Empty Netters Podcast - 103. Panthers Engage Predator Mode
Episode Date: May 31, 2024The rats have the roaches on the ropes. How’s that for alliteration?! The Rangers need a win in Florida to keep their season alive. And the Stars and the Oilers are locked at 2 with a pivotal game 5... tonight. You won’t believe the boys Power Rankings this week. PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (2:13) – Power Ranking (10:37) – Hot Ice (10:45) – PWHL Champs (16:17) – Mem Cup (28:30) - Oilers/Stars (46:02) – Rangers/Panthers Game 4 (56:06) – Rangers/Panthers Game 5 (1:15:25) – Armchair GM (1:18:05) – God I Was I Was (1:22:52) – Temper Tantrum Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
The Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by the cool, crisp, refreshing taste of Labat Blue Light.
There is no question about it, folks.
At this point, you already know.
If you've been listening to this podcast, we hammer it home every single day because it's obvious.
Labat Blue Light is the best beer that you could ever possibly enjoy across the board, but certainly during hockey season.
We're in the middle of the conference finals right now.
Games are tense.
Fan bases are losing their minds.
and you need something to take the edge off.
And that perfect thing is that Canadian kindness brewed beer, Labat Blue Light.
Every single pint, can, and bottle is going to change the game for you.
It's going to make you have a better time, whether you're sitting at a bar watching the game,
in the stadium watching the game, hanging out with friends, kicking it on the beach,
because it's summertime now, baby.
Labat Blue Light has you covered in every sense of the word.
So, crack open a can today and enjoy.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another.
episode of the empty netters podcast.
We're doing something different for you guys right now.
We've heard you.
We've heard the complaints.
We've heard the constructive criticisms.
In a move that is nice to our producers and our editors.
Yes.
We have been releasing all of these episodes during the playoffs with one game late.
Tonight it would have been the Panthers Rangers game.
But it's not anymore because we're recording later.
So when you're listening to this episode now, we are up to date.
We're talking about every single game that has been played.
Part of it.
Like, we're going to come back later.
Like, we're here now.
Right now?
You're listening to the past.
Yes.
This is the past.
We are midday right now.
The game hasn't even happened yet.
So we're going to do some of the episode now.
And then you'll see, we're coming back later tonight to record for you guys.
So we get that latest game in.
It's going to be great.
But for now, let's just rip the stuff that's already happened.
Okay.
Yep.
So power rankings is going to be later
Well power rankings will still be now
But you're going to see a little cut
So because we don't know yet guys
There's a game to be played
Here comes power rankings
All right let's get into our power rankings
Because now it's night time
And we've done a quick wardrobe change
I'm in my comfy clothes
Look at me too
Yeah this is this dance comfy clothes
What a bitch dude
What the fuck?
That's how you get comfy dude
A little Canadian tucks
I am comfy dude
It's after, hey, you've seen...
Quick, don't blow it.
30 rock.
Shit, I don't even know this reference.
So now I'm blowing it.
Liz Lemon walks into Jack's office and he's wearing a tux late at night.
He stole the office and she goes, are you wearing a tux?
And he goes, of course, Lemon.
It's after six.
That is how I want to live my life.
Dude, you go Canadian.
As soon as the clock strike six, Dan goes, Canadian tucks, boom.
Dude, you've seen the way I fly.
Yep.
And you've seen the way I hang out in my house.
I...
This is how I fly.
I'm Will Smith
in Bad Boys too
I like to look good
What?
Yeah but in public
Dude
But you never know
When someone's gonna pop into your house
That's you never know
Especially our place dude
You never know
When someone's gonna get a
When you're gonna get a phone call
Yep
Or gonna get a text that says
Yo
Pulling up in an Uber in 30 seconds outside your house
We're going to the sickest party of all time
We're going to the Playboy Mansion
Yeah
You never know
Yeah
This is probably how you should
watching crazy rich Asians the other day
on the plane, speaking of
flying in style. And
Aquafina's character.
Yeah, she drives
drives Rachel Chu to the
party, and
Henry Golding is like,
would you like to come in? She's like, oh no,
and she's like, no, please, I insist. She's just, yeah, fuck yeah, I want to come
to the party. She runs out and she pops her trunk,
which is in the front of the car. Yeah. It's such a sick
car. And she pulls out multiple
dry cleaner bags.
and like one says
Henry Golding
One says like party
Yeah
That would have been funny
Yeah
But it's like
Something something something
And she gets the one
That's the one that says
Cocktail Party
And she puts it on
That's a move
And Rachel she was like
You keep a cocktail dress
In your car
And she's like
Yeah dude
That's a move
It's a move
That's a move
Just saying always be ready
I'm in my Labat
Blue Light hoodie
Yeah
And I will say
I had this on
Because I went
I went live
On TikTok today
Going live every week
For Labat Blue Light
Anybody that isn't
That chat is lit
And it was lit
tonight, dude, you were buzzing. I was listening. It was lit tonight. If you aren't following
us on TikTok, first of all, go follow us on TikTok right now. And second of all, if you haven't
been keeping your eye out for the TikTok lives every week, we do an hour, hour live every week,
and it is a time. We got a crew going up in there, so keep an eye out. Keep an eye out. Power
rankings. Power rankings. Game five in the books. Panthers. Rangers. Top four teams.
I think there's an obvious one.
I do two.
I'm not sure if it's the same.
I'm, I will say this.
I want to be very clear before we do these.
Like, these power rankings are, these four teams are so.
Yeah, they're they tight.
Whoever's four isn't four.
They're one D.
Yeah, which is four, bitch.
Like that.
U4.
Euphoria.
Eiforia.
Eiforia.
Starring Zendaya on HBO.
Season three coming.
Season four.
This summer.
Euphoria season four.
Ea.
Seasons.
Euphoria, season four, yeah.
If they don't do that.
Hey, HBO, Max. Call me. You can have that one for free.
Next one's going to cost you.
We're going Igor's.
It's like a...
Its own thing.
Then.
First run.
Yeah.
Four.
Number one.
Panthers.
I think.
They just have to be, dude.
I feel like they're the scariest team.
I felt like they were the scariest team to enter the conference finals.
And they are now one win away from the finals.
And they're doing it on the road.
And...
Yeah, that was huge.
Yep.
But they can't sleep, dude.
No catnaps here.
Oh, dude.
No catnaps.
If you even think about a catnaps.
If you even think about it, you're going to get a bowl of milk dumped on your head.
And then...
Because you're going to hit the edge of the bowl.
Yep, flip over.
You're soaked.
You hate being wet.
You're trying to dry off.
I don't know how cats are after.
Do they shake, like dogs?
Yeah, I think so.
I think, but they also just walk with that archback.
Like, they can't believe they're so wet.
Until they dry.
Yeah.
Or like until their own.
And then it's milk, dude.
You can't, how do you even, you don't, how do you, the only way to get the milk off you is to get more wet with water.
Yeah.
So this is a, if you fall asleep, you're fucked.
You're dead.
No catnip.
Yep.
No getting sleepy.
No cat naps.
You're one, but stay sharp.
Like them claws.
Yep.
Number two.
I personally think it's the Rangers.
Oh, shit.
These games are close.
They're going to OT.
They're one-goal games.
Neither team has given up much.
Where in the other series, I feel like the stars, the oilers, they're like falling
asleep here and there, giving up four goals.
They get a two-hole lead and then it's gone.
Yeah.
Dude, I actually thought since you know what the start of this dude, definitely.
felt like you were like kind of whoever was losing the most had to be the bottom. Like I was
kind of mentally preparing to decide what I wanted to say Dallas or Edmonton too because I thought
you were for sure going to be like Rangers have to be. You're basing this off of a time where you
tried to put the lightning as like the number two team where they were down three ones. Where they
belongs to the best team in the league. No. Well currently. To our one. Yes. But I actually love
this takedown. Rangers too. Because they're going to
and toe to fucking toe with who I think the best team in the league is.
It's got to be them.
Okay, Rangers 2.
Yeah.
Now.
Series tied 2-2.
Friday, the day you guys are listening to this.
Friday, we got game 5, Dallas, Oilers.
Oilers just put a sufficient beat down on down.
They really did.
They really did after being down early.
Yeah.
And because of that, I'm putting Dallas 3.
Fuck you, Oilers.
What's fucked is...
I'm sick of being the nice guy all the time.
I've got to draw a line in the same.
it's 2-2 Oilers you've impressed me so much that was a huge win I still think you're the worst team
Dallas three Oilers dude I I thought you're being funny but I actually agree because
fuck it dude like Dallas is better Dallas is better than Edmonton that's all that's all dude
you're 1d but fucking get bent Dallas is better and they Edmonton's played some great games
great games in this series and I think it's going seven by the way I don't know what you guys
I think it's going seven but Dallas is better than you so
Panthers, Shesty, Panthers,
Rags, Dallas, Edmonton.
Yeah, that's that.
Boom.
That's that.
We're going to get back into the rest of our episode
and then you'll see us
from the future.
Again, a little later.
And that was power rankings.
And we are back, and let's get into some hot ice.
Let's get into our Bauer hockey hot ice, baby.
Lots of stuff going on right now.
Guys, we're going to take a quick break
and hone our game.
We're going to get better at hockey right now.
And there's no better way to do that than with Bauer.
Bower hockey has been the industry leading standard for almost 100 years.
Bauer takes your game to the next level.
And we're going to talk specifically about training.
You're going to go to Bauer.com slash training.
And Bauer's going to help you perfect your game on the ice in every single way.
When you go to that website, you're going to see the digital reactor dangler
and you're going to see their reactor slideboard.
These things are going to get those dangles to the top notch.
You're going to go from a 52 rating to a 99 rating like that.
And that slideboard, my God, your edges are going to be better than ever.
Your stride is going to look like that of a gazelle.
This is how we get our game better to the next level,
and we bring up that overall rating that we've always wanted,
whether you're a beer leaguer, whether you're just starting out,
or whether you're an elite player right now and you're looking to get that extra edge.
Bauer is the best way to do it.
And here's the thing.
You use promo code empty, EMP, TY, at checkout.
You're going to save all that money on shipping.
So let Bauer make you the elite player you always knew you could be.
First and foremost, should we talk about some champions?
Let's talk, yeah, let's talk about some champions.
First and foremost, let's talk about some champions.
Minnesota has officially been crowned the first ever PWHL Walter Cup champs,
our girl Taylor Heise,
drafted first overall.
Yep.
Absolute stud for Minnesota.
Champion for Minnesota.
What a fucking year.
First ever playoff MVP,
scored the series winner in the semifinals,
led the playoffs and goals with five and points eight.
How are you?
Big whoop.
Unbelievable to see.
I love that we get,
you know,
we get the first ever PDA playoffs.
They're electric.
Games are unbelievable.
We get the first ever final.
Minnesota, Boston, I mean, come on.
That's amazing.
And then...
What do people from Minnesota and Boston have in common, dude?
Their hatred for Herb Brooks.
Yes, exactly.
Unbelievable.
Exactly right.
We get the fireworks of Minnesota's scores.
They think they've done it.
They think they've won.
Goal gets called back.
Yeah.
This is in game four.
Yes.
So they do, P-D does best to five.
Five, yeah.
People don't know.
Minnesota wins in double OT, right?
Yeah.
WOT in game four.
They're celebrating.
We won the couple.
You know, yeah, they're going nuts and then boom, goal gets called back.
Boston wins.
Dude, can you imagine that happening?
Oh, dude, I would die.
A cup winning overtime goal.
I'll say this, thank God it wasn't game five.
Dude.
Because that would be crippling.
Yes, but I just can't even, with the way goalie interference has gone this year.
It's wild.
I can't imagine an O2 cup winning goal.
You did this.
Protect our goalies.
You're right.
This is your fault.
I'm happy about it.
So that's insane.
And then it goes back to, goes to game five, as you say.
Yeah.
Minnesota wins three nothing.
Yeah.
Emphatic win.
It felt like the hockey gots.
Yep.
Team captain with the empty note, you love to see it.
Love to see it.
But just so awesome.
Great cap to the end of, you know, the first season of the P-dub.
I think it went so well.
Great to see the gals just partying, loving it up.
Dude, my good buddy Brent Hodgey has been, well, I imagine I can say some of this,
but he has been deeply embedded in the P-dub as a documentarian this whole time.
and the content he has been getting is incredible,
and I cannot wait for that project to come out.
It's so cool.
Yeah, it is like the behind the scene stuff is epic.
So epic, so fun.
And again, just huge, huge shout out, huge love to our home girl, Taylor, because that's just like so cool.
Sent us a picture this morning.
They got these dope chains.
They're like the Miami turnover chain.
Yeah.
They're like these silver, big chains, chain necklaces,
with the sick little plaque on it, champs.
She's still wearing it.
She's like, I've still got it on.
She had it on for like 24 hours.
Got to love it.
A couple cool tidbits, I thought.
Minnesota entered the playoffs, the lowest seed on a five-game skid to end the regular
season.
Went down 2-0 against Toronto in the first round.
Yeah.
Came back, wins in five.
And then beats Boston who was the one seed.
Yeah.
Also, our home girl, Aaron Frankel.
I was about to say, we got to show some love to Aaron, because Aaron played on her
fucking head.
Lights out, dude.
Aaron, next time we see Aaron, she might have a Lego head because she was standing on it.
And as happy as I am for Taylor, and it's so sick to be the first pick and then win playoff MVP.
I actually thought Aaron could have J.S. Shagherd herself here.
I agree.
I legitimately think I'm like, dude, that could have been her.
She was unbelievable.
41 saves in game five, dude.
Like, give me a break.
Game five, which is game seven.
41 fucking saves.
Boston got 17 shots on goal.
Help your girl out.
Dude.
Come on.
Jesus, dude.
Absolutely insane.
Um, here's, uh, the only other thing I got.
Hit me.
Can you tell me how tall the Stanley Cup is?
Yes.
I believe it's like, I, I never would have known this.
So if you know it, that's.
I believe it's like 35 inches or no, not, yeah, 35 inches.
35.25 inches tall.
Do you know how much the Stanley Cup weighs?
34 pounds.
34.5 pounds.
Yeah.
I only know that because of Jarvie.
Yeah, right.
I look so knowledgeable about the cup right now.
34.5 pounds.
Lord Stanley.
Yeah.
The Walter Cup,
crafted by Tiffany and Co.
That's...
That is so bougie.
I love it.
That is so boogie.
The Walter Cup,
crafted and designed
by luxury jeweler Tiffany and co.
35 pounds
oh that feels like a shot oh that's that's deliberate dude that feels that is very deliberate
that's just a little heavier and a Tiffany original that's something to think about i'm actually
i'm actually pissed that you know how like the cup has that fucking box that huge ass box and like
the guys come of the keepers come out with it and like that box needs to be Tiffany blue
for the walter cup or like diamond encrusted moving forward but you know that
Tiffany Blue, dude.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, like that, I need that.
I guess, do I?
You don't?
I don't think so.
Bro, educate yourself.
Why would I educate myself on Tiffany Blue?
Yeah, because you're a fucking bad boyfriend, dude.
Make a play.
Nah, dude.
I'm a K-jeweler's guy.
You're a fool.
Tiffany Blue is fucking.
Tiffany is boozy shit.
Goated.
35 pounds.
That's a shot.
Sure is.
That's a shot.
It's a good looking cup, too.
It is cool.
Let's go to a not quite champions yet.
Yep.
But the homies, the London Knights, huge, huge victory headed to the championship for the Mem Cup.
Yep.
The beat the Saginaw Spirit 4-2.
What, last night?
Yeah, last night.
And then championship game is June 2nd.
Yeah.
I, for people in the hockey world, I think we, well, I guess we didn't talk about this because we were kind of like treading water on what we were allowed to say.
And we were in trouble for some stuff, which you all know about now.
Yeah.
But let's talk about it now.
Yeah.
fucking pussygate
Pussygate dubbed by Biss
wild
The P-bomb, dude
People are dropping P-bombs
in the O-HL
Everyone that's a hockey fan
has largely heard this story now
But
What was his name?
I wrote it down
I always forget the kid's name
I feel bad
Sometimes I feel
No, we can say his name
It's a it's
Yeah, Landon Sim
Landon Sim of the London Knights
Was suspended five games
While his teams in the middle of the
Five games
Five games
Fucking Jacob Truba gets zero
for trying to fucking murder people.
For being an attempted murderer.
Twice.
Two times.
Landon Sim gets five games for calling a kid a pussy
during an O-HL game.
After this kid snitched, dude.
Yeah, he snitched.
Snitched to the ref.
Because Biz said that on The Chick was live last night
where he was like, I have on good authority.
I got a DM.
Oh, he snitched.
That he did snitch to the refs.
So this kid gets five games
for calling a kid a pussy,
P-bombing him.
And I get, you know,
I don't even know how much I want to get into this,
but that is fucking professional.
apostorous to me.
I don't know anyone personally that's involved.
Yeah.
So I won't say anything too serious on this topic.
But man, oh man, is that that is the most 200-ply soft behavior that I've heard in a long time.
It's a bummer.
Wait, wait, wait, dude.
Isn't 200-ply, like, thick as fuck?
Yeah, it's soft.
Oh, oh, oh, okay.
Yeah, I see.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
More ply is softer.
Yeah.
Yeah, 200.
Okay, 200 ply.
I just think you, I mean, how on earth do you pull that shit?
If I, I mean, to snitch to the ref about being called a pussy is, that's like insane.
I didn't think there was a hockey player on earth capable of something that pathetic.
Big Cat said it too.
like you guys got a hockey people has to bury this story.
Oh yeah.
Like we are here being like NBA soft.
NBA's bull.
I don't even want to talk about.
We got to bury this.
I mean,
it is like,
it is so anti-hockey player to do that.
But even if you do, like part of me wants to say if you were to do that, maybe it's the heat
of the moment.
Yeah.
You're just trying to do like the shittiest thing ever.
And then the ref tease him up, dude.
You have, you have to be like this.
Oh, no.
Sorry.
Don't do that.
Yeah.
Like that is so pathetic to have a player get tossed and then suspended five games.
Like, dude, I just think that the OHL is, shame on you.
Yeah.
Shame on the snitch.
Shame on the ref.
Like, if I were the ref and a kid skated up to me and went like this, he just called me a pussy.
I would go like this.
Get in the box, dude.
I would go like this.
Were you being a pussy?
Sounds like you're snitching to me.
Sounds like you're being a pussy.
Dude, I wonder if this is one of the situation.
where, because to be very clear, the, if the guy had used a really derogatory slur,
then I'm like, yeah, dude, get fucked, get suspended, get that shit out of the game, 100%.
What I wonder is if this is a situation years from now where we will all look back and be like,
man, everybody was saying pussy back then, now you get kicked out of school for saying such a thing.
But that was normal commonplace.
And then everyone's going to have to scroll through the Twitter
and be deleting old tweets.
Someone's going to have a screenshot of a tweet
where someone said pussy.
I don't think so.
But if it is, this is the,
what is the virus in the apes?
This is the, I don't know what it's called.
AXL-Niner that infected everybody.
It happened from this moment.
This is when it started.
But until that day, Dan,
I am currently, and I'll get killed for this,
if the whole world changes. But I am currently really hoping that the London nights close the job
on Saturday because, or is it Saturday or Sunday? The Simeon flu pandemic. The Simeon flu. This is the
Simeon flu version. It is Sunday. It's Sunday, June 2nd. Yeah, Sunday, this coming Sunday,
7.30 p.m. I really hope the nights pull it out because I want them to receive glory after the
hardships that they have been unjustly put through in my opinion. I, yeah. I mean, again, I don't want to rag on
anyone, but I just, I, that's such a bummer of a story. I hated that it happened. And it does,
there's justice. Justice has been served, that they've won this game. They are now in the championship
game on Sunday. So tune in. They're playing Moose Jaw. Well, they don't know yet. Oh, yeah,
it's Moose Jaw or Saginaw. No, it's, um, because they beat Saginaw, right? Oh, no, no,
you're right. Yeah, yeah, because Saginaw goes to the other game and they play Moose Jaw. So, yeah.
I hope it's Saginaw. Yeah, a little rematch, dude. Well, more so like, Barry.
them again.
Yeah.
You know?
They probably hope it's sagging.
Yeah.
Anyway, Mem Cups awesome.
Dial into that on Sunday if you're thirsting for more hockey.
Crazy stuff.
But I think it's safe to say that we're rooting for.
Oh, nice, baby.
We're rooting for the knights, I think.
You know, I mean, come on.
Okay.
I got a bit of bad news.
Oh, shit.
A bit of bad news that we've got to talk about really quick.
The oldest arena in the world is closing.
Fuck.
News just dropped.
Home of the Northeastern Huskies, the doghouse.
Matthews Arena is closing after 124 years.
City of Boston just released news that it is going to be torn down
and a new huge multipurpose arena is going to be built in its place.
The people of Boston, the people of, I would like to think the world.
And certainly the Northeastern community very, very bummed out about this.
wanted to bring this up to show some love to Matthews Arena.
It's an amazing place.
We both played there several times growing up in tournaments.
Been to Northeastern Games.
Where do you stand on this topic?
Because I'll tell you this, dude.
I want to go on record right now and say,
I'm upset about this.
I'm bummed.
Seeing Matthews, like, that's childhood memories gone.
oldest rink in the world gone yep i don't want this to happen but stephen a smith however new facilities
are pretty sick and i wonder if we should do things like this obviously there is a there's not an
infinite amount of space certainly in the boston area but i do just wonder
If with something like Matthews, that is literally the oldest functioning hockey ring in the world,
not in America, in the world, you just keep that, preserve it, and give Northeastern a new facility somewhere else.
Like, why tear that down?
That is history.
That should be a historical landmark.
Because I do think the Husky players who will, I think hopefully at least some of them,
maybe like the freshman,
because I don't know when they'll be in a new,
I don't know, I don't know the detail, sorry.
I just think the kids who will play in this new facility
will be like this.
This is pretty fucking cool.
And that's how you get better recruits.
Like if you don't think that's a part of how you get players,
shout out, gee, doing this unbelievable Chicklets University thing.
When people saw the North Dakota facility,
if you don't think there was a lot of,
15 to 17 year old kids in high school who are looking to go play college and are thinking about
their options who saw that and don't go, that is fucking dope.
I'm going there.
Like, this is part of how you recruit.
Yep.
And I do think that there's an element that gets, I'm going to say it, I think a lot of
mature, more mature kids who see that and see it's 124 years old and go, I actually love that.
Like, I love the history.
I'll choose that over these new high,
flutin bells and whistles of these other facilities.
That's great, but like you're going to get
a lot. I think you're going to get a lot
more of appeal with those younger high school kids being
like this. Look at this brand new state of the yard facility.
There's a way for me, Dan, to just thread the needle baby.
Okay. And it's this. Fenway Park.
Best ballpark in the world. Period.
Easy. Fucking miss me with Wrigley.
Rigley sick. Rigley's sick, but not as close.
But his family's better. And Yankee Stadium is knocked down,
and New Yankee Stadium is an old Yankee Stadium and go.
And New Yankee Stadium is fucking.
Elite.
Yep.
Fenway Park used to have fucking seats.
Still kind of does, but you can't even fit in the seats.
And the seats behind a fucking pole.
You buy a ticket and then you look at a pole for three hours.
You got to go like this.
But then you can't because the guy next to you.
You're in my lap, dude.
And there's a pole in front of you.
But when you buy the seat next to the pole seat, the pillar seat, it says chances of man in lap.
Yeah, right.
It's printed on the ticket.
Instructed view on your ticket.
chances of man in lap
on the other ticket.
The
you'll be a tragedy
if Fenway Park was ever knocked down
but all you got to do
dude
is give it a facelift
no dude
no listen to me Dan
there used to be a net
in the green monster
now there are six seats there
you think that has made Fenway Park
less cool
it has made it fucking 100 times cooler
oh my God it's fucking amazing
that's true
so what I would like
because I still think it counts
is if you had
taken this place and gone like, you know, maybe they got to play, they got a bum B.U's rank
for one season. Yeah. Or something. Or maybe you just get it done in the summer, but you just
scoop, scoop up every seat all the way around. Scoop them up. Go under the thing. Scoop up the
locker rooms. Yeah. Spit them out. And then you build sick, brand new dope locker room,
brand new dope gym, new seats, maybe less seats because you've got to have more space.
Boxes. Make it sick. And just the literal. Outer.
outside is the same building and the same sheet.
Then I go, year 125.
Oldest rink of all time.
Dude, I hear what you're saying, but look at all these celebs, man.
Plastic surgery turns you into something you're not.
Eventually, though.
I feel like, you know, the first few dabbles of it, we're like, these celebs are so hot.
How do they do it?
They've had 15 surgeries already.
You fools.
You fools.
You fools.
This is how it happens.
Surgery 16, we've ruined it.
100%.
But by surgery 16, the barn will be
250 years old and then knock it down.
Who fucking cares?
I care.
At that point, you can't.
If it makes it to 250, you can't knock it down ever.
Okay, well, then when we keep surgerying it up.
This is out of control.
You won't even recognize it.
Good.
You did win me over on the outside, though.
Leave the outside.
Still looks the exact same on the outside.
Leave the outside.
And then you walk in and it's Willy Wonka's chocolate factory on the inside.
Whoop up the seats.
I don't really, I don't like the spirit of what you're saying,
but it's a better option than tearing it down.
Agree.
Simple.
Too late, but I mean, something to think about for the future.
Something to think about.
All right.
What do we got?
Let's move on.
Okay, so let's do Oilers Stars now.
Yeah, we're going to talk Oilers Stars now, and then we'll get into Rangers Panthers.
I'm actually, I want to know.
I'm going to talk a little Rangers Panthers now because I do want to talk about Game 4.
Yeah, 100%.
And then we'll go away.
Okay.
Oilers Stars, big game last night.
stars go up to nothing
Oilers surge back in the first
tie it up and then bang bang
go up for two
weather a third period
series tied up
two two Oilers doing better than both
of us thought yeah and I got a lot of
people in my DM specifically
saying
looks like stars
in five was wrong
yeah how do you feel now
and I guess I feel wrong
I don't know I thought it would be stars
in five
and by the
People talking to you like you have a vendetta against the Oilers.
Yeah, I'm like, I don't know.
Sounds like it.
It's cool.
I picked Preds in 6.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I don't know.
My bad, dude.
Sorry.
The, and by the way, if the stars hadn't puked on themselves in this game, they were going to win in five.
Correct.
So.
And Oilers fans, don't act like when it was too nothing.
You didn't give up.
Yeah, because that's my point, dude.
Oilish fans were in our, you can go look.
I didn't have any fucking DMs when it was two nothing.
Yeah.
They were like, oh, we lost in five.
We had a clip that we released yesterday on the Instagram that was given the Oilers a ton of love.
There's a lot of comments in there from Oilers fans when you're down to nothing being like this.
Just love the fight from this team.
We're not quite ready yet, but like this has been awesome.
So like, take it easy.
So yeah, dude, it's going to be, it's a good series.
And I'm fucking pumped about it.
It's a great series.
Yeah, I've got a couple things to say here.
One, piggybacking off what we talked about last week,
I cannot stress enough how impressed I am with the Oilers defense.
that was the biggest question mark for me
I'm not even going to give it to Skinner
quite yet. Skinner made 20
consecutive saves I think down the stretch there
so fantastic
but like the D
the way they're blocking shots the way they're
preventing shots is just very
very very impressive
that said I do think
the stars pooped their pants in this game
me too I think they really pooped their pants
in this game
I mean for fucking Christ's sake
man like the short-handed goal
that you let up.
It's just like, I don't know what you're doing.
It's been a nightmare.
It's just, that was a meltdown game.
To your Skinner point there real quick,
gave up two goals on the first three shots of the game.
Cutting to the crowd, people going like this.
Yeah, yank him.
Yank, get out of here.
At that point, Dallas, I think,
had scored seven of the last eight goals or something.
Very easy for Stewart Skinner and that Oler team to roll over.
They did not.
They actually cut to the in-game interview with DeBoer,
and he said, he goes,
goal in this game is massive. Yeah. Because he was like, either it's 2-1 and now they're like,
we're fine. Or it's 3-0. Skinner's yanked and the series is over. Yep. Yeah. And we lose in five,
or Oilers losing five. And then Edmonton gets it on a disaster goal if you're Dallas,
where Cory Perry takes a shot, Otter saves it and is literally covering it easily. He saves it
in the stomach and is easily covering the puck. And then two Dallas players run into Otter and
smash him into the corner. Yeah. And then McLeod just pushes a puck into an open net. Literally if that
doesn't happen, the series is over. Terrible.
So,
really gut check moment
for that squad and that goalie and fucking
delivered. Totally. This series to me,
Dan, has been, you know
in Star Wars when Luke Skywalker
gets in the gun
place of the Falcon,
I don't know if that a little pocket is called, but he's in the
gun thing with the fucking spinny chair.
Yeah. And he gets one.
He gets, he gets a high gunner chair. The gunner chair.
I got one.
Don't get cocky, kid. What does Hans say to him do?
It says don't get cocky, kid.
This series is the Western Conference Finals, I'm dubbing,
the Don't Get Cawkey Kid Western Conference Finals this year.
I'll tell you why.
I love that.
Game one, Dallas comes in.
A lot of people, including me.
Look how high my hand is.
A lot of people, including me.
Not like this.
This series is over.
What a fucking cakewalk.
Dallas got through Vegas.
They got through Colorado.
Now they get to fucking clown on the Oilers until they get to waltz to the cup.
They walked into game one.
Little cocky, I would say.
What happened?
L.
Game 1 at home.
Yeah.
Fuck.
I know they lose game 1 all the time, but game 1 L.
Yeah.
Game 2.
Oaths come out.
Well, man, if we can steal game 2 in Dallas, this could be over.
Shots in the first period of game 1.
16 to 4, Edmonton.
Yeah.
They're in the intermission.
Getting cocky.
They come out.
L.
L.
Boom.
Series tied.
We go to Edmonton.
Okay?
Game 3.
Edmonton, up 2-0 in the first period.
Little cocky.
Getting a little cocky.
What happens?
L.
Dallas up.
Game four.
Edmonton.
Dallas goes,
we win this.
It's over in five.
Two goals on three shots.
Getting a little cocky.
Walking around like this.
What happened, Dan?
L.
L.
Yeah.
Don't get cocky, dude.
Don't get cocky.
That's what this Western Conference finals is.
It's so clear that these teams need to just finish the fucking game.
Like,
I would play,
I would literally not.
permit any player on my bench to look at the scoreboard.
Don't look at that Jumbotron and you're sent down the fucking tunnel.
You're out.
You're benched.
Take your gear off.
It is the most, you know, it's a game of runs.
It's the most back and forth ping ponging shit I've ever seen with these two teams.
It's absolutely crazy.
The Dallas has been outshot in the first period of the last three games, 38 to 13, which is insane.
And it's not even a knock because I'm kind of like, like I was going to make it my coaching adjustment for later.
But then I was like, well, they won two of those games and they were up to nothing at one point.
In the game they lost, I'm like, I don't know.
And they've been the much better third period team, which you would rather.
Yeah.
But like that has been an interesting dynamic to me where I'm like, what the frick are you doing?
It is crazy.
The shots thing, like I say again, not to knock on him, but Oilers fans, you're knocking on him.
When you were facing a goalie who has in the past, in the past two post seasons had mental problems in terms of
like he gives up a couple goals, gets shaky, gets yanked every now and then.
Ooglish fans are like, we're not convincing Skinner.
How do you not test him?
Yeah.
And obviously, the Edmonton D, which I just gassed up, are making it hard for you.
But like that needs to be, I'm like, throw fucking pucks on net.
Look at Robo in game three.
He was like, I literally just started shoving shit at the net and it was going.
Yeah, it all went in.
How are you not like just keep doing that?
Keep firing pucks on net.
The Dallas, even though they are not scared of Edmonton still and they believe they can win
anywhere. And that was the first,
Otter has been so good on the road. That was the first
road game where Otter looked a little shaky.
I still think Dallas
wants no business
going back to Edmonton game six
down 3-2. Yeah.
And like, you know what I mean? Like, even though
I think they are better
than, I think Dallas
has a greater delta between them and Edmonton
than the Panthers
over the Rangers. But I do
think New York, even if New York loses
tonight.
Yeah.
I think they're like,
well,
we can win in Florida
more than Dallas is like,
fuck,
I don't want to go to that crowd
and that anthem
down three,
two.
For sure,
no.
I don't know if that's right,
but that's what I think.
Here's one more thing
I wanted to ask you
about this,
this series.
And it's just,
I want your take.
The shorty was a little
unlucky in that,
like,
it was a point shot.
They were kind of like
that,
PowerPlo was a little disconjoin.
It was scrambling.
It was a shit show.
They were playing like assholes.
They were throwing,
They were forcing passes, passing pucks too quick, not moving when they get the puck.
And then, yes, just a desperation, get the puck at the top of the umbrella,
throws one on, hits their own player.
And then boom, odd man rushed the other way.
Yep.
But I guess I was going to say this.
Right after that, your boy Miro pinched and like he had support,
but it led to a two-on-one come the other way.
I can't believe how many times Dallas finds themselves giving up odd man
rushes to this team.
Yes.
And we said it.
I remember,
I remember thinking it in that Flames series a couple years ago,
Battle of Alberta,
where it was like,
why are you running and gunning with this Oilers team?
Yeah.
What are you fucking high?
And the,
you get into that point where you're like,
it's like the OT mentality where you're like,
I want to go,
but I also don't want,
I got to be careful.
And you start going,
well, now to avoid running and gunning with the Oilers,
you're into,
now you're playing prevent defense and now you're not playing your game anymore.
so the Oilers are playing their game.
You know, I'm doing like, I'm in a mental pretzel, but it's like,
at what point is it, play our game, fuck them?
Or at what point is it like, hey, dude, let's be a little bit more responsible
because the only way we lose is by giving up odd man rushes to this team.
I think you have to identify how good you are and say play our game.
But I think playing your game can include be responsible.
Like, you, listen, you can be the better team,
which I think on paper and what we've seen all season,
I think Dallas is a slightly better team than Edmonton.
Edmonton is showing that they can play with anyone, and that's amazing.
But I just think Dallas is the better team.
Now, just being the better team isn't always enough.
You do need to adjust.
It's what we talked about with Florida.
It's like you have to adjust to your opponent.
And absolutely being more responsible and accounting for how quick Edmonton is on the counter
and how quick they are on the rush, that's something that you should keep in mind.
Forward.
You need to be more defensively responsible in the offensive zone.
And be like, if they get it in transition, we got a bust ass back because they have some of the fastest, most skilled players in the world on that team don't get caught like this.
And last game, they got caught over and over and over and over again.
It was like, dude.
It was funny hearing that, because Noblock does this all the time.
It's not like this is news to DeBoer or Dallas.
After a penalty kill, Noblock will send out McDavid and Drysadle on a line together.
Yeah.
Because all the star studs have been out.
And now it's like, oh, we're tired after our long failed power play.
And here come the lowest guys.
and then it immediately turned into that dry saddle goal.
Yeah.
And I'm like,
you didn't know that was about to happen?
Like, what is going on?
Maybe account for that.
Yeah,
exactly, dude.
So,
and like on that one,
I think that was the Miro one.
I'm like,
don't pinch there.
Like,
you know the situation.
Yeah.
So anyway.
But I kind of don't,
like,
a player like Miro,
I'm like,
pinch whenever you have to.
Like,
you are one of the best players in the world as well.
But I hear you over.
But it's like what Chelyas was telling us before where it's like,
you don't want to clip him at all.
You don't want to clip him at all.
where it's like, hey dude, dude, go, ice is yours.
Play your game. Go wherever you want.
That's what role players are for, dude.
Yeah.
Like, you need the role players.
They're not. Yes, exactly.
You guys are songs, but I do whatever the fuck I want.
Yes.
Let him off the leash.
Absolutely.
Speaking of Connor, I want to talk about the Bouchard goal.
Oh, okay.
A lot of chatter right now going on,
two-on-one situation.
Connor McDavid flying down the ice with Evan Bouchard
falling on the left side.
The amount of accounts that have posted,
uh,
actually there were two things.
things. One, there was the otter stick save that so many hockey accounts took the opportunity to be
like, unbelievable stick save. That puck was going wide. I think so too. You said that right
away. There's one view where it looks like it isn't, but every other view it looks like it's
going on. It's a crazy moment, but that puck was going wide. So, in fact, the stick almost made it
worse because the puck popped straight back out into the slot when instead it would have just gone
into the corner. I will say, though, if the stick was at the other diagonal, like if the stick
was like this and it went straight out, the stick had been like that. It would have banged it.
it would have banked in.
Yes.
It was a great situation, but that shot was not going in.
That shot was going wide or pass, whatever it was.
The also amount of hockey accounts that are posting that goal and saying Connor McDavid
passed the puck off of Otter's pad.
Your response.
Dude, it is, in my opinion, it is exactly, he is shooting that there on purpose.
And that's not even up for debate for me.
Like, he's coming down and he can go, if I see high glove, short side, I'm going to
take it because if Otter's cheating the pass, which sometimes
goalies do. But if it's not there, I'm
certainly not going to miss one high, short,
and wide. So I'm going to fire
one low and either beat him
or the rebound will likely pop
right to Bouchard, which is exactly what
happened, which is you are taught when you were a fucking
squirt. Well, okay,
all right, hold on here.
You're getting too fired up.
You're getting too, no, you're getting too crazy.
No, no, you're getting too fired up.
You, when you, that is
true. We are, we are taught
at a young age as hockey players,
if you're in a situation and you shoot low, far side like that,
you're going to get a good, juicy rebound.
Absolutely.
But when you say it like that,
you're taught as a fucking squirt.
You're making it sound like Connor's an idiot fool
if he doesn't do that.
Let's give credit, which you were starting to do,
to that was a good shot.
That was a good, smart play.
And in the moment, on a two-on-one,
not everyone does that.
So let's give credit while also being realistic.
Yeah, I don't know, dude.
I'm kind of like, that is a, that is like a very normal thing.
Like, yeah, you just shoot it low to the far side and they kick it right to it in front.
Like, that is a, everybody knows that.
And I'm not being like, Conner's an idiot for if he hadn't done it.
I'm just saying like, yeah, that's like, that is the, that's the normal move.
That's the way you were making it sound when you went, you're taught that as a fucking squirt.
Like, I'm kind of more doing the voice at the people being like, he's a visionary.
And I'm like, no, he's not.
That is literally what you are.
When you play hockey, they go on a two and one, shoot it low.
and far side.
So like anyone going,
what a sorcerer.
I disagree with that too.
I don't think,
we're not taught that on it,
on it specifically a two on one.
That is not,
maybe I had the best coach of all time,
but when I was eight,
my coach was like,
obviously on a two on one,
just shoot it low there
and the guy kicks the rebound right to your dude
and you have an open net.
It was the best coach of all time.
I didn't know.
But I was told that eight.
Yeah, at eight years old,
your coach had never shoot it anywhere else,
never pass, don't even consider passing on a two-on-one,
which we also saw on that short-handed goal
that also led to a goal.
So yeah, you're right.
The only thing coaches ever teach us on a two-on-one is shoot low, bad side.
No, sorry, there was more to the lesson, obviously,
which was if there's no pass, which there wasn't,
and you don't think you can score, which maybe he didn't,
then the option A is obviously this.
I'm not disagree with you.
I'm just saying don't make it sound simple.
So, no, it's not a take.
I agree with you. I'm just saying
you're being a douchebag on like the
it was the only move. It's
obvious. Any idiot would know
to do that. And I agree,
I think the people who are saying he intentionally
passed it off his pad. I literally saw
captions that said Connor
McDavid passes off Ottinger's pad
and I'm like, you're all fired.
You deserve to be fired for that take
because that's not what he did. He made a very smart
high IQ shot that we are
taught is a great option early.
I'm just, I just want to not be too hyperbolic and say that it is like, if Connor didn't do that, he's a piece of shit.
Because I think it was a really good, well-placed shot that led to a perfect platter rebound.
Yep, I agree with all that.
But let's stop all you hockey accounts out there calling it a pass deflection off the pads because shut up.
That is not what he did.
Yeah, it's funny because I guess like, it's certainly what he was trying to do.
He was like, I want this rebound to kick right to.
Yeah, yeah.
But like, let's, calling it a pass.
Yeah, that's my thing.
It's like, if you ask Connor, he's like, yeah, I shot there knowing that if it goes in, great,
but also that's probably going to lead to the best possible rebound for Bouchard.
Yeah.
And that's why I'm like, great high IQ play.
But I don't think Connor was going, I actually wasn't trying to score at all.
I was literally passing it off the back.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That is where I'm like, okay, I think that's a little ridiculous.
Easy, easy.
But yeah, that was the backbreaker, I think.
Oh, yeah.
The big third periods, but I was like, you've got to be fucking kidding me right now.
Yeah.
No, that game I said to you, I was like, if they get to eight minutes,
if they score before eight minutes and make it four or three, there's a chance here.
If not, this game's toast.
And like, yeah, that's exactly how it went down.
It's bet MGM time, which means it's let's try to make some money time.
And we have an incredible deal for you guys.
We've been pumping it because I want you to take advantage.
All you have to do is sign up for bet MGM and use promo code netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
And here's how it's going to work.
You can bet $5.
You can bet $1,500.
$1,500.
And you can bet it on anything you want.
And if you win, you're the man and you did it and you keep your money.
If you lose, it's fine.
Do you want to know why it's fine?
Because BetMGM is hooking you up with all that money.
Look at it.
Look at this, $1,500.
All that money back into your account that you can make future bets
and continue to try to make some money.
because they love you and because we love you.
So sign up for BetMGM right now.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800 Gambler.
Call 8778 Hope N.Y or text Hope NY for New York.
Call 1-800-3-50-50-for Massachusetts.
21-1-8-200 for Massachusetts.
21-Buson-Eus off for Iowa.
1-800-9-802-3 for Puerto Rico or
or visit www.W.W.W.W.
Watt 800-Gambler.
For West Virginia offer for new customers only.
Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas Crossecccccccon,
and hotel.
See BetmGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in New York,
North Carolina, Ontario, where we go?
All right, little bit of Panthers Rangers.
Yes.
Before we get into Panthers Rangers, more fresh.
Yeah.
Game four, Panthers finally gets a OT magic.
Yeah.
I mean, listen, Panthers, they go down, won nothing on a, yeah, you know, fine goal.
That was, oh, that was a Trojan one.
Yeah.
Yeah, that was a good goal.
Yep, yep.
Yep.
And then quick, 2-1 from the Panthers.
Yep.
dominating the game, controlling the game, in my opinion, like what we've seen, what we've seen
from this year. Same script. Jesus Christ, same script. It's just exactly how it's going. Exactly how it's
going. Whole time, whole time, whole time. As it goes with the cockroaches, crazy bounce,
bang, Laffey. Dude, Laffey has that my own goal in game one. Yeah. And, you know,
that which was not his fault. Like, I would have put my stick there too. And it sucks and whatever.
and not that he needed a response because it wasn't his fault.
Yeah.
But what a response.
Like he has been just pumping in goals, massive massive goal.
He's playing so fucking well.
I mean, like, the guy is, I just think he's off leash and he's just playing his game
and the skill that saw him do well in the OHL, saw him do well, or saw him be a first overall pick.
I'm like, yeah, man, it's showing.
and he's picking up a lot of slack
ties the game unbelievable
we head to OT
immediate penalty
immediate goal
before we talk about the goal
well I mean that textbook power play
right like that's exactly how you draw it up
with that bumper position it's like high to low
one touch right to the slot
one T
off the by the way Laffey played in the queue sorry I didn't mean to say
OHL we're just talking about the London nights
and I'm fucking out
the off the bar bang goal.
I'm worried if I'm the Panthers still because,
well, let me not say worried,
but it's interesting to me if I'm the Panthers
in that you get, because that Bennett goal
was basically a power play goal.
There was like, he shot it with time on the penalty still.
It hit Chesty, like rolled over his shoulder,
the penalty expired, then it went in.
And they're like, not a power play goal, but it was.
Three goals in the game, three power play goals.
I bitched about this last episode,
but everybody was like,
the Panthers are going to have such a huge edge five on five.
And they have not.
Not at all.
Not at all.
Is that a disaster?
No,
because a humming power play can steal you a series.
Yeah.
Because you're like,
oh,
we just converted on every powerplay and that's the way it worked.
I also,
I know you're not saying this,
but I always like to interject here.
And I said this in the regular season
when people were shitting on Reiner,
and shitting on Kreider,
shitting on Heimann and being like,
oh yeah,
I mean, sick, you got 50 goals,
fucking 25 for powerplay goals.
And I'm like,
You need to score on the power play.
You fucking dickheads.
Look at Dallas Edmonton.
How different would that series be if either team could score on the powerplay?
So true.
Stop acting like power play goals are like this.
Oh yeah, it's lucky you got that.
And I don't, and again, I know you're not saying this.
But I take umbrage with the sentence a power play can steal you a series because it's part
of the fucking game.
Yeah.
Like for fucking.
True, right?
Like it's part of the game.
But a power play that's absolutely firing.
I think you were just saying that though.
Like if Dallas's power play was cooking right now.
I think it would change the series.
I don't like the term steal because steel to me is always like something,
an outlier is making your team better than it is.
Like a goalie can steal a series when a team is sucking.
Like there's a lot of examples of these playoffs where a team has zero business
being where they are in a current series or going as far as they did
because a goalie is stealing games when your team is not as good.
I just think if we're going to say a power play can steal a series, the way I would accept that sentence is if a team absolutely sucks dick, but somehow they keep getting power plays and they just keep, they literally score on every single one of them and they're winning games.
I have a question.
I think we're just going to disagree on this.
But if the Panthers win this series and they get outscored by, you know, 10, five on five.
but then win in seven because they outscore the Rangers by 12 on the power play.
I, in my opinion, I'm like, I guess the power play stole them that series because they were getting bodied in even play.
In goals, which is all that matters.
I know they're controlling the play, but in goals they are fucking losing badly.
I think that's a great scenario you just laid out.
Well done.
I don't agree based on how the games are, like right now they're losing five on five,
literally on the score sheet
but watching the games I'm like
they are sure as shit not losing 5-on-5
how the game is being played
there's just like a lot of like unlucky bounces
that are leading to goals and it's just like oh
yeah I guess you're losing
but in another scenario where that's happening
I think usually it would be like
you're getting outplayed 5-on-5
in which case I would say yes
that is a power play stealing a series
yeah yeah okay so it could happen
yes oh 100% yep
I also think you're slightly worried
if you're the Panthers
that you
can't stomp the cockroaches.
You can't extinguish them.
You let them come back and force it to overtime.
You were going to the team that can't.
You were going to be the fucking, you had the raid.
You brought the raid and the rats.
Wrong.
Even game one, this is harsh, but even game one,
I was looking for the Panthers to get that insurance goal.
It's one nothing.
It's one nothing.
Kind of.
I know that opened with this as hard.
Which they did.
But like, you know,
it was for Hagee, right?
I think for Hagee just.
Oh, sorry, no.
I'm talking about the,
the dog shit called back goal.
I forgot about that.
Like they did score that and then the hockey gods gave them the own goal.
So yeah, but you know since then, and they had a sick comeback.
But just, you know, like, since then you're like, oh, man, we haven't had a, we just fucking beat the Rangers.
You know, like, oh, it's 4-1.
Yeah.
Even the hurricanes.
Like, after being down three, like had a couple wins.
We're like, dismissed.
Yeah.
Panthers haven't had that yet.
So that doesn't feel good.
And neither have the Rangers, obviously.
Yeah.
So, like, it's a fucking good series.
Yeah.
Panthers haven't had it since game.
I think they got it in game one.
but they haven't had it since.
Yep.
And you wanted,
obviously that tie-ing goal came early,
but you wanted that in game four
as the Panthers.
When you go down one-nothing,
then bang, bang, you're up to one,
you wanted to be like,
fucking murder them.
And the fact that they tied it,
I think, listen, that was a...
This laugh is one.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
That is a must-win game, and you won it.
But you're right, Dan.
And I think you won it across the board.
You won that game top to bottom.
But you wanted to win that game
4-1 with an empty-netter.
And you're absolutely.
right. I feel like you wanted that. This is also harsh, but you wanted that in game three after
four sling ties it. You're like, you are murdering him. And I'm like, you should, like, it's like score,
dude. That one was shit though, because like, I think once New York made that game four, too,
you're like, this is off the rails. Yeah. Yeah. And like, yeah, once you tied it, you're like,
win this fucking game, dude. But like, what a mess of a performance that was in just the second
period. Like, you got so fucking unlucky in that second period. And like, it's four.
or two and you're like, what the fuck is going on?
And then, yeah, once you're like, okay, write the ship.
But I don't think you're like, we need an emphatic win.
You're like, that was like a, let's just win this game and pretend this never fucking
happened.
Yep. Okay, last thing on this game, because I know it's going to be old about the time this
comes out. The wheel, I felt so bad for Blake Wheerly.
He finally gets back in the lineup. Yeah. I was so excited for him.
Every, all longtime listeners know, I love him so much.
And he played a ton of 15 shifts. He was on a couple hits, shots, want to face off.
Like, he was, he was contributing. And then that play.
happens at the right of start of overtime. Ziba
fires that pass into his skates. I've seen
people on both sides of the take. Like,
that's a bad pass for me into traffic
not on his tape. Picked off
and Barkoff's on like a semi
breakaway. Wheeler brings him down.
Penalty, immediate goal.
He's made a couple comments like, fucking nightmare
scenario. I finally get back after that horrible injury
and then I take that penalty.
He has said, he's like, I've played it over a thousand
times my mind.
I don't know. Does there anyone on earth
I trust to make that save more than Chesty?
No, he's the guy, but I think I pull him down again is what he said.
Yeah.
My question to you is, do you agree?
You pull him down.
And fucking fans, dog in him, go fuck yourself.
PK's been so good.
If you're not so good, you know, Ryan are got a couple last game.
Yeah, no, if you're a fan dog and fuck you.
You're not a real fan.
You don't fucking get the game.
You're just a fucking piece of shit mouth breather if you're a fucking dogging him for that.
Like, give me a break, dude.
I think you're right.
And it is, because I'll tell you what, here's another scenario.
you're afraid to take a penalty there.
And first of all, he doesn't egregiously pull him down.
Like the feet are moving.
He's trying to do stick work.
He takes a penalty.
But it's not like a lazy like, I'm just going to hook you.
Yeah.
If he sits there and goes, I'm afraid to take a penalty, does nothing.
And they score there, he's getting more docked.
They're going, look at that fucking effort.
You fucking loser.
Nice back check.
Thank God you're back in the line of, you fucking asshole.
Like, it's just a brutal situation.
And it's like, dude, if you're a fan,
it sucks it sucks but like don't shit on your players like christ almighty like he's
must be so happy to get back in this lineup playing playoff hockey and it's like that's what you
get from fan and again not everyone's doing it but i i i hated it i hated seeing people being like
what a fucking loser and i'm like what yeah yeah okay yeah i think you're right i think um
he's putting a shit situation yeah like it's awful it was awful he's doing everything and i think
i think the best argument is that if he scores and you're not really trying that or not not
not trying that hard, but you're kind of just hands-offing.
You look like an asshole.
Trust the PK.
They hadn't been that good.
I misspoke because they've given up essentially two already
in a couple of the game before.
But I think you trust your PK, which had been so good.
Agree.
Try to get the job done, pick you up.
Totally.
Pick ZBob.
Bad pass.
Okay.
Rangers, Game 5 reaction coming at you now.
Well, here we are.
Hoo!
Like, we never left.
What a game, Dan.
What a game.
And we're back.
What a game.
back the Florida Panthers take a series lead three to two after a three to two victory. Oh,
look at that. How about it? Over the New York Rangers at MSG. How are you feeling?
It was, like I said at the beginning when you saw us earlier, it was a fantastic, I went live for
the first, so I was dialed in with the chat and it was a, it was a really fun first period with no
goals. Sometimes we get a lot of goals, no goals to be had, but I thought that was a really
up and down period. This series has been a lot of like,
sustained pressure.
Heavy foreshack.
Can't get out.
Rangers can't get out.
This was an up,
that was an up and down period,
some great chances.
I think Bennett hit that post.
Oh, yeah.
And you know what?
Clean post.
Yeah, yeah,
which is, you know,
is the same as?
Missing the net by fucking 20 feet.
You clock posts.
If you like hitting posts,
sit on the fucking bench, buddy.
Don't need you.
They're not good, dude.
I need shots inside the goal,
not outside the goal.
You know what's funny?
You missed the net.
You sure did.
Didn't beat the goalie my ass, dude.
That shot.
That shot.
Bob, someone had a breakaway.
It's crazy that, like, you can't even remember what just happened,
but someone had a breakaway, and Bob got, like, a little poke check on it.
Yeah.
But he almost, like, missed the poke check.
Anyway, a lot of action.
I think the Rangers might even outshot them, out, out, zone-timed them.
You know, it was probably the best.
I would say that was even big picture, because the third got really skilled,
skilled with the other way.
But certainly periods one and two, best Rangers game all series,
including being up four two in game three.
Like, best Rangers have played all series through two periods.
I think so, too.
I think that's the best game they've played.
But also, let me just take a quick pause.
T.
Timeout.
The worst thing about being a fan of a team is when they lose.
Oh, it's awful.
And in the playoffs, if you're lucky enough to have your team in the playoffs,
when they lose, it sucks.
You're like, fucking a.
Season's over.
I got to wait months until the season starts again.
Got to wait maybe a month, a couple months,
until, you know, free agency, fun stuff again.
But if you love the sport,
At least we've got
playoffs to watch.
And the best part is
carefree playoffs.
Because your team's out.
Because your team's out.
I have a question.
Can I time out your timeout?
Yeah.
Filibuster.
Filibuster.
Time out the time out.
Would you say, though,
what percentage of the time
would you say
that when you are a neutral,
I don't even mean literally
you because we're kind of dialed
with friends on the league and shit,
but if you're just a neutral,
you're a Dux fan,
boom, season over,
playoffs start.
What percentage of the time, though, do you find you're rooting against a team you hate?
You know, I find you're like just as invested.
You know, it's not like you're just being like, sick, playoff hockey.
100%.
Fuck the kings.
But it's wrapping paper care.
You know what I mean?
Yeah.
Ooh, cool.
Is that a real term?
No, I just made that up.
It's, it's, it looks good.
What does it mean?
What does it mean?
It looks good on the outside, but it's not that strong.
Yeah, it's weak, in fact.
Yeah.
So, so, yeah, you're always going to.
Like, oh, I care about this team.
But when they lose it doesn't ruin your fucking day.
Yeah.
And that's the case when you've got a team that you'll leave.
Yeah, that's wrapping paper.
That's wrapping paper.
You know what else we made up on the live today?
If I can talk about the live for the 50th fucking day.
Hey, how'd the live go?
Somebody said in the chat, the hand-eye coordination is amazing with these guys, which it is.
Yes, it is.
But I was like, you know.
NHL sticks, do?
We talk about it all the time.
But probably, like, I would guess baseball players, maybe even tennis players.
I'll probably have, on average, better hand-eye than hockey players.
I think hockey players have a great hand-eye, but there's just guys that golfers, maybe even.
You know, like, I guess that's stationary, but baseball surely.
But I said on the chat, I don't think, and we made this term up as a group, as a community,
hand-foot coordination, kicking the puck up to your stick.
I don't think anyone has better hand-foot coordination than hockey players.
Is hand foot the right term?
It went to a vote in the chat and that's what won.
Is it foot eye?
Well, we said foot hand.
We said...
Let's call it hand to foot connection.
Okay.
Or I'll allow coordination, but I need a two in there.
Hand to foot.
Foot to hand coordination.
It has to be hand to foot.
That's what won.
Amanda's kids decided.
But we're not going...
Hold on.
We're letting a child pick this.
Two children.
Then no disrespect to those children.
They're wonderful.
But fuck them kids.
In fact, we should obviously go foot to hand because kids don't know any.
Hand-to-foot coordination.
It's foot-to-hand because it literally goes foot to hand.
I know. I know.
But it's hand-to-foot.
But would you say that you agree with that?
Like, I don't know that anybody in any other sport is taking the object that they play with from their feet to their hands.
What about professional hacky-sackers?
They never use their hands.
Well, sometimes when they grab it.
Isn't that like when the hack's over?
Yeah.
Probably the end of a hack.
Okay.
Let's think about this for 30 months.
more seconds.
Not basketball.
Can't kick it.
Not soccer, can't touch it.
Unless it's the goalie, but when are they ever doing that?
Punters.
Ooh.
I was up against the wire there.
Punters.
Punters is interesting.
But I still think hockey more.
Me too.
I think they're better.
How about?
Not doesn't really happen in lax.
Maybe.
Nope.
Rugby.
Rugby.
Definitely rugby.
More so than punters.
More so than punters, but I still think less than hockey.
Okay.
It's hockey guys.
Dennis Seidberg, one of the best foot to hand guys.
ever seen. I've ever seen. Okay. Philibuster over? Yep. Back to my timeout. When you do find that you
care about, you're like, oh, I'm riding with this team. If that team then loses, you're not like, I might
drown myself in my bowl of cereal in the morning. Yeah. You just, you move on with your day. Yep.
So my point is, the care levels are low. You're just watching hockey and enjoy. Enjoying yourself.
The stress that I feel watching these two teams play. Yeah. As a neutral. As a neutral. Well, you've,
You have a betting interest in the Rangers.
Yeah, but...
So it's not...
I'm watching fun hockey.
Yep.
I can't imagine what it must feel like
to be a fan of either of these teams right now.
Dude, I don't even know how you're watching the game.
This series must be fucking hell.
And dude, like the Western Conference
is a close series too.
And, you know, that sucks with the swings.
But this series, three overtimes in a row,
essentially a one-nothing game in game one
until late, late, late.
essentially a one goal
I would literally finish one goal game
but you know like tie
like one goal game here
this has been
fucking torture
it's hell
for both for the both fan bases
it's hell on earth
because I have great friends on both sides
and I have the Florida fans texting me
because they're like
pumping the shit out of the Rangers
out shooting them but losing
oh my god
and they're like this is a fucking joke
what the fuck and then I have Rangers fans
being like you know
we're one OT slip up away from
this being over
yeah free one you know
and it's just like everybody
everybody is having a bad time
it's awful
it's just
truly awful. I don't know how anyone's dealing with it. We've got a friend who, and jump in
and give the shout out if you remember who it is. I think, I think you know this story.
We've got a friend whose grandma is a really big fan of the baseball team that they support,
and she records every game on her DVR. I do remember this story. Every single game. She might even
record it on a VCR tape still. No. She records every, TiVo. Maybe she has.
She records every single game.
Yep.
And then the next day, she checks the box score and sees if they won.
And if they lost, she goes, well, delete it.
Doesn't watch it.
Delete.
And if they win, she goes, hop that baby on.
I'll watch the game.
No commercialsies, dude.
I'll watch the game.
I'd love to see how we.
Who needs a pitch clock?
No commercials.
If I were a fan of either of these teams, I would be doing that.
I wouldn't watch.
Yeah, dude.
I would not watch.
And then I would check the box score after the game.
and if we won, I'd go, amazing.
And I would watch the game or watch the highlights and then move on.
I'd watch the whole game?
I think it would kill me.
Oh, dude, it's been torture.
So to get into it, great first period, second period, Panthers.
And I was scared of that Panthers PowerPlay, right?
Because they've been humming.
Yeah?
And they take Power Play.
I think they killed one.
They take one.
They don't score.
And then they get a second one.
You're doing too much.
Just get into the plays.
Let's get into the Crider goal.
Yeah, yeah, that's what I'm talking about.
Yeah, but you just took too long.
Matthew Kachuk.
is skating up the ice
and he's doing that thing
where every team does now
where you're like
I'm gonna throw it behind you
but the Rangers
kind of went behind him
and then he so he keeps going
because there's nobody there
go ahead
so he keeps going
and then he gets the zone
and dude
slows down with poise
shows great poise
and then
this is not a peeper by the way
shows great poise
and then as everybody
all his teammates
start to go by him
and dude in front of him
there's like six rangers
even though they only could have
four on the ice legally
but there's seven to eight
Rangers on the ice. And then behind him, there's two Panthers, nude. And he goes, Rangers.
And passes it that way, immediately picked off to Ziba, immediately up to cry to breakaway goal.
Dude. That stupid, silly bitch. Dude. That play was so bad. That play was so bad in real time.
I was watch, just you could see his body language and where he was facing. And you could,
it was one of those moments where you can see like the nerves spying in his brain. And then
the muscle tissue starting to do what he was doing.
And in real time, I went, don't make that pass.
There's 12 Rangers right there.
Don't make that pass.
Don't make that pass.
He would have been better flipping that puck out of the zone and taking a penalty than what he did.
Dude.
And as he did it, I was like, oh my God.
And then it was just the most obvious goal.
And it would have been a behind the back, backhand, no look pass.
Yeah.
But I think that was Bennett, whoever that was, you got to go right here.
Oh my God.
Yeah.
Hey, hey, hooee, hooee, hooey, whoee, whoee, who we?
Who are we?
Who are we?
Give it over here.
I'm right here.
I'll walk in on a breakaway.
Dude.
This 15 Rangers over there.
That was absolutely insane.
It was absolutely insane.
And listen, the zero to 60 speed from Cridey.
Yeah, I vote a beast.
And the strength.
And the strength.
And the stop.
And the back end.
And then good, you know, good move.
Good goal.
Yep.
Not taking anything away from that goal.
I am going to take away with the, like, that was just the, that was a horrible play.
But right after he chucked his mouth guard last game and then he fucking does that.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I was like,
like that was a
Kachuk goes to the bench
and Maurice goes,
are you,
do you feel good about that?
And Kachuk is like this.
I feel like a fucking idiot.
Dude,
like they,
that is not like a,
ah,
shit,
you know,
I love that people always go like,
oh,
you know,
you get lucky here and there.
People get lucky all through the playoffs.
I don't like that.
I think there are definitely lucky plays,
but I don't think we're going to count
lucky plays in the like the bang,
bang,
it all washes out.
That was a lucky break.
Dude.
And a great goal.
but a lucky break because that was a uncharacteristically horrible play.
Do you think Maddie's type of guy?
Do you think Matthew is the type of guy that is, because we've known both of these people.
Yeah.
Do you think Matthew's a type of guy that needs someone to come yell at him for that where they go,
hey, Maurice comes over and goes, that's fucking trash.
And he's like, I know, you know, or whatever.
Or is he the type of guy that's like, I know what I've done, obviously.
If you yell at me, it's only going to make me more mad and, like, just fucking leave me alone.
I think if you're the type of guy that Matthew Kachuk is,
then you've got to be able to take it.
Yeah.
So I think that that deserves a clip whack.
Yeah.
An old coach move where you go like this.
You take the clipboard and you whack him on the back of the helmet and you go,
wake the fuck up.
That's it.
Yeah.
Quick one.
Don't bark at him.
Yep.
Don't harp on it, but give him a quick.
Hey, dip shit.
And he goes, yep, yep, yep.
That was me.
And not that I was like ever had thin skin, I didn't care about when I, if I was obviously
I did something wrong, you know, horrific turnover in the middle.
I'm like, I'm pissed.
I'm smashing my stick against the wall on the bench.
And I was just leave me alone, dude.
Like, I don't need you to come over and be like, that's a bad play.
But I don't hate to come over and be like this.
Get it back.
Because I'm like, yeah.
Oh, I didn't mean to get it back.
That's motivation.
I mean, you're a dip shit.
Yeah.
Okay, yeah.
You're a dip shit.
Yep.
Wake up.
Yeah, yeah.
I think I would take a wake up.
I just didn't want to hear like bad play.
You wouldn't, dude.
We're playing beer league and I say one thing to you.
And then you pull out a scroll of why it wasn't your fault and why I'm a piece of shit.
Yeah, because it's always, it wasn't.
If it was, I would go like this.
Yeah, I'll wake up.
But when it isn't, you need to know all the reasons you're a fucking dumbass.
And I have them, dude.
It's in my wallet right now.
You want to see it?
Fair.
No, I've been reading it to me.
My whole fucking life.
My whole life.
All right, I want to say this too, Dad.
Sam Bennett.
No.
We got to talk about that Matthew Kuchak play real quick because it just leads into something that I feel.
Okay.
These Panthers are a little cavalier with the puck in their own zone, in my opinion.
okay oh well okay go on they're like every time they're in their zone and they get what appears to be full possession
yeah and i'm like okay they're going to be breaking out here they always do one like cheeky one-handed
chip out or these little like dink deflections along the balls to get it out of the zone instead of
just a let's get it out safely they have a lot of either clear turnovers or you had possession
but you're making it look like it was kind of 50-50
and now all of a sudden the Rangers have like a three-on-two
situation in their zone.
Like they're asking for trouble.
Trouble.
And I've bitched about this in the past where I think NHL guys are a little
cavalier in their own zone already because they trust their skill so much.
But it's funny you say that because I know you're right.
I've seen them do it.
But then I feel like there's no in between for the Panthers.
They either do that, the super fancy dinks or they're the flip kings.
Or they're the flip kings.
They get the puck and they just fucking launch it out because they're like,
whatever, get it out.
Dude, yeah.
It's like it's a flip or a chip.
chip. Yeah, exactly. It's like, they're
flipper chippers. There, they're the flipper chippers,
dude. The panthers are the flipper chippers. And
I just think that the chips, the chippers
are not doing that well. And I'm like, dude,
have a clean breakout. Watch this. D to the wing, to the
curling center. You know, you know, you do the drill.
You go to the watch of the hash wall,
to the curling center. Why are we forcing to pass?
To the other wing. Get in the zone. Cross-eythump,
goal. It's absolutely crazy. Easy mind. Talk to me about Sam
Bennett. Sam Bennett. Sam Bennett's a goon. Sam Bennett's
cheap. Sam Bennett's a bitch.
everybody's saying that
Simmons is old
Sam Bennett, dude
can play for me any day
and I know he punched Marsha in the face
on purpose
and I know he crossed him
Charlie Coil
into the fucking goalie
which was clearly goalie interference
and I got a bone to pick with him
frankly
but I'll tell you what dude
why don't you play for my team
yeah because he is pretty good
and he's a great player
that passed to Foresling
when he's looking off
Kachuk and then fucking
through the seam
I mean that looks like a point guard dude
That was literally fucking Steve Nash.
Dude, damn, I was like,
Jason Williams?
Steve Nash plays for the Panthers?
That was insane, dude.
Sick.
If that had been a one hand behind the back,
I wouldn't have blink.
No.
Dude, unbelievable passing then, Forrestling.
Right up under the bar where he lives.
He lives under that ball.
I don't get why Gustav Forzling plays for the cats,
because he's a dog.
Yeah.
He is a dog.
Dude.
Dog.
He's a weapon, dude.
on both sides.
People talking about how
how cap-strapped
the cats are.
I'm Dr. Seuss over here.
Yeah, that was good.
And they're going, how are we going to keep Montor?
And I was sitting there the whole time going,
you got to sign Forasling first
because that kid is a weapon.
Yep.
But Sam Bennett, would that pass,
unbelievable, and Forrestling with the finish,
but unbelievable pass,
and then Sam Bennett on the empty netter.
Yeah.
Dude, fighting.
Come on with your fingernails for that.
And dude, he, like, battled through neutral zone, battled the puck up in the air, comes back to him, takes another body, beats Trocheck.
Could have shot it right away.
Beats Trocheque, leaves him on the ground.
And then Foxy came, I think that was Fox.
He came with, like, the two-pad jammer, dude.
In 1990s, two-pad jammer from Adam Fox.
And he fucking roofed that thing.
And then gave Kreider one across the chest behind the net and says, toss that mouthguard, bitch.
I think he said that.
People are saying it.
Dude.
Get a lip reader.
Get a lip-reader.
And he looked, oh, he gave him a look, by the way.
Yeah.
He looked back, like, say something, dude.
So, dude, Sam Bennett is a bad motherfucker.
Yeah.
And he done some bad shit, too, but he is...
He cheezed that empty netter.
That's what I'm saying, dude.
Like, that is a big...
That was a big game, dude.
Like, that's game five, bro.
In MSG.
Huge game.
Now, listen, on the Rangers side,
don't want to harp on it.
Like, listen, we got to...
Wait, just real quick,
you mad about the Lundell goal with Chesty?
Does he need that one?
I mean, he's been so good.
No. He's allowed a couple.
Okay.
By the way, he made some killer
after that goal.
The Reiner right in front of the net.
Dude, he kind of exaggerated that one,
but that was sick.
There were a couple between the legs attempts by the
Yeah, yeah. Also Lundell maybe.
Yeah, yeah, it was. Lundell was one.
There was another one, too.
But I thought that was the best game
the Rangers have played all series.
Till the third.
The third all series, the third has been pretty skewed.
Yes.
Florida has been really controlled in third year,
which is a problem, by the way,
if you're in New York.
Yeah, no doubt.
No doubt.
I thought it was the best game they've played
all series. Now, I don't know what that means for them, but as I've said a million times,
this is really the only thing I have left to say about this game. You can never count out this
Rangers team. Agreed. I mean shit. They just hit the Panthers to OT twice in Sunrise. Yes. They
don't care. Mice doesn't mean shit. You know, I love Sunrise, but Sunrise doesn't have a spirit
like MSG, so it's not like it's going to be, no offense, Panthers fans. That's just more
history talking here.
But anything can happen.
So the streets are flooding
with Rangers fans online
who have given up. And I say
that with understanding.
I get it.
I get what you're going through. And this is just a coping
mechanism. But this team is not out. That's all I'll say.
Dude, the
obviously the Panthers believe they can win game seven and
MSG too. But if you're the Rangers, you're sitting in that
locker and going like this. Get me back to MSG for you.
game seven. They don't want any fucking part of that, which they don't really. They believe
they can win there, but they don't want any part of it. I agree they don't want it, but I think
they have no issue with me. Me neither, but if you're the Rangers, you're going, just get me home.
Yeah. Get me home and we get this done. And as everybody knows, the most common, the most
well-known characteristic of a cockroach. Yeah. Is when they feel near death. That's when they're
their fastest. They'll find a corner. They'll find a little, they know a little cremate, a little
Crevis.
You just lose a shoe during that.
I lost a shoe during that.
That's how roachy I just got.
The cockroach sees my fucking flip-flop.
That's when he goes.
That's when he's the fastest.
They're cornered right now.
And they're cornered.
And Florida hasn't even seen a cornered roach yet.
So be ready for that.
And there just might not be enough raid in the entire state of Florida to handle that cockroach.
So they're going to be quick.
Let's send them back to the rest of the episode.
All right.
Let's get into some armchair GM.
Dude, I don't even, I was looking at this and I don't have,
sometimes we have some good ones.
Yeah.
We kind of joked about this earlier, so I'm going to just lean into it.
Yeah.
I'm going Dallas, Edmonton, and it's a coaching change for either team.
Oh, okay.
Pull your goal in the first period.
And go down?
And just let him score.
Yeah.
And listen, actually, pull your goal in the first period and then either score a bunch of
because you're on a constant power play.
Go on.
Or you go down
because they're just firing
into your open net.
Yeah.
And the good news is
if you're winning
because you've pulled your goalie,
the other team is probably
so fucking rattled
that you win the game
because then you come out
you can put your goalie back in
and then they're like,
what the fuck is happening
and we're all fucked.
And if you're losing
after the first,
who cares?
You've won the game now.
You're probably going to win.
You've now won
because the other team,
say it with me again,
got fucking cocky
and now they are fucked.
Yeah.
So pull your goalie
in the first period,
either team,
and what I'd love to see, Dan, is a double pull.
I'd love to see the double pull in the first.
Six on six.
That's a stalemate written all over.
I think you might even have to start shooting into your own net.
Yeah, like if the other team pulls it,
you just fire like this.
Fired your own net.
That center-ice face-off draw is so important.
Yeah, boom, goal.
Yeah.
So that's my coaching adjustment for this week.
I like it.
I like it.
I'm on a similar track.
I'm going this series as well.
Edmonton, Dallas.
if you get a peeper.
Okay.
Pull one of your guys off the ice.
Make it four on four.
See, this is actually a good idea.
It's just, they're not working.
It's actually a good idea.
There are more shorties in this series
than there are power play goals.
Yep.
Getting a power play is too risky.
And four and four on four,
a lot of ice?
Per statistics.
Stats, numbers.
Mustard, above the shoulders,
mustard shit.
You are more.
you are more likely to get scored on in this series
if you have a peeper than to score.
Yep.
If you get a power play,
here's my armchair GM, coaching adjustment.
Pull one of your guys off,
make it even strength again.
Okay.
We got to play the numbers here.
We're through four games.
We're through more than half
of the possibility
of the longest form of the series.
Yeah.
And the numbers show
you are a better chance
of getting a goal scored against you.
Yep.
when you get a power play.
Pull a guy off, four on four.
Even strength, let's run this out.
I love it.
No question about it.
Let's do some God I wish I was.
You go first.
And keep in mind, I'm recording this portion
before game five of the Panthers Rangers series,
so it could get even more intense.
But already,
God, I wish I was Sam Ryder.
Missed a 57 talk stand.
I think missed a 27 OT goals.
Mr. 57 tucks second in the league, or sorry, power play goals.
Like, what?
27 OT goals in this series alone.
57 tucks second in the league.
Mr. 27 power play goals first in the league.
Yeah.
Shows up in these playoffs, Dan.
Not doing much.
He was quiet.
He was very quiet.
A little church mouth.
And he had one peeper, one peeper goal in all the playoffs.
Yeah.
After Mr. 27.
Yeah.
I heard he got 27 tattooed to his back, dude.
And he's got one.
How big?
I think I heard it's his whole back.
It's like a jersey?
Yeah. And it says power play. The name says power play instead of Reiner.
Two-seven. He's a whole back.
That's a crazy move when you don't even wear number 27.
And then now he's got one, dude, in the playoffs.
Yeah.
Then, game three, power play goal.
Power play goal. Game four, OT.
Power play goal. Mr. Mr. Unrestricted free agent, Dan.
Now pumping in power play goals in the Easter Conference finals.
He's going to be swimming in the money like Scrooge McDuck.
God, I wish I was Sam.
Ryanner because now
it's all fixed.
If you get hot now
and the Panthers need him dude
if he gets hot now
and the power play gets going now
because the power play was struggling
and he was struggling
you know
coincidence if he gets going
the power play gets going
it propels them through the Rangers
and all the way to the cup
and he finishes this fucking playoff run
he's got what
four already
if he finishes this playoff run
with what did seven
eight nine
power play goals
nine
nine
come on
guys rich
he's already rich
dude. He's got no state tax, Dan.
He's going to have a yacht
with 27 on the back.
It's going to be named 27. 27 plus 8.
That's what it's going to be. No, plus 9.
27 plus 9. That's what's going to be called.
27 club. It's going to be a new
club on South Beach.
God, I wish I was Sam Reiner.
How could you not? God, I wish
I was Chris Knoblock.
Nice.
This man.
Nice, dude.
This man, dude,
is an over-a-church.
He's an overachiever in everything he does.
The Oilers dead their coach.
Yep.
Bye.
They're in dead last, dude last, dead coach.
They're playing so badly.
Bye!
And they go, knoblock takeover.
Wasn't some savior.
It wasn't some, oh, we're bringing in so-and-so.
Yeah.
Bringing in Barubei.
We're bringing in, you know, some stud coach.
Knoblock takeover.
Okay.
What's the, you know, maybe we sneak into playoffs?
No, takeover.
Since then.
16 game win streak.
They've been one of the best teams.
They were one of the best teams for the rest of the year.
Surging, pounding teams.
He's got the big boys going.
Connor McDavid gets 100 assists.
Oh my God.
Now they get into playoffs.
Play the Kings again.
People go, I don't know.
Kings kind of pulling it together in the last few weeks.
They might have a little bit of spunk in them.
Dismissed.
Yep.
Then they play
I would
they didn't win
the president's trophy
but I would say
the bell to bell
best team
all year long
in the Vancouver Canox
certainly in the West
dismissed
a lot of question marks
going into that
game seven
oh you know
these guys
in Vancouver
these guys don't know
how to get over
the hump
the Latvian spiders
are unstoppable
Connor and Leon
can't coexist
yeah they don't know
they don't have
the clutch gene
they've got this
inexperienced
they've got this inexperienced
dismissed
now they're playing the stars
now they're playing the star
The powerhouse in the West.
Dallas in Five.
Dallas in Five.
We've got a couple of dickhead loser
no-nothing podcast saying Dallas in Five.
Tie series.
Bang.
This guy...
Knoblock's doing...
He's pulling Skinner at the right time.
He's pulling Skinner right when he needs to be pulled.
He's fucking putting Leon and Connor out after Pekase.
I don't care what happens to the Oilers for the rest of these playoffs.
Knoblock, like, what a performance.
Belongs.
There need to be...
of Knoblock on the sides of buildings in Edmonton.
Yeah.
Because this guy has just, he has just performed well above expectations.
Got the room in order. He's given great press conferences.
From day one. It's got great answers. Great hair. He's got a great look too.
Yeah.
He's kind of got like a shifty, like. Yeah, yeah. What's going on?
Scan it. He's always scanning. Yeah. I wish I was him. That's fantastic.
Unbelievable.
Hit us with your temper tantrum today, Dan.
All right, I got a doozy. I've got a temper dantrum for the ages.
Yeah. Two in a week.
Yeah.
Surprise emergency.
This is my message that will never, that will never be answered.
But I, I'm sick of the complaining about.
About the refs.
Leave the refs alone.
This isn't even a protect our refs thing.
But I am saying this, dude.
Shut up, please.
Fans on Twitter.
I
the the development
of the internet and
giving a voice to many people
who do not deserve to have voices that are seen by others
is making it worse and worse and worse
every year. Last year I really started noticing it
complaining about refs is a tale as old as time
so long as organized sports have existed
we have heard people complaining about refs
dude
shut up
like listen
to the players.
These guys get asked about these plays that they don't.
Listen, in the moment, of course.
We all do it.
On the ice, you do it.
In the stands, you do it.
And it's sitting at home on your couch, you do it.
But once it's over, just shut up.
And you can do it in the moment.
Yeah, in the moment.
I'll give you a 10-minute window.
But after, just stop.
It's so nauseating and so obnoxious.
And I'm not going to single anyone out, but
there are fans who after every loss, the next day, the timeline on Twitter is just flooded with,
oh, what about this play?
Oh, shouldn't have been a power play.
What about the no call here?
That's why we lost.
Boohoo, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
For the love of God, stop.
Yep.
It's so pathetic.
It's so annoying.
This is how the game is played.
It's so fast.
And truly, dude, it's going to sound like,
I've got refs paying me to say this.
They have such a hard job, and they do a great job, dude.
Like, I'm sorry, they do.
Like, it's very difficult to make every single call with how fast hockey goes,
and it happens on both sides.
That's my biggest thing, so tired of it.
That's my biggest thing.
It washes out, dude.
Everybody's like...
Every single series, it washes out.
There's, like, enough.
A clip of, you know, Bennett hits Marshie, and then people pulling Marcii hit and people
clip.
My point is, like, every time it's a bad call, someone finds a clip of,
of another bad call in the other direction,
or like a missed call, you know,
and I'm like, I know.
It's chaos, they're doing the best they can,
and when I watch pretty much every other league,
don't even get me fucking star.
I know nobody likes baseball anymore,
except for me in loops,
but don't even get me started on the MLB ups.
Yeah.
They are a fucking tragedy.
Clown show.
The NBA is a shit show.
Clown show.
Everything's a foul, every five seconds,
or like, you know, a joke.
Defensive pass interference,
is a fucking clown.
I actually think the NHL refs
are the best of the bunch
by a mile.
I agree.
By a mile.
So yeah,
there's some fucking miss calls,
dude.
And it sucks so fucking bad
when it happens to your team.
Trust me.
I was losing my fucking shit
over the Bennett coil goalie interference.
Yeah.
Of course.
But you move on.
It's them,
the brakes,
part of the game.
Come on.
They're just like
these butt plugs on Twitter
who are making it
their entire,
identity to be like, you know, they go, oh, the refs refuse to call any penalties against
blank team. And there are people, people who I like and respect in this world, who the day after
go, oh, well, what, they dig up a clip? Well, what about this call that was missed? What about this
new angle? Dude, just stop and enjoy hockey. Yeah, we got to just. That's really the root of it.
I'm like, how miserable is your life that you just sit there and whine about the refs a day after,
a full 24 hours later.
Just enjoy the game.
Dude,
it's going to wash out.
Like,
you're going to have a better time
if you stop pissing and moaning all day long
and just enjoy it.
It's become so, so annoying
and so sickening every day
when I go online
and I just want to read articles about the games
and I want to see if people are fired up.
And the majority of the chatter
is just people complaining.
Yeah.
I'm just, I'm asking you, enough.
You're going to have more fun and the rest of us will have more fun.
Enough.
Stop bitching and let's move on.
Yeah.
The other thing I was going to say is the same people that were giving me a hard time for the
evened up comment because I do support that.
Yeah.
Are the people when it's like Dallas gets five power plays in one game to Edmonton's one.
And they're like, another one on us.
And I'm like, oh, so even it up?
Yeah.
You can't win.
Either a penalty is a penalty no matter what
or it's like, well, we can't call another one on them
because there's been too many.
You know, the refs can't win.
Neither can we.
Let's all watch hockey.
Yeah.
100% agree.
All right.
That is it for us today at the Empty Nairdardos podcast.
Unbelievable episode.
We're jumping in and out.
Yeah.
We're time traveling.
It's unbelievable.
These games have been phenomenal
and we've got more to come.
Great stuff.
We love you guys.
Go to the YouTube.
hit subscribe for the love of God
I know you're all watching
some of you aren't subscribed yet
hit subscribe
keep hitting us up in the DMs
we love you guys
until we talk to you next time
give me a skate hard
