Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - WHAT ON EARTH HAPPENED TO YEGOR SHARANGOVICH?? | BB Clips
Episode Date: November 6, 2025Boomer and Rhett discuss what’s been a rough season for Yegor Sharangovich. Once a 30-goal scorer in his first year with the Calgary Flames, he’s now been healthy scratched and stuck on the fourth... line — nothing seems to be going right. The guys break down what’s happened to his game, what’s changed in his usage, and whether there’s still a path back to being an impact player in Calgary.Video Link: https://youtu.be/foCiYSWOcbw#calgaryflames #nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️FLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Yeager sharing gold.
Yeah, don't worry about Yeager.
My Yeager's got to figure his shit out.
How do you do it?
You don't.
This is the problem with a lot of people, kids, and all this.
You don't get to.
You can help and assist, but this guy,
he has to decide if you.
When he came here and wanted a contract,
played pretty well.
Well, it looked all right.
Did he get in an accident?
damage an ankle?
I miss up.
Well, he didn't get hurt, I guess.
Maybe he is still come back.
No, I don't think so.
I don't think it's, that's a mental state.
You have to be parents.
But these kids and all these
GD skills camps,
skating camps,
but I'm in boot camp.
In what?
Boot camp. Okay.
But an army boot camp or some of,
and teach you.
him how to compete and actually earn.
Okay.
And Yeager is a perfect example.
It has, can he skate?
Yes.
Shoot?
Yes.
Pass. Yes.
Give an opportunity.
Yeah.
So been addressed with benchings?
Yeah, he's been.
So we've tried the soft, we've tried the heart.
Yeah.
Who gets to decide?
Do you want us, the coaches to go out on
ice and hold your hand.
No, let's do that.
Two years ago.
Stop doing fucking Lego.
How's that?
Focus on the game.
Maybe that's his escape from it.
That's his book game.
Well, maybe he's escapes too much.
I'm being a jerk, but seriously, I don't,
you don't want to get them out of here.
He's locked up.
Again, you can see they're trying.
We're going to play him on the wing.
It's like what he got here and just finding a home for him.
I'll put him on the center.
Put him on the fourth line.
Put him on the first line.
sit him, play them, play the shit out of him.
Don't play him at all.
And we're already there through 13 games.
The 13 that he's played, he's got two goals and two assists.
Last night, 14 minutes, zero shots.
Well, and he's got, zero points.
I don't know if he's got the pout face on, but it's sure, it's not a not pout face.
Oh, who am I playing?
Screw you.
You're no good.
Everyone wants to look at,
Dresby, I'm dealing with this right now.
So this is kind of emotion.
it's always,
it's your,
why can't I?
How about,
where's the,
what do they say?
When you push that camera thing
and it flips around
and it's looking right back.
Yeah,
yeah.
That's what you need to start with.
It's not that guy,
that guy,
that guy,
this guy.
Yeah.
How about you start there?
Like a mirror almost.
What's that?
You can look in the mirror
and you'd see yourself.
Yeah,
but then you wouldn't need it.
You wouldn't need it.
No,
no,
if you just,
if you just,
If you just looked into the mirror yourself,
you wouldn't need a phone and then have to flip the camera.
Well, either way,
they always want to be on their goddamn phones anyway.
So just use the phone.
Yeah, okay.
That's hard to find a mirror these days.
Yeah, good point.
Hard to find a mirror.
I never let.
31 goals when he got here,
gets an extension,
had 17 somehow last year.
We still kind of remarked it's not a very good year.
He missed some time in how many games?
I've only played seven.
73.
Seventy three total games.
By the end of the
20, Jesus, 6.17, it's,
it's what gets he about this guy,
is that he can shoot.
It probably is just about as good as anybody in the league.
It's got the mindset of society is that that's good enough.
I got a contract.
You've seen a million guys like him that are very good players,
and I wouldn't be shocked again if in the contract year,
it's like,
you know who comes to mind when I watch him a little bit?
because I'm seeing some of it in his...
Stephen Rime preck.
No, in his body language and just kind of...
Remember Alish Cotelik.
Yep.
It's like you could, you can shoot that thing harder than anybody.
Alex Cotelic could have and ran through you and whatever you wanted.
Anything he wanted to do, he had the skill and ability to do it.
But he just seemed so disinterested and it's maybe not to that level because when Codolique was here,
it was near the end of the season.
He was in Edmonton for a bit.
Because the league had a lot of success in Buffalo prior as a young guy.
And when you're younger, you're hungrier.
But, yeah.
But this is a guy who's scored 30.
Why Jersey let him go?
He's 27, 6-2-200.
He's not a center.
He's eating broccoli.
He's doing all the right things, except no one gives a shit.
Go to Nashville, have a bologna and a PBR, and go out there and kick some ass and stop worrying about all the other.
BS. I don't know. Yeah. It's, it's not good for anyone. There's too many guys where
a light ball moment where it's got to, it's like, well, how old are you? You're 27 years old.
What the hell are we talking about? You want it or you don't. This is a, now I'm really going.
You are going. This is a problem with guaranteed contracts. What's that? These fat cats get the contract and sit on
their fat asses and collect.
It's hard to be an ex-plier and go, well, geez,
they should be percentage contracts.
No, it's guaranteed to a certain percentage.
And you should be able to buy out seven of them in a year if you want and not count
against the cap because some guys aren't holding up their end of the bargain.
Would you eager be one of those guys?
You're damn right.
He would be at this point.
And I'll tell you what,
if Yeager heard, hey, guess what, buds, that, I don't know what he's making.
Five, five, seven, five.
And if you don't pick it up next year, it's nothing.
Or it doesn't, right?
Like, he signed the five year deal July of last year.
And I liked him.
And I was like, yes, sign that guy.
30 gold, 24 years of, yes.
And it's seen it that five years.
Okay, terms fine, age wise, five seven five.
Come to me.
Keep going, Dean.
575.
You're on me.
It's okay.
You talk.
Yeah.
So it looks like they got this deal done.
Five years for Sharon Govich.
5.75 million.
It's 28.75 million million total value.
Yigor, did he sign it?
Yeah.
Yeah, I signed it.
Yeah.
It's the ink.
It's just drying now.
Yeah.
It's almost dry.
I signed the contract.
Dino and then,
uh,
so that was a reenact.
Oh,
come on.
Our Igor is better.
The Belarusian.
No,
he's not.
Prove it.
Guys get mad.
And I got,
I used to get mad.
How could you question my work?
I'm a hard worker.
No,
you played like shit,
bud.
Yeah.
You played like shit.
You're an old,
crotchety,
useless defenseman.
Get off the ice.
Well,
I don't want to be that.
Well,
yeah,
no.
I know you don't want to be.
be that. Well, you are what you are. And
Yeager is horseshit.
Year one of five.
He just signed it last
year? Because he had one year left.
Oh, Jesus.
Yeah. I didn't know that. See,
I don't pay attention to those details. I know you
don't. It's okay. That's why, usually that's why
Ryan's hears. But yeah, he's 13 games
into his five-year deal.
Am I wrong or
am I right about the contracts?
I'm not, I don't want guys not to make
money and to get effed over, but on
one on the other hand it's like at what point is it like you held well we came to an agreement
yeah but you're not playing the way you what are you talking about i'm paying you five and a half
for the 30 you scored two years ago doesn't make sense is that a coaching hat i'm not looking
for you to give any taking my hat right off okay because you know what nowadays these coaches
they got to look sharp they got to be
in shape. I saw those guys standing on the sidelines of football.
Yeah.
Look like they could be playing. That's what I need. I got to clean up.
All right. Okay. A lot has been done with our Yeager already this year.
But if so they've sat them, they played them.
I think they did that last year. Yeah.
Oh, got some hair out of place. It's okay. It's because I had a hat on. So what do you ask?
Just what? There's nothing to do. It's up to him. Cut him. Right. I don't think you throw the towel in now.
Can we see the line up from last?
It's very easy.
Greg and coaches.
Are you hurt?
I don't think he's hurt.
Okay.
So you're not hurt.
Do you hate Calgary?
Indifference at worst.
I think he does like it.
Do you like your teammates?
Sure.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Are there any other Russians?
Like is there, can they?
Because nuts off.
Is that why he's here?
Lift his spirit.
Is he Russian?
I don't even know.
He's bellow.
rush. Well, still.
Maybe he needs some countrymen around it.
You're not good enough that I'm going to concoct my goddamn
team around. Sorry,
I'm just looking at potential. All, I want all options.
This is like a,
does he have a fricking no trade too?
I don't even dislike the guy. I just think he's lazy.
Hence the problem with guaranteed contract.
That just kicked.
It just kicked in. Yeah.
I would
And I think
And this is the only issue
With Yeager and his contract
Is that it counts against your freaking cap
If you had
It's like no
Screw you
Even if you were like
Yeah
You can have your money
Piss off
Well
But
You have to get permission
From an owner
That shouldn't want to do it
As in
Yeah
We'll buy them out
Or we'll pay
Now
Yesterday we had said that Sharon Govich at center had never lost a draw,
we had not lost a draw this year.
No, D.
It was four and natural.
Yeah, 100%.
Uh, took a dip last night.
What?
He won two of seven for 29%.
Oh, that's not as good.
It's not as good as you average it out.
That's four to six.
Yeah.
Six.
He's above his six.
Sixth of four.
Um,
the coach.
and it's the same as last year, and we talked about it.
You've got a player who has maybe as good of offensive potential as anybody on your roster,
and you are dying, starving for offense.
You just want to grab this guy by the shoulder because help me help you.
We've seen it a million times.
And it never.
The light very rarely turns on.
to the point where they play to their full potential consistently.
Because he played to his full potential consistently.
He's a $9 million player that puts up, scores you 35,
and gets you 80 points every year.
Because that's the skill level, not happening.
Now, if you want to put those lines back up,
I don't think playing center with Clapka and Longberg
is a real recipe for,
success. And now I'm not judging Husk on this other than I wouldn't bother putting him in at center of
sit your ass. Do you just sit him again? You get to sit till someone's hurt. Or you walk into my office and say,
okay, I realize I've been a lazy ass. Can I have another opportunity? All right, my Yegor,
I'm going to give you an opportunity and I'm going to give you a good opportunity. And the moment you
half as a shift, you're done.
Because that's all I got.
Yeah.
It's to that point. It's ice time.
Yeah. And you don't. Because you know
behind the scenes there has been heart to hearts and shouting
matches and every...
All this confidence has gone and did the, yes, okay.
So what do you want me to do?
How am I going to do? In what world of, how do I help your confidence?
Yeah.
Throw the season?
you're not having to throw the season
because you're actually not that good
but right
for a team that is
loaded
now the other approach for a coach
sorry for cutting you off there
the other approach for the coach would be sit
Klapka and Lomburg or maybe not even
Klapka I don't know who was sitting last night
Kirkland
oh well that doesn't help
not really but you could bring
gridner you know what I mean like
yeah if you for a
I said this a couple weeks ago
for a goal-starved offense.
Now they scored five last night.
God damn it.
You don't have to play Longberg and Clapka.
Klapka scored.
You're right?
Like, yes, you might like Longberg's energy.
And if your room's that shitty and you need them in there,
you've got major issues, I would say.
And it might be bang on truth.
But you could just make four lines of four,
your most talented players.
You could make four a second, third line
combination. Yeah, but like,
but again, it's so Kirkland is the guy
that would come in.
No, you go to the miners and get grid.
Okay, well, yeah.
I'm not, I'm not
saying Kirkland coming in it or play
Kirkland and sit sharing a guy with
ass on the, and tell the rest of the team,
see that guy, he's
sitting. You don't want to perform?
You're next.
But they don't want him to have success.
would be good coach.
Don't do that.
Just let them crew.
It's so hard to do this show.
It is so hard.
Yeah, I feel for them because for the coach,
for the coach.
Okay.
Because you need goals and here's a guy that can probably get them,
but so you put him in the line up and.
What is he going on that power play?
Is that power play design screw up or is that?
Because it didn't make any sense.
And if you watched again,
the whole power player is like,
what are they doing?
So I don't know if it's Sharon Govich or the power play,
but like,
and they won five.
five to one and we're shit talking.
Sorry.
But the body language tells you a lot.
There's accepting of defeat.
I almost wondered when I watched that.
He would be, my interpretation of Ma Yeager would be,
if you send me these paychecks in Minsk or Belarus,
wherever the hell he lives,
would be quite content.
I don't think my Yeager is burning with desire to bring a Stanley Cup to Calgary.
harsh it might be no it's not i mean i've never we don't talk to the guy i don't i don't know
what his you don't have to talk to the guy you just watched him play i wondered when
clapka scores what goes through his oh i wanted the pack what it's i don't so oh good good our line
scored oh shit our line scored so i'm going to stay that's where you probably get too far i wish i
would have scored. Yeah, I don't know. I think if, just if I had to guess, he, he looks to me like a kid who's lost.
It's not a kid. I know, but I just, but he looks like a kid, right? He doesn't look like a steely 27-year-old. I've played. I've got a 30 goal. I'm making five plus a year.
Part of the problem. He looks like a guy who's part of the guy that sat around the perimeters and shot pucks and had success scoring and knock out into the corners and dug it out and showed you I'm willing to do anything to win. I know. Get some more, though.
I suppose, Craig.
Guys I just described not.
You want the opposite of guys that are on the perimeter.
Yeah.
I would use him as an example, but not a positive.
Yeah. And trust me, I won't lose sleep over my Yeager's performance last night,
but that's the truth of it.
We've watched.
We've all watched.
If you've, here's what you can do.
Here's what you're choosing to do.
Mm-hmm.
and you can't tell me it's Husko's fault.
Or you're hurt.
If you're hurt, well, get the hell of the line of it.
