm doing.
I, uh, yeah, I knew something was up when I saw Tampa minus 170 because they
haven't been the better team.
I think that's probably close to a pickum, but it was the goalie thing.
And the odds people, they know all about that.
So I'm steering clear wins and losses.
I just think, hey, if they're going to start a bum, Tampa might start Brian out.
I said, well, we don't go fuck either.
We're stuck in three.
You're stuck in two.
Rest our stud for the post season.
I'm going to take Nealander with two plus points, paying plus 225,
and I'm a little big game hundy, looking for a big kill.
You need a big number.
Let's go, let's go.
Rantinence, McDavid, Nate Dogg.
They all score plus four hunt.
And that's the nightcap tonight, Ebbington, Colorado.
That's reasonable.
There you go.
It's a lot that has to happen, but those things happen a lot, those three things.
your betway bets of the day.
And you know what also?
Because I see that and it's reminded me of a note.
Rantan, McDavid-McKinnon.
You throw in some Nugent Hopkins and some dry-sidal,
five 100-point scores in the same game if they all play tonight.
The last time that took place was in 1986.
It's a while ago.
That's pretty impressive that I never thought we'd see sort of offensive numbers
rivaled out of the 80s.
It has been a nice offensive resurgence for this league.
10, because last night, Eric Carlson hit the 100 point plateau.
That's 10 guys now with 100 points.
So quite a bit more than 100.
And on the fringes, Elias Pedersen has 99, Mitch Marner, 99, and Jack Hughes.
Hew's got 96.
Jack Hughes note?
Oh, it was Jack.
The Jack Hughes note.
It's brother Luke.
That's right.
And it shall debut tonight?
All right.
They got to get Quinn,
collect them all, right?
So the last game,
what's even worse,
is the last game that had five,
100-point scores,
also included the Oilers,
which kind of...
Yeah, screw them.
Yeah.
And four of them were Oilers.
Gretzky, coffee,
Curry, and Glenn Anderson.
So, David,
just a hair over 100
at 151 with two games to play.
So what is he on pace for 160?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Jesus.
Cooch 11,
Posternak 109.
You guys said that Coochua.
Chuck McKinnon, Roberts.
I'm like, oh, okay.
What is he, is he even playing this year?
Is he having a good year?
Oh, sure.
And I said it off there earlier.
How about the quietest 40-goal season?
Jared McCann in Seattle last night at 40.
Nobody's talking about Seattle.
No, I think they like it that way.
That's perfect.
Let's go to Seattle.
Let's make it our team.
I would love to adapt.
It's on my question.
Dean, you'll look great.
Those colors.
Look at this.
Yes.
Give him an ass on his chest.
I have my list of questions.
So who now do you cheer for if you're a flames?
Well, it can't be Edmonton, we know that.
You don't want Winnipeg.
Don't like the Knights.
Spoiled.
I mean, you're being a frontrunner if you pick the abs,
even though there's two Calgarians there, Macar and O'Connor.
Feels like a little choosy-choozy.
And you're going to default to whoever's playing the Oilers for a lot of people.
That's right.
So maybe L.A. for a series.
I can take L.A.
Vegas would be tough.
They've been kind of turds.
It's a little more sympathy with all the injuries,
but they've kind of been assholes since they came to be.
They're arrogant.
They're arrogant.
Big timers.
I think it's Seattle.
I don't think you can do anybody in the West.
Maybe Seattle, but I'm squinting to do it.
And Minnesota, it's like we tried and we said they were fun again,
and then it was a zero-zero-zero game to the shootout.
Fuck you guys.
I can't do that.
I don't know that I've watched a full game of Seattle Crack and Hockey ever in my life.
No.
We didn't in Jasper.
That one was boozy-bozy.
So what about in the East?
Is there any?
Well, how do we feel about Florida?
They've got former flames all over.
You got the Lamborghini, Ryan Longberg,
Matthew Chuck, Sam Bennett.
Obviously in order.
I'm in with the Florida Panthers.
I'm not sure you knew that.
I was drafted by Florida.
Is that right?
I got a Panther in my house.
I showed it on Afterburner.
He did show the-
I was going to zoom it in there.
I was going to do the slow push into the,
what the fuck is going on?
So that's still sitting there from when Z.
Look, look, there it is over his shoulder.
There it is.
So that's a pan.
I thought it was a bear at first.
I thought it was a house cat that was just shaded.
And then I'm like, oh, no, that's, okay.
And what is that from?
That is a statue.
from the Florida Panthers given to you.
95, 96 Stanley Cup run.
For going to the cup.
Conference champions.
And you were pissed at the time.
You told the story last night after me.
I wanted the 26K. Come on.
26 grand. Let's go.
Buy beer for my buddies all summer.
Yeah.
Maybe a boat.
And now that you're, you know, nearly 30 years removed from that.
Get myself a fishing vessel.
Are you happier with that $400.
Yeah.
Look at them.
I don't know how you can even relax sitting there.
I think of all the way back.
He's used to.
Anyone else is scared.
You got to get us a video.
He used to scare my kids.
He spun him last night on the show.
He spin them around.
He spins.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
A video of what?
He doesn't have a name for it either, which I think is ridiculous.
It's a panther.
It's a little stuffy.
Yeah.
He loves cats, eh?
Love cats, eh?
Big fan.
So just Eastern standings one more time there, Alex.
Sorry, we kind of got off on a little whatever you do,
a tangent, I suppose.
Is there anybody in the east?
If Buffalo gets in, we're all in.
And look at the games they got left.
No one else has three.
I don't know that I can do Florida because Kachuk stuck it in or took us.
There's a lot of scar tissue there, yeah.
Sam Ben, you know, it's hard.
So if Florida, if Buffalo can get in.
Screw the honors.
What about Boston?
That's front running.
It's kind of front running.
It's front running, but it's...
The Leafs, everyone hates.
Who don't you like on the Boston Bruins?
Other than Jack Edwards.
It's true.
Love Garnet.
Who don't you like?
It's weird how we've come around on Marchand, isn't it?
Yeah.
Like, one and 180 from like five years ago.
Licking people and you're like, this asshole.
Did you see what he did the other night,
knocked the stick out of the guy's hands?
The place coming up to the ice and he's there,
he just kind of takes a stick and wax and the fucking guy's stick goes flying.
It's like this guy's a dirt ball.
24-7.
And wouldn't it be
some of the Islanders
missed after that
Boor-Horvatt
post game you showed
on Boomer's best
of the weekend?
Oh.
There was two games last.
By your time.
He's like,
oh, it's better here
than in Vancouver.
It was apparent
a lot of shot at the fans
or the players,
more so the ownership
and just how the team's been run.
So fair.
Well,
would you like to be
playing out
meaningless hockey
for the last half of the season
or in a playoff chase?
I understand what he was saying.
We all love Roddy Brindamore.
Yeah.
Can we do
Carolina?
Can we do the Rangers?
You're a big stats guy.
That's one of the biggest stats teams out there.
The city's so boring.
I can't cheer for Carolina.
Rangers will be fun.
I'll tell you that.
Rangers are I'm okay with Rangers.
That first round series of the Devils.
I'm cheering for Florida.
I already said.
So you guys pick your own teams.
I'm Panthers all the way.
Let's go.
No guarantee.
It's going to be Devils Rangers either, right?
Well, look.
It's Carolina.
You said they'd lost one in a row.
It says three right there.
They've lost it.
No, I said the Devils have lost one of them.
Oh, no.
It's the Carolina.
Tough go.
Winnipeg, Nashville.
All of a sudden, I think it's supposed to be sewn up.
Now they might have to go play the Rangers in round one.
Of course, we know, Alex is still all in with Ottawa.
Of course.
Maybe that's where I'll go.
One game left, and, yeah, I don't know how that's going to work for them.
I'd be very happy if the islanders just slide right out.
Just slide right out.
Pittsburgh?
Buffalo!
Give me Pittsburgh.
The barn with the islanders would be way more exciting.
They're so boring, though.
I'm not the fans get into it.
Pittsburgh is the shits.
What about Berkey?
What about Berkey?
Berkey.
And Pittsburgh.
Berkey would come on our show and give, like,
tell us we're idiots.
I don't need to support Berkey.
Remember when he left and you're like, hey, maybe we'll call Berkey.
Do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, the color is not being.
Oh, dear, what.
That's weird.
That's weird.
That's weird.
We talked to every week for a couple of years there.
I thought there was.
Shame.
I'm done with, I'm done with, I'm a media guy now.
So you want to a media?
Job offer?
See ya.
But you'd be the same way.
Yes.
Oh, at a heartbeat.
I can't believe my phone's not ringing.
Isn't it weird?
If they want honesty down there.
Jasper travel, before we go.
We talked about it, I think, briefly yesterday.
Marmot Basin wide open up in Jasper until the 1st of May, warmer temperatures, drinks on the patio.
The escape car, those half-price lift tickets, in effect all year.
And I kind of alluded to it.
introducing marmot basin CERC,
a vast and impressive new terrain
above the tree line with bowls and shoots.
Some bowls and shoots.
Maybe some double blacks, Dean.
It's big time.
You're not talking rodeo.
Bulls and shoot.
No, no.
Boles and shoots.
Never before accessible to the public.
The terrain, magnificent.
The views incredible.
The skiing and snowboarding is second to none.
Jasper.
Think about your spring plans.
I do it now, right, with the skiing for sure,
but then sink spring and into the summer.
The sky tram is open.
Your summer camping trip,
reserve your spot front or back country,
canoeing, rafting.
It's lovely.
I'm looking at this trail map.
There's some good terrain out there.
Did you see it?
It's on the Cirque.
Marmute, base, and Cirque.
Venture beyond.
Double black.
Jasper tourism.
Tomorrow
Wednesday.
Biggest game of the year.
Game day.
Must win game,
biggest game of the year.
San Jose Sharks.
Well,
no, you got to go back to Markstrom.
It'll be 23 of his last 24.
Well, at least we're going.
I mean,
yeah, we're going.
There'll be a lot of people excited to see you, right?
Yeah, I'm going to get to absolutely.
Coronado get in?
I hope so.
That's not an answer.
Peltche get in.
Yes, Peltzsche's got him.
Rizitschka, please.
Now again, these all seem like very logical.
Simples.
Questions of them.
an answer. Daryl, this is your last chance to make a good impression.
I'd even say, like, would anyone be surprised if Christana have we announced an injury and he
doesn't play tomorrow? Yeah, he doesn't, yeah. Like Stone or Gilbert, someone. You know what? And
as you sit here, and it sounds like backpedaling, but you know what? There's, there's good people
over there, right? It's good. If you get, I just, when you were going through all those numbers
about one goal losses and this and that. If, if it goes the other,
other way earlier on in the season and you're getting more wins, then maybe moods are better,
and maybe things you get along with each other more, and road trips and everything changes
with some extra wins. And it just doesn't seem right to be sitting here with the season
wasted. It feels like a wasted season. And for Daryl and for Brad and all these guys,
to be, for this to be the, this is, these are the goalposts we're using to measure you as a coach or a GM or a hockey person.
It just, it almost feels unfair with how awful this season has been.
And I, you know what, they were the second or third, health, most healthy team in terms of man games.
I think only one or two teams had fewer man games lost.
10, I would have missed 10 or 11 and Shillington Miss Hoyer other than that, almost nothing.
Yeah.
So if you take the Shillington stuff, because I was looking,
you had Anderson missed three games for getting hit by a fucking truck.
You got to be careful with that.
Hanifin was sick for a game and Weiger was sick for a game.
And then it was Tanev and Huberto had to take a shit.
Not for nothing.
Could be the last time you see the Big D behind a bench anywhere.
It's crazy to think, man.
That's a good point.
I didn't see it.
I just didn't see it going this way.
Not that I thought, again, I didn't think they were getting in here over the last two, three weeks.
That's different than saying they're going to miss.
But at the start of the season,
I did say they wouldn't,
too.
Five.
I'm good at that, though.
I said both.
Five and one start.
Codry looked like a great fit.
Captain.
Cadry,
magic patty a doo-be.
This line's gonna take out with the world.
Oh.
Do we want to get a guest for tomorrow?
Break somebody else in to talk some shit,
so it's not just us for two solid hours.
Wait the finger.
Flame throwing people.
We could.
Who would we want?
Well, we'll get some clarity on some playoff matchups tomorrow.
DM us who you want for a guest.
Yeah, that's right.
And with your bids for the final table at the...
Send us your guest picks and DMs, would you?
That'd be great.
We will see you tomorrow, buddies.
And a reminder, check in on that auction.
Last team for the draft this Friday.
Get in there. It closes tomorrow on a show.
Oilers suck, but maybe not as much as...
See you.
Stay strong, Red.
Don't waver now.
