Empty Netters Podcast - 101. Rat Infestation at MSG
Episode Date: May 24, 2024The Rangers find themselves losing in a series for the first time all playoffs. The Western Conference Final kicks off tonight! Keefe lives in New Jersey now. McDonagh lives in Tampa again. And the bo...ys are getting really tired of goalie interference. PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (3:38) – Power Ranking (7:12) – Hot Ice (8:20) – Keefe (18:32) – McDonagh 21:24) - Oilers/Stars (26:54) – Rangers/Panthers Game 1 46:00) – Armchair GM (50:35) – God I Was I Was (56:25) – Temper Tantrum Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This episode of the MT Netters podcast is brought to you by the cool, crisp, refreshing taste of Labat Blue Light.
We're in the conference finals.
We're in it.
Every single night, we've got huge, important hockey games.
It's stressful.
It's electric.
It's exciting.
And it's all elevated by enjoying the games with a nice, delicious Labat Blue Light.
It is the best beer for hockey.
It's the best beer for life.
Because every single one of them is brewed with Canadian kindness.
That's unreal.
You can't get that anywhere else.
So make sure if you need a cold one, whether you're at the bar, at home,
hanging out outside enjoying these games because it's getting nice out.
Do it with a Labat blue light because there is no beer that'll treat you better in the entire game.
On this episode of the MTV Nerds podcast, Game One is in the books,
and the Rangers are losing a series for the first time all playoffs.
Sheldon Keith has a new mailing address, New Jersey, and Dallas Edmonton.
Puck drops tonight.
Game one in the West.
Let's go.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
We've got Game 1 in the books, Rangers, Panthers.
Panthers take it three nothing.
And the Rangers are losing a series for the first time.
Unbelievable stuff.
We're here in Boston.
We're bopping around the East Coast right now.
Little change of itinerary for the point.
Little, the old change in itinerary.
It's classic.
It's a classic.
Yeah.
It's old as time.
Supposed to be in New York for a bit, and I think we're going to get back on the road and just keep enjoying these playoffs because...
Tails oldest time, Dan.
Yeah, some stuff goes on.
Some stuff goes on that you guys will hear about, but...
Oh, boy.
So here we are.
We're back.
We're buzzing.
How do you feel?
I feel like we have two awesome, awesome series on our...
Well, let me take that again.
I feel like we have an awesome series in the Eastern Conference, and I'm hoping for a cool series in the Western Conference.
I'm not sure it's got legs.
We'll see.
But that was a fun ass hockey game last night, Dan, and I'm fired up for the one tonight.
Yeah, me too.
I can't wait for Dallas Edmonton.
I'm so curious to see.
It's funny.
There was a lot that I was curious to see in Rangers Panthers.
I was like, we've seen, you know, the roaches be the roaches.
they've played
not that great of a playoff team in the capitals
they were a little banged up
the canes kind of fell short shot themselves in the foot
and I was like all right let's see what the Panthers have in store
and we saw it
I feel very similar with Dallas and Edmonton
I kind of think I'm so impressed with Edmonton
and I'm so proud true like it sounds corny
but I'm proud of that Edmonton team
for sort of dealing with
the crazy season they dealt with, their coaching change, and then getting here, taking care of
business, winning that, and really winning that game seven.
Yeah.
I know it ended up three, two, but like, no, whatever.
They won that game seven.
And I'm curious to see how they match up against Dallas.
All of the shit that they've got going on with just, like, blocking shots and stifling
the offense of Vancouver, I don't know that they'll be able to do that against Dallas.
So you talked about it last episode, but, like, I just, I can't,
wait for this game. Same. Let's do, let's rip our power ranking and then we can really
dive into that preview. Yeah. Four teams left. So can't do top five anymore, but we're doing top
four. Yes. Top four. I don't feel that there is any way possible to not rat myself at one.
It's tough without having, um, we haven't seen the West. Both game one's done yet,
but I have my ranking done already.
I know what I think it is.
Okay, let's start with number four.
You want me to just rip it off?
Nope.
Number four is...
Yeah, I do.
Okay.
Bottom to top, you want me to go?
Yeah.
Okay, from four to one, it is Edmonton, New York, Florida, Dallas for me.
I just looked at...
We talked about it, man.
I just...
Looking at that game six, that Dallas, Colorado game six, those two teams looked so much better
than every other team.
Even the team that lost in six.
I know.
They looked so much better
than every other team in the playoffs.
And the fact that Dallas beat them
and beat them in six games,
I'm just like, dude,
that Dallas team is insane.
I thought you were going to go,
I thought I was going to,
I thought you were going to go Florida rags, Dallas.
No.
And I was going to have to be like,
Dan, I'm pretty sure Dallas has to be two here.
And then you went Dallas one.
I went Dallas one.
I stand by it, dude.
I think Dallas is,
is a problem.
I saw that would be
Otter, would be the first
American-born goalie to win the cup since
Johnny Quick.
2014.
Last year?
Well, starting goalie.
Okay, dude.
Let me just think for a second.
I want to pop in real quick.
When I did the surprise hockey talk on Tuesday,
yeah.
Someone was talking about Pavellski,
and I said, I think you'd be hard-pressed
to think of anyone less.
in the playoffs that the general population wants to win a cup more than tip drill.
Yeah, like, he's got to be the number one that's like, if you're, if you're letting
someone get their cup finally, it's him.
And someone's sitting in the DMs and was like this, I really want Quick to get another
one.
And I was like, what?
Yeah, hell yeah, dude.
Oh, like, I respect.
It was funny because she was so funny about it.
I was like, I love this because I love Quicky, but like, Quicky has three.
And he won last year.
And she was like, totally forgot about last year.
You're right.
This is, I'm being, I'm green.
I'm being green.
I was like, yeah, dude, you're being real green.
There are a couple, though.
Like, and I said on the live the other day, Blake Wheeler, I fucking love.
I know it's personal, but I love Blake Wheeler so.
Yeah, yeah, but like Blake, I mean, I love Blake Wheeler too, but Blake was never close.
Oh, yeah, fair.
So, like, fuck off out of here, bro.
Like, over, over Pavelski?
Oh, no, no.
Over Captain America?
Gotta be pav.
Like, get out of my fucking kitchen.
Gotta be pav.
Put that orange back, wipe your feet on the way out, and leave my kitchen.
Yep.
Do the dishes.
No, that's, come on.
That's too much to ask.
Okay.
I think Florida, dude, has to be one.
Don't hate it.
Florida won, Dallas 2.
Give me that before they play.
They haven't played yet.
Oh, you're asking.
Because we have a good degree.
Fine.
Fine, because Florida's played.
Yeah.
Okay.
Florida, Dallas.
If Dallas wins 10-0-0-0-0.
Yeah, then I will, and this will be out.
You have to do the next episode with your pants on your head.
This game will have happened.
Like the time people are listening to this, and I'm putting Dallas 2,
they might have won 10-0.
Yeah, that's true.
Florida 1, Dallas 2, Rangers 3, Edmonton 4.
Boom, power rankings.
Power rankings, done and done.
Taking a quick break from the podcast to talk about Bauer hockey
and specifically Bauer hockey training.
Bauer is the best in the game.
Everyone knows it.
For almost 100 years, Bauer has been the number one name in hockey for a reason,
because all of their equipment, all of their apparel, everything that they have to offer the game of hockey is top-notch and top-tier.
And when it comes to training, no one is taking care of you better.
They've got their digital reactor dangler and their reactor slideboard that are going to take your skating and your stick handling to the next level.
If you're a beer leaguer, if you're an elite player in high school, college or anything like that,
all of this stuff is still going to help you hone your game and your craft and get you to that elite next step that you want to achieve.
So if you go to Bowerhockey.com and put in promo code empty, you are going to save on all of your shipping on anything you need in their training department.
Take it to the next level with Bauer every time.
Let's get into some Bauer hockey hot ice.
Really?
What do we got?
I wanted to start really quickly because we got much more pressing things to talk about really quickly with Sheldon Keefe getting the New Jersey job.
Yes.
Had a lot of comments.
Your boy broke that news as well.
You tweet that too, dude?
I did.
You tweet that too?
I did.
And you know what fucking sucks?
What's the score?
What's the score tonight, Dan?
Tweet it right now.
I'm not going to tell you.
Who the Bruins signing?
Tweet that too, dude.
Why don't you just tweet everything?
When am I going to die?
Tell me how I die, Dan.
Tweet that.
I think you want to know it.
It's bad.
It's really bad.
And also, it's sooner than you think.
I don't get to see the game tonight.
You don't want to know the scores because you're never going to know the score.
You don't know the score.
dude um i like i said last episode too i don't care but i did tweet this and then r a tweeted it
and then like drags sarahveli everyone was like this r a with the scoop and i was like
what the fuck brian i was like i'm right here man but if anyone's gonna get credit i want him to
i'm fine with it being r a lot of people asking me if that's the right voice there and um
Some people asking, like, Jack, I'm hearing Jack was getting not being held accountable under Lindy.
And I said the other night on the live, I'm kind of over the, this group just needs a guy who will yell at them.
This group just needs a guy who will be nice to him.
This group just needs a guy.
And those, there are different types of coaches.
Torts is not a guy.
Torts is a guy that's going to yell at you, right?
And some guys aren't.
but I'm so much more interested in like their tactics.
Like I don't care if the burubi's a stern voice.
Now, if Jack wasn't being held accountable,
and by the way, you and I have said on this very program that Luke Hughes, for example,
we felt like was maybe getting too much leash on the power play because he's Luke Hughes.
If things like that are happening, then yes, it's cool that there's a new voice in there,
maybe changing that
dynamic up. And I also
think, and I said this the other day,
anybody that even gets a fucking
new boss or something at their job,
little team, you feel
that need to be like, I need to show
my worth. Even if you're established, even if you're
already the fucking VP in the corner office.
You get the new boss, he doesn't know shit
about you. So fucking step it up.
So sometimes I think that can be helpful
for a team like Jersey, with a Jack Hughes
who had 99 points two years ago, and now I'm the fucking
man, and he is the man, and I love him, and he's nasty.
but it's nice when you have a new coach in there who goes like this,
show me, dude, because I don't know.
I'm not your guy that loves you and strokes you off and tells you how I'm
every day.
I don't know shit.
Show me.
So I do think at the very least, that aspect is helpful to this devil's team.
For sure.
I agree with you on the, it's, I do hate how so much of the dialogue and the narrative
is going, you need a hard ass or you need a player coach.
And it's not that simple.
I do hate how you see.
see it in other sports way more than hockey, but I kind of hate how this new wave is just so hard
to have respect for coaches.
Like these young, a lot of young players just come in and they're like, I'm going to be a
dip shit.
Yeah.
Dude, shut up and respect your coach, please.
It's funny because I want to just say, you know, I don't care what they're, the way they
speak to the team is, if it's Torts or Brube or if it's, you know, Monty or Bednar,
Like if you're just one of the boys or if you're a hard ass,
I don't really care what your approach is.
I want to say,
respect your coach and listen to your coach no matter what,
if they're a good coach.
That said,
I know firsthand in both, you know,
playing hockey, in work life.
If you've got a coach,
a leader, a boss,
who's a fucking moron,
it's really hard to go into work every day and be like this.
Yep,
I'm going to listen to what you say
when they're just blabbering on about dumb bullshit.
And they think that they've got it figured out and they're a moron.
That is very difficult.
So I get when we hear stories where it's like so-and-so lost the room.
If you're losing and it seems like all the boys in the locker room are like,
the message you're giving us is not it.
Dude, we're not in on this.
I see how it falls apart.
Keith, I didn't get that vibe.
In Toronto.
Yeah.
I feel like the boys loved him.
and I do think he's a good coach.
I think it was just a got to the point where it was like,
it's not going to work with this group and you as coach.
It's a tough market to play in, get a good restart.
I think there's a lot of Devils fans who are saying that like,
dude, we're the same team as Toronto.
We're like a young kind of inexperienced team that needs to be whipped into shape by someone.
Keefe couldn't do it in Toronto.
How is you going to do it here?
I don't think it's as simple as that.
I was a little surprised.
No, I wasn't.
I was about to say I was surprised that Keefe got a job.
job so quickly. But I did think that there was kind of some of these other coaches that have been
removed that I thought we're going to get jobs a little bit faster and we'll still see what's going
on. But Hiller in L.A. extended. That was surprising. I feel like there, not say he doesn't deserve
it, but there was a lot of talk after Todd was fired in L.A. that was like, we need our next,
who's our guy for the next five years? Like guys in that locker were saying, the only thing we want
is to have a coach and know who it is and who we're riding with for the next five years.
and I think some of them are surprised, not in a bad way, that it is Hiller.
So the coaching carousel continues to spin here.
Dude, I saw it.
B.R. I posted this.
Only four current NHL head coaches.
John Cooper, Rod the Bod, Beddner, Mike Sullivan were hired before 2022.
Yeah, that's crazy.
Four.
And I'm frankly surprised that Sullivan is as.
I think it was Lavie said something recently.
Lavie Lett said something recently that was like,
um,
it kind of being like it's,
it sucks out here for coaches right now.
Because like it turns bad for two seconds.
You get fucking canned first every time.
And then every,
they just like,
like,
there's no continuity.
There's no nothing.
Yeah.
And it's so easy to ignore that as a hockey fan.
I'm here to watch the players,
you know,
and I'm like,
and I'm happy to do it.
If my team's bad,
I'm like this,
kill the coach.
I'm taking torches to their house, dude.
It's like, chill, dude.
And maybe the guys build something, maybe, you know?
Yeah, that's a discussion.
Do we need to have a discussion on coaches?
Do we need to switch from protect our goalies to protect our coaches?
I do think we're gas and coaches too quick these days.
I mean, we talked about the Quinn firing was, I was like, what the fuck?
I feel like everyone in the hockey world was like he did exactly what you needed him to do.
How was he getting fired?
Dude, I'm sitting here last Epp two days ago being like, if Rod doesn't win a cup in this contract, he needs to be fired.
And I'm like, hey, asshole, he won 50 games three years in a row.
Yeah.
The boys love him and they're making the playoffs.
Yeah.
You know, and yeah, like there needs to be some accountability.
We caught the bug?
I think I am killing coaches.
We caught the quick trigger kill coaches bug.
I've been burning their homes.
You're right, dude.
We've both been talking about that.
How dare I?
Protect our coach.
We got to protect these coaches.
This is crazy, dude.
We got to protect these coaches.
I hope Keith coaches the Devils for 20 years.
Yeah, me too.
It's an interesting situation.
I'm excited for Keith in that role.
I'm really excited for the Devils.
Also, I'm going to take this moment in this platform.
We're talking about the Devils.
We got to trade the other day that we're going to talk about next.
But while we're on the Devils,
and I want to switch to trades and then we'll transition into the Tampa, Nashville trade.
I think devil's fans
strap
strap the buckles up
because I think
in the next month or so
we're going to see a couple
significant
devil's traits
I agree
but not you're making it sound like
significant
they're bad
no no no I think this is a lot of good
and bad a lot of good going in every direction
I think it's good
the Garden of Eden dude
I think it's good good
everybody.
And this is take an apple, take an apple.
This is what I think.
I think the devils have done a good job drafting.
I think they've done a good job building this team.
And I think they're at the point now where they're going, all right, our draft picks aren't going to get us over the hump here.
It's like, it's time to make some trades.
It's time to make some moves.
That's how we build now.
And I look at the embarrassment of riches they have in young puck-moving defensemen.
They've got Luke Hughes, they've got Nemek, and they've got Seamus Casey coming in.
I think one of them is moving, and if I had to guess it's Seamus Casey.
That is a great chip to be able to play with.
I think they need a goalie.
Me too.
I think Linus O'Mark is on that list in a big, big, big, big, big way.
Big, big, big way.
And also, I'm not breaking any news here.
This has been talked about.
I think the chance of Brady,
Kachuk being a New Jersey devil next year is very, very possible.
Tweet it, Dan. Tweet it.
I'm saying it. Hey, Dan, tweet it. I'm saying it right here on the pot.
How do I die, Dan?
I won't tell you.
Tweet it, dude.
No. Tweet it.
I'm telling you, I think that there's a chance that we see Brady Kachuk in a devil's
uniform next year.
I got a guy on our live, Jordan. What up, Jordan? He's a big Sends guy, and he's
telling me the same thing.
Brady wants to win in Ottawa. He does. He really does. He said that on our show.
Yeah.
But he might be out.
Unfortunately, because I hate how that went in Ottawa.
I thought they were going to be great to your picking the playoffs.
They were horrible.
You see what happened with Matthew in Calgary?
And he went, I want out.
And now he's just parading himself into the playoffs every year.
People looking for a Kachukch franchise alter.
Brady wants that.
Him and Jack, dude, you shitting me?
Brady wants that.
Take it through the next trade.
Move on to the next trade.
We got a little reunion, Chris.
And Dan, when I saw it, it's Ryan McDonough.
To everyone that doesn't know, it's Ryan McDonough from the Preds to
Back to Tampa.
I've just really two things to say about this.
One, Tampa's front office has made multiple quotes saying this does not affect our resigning of Stephen Stamco.
Yeah.
I don't know.
I'm starting to think maybe Stammers coming back.
We've all been.
I think he is.
I've always said that.
Jan's called the shot, said he's going to go down to the Panthers.
I'm starting to think that Stammer's.
staying, dude. It's like the
for less than you maybe were saying earlier.
Yeah, by the way, because I feel like that was the
biggest hurdle. McDunna going down there
and then actively being like this does not affect
that. It feels like such a
arrogant thing to do
to say, this doesn't affect the
resigning of Stephen Samco's and then he
gets, and then he doesn't get resigned.
Yeah. And then also
McDonough immediately like, he was like,
I got here, I called up stammer and I get on the ice
with him and Cooch, like these boys are ready to work.
And I'm like, okay, I think he's staying. Yeah.
So that's exciting.
Yep.
The big one for me, the big news here is, you know, Tampa is going to Tampa.
They always make good moves.
Like, I just think that McDonnell was still playing fantastic hockey.
And I just think if anyone can unlock, like, the last few years of his career, it's probably Cooper and that, that bold steam.
I am really excited about this Predators move.
Like, Preds moving out cap space, dude.
Yep.
Barry Trots.
Doing his thing, dude.
He's in the lab.
He's tinkering.
He's mixing chemicals.
He's finding the recipe.
And I just think we saw it last year with Joey and Dutchie,
and like now here we go.
McDonagh's out.
Wonder who's next.
Yeah.
Oh, dude, talking about interesting summers.
We've been talking about a lot of interesting summers coming out.
Predators have a very interesting one.
Second thing I just wanted to say, but McDunna, I mean, you kind of touched on it,
but the familiarity there with the group with the system, he played some great hockey.
He had a great number.
That's a big deal for them.
I was actually interested to hear Trots say.
because McDonough was like, oh, it's exciting.
I'm happy to be back there.
And I was like, oh, wow, because, you know, Nashville had a great year,
kind of on the rise team.
And Tampa's, like, competitive, obviously, but not,
I wouldn't call Tampa on the rise.
And then Trots made a statement that was like, oh, he asked me to trade him there.
Like, he came up to me and said, me and my wife and my family are trying to retire in Tampa,
please trade me to Tampa, if that's possible.
Yeah.
And Trots was like, and I love the guy, he's a stand-up guy, so we made it happen.
Trots went like this.
Buddy.
Yeah.
Whatever you want.
Let me get the door.
Let me.
get the door. Do you need help packing
your bags? It's an Uber black right outside.
Let me see if I can get a couple of draft picks for you. He'll wait
15 minutes. Quick work, dude.
That was quick work. So that's great.
Yeah. Let's talk a little bit
and I want to get over our skis because we did the preview
already but talk a little bit about how you're feeling about this Dallas
Oilers game.
Listen, we did our preview.
I get yelled at for hating the oilers all the time
and I don't hate the Oilers.
I just don't believe in them.
Yeah.
Dude, somebody on the live.
I don't believe that they can handle Dallas.
Somebody on the live was,
and I got a bunch of Oilers fans that joined the live,
and I love them.
I was talking Oilers,
and I was like, yeah, I hope it's a good series.
And then somebody chimed in and goes,
Dallas is going to fucking dog walk them.
And I was like, gosh, fuck.
You might be right.
Dude, you might be right.
Listen, I just think, I mean,
I just think Dallas looks so good.
I'm so excited for this game,
because I do want to see how both teams come out.
I want to see if Dallas comes out flying like they were.
I want to see if Edmonton keeps the power plate clicking.
If they, I think they have a chance to slap everyone in the mouth here and go like this.
We are not going to get dog lost.
Especially, yeah.
So I can't wait to see that.
You know, it's in Dallas's barn, which has been rocking.
That's been fun to see.
Like, let's go down the line.
You, depth.
It's not even close.
Yeah.
Not even close.
Defense.
It's not even close.
Goalie.
It's not even close.
So, superstars.
It's not even close in the other direction.
Yeah, superstars.
It's not even close in the other direction.
But at the same time, this isn't like a rag-tag, you know, depth group for Dallas.
Like, they, yes, Connor and Leon are on the other side, but also like, robo is sick.
Yep.
Mero is sick.
They have good players.
Dude, I want to ask you this.
And cue the, I hate the Oilers, but the, if the Oilers, what's root-based status, by the way?
She's been carrying a knock.
If the Oilers get buried, I wonder how the Edmonton fans will feel.
And everyone that's an Edmonton fan listening, DM us, because I'm legitimately curious.
Because, and I know that Canucks team was delivered more than I anticipated, but
Just to me, the way the bracket broke for Edmonton this year was so beneficial to this Western Conference Finals appearance.
And that's not a hot take.
We got Vegas and Dallas and Colorado all duking it out on the other side.
And Edmonton finds themselves in the Western Conference Final.
And it's easy as a fan to go, well, we're in the West.
We're in the semifinals.
We were in the semifinals two years ago.
We lost in the second round last year.
And then we were in the semifinals.
We lost the second round last year, by the way, to the Juggernaut Cup winner.
And then this year we're in the Western Conference Finals.
There is no issue here at all.
We don't have a goalie problem.
We don't have a depth problem.
We don't have a defense problem.
We've been in the semifinals two of the last three years.
And I would say to you, sir, this is a cakewalk to get here.
And if you get spanked, if you lose to Dallas in four and five, then that proves that.
And I'm like, if you had played Dallas or Vegas or Colorado in the first round, you'd be out.
And there'd be massive changes.
So you can't hang your hat.
on the Western Conference finals appearance when it was a cup big path.
And if you take Dallas to seven, then never mind.
Great, great team and good year.
But I'd be curious to say, and I'm asking, I'd be curious to see here what Edmonton fans would think if you lose in five games.
Do you still go, it's a Western Conference finals appearance?
Or you go, we're a clown show, or we're not a clown show, but we are not Western Conference Final material.
There are three teams that are much better than us in the West.
Yeah, right?
It's like a, first of all, Rupa,
Bay didn't practice yesterday, has carrying an upper body injury.
So we'll keep an eye on that tonight and see if he plays.
That's interesting.
You're so right.
To me, this has been a wild year.
But at the end of the day, it's like they did kind of pull it together even before the new year.
Yep.
So I'm like, I almost washed the first couple months.
I'm like, good job.
Like, you guys are back on track.
You're right where you should have been.
So I look at it almost like they, they, they, they,
became a great team.
They get into playoffs and they play the Kings.
Kings didn't have it.
The goaltending situation was a nightmare.
The chemistry was a nightmare.
Easy series for the Oilers.
Then they go to seven against Vancouver,
who's playing their third backup goalie and was dealing with other,
you know, Besser is out as well.
you get past that
I'm not taking anything away from the oilers
but I do think
I'm not sitting here going
damn they're in the Western Conference finals
and they had a tough road to get here
the other road was way fucking harder
so if you look at it
and say how would the oilers
have matched up if they had to play Vegas
if they had to play Winnipeg
if they had to play Colorado if they had to play Dallas
before this point do you think they'd be here
that's I think a lot of people say no
and we're going to find out
We're going to find out how they play against this Dallas team.
And if Dallas just makes quick work of them, it'll be a little, it'll be tough.
It'll be a question mark situation for this team.
Agreed.
So we'll see what goes on tonight.
Let's talk game one.
Rags, Panthers.
Game one, baby.
We have a 3-0 Panthers win at MSG.
I think the first thing I want to say is I'm very, very, very, you know,
very confused by, not confused, but I would urge Rags, Roaches fans to be cautious with this attitude.
Rags played horrible.
Rags played horrible in game one.
We were terrible.
Who cares?
We're fine.
That was one of the worst games we've played all playoffs.
I'm kind of like, was it?
Yeah, I don't like that take.
You know, I'm going to ride with the roaches like I have been doing and I'm going to defend them.
But to my fellow fans that I'm being carried on the river of roaches with, I don't like that take at all.
They did not play bad.
Like so many people were like, we're asleep at the wheel.
And I'm like they looked exactly like they've looked in every of the Carolina game.
So I don't know what we're talking about here.
And to everybody, they said this a million times of the broadcast, so you already know.
But the Panthers are going to out shoot the Rangers in this series.
The Canes outshot the Rangers.
The Panthers are going to also outshute the Rangers.
That's the game.
And the Panthers aren't going to pepper shots.
like the Cains did from anywhere and get 50 on Chesty,
but the Panthers are going to out shoot the Rangers.
So every Rangers fan that's like, well, you know, we barely got any shots.
There was a season low shots after two periods.
I'm like, yeah, that's kind of the Panthers game, dude.
Like that's what you're going to have to jump on your chances.
You have to get in transition and jump on your chances.
So ignore that.
I'm not here for that reason why you played bad.
Dan, remind me, who had two breakaways in this game?
Yeah, one off the pipe.
New York.
Who had two, one.
New York Rangers scored more one-timer goals than any team in the league this year.
Who had two one-timeers, one on the powerplay and the end of the second, one half of the third,
that took one a ridiculous against the post-save and one hit your own fucking winger and would have gone in.
The Rangers.
I'm like, I'm watching that game.
They had an advantage in power plays as well, three to two.
Like, they had plenty.
I thought it was two-two.
Was it three-two?
No, it's three-two.
Yeah.
Okay.
Dude, but that's my kind of point.
When I'm watching that game, and I'm,
on the Panthers, right, for this series? But when I'm watching that game, there was one
where Matthew Kachuk hit one, Pat centered one, and I forget who it was, but someone
had like forehand back and Chesty made a nice glove save.
Oh, it was Barkoff, I believe. Well, okay. But every other Panthers chance for the most part,
Chester's lined up. And like the goal, he wants that back, but it hits something, but he still
wants it back, but that hits something. Yeah. It's not like Chester got lit up either. And his fucking
three goal and less at home it's now at home street because he got it but i'm like his three
goal less at home still alive dude he gave up one goal well we're going to get to that in a second
but he gave up one goal and then a laughy fucking hey how are you laughing nice talk
laugh his fifth goal of the playoffs so you hate you hate to see it but an empty another so you
know what i mean like shesty played pretty great and then bob the rangers rang two posts
bob made a breakaway save and uh one ziba one timer hit trocheck and i think might have been going in
and then Bob made a sick one-time or save on the other side, like against the bar.
Where is the bad game there that the Rangers played?
Listen, I, like I said, I'm going to defend the Rangers, and in this regard, I don't have a defense,
because I do think it's a shit take.
I think it's being like this, we played like shit.
Like, what a lot of these fans are trying to do is going, take your win, Florida.
We played like shit, and I'm like, you're on home ice, and you got beat.
Their number one job, the Panthers, take a game in New York.
York.
Yeah.
And I think Ray Ferraro even said it.
And good on you, Ray.
One nice comment.
The first game, if you are the Ranger, is not a must win.
But if you lose and you're the Rangers, it makes game two.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
So you put yourself in that position by losing this game.
Yeah.
I mean, listen, it's a punch in the mouth.
You're down in a series for the first time.
More adversity.
Let's see how the Rangers respond.
They did not play a poor game.
I'm sorry they did not.
That was a great hockey game from both teams and they lost.
Let's get into the nitty-gritty before we get into the Panthers,
because I have a lot of I want to say.
Also, first of all, I think I'm out on posts.
Oh, shit, dude.
This is huge.
This is massive, Dan.
Tell me more.
I think I'm out on posts.
Like,
Every, whenever people, like, hit the post, people try to bring it up, like, it's a stat.
They're like, dude, we could have been in that game.
We could have done this.
Like, we should have won that game.
Like, a bunch of Bruins fans were doing it in one, and I think one of the Toronto games,
and they're like, we hit fucking three posts and blah, blah, blah.
I'm kind of like.
Kane's fans.
We're like, that's all they could talk.
Yeah, yeah.
And I, listen, we all know the feeling of hitting a post.
It's a good shot.
And you're like, fuck, I just missed.
But it's the Charlie Conway quote.
It's like, well, half an inch the other way, you would have missed the whole fucking net.
Wow.
So I do kind of think I'm like, dude, like hitting the post, I think we need to stop saying it's like, that should have been a goal, hit the post.
Because I'm like.
There's not even a shot on net, Dan.
It's literally not a shot on net.
And with a lot of these post hits, I'm like, I'm sure if that puck was a little bit over this way, it might have hit the goalie.
Yeah, he would have saved it.
He would have saved it.
I'm out on post, dude.
I think that's a take, dude, and I think you fucking might be right.
You're so crazy you might be right.
Might be right.
And don't get me wrong.
When the team I'm rooting for hits the post, I'm like, oh, we hit the post.
And dude, when I hit one, you're going to be hearing about it.
I might send an email.
I have a list.
Oh, I have a list.
Oh, I have a list.
In Beer League, if I hit the post, I count it as a goal on my mental chart.
People hear about it at 2 a.m.
They wake up 2 a.m. email.
Two post tonight.
High six side.
Dude, I love that when you come home.
You already talk to people.
How does the game go?
Dude, fucking, you know, we lost.
It's just a brutal, brutal bounces everywhere.
fucking rang two posts.
Dude, came down the right wing, cut in, absolutely
cheesed him high glove.
And they go, oh, tuck.
And I go, no, dude, rang it.
Absolutely.
Rang it off the post.
So you missed the net.
Right?
Yeah, you're fucking, you miss the net.
That's not a shot on gold.
Dude, I usually love chirping people.
You know I do that when someone would hit the post on us.
Like if I'm on the ice and some dude rings the post,
I would immediately turn it and go, hit the fucking net.
Yeah.
Dude, it's a good shirt.
You miss the net.
You fucking bitch.
And he'd be like, I just walked half your team and beat your goal.
Hit the net, you fucking loser.
Ridiculous.
Okay.
Let's talk about the OEL goal.
Yep.
I did not like the call.
I thought it was a bad call.
I love the stock.
I don't like the stock.
I don't.
Just want to say, I love the stock.
I love the stock.
I don't like the call.
I don't like the call.
I don't like the call.
It was great for the Rangers.
I don't like the call at all.
And it's, you brought.
up immediately, astutely, well done, doctor, they're going to make that call, but they're not
going to make the one in the Boston series. It's a fucking joke, dude. So it's, and it's just one of
these things. It's like, it's difficult. It's not on the refs. It's not on, it's not on Toronto.
It's not on the league. These things are tough. But it's more like I want to revisit the rule here
because this is, I guess, where I'm at. And I don't even think this is debatable.
Were we talking in together or on an episode that goal interference is the most fucked call?
Yeah, I think it was on an episode.
Longberg enters the crease.
He enters the paint legally.
And then I don't even think this is debatable.
Very actively tries to avoid Cheshty, barely nicks his pad.
And I'm kind of out on the, like, if there's any contact.
It's a lot.
He barely nicks his pad, guys.
Let's be honest.
And then, as we've seen, Lindgren, cross-checks Lomburg.
Again, a penalty.
I'm not saying it should have been called, but cross-checking is a penalty.
Yep.
Into Schisturkin, there's some contact.
Shisterkin resets, reacts to the shot, and gets scored on.
And then smartly, Schisturkin's like, yo, fuck that, so does Lindgren.
Yep.
They're playing by the rule book, and I respect it.
But I think the rule that is in there already, Wish, tweeted this during the Boston game,
if a defending player hits a offensive player into their own goalie,
it's not, in my opinion, that's not goal interference.
Because the thing that drives me nuts is I'm like,
I think our defensemen need to have better situational and spatial awareness
than to cross-check players into our own goalies.
Like, that's, like, if you're looking at that play and I'm being harsh,
I go, that's a bad play by Lingren.
Like, yes, you do.
Like, what are, you can't do that.
You know, you know, when, uh, in Liar, Liar, when Jim Carrey is in, he can't lie.
Yeah.
That's actually the premise of the movie.
Yeah.
And they, remember that part in Liar, liar, liar where Jim Carrey couldn't lie.
And then, do you remember that scene?
That was fucking crazy.
Greta is like, hey, this guy fucking, uh, needs your legal advice again.
Yeah.
And he goes, yeah.
Asshole.
Yes, dude.
I literally need to sit down every defense.
in the National Hockey League and go, stop hitting people into the fucking goalie.
And dude, they go, well, I got to clear him out.
But I go, well, he got position on you between you and the goalie.
So you need to work around him and get him out, dude.
You can't push him into the goalie.
So, dude, and I am going to come off.
I know Rangers fans are like, that was a correct call, and everyone's going to get pissed me.
Actually, I'm coming to the defense of my Rangers fans.
They have not, because we posted something on the Instagram.
and I was like, that goal should have counted, by the way.
And it's, I would say it's like 60, maybe, 60, 40, maybe even 70, 30, tons of Rangers fans being like, I'm a Rangers fan.
I agree.
That was a weird call.
I didn't like it.
Longberg, I think it's like Chessie's glove, maybe.
But if whatever contact Longberg made without Lingren, that would have still counted.
Like, if he, like, Chessie's glove, like, goes up against him and then Longberg's, like, standing there and moves away and then it goes in.
Yeah.
That would have been a goal.
Yeah.
So what I hate is they review it and they go, because he was interfered with, because of Lingren, in my opinion.
So he was interfered with.
And then they look at it and they go, okay, well, actually, Lomburg went into the crease and the initial contact on Chesty before Lingrin was Lomburg.
So we're waving it out.
And I'm like, but Lomburg's act wasn't enough to wave it out.
I agree.
So the fucking only problem here is what Linger did.
And now you fucking wait, you're disallowing it for the, like, that is the most backwards fucking logic, dude.
And fucking the audacity of Lingren, dude.
Go, dude.
Chesdy, 100% because he doesn't know what's going on.
Like, Chester gets hit.
As soon as it goes in, you're right, he goes like this.
The audacity of Lindgren, who also does it.
I know.
He goes like this.
Fuck you, Lomburg, into my goalie, and then turns to the ref like this when it goes in.
And I'm like, you are fired, you.
He's like, what is he doing?
This is bullshit.
I'm like, what is going on, dude?
You cross-checked a player into your own goalie, and then you give up a goal because of it,
and then you look at the ref.
Yeah.
Listen, I was great for the Rangers, but I, I, I, I, I,
I'm with you.
I thought it was,
I did not like the call.
And it's a,
I need the,
the goalie interference thing revisited.
I'm not mad at the refs.
I'm not mad at the,
at the rule book.
I'm not mad at, like,
we got to figure that out.
Because this is getting absurd.
Talking about the Panthers,
first and foremost,
your saucy prediction is on pace,
sir.
And also,
what a start for Matthew Kachuk.
Matthew Kachuk comes out
and lays wood
in the beginning of that game on Trocheck.
Great, open ice, clean hit, right to start the game.
Then, boom, gets a goal.
Like, that is the most Matthew Kachuk,
Eastern Conference Finals, performance I've ever seen.
Dude, after he said before the game,
he was like, what's fucking cooler than MSG, game one,
Eastern Conference Finals?
And then comes out and does that first period.
I was like, yep.
It's like, you believe that.
Like, that was not just a comment.
There's something very interesting about this Panthers team.
they have an identity, but in my opinion, the Florida Panthers identity is that they're shapeshifters.
This team changes the way they play against every team.
Like the way that they beat, who did they play in the first round?
The lightning.
The way that they beat the lightning was not the same as the way they beat Boston.
And I think the way that they just played this game against New York was not the same way that they were playing against Boston.
or the way they were playing against Tampa.
They are really changing their game plan and their play style with every opponent.
And that's terrifying.
The forecheck from that team all night long.
Oh, my God.
Deep into the third period was suffocating.
And it was a very, very interesting display of, okay, to be honest, this Rangers team is playing.
And it makes sense, right?
We're in the third round.
they're playing the toughest opponent they've played yet.
And the way that the Panthers and Paul Maurice got ready for that team
and really put a pressure on them that they haven't seen yet was very impressive.
I just thought that that was a strong game from them.
And you see a lot of, I mean, this isn't a knock on Boston,
but I think a big issue with Boston in that series especially was
they couldn't get the fucking puck out of the zone.
Yeah.
They just couldn't get clean.
Pucks on sticks, little chip outs, little flipouts to just get a change, reduce the pressure
from Florida.
Watching the way Florida in their D-Zone was just eating pucks, diving in front of shots,
and then collecting pucks, quick, snap, snap pass, get it out.
Or a little flip out of the Zelle.
It's just like, it is, you're like, that's why they beat you.
You know, it's just a good looking team.
The member Eichel when he came on said Cassidy,
Every round changed our system completely.
Yeah.
Who we're playing now, like, I know we do well, but I'm going to go eat them.
Also, dude, can I get fucking, can I get nerd as hell on you right now?
Do it.
There's a book series by Brandon Sanderson that I'm reading right now called Mistborn.
Very popular fantasy series.
Yes.
And there's a creature in that world called a conjure.
And they ingest, they'll eat you and then take your form.
And I think that's what the Panthers have been doing through this play.
They ingested the lightning took their form, ingested the brooked their form.
Now they're ingesting the ranchers.
First of all, cool creature.
Appreciate the shout out.
What are you talking about?
That's not what they're doing at all.
They're not playing like Boston now.
They're creating a form to beat them.
I guess that's what they're doing.
They're creating a new form to beat whoever they're playing.
Okay.
So not at all like the country.
Not at all like that.
And in fact, actually, nothing like that I just.
So this is nothing.
Nothing like Mistbourne or the Condra.
I think they have to, they find out who could beat Boston, kill them, take their form.
Yeah.
Find out who can beat.
They go find some other team.
It's a new creature.
Yeah.
Kill them.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Okay.
Just like that.
Just like that.
Yes.
Whatever that new creature is, that's what they're doing.
The Rangers need to score on transition.
And they're having a hard time getting out, but not that hard time.
They had a few breaks.
The Panthers are going to score by possessing the puck for 45 seconds at a time behind the goal line,
which is exactly what they were doing.
Yeah, a big one for me is the power play, 0 for 3 on the power play.
That can't happen.
The Rangers really rely on their power play.
It cooled off at the end of the Kane series.
It did.
It did.
So that's going to be something to keep an eye on,
especially given that Florida didn't score on the power play either.
So you're playing 5V5, you're losing 5V5.
That was kind of the narrative, right?
Carolina was playing better 5V5 than New York.
It was only one.
But they were, but it was only one goal.
Like everybody was like, my God.
Well, it was two goals, but...
Was it?
With the goal interference is what I'm saying.
Oh, no, I'm saying Cain's rags.
Oh, yes.
It was one goal.
It was not.
Cains were one goal better five to five.
Yes, correct.
It wasn't crazy.
So, yeah, it was, listen,
biggest test.
Yeah, biggest test so far.
Massive game.
I mean, all the games are massive now,
but I'm not saying anything crazy here.
This feels like a, as I've said,
the drum that I am banging,
like Nick Cannon and Drumline is that this Rangers team has been dubbed the cockroaches by me
because they are not phased by anything.
They will claw back.
They're not rattled by getting down in a game or in a series.
I know this is the first time it's happened.
So I would like to say if they lose two, whatever.
You know, like it's like New York, New Jersey last year.
Yeah.
Hard to lose two at home to this team.
That it was what I was going to say.
So I preface that as to say.
I'm about to go,
you are looking right now,
you cannot go down 02 at home
against this Florida Panthers team.
I feel a lot of people would be like,
no shit, Sherlock.
Florida weirdly been way better on the road, though.
Do you see that's that?
Yeah, but based on like,
oh, you mean all season or in the playoffs?
No, the playoffs.
It's like, sure, but like,
they lost one game to Tampa,
like, you know.
Yeah, but they're like, they've won four straight on the road.
Their power plays 35% on the road, 12% at home.
Yeah.
They're just like, oddly.
So it is something that's like, maybe not, but I just, I wouldn't feel comfortable if this, if I was staring at this Florida Panthers team and I was like, we're down 02 and we're playing two at your barn. That's kind of crazy.
Yeah.
So, guys, you know that we have partnered with bet MGM for all of your gambling needs. So let me tell you how this works.
All you have to do is sign up for bet MGM and use promo code netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
And what they're going to do is you can take a bet that's $5.00. You can take a bet that's all the way up to $1,500.
Let me just say it again. $5 to $1,500.
You heard me.
And if you win, congratulations.
You won the bet.
If you lose, they take that money and put it back into your account and you can bet it again.
That's insane.
How could you not want to take advantage of that?
So go to bet MGM, sign up and use that promo code netters right now.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800-Gambler.
Call 877-8-Hope-N-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York.
Call 1-800-3-2-7-50 for Massachusetts.
21-1-100 next step for Arizona.
1-800 bets off for Iowa.
9 8100-981023 for Puerto Rico or visit www.1-800-gambler.net for West Virginia.
First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel, seepedmGM.com for terms.
US promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
We're going to do, we'll do RM-Chair GM right now, but I'm just going to keep rolling
because it's like basically part of this hottest conversation.
Yes.
It's not necessarily a coaching adjustment either you or I demand the Rangers make, but it's just
something that's been coming up so much that I wanted to talk about it.
the whole narrative, the Rangers need to be more physical.
They're getting beat up by the Panthers.
Yeah, they out hit them.
I, A, have PTSD from that entire statement from the 2019 Bruins Blues Cup when everyone was like, the Blues are bullying the Bruins.
And I'm like, dude, you are not getting bullied.
You were just losing to the Blues.
And listen, did the Blues have a heavy forecheck?
Yes.
Did they fucking illegally injure multiple defensemen?
And that's why we lost because we had 5D?
No.
But you know what I'm saying?
Like, yeah.
Did Tori Krug get clearly tripped and it wasn't called them?
That literally cost the series.
If you are banging their D on every dump in, it adds up 100%.
And Florida is about that life.
They are getting pucks behind the rangers and hemming them the fuck in and hammering bodies.
And Matthew Kuch is throwing his ass everywhere, dude.
Like, that's how he hits and that it works.
Wait, that was a chari that got tripped, wasn't it?
Sorry.
My brain just shut off and I went back to that 2019 series.
Sorry.
Continue.
That's a good rewind.
But yeah, so the Panthers are out there getting physical,
but I don't think that the Rangers need to.
You said the other day, who wants to play in mud with the Panthers?
I don't think the Rangers need to play that game.
Now, because you're going to lose it.
Put in Rampi.
I think they are, but even if you aren't, like, that isn't your game.
That's my point.
Yeah.
Like, I have said multiple and multiple times, and again, like, I believe in the Rangers.
my big thing is
no one can beat this panthers team in the mud
no one can and the Rangers outhit them
they had more hits in that game so it's not like a
it's not a quantity thing
and I agree with you clearly it's like that's not how you're going to beat them
like you need to beat them
with the fast-paced skill game that you've been playing
all season long and they're susceptible to that
you saw two fucking breakaways yeah
for the exact same reason like the Rangers the Panthers think they have you
hemmed in and then one puck ricochets and you're gone dude someone on the weak side is taking off
the if i'm new york i am like i don't go we played horrible it's fine i go we played pretty good
and that was a tough loss let's try it we need to get game too but i am i'm like just continue
to believe in our system yes and and really focus on clean zone exits yeah because that's where
we're getting beat yeah we get stuck in the boards and we rip it around the wall and the panthers
fucking d keeps it in and then and then they're so good corner to corner i've never i haven't seen a team move
corner to corner that fast in a long time.
Like they're two manning the puck and then the Rangers reverse it.
And that fucking high forward, it's not even the center every time, just whoever that is, is in the corner, like already.
So maybe it's that.
Maybe it's like, hey, less around the boards and like you play, we always talk about how dangerous fucking NHL guys like throw two foot sauces into their own slot during breakouts because they're like, we can do it.
And I'm like, yeah, you can do it 95% of the time.
And the 5% you do it, you fuck up.
It's a fucking goal.
Yeah.
So I'm always like, stop, dude.
Just get it out.
But if the Panthers are showing themselves that every rim that you're fucked,
maybe the middle of the ice is open.
You know, figure it out.
Take a fucking page of their book.
Flip it up the fucking rafters.
Who gives a shit?
But I just don't buy the play more physical if you're the rags.
I'm with you.
My other armchair GM is for Dallas.
Oh, okay.
Get shots on net.
Yep.
Stay out of the fucking box.
Yep.
Definitely.
But I just think that team is disciplined, deep.
good defensively.
If there's anything that this Dallas team needs to learn from Vancouver,
and it's the Skinner thing again,
like get 30 shots on that.
Yep.
Make sure that if you were going to lose a game to Edmonton,
make sure Stuart Skinner is somehow beating you.
Yeah.
Do not leave that sheet of ice going,
we should have got more shots on it.
Yeah, we didn't really.
That is just, that is something that you cannot let happen.
So find ways to get pucks through
Find ways to test the goalie and make him beat you
And I think you're going to find success
Yeah, God, I love the I love the
When you get this team in the playoffs
It feels like there's so much pressure on that high seed to win both
Because I'm like the road team just trying to win one
Yeah, we win one of these two
Like if everything gets one of these two you're like oh shit
Yeah you know that's like it's crazy to just have to win both
Okay let's hit a little god I wish I was
Do you want me to go first?
Sure
God, I wish I was Jamie Ben.
Wow.
And I'll tell you why, Dan.
I saw this other cool stat.
Games played without a cup.
Guys in the league, right?
And there's a lot of dudes, but there's actually a lot of guys on Dallas.
Yeah, yeah.
Suter, Pavlowski.
1,332.
Suter, 1,444.
Dutchy, 156.
And then Jamie Ben, 1, 112.
elf and I kind of just forgot like I knew he didn't have a cup and I knew he'd play a thousand games
but I was like oh yeah like you've just been in the grind for a long time and what a cool moment
it must be for him to play this long be the captain of that team same team too same teams
same teams whole time contributing scoring a sick backhand tuck to tie game fucking six against the
abs but not the guy you know it's not like we don't need you to do this yeah
Sid or whatever.
You know, you're just like, hey, I play third line,
but I'm not a third line ghost.
I'm a third line contributor, but I'm still to get the sea.
And you're this close again, and you've got a great squad,
and your role is, and some people hate it about him,
but your role is like, you're a prick.
You're a, you're a bully prick, okay, on the schoolyard.
Yeah.
And who rolls into town for the Western Conference Finals is the pretty boy Oilers?
Yeah.
with like the two us high-flying players in the league
you know and you get they go hey go be a prick to them and you go
sick you know like it's not like you're playing oh dude
you're not playing like the aves and they're gonna fucking steamroll it's a dog fight
like you are playing the fucking prom queen it immediately takes my mind to that clip of
there's a scrum in the ice and ben and hyman are standing like arm and arm
and then ben it just slashes hyman stick out of his hand and then when hyman goes to pick
it up ben just two hands in the back of the in his spine and I'm like what happened
then they're in a fight what is going on in this interaction here so yeah
Yeah, he is going to be a motherfucker.
Like he gets to go beat up on the fucking high-flying oilers every chance he gets and have a sick team.
That can be the captain of a sick team and he's contributing and they might get him a cup.
Yeah, for sure.
God, I wish I was also on Dallas.
Matthew Shane.
Oh, shit.
I just love his arc this year.
Yeah.
It's, you know, he had a, really a career year.
in Nashville a couple years ago.
Last year, it was a frustrating year
for that team. Frustrating year for him.
Everyone was underperforming.
He loves it in Nashville. He's playing
guitar on stage. He couldn't be happier.
He's investing in the bar.
And then, bang.
He gets bought out.
Yeah, Christ. And
it was an insane moment when he
got bought out because he was like, I'm one
of the guys here in Nashville and all of a sudden
bought out. And then there was a bunch of
conversations of like, where will he even end up?
And I was like, what are we talking about here?
And he gets a deal in Dallas lower than he was making.
People were kind of like, oh, shit, this is kind of just like a retirement deal almost.
All of the lineups were showing him like, yeah, he's on the third line.
And people were like, you know, he probably, I remember it was, um, uh, Boudreau was on NHL Network in the summer talking about it.
And he's like, he's probably going to be upset that he's on that third line.
But, you know, this is the card he, cards he's been dealt.
And he had a great.
year, scored 30 goals.
Was it 30?
I think if it wasn't, it was 29, but we're going to round up for the purposes of
this.
But I think he got, or maybe he didn't get 30.
He got close, though.
But he had a fantastic year.
And he's in these playoffs now.
He's got six points in 13 games contributing and then obviously scores the sick
heartbreaker goal against Colorado, one of his other former teams.
25.
25.
Okay, sorry.
That's too much.
That's a dash one for me.
That's not, we can't round that up to 30.
25 goals is fantastic, especially in that role.
Yep.
I love that he's getting that goal against Colorado.
Not saying there's bad blood there, but it's just like adds into his arc.
Like he's like, this is a team that I left.
A lot of Colorado fans don't like him.
He scores that sick goal.
And then, you know, after he got bought out, he's on this new team.
Now he's in the Western Conference Finals.
He's scoring an overtime goal to send them there.
Like, the guy's buzzing.
Yeah, he's buzzing.
He's buzzing.
Yep.
Honorable mention, God, I will.
wish I was.
Bobrovsky.
Oh, my dude, you're dueling your Russian partner, and you've got your buddy breadman on the other
side, and, you know, everybody's saying, Chester's having the best playoffs, because they forget
Jeremy Swimming exists, but they're like, Shest he's the guy.
And Otter.
Yeah, Bob, Bob can't hang.
And I saw some previews, too, like, if the Panthers are going to win the series, they
really need Bob.
And I'm like, at what point has Bob not been great?
It's like they're acting like, he's got to wake up.
He's been fantastic.
And he posts a sturdy shutout.
In my opinion.
He looks like a kid out there.
Dude, you said that.
He's flashing.
He's rolling around.
He's flashing legs, dude.
Looking like Tim Thomas.
I couldn't believe it.
Looking like Dominic Hasick.
I couldn't believe it.
He's flopping around out there like a young kid.
I saw one.
I think it was either the, I think it was the coolly breakaway where he made the save.
It might have been the post, the earlier breakway.
But I think it was the coolly breakaway when he made the kick save.
It like, he made the save.
And then the puck went down the other end.
There was like a whistle or whatever.
And it cut.
the camera went back to Bob and sorry for the radio listeners, but it was just him and he goes like,
I just had his eyes closed and did like the deepest inhale.
And I was like, oh, Bob is fucking in the zone.
I'm in the fucking zone, man.
I'm in the fucking zone.
Yeah, I'm in the fucking dialed.
Yeah.
So, yeah, not a bad time to be Bob either.
At all, dude.
Let's close it out with the temper tantrum.
And here's what I got for you, Dan.
Hit me, dude.
The dantrum.
Too many men on the ice.
Oh my God, dude.
And I get two sides of this coin.
The first side is the Boston Bruins, for example, setting an NHL record for too many men on the...
Was it actually?
Yes.
I thought so.
Yeah, it was.
I tweeted.
I was like, someone looked this up.
This has to be a record.
NHL record, seven, too many men on the ice penalties in one playoff run.
And they didn't get out of the second round, Dan.
They played 13 games.
That is preposterous.
Dude, it cannot happen.
They're getting too horny, dude.
It cannot happen.
You're just getting way too horny on the bench.
A part of it, this is no excuse, but a part of it is line jumbling.
And I'm not, I'm not like blaming Monty or anybody jumbled lines.
But a part of it is like, you're not going out with the same guys every time.
Sometimes in game, the line isn't even jumbled, but they're like, hey, we're going to try one.
Marci, I want you with pasta on this one.
We're down to goal.
So it's just like, you know, you hear, for people that don't play, you have a color, you know,
like you're in practice, you wear like a color practice jersey.
So it's like, hey, red line, white line.
Like, you have your line.
And if you hear a red line and then, but they're like redline with Marci, though,
and you're the red line left wing, you might jump,
and you're like, fuck me, my bad.
But more often than not,
it's like the early jump,
which it happens in every change ever,
but then you play it.
You play the puck.
Yeah.
And I'm like, dude,
how could you be playing the puck right there?
How could you even be passing it towards the bench
when this is happening?
And then certainly how could you be playing it?
I thought that was a bad call last night.
Okay, so that's going to be the other side of the coin.
But first, I just, do you have anything,
do you want to sound off on the idiocy of seven fucking too many men penalties?
No, I don't know why we're scurring the Bruins right now.
Well, it's anybody, but I'm just saying, that was crazy.
Relax.
Yeah, it's any, I think it's nuts, dude.
It's always driven me mad because bad changes happen.
Yeah.
But if you are the key offender in a bad change, that's such a pee-p-wack for me.
I'm like, you fucking idiot, dude.
Like, why are you changing in this shitty situation?
I was very cognizant always when I played of being like, I will never.
give a bad change.
Unless I am dying, I will never give a bad change.
But I also hate the, when someone changes and they're like, oh, uh, I'm like, get off the ice, dude.
Like, if you're coming, get on the fucking bench so I can go out.
Superman on, Superman on to the bench.
Those ones piss me off too.
So to switch into that call last night, I didn't like that one.
Okay.
It was a very, like, they were right next to each other.
It was hop on, hop off, and no one played the puck.
I'm like, that's not too many men.
I need a
potentially another angle that I'm missing
like similar to the Bennett Martian thing where everyone was like
it's fine and then they're like oh shit I didn't know I need
another look at that because from what they showed on the broadcast
dude Paul Maurice is screaming four he was like we had four
we had four dude being like there was four on the ice as someone was changing
I thought he was saying four to the rat like four of you huddle I thought he was
going like you guys need to chalk because he was like you didn't see it right
ask them maybe that's what he's doing but either way he was saying you're wrong yes
And then they show that, and Ray Ferraro goes, yeah, you know, based on that, there's six men on the ice and there was not only.
And Ray's great.
I'm not, I'm not dogging Ray.
But not only were there five Panthers on the ice, they had a graphic on the screen with a number on each of them, counting out to five.
I was like, what are you talking about?
What was crazy?
It's like, because the rags were coming down, were the rags taking the puck that way?
I think that, no, the Panthers were skating the puck down, 100%.
So what happened was a guy changed.
And like whoever the left wing was coming up, like almost hit his new guy.
Yeah.
But that guy, that new guy did not touch the puck at all, dude.
And the wing skates by.
And then you look, I think that overhead that I saw at least showed like the 2D way behind the play.
Yeah.
The last D changing and the other D already on.
Yeah.
Which was the most normal hockey change in the history of hockey changes ever.
Yeah.
And I was like, and I'm fucking king even on the penalties, you know?
And I knew the Panthers got a late power play.
And I was like, oh, I bet they're going to give one to the rags here.
But I was like, that was egregious.
Dude, that was just a normal change in the game of hockey.
Agree.
Fuck that, dude.
Insane.
Good temper dantrum.
I like it a lot.
We're going to get dialed in here for game one tonight.
By the time you guys are listening to this, we'll have the result of Dallas, Edmonton.
And then we head back to New York.
Like we said, change of itinerary.
Little change of itinerary.
Your boys are going to be buzzing here for the conference finals, and then we head to the cup,
and things are just going to be electric.
keep crushing it with us.
Go to the YouTube right now and subscribe.
You sons of bitches.
Do it right now.
Make sure you're following.
Make sure you're spreading us around because this is the most fun time.
We're doing the most fun stuff.
You are not going to want to miss any of this.
It's electric stuff.
Cannot wait to keep crushing it with you guys.
A lot of action, a lot of action, a lot of action.
A lot of action.
And until then, skate hard, baby.
