Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Weekend Playoff Recap Ft. Frank Seravalli | FN Barn Burner - May 27th, 2024
Episode Date: May 27, 2024FlamesNation Barn Burner with Boomer, Pinder & Warrener- Memorial Day (2:00)- Yesterdays Game (5:00)- Lafreniere (10:00)- Trouba Hit (15:00)- Rhett & Jacks Weekend (21:00)- Franks An Oilers Ho...mer (28:00)- Pinder Report (39:00)- Betway (57:00)- Frank Joins (01:12:00)- NYR/FLA (01:14:00)- Trouba Hit (01:18:00)- Officiating (01:22:00)- DAL/EDM (01;24:00)- Eric Tulsky (01:29:00)- Donair (01:35:00)BARN BURNER BLONDEhttps://originbrewing.myshopify.com/products/barn-burner-473ml👍🏼 McLEOD LAW https://www.mcleod-law.com👍🏼 VILLAGE HONDA https://www.villagehonda.com👍🏼 OUTDOOR DENTAL https://www.outdoor.dental👍🏼 VENA NOVA https://venanova.com👍🏼 BETWAY https://betway.com/bwp/flamesnation👍🏼 GRETA BAR https://www.gretabar.com/locations/ca👍🏼 ORIGIN BREWING https://originbrewing.ca👍🏼 WENDYs https://games.dailyfaceoff.com/games/playoff-parlay-challenge👍🏼 Great Clips https://www.greatclips.com/👍🏼 BeAroused https://www.bearoused.ca/💻 Website: https://flamesnation.ca🐦 Follow on twitter: @FlamesNation @BarnburnerFN @960boomer @PinderReport @warrener44📺 Subscribe on Youtube: @Flames_Nation💻 Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Come on, let's do it.
Why not?
It's a little early on a Monday.
Sooner you start, soon are you finish.
Is that how it goes?
Get in, get in, get out, get it, get it, get it in.
And we get it in.
Get it in, get it, get it, get it, got it, good.
No Pinder today, he is off.
Everything's a little, you know, you let people use your stuff.
And then it's never quite the same again.
When you get back, do you know what it is?
Don't want to be that guy, but I had some people in.
you're losing my stuff, but now things sound a little different,
just feels it just, you know.
Off, it's just a little off.
It's going to affect my performance.
I know that for sure.
I'm usually quite good.
It's been honest.
Maybe not as good today.
Maybe just back a notch or two.
Jack, how are we doing, buddy?
Doing excellent.
Now, one of you is in America.
The other of you is kind of American.
It's what?
What holiday today?
Memorial Day.
Memorial Day.
So are you memorializing?
I'm sorry that you can't be down there, Jack, for Memorial Day weekend.
Yeah, it's really too bad.
I thought about maybe taking a holiday with Red.
Should have done it.
We're both here, so.
Should have done it.
Why don't you come down?
You're always welcome at Red's place.
Always welcome.
Got a great spot.
Oh, think about it next year.
Yeah, that's planning.
We won't be in the same spot.
Yeah, you can, yep.
Yeah, won't be the same.
Where are you going to be?
Jack, that's a whole thing.
whole year away.
That's a year away.
And so now for you, Retro, you're pseudo-Yanky.
What's up today as you celebrate the great Johnny Memorial, the third?
I'll tell you what.
It is, Canadians don't take their holidays as serious.
It's true.
Does that make sense to you?
And, you know, you hear Memorial Day and you're like, well, what's that mean?
It's a huge military.
It's massive.
It's like they talk about it all last week and they're talking about all this week.
And every, not every, but half the ads on the radio or, you know, thank you to our men and women serving in our armed forces.
It's, it's a huge, they make bigger deals of these things.
They make a big, bigger deal about a lot of things than we do.
I think we just kind of, just kind of roll as things come.
We navigate them and do what we do.
But yeah, they've become a bigger deal for sure.
Last week was May, it was May long.
You know, I don't, you didn't hear any, no celebrations.
We weren't thanking anybody for May long weekend.
Like that, the thing I noticed, though, because I was listening, you know,
I got the Sirius XM listening there.
Hey, I want to say hi to so-and-so.
It's the long weekend.
Woo, it's a kickoff to summer.
It's way more of, because of the, geographically speaking.
warmer weather for a lot of the people in the United States.
This would be a very hot,
hot weekend.
People are in their boats.
They're out there.
Oh, it's mint.
Like it's not mint here.
Yeah, it's not mint here in Buffalo today,
but that's the first day.
It hasn't been like yesterday.
It was perfect.
Yeah.
It was just gorgeous.
And sadly,
the Canadian side.
We don't even know what,
once May long.
What is it?
Yeah, I don't know.
It's called Victoria Day.
Is it?
a queen reference type of thing.
So we should probably be more up to date.
But it's too early in the year.
And it's 90% of the time it's shitty out.
Yeah.
You want to have.
It's a day off work is kind of what it is.
We're not really concerned why it's a day off work or or beyond that.
But yeah, I can understand.
I'm kind of, I would be, I'm kind of jealous.
I would love to have a cooler full of beverages on a boat.
Mm-hmm.
In 30, 30 plus degree weather.
That would be great.
So I can see why it's a big deal.
Give them an excuse.
They'll make a big deal out of it.
It snowed here for May long, so not as big a deal.
And part of it, we had some matinee hockey yesterday.
Did you put some of it in front of your face?
There was a discussion.
I forget where I read it about the NHL being screwed again by basketball.
Oh, is that what it is?
Afternoon game.
Yeah.
I was in and out watching it.
My middle guy, Billy Bob is distraught.
Just can't believe back to back, O.T.
What are we doing?
It's tough.
How is dad going to take me to a finals game if his bums don't get it going?
Yeah, you could just watch the Oilers and Rangers.
That's all.
That'd be something.
Yes.
the
the Pantaros probably
could be should be should be
up 3 nothing in this series
they're down 2 to 1
they're down 2 to 1 that's
yeah they are down 2 to 1 in this series
a 4 3 overtime win for the Rangers
yesterday
they're plucky
they're resilient those Rangers
I don't know if you knew this
they seem to stick around
34th come from behind win
regular season and playoffs
combined for the Rangers, that's a new NHL record.
That's a lot of come from behind.
52% of their wins have come in come from behind fashion.
No, it could be, okay, it's one nothing, like yesterday.
It was a one nothing game, two minutes in or whatever it was.
Okay, it's a lot of hockey to be played before it's over,
but you had to come back from behind in order to do so.
So I don't know.
Rangers, there's something there.
they have that kind of Cinderella feeling,
which is weird for a team that won the president's trophy.
You wouldn't be considered a Cinderella
when you're the number one team coming in.
But there's just little things,
little hallmarks,
guys scoring that don't ordinarily score,
things coming from out of nowhere,
goal attending performances,
that sort of thing.
Because they were,
not that they didn't have any business winning yesterday,
but the Panthers were the better team.
They were all over them.
I was looking this morning.
I've never the hell, the shot attempts, 108 to 44 for the Panthers.
Yeah, they seem to control play and be in charge of things.
But the Oilers were a bit like that in the game before where I thought that
at least two periods, they were the better team.
But yeah, overtimes.
We brought it up last week or week before.
You win in overtime and they, was it, the Rangers haven't lost in overtime.
Is that correct?
Four and home?
Yeah.
Right. Those just become huge where games that maybe you don't deserve and go out and outplay the other team, but you get it to overtime and you come away with a win.
And this is sometimes it's an ugly one. I don't know if it's ugly, but it's just put it on net.
And I don't know how, now again, Wendberg kind of all alone there.
Yeah, I don't know where Oliver, oh, what is his, what's the call sign?
That's right. No, you got it. Paul, yeah. Paul Maurice. Paul Maurice, Simon.
Larson.
91.
I don't know
where 91.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Was heading there.
He was anticipating a dump back down into the corner, I guess.
But I don't know how you leave a guy all alone in front.
I actually thought, not that again, even the game prior, the overtime goal, hell of a shot.
But.
Yeah.
But he's alone in front.
And then, oh, he hit it in it with his hand.
It's a hand.
It's a hand.
It's, they, like, no, it's actually there's a, there's a portion.
between the left and the right hand where there's stick connecting the two and it hit that part of the
stick. So five or sorry, four to three, the score there. Two and 25 seconds for Lafranier and Goodrow.
We'll talk about the Truba thing in a moment, but Truba goes off four minutes and you start to lick your
chops. If you're the, if you're the team, here we go. This is going to be great. And then you give up a
short-handed breakaway and all of a sudden it's in the back of your net that will deflate you um it's just but
it's those types of things short-handed goals guys Alex Wenberg now I looked this morning he was
acquired at the deadline had one goal in 19 games for the rangers post deadline so mm-hmm and this
is his first of the playoffs in 13 games on uh what do they say it's unlikely uh heroes and that sort of thing
that's what that's what happens but how about
alex alexis lafranier
decent
day yesterday
two goals six shots 1558
in ice time here's the first
as he comes in and that's a nice backhand
again you can maybe look at the defensive play
on this because the defense makes a good play
actually forces that at least the
goalie's thinking that he's not going to get across the crease,
but he just makes a good job.
And then there's this one.
Again, there's your buddy, Paul Maurice Eckman, Larson.
And it's just, I'm going to come in.
I'm going to tow drag around you.
I'm going backhand, post, and in.
This is a guy who not long ago,
kind of similar in a way to Nathan McKinnon.
Because remember McKinnon was kind of a,
I'm not sure he was the first overall pick,
but what has he got?
What does he add?
I'm not sure.
And then you start to see it.
You're starting to see it.
Now, 28 goals in the regular season, 57 points.
Now he's got 12 points in 13 playoff games, six of them goals.
He's 22 years old.
Maybe just patience is what you need.
Maybe just got to wait.
I didn't even realize.
I knew that he'd had a better year, but I didn't realize he had that good a year.
Yeah.
That's pretty good.
Because I went to hunt it down just, okay.
So how bad was he?
What's just what kind of a mess?
Oh, he's actually not that bad, actually.
So yeah, he, I'll find it here for you.
But the Rangers, man, again, should you be surprised when they were the president's trophy winners?
I don't think we're allowed to be.
We shouldn't be.
So his rookie year, this is Lefrenia now, 12 goals and 56 games, 19 the year after, 16 last year.
so a little bit of a backwards step 31 points 39 points and then 28 in 82 this year
still funny how you can be how did they do it how do you make the because it's their fourth
conference final in 10 years and you picked first and second overall in there so you're bad
for a stretch too interesting well again the paneran signing is one of the best free agent signings
that we've seen good right like 120 points today or this year wasn't it 120 points and no one's
mentioning his name because mcginon macdavid and oh the other yeah there's some guys there's some
guys up there they're do grove 120 and 82 is what he had in the and 49 goals in the regular season
for panarin so yeah he's been he's been real good zabana jad good player trocheck has had an
unbelievable playoff 18 points now in 13 games crider
they've had different guys.
It's playoffs.
Trochec, round one,
Zabanajad.
Then we saw what Chris Kreider did at the end of round two,
and now Lefrenier's on a role.
I don't mind it,
but I feel for you and your kid because you're,
you know, Panthers fans and that.
Yeah.
And it's not over, but.
I don't think it is over.
I think the Panthers have actually controlled most of the game.
Yeah.
Out of the first three.
So it's,
but certainly don't want to be down two to one.
Be no prefer to be up two to one certainly glad I didn't spend a bunch of money and fly to
Florida to watch them lose in overtime yeah no it's true yeah what a game though some beautiful
goals yeah seven of them some drama yeah you probably want to win though yeah probably want to win
there that would be that thing um Sam reinhart two goals verhege could chuck a pair of assists
each with seven shots on net shesirken 34 saves bobber five on 23 he had it was
four on 16 for a stretch there.
And I didn't even know it because I went back.
Okay.
So are you getting ventilated?
What's going on here?
A lot of them are posting in, posting in.
And you saw the two Lafranier goals.
I don't know if you blame him much there as the defense.
No, you want saves.
Those are two good plays.
Some tips that have gone in.
I didn't.
I think it's a hell of a shot in overtime in game too, but I still want that save.
What I haven't liked with Bob or is his body language, to be honest.
In what way?
Well, I feel like there's a lot of whole homie kind of stuff going on now, where it's not.
And maybe he's not being challenged enough, right?
Like sometimes your goalie could be better when he's into it all the time.
What did you say?
Four on 16?
And the thing about Bob is he makes those, because we talk about it.
you more because you've been there and you've seen it.
It's not fair,
but sometimes you have to hold your goalie to a high standard.
Those are all very good goals,
but there's four of them.
And you can't give up four of them.
You need to make saves.
You need to get some saves.
He's been that guy that because of that rationale has been good.
I don't know how he's making the saves,
but he's made them.
You look back to some of the one paddle save or whatever it was when he came back,
had no business made.
Hey, he made the save.
And right now,
There's not a lot of that for Vibrovsky.
But to your point, I think that this is, this has got a lot of legs left.
This has been a very good series.
This game far more wide open than the first couple.
It was pretty tight and congested.
They were going back and forth yesterday.
So we'll see how that goes.
Now, some controversy.
And who better than you to chime in?
Because you're a defenseman and you love to lay out the big hits.
Jacob Truba, who I almost call it.
Ladislav. There was a guy named Ladislav
Cuba who played in Red Deer
when I was there. K-O-U-B-A.
Well, wasn't there
a, there was a
Cuba, Cuba that played
I don't know, we played for the Panthers.
Philip. Philip Cuba, yeah.
Yeah, there was Philip Cuba, Latislav,
Cuba, and this would be Jacob Truba.
So the first, I mean,
it's not really, this is my C-T-E.
It's not exactly the same at all.
I didn't play Procephabre.
sports, but a lot of hits to the head, I guess.
Truba's big hitter. We know this. We've seen it for his entire career.
And this one here, he, he, it's, it's Evan Rodriguez coming through.
The elbows up. It clips him and down he goes.
This, this brought a lot, a lot more people kind of defending Truba than I would have thought.
Now, you can watch it over and we can slow mo it and we can play this over and over again.
the first one that I heard defend it was Kevin Biazza.
He says when you're a defenseman,
he's coming in to try and hit him in the chest.
Now, Rodriguez's smaller guy,
maybe he's bent over,
and he still felt like maybe it kind of glances off the shoulder
and then into the ear.
On one hand,
it feels like,
no,
he's coming with the elbow.
And Biexa says,
that's kind of how you hit.
It's just his arm was a little bit further out.
I want your thought.
saw this i think he throws his elbow out at him because he's getting beat yeah i know he's leaning in
thinking rodriga's gonna go you know he's got him in a position if he could if rodriguez doesn't cut
back sure but it doesn't well that's throwing an elbow out it's yeah it's that's that and and on his
behalf if you're him you're stuck if you don't throw an elbow out he's in clear going around and so
that's all my thoughts are is he's throwing it out there because this is the only thing i can
get on them. I was a little surprised. I was a little surprised. But I am and now this will shock you that
a lot of the, the Panthers, Panthers fans of followers, they think that it's how was that only a,
because it was he had drawn a slashing penalty earlier on in the shift on Bennett and then gets two for
that. Even after that they go upstairs and look at it or whoever looks at it, they review it and say,
no, it's a two minute penalty for elbowing. But the Rangers,
fans are saying that this this Rodriguez he's a diver he barely got clipped he went down he's laying
on the ice then they finally call the penalty oh he pops up and he's good to go he comes back into
the game they they're saying that maybe this is uh well then maybe it was perfect because i think
trooper threw an elbow out and if Rodriguez wasn't hurt and it was just a glancing blow then
maybe two minutes is all it should be yeah i'm glad i don't care well it's right i i don't know what
again, it goes back to the Department of Discipline.
I don't know what they're trying to do.
Is that something they're trying to get out of the game?
I guess that's the surprising thing is that they stuck to a two-minuteer.
Yeah.
Because it looks.
I would be more surprised I am more surprised they stuck to the two.
I don't care.
Yeah.
But I am more surprised that they stuck to the two minutes rather than up in it.
Yeah.
That to me is a dangerous play.
Felt like five in a game or whatever you want to call it.
But maybe there's part of that.
If we go five in a game, then he might, you know, suspension, that sort of.
Give him two.
How's Rodriguez?
Is he dead?
Is he okay?
Give him two.
I don't know.
Again, and I'm fine with it, battle through it.
But it's still, I would have expected that's the kind of thing they don't want to see.
Yeah.
Because it's good that he's, didn't get injured.
Yeah.
But that's close to being real ugly.
Could have been real bad.
Yeah.
Like that's one where.
You get him in the chin.
He's laying there still.
You're out for the rest of the.
Yeah.
Layoffs.
Yeah.
It'd be one of those.
Can you believe what they did in the 70s?
Look at some of these hits that the guys laid out.
That would have been one of those hits.
Elbow right to the chops.
Do you remember was it Charra on a guy from Montreal?
What was his name?
Oh, was it Patcheretti?
No.
Because that was the one where Patchretti got angled into the glass there at the bench.
Yeah.
No.
was an absolute anyway that it kind of reminds me that he didn't get him as good but it was the
same sort of i'm going to chicken wing you here yeah i can't get anything else out there
but like you say in that half a fraction of a second this guy's going to get by me i got to stop
them yeah clack not kids we're not defending it we're just kind of talking about it that's all
we're doing those are opening statements for mccloud law how about uh shane king
over at McLeod Law. He's a partner in the litigation and dispute resolution group,
specializing in areas like employee rights, if you've been laid off or terminated,
they know it's hard, can be hard. Shane can review your situation. Make sure that you've been
treated fairly and as the law requires using a practical approach and plain language,
not legal jargon. Whatever your challenge is, business or personal,
McLeodlaw is in it with you. Contact them online,
macloud dash law.com. Would you do the weekend?
Do you do anything?
Pools and remember the name Peter Ratchuk.
Yes.
Went out for dinner with Peter and his wife.
Love him.
Just love it.
Why do I know?
I obviously played junior.
Yeah, he was a first round pick by Colorado way back in the day.
He somehow,
I forget how he ended up in Florida,
but my last year in Florida, he was around there,
and he's from Buffalo, works for the Jets now.
Yeah.
So, yeah, went out with him.
It was nice.
Went and watched my buddy Montador, his young boy, was playing baseball here.
So I went, what, one of Momo's games?
Yeah.
How old's that young guy?
Nine, nine years old.
Yeah, there you go.
Swing the bat, kid.
Yeah, get it off your shoulder.
Get that thing moving.
Get it going.
Jack, how was, what did you do this weekend?
You're the young buck of the crew.
You should have the exciting stories.
Nothing too exciting.
yesterday I spent $700 on a Nintendo Switch
Yeah you did
Yeah you did
Is that money well spent? I don't know
Is this a new?
Yeah I think so
Are they still not expensive
Because they've been around for a while now right?
Yeah it was ridiculous
It was $400 for the console
Then it was $100 for another controller
And then the games are 80 bucks
What do we play it?
We're playing all the Mario games
that's what we're getting back into.
So the Mario Carts, the Mario parties.
I got a PlayStation 5, but I got no games on anymore.
The NHL's boring.
I can't play the Mad, and the Call of Duty is boring.
So we're going back to the Mario games.
Call of Duty is boring.
Yeah, it's boring.
Wow.
They ruined it.
How did they ruin it?
I don't know.
It was just like, I don't know if it was COVID or just like prime call of duty like two,
three years ago, but all the boys were playing.
late nights and now it's just dead.
Yeah. I see people are ripping me as a boomer doesn't understand.
What I was going to say is, uh, you should have saved the seven hondo.
I've got a switch that's just sitting around.
I got two.
Like it's just sitting here.
It was cool for a while and then poof.
Next.
Yeah.
Well, we were trying to buy one on marketplace and these people are so
freaking difficult.
So I just said screw it and went to Best Buy.
I could have,
I think you should return it.
Then you go into my house.
I'll bring it on Wednesday morning.
Sounds good.
You showed those guys you don't know who they are on.
Exactly, yeah.
You went and actually spent more to get a new one.
Warranty.
What a how sheepish and dumb they feel right now.
Yeah, we've got a lot of those things.
The VR?
We have two of them.
I was just going to say, we have two VR headsets that mostly,
there's one sitting actually right here.
I was charging it.
So we got,
we got two of these things.
Uh,
a switch.
Xbox.
One.
And what's the new one?
X,
Xbox X or whatever.
Xbox one or something.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So there's one and then there's the other one and then the other,
the PlayStation thing.
Um, this.
And trust me,
this is not bragging.
This is embarrassment that there's this much stuff in the house.
And the kids are still like,
uh,
so like,
what's,
What are we going to do?
I'm bored.
What are we going to do?
How about pack up your stuff and take it over to Jack?
Save him 700 bucks.
Yeah, for a sake.
Well, you know what?
First started.
I was thinking about this in the weekend because we,
you see Viena Nova up here,
Justin over at Viena Nova.
The wife and I, you know, me being the nice guy that I am.
I said, you know what?
We have Justin with Venova,
we've been telling you about lab grown diamonds.
she got a ring, I guess a year ago, a little more than a year ago.
And so we should go back.
Like, what do you, what do you like?
Let's go see Justin.
Let's just, here's the thing.
Vinova is great for, are you getting engaged?
Do you need it?
Whatever it is.
It's all some of those things.
Hey, babe.
Just because.
Blow their doors off.
Just because.
And it's, they don't need to know that it's lab.
own diamonds and you're saving 75, 80% or you're getting great savings.
Imagine if you wheel in there with some diamond earrings or a necklace, a ring,
you know, ring you're going, that's, you're going on top shelf there.
What have a nice little set of diamond earrings.
Like what?
Hey, babe, you deserve it.
You're the best.
You're setting up 2024 to be a big year.
You just are.
You're setting up.
It's made the whatever.
The rest of the year.
It's the rest of the year.
A nice summer right there.
You're setting up your summer.
You want to go on a guy's trip?
You want to go golf and sports trip?
You want to be doing this stuff the rest of the year?
Do you want to get a switch?
Yeah.
You want to go out, whatever it is that you want to do.
Then all you need to do is, hey, babe.
I was just wondering, me and the guys are thinking of maybe go and watch some football.
Maybe go down to Vegas and those earrings look great today, babe.
Look at those.
They're just sparkling.
That's unbelievable.
Those diamond earrings.
You look so good.
Anyway, I was just saying,
we're going to go watch some baseball,
maybe tie in a hockey game.
Set yourself up.
Or if you do have,
if you're getting engaged or you got an anniversary or whatever.
It's Vena Nova.
It's the only store in Calgary
specializes exclusively in lab-grown diamonds.
Largest selection of loose lab-grown.
I mean, if you're really wheeling and dealing,
you need some loose diamonds, I'll tell you.
Venanova.com is the website,
but we have all been to the store
and encourage you to do that,
because it's, we're dumb.
We don't know until you see the stuff that is right in front of your eyes.
That's when the,
the ideas start to come in.
The downtown showroom located in the second level of Stephen Avenue place.
Now, the lab grown diamonds,
we've been telling you about this.
Same chemical composition and crystal structure as an earth mine diamond,
the dirty gross earth diamonds.
Who wants those?
Get something that's pristine and perfect and made in a lab.
That's correct.
Vena Nova.
being an ova.com.
We'll talk to
if we get that far.
I don't know.
Without Pinder,
he takes up so much space.
I'm not doing dumb shit
on the Pinder report anymore.
I'm not doing that.
I'm not even sure
if we're going to get to
because we start a little bit earlier.
I'm not sure if we're even getting
to Frank today.
That's like,
is Frank on or is he on holiday?
No, he's on.
It's playoffs.
I don't know where he is.
I don't really care.
I'm not that I don't care
he was doing the Vancouver
Edmonton thing
I don't know if he's doing the Dallas
Edmonton thing he loves
Edmonton I know this
Big Edmonton he
this might kind of surprise you
but maybe it's just because I'm a Philly guy
I don't mind Edmonton I kind of like Edmonton
Is that right
Well your your Euler takes
Would seem to suggest that you like
He took a beating over the
Do you guys
in Calgary would you cheer for Edmonton being that they're the only Canadian team that take whoa
he took a sound sound thrashing online for the uh for that notion rightfully so you know what i'm in
agreement with these people he's he's no dumb though like he knows right the answer he was going to get
he was possibly trolling us perhaps yeah yeah no frank we're not going to be cheering for edmonton just in case
you were curious. He knew better.
So we'll talk to Frank, maybe. I'm not
sure we're getting to the bottom of the next hour.
I'm not sure I'm feeling. I like summer hours, Dean.
Yeah, me too. Summer hours are good, important.
Yeah. Jack?
Yes, sir. Yeah.
Be great, Frank. Frank comes in.
Sorry, Frank. We started the show early today and
Pinder's not here and you know how much space he takes up for just for the two.
And Rhett and I are give a crap meter.
really low.
Didn't even get to,
didn't even get to you today.
Hey, we've been going for half an hour already.
That's right.
Talked half an hour.
So much.
About the Panthers and whatever else.
You know,
video games.
Direns.
I'm going to get into the Mario stuff.
Were you,
now I don't,
this is where you can accuse me
and being old.
The,
the Mario cart,
I was into the dog,
like,
you go back,
Donkey Kong when it came.
out right and then it was you had Mario and this sort of thing and then the Mario where
bump but dump bump bump bump bump where you're jumping and boodoo do that sort of thing
the Mario cart missed it all together when they're doing the the racing but it's probably
Jack would it's probably better than all of that right you would that's what you would say
being that you spent seven hondo on a I better be do you know what donkey Kong is yes yeah
He ever played Donkey Kong?
I haven't played like the original games, but he's,
he's a character in the, he's in the Mario Carts and the,
he's in the Mario world.
The Donkey, the Donkey Kong himself.
Yeah.
Yes.
What's the Donkey Kong game?
Well, Jack, it's really something.
At the, at the top of the, there's like a, it's levels.
Oh boy, this is, we could have even shorter show if we just bypass this whole part.
We could just play Donkey Kong in the show.
That'd be all right.
Um, but old donkey, I guess that's, I guess he's donkey Kong.
He's at the top and he's got these barrels.
I don't know if they're like whiskey barrels or what they are, but he just starts rolling these
things down and they'll go do do do do do do do and then they drop do do do do do.
And you need to go up ladders and then up and jump.
Make sure you jump over the barrels or you're not going to make it.
That's how that goes.
It's come a long way since then.
It was just, I think that was it was just jump barrels and get to the top.
of the platforms.
I had it on CalicoVision.
Do you know what CalicoVision is, Jack?
No.
What is Calico Vision?
Shut up, John.
See, there was Atari,
and then there was Calico Vision.
And then those damn Nintendo's
and Sega's came along.
God, I loved to happen that Sega.
NHL, when that NHL game came out on Sega,
what a life changer.
Oh, man.
With Playb-Body, like,
I wouldn't know.
I didn't get it.
is if you didn't get it.
I didn't get it.
You didn't, what,
we rented,
we rented for a week,
a console to play games in the same.
Yeah.
We didn't own.
But like when the NHL came out,
like when Sega came out,
you'd have been,
I guess,
well,
how old would you have been then?
I don't know.
Like 94.
Are you still a kid?
I guess you're still a kid.
You're younger than me.
Junior.
Poor Warner.
Whoa, boomer said CalicoVision.
Here's, oh, I bought an Intellivision.
A couple years ago, you remember in television?
I think it just had like the little,
it was like a handheld thing and it just had like a dial that you would spin at the bottom.
I think it was just one of these.
Yeah.
And Atari, just the lone stick.
Calico Vision had the, it had like a number key.
pad that took up about 90% of the controller for whatever reason.
The old, is it the Blackfoot market at the bottom of Blackfoot Trail?
Yep.
I think there's a, you can go buy a lot of this old stuff in there.
Yeah, I bet.
Have you, the only reason I say this is because I've kind of, I've gotten into buying
some stuff and I'll do it on the show because it's embarrassing and it's stupid.
But some of the stuff that you like that was cool when you were a kid,
Now, it's not so much that you can afford it, but some of it's back.
And it's really cheap and you buy it just because you want it and didn't have it then.
You know, like those video games or whatever.
I always wanted one of these.
Great.
Well, you're 45 and now you have one.
What are you going to do with it?
I don't know.
Hey, kids, do you want to play Atari?
Play what?
I've already got two VR headsets that don't get used.
Do you think I'm sitting down to play Pong or whatever it is?
Like the wood sticks, I got my kids for Christmas.
Oh, yeah, these will be great.
Oh, it's awesome.
What would have been the big Atari game?
Because I think Donkey Kong would have been the big one for Kalikovision.
Intellivision was like, wow, it was bad.
Was it just like Pong with Atari?
Had to have been more.
Come on, Jack, figure it out.
Call of Duty is boring.
Yeah.
Call of Duty is boring.
I ruined it now.
Jeez.
Oh,
Mortal Kombat.
Do you like Mortal Kombat?
Yeah, Mortal Kombat's fun.
Yeah.
Pac-Man.
Was Pac-Man on Atari?
Ooh, might have been.
Might have been.
That was big.
We should do that someday with Jack,
because we'll be able to loop it right in on the show with the video.
Just have Jack play old video games or show him what these games are just to get the reaction.
it'd be terrific.
Oh, yeah, there's a Frogger.
Frogger, I was going to say, it has to be.
Yeah, Frogger was it good.
It's a decent.
There was some bad games.
Paperboy, wasn't there a paperboy one?
We're through a paper.
I think so.
The first one that, you know what I had for,
for my Kaliko vision,
I also got the little steering wheel.
And the pedal, the gas,
like the little gas pedal, the steering wheel,
and then your controller would kind of click in.
So that was your gear shifter.
Oh, boy.
Probably three years of my life.
I spent just playing,
just playing turbo.
Paperboy was awesome.
The original one, Nintendo system.
Some asteroids.
Yeah, asteroids.
Gallagher.
Double dragon.
bubble dragon.
You up for that, Jack?
Play some vids on the show.
Yeah, might as well.
When was Punch out?
When was Tyson?
Like, what was that?
That was the original Nintendo.
Nintendo.
Yeah.
Who was the,
because it was Glass Joe.
Is that right?
Was he the first guy?
I remember playing that.
I never had the Nintendo.
And Glass Joe, he was,
he was pretty easy to be.
Then you got the fat guy.
And you try and punch him and he was always,
he'd always block.
He was good with the blocks.
Like, how do you beat this prick?
And then,
then you realize, oh, so as soon as he comes up to punch you,
because he had band-aids on his belly, right?
Remember he had band-aids on his belly?
So if he lifted his right, you'd have to go in and crack a one right in the gut.
Ooh, and then you could whoopty, whoopty, whoopty, whoopty, this guy.
Yeah.
Jack could get his ass handed to him.
Probably about two years of my life I would have spent trying to beat that fat prick
before I realized.
Well, you just punch him in the belly when he lifts his arm.
Oh, okay.
Damn it.
Pinder doesn't strike me as a video game kid either.
No, I think it would have, it's too slow for him.
There's not enough.
That's true.
Yeah, he'd need something.
God, who knows what he?
Can you imagine him as a kid?
Like, he's so annoying now as a human, adult.
He'd be good at a King Hipple.
That was the name of the fat guy.
Thank you, hot poop.
King Hippo was the fat boxer that you needed to punch him in the gut.
Yeah.
I was going to say Pender should have grown up on a farm or a small town where he could just let him wander.
but there still wouldn't be enough to keep them interested.
God, he did imagine.
He got beat up.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I didn't, I had a flat tire, so I had to call someone to get the tire,
and then I had to wait five hours for a delivery.
Oh, boy, for someone to bring me a tire.
Bring you a tire?
What are we talking about?
Let's do the Pinder Report for Village Honda.
Why shouldn't wait?
A new in-stock inventory on the ground.
We got the Accord.
I mean, you've got the Ridgline.
You've got the pilot.
You've got the Civic.
The CRV.
We've talked about the CRV.
A little bit smaller.
Hey, a little bit smaller,
but yet still all-wheel drive and reliable.
It is though it's perfect for our city and the conditions that we see.
It's a compact SUV.
It's the top of the charts and the compact SUV market.
A plethora of driver safety features that come standard.
if you've never been behind the wheel of a CRV,
go do it.
Village Honda,
your dealership for life located in the Northwest,
Auto Mall.
So,
yes,
the Panthers and the Rangers
hooked up yesterday in Sunrise.
It was an early lead for the Panthers,
but it evaporated back and forth.
They would go until they get to overtime.
And a shot from the point
finds its way through,
seeing I shot off of Alex Wenbergen in,
Rangers win it by a score of 4 to 3.3.
a couple goals for for Alexi Lafranier.
A couple goals as well for for Berkeley Goodrow,
who's been having a pretty dandy playoff,
all things considered.
Shasturka 34 saves,
Bobrovsky 5 and 13.
We've talked a lot about it.
The Rangers have a kind of a feel right now.
They were up in that series against the Carolina Hurricanes
and then they took their foot off the gas.
Oh, maybe these guys aren't.
they're okay.
They've been finding ways to win it.
They will now, so what is it, two, two to one.
So they're going to play a game four coming up tomorrow.
Yeah, and five for sure.
Down in, uh, I guess it's back in the, you know, still sunrise.
How hot and gross would it be there right?
I think it's quite hot and gross.
They were talking about Dallas 34 degrees Celsius or something for that game on
Saturday and throw in some humidity.
Gross.
sweat hogs.
You'd be happy in that rink, though.
Be nice and chilly, somewhat in there.
You'd be wanting to get in there.
The walk in, you'd have to change a shirt three times
or just go in with the plan of buying a New Jersey
when you got there.
That's right.
There's no way you walk from your car to the truck or to the rink
without completely drenching yourself.
Zero chance.
Be nice.
It's 91 in Fort Lauderdale right now.
Feels like 100 with the humidity.
Yeah.
How do people do it?
You sweat, Dean.
You do a lot of sweating.
I know people are like, how do you guys handle the cold?
How do you handle that?
It's the same thing, racing from your car and air conditioning to inside and air conditioning.
That's what it is.
Mm-hmm.
Is it good on the beach, though?
No.
Still no good on the beach?
Well, I mean, you're going to have a breeze off the water, but the water warms up.
better on the beach than on the asphalt, but if you don't have to be doing something where you need to be somewhat clothed and you need to be productive for a job or whatever else, I guess that'd be all right.
I think is I think you probably need a job and to be accountable to some degree.
Anyway, it's not really, I mean, that's neither here nor there for the series.
So they'll play a game number four coming up.
Tonight, 630 start.
It's the Oilers and the Stars, Dallas, even the series Saturday with a 3-1 win.
uh, Leon Drysidal held off the score sheet for the first time all playoff.
And, uh, there's big controversy.
Everyone very upset with the officiating.
Very upset with the officiating.
What do the Oilers have to do to get a power play?
What do we got to do?
Dallas, they're taking no penalties.
And then you look in the regular season.
Well, actually they were one of the least penalized teams, if not the,
the, the one of the least penalized teams in the,
the entire league. Yeah. All season. So really it's much, much the same. But they, um,
they want more power plays in Edmonton. Yeah. They want more power plays because they
win a lot of games with the power play. How much want to bet they get a couple start of the
game, this first period tonight. Yeah, probably. Um, at least.
Old Chuck Knoblock, he says, I just, you know, it's, uh, just want to
see the same standard.
Just want the same standard.
Okay.
Just feel like this happens a lot.
You get into the playoffs and then penalties kind of start going away.
And one team that's really good in the power play says, oh, where's all the penalties?
Where's the penalties?
What are we?
What the hell?
We like penalties.
What the hell?
What the age?
So, um, so that'll be a good one tonight.
Shifting the series back to Edmonton.
They will be wound up.
I don't know what the weather is up there,
but it'll be sweaty.
There are going to be a lot of sweaty people in Edmonton tonight.
Yeah, lots of sweat hogs.
Lots of sweat hogs up there.
There's some flames news, buddy.
Good news?
You know what?
Probably of little consequence, but not good news.
Leaning more towards bad than good, for sure.
Okay.
Nikita O'Hocuck.
You remember him?
No.
Yeah.
It's probably why it's kind of neither here nor there than,
but Conroy in the Flames gave up a fifth round pick to the San Jose Sharks at the deadline
to pick up Nikita Ahotruch.
He has just signed a two-year deal with CSCA in Mother Russia.
As Darren Drager there says,
clearly no concern with the internet intentional ban that remains a bet.
He's going to Russia's two-year deal.
The Flames can qualify him to keep his rights, I suppose,
if after two years he wants to come back.
but feels like kind of a fifth round pick for for very little.
They took a chance.
I believe he was a Dallas,
a New Jersey draft pick.
New Jersey was in that trade for old,
what's his name,
Timum Meyer,
and then off to Edmonton or off to Calgary.
I wonder if they knew in San Jose that he was going to be going back to.
I didn't.
I wouldn't be surprised at all.
Oh, this guy's great.
He's young.
I think he was a second round pick.
Really?
I don't do it for a fifth.
Yeah, he's already got his bags packed for Russia.
Just go to Calgary first and then Russia is how that'll go.
Either way.
World hockey championships came to a close.
Canada, disappointing, man.
Disappointing.
Playing for bronze lost to Sweden by score 4 to 2.
Empty handed.
No rings, no medals, nothing.
however on the other side
Chechia defeats
Switzerland by a score of 2-0.
Roman Trevenka, former flame
champion. Nice.
That's Marty Pospisal too, right?
Even though he was injured. It was a big deal.
It was a big deal in Prague.
So who won?
Uh, was it, uh, Chech-Chechia?
Is that what it's called?
I don't know. I'm asking.
I don't know.
Yeah, a big deal over there.
I mean, it was,
it was a big deal uh you know big deal in prague so whatever but isn't prague
check republic so chache or the check repubon i do i fuck well now we're getting bogged down
yeah are getting bogged down damn i i i h f chetcha over sweden or so switzerland in gold medal
game david pasternack won nothing goal or one nothing uh capture the gold medal uh and they were all
wound up dancing love and life good stuff sorry it was a one nothing goal for
Pashtak two nothing with the empty netter David camp of the Leafs got the got
the empty netter so is Checha Russia is that what we're calling Russia now because
Russia can't we Russia you can't take part in these things I don't think
Posternak's Russian though no I think it's the Czech Republic
It's like the CHL.
It's the NHL.
The CHEL is, so.
The CHEL?
I'm just not up to date.
Yeah.
Check you later?
Yeah, that's that.
Easier to say.
I guess so.
Yeah.
Checkia.
So Jordan is, check you is check you.
Got it.
Can we put Jordan back up?
No.
Because I know what you're doing.
because I did it already.
It's because, and it's rude to stare.
Oh, what the hell?
How you doing?
Not you.
You.
How you doing?
Cavalry FC, Fraser aired the lone goal.
Cavalry FC and Valor on, was it CES yesterday?
Playing into a one, one draw.
Let's take a look.
See, looks.
Looks nice.
In a battle with Porticoot, a shot gives it up.
Running.
Striking.
It's the flagged.
And the downs were off the ball to go and celebrate.
This is a ball, dude.
This all starts from a Vascosi long ball that's not kicked well at all.
Yeah, that's right.
So one-one draw off the throw with that cavalry now.
They've played seven games.
They are sixth in the standings.
One win, five draws, but just a single loss.
So, I mean, they're right there.
They're going to break through, right?
That's what that's now what's going to happen here.
They're going to start getting her going.
All Tomy's going to get the boys all wound up.
Get her going.
Next home game Saturday, June the 8th against, I believe, calls them,
or Pinder calls them, Stinking Forge.
Stinkinforge will be in next game.
They're off to Pacific FC on Friday.
Is there?
They're busy.
So busy.
They're all over, all over the place.
I don't know if you've noticed
with Pinder doing the Pinder report.
There's not been a lot of Blue Jays.
So I don't know if he's looking at the barn burner
or just everything being kind of a hockey show.
And then he, of course, goes and does his dumb stuff.
But he hasn't been talking a lot.
I haven't seen a lot of Jays highlights.
Love baseball.
Yeah, he loves the Jays, loves baseball.
Chastises anybody.
Remember he's all drunk and hammered opening day.
I got to go out and do whoop-doos and everything.
Well, I thought we would.
dip a toe and say, well, what's going on with the Blue Jays here?
Let's go back to yesterday.
And the three, two, fly ball left field.
And this game is over.
So a defensive struggle with the game tied 11 all in the bottom of the ninth.
The three-run shot for L.T. Gray gives Detroit the 14-11 win.
old motor city
old motor city yeah
looks like a fun day to be at the park
sure does not if you're maybe
on that team
romero necessarily
uh it's their third straight
loss and they uh for the jays they are last in the a
least does it matter yet
i'm still i love i love when they
they start to matter it's not after the all star breaks
so i'm not sure it does yeah may
may 26 yesterday third
12 and a half behind.
I don't think it matters.
I don't think it matters.
I do know this.
They are not the Jay's faithful,
not happy with pretty much anybody
in that whole Atkins Shapiro circle.
Well, last does speak
with what you've kind of put together.
So, okay.
Yeah.
Because Atkins came out, what, a couple weeks ago, Jack?
did you see that when he had kind of the,
I think it was last.
It wasn't that long ago.
I didn't pay attention to it.
I just saw the headline that he had.
Yeah,
because I know they liked it because they tried to slide it in
in the long weekend or something.
There's an availability for Oz Atkins,
if you want to talk.
Oh, did everybody show up?
Damn it.
And, uh, yeah,
they're not happy in Toronto with anybody.
Even the manager.
Even the manager taking it right in the teeth.
So.
T's and P's to all the J's fans out there.
T's and P's.
And we can ask Pinder when he comes back, I guess,
if he just forgot that the,
the baseball was being played or not,
I'm sure.
Yeah, well,
playoffs have been on.
So maybe he's,
must have slipped his old mind,
I guess.
He does have a lot in there that's unnecessary.
So,
you know,
he's feels like it.
Yeah.
To the point where I actually was up in bed with anxiety,
thinking about some of the things that he likes to portray on his Pinder report.
Mm-hmm.
Uh,
people are now sending me the stuff.
Don't bother.
Hey, look, here's a horse trampling a snake.
Here's a, here's a bull running into an alligator.
That's a Pinda report brought to you by Village Honda.
Pre-owned vehicle?
Yep.
Makes, models, budgets.
Got them all.
90 units on site access to more than 500 more inside the dealership group.
It's why Village Honda is your one-stop automotive destination in Calgary.
They are worth the trip.
Village Honda located in the Northwest Auto Mall.
Poor Ken.
was a gut punch last night.
Battle back to only lose to a walkoff.
I don't know if you're 12 and a half games back.
There's any gut punches left.
No more.
It's just another one.
Do you even feel it?
I don't know if you feel it.
You're like that fat guy.
You miss King Hippo.
Yeah.
Just keep getting drilled.
That's right.
Hot poop.
Hot poop.
Hot poop chiming back in.
Fire Atkins now.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Can we save the season if we do?
Probably not.
No, I don't think so.
Actually, it would be interesting to get Pinderback to discuss some of this stuff because there was a lot of, a lot of belief.
There were All Stars and maybe Hall of Fame by kids.
Yeah.
Coming up through the ranks.
Yeah.
Very quiet.
Yeah.
Very, very quiet.
Yeah.
Yeah.
High priced.
Season is toast.
Okay.
and uh somebody's saying that uh yankees suck well it's the yankees that they're 12 and a half back of i believe
yankees are in first for i get reminded of that a lot i bet you do father-in-law yeah got that box of beer
from origin yes sir uh long days hazy IPA mm-hmm best beer he's ever had come on now well that's
I mean, we should probably do a, uh, what is, you know, come out.
This fucking thing.
There it is.
Where's the text?
Lazy days.
The hazy IPA.
We got that.
I meant to talk to, uh, Sterling.
There's some news coming down the pipe.
There's origin new.
I don't want to say.
I mean, listen.
Do you get a little bit of a barn burner bump, maybe?
Some karma, perhaps.
All I know is origin.
They keep pumping out.
there it is.
This is beer.
Dad says best he's ever had.
Long days. How about it?
There you go.
Unsolicited?
I just dropped him off.
Yeah?
Give him a whirl.
That was the reply.
Origin.
It's the way.
Taken over.
Just taken over.
But yeah, because then they opened the kitchen
in the last few months.
I got to talk to Sterling.
I don't know when we can talk about it, but we got to be able to talk
about it here pretty soon. More big news coming.
Come on there. More big news.
It's a good reminder.
Get yourself some barn burner blonde.
Right there.
Strathmore.
Origin brewing tap room.
We got our own beer.
Barn burner blonde.
It's a chugger.
She's a chugger.
I don't know. If it's an IPA, it can't really be a chugger, right?
That's not typically.
Yeah.
Not typically.
But they've got a, uh,
You've got your barn burner blonde.
The Mexican loggar is fantastic.
The father-in-law, actually, I was over when he had his first Mexican logger.
He's like, oh, wow, this is good.
Yeah, the Mexican logger is a winner.
And don't mind saying, I know it's probably not the thing, but they're hard iced tea.
Do it.
Delicious.
And the weather's coming around now.
It is.
Yeah.
Well, it's Victoria Day weekend or Memorial Day or whatever it is.
What do you want to do?
Jack, what do you want to do?
It's up to you guys.
We get our Betway bet and get out of here.
We wait for Frank and do another 40 minutes.
Well, we'll do our Betway bets anyway.
Got to do it.
We got to do it.
It's our buddy's at Betway.
We're going to do it.
Jack's doing our Betway bets today.
Helping me out.
I was grabbing those Jay's highlights.
Yeah, right on time.
Betway, you can get a free bet up to $200 if your first bet
loses. Create the new account. Scan the QR code on your screen right now and redeem your bonus.
You place your bet. There's no minimum amount required. If the bet loses, you'll get a refund up to
$200. You can then use that money to bet on your favorite sports. Now, the only thing is,
this offer is only available outside of Ontario. All right? Only outside of Ontario. So Jack has put
it together today. What do we say? Look at this. We got some hoops.
heading out to Indiana for a bit way better
the day. Game four
bossing up 3-0. Indy's
got to win. They've covered
two of the three games. Seven a half is too many points.
Indy minus seven-and-a-half minus
110. Ziacom
and Tatum
70 points combined.
Let's go. Plus 375.
They both got to get like 35-ish points.
Is that the math?
I think that's correct.
So we've got some hoops and
spelling errors today for Jack
bed of the day. Yes, we do. We're theirs.
There's only one.
Read it through. There's not a lot of words, Jack.
I want you. Inde minus seven and a half, Boston. Seven and a half minus T.m.
Seacom. Seacom. 70 points combined. A name.
Yeah. You're going to want to throw an A in there for Seacom instead of the E.
Hmm.
We know who you're talking about, though. We're just being a dick. Yeah. We're just being jerks.
Jack's bed of the day.
there you have it have you watched much hoops you're down there in the old u s retro or you're
feeling the you know i see and hear lots about the hoops but i have not seen one second of
other than when i'm in the gym crushing curls right yeah you're snatch because whatever it is
in the gym bet the responsible way with betway and don't be in ontario
Can't say it enough.
That's irresponsible.
Yeah.
Don't be in Ontario.
Who do you like tonight?
Don't want to say it, eh?
No, I, I, I like the Oilers.
I do.
I kind of like the Oilers.
They look good.
They, they do.
They're forgetting much better against the Stars team, even though it's 1-1,
than I had kind of envisioned.
And if, if you do get this bump,
of power plays if this actually does happen.
If the whining happens to translate into getting a call or two,
that could be the only, that could be enough.
That could be a win for one game, yeah.
Skinner has been good.
They've better, been better defensively and more committed.
You know what it is?
Just committed.
They're,
better committed.
Yeah.
They're caring about their own end as opposed to just goals.
And didn't some of the losers get in a fight?
Wasn't there a brawl of some sort in Edmonton?
there always is it seems good just because they went to the the outdoor thing is that what it was
they went to the outdoor party and got all liquored up and then they started fighting each other
what are you going to do i just i don't know can imagine where you are in your life right now
what would it take for you to get into a fist fight it would take i've said it i wouldn't
the only way I'm fist fighting is as a
I'm going to die if I don't
switch back here. It would be or if
if some other Lugan
decides that you now have no choice but
to throw hands, right? If they're going to be a jerk to your wife
or your kid or something. Okay, well, this is going to happen now.
But I like a hockey team that's different from your hockey
team. Let's fight.
you fucked.
What are we talking about?
But in Edmonton, there was no way there was a Stars fan.
Was that what it was?
You know what I mean?
So it wouldn't even be that.
You could envision that possibly, not in my world,
but you could envision that possibly happening.
Yeah.
But there was no Stars fan heading down to the Oilers Outdoor Party, Watch party.
Now, maybe it was one of those things where, hey, you're,
Your gal's cute.
No, she's not.
Let's fight.
I guess I can see something like that may be happening.
Maybe that's what takes place.
Maybe.
I feel bad if we leave before Frank comes on.
I feel bad that we made Frank work on.
Whatever day it is.
Memorial Day.
Like text them and say, isn't it a holiday for you?
I think he's got to, he's doing it.
No rest for these hockey insiders.
I don't believe that bullshit for a second.
It's round three.
They choose when they want to rest.
I think Pierre Lebrun, Darren Drager.
We saw he was going to Saginaw, Michigan for Pete's safe.
Right.
Winnow Elliott's working.
What's happening?
You guys watch the Memorial Cup?
I didn't.
No, I've not seen.
I was very focused on Chequia.
Chechia.
That's where I was.
But I'll get into it now as the week goes along.
Yeah, for sure.
But did you watch the stars oilers Saturday?
I did.
Yeah.
Until the second ended and then my eyes closed.
Early start though.
Wasn't it like a six o'clock mountain time start?
Dean.
10 o'clock.
Even on a Saturday, hey?
I'd gone out the night before.
Really?
Yeah.
One night a weekend.
That'll do it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, long weekends.
We're not having to beer.
That's right.
Yeah.
London versus Moose Jaw today.
Who must win for the Warriors, too.
Is it?
I don't know if it is, but they better win.
Right.
Yeah.
Well, in a tight tournament like that, it feels like every game's kind of a must win.
Now, do they do a quarter semi-final?
Because there's only four teams.
So by math, in my deduction, the first place team gets a bunch of,
into the final, correct?
Second place team goes to the semi.
And if there's a quarter, that's the other two teams.
So they all move on?
Now, you could have the first place team play at the fourth and do your traditional semis.
Not a chance that you're going to risk.
But you think that you think that you think the top seed.
You think the top seed.
Alling to get Frank on.
I know.
come on jack frank's busy i don't think he's busy memorial cup schedule you ready for it tell me
uh today london moose jaw tomorrow drummondville moose jaw wednesday saganaa at london and that's all we
uh that's all we kind of you know that's that's how that's going to be yeah and then if that okay so
it's not a guaranteed quarterfinal game,
but if there's a tie breaker, if need be.
Yeah.
TBD.
TBD.
Yeah.
Doesn't sound like the hunters.
I thought the hunter guys were going to go to Columbus.
Really?
That's what I was hearing in my world.
All right.
Mark Hunter was going to go over to Columbus and run things.
Hmm.
Because we heard that so Donnie Whedell went in there.
Yeah.
And old Tulski, Eric, Tulski is the interim GM for the Carolina Hurricanes.
He's the math wizards say he's super smart.
Tulski.
LeBrovsky, you're on the case.
Remember Bergevin was going to maybe be part of that.
Really?
Mark with a C?
Really.
A lot of people going to run that team then if that's the case.
So they're one boss, Dean.
Telling you.
Well, and that's the thing because John Henderson, Ferguson, what's his name?
Stuart?
J.D. Davidson.
Oh.
He's still kind of the president of hockey ops or whatever.
No, no, I'm not talking to Columbus.
I'm talking to Carolina.
Oh, Carolina.
Well, I guess that's, in fairness.
That is what we were talking about.
Because a video came up and I was going to show it, but it's kind of,
you got to be kind of real nerd if you, to dig it.
But it was trade deadline day, and it's the war room with J.D. and the scouts and that.
And he's got Chris Drury on the old speaker phone.
And they're talking about a Jack Rossevik deal.
So I'll give you this.
Well, how are going to need 50% retention?
So you kind of see the makings of a trade.
Kind of cool.
And at the same time, it's the same way you would do a fantasy football or fantasy hockey trade.
I need a fifth.
Give me a fourth.
And if you make the cup,
if you make the playoffs,
it's a third.
Well,
I can't make third.
Like,
playoffs.
What if we win the cup?
Well,
what if you make the final four?
If you make the final,
it's just they're going back and for,
just like that.
Telling you,
we can do this.
No problem.
Especially if you have a money nerd on your side.
Yeah.
And there's some,
well,
if they do this,
then they're not going to have a sixth
until this round.
So maybe they'll do the.
Okay, good, thanks.
No, just shut up.
Okay, Chris, we'll do that deal.
Easy.
Easy, peasy.
That's how that goes.
Shoot, I was just going to say,
there was a, actually,
there was a trade with the Islanders and the Hawks.
The Hawks moved up two spots in round one
from 20 to 18th
and gave up a second rounder to do it.
Two spots.
Worth it?
Well, you know, because at 18, how the hell do you know what's even available?
I, that's what I said.
That's what I was thinking.
That's what I said.
Well, how do you, maybe at the time when some kid has slid, slid to you, I'm trying to find the...
Who's at 19?
I don't know.
Yeah.
Big trade, though.
Big trade.
Yeah.
Big.
I get Frank to talk about it here.
For sure when he comes on.
Maybe we should phone bender.
Probably a good thing we waited.
Something to do.
It's tough.
I feel bad for everybody watching and listening right now.
I do feel bad.
I do.
But it's a Monday.
And I just, I don't, uh,
don't like Mondays.
No, I'm fine with Mondays.
It's just, uh, we talked about the Florida game.
It was a good game.
I'm not,
they've lost a ho-chuk
the flames we've kind of talked about that
I thought I didn't know that he was
actually all that great
they have a lot of defensemen
he's going back to Russia
okay
like maybe keep the fifth
but whatever
um
jack did basketball picks
and spelled the name wrong
so that we got that covered
that's the usual
um
and I don't really
want to talk about the oilers a whole lot.
Yeah, but you don't really dig into it.
Frank's a huge oil ralke.
That's true.
Yeah.
Yeah.
The Winnipeg Jets, Scott Arneal,
going to be their head coach.
Scott Earniel, that's right.
Yeah.
Coach Ben Buffalo.
What'd you think of him?
I liked him.
Yeah?
But I was a veteran and he was a kid.
He wouldn't, like, how much older was he?
No, I just meant like he was just a,
he was cutting his teeth
yeah yeah getting his teeth wet
yeah that goes
um
looks like uh
adam henrique returns to the oiler lineup
well good yeah he'll be back in the deadline acquisition
so he'll come Ryan McLeod maybe
gotta come out um
so there's that
I'll give you the detail so the hawks
move up to 18
they also swap second rounder
but then give up a second round pick to move up two spots.
So I was bang on about that.
Of course I was right.
I'm close to just pulling the plug.
I think we should, Dean.
If you're looking for my.
No one in the chat is really saying,
please wait for Frank.
It's been six.
I mean, we've went,
Jack,
we've been waiting a long time.
Yeah.
Should we do a poll maybe?
Takes a while for a poll, though.
A poll.
Yeah, like a vote.
Like, should we wait for Frank or not.
Oh, I'm not waiting for.
I vote no.
you're done there's my vote
Nick you wants to know if we're taking questions
hell out of here Mickey what's that Mick
yeah Friday
great clips
what are they gonna do uh you heard any
intel have you been doing any sniffing around
about the marks of art replacement
I'm not sure I actually text
Conroy any freaking 100%
they just
nothing yeah
ignore
right.
Rhett, I'm sorry.
Our Hockey Insider, DailyFaceoff, DailyFaceoff.com, he joins us, Frank Serevelli, here on a Monday.
Hello, Frankie, boy.
Hello, friends.
How are we doing?
I'm good.
Are you miserable pricks in a better mood this week or what?
No, no, not really.
No.
Because here's the thing, we actually, we started, so no Pinder.
So, you know, he takes up 85% of the space in here.
The conversation, the.
the air, everything.
So it's just me and Rhett,
we're just kind of shooting the shit.
So we covered everything
that we wanted to talk about
in about 30, 45 minutes, tops.
Isn't that the beauty
of being in digital only outlet
is that, you know what?
Our show today is going to be 52 minutes
and that's it.
That's right.
But we also, because it's the,
what, are you having a beer right there?
Are you having a...
I'm having a Tim's.
Oh, okay.
So maybe you're having a nice cool bud,
bud light.
It's 10.38 in the morning.
I'm in Edmonton.
Oh, you're in Edmonton.
You're not even enjoying Memorial Day?
No, because I work.
What do you know about that?
Not a whole lot, actually.
Oh my God.
Just right over the head.
Stop, stop.
He's already dead.
Tough one.
But we, because Warner's got stuff to do today.
So we started the show an hour early.
So we're definitely,
we've just kind of been killing time
until you showed up.
And we were so ready to just leave.
We were almost left without you.
I mean, you would have made my day, but hey now.
So even you don't want to do.
So if I logged in and you were like,
gosh, it was over, I'd be like, all right, on with my day.
Well, you know, we can keep it tight.
We can make this a tight, a tight one for sure.
Yeah, nice and tight here.
I know a thing or two about tight.
Just check my pants.
Okay.
Let's start.
Panthers, Rangers.
I said to Retro earlier,
it's tough to say you're a Cinderella
or paint someone as being a Cinderella team
when they won the president's trophy.
But it does feel like there's just,
there's little things here and there.
The hat trick from Kreider,
performances from Shisterken,
Lafrenier doing what he did yesterday.
Four and overtime,
it just feels like there's little kind of hallmarks
of a Cinderella team,
or at least a team that is marching its path to a championship.
Yeah, I would say,
Cinderella is not the right term, but storybook would be more closely aligned.
There are also all of these odd parallels to 1994 that has made it even more eerie and interesting.
So I think you certainly have Ranger fans thinking along those lines and rightfully so.
But yeah, you're right.
I mean, no team to me that finishes best.
record in the league is getting any sort of Cinderella fairy tale treatment here.
This is a good team that's delivered in the playoffs that they have taken advantage of every
opportunity. The Florida Panthers let you, they open the door in game three in Florida.
You walk right through and you take advantage. And so they've,
they've sort of been ready for this moment. And I also give a healthy dose of credit to Peter
Lavillette. Like, there's a guy that's
taken three different franchises to the Stanley Cup final.
The success that he has in the first year or two
coaching a team plus the playoff success that he has,
like that at some point,
that's not just a fluke. That's,
this guy is really freaking good at what he does.
Yeah. And I guess you can't be a team of destiny until you win,
right? Because destiny would seem to be that you fulfilled that
or maybe you need to fulfill it. Anyway,
uh,
the Rangers are doing some,
some amazing things. Lafranier, the first overall pick from a number of years ago,
we do it. We have no patience in the media or fans or whatever.
This guy's going to be a bust. He's no, you can't do it.
And then this past season, he comes through with, uh, with a big year.
What was it? 28 goals or what the hell did I say?
Yeah, and something like that. And now, 12 points in 13 playoff games.
Yeah. And he's been dynamite here in the post season.
It's a coming of age.
Is that look at me with my media stuff?
Is that a bit of a coming of age for Alexi the offspring year?
Yeah, a coming out party.
I'd say it's another lesson in not giving up on 20-year-old kids.
Ranger fans in particular, like, you don't even have to go back to three years ago,
just go back to last summer.
If there was a choice, if someone put a gun,
to Ranger fans' heads, which it is Manhattan, not out of the realm of possibility.
If someone did that and said, you have to choose Kako or Lafranier, I'd say the odds would
have been that Alexei Lafranier would have been on his way out of town.
And now you look at the reverse situation.
And by the way, Kako, big contributor with the work that he did off the face off to produce that
overtime winner in game three yesterday.
But two games ago before the injury to Jimmy Visi,
Kako was a healthy scratch.
And he had 19 points this season.
And people are like,
what happened to this guy, number two overall pick?
It's not development is not a straight line.
It goes and fits and starts.
And, you know,
there have been many teams before that have given up on players,
maybe not of this pedigree and quality,
but at that age where all of a sudden you look,
this is why drafting in the NHL is harder than any other sport.
You're not talking about what a player is going to be at 18,
although those are the easiest picks to make.
You're talking about what a player is going to be at age 24.
And I've seen up close and personal the special nature that LaFernier has in him.
he has this clutch gene.
I was at the world juniors in Czechia when he played injured and
helped them win the gold medal.
There's something there.
It's just taken a while for him to get up to the NHL speed and confidence level required
in order to play with the best players on the planet.
We don't need to do a whole ton on this,
but I guess just your thoughts on the Truba hit.
By now we kind of went back and forth.
And there were more people,
what I had said to read, there were more people maybe
defending it than I thought
would have been just for what it is.
I know BX it was one of the first to come out.
And there's there's,
there's quite a few people. Now, maybe some of them have Ranger
allegiances, but that feel that this isn't
as dirty as it. Why don't we always need some take?
I'm not saying you like,
I guess what it is. Like you absolutely
hate the hit and you think it's the dirtiest thing alive
and you should go to jail for 30 years. Or you're like,
oh yeah, this is like this happens in the playoffs.
Like, why can't there just be like,
like the middle.
Yeah,
I guess because it,
it looks a certain way
and it was called a two minute minor,
which is I guess why people would want to know
what your take would be on it.
Because it looks as bad if,
if Rodriguez is,
but the embellishment is horrendous.
That is,
like,
Rhett,
like you'll appreciate this.
That is Matthew Barnaby level embellishment.
It is.
It just like,
You could see his face and everything, like as he's going to the ice.
Like it's like someone hit him with a round from the top level of the bowl.
It's soccer.
He still throws the elbow out though, which is the only thing.
So take me through it from your perspective.
So you're a defender in that situation and you know your beat.
Yeah.
You're just trying to do anything you can to catch the guy.
And are you, are you, you're not trying to hit him with your elbow.
you're actually trying to get to and not to support BXA,
you're trying to get just a forearm on him.
Am I right?
You're trying to touch him in anyway, because you're beat.
Yeah, he's in all alone if you don't do something.
And I said to whom earlier, I said,
I don't care what the call was or this,
but he's throwing it out there.
It is leading with an elbow.
I think there is embellishment.
But yeah, as a defenseman,
you're not concerned with taking a penalty at that point
because if he gets by you,
you're worried that he's in all alone.
Does this even show up
on the top 10 dirtiest plays of these playoffs?
But it's,
it's whatever anybody wants to sell it at.
Well, that's my point.
So like, why can't it just be like thing that happened
that there was a minor penalty?
And at the very most,
it could have maybe,
you could have maybe made the case that it's a major.
I'm not.
What if he's out cold?
Well,
You're talking about a totally different hit because that would have involved more head content.
This much from hitting him here.
But that's.
And hitting him here.
I'm in both.
Yeah.
I'm on both sides with this.
Because I said it.
I said they probably made the right call.
He's stuck in a elbow.
He got a piece of him.
Guy embellished two minutes is probably the right call.
If he gets it and gets him on the chin, he might be done for the playoffs.
like and then if he got him on the chin then he like he deserved he would have deserved that
but he's also good and he got a $5,000 fine yeah i was going to just say the department of
player safety just in the last 20 minutes saying that he gets fine $5,000 like for the love of
god why yeah like what it what kind of what are you saying then about the penalty about the review
about like so you're just saying the whole thing we don't like it
We don't, we don't like it.
Okay.
So like, then do something.
Don't just, you know, slap them on the wrist.
The, again, officiating called into question where you are, the, the, the oilers.
This will be better.
The oilers are not happy.
Oilers, certainly.
But it seems like the oilers are not happy with if the ratio, the rate at which penalties are
being called, what would be, how would you best describe it and do the oilers have
case. I would say that it would be the ratio, which, and by the way, neither team has
scored a power play goal so far this series. So not entirely sure what that matters yet.
But I would say that the fact that they went through an entire game one and the Dallas stars
weren't called for one single infraction, they had a too many men on the ice penalty. I would say
they have a slight case because to think that a team played an entirely clean, perfect game
from a penalty perspective is probably quite ridiculous in the Stanley Cup playoffs.
That said, I think what everyone's tired of, including myself, is stop trying to manage the game.
Just call the damn rulebook.
It's not that hard.
Instead, it's like, well, you know, we made this bad call, so now we need a makeup call.
Yeah, that's not how they're going to do it, though you even,
and this is what I think.
I think they'll call some tonight.
The problem is you get, if you start calling things and you feel,
then it's like baseball.
Be consistent with the strike zone.
Well, if you call that, now it opens up the door to the,
and then they're always trying to manage games and just,
instead of just calling.
If you call the rulebook and you call everything,
I'm a firm believer that the players adjust.
Yep.
Yeah.
I mean, it's, I get it.
I think we're probably all on the same page.
I just, on one hand.
What I don't want to see is a gazillion penalties either.
I can, I'm a bit hypocritical in that sense where it's like, call it needs to be called,
but I don't, if you call the rule book, it can be penalty, penalty, penalty, penalty,
penalty, penalty, penalty, penalty.
Like, I don't need to see half a game of penalties.
And you're, and I know the players can, can adjust.
but they sometimes have to adjust to make the game less entertaining.
If it were up to me, it would be prison rules.
Like only the egregious gets called.
And I don't even know if that's prison rules.
If it's if it is an egregious penalty, call it.
If not, let them decide the game.
Let four lines, three sets.
Let just let them go.
But that's actually what happens when it gets to overtime.
You almost never see a penalty unless it's the most obvious penalty
possible. So why can't that just be the standard of the entire 60 minutes?
It should be. I guess your thoughts on, we're two games in. Dallas gets a big win,
but it's sought off heading back to Edmonton. Takeaways through six somewhat periods.
I would say that this is a very even tight series. You know, the Oilers had a significant shot advantage in
game two period one um but then you go back and you rewatch it and you realize how many great a
chances dallas had and how well steward skinner played which i don't know that in the moment
he necessarily got enough credit for and the stars were able to create some off the rush that um
they just weren't able to get past and and the oilers had an opportunity i that's what i'm left with
as as the biggest takeaway is they had an opportunity going into the third
period of game two to put this team down two nothing losing both games on home ice and you can
survive that once in a playoffs i don't think you do it twice and to put them in that spot they just
they they didn't have the effort they didn't have the it was i don't even know if it's effort they
didn't have the the compete and attention to detail sustained pressure to to win that third period
and dallas knew their season might be on the ropes and they took
full advantage of it.
So both teams have found a way to get on the board.
I think the Oilers have probably, if I'm being honest, surprised the stars with how well
they've defended.
And now let's see what this looks like as the Oilers get their first home game in
about 10 days.
I think that's a good way to put it.
I don't think that the stars are surprised by the Oilers being even in the series or
being a tough opponent.
But the way they have played defensively, the forwards commitment to coming back, the play in their own zone, I think we're all kind of surprised.
Are we not?
I wasn't sure that this collection of Oilers were capable of this.
They've been very, and the penalty kill, all defensive side of their game is far better than I thought they were capable of.
20 some consecutive kills.
Yeah.
Leading the playoffs in scoring chances against, high danger chances.
against, I believe shots against.
That, it kind of highlights to me, you know, when you think about the grand perspective
of the Oilers playoff run, kind of how poor their goaltending had been to this point.
Like, they should have mopped a couple teams already with how little they've given up.
That hasn't been the case.
They've made it a little bit more difficult on themselves than need be.
But now you're going toe to toe with one of the best teams in the West, if not
the entire league and you've got you know people were saying oh you know it's great the oilers
might get past the canucks but there's no chance that they're going to beat dallas whoever plays
from the pacific division is going to get wrecked by the stars who ran over the avalanche and the
Vegas golden nights maybe that's the case but this this so far to this point this has been a
dead even series through two games yeah there was we talked about it after game one
there was no, the stage is too big for us for the Oilers.
They looked very comfortable with the expectations, the pressure, the play, the opponent.
They have been right at home so far.
Anything going on?
Now we've seen the coaching thing is starting to slow down.
It was going to by virtue of just the math.
We see that Scott Arneal is in Winnipeg and that's all kind of playing out.
What's going to happen with the GM spot now?
You have the Columbus, we're hearing Donnie Waddell maybe there because he leaves Carolina.
And Tulski and Carolina interim, or is that just kind of what we're going to call it until they give him the job?
Because he's one of those guys.
His name has been a popular one in those circles.
No, it's kind of been reported by people as a foregone conclusion.
And I don't believe that that's the case.
They're conducting a full external search.
this has not been one of those wink wink nod nod hey you're going to be the guy we just need to go through the process
I think what they're really trying to determine with eric tolsky and i've i've had him on my podcast
i've known him a long time since he was a flyer's blogger um which is kind of amazing that he's
on the precipice of being an n hlgm but this is one of the most singularly
intelligent and impressive people
I've spent time around
intimidatingly smart.
I feel like the dumbest man alive
standing next to him,
talking to him.
Yeah, we don't like smart people.
26 patents.
Worked in nanotechnology.
You know,
degrees in crazy stuff,
a PhD.
Like this guy is brilliant.
And he has chosen to be a
hockey guy.
He's worked in an NHL front office for 10 plus years now.
And one of the big things that I think the Carolina Hurricanes are struggling with is they know the value that he brings to the team.
They know all the different ways that he's really kind of been the engine for their process and how they've been one of the most competitive and consistent teams over the last six plus years.
but part of it is they worry
is he the
acceptable face
of a front office, of a team.
Is he the guy that they want
being front facing, public facing?
Is he the guy that they want
communicating with NHLGMs?
How will NHLGMs,
who are decidedly, no offense,
not Eric Tolski,
how will they react to having
someone like Eric Tolski
around if he is the GM?
I think they're all probably silly questions because all the other sports have jumped that shark.
You know, we're still dealing with a lot of NHLGMs who, again, smart people, not making any judgment.
A lot of them don't have college degrees.
All the other sports have moved away from that.
Football, you're seeing guys that are a lot like Eric Tolski now running teams.
Baseball, you see that all the time.
Basketball, they're moving away from former players.
Hockey, it still is in a different time.
And I think the big question is,
is Eric Tolski going to be the first in a line of many?
Or will the hurricanes shy away from that?
Big offseason for them, too.
Go ahead.
Well, isn't it just, I understand what you're saying.
And I don't know, Tulski, obviously.
But if he's the man for the job, is it not?
Kevin Adams, to me, got the job in Buffalo.
And the first thing he should have done was
went and hired a guy like Tulski who didn't know, you know what I mean?
Because there's certain aspects of jobs that some guys might be better at.
And I'm not, again, I don't know Tulski, but if they're worried about the optics of it,
can you not have someone riding shotgun with them that he can work with that is a hockey guy?
Well, wouldn't that be Justin Williams or pick another guy in Carolina's front office?
It doesn't, it doesn't seem like a tough, right?
Well, the problem is put yourself in Eric Tolski's shoes.
You've now spent 10 years with the Carolina Hurricanes.
You've clearly done a lot of the heavy lifting of why they've been successful.
Don Waddell has a million, he had a million things on his plate.
He was president of the arena.
He was president of their business operations and also the GM.
So Eric Tolski has sort of been running a lot of the hockey part of it.
and then he kind of provides the inputs for Don Waddell to then make the calls and do, you know, execute a lot of the different things.
So you know you've been doing the work.
But let's say they come to you and they say, hey, we love the work you've done here.
It's been amazing.
But we're not going to call you the GM.
We're going to say that's this guy.
And you're not going to be the guy sitting at the table in the GM meetings.
You're not going to have any of the accolades.
But you can, you know, here, pat on the head, little guy here.
Yeah.
No, no.
Well, why would you want to do that?
Give him the head job, though.
Give him the big job.
I don't understand at these meetings.
Why?
I guess the point I'm making is in the world I lived in is that you do collaborate.
You are on a team.
And to have to work with guys, it's not a knock for Tulski or whoever.
If it's, if it's Justin Williams beneath him being used as a guy that does talk to,
that's not a knock, but it's, it's just an effective use of like, Tulski,
everyone has strengths and weaknesses.
If that's part of his weakness, why wouldn't he want support in that area?
Confidence and ego is a funny thing, right?
And I'm not, not to say that that's Tulski's thing,
but you order sometimes from a player's standpoint, like say it's a Kevin Adams,
do you feel, are you sheepish to ask for help or to say that you would want some help?
Some guys are like, hey, let's collaborate.
I'm good in my own skin.
I don't need to worry about that.
But I don't know that everybody feels that way.
That it has to be, why would I need help?
I'm the GM.
That's why I was hired because I'm with you, Red.
It shouldn't have some voices.
It shouldn't be difficult.
But at the end of the day, we all know that in a results oriented business, there also ultimately
needs to be one body that's thrown on a tarmac if things go sideways.
And then the next thing is, well, who, who does that responsibility fall on?
Who has final decision making power?
All of those things that, you know, the waters get muddy.
And all of a sudden you're like, well, who's really steering the ship here?
Final question.
You're in Edmonton.
You're a Philly guy.
You're a sandwich guy.
Philly cheese steak, the roast pork sandwich.
You know your way around a sandwich.
In Edmonton, they are very fond.
of donairs.
I had first heard of donairs.
That was kind of a Nova Scotia and East Coast thing.
And then it just just kind of has popped up in Edmonton.
They love it.
Your buddy, our buddy Jay loves the donairs.
It's very much an Edmonton thing.
Have you, have you had?
Have you tried?
Are you familiar?
And if so, your thoughts on the donair.
I have never had a donair.
I've been working here three plus years now.
and Jay has never taken me for a donair,
despite saying that he would.
And here's the part where I struggle with the donair.
I'm not a big fan of mystery meat.
And so I would like to go to a reputable establishment
that has quality don't air.
I hope I'm saying that and not offending anyone,
but there's donairs everywhere,
and they seem to be in some very interesting locations here.
There's street meat.
There's, you know, all sorts of stuff going on.
I would like to go to like and maybe not be 10 out of 10 drunk in order to eat it.
And hey, maybe maybe the best Donair is that street meat.
It might, that's what I'm saying.
It might be like I want to go to the authentic like you got to take me to the Donner place.
We're in Calgary together.
I got your spot.
I got it.
So is it a Calgary thing?
Yeah, I don't think it's up in Edmonton.
I wouldn't know because I would never.
venture up there.
But it's an Edmonton thing.
But.
So next time you're in Calgary, you've got a Calgary spot.
I got a spot Calgary that's high end.
So how do you go, is it on a PETA?
Yep.
And then.
But I actually, I always had to wrap.
Yes.
But I've become very fond of the platter.
So can, can you clarify one thing for me?
Like, is the donair meat?
Is it lamb?
Donair is to me, I cannot say that for sure.
It is a mystery meat in my world,
but they've got the chicken schwarma.
That's different though.
That's not Donair.
I know.
I know.
There's shwerma.
There's the,
was it the ghetto,
the gyro,
the don't air.
You know what?
Because you've not had one,
and now you know this,
just kind of subtly bring it up to Jay.
Hey,
you know,
do you know,
is there any good donair?
and watch his face light up like a Christmas tree.
He will be so excited.
I refuse to believe it until I see it
because at the Euler games in the playoffs,
they've been doing this thing where they air drop the Donair
and they send Donairs into the stands
through the gun, you know, like the air gun.
And they wrap it up and tape it
and then they're just firing these things all over the place.
And I'm going, but I want to go there.
So anywhere else it's T-shirts.
In Edmonton, it's Donair.
sandwiches or whatever they do an air raid and so at that exact moment every single game i text j and i'm
like hey we still haven't gone for a donair yet brutal that he just says we will and i say
i don't know i look forward to your report you're in evansson for a few days now i uh put that high
in your priority list fair enough i feel like it requires a fair dose of alcohol first i got am i
eating i don't sober donair does anyone eat sober donairs well that's
They do.
Yeah.
But I don't.
No.
They're very similar, the Donair, the Schwarma.
And what's the other, the, uh, anyway.
Zero.
Yeah, but it's, I don't, I don't have Donair typically.
I do the mixed meat.
See, see?
What is this meat?
What?
Is it lamb?
I don't know.
I just read Donair and tried to find out.
It's a, it's a.
mystery meat they will not
see this is my I struggle a little bit with the mystery factor
like what exactly am I eating is this grade D cat meat
like what is this
it can't be worse than crackle
what's that
snap no snap that what is it the
scrapple?
Scrapple oh that's that's all the different scraps from a pig
yeah but at least I know what that is
and the people that are hearing you said they'll be
well have you eaten a hot dog you're okay with eating a hot dog
So what are you thumbing your nose at the
But we know that that's pig.
Do we?
Do we?
I am not convinced it is.
Come on.
Everyone needs a little death bog every now and again.
Yeah, I hear you.
All right, Frank.
Tees and peas, be good.
Have a donnair.
Go stars.
All right.
See it.
All right.
There he is.
Yeah, I don't know.
Chicken, shwarma, beef, shwarma,
Donner.
Seasoned ground beef slowly roasted.
That's what the doner is said.
seasoned beef.
Well, there you go.
Just in general.
If I enjoy it, I don't want to know any more about it.
That's, yeah, with the discussion's over.
This steak is delicious.
End of story.
That's it.
Don't need to know more.
Jack, have you ever had a donair?
Yeah, I have had a couple donairs.
They had this donner shop right by Bishop O'Burton where I went to high school.
That's pretty popular.
Danny Heatley used to always go there, apparently.
This guy's got Heatley jerseys and signed shit.
Hey?
Yeah, I don't know.
I don't know.
I don't really ever think to get a donair, though.
It doesn't really ever come to my mind.
Do it.
Do it.
Should I get a Donair today?
Sure, you should.
And then sit down with your Nintendo Switch and just get hammered.
What a life.
Yeah.
What a life.
Get a session in.
All right, buddies.
Well,
really extended that.
Yeah, we did.
All for Frank and his don't air talk.
I feel better about it, though.
Yeah, it was the right thing to do.
It was the right thing.
It's a funny thing about doing the right thing.
Typically, don't feel bad about doing it.
Yeah, weird.
I should do it more often, but I sure don't want to do it.
Doing the opposite.
Much easier.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Well, see it more, buddies.
