Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - WHAT CHAOS (FULL INTERVIEW)
Episode Date: October 21, 2025Pinder is joined by DJ Bean and Pete Blackburn from the What Chaos Podcast to officially welcome them to the Nation Network family! The guys talk about joining the network, the vision behind What Chao...s, and what fans can expect from their brand of hilarious, unfiltered hockey content.Funny stories, wild takes, and plenty of chaos — this one’s a beauty.CHECK OUT WHATCHAOS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScsnzVdIKTY#ESPN #Hockey #NHL #nhlfranchise #nhlpredictions #nhlplayoffs #stanleycup CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️FLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Wow, we got some new friends.
We got to tell you all about them and welcome onto the network.
It is what chaos DJB and Pete Blackburn officially joining the nation's network?
What the hell is going on?
We got more dummies on the network and I love it.
How are you fellas?
Great.
Yeah, I was going to say, we're trying to like not let our stupidity take over the place.
But we've seen since we've joined the nation, a bunch of people.
We've been getting like a lot of like one of us texts from people with the nation.
So I'm like, okay, you guys want this.
All right.
Careful what you ask for.
Specifically you guys too.
We just did the leave show and they were like they were trying to describe the vibe of our show.
And they're kind of like those those idiots at Barnburner.
Like that's the highest compliment we can think of for you guys.
Well, and likewise.
Yeah, that's amazing.
For us to be affiliated now, our stupidity can combine and watch this thing grow even greater.
Welcome aboard, fellas.
For people that don't know you, tell us about the show, how you got started.
And you're obviously, you are located in Boston.
I'll tell that part.
But the rest is yours.
How did you dummies get together to create this magic?
We are a daily NHL show Monday through Thursday that you can get here on the What Chaos YouTube.
And we started this show two seasons ago.
And before that, we'd had a pop culture podcast.
We've been doing stuff together forever.
But yeah, I used to be a Bruins beat writer.
And Pete and I got connected that way because Pete was the preeminent Bruins person.
Just like Bruins asshole on Twitter.
We didn't know who he was, how old he was, anything.
But we were like, we must find this person.
And from there, we've just done a million things together.
And yeah, this is our late.
greatest and greatest endeavor, and it's the most fun we've had.
We talk to players, we talk to coaches.
It's not to do the like, our show is a little different thing,
but our show is for sure a little different.
We, the comments on the videos we post with players are like,
those two hosts are absolute idiots,
but this video was really,
but they're lucky the player was,
was really cool with them.
So like, that's the vibe we're going for.
We want you to like the people,
we have on not necessarily us.
Yeah, our show works that way too.
We're going to be a great fit together, fellas.
I appreciate it.
I remember Pete being on Twitter.
I'm like, I love this guy's like 13 to 42, but like he's funny and he seems to be the go
to for Bruins Intel.
So Pete, you can keep your secret of your age.
Teens to 40s somewhere in there.
We love you.
In that range.
Correct.
Yeah.
It's a wide berth.
Yeah.
And like I've worked in hockey for a little while at this point.
and somehow like I've gotten laid off a few times but I've never gotten fired,
which I'm hoping to keep that streak going.
And yeah,
I think that we just like to have fun and kind of bridge the gap between like being a fan
and like actually taking the sport seriously.
And we like to meet somewhere in the middle and just have fun with it.
And we've been able to do that.
You guys also have been doing some serious investigative journalism I've been noticing.
I didn't know this shit was happening.
but down in the States, it's a little different than it is up here.
ESPN's got the rights for the package of games in the U.S.
here in Canada, SportsNet Plus says everything.
You can always watch all the games there.
But in the States, it's ESPN Plus.
And they were doing some shady-ass bullshit with their commercial breaks.
Tell us how you figured this out.
And apparently they're now going to fix it.
You guys are legends.
So if it gets fixed, I've said every time we've been asked about this,
I don't want anyone fired.
I don't want anyone suing me.
I don't want any.
All I want is for it to be fixed because I have missed 45 seconds of Jack Michaels and Louis DeBrusk
every time it comes back from commercial and I have to fast forward to catch up to live action.
And what if a team scores a goal in that time?
Basically what's happening, we think, is when ESPN Plus goes to commercial,
the break that you end up experiencing and this is worse on some devices than others.
so I don't want to put it all on ESPN Plus.
But the break that you end up experiencing
is longer than the actual broadcast commercial break.
So say I'm watching a game on Sportsnet
and they have a 90 second break.
What I might end up getting,
watching on ESPN Plus on a Samsung TV,
ends up being two minutes.
And then it returns to the game after,
but it returns to where they come back from break.
So I don't know that I've just lost 30 seconds.
and I have to manually check and fast forward to catch up.
We brought this.
I texted Pete and our producer Sean about it last week like,
hey, is this happening to you?
And Pete checked and he was like,
holy smokes,
it's happening to me.
So we talked about it the next day on our podcast
and we have so many people,
fans experiencing it,
engineers explaining what might be happening.
And we're not just trying to like sling feces.
I've been calling ESPN support being like,
let's get to the bottom of this.
Not mad at you.
Let's just get to the bottom of it.
It doesn't speak for me.
I'm mad at ESP.
Yes.
Thank you.
Me too.
But ESPN did reach out to awful announcing and said like, hey, we know what they're talking about.
We're working on it.
So I'll tell you what, my experience, it's not fixed yet.
An important part here too is that it accumulates.
So like you miss 30 seconds and then like if you don't notice, you'll miss another 30 seconds down the road.
And like by the second or third period, you're a four.
minutes behind where the game actually
is. Imagine trying to like, you're like, oh shit,
look at the odds here. They're only down by one.
I can get plus two, 10. Let's fucking jump.
Like, what are we doing here? That is so
greasy. That's where it gets tough.
The betting and just
how embarrassing it was
a couple Saturdays ago against the Canucks.
Noah Philp scored a goal for the Oilers.
So I went to make a lame joke about
him winning the Calder on
Twitter. And when I went to tweet it,
there was already video
of that goal posted like
by the NHL like six minutes earlier.
And I was like, fuck, what am I doing?
And this was before I realized what was going on.
And I was like, I must have hit pause at some point like a dummy when I ran to the kitchen or something.
And oh, no, it's just, it's, it's embarrassing to think that you're making a fresh joke about something that everyone has moved on from minutes ago, humiliating.
I got to come clean.
This has nothing to do with the SPN Plus.
These are our tariffs on hockey, motherfuckers.
All right.
I'm kidding, I'm kidding.
I'm kidding. I'm kidding. That sucks, though. And like, honestly, you're like, there's just an assumption when you're watching sports and you haven't touched pause. It's bleeping live. It better be. Like, okay, you got 30 seconds for the digital board ad so Gary can make another half be, whatever. We get it. But it's generally speaking live.
As we say on this show a lot, you would think. You would think. Yeah. So you would say.
So you say that, you would think.
We've got, and that's where we investigate.
So why is it not happening?
We've also gotten quite up to speed on the, uh, the theory of like in shittification.
Are you aware of that?
Please enlighten me, Pete.
It's where like, it's the, like the theory that like companies like roll something out and
gradually, gradually make it worse and worse and it just becomes commonly accepted.
And then everything is shitty.
And like that is, that is where we are.
And I will not stand for it.
It drives me insane.
Yeah, it's just, it's like the food we ate 50 years ago versus now probably.
Yeah, I'm with you there.
Okay, fair.
I want to talk Bruins with you.
The Bruins have some interesting ties to the Calgary Flames.
They both suck.
We got to watch Nikita Zedorov and Elias Lindholm
asked for more money than they were worth and watch them put their pouty pants on
or have their agent go into Toronto and say that Nikita Zadora is the best defense
amount of team that's got Chris Tanna,
Noah Hanofin, Rasmus Anderson,
McKenzie Weiger. It was quite a show.
Luckily, Craig Conroy,
either his owner was in the air and couldn't answer his phone
or said no to such extensions.
And then promptly both went to Vancouver
for two months of Underwhelming Hockey,
I guess, Nikita, about four months.
And finally, though, they're getting what they deserve.
Nikita, the sixth team is the team
that's going to respect you the most and pay you what you deserve.
Although I hear Elias is off to a better start this year.
well he's been pretty good and like
Nikita Zadorov he might not be the best
of the defenseman that you name but he's by far the
coolest like he's absolutely
the coolest guy probably on the Bruins
maybe in the league he's like an
insane person plug for this show
watch our interview with
Nikita Zadorov
he is he's the greatest
and I used to cover the Bruins
but like I'm not I wouldn't
call myself like a Bruins fan
whatever so I don't really have a lot of skin in the game
I champion the
absolute Christ out of Nikita Zedorov, kind of for all the reasons that you just listed.
He pisses so many people off.
And he came in last year and I think probably thought that maybe he was like kind of wearing
an invisible letter on his jersey, which is something that's happened at some stops throughout his
career.
I love it for him.
He came on our show, did research on both of us, which no guest we've ever had has known
who we were.
We just had Jim Hiller on.
And at the end, he was like, well, guys, I got to be.
honest. I'd never heard of you, but our
people said that you guys are doing
a great thing and I should come on your show
so I'm doing it. Nikita Zadorov
came on and hammered Pete
with like 600 short jokes.
He made fun of me for being an oilers
fan. He's incredible.
And I'm like, we're going to the Marshawn
game tonight and I told Pete, I'm like, you need
to, you need to
do anything you can to restrain
me from buying a Nikita Zadorov
jersey because I want to be the only person
who owns one. He's the highest event.
hockey player I've ever seen.
Joining the rush.
So we discussed this on our show.
Event Bouchard, as Pete calls him
number one, but the door off.
Bouchard doesn't have the physicality element
and won't like saw off a fight
with someone 20 pounds later. Like,
De Kita does everything. But he will tear
entertainment. He will tap out of a chokehold
sometimes, which is, that's just as good.
We went to the Oilers game
last year, Bruins Oilers.
Yeah. And Kida Zadorov had a partial break.
and we're like grabbing.
We're like, oh my God, this is it.
You'll never guess how this breakaway ended.
And do you know what he did?
He ran over Stu Skinner and got a penalty.
And took a penalty.
Got a goaltender interference penalty on a breakaway.
And didn't score.
Didn't shoot.
Didn't do it.
It was the best.
Ah, that is peak.
We used to, we call him the Zadogger on here because, you know, he's that cool.
And it was the Zadora of Roller Coaster.
Like the flashes of brilliance slash like insanity.
he's just like some evil professor up to things that human minds can't comprehend.
I enjoyed the show.
I just wasn't really willing for this team to fork over the term and the dollars.
Like,
you're paying him to be a two, three.
You're going to be disappointed,
but it won't be boring.
Wouldn't he be like fourth on the flames and scoring this season, though?
He'd be first probably.
There's the lowest.
Like my producer Jack here looked it up.
They are on pace now very early to be the lowest scoring team since the cap,
the 14 sabers who I believe were tanking the shit out of the league for McDavid had like 1.7 goals a game.
They're under that.
It's impressive stuff.
Have you started talking about McKenna yet?
All the time.
And he grew up at Calgary guy.
He played in Medicine Howe, which is like two, three hours away.
Like his story has been talked about for ages.
And then the one the next year is Landon DuPont, who is the son of Mickey, grows up in Calgary.
He was a Flames Farmman, would have played in the league, except there was the water ski through
the neutral zone clutch and hold era.
He went to Europe and was a stud there.
And then the year after that is Maddoch Schultz,
who's playing in Regina, from Regina.
Like Western Canada is kicking out some mega studs lately,
even further back, Celebrini, North Vancouver,
butard.
Like, it's just, there's factories of amazing young players.
And the flame's like, you know,
but what if we could finish ninth in the West?
So this is like the war we're fighting here.
Like just suck it up and suck for one, maybe two years.
You've got a decent stable of support piece.
You have no stars.
You got a goalie that has to be first star if you're going to win.
I heard Elliot talking about it on 32 thoughts and he brought up like,
is there going to be motivation with the new building to say like,
oh, like let's put off on a rebuild?
I think it's the opposite in a way.
Because it's like you're two years away.
But if you get a Gavin McKenna or something like that's what's bringing people to the building.
Yes.
No one's like, say you end up like working something out for,
I'll just pick a name of a player who's on a bad team.
Like, say you end up getting like Stamco,
so you can limp into the playoffs this year or something like that.
No, stop.
Yeah, just no.
Does that bringing people to the building in a couple of years?
I don't think so.
God, no, no.
And it's like already you're married to Jonathan Huberto for another six years,
making superstar money to be like a second line winger.
We also like him.
He's a good player, but again, just ignore the contract and how bioproof it is.
Like, it was right after Johnny left and Kachuk,
left and it was the, we'll prove someone will sign here by signing an awful deal like we've
never signed before that's buyout proof. It was a nightmare. But like they're not bad. They just
don't have any dynamic young stud player. They've got a bunch of good wingers coming up through
the system. They've got a bunch of good young D. But you need someone to sell tickets. And this
owner is obsessed with the bottom line. It's like, fella, you're going to ask people like double the
price for the same beer and the same seat. It better not be the same team or people aren't going to buy it.
Like this new building should help them want to rebuild.
They've got a really good system.
They have two firsts this year.
Make one of them really bleeping high.
Get the Verov kid out of North Dakota.
Get McKenna.
Like, let's go here, fellas.
It's not this complicated.
But, I mean, it's never that simple here.
They'll get on some stupid six game heater in the spring
and totally screw their lottery odds.
That's how it works.
I love it.
I love it so much.
We were talking about it last night.
Like, I don't know why McKenna kind of slipped our, like,
radar for for calgary but like even even if it's just mac david and mckenna and like the battle
of alberta for like the next like handful of years that's got juice i just i need i need calgary to be
back in the mix in terms of a team the one thing they suck at seriously like what are they the
worst at scoring yeah what is he he's like western canadian kutcherob he's a winger that just
creates off like it's so perfect that it can't work for this franchise because they're doom uh yeah
And no picks ever in the top three.
Highest pick ever number four.
That's Bennett.
They found a way to screw that up.
Like it's, they pick the top five like twice and 30 years.
Like if any team actually deserves it on merit,
not some lottery ball bullshit that DJ Bean's all about like four firsts and seven years.
Like this team needs and deserves McKenna.
That's my rant.
I also thought that,
uh,
I had this idea in my mind that they were deep prospect wise.
And I checked the other day.
And I was like,
they have three of the top 100 prospects per the athletic, which isn't terrible.
No, list to list it changes.
But like I would say like Perix arrived.
So I don't want to count of or not.
Rastriania, North Dakota was picking the teens last year.
He's a center, which they have none of, which is great.
Gridden made the team out of camp, looks to be really good.
You got Bristevich, one year pro under his belt.
He'll jump onto the blue line soon.
You've got Mew is playing at Penn State.
They've got another kid there.
It's a good system.
It's missing.
a star and they've got that
kid playing at
where is it Mary Mac or something like the
5 foot 6 kid they got in the fourth round
he's unreal anyway like he?
I didn't go to Merrimack but yes
it was a Mary Mac not you
not you but similar stature more offense
anyway Wittenback I think he played in the
USHL last year won the Johnny Gidreau Award like lots
of it just feels great we'll see
but they're missing the star that's what it is
it's like lots of B prospects all of them
but not a lot of A's
fellas welcome to the network
I've allowed you to rant.
I've gotten things off my chest and we're friends now.
Okay.
Love it.
Always.
Go, Jake.
America's team.
That's right.
Yes.
Welcome, boys.
See you later.
Thanks.
Thanks, buddy.
