Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - This Is Every Flames Fan’s BIGGEST Fear 😬 | BB Clips
Episode Date: December 31, 2025Boomer and Rhett dive into a deeper conversation about the Calgary Flames and where this team really stands. After a brutal start, the Flames are now just one game below .500 — but is this exactly w...hat fans were afraid of? Stuck in the “mucky middle,” not bad enough to rebuild and not good enough to win anything meaningful. The guys talk about what this version of the Flames is, whether anything will actually change, and what it means for the future in Calgary.VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/IpJMTlWmM98#nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #calgaryflames CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Well, look at the standings because it's another two points for the flames.
And there were some teams that played last night in and around them and they didn't win.
It's not.
The flames kind of go up.
Our October take is not a great take right now.
But we, no, we.
I'm taking credit for this.
I did say at one point, are they actually a last place team based on their roster?
Was that the bottom 10, more or less right there?
Something like that.
Yeah.
I almost want more because 38 points to 40.
Yeah.
That's.
Oversations.
Overnight.
You look at the bottom,
eight teams there,
all of them from the West.
There has to be,
I mean,
Winnipeg's a terrible place to live and exist,
but when you're losing,
that was the one thing they had
was a good hockey team,
and apparently not anymore.
The Jets are second.
I mean,
I know we talked about yesterday.
I said, yeah, by Christmas, you know, they should, they should not be there.
They may not be Colorado or doubt, but they're not 34 points.
Where did they finish last year?
Well, they were a playoff team.
Were they, they at home ice against St. Louis in round one, right?
Yeah.
So, it's no point.
So, do we just kind of zoom in?
Is that what we did that?
No, I'm if this is the West.
This is the West.
Oh, I see.
Yeah.
So I guess for the West, whatever,
but I was just kind of looking at the bottom of the league standings because I feel like that's the,
that's the conversation.
It's all west anyway.
Are you a lottery pick team or are you a wild card?
And still, you're with 38 points.
You're not that far from the bottom, but, and you're not that far from a wild card.
The kicker to me is,
is if you're, it's fine, and I'm not saying you're wrong at the start of the year.
They're not this bad.
Okay, so they're not that bad.
Who is?
But there's still a team that should really be strongly considering getting younger and trading assets away.
Call it a rebuild if you want.
I don't care what you call it.
It's just what you do with what you're given.
And with this roster, the way it's made up, the guys ages and what they're,
making and all of that.
I 100% agree because when I look at those other
rosters, there's still
damn it, I want it back now.
I mean, Winnipeg has stars.
Chicago has stars.
Nashville,
they would be similar to the flames in my
estimation where they've signed a bunch of older guys
that are no longer stars.
And that's tough sled.
I forget all the people.
There's some other.
I mean, whatever,
battle is, but it's
they had a bad start.
And I guess if they had more points,
would we really view them differently?
I really think.
Just sober observation.
You're not going to be sucked in by thinking,
oh, this is,
no,
this is a team.
I wouldn't think of them differently,
but a lot of people in town would.
If you added three wins in October,
you're now above 500,
and that's not,
they didn't have many wins.
Like, they were absolutely dog shit.
to start the season.
So adding three wins isn't far-fetched to in a month.
And they would be,
the problem being is that we haven't said it for a year.
We haven't said it for two years.
We've said it since Goddrow and Monaghan and Benet and Cachuk all effed off.
You have to redo this.
You have to redo this.
I'm not convinced.
They're convinced of one.
No, I don't think they are.
I don't believe they're convinced of it at all.
No.
And if they are.
convinced of it. They're not admitting it or they're not saying it.
No, it's their prerogative to go about it because in a way,
they're saying, you too, you, well, they don't care our opinion anyway, but you guys are
idiots. Look at us. We're 500 now just right on New Year. We've got half the season to scratch
a claw. How far out of the playoff spot? Two, three, four. I believe it's three points.
Three points? Like, if they walked in here and you wanted to have a debate, I know, very, if you're
McLeod law and I'm a cloud law and we're debating the flames, you can stand on either side of
the fence and argue it. There's ground to stand on. But I don't buy it because you are not,
did you watch Colorado last night? Yeah, if you've watched Colorado on any given night,
yeah, that's the, they're the toast of the league. But at the same, that's who you would be
facing. If you get into a wild card spot, that's what you're taking on. Good luck.
Oh, you're going to get your ass whoop. Good luck. The best you can hope for,
is the gentleman sweep, you might get a wolf's steel somewhere along the way.
And with every passing year, you're not keeping up.
Coleman and Backland are playing great right now.
Awesome.
You want to, you want to, you want to wager that that's going to continue for much longer?
Well, you know what I love is that they have all this science nowadays, right?
And numbers and stats and blah, bullshit.
predictions and blah, blah, blah,
I don't even know what they call it anymore.
It used to be one thing called Corsi.
Well, there's analytics.
That's the word I'm looking for.
What are the analytics on 35-year-old forwards?
Yeah, I was going to say, you don't need science
to just look at birth certificates.
Or if you have to base all your decisions on this,
then look at it.
Maybe that's our gig.
We should do the analytics on 35-year-old forwards
and what the likelihood of continued success is.
Blake Coleman on a Dallas Stars team this year,
one F of a player.
Yes.
That is.
Blake Coleman on a Stanley Cup contender?
Yeah.
Holy F.
What a contributor.
Drop Nazim Codry into Colorado.
Yeah.
Holy shit.
Yes.
Not when they're your kingpins.
They are.
not the pivot points that lead you to success. Come on, McLeod law. Argue. Argue. But it's, yeah. And you just,
you, you give credit to the coaches and the players because they are in my estimation. And there's a
chance I'm wrong. But in my estimate, this is about peak performance. 10, 2 and whatever on home
ice. And this is as good as it gets. And I don't know that it's sustainable for a lot longer.
Well, 10, 2 and 1 with anyone is not so numbers.
So feel free to prove us wrong again, but it's highly unlikely, highly unlikely.
And I said it to a bunch of people over the break.
I never thought they should be last place, but I thought they should have taken advantage of being in last place.
They're not.
So, okay, they've climbed out of it.
What they have is a group of guys that when they show up every game,
They have depth.
So if everyone's on the same page, they can, and wants to compete, they can, they can do that.
But it takes 82, full out efforts, four lines and six defensemen and the goaltender in 82 of your games.
Because you don't have any game breakers.
You don't have anyone that's going to get you two points just because.
you might say wolf but I don't think he's being that this year can he be yes do I think he's
really absolutely he's not Dominic hashick he's not going to get six shutouts in December no he's a
really good goalie but that's what you have as a team you have a group of pieces a bunch of parts
that are NHLers and if they show up and work their asses off they can give themselves a chance
to win. We should celebrate it.
The problem being is we've had this for
a long time in the city and we're looking
for more. And you can look
up north and go
holy F, would it be nice to have a run
at a Stanley Cup?
It sucked for them to lose.
I'm happy they didn't win.
A semifinal
appearance would be real.
And you're not going to get that out of these guys.
Because when the other teams that are really
good get into playoffs
and they have more talent,
and they work as hard as you,
you get your ass whooped.
Yeah, you just,
you want to have that team
that if they go on a run
and that,
that's,
that's a logical expectation
of what the team's capable of.
I want a decade of good hockey.
All due respect to you guys,
04,
that was the old Cinderella shit.
Flash in a pan.
To have a team that you're not,
can they get into it?
Oh, where are you finishing in the playoffs?
Playoffs is,
yeah, we're going to get through 82,
and then it begins.
All of this would be great if they were embracing more of a turn.
And part of the sort.
But I just, I worry because it's, I do say judge by their actions, not by their words.
So I'm kind of talking out of both sides of my mouth here.
But if this continues and they're right around, I do wonder, because there will be three
options with Raspis Anderson specifically.
You trade them.
You re-sign them.
Or you let the contract play out and then he bolts.
I think those are the three options.
I know what my option.
I know what I know what I think they'll do.
I'll guess.
I think you think they're going to sign them.
I think they will want to sign him.
I don't know if they'll be able to.
I think they'll walk them to free agency at minimum.
Oh, boy.
At minimum.
Really?
I do.
I think they're going to put themselves in the,
position where because it's what you've said.
Their actions are what matter.
What have they done in the past?
For the past 20-some years, we've compiled players in the hopes of just getting in.
They traded Lindholm, they traded Zedorov.
They asked out.
They asked out.
They asked out.
Zorov said, you guys suck.
I'm the best defenseman in the world.
Hanifan.
They wanted to sign Hanifin.
I guess that's the only.
They wanted to sign Hanifin.
We just heard how they wished they had some of the players.
That'd be the only wrinkle is that if they trade,
is it a pre-deadline deal or are they trading the contract rights in the off season before July 1?
Bullshit.
And like we just said, you can argue both sides.
Rasmus Anderson is playing effing good hockey, 25 minute a night defenseman.
He can play.
We like how he plays.
His effort is often the best on the team.
Yeah.
Why wouldn't you want him?
Who's playing with these young kids?
They're looking at next year.
They're saying,
we're not going to have this shitty start next year.
And I hear Pinder in my head,
and I think he's right,
is that it's all well and good to want to sign them.
It's what is that,
what's the number?
Rasmus has to be happy.
He's confusing, though.
Ryan's confusing and teams are confusing
because the cap's going up so it doesn't matter.
But we can't.
Yeah, no, I know.
I get confused.
And then we trade them to another team that will pay him that much.
And I'm not saying don't.
But they're going to pay them that much, but they're idiots.
Or is he asking so much more to stay here?
That's the thing.
Because now there's layers to it is I don't know that they should sign them really at all.
I think they absolutely should trade them.
And then if you sign them, it doesn't feel like there's a hometown discount.
Even if there is, it's going to be, well, okay, it's another guy in his 30s that you're going to have with a lot of miles on them.
I would just rather that be somebody else's challenge and risk and dice roll.
But past history, yeah.
Their past history speaks to where status quo and we're going to ride it out.
We aren't swinging for fences.
and the one that gets me mad is that they won't admit defeat.
They're telling us that they're a good team.
No, you're not.
You have not made the playoffs for years.
Yeah.
There's been no playoff success, history.
Don't tell me that you're good.
That's the one that pisses me on.
Oh, you guys are playing hard.
Huska's coaching them well.
I give them credit for their effort.
Don't tell me you're a good team.
Because good teams win in the playoffs.
Michael Backlin's your captain.
And was like, oh, cheap shot to get back.
Michael Bagelan has hardly played a playoff game.
He's played more than Gio when he was your captain,
but he's hardly played.
How many series had they won?
Yeah, it's, yeah, it's there again,
it's not analytics.
That's easy to figure all that out.
What they are is,
they are a average team that,
that there's, I'll say this,
there is something sort of special
with how they play as a group.
I think they have a good chemistry
and I do believe them when they say they do.
In the past, there's been times
when it's like, don't tell me you're a good chemistry
because I'm watching this BS on the ice.
That's not hockey.
Yeah.
Because you can see it.
There's guys you can see with Klapka and Lomburg
and these, yeah.
And I said we were talking last night.
You look at teams like Toronto.
and there's some other teams that they can't,
it's so dysfunctional and they can't seem to get things right
and they can't come together and it's a mess.
Not with this team.
No, I don't feel that.
Every line that takes the ice,
they go out and they bust their ass and they play hard.
They scored one goal in regulation.
And then got a got a kind of a bounce going their way.
It's not a shot.
It's just, to me, really does seem like it's fairly clear.
Do the old Daryl's.
Noodles brings it up all the time where it's,
all right.
Jack,
if you could do it,
I don't know if you can't quickly,
but find a team that's in a playoff spot.
Doesn't really like a,
the roster,
you mean?
Yeah,
the roster and just do the matchups and see.
Oh,
yeah.
You know what,
Jack,
I don't even know if you need to.
Yeah,
don't bother,
but.
Because,
yeah,
it's,
you're not going to win many of those battles.
Frost cadry,
you backland down the middle.
You have a team of second
and third line. It's fine. I don't
just. You don't have any
bona fide first line
guys.
And Weeger has had a heck of a season.
And he is, I mean, he's battling.
And I like the guy. But it's a
struggle. On that power play last night, they do the
bump back twice. And he turns. I don't know what's
turned. So I can't decide
is last year what he was?
I don't think so. Is this year what he is?
No, I think it's somewhere in the middle.
I don't think he's a...
He works his ass off.
I don't question that ever.
I don't think he's a 20-goal defenseman.
I think he's an Olympic, Olympian.
I think he's a real solid defenseman
that can help your team and can play some minutes,
and it looks like a good teammate.
But I don't...
Yes.
So he is two years removed.
He had 20 goals in 23, 24.
Last year, eight goals.
Yeah, but he had, and 47 points.
And now it's, I mean, he went from plus 18 to minus 16.
It's a struggle for him.
And how old?
He's 31.
So when do the, he's 31?
I'm telling you.
It just, yes.
There's too much of that.
It's not a shot against him.
It's against the organization for compiling a bunch of guys that, I don't know, what's the
average age?
Maybe I'm out to lunch.
It feels like this guy.
guys, they would be older than most of them.
But it's fine if you're a team that's in the playoffs and you're having success.
Yes.
Yes.
Not when you're trying to build into.
Not when you've been missing for years.
Yeah, that's a good point.
Cadre Anderson Backland, one, two, three in team scoring.
Okay, keep going.
So, Cadry is 30 mid.
Yeah.
Anderson's 30, right?
Yeah, well, yeah, whatever.
Backland is 30 plus on the back half of 30.
then Coronado, then Coleman,
then Frost.
Coleman's old.
For this world, he's old.
He's 34.
For this world, he's old.
He ain't improving.
You know what I mean?
If you can hold on to status quo,
which he's playing damn good hockey,
that's all you're praying for.
Who else?
Huberto's old.
The shitty thing for me is that all our best players are old.
Yes,
that's what I'm getting at.
is that you can say Coronado is, but he's going to have to have someone to play with.
And it just feels like to me, if I'm a fan, if I were to sit down and have a beer with the guys running the team and they're, hey, look, no, we're, it's like, you know all your guys are over 30.
No, we're a veteran team.
I would just, I'll buy his beer and I'm out.
I can't listen to this shit.
Well, and your rebuttal was a very good one.
Yeah, but you don't make the playoffs with your veteran team.
Yeah, so how many rounds did you win last year with the veteran guys?
Oh, none.
Year before?
None.
This year, still, you're not in a playoff spot.
So you're not good enough to get in the playoffs with your veteran team, which was younger years ago.
It's the hardest thing about doing this show because they deserve a lot of credit.
It was a slop fest last night.
I am not.
And I'll say, you know what?
What do good teams do?
They win when they're not at their best.
Oh, they're out of whatever.
Yeah, there's family in town.
It's Christmas.
It was a bit of a shit show.
They found a way.
That's what good teams do.
And I seem loathe to give them credit.
And it's not that.
Yeah, but you're not critiquing the players in their effort.
You're critiquing the organization and their approach to what,
what they're trying to sell.
That's the criticism.
We do a daily show where you need to have a small, like a micro kind of focus.
But I can't, I'm so focused on the big picture that I worry about the short-term success affecting the big picture.
And you would hope that they know what they're doing.
But I worry at times that they know what they're doing.
Because I think they know what they're doing, but they do things the way they want to.
If you're behind closed doors and you're like, this is great.
then yes, because Blake Coleman is playing his balls off.
He'd bring in a ton in trade.
Rasmus Anderson has not been a distraction.
He's been a stud.
You'd get a ton of in a trade.
I don't know what you do with cadre.
You don't need to do it right now, but shit.
Why not?
If you can make the decision that you're going to try and expedite this, dump.
It's like, oh, what does that do to the room?
The room's going to have to get over it.
because if the return is out there for these guys who are playing some of their best hockey that we've seen them play in years,
we're going to have to make moves to get better.
But if it is one of those, oh, we think we're, did you look at the standings?
We're right there, guys.
You're going to have to throw in some beers with that.
I'll see you later.
