Empty Netters Podcast - 14. Trade Deadline Breakdown: Western Conference
Episode Date: February 2, 2023(10:15) Zegras' Wires Are Crossing (21:04) Tragic Day for Matt Berlin (50:23) The Flames Should be Buyers (1:12:33) Is Wyatt Johnson Good Enough For Dallas? GET 15% OFF YOUR FIRST ONLINE ORDER AT ...https://www.siphecho.com/ WITH PROMO CODE "NETTERS" NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome back to another episode of the MTNetters podcast.
And before we get into a deep dive on the Western Conference trade rumors, little ideas we've got for each team.
We've got to hear from our incredible sponsor, ECHO Tequila Soda.
C.P, read me down the stat sheet on Echot tequila soda.
No gluten.
No sugar.
No carbs.
Under 100 calories coming into the clean 96 is 100% blue agave tequila.
Made in Mexico.
This stuff is the number one canned cocktail on the draft board, and that is obvious.
It's a lock first overall selection.
It is going to change the way you party, change the way you relax, change the way you drink,
get rid of all the other canned cocktails on the board because Etcho tequila soda smokes all of them out of the water.
I actually have a true story.
I was at a party this weekend, and I brought ECHO to the party.
And there was a girl in there named Casey, and she was drinking a tequila soda canned cocktail of another variety.
and she was like, what is it?
What do you have?
And I was like, oh, this is ECHO.
And hers had 100 calories.
She saw the ECHO only at 96.
And she was like, can I try yours?
And she did.
And she was like, this is so much better.
And she put down her unfinished cocktail on a side table, which actually kind of sucks for the host.
Because I guess that was just a wounded soldier for later.
But she drank our ECHO, the rest of the party.
And one thing I love that she said was she was like, it basically just tastes like a lime, non-alcoholic seltzer water, which I actually love for ECHO because that's their whole schtick.
They're like, oh, if you don't, if you're not a huge tequila person, this is the, this is the softest, smoothest, cleanest one you got.
And I had proof in the pudding right in front of me.
Literally happened right in front of you.
So if you want to be like Casey, you're going to go to sip etcho.com.
You're going to check the store locator, find out the closest place where you can scoop this up or there's nowhere really close.
Just have a shipped right to your door.
And save some money with a nice discount.
You pump in Netters, N-E-T-E-R-S at checkout.
You're going to save some cash and you're going to be able to stock that fridge out.
So get on this etro tequila soda train because it is the only way to drink tequila right now.
And it's going to just change everything for you.
Shout out Casey.
Shout out Casey.
All right.
Let's get into a new episode of the Empty Netters podcast here.
We're coming up.
We're at the All-Star break here.
CP and I are headed to Florida in two days with producer Emily.
We're going to rip some All-Star stuff.
And I'm psyched.
But All Star Break means we're getting close to the trade deadline, which means teams got to mix some shit up here.
We've got to find out what you need, who you're selling, who you're buying, and we're going to get into a full Western conference breakdown of what we think every team should do.
But before that, let's get into some hot ice.
Do you have anything pressing?
Don't forget about my hot ice.
You have hot ice?
I said we have hot ice.
I didn't know who you were referring to.
There's the royal we.
We are all here together.
Producer Emily is from Florida, or she has a place there now, I guess I should say.
Producer Emily doesn't give a shit about this trip.
This is gone.
No, I do give a shit.
She's just going home to play with her dog.
I do give a shit.
I just am not invited to the All-Star game, which I'm pissed about.
Which actually is bullshit because she is a huge hockey fan now.
Yeah, like, that's so rude.
We're just going to buy you a ticket.
Would you?
No, aren't they like thousands of dollars?
No.
No.
Wait, then buy me a ticket.
Yeah, we're just going to buy you a ticket.
You just don't have credentials, which is, I mean, whatever.
What is your hot ice?
Yeah, you want to you leave us off with hot ice.
Yes, yes.
I have some of these written down.
First of all, I would like to say a little rest in peace to Bobby Hole.
Is that why you were saying people are dying left and right?
Yes, and I would also like to say that, too.
Yes, I'm really sorry for him about that.
Also, the Rangers are kind of like in a little bit of trouble right now.
I just, it was a little rude on my end.
Apparently they're copying something that the Flyers did and they have some sort of
pride game and part of the Pride game is that you're supposed to wear the Pride jerseys
and like use Pride tape and whatever and they just didn't do that.
Are, is hockey anti-gay?
No, it's not.
There was some controversy with a Flyers player a couple weeks ago who, because of his religion, does not support same-sex marriage.
So he didn't wear the Pride jersey.
He didn't come out for the Pride Skate.
Oh, I thought they all weren't wearing the jerseys.
Well, that's what happened with the Flyers.
And now the Rangers are doing.
It's just the one of them?
Teams just didn't want to press the, they were like, I don't want to get into a situation like that.
So let's just not do it.
But then there has been a lot of backlash on the internet of like, well, this was your chance to step up and do a good, like, be like, well, we're doing it.
So agree.
I feel like they tried to avoid controversy and found themselves in a bit of it.
But Pride Night is very popular amongst the NHL.
Every team participates in it.
And it's a great thing.
Well, it doesn't fucking sound like it.
It's not, yeah.
It's the situation with the Flyers player has made it a little sticky right now, which is definitely frustrating.
Interesting.
Okay.
Well, that's my hot ice.
Hockey's for everyone.
That was really good, Emily.
Let's talk about Bobby Hall, Dan.
Yeah, we got to talk about Bobby Hall.
So, very sadly, Bobby Hall has passed away.
Hall of Famer and legend, the Golden Jet,
considered one of the greatest hockey players in NHL history,
and that is a no-brainer.
Bobby Hill passed away at the age of 84.
He's a three-time Art Ross winner,
10-time NHL All-Star, Stanley Cup winner in 61,
two-time Hart Trophy winner,
Lady Bing winner, Lester Patrick Trophy winner,
over 1,000 games played,
and 1,000 points scored,
including 610 goals on his career.
he is just a legend and it's always sad to see a legend go but I like to look at long beautiful life
contributed so much to the game of hockey gave us another all-time great in his son multiple
the halls in the league so we're we're going to miss Bobby Hall but thank him from the bottom
of our hearts for all of the amazing things he did in the NHL and for the NHL.
His Stanley Cup ended a 23-year drought for the Hawks.
That was pretty sick.
He won those back-to-back MVP's.
604 goals for the Hawks franchise leading goal score.
Pretty sick.
That is sick.
Hall of Fame in 83.
You said that.
And here's what I thought was really cool, Dan.
The Hawks and the Jets retired his number nine.
And when the Jets relocated to Arizona, the coyotes retired it as well because they were
like, well, that was our team.
And then in 2005, the coyotes unretired it because Brett Hull joined the team
and asked to wear it in honor.
his father. That is cool. They let him do that and then it's now retired. Obviously, Bobby has, um,
well, no. Doesn't Keller wear nine? Oh, maybe they just unretired it. I think that,
yeah, they probably just unretired it for Brett to wear and that's just unretired. Um, really cool thing.
Obviously has some, some cloudy personal history, but we're not in the business of speaking ill
of him at this moment. So no. Thoughts and pressure the whole family hockey lost a legend. Lost a legend.
but we'll always remember the unbelievable things he did on the ice.
The guy was a weapon.
Yeah, it's unreal.
Absolutely.
Some all-time hockey photos with Bobby Hall.
Yeah.
Guys just a beast.
All right, let's get into some other hot ice.
Some sticky controversy with our boy Trevor Zegris.
Yes.
Over the weekend, the ducks and coyotes played.
And Zegris and Troy Stetcher got in a,
little tiff. There was some after the whistle scrum going on and then some yapping at each other
and Stetcher lost his mind. Like Zegris clearly said something that Stetcher did not enjoy. They were
barking at each other and Stetcher was through the refs and teammates going for Zeggris's throat.
They both got sent to the box. Stetcher skating by the box chirping in. Zeger's saying,
come on, let's go. They were clearly pissed at each other. And we are also not in the business of
speaking about what we don't know because I don't know what was said but the rumor mill online
is saying that Zegra said something along the lines of again allegedly yeah something along
the lines of your dad's up there watching and Troy Stetcher's dad passed away in 2020 very tragically
so I don't want to believe that Ziegs did this because we love Trevor yep uh I understand that
You know, sometimes the wires cross.
You get a little hot out there.
It is hot ice after all.
Yeah.
But we can't be saying personal shit like that.
That is out of control.
So hoping that that's not what was said.
But if it is, that's a big bad moment, in my opinion.
That's too cold-blooded.
Quick question for you, Dan.
And I completely agree.
Talking mean about someone's deceased parent is over the line.
I'm all for chirping, whatever you want.
But that's a little too much.
But my question is,
And as you said, that was just a lip reader Twitter brigade coming up with that sentence.
Yeah, no idea.
My question is, that didn't even sound that mean.
Like, don't talk about his dad for sure.
But basically he was like, your dad's in heaven watching you play, man.
But I'm like, you know, it wasn't said with that tone.
When you're ripping at someone after a, you know, a scrum, I don't think you're saying something nice and delicate like that.
That's definitely not it.
Right. So it definitely was the different tone, but even still, the verbiage is funny to me.
Like, if Zegro's like, your dad's fucking dead loser, I'd be like, yo.
But he was like, your dad's in heaven. And I'm like, yeah.
Thanks. It's just like, what?
If you're going to low blow like that, it's a weird choice of words.
Crazy thing to say. Very, very odd. I, again, I don't, I don't want to believe, therefore I don't believe that Ziger said that. But it's not great.
and what I find very interesting is
this is
Zegris is getting into these things a lot this season
I think he's really annoyed with how shitty the ducks are
I think he is not having a ton of fun
with the runs that they're going on
which is ironic because they've got a decent
little win streak here
but he got into
it got into one with Trent Frederick
and then essentially the entire Bruins
roster he's you know
getting penalties for stealing people's sticks and he's just he's clearly frustrated out there is all I'm saying
I think he's he's at a couple injury knocks he's not enjoying how the ducks are playing and he's just the wires are
crossing a lot for Zegas right now I don't mind him being a pest but keep people's dead parents name out your
fucking mouth dude yeah agree like we can't we cannot we we started this episode saying we're not
going to speak ill of the dead yeah and I need Zegris to follow that rule too because that's a
fucking low blow that we're not pulling.
Not about it. All right. Another piece of hot ice.
Dan, apologize about Austin Matthews right now.
Oh my God. I am so sorry. To the entire Toronto Maple Leafs fan base, I apologize.
That was the most immediate jinx of all time. I ranted last episode about how good the Maple Leafs are right now and how well they're playing.
And then instantly Matthews is out day to day for at least three weeks with a knee sprain, which is
and then a knee injury is the last thing that you want to hear about a superstar.
and the Maple Leafs also got pumped
six to by the senators
so I am so sorry
truly I am sorry I didn't mean to do that
but it happened we're here
it's your fault
yeah I mean it's probably yes
I think the Leafs will be fine
because they've had such you know they're doing so well
and they're going to be okay but
I just love Austin so much and I
me too it's injuries suck dude I hate injuries
I want them to score 60 every year
and be hurt less.
Yeah, we need Poppy back.
Last piece of hot ice for me,
if you have anything else, throw it in there.
But for me, we got an eBug alert.
EBug alert, Emily.
Hit the buzzer. It's an eBug buzzer.
Ebug alert. Do you know what an eBug is?
No clue.
Okay, eBug means an emergency backup goaltender.
So Stuart Skinner came down with a surprise illness.
The Oilers couldn't go and get their usual backup goaltender,
so they had to call in Matt Berlin from the University of Alberta, 25 years old.
He's a junior.
He is a junior?
I think it said he was a junior.
Matt Berlin gets the call, does an amateur tryout, gets in.
He's got his college pads and helmet, sits on the bench.
Oilers are thumping.
Was it the flames?
The Hawks.
It was the Hawks, thank you.
Yeah.
Beating up on the Hawks.
Emily, real quick.
Basically, every team has two goalies, right?
and then there's just some guy that's in the rink at every NHL game
because if one team's both of their goalies get hurt you couldn't finish the game
so this guy will just come down and play goalie just like a regular dude yeah so like
it's amazing like is there like a um like you know how there's the MLB and then
there's the minor leagues is there like that for hockey and that's what that is like
someone comes up from the practice squad or whatever so there is it's the AHL and
all of these teams have
A HL teams
and when players get injured
you call this guy
isn't the AHA
No that's what's so interesting
about emergency backup
goaltenders
So if Stuart Skinner
The Oilers normal goalie
Had gotten sick
A couple days before the game
And they knew about it
They would go
Make a phone call to their
AHL team and go
Hey we need a goalie
Yeah
He would get called up
Fly to the game
And it would be normal operations
Like a last minute
Hence emergency
Hence the word emergency
Like it is like oh shit
So this guy
it's a call the same day.
Literally.
Literally like in class.
Now you're in the NHL.
Yeah.
And so now is he officially like in?
He's in a,
well no, but he's in NHL player.
Or he just got one game.
Yeah.
And then it's like bye bye until
well, what's going to happen to him now?
He just goes back to the University of Alberta.
And then what happens?
Like, can he graduate and then play?
Like, or?
He pretty much an emergency backup
goaltender situation, this guy's not going to make the
NHL.
They're just there.
Well, he has.
He's made it.
He's in NHL.
Okay.
Not going to make it.
He'd do well?
He made one save and the Oilers won and they gave him the player of the game vest after the game in the locker room.
Oh, that's sweet.
He has a 1,000% career save percentage.
And here's my favorite thing about this.
Apparently, so the Oilers were up, I believe it was 5 to 1 when they decided to toss him in or something like that.
They won the game 6-2, I believe.
I think they won 7-3.
And I'm pretty sure he came in for two minutes and made a safe.
Yeah, he came in at like 1724, so he played a little over two and a half minutes, made a save.
My favorite part about this is apparently it was McDavid's idea.
He was on the bench, there was a whistle, and McDavid was like, toss in Berlin, let him get some ice time, which is so cool.
And I'm not backtracking here, but that right there, that is MVP stuff.
That's team building MVP stuff from McDavid.
Gonna need more of it while you guys are still a wildcard team.
Loved it.
Saw some, a few people, I saw a few headlines that were like hawks not offended.
So I don't mean to put words in their mouth because they're not offended.
But if anyone had been offended by that by giving some guy a beautiful.
Yeah, you were the lamest.
Oh my God, agree.
You were the lamest team in the league.
And again, they're not.
But thank God they're not.
Can you imagine getting back in the locker going like this?
Are you kidding me?
That was so distressed.
I'd be like, shut the fuck up.
What are you talking about?
And I also love, like, who took a shot?
Jonesy, I think, maybe.
Like, whoever put one on is blocker.
Just tossed a pizza at him.
Yeah, and I was like, can you imagine if, like,
Kaine was just like firing tape?
And I was like, everybody chill out.
But to your point, Emily, I actually need this guy to make the NHL because the
Berlin Wall would be an all-time goalie nickname, especially since Nikolai
Hobby Boolin was an oiler for a few years.
And it was the Boon Wall.
So I think we just make it official.
So is there, like, no chance that he's in the NHL?
No.
He's never good.
He's just a back.
He's an emergency back.
But he's got the greatest.
There's no chance
that he'll get any better.
He,
that dude gets to go back
as a 25 year old junior
at the University of Alberta
and strut around and being like this.
I've played in the NHL before.
That is,
that's the,
they made his life.
So here's my question for you.
This is not the case with,
with Matt Berlin,
to my knowledge,
because the University of Alberta
is not in the NCAA
or anything like that.
Yeah.
Let's say you are a goalie.
Mm-hmm.
and you're senior.
Or no, you're a junior.
And you're playing D1, NCAA,
but you weren't drafted.
No one's talking about you making it to the NHL at all,
but you're a pretty good goalie here.
Your team's fine in the NCAA.
You're not that good.
Let's say you play for the University of Maine.
Fucking.
And they're not going to make the tournament
or anything like that.
And you get an ebug call.
you're not going to play in the NHL,
but by all accounts,
everyone's like,
he's not good enough to play in the NHL.
But you get this opportunity now
to go and be an e-bug.
But if you do it,
you lose your NCAA eligibility
and you don't get to play your senior year
of college hockey,
but you do forever get to say,
I did play in the NHL for a game,
for the Bruins.
What would I do?
Okay, so my...
For the Bruins, 100%.
But you're never going to make it.
Okay, but if,
if you only have like one year left and your whole goal is to just be the best at the best of the best the best the best is the NHL so but but great point but my I think my scenario is you've got a whole other year of college hockey where you're the starter I think it depends on how I think it really depends on how much you like it's is it is it are you trying to be the best of the best or is it I really enjoy this sport this is my life and like I don't really care about anything else that and that's my point
Because here's the thing, is it worth playing one, one period, one day?
Or even, you're not even playing.
Like you're, and I'd like to say, I don't know if this is how the rules work.
Because if you go eBug and you're just on the bench all game and you don't get in,
does that make you lose your NCAA eligibility?
But I think, yes, it absolutely would.
We got to look into this because mostly it's payment.
You lose your amateur status if you take payment.
So maybe if you ebug, they don't pay you.
I don't know.
Maybe they're like, oh, you don't get paid.
so you still can play amateur, but this is great hypothetical either way.
You said the UMaine,
ricochet shot to UMaine, by the way,
but you said the UMaine team is just like middle of the road.
Yeah.
So they stink.
So coming back,
it's not like I'm going to win a Natty senior year.
No, no, no.
Well, I mean, you never know what happens the next year,
but this,
you just finished your junior year, we'll call it.
And there, you're like, whatever.
I'd like some guarantees that I get in.
Like, I don't think I would sit in the ninth floor.
Oh, no, you're on the bench.
Okay.
Yeah.
At the very least.
I would still like a guarantee.
Like I don't want to sit on the bench the whole time and get up senior year.
I don't think.
But if you're like,
you're starting.
Yeah.
But if you're like,
you're starting,
I think I do it.
Even if that,
like you might get lit up.
Yeah.
Like you're going to get rung up like a telephone and,
you know,
get eight blown past you.
But you get to go like this.
I played,
I played a game in the show.
Still sick.
Still sick.
And so you do it?
Yep.
Okay.
What if,
dude,
do you think if,
Let's say like this guy, Matt Berlin, what if he started and made like 45 saves?
Like you're never like, like this guy stinks.
He's never going to make the NHL.
And then you just post a shutout.
Are they like actually?
That's my question.
Like can you just get in after he play a really good game?
If he plays unbelievably, but the ebug rarely gets in.
And there's amazing stories throughout the NHL history books of guys who get in and make a few awesome saves.
Scott Darling had an unreal showing.
But it's.
it would take a
out of this world performance
for an ebug
for someone to be like,
wait,
what's going on here?
But then after that,
I bet you would just get an amateur tryout.
We might have to write a movie about this,
an ebug that posts a 50 save shutout
and you're like,
oh my God.
Yeah.
And then after he gets in,
he just plays terribly.
Yeah,
becomes an alcoholic.
Yep.
It's dark.
It's a dark movie.
You just want a weird,
weird route with this story.
I thought this was going to be a feel good
and it's not at all.
The story is a guy
leaves college, plays an ebug game, plays out of his mind.
So then he just got lucky.
Gets a contract.
But then he gets in in his first practice and he's terrible.
So they go, you're cut, dude, you stink.
And then he goes back to college and they go, well, you can't play.
You lost your eligibility.
So then he's depressed.
All of his teammates hate him.
They're like, how could you do this?
You bailed on us.
We had a shot next year to be good.
And now you're gone.
We're without our starting goalie.
So he gets massively depressed, starts drinking a ton.
His college team wins the natty with the backup.
Well, we'll hold at first.
He fails all of his.
classes, gets kicked out of school because he's now blown up his scholarship because he's not
fulfilling his academic requirements, gets thrown out of school, goes back home, his parents are
disgusted with him.
They kick him out of the house.
The next year he watches his team, get a bunch of recruits.
He's homeless.
He's homeless.
They win the natty.
He has to watch that.
He's homeless.
And next thing you know, we find him dead under him.
No, no.
I think you were about to bring it back for us.
No, no, no.
The NHL team he got cut from rallied around his, her.
horrendous play so much that they went on a Stanley Cup winning run.
So they cut him win the cup.
Next year his college team wins the Natty.
Yeah.
And the NHL team, because of that, they had an opportunity to give him a ring.
Yeah.
And they didn't give it to him.
And they launched himself off the Golden Gate Bridge.
But they just put the net, they just spent $20 billion putting a net under the bridge, the city of San Francisco, costing all their taxpayers money.
He doesn't die.
No, he gets caught in the net, but tangled up so bad that it wraps around his neck and is hanging him.
Yeah.
Stop.
A great white jumps out of the water.
And bites his legs off.
He survives.
But then someone comes down and cuts him out and he survives, but now he's just legless.
Play sled hockey goalie.
Wins a, win as a title.
Wins a championship as a sled hockey goalie.
The legless wonder.
I love that.
Oscar.
Oscar role for somebody.
Yeah.
Are there any like...
Unlike him, I think this movie idea has legs.
Yeah.
Are there any very...
very popular hockey movies.
Don't eat, don't do this at money.
Okay.
Are you, is that a joke?
Well, I can't think of any of them.
Miracle. Mighty ducks.
Okay, I haven't seen.
Mystery Alaska, young blood.
Slapshot.
Oh, I'm so embarrassed.
I need to watch one of these.
Give me a suggestion for the plane flight to Miami.
Miracle is.
One that I will actually enjoy.
Miracle.
Miracle.
Yeah, I mean, that too.
They're great.
is there are some
mostly hockey players
who would say that Miracle
is the greatest
sports movie of all time
let alone
that's what I'm
Miracle's incredible
and it's a true story
it's about the 1980
Oh okay we love
love
love you'll like it
last bit of hot ice
Dan
the Dallas stars
have lost their last
three games
all of them
three to two in overtime
what the fuck
that is fucking brutal
something
well
I just think
something
that's three points
I know
but I just think
I mean like
the simulation's broken
like obviously
the whole season is script
and someone fucked up.
Yeah.
And it's stuck on like a loop.
Like they were supposed to progress to like the next scripted outcome, but it's like
Yeah.
3-2-0-2-0-2-0-2-0-2.
It's like something fishy.
Back in the day you used to play NHL.
Yeah.
And if you were doing career mode and you simmed too, or you got to just too deep in the season,
the schedules would come out and it was just, you'd play the same team five games in a
row.
And it was like, you know, it was like NHL-18.
And it was like, you're in year 2032.
We can't keep making a new schedule.
All I'm saying is everybody keep an eye on the stars this week.
If they lose 3-2 and OT, we have a real problem.
That's bizarre.
All right, we got to move on because we got some trade talks.
But before we do that, let's do our three hottest teams of the week.
Who's going first?
Me.
Me. Okay.
Me.
Me.
So, we talked about this.
The ducks are disaster and Zegris is taken, allegedly, ricochet shots at people's parents.
But they're the third hottest team of the week.
Ayo!
The Anaheim Ducks, you know, they're.
disaster, but they've got their first three-game win streak of the season.
They beat the aves.
Yeah.
Five to three.
That's huge.
That's kind of nice.
And it's, you know, they're not lighten the world on fire here, but we're going to
give some stick taps and put them in hottest teams of the week because they won three straight.
Fack, quack.
That's good stuff.
They deserve it.
I didn't think they'd ever find themselves in this category, but why not?
Why not us?
And we're going to have a little bit more fun, Dan, with the second hottest team of the week.
How about some stick taps?
for the Ottawa Senators.
They're another team having a really tough season,
but they had a three in a week.
They beat the Islanders 2 to 1.
They beat the Leafs 6-2.
That's a good win.
And they blank the Habs 5-0.
The Sends are having one of those nightmare years
where they're like 24th out of 32 teams.
And I'm like, you're not even in the running for Badaard,
but you're not going to make the playoffs.
And it doesn't help at all.
But congrats on three in a row, boys.
Yeah, I agree.
I want to give a shout out to, uh,
I think Bar-Down.
Bardown posted a cool
Instagram
Dude, so funny
I think I saw the title of this
Oh
I don't think you're
We're not talking about the same thing
Okay
It was either barred
God I should know
Which one it was
But I think it was barred down
They posted
Just a carousel of
Badard in all of the different sweaters
Oh that's cool
Of the teams
Who potentially have a shot
And I won't lie
He looked good in a Sends uniform
That's cool
And the idea of Badaard
Playing with
Stutzel Norris
and Kachuk.
That'd be a pretty cool thing.
Hell yeah.
I thought you're going to say this.
And maybe they've been doing this all year.
I just saw it.
Bleacher Report,
they always do their power rankings, right?
This, I did see this.
Reacher Report did their power tankings.
Yeah.
Power tankings.
And they're like,
best shot at getting
of the fucking great.
Awesome.
Yeah.
Instagram post.
Huge shout out to BR Open nights.
That was funny as hell.
That was awesome.
But the number one team of the week,
number one hottest team of the week is the Hurricanes.
They are,
they've won five straight.
They were three and all.
last week, had a couple of big OT wins, including that one of them against the freak OT wins
against the stars. And then they beat the shit out of the Bruins 4 to 1. So you're beating the best
team in the league 4-1. You're going to be the hottest team. That was a measuring stick game too.
That was my pick. Was it? Nice. There you go. All right. So yeah, hottest team of the week is going
to be the Carolina Hurricanes. And like we've been saying, they are, they are loud. They are making
noise in the NHL. So that's big stuff. All right. You want to get into some trade talk? Yep.
Okay, quick disclaimer.
We recorded this episode of the podcast a mere hours before the biggest breaking news of the season re-trades happened.
Bo Horvatt has been sent to the New York Islanders in exchange for two players and a conditional first round pick.
So as we get into this episode and you hear us talk all about all of these potential landing spots for Bo Horvatt,
know that we didn't know that that trade had happened because it hadn't happened yet.
So just listen to everything
As if that hadn't happened
And it's going to be great
Also next episode
When we get into our Eastern Conference trades
You better believe we were going to have
A ton of stuff prepared for
Boer Hortbat definitely ending up on the Islanders
Because we knew it for sure
So enjoy the rest of it
Enjoy the episode guys
We're fucking idiots
And thank you for the shout out from Will
Because we need some support here
What do you want to do first?
I would like to go
So we're doing Western Conference this week
Yep
I would like to go
in reverse order of the standings.
Okay, do it.
If that's cool.
Yeah, I have that order and then you can, we can all weigh in.
You tell me which team we're going to start.
So basically what we're going to do here, guys,
is we're talking the Western Conference, all 16 teams.
We got the trade deadline coming up,
what we think that they should be doing right now
as the trade deadline approaches
with the rest of this season and then next season in mind.
So starting from the bottom,
let's go with the Hawks.
Okay.
my my ideas for the hawks are very quick and simple uh this this is a team and a franchise who have
been through some weird weird growing pains the last couple of years uh trade cane trade taves
retain some of their salary if you have to but it's it's over it's it's you are very much
in a we need to restart here and enough of this even if cane and taves have said it in the
of I don't want to leave. I want to stay here.
This is a business, dude.
And you have to get rid of these guys.
You have to get something for them right now while you can.
If that means retaining salary, do it.
But trade them, get picks, get prospects, start over, thank them for their service and everything
that they've done for your franchise, which is everything.
Yeah.
And wave them goodbye as they deserve and send them to a fun team that's making a cup run because
it's over and you have to restart.
If you let them walk for free, good God Almighty.
Yes, correct.
They need to go to Valhalla, shiny and chrome, and let everyone be happy.
I'll tell you this, Dan, I'm really excited to do this with you because you are a freak about this stuff.
Yeah, I'm always on the trade analyzer, fake fantasy trades and deep on the NHL dynasty mode.
So this is going to be exciting chat.
Yeah.
And I'm really going to be excited when we see things differently.
obviously the hawks should be sellers they want badard they want that would be great for the
NHL by the way yeah it would end up there dart in chicago and i think they have guys that could go
like domi mccabe uh anthony see you like there are people i would trade seth jones yeah right
i there is no one on that team that should be someone that you're holding onto for dear life
trade everyone agree and i'm i've completely one-aided on this compared to a pod we did at the
beginning of the season i don't think kane and tays go i think they can't they
keep them. It's nuts. I don't know why, but I'm just, I think that, like, do you, they kind of seem to
be a package deal. Not that they're going to the same place, but like, Kane's like, I'm not going,
if Tays is staying, I'm staying, basically. He goes, I go. And I just feel like they're not going to go.
Like, maybe they don't find a partner for both or something, but I am now in the camp of like,
they're going to be Blackhawks at the end of the year. Do you think because of them, or do you think
because they won't be able to find people to take their contracts? Because the, the,
crazy thing is with the exception of the Yotes,
every team in the league
is in Cap Hell somehow. Every team is right
up against it. So people are talking
about all of these huge moves like Bo Horvatt,
for example, who doesn't have that big of a
contract, but it's funny
you look at some teams
who might want Horvath and the people that they can dump,
but Vancouver can't even take on
that. It's bizarre.
So I could see a situation
where the Hawks have a hard time because they're
both making 10 and a half, I think, right?
That is a hard contract.
to move even if it is just for the rest of the year rental.
But that's why I said they're going to need to retain.
They're going to need to take some stuff back.
I would be shocked if the two of them would be like, no, we're not leaving.
There's obviously a lot of factors, family and stuff like that, but dude, go, guys.
And for me, if I'm Kane and Taves, I would want to do this for them.
Kind of like Giroux and Philly.
He was like, get something for me because I'm not signing again.
And there's no way Kane and Taves sign with Chicago next year.
If Chicago finish is last, they get Badaard.
You think those guys are like, well, that's actually a really good point.
I think you're like, hell yeah.
Damn.
Do you think that they're planning on, or at least looking at that of going, we're going to stay here.
We'll be UFA.
We'll watch how the draft lottery plays out.
And if we get the first pick, I'll sign back here for a year.
Yes.
That is such an interesting take.
And I love it.
I think that could have.
I love that take.
Isn't that crazy?
Yeah, like if I'm Cain, I'd be like, I'd play with Badaar for sure.
that's super interesting
again if I'm the Hawks
I'm doing everything to trade them
yeah right because
you can't guarantee on that
that draft ball
and even if you do
how long do you have those guys
you know it's not like they're like and then give
Tate's eight year deals
and they're gonna live that out it's like no
and Taves Taves isn't playing with Badaard
yeah you could play you know Patti Kane
could play wing with him for sure but
yeah you're kind of easy you have to trade Taves
it sucks
that's that's interesting all right who's up next
Okay, next is the Anaheim Ducks.
Okay.
Anaheim Ducks are an interesting one for me.
I'll tell you why.
I think they should be sellers.
Yep.
But I don't, I wouldn't do anything too crazy here.
I have a similar take here.
I think, I think the Ducks are bad.
I think they have a lot of really good young players.
And I think they're close.
They've got Gibson and Nett.
I wouldn't blow.
anything up here. There are guys like Henrique and Silverberg. I would probably keep them. They're 32 years
old. Their contracts aren't that crazy. They're good players. And if you make some good signings
this summer, maybe make one or two little trades here, those are guys that I would want on my team
next season with these young guys. You can't, the ducks to me aren't in a place that's sort of like
the Yots who will get to where I'm like trade everything. You need some people around guys like
Terry and
Zegris.
But there are
pieces like
Klingberg,
I would move
immediately.
He's on a
one year,
$7 million.
I don't think
he's coming back
next year.
And I think
a ton of
playoff push
teams could use
Klinberg.
I would move
him.
I would move
Shattankirk if
you can.
But yeah,
I wouldn't go
too nuts here.
Klingberg
signed this deal.
He said this one
you deal with
the ducks with
the intention
of moving
at the deadline.
so he can and should and will be traded.
That was an agreement.
That was a handshake deal before the season even started.
He was like, I'll come and play every year to fucking trade me in February or in March.
They will.
So he will go.
But otherwise, dude, I completely agree.
I wrote down, sometimes you have a team, because they're obviously in the Badaard hunt, right?
Like, they're trying to be bad.
Absolutely.
Sometimes you have a team that's trying to be bad for a draft pick.
And they've got a couple of vets that are just too good.
Like, you're hurting us because you're so good.
You're keeping us above the realm.
The ducks don't.
They are bad enough.
they're bad enough as constructed to get last.
Just let them be last.
Plus, you want Baderd playing with these kids.
So don't trade away young talent to bolster a Baderd team later that you might not even get.
You already have the young talent that you want.
Yeah, like the Ducks stink.
Continue to stink.
Get Klingberg out of there because you agreed you would.
And otherwise, good day, sir.
Yeah.
I would move Shadi too.
He's a UFA at the end of this season, I believe.
And he's another, he's a vet.
You know, like just get rid of him.
get rid of both these guys, get picks,
get prospects, whatever you can.
But yeah, I wouldn't go nuts.
We agree. Next one,
the Arizona Coyotes.
Okay, like we, tank sellers.
Fire sale. Sell, sell, sell, sell.
Tank for Badaard.
It's interesting.
The idea of Baderd playing in a college rink next year
makes me want to vomit.
And Betteman.
Batman is also, wakes up every morning with a migraine.
Yes, but at the same time,
Betman loves Arizona.
And I could see him wanting Bader to go there to like save Arizona.
This is a fire sale.
Trade Jacob Chikrin immediately and get a king's ransom for him.
I would trade Shane Gostisbeer, too.
There are so many teams that I think Ghost would be perfect on.
And he's got a very good contract to move.
There's no one on this roster that I see as untradable other than Keller.
I would keep Keller, even Schmaltz.
I'm like, if the price,
was right, I would move him, I would move
pretty much
everyone, but the first two off the board
for me are Chickren and Gossus Beer.
Trade them immediately. Another one I
circled is Bukstad. He's got 11 goals
and a cap hit of 900K, and I
just think that's, you know,
that's like a depth ad, middle six guy that teams
would be like, hell yeah, let me get that.
You don't think that's a wrap-up contract.
I mean, like I said, I agree, and not
pretty much everyone's tradable, but I can see that as
a good gap contract next season.
Totally. I just think, you know, if people are going,
That's someone people might want.
No doubt.
But yes, Dan, the big question here is Chikrin, and he is going.
We just want to see where he's going.
A million teams have been listed as candidates.
I would be willing to bet, depending on who goes, and we'll get to some of these other big names in a second, that might be the biggest hall this year.
The Chikrin one?
Yeah.
Depending on who else goes.
I don't think so.
We'll get to it.
I'll tell you who.
And this person, I think, is going to get a fucking all of King, Moll.
Midas is gold.
Silver.
Yeah, so Chikrin, I'm excited to see, though, because that's going to be...
Yeah, he's a great player.
That's going to be a big push for somebody.
Yeah, if the right team goes.
Okay.
Next team, the San Jose Sharks.
Okay, perfect transition.
This is a fire sale as well.
I would move...
The biggest one is...
Actually, not the biggest one.
Carlson and Meyer are just two huge trade chips.
The sharks stink.
They're in no man's land.
I don't think Meyer is
sticking around with you guys so
trade him for everything. You're going to get
multiple first round picks
probably at least one
you're going to get prospects
Carlson is more difficult
you're going to have to retain at least 50% of that
salary but
he's the best defenseman in the league possibly
right now move him and
get you have an opportunity
with Meyer and Carlson right now to
really really bolster
your franchise for the next few years with
picks and prospects. You have to do it. Yep. Meyer having a career year, Carlson having a career
resurgence, right? I'll tell you this, Meyer, I think, goes and has a huge haul. Yeah.
Because if you can get him to sign too, like teams are, like you said, there's going to be multiple
picks prospects, and that's great. I actually bet money on this. I bet Carlson doesn't go.
I frankly agree. I think you have to try, but that's such, he's not young. That's the other thing.
That is such a hard contract to move.
And it's not even that.
Well, that's actually very relevant to.
But the other part is, it is, as we've seen, as the Bruins have been contenders and trying
to make these deadline moves, you can't, it's tough to maneuver midseason for some of these
teams.
You can get more for Carlson this summer.
Once teams are like, okay, everything's stopped and like, let's figure out what we're doing.
They know where they're going to be in the draft.
They know what the cap and the free agents are going to look like.
If I'm the sharks, I don't, you get a lot back, but I don't take less just to give them to a
contender right now.
because, you know, like they want to make this last second push
and they're trying to fleece you.
I wait, I ride him out, let him have this awesome season,
and then this summer, I move him this summer for sure
to do this massive rebuild you do,
but I wait till then because you get a bigger package
if you just wait.
Yeah, I feel that.
The actual, I think the most movable piece
on the Sharks team that I've got big time eyes on
is Nick Benino.
I look at Benino as a 34-year-old,
great middle-six player, veteran
with tons of playoff experience,
incredibly movable contract.
And that is a dude,
that I think is going to be high on a lot of teams list.
I'm talking about Edmonton here.
I'm talking about guys that are like,
we need help for some of our stars,
we need veteran leadership to get us through the playoffs.
I could see that in Toronto too.
I could see Benino as a great pickup for Toronto,
but he's got to be moved if I'm the sharks
because I'm like that feels very much like a Mark Recky
to the Bruins type pickup.
Just like an older guy who knows how to get it done
on a team that needs some of that.
confidence in a veteran. Benino is going to be on a lot of teams lists. You feel pretty good if you're,
the sharks could look very different in six months. And you feel pretty good if you're them compared
to some of these other bottom-dwellers. For sure. Because they have got chips. For sure. And some of
these teams don't. Yeah, like the ducks like we just said is an interesting example. It's like
the guys that would get a big return for the ducks. You're not moving. And maybe they're happy
with that. Yeah. You like how we look. But the sharks would look very different and could be in good
shape. Yeah, they have an opportunity here. Okay, very cool. Next one is the Vancouver Canucks.
Vancouver Canucks, fire sale again, baby, blow it the fuck up.
We talked about it last episode.
With the exception of Elias Pedersen and Quinn Hughes, you trade literally every single
person on this roster.
Bohorvatt, Brock Besser, J.T. Miller, trade these guys for everything right now because
this is an opportunity where you can, I don't want to say save your franchise, but like,
we've talked about so often
it makes no sense how bad they are with these players
but you're bad you are bad you are very bad you have a new coach
your eighth in ten years
and you have a chance with these three pieces that I just named
to move them and get serious stuff to help your franchise
if you don't trade all three of those players
you're fucking morons
they obviously want to be sellers
and Bo Horvette is the big piece and everyone's talking about it.
And he will go.
And he will go.
And we're going to figure out where and we're going to talk about it more in a second.
But I don't know how movable some of those other guys are.
Like they want to be seller so bad and I'm not sure what they have to sell other than Bo.
J.T. Miller and Brock Besser.
But on big money though.
No, no.
J.T.
A little, Brock making what, six right now?
Yeah.
Okay.
I mean, I think Brock Bessor's contract is something in the $6 million dollar AAV range.
and I don't know if he has terms
so also look that up for me
but that is a super movable contract
super movable
JT I think
signed that like 9 million maybe
and that is harder
no doubt
but JT Miller is a 40 goal guy
and I mean
that's someone that a lot of teams could use
and I think that there are
buyers out there
who would want it but
to your point about Carlson
JT feels more like a
this summer guy to me.
Yeah.
Which is fine.
You need to move Horvett now, and I would move Bester now.
Bester's having a weird year.
What's he making?
6-6. This year, next year, and the next year, and then a UFA.
I mean, that's a, that's, you could get some stuff for that.
Yep, that one's a great player.
But I haven't heard much about that at all.
There's like no J.T. Miller rumblings, no Besser rumblings, really.
They've been on list, but it's just Horvats taking up all.
Because they have to trade Horvette.
Luke Shen could go too.
I think that's a player.
Luke Shen could go to that.
100%.
I have heard people talking about.
That one would be nice.
Yeah.
But yeah, they need to be sellers and they will be a little bit at least.
Yeah.
But if you had your way, they'd be big time sellers.
We'll see.
Yeah.
Great.
Okay.
Now, Dan, for me, it starts to get a little tricky.
Yeah.
Because those, everything there and the Canucks and down, you're getting out of your
sellers.
Yeah.
Here, it's the St. Louis Blues,
and I don't quite know how you feel if you're the Blues GM.
I agree, but I know how I feel.
Yeah.
Nothing makes me happier than saying this.
I don't know why.
I know what you're going to say.
I fucking hate the Blues.
Probably because they rip my heart out in 2019.
It's over.
Sorry, blues fans, it's over.
Your window is shut.
And it never even happened, which is what pisses me off.
You won a lucky cup and it is what it is.
Deal with it.
You are sellers, whether you want to know it or not, you are.
And you trade Tarasenko and O'Reilly.
Understand what is going on.
What I need to know is, and I'll look this up while you talk, I want to know who is buying those guys and what the, I think the big question is, how urgent of a get them out the door is the situation.
Yeah, I similar to, the same thing to say,
throw in the towel, stop the damn fight, dude,
get them out of town immediately.
Bad Vlad wanted to go years ago.
Years ago.
So what are we even doing here?
The injuries did not help, obviously,
but I don't think it'll affect it that much.
I think the return will still be there.
Whatever the return was going to be,
I think it's going to be nearly the same.
The, I do think it's a Taze Kane similar situation in that.
it's kind of one or both
or sorry none are both
I feel like if O'Reilly goes
because that's the name I'm hearing
the most about right a ton of teams
want that veteran depth
that leadership and if O'Reilly goes
Vlad is like get me the fuck
out of here right now so I think they both
go for sure there's a world where one goes
I'm not saying that's not in the realm of possibility
but it does feel like
yeah if they are both gone
or the blues are like no we're keeping them both
because we're trying to make a backdoor run at this
the situation is they are both
31 years old.
They are both making
7.5 million.
They are both
UFAs next year.
O'Reilly's on IR,
which is complicated,
but I don't think his season's done,
so that is still someone
you go and grab.
But there is no way
Tarasenko is resigning.
So that is another one.
You have to trade him.
You have to move him.
And if it's a deadline day
acquisition where you get fleeced
at the end of it, fine.
It's,
it's,
you're missing the playoffs.
Yeah.
It's that or nothing.
And O'Reilly is a guy
that I could see coming back,
but at what cost,
as my mentality,
I mean,
O'Reilly's an unbelievable player.
He's 31.
He's got at least four good years
left in the league.
But if I'm the blues,
do I take O'Reilly back
at what,
maybe six mill a year
for,
give him a three year,
you know,
$18 million dollar contract?
Or do you trade him
and maybe get a,
round pick, maybe get a second round pick, maybe get a prospect.
If I'm the blues, I move them both.
I move them both.
They're UFAs at the end of the year.
You are going to get among, between the two of them, you will get good prospects and good
picks.
You have to do it.
I agree.
Thank you for your service.
You've done your job.
I wish you will.
You're gone.
This next team is in one of the tougher spots for me.
I saw in all my research.
Yeah.
The National Predators.
yeah,
Preds,
I don't really have much
for the Preds here.
It kills me.
Friends of the program,
we love the Preds,
love Dutchy.
I just don't think
you're making playoffs.
It looks very bleak right now
and I don't see the path forward
of,
of,
we're almost 50 games into the season here
and the proof on the ice
is not a playoff team,
in my opinion.
They're a bubble playoff team,
but I don't think you're making it.
and there's not a lot that you're moving there.
There's not,
I really any need to buy.
My simple advice for the predators,
you trade out home and you,
you wipe your hands and you move on.
You get,
and you'll get a great haul for at home.
But trade him.
There's a lot of buyers for him.
And next year we start again.
The tricky part is,
I don't think they have much to sell
if they're trying to,
not blow it up.
Yeah.
You know,
if they're trying to make a push here,
they don't have much that people want.
And then they also have 70 mil committed to the cap next season already.
So even if they want to bring in a big ad here,
they don't,
it's hard to navigate that.
They don't really have room for it.
I know.
Not to mention they,
what they've done in the playoffs recently,
and anything can happen.
Obviously,
the Oilers had a great run last year, right,
that people didn't really see coming.
That happens in hockey.
What they've done in the playoffs,
last recently does not give me any confidence to think, oh, if the Preds just make a move
to bump them up a little bit and sneak into the playoffs, it was all worth it because now we can
make a run.
If you're just going to lose in the first round anyway, why are you giving stuff up right now
that you didn't want to give up just to sneak in?
The GM made a comment that was like the last few years, we've just been in this.
We kind of are okay.
You know, we make a win a round or two or win around, but like that's it.
We sneak in and lose, and there's been no change.
So even though they have nothing to sell and they have no room to add, you just can't keep doing this because something has to give one way or another.
You literally have to go trade everything, all my picks, all my prospects, and try to make an insane run right now or blow it up.
And I know both of those options suck, but you're in complete no man's land right now.
And I mean, I think the easier call is blow it up because the other one's really risky based on what we've seen on the ice.
like you said, but that, that's, I would not, I do not envy the Predators brass right now.
This is a tough one.
Me neither.
Eckholm's got a super tradable contract.
He's a very sought after defenseman.
I would maybe even look at trading Granlin too.
Yeah.
But again, I wouldn't trade any of the big, big top guys.
But at home, you're going to get at least five teams calling about Eckholm.
I promise you.
And if you don't trade him, I think you're making a huge mistake.
I think you've got good young defensemen in that team that can step up.
in that role and you got to do it.
All right, let's go to the Calgary Flames.
This is another odd one for me.
I'm a buyer
if I'm the Flames.
I think so too.
There's people I could move
if I'm them.
I am looking at
I think that there are good forwards
on that team who are scoring goals.
I think where they're struggling is
defense and puck moving
defensemen.
So guys like
Jacob Chikrin is a big
name on that.
list for me. I'm looking at Chickren. I'm looking at
Klingberg. I'm looking at guys who can
maybe Gostas Bair or two, actually.
Guys who can be on the power play who move the puck from the
blue line, that's what I would add if I'm Calgary.
And here's maybe a hot take. I would maybe
move Noah Hanifin as part of that deal.
I think Hanofin has just been
a weird disappointment.
That's maybe harsh, but
he just doesn't
he's not commanding the blue line in Calgary like I think they hoped or anyone thought he might
and it might be time to move on might be time to move that contract and find someone else
I actually I think they're buyers too but I actually think they could use top nine forward help
um I don't know if I don't know if they'll go big swing like a Vlad yeah or if they grab
there's a couple guys that are kind of coming off injuries Tyler Bertuzzi right
even Declare, who hasn't played yet, but you know,
domy,
domy's a big game.
Yeah, you know,
like some of these guys that are a little bit less of a cap gymnastics,
but I'm like, that could give you a bump.
Yeah.
I would be,
I bet they make a move in forwards, actually.
If I'm them, I go, Vlad.
I'm like, let's go, dude.
Let's make a play here, but, or someone of his ilk,
but if not, I bet they make a smaller move up.
You know what I find so interesting?
We talked about at the beginning of the year,
we picked some of our calls for the season,
and I said that the flames would be better than the Panthers.
I think they won that trade and they'd be better.
They are better, so credit me.
They both are not good though.
Yeah.
They are both out of the playoffs.
They killed themselves.
Currently.
So that is one of the strangest developments I've ever seen.
I think you're right.
I think they could use some forwards,
but that is also one of those ones where you've got to be careful when you're
this like bubble playoff team.
And if you sell some shit to get into the playoffs by getting a big forward,
a top six or a middle six forward and what,
just to get bounced in the,
the first round. That's tricky GM work where I'm like, is this worth it? Like, do we need to be in the
playoffs just to get bounced? And is it going to cost me a good player or cost me a draft pick?
The answer is no. Yeah. So that's an interesting one. Especially just because the year they've had
the last couple, the fan base, the expectations, I think they're going to be buyers, but it might
be a tough price to pay. You're right about that. Okay, Avalanche is next. All right. If I'm the
aves, that is so funny that they're next on this list of standings. If I'm the,
abs, I'm adding.
You want to go back to back here.
You can't lose any big, like, you're not moving Nishushkin.
You're not moving any of the big guys.
I've seen a lot of talk about Horvatt to them, which is insane to me.
I don't know where people see it fitting.
But that would be an unbelievable, if Beau Harvatt threw on an avs sweater, I'm like,
okay, you did it.
You're going back to back here.
I look at that roster and I don't hate the idea of maybe,
I would maybe move Comfer.
I think JT is a great player,
but I think you could move him and try to boost up that middle six,
but D is my thing with them.
Olimata in Detroit,
I don't see as part of the future of Detroit.
And I think that could be a great second, third pairing D man
for, for,
Colorado to just like help them make another push here. Yeah. All the abs, beat writer stuff that I was checking out seems to be, seems to feel they have a second line center problem. That's their biggest issue this year. So I think that's why the bow talk is big. 100%. It's more to me, I'm like if I'm bow, I mean, you've got a chance to go to Colorado. Yeah. Yeah. If I'm bow, I'm looking at it like what the Bruins did with Lindholm where they traded for him, gave up a lot, but they did it knowing he was going to resign. I expect. I expect.
Horvat to go somewhere where he's going to
trade and sign it. Me too. Me too. And I don't
see that in Colorado. I don't see how they can
afford that. Yeah. So that's why I hesitate on that but if he's
like no, I'll just do a quick rental. And maybe when a cup.
Yeah. Right. But the other ones, assuming they're right about the
second line center thing, O'Reilly could come back. I think that would be awesome.
That would be a cool story. Yep. Myers another option there, but I think it's going to cost way
too much. And then even Taze, dude. If they, if the hawks took some
and they were like hey tase you're a depth center here that was my next big i thought that i think
that would be and and taves going to colorado it's not far from chicago it's a great team i think that is
one that he would look at and be and and be like i could do this i could do this um benino's interesting
there but i don't think he's quite good enough for that um they're a tricky one though because
they have so much talent i'm like you don't need to do a lot but yeah bringing in the depth center there
might be nice okay uh the minnesota wild
Okay, wild, I, they're a certified playoff team.
You've got to add here.
They can't score any goals.
Yeah, they can't score goals.
27th in the league and even strength goals.
I think, I think there's a few things that I want for the wild here.
You need goals.
So, and I'm talking top six.
If I'm, if I'm Bill Guerin, I am calling Vancouver immediately.
I'm just about to say.
I'm calling Vancouver about, but here's the thing.
I'm calling Vancouver about all three of them.
I'm calling about Bo, seeing what the price.
is there. Brock Besser
all of a sudden, you know, first or second
line winger for the wild, that's a huge
bump up. I really like
the idea of a center with them, though, to help out
krill. And
Timo Meyer,
Bo Horvett, I think is a huge
that would be, if one of those guys
and wound up on the wild,
I'm worried about the wild
if I'm in the West. Yeah. Like that's a huge
ad. And then the bigger, strange
one here,
uh,
you
I think you got to trade Dumba.
What's going on there is so fucked.
Dumba is getting health bombed, which is crazy to me because Dumba shouldn't be getting
health bombed.
He has played poorly a little bit here, but that one is just so weird to me.
I'm like, don't, you can't just keep him around.
Like, he's a leader on the team and you're health bombing him.
It's just bad vibes.
You just get him off the team, dude.
Give him a restart somewhere, get something back for him and restart.
I'm looking at Gus Nyquist for them too.
Maybe Jesse Pooley-Rv.
Those are dudes that would be slotted into the middle.
six there and add scoring.
You know, people forget Nyquist is a 40 plus goal score in his past.
And, you know, Pliarvy has been good and bad and good and bad.
Like maybe he could use a restart somewhere, but they need goals.
That's priority one.
I obviously, Horvette and over, like, it's all the same guys, right?
Like everyone's looking for those same centers.
But I heard that they're kicking tires on Dylan Larkin and Kevin Hayes.
And I think both would be great.
Hasey would be great.
I, I mean, kick tire.
I think no one is higher on Dylan Larkin than me.
I'm the biggest Dylan Larkin fan in the world.
I don't see him moving.
I don't see him leaving Detroit.
I think he's a Michigan boy.
He is the fucking captain of the Red Wings.
And the Red Wings are,
they're coming, dude.
I will not leave that project if I were Larkin.
And if I'm Stevie Y,
there's no planet where I'm trading him,
unless you give me four first round picks.
So, yeah, he would require a huge haul.
Yes.
Larkin, I'd be shocked if Larkin moves.
And especially like going from Detroit.
to Minnesota, that would be
rugged.
They're obviously in different conferences, but like
it's, yeah, I don't see that.
But they need goals.
Edmonton Oilers.
Oilers,
for me, this is a,
for the love of God,
you need to go get a big defenseman.
Eckholm is the one that I think about.
I think at home needs to be traded by Nashville.
You can't go and get,
if they went and got a
a puck moving defenseman like
Chikrin, for example, I'm
scratching my head. I'm like, that's not what you
need. They need to stop people from scoring goals on them. So you need a big body defenseman.
I'd look at Klinberg. I'd look at Dumba in Minnesota. I think Dumba could be a good second,
third line shutdown pairing guy. Damon Severson in New Jersey, I look at that as surplus for New
Jersey and would be good in Edmonton. That's a weird one though where they're both playoff teams.
It's like it's weird when you see a trade like that happen. But you need stuff like that.
to win and that's been their downfall you need defensemen um and then the other thing that is
interesting is i i like the idea of a veteran big body winger to play with mac david and dry sidle like
give them someone who's going to take the pressure off them who's going to be able to score some
goals but also just we've seen in the playoffs mac david and dry saddle pump in goals still but
they also get beat to shit because it's playoff hockey now and you've got to take
those guys away. So someone helping them out on a line would be very beneficial. I was going to say
they got to be buyers because they're actually still in the wild card spot right now. Yeah,
I know. They're going to make the playoffs. And I was like, what do they need? And it's the same
thing that you just said. I was like, they need blue line help, but they also need depth scoring.
You know, like I need someone else that's going to help them out here in the playoffs.
I put Klingberg down too. I think that would actually be a good ad. McCabe and Chicago could
help the blue line. And then I think they're going to be in the running for some of these guys
that we've been naming. Taze, Horvettes can be pricey, but like they could make a
move to try to do some of this stuff. The interesting thing is I feel part of me feels just like I said
about Nashville that I go, so what, you make all these moves just so you can get in and get
bounced in the first round. But that's pretty much how I felt about them last year. And then
they went on crazy run. So it is kind of unfair to be for me to just cut them down right now.
Well, you're never going to take this anywhere because they're like, well, we have the best player
alive. So I could take it as far as he wants. I think they just have too many fat contracts to
add anyone huge like that but all these depth guys benino larzeller these are guys that i'm like
that is what you guys need it's what they've been missing could make a difference um and i mean yeah
but they need something they are they are they are dead in the water if they don't make good additions
you'd think so yeah okay next la kings uh the kings are interesting to me i think they need i think
in my opinion the kings are quote unquote ahead of schedule
I think somehow Phoenix Copley has come from the gods and saved their season.
Quicky and Cal Peterson struggling was a shock.
And Copley has just come in and played out of his shoes, which is unbelievable.
They're a playoff team for sure.
I think the Blue Line needs help, if anything.
I think they've got good scoring.
I think they've got great forwards in Kopitar, Kempi, Phil Dono, Valardi.
They're strong.
If Kevin Fiala, obviously, they're very, I mean, they have six certified top six for it, in my opinion.
So I'm not sure what you need.
You could make a depth ad.
I could see one of these veteran wingers, maybe a third line center coming and helping.
But if I'm the Kings, I look at my blue line and I think I see Drew Dowdy and I see Sean Dersie as like really good defensemen.
You need more than that.
So if I'm the Kings, I make a huge move here.
I trade picks and I trade prospects because Quentin Byfield is a guy that like, he's at a bumpy season, but that is a top line, maybe second line guy for me moving forward if I'm the Kings.
So you're saying move him or you're saying keep him.
I'm saying keep them.
I'm saying your forwards are good.
I would move prospects and picks and I would go get a chikrin.
I would go get a big time defense.
Yeah.
So they actually have a, you're right about the talent level on D.
They actually have a surplus of defensemen, but they don't have high-end defensemen.
So I could see them moving a cup packaging, a couple of them or something to try to up that talent level.
So I think I agree there.
I was going to say the same thing about Q.
He got sent down, obviously, recently, but dominated the HL so hard that they called him back up.
That almost feels like a depth ad.
Like that feels like a trade that's what I'm saying, right?
You're coming back into the lineup.
I completely agree.
Boom, there's your guy.
You don't need to touch the forwards.
Try to up that top-end talent.
And you're so right about goalie because I had circled.
We were talking about doing this.
a couple weeks ago, I had circled like
Binnington, Demko,
Grubauer, even like Campbell
on Edmonton. I was like,
the Kings have to make a move for a goalie.
Like they should bring one of these guys in and make a real run
at this. But Copley is just, maybe it's Copley.
Maybe that's the answer. Maybe that's the move.
Oh, you're right. You're right. Copley is starting
every playoff game. Yeah. So
I was, I'm kind of, all the research I did was which goalie
are the King's going to trade for. And now I'm like, well,
I guess they're good.
Yeah. So, yeah, maybe make a play on D.
But otherwise, I think you feel great.
you know, we went to that preseason Kings event where Luke was like, Luke Robita,
I was like, we made the playoffs, that was really exciting last year.
The goal is win around.
And I think at the start of the season, you were like, oh, God, we're regressing.
But right now, you're right, they're kind of on pace to win around to do that.
I do not want to run into the Kings if I'm in a playoff team.
Okay, Vegas.
Vegas, number one for me is goaltender.
I think they're in cap hell in a big, big way.
I think Logan needs help to finish the season.
I'm not looking at playoffs.
I'm looking at you need help to not play Logan Thompson too much.
I would go straight to Dallas and get Anton Houdovin.
I was going to say, Dobby is such a movable guy.
Yeah, Dallas has two starting goaltenders who are ahead of Houdobin right now.
He's got a small contract.
If I'm Vegas, I work some stuff around and I get him and he's my backup goalie going into the playoffs.
I would probably add a depth defenseman.
I mentioned Oli Mata earlier.
I can see him there.
But Vegas is interesting.
They're in Capel again and their injuries.
somehow continue to be absolutely fucking insane.
So if I'm them, I add a veteran, cheap goalie, and I bought him, a third pairing D-Man
and hope for the best.
I had Dobby flag to talk about in Dallas, but that's such a great landing spot by you,
great call.
I think that would be a huge play for them.
I think they're going to take a swing on forward, though, because of what you just said
with the injuries.
Like Stone going down is a disaster.
If they LTIR him and others as well, yep, I could see them doing what they do again,
and somehow someone gets traded there and it makes no fucking sense.
But it's like, all right, here we go.
Riley feels like such a similar guy to me as Stone.
Like big leader, two-way forward.
Yeah.
I'm like, if Stone is serious, I could see them being like,
we need to get O'Reilly right now to soften that blow.
I could see Kane there too.
It makes no sense.
But like I could just see them being like, Stones out.
Can you imagine King in Vegas?
That's what I'm saying.
It'd be fucking crazy.
It'd be awesome.
But I can see them making a swing.
Interesting season, A.
Like so hot, now absolutely reeling.
Yeah.
Crazy.
Okay, Winnipeg Jets.
This is a weird one for me.
I don't know what they need.
They're borderline in that, like, I wouldn't disrupt too much.
But I think they need D.
Okay.
I think Morrissey needs help.
I would probably go and get, I would get a offensive focus defenseman who is being shopped around.
Gostaspeer again is one that I'm kind of like, he would be an interesting fit there.
But, yeah, the Jets to me.
need defensive help.
I don't think they need help scoring goals.
They're fantastic in net.
D is the weak spot.
That's what I would do.
They are another team.
They've got chips, which is exciting, right?
This is a team where you're like, they have stuff to sell.
I would say, Helibuck, Kyle Connor,
Shifley, Morrissey,
PLD, those guys, I'm like, don't trade them.
But otherwise, I'm like, you'd move Wheeler.
I wouldn't because I love him, but if I'm them,
I'm like, yeah, for the right thing.
Yeah, and Wheeler.
Those are the guys that I,
wouldn't touch under any circumstances.
You know, Wheeler would take a lot.
Wheeler's interesting because it's like,
fuck would that be a great ad for, I mean,
we just talked about Edmonton.
Think about Wheeler on Edmonton,
playing alongside Connor or dry-sidal.
It's one of those weird ones where you go,
if you're trading Wheeler,
you're trading him to a team that's trying to win a cup
and you're a team trying to win a cup.
Those are always so awkward
because it's like, who's winning this trade?
A team trying to win a cup,
trading to a team trying to win a cup,
Cup is it's like making a trade in fantasy football.
Yeah.
You're like, I have no fucking idea what is happening here.
Yeah, it's brutal.
I think, and similar to the Byfield story, this is a team that dealt with so many
injuries at the beginning of the year that they're now all back that it feels like
they're bringing in people.
You know, you're like, I'm just getting my guys back, but it's like they've already
made some quote unquote moves just because their roster is healthy again.
And by the way, the goal with all those injuries early was to tread water and they're in
third in the West.
Yeah.
Like, congrats.
You get it.
You are fine.
It's similar to Boston at the beginning of the year
where it was like, oh shit, Grizzlicks out,
Marsh hands out, MacAvoy's out,
how are you guys going to last?
And they're like, we're going to win every single game.
Winnipeg is doing just fine through all those injuries.
I do think they actually could use a little secondary scoring
and the decision becomes,
do you take some, do you target someone like a bow
knowing that that means you're going to have to make some very tough decisions next year
about who you jettison out of town?
Or like, or Timo even.
I can see Meyer there.
Or, you know, maybe you take one of those lower depths as
just to give you a little.
little boost to see if you can get there, but I think they're pretty happy with the guys
they got brought back in their roster.
Okay, Seattle Cracken.
Cracken are, they're in a weird position, right?
Like, how are they here?
Okay.
I was looking about weird.
I don't think anyone, including them, expected them to be in this position.
They're one of the top teams in the West.
Second place.
Playing unbelievable.
I think because of the moves that they've made last summer and just as a new franchise,
they actually have a ton of wiggle room here,
I go fucking huge.
If I'm the Krakken.
If I'm the Krakken,
I go get a Tim O'Meer,
I go get a Boer-Vat,
I go get a
Jacob Chikrin
for a future, right?
Like, yeah, I could see them
going and getting Taves or Kane
or something like that,
or O'Reilly or Teresenko.
But if I'm them,
if the Krakken lose in the first round
or don't make the Western Conference finals
or don't make the Cup finals,
it's not a big deal.
You shouldn't have been here.
It's amazing that you are.
Don't sell the farm for a rental.
Sell, sell, you know, buy a player for the future.
Yep.
I would buy a guy that's going to sign long term or has term on their deal already.
I would go get big players.
I would go get big players and bolster this team and just keep rolling.
And not a rental, again, I'd get a guy that's going to be with this team for a while.
I'm a big buyer from the Cracken.
I get Bo.
I think this is where he goes.
The Cracken are damn near dead last in the league and penalty kill.
They're horrible at face-offs.
He does both.
Go get Bo, dude.
He's your second line center for the next eight years.
It's like an easy one, right?
To me, I'm like, this is an obvious.
If I'm making bets on where Bo Horvett goes, the Cracken are a huge, huge answer for me.
And I love it.
Everyone, including us, chirped them for last year where, you know, the Vegas, Vegas does the expansion draft and is immediately in the final.
Seattle does the expansion draft.
is immediately the worst team I've ever seen.
Like, what the fuck?
But now they're nasty and it's awesome.
So go get Boeing, keep it rolling.
Agree.
Last team, first place, Dallas Stars.
Okay, Dallas Stars are interesting for me.
I think my issue here is they're great.
They've got amazing goaltending, like we talked about.
I think they need help down the middle.
If I see a gap in the Stars, it's down the middle.
And you can go one of two ways here.
I love guys like Lars Eller for them.
I like a guy like Nick Benino for them.
I like a third line center, you know, just veteran presence that's going to be a great, solid player for them.
I also am looking at the age of Jamie Ben and Tyler Sagan and their output, and I'm going,
or you have an opportunity to look at the fact that you're in first place with some of these older guys.
maybe you make a move for the future here
and maybe you make a trade
and get someone
who is
has term is a good solid player
I'm talking like a JT Miller
and be like you're now the
player for us for the next five years
I imagine
they're going to do the former
I imagine they're going to get
you know some
and I really think
like down the middle is so big for them
I think that that should be their target
but that's what I'm doing
I am with you.
I think the interesting wrinkle,
and it's not bad news for them,
it's good news,
is Wyatt Johnson.
Wyatt Johnson has been awesome.
He's like 19.
He's literally 19 years old.
He,
like my issue,
and I love Sague so much,
and God bless him for,
you know,
battling through injuries
and having the career he's had.
But my issue with them was him as,
because Ben has been great this year.
You know,
like Ben has come back.
You've got Robo,
obviously,
because you've got some really good guys.
But Sagan,
as the second line,
center wasn't quite what I wanted him to be if I'm like they're going to win the cup I know and he
he started remember he started the season pretty hot and I was like nice maybe Sagan's back but he's
just and he's not bad he's obviously good and he's actually a fucking good defensive player he is he absolutely
which is super valuable in the playoffs but my issue was like oh well if Sagan was your third line center
and you had somebody come in yeah now you're kind of lit and I was going to get somebody but then
Wyatt has been so awesome
that same with we keep saying with Q
and the Jets, our Q on the Kings
and the Jets roster, maybe
it's him, maybe the answer's internal
and you don't have to spend
a ton to try to bring in a second line guy because you've got
him right there. The only thing you kick yourself
on is if you're the stars is if you don't make a move
because you're like, well, it's the guy. And then you kind of get
knocked in the second round because you didn't quite have the scoring
because he's 19. And I'm like, ah,
damn it. You had a chance here.
It's tough too because Sags makes
9.8 million. Yeah.
And he's making that until 2027, I think.
Good for him.
Yeah, but what's SIG's going to finish the season with?
60 points.
Is it that high?
Maybe not even that high.
Do you want to check or you don't?
Yeah.
No, check his stats right now because, you know, we love Sags, but like you said, you're a 31, 30-year-old, 30-year-old center making almost 10 million a year.
You're playing as a second-line center, and you're...
Oh, yeah.
Well, through 51 games, 3,000.
34 points. So sure. He's probably going to have like a 60, 60 points. That's just not enough. Like you said, it's not bad at all. And if that's a third line center, that's fucking elite. But you're making 10 million a year. So you need help just on the output side, but he's birthday tomorrow. You look at that, happy birthday sakes. You look at that as a, oh boy, man, if I'm Dallas and I can trade him.
Oh, really. I don't trade him. But I do.
wonder if I need to bump him down and bring someone in over the top of everybody.
Oh, you definitely do that.
You definitely do.
I mean, either way, you need someone, right?
You need someone who is an equivalent output third line center and you keep Sags on that
second line to not disrupt anything because you are in first place.
But I don't know, man.
If I'm down, I don't, the bigger thing is I don't think anyone's calling about that.
Yeah, right.
If I get a call and I'm Dallas even in first place and someone is going to, if someone's saying,
I'll take Tyler Sagan off your hands, I make that.
trade not for not for prospects and stuff though right not for picks like you can't lose that
production no you can't yeah you need someone again I don't know who would make that
trade yeah like who's who's who's come calling no one is no one is calling for a 60 point
guy who's making 10 who wants to give you a 70 point guy back like here take exactly yeah yeah
or even someone who's gonna go here's a 60 point guy or 50 point guy who's making 5 mil
why would you ever do that trade you wouldn't yeah so he's staying he's staying but yeah
down the middle needs help and that's that
that's the, that's the Western Conference. I think, uh, there's some sticky ones in the middle. There's
some obvious sellers. I, I, I was surprised in the buyer category. I don't know how you felt,
but for me, the obvious buyers, more of them than I thought, I was kind of like, maybe you don't
do that much. Yeah. Usually these, some of these teams, you're like, yeah, you need to add a piece,
you need to add a piece. And some of these teams like the stars, like the Kings, like the Jets,
maybe you're like, you're good. Yeah. I bet they, some of them do stuff. I'm just saying,
yeah, yeah, they're looking pretty solid.
It is going to be interesting.
I think that there's going to be a lot of teams that don't really do much.
And we'll get more into that in the Eastern Conference breakdown as well.
But yeah, it's a wild one for sure.
Okay, we're going to play a little game, mini game here because you guys listened to us for so long about the trades.
But we just started laughing to ourselves thinking about the most lopsided trades in NHL history.
So we're not going to snake draft or anything, but we can just discuss a couple.
Do you want to go back and forth?
Sure.
All right, take it away.
Okay.
Mine's not even necessarily that lopsided.
Some of them are just great trades and kind of.
crazy trades.
My number one is probably my favorite trade just overall in NHL history because of the insanity
of it is the Quebec Nordique slash Colorado Avalanche acquire Peter Forsberg, Steve Dushane,
Mike Ritchie, Kerry Huffman, Ron Hextall, Chris Simon, two first round picks and 15
mil in cash for Eric Lindrosse.
And that's a wild one because you look at the flyers and Eric Lindross is, you know,
top three flyer of all time.
It's like, you know, him, Reggie Leach.
and like there's there's three or four other guys in that conversation but
the the avs slash Nordiques win that trade by a mile it was just too much
Lindrosse was going to be the next Kretzky and he obviously wasn't that
due to injuries and yeah yeah but then you got fucking Peter Forsberg I mean
straight up trade like guy for guy I would argue that Peter Forsberg is the better
player than Lindros I think it's a coin flip a lot of people would say Lindros
but yeah that's just a straight up trade and then you add all of that
Two first round picks and 15 million cash.
And here's the crazy thing.
That happened because Lindrosse refused to play for the Nordiques.
They had the number one pick and Lindrosse was like, I will not play there.
And then the Nordicx GM was like, my ass you're not playing here.
I'm drafting you.
And he did.
And then they figured out this trade.
But as this nonsense was going on, the Rangers also got involved here and gave a huge trade to the Nordiques as well that was also accepted.
and it had to go to arbitration of who got the deal.
Oh, wow, I didn't know that.
And the Rangers gave up Tony Amante, Alexei Kovalev, John Van Biesbrook, Doug Waite, three first-round picks and $12 million in cash.
That's what they were going to, or I guess, that's what they offered.
And then, yeah.
Yes.
But then arbitration said, actually, 80 minutes beforehand, the Flyers got their trade in first, and that's what happened.
Chaos.
Absolutely chaos in the streets.
Yes.
Okay.
This, and all mine are like just crazy lopsided.
I can't believe them.
I'm going to say all this is one because I cannot believe how often the Bruins have been involved in some of the most lopsided trades in NHL history.
Yeah, it's nuts.
So let me give you this package of trades, okay?
Cam Neely, Vancouver trades Cam Neely and a first to Boston for Barry Peterson.
Okay.
Neely went on to have a three-time 50 goal scoring season.
His career was cut short, obviously, right?
Peterson, and Peterson was great for the Bruins.
He's part of another trade I'm going to say in a second.
It was over 100 points.
never even got close to that mark he got 76 points he only spent four seasons in
Vancouver only touched 76 points while Neely became you know one of the great
power forward wingers uh of his generation okay then you have Thornton the Joe Thornton
trade I don't you get into it too much but we trade the Bruins trade Joe Thornton to the
sharks for Wayne Primo Brad Stewart and Marco Stern um classic case of uh traded a dollar for
four quarters yeah um no offense
And then they just, I mean, like they gave up on Brad Stewart way too quick.
Marco Stern hung around, but that was just awful.
The, all three ruins players played a combined, like, 500 games for the B's, and Thornton had 800 points.
Yeah.
For the sharks.
Then you have Rick Middleton from the Rangers to Boston for Ken Hodge.
Middleton would go on to score 898 points over the next 12 years.
Ken scored 68 points in New York after the trade.
Can't have it.
Then, Phil Esposito, Ken Hodge, from Chicago.
And Fred Stainfield.
And Fred Stanfield, right, for Martin, Norris, and Marot.
Espo, Hodge, and Stainfield would all go on to have great careers in Boston,
with Phil having 152 points in a single season.
Hodges, two seasons over 100 points.
Stanfield even posted a point per game season.
Martin was the best one Chicago got back, but he had one season over a point per game,
and it is an absolute bloodbath of one of the most lopsided trades ever.
Esposito led the league in scoring from 69 to 75.
Yeah, like, it's insane to me.
And I guess two of them, the Thornton won horrible,
but the other three Bruins brass
making out like bandits in some of these trades.
Truly, truly.
That one's nuts.
Well, what else you got?
The only other one I have that I think is really funny
is the Ducks
traded Chad, Kildger, Oleg,
Tevadovsky, and a third round pick
for a young guy named T. Musilani.
Oh.
And I just don't get that because it was like a mere couple of years after he tucked 76 goals in his rookie year.
I'd say, like, what are you doing, Jets?
Why would you do this?
I just, I will never understand giving up on young talent.
Me neither.
And it's just like, I don't think anyone, a casual too knowledgeable fan knows who Chad Kilger and Oleg Tevrodovsky are.
It's ridiculous.
It's insane.
Brett Hull to the blues, massive one.
Yeah, Honor's dad.
Obviously, he goes insane and the...
Flames never got anybody back.
80 goals, yeah.
This was another one I loved.
Marcel Dion, good to the Kings, in 75.
He's traded to the Kings in exchange for Dan Maloney and Terry Harper in a second round pick.
Dion goes on to score 1,307 points in 921 games.
Harper lasts four seasons in Detroit, Maloy, last three seasons.
Maloney's last three seasons, his highest point total was 66.
Deon scored at least 74 points in all 12 seasons with the games.
Yeah, that's tough.
That's really tough.
And there's a couple more epic ones.
Obviously, the biggest one ever, Gretzky, Gretzky to the Kings for a couple players, a bag of money and some picks.
Yeah.
Do you imagine how many cups the Oilers would have?
No, I genuinely can't.
God, it's crazy.
It's crazy to think the Oilers, in a time where the Oilers had Wayne Gretzky and Mark Messier, they traded both.
Oh, like, why are you trading those guys?
It's insane.
All right, this has been a lot of trade talk in this episode, so let's close out with a couple of our favorite little segments here.
Quickly, you want to hit us up on Eicholwatch?
Good or bad?
You notice I faded away because everything sucks, Dan.
Yeah, it's really bad.
He still has 34 points, even though he's played 38 games.
He has nothing at his last five.
Vegas have lost four in a row.
It's all gone wrong for the Golden Knights and for my Golden Boy.
That is just such a bad update.
I'm just sad.
He's, he's goosed in the last five games.
Yikes.
I'm just sad.
I know. Well, let me try to cheer you up because the playoff trail for the Buffalo Sabers is looking real nice.
Sabers have whipped out some huge wins in this past week and they are currently one point out of a wildcard.
Wow, really?
One. And I believe it's the Capitals who have three games in hand over them who are in that first wildcard.
Interesting.
So just keep some eyes on the old Buffalo Sabres.
Because they are playing.
Yeah, they had won three in a row
before they lost that shootout to the wild.
Owen Power woke the fuck up.
Oh, you sure did.
Thank you, which is great.
He has arrived.
Yeah, 6-2 and 2 in their last 10, I think,
for the sit for your boys.
No rivers in sight, no diseases in sight.
Everyone's healthy and everyone well.
You've got clear skies, no storms rolling in.
We're just going to keep chugging along here.
That looks pretty good.
Strong and steady.
That is our mantra.
And then, quick, where in the world is Austin Matthews update?
I'm not going to dance on any graves.
He is in Toronto.
I didn't know if you were going to put him in Phoenix.
No.
He's in Toronto, but unfortunately he is in your rehab facility because he is injured.
And I, what I need, I love chaos.
I want chaos.
That said, you don't want injuries and you don't want the good people of Toronto, sad.
What I need is for him to come back in three to four weeks.
If I'm Toronto, like, take your time, buddy.
Like, do not rush him back from a knee strain.
what I need is when he comes back
I need him to tuck two
with an assist or a couple as well
because I can't have
Austin Matthews with like a knee problem
I refuse it
Me too I reject that
Like truly take as long as humanly possible
Toronto you're fine
You're fine you're in the playoffs
Yo I get news true you're playing the lightning in the first round
Yeah or not like let drop
Lose a few games drop
Get a different matchup
Oh yeah fine go slip into the wild card
Actually I like this take a lot
Slip I was gonna say
I was about say you're playing the lightning
All the Matters is Where's game
and who really cares, so just figure it out.
But I actually like free fall into the wild card.
Play the fucking rangers or something.
Yeah, you don't want that.
You're not the bees.
That would be absolutely gutting with them.
But I mean, let's look at these matchups here.
I mean, if I'm them, fall, dude.
Play fucking the Rangers or something.
You know, no one needs that.
So wishing you well, Austin.
Yes, we are.
We'll close it out with a little what to watch for, and I got news for you.
Watch the All-Star game.
Watch the All-Star game.
That's it.
We got the skills competition and the All-Star game this weekend.
CP and I with producer Emily are going to be down in Fort Lauderdale.
We're going to be at all these things.
We're going to be up in the mix, doing Media Day stuff.
Hop on the Instagram, follow along with us.
We'll be going live a lot.
We'll be posting the stories a lot.
We're going to post some stuff on who you guys want us to talk to,
maybe some questions you want us to ask.
So when you're listening to this pod on Thursday,
Friday,
get us those questions
because we're going to be doing
all this shit this weekend.
It's going to be a blast.
We're going to take you guys
there with us and we'll check in then
and then after that we'll see you
on the next episode.
Have a great fucking weekend.
Skate hard.
