Empty Netters Podcast - 1. Tortorella Is a Dead Man Walking
Episode Date: October 13, 2022-Key Things to watch out for this season -Kane to leave Chicago -Matthews for the Art Ross -Gritty vs Buoy Bloodbath Follow Our Socials: https://linktr.ee/emptynetters Learn more about yo...ur ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
How jazzed you?
We are all the way back.
NHL is back tomorrow.
I do think we're going to get a little bit of blue balls here from Friday to Wednesday.
Yeah, the Prague games.
Like the Prague game is going to be a really nice taste, a special event.
Kudos NHL, good move.
But we've got to then wait all the way until Wednesday.
You have to detox.
Yeah.
We're going to let the boys detox.
We're going to go hard tomorrow.
They got to let the boys detail.
Not a lot of work is going to go hard.
hard tomorrow.
There's not a lot of work
is going to get done tomorrow.
I can't, I'm both in that state of I can't
believe the season's back and then also
I'm like, yeah, it's been forever.
Like it feels like it's like, oh shit, it's already back
but at the same time, it's a long summer
and now winter is coming.
Yeah, it does feel quick.
Like baseball gets the wrap of like, is always baseball
on now. But yeah, when every year when
preseason starts, I'm like, weren't we just in the cup?
I think we made that joke last pod where it's like the preseason highlights start
hitting Twitter and I'm like, what the fuck is this?
Are these old, is this like old game highlights or what's happening?
And then I realize, you see all those crazy numbers.
It's like number 57 on the Islanders is bolting up the ice and you're like, who is that?
What's going on right now?
You see it with the Bruins and it's all these names that I've never fucking seen before.
And I'd like to think that I'm relatively tapped in.
They're fighting for their fucking lives.
Literally these guys are fighting for their lives, and they're also in the top 0.01% of hockey players on Earth.
And I'm like, look at this bum grocery bagger who's just playing for the bees right now.
Dude, the hardest part of it is, I always, this always comes up, but I take it for granted, how hard it is to be a deep run playoff team and then just be ready to go.
Oh, dude.
You get no break.
Yeah.
Like, you think about the teams that have just been chilling.
Yeah.
I'm like, I'm ready to go, but you're the abs.
I'm like, are you kidding me?
I mean, January.
Eric Johnson is drunk as fuck still
My boy Bowen Byram
I don't think has blacked back in
Since the parade
And you're telling me that those guys
Need to be ready to lace them up next week
I would be so pissed
Yeah, no
I mean you would think that
You know a few of these guys in the organization
Just had their time with the cup
Like a month ago
Yeah
And now they're being told that they've got to play
That is savage
It does make it makes the deep run
So much more impressive
It's a third of a season
It's like a whole
You're playing a whole third of a season.
It's crazy.
It's outrageous.
It is, it's, you know, I actually remember, dude.
I remember, you know, playing sports in college.
And when you lose in the tournament or, you know, your season comes to an end, you don't make the playoffs, what have you.
There's that awful feeling of like, fuck it, A man.
We stink.
We blew it.
We lost.
And then you realize that you don't have practice tomorrow.
You can get the golf game right.
And you're like, oh, that's kind of nice.
And those guys barely got a taste of that.
Yeah.
Price to pay for a cup.
But that's, oh yeah, well worth it to have your name matched in there.
So we've got the season starting here, and we had to discuss not season preview at things.
We're not going to break down the conferences for you guys.
We're not going to give you any teams to look at.
We wanted to look more at what do you have your eyes on this season?
Yeah.
Because I've got a few things.
What are you excited about?
Do things to look for.
We're going to go down a couple of things to be on the lookout for this season.
And I think it's your turn to lead the way.
Oh, damn, I didn't even think about that.
Is that right?
Yeah, actually.
What did we just discussed?
We did love hate.
We did love hate.
And I think you went first.
I think that's right.
And I think I did go first.
I have to admit, I was hoping you were going to go first.
But here we go.
All right, I'll start.
Yeah, and like you said, Dan, I think this is interesting because it can be kind of a blend of predictions or just random stuff that you think might happen this year that you're fired up.
I've got few predictions, I think.
Okay.
Actually, that's not true.
They're all predictions, but I'm not doing necessarily typical NHL season predictions.
I'm giving you guys the B-side tracks today.
Things to look out for them.
Okay, yeah, yeah.
All right.
So I'm actually going to start here because this is the only one I have that's like really, really hockey, hockey, hockey, hockey.
Yeah.
I think that this year the champ goes down and Connor McDavid does not win the Art Ross.
Okay.
who do you think I got on the throne, sitting the iron throne?
Based on your hard on for him, I would guess that you have Jack Eichel winning the Art Ross this year.
Jack Eichael and Kyle Conner tie for 190 points.
It's unbelievable.
Oh, dude, I have a crazy question for you, by the way.
Yeah.
Because I was looking this up.
What do you think, do you think there's ever been a tie for most points in the league for the Art Ross?
Yeah, I'm sure there has.
But you're about to tell me that there never has?
No, there has three times ever.
Wait, actually, hold on.
Yep.
Emily, is your mic on?
I can hear everything that's going on out there, and it's not distracting.
But it's just interesting.
Wait, let me try to fix this.
I think I know the issue.
What a great way to introduce producer Emily.
You agree.
Doing great.
New member of the team, producer Emily, was in here a second ago.
We asked her if she could name a single NHL player.
She did.
But say to tell you who it was.
It was Matt Barzel, which was genuinely the most surprising thing I've ever heard.
heard in my life. That was the name. When that gets said, you just assume Crosby or a Vegkin,
which is interesting now, because those guys are in their mid-30s and they're still the,
you ask, and not necessarily biggest hockey fan, name a player.
Yeah. Those are the guys that are still being said.
Props to them. Yeah. But huge ego boost from Maddie B.
Yeah. Everything sounds great now. All right. Okay. So there have been three ties ever in 61, 79, and 94.
Okay. Okay. So I was right. There have been three ties.
Okay.
What do you think is the tie break?
Because someone has to win the Art Ross.
They don't award a co-art Ross.
What do you think is the tiebreaker if they're like, you two have the same amount of points?
Plus minus.
No.
And it's not goals?
Okay.
First tiebreaker is most goals.
So whichever guy has the most goals.
Second tiebreaker is the player would be fewer amount of games.
So like if you and I each had 100 points but you played 82 and I played 70.
Oh, that should be the first.
I get it because I'm like, full of my head.
That should definitely be the first.
Third tiebreaker is not a assist.
It's never made.
it past one, by the way. And those three ties, someone had more goals. It was like bread hole,
yager, whatever, you know. Yeah. The third tiebreaker is whoever scored first that year.
That's pretty fucking sick. I think that it's, yeah, dude, first to market. That is such a,
you know, you got on it early and often. You get one tuck solidifying the art.
What a bizarre, arbitrary thing to be a tiebreaker. I honestly, I love it. I gasped. That is such a weird
move and I respect the shit out of it.
Incredible. Okay, so dude, check
this out. Yeah, okay, you got not Connor
and surprisingly not Jack Eichel
or High Eichel.
Austin Matthews.
Oh, don't, I mean, okay. Going off
I just, that's such a,
you're acting like you're making this big statement.
What was he third last year?
No, no, no, he was not. He wasn't even top five,
but only because people went nuclear
last year. Yeah, that's true. But. Yeah, like Hubertoe,
I bet was top five. He was two. Yeah.
Hubertoe was over dry style.
Yes.
99% sure.
But I'm telling you, dude, this is the year it all goes off.
McDavid's time is done.
Okay.
It's over.
I'm sick and tired of hearing about what a great hockey player, Connor McDavid is.
Screw him.
What's funny is you're acting like Connor McDavid's entering the twilight of his career.
I think he's 25 years old.
And you're like, yeah, it's, he's had a couple of good runs here.
But, you know, he's getting a little long in the tooth.
I don't think he's a lot of miles.
on those legs. I mean, I would...
Wait, listen, if we looked at 10 years, he might win nine.
I, you're the worst.
I keep doing this the whole time.
I would not be surprised if McDavid scores 140 points this year.
Dude, okay.
You know what I actually do?
I really am hopeful for Connor.
I want to see Connor score 50 goals this year.
Yes.
I mean, listen, dude, if you're putting up points, you're putting up points.
He is the most valuable player in the league.
I would love to see him absolutely like the lamp this season.
Dude, score 50 goals.
and just...
That would be sick.
He obviously has that in his bag
and it'll happen,
but I don't think it's happening this year.
And I honestly,
it's not even a knock on him.
I just think they're going to get better scoring this year.
Like, Kane's going to have a ton of points.
I just thought he's going to have a monster year.
I just don't think...
I think he's going to benefit the Oilers overall
for Connor to not go for 120.
Yeah, but maybe that over...
Oh, okay, so I see you.
The points are going to be more spread out.
Yeah, like he's got a great year.
I think as a, that's a good call.
I think as a result of that,
there might be a situation
where we do see him score 50.
This might be his year
where everyone was like, Sid, you can't score goals.
And he was like, hold this and then scored 50.
Yeah, right, he did.
So, all right.
So, that's not bad.
Connor's falling off, falling off the throne.
Not far.
Not far, but he's moving down a little bit.
That's not bad.
All right, my first thing to look out for this year is the Detroit Red Wings.
Oh, okay.
Go on.
And they're sick and their number one jersey in the league.
They're number one jersey in the league.
So they're already, they look good.
So which means they feel good, which means they're going to play good.
Listen, the East is stacked.
It's actually comical when you go through.
The East is pretty...
It's stacked.
When you go through the East, the teams are out of control.
However, I feel like, listen, off the top of my head,
I feel like most people would say the top eight in the East are the Leafs,
the Panthers, the Rangers, the Bruins, the Penguins,
Tampa.
Tampa, yep, thank you.
Carolina.
Oh, yeah.
Caps, maybe.
And the Caps, and the Caps.
I'm not going to name names,
but I just think there might be a few teams in there
that maybe aren't going to have the year
that everyone thinks.
Okay.
You know, Caps are getting a little old.
I just said I'm not going to name names,
and then I immediately named the name.
And injured.
Nikki Baxter is going to miss the whole.
People are hurt.
Some teams are getting old,
and you know who's not getting old?
The Detroit Red Wings.
They're getting young.
They're Benjamin Buttoning.
They are Benjamin Buttoning.
Are the wings, Benjamin Button?
They might be, dude.
The wings are getting younger.
You know why?
Because of the Eiser plan.
If you sit around and you ask yourself,
how did the Tampa Bay Lightning get so good for this long stretch?
The answer is Steve Eisenman.
They're still riding off the mojo of Steve Eisenman.
He's now back at home in Detroit.
And, ho-hum, they've got players like Mo Cider.
They've got players like Lucas Raymond.
They've got players like Philip Zadina, Edvinson,
19 years old, another stud defenseman.
Hronick's going to have a huge year.
They just added Perron, cop, Ben Chirot, Huso and Net.
I'm just saying, I'm not calling my shot that Detroit's making the playoffs this year.
But they are going to win the cup.
But don't be surprised when Dylan Larkin is lifting the Stanley Cup over his head.
The Detroit Red Wings, the Is your plan is coming full circle.
They've got some, listen, all those players that they added, Huso and net is huge.
Ron is a cup winner.
He's one of the most underrated guys in the league, according to you.
Cop is an unbelievable winger.
They are adding depth to go with their already great players in Dylan Larkin, Bertuzi,
Hronic, obviously Lucas Raymond Mosider.
I'm just saying the Detroit Red Wings should not be slept on this year.
Look for it and look for it often.
Look for it early and often.
The Izer plan is coming together.
He has a good business model.
He sure does.
I'll tell you what.
that guy knows how to find players.
He has a good business model.
He goes like this.
Identify elite talent.
Isn't it?
I think it stops at that too.
Like Steve Eisenman shows up and people go,
okay, who do you want to target?
And he goes, what do you think about this?
Good players, really good players.
Get good players.
And then they get them.
There's an unbelievable story where when Eisenman was on the Red Wings,
one of their, I think their GM came up to him and said,
hey, we're looking at Sergei Fedorov.
You just played him in the Olympics.
What do you think about him?
And Izerman went, he's better than me.
That's an awesome story.
And they went, well, okay.
And then signed him, and then ho-hum cups galore.
So pouring into Detroit.
Wow.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I love the guy.
Look for the wings early and often.
Okay, great.
And I'm telling you, all of you, if your team's playing the wings, don't roll over.
Don't go.
Oh, yeah, no.
I'm not going to watch this one.
Yeah.
You're probably going to lose.
Yeah.
Because the Detroit Red Wings are real, and they're here.
I love, not.
I wouldn't, when Detroit's good, I like the league.
I like the league.
Oh, yeah.
The league is better when Detroit is good.
When there's playoff hockey.
The Joe is bob.
And the Joe.
Hockey is better.
Okay, great.
Great job.
Okay, let's, I'll kind of stay with the Eisenman theme here and move right over to Tampa.
Okay.
Oh, wow.
Okay.
Tampa is.
you know, coming off three straight cup appearance.
You want to talk about short summers.
Three straight cup appearances.
Oh, my gosh.
Those guys have no days off.
Oh, my God, dude.
Except for Clorn.
He was just on a jet ski at all times.
Doc talk.
Yeah.
What a guy.
Doc talk.
What a guy.
Just an absolute beauty.
So here's the thing.
I've seen a lot of predictions about, oh, Tampa, this is the year they fall off.
I've seen a lot of predictions.
I'm like, no, no.
Tampa's still.
So wrong.
You know, right.
Right.
Exactly.
I think they're going to be good.
But here's the thing.
I want to talk about Nikita Kutraff real quick.
that bearded bastard
What a guy
He's a psychopath
And he's an absolute elite score
He is
And I want to remind everybody
That the last time you played a full season
He had a hundred and twenty eight points
Which is like more than anyone's had in two decades
I was going to say do people forget that
Everyone, everyone losing their mind about
Washed up Conrad David
Like that old bag
That afterthought
Conor McDavid
And how monster of a season he had last year
He didn't touch Kucheroff seasons two years ago
So Kooch is
That's tough.
Ready to go.
And he's going to get, he's, people, I've seen, I was looking at some fantasy stuff.
And I'm seeing people be like, Kooch's going to go over 130.
You know, he's going to get the first pick.
So I want everybody pencil this in right here.
So you're telling us to look out for Kuch.
I'm telling you, before Thanksgiving, Kuturoff will have ripped his quad off his body and we'll miss minimum 45 games this year.
Minimum.
Look.
Okay.
So we're not, this is not a good lookout for Kuch.
Oh, no, no, no.
I'm sorry.
Do you, do you, do you, all right, hold on.
Here's the question.
Do you think Kucharov came in and went full Russian, got himself two cups,
and the moment he was sucking down those Budlights dancing on the Montreal Canadiens' grave,
he went like this?
I'm done, dude.
Yeah.
Certainly, certainly for 82 game regular seasons.
So you don't think Kuch makes it to Thanksgiving.
But then we'll be back for the playoffs.
And ready to rock.
We'll probably lead the playoffs in scoring.
They'll probably make a sick person.
He's a sick, sick person.
But I'm telling you, and here's what I can't predict you.
And I do not know which quat.
But I will tell you that one of his.
One of his quads will be ripped off his body.
What was his last injury?
I can't remember.
I thought it was in knee.
Are you just randomly thrown out a quad?
Oh, yeah, he's going to rip his quad off his body.
This is what I'm telling you.
And again, I do not, for the record, I do not know which quad.
What I'm telling you.
Listen, I respect.
Be ripped off his body.
I respect you not calling the shot on which quad.
In a cooler until June, and then he will return for the playoffs.
I got to say, having presumably no history of quad injury,
just denouncing it's going to be a quad.
Like a hammy makes sense to me.
I mean, like a hammy injury is very calm.
I will say the little dance that you're going to get to do
if Cooch goes down with an injury before.
November 20th.
It's going to be really frustrated.
And tease and peas to everyone that took him really early in fantasy drafts this weekend.
I'm sorry.
But this is the way the cookie crumbles.
You knew what you were getting.
And he, listen, I love the guy.
I'm never rooting for injuries ever.
But.
Okay.
But.
All right.
Getting off players, things we got to look.
look for. This is a new development in the NHL, and I feel like it's getting glossed over as just
like a funny little thing that's going on, but it's much bigger than that, and I need people
to be aware, and I need people to be on the lookout for it. Something that I'm looking for this
season is a full-on buoy versus gritty showdown. Oh, okay. Like, I think Seattle made a choice.
They sure did. We are all in life. What do you think about that choice? I'm going to tell you
right now.
Please.
In life, we are faced with decisions constantly.
At every turn.
Decision trees everywhere we look.
The Seattle Cracken became a team.
They had a lot of decisions to make.
They had to name their team.
They had to pick a color scheme.
They had to make trash jerseys.
They had to come up with jerseys that would coincidentally become in the top ten jerseys
in the league.
They then had to select an entire team.
Also horrific.
And people...
Shit.
And people thought to themselves,
though these are all the most that's it they've made all the decisions well next up was a mascot
yeah and they unveiled that mascot this past week his name is booie and he's a literal troll
he is a i believe there is a giant statue of a troll in seattle somewhere by the sea and that is
what booey's like the son of this statue or something like that i didn't care to do research on it
yeah because i'm still focused on buoys dangly anchor earring and removable tooth yep
but Seattle not only made a choice of that being their mascot,
they made the choice of going full clown mascot,
which Philly did.
And I'd be,
it played.
It played big.
My next point was out to be,
you'd be hard-pressed to ask any NHL fan
who is the most popular mascot in the league and not say Gritty.
Gritty stole the hearts of every,
of millions.
Every grit-loving American and grit-loving hockey fan.
who packs his lunch pail,
exactly,
throws their hard hat on.
And is still on this side of the dirt.
And kisses their ugly spouse
on the way out to work.
It loves Gritty.
I'm telling you,
Gritty is not going to take this lying down.
If you think that mascot
is not sitting in a broom closet somewhere,
plotting his destruction of Bowie,
you're nuts.
And Bowie, if you're not aware of that,
you've got a dark, dark season ahead of you.
I'm telling you.
you gritty's social media gritty's literal presence at the games i didn't even think about that i'm
pretty sure they've got like a december game on the books or something like that actually i'm mad you
took this one damn because i i was going to flag something like this it is february 12th 2023 10 a m pacific
okay so what one eastern cracking at flyers in gritty's house yeah like booie is going to show up in philly
they'll bring him yeah yeah well and if if they don't if buoy doesn't show you've lost your
cow. Yeah, yeah, you ran from the fight. Yeah. So I'm just saying I anticipate a big, big
rivalry between these two. And Gritty's going to drive the bus. I think Gritty starts this war.
But if Bui's not ready for it, it's going to be, that anchor earring is going to get ripped
right out of his head. He's going to have more than one removable tooth by the end of this
if Bui's not ready for a fight. And I'm just saying, I think it's good for the league. I think
it's good for exposure. I think it's good social media presence to have these two maps.
Mascots having like a blood feud, hopefully for years to go.
And I hope it's not funny.
Yeah, I hope it's legitimately not funny.
The people in the costume are getting hurt.
Yeah, yeah.
And I think that when you apply for the job, people go like this, are you prepared, like, you were applying.
Because do you think that there's one mascot or multiple people doing the mascot job?
I like to think it's one.
And I like to think it's like a high, relatively high paying job.
And it's like, listen, you're going to be on the road.
You're going to be doing a lot of stuff.
When you apply for the job of Bowie.
I think
your requirement is going to have to be,
are you prepared to get in physical altercations with gritty?
And it better be yes.
And if answers no,
need not apply.
Yeah, don't show up for the interview.
Need not apply.
I genuinely want it to be a blood feud that is not funny.
I want people,
I want the people of Philly and the people of Seattle
to all of a sudden realize that they hate each other.
And it's because of these two stupid fucking looking mascots
that have completely taken over the popularity contest
in the NHL mascot department.
Yeah.
Three things for you.
One, do you see a future of the league
where you go to a game,
you bring your family, you buy the tickets,
you go to the game, you buy some concessions, some snacks,
you watch a great 60-minute hockey game?
Yeah.
And then a wrestling ring comes down
and the two mascots have like a legitimate
WWE level, production level fight.
And the fans get to stay for that too.
A hundred percent.
Me too.
I think it would be a better intermission.
Like between periods.
You could do a floating ring so the Zamboni can clean the ice and just have it happen to that.
Or even an aerial fight.
Have them on strings and just absolutely go to town, fist a cuffs in the middle of the air.
Some global guts type shit.
Here's the thing.
And I'll tell you this.
If I'm a Kraken fan or if I'm a Flyers fan and I'm going out to not buy a jersey because that's for absolute.
donkeys. And people that have the Ikel under. Yeah. If I'm buying a jersey tea, I'm getting a
gritty shirt if I'm a Flyers fan. And I'm getting a booie shirt if I'm a, okay. I think that's a
funny ass shirt. That is a funny shirt. And you're a fan. You're a fan fan. I think if you're rocking
like that. Yes. I feel like you'd make fun of somebody if you saw them in a gritty shirt.
I do completely. If I saw someone walking down the street in a Flyers jersey tea,
my first thought would be. Thank God it's not a jersey. Condolence. Thank God it's not a jersey.
First thought is, thank God, that adult human being is not.
wearing a hockey jersey out in public.
With his own name.
Yes.
Yeah.
Second thought would be, condolences, thoughts and prayers to you're a Flyers fan.
Third thought would be, I wonder who is on the back.
And when they walked by and I saw Gritty, I don't know what number Gritty wears.
Probably double zhears.
Is it double goose?
I would audibly laugh.
I'd be like, that's fucking sick.
That's a sick shirt.
Second thing is, to stay on Nautical Theme, I completely agree with you that picking this mascot was a shot across
the bow at Philly and in terms of like oh we're getting in the crazy it was a choice it was a choice
what and like you said I get it because that played and they're going for the exposure and the social
media play yeah what bad luck that the city that you're now up against is Philly you know like
it'd be one thing oh dude if like the Minnesota Wild had like a crazy like swamp creature mascot
they're the wild and like he had the gritty thing and now the crack and get one I think they'd almost
be friends it's like oh the Wilds creature and the Seattle creature but yeah
But it's fucking Philly.
They would do funny things.
And now they're going to have some trash bag, Philly fan,
beating the shit out of Bui in the back alley behind the cracked end.
It had to be Philly.
It had to be Philly.
But again, Seattle, you chose this, dude.
In fact, I said it's going to be Gritty who started the war.
Seattle started this war.
It's a shot across the foul.
If you think that you can introduce Bowie to the NHL and have Gritty not be aware of it,
you are outside your mind.
And last thing on this, Dan,
The flyers are, I don't know what a flyer is.
I probably should, but like...
Probably has some historical...
I'm sure it does, right?
And I'm saying that, like, it's bad.
I think those are sick.
They're sick, yeah, yeah.
But I'm just saying, like, that...
Like, you've seen in baseball, like, the Red Sox created, like, Wally, the Green Monster.
Because you're like, well, the Red So I'm not going to have, like, a red sock running around as our mascot.
Point being the Flyers, I get kind of had some creative liberty here to be like, yeah, we're going to do whatever.
Yeah.
But, like, the Arizona Coyotes couldn't be like...
It's gritty.
because I'm like, we're the coyotes.
What are you talking about here?
Yeah, like if the Bruins have any mascot other than a bear,
you're kind of like, what's happening?
So it's strange to me that Seattle,
and maybe this is like the statue.
They got a statue.
But I'm like, your team name is the Cracken,
and the Cracken is like a pretty sick thing.
Okay.
Like, how is this not like a sweet Cracken named Bowie?
I challenge you, what would a Squid,
a mythical monstrous squid mascot look like?
You could make it look like a freak,
like make a crazy looking troll-looking squid thing.
and just say it's a cracking instead of a troll.
But you didn't give me a defendant of answer there.
I think there's like some suction things in there.
No, but you listen.
Or maybe on his arms.
Kids love a mascot.
You can't have a scary mask.
He's like he's like the pirates too.
Pirates the Caribbean.
You want a mascot to look like Davy Jones from Pirates of Caribbean.
That would scare the shit out of people.
That's what Gritty does.
No, people love Gritty.
I'm sure Gritty scares some little kids of his big eyes.
I'll tell you what.
Yeah.
So anyway, interesting choice on the.
The troll, elite name, but interesting to-a.
Great name, boo.
On the troll.
Don't know how I feel about that.
Well, yeah, I'm telling you, that's going to be one of the great rivalries of this season.
I'm excited.
Hopefully years to come.
Yeah.
Okay, so I'm on three.
Okay, my number three, you're actually kind of giving me, like, great segways.
You walk me right into Tampa, and you're walking me right into Philly right now.
What's not a good way to use a segue is.
Telling everyone, it's a great segue.
Yeah, and stumble your way through it.
Let me take that again.
My number three is about the Philadelphia Flyers.
Holy shit.
Look at that.
We were just talking about.
gritty, how about that?
Keep your eyes on torts getting fired.
And listen, again, I'm not rude for injuries.
I'm not rooting for people to lose their livelihood.
We don't like to talk about people's livelihood around here.
The flyers fucking suck.
Oh, they are.
She is going to, this is going to be the most tumultuous breakup of all time.
They are horrific.
Yeah.
They're a bad.
It's horrible.
Connect me is like their best player.
He had like 50 points last year.
Dude, they...
Which, I mean, well, Drew was their best player.
Okay, and had a lot of points.
But yeah, other than that.
And he's...
But he ain't on the team anymore.
Dude, they are in big trouble.
There is going to be at least one altercation
between Torts and Tony D'Angelo that goes viral on the internet.
Oh, my gosh.
Like, dude, at least one.
I...
They might throw hands at practice.
I was going to say, I fully anticipate torts...
being Tony DeAngelo's great bugaboo.
Like, he's going to send DeAngelo spiraling off.
Tony DeAngelo is going to go full Antonio Brown because of John Tortorella.
Yeah.
Like, they're going to, like, I can't think of two people who are less fit to have a working
relationship than John Tororella and Tony DeAngelo.
Dude, like, I think that they brought him in, like, they're in a re-bole.
They're actually kind of in a weird spot, right?
Because they're, they're, like, rebuilding, but they haven't completely ripped it up.
But they're going to be bad, bad, bad, this year.
Yeah.
And like, they're like, oh, we just need.
to kind of like get us through this like tough grinder nose time.
I'm like, dude, this is going to implode.
Oh, for sure.
Absolutely implode in your face.
I'm not going to give a date like I did for Kutraff, but I will be stunned if he makes
it through this season.
I completely agree.
And also what you just said is such bizarre logic of Philly being like, yeah, we need
torts to get us through this.
And I'm like, what?
Torts, it feels like he knows this is coming.
Yeah.
He had an interview where he goes, I mean, this is my last coaching job.
You know, whatever happens, however long I last, I'm not coaching after this.
And I'm like, I'm just listening to that going, so you know you're getting fire.
He's going scorched earth motherfucker on everybody this entire season.
Zero expectations of this lasting long at all.
I do.
I would love to see a full Philadelphia Flyers meltdown this season, midseason.
In inevitable.
Before the holidays, before the All-Star break.
Just like, Torts hates everyone on the team.
Every post-game press conference is just shitting on everyone.
I would love to see that completely catch fire.
Dude, think about how that guy was on cup contending teams
when he was like really like trying to get the boys going.
It's like making a run with the rags.
The only thing that I think could ever save this Flyers team
is they get on this insane like 18 and 4 start or something
and they're like, wait, like total mentality shift in the locker room here.
But I don't see that happen.
They're going to go 4 and 18.
They are very bad.
They are in deep trouble.
And the absolute bloodbathes.
that he is going to leave in his wake,
I cannot wait to witness.
I genuinely think there could be a hellscape left behind.
If he gets fired,
if all goes poorly,
like it very possibly could,
if he gets fired and just the tension
between the players,
him, management, what have you,
probably each other.
Yep.
When they turn around and look at the battlefield left behind,
I want Flyers fans,
the good people of Philly,
yep,
And their fans and the players to be like, who, holy shit.
That was nuts.
That was an insane move by us.
There's always a few.
Chris, that's a fucking awesome, awesome thing to look out for.
Look out for Philly exploding this season.
It's like there's always preseason stuff of like, you know, this coach on the hot seat,
this GM on the hot seat, you know, going into years without contracts.
And I haven't seen a peep about torts.
And I'm like, this is the most sure thing.
No one being like, absolute destruction.
Billy might be in a pretty weird spot this season.
Like, you brought in Tortorella to come rip the heads off everyone on a bad team, dude.
Do you think he's going to be having fun?
That guy with nothing to lose is the most dangerous thing I've ever heard of.
It's a Stephen King villain, and he's going to leave his mark on that great guy.
Torts could go full Joker this season.
Torts could go full psychopath who just wants to watch the world burn.
And just, as he said, this is his last coaching job.
One last ride.
Yeah.
Where he blows up the ship while he jumps over.
Yeah.
There is a chance.
Kill Tony D'Angelo.
Man.
Torts.
Fagged out of Philly and Huff.
Relationship is just so, so remarkable.
Very excited for Torts to be fired this show.
Oh, my gosh.
That's really good.
Okay.
That's really good.
All right.
Speaking of new additions, new coaches, new players.
Look at that.
Good segue.
Next thing I want people to look out for,
because I feel like these teams are being talked about a lot,
obviously because of a very, very blockbuster trade.
Look for the Calgary Flames to be better than the Florida Panthers this year.
Oh, wow.
I think there's a lot of talk about Calgary was supposed to be great this season.
They were, but a lot of people had, you know, high expectations for the flames,
big money, Sutter's at the helm, they've got unreal players,
Matthew Kachuk coming into his own.
Johnny Goddrow,
Stud, entering free agency,
what's he going to do?
There's a lot of talk around the flames.
Then Sutter had his amazing press conference
where he was talking about
not wanting to play Colorado,
said that's going to be a waste of eight days.
He was right.
That was really funny.
It was really funny.
And then they lost the Battle of Alberta.
Then they lost Johnny Goddrow.
Then Matthew Kachuk informed them
that he was not returning.
And everyone's going,
they need not apply.
the ship is sinking.
Yep.
But what do they do?
First of all,
kind of an untalked about thing.
They bring back Zadorov.
Huge,
you know, puck-eating defenseman,
absolute mutant.
I think he's six, seven.
Bring him back.
Which was a big ad.
People thought he was Gonzo.
They still have the second
most underrated player in the league.
Wrong.
And an absolute stud.
But Lindholm is a stud.
Yep.
They flip Kachuk.
to Florida for Huberto and McKenzie Weigar.
You now have a certified, I mean, he was either two or three.
I think he was two, dude.
In points last season.
He's 15 points.
Is now on your team and is your first line center.
You have a certified top four D man joining an already pretty strong defensive core.
You have Markstrom and Nett, who is another good, good stud of a person, a
of a human being and a phenomenal goalie.
And then in the dark of night, when everyone's still kind of weighing, they're like,
oh, yeah, I mean, sure, they got Huberto and Wegar, but, you know, they lost Kachuk.
Kach is, you know, he only had a dozen or so points less than Huberto, and he's much,
much younger, and you lost Johnny Godreau.
Well, they added Nazim Kodry, who is a certified two center in the league, just one
a cup is a stud as well. And I just think that Calgary is going to have a better year. I think Florida,
you know, you got Jeru at the deadline, but then he left. He's in Ottawa now. You got Kachuk. He's
going to be a great player. But, you know, you lost Uygar. I think Uygar. I think Uyghur is going to be
a bigger loss than they think. You lost Hubertoe. Yes, you have Kach, but like, Huberdo was a
leader as well in that locker room for a long time. So I just think Calgary is going to be way, way
hotter and I think bigger than that, they, I think they're pissed. I think they've got bulletin board
material. I think Calgary is hearing all the shit talk about like, oh, you can't hold on to your players,
you can't hold on to Godreau, you can't hold on to Cichuk. Kach's a guy you drafted, a guy that
your GM has a great relationship with, brought him in, nurtured him up to an 100-point season,
and he won't even stay. He's informing you beforehand being like, dude, just get rid of me.
But then you go out and you trade for two monster players who both signed fat,
tickets to stay in Calgary and then you sign Cadry.
I think Calgary's pissed.
Can I tell you?
Look for Calgary to have a better year than the cats.
Can I tell you why this is the dumbest thing you've ever said?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Dude, please.
I love that argument and I really think that their haul.
When that trade happened live, I was like, holy fucking overpay.
You guys are out of control.
Yeah.
But then from like the Florida POV?
Yeah, yeah.
And then I calmed down because I was like, I don't know, Maddie's so good.
but the more I think about it, I was like,
ah, they did get some big, big pieces for a dude that was going to walk.
Yeah, you know, which is like you have no leverage there.
So I think the flames did a ton.
But my issue with it is the Pacific is low-key lit now.
Like, Vegas is good.
Vancouver is good.
The kings are a legit problem now.
Like they are on the up.
Yes, they are.
They're on the up.
They're not a problem.
Yes, they are.
Also, did you just say Vancouver is good?
They didn't make the playoffs.
They're good, dude.
I'm telling you.
Yeah.
We talked about how are they not better,
but they're not good.
They're not someone that the flames are worried about.
In terms of losing points throughout the year,
I'm not saying they're going to be better than the flames.
I'm just saying these aren't easy rollover wins in your division.
The Oilers got a goalie now.
Like there's a lot of speed.
They got the goalie that could not get Toronto a first round win.
He made an off target.
What a great goalie.
Good call, Chris.
It's going to be an upgrade.
So I think there's going to be a lot of issues for Calgary to hit the point
totals they hit last year because they have less easy wins.
And, dude, Florida was a wagon.
They were a wagon. That is not easy to do. Look at every, pretty much every president
trophy winning team. They don't do it again the next year. It's very rare. They regressed. They're not going to
win the president's trophy, but I just think they're going to be. Absolutely shit pumped in the
playoffs. They are not real. The Florida Panthers are not real. Until they make their across-the-board
goal song, who let the dogs out, the Florida Panthers are not a real team.
Listen, they forgot how to score on the playoffs. That's not going to happen in the regular
You know what the Florida Panthers are? They're the San Jose sharks of the early 2000s and 2010. They're
They're a perennial, a hundred point team.
You're so good.
You get to the playoffs and you fucking lose.
I kind of agree, Dan, but I'm saying they're going to have more regular season points.
So again, like I said, I don't think, like if the flames have more regular season points in the Panthers or if they go further in the playoffs, I win both ways.
But that goes in the reverse, too.
Like if the Flames have way more points in the Panthers, but the Panthers go further in the playoffs, I lose.
You get, so you're just going to loophole your way out of all this.
I'm loophole.
I'm loopholing, baby.
Full loophole.
Can I, and should I tell you why you're wrong?
Or do we know?
You can try.
You can try.
Okay.
So here's the thing.
You are running into a Pacific problem, dude.
There are good teams in the Pacific.
The flames aren't, I don't have these cakewalks on the way to 100 points.
Who said, the Panthers aren't in a, they're not in a cakewalk either.
I know.
They'll rack up points.
They are a wagon, dude.
You're acting like the flames weren't a wagon last year.
The flames were an amazing team in the West last year.
They were, but their problem is other teams got better.
So did they.
Yeah, but the teams in their division are a problem, dude.
Vegas, very good.
Vegas is trending down.
No.
Keep going, idiot.
Vancouver.
Missed the playoffs.
Come on the up.
Yeah, great.
The Kings, real problem now.
Real problem.
They're not a problem.
The Kings are good, but they're not a problem.
Real problem in L.A.
Oilers got a goalie.
Oh, the one that the Toronto Maple Leafs couldn't make it out of the first round again with?
Listen, he had a bad playoff.
Yeah, totally.
Dude, he was...
You know, it's a good fact for you.
He was out of his mind.
A good fact of you there is in November.
Freddie Anderson was an absolute piece of shit in Toronto and then is unreal in Carolina.
Yeah, right?
So that's actually a decent point.
Yeah.
So Campbell's going to be incredible.
So you're a lot of problems there.
And then Florida, like 122 points.
They're going to regress.
They're not going to win the present trophy again, but they're going to...
No way, yeah.
You're going to have a monster year.
And Maddie T, Maddie Kachuk, Maddie Tripod, between the legs.
Do you like that nickname?
I just made up on the fly there, Maddie Tripod.
I hate to admit that I do.
We like that.
We like that.
That's a pretty good fucking...
Maddie Tripod's going to have a monster year.
I just don't see how they don't have more regular season points.
I will concede the playoffs is a very real possibility, but I want some butts if the Panthers
have more regular season points.
The Flames to have a better year than the Panthers.
Okay.
We're moving on.
We're moving on.
All right, I'm going to get torched on this next one.
Okay.
And I stand by it, but I'm just going to get torched on it in the comments, and that's fine.
But...
Am I going to torch you?
No, you are going to love this, Dan.
You're going to love it.
You're going to agree completely.
That doesn't sound promising, but go on.
Okay.
This coming season, check this out.
For the first time ever, the top three goalies this year in wins, not goals against, not save
percentage.
Top three goalies in wins, all Americans.
So fucking wrong.
What do you think about that?
I can't even believe.
Dude, do you even know who they are?
Are you that dumb?
I think I could guess.
Well, yeah, I could guess a couple of them.
I'm going to say I'm almost certain that one of them in there is an absolute Homer pick,
and you're a piece of shit for it.
No, no, no, no, no.
Because this, you know what's funny?
You know what's funny?
You'll be lucky to get one American in top three wins.
Here's the thing.
And that's not to talk shit about American goalies in the league.
They're great.
The winds are going down.
Winters are going down.
The leader of this last year had, I want to say, 37.
And it was like Vasi.
Yeah, because of the platoons.
So these guys that are doing it have a lot of games under their belt.
Like, I think teams want to play them less to save them for the playoffs.
Okay, so that's going to go down.
Okay.
So let me give them, do you want them in order?
I want.
Or you want one, two, three, or three, two, one?
I want one, two, three.
Okay.
Number one, the otter.
Dude, Jake was unconscious in the playoffs.
He's on an average team.
He was unconscious in the playoffs.
He's on a pretty good team, first of all.
They're an average team.
He's on a pretty good team.
He's on a pretty good team.
He's on a pretty good team.
I think they're going to get worse, too.
He's on a pretty good team.
And check this out.
He had 30 wins in 48 games last year.
Most of these guys are playing like 67 games.
Did he really have 31?
He's going to play like, he's going to get 60 something starts.
He's going to win 37 games.
He's going to lead the league.
And by the way, dude, for all you gamblers out there, he's plus 1,800 to win the fucking
Vesna right now, and he is going to win it.
So I have an idea.
I have an idea.
Take your first mortgage and put it on Ikel over 70 and then take your second mortgage
and put it on the order to win the Vezna and then receive free money.
If you care about being rich, do these things and receive free money.
The few poor souls that listen to you are going to lose so much money.
No.
It's unbelievable.
We are going to be living in mansions next to each other in the Hollywood Hills and throwing joint parties and none of you can come.
Watching Dallas Stars and Vegas Golden Knights games together.
Two screens. Highlights everywhere.
Ottinger's good.
Ottinger's very good.
He's one of the best goals in the league probably.
He's on an average team.
You can't win the Vesna.
You can't have the most wins on an average.
average team. Yes, you can. So move on to your next one. Boom. So he's locked in at one.
Sure. Yeah, yeah. Okay. Number two, the Florida Panthers goalie. Oh, but Chris, he's a Russian.
LeBrovsky's Russian. Wrong. LeBrovsky's, well, right, he is Russian, but wrong. He's losing
his job this year to Spencer Knight, who is that BC boy who is very, very good. He had, I want to say,
19 wins, but in 32 games, and I'm telling you, dude, he's stealing that job this year.
He's literally going to take this job. I don't, here's the thing, dude. I don't think that you're
wrong. I think Spencer Knight is the guy there. I think he's better than
Bobrovsky. But Brobowski makes, what, 9 million? I can't
remember at least, dude. Or maybe not at least, but it's
no, I think it's maybe more. I think Kerry Price was like the only 10. You can't
you can't give a guy like that 25
games. You can't. What if you want to win games? You need
Listen, Bobowski had a really bad, I think it was his first year after that
ticket. He had a really bad year in Florida, but he's good now. You can't
just bench that guy because maybe you want
He might have even led the league and wins last year.
Yeah.
I'm telling you.
This is the worst thing to look out for in the world.
But Spencer is taking his job.
He's taking his job.
Even if he does take his job, there is no way they demote Bobrovsky down to less than 35 games.
There's no way.
Okay.
There's no way.
Spencer goes 33 and 50.
No.
So that's another wrong.
Boom.
There's two.
That's locked in.
So that's 100% happening.
And then three, and this is not a homer pick.
But it is.
It is.
It is the sway man.
Yeah, you're so young.
Check this out.
This is my biggest reach because he had, I want to say, 23.
You give, I don't like being a Bruins fan next to you.
Dude.
When you do stuff like this.
I'm telling you, he is very good NHL talent that was in a full platoon last year, 40-something games.
And I think they intend to full platoon again.
They're going to vote.
But his play is going to dictate more playing time.
He's going to get 60-something starts.
He's going to win 32.
60 starts.
He's going to get 60 starts.
Olomark's going to get 22.
insane.
Yep.
He's going to win 30, 32 games,
three in the league,
and he's going to lead the league
in goalie hugs.
Tied, I guess.
Tied for the league in goalie hugs.
Yeah, at best it's a tie.
At best it's a tie.
Tied for the league and goalie hugs,
third in the league and wins,
in an incredible jump.
These are such crazy picks,
and you'll be lucky to get one.
You'll be lucky if Spencer Knight cracks in there.
And I'll also tell you this,
if none of the three top goalies,
and wins is an American, you have to buy a booey shirt.
A booey shirt.
I thought that was cool.
It is, but not a jersey T, A, just a blue shirt with booey's face.
With buoy's face.
Okay, yeah.
Yeah, that size too small.
Yeah, yeah.
Like a really, actually no, I want it to be really, really bad, like a double XL, like one that you would sleep in.
Okay, yeah.
I want you to look like a girl who's about to go to bed in a gigantic t-shirt.
Yeah.
I've got no pants on.
Yeah.
just my blue shirt hanging to my knees.
That was a visual.
The one thing I'm happy about in this, Dan, is this position in this sport is largely dominated
by Russians and Finns lately.
So at the very least, since I have completely tried to Americanize it, I'm not going to get
murdered by all the Canadians in the comments.
I think you will get murdered by Canadians because there's a bunch of great Canadian golies.
And then also, some Russian will hear this and put a hit out on you if we're disrespecting.
I'm happy to go down.
If this is what I go down for, Alba would that.
Yeah, that's fair.
I'll go down for the otter any day.
Okay.
I'll be sleeping on my millions when he wins the Vezna.
We need to get out of this madness.
My next thing to look out for is largely dependent on one thing that I'm not making a prediction about.
I'm saying, if this thing happens, be on the lookout for the next thing.
It's an if-then statement.
Yes.
For the coders in the crowd.
We know that I am a big fan of what's going on in Buffalo.
Oh, you're all over Buffalo.
Yeah.
I'm a Sabres guy.
I'm not a Saber Metrics guy, I'm a Buffalo Sabres guy.
I think that they're very much entering an era in their franchise that is
shit or get off the pot.
I think they've made a lot of good moves.
I think they've got a lot of young players who have come into their own.
And I think they're, it is now or never in terms of like, are you guys getting better?
Okay.
I don't think that, don't interrupt me.
I don't think that I'm saying it's like, you guys got to make a play for the cup right now.
It's fine.
Are you guys good now and getting better?
Or are you still floundering?
Because they're in the worst rebuild I've ever seen.
And I think, I completely disagree.
What are you talking about?
Philly is much worse.
Chicago is much worse.
Chicago is infinitely worse.
Well, they are just entering it.
My point is Buffalo entered this rebuild 10 years ago.
Oh, all right.
That's what you're saying.
But if there's ever been a time where it's like, no, things are looking up in Buffalo, it's now.
Agree.
And I think that the Sabres are going to be flirting with a playoff spot this year.
And I think...
Define flirting right now.
Flirting is...
Approaching the trade deadline, we're like five points out of the last wildcard spot.
Flirting is sliding into someone's DMs.
No.
Flirting is...
Negging them.
Finding enough strength inside yourself to suppress your own self-doubt and hate
to talk to a person that you're interested in who could maybe spend time with you
until they quickly realize how terrible you are.
Yeah.
That's what flirting is.
I think...
I think there's a lot of great
We already talked about Tage Thompson
Star in the making
If not, he's already
Jeff Skinner figured it out
He's good. Case in Middlestad is good
We've got Owen Power
Who looks amazing
He looks very good
Who's about to be commanding that blue line
I think the Sabres
Are going to make a little push here
And if they do
So hold on this this
This that was the F
So if the Sabres are negging the playoffs
If the Sabers are sniffing
the playoffs. But
look
for Patty Kane to be traded
to Buffalo. What a pivot, dude. What are we talking about here?
Are we talking about Buffalo? Are we talking about Patty Kane?
Patty Kane is out of Chicago. Patty Kane is not wearing a
hawks jersey. No. There is no
rushed to them last week for ruining the rest of his career.
There's no planet where Patrick Kane stays on the black box this season, I don't think.
Okay, so...
So I think, listen, there's a lot... You look at a Giroux situation.
Yeah, yeah.
He goes to the Panthers.
They're making a cup push.
That makes the most sense.
I get it.
I truly do get it.
I don't think any of the teams that Kane is kind of being linked with, like the Rangers.
People are like, yeah, he's going to go to the Rangers.
The Rangers have a million dollars in cap space.
They would have to move out so much shit to afford him.
And I know everyone's going, oh, the Blackhawks are going to eat a part of his con.
Even if they eat half, that's still 5 million, 5.25 million that they need to eat.
that's still 5.25 that the Rangers need to clear up.
I'm not saying they can't do it,
but I'm just saying that is a harder trade
than the fucking Sabers who have 19 million.
The Sabers could make that trade right now.
Yeah, yeah.
And just be like this, yeah, we'll take the whole thing.
And give less, you know, it's like, just give us that.
We'll give less back.
Or like, here's a prospect.
They've got plenty of those.
Here's a pick.
It's going to be a pretty high pick to go with Chicago.
They need that shit.
And I think it's going to happen because if the Sabers are pretty good,
either they make the playoffs that year and that's great.
Patrick Kane's back in the playoffs.
Here's the thing.
He wasn't going to be in the playoffs anyway.
Correct.
It's not like he's like, I need to be in the playoffs this year.
He wasn't going to be in the playoffs.
Chicago's not making the playoffs.
I think Patrick Kane would go to Buffalo if they are pretty good sniffing the playoffs
or at least trending up and going and I'm going to sign four years with you guys
and I'm going to finish my career in my hometown.
Oh, yeah.
I forgot who's from there.
He's a Buffalo boy, dude.
Okay.
So.
If the Sabres are trending in the right direction,
like I think they're going to,
Patrick Kane to the Sabers.
Okay, so Patty Kane,
look for Patty Kane not finishing his career as a hawk.
I love it.
I need it, in fact.
I need Alex Tuck, the homie,
who's about to have a monster year in Buffalo.
And a sea on his sweater, by the way.
It's got to be Aq Poso.
No, it's been bad.
I said look for Tage Thompson to be the guy,
and I think that's the right decision.
They're entering this new era.
Buffalo is about to be good at hockey.
Yep.
And you're entering a new era,
slap that sea on Tage's,
sweater, but they're going to give it to Akposo, and there are a few better guys in the league
to name your captain.
He's amazing.
So that's fine.
Put Patrick Kane on that ice, on that sheet of ice with a Tage.
Can you imagine?
Patrick Kane on the wing with Tage Thompson.
Playing with Alex Tuck.
These are combinations that you dream about, and I think Kane goes, this is amazing.
I will say the one tough thing about this is when Kane gets traded.
Chicago will likely finish last and get Connor Bardard.
and he'll be like, fucking, God damn.
Oh, I could have played with that guy.
But they're still so far from being able.
Okay, that's funny.
Here's the thing, though, Dan.
There is no way on earth that Patrick Kane will want to go to Bacola.
Like, he is either going to, he is either going to the Rangers, like you said,
because they will figure out a way to make it work.
They'll bring in a third team to facilitate the trade.
They'll Chicago eat a ton of contract.
He wants to play with the Breadman, dude.
He must go back and chase up with the Breadman again.
But here, I just don't think that, I don't think he's a match for the Rangers
at all. And I'm going to eat a
plate full of crow if and when
that trade happens for a number
of reasons because I don't see him
I can't picture Kane in a
ranger sweater, I can't.
And I don't think that they can make the cap situation
work. And when they do both,
boy am I going to feel like a dip shit.
And honestly, I could even see him ending up in Florida.
I could see them make him move forward. I could see
that too. I could see Kane going full like, oh dude,
like give me no state tax and get me
and a cop chance, right? Like I really think
he wants to chase a cup big time.
But one thing we can agree on for sure is it will be an Eastern conference team.
There is no planet where Chicago pumps him to the Western Conference just to ruin their lives with the rest of the year.
So yeah, look for Buffalo trending up.
Yep.
And Patrick Kane, I'm loophole citying, right?
I know.
I love it, dude.
I love it.
All right.
Let's close this out.
My last one.
You have one left too, right?
Yeah, and it's going to be the hottest it takes.
Okay.
Here's my last one.
Can you just picture this scenario for me?
Yeah, do it.
You know, I'm going to close my ass?
Yeah, I do.
So it's March.
It's mid-March.
You and I are getting super jazzed up for the Frozen Four tournament.
And we're watching, we're filling out our brackets, me and you and some of the burrito boys.
And we're filling out our brackets where you're picking Michigan to win, obviously.
I'm picking some Boston team.
We're doing our thing.
It's a great tournament, okay?
College hockey.
Michigan will pay me out one day.
Yeah, one day.
One day you'll get a, well, you'll get a queso burrito.
So it's a great tournament.
I'm not going to make college predictions, but we have a lot of fun.
Everyone's watching college hockey.
Then Michigan loses.
Maybe their whole, or sorry, Michigan season ends, either with a trophy or not, but Michigan season ends.
Okay.
And Luke Hughes goes like this.
Oh, Checks watch.
Time to go play in the national for the Devils.
There's 10 games left in the season.
What?
Why on Earth?
Can I open my eyes?
Yeah.
Would that fucking kid go to play?
10 games with the Devils to finish
third to last. Because he just wants some experience.
No, dude, don't just go get your...
Owen Power just did it.
That's fair. He's going to come up. He's going to play
10 games. Yeah, okay. And he's
going to score his first NHL goal
assisted by Jack.
Wow. And
there's going to be six
goals in those 10 games, scored by
Hughes, assisted by a Hughes. Five are going to be Jack
from Luke. One is going to be Luke from Jack.
But Luke Hughes, first NHL goal
after the NCAA ends. What a complicated
prediction.
With a Jack assist.
This is the most layered.
You could have stopped that.
Luke Hughes makes his NHL debut after the NCAA tournament.
Oh, no, no, no, no.
He's getting in, he's getting the goal from Jack, and he's given five goals to Jack.
And some of those will be secondary assists, but I'll tell you what, Luke's going to get his first
goal.
Jackson assisted his parents are going to be there, and the Twitter videos are going
to be emotional.
Dude, there's going to be tears everywhere.
Quinn's going to be crying the whole thing.
I cannot wait for it.
Quinn is crying tears of sad.
Yeah, exactly.
He's not happy.
He's just like looking at, he's out here getting bulldozed by the Calgary Flames.
And then he looks over to Jersey and sees his brothers playing palm hockey together.
Having the best day of their life.
And dude, tangent.
By the way, Quinn Hughes is the best use.
Whoa.
Well, here's why that's wrong.
Everyone's on Jack's cock.
Dude, this year, Jack went like, because he was hurt, right?
He went like 56 and 49 last year, which is like a 94 point pace.
I think he might go 100 this year.
Like he might be the guy.
Jack up?
Yeah.
Yeah, I'm seeing that a lot of, I don't think Jacko can stay healthy for that.
Okay.
It would be my prediction.
Well, he'll be healthy in March when he's assisting on his brother's goal,
which will be a very, very cool hockey moment.
Look for Quinn.
I'll go the other side and defend my boy.
Look for Quinn Hughes getting serious Norris votes this season.
Look for Quinn Hughes to injure Luke in those 10 games.
Wouldn't that be great if the first game's against Vancouver and Quinn just runs Luke
or buries him through the glass?
terrific Quinn turnover to Jack, to Luke, goal.
Technically.
Quinn instantly kills himself.
Hughes, Hughes.
Quinn kills himself.
Technically a try Hughes goal.
Technically a try Hughes goal.
Devil seen what they have.
If that ever happened, if the NHL had any stones,
they would give Quinn Hughes an assist.
They would have been able to.
They would change the rules and give him an assist.
Wow.
So Luke Hughes called up first NHL goal assisted by Jack.
Okay.
So that's a feel-good lookout.
Look out for that.
And we're all going to sell it.
We're all going to be happy.
It's going to be fantastic.
Here is my last.
We're going to close this out by saying this.
This season, folks, look for the beginning of the Austin Matthews Exodus.
I can't believe.
I can't believe I thought I was going to be lit up in the comments after this pod.
You are dead.
You are a dead man.
Toronto, I dare you come for me.
You are a dead man.
Austin Matthews is gone.
Dude.
I'm all in, I know I just said I'm a Sabres guy, but I'm also a desert dogs guy.
I'm all in on the Yotes.
You got too many squads, do.
I do.
But you're going to find me at Molot Arena at least 20 times this year, ripping it up in Tempe, enjoying the dirty boys of the desert.
And I'm not saying Austin's going there, but I'm just saying, I think the Leafs are going to dip a little bit this year.
I think their goalie troubles will only continue.
I think...
Well, Matthews is winning the Art Ross.
I think Tavares is hurt already.
He's been sort of battling that.
I think we're seeing...
Marner's playing D.
I think we're seeing legitimate fractures in management and coaching
and the fact that they're exploring playing Mitch Marner on the fucking blue line.
Muzin is hurt again as well.
And the GM is without a deal, right?
Like, Dupes is without a deal, I think.
I just think that there is turmoil in Toronto, and it's only going to get worse.
And I think Matthews is going to play out this season, and I think he's going to enter this summer.
And I think there's going to be real conversations of, hmm, didn't look like Matthews had that much fun this year.
There's not that things aren't going that well in Toronto.
They lost in the first round of the playoffs again.
Wow.
And I think Matthews goes, listen, could I sign an eight-year extension for $14.5 million?
Yes.
But could I tell them I'm leaving, like Kachuk did,
King's ransom trade, which any fucking team would do,
and then just sign an equally big ticket at a new team that I want to be at.
So wait, because I agree that the ticket is going to be insane and deserving.
Is, are you saying he's going to finish this season
and then enter free agency and signs him?
Because next season is his last year.
He's not a free agent this summer.
Oh, he isn't?
I thought he was.
Look that up right now.
Okay, yeah.
Because that will change my take.
The lookout stands either way.
But I believe Matthews is a free agent, not this coming summer, but the next summer.
Because even if it is this summer, I can't imagine.
Like Chuck was like, yo, I'm.
If Matthews was a free agent this coming summer, that would be talked about every five seconds today.
Let's see.
So he is under contract.
Yeah.
So he has, I don't know what this anchor means, but he's 20, 22, 23.
He's under contract.
20, 23, 24.
He's under contract.
Yeah.
So it's not this summer.
It's a next summer that he's a free.
So you're saying this coming summer.
This is just what just happens.
His Maddie Chompahs summer.
It's what's happening with pasta and the Bruins.
Pasta is currently in his last year.
And every day, people are like, Jesus Christ, is he going to resign him?
Yeah.
And it's why Kachuk had the respect for Calgary to be like, dude, I'm not going to resign.
trade me now.
Yep.
And I think Matthews is going to play this season.
I think he's going to put up big numbers.
I'm not saying he's going to be an Art Ross situation season.
But he is.
But I am saying I think Matthews looks very disinterested this year.
And I think Toronto has a tougher season than people think.
I think they lose in the first round of the playoffs again.
And I think he looks at everything that has happened in Toronto, how much he loved it.
And there's a world where he goes.
goes, yeah, I'm fucking out of here.
Dude.
It would be the most cold-blooded thing in the world if he played two seasons and then just walked as a UFA and let him die.
And that's what I'm saying.
I don't think he'll do that.
This is going to take a full season for me to either get pie in the face or be so fucking right.
And I think obviously.
The Exodus, I'm saying, look out for the possibility of the Exodus beginning right now.
I would say this is another if-then statement from you, though, because if they go to the cup, I think he stayed.
Right? Like, would you agree?
I actually, be ready for this?
I think if Toronto wins their first cup in fucking what?
Eight billion years.
I think he, I think the chances of him leaving are even higher.
Because I think he goes like this.
I think he does exactly what Kauai did.
I think he goes, I gave you your ring, dude.
What the fuck do you want?
And I think he goes, I think actually if they win a cup,
he goes straight to Arizona.
Yeah.
Because he goes, I did it.
I did everything Toronto ever wanted for me.
And I have my cup.
I'm going to go home to Arizona and just cake.
money and live in my home state.
So win a cup, he's definitely out.
Losing the first round, he's probably out.
What about Eastern Conference Finals?
He signs in Toronto.
14.5 a year.
Your best hope is that you guys get really close, but not there.
He's like, God, I can get Toronto a cup before I go.
He's like, listen, we got out of the first round.
We're a good team.
I got to stay here and finish the business.
That is your only hope, Maple Leafs.
Your only hope is losing in the Eastern Conference 5th.
Miss the playoffs, definitely out.
win cup definitely out yeah missed the playoffs and he's like Jesus Christ give me
fuck out of the pressure of this city I'm gone first round exit probably out because it's just too
much yes second round we don't know no that that's anything but second or third round exit yeah
is the same as first and what about cup loss same thing second and third round or fourth like cup loss
is I think the same I think he stays okay oh no I think he because I think it's the same thing as
He's like, you know, we're close, but I need to get that.
Second, third round, fourth round loss.
He stays.
Wins the cup definitely.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Listen.
You've got a chance.
I want it.
You've got a chance.
There's hope.
The pressure to get out of the first round has never been higher.
It's so.
It's insane.
But then, but then you got to lose immediately.
But you get, I was going to say you get out of the first round and you're not, you're not safe yet.
Like, you know.
Because you could win the cup.
But I guess they would take that.
though. You just get out of the first round because then either Matthews is staying or you get
your cup and you're leaving. I think if you pulled 100 Toronto Maple Leafs fans right now and you said
this season, you guys win the cup. But a short few weeks after that, Austin Matthews request to
trade and gets traded. I think over 75 of them would go, yeah, we'll take it. I think literally 100.
100 would take it? Because you'd get, it's not even a free agent walk. Like you'd get something.
You get a huge. You get a huge. You get a cup.
I mean, look at what Kachuk just got.
You're telling me you get the caliber, actually, frankly, better caliber than Huberto and Wigar in return and you get a cup.
You're right.
It would possibly be 100.
In fact, show me the Maple Leaf fan that would say, no, I just want Matthews for eight more years.
I'd keep losing.
I'd be like this.
It's cool to know that you're in love with Austin.
I don't blame you.
I don't blame you at all.
But that's what's going on here.
Yep.
All right.
Look at that.
The Exodus of Austin Matthews begins.
Begins begins this season.
Someone's going to get some cold feet.
Pressure on.
Pressure on Toronto.
Holy shit.
Dude,
can I give you one honorable mention
that I just thought
was a really cool thing?
Of course you can't.
That I was thinking about.
Obviously there's like
Obie's goal chase.
Like you were talking earlier.
I can't know if we were recording.
There's a lot of milestones
that are about to happen.
Yeah.
We were talking earlier about Sid and Ovi
just still being the guys.
Yeah.
They're like in their 37th combined season
and all that shit.
And I saw that OV and I love the symmetry
between those two.
Ovee's at 1410 career points
and Cid's at 14109.
Yeah, it's insane.
Insane.
Since it's at less games, but it's still sick with that they're right there.
They are Nicky Lauda and James Hunt.
Yeah.
They're like,
and they're Federer and Adolf.
Yeah.
There are two people who are put on this earth to be compared to each other and compete
against each other until the end of time.
So, um.
I hope those two.
Honestly, honestly, I hope when a Vetchkin is an old, old man, an old happy man.
And he knows he's about to die.
I hope he, like, takes off in a plane and give.
and gives Sidney Crosby a rocket launcher and goes,
shoot me down in this plane.
Yeah.
Like I hope he respects the rivalry so much that he's like,
when I die,
I want it to be at your hands.
Because Ovi lives hard and Sid does not.
Actually, I don't want to chirps it because I know he actually behind the scenes goes pretty hard.
Yeah, but Ovi takes care of himself.
Very much wears on his sleeve.
He lives his life a quarter mile at time.
Ovi, I think, had exactly 90 points this year, I think.
Yeah.
And then Sid was hurt but was on,
had a 95 point pace.
And I actually think, I almost said this is one of them.
I think Sid, this is kind of like last dancey for Pittsburgh, right?
And I think they're going to start firing.
So I think I think Sid's going to go like having nuclear nuclear over 100 points.
But my point is if Ovi, which he's shown no signs slowing down, if Ovi and Sid still do like a 90 point pace, they will both hit 1,500 career points.
Only 14 people, only 14 people.
So they'll be 15th and 16 people.
They'll do it in the same year.
That is sick.
That'll be sick.
Those two are they're essentially 80, 81 points away?
Yeah.
Or 90, 99.
90 and 91.
991 points away.
And I think they both do it.
It'll be close, though.
It'll be coming down to the wire.
They'll always do it in their career.
Monster, monster years, and they go 100 points.
I think they could both do it this year.
But here's my favorite thing that I saw when I was looking at it.
Wow.
You're layered.
You're a layer thing today.
Ovi has 6,061 career shots on goal in his career.
It's second all time.
And keep in mind, he had like 332 last year.
Okay.
He's 149 shots on goal behind first of all time.
So barring a disaster, he will certainly become the most...
He's about to be the shoot your shot champion.
Become the shoot your shot belt holder, okay?
Who do you think has the most shots on goal of all time?
Yogs.
No, good guess.
Chris Pronger.
Nope, good guess.
I'll give you one more.
That's not that good of a guess.
I just want it.
It's not Kretz.
Nope.
Ray Bork.
Really?
Isn't that nuts?
What a crazy stat.
Ray Bork has the most shots on goal in the history of the National Hockey League.
Guy just hepering puck.
Until about halfway through this year when Ovi will pass him.
The shoot, listen.
It's a longevity thing for sure.
But still, being the shoot your shot champion is pretty swag.
It's a sick belt to hold.
That's pretty swag.
So pour one out for Ray, you know, sometime in probably January, February,
because Ovi's coming for you.
But he's coming for everybody.
He sure is.
But yeah, unbelievable stat.
That's elite.
All right.
Those are our things to look for.
Keep your eyes on them.
They're not necessarily predictions.
We're just saying look for them.
Just take a look.
Take a look.
Certain things might fall into a place where they happen.
So look for them.
And then let's all celebrate tomorrow.
The NHL is fucking back.
God, let's go.
Ice is ready.
All right.
