Empty Netters Podcast - 102. Why We Were Removed from Stanley Cup Central
Episode Date: May 28, 2024Hear the story of what went down with hosting Stanley Cup Central during the boys NY trip. The Rangers punch back in a big way thanks to electric overtime heroics. And the Oilers aren’t here to mess... around after stealing a game in Dallas. Plus Dan has a new rule change the NHL has to consider. PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (1:59) – No Buckie Warm Up (17:51) – Hot Ice (18:27) – Rangers/Panthers (46:51) – Stars/Oilers (1:02:43) – Saucy Predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by our good buddies at Labat Blue.
When you are watching the game and you're hanging with your friends and you're thinking to yourself,
man, I wish there was a beer brewed with a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip
that could help me entertain my guests. Good news, I have just the beer for you.
Go get yourself a Labat Blue Light right now and you will realize all the fun you've been missing out on this entire time.
It's my favorite beer going and it's going to be yours too.
episode of the empty netters podcast, the Florida Panthers are learning exactly who the New York
cockroaches are and they're getting a taste of their own medicine in losing games in OT. The Dallas
stars even up the series but didn't look that pretty doing it. I got to admit. And big news for the
boys, we got fired. Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the empty netters
podcast. Lots of crazy things going on in the streets right now. Dallas and Edmonton tied up.
New York keeps on cockroach in, and we've got a crazy story.
Yeah, man.
Unbelievable.
We're getting that every night.
Every night joint.
Every night.
Conference final game.
Conference final game.
Absolutely incredible.
You have food poisoning.
Oh, I'm ill.
I'm quite ill right now, in fact.
It's actually a miracle I'm here, to be honest.
I can't.
I've got to give you some stick taps.
The fact that you're here is genuinely mind-blowing.
I didn't know a human being could throw up as much as I threw up last night.
anyone that's ever seen Team America
World Police
Yeah
We're talking
I'm slipping across the bathroom
There's so much puke everywhere
Yeah
And then here I am
Here I am
Delivering
Being a hero
Showing up for the people
For the people
I'm proud of you
I know
I couldn't believe
And I don't feel well
I don't feel good at all
But we're gonna get through it
Let's get right into this episode
We'll no bucket warm up
Yeah
No bucket warm up today
We usually do our
top five stories going on in the NHL. There's only one story right now for us. There's a top
one story. We teased this a little bit last episode. A lot of you, a lot of you astute listeners
DM'd us asking what's going on, but basically. And frankly, I want to say, before you even get
into it, that's why we're going to talk about it. There's just too many, we felt there were too
many questions being asked of us that felt unfair to not answer. So we're going to answer it.
And at the end of the day, it's not that, you know, nothing bad.
Yeah.
So we're just going to tell the story.
So a little while ago, CP and I were hired by the NHL to host Stanley Cup Central,
their NHL YouTube show covering the conference finals.
Super pumped to do it.
Absolute blast.
We went on his guests last year with our boy Johnny Laz.
And we were excited.
Sighted to come in.
they asked us to do a bunch of creative for them.
We were talking about segments, setups for the show.
We implemented a couple of great empty netter segments in there,
like Beer League Hotline, some fun stuff.
Worked with amazing people.
Huge shout out to the producers on that show.
And everyone at the NHL that we've worked with in the past,
with Patrick Trivia, with the media tour stuff.
And it was great.
Fantastic stuff.
We got hooked up with our homie, Anna Doa,
who is going to be our co-host.
And last week, as you all,
all know by now we came to New York got set up really excited on Monday of last week so a week ago
today we went in and we did our first rehearsal and it was awesome oh dear pierre was on i mean pierre's on
every ep if you guys are watching but pierre was there taught vermin was there and you know we ripped the
whole thing we did a bruin's leafs game which was fun yeah yeah we did a bruin's least game for the
test and it was just it was sick the studio looks awesome I was so excited to be zipping it around with
everybody all all of our ideas for the segments were in the show it was really great to see it all
come to come to reality and and go through that rehearsal and crush it everyone was great
so so fun so Tuesday we had a day off Wednesday was to be our first day of shooting we're going to
go in at 5 p.m get ready for the 8 p.m. pop drop and start the show on Tuesday night we got a phone
call from our team that apparently the show was in jeopardy for us. Yes. And the story went as
you'll know more tomorrow. Yeah. The story went as we were told that this show that we were hosting
is funded by the owner of the New York Rangers. And there was a clip from the podcast from about
three months ago.
Yeah.
Long before this show was in the works,
where there was a rumor circulating, as you all know,
and everyone in the hockey world was talking about it.
I cannot emphasize that part enough.
This isn't something we made up.
This is something that was buzzing all across hockey Twitter.
Every hockey outlet was talking about it.
It wouldn't be doing my job if I didn't say something.
And it wasn't just podcast.
It was like every pundit was like, you know,
we've all heard that rumor, blah, blah, blah.
And the rumor was that there was a chance that
the Rangers ownership was not going to let Chris Drury use a first-round pick
because they wanted their first-round pick at the sphere.
We talked about it, just like everyone else talked about it.
And the gist of our clip was that would be a shitty thing to do for an owner of a team.
You should want your team to win no matter what takes.
Especially when you have a cup team.
If you have a team, which feels a pick away.
The Rangers did.
Or a player away.
Don't be afraid to trade that first-round pick and get over the hump.
And we said that in the clip.
The Rangers are so good.
You have to believe in them.
three months ago. So we wake up Wednesday and we're fired. We have been removed from the show
because three months ago, we talked about a hypothetical that if that happened, that would be a
shitty thing for the owner to do. Yep. That didn't even happen. Yep. And we were told, right? We were
told that the owner saw that clip and was like absolutely not they can't host the show that
I pay for because they talked about something that everyone in the hockey world talked about
and I don't like what they said it was me.
Yeah, it would hurt my feelings.
Yes.
And that's what we were told.
Yep.
Yeah, exactly.
And it was like, like Dan said, if Dolan is funding the show, then obviously anyone, the
producers or the people that we have had such a great time working with, there wasn't much they
could do, right?
It's not like we got cut off by every.
everybody, you know, and cold shoulder.
It was like, dude, we would love to go to bat for you guys.
We've had such a blast working on this show with you guys.
Amazing.
Amazing reaction from everyone involved.
Nothing we can do if Dolan is like, they're out.
Then you out.
Yeah.
So we were just pretty flabbergasted by the whole situation.
Total gut punch Wednesday, I will say.
Total got punch Wednesday.
That was a total point.
Like we were so excited to do the show with all of these amazing people.
It was such a blast.
And, uh,
And again, can't reiterate enough.
Everyone in the league and everyone involved, it was so cool.
Yeah.
Like everyone was like, you guys did nothing wrong.
This is ridiculous.
We're so bummed to not be able to do this.
And that's exactly how we felt.
We later learned, and again, we're told.
Yeah.
This is what we've been led to believe is the situation was not that the owner saw this clip.
It was that a member of Rangers.
PR saw the clip, knew that this show was funded by Dolan and MSG Entertainment, and sent the
clip to another member in PR who then put pressure on the people we were working on the show
with being like, we can't even risk Dolan seeing this.
Yeah, it was like one of the people that work for Dolan.
Yeah.
They were shown to that person.
Yeah.
And that person was like, under no circumstances, can these guys host this show?
just in case my boss were to ever see this instead of being like hey let's just delete the clip
move on let them know don't say anything like that moving for especially while we're doing the show
and for long time listeners by the way you'll remember that dan and i were supposed to perform with
frank ocean at cocella yeah a year and a half ago and then inadvertently spilled the beans on frank's
entire show and all hell broke loose and we got a million calls from rolling stone magazine
and all this stuff, and then got a cease and desist from Frank's Ocean's own team, threatening
lawsuits, and all they said was, take it down, take the clip down.
So I was bummed out, frankly, however, it shook out, because I guess we don't know for sure.
We've been told two things, and one source, I trust very much.
Yeah, yeah.
But we've been told two things, but either way, however it shook out, I'm bummed that it wasn't
as simple as a take it down, which we've done.
anyway.
Yeah, yeah.
You can't risk him seeing it?
Watch this.
It's off the internet.
Yeah.
He can't see it anymore.
Yeah.
And ultimately, like we said, super bummed to have not been able to see the show through.
Super bummed to not be working with those amazing people that we set all that stuff up with.
All those segments and all those ideas are still being used on the show right now every single night, which that's great.
Like, I love it because we had a blast doing it.
We love working with those people.
It's nice to see it going well.
It was just, it's been such a bummer seeing that a team and, you know, this entertainment group is so sensitive and nervous that we talked about a hypothetical three months ago that everyone was talking about and that the whole situation with the draft at the sphere and just the sensitivity around it is that intense.
they're like, you can't do the show.
Yeah.
And to reiterate, I love that show.
Love it.
It's not like this is prime time on ABC.
You know, the entire world, the 50 million eyeballs on us.
The thing that's crazy, right?
And this has been the reaction to everyone in our group, which has been really wonderful, by the way,
like all of the people who have been like, this is absurd.
Sorry, guys.
Even if it were.
Yeah.
Even if this were, you know, major broadcast.
the issue at hand is so not a big deal.
It's so not controversial.
It's not insulting.
It's just the clip is so nothing.
And it was like we said,
what everyone was talking about at the time.
Dude, the only thing I'll add to that, Dan,
the only thing I'll add to that is the clip,
because if anyone that's like maybe someone saved it,
I don't know, but anybody that has seen it,
It was, it's not like the nicest thing.
You know, we're dog in someone over a hypothetical.
Yeah.
But if this happens, yeah.
That's a piece of shit move.
Right.
And to that, I would say, man, like, we run an entertainment hockey podcast.
Yes.
Like, I'm not, it's not, doesn't behoove me to go.
This so-and-so player did something and I didn't think that was very helpful to the team.
No.
I go, so-and-so player turned that puck over and he should be shot in.
the fucking son.
Yeah.
Because I'm,
I'm doing a hockey,
an entertainment,
comedy,
you know,
so,
like we have to be
hyperbolic and funny.
I'm like,
come on.
The,
and like you said,
I'm so,
I want the show to do as well
as humanly possible.
I swear to God.
Like,
even through everything.
Of course.
How many times do you say,
I absolutely love those people.
Yep.
So,
the best.
Like you said,
it was shitty to watch
a ton of stuff go down
where it was like,
we had worked on a bunch of segments together,
and we had,
called in a lot of,
of friends to try to come on the show and like to see it all kind of fall apart was a bummer and
I guess pretty much the last thing I'll say about it is I we have we have had many as you can
imagine many conversations before sitting here right now oh my gosh whether we want to talk about
this um with with our team at at almost Friday our direct bosses friends in the league blah
blah blah pretty much literally everyone is like air that out immediately yeah
The reason we were even hesitating, the reason we didn't say it last episode is we don't want,
I'm not, I'm not trying to, like, scorched earth anybody here.
I'm super bummed.
I'm not fuming mad at anybody.
I can't believe some of the decision making, for sure.
Yeah, it's disappointing.
Yep.
It's the end of the feeling line.
But I'm not, I'm not scorched earth.
I just, I think it came down, at least for me, I don't have words in your mouth,
but for me, I wanted to talk about it at the end of the day because it would bum me out.
I do this job for the people, for you, the people,
the people listening to this right now.
And it would bum me out
to ever feel like we got to a place
where we couldn't talk about stuff
truthfully and authentically
when...
The way we do it.
Both the way we do it.
Both what's happening to us
during this journey that you've been on with us
and what's happening in the league.
I don't ever want to get to a place
where if next year
they say Don Sweeney's
withholding the Bruins first round pick,
I don't want to go,
we can't talk about that on the first.
pod because of how people might feel in the league because this is hockey news and we run a funny
I hope.
Seriously, I hope so.
Hockey podcast.
Yeah.
So I don't ever want to.
I just, it occurred to me that if this, if us telling this story does anything negative because
we were way in the pros and cons, if us telling this story does anything negative and it's like,
oh, now we miss out on opportunities because, because what?
Because I, I'm not going to apologize for what we said in a.
clip three months ago, which I stand by every word of that clip.
Completely agree.
So I also, what we'll say, I'll add on to that because I agree with everything he said.
There's a reason that, or we do this show the way we do it.
And we're very passionate about it.
I love it.
And I love all of you guys so much.
And I think we are careful and calculated with what we say.
Because at the end of the day, I feel like anyone who listens to this show and knows us, it's all love.
Like, I just love this game so much.
And every time we have a guest come on our show and you hear me go, they're amazing.
I absolutely love them.
I genuinely mean it.
Yep.
These are the coolest players, the coolest teams, the coolest owners, the coolest employees.
I think it's the best league in the world.
It's my favorite league in the world.
And we have that mentality and that feeling with every episode that we do.
And we are careful sometimes with things that we say because it's all respect.
I want everyone to know how respected they are.
And there's a reason.
that we've worked with the league so many times
and the reason that we're so lucky
to be around the game so many times
because I think people appreciate
the way we do it. So for
things to go down the way that they did was
like you said, it was just disappointing.
Not mad at anybody. We're not going
scorched earth because we're like, whatever dude.
You know, it's a bummer, but at the end of the day
I love this league and the people
we work with just as much. And I hope
we work with them a ton more.
I hope they go. I hope they go. This was a bummer too
the way it shook out, but all good.
Absolutely. And just to be clear to prove that we're not bitter or anything, it's like, listen, anyone who listens knows that I have been riding the jock of the Rangers for the last four months. I've been pumping their tires so much. Every single night on Twitter, I pick and choose times to be cocky as shit and go, I know this team's winning, and I believe straight up, I'm fucking 10 and 1. Yeah, I think you are too.
And last night, which we'll get into when we talk about the game, or last yesterday day,
we hosted a Rangers watch party at an amazing bar, Blue Haven East, and we were standing on tables celebrating with the Rangers.
So if anyone thinks, oh, I wonder if they're going to be bitter against the Rangers for this?
The answer is no.
We were arm and arm with amazing Rangers fans having a blast watching that game.
So there is no animosity.
It's just we made the decision together with our team for UK.
guys, you're already aware that something was going on. We wanted to share the story.
It's a crazy situation. It is what it is. And we can't wait to keep doing awesome stuff with
this unbelievable league, these unbelievable people, and most importantly, in my opinion,
the coolest fucking fans in the world. Dang. So, wild shit. All right.
Let's strap on that bucket on. Strap on that bucket. Get into some more fun stuff. Let's get into
our Bauer hockey. Hot ice.
a quick break from the pod to talk to you guys about the number one name in hockey. That's right,
not number two, not number three, not number four, five, six, the number one name in hockey,
and that is Bauer. And I specifically want to talk to you about Bauer training, because I know you're
trying to get better. Everybody's trying to get better. Conner McDavid's trying to get better.
So here's what you do. You go to Bauer.com slash training, and you're going to check out all
the stuff they have there. They've got the digital reactor dangler, which helps you work on the
towies, the backhand towing, the forehand toie, get you going through the neutral zone with some speed.
They got the reactor slide board
If you're going to work on your stride
You want to get those Nathan McKinnon strides
Going through the neutral zone
You can do all that
And because we want to hook you guys up
If you use promo code empty
That's E-M-P-T-Y
You're going to get free shipping
On all your orders
Let's talk about these games
Enough drama, dude
It has been drama season
Yeah dude, it has been drama
Actually, dude
God, we should have seen this coming
We should have seen it coming
And is this not perfect
I mean this is when you know
We're part of it
We're part of the league
It's been drama season.
Here we are adding more drama.
Twist, the twist, dude, losing road games.
We come here to have a two and a half week gig.
Boom, you're gone.
Lost home ice.
Got to figure out.
Get back to L.A.
Go to Boston.
Record there.
You've got to be able to have it on the fly, dude.
So that's all we're doing.
Stick and move with the drama.
Stick and move.
Do you want to do stars first?
No, I think we got to start.
Rangers Panthers was the game yesterday,
and then we got a game tonight that by the time you guys are listening.
It'll just happen.
We'll finish with that one.
Okay.
Rangers, Panthers, Game 3.
circus.
Circus level stuff.
Like you said, Blue Haven East, we hosted a watch party.
It was incredible. Tons of people showed out.
Shout out to everybody that came and said hi,
took pictures with us. Oh my God. Fantastic energy up in there.
Massive shout out to Scott, to Avery.
Such a good time. That bar is nails.
It was, dude.
One of the best smash burgers I've ever had in my life.
Yep.
I mean that.
Also, dude, you go to that place.
It is a electric sports bar.
Electric. TVs, plastering the walls.
memorabilia everywhere.
Great vibes, great tunes.
Rangers' goals.
They got a bubble machine.
It is a sports bar.
Smash burger, elite.
Wings, elite.
Fries, elite.
Beers on tap.
Beers and cans.
Elite.
Office quotes in the bathroom.
Office quotes everywhere.
Dude, Alice ordered a summer salad.
Oh, yeah.
And I was like, we'll see how this is.
Yeah.
No disrespect, but I was like, we'll see how this is.
We're in a sports bar.
There was some, like, sesame dressing.
on this salad, deliciously perfectly cooked grilled chicken, avocado in there.
It was one of, I'm not kidding, it was one of the better salads I've ever had in my life.
God, damn.
And I was like, what the fuck?
We go back right now.
This bar's ripping wings and burgers, and also they have elite salads, too.
I'm truly not gassing this place up because we love them.
I'm gassing it up because they deserve it.
The chef apparently is like super intense about all fresh organic food, crafts the menu,
I mean, good God.
Yep.
Unbelievable.
And then for the Rangers fans there, like they do the shit.
They do the cool shit.
Obviously, you're getting the Who before they come out.
Oh, hell yeah.
You're getting the goal song.
You know, like that shit matters to me as a sports fan.
So I couldn't recommend it higher any Rangers fan in the area.
Any sports team-specific bar take notes from Blue Haven East.
Because, like, they make you feel like you're in MSG and it's, I mean, they do it.
Perfect.
So before the game started, a bunch of people I was with were like, hey, hammer.
What's the over under?
I said, five and a half.
They said, hammer the under in this game.
Hammer the under.
And I said, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, no, no, no.
Not so fast, my friend.
This might be Rangers 5-4 win night.
And everyone laughed at me, I would say.
I almost got laughed out of Blue Haven East.
And then when it went to 4-4-4 overtime,
and I just was holding up the 5-4 to everybody.
Be aware.
Be aware.
You called it every scoreline.
Yeah.
Every time you were like, it's going to be 5-4.
Strap in.
When the Rangers went up 4-2, you were like,
it's going to be 5-4, so prepare for a comeback.
It was the most savant,
no stradamus behavior I've ever seen.
I was really dialed in last night, I would say.
Oh my God.
Ziba got hit by that high stick by Barkoff.
You, I, I, that literally before people reacted, you were like, that was his own stick.
Yep.
Yeah.
I do.
I was just really dialed in.
It was special.
It was special.
That's probably why I'm paying for the food poisoning that I got from Shake Shack, I think.
But yeah, I had to come down.
It takes a physical toll to be that tapped into the universe, dude.
So, be careful next time.
Be careful.
I want to start with this.
Igor Shasturkin
is seeing it right now.
He is seeing the puck.
And what I mean by that is
it's when those shots come through traffic
and you're like, oh,
anything on net in the playoffs is scary.
Shots come through three legs and he's like this,
gloved, saw it the whole way.
Snap.
Saw it the whole way.
He's turned, back door pass.
Boom, right in the stomach.
Yeah.
Seeing it, dude.
He's seeing everything.
And we were texting with our buddy Sean McDonough
who said something we completely agree with,
this is 3-0 Panthers
if Igor Shasturkin isn't playing the way he's playing.
Yeah.
And Bob had a shout-out in game one,
so I'm not knocking him.
I'm going to get to Bob in a second.
But my point is, me especially,
have been on Shesty a little bit
in that I think Rangers fans are boosting him.
And I think that in his whole career, basically.
Like, he won that Vezna,
and the world crowned him, like, the greatest goal.
And I was like, he's very good.
But he's like, everybody chill.
And in these,
playoffs. Obviously, we've both been
stroking swam and as he deserved. Yes. But I've been
like, Bob has been better than Chesty. Otter has been
better than Chesty. Chesty has been sick.
Don't get me wrong. But those
guys have been better. Let me jump in.
Yeah. Because I completely agree. And we all know
I'm fucking cock ride in the Rangers here.
Here's the reality.
He did not, he played great
against the Capitals. He did not face
difficult shots against the Capitals. He played great
against the Hurricanes. With the exception of those two
games where he gave up four goals each,
He did not face difficult shots again.
Rangers fans, the passion is real, and I love it when we did that goalie video,
and people were like, Igor is one.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
Guys, Igor being three or four behind the way that they played so far in rounds one and two,
behind Swamen and Bob and Otter is not a bad thing.
It's like the 1A, B, C, and D.
Four boys are playing unconscious.
Relax.
Relax.
He has not faced the scariest chances, like these other goalies.
have. Now he is, and he is performing. So that's why we're like, yes, dude, he is out of control
right now. And now, I think he is the number one goalie in the playoffs, as he deserves.
Because he- Otter's still there. Otter's, you know, giving up nothing. Absolutely. But yeah,
he is really delivering and making some gargantuan saves, gargantuan saves on top, top players.
So I thought that was extremely impressive. And if it keeps up, punch the ticket, dude. Punch the
ticket to the cup. On the other side of it. But, but...
Bob, for me, we got a mini argument after the game about this.
Bob is, at one point when it was 4-4.
Let's also be clear real quick, just saying, Igor's elite, but like we people, we need to take our medicine too.
Igor had an 8-9-2 say percentage in that game.
Yep.
Like, you know, yes, there was 37 shot.
I mean, there was 108 shot attempts, 37 and they saw the frame.
Four went in.
Yep.
So like, he's been great and he is seeing it.
Yep. But like, let's just, let's be real.
And, actually, to finish that, Dan, I will say it was like the Kachuk, like deflected one in in game one.
Then ignore the disallowed goal because it was disallowed, but I thought that shouldn't have been.
It was a goal, though.
But then it was like, own goal.
Empty Netter.
Then Verhegey Powerplay, and that was it in game two.
Yep.
And then in this, I'm trying to remember the, it was like PowerPlay goal.
It was, oh, yeah, it was like the two Reiner at PowerPlay goals.
But I'm so sick of it.
people being like, you know, those were great moves and he got beat.
Yeah, the first one, they'll, like, hit his arm and went up.
Gives the fuck, dude.
Like, I don't, I'm sorry, I don't understand this argument.
Reinhart got the puck, I don't, and it's a power play, sure.
Reinhardt got the puck, down at the goal line, made a good move with the backhand
into the front of the net that Sterkin is sitting in front of, and it goes under
his arm and in the net.
Like, that's, what are we talking about?
It wasn't deflected, it wasn't a lucky bounce.
It was a sick move and a good backhand shot.
It went in.
Yep.
I think that's right.
I think that's right.
but then the second one went off Truba
You know, he just fired it off Truba
And then what was their third goal?
Oh, the one was like Barkoff hit him in the hand
You know, like they just fired it waist high
hit Barkoff and he's swinging at it
But like it hits Barkup in the hand
And then Forsling just cheeses him
And then Forsling Cheezing himself
Like that was at like an
Again, I'm on the Rangers
But I refuse
And I have some for the Panthers later too
I refuse biased fan stances
Like people being like it went off his hands
Barkoff tips that puck in the net.
Okay.
It's a good tip.
It's a good move.
It catches a piece of his hand.
It catches a piece of his stick, too, for the record.
And that is your stick.
By the rulebook.
That was a tip in goal.
A tip is literally never a goalie's fault.
If someone's thought gets tip, you're like, oh.
My point is let's call it a tip in goal.
Because that's what it was.
So off Truba, tip in goal, then Forsling cheesed him,
and then Forzling cheese him again and hit the crossbar.
That was the only time I was like, oh-oh,
because you're starting to get a few ripped by you.
Yes.
So to your point
By the way, biggest mush of my life
What happened?
I tweeted like I again
I was right
They won
And I was cocky on Twitter
For Rangers fans
And I've said a bunch of times
I'll be cocky on Twitter
While you guys defend the wall
Let me be cocky
I'll take the bullets
And I'm 10 and 1
When I get cocky
I did say in that game
I was like
Shusirkin will not let a straight shot in
For the rest of these playoffs
Like the only way they can score is tips
Yeah
And then
Forrestling just chattered him immediately, and I was like, my bad.
And I did tweet that.
I was like, my bad.
That was the fast.
It was literally Chris, the 45 seconds.
That was a sick play too, by the way.
It was such a bad mush by me.
Right off the face off.
But to switch it, so to your point, yes, it wasn't like Chesty had a 9-8 percentage
and had another shout-out, but he's playing good.
Bob, I get worried a little bit because at one point when it was 4-4, the Rangers had
16 or maybe 17 shots.
Four goals on 17 shots is absolutely unacceptable.
And, I know, we kind of disagree on this, but like, the laugh, I thought two were the sick Laffey goals.
And I know that you have a take on that where it's like, kind of where else is he going to go?
And I actually thought, I don't know what defender that was on Florida, but whoever went down on a knee.
Oh, dude, no, it's goal two, we can talk about.
Goal one, sick.
Yeah.
Like good zone entry by Lafie, really strong on the puck.
He's on his backhand the whole time, but like we said it down the bar, though.
Elevate.
Yep.
And he fucking tucked that where Mama keeps the cookies.
Yep.
And that was a sick goal.
Yep.
Sick goal.
Goal two.
I'm sorry.
I'm not going to crown him.
Good, good move.
But I'm sorry, as a non-biased hockey fan watching that, I saw two horrendous defensive plays more than I saw a good move.
The go down on the knee is so insane.
A few pretty significant pundits in the hockey world have said that.
They've been like, what the fuck is going on here?
Like, this is not good defense.
It was awful.
Insane.
And then I just said it's.
tip is a tip. So I think the second goal in the game was a Goodrow tip. And then the Goodrow
Clapper, I thought, I mean, that was just a ridiculous play by Florida again, where it felt like
they had the puck on the power play. They just got that double minor, which we're going to talk about.
But I felt like they had the puck. And then all of a sudden, the Rangers have it, and they
throw it out to Goodrow and he just hits that clapper, that like knuckle puck clapper that just goes
top corner, but not like top top corner. And I got to have that one if I'm Bob, I think.
And then the Wenberg thing, dude, and hey, yo, Wenberg, first goal of the playoffs,
game winner and OT, massively important.
Count me among the people that was like, I don't love that signing at the deadline.
Just doesn't feel like a guy that's going to make a difference for you in the playoffs.
Yeah, here you go.
And it's similar to a lot of the signings that the bees have made the last few years where I'm like,
eh, well, that's not enough.
You didn't quite do enough.
They bring in Wenberg, and I was like, this isn't it.
And he has zero goals through, you know, two games at the conference finals.
I was like, told you.
but hey if he scores one goal all playoff
OT winner pretty good one to do
fucking right dude like that was sick
how he's standing there
literally alone no one within 10
he'd him is so insane
and again it's not boss vault it's a tip but I'm like
another muffin flip to the front of the net
Wendberg tip goal and I'm like
bro these
this is where
I was texting a panthers buddy this is where
you start to see if you're the panthers
you start to see what it is what roach life
is like dude yeah it was it was the
greatest shot attempt, not on goal, shot attempt discrepancy in the history of the conference
finals. Yeah. That's how much the Panthers were all over them. I mean, dude, it's 5-4-L. It's crazy.
I think there was 108 shot attempts, 37 on frame. I think 37 were blocked and then like 34
or something just like missed the net. And that is, that just simply cannot happen. And I will say
there's a frustration element too of if you're the Panthers
forwards and
defensemen and you get
37 shots on net and you score
four like I said 8, 9, 2
say percentage from Chesty
that's not certainly by his standards
that's not good. Yeah. So you go, we did our job, we scored
four. When they get 23 shots on net and
score five, you are a bit like
we fucked, like we lost this game. Yeah, we might have a problem.
Like we lost this game. Yeah. And I'll say this too. Bob
was unbelievable last year and Bob had
some games, certainly against Boston, where he just, like, wasn't good, but then pulls it together
next game and they win. So, like, I don't think you're panicked right now if you're Florida at all,
but that was a bad game. That was a bad game top to bottom from that team. Those two,
you go up on nothing, those two quick Rangers goals, like, again, sick move by Laffey or six
shot. Yeah. But that was terrible positioning by Florida. Like when Laffey was like in, I was like,
why the fuck is he in? Like, how did you let that happen? And then, listen, Goodrow's steps
up big time.
Big time.
Like he's got three goals in two games or something like that.
I think he's got six playoff goals.
Yeah, four goals in the regular season.
It's insane.
And that's one of those things where it's like, you know, to win a cup.
That's what you need.
Other guys need to step up.
Mika and Bread are a little quiet right now.
Look at that.
Laffey and Goodrow are stepping up big time.
That's amazing.
But if you're Florida, you're like, we cannot be getting fucking scored on by this guy.
And that's no disrespect.
Like that's what any team would think against a bottom six guy.
Good day for Barkley Goodro.
Bad day for the New York Rangers if he's your best player.
Yeah.
But at the same time, they're winning.
It's like, fucking A.
But this is the shit we've been talking about, dude.
This team is the team of Destiny stuff starting to feel real.
Hell yeah.
And the whole cockroach thing, some of the Rangers fans who don't get it,
and then they ask questions and I explain it, they're like, oh, I kind of love that.
Yep.
You can't deny it anymore.
I mean, I had a friend who was butt hurt at me about the cockroach nickname.
And then literally last night, he was like, dude, this team just won't go away.
And I go, I literally sent to cockroach.
And he goes, oh, my God.
I get it. And I was like, you're an idiot for not getting it. But like, it, dude, this team,
they are a bunch of cockroaches. And to quote Las, our boy, they are, they are officially,
now in round three, they're very much adopting this identity of they're very comfortable being
uncomfortable. Yep. They go down and we didn't see it really much. We didn't see it at all,
really in the Capitol series, but we saw it a couple times in Carolina, certainly in game six.
Yeah. They go down. It looks like they're dead and they're like, we're okay. You can see it on the bench.
like, we're okay. It was interesting in game one when they were down, and they had that.
They were like, we're like, we're okay. But Florida was like, we don't care that you're okay.
We're going to kill you. Dude, Florida best third period team in the, they're like plus 36.
Yeah. And they are dominant in the third period. And we saw it in game three. But this is a
message. I mean, how much more stroke offs can I give the Rangers? Like, I love the way this
team is playing. And it's amazing. It's like really cool to see this team so unfazed. To switch it to
Florida now, you're
now in trouble.
You were not in trouble after game two.
You know, we can go back and forth
with this and race. I thought Florida won that game.
Game two. I thought they were the better team. There were
waves, absolutely, certainly, overtime.
Rangers won that overtime. That's why they won.
Yeah. But it feels tough because in game
three, the Panthers fucking won that overtime.
Like, I was watching that game being
like, this is insane. Panthers are controlling everything.
So it just felt like how game two won.
I was like, they're probably going to get this, and then out of nowhere.
Bang. Yep. Wenberg.
Standing by himself.
Rangers, yeah, nude.
Yeah.
So Panthers, you're officially in trouble because this identity of the Rangers being comfortably
being cockroaches, just clawing back, you can't let them get into that groove,
and they are officially in that groove.
And I'll add just on top of that, they are, they, we were talking to last.
I was talking to him about something that Crider, Haddy the other day.
And he was like, this is just so fun.
And he's talking as a fan, but he's like, this is just so fun.
like this run has been so fun.
Yes.
And the Rangers now, not just now, but the Rangers players are just having fun.
Yeah.
Like they are out there being like, this is epic.
Four and O in Overtime, little taste of your own Madison, Florida from last year when they couldn't
fucking lose an OTA.
Yeah.
You know, four and O in overtime.
Crazy comebacks.
You know, blowing leads and then winning anyway.
Like it is just, they are having a fucking blast.
Whereas Florida now is like, this is not fun at all.
We better fucking wake up because we are going to the finals.
We know we are.
And I'm like, okay, well, you're having a.
bad time. Yes, and to add on to that. And again, obviously,
with the cock, I don't need to keep saying this, but obviously I'm right in the Rangers,
but truly I am Switzerland here. I was not born and raised, a Rangers fan or a Florida fan.
I really love this Rangers team. As you know, I tweeted it after Boston lost to them.
I tweeted, I don't get the hate. I love this Florida Panthers team.
I am Switzerland, and with that, I'm saying Florida feels like that extra crisp because I think
Florida has been the better team. I really do. So you're down to one and I think you've been the
better team. You were certainly the better team in game three and you let it get out of control.
I mean, when they, when that game, those two quick goals, bad goals to give up, in my opinion.
And then to go down four or two, I was like, you guys are assholes. And I treat it. I was like,
you guys are playing like fucking assholes. And they know it. So they are in a big,
obviously you can't go down 3-1
you cannot lose this next game
you absolutely cannot and I think they have to win the next two
if they want a chance at winning this I think they have to win the next two
so you know we'll see but it's like
they are having a bad time
bad time and I also man I want to say the
I called this out a little bit I should have been more vocal
but there was so much shit before this series
sometimes I feel like there's trends and then every
pundit just gets their pause on it and it's like well I'll just say this
and it was like, the Rangers have to win the special teams.
And five on five, they lost five on five to the Cains,
and if they don't win five on five.
And I'm like, dude, their Rangers are dominating five on five right now.
Their power play hasn't even scored yet, I don't think.
Yeah, they didn't last night.
Yeah, and like the Cains have two power play goals last night,
power play goal in game two.
Like, the Cains, the Panthers.
The Panthers are the ones eating on the power play
and haven't done jack shit against this Rangers team five on five.
It was like, thank God that,
That Forsling goal went in because I was like, finally, dude.
Yeah.
So, you know, something to keep an eye on.
The last thing I want to talk about in this Rangers game.
I have a few things.
Oh, okay, go.
No, but you say yours because it might be the same, but there are a few things that I want to be.
Mine should be last because it's not relevant to gameplay.
Okay.
Well, I have two specifics of this game and then one that I thought of in the game that I want to make a rule.
Oh, great.
Let's talk about the true value.
Oh, okay.
Yeah.
Was this yours?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Actually, all right, before we get to the Truba elbow, I want to talk about the Truba situation.
The NHL needs to change.
That needs to be five on three.
Dude, I am.
That is the, I'm going to be a dramatic DP right now and hyperbolic.
That is the stupidest fucking rule I have ever seen in my fucking life.
In my fucking life, Chris.
I was appalled.
And that's a hand-up.
I didn't know that rule.
I was appalled at that situation.
And I'll tell you what.
people who were like on Twitter
I was like in what fucking world is that
not five on three that needs to be changed right
fucking now and someone was like well someone would
have to serve the bench minor and I'm like so fucking
what that's that's part that should be
part of the rule when a goalie takes a penalty
someone serves the bench minor like who gives
a shit that that's the circumstance if
you are so out of control
that you take a penalty and then during the
delayed penalty you take another penalty
that is two penalties that's not a four
minute oh yeah it's five on four that
is bullshit dude I
I could not agree more, and no one could say we're anti-Rangers at this point, but if anyone
gets mad at me, I would say the same thing.
If anyone on Florida had done it, if anyone had Boston had done it.
Dude, everyone in that bar who are all Rangers fans were like this, that should be five-on-three.
If I have a delayed penalty and then you fucking two-hand somebody, we're five on three,
and then you go to the box.
It is baffling.
I'm with you.
I didn't know that rule.
It is baffling that I could commit.
How many penalties could I commit, Dan?
What if I, what if I two-handed somebody, I have a delay, and then I two-hand someone
again, and then two-hand someone again, and then two-hand someone again, and then two-hand someone,
And then finally they touch it.
They just like, five on four for eight minutes.
Literally eight minutes.
They go like this.
Five on four for eight minutes.
Dude,
I'm blown away and I would love to hear anyone try to give me an ounce of logic
into why that should be five and four.
Because I would just sit there in a nod and I'd go like this.
Literally none of it makes sense.
It's two penalties.
Different penalties.
It's not the same action.
It's two separate penalties.
That is five on three.
I could not believe it.
So I'm glad we agree because we can move on.
But like that was ridiculous.
It's one of the worst rules I've ever seen in the game.
And frankly, so fucking lucky because, got to be honest,
looking at the way the power play was going,
those are, that would have led to multiple goals, I think, if that was five on three.
And the Rangers scored on the five on four.
Yes.
So I'm like, holy shit, dude.
Like, you lucked out so hard.
Imagine if that system.
I literally went correctly five on three.
I went to pick up a beer.
This is how fast it happened.
I went to pick up a beer.
And I looked up and the Rangers were scoring and I go,
did they just fucking score five on three?
And then I saw it was five and four.
And I was like, wait, what the fuck's going on?
There's so much happening in that.
moment. I was like, because what is happening right now? I feel like I'm going to spin off this
plan. Yeah. Dude, ridiculous. Now let's talk about the elbow. Yep. True.
First of all, what a great captain he has been. A lot of people asking questions.
That boy is a captain. Hell yeah. That boy should have also been suspended from that game.
If you are a Rangers fan pulling this shit, oh, Rodriguez embellished. That elbow hit his neck.
didn't even hit his head.
Dude, do you have any idea
how bad a flying elbow hurts him?
It hits you in the neck.
First of all, it definitely catches head as well.
But, like, yes, it does hit him in the neck too.
That is still a penalty.
That still hurts.
If that elbow hits him in the shoulder, it's still a penalty.
That was one of the most egregious elbows
these eyes have ever seen.
And, again, so many props to a lot of diehard rangers fans, I know,
who were like, in what world is that not a five-minute misconduct?
Yeah.
That was...
I think if it had been cleaner head-con,
And listen, I'm on your side, but I think of it had been cleaner head contact, he would have got the five-minute major.
It's just, that's, and I'm not saying this to you.
Yep.
I just think that's so ignorant, dude.
It's like, it's the attempted murder thing.
It's like, oh, yes, good point.
Oh, well, you know, like, he didn't shoot him in the head.
He shot him in the chest.
And I'm like, what are we talking about here, guys?
Like, dude, and also, we can agree that dangerous flying elbow that we've now seen again two series in a row.
Or, yeah.
Yeah, because that was a guy on NACIS.
it's hitting him shoulder up.
That's so dangerous.
And I do hate it, Dan, because, you know,
some people are like,
well, Rodriguez was, you know,
ducking a little bit and whatever.
But I'm like, at the root of it, man,
I just,
I feel like such a bitch now,
but at the root of it,
I'm just like, dude,
I can't have you flying through the air.
Like, he goes through the air, you know?
And it's that the same thing that's happening
with the nature's play,
where he realizes I might not get him.
You know?
And it's like, dude,
make it lower body.
that's what a leg check is.
When you go, oh, shit, I don't have him,
and you throw that out there,
you throw the wing out.
And that ends careers.
Dude, this is the same shit.
He goes like this, and he launches,
because I'm true, but I'm fucking,
I'm in the train, and that's fine.
But then when he's like, oh, shit,
I might not have him, he's out here.
And I'm like, dude, that,
even if that's, like, his body,
where they might not even call it, by the way,
like, if he just hits his body like that,
because he's like, oh, he's on the other side of me.
I am still like, stop doing that.
Just stop doing that.
Leave your elbow.
elbow's in. It's again, I really like Truba. So I'm not like, you asshole. I'm just like, yeah, it's like, stop doing that. Because it's, it's dangerous, dude. It's like, what I said about Matthew Kachuk. I love Matthew Kachuk. But when he threw that punch at the back of Pasta's head, I was like, stop doing that. Yeah. You were too good for this. Stop doing that. I don't, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't like, I don't think so. How is that not? I want all the best players on the ice. I really do. But at the same time, I'm, I'm going to be shocked. I'm, I'm going to be shocked. I don't think so. How is that. How is that.
as bad as the Sousy thing.
If not worse, dude.
The Sousy thing looked way worse.
Did it?
Yeah.
Dude, I think you're being ridiculous.
Dude, that looks horrible.
Yes, it did look horrible.
Do you who don't think that Truba elbow looked horrible?
It looked crazy, but the result wasn't as horrible.
Okay, the Truba thing, I actually think is worse.
I'm so sick of this.
Like, oh, he hit him in the fucking throat.
That's not as bad as hitting him in the jaw.
Yeah.
Grow up, dude.
And I announce, I'm sounding pissed because I've heard of this arguing like,
oh, I didn't catch him clean.
Dude, imagine if a player with like this, two-handed a player in the fucking head.
It's not the same thing.
I know that.
But imagine if someone did that and whiffed their head and you'd be like this, he shouldn't get suspended for that.
That's the same thing that what you're saying.
It is.
Kind of.
Dude, it is not, P.K. Suban said it perfectly on the ESPN broadcast.
That is not a hockey play.
Oh, God, at all, dude.
Then that's a suspension.
It's not a hockey play that is dangerous as fuck.
And he does make contact with his neck and head, maybe not clean.
head, but he makes contact with his neck. That is not a hockey play. That is the definition
of a suspension. Yeah. Again, I'm not sitting, I just said, I don't want players to get suspended.
I didn't want sushi to get suspended. I know. But when they did, I was like, I understand.
And I just think it would be so childish if Trubut gets a one game suspension and people go,
that's fucking ridiculous. I'm like, are you fucking high? Look at that point. No, I don't think he'll
get one. But if he does get one, I won't be going. That's ridiculous. I'll be going, yeah,
you flew through the air with your elbow out like a cyclopath. You know, you know, you know,
that I don't love the repeat offender argument
but I do think given that we have
two series I mean dude the nature's one was the
worst absurd thing I've ever seen
so now we have two
series in a row where he is
that he is thrown egregious
dangerous elbows this one did clock
someone in the head and I love how people go
he was out there Rodriguez was out there for the power play and I go
yeah dude he laid on the ice assessing himself
for five minutes and then there was a TV time out
and then he's back on the ice yes
that's enough time to recover and thank God he's not hurt you
fucking assholes people like I wish he was knocked out
out of the series. It's not a flop. I'm sure Rodriguez was stunned more than anything. Like,
what the fuck did you just do to me? So, I look again, I don't want him to get suspended,
but if he did, all I'm saying is if he did, I would understand, because, dude, that was
absurd. Yes, it was. It was absurd, and it's now two series in a row. And if you're defending
it, you are a fucking homa. Yeah. You are a homa. And I respect it, but like, know that you
are not logical if you were defending that point. Trooper's mom. It's like, that was fine.
It's like, dude, let's grow up here.
What's your rule?
What's your rule?
Okay.
I'll be quick with this.
That's fine.
I don't think it should be icing if a goalie does it.
Oh.
That's cool.
Bob got the puck.
And there was a play like he, like it was like a quick situation.
And he saw it and he saw someone streaking and he tossed one up.
Great sauce.
A little too much on it.
And it was icing.
And I was like, that'd be kind of a cool rule.
Because wouldn't it be sick if you're hemmed in?
And there's a situation where the goalie gets in.
I'd be like this ice it.
You could even like pass it.
Dude, if you're in the corner,
getting, like, you know, when there's, like, four dudes, like, jamming in there and, like, you know, whatever.
And you see, like, a little shoulder check, you see the goalie, and you just go knock him to the trap.
So he comes out and ices it.
Yeah.
You know what I was kind of thinking of it was, it's like in soccer when you can head the ball or, like, knee, any part, not your feet, back to the goalie.
Kind of feels like that.
It's like, it's, if a defenseman, if you're hand in and there's a situation where the goalie is free, and you just go, and then they dump it down.
Like, that's, I'm like, dude, high IQ play.
I love this.
I think it'd be kind of cool.
I love this.
Also, Shane Haney texted us during the game.
We need to some more goalie goals maybe.
Yeah.
Well, I don't know if the goalie pulled that time, but more goalie assists, certainly.
Yeah.
Shane Haney texts us during the game that, and we've talked about this, I think, but he said that scoring a shorty should end the penalty.
And I actually love that so much.
I know it's so rugged, but it's like shorties are so embarrassing to me that if you give up a short-handed goal, the penalty is over.
and thanks for coming out, you fucking clowns.
Honestly, I agree.
It is so, God, the feeling, too, is just so bad.
Yeah, it's fucking awful.
So bad.
That's all I got.
All right.
Next series.
Yeah.
That's all I got.
All right.
like I can here for days.
Yeah.
So,
but I'm not out of the woods
because if they lose game three,
I said game two or game three.
If they lose game three,
I still have to smash an egg.
We'll just,
we'll just be back, hopefully.
I didn't see this story.
It's a grid post, dog.
And, yeah, I didn't see that grid post.
And good credit to you, man.
Like, that's confidence.
I just, there's just no way.
And here's the thing, though.
I will say this.
And I, we,
actually, Dan, I want to say this, too.
I'm going to use my platform here.
Hey Oilers fans.
I, we posted a clip from the episode the other day where literally, dude, I said, I'm curious what Oilers fans will think if they lose in five games.
I'm not saying they're going to lose in five games.
I'm literally saying if you lose, I think I said four or five.
If you lose in four or five, do you go, I want big changes still like you said you wanted if you lost in the second round?
or were you going to say, no, it's okay.
We lost in five to a really good team.
We made the Western Conference Finals.
I was literally asking that question.
And the fucking comments are like,
you tell me you've never seen the Oilers without Tommy.
You've never seen the Oilers.
You're a loser.
I hate you, hate the Oilers, and I hate you.
And I'm like, dude, I was asking a question.
Okay.
So, dude, I have found, for the most,
listen, we say a million times,
every fan base has crazy fans.
For the most part, other than Toronto and Montreal,
all. I've found
Canadian fan-based fans
so wonderful and
polite. Yeah. And just like
a lot of them commiserate with each other
and their teams. But they've
just, they're all very like, yeah, man,
we just love our team, dude. Yeah.
Obviously, with the Chris Tanna thing, Calgary fans
showed a little bit of their fire
when they were upset with how right I was.
Yeah. But, man,
Oilers fans, so far are these playoffs.
Big Matt. They got the juice, dude.
And they got the juice.
And so that leads me right into my next point.
And it's only, fucking Dallas and Five is still alive.
But massive, massive hand-up through two games of this series,
just about everything I thought was going to happen in this series
has been completely wrong.
Truly.
The Oilers have outshot the stars in both games.
And by the way, the stars have blocked 20-something shots in both games,
which is what the stars do.
But that's just a testament to me saying they've blocked 25 shots a game
and the Oilers are still getting 30 shots on goal.
Yeah.
You know, and we watched teams, the Canucks smother this Oilers team where they'd be like,
I know a few games they had a million shots, but we watched teams hold this Oilers team
to very, very few shots.
And I thought Dallas was going to be even more of a problem for this Edmonton squad.
Wrong.
Completely incorrect.
Yeah.
I thought Stuart Skinner was going to get lit up like a pinball machine against the rolling lines
of Dallas.
Yeah.
Wrong.
Completely wrong.
I thought the, we both said, and this one I'll admit to because I, I thought, I thought,
I believe it. We both said, you always had an easier path, which they did.
They did. It's not even arguable.
You always had an easier path. So I'm like, this is a Mickey Mouse, Western Conference,
finals appearance, you know, you would have lost these other teams.
If this series continues to go the way it looks like it's going to go, seven games, whatever.
And for the polls, my fucking win, dude. But like, if Dallas battles and beats him in seven,
fucking completely wrong about everything, massive credit to this Edmonton squad,
because they came in the heavy, heavy dogs of the four teams.
the heavy dogs.
And it's actually so crazy how Vegas swing so fast, by the way.
Like after game one of both series,
the Rangers were like plus 700,
and Vegas was like, they're out.
And I was like, and now they're the heavy favorites.
To win the cup.
They're like, it's over.
I'm like, Jesus Christ.
So, but anyway, it's volatile,
but the Oilers came into this way, way down.
Yeah.
And they have put on a fucking clinic in these games, dude.
Like, I genuinely feel like they haven't,
because that, that Marshman tip was nasty to win game to.
Oh my God.
So sick. Absolutely disgusting behind the back.
Yeah. But again, tips aren't on the goal.
Like, it's not like their Oilers lost that game where you're like, oh, man, you're getting outplayed.
Dude, two things to say, one's going to transition perfectly into the other.
The Oilers defense deserves so much credit.
Yeah.
I mean, that was a huge question mark for me.
We talked about it with Wish way back.
I was like, do they, I mean, Bouchard's so good.
I'm going to get into that too.
But I was like, do they really have like a shutdown guy?
I mean, Nurse has been struggling a bit,
and I just wasn't sure how I felt about this defense.
They have stepped up in such a big way,
and again, going all the way back to Vancouver,
and now into these games.
Do me a favor and look up game one,
because in game two here,
there was, I believe, 22 shots from who?
Dallas.
Okay?
Or 24.
Game one?
22 saves for Skinner.
33 shots for Dallas game one.
And 30,
Yeah, yeah, sorry, and 25 shots in game two.
So not a ton of shots, and certainly in game two there, like they're keeping the shots pretty low.
And they just did that a lot against Vancouver.
They weren't giving up a lot of shots.
And I was like, dude, good job.
Like you're stepping in front of a lot.
You're not giving them good shooting opportunities.
And then low goals given up here.
You know, 3-1, game two with an empty netter.
And then that sick Marchman tip.
Yeah, like, good God.
And then let me just say, dude, Evan Bouchard is so good.
Yep.
He burst onto the scene last year, made our top 100 players in the league,
and he is now very solidly in my top five defenseman in the league.
Like top five?
I think so, dude.
I really do.
No.
Yes, because he does it on both ends of the ice.
I thought I kind of had this, this, give me your top 5D right now.
Well, hold on.
I'll get into that.
Okay.
I just think he is so, he is so solid on both ends.
And part of me was like maybe he's kind of a Carlson.
Like he's just really heavy in the offensive side.
He's really, he's not.
Like he's very strong defensively.
It's crazy.
How incredibly talented this guy is.
And that's a huge factor in this series.
Now on the other side, my boy, Miro Haskinen, is insane.
He's disgusting.
He is not, they have not let up a goal with him on the ice.
Is that true?
Yes.
That's sick.
Isn't that absurd?
Yeah, that's sick.
Haskinen is so, so dominant for this team.
And it's just on display night in and night out.
And the flowers that I would like to give him are in abundance because, I mean, holy smokes, is this dude unreal.
And also going to be such a huge identity and factor if they win this series.
Like, it's just going to be continued insane play by him.
Like, it's so impressive what he's doing.
So, so impressive.
And I just, like, I can't begin to stress it enough.
If you want my top five defensemen in the league right now.
Yeah, I would.
I think I go, KL, no question about it.
Mero.
Is this in order?
You just list in top five.
I think I'm listing top five, but it might be in order.
Mero, Charlie McAvoy, Evan Bouchard.
and then
either Dahlene or Fox
or sorry, Quinn Hughes
I was like, dude, I feel like you forgot someone
you're going to be pissed about
Yeah
Bouchard is not in that five for me
Yossi's over him for me
Yeah, Yose is to like to me it's like
That five
I might even have headman up there
Honestly I think I go
Oh wait, what am I doing dude?
We need to delete this
You've confused my brain
I'm sorry
But I do think I go Kail Miro
I really do
I love that
And then truly after that, I think it's Charlie.
I think it's Headman.
I think it's Quinn.
Quinn, Yossi, Headman.
Bouchard, Yosier, headman.
Then you're into the Charlie Bouchard Fox.
But my point being is, like, I feel pretty strongly about those, I feel very strongly about those top two.
Yeah.
I love that.
And I think pretty strongly about the top three.
But after that, I think that there's a collection of five guys for those last two spots.
And Bouchard is in that collection.
Yep.
No doubt about it.
Okay.
The, what did you say about that?
Oh, so the, in terms of the, in terms of the, in terms of the, in terms of the,
In terms of Dallas D and Miro not giving him any goals,
Otter has still been awesome.
Three goals, one goal, and that was O.T.
Connorson by himself.
Otter's been playing great.
I think that has been slightly slept on.
I was obviously picking the stars to win comfortably,
but that Edmonton team is a high-flying offensive team.
That's what they do.
And if you're telling me that the Oilers are going to average
two goals a game in this series,
they are going to lose, in my opinion.
So Otter and that Dallas D has certainly done
their job even though I don't think the games one and two went how they hoped they's obviously
wanted to win both but like I don't even think game two went as was as comfortable as they hoped
because that's a fucking must win game yeah I always say that when a team's in must win if you sneak
by them but given the Panthers in one game three I was like you need to pummel them in this
game because it's that important you know or I guess we get game four is a better comp for that for
the Panthers like if the Panthers beat the Rangers in OT in game four I'm like you're in
trouble, dog. But that's why I felt about Gallus game, too. You absolutely cannot lose that game at home,
and they kind of snuck by him. If the oilers, and I now think, and I didn't think this leading
into it, if the oilers get a split at home, I think they're fine. Because normally I would have
said, they're like, we need both. We need to step on this throat here because they're better than us,
and we got to be up three one. Now I'm like, dude, if you get two, two out of this, you're like,
whatever, dude, we can fucking beat them anywhere anytime. So, and that fucking crowd is going to be
insane. So I'm excited to see that. The one thing I thought,
was interesting both donuts on the power play both teams don't donut donut donut
sprinkled glazed Dallas grel no dude there's no circle in that dude yeah I need the
fucking I need the circle the uh chocolate frost it chocolate frosted nice Dallas is like oh
they had a bad for game one they're like oh for five so they're like oh for six over seven the
oh is I think over two or six excuse me three four maybe and that is scary to me if you're
Dallas because you know what that power play is capable of. And then I thought too,
Knoblock made some interesting comments. Did you see his very poised press conference where he
was like, I don't love that the calls tighten up in the playoffs because our power play is such
a weapon. And he's not wrong about that, about either sentiment. The power play is a weapon and the
calls do tighten up. It must be weird. I think I said, I think I tweeted the other day. I was like,
it must be so awesome being an oilish fan when you go on the power play. Yeah, you said. And it
Must be weird being a ref calling a penalty on the opposing team and being like, sorry, I just, I gave them a goal.
Yeah.
It was interesting to me because he goes, he says that and I'm like, I feel like you see that in the NBA all the time where it's these guys that get all their points because they get to the line.
James Hardin, you know, he's like, I'm just, I score 25 free throws a game.
And then you get to the playoffs and they call less fouls.
And then everyone's like, oh, how come Hardin disappeared?
And I'm like, because he lives off the special teams.
Yeah.
And I've kind of felt that way about the oil.
I hear Noblocks comments, but I'm like, that's life, dog.
Like, we don't call as many penalties in the playoffs.
Of course it should be tighter.
Yeah, it's not specific to this year.
That happens every year, right?
The calls get a little tighter.
Yeah, and you've got to be ready for that.
So I think that's a great point.
I agree.
You know, and he's like, well, we rely on our power play so much.
And I'm like, well, that's the flaw.
That is a flaw of the squad, you know?
Yeah.
And it's obviously extra frustrating because they haven't scored one yet,
but that'll be really scary.
I was interested to see that comment, see if the refs go the other way
because Dallas heavy advantage so far in Dallas.
also interested to see if the oilers take have way more power play opportunities in in Canada yeah um
i i am in a pretzel about that series me too i thought asked me to predict the game tonight i have
fucking no idea yeah i just thought that that dallas really had the edge across the board and it
just these games have felt insanely tight both both games so uh i to me more than anything it's just
a ton of credit to the oilers i think the oilers are way better than a lot of us think and that is
that's a hand-up apology.
Apologies.
I hope you can accept them
because I'm very impressed with the soilers team.
I agree.
I couldn't predict this.
Dude, they came out in first period of game two,
again, in a must-win game for Dallas.
First period.
Oilers, I'll shoot them like 16 to 4.
Yeah.
And I'm like, if you were Dallas in that locker room
and you're sitting there with the boys
and DeBoar and Pav and every leader in that locker room
is going, fucking, if you're the Oilers, dude,
you're going like this.
If I'm an Oilers fan,
I'm like, let's just weather this first period.
Dallas is going to be coming out fucking pants on fire just weather the first period and then we're in a game to come out and bitch slap the stars in the first period of a must win game in Dallas I was like dude
This is over someone someone got mad at us for saying that they were shit pumping I was like the oilers are shit pumping Dallas right now and someone's like it's one one
Yeah and I was like do you watch the game dude?
Like watch the game and tell me you don't think that they were beating the shit out of them in that period like absolutely insane
So yeah like in Dallas this is a good one though because Dallas as the
millions of comments, hit us up. They are
like undefeated in these three
games three, four on the road. Yeah.
All playoffs. So it's like, they're,
to talk about comfortable being uncomfortable,
they're fine. They don't give a shit. And they lose game one
every fucking series. They don't care they're going into Edmonton.
They're just like, let's go win on the road. It's crazy. But it's a dangerous
game to play though. So we'll see about that.
Crazy stuff. So we've got
game three Dallas Edmonton tonight.
Couldn't predict it. Yep. But it's going to
be a wobbly. All right, squad. By now, you know
that we have teamed up all season.
long with bet MGM. It is without a doubt the best sports betting app in the game. It's so easy to use.
It's got an amazing interface. And if you use promo code netters right now to get signed up,
we've got tons of great stuff for you. The number one being, you're going to get $1,500 to bet with.
You can bet anything you want. We are in the thick of baseball season. We've got NHL and NBA playoffs going right now.
We've got tennis. We've got golf. We've got WNBA action. There's so much going on. And you can bet on
all of it. And if you bet up to $1,500, here's the thing. If you lose all of that, they give it
right back to you. What more could you want? BetMGM has the best situations going. They've got
all the fun parlayes you want, everything that you can build. They've got tokens up to 33%
parlay boosters. BetMGM is hooking you up. Get into the game right now. We're posting our
picks all the time every single night with all these NHL games. CP called a five, four
Rangers win the other night. I mean, come on. That's unbelievable stuff right there. So you've got to
get on board. You got to use that promo code. Netters, when you get signed up, bet MGM is the best thing
to do. And right now, we've got all the action. So join in with us as soon as possible.
Gambling problem. Call 1-800-Gambler available in the U.S. Call 8778-N.Y or text Hope NY-N.
4-6-9-6-9-9-0-N-N-N-XX-9-N-N-X-N in New York. Call 1-800-3-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-usigibility-requirements.
in Massachusetts. 21 plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800 next step in Arizona.
1-800-0-0-2-3 in Puerto Rico or visit www.W.W.W. 800-Gambler.com in West Virginia.
First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are
non-withdrawable in Kansas Cross Casino and Hotel. See bet-in-gjohn.com for terms. U.S. Promotional
offers not available in New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
What was your saucy prediction? My saucy prediction would be that Otter would let in one or less
in game one. In game one. And that was wrong. That was incorrect. He gave up three.
So I'm going to have to eat on the story this week.
My saucy prediction was that Matthew Kuchk would have three goals through three games
of the Easter conference finals, scored in his first game.
Started off odd.
And I knew I had it.
And then obvious L yet again.
Before we give our saucy predictions, can I do an emergency dantrum?
Oh, sure, yeah.
I just don't want to wait.
Yeah.
Because I know I'm going to have another one.
My emergency dantrum, my temper tantrum,
I would like to come to the defense of Matthew Kachuk for a brief moment.
Oh.
there was a scrum in game two
I believe
yes scrum in front of the net
and
Matthew Kachukh folded Vincent
Trochec like a fucking lawn chair
and we pointed that out
and some angry Rangers fans
came to Trochev's defense and they said
typical Matthew Kichuk fucking pussy
what a loser picking on
picking on a score
yeah picking on a top
six guy, just like they said with
pasta. Yep. Matthew Kachukes
the top six guy in the league.
It's truly
one of the craziest things I've ever seen
and I would just like to read a couple things
to you. Yeah, please. There are a lot
of people who hate Matthew Kachuk. A lot of
people who call him a rat, say they can't stand
him and they are like, oh yeah, I know he's
one of those guys. He's like, Brad Marchand, if he's on your
team, you love him, but he's a piece of shit and you
hate him otherwise. If you feel that
way, that is fine.
Those who
say typical Matthew Kachuk
with the guys he picks to fight.
If you're a Bruins fan
and after that Pasta fight, you were going
Matthew Kachuk's a bitch, he should
fight Pat Maroon. If you're a ranger's
fan and you're going Matthew Kachukes a bitch,
he should fight Matt Rempie. I'm
here to call you a silly goose.
Because that is one of the dumbest
things I've ever heard in my life. Matthew
Kuch in the last three years has had 104
points in 82 games, 109
points in 79 games, and 88
points in 80 games in a season
after he broke his sternum in the Stanley Cup final.
Matthew Kuchukuk is a top 10 player in the NHL easily.
Oh, my God.
And I think it's higher.
But if you don't acknowledge that or know that,
you need to get a grip and you need to start watching more than Matthew Kachuk
games.
We're in the playoffs here.
If it were regular season and there were situations like that, maybe sure, fine.
We're in the playoffs.
And if you think Matthew Kachuk is a loser
for not taking himself off the ice for five minutes,
and the trade-off is Matt Rempe off the ice for five minutes,
or Pat Maroon off the ice for five minutes.
You need to understand this game.
Matthew Kuchuk is a top two player on the ice
any given night in this series, in the last series, and so on.
He is a top six forward.
If he's going to get in a fight, if he's going to pick on someone,
it has to be someone of equal caliber.
That's how fights work.
It should work in general, but that's how they certainly work in the playoffs.
You are not going to go, I'm going to take myself off the ice for one of their grinders.
That doesn't make sense.
It's not a fair tradeoff.
So fans, I'm begging you, please stop saying that.
Please drop that stupid stance and argument, especially in the playoffs, because it doesn't make sense.
You need to put some respect on Matthew Kuchuk's name with what he does on the ice and his output and how important he is to his team.
If you think he should be fighting any of these grinder type guys, you're just, you're so wrong.
So please stop.
Yep.
That's my, that's my dantrum.
It just needed to be said.
Fantastic.
Let's go into our saucy predictions and wrap this thing out.
I got Chris Kreider.
Two.
Love.
Power play specifically goals.
Love in game four.
Two of them.
Damn.
You're in trouble, Panthers.
That comes true.
Two power play goals in game.
Okay.
My saucy prediction is that Connor McDavid,
we'll have four points in the next two games.
Four points.
Wait, next two games?
Yes.
Dude.
He had zero points last game.
Two games?
Yes, dude.
Look at how low scoring these games are.
Five points.
Come on.
Five.
Come on.
You did this.
First of all, I don't think you're allowed to interject in my eyes eyes your predictions anymore.
You screwed me on the game sevens, which I predicted right.
Five.
No.
Last time you did this to me with the, no.
Four one game.
No.
Four points in one game.
No.
Four points in two games.
is accepted. No. The Rangers are on a path to glory as it is written. That is it for us.
This episode of the empty Ners podcast. Hope you enjoyed the drama at the top. Been a crazy week,
but been a fun week. So, so happy to be here in New York doing that amazing watch party. Huge shout
out to Blue Haven East again. Huge shout out to this place. You guys are the best for hosting us.
This has been a blast. Unbelievable stuff. We keep rolling the conference finals. And until then,
skate
hard
