Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Zayne Parekh Debate Gets HEATED 🔥 | BB Clips
Episode Date: January 20, 2026Boomer, Pinder and Rhett get into a heated debate about Zayne Parekh and his rookie season with the Calgary Flames. Are the Flames failing him, or is this just a tough year filled with bad breaks? Aft...er dealing with injuries, playing only 11 games in the NHL, and also suiting up at the World Juniors, the guys question whether this is really a “lost season” for Parekh — or if fans and media are being way too hard on a young player still finding his footing.VIDEO LINK: https://youtu.be/FwumAWVFy8I#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #calgaryflames CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️BARN BURNER MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I don't really see a pathway for Perrek to play anytime soon,
and that's going to be a challenge moving forward.
Verstavich is steady, and the coach knows what he's getting.
At some point, yeah.
Two other righties that are established NHLers.
How the hell do you get your top prospect into this league?
I would wait.
To me, it's, you know, where do you put the cart in front or behind the horse?
Get Perrettec in, let him play.
And when he shows, okay, he's pushing.
White Claw, whoever, down.
I don't want to make the trade to make room and be like, ooh,
because he might not be ready for another year or more.
Oh, right, he's 19.
You can always go pick up.
I want him.
You go out and prove that you're ready to take someone's job
before I just silver platter it.
No question.
I think this sort of more comes from the perspective,
like the team tank fan is like,
you got a great chance to get a star player if you're picking in the top three or four
of the draft.
if this team was committed to that,
there's a really easy pathway to doing it.
You definitely flip White Cloud,
you get more future assets,
and you start playing the piss out of your kids
to figure out what they are
and to see where they can have success.
Because if you're asking Zane Perk to come in
and play third pair of minutes,
I don't know that he's going to succeed.
But if you're asking him to run PowerPlay 1,
I think he can have some success.
I think that's what you'll say.
Based on what, though,
and I'm throwing some cold water on it,
I'm of the opinion
to play guys to find out.
And the more they play,
the easier it is.
Yeah.
Unless they're not capable.
Yeah.
And I've said this all along.
I would have played him.
I would have played him.
I would have played him.
They're not.
They're trying to bring him on.
They're not.
They're smarter than him.
This is what they do.
He was getting injured.
He was injured.
But they'd have been playing him if he was healthy.
Well,
how much?
They weren't at the start.
In and out.
But it would be.
But the more he would play, you would, that would make itself clear.
Let me finish, though.
Because I'm,
I'm going to where you were.
I don't think they were.
playing a ton at the start. And I wonder if they're seeing something that we're not.
They clearly do not trust some of the flaws of his game, but they also aren't allowing
them to show the strengths of his game. And they also at start of the year, we're making
playoffs. And if you're going to cost. Project 97. Yeah. So I mean, last night for Stevaich is playing
on the power play. That's great. Right. So that's good. Obviously, Perrek would be playing
power play if he were still around. I just, I don't know. I, I just kind of tend.
I just want to see it until we see it.
I don't believe that he hasn't been healthy.
Well, he has at times and they didn't do it.
How many games?
I mean, he's put 11 games.
I don't want to do this again.
But it's so.
How many minutes do you think he's averaging?
He's hardly, it's not a big enough sample size to judge utilization.
I actually don't think you guys are arguing.
You're arguing just to argue.
It's, he hasn't played.
He hasn't played.
And he has been injured.
So it's fine.
But has he played good enough even when he has played the little bit that he has to say I have to play.
It's both.
It's all of the above.
He's not where you hope him to be, and he hasn't been given an opportunity, and he's had injuries.
And as a 19-year-old, it's going to take you time to get into the league and get comfortable and adapt.
He might be a 22-year-old before he starts to.
He might be.
And that is the profile of very, very high-end offensive defensemen that aren't great defensively.
They take quite a bit longer than the well-rounded D for obvious reasons.
It's tough for coaches to put them out, which is why you wish this organization would have the foresight to lift the white flag and actually,
say, look, like, if we're bad for this year,
it's only going to help us long term.
And you'll learn more about this kid rather than wonder.
What would it look like?
You move White Cloud.
You definitely move Coleman.
You take calls on Codry.
You get rid of a winger or two.
Just in terms of correct.
That's all we were talking about.
Slot him into the top four.
Give him an NHL caliber partner.
He hasn't had that all year.
He's never played with Wigger.
He's got to be 15 to 20 minutes tonight on the PowerPoint.
That's what it was.
Yeah.
And give him a partner that's a top four defenseman.
Yeah.
Not a waiver claim.
Like, you've only played him with waiver claims.
It's been like,
Bean, Hanley,
Bean, and Pahal have been his partners.
I like Pahal.
What are you trying to turn him into?
Yeah, no, I understand.
Look, I do believe it's everything.
I think that you know.
And I agree with what you're saying.
Like, he hasn't really given them this,
this long stretch where they've been able to work him in.
I just worry about a pathway because I think they're going to trust
the steadiness of Bristevich more than him.
And as long as Husk is trying to get in the playoffs, which is his job?
He's not.
How are you going to get him in?
He's going to cold.
to win because that's what a coach has to do.
I don't think he's reality of.
And I think that's part of, excuse me,
I think that's part of what you saw with the,
why does Anderson get traded right now?
It's like, well, the coach is just like,
if guys are here, I'm going to play them.
If they're at practice, they're at morning skate,
I'm building my roster.
And I think that the discussion was had internally.
Okay, well, there's no extension.
So Boston is like all these other things.
Do we just now go back to work and status quo?
Because the injury concerns are still there.
It was already, well, should Rasmus be playing against the islanders?
When do you start sitting this guy?
Even the Chicago finale of the road trip.
You're already in that.
He's healthy.
He's played.
Unbelievable.
Just just do it.
Just make the trade.
What's the most we can get?
Get it done.
So.
And the only reason I'm leaning into the preck chat is Bobby Germany and Michael has had a great
nine minutes on like
is the foundation
sorry Kent thank you um
Mike was on pregame uh
the you made warmies
warmies
is this like the foundation of a relationship
you believe is going to be very successful
or are you starting to see like
uh oh did they either draft something that they don't know
how to work with or that he might not be a fit with the philosophy
and I'm not saying that is the case but there's certainly
reasons to believe that could be the case
I just think it's overblown.
I did too.
I think it's too early too.
Your top prospects hardly playing.
But Ryan, you're just,
you're showing out cheeky, shitty comments.
I'm not trying to be cheeky.
But you are throwing out cheeky, shitty comments.
He didn't play a lot.
We just discussed it.
Yeah.
We just discussed it.
Now you're saying it's on the team and management's fault that they didn't play.
Well,
I don't think he came in and knocked the socks off anyone.
And it's great to say, play the piss out of them.
The other side of the argument is,
No, you fucking earn it.
Are you good enough?
Earn it.
So was he outchanced or like caved in or no?
Kiss my ass with this.
Outchanced.
And he's supposed to put up points.
Was he putting up points?
No, he was not.
He was not putting up.
Well, there you go.
Was he injured?
You got hurt a lot.
Well, so what am I supposed to do as management and his coach?
Wipe his ass for him and say, get back out there?
Come on.
Find a path for him to show his strength.
Well, you're acting like they've shut the door on this kid.
Like, well, so, okay.
kick him to the curb how many games let's play the game let's play the game and i'm not trying to be cheeky
or anything like that i'm just i'm literally think this is the most important player they have in their system
right now when you're and how have they mistreated him well i'm not saying they have or haven't i'm just trying to find
the path for him to getting the healthy and play better it's it's clear and simple for every player
that ever wants to play right so play better so let's just look through the past i'm not i'm not trying
to fight i just i'm presenting facts here he has an excellent world juniors he gets dinged up in it at the
end.
Let me finish.
Oh,
why can't I have a comment?
But I'm just,
I'm literally,
I want you to react to this once it's all there,
not halfway through.
He goes on the five game,
Rody.
They get home,
he's healthy enough to play,
and coming off an excellent world juniors
for what he's great at,
do they play him in the NHL
or do they immediately sign him to the A?
His first games are in the A.
This was a great chance to get him into the lineup.
Was it not?
But you have,
whoa, whoa, whoa,
so two things.
He did put up a bunch of points.
And I thought I took a shot at him because I thought it showed what he is in that goal,
empty net goal.
Here's a kid that is a stud offensively that isn't in it to win it.
That was a bullshit play at the end of that game.
It didn't matter.
Probably didn't change the outcome.
But if you're a, you think Jerome Ginnler would let that guy score,
Jerome Ginnler would shoot his leg off.
Yeah, no, he's not Jerome.
I get it.
So, well, that matters.
it's it's not just hey i've got the puck and i'll piss around and do whatever i want and score
if you like you want guys that want to win there's a character test too and i don't think that that was
a good sign of i agree with that and so then he comes then you're saying he they didn't play him right
away i thought he was injured this so when he missed five games in a row that opened the conditioning
i understand but he left the world juniors injured did he not and so now that he's healthy
where is he playing?
Yes, but that's because they probably were already four games in.
That's the choice they made.
But they were four games into sitting him.
They're saying,
we can sit you one more to finally,
instead of doing five games further down the road.
Yeah.
And I mean,
five games are further down the road might put you into that Olympic window,
which would be some benefits from.
Maybe they want them to reset and get away from hockey.
Maybe they want them in the gym that whole time.
I don't know.
I'm just curious what the plan is.
It's not your business to know what the plan is.
It's their business.
No, and they don't have to tell me.
I'm just curious.
like if you're a fan of this team and you said like who are some of the most important pieces for the next 10 years like Zane Prex can be very high in that list if not the top for most people because he's young and he's an extremely high skill player and so you know I'm not saying ooh they put them in the A look they hate him no but they could have played him in the NHL at that point what is it and I'm just curious because I try and speak your language and we've worked together a long time and generally it feels like you know
you're a huge proponent of the American hockey league and letting them cook and letting your prospects come along.
But you are the end, you're the complete opposite with this guy.
You want him in.
You want him power play.
You want him big minutes.
You want him.
No,
he's played,
let me finish.
He's played 11 fucking games.
Yeah.
And has been injured and has been,
he's proven to be putting himself in harm's way.
Yeah.
At what point do you look at and say,
okay, well, we need to be.
smart with this player. Let's send it with it. It's a conditioning extent.
Send up to the American hockey league, which generally, that's great move. That,
that, that, that would be a smart thing. He's 19. He's a kid. Send him there. It just feels
like with this guy. It's backwards for me. It's backwards for you. And,
and, and you are like, you're taking this. Usually it's big picture. Yeah. To look at 11 games,
say he hasn't, they haven't done this and the coaches, like, holy cow. So you have one conditioning
stint you have one bullet to use they've used it now that's that's the only different part because
if he had the ability to play in the american league all year i'd be thrilled with that um why would you need to
keep what the bullet why would you need to keep this conditioning this is why i personally am curious
of what the plan is when this condition is done what do you think it would be well i hope it's not
in the rafters more than playing that's my concern you're just that will be dictated by his
ability to perform.
Yeah, in the system that, yeah.
What do you mean?
Yeah, you can't just throw a kid to the, I'm, but you know how I feel.
Dougie Hamilton came here and I'm like, why end up, would you trade for this guy
and play him 14 minutes?
It's stupid.
Play him, plan, plan.
I'm all for play.
Yeah.
But I'm also for.
And his play was also indicative of a guy that needed more minutes when Dougie came in.
And that's just, that's the point I'm saying is, you have to be good enough to play.
You have to earn.
it too.
You can't, if he's,
if he's down at the dome moping around,
pout and I have no clue.
But I may play him,
but he's got to be able to do it.
And that's what I keep saying is,
they see more,
they see practice habits,
they see attitude.
There's something that is saying,
and at the start of the year,
they're thinking playoffs.
So he's been gone for it feels like two months.
His last game was November 7th,
and he played all of his games this year, minus two in the month of October when they were the worst team in the league.
But they still felt that they were going to be a playoff team.
That's on them.
They should wear that hat.
That is a mistake and you should have played them more than.
And look, I don't probably go into the A for this whatever stint,
whether it's five games or three or whatever the time limit is.
It's just that you also could have said, let's just see what it looks like for a game here.
Yeah, but I think, I think it, I don't just, but I think the point.
But then you have to sit another five.
That's just it.
I think my assumption is he came back from the tournament and was injured.
And they were like, well, we're four games into a five game.
You have to sit for five before we can send you down.
We may as well do it now.
That would be my assumption.
If he was injured for the first 10 days and couldn't play, well,
you might as well finish it off and go to the minors.
Yeah.
And we don't know how hurt he was.
Like he clearly was self-in to play the gold medal game.
but it's also the NHL where he's been bumped around.
I just want to see when this is up.
They didn't play the gold medal game.
Sorry, the bronze medal game.
They sure didn't.
What I want to see is the conditioning stint finishes
and that it isn't like eight minutes
with a guy that doesn't make most NHL teams
and that's how he's going to be judged
because that's not what you draft him to be.
And I also don't want to say, like, to Rett's point,
here's 25 minutes your top pair,
but at least here's the guy in the power playing stuff.
like he we're going to look at this body of work and say well he hasn't earned it and it's like
the whole fucking team was brutal they went through october like who was good in october
no one they were the worst team in the league and that's the well look he didn't earn it well like
who the fuck was he playing with it was good no one and was he good he was okay but like
he definitely looked like he was adjusting into his first dozen games in the league all the above
so i just wanted i'm leery that you're in a spot after you use this conditioning stand where husk is
like he's not one of the six guys I trust the most and we're going to look at the end of the
year and say was this a lost year for Zane?
And what if it is?
That's the concern.
But what if it is?
What is the only prospect that's ever had a year where?
No, it's just not ideal.
You'd rather it not be, right?
Sure.
But so what if it is?
So it's like, did we, could you have done things differently to have it not lost or was
this just going to go this way?
I don't know.
Last year in the final game of the season against the L.A. Kings.
He played 20 minutes and 31 seconds.
Got a goal.
Had a goal.
Yeah.
I just have a hard time.
In October, when you're losing games and you can't afford mistakes,
that they didn't play the rookie who's prone to mistakes.
No, I don't have a problem.
It's not bad coaching or hard to wrap your head around.
I don't have a problem.
In February, when you're a third from the bottom,
I just feel like the situation is going to dictate a different role.
I really hope so.
Yeah, I hope that happens.
I'm just, I am, and maybe I'll, I'm just not that deep into,
I'm just surprised at the level of concern over an 11 game segment where there was injuries
that the coaching is going to hold this.
There's the problem with how he's being utilized and, oh, the coach isn't going to use him.
It really feels like kind of crazy over the top hockey market stuff.
to me.
And again, we're saying like 11, 12 games.
Like, it's not.
He was healthy to probably play about, what, 25 of them, right?
Like, they're healthy to them a ton.
It's not like it's a month that he was healthy.
It's like, I'm just, I want to be, if I'm a fan of this team,
I want to know that player development is a top priority.
Maybe that's what.
And maybe this is part of it.
Or maybe it's, oh, shoot, they're more.
obsessed with remaining competitive than actually helping this player progress and making next year
we can really take a step. And we saw Gridden and Bristavich on the power last. Yeah, great. So I,
we're there, I would think. And I, the funny thing, and it's the same. Next year, he can go to the
AHL. Yeah. And play a hundred minutes a game. Yeah. And that's not. So, so, so we want to see this
happen this year at the NHL level, even if he isn't ready for it. And he might be in the AHL. Like,
which is uned.
He might be three years away from being impactful at the NHL level.
I would like to get to the end of the year and feel like you really knew where he was at in his game.
I don't think you will.
No?
I don't think he will.
Like to know whether he needs the A or whether he's ready for the NHL.
I don't think he's ready to step in and show you that he's,
undisputably should be being used 20 minutes.
That's just my gut.
And in my gut, it's telling me that because of the way they've used them,
with the injuries the type of player he is i didn't like the what he did at world jr as good as he
was at world juniors there was think i just think that you're going to walk out of this you're
going or the rest of this year and it's like he's not a 20 minute defenseman and it's fine
and he doesn't have to be 20 and i just feel like the scrutiny is already so hard on on him
like that's just it it's like this kid's failing if he's not doesn't come in and get you
30 points throughout from now to the end of the year it's like no you're a offense
defensive defenseman and this is the NHL you're going to have to adjust and guess what you might
be in the A next year it is now an option you would love to know at the end of the year if you're like
you know what he is ready for the NHL next year or you know what he is going to need some time in the
a next year I hope they have clarity at the end of the year of where okay where's he at what
kind of training cap next year yes it's a benefit to see what he's got to offer but I don't
think it's the end of the world to just oh dear someone was here last week and had the nerve to eat
breakfast in front of us in a room full of hungry men fast during brunch hours in front of fast and to
not share food and i was going to send a text that i i felt bad we didn't get hey we didn't get a chance
there was there something we want you want to talk you want to because you came in you ate lunch
And you left before we had a chance.
Oh, he's busy guy.
When in fact, all he needed was a warm space to eat.
Oh, he was just, yeah.
He needed the couch.
Yeah, he just needed a roof.
He turned the tube on.
Yeah.
Yeah. He's just scrolling YouTube.
It's his bunk house.
Yeah.
Oh, let's finish the show.
So is that what this is?
This is guilt.
Here's the thing.
We have done fasting Mondays, everyone but Dean.
That's why we're arguing so much.
It's grumpy fucking Tuesdays.
It's grumpy Tuesdays.
Pardon my French.
So we have.
not eaten since Sunday dinner.
And apparently the good folks
at Taco Time know that it's Taco Tuesdays.
Look at this. $2
tacos every Tuesday.
Are you ready to break the fast red?
Because it is no longer
fasting Monday and we have not eaten since Sunday.
Are we actually going to eat live?
Why the hell not? I'm starving.
Spill sour cream on my shirt.
You got to.
Fine. Do you shut my mic off, Jack?
The water thing's done. You can wash as much
clothes as you need to. Oh my God.
What do we know?
What are the drinks?
We've got babies.
Food first.
Food.
Oh, these are the drinks.
Get these out of me.
We'll need those later.
So anyway,
flames lose last night and two to one.
Yeah, go ahead.
Dean,
just assuming we actually ever read.
So what do we feel?
I think what,
what's your,
okay,
let's do a,
what do you think's going to be
at the end of the year?
There you go.
Thank you.
What's per X?
My gut is we're not going to be sure
and he's going to have to come to camp next year and play.
Yeah,
I feel that's the way.
And I also feel,
that again like I said the scrutiny just really seems
unusually high with this player ordinarily if you're a first rounder it's patience
don't you'll need to rush him he's highly skilled it takes defenseman longer this whole thing
yeah yeah but right now it's he hasn't played enough this coach isn't going to put him in the
right spots it's easy who's he playing with they're it's really so go to that draft class
and look at the the deed that it doesn't it doesn't it doesn't okay why does
where he was drafted impact what he actually is.
What if he was taken first overall?
What if he was taken a hundredth overall?
Well, it's a different.
Perret is who he is.
Expectations. That's what it's the difference.
Well, you need to adjust your expectations.
Once the draft is over, it's like we always say, well,
Sam Bennett is the first, well, you can't, Michael Backland, first rounder.
The draft's old.
By now, they are who they are.
I think it's a stab at a yard.
What pick was he?
Nine.
It's like, well, if Zee's William is playing 20 minutes.
Well, it's,
you don't think no like it's just when you are evaluating how a team's performing it would be very natural
mr i love looking back at drafts to say okay like who are the other guys that could have had there
how's their trajectory going and how does this guy rate now is is development a race it's great for fans
it's great for fans but as but the team can't do that so they're not going to audit and look and say did
we pick the right game tape do they look at zeeve boyums or zane per x to decide what per rec needs
or need different players i totally like who gives a shit about the draft
Like fans can
If fans want to, no, you said it
I'm reacting to it.
You do this all the time
And you buy yourself time to backpedal
On a bad point.
Like it doesn't matter where he was drafted
For how much time
Coach Huska should be given him on a nightly basis.
Right?
Sure.
Look, I'm not saying that it,
whether Zee William's playing or not,
is the biggest deal.
But like, you do start to wonder
if this long term was the right pick, don't you?
Like how many years?
until you say, that's not, that's not the conversation.
You're talking about how much time he should be playing.
We're talking about all the above.
Like, is this a fit with player and team?
I mean, we could, yeah, we could have the,
should he have been drafted higher or lower,
should they have taken,
I mean, that's great.
But to, that is a big question.
But that isn't, do you know if he should be in the American hockey league?
Yeah, that's, that's sort of more looking at now.
I'm looking at the Oregon saying like,
is this the developmental environment that this guy needs to be in or not?
I don't know.
How's the wrong, boom.
What's in your hand?
Like, what is that?
That looks on the phone.
Like, Jesus.
