Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - TSN's Pierre LeBrun: "All Options Remain On The Table For Andersson" | BB Clips
Episode Date: September 24, 2025Barn Burner Clips Youtube Link 🎥 https://youtu.be/6XbCaVQKIcIBoomer, Pinder & Rhett dive into the latest twist in the Rasmus Andersson saga. Pierre LeBrun reports that “all options remain on ...the table” for the Calgary Flames—so what happens next? Will the team overpay to keep their top-pair defenseman or could they settle for a smaller return in a trade? The guys break down the possibilities and what it means for the Flames future.FULL ARTICLE: https://www.tsn.ca/nhl/article/trade-remains-the-likeliest-option-for-flames-pending-ufa-andersson/#calgaryflames #nhl #nhlshorts #nhlteam #nhlplayoffs #stanleycup CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER BLONDE https://originbrewing.myshopify.comFLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Pierre LeBron had the report yesterday.
Oh, we're just going to get in.
We'll see how it goes.
And hey, we're just not saying extension isn't out of the conversation.
I don't want it to be a distraction, too.
But I also think that, you know, if you're setting the odds of an extension versus a trade.
But then again, look, we kept thinking this team would tell us what they were before the deadline.
So what is our approach if and when they sign Rasmus Anderson?
like are we
Oh, what's the number?
And how's it going?
Are we ordering burgers?
Are we throwing chairs to windows?
What do we, do we have?
I think his play has a lot to do with it, to be fair.
I don't think it does.
You just ripped Brandon Montour for making too much and he's being old and he's on the back half.
Right.
Now we're going to applaud if they resigned.
No, it wouldn't be applause at all.
But what you would hope is that a guy who played on a broken leg for a month and a half
or whatever was last year, like he looks a lot better and that would.
you know, make you feel at least like you're at a better starting point on this deal.
But no, it doesn't match their window at all.
So just say that.
Just when Rasmus is tailing off, these young players will be coming into their prime.
So yeah, it doesn't make sense.
Like by the time Cole Roshney is the top two center on this team,
Rasmus isn't going to be a top four guy.
So how he starts the season or how he plays should have no bearing.
Well, it has a lot of bearing on how they feel about the player and what the
trade market looks like.
And that has a lot to do with resigning.
Right. But not the resigning.
If, well, I mean, yes and no.
His birth certificate doesn't change with a.
the great start to the season.
Correct.
Their window to win doesn't change.
Do you think Conroy is measuring resigning versus trading?
Because what he's getting offered for in deals would affect,
well, maybe we just keep this guy if we're only going to get it.
I'm asking you, you just said yesterday that Montour is too old for the amount of money.
It didn't match their window.
It's not a bad signing.
It just doesn't make sense for Seattle.
And that would feel the same way about Rasmus and County.
So just say that.
So that's what I've said.
No, but you're not saying.
I literally said by the time Cole Res.
He's a top two center on this team.
He's not a top four guy.
It doesn't fit their window.
It does not match the time.
Right.
So that I said how he plays then shouldn't matter.
And you said, yes, it does.
Well, I mean, I don't want them to do it.
But you insinuated that if the trade market isn't good enough, they should sign him.
No, I didn't say that.
I think the team might consider it.
I don't, I wouldn't.
I'm trading this guy even if I get peanuts.
That was the question is what do you.
Right.
But, you know, the team's going to have their own decisions.
They're not calling the bat phone to talk to me.
I can guarantee you that.
I just wanted your opinion.
I didn't need to understand what Conroy and the ownership.
I was curious if we had the same thoughts on.
Yeah, don't do it.
Absolutely don't.
And that doesn't mean he's not a good player.
It's just not going to fit what you're trying to accomplish in the next length of that deal.
Eight years.
You started to talk about, well, maybe they're not getting enough offer and return for them.
My fear is that the owner and the GM think that this team's good enough to make noise in the playoffs.
And they make a huge mistake, which would be locking a guy well into his thing.
30s. I think it'll be 37 or 38 at the expiry of that deal. That's my fear.
That's kind of what's happened last year.
I don't disagree. No, I don't disagree. And so that's what we would do. And I think we're all.
Yeah, I think it's been easy to say, but it's also easy to say, it's harder to convince the owner of it.
Regardless, because we don't have a clue what's coming back in return. Because I was going to say,
because we all thought the king's ransom was coming for the other guys. So crystal, you know, put on your
Crystal Waters. Um, put on your Crystal Waters. Your hypothetical GM hat. Yeah. Let's
So we're, okay, so we're all, we're the three GMs of the team.
And we are getting close to the deadline.
And the players playing, as you would expect, playing well.
Yep.
But we don't have the offers that are going to make us happy.
These are not good offers.
This, I think.
So what do we?
You can't control the market.
And it was a tough year for Connie when he sold D.
And last year was a much better year.
I'm just, but I'm just, just, just right.
I know you can't do hypotheticals,
but just for this,
just play along that is,
we've got shit offers.
So you're getting a second for us.
Not just.
Yeah, that's a shit offer.
Yeah.
Tough one ever second is not a good deal.
Yeah.
Do we just take what it just take it to be prospect?
Do we just take it and wash our hands?
He's,
he likes it here.
Guys like him.
We like him.
The relationship is good.
He's,
he's the type of player that we covet.
He gives a shit.
He cares about the brand on the front of the jury.
It's my fear.
I'd hate it if they did it.
I could see it happening though.
But would you ever,
is there any scenario that you would do it?
Well, I mean,
obviously it's dependent on the number because
knowing it's going to be big,
then no.
If the number's big,
you should be getting decent offers.
And I understand the hypotheticals that you're not.
I think you have to make a decision about,
you know,
how do you build a sustainable contender?
just because the guy's nice and he liked it here
and the trade market soft doesn't mean
you lock into eight years of the back nine on a guy
hence the Montour thing yesterday
like not a bad player
literally want to cup the year where he signed
do you really concern yourself with the no trade
like I'm thinking of a moment
no trade
he's gonna get one
oh yeah he's not going to sign without one
but does that actually play into it
and at what point
Cadry was
way too much of money
way to at what point does Anderson become tradable again even though he has a no
right doesn't matter if he has a no trade you can figure something out we didn't yeah there's
players that you don't anticipate in their no trade clause to me is irrelevant nowadays because
a lot of players have it and they still end up being moved if things aren't working out
for see the rangers they've done it all those guys they've done it always um but no i don't think
no trade's an issue at all. I think the issue is that
is it an asset that other teams want to take on given the
term of the contract. You're telling me it's made a big number.
I think it's absolutely a max term type thing. He's never had a chance
to have free agency. It might be his only chance. He's going to take as much
guaranteed money as possible. There's a lot of things that go in a year deal.
I was just on the no trade. All I was going to say is just,
they do eight now if that's a trade. September 15.
One more year. Yeah. Next year changes. September. So another year?
You get one more year. Yeah. Not this last, just not the other day.
what are you doing
this is the last year
the CBA
and the agents and players
the PA negotiated
not July 1
but September 15th
for that rule to change
with date
but it was just September 15
back to you Dean
thanks Ryan
for Conroy
there's just a few things
that the no trade
it's just it's a little bit more
potential for complication
in a deal
because you would think
okay well it's
oh yeah we need
we need Rasmus to sign off
okay
We need to find a deal that we think we like, check.
The other team is happy, check.
Are we eating money?
The owner, okay, well, there's a few things.
It's just another potential hurdle to get over.
But if you're getting a second and we're just throwing BS things out there.
A second and a B prospect.
What the hell difference?
But I mean, even down the road.
I know.
If you get to no trade in this.
But the standard is that you're not, again, this is maybe why Ryan doesn't like hypotheticals,
because we could come up with any hypothetical.
Well, you can have McDavid for Anderson.
Oh, yeah, we should do that.
Right?
Like, we don't know.
There is a realm of reality of where it's going to.
Which is why I went to look at last year's trademark.
Like, there's context matters a bit, right?
Like, I just, Brian Dumlin went for a second last year.
I still.
So much better than Brian Dumlin.
Jake Walman got a first.
Brandon Carlo got a first in a top prospect.
I don't think you're going to be looking at horrible offers for Rasmus
because A, cap hit value and B, right shot tough
defenders are rare. They just are. Most teams can use them, contenders. So why isn't a deal done now?
Because they think they are good. No. Yeah, they do. The owner thinks they're going to make the playoffs.
If you can get, if, if there's first at firsts plus out there, how is Raz for Sanders is still here?
The trade deadline is the best time to move for the max return. Two times when you get a lot of teams bidding for the same assets. That's where you get the most in return.
It's that window ahead of the draft. Three teams lose a right shot defenseman, Dallas, Toronto and. Yeah, sure.
whatever we've had this conversation a lot but also rasmus could get hurt i and so i'll bring up a couple
other things that would be of concern for me is you said how much he likes it here no i think he
doesn't mind it here if he liked it here he maybe takes the contract that's offered to him already
yeah the six times seven versus right like so to say he loves it here he ain't taking no discount to
stay here so i don't know if you can sign him anyway and if you get to the trade deadline and the
your offer is BS, you might have to take it because if he's not signing.
Yeah.
You got nothing.
