Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - What's Next For The Calgary Flames? | FN Barn Burner - May 2nd, 2023
Episode Date: May 2, 2023FlamesNation Barn Burner Live from the Tower Chrysler Studios in Marda Loop!- What's next for the Flames?- Next head coach?- Don Maloney Press Conference- New GM?- NHL Playoffs- Pinder Report Presente...d by Village Honda- Betway Bets Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hey, hey, and we're off here on a, I'm going to call it a Tuesday.
Jesus, why am I?
I'm going to zoom my camera out.
Jesus.
Too much me.
I know it's hard to believe.
It's too much me in the looks of things.
There's Retro.
How are you?
The Redster on this.
So good.
So good.
So good.
And no Pinder, oddly.
Good.
Even better.
Yeah, it's not bad.
We'll survive somehow.
He is, I've seen some stuff.
Not surprisingly, come up on either he's sent videos or I've seen it on his social media feeds.
He continues to be a lot for those around him is what I'm guessing.
It seems like the, this whole thing, it's global.
It's a global thing.
It's not just Calgary.
It's not just us.
So that's good to know.
Misery loves company.
Just learn to shut it off sometimes.
No, he can't do it.
I have you got the the right microphone?
Oh, or am I just hearing things?
We'll bring in Frank Sarah Valley, who is, who is standing by.
No pinder, but we've got Frank.
So how great is that?
Our NHL insider, who of course joined us yesterday,
we're now a day removed from the news that the Daryl Sutter has been fired as the head coach of the Calgary Flames.
And the flames, they're just the just the darlings of the ball.
everyone's talking about the flames who's going to run the team who's the GM who's the coach
going to be it's all it took was some firings to get everybody excited about the calgary flames again frank
who knew it took 82 games for people to get excited about it but uh at least here obviously people are buzzing
uh how attractive are either of these jobs because i know when we talked about it before when brad
was let go or when brad decided not to come back that you had a head coach you were going to have to
cultivate a relationship with. That's not the case. Now just kind of on its merits and its merits
only, how attractive are both of these jobs individually for guys out there? I would think pretty
attractive. I think my bigger question is how big of a swing will the flames take outside of
their organization for either post given some of the financial realities that are in place with
paying Darrell Sutter four million bucks a year for the next two years.
It almost feels like a given that that's going to be hanging over Don Maloney's head
in terms of the next step in the process.
But if you're just looking at this team on paper, someone asked me this morning,
how did the Calgary Flames go out this summer and find more goals?
I'm like, more goals.
They're fine.
They don't need more goals.
They can score.
Jonathan Huberto, I don't know if you saw his interview on French radio yesterday,
essentially saying a big reason why I played the way that I did last season was
because of Darrell Sutter.
Okay, so you take Jonathan Hubert O to, I don't know, not 115 points, but 85 points.
And you have Andrew Maggiapani get off the mat next season.
And you have Elias Lindholm re-sign.
And he plays better with the uptick in production from Hubertow if he plays with him.
Like, whatever the case is, it's easy to kind of paint a picture, at least in my mind, for this team to be significantly better next year.
and be a playoff team.
A lot of it will come down to goaltending, which we've talked about,
but in terms of the actual positions itself and the longer term future,
the five years out of the Calgary Flames,
how much different does it look like when the Flames actually have a new arena
and a practice facility and all those other things in terms of recruiting players?
The GM job looks more appealing.
They have a team that can compete now.
and the head coach job, I think, is appealing for anyone.
Red, I want to get your thoughts on that.
Now, Hubert O was on French radio and, you know, more or less.
I mean, I don't think you're putting words in his mouth.
But he said, yeah, part of it was the relationship with the coach,
couldn't understand the way that Daryl under,
or the way that he handled the Jacob Pellche,
first game in the NHL situation like so many of us.
You mentioned yesterday about Blake Wheeler
and how he reacted to the comment.
comments from, you know, from Rick Bonas.
What do you make of Huberdone now?
And this is one of those things I feel hypocritical because we tell guys,
oh, they're boring, no one says anything,
and then they say stuff and we crush them for it.
I'm not crushing him.
I appreciate his honesty, but that said, what are your thoughts on it?
You're muted.
You're muted.
Still muted.
Still.
All right.
He's still muted.
I guess, Frank, did you have?
have an issue with it? Did you see anything wrong with it? I just anytime I get some honesty
anywhere, I'm all for it. So I'm certainly not going to crush the guy. But it was interesting
for sure for him to basically say what everyone was thinking. Well, so now he said it. I think
what it does is it puts the onus on him now to come back and be the player that is signed to
this $84 million contract next season and lives up to it. Because there's there is no more
excuse now. If you felt like you didn't mesh properly with that team because of Daryl Sutter,
the position that you played a chunk of the year, the different, you know, little things that were
said and done and it drove you crazy, well, that distraction is gone now. So I think the honesty is
appreciated. And I think if you gave the same microphone to the, you know, same collection of players
that said a lot during their exit interviews, you'd hear some very similar comments.
But how do you then back it up now and follow that up next season with whoever is behind the bench?
You mentioned it yesterday when we brought you on that it's,
it sure feels like it's Craig Conroy's job to lose.
You mentioned Mitch Love, the coach, obviously, of the Calgary Ranglers,
and they'll want to keep that on the back burner because the Ranglers are playing some playoff hockey right now.
It sure feels, well, I just, you know, it's just, hey, we've got to focus on the Ranglers.
this is a team that doesn't go outside very often.
They went outside.
They brought in Bob Hartley,
Jay Feaster had the connection there.
Obviously,
they went,
I mean,
Brent Sutter was from the outside.
They have done it.
And I don't know,
has either one been more successful?
They brought in Gulletson.
He was kind of an outside guy.
And then they brought up from within.
It's just amazing because I looked at it in the last 10 years.
This will now be their sixth head coach.
and maybe I'm too close to it.
What does that they say about standing too close to the elephant?
That sounds like math that would be of a completely, a franchise that just has no idea what it's doing.
And we've used the word over and over again dysfunctional.
Maybe it is.
Six coaches in 10 years.
That's not the earmarking, the earmark of a team that has its shit together.
it doesn't seem to matter if they go outside inside or what how how do you get out of this cycle is
this just what how it happens sometimes don maloney talked about it's every two three years you have a
shelf life for a coach and you have to bring somebody else in or is is that too simplistic because
not every team out there is bringing in a guy every two years yeah i was going to say it's a little too
simplistic and i think if you were to like chop don maloney's head off yesterday and replay that
press conference with like the president or GM of 25 other teams like you'd get all the same
goddamn buzzwords of new voice and this and that like it's like at some point uh you have to get it right
and i think that's been one of the true if you were to ding brad tree living on his tenure that's
one thing that really stands out to me is they really struggled to find the right person and coach
and then when it seemed like it was Darrell and they have, you know,
some of their best regular season success, the wheels fell off, you know, quickly thereafter.
When I think about this flames opening, something that Connor McDavid said caught my attention
the other night after they won game six.
And he said, Jay Woodcroft, he believes, is one of the top three or five coaches in
the NHL and I was like, huh, on one hand, you have the best player in the world giving props to his
coach who, you know, of course you would. But to do it in that way, I was like, well, now let's go
back and let's look through the Oilers and their history. And I was thinking some of the retreads
that they had brought through their organization with all due respect to those former head coaches
prior to Jay Woodcroft that maybe, you know, to get the next John Cooper, to get the next,
whoever it may be, don't go for the experienced Bruce Boudreau, Peter Labielette, whoever it is
that you want to talk about next. Go for the guy that is younger, different, hasn't had a shot before.
Like, this is the time to try something new. And you might say, well, because it's from within,
it's not exactly new, and I would say, you don't know that yet. So that would be my commentary
on the coaching position and Mitch Love. Like, I'd be very surprised if at the end of the day,
this job doesn't go to Mitch Love based on what I'm hearing. But the GM search,
for whatever reason, the flames are resistant, or at least publicly seeming resistant,
to just handing this to Craig Conroy. And
I think that's a mistake, first off.
But more than that, I think it's interesting to see who the flames talk to,
because I'm told Don Maloney has already begun to make calls and develop his list.
And there are people from the outside that are not part of this organization right now that sort of makes you wonder,
maybe the flames are willing to cast a pretty big net in order to make this higher.
What goes across your mind, Red, when you hear that?
that because we've talked a lot about, I think we both were pretty clear, felt like Craig
should have been the guy.
You just, if you're going to make that announcement with tree living leaving, you just
install Craig, even if you want to do it on an interim basis, but there again, you've,
you've been grooming the guy.
It's almost, it's been made public that this was the plan, that down the road Craig was
was going to be the next GM or be a GM of this team.
On one hand, you have the do your due diligence, talk to all the possible candidates that
you think could do a good job.
And then there's our way of thinking.
If it is a not exhaustive search, but if they do cast that net, what's your thoughts?
Is my mic working now?
It is, but I think you're on the wrong one, but just go ahead.
Well, the other one is not working at all, so I don't know what's going on here.
Okay.
Think about what?
Think about last year.
This is what I think about.
I think about last year.
What were we saying?
We're praising, in-due.
Darrell, we trust, right? It was the whole city, the NHL, the Jack Adams Trophy, all of that.
So after three years, I'll let you know what the right decision was. If you hand Craig Conroy
this and it goes south, then it's going to be a, why wouldn't they look all over? Why didn't
they cast a wide net? Why didn't they interview everyone? If they interview everyone and they bring
someone new in and it's no good for a couple years wow what was why would they have just given it to
conroy he knew the situations he knew all this and it's the same for the coach you bring in a coach
if he has success you're going to sing his praises if it's if he flounders at all you're going to say wow
good grief you know it was Mitch love he was unproven another Glenn gullison why did we try that
or if you go get a veteran guy and he comes in and doesn't have success it's all going to be based on
wins and losses next year.
It's what it always is.
I don't think that you can't predict what the right guy is.
That's why Maloney's going to get paid the bucks to try and do it.
But this, well, lots of all the organizations have swings and misses.
It's hard to say what's going to happen with this one.
It's a convenient spot for us.
And we're all there.
We can look back.
I think that it was pretty clear after hearing Maloney yesterday that it was not because
Darrell Sutter can't coach.
It was that his handling of players and the players' reaction to him.
And it just, that wasn't going to work any longer.
I don't think he got fired because he can't coach.
Can I jump in there?
And that's my concern for next year, is that I get what Darrell is.
But I think Darrell was trying to push buttons.
And the Pelt, he made mistakes.
Don't have to keep saying that he didn't.
But there was a reason he was trying to push the buttons to the extreme that he was
trying to push them. And my concern, and I keep going back to it, is you've got the same locker
room. Is the locker room good enough that all you needed was a change of coaching and was it just
coaching that led this team astray? They are close. They weren't that far out from making a
playoff spot. It wouldn't take a whole bunch this last year, a save here, a goal there for them
to have made the playoffs.
I just not sold that that group of guys,
that it was just the coach that was the issue.
I think that coach is being round long enough
to see that there are issues
and was trying to push buttons
and to push them in the right direction.
For good or for bad, I think he,
I always said it.
Darrell's best ability as a coach
was to read a room.
Not X's and O's, not numbers,
not power play plans,
His best ability was to read a room and try and motivate guys.
He felt like there was something missing in that dressing room.
And the new guy's going to have to have a different way of approaching it.
And I sure hope it works out.
Yeah, I would think that challenge, it continues to be there.
It's just what tact is he going to, is he going to take?
You mentioned Mitch Love, are there, I guess, for what it's worth,
are there any other candidates that either you've heard or would expect to be in this mix for the coaching job?
I don't, they're not that far yet because the coaching job is going to come second.
And since we were talking about the GM position, I think the real honest answer here in terms of what the flame should do is walk back, tail between your legs and go ask Brad Tree Living if he's willing to come back.
That's what I think the true answer is.
I don't think you're ever going to see
Mary Edwards in Calgary Sports and Entertainment
do that because that's just
they're stubborn and they won't do it.
But I don't think he really wanted to leave.
I think he knew what had to be done
and they weren't willing to do it
and then two weeks later they did it
which means they also didn't really want them to leave either
so why not just get married again.
I know how dysfunctional that sounds.
I understand that.
This whole thing is so ass backwards.
I know it's not happening.
So I'm not saying,
but I'm just saying that that's what should have happened.
We can move on.
The New York Rangers,
their season comes to an end.
You talk about upheaval.
There were draft picks spent.
Chris Drury went and got Patrick Kane and got Teresenko
and did a lot to add to this team.
And they get to seven games against the younger,
quicker New Jersey Devils.
And they looked out of gas last night.
It was a lot of devils despite the fact the Rangers
outshot them. I guess what's now the fallout? I know on daily faceoff.com you have your
eight burning questions now that we're through round number one. And part of that is the Rangers and
Gerard Gallant and the likelihood of him staying or going, I guess, without giving away all the
goodies on daily faceoff.com. Your thoughts on it. We're all brothers here. We can give away.
Yeah. So the, I fully expect a coaching change from the New York Rangers. I think in fact,
their coaching staff itself, I believe, expects a coaching change. Two years at the post,
I think they felt like, at least from talking to people around the league, that the Rangers,
a team built to win now, didn't have enough creativity, enough in-game and in-series adjustments
that were made. And for a team that was sort of ahead of schedule last year, getting to the conference
final, spending as much as they did last year, first, second, third, and fourth round
picks, if I'm not mistaken, to have all those players walk. And then this time around, spend
similarly in Tarasenko and Kane, and not even win around, has put Gerard Gallant directly
in the crosshairs. I don't think just in the same conversation we were having about the coaching
staff in Calgary, I don't think it's all on the coaches. You know,
Patrick Kane is clearly laboring.
He's obviously going to be having off-season hip surgery.
Tarasenko, he was fine.
But when it came to the rest of the New York Rangers big guns,
essentially really outside of Chris Kreider,
I mean, they just didn't have it.
And the two other things that stand out to me,
aside from the lack of speed for the devils,
in comparison to the devils in round one,
would be the Rangers don't have a shutdown.
online. They don't have any sort of defensive component among their forward group that they can throw out against an opposition's firepower. And two, their defense, although physical, outside of Fox, doesn't have really anyone who can effectively move the puck. You know, Kay Andrei Miller, you see it at times. It's inconsistent. And the rest of their group, like they just leave too much up to Igor Shesterkin to cover up their issues. And
You can get by like that against, you know, some teams, but you can't win a Stanley Cup like that.
And they've got some surgery to do and they've got some cap considerations now in order to try and tackle it, that they really have three more years, essentially, to try and do this with Chesterkin at a really reasonable salary before they have to bump them up.
And they've already got a bunch of questions to answer now.
Yeah, I saw a lot of the, you did this with Lundquist and now you're doing it with Chesterkin.
You're just in the goalie wasting business.
I don't know.
Did they need?
And I think it's, again, you talk about convenient after the fact.
There were sure a lot of people on social media singing the, why did you need Patrick
Kane?
You didn't need to do this.
You disrupted the flow.
You disrupted chemistry.
I don't know.
I mean, at the time, I thought if you're getting Patrick Kane and not giving up a first round
pick this is a guy who's won it's new yore i just it just it seemed like a no brainer to me and i don't know
like you say he's got a hip issue clearly um but i don't know there's not many times that a team
goes out and adds a big name or two at the deadline and then runs through to the cup final and wins
it it feels like if you if you are looking for that kind of an ad at the deadline you don't have the
team that you need to be a true cup contender i don't know if i don't know if i don't know if i
by that. Like I don't, I looked at the Boston Bruins this year and all that they added. And I was like,
that team took a really good team that continued to set, they went on after that and set records.
That team doesn't have a hole in their lineup. Like, there's not one position that I'm looking at
the Boston Bruins saying, man, that team is not good enough to compete for a cup. And they
absolutely gag on it against the Florida Panthers, three one series lead, three two lead with a minute left.
Like, no excuse.
It's, I don't look at the Rangers and say, again, I pointed out the things that I think are missing, the elements.
But I'm not always convinced that adding at the deadline is the right play.
But to say that you're not improving your team or that it doesn't mean anything, I think is a step too far.
I thought that to me with the Rangers, it was the kids.
Like in Jersey, Hughes is taking over games and you notice them all the time.
Where is the first over pick Alexis Lefranier?
Capo caco or two points?
Lafranier zero point?
Like, I get that they had an older lineup and Kane wasn't as good as he needed to be and they looked slower.
But that's where those guys are supposed to pick up the slack, aren't they?
Like, you didn't, I didn't think they were noticeable enough.
Yeah, and I think it's unfair to call them the kid line anymore.
Like when you go through a run like you did last year and you get to the conference final, like to sit here and say now, oh, well, you can't expect too much because they're young.
Like, I'm sorry, that doesn't apply anymore, especially with the pedigree that they have.
They needed to give more.
I'll be real honest.
Like, I'm not sure how much more they have to give.
Yeah, that's the scary part.
what's what's the story in colorado some some raises are kicking in obviously they lose in round one
there were injuries and suspensions part way along the way but but they are out defending cup champs
that in some ways feel like you just you know come back and try and do it all over again but
the the cap implications are not insignificant in colorado yeah not defending cup champs anymore
i mean that's over that's kind of the amazing part about round one is
just how wide open it is, right?
Like, there's eight teams left.
Three have never won the cup before.
And the last one to win among the five is Carolina in 2006.
So it's been a while, and we're going to have some fresh blood, so to speak,
hoisting the cup this year, which I think is awesome.
But with Colorado, like, it now becomes, for a team that rebuilt and got Kail McCarr
in the draft after.
a horrific season.
They now have cap concerns and cap hell for the first time, really through that stretch.
They had one more year of McKinnon this year, which I think is fair to question why that
team didn't do more at the deadline.
I think perhaps maybe they were thinking we've had all these injuries, just getting everyone
healthy, getting Landisogged back to the playoffs, which never happened.
That will be enough to have this team, you know, give it a real chance to repeat.
Nchuskin goes out with personal reasons in the first round.
Kail McCar gets suspended for one game.
They don't have Berkowski and Cadre from the previous year.
A lot went into the Aves losing.
And now they're faced with the situation where essentially the Aves, Bruins, and Tampa Bay Lightning are all kind of in the same spot.
They have somewhere between seven and nine or ten players to sign this summer with about $10 million to $13 million in space.
you know, varying by the team.
For a team that already lost Cadre,
now could lose JT Comfer down the middle,
which would be a real sting to that roster.
The abs have, like, they've got tough decisions to make.
They're probably going to have to say goodbye to Sam Gerard on the back end.
I think there's real value there.
I think some teams are wary of an undersized defenseman.
But they've got some tough, tough calls to make Boston same thing.
You're probably saying goodbye to one of Carlo or Grizzlic on the back end.
Taylor Hall probably on his way out at $6 million.
Do they try and re-sign Tyler Bertuzi?
All these teams, Tampa, you heard their injury list today.
Victor Hedman, hip impingement, all these different things.
Tampa probably needs to say goodbye to Alex Colorn after two Stanley Cups.
What about Ross Colton?
There's some really tough cap crunches for a lot of these teams this summer.
Bergeron, you think he's finished in Boston and David Creachie?
I think Bergeron know Creachie, yes.
I think Bergeron just has a little bit more in the tank.
Creachy, to me, looked like he was more or less gassed at the end.
Still impactful at times and had a great regular season.
Maybe they both come back.
If they do, they're going to have to be under vastly different financial circumstances.
because Bergeron and Creche still kind of got paid last year.
The Bruins have a $4.5 million salary cap overage as a result.
So what does that mean if the cap's $83.5 million next year,
the Bruins are starting at $79.
So that's part of the reason why their crunch is even more significant.
I just, I don't know what, I don't know how you'd approach it,
if it'd be different for you, but having that team be that good in the regular season,
and cough up those types of leads.
Like, I don't care if you go back
and you lose in the first round again,
but to have that be the way that your career ends,
like especially for such a decorated player like Bergeron,
I'd work my ass off to come back.
Yeah, it all depends on how the body feels, right?
Like, I don't think he wants to go out like that at all.
And I almost feel bad for that Boston organization.
Like, they've been good,
and he's been awesome for a long time.
And sadly, they've got a ring, which you can't take away.
And that's amazing.
But for as good as that team, an organization of being for the last decade or even longer,
to have one cup is almost staggering, especially after the year they had this year.
But none of us can know what it feels like to go to the rink and have to get ready to go on the ice for Patrice Berserone.
Right.
If the body's given out, sometimes it's just time.
So I don't think he wants to.
He plays hard, still plays and competes at a high level, but that's the thing.
Robin Regier said it to me.
He goes, when you got to go to the rank two hours early for practice just to get the body warmed up
so that you can make it through a 30-minute skate, you know the writing is on the wall.
Before we let you go, I just wanted to ask, and again, it's in that part of it is in the eight burning questions.
As far as Winnipeg, I'll just kind of throw it out there and you can react as you see fit.
the comments post game after again the series is over the season is over but uh rick bonus
torches his team blake wheeler comes out and in a way defends his team and we know that dubois
has asked for a trade and connor hellabuck as you'll read in uh frank's article has uh there's some
he needs some attending to i guess just the thoughts across the board in winnipeg yeah so
i don't know what to make of connor hellabuck's comments because he didn't really reveal
a lot other than saying he doesn't want to play for a rebuilding team and I'm sitting here thinking like
who does um I felt like with Blake wheeler and some other players coming out basically you know going
against Rick Bonas saying I wish he said that to us and kept it in the room I felt like they were
just telling on themselves like we are an insular group of babies that don't compete and don't
want anyone to call us out on it. That's essentially how I read it from afar. I'm obviously not in
there on a daily basis or frequently, but it was the truth and it was honest. And so what?
Now you're upset because he said it after the game and told everyone else what everyone
I already saw. Like I don't understand it. So I to me it just highlighted, underscored,
underline, whatever you want to use, the need for change with that roster.
It's been a long time.
They first broke through in 2018, getting to that conference final against the Golden
Knights.
They've had misses makes since then, but enough is enough.
I don't think anyone currently looks at this Jets team as currently assembled and says
they're close to, even if they get in, close to contending.
So they need surgery.
I would think that Shifley and Wheeler are at the very top of the list to continue the turnover to Kyle Connor and Nikolai Eilers and Josh Marcy.
But the big looming question is what happens with Hellebach?
Do you trade him?
Do you re-sign him?
Does he want to resign?
And if not, do you keep him and have him play out the last year of his deal?
I think teams twist themselves into pretzels, basically forcing themselves to make a decision.
a year ahead of time. Like there's nothing wrong with signing a player to a six-year deal and he plays
all six years of the deal. And then at the end of it, you shake his hand and he goes another direction.
Like that's okay. And it's okay in every other sport. It happens all the time in baseball and football
and everywhere else. But for whatever reason in hockey, it's like, oh my God, you can't let that
guy walk for nothing. And I just don't know that you need to make the decision, but it feels like
the Jets are going to make some kind of decision with regards to that anyway. And with Hellebubb,
the tough part is with goalies, you never really get the value back in return that's commensurate
to the value that they provide to your team. So I think the Jets are in a bit of a tough spot.
And in this new world, it's, in a way, you're not getting nothing. You're getting cap space.
You're getting all those cap dollars back that if, and most teams do spend it anyway,
for a team like Winnipeg, six, seven million bucks, you can repurpose that.
And Rhett, you talk about it a lot that sometimes, whether it's bravery or smarts or just
kind of swallowing hard and making a tough decision, like Frank says, I think a lot of times
teams just feel like, well, we can't, we just can't let that happen.
So then they sign an extension and I don't know, seven, eight times out of ten, it does not
work out very well.
I think Frank is bang on with that where you let guys walk.
It's the fact you have to put in the plan.
has to be in place to fill those spots, right?
Like Aaron Rogers is a great example.
Brett Barb, the Green Bay Packers know there's a shelf life to these players,
and they draft a guy to fill that role when that spot becomes available again.
You just have to, I think the GMs lose sight of that.
And they go, oh, I got hellabuck here, so I'm not going to work for anyone else
or have anyone else in place.
So you've got to have those guys in place so that when,
When they do decide to walk, yeah, they walk.
Maybe it's the best thing that can happen.
The line that I always get from one GM in particular in the West, he says,
if you want loyalty, get a dog.
And the other thing I would add to that is in the NHL, if you're scared, get a dog.
Yeah.
And then hang on to the dog.
Thank you, Frank.
What are we traveling round two?
What are we doing?
with ourselves i don't have any plans quite yet uh working on that but i'm also you know what
still four series going on so i am comfortable being at home if need be all right buddy thanks
appreciate you yesterday and today have a good one all right see you guys have a good one
there it is playoff sarah valley a presentation of bontan meat market calgary tradition since
nineteen twenty one only the best when you walk through the doors you know you're not getting
some you know is that b grade is that c grade you're getting triple a right across the board
Greg Keller and his staff take care of you like no one else.
Go up a 28 crow foot circle and see them.
It's full on barbecue and grilling.
Somebody was doing, had the smoker going.
I could tell on Sunday afternoon.
Wasn't me, unfortunately, but somebody had it going.
Get up to Bon Ton.
Treat yourself.
Treat yourself right.
Calgary tradition.
Bontan meets.
How are we doing, Retro?
We got right into it.
We're here in the Tower of Chrysor Studios.
I've not talked to Serge.
I don't know how he's feeling.
He's a big flames fan.
The GM is going.
gone. The head coach is gone. They don't make the playoffs. It's on me. I really should have reached
out. I hope he's okay because it's been a, it's been an active kind of two, three weeks here.
It might be happy. There's lots of action, even though those teams not playing. There's lots of
things, lots of pieces in motion might change for next year. So he might be excited about it.
Do you put any stock into the Trilliving? I mean, it's, again, it seems so awkward.
but how things played out was awkward anyway.
Don Maloney talked about it.
I've got the clip coming up in the Pinder report.
It feels even, well, I don't know,
it feels like even if that was something
that you really wanted to do,
does that ever happen?
It seemed weird enough that when a coach comes back,
like Daryl did for a second tour of duty,
years after the fact,
to reinstall a general manager
just weeks after he leaves.
Now, you could, if that's really what you want to do,
you massage it and it looks clunky for a little bit and then you move on.
I wonder at the same time, do the, do with the flames feel?
Do they feel like Brad did such a job, such an impressive and masterful job
that you would go through with that?
Or do you think that maybe it is time for a change?
And I kind of wonder that you've made, that's the bed that's been made,
you lay in it now.
Yeah, I'm the same way.
I can't imagine it happening, but
yeah, it would be
I come back to the
the day
your living is announced as leaving.
Well, this has to mean that Sutter's
staying. Because if then
just, if it only ends up with Sutter
leaving, then what the hell is this all
about? It's just the cherry
on top of this whole dysfunctional
friggin' cake. I don't
none of it makes sense what a what a year a year ago it's overtime game seven round one battle of
alberta uh not a great end but hey godrow leaves kachuk leaves huberto comes in not very good weger
take some 60 games to get his game in order start five and one lose seven in a row marxstrom
can't play goal anymore losing game after game these one goal games you get to overtime can't win shoot out
Can't win.
Going to make the playoffs.
Nope, not going to make the playoffs.
GM leaves because the coach and he can't get along and then the coach leaves anyway.
GM leaves.
They give the term GM job to the guy that he brought in that is basically kind of
very much of the same mold.
Okay.
Not to a guy that's been here for a decade kind of waiting in the wings.
And we haven't even mentioned Pascoe.
I mean, I think I've said his name once where it's like if you're bringing in
Mitch Love is Pascal not a guy you've talked to?
Isn't that the guy that brought in Mitch Love?
Like,
anyway, it does, to go back to Trilliving would to maybe very extreme and awkward.
And I don't know if it's the right move once you've gone down that road anyway.
Turning around and going back, it doesn't seem right to me.
And like Frank said, it would almost be that tail between your legs
because you offered him a contract and he said no.
He had to have known.
Again, it's not as though they're on the outside like we are.
There had to have been a conversation where just, hey, if you really want to stay,
just frigging hang on because the coach may be out anyway.
In two weeks, did it go from Noss Sutter's here for sure to, well, I guess we're firing him with two years left on his two year extension.
Like, that's the other part.
his extension hasn't even kicked in yet and he got fired.
It's mind-boggling.
That's where Pinder will jump in and go,
well,
this ownership group doesn't like paying people to go away.
So whoever they bring in now is going to have to be on the cheap
because they're paying two coaches.
I was thinking about that.
When's the last time they've been paying one coach and only one coach to coach?
I knew it was a long time.
I didn't know what the extent of it was.
I knew there had been lots of turnover.
six and 10 years and we use the word all the time this year the dysfunction that that is truly
dysfunction i don't you can't that is not a game plan and you react to things and things change and
this and that but there is too much going on down at that saddle dome that just doesn't make
sense when you take like you said you're standing close to the elephant or take a step back and you're
sitting you're a you're an organization or a fan of the n hl and you're you're sitting in
michigan and you're watching the flames go about their business and you're going
huh what's going on there right like oh yeah six yeah just in 10 years do we that's
seems excessive we take our runs at a lot of teams right and i'm not going to throw
pinder under the bus but pinder loves calling out teams that don't know what the what the hell they're
one if you were watching from the outside what is what's happened you went from winning the division
to missing the playoffs the the coaches twice saying guys are taking the shit and like what's happening
in calgary the gm leaves then the coach leaves you missed the playoffs kuchk wanted out
godrode didn't come back whether you wanted out gym leaves after being offered a job to stay
from what from all accounts it was his job to keek no thanks i'm good like that alone should scream whoa
what is going on there and then you're like okay well it's a it's a coach gm fight and he didn't have
the support so he wanted to fire the coach they were so the coach won the power battle okay
that that kind of makes sense and then he left now you're what they fired the coach too
Wait a minute.
I thought it was a power struggle and the coach won.
It is.
It's awkward.
So you've got the GM coach.
The coach couldn't get along with the GM, so the GM leaves.
Coach moves up.
Then you've got the players.
The players didn't like the coach.
So now the coach is out.
Do you know what, right?
Where's the freaking hierarchy?
And you know what?
If you have a bad coaching fit.
If you have a bad fit as a coach, just because if you don't get it right, it doesn't mean, well, we just have to stay with this guy, even though we know that this probably is not going to make itself work. It's not going to solve itself.
But and you, you go back.
So Sutter is out to be determined whether or not he should be out.
Again, I just, it sure looks like the relationship that he had with the general manager and obviously the guy's in the room.
and we'll hear from Maloney from his clips from yesterday.
And Eric Francis wrote about it.
It's not about hockey.
It's how Daryl has handled people,
his relationships with those around him.
And you've said it.
The tighter the vice gets, the worse it gets.
And the vice is super tight.
And coming off of Jack Adams and a playoff round win,
all of that was a recipe for disaster.
Now he takes over for Jeff Ward.
Lovely guy, but I think everybody across the board had to see that Jeff Ward
more of a support guy than a head coach.
Fair?
It is fair, but this is where,
now there's been a decent amount of turnover
inside the dressing room,
but this is where I still go back to that dressing room
where it's like,
there's no captain,
you don't have leadership,
you don't,
maybe because of Darrell,
you haven't embraced youth too much,
and you've had guys wanting to leave here,
Like the GM didn't want to stay.
Godrow didn't want to stay.
Kachuk didn't want to stay.
Like you've got a coach in Ward who I agree with you probably isn't meant to be the head coach,
but couldn't drag anything out of these guys.
They wouldn't play for he's a players coach, right?
And again, you've got a couple different names.
But the players coach couldn't get the guys to play.
Now the hard ass comes in and takes them to,
one great season, and then the next season they shut off again.
And there's enough faces in that room that are similar.
Do you know what I mean?
Like, it's not all new faces.
So what the is going on in that dressing room?
And how many years did we watch that team?
Again, there's always changed.
But I'm guessing if you went back six years,
there's guys that have been there for six years that were,
there that we kept saying, you lying bastards, we love each other. We play hard. We have this
best room and we're best teammates ever. And they're horseshit and they never make playoffs
or do anything into playoffs. And you're like, something doesn't add up. It's still not
adding up to me. It still doesn't add up to me. A new coach is all fine and good. A new GM is all
fine and good. These new players all fine and good. When is the when is it coming together?
when's all this shit that we've mucked into a pile starting to form into something that resembles
a team you want to fucking cheer for pardon my language again i'm trying not to swear anymore
but honestly there's so much blame to go around okay you've fired the gym you've fired the coach
what are you going to do as a new GM if these pricks don't play for the next guy you're screwed
I mean, because the big contracts are the guys you'll want to dump and you won't be able to.
Like, it's, and I don't trust that it's not the room that's the root of the problem.
Because it's been too long a track record of ups and downs and left,
and the coach's fault and this guy's fault and somebody's fault and the rink's no good.
And we don't like this and it's bad travel.
Be a professional and go play, please.
go play for the city go play for the jersey try to fucking win the stanley cup thank you very much
again sorry for the language one team wins every year and then the rest of the league and their
fans and media and staff are left to wonder well what what the hell right and with the devil's
winning that was that was their first series win in a long time and maybe it's the same in every
market where ownership is called into question the hiring practices free agent decisions
contract numbers and term and all of that but it sure feels like it's the same story a lot here
we the Toronto Maple Leafs have what one playoff victory in 20 years 19 or whatever it is
how many do the flames have couple couple after oh four yeah two two but no one's in
up and arms about it it's it's it's it's it's you're right one team wins but there should be demands
or wants or desires to be better right first round hardest round absolutely not every team's going to be
Chicago or L.A. and win a couple or Pittsburgh and went back to back or Tampa Bay and
look like a dynasty. Sure. Absolutely. But you can be better than what you've had. You sure as hell
should be better than six coaches in 10 years. You should be better than guys wanting to leave.
Right? Like and the people should. Yeah. Should the fans and in
In Toronto, where if they lost again, the city, there'd have been an explosion, a bomb going off,
and they would have, it would have been a mayhem to trade guys and make changes and dubus is fired.
I guess that's happened here, but it's happened before and nothing's changed.
And we've talked about it before, and you do wonder, if Monaghan doesn't get hurt and remains at a 30-gole clip,
and if Goodrow stays and if Bennett pans out a little bit more than he did, let's be honest.
he was a top five pick if he's a little bit better and if on the blue line if valamaki doesn't get
hurt and kind of delay his it changes everything when when the guys that you draft and it's not
squinting to say that monahan could be a 30 he was he just didn't continue at that level
and i don't think valamacki's a norris guy but what if that guy again mistakes made should have
held on to him. But it's it changes everything when when those players are better. And I think that it's
reasonable to think that all of those guys could have been better. And you miss Kachuk, obviously,
watching him right now. The Kachuk in this playoff is the guy I was excited to see a year ago.
I remember we talked about it. I said the one guy I can't wait to watch now is this guy,
because he seems like he's been born to play in the playoffs. And I guess he was injured and whatever
else but it was kind of a quiet run through the postseason not so much this year and maybe he
learned from last year's experience and whatever but when you start to think in those terms and then
you start adding some younger guys yeah this teams good teams a good team but they were close to
being that much better yeah but if should or could have didn't and i think what you say though
the young kids is a big deal and the success of you you watch the game one
last night. What team won? The veteran, right? No, it was the kids. They're flying around.
The Rangers absolutely could not keep up. They could not keep up. You have to be young and energetic and fast and go.
You cannot sit back and plod along in this league. And there it goes back to another conversation.
We're kind of all across the board, but you have Hughes who went at first overall. You have he,
who went first overall.
You had a team that bottomed out.
We talked to what was the,
what was the math?
That's their first series win in 11 years.
So yeah,
you were,
you were bad for a decade.
But,
but we have two in 20 years.
Right?
Yeah, I mean, it's,
but bottoming out.
I know what you're saying.
I know what you're saying.
But.
What success measured by?
Make the playoffs and losing the first round every year?
I got to squint for me, for that to be my measure of success.
I really have to squint.
And now people can text in and say, Florida Panthers.
And I can't argue, right?
Yeah, 100%.
Florida Panthers beat the best team ever.
And they just squeaked into the playoffs.
Well, maybe getting is a measure of success.
But boy, I'd like to see more.
Yeah.
It's another, I was thinking about this, the offseason and how we were ready for it a year ago.
It's going to be a crazy off season because it was going to, what are you going to do?
How good can they be next year?
And now it's kind of the same thing, but it's so different.
Can you imagine a year ago if we just said they were going to be searching for a GM and a head coach?
But here's my thing to you, though.
So they get it.
So they get a new GM and I don't even care who it is.
Get a new GM and you get a new coach.
It doesn't matter.
The new coach is good enough to get these guys to play.
Are they the New Jersey Devils next year in the playoffs?
Or are they more similar to the New York Rangers or the New Jersey Devils next year?
I know.
Are they the Boston Bruins or are they the Florida Panthers next year?
To me, they're a veteran.
Oh, they're designed to win now.
They're old bastards.
That's why it's an old squad.
Even Dubet and their young guys aren't,
they're not young anymore.
They weren't making, right?
Like I see it, this team,
even making the playoffs,
they better have success quick
because I think some of those guys
that they've got signed are going to,
and you go,
oh, the cap will go up.
Sure, maybe.
Maybe it won't be as handcuffing
as I envision it.
But I see.
a lot of those guys they might have a year maybe two kind of ride plateauing off if not cratering
and then you're going now what are we doing yeah right now you've got luchitch again and it's love
um you know you know you got a preface these things you say oh i know right but it's true like
okay so hubert oh has two years of 80 points and then he turns into a 50 point guy
We're okay with that.
We got five years of a guy making 10 plus at 50 points.
It's not far-fetched to me.
It's not far-fetched.
And now you're absolutely anchored.
I'm rooting for him to do it.
But to Frank's point, and I know we were going to talk about it,
Hubert O, you'd best have a really good season next year.
Let's see it because it was not that you weren't given a pass,
but there was enough else going wrong,
but you were a star forward that cashed in big time.
And now that raise hits and the coach that you couldn't get along with is gone.
Be good.
Better be good because that's, I just, it's not going to go well here at all.
If he thinks this year was tough,
have another year like that after the team has seemingly met all the demands
and changed everything and now you're making north of 10 million?
Well, now what's the problem?
Right?
That pressure goes big next year on him if it wasn't already.
Interesting.
Let's do a little bit of this day in Flames history for McLeod Law.
McLeod Law, you know what they are?
They're Calgary.
They're proud of their Calgary roots,
big part of their longstanding client relationships.
They understand the city, the people in it,
the way things work here in Calgary.
Like the communities they serve, the McLeod Law team, very diverse.
They share a commitment to making a positive impact in the city of Calgary.
And they're just, they're good people.
It's not, it's not a daunting thing to walk into that office.
It's a, it's a welcoming place.
They'd love to see you.
MacLeod dashlaw.com is the website.
Now, I went to a little memory lane because they love to go and take a look here.
Today's May 2nd, I believe it is.
I don't know you love talking about 1989, buddy.
I know you love it.
But on this date in Flames history, May 2nd,
1989, look at that guy.
There he is.
It looks like you could play D.
If you just took the blocker and glove off,
there's Mike Vernon,
and he continued to lead the flames to the Stanley Cup.
And on this day, watch some of this.
Now I went through the tape and this wasn't the busiest night that Mike Verna never had in the playoffs.
But this is the round against the Chicago Blackhawks.
You can go ahead and roll it.
Game one of the Campbell Conference finals.
Remember the old Campbell Conference.
There you see the numbers.
2.51?
Not sure that would fly these days.
But nonetheless, there he is.
Game one at the old dome.
3-0 win over the Chicago Blackhawks.
He picked up half of his six career playoff shutouts
during the 1989 postseason.
This one, put them in a pretty good spot.
Moving on.
And there again, you talked about 04 for these guys too.
It was, okay, well, you went in 86 to the cup final.
When did you believe?
When did you think that you could go all the way?
Love these guys.
how little Mike Vernon is slash was right God
so on this date
3-0 shutout for for Mike Vernon
and I had one other
one other little thing here from the
from the very same game
Theo Flurry of course in 1989
we know about Theo he comes in and kind of takes the league by
by storm and people are wondering how big is this guy
this guy's running around this guy's not very big but yet he's
scoring goals
He's having an impact.
This was,
is this,
again,
I forget which I think it was Dirk Graham.
What would this,
what would this play get to in 2023 as far as a suspension?
They'll show the highlight here and the replay.
He's kind of holding his chin.
He's like,
Jesus.
Oh, well,
what happened?
Well, there's the clunk.
That's the elbow right on the button.
So,
and we'll talk about true.
and we heard about, you know,
Jordan Eberley,
should he be suspended?
And the hit,
was this hit by,
I'm just thinking in the Minnesota series.
Was that the same as this one?
What's that one worth?
Five, ten,
playoffs?
That's called intent.
That's a veteran dirt graham.
He's fine.
You can't go after it.
He is fine.
That's just how you play.
Call Peter Klein,
McLeod Law.
Visit MacLeod-law.
com.
but Peter Klein, the tops in personal injury, helping to take the stress off of your shoulders.
Let Peter and his staff handle all of your legal, your insurance, your medical claims,
so you can focus on your recovery.
Extensive years and years of experience, understanding of your specific needs.
McLeod Law, they're on your team. Contact them today.
There you see Peter Klein's contact info, 2543864, or P.Kline at MacLeod-dashlaw.com.
Um, did you have people, I know you're in Buffalo, but did you have people reaching out about the, uh, the Sutter news yesterday?
People are tweets, yeah, or not tweets, some texts, but nobody was, it's, again, it's interesting because it was just a year ago that everyone was singing from the same book, right?
like but no one seemed to be too wound up about it as in this was a terrible decision what were
they thinking oh yeah Sutter's gone eh yeah well probably needed to happen hey yeah I guess so yeah so how come
so why did true living leave then yeah I don't know I don't have the answer to that question it's a
very good question I think it's a very good one but I don't have the answer
It would be interesting.
It'd be interesting.
I don't think he comes back, but it sure would be interesting to get his thoughts on what has happened over the last two weeks for the flame.
And why he left.
And if it was because of Darrell, if he regrets having made that decision or if he was done with it anyway, right?
That there's a lot there to unpack with true living.
like i mean maybe the what happens yesterday doesn't happen unless brad leaves maybe but again
it had again speaks to the communication yes if that's talking anybody what are we doing hey we'll let
you stay but we're not going to listen to your advice or or give you the right to do what you think
needs to be done. You can stay, but no, that's okay. But the guy that we don't want to hire full
time, we'll listen to you. We're not, we're not, we can't give you the real, the job job,
but you tell us what to do. We'll listen to you. The guy that, anyway, it seems awkward.
I'm telling you, when I went through that list of coaches, and like I say, you don't keep a coach just to keep him and save face in public opinion when you've got a bad hire or a bad.
Now, the Bill Peters thing, they couldn't control in a way.
I mean, I know you could have done due diligence, but really at the same time, you brought in what you thought was going to be a young coach who was going to be a coach for a long time.
He lasted 110 games.
And prior to that, it was Glenn Gulletson for two seasons.
And you fired Bob Hartley because he couldn't get along with anybody in the room.
And he had just won the Jack Adams.
And before that, it was Brent Sutter.
And you brought him in because he was in New Jersey.
So New Jersey let him go so he could come to Calgary.
He was there for three years.
And Keenan was a disaster, really.
He lasted two years.
Jimmy Playfair one year.
This is the, like this, if you were writing this down about any other team, like I say, people be like, what is with this franchise?
guys. They don't know what the hell they're doing. If you're winning round after round in the
playoffs, then you can shrug it off as part of success. That's the price you pay. But man,
get it right once. Could a guy coach this team for, let's say, five years?
Well, and that's just it. Like, I think the old, for some, well, it's because it's said over
and over by GMs when they fire a coach. Well, coaches have a shelf. Do they?
is the coach's shelf life really only two or three years like that's as long as that's odd
because Cooper's done better Lindy rough was in Buffalo Barry Trots was forever
Sullivan in Pittsburgh there's right like what do you what do you mean guys have
shelf life if if you're hiring a guy with the shelf life are you doing the right thing
right like if if if the trend is hey
we're going to hire this guy he's got a two year shelf life which is what darrow was portrayed as having
and a lot of people say he shouldn't have got that extension there was no plan to give him that extension
it was to come in write the ship have a two year three year thing and get him out of there
is that the right approach right like it would seem like uh it would seem like no
but then again you thought you have this team it's a veteran team you think you're close to getting over
the hump derail's the kind of guy that can do that he came in look what happened in l a came in
and it was two cups in three years or whatever it was and they won us around last year and a
division is it a division still yeah right they didn't win the conference last year did they
the kings no calgary the flames with darrell last year you brought him in he had success is my
point he won a
one of a playoff round
one of two one of the most successful
seasons yeah in franchise history
one of the best seasons ever
and now he's harsh shit get him out of here
yeah you lose your 200 plus point guys
and it's the coach's fault
forgot how to coach
or maybe the team wasn't as good
I'm not happy
now I was having some fun at your expense
with sending in these home
videos of you with your sleep apnea and i've been telling you about outdoor dental go and get this done
already you're in town for a couple weeks you didn't go and see dr j um and then last week you had a video
of me and you did it again and i get it's one of those things where you see an old home movie or you
hear your it's like you hear your voice it's a how that sounds weird and then you see videos of
yourself like man do i really look like that is that what i look like um well this was an eye opener for me um
I guess I need to go and see Dr. Jay with outdoor dental because I, I'm trying to watch the game the other night.
And, uh, and you start dozing off. And you start dozing off because you're not getting that quality sleep.
You know what it's like if you're getting three, four hours a night, two hours.
It's not going to do it. Or maybe you get five hours, but you're constantly waking up.
Then this is the sort of stuff that happens. You're trying to watch playoff hockey.
Game sevens, two of them, uh, two nights ago, one of them last night.
and then you start dozing off.
Then I got to do this show.
And I don't know what the hell is going on
because I've been falling asleep.
It's snoring treatments with outdoor dental.
And again, I don't know, right?
Like it's, like I know I'm going gray.
I get that.
But man, like the Leafs are in overtime.
This is a huge, a huge game the other night.
And I'm watching Boston and then, you know, it's just no good.
I got to go see Dr. Jay.
Thanks for sharing the video retro real good here.
Snoring treatments.
It's the solea laser that they use for their,
for their, basically their regular dentistry.
No needles, no drills, no stress.
It's the, it's the laser treatment.
And they also use it for treating snoring, sleep apnea.
Two 15 minute treatments will increase the tension in the soft palate.
It reduces your snoring.
It's non-surgical, obviously, and it's pain-free.
And then all of a sudden you start sleeping more, quality sleep.
You're happier.
You're more productive.
The people around you are happier with you.
and you don't fall asleep while you're watching play off hockey and headbut the hardwood.
It's a little good.
Go and do it today.
Outdoor.dental is the website.
Go and check out the website.
All the info there, not just about the snoring and sleep apnea, but you'll see all about their dental practice.
And they would love to see you.
Book a appointment, an assessment.
Go in and see what it's all about.
You won't regret it.
Dr. J.
Good guy.
Outdoor.
I like your news with a sleep shirt team.
That's a beauty.
Well, it's getting warm.
hey, I don't know if it's like been 25, 26 degrees.
It got hot in a hurry.
Can't sleep when I'm too hot, you know?
Got to get the old tank top going.
Got to get that tank top going.
We're going to make our round two picks coming up.
We'll look back at our round one picks.
Pinder has sent his in.
Did not put any, because he's always the one, how many games, how many games.
And then he sent his picks in and didn't give a number of games.
So we'll just pick teams.
And Frank was right.
We'll look at the breakdown, kind of.
of the teams that are left. It looks weird. It's a with with that's the thing with upsets.
You're left with some teams that maybe you don't think should be there or how did they get
there? Lots of New Jersey and Seattle. And it's interesting. There's our round one picks.
That's a great picture of Pinder there. That's well done. Rangers Devils. You and I both had
the Rangers. So Pinder got that one. You got the Panthers over the Bruins. I had the canes
over the Islanders. We both took the lightning. Pinder had the Leafs. We were all wrong on the
cracking. Pinder can't take the Oilers. So he took the Kings and we had the Oilers. You had the Jets.
Jets, as we recall. Pinder and I both were on Vegas. First game was good. Nice win. Yeah. And we were all
on on Dallas so one so we were all three out of three four pender got four
damn it rangers they were up to nothing too i think they had a win before we did our picks
but oh well pathers probably would have had good too should have a few bucks down yeah should
have definitely should have we'll do our picks for round two
up in just a little bit time for the Pinder report it's a presentation of village
Honda get to get your car in for that detailing you're gonna love it because the
thing about the the salt and the muck and the you're tracking that inside your
vehicle too and it's on your carpets it's on your your floor mats it gets even
eating food in your car all winter long and there's French fries and stuff
all ground into your seats and your kids in that with the car seats they got
Cheerios everywhere and there's just let
let Village Honda take care of you.
7995 is where the detailing packages start.
Book it online, check it out online at
villagehonda.com.
They are your dealership for life.
It's the Pinder Report.
We've talked about it a lot already.
The Calgary Flames yesterday before we recorded
this show.
They announced that Daryl Sutter had been
relieved of his duties as President of
hockey operations, Don Maloney, sat in front of the assembled media at the Dome, and he laid out
just how he came to the decision to let Daryl go. I interviewed 35, or 25 players, coaches,
coaching staff, training staff, spoke to prominent agents for, who represent key players on
our team and it became clear to me that we needed a new voice. I found that I think in today's,
again, today's world, he's a firm coach, a hard coach, demanding coach, that there's a shelf
life to that type of coaching. And unfortunately for us, I think that that his time, it's time
obviously it felt his time expired with us.
And I'll add the before we before I get your thoughts on it because you have kind of touched
on it already, but talking about the the conversations. Now that's internal. You have those end
of season player meetings and of course he met with Daryl. He said he sat down with Daryl for over
two hours. Who would have been would have been a treat. But he added there and he got into it a
little bit more in detail about how the game has changed and now the players they hold a lot of
power in their hands now they've got the guaranteed contracts and all of that and situations like
this. As we saw, it's not about handing over power to the players, but they have some leverage in
these situations. And again, I think it's today's player too. You know, 10 years and 20 years ago,
you, they wouldn't say boo generally. But now the players of today, they want a voice,
they have a voice, and you have to listen to that voice. They had some real, real observations
and how we should, how we need to, how in their minds, how we should move forward.
They had some real observations, Rep.
That's some real observations.
I think they were fed up with the coach.
They've got rid of the coach.
It's very worrisome.
What's that saying?
The prisoners are running the prison or whatever.
Yeah, yeah.
Inmates in the asylum.
And he actually brought that up at the press conference.
But I guess the flip side to that is when you are the president of hockey ops or the general manager and you have a steady
stream of players echoing the same sentiments about the coach there has to be a point where you take
that into consideration right absolutely but i would also like to know what they're all reported back
to him on his players i think that that to me would be as interesting as what the players said i get
the players don't want to play for him anymore i get that he's a hard ass i get that he grinds you i get
but you're sick of them i understand that part my question is he's not an idiot what's he telling
maloney about those guys in the room yeah that would be i two and a half hours two hours plus
uh who's dominating the conversation it would have been a fly in the wall situation now you
brought it up that so true living leaves brad your living leaves because and again it's uh
he's just he needs a break he just needs a break it's uh this is not about uh the relationship with the
coach but yet it's pretty clear an unworkable relationship with darrell that's why true living left so
now that darrell is gone is there any chance true living comes back i interviewed 35 or 25 players
coaches coaching staff training staff spoke to so prominent agents that's the wrong clue
um who represent key players on our team i figured i had that uh that labeled incorrectly um
Is it three or Maloney?
Whichever one we haven't played, not Maloney four, Maloney one.
I got so many frigging clips here trying to do this Pinda report and everything.
Anyway, F it.
He said, uh, basically, uh, okay, go ahead.
Yeah.
We had some good news last week when talking.
No, no, stop, stop, stop.
Okay.
Let's just, we're going to play that one.
Good news.
Oliver Shillington.
We've seen the, uh, we've seen the shit online.
He's doing kettle.
and skating and looking good and all of that.
This was Maloney talking about a conversation that he's had.
It looks like maybe Shillington could be back.
We had some good news last week when talking to Oliver Shillington.
It certainly seems he's in a very good place.
Told told me he's excited about coming back next season,
which is a very positive for the organization.
All right. There you go.
So top four defense.
That's good.
If he can get back to what he was.
You think that has,
uh,
I think that has anything to do with,
uh, the coaching change.
Boy, there's, no, I don't think so.
If it does, that's some kind of balls that Chillington has.
Guy that finally played you, gave you a bunch of ice time, got you a fat,
the contract.
Yeah, I could take the year off.
Yeah.
Yeah, maybe not.
Maybe not.
Anyway, moving on, NHL last night.
The, uh,
We've talked about it already.
It felt like the youth of the New Jersey Devils.
They were outshot, but that was about it.
It was a lot of New Jersey's.
They beat the New York Rangers by way of shutout in game seven to advance.
Akira Schmidt has been a great story.
His numbers have been outstanding.
He joins, took over for VTEC Vanichek, four and one during the through the five games that he's been in.
A 1.39 goals against the 951 save percentage.
He joins Carrie Price, Ilya Brazgalov, Felix Potvin, and Chico Resch as the only rookie goalies to post the game seven shutout win.
Do you remember the Iliabriz Galov?
That was when he was with the Mighty Ducks.
What year was that?
That he, oh, 2006, a game seven shutout.
Believe you were there for that one, aren't you?
Yeah, it could have been very similar to this game where it was a bunch of old guys trying to beat a bunch of
young guys. Right. That's right. So there you see it. Four nothing. The final on that. He sure was
great. Andre Palat two assists. He was tremendous. And it's a lot of looking in the mirror for the
Rangers. We talked about it with Frank earlier. Patrick Kane and Teresenko and a lot of these guys.
Well, even, wow. Fox had eight assists, I think, in the series. It got absolutely
walked last night for the first goal.
Like embarrassing. Like just outworked and just
can't play my own end. I'm terrible. Right?
Like I don't know what to make of that.
There were a lot of people that cover the Rangers said that was his
worst game as a Ranger. So bad timing for that, obviously.
Because he's been a Norris Trophy candidate and in that, yeah, he's been that kind of
a guy. Now also last night, we saw another one. Maybe not
a more punishing open ice hitter in the game.
right now than Jacob Truba.
Remember he caught Nassum Cadry
when the Flames played the Rangers
and Codry's a veteran.
This is a guy that's not usually going to get caught
with his head down, popped his bucket right off of his head,
knocked him down, snapped his neck.
It seems like lately these hits are becoming
bigger and more violent.
And last night we saw maybe the most violent one of all.
He catches Tim O'Meier
as he comes in over the blue line with his head down.
And a lot of varying opinions on this one.
You've got a player whose head is down.
He's kind of bent over.
Truba comes off the bench a quick change.
So Meyer doesn't really see him until the last minute, obviously.
But it's, man, that's a, that's a freight train.
Do you have an opinion on this?
Because a lot of people seem to.
I love it.
hit man if you're going to allow hitting in the game and and there are rules where your feet need to
be on the ice and you have to tuck your elbows and you can't he did it all right it's all there
it's all there and luckily for mire he goes into the the old concussion protocol and he was okay
so or as okay as you could be wonder what that's a hey sorry i nearly killed you yeah thanks for not
killing me that's awesome you almost did you did you didn't
almost kill me but thanks for not completely killing me yeah thanks for that because i got we're
going on to round two i don't know i don't know what you're doing but go kill somebody else i guess so yes
we are off to round two florida toronto will open things tonight at the scotia bank arena and
no one in toronto knows what to do with themselves they don't know where are we going you go to a game
how does this work round two they can't figure it out but there it is the season series between the leaps and the
The Panthers, Leaves go 3,0, and 1.
Not a defensive struggle.
Goals against and goals for both teams, well over three in this thing.
So we'll see.
I would say it will be very difficult for the Panthers to win this first game.
After the emotion of playing on Sunday night, now it's Tuesday.
You're right back in it.
There has to be a natural reaction to have a deep pressure.
breath, okay. Now you're back playing. And I think they're going to have a tough time against the
Leafs talent. I'm a little worried about that. In the series or overall or just tonight for game one?
I think tonight for sure, but overall as well. I think that that individual talent of the Leafs is
going to be tough. That's the first of two games tonight. The other one will get started at 730.
that has the Seattle Cracken
fresh off of their upset win over Colorado.
They're in Dallas.
The Stars 2,0, and 1
in the three meetings against the Cracken.
I feel like the stars are...
And again, not a lot of people pick the Cracken.
The Cracken are a tough out,
but I'm kind of with you on this one.
I think that it was awesome
for Seattle to play the way they did,
but I just can't help but wonder
if Dallas is a little bit too deep.
We knew about Colorado that they were banked up,
and had some stuff going on. I don't know. Dallas seems like they're right where they want to be
going into this one. So that's the second game that we'll see. Now tomorrow, the other two series
will get going New Jersey. They will take on the Carolina Hurricanes. Hurricanes maybe took a game
or two longer than they would have liked to get past the Islanders. But there you see it,
pretty close to one and one in the four games were the New Jersey Devils. The, uh,
It should be a hell of a series.
This one.
It should.
And again, you talked about it.
It was glaring how, how much slower the Rangers looked at times compared to the New Jersey Devils.
I think Carolina plays with some speed.
They've got some younger forwards that zip around.
This should be a track meet for sure.
I don't know.
In some ways, Hurricanes versus Devils doesn't have that sex appeal.
On paper, it doesn't feel like that when you just look at the teams.
But this could be maybe the match of.
of round number two because like you say it's going to be
should be fast as hell i need some ret warner in there no no you don't at all slow things down
no life you're going to have a hard time picking this one we'll do our picks yeah uh
and then the other game tomorrow edmonton and los vegas the vegas golden nights
Oilers went 3-0-1 against Vegas in the regular season.
Their power play is stupid.
I mean, their power play is stupid.
It was 60% in round one, 56% against Vegas in those four games.
Those whistles, all the whistles go away as the playoffs get,
they really go away.
Because when you're at a 60% clip on the man advantage,
That's going to, you're going to be able to absorb some mistakes five on five.
I don't know.
This one doesn't feel hard for me to pick when we do our picks a little bit later.
I don't like it, but it feels easy for me to make this one.
It's not ideal, Bob.
Not ideal.
Moving on the Toronto Blue Jays taking on the, oh, there you go.
There you see it.
So there it is.
So you just look at those teams.
Yeah, you expect Dallas, I guess, to kind of be there.
but oilers and leaps and panthers and canes it's just on the surface that's a weird feeling second round kind of a bracket even though i think all teams deserve to be there i guess that's a good is there one team that you think shouldn't be there based on how they got through round one no i thought a Seattle outplayed colorado
Vegas, the Jets were terrible.
I thought the oilers, I thought L.A. was a good team, but the Oilers just,
they've got too much.
Dallas was good.
I thought, and I thought Jersey got great goaltending out of the Akira Schmidt,
but it was not like a series where they didn't deserve to win,
but their goalie outplayed the other guy.
I think all of those teams, when you look at them,
played well enough and deserved to get through.
surprisingly, and it'll be people
be upset, but the Leafs probably
had the biggest comebacks.
All three overtime games, yeah.
Three overtime games, right?
But none of them surprise me.
Yeah.
Go leaves.
Yeah.
What world are we living in?
Toronto, Blue Jays taking on the Boston Red Sox.
Now we go to,
we go straight to the bottom of the ninth inning.
at five. Jordan Romano in for the Blue Jays to put this thing to bed. There's Alex Verdugo.
We met, we had him on a couple weeks ago for firing out F bombs during the broadcast.
Ball game. Bottom nine solo shot. Doogie wins it. Six five.
Look at the turning out the lights out now when they celebrate. It's like I can't see
shit. Do you like the uh, do you like a good?
walk out the celebration and everything at uh at home play they're dancing and throwing seeds
around someone's got to pick all that shit up that's the thing i don't like about it i don't know i mean
on one hand you want the guys to be excited and having fun on the other hand
not what you're supposed to do act like i guess have fun have fun i just somebody's got to go
out there with a broom and a dustpan and sweep up all those sunflower seeds you're throwing around
poor custodial stuff that's good that's good
They get paid a lot of money to do it.
Great job.
Blue Jays, back-to-back losses.
They will continue their four-game visit to Boston.
UC Cacucci goes for the Jays today.
And last one for you.
How do you feel about when the home run celebrations,
the Blue Jays had the jacket?
We showed the one team they've got the Trident and the Viking hat
and they're doing all kinds of things.
The Detroit Tigers had the Red Wings hockey gear,
the helmet and stuff like that.
The Washington Nationals,
Because I guess it's what the founding fathers in Washington, it's like the birthplace of, I don't know, it's something.
It's the U.S. Capitol, right?
So in tribute, you're American, so you would know more about this than me.
They've got the wig.
Hey, patriotic.
It's terrible.
There you have it.
Every team's got it.
Don't like it.
No?
Try it too hard.
Trying too hard.
I've seen you wear wigs.
You were having fun.
That is the Pinder report.
It is a presentation of Village Honda.
Turn your vehicle into cash today during the million dollar buy an event.
They'll buy yours even if you don't buy theirs.
Sellers get a tropical cruise for two.
What?
Exclusively at Village Honda in the Northwest Automol.
Your dealership for life.
So two games tonight.
Now, I wanted to mention what's going on there?
Did you kids?
The Yahoo's are home.
Yeah. From another day of higher learning?
Yes, brilliant.
Just brilliant.
So much smarter than when they left the house this morning.
That's what I know about my kids.
When they come home at the end of the day, I just notice how much more they've gained in terms of knowledge and experience.
That's all the great teachers.
There it is.
Madrose Pub, one of our OGs, they were helping us out all season long.
You were able to enjoy the odd flame experience here and there, courtesy of Madrosy.
Rose Pub. Now the game just keeps on going. Now you just got to go to Mad Rose Pub when they've got the games on Canadian teams. And I know for game seven last night, they've got it on all the screens in the bar. Plus play by play over the speakers. It's a real. It's they're not trying to fool you. It's it's it's the place you want to be. 20 beers on tap kid friendly Saturday, Sundays and Mondays. Great food. We've talked about it. Entres. They are very proud of the product that they deliver and they should.
be gourmet pizza dough signature sauce made fresh every single day visit their website you can have it
delivered to your house madrose dot pub or if you want to be there get into the atmosphere if you're
i don't know i guess if leaps jeez 15 royal vista place up just off country hills matt and everybody good
uh good spot madrose pub i'll be wound up poor red dog because when i was in there was
talking a dog big boston fan wearing his jersey
He'd have probably been wrapped up for a Boston, Toronto round two, but dog might be a quiet.
Maybe a little quiet.
I'm happy to Panthers are in, but it might have been more fun to watch Boston and Toronto.
See, that's the thing.
We love the upsets, right?
We love it when the chaos happens and you get upsets.
But then inevitably, you move forward and you're thinking, oh, it might have been better to have that high-end Boston team up against Toronto.
Now, I mean, Florida, maybe Florida does it, but that's what when we talk about round one,
that's usually why round one is so exciting because you'll have some upsets and then, well,
that's their big, that's their Stanley Cup.
That's their big accomplishment of the season to get through round number one and upset that
they were never going to upset.
The only thing with Florida is if you take away this past regular season, you were talking
about a president's trophy team.
You were talking about one of the best teams in the league.
and maybe it just took them a little wire,
a little wire longer to iron stuff out.
I saw the clip this morning.
The last time that Florida was in Toronto,
they'd just come off a rough loss against Ottawa.
They, that was when Keith Kachukh ripped the Panthers on that radio show or on
that podcast.
And Paul Maurice, that's where that video was for about 30 seconds.
He was just going up and down the bench and just F bombing and MF and those guys nonstop.
And then things kind of turned around for them.
And they ended up making the playoffs.
So Paul Maurice is a guy.
You forget how long he's coached.
He's just,
he's one of the most tenured coaches in NHL history.
He's been doing it since he was a kid.
He was the youngest ever when he started, I think.
Yeah.
That's what you do, Carolina.
He was in Toronto.
I'm with you though.
Like that Panthers team,
I forget who I was always saying it on the show where while they're
gearing up for next year and I'm like,
they won the president's trophy.
year yeah what do you mean you're gearing up from next year like with the presidents like
feel like you want to follow it up and it's who did they lose they traded for kachuk so that
wasn't a loss that was a calculated addition yeah and he he basically replaced the
points that you lost from hubert only question i had for them was why
Again, Maurice has done a lot, but I didn't feel like they needed to make that move.
They did.
Maybe it's turning out.
Maybe that's what took so long was just getting used to his coaching.
But that was the only change they made where I'm like, what are you doing that for?
Yeah.
St. Eugene Golf Resort, we are plans are in the works.
We're going to be getting out there and maybe taking some friends with us.
The St. Eugene Golf Resort and Casino Championship.
golf course, the casino, the spa, the restaurants, the mountains all around you.
And now with the warmer weather, good God, almighty.
Beautiful, beautiful spot.
Get your golf game in gear.
The spring swing golf package is on sale now, but it is selling fast.
Starting at just $259 bucks, you and a friend, one night's stay, round a golf, and the power
car.
Available now through May 17th, so time is ticking.
Don't miss out.
Book it today online.
St. Eugene.ca.
You can check them out on social media
at St. Eugene Resort.
Beautiful stuff.
I could use a spot.
My friggin' back in my neck.
All that yard work.
All that yard work
carrying this show on my back.
They're used to that.
That is true.
That is true.
All right, buddy. Let's do these picks.
I think I had five right.
You had three right from last round.
I didn't have five right?
I think I did.
Didn't we have a, come on.
I had Vegas.
I had Dallas.
I had the Oilers.
I had the, did I say the Leafs already?
You didn't have the Leafs.
Okay.
Meet on the middle.
I had the Cains.
Carolina,
Edmonton, Vega.
Okay, I had four.
And you had.
one three two three and I think pinder had four he had devils leaves yeah
Vegas all right well shit so I was better than you that's all we just need to know
moving on to round number two round number two we'll start with the action tonight
Toronto and the Florida Panthers I'll call up stupid pinders picks here he texted them to me
this morning go ahead go ahead well I'm I'm a huge leap
fan but even saying that the fact that I played for the Panthers I got to take the
panthers they're on a roll go and taros good for you see I I don't mind that I'm
taking the Leafs for sure but but I like that you did take take the Panthers and
again Pinder decided not to give number of games he is also on the Leafs so you're
the shark and wolf yeah lone wolf there elsewhere tonight Seattle starting their
series in Dallas against the stars.
Didn't get a coin, so I'm having a hard time.
I'll take Dallas.
I have no problem.
I'll go Seattle.
Okay, Pitter I are both on Dallas.
That's the higher seeded team.
So that's easy what you saw enough out of Seattle or is it about Dallas?
What does you on the crack?
I underestimated the cracking last time.
I'm not going to do it again.
They played good hockey.
Tenacious, right?
Just kind of tenacious, just kind of coming at you.
They come at you in waves.
It's not a one-line team.
They just chip away at you.
That said, I like Dallas.
I like Dallas.
We'll finish up with that other one.
New Jersey, fresh off their wind taking on the hurricanes.
Pinder is taking New Jersey.
I am also taking New Jersey.
Jersey. They came back from 2-0 down. That's, you know what that is? Balls. That's some balls.
And I, I'm not saying this is Cinderella or it's a dynasty or anything like that.
But they could have easily been down to nothing and had the, well, you, you broke that 11 year drought and, ah, it's next year and moving on.
No, F that. We're going to win right now against this team that everyone thinks, even though we were the higher
the seed no one given us a chance so i'm going to take new jersey here against the canes
no they came back against a bunch of old goats that were war out and tired and they fluked their way
onto a go goit under a goiturner that started to play well let's go canes rock me like a hurricane
very nice and the final series the edmondson oilers taking on the vegas golden nights
true to form being the ultimate heel that he is,
Pinder taking the Vegas Golden Knights. Now, no, I can't say if he
believes that to be the case, but as we know, he can't go with the Oilers, so
he's going with the Knights.
And you? I am going
Edmonton, and I feel like this has maybe got
five games written all over it.
60% special teams?
Jesus.
I'm with you, Dean.
Sorry, it's Laurent deuce.
Look out.
Yeah, it's not.
I call it's not McDavid.
And you know what makes it worse?
Is it's not really even grinding my box about it.
They're kind of fun to watch.
If you just kind of take your,
if you take the rest of the shit out of it,
you strip it.
But why wouldn't you want this team to continue?
you to win. Yeah, I think the flames weren't getting a new rank and they were going to leave town.
You'd be all over the Oilers. Absolutely. It might take a little more time than that. It might
take a little more time. I don't know, man. God. Yeah, I think they might blow Vegas's doors right off.
But then again, I've been wrong about Vegas for years now. I don't know how they won the division
this year. They had all these goalies and the injuries and Mark Stone this and Ikele wasn't very good.
Oh, how'd they do? Won the division. Well, I don't, shit. I mean, I don't know. Could it be
that I don't know what the hell I'm talking about?
It can't be that.
Can't be that.
When you keep talking,
it'll play itself.
Eventually you'll be right.
So just keep talking.
So what do you think for games?
Do you agree that it's
I think they roll up.
Yes. Absolutely.
Yeah.
I don't know.
I feel out of all the series here,
maybe the Leafs, Panthers,
but I think the Panthers are a little more plucky
and a better good team.
I just think, yeah,
This one, this one's got the shortest lifespan.
If I had to take a guess.
Yeah, I think those other two series, you could consider them so evenly matched.
And I guess Edmonton should be, but I think the Oilers have cruised lately.
And I think L.A. plays a tougher style than Vegas.
And I think L.A.'s goaltending, even though it wasn't great, I don't trust Laurent Braswa to be a number one or to stop McDavid or dry sidel or I think L.
hymen or any of the oilers they'll get the puck and they're going to be zipping it around and it's
going to be trouble not ideal i'll i'll be wrong all can i'm happy to be wrong all canadian fun
be so great for our game yeah that's right uh tourism jasper remember we were telling you about
uh you know everything um marmot basin open until may first well okay now now it's past may
first. Now we're thinking about summer. Get your camping spot booked. The golf course opens later this
month. They're working on it as we speak. The lakes thawing, canoeing, rafting. The sky tram is open for the
season. Lots to see, lots to do. And one of the most beautiful spots in the entire world,
people from other countries book trips to come to Alberta and go to places like France.
That's right. And the French.
the Brits
and the
Zimbabweans
Yeah they love it here
Tourism
Jasper venture beyond
check out their website and start
booking your summer plans
today
to the Betway Betts
Betts for tonight
and we will call it
a day
I'm going
when you go on to the Betway app
you get the Betway app in your phone
and when you go right into it
pretty much every day they've got a betway boost and it's not always hockey sometimes it's baseball
sometimes it's a mix their boost today the toronto maple leaves and the toronto blue jays
both to win jays back against the boston red socks lost a couple in a row it's kukuchi who's been
good so i'm going to take this one i think the leaves and blue jays do win tonight that is a plus
two 50 and then one of the pre-made bets for the n hl again not the same game but both the
teams in action. Matthew Kachuk, Jason Robertson, both to score tonight plus 325.
I think both of those guys have been dynamite Kachuk. It's just, it's heartbreaking to watch
and play so good, but there you go. Kachuk and Robertson, both scoring plus 325. Those are your
Betway bets of the day. Be responsible. Be 19 in Ontario and, you know, of course, be responsible.
It's the Bway bets.
plans for the rest of the day you got stuff going on always shit going on kids there and here
and up there and over there and a chicken seizure salad for supper dean chicken sees your salad
what do you health nut you're on a health kick what are you doing extra dressing i see good
stuff that was always one of those ones oh you're eating healthy yeah you're having a chicken
Caesar salad with deep fried chicken fingers and bathed in creamy dressing.
A whole jar of Caesar dressing.
You know, a double cheeseburger would probably be the better option for you if you
wanted to be honest about it.
All right, buddies, that's it.
Back tomorrow for the Wednesday program.
Enjoy your day.
See ya.
Is the other guy here?
Not yet.
Thursday.
Holy.
One more day of peace and quiet.
One more day.
Say ya.
Yeah.
