Barn Burner: Boomer & Pinder with Rhett Warrener - Zayne Parekh Might Not Have Been READY For The NHL 😬 | BB Clips
Episode Date: November 10, 2025Boomer and Rhett discuss Flames rookie Zayne Parekh and whether the team should regret keeping him in the NHL this season. After getting injured over the weekend against the Blackhawks and struggling ...to find his footing early on, it’s fair to ask — was Parekh really ready for the NHL? Because of the CHL-NHL rule, he couldn’t play in the AHL, leaving the Flames with limited options. The guys debate if Calgary made the right call or if they might regret not sending him back to junior hockey.Video Link: https://youtu.be/ttcyEGYmyUQ#nhl #nhlshorts #nhlplayoffs #nhlpredictions #nhlhockey #nhlpicks #stanleycup #stanleycupfinal #calgary #calgaryflames CHECK OUT OUR STUFF ⬇️FLAMESNATION MERCHhttps://nationgear.ca/collections/shirts/FlamesnationBARN BURNER SHORTS https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj_bcGtvvo-cW2DHEDZ6dEO5ePDmlhZc9&si=jo8iNGxT4ImhS2Y8📲 Follow us:Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fnbarnburner/X (Twitter): https://x.com/barnburnerfn?lang=en🎧 Listen on:Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/be/podcast/barn-burner-boomer-pinder-with-rhett-warrener/id1648562889Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/3Mc6Qd5U22R2zbMlQ7RxIiProducer: Jack Haverstock Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Zane Perak injured in the game against the Chicago Blackhawks.
He is on the injured reserve.
IR.
I are listed as week to week.
We discussed this about a week to 10 days ago that there were some hits that he was taking.
There was the hit against the, with the Vegas Golden Knights, Colton Sizzins caught him.
There had been two or three instances in, albeit he's played 11 games here now,
in a very short amount of time, where he'd, he'd live.
left himself maybe a little bit. I would say he's been exposed in every game. Yeah. There's been
physicality, which has had him in discomfort. This one here, a hit by Nick Falino along the wall.
Now, I read about it before I saw it. I had things going on. It took a heavy hit, a big,
massive hit from Nick Falino. That's called finishing your check. It's just not what I would,
and it's not a shot against the kid, but it's just to everybody.
but it's not a massive hit, but he took a hit. Obviously, you can see he's kind of feeling
collar bones in that area. The ACs, yeah, operation there. And cut and you know what? The head, again,
is the first, looks like it's almost the first thing that hits the glass along with everything else.
So he's taken some, he's taken some punishment. And now he is taken out of the lineup. He's got one
point. And again, it depends how do you want to be cheeky, right? It's like, oh, Zee,
William looks pretty good. This guy looks pretty good. I feel for the kid, he wants to make the
National Hockey League. He wants to play hockey. They won't let him play in the American Hockey League.
Stupid. Next year they will. So he's got to go back to the Ontario League, which,
again, for the development of the player, we're no good. He's already dominated and has,
if anything, created maybe bad habits from being able to do everything. Well, is that
I'd love to have this.
Is that better than what's happening?
Or have him here.
Have him in your,
in your greenhouse.
This is right down my wheelhouse because I'm living in this world.
What's better?
Do you play the piss out of a guy in a league that he's already played in?
Or do you,
I don't know?
Has your opinion changed?
My opinion will change if he's going to get himself injured.
Because if you're not ready physically,
and we can't determine that.
If you can't get your head up and you're not ready physically,
then that's danger, right?
So if he's going to get injured, then no, he shouldn't be here.
Now, anyone can get injured.
I was injured all the time.
And I'm like...
You're massive.
Super fit.
You're so huge.
No, but even that hit.
It's like, that was not a...
First, flames do that because that's called finishing your check.
Right.
Just a real solid thing to do when you're playing hockey.
But he wasn't crushed.
Felina just runs.
And I don't know that he
did he leave himself open there?
No,
it was sometimes it just happens.
Just happens.
That's a tough one to evaluate.
They're not going to do anything with them.
He's going to do spot duty this year.
And it is what it is.
And their approach would be,
you keep your ass in the gym and continue to,
you don't need to go through the,
the team isn't good enough that,
and you're not contributing,
that you need to go through the rigors of beating up your body
and your first NHHL season.
So come along for the ride.
We'll play every other game.
I don't care.
You could determine what you want to do with him.
Right now you could say,
okay, this is what we need to have out of him at the end of the year.
And you look forward and sit down and go,
okay, he needs actual workouts on these dates.
And it's,
the U.S. national team
that they pick down
and they play in the U.S.HL League,
they work the piss out of those guys
six days a week.
You are working out six days a week
and they don't give a shit if they win or not.
The point I'm getting at
is that junior hockey teams don't do that.
Like where he was last year, Zane Perak,
they were, I'm sure you're doing workouts,
but they're winning hockey games
and he's playing 30 minutes a night.
he's not in the gym all the time maybe this is a good year to go you're playing 40 games
here's where they are and develop a workout program development program around that this is not a
we need zane per rec to help us get in the playoff situation yeah this is a we need zane perak to
be really effing good in three years and by and the way to do that is skills continue it's got hell
of the skills that's the thing i think it's off ice get a little bigger get a little stronger
whatever their focus is nowadays.
It's not about size,
but strength and mobility.
Just do that.
I don't give a shit if he has more points and,
what's the guy's name?
Zeevian William.
Say it.
Yeah, it's not that.
Because right now it doesn't matter.
I think Minnesota's in a better situation
to try and make the playoffs than the flames are.
So take advantage of it.
Bring them along slow.
And it's a stupid effing rule.
If you want to send him to the minor for that two-week conditioning,
go ahead.
But I think your focus with this kid is,
it's not about how many points he can have for us this year.
It's when he's, I don't even think it's about next year.
Yeah.
Because I think when this year continues to go on the piss,
next year is not going to be, oh, we signed eight free agents and we're back to top 10.
So I think you have a two-year window to go from 40 to 60 games, 60 to 82,
and in that season, have him ready to go and put up a bunch of points and play the piss out of them.
Now you've got a 25 minute a night defenseman, whatever, maybe that's, but that should be the plan.
Yeah. Not get him out there every night this year. Who cares if he's going to get injured?
If he's out there and he's not getting crushed and he's contributed, plan.
And I think that's maybe where we've seen, again, we talk about Connie for this.
They see the same things we see.
They see, and they also have the benefit of knowing what's going on behind the scenes.
they know the whole story
injuries
the mental pick
the whole thing
and that's why
when he was being healthy scratch
and everyone's like
what the hell's going to get out
to play the shit I is
well I said it
you might as well play him
but if he's going to get hurt
then I disagree
yeah I just it's
I guess my opinion
has changed a little bit
because I was with you
you don't send him to the world juniors
and obviously I still don't think
you send him to the world junior
I don't know what's the benefit
of that I don't know
it's like well he could
have a taste of winning and play a bunch.
He's playing in the piece.
NHL.
This is the best league in the world.
You're not going to get better.
I don't give it.
It's not a shot at the world juniors.
I love turning the world junior.
Awesome hockey, great opportunity,
cool event.
It's not the NHL.
Yeah.
And if he's in the NHL,
he's with you.
You know what he's eating.
You know what he's doing.
You know what he's training.
What is everything.
You don't, I think nine times out of ten,
you can.
But you send him to say,
somebody else and he's now on their watch.
Who was that kid?
Well, even McAvoy last year.
Yeah, you go to the Four Nations and how's, we got to play the shit out of this guy
because gets hurt.
Well, out.
Darn, that's not great for us.
But it does change.
And I don't care about that.
You can go or not go.
You can go to the miners or not go.
I think, but I would.
And the reason that Gawney has all this knowledge is that Jesse
he listens and she tells you what we're saying.
So there.
Map out of plan, get him into gin, get him stronger,
and don't worry about how many games he's playing.
Pick a number.
40.
Great.
So where does that come in?
And I'm not coming at you.
But somewhere between play the piss out of him and just.
He has to establish himself as capable of getting the piss played out of him
and not exposing himself to injury.
and can you
I
you can go back and forth
and are you meaning it
into minors?
No,
I just send them back
or playing the piss out of them here
just because I don't disagree with you
but it's build a program
and it's less about how many games you play
it's just more about
so it's like play
some games or or play the shit out of them
yeah but he has to establish
if he's ready to have the shit played out of him
and by continuing to get blasted
he's got one point and I don't blame him
for that because this team don't score.
Yeah. I think you.
Yeah, you can have the conditioning and the skill level and all of that to play 20 a night in the NHL.
But if for whatever reason, you're taking knocks and getting injured and hit over and over,
then it's not worth it because of the year that it is.
Yes, exactly.
I think all we're saying is don't be short-sighted.
and you can play the piss out of him and he can have a hell of a year and it sets or you could say
after watching him for 11 games where are you at I think he's better than some of their defensemen but that
doesn't mean in a season like this you need to play him all the time I've said play him all
play the piss out of him because he's better but now you're like well if you're going to get
your ass wrong up every game then
It's different than these ones we've had in the past.
The Sam Bennett one was high profile and obviously that...
The person I was watching with the game, the game was yesterday was critical of that situation again.
I shouldn't even say that.
Right, but to a lesser extent, Sean Monaghan, because, you know, he played well.
But young player who entry-level deal kicked in when,
maybe in hindsight they didn't they should have gone somewhere else to play even though we lose a
little bit of all or the other side of that quote or the other side of that coin is you played
the piss out of a guy that's still on your team and didn't give him a opportunity to that's a little
different for sure but i think when you talk to some people about sam but oh they you know they shouldn't
have kept them they should have sent them down should have sent them back whatever the case may be
I don't know.
Maybe time will tell and it will come back to this and be like that.
For that season,
which was a loss season,
he ended up getting to 11 so you'd trigger year one of that.
That was a royal F up.
Absolutely royal F up.
They didn't use them and they didn't develop them.
And he was like Porek.
Well,
that's who I'm talking about now.
Okay.
I'm saying maybe down the road we view it similarly.
He didn't play anyway that year.
He got injured,
but you still triggered year one of that deal.
I don't care about.
the triggering of the because I don't it's not my job to worry about Mr.
Edwards money and how we are like that shit's good and it's not like these kids are getting
held back you know what I mean like yes there are implications but are we if Perak's
getting to where he's supposed to he's supposed to be in the Sanderson who else oh yeah just
the young elite the young elite like it's supposed to go from here to here contract-wise
It's not supposed to be, oh, well, we're not sure what he is.
We're going to bridge deal him.
Yeah.
Right?
Like, I don't think that's what they're looking at.
And I don't care.
That's too.
Yeah, I don't either.
I don't either.
And I kind of, like I say, I feel for everybody involved because it was two weeks ago,
or last week or whenever, when I sat here and I said, you don't, you're not sending them anywhere.
You did just, he's got to learn how to take a hit or he's got to learn how to avoid or we discussed this.
but now as you sit here
going back to junior
would it have been the worst thing in the world
maybe it wouldn't have been
there is no right or wrong it we will not know
Sam Bennett you brought it up
did we know he's good until he went to Florida
how many years into his career was that
so you're not going to know this by the end of this year
you won't know by the end of next year
now if you put him out if you keep him here
and he gets his bell rung again and it blows
the same shoulder out you'll be like shit
See, that's the thing for me, right?
Because it's the human side.
You've got a kid who gets injured in that.
I feel for Connie and those guys because what do you do with the player,
Perak?
Well, he's a first round.
He's a commodity for the team.
And if there's going to be success, how big a part it's going.
Then you strip that away.
Well, here's a 19-year-old who's taken some heavy hits,
who wants to be in the NHL.
His parents are, right?
I would feel bad if I...
You're on the cusp of making the league.
you want to make and then I just feel bad for,
I feel bad for Conroy because it's like,
well, now we got the kid hurt.
Did you,
you'll just question, did I make the right call?
Did we do the right thing?
Because you don't want him getting hurt.
No.
Talent wise, he deserves to be here.
But he's taken some knocks and now he's week to week.
It's like, shit.
Well, we didn't, can he,
can he hold his own skill wise?
We'll have that conversation.
Nobody wants the guy's getting hurt.
And especially here,
it wasn't even that violent a hit.
but now it's there's literal and figurative repair to be done for this kid it's it's just
tracking towards kind of a shit season for the kid when your team is horseshit that's kind of
yeah that's what it'll be but there's no right or wrong yeah because it's you're not
going to know for three years
