Empty Netters Podcast - 15. Trade Deadline Breakdown: Eastern Conference
Episode Date: February 9, 2023(05:19) - All Star Weekend Recap (13:04) Eastern Conference Trades �...� (1:32:37) Eichel Watch (1:34:16) Watch 2 Watch GET 15% OFF YOUR FIRST ONLINE ORDER AT https://www.siphecho.com/ WITH PROMO CODE "NETTERS" NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Before we jump into this new episode of the Empty Netters podcast,
we've got to hear from our incredible sponsor, H.O. Tecala Soda.
Big weekend for ECHO at the NHL All-Star weekend.
We went to a bunch of bars for some meet-and-grit events,
and shout-out to Zach at H.O.
Brought in a bunch of little samples.
We were drinking those around the bars, getting people's attention.
I've never seen more people come up to us and be like,
what is that? What are you drinking? Where do I get it?
We were at a bar being sponsored by different alcohol.
and etcho tequila soda was the talk of the town.
100%.
We were just like, everywhere we went,
people were like this, can I get one of those?
And we'd have to reach into the bag,
give them a new ECHO.
It was just dominant.
You know why it's dominant?
Because it's the best canned cocktail in the world.
They would go, this is so good.
How much gluten?
And I would go, zero.
None.
And they would say, how many carbs?
And I would say, none.
And they would say, oh, well, how much sugar?
And I would say, none.
Zero.
And they would say, well, this is obviously over 100 calories.
And I would say, no, no, no, no, no.
It is 96.
Here's the thing. It's not. And then people say, is it actual tequila in there? And I'm like, yes, it is. And it's made down in Mexico. So it is that good, good. And people just have their minds blown. And I love blown people's minds, especially when it comes to the best drink in the game. So you guys need some etcho in your life just like we do. Go to siph-h-h-h-h-o. Go to the store locator, find where you can scoop it up or save yourself some time and money by getting that discount when you pump in netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S at checkout. You're going to save that cash. You're going to save that cash.
Sheesh, and you're going to stock up that fridge.
It is the best drink, all four seasons, on and off the ice.
Go grab some now.
Vives extremely high.
Okay.
We are back, fresh, fresh back from NHL All-Star weekend, down in sunrise slash Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
Before we even get into the NHL All-Star stuff, dude, Florida is tight.
You've been off the Florida train for a long time, and I can't...
You were wrong.
That's me.
You were extremely wrong.
about it. It's correct. Florida is sick. It is sick. I don't know what my deal was. I think I just got
too obsessed with the whole like Florida man stuff and there are people doing bath salts and
meth down there eating each other's faces. And I'm not a big gator guy. I don't need to get
eaten by an alligator either. So I've just been out on Florida. But we've been a few times in the
last year and I've had a smash hit time every single trip. It's unbelievable. You're not trying
to get eaten by an alligator, but you are trying to eat some alligator.
Because I watched you have some gator tacos.
Yeah.
Just a quick pause to say, we're without producer Emily right now because she is sick as a dog, still down in Florida.
We're from Gator tacos.
So we're with producer Brian today.
And Brian doesn't have a mic, but I just want you to know, I ate a bunch of alligator tacos this weekend.
It was pretty sick.
I loved him.
I genuinely loved him.
They were delicious.
And so many people were like, they were sketched out about it.
They were going, oh, no, it's alligator.
I don't want that.
It was one of those situations where we all got to this event.
Everyone was starving, needing food.
and the gator tacos were the first thing that was out
and everyone was being timid about it
and I was like, load me up, load up my plate.
Do you think crocodile taste the same as alligator?
Part of me is like, absolutely yes.
No.
The other part of me is like maybe completely...
I don't think so.
I was about to compare chicken and duck
to gator and crock,
but chicken and duck aren't that similar.
Gator and crock are like...
They're very similar.
Two peas in a pot.
A better comp would be
eating elk
and deer
yes
which I can't
I can't speak to
because I've never had elk
because my question
was going to be
or fish
maybe a fish
they're too similar
fish
a cod and haddock
cod and hadick
yeah but that's a
taste so similar
yeah
I think there's a chance
that crock and gator
are similar
oh yeah
I thought you said no
I said did they say
same
and you were like
no
I don't think they do
did I say no
I thought I was unsure
well my point is
if they taste
similar. You should call every alligator taco I have. You should just pretend it's crock.
Because croc talks is sick if it was crocodile tacos. Yeah. Croco taco tacos sounds
back. Yeah. Croco tacos. It was right there for you. Like chaco taco taco. Yeah, I didn't want to
step on their trademark. No, no. Croco taco is the best name I've ever heard in my life. So if,
let's just assume that those were crocs. I don't know what the deal is. How do we feel is there a
measurement on
or a restriction rather on hunting
gators and crocs are they
in danger here of extinction
because if there's not
we got to start wrangling in some crock and make croco tacos
because if they do taste just like alligator they're delicious
so just do it I want to say
they're not because they've been here for
65 million years they're dinosaurs is there a way
we can trademark croco taco
taco right now just in case to delete
all of this Brian because we can't let's get out
or Brian let's just lie
and when we release this clip, we're going to put Croco Tacos TM.
We've already trademarked it.
And we got it.
Okay.
That's the thing.
We already did it.
There you go.
Croco tacos are our thing now, and that's amazing.
So Florida gets two massive thumbs up from me.
I've had a blast there, and we can transition that perfectly into NHL All-Star Weekend,
12 out of 10.
Such a good time.
Such an amazing event by all the players, by all the NHL staff, all the team staff.
so much fun doing media day getting in the mix getting these players shooting the shit with us messing around with us having some fun
the empty netters presence was big down at nashl all-star weekend and i say that in a sense of
the nchel welcomed us with open arms and allowed us to have fun with them and do some cool ass shit
and we can't thank them enough and can't be more pumped with how it went every step of the way i keep
telling everybody this every step of the way was went better than i thought which almost never happens
with big things like this.
Completely agree.
And we were flying
about the seat of our pants
a little bit,
but as we got there,
people were welcoming,
people were fun,
the players were there
to have fun.
Everyone, it's a vacation.
You know,
it feels like,
it feels like a very serious business trip,
but those guys are down in South Florida
having the time of their lives,
dude, they've been honored,
they're here to party,
they're here to have a good time.
Yeah.
And they brought us along for the ride.
And it was an experience,
I will not soon forget.
No, it was unbelievable.
Do you have any highlights?
Highlights were
getting the,
Getting the feel of Media Day, once we really settled in, like getting to Media Day, I was like,
holy shit, what is going on here?
This is crazy.
And then once we settled in, getting to ask those guys, fun questions, and seeing their face light up
to goof around with us and just being right in it with all these other reporters was really
awesome.
And then Elbow Room Thursday night.
We did some potty in with the boys, and that's my highlight.
My highlight is the confirmation of NHL guys being the biggest beauties in the world.
A huge shout out to the Kachuk brothers.
Oh my God.
No one, they were already high, but no one has shot up my leaderboard faster than Brady and Matthew Kachuk.
Those two dudes are every bit their father's sons.
They are so fun, so personable, absolutely hysterical in the bars.
We're in Elbow Room on Thursday night.
And by the end of the night, Brady Kachuk has a sleeveless elbow room T-shirt on, parading around the bar like he owns the place.
Because I think he technically does.
I think he owns that bar.
Just out of sheer performance result, you have to give him the bar.
It's unbelievable.
Especially Brady.
Matt, I kind of always figured it was a beauty.
But Brady, I was like, no, he's buttoned up, man.
He's taking his job very serious.
Yeah, he's a captain immediately.
He's probably a very serious guy.
But no, he's just for the boys, clearly.
For the boys out at the bar.
Also, I dare you to point out a bigger stud than Chris Chelyos.
You can't.
You can't do it.
It was, that was my next point to me.
make. Some of the old legends were there. Messier, Chelyos,
Guy was there. Yeah. And then
had just some old guys in league. Dominic Moore was there. Greg Campbell was there.
And all of them, like there's no time missed at all. We're right in the bar,
tossing them back, buying drinks from everybody. But Chelyos and Messier were just
legends. Everyone coming up to them, making time for every single person,
they couldn't have been more awesome. It's amazing.
Chelly's just so tan. He's a tan man. He's getting.
His hair had like a little bit.
He had like the wings going a little bit.
He's in a hoodie, a hoodie and flip-flops rolling into a beach bar in Fort Lauderdale,
just dapping everybody up, pounding back Bud Lights.
And I was like, dude, you are living my life.
Like, this is a perfect, you are handling everything perfectly.
It is absolutely incredible.
You guys are going to see a bunch of content that's going to come out.
Obviously, over the weekend, we were big on it, but we've got some podcast lines up with
some great guests, which is awesome.
We've also got some great clips from some of the action that's going on.
but it just could not have been a better time.
So much fun getting in the mix with all the boys.
And then also over the weekend,
we dropped chilling at the Far Blue
first episode with Kevin Fiala
and the Los Angeles Kings.
Incredible.
It came out so well.
The Kings media team, Kevin,
have been so nice.
It was awesome seeing Kevin at the red carpet
and media day after because we just shot the web series.
Yeah, yeah.
So he's, you know, we were old pals.
He was going to say just a few butts hanging out.
So that was great.
And he was like, where is it?
I haven't seen it anywhere yet.
And I was like, it comes out later.
It comes out tomorrow, Kev.
Calm down.
But yeah, that was, it just such a good response, too.
So many people that we were running into.
Because I think you made this point while we were there.
Yeah, it is so sick when we're at Media Day.
And we're making a super cut video of our questions with the subtitles on the video.
That's awesome.
And it was really fun to be there and it's really fun content to put out.
But everybody's doing that.
VR Open Ice is there.
And the accounts we love, but I'm just saying everyone's doing it.
Everyone's got a reporter there and they're all doing those videos.
It was cool to see fans and other media come up to us and be like,
yo, what's up with chilling at the far blue?
Because it's so different.
It's like a very unique thing that's happening.
We're going to do a bunch of them.
We're going to shoot it with a bunch of players,
hopefully a bunch of teams.
But it's fun being a part of some kind of fresh new hockey content.
Totally.
It's awesome.
This podcast is going to come out Thursday.
So the new episode with Dustin Brown will be available on the King's YouTube.
So check that out.
Go to our Instagram for the link.
And then my last,
I got two more shoutouts before we bounce on to other things.
I want to give a huge shout out to the On the Bench Boys.
Hang out with them all.
weekend. They are every bit of
awesome, as you would expect. So funny.
So down to clown. Great
guys. We've got some funny videos coming out with
them. They're just the coolest. And then
an extra special shout out to the spit and
chicklets voice. Specifically, Grinnell.
It's his birthday today. Today.
Today Monday. Happy 30th, Mikey.
But those guys had amazing meet and greet
on Saturday right before the game.
We popped over to that. Hung out with them.
Met all their fans and a bunch of our fans.
There's great crossover there. And just
a good opportunity to say
they're the best guys in the world.
They've got amazing fans
and it's just a great
great crossover of the hockey community
doing stuff together, having fun together,
spreading the game, and it's just amazing.
They're some of the best boys in the world.
Got to hang out with
Biz and Witt, Grinnell, Pasha,
Merles, just awesome dudes all around.
Can't wait to chill with them more
and do more stuff.
Dude, the on the bench guys
are legends and they are so good
at what they do. They're so quick,
so snappy, so funny.
And dude, I need people to know
because it's weird, dude,
sports social media is weird.
You've got to be working all the time.
You're putting in a lot of effort.
Those guys grind, man.
Like, they are,
dude,
it was 185 degrees on the beach on Friday.
All kidding aside,
it was probably 98 degrees outside
in humid Florida.
And yeah,
they were head to toe hockey gear,
jeans and cowboy boots.
Dude, decked out,
sweating sack,
but just being there for the fans,
dude,
not a single kid that came up
did they not have time for,
you know?
Sorry for like the 80 negatives
in that sentence,
but I think you know what I meant.
They were making time for everybody.
It was incredible.
They relate to the older fans.
They relate to the young kids.
Everybody loves them.
They're so in character all the time,
but just true, true gentleman.
And I'm so happy to have met them.
And then the chicklets thing, yeah, dude, they did a meeting grid.
I know this comes out Thursday.
They're doing one this Wednesday in Arizona,
which I'm sure is going to be just as equally as zoo.
Dude, they did a bar.
So basically for the people listening,
the Fort Lauderdale at a hotel,
we were staying.
I was on the beach.
And pretty much every hotel was on the beach.
were all the players. They did a meet and greet at a bar about a 10 minute Uber inland. And we got there.
Dude, the line was like three blocks, three Fort Lauderdale blocks. I'm serious. On the Friday
before the skills comp, UC Soros was signing autographs. He was there in that one booth. That was a
shorter line than the line to take a picture with Grinnell, Biz, and Witt, and R.A. It was insane.
They are best. They are studs, salivs.
It's like the madhouse trying to get in there.
And they earned every second out.
I fucking love it.
Yeah, it's just great.
Like I said, it's the hockey world coming together.
We need more of it.
It's a fucking blast.
All right, that was it for the weekend.
You guys, like I said, hop on the Instagram.
We got a ton of that content from NHL All-Stra weekend coming out.
But just such a blast, can't wait to do more of it.
We got to dive right back headfirst into the NHL world.
We did a breakdown of the Western Conference teams,
what they should all be thinking about and doing at the trade deadline.
So now we got Eastern Conference.
got to go fucking in hard here.
No games since,
you know, what, Thursday?
Yeah.
Maybe Wednesday.
No game since Wednesday.
Big Bruins game.
And we've got no games this week as well.
So we're diving in.
We're just got to get into trades.
Do you want to take us through the Eastern teams like you did last episode?
Yep, I sure do.
We're going last to first.
And dude, actually, by the way, real quick, Dan,
one thing I couldn't believe you're talking about schedule.
Yeah.
Because there's like 10 games tonight, like 15, 10 games.
There's a ton of games tonight.
So, like, teams are playing all week.
The Bruins and the Sabres and a few other teams don't play till the 11th.
Like, this Saturday.
Yeah.
And it's so...
I know, but I don't know.
Is it?
Like, I can't tell if you're, like, sick, extended break or, like, every team in the league comes back.
Yes.
You get a small break over Christmas and then, you know, January 1st, this year's second.
You're right back at it.
Take any fucking break you can, dude.
I guess, put it the other way then.
I think if I'm every other team, I'm like this.
What the fuck?
Yeah.
A handful of teams get two weeks off.
I get three days off.
But it all jes.
Gams up. It's like, you know. I mean, the three days is not true. Every team got at least six or seven days off.
Yeah, played Wednesday. And then the first games this week are what?
Tonight, they're playing tonight. There's like, oh, yeah. Packed, packed schedule tonight.
That's brutal. Yeah, so I'm like, oh, okay. And then, but then the Bruins get two weeks and you're like, fuck off.
You're so hyperbolic. What is the actual time? Let's see, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, 10 days.
Jesus.
that is bullshit.
If I'm a team back on the grind tonight
I'm like,
you're playing right now
like Bo Horvatt is playing right now
on his new team
which we'll get to
but that is nuts
so because some wild schedule making
I'm sure if I did a deeper dive
some of the teams that played
there were only six games last week
I'm sure those teams
got the longer break
and the other teams
like the non
all star week games
other ones back tonight
yeah I'm sure there's something close to that
but I was flabbergasted when I was like
wow teams are also the 11th because Dahlene
we were talking with him and he was like
Yeah I'm going back on vacation
He was like I'm going to go on vacation after this
After the all-star game Saturday night
And I was like don't you play Monday
But he's off till next Saturday
So I was like oh brutal
I get it
All right let's dive in who's our first team
Okay first team we're going to reverse order of the Eastern Conference
We're going to start with
The Bottom Dwellers, the Columbus Blue Jackets
Okay
Let's get right into it here
The Columbus Blue Jackets
This is what I have to say
amazing hockey town
amazing fans
terrible team
I wouldn't do
anything too crazy here though
I would stay the course
you have a ton of guys hurt right now
you have a bunch of people
underperforming
get as low of a pick as you possibly can
get as many lottery picks as you can
collect those balls
juggle those balls
here's my one hot take
like I said
I wouldn't do anything too crazy
I wouldn't trade too many people.
I think there's guys on that team that we've mentioned in trades.
I think Gus Nyquist should be traded right now.
I think he can go help a playoff team.
He has no future on the Columbus Blue Jackets, in my opinion.
There's no reason to keep him around.
Even Jacob Vorchek, who's making a ton of money for a lot, a lot more years.
It's sad.
He is a, you know, really scary, horrible injury, but I think if someone's going to take him, you could move it, but probably not.
I would consider a little reunion here and trade for Kevin Hayes.
Oh, cool.
And put him with Johnny Goddrow.
Over this weekend at All Star Weekend, Paisie hopped on a little podcast with Yans.
And he was talking about the fact that he thought Godro was going to come to Philly and play with him.
And so did Grodro.
Goodro thought that was a possibility.
He wanted it.
Philly fucked their own cap up so much they couldn't get them.
Yeah, and it didn't happen.
And it just, it's so odd to see how, you know, Hasey's an All-Star.
He's got 45 points in 50 games, I think.
He's, yeah, as his first All-Star appearance, it's an amazing thing.
But like we talked about, he's getting health bombed by Tortorella.
Tortorella clearly doesn't like him.
And Torz is going nowhere, which is surprising.
But I think there's an opportunity there for, I don't know, maybe put Haysey in a new situation,
maybe make Philly eat a little bit of cap.
but something I could love to see.
Not saying it's going to happen.
My real advice for Columbus is stay the course tank.
Get as low a pick as you can.
Don't get crazy here.
Don't mortgage future here.
But if that is a trade that makes little sense,
maybe get some money after your books if you can.
I don't know how you'd make it work,
but we'd just love to see Hazy and Goddrell playing together again.
That would be sick.
I don't know.
The jackets feel like they're not going to be that good that quickly,
but they do have good stuff.
Yeah.
But it's like a tiny of a tough sell.
If I'm Hayes, I'm like,
I love to play with Johnny,
but I don't want to go stink on Columbus,
but I'm largely in agreement with you.
I think they,
Nycos is hurt.
You know,
like that was probably their biggest trade chip,
and it's like,
he's coming back, though.
Yep.
So that hurts,
but they're just be bad.
Dude,
they're in good shape
because Johnny,
at least for now,
doesn't care that they suck.
He's like, it's okay.
Let's just see what happens in two years.
Yeah.
So as long as you have your superstar content with sucking,
then yes,
get a better draft pick.
What I could see is,
shipping up the captain, dude. Boone Jenner has a few more years.
I wrote it down. Let's see. Three more seasons at 3.75.
And he's going to do his 20 goal, 40 point thing.
It's not going to cost someone. I mean, it's great value, obviously.
So I could see if they, if I'm them, I think I'm like, like you said, just completely crater.
They have a handful of untouchables.
Linae staying.
Johnny.
Johnny staying.
But I'm like, if you can get great return back for Boone, I'm like, do it, dude.
Of course.
Like do any, nothing is safe.
Super movable contract too.
Yep.
So I don't hate that at all.
Bottom out.
Yeah.
Okay.
Next, we have the Habs.
Okay.
Montreal Canadiens fans.
Listen to me loud and clear.
Tank.
Tank completely.
Go right into the iceberg.
Sink and blow it up and get Connor Bardard.
I would lose every possible game moving forward.
Cole Cofield is shut down for the rest of the year.
stop winning games, get Connor Bedard in a Habs jersey.
It would be so huge for the league.
It would be so huge for you.
And here's my other thing.
I would trade everyone.
Literally other than Cole and Suzuki,
trade your entire team.
Josh Anderson is on a million lists.
You should trade him.
Absolutely ship him out.
But in addition to that, I've wrote it down here.
Trade.
Evgeny Dadoff, Mike Hoffman, Christian Dvorak,
Jonathan Druin, Brendan Gallagher,
Sean Monaghan, Mike Matheson, Joel Edmondson,
all of these guys, good players.
Trade literally all of them.
I would call every single playoff team, and I would go, you have all of these guys that are available to you, tell me who you want.
And if you got a world where you could actually trade every single one of them, I would do that.
I would call up dudes from the AHL, and I would just fill the team with nonsense for the rest of the season and completely tank and start over.
The future of this team, in my opinion, these guys like Brendan Gallagher, who's, you know, such a,
Gritty, great little player.
Jonathan Druin, who's been bouncing around the league and seems to have found like a decent
situation here.
Mike Hoffman, who was the most bizarre situation of all time and has found himself here.
They don't belong on the team.
They're not part of the future.
Get them out.
You're starting over with Caulfield and Suzuki and you're starting over with St. Louis.
You guys were in a bubble cup, which was a fucking miracle.
Yes.
Two years ago, you were terrible last year.
You're terrible this year.
Blow it up.
Completely trade everyone.
Dude, I had pretty much every name on that list.
Get them out of here.
Yes.
And they're good players.
Mon-Han is elite.
He has elite skill set.
And if he, you've got to check his injury, but if he's okay, get something back.
Edmondson has significant play-of experience.
Get something back.
I read this awesome quote that Kent Hughes, the GM, said,
they should be only worried about three peas, picks, prospects, and the price tag for Cole
Hoffield.
Literally take your entire team, get rid of them, and get in return.
sick draft picks and sick prospects.
You're looking directly to the future and re-sign coal.
Those are your only jobs.
And that's not a light work.
You should be busy as fuck.
They should make more trades between the drop of this podcast and March 3rd than any team in the league.
I completely agree.
Get everyone off your roster right now.
Yeah.
Gone.
Because part of that will also be tanking and getting Connor Bardard.
So do it now.
Suzuki Dan signed for eight years 63 mill.
Cole more or less.
If I were them.
If you can go like.
less great, but what I would pitch if I were there front office is I would go, see Patrick
Kane and Jonathan Taves here, see exactly what they did, you're going to do the same thing.
I would go to Cole's camp and go sign the exact same deal that Suzuki just did, and you two
are the Taves and Kane of the future of this franchise.
Let's go.
We'll introduce you to your new teammates.
And frankly, if I'm Cole, I'm like, that's a great pitch.
I'm in.
I would look at Suzuki and be like this.
Let's fucking do this.
Because they shut them down, I'm sure, with similar.
argument with the shoulder injure. They're like, hey, dude, go, go get surgery, go rest up.
You're part of the future. Exactly. So yeah, I love it. Okay. The whole new,
the new look Canadians next year. Coming to you next year. Coming to you, coming to you at
the Bell Center near you. Next, the Detroit Red Wings. Okay.
Wings are interesting to me because
I think this team has been fricked by injury
this year and would be a playoff team if not.
I would not do anything.
I would not panic here.
I would not think, oh, no, we've stalled out.
We're in trouble.
Injuries has screwed you over.
You have a bunch of young players
who are going to be even better next year.
Do not make trades, absolutely, if you want.
But there are certain guys.
Bertuzi keeps popping up on less.
I would not trade Bertuzi.
I would just relax and just keep him around.
Make trades if you can.
There's some guys like Olimata I've listed.
Olimata should absolutely be shipped out.
the town for, even if it's, you know, third, fourth round picks. Yeah, go, go get something. But what
you cannot lose is assets here. Do not lose any of your draft picks. Do not lose any of your young
potential stars. Just trade some of your vets who you don't see as part of the future. And with
everything in your power and being, Steve Iserman, I love your negotiation tactics and what you're
trying here. If you do not bring back Dylan Larkin, it's going to hurt in a big way. I don't
care what you get from. Let's say he's traded.
even if you get two first round picks, it's just, it's going to kill.
It's because he is a Michigan boy, went to the University of Michigan.
He is a natural born leader, even at his young age.
He has so much over the respect of all of these guys and especially these young guys on the team.
And if you lose him, you're not just losing your number one center.
You're losing the heartbeat of the team, in my opinion.
And it's starting to feel like losing him is not out of the question.
even the last pot I was like there's no way he goes but there is a way and it would be devastating
I think there are several ways unfortunately and I would be equally devastated just be well
maybe if it comes to the bees I wouldn't be that devastated you know what you know what uh
it really is starting to look like Tavares in in New York okay sure it's a it's like a guy
he's like he drafted by the islanders he stuck around they let him get to UFA and then he was
like I'm leaving sorry okay so you that was a great segue into my point that's
going to come at the end of this rant. But I think if you are the Red Wings, everything you just said,
you want to keep him. He's a Michigan guy. He loved the Red Wings. Eisenman was his idol.
At 19, they were like, this is the future captain of this team, and now he is. I think he is a
1C. I think he could be a 1C on a cup winning team, but I don't think he's, this is going to
sound like a knock because it's not. He's incredible player and I love him. But he's not like a
130 point guy.
But you don't need him to be.
He's Jonathan Taves.
It's exactly what he is.
So I think if he's, I don't know, I have no idea what his camp is saying, but if his camp is asking
for some insane money, and again, I'm not putting words in their mouth.
Yeah.
I can see Isman being like, ah, dude, I kind of need you to take a little bit of a hometown
deal.
We love you, but like you've got to take the, you got to take the pay cut because you love it
here.
So stay.
And I can see that's where it's stalling.
And 100% is.
I think Larks is asking for 9, 9.5 a year for 8 years.
And I think Eisenman's going sign 8.
by eight and be a part of this thing that we're doing here.
Yep.
And I think Larkin is understandably being like, no, I could get more than that.
Because here's the thing, Larkin is what, 26?
Yeah.
So you're signing an eight-year deal.
That's, this is your one big one.
This is the contract.
Yep.
You'll get another one at 34, but this is the big one.
So I understand him and his team being like, no, I want, you know, I, if I'm,
his agent, I'm asking for eight by 10.
Yeah, absolutely.
Caps going up, but I think 8 by 10 is a little rich for him, but I mean, 8 by 9 is not. So it's interesting.
Yeah, and I think the play of the Red Wings this year, because dude, when he comes on and it's the changing of the guard, right? Like he's part of those Zetterberg teams, Datsug teams. Then they brought in some guys recently, but a couple years ago, there was like three guys on the Red Wings that had ever been in the playoffs.
Yeah.
So now they're building and they look, we were so excited by them last year. And now they were naming them, what, third in the perverse.
order of the Eastern Conference standings.
Like this has not been good.
And I think if they were on the cusp of the playoffs right now,
this would be like not an issue.
He was staying because he's like,
on part of this.
And it was a lot of injuries,
but the backward step,
I think, hurts the negotiation here.
And I'm calling this shot.
He, by March 3rd,
is either traded or extended, period.
Yeah.
He will not be on the Red Wings March 5th under his current contract
as a pending UFA.
Yeah.
And I think that's smart.
So yeah, for the Detroit Red Wings,
it's this has been a very upsetting year,
but do not panic,
but Larkin is your priority.
Figuring out something with him is your priority.
It should be bringing him back,
but figuring out something is key.
Next, we've got the Philadelphia Flyas.
Okay, here's where I really want to have some fun.
I, like I said,
I'm a little shocked that Torch is still around,
but he is, and he's not getting fired this summer,
I wouldn't say.
So I want Torch to go full Joker here.
And let him.
Go insane.
I would completely blow this team up.
I think there's an opportunity for you guys to tank even more here.
I think you should trade what you can, borderline anything.
And there's some interesting ones on this list.
Yeah.
Like I think you've got to kind of restart.
I would sell assets like you're Michael fucking Jackson here
and just get as many picks, prospects as you possibly can.
Big ones for me, Rasmus Ristelainen, trade them right now.
He's got a big contract, but it's not immovable.
He's a good player.
He's underperforming this year on this weird bad team.
Scott Lawton.
Bye.
You're gone.
Move him right now.
Here's my two that I think are huge.
I don't think Provee's going anywhere.
Me neither, actually.
I've signed a big contract.
He's not going anywhere.
I do think he's a...
I'm seeing that on a lot of list.
I don't think he's leaving.
I think it's too big to move.
I think he has so much term that you would have to ask for so much back.
And just with the bad press he has right now, that's such a weird player to trade.
I could see Tony DeAngelo going.
That was an interesting signing for them.
And he's playing well this year.
He's obviously a very contentious dude, but he is a good player.
There's a ton of teams who need great power play presence.
He gives you that.
And do you just see Tony DeAngelo going into next season as his last year on contract
being like an important part of this Tortorella Flyers team?
No.
So I would trade him right now.
You could probably get something decent for Tony DeAngelo.
And what a wild return that would be for the Flyers.
Yeah.
But here are my two big ones.
Joel Farby
Okay
Insanely movable contract
Very young player
It would be a tough loss
But I wouldn't be shocked
Because you could get a fuck ton from him
And Travis Kinectin
Kine is on my life
Travis Kine is a
In my mind
I'm like he is probably
The best player on that team
And the most Flyers
Player on that team
Other than Provee
And I'm kind of like
If you traded Fairby
and connect me, both of whom have very movable contracts, you could like, oh my God, you could
pump up the future of this team. In terms of assets, you would get a lot of first round picks
and you would get a lot of prospect players. And if that's what you want to do, if you're the
flyers, those are the guys to move. A hundred percent. And it should be what you want to do.
that's what I don't know
I look at
Carter Hart stepped into that team
and they were like
this guy is the future
he doesn't feel like the future
anymore
he's a good goaltender
but he's not blowing people's minds
everyone is underperforming
Kevin Hayes was his huge signing
and yeah he was just an all-star
he's just shy of a point per game season right now
so it's weird that he's just so low
towards his list I don't get it at all
like Hayes he's making 7.1 mill
a year and he has 45 points in 50 games.
I don't know why everyone's shitting on that.
They're like, hey, he fucking stinks.
I'm like, what are you talking about?
Like, people are talking about Haysie getting bought out.
And I'm like, a $7 million guy making a point per game is very good.
Dude, well, you brought up Haze earlier.
Like, am I losing my mind?
Kind of, but so is the whole world.
So that's what I don't get.
Yeah, the whole world is losing their mind.
He actually, I think, can we tell the joke he told us at the bar?
I assume that's kosher.
Yeah.
We were just chatting with Hasey at the bar after Media Day, and he was like, oh, you know, love what you guys do. It's really appreciated, whatever. And he was like, you know what? Next year, I want to come work for you guys because I'm about to get bought out this summer. We were like, are you, dudes? I don't get it. I don't get it. Listen to this, because I look this up. You're right, he's making 7.1 AAV through 25, 26, okay? Yeah. Buying him out would cost the flyers a total of 16.6 million over six years. A better option for them would be attempting to trade him by retaining 50% of.
of his cap hit, leaving them to carry only 3.6 million annually for the next three years.
And there's some teams that could take them, dude.
Dallas.
Who would you just say?
Oh, the Blue Jackets.
There are places he could go that would be a huge fit for him and the squad.
And I just don't understand why the bought-out thing is even in the conversation.
But if you are having that conversation, then fucking trade him.
Yeah.
Like don't buy him out and eat 16 million.
Trade him, retain some of it, and then you're fine.
Yeah, and you do the three-team deal, right?
where you retain 25, another team retains 25.
I mean, if you package Connectney, I mean, this would be insane.
This is, this is, you know, playing NHL type stuff.
But if you package Connectney and him and maybe some other stuff and you're trading to two teams, Connectney goes to one, Hasey goes to another, Haysie goes to another, those two teams could take 25%.
Or one of those other teams could take 25%.
The team that gets Hase, you know, like, and it doesn't need to be 25, 25, 50.
It can be split up.
but there's ways to do it
I think Hasey
getting bought out would be the fucking dumbest
shit in the world by the Flyers
but him staying on this team is dumber
Okay
yes if Kevin Hayes
is out here in the streets talking about
getting bought out clearly the relationship
with the Flyers is not very good
you're getting health bombed by your coach who openly
talks shit about you all the time
you're a 31 year old NHL
All-Star who's playing at about
a point per game clip how in the
world is this a situation that you stay in.
They should trade him. They should
package him with Kinekney or Fairby, and
they should get at least two
first round picks back, clear the cap space
from his contract and their contracts,
and restart. I mean, it's
it sounds insane to be like this, yeah, we're going to restart without
Fairby and Connectney, but it's like, you guys
stink, so you got to figure it out
somehow. Last one I wrote was
JVR feels like a scorer.
Oh yeah, JVR's, yeah, 100%. Trade him now.
It's 7 mil, which
isn't actually that bad, honestly.
You know what I really love, actually?
Actually, I'll wait.
I'll wait until we get to this team.
Okay.
But yeah, that's one, like a playoff team that's like, God, I want PowerPlay 2 guy.
And I'm like, bang, here you go.
Okay, next one, Ottawa Senators.
I'm actually unsure here.
Me too.
The senators are bad.
They're not horrible.
Stutzel's hurt.
That stinks.
Josh Norris is hurt.
That stinks.
That obviously plays a huge factor into why you're struggling.
That said, something's got to give you.
here. I just don't really get what's going on. I would fire DJ Smith personally.
You are, if you're the Ottawa senators, after the Giroux thing, it's like, okay, you guys are
clearly at a, be good or go home and they're, they have to go home. I'm sorry, you've been sent
home. Because them being this far out of the playoff race is a very upsetting season, in my opinion.
The injuries suck. They hurt. But they're playing such weird, uninspired hockey. They even with those
guys in the lineup. Norris has been out, you know, all year pretty much. But even with Stitzel going down,
they never really had a streak of like, oh, that senators are playing well here. Like, they've just
been very blah all year. Yeah. So something has to change. I don't really know what it is.
I look at Artem Zube signing a big new contract and that one confuses me. I don't think he's a
guy. It wasn't a big, big contract, but he got extended, I think, five years.
I look at Zytsev.
I would move Zytezv, just get off the team.
He could be a big defenseman for,
or, you know, a depth defenseman for a team making a playoff run here.
If I'm the Senators, again, I don't panic,
but this is what I do.
I'm the senators.
I trade veterans that aren't part of the future that could help a playoff team.
I fire DJ Smith, and I sell the team to Ryan Reynolds and let him work his men.
I'm not kidding.
I'm not kidding.
The number one goal for the Ottawa Senators here is figuring.
figure out a way, a structure, a percentage, whatever it is, make Ryan Reynolds an owner of this
team and let literally just his presence shoot adrenaline straight into the pee hole of your
entire franchise and everything will start going better. It's just how it works. Everything he
touches turns to solid gold. Sell the team to Ryan and start over. You'll be good. And well,
here's the only counter. I'm so glad you got to Ryan because that was my biggest bolded thing
in this entire center section. I think Hamannick, I think Holden are pendent.
UFA defenseman that could go.
But I, and you are
100% right, they are done. You are gone.
You are not making the playoffs. Sorry, good day.
See you later.
So on paper, you're like, I want to be sellers.
Like, we're gone. Who cares?
Sell everything.
But my only counter to you is I'm not sure that they,
something's got to give in that
this should have been this really good team
and they're cratering.
I think they wanted to be better for sure
and the injuries hurt. But I'm saying, I think
they have, they look at this
and go, I have young guys.
here that I like that people want. Other markets are calling about, but I'm like, nah, these guys are
going to be integral parts in our playoff team in a couple years. It's the same thing as Detroit.
That's why I'm not saying panic and trade anything big. I'm saying just trade some of these
veterans. Hamanick is a great example of one. And you're fine. You've got tons of, I mean,
Kachuk, Stutzel, and Norris. I'm like, what a great core you have here. Don't freak out.
but something has, I'm telling you, dude,
Claude Girou did not sign with this team.
I know there are a ton of people who were like,
Girou knew they weren't making the playoffs this year.
I think that's horseshit.
I think Girou was like this.
We'd like to make the playoffs this year.
I agree.
They're not trying to win the cup this year,
but they were trying to make the playoffs.
This has been a disappointing year,
and you're a fucking liar, senators fans,
if you're claiming that like,
no, no, we always knew this was going to happen.
That is not true.
So what I'm saying is, yeah, they're not cratering,
but this was a step backwards.
Definitely.
Yes, oh, absolutely.
They should have been a wildcard team this year,
and they're not.
I said that there was a better chance
that they make the playoffs
than the Leafs get out of the first round
at the beginning of the year
and the senators are
deader than debt.
Yeah, you are not making playoffs.
Two other ones,
Cam Talbot, I think could go.
I'll get to this later,
but that's a goalie that was an all-star
last year, has been to the playoffs
three years in a row.
A couple teams coming up
need a goalie, so just earmarked that one.
It's a scary one.
Is he UFA next year?
Oh, damn.
Good question.
Because if he's not,
I think that's a scary trade to make
because if you don't replace that,
which is never a guarantee,
you're fucked next.
year.
Yep.
So I would not do that if he, unless he is UFA next year and it's looking bad.
And then De Brinkats, the other interesting one, similar to a Larkin situation.
I think they want to extend him.
Oh, they're going to.
But you kind of, well, you don't need to, but I would, I would really want to before
the trade deadline if I were them.
Yeah, I agree.
Because I'm sure people are offering shit, good shit, and it's tempting.
Okay.
Next, Florida Panthers.
Okay.
I think this one is a bit of a shock for some people.
I think we might have an awesome disagreement here.
Yeah, okay.
this is my take on the Florida Panthers.
Very similar
to the Montreal
Canadians. Oh shit.
Shove a stick of dynamite
into this team and blow it
the fuck up now.
It is a, I don't know, I don't know
what the hell happened to this team,
but you were a fucking nightmare and it
all started with the Hubey trade.
Maddie Kichuk is one of two
with Spencer Knight of immovable
guy, so I'm not saying that you got
devastated in that trade, but
it was awful what it's done to you i keep mattie kachuk i keep spencer night and then i trade
everyone sam bennett sam ryanart carter carter rhaeggie montore super movable deals get them out
the door i would even trade um ekblatt like he's like your guy he's he's on we know we were
just at their stadium all weekend long he's he's on every single poster he's in all the elevators
but that is a dude that you could get a king's ransom for amongst these other guys i would
trade at, of those guys I listed,
if you don't trade at least two of them,
you're stupid. Because you've got
to start over. I mean, it is, this is
a shit show going on down here.
And I would blow it up
immediately. So, dude, I'm shocked to you say this
because you're fucking exactly right.
This is a team that for
a long time of this year, we're like,
you know, having a worse season, but they got to turn it around,
they got to turn it around. There's still time. There's a world
where they are buyers at the deadline.
get themselves into the playoffs, losing the first round, and pass themselves in the back.
And I'm like, those assets, whatever you just gave up was not worth the rental you grab to get bounced in the first round.
You have a good core here still.
Yep.
Get people the fuck out of here and start focusing on next year.
Because you have a chance to be very good again next year if you play this deadline right.
Yes.
I think it's just to what you were saying.
If you morons make some trade to get better and sneak into the playoffs, you're losing.
the first round. Yes. Without question. So don't make that mistake. I don't think they're making
playoffs. So, you know, blow this shit up to high heaven and start off. Here's who I got.
Well, I think you're, I think you're right on paper, but for Hagee, Eckblad, no chance they go,
in my opinion. Which I think you're right. But I'm saying they should be, it's, it's, you have to have
your hand on the phone here. And if someone is calling for them and if someone calls for Eckblad and is offering
you two first round picks, absolutely.
100%
Smell you Monday
Yes
Bob needs to go
but we'll never go
because he's immovable
an absolutely immovable
contract for your backup goalie
Bob is playing better
than I mean they gave him that contract
and then he was trash
and there's an interesting
situation where Bob
if you eat 50
and you trade him to a team
that desperately needs a goalie
good point
I'm kind of like
that's interesting but
eating 50
I think they will but yeah
eating 50 of that is so tough
who'd you say you want
Bennett to go
I think Bennett and
And Reiner, right?
Yeah.
Again, I'm speaking in hyperbole
in terms of like
would I trade every single one of these guys?
Maybe not.
But those two, I legit think so.
100%.
I trade both Samms.
Reiner is one year, 6.5.
Bennett, two years, 4.4, dude.
Like, you get significant picks back.
Bennett, you get a lot for.
With the two years is so huge
to give Bennett to someone.
I think you could get a first round pick for Reiner.
he's a UFA this summer.
No, no, another year.
Oh, he has one more.
Yeah.
And Bennett has two after this.
Oh, yeah.
I mean, Reiner is getting a first round pick 100%.
That is a really tolerable contract.
Yeah.
Especially with the cap going up.
Where do you add on this?
Because here's the tough part.
It's like they, Florida traded a first round pick to get him.
And they traded two second rounders in 2021 to get Bennett.
Are you like, do you think you look like a clown or you're like, whatever, fuck it.
Bye.
Yeah, but you already look like a clown.
That's the problem.
When you win the president's trophy and then you're going to miss the playoffs, you look like a clown.
So I don't think you look like a clown if you go, listen, we're skitting and we're doing stuff to change it.
If you just stand Pat at the trade deadline here, can you imagine if Florida does nothing right now?
If Florida comes into this trade deadline and does nothing, like let's say they make one bitch-ass trade for a third line winger or something.
And they're like, yeah, that's going to help us.
We're going to get in the playoffs.
And then they just miss playoffs.
Oh, my God.
Well, so that's what I'm saying.
It's like, I think they would be stupid if they tried to add something to get better and sneak into playoffs.
I think that would be a huge mistake because you are going to get bounced.
But if they, and the other option is blow it up, which I am suggesting hard to blow it up.
If they just do a very, you know, one move up the chessboard with their pawn move here, oh my God.
Yeah.
Well, you're 100% right, man.
Which they might.
If they go, if they make a reasonable swing and try to get better and get in and get
bounce. We both agree that's dumb, but even
that is a better move than doing
nothing. Correct. They actually do nothing than KMS.
I think too, dude,
it's a very, what's
the fucking draft day GM?
What's Costner's character's name in that movie?
Oh, Sunny Weaver Jr. This is a very
sunny Weaver Jr thing because
the Panthers don't have their own first round
pick till 2026. So
I go like this, why is that the case?
Oh, we give a bunch of picks for the Sams
and for other players. And I go like this. So
fucking bad. So I go like this, get them
back. Fucking trade right now for
a first round pickback. Boom, now you got one. And even if you don't
use that pick, you get a 2024 first rounder. You don't have to use it. It's just a trade chip
to ship out later. You know, like just you need to get some assets back. Correct.
So yeah, you traded all your picks away. Fucking get them back
right now, dude. Get them back right now. That's what I'm saying. If someone calls for
Eckblad and they're willing to give you to your first round test. Take them. You don't
have to take it. You have to take it. You have to take it.
Declare, I bet goes. I wish he was like back. He used to be back pretty quick
because like it's coming up.
I know. I know. Rackogutis, depending UF.
I bet he goes.
A hondo.
And also the interesting one is both stalls.
Like making no money pending UFAs.
is only if a cup team wants to like
kick tires on him.
But pump him if someone at calls.
I agree.
But Eric is,
I don't know, man.
To me the stalls aren't maybe Jordan.
But I don't think the stalls are getting you.
Oh, wait, no.
No, it's Eric and Mark.
And they're getting you nothing.
But they're just playoff size at the deadline.
If someone wants.
I mean, Mark and Eric,
they're not getting you.
you a cup. Like there are there are teams that I would hear like, you know, we'll get to them
soon, but there are teams that I'm like, yeah, they need some veteran leadership, but like
Eric Stahl's bringing you veteran leadership. He's bringing you a guy who's won a Stanley Cup,
I believe. I think so, yeah. With Carolina in 2006. But she's not giving you much on the ice.
Yeah. Like it's not worth it to make that trade, I think, to be like this, you're borderline
for it. It's almost like the other way. It's almost like if he asked them, if he was like,
can I go for a cup, please.
I'm about to retire.
They'd be like, okay.
But that's what I'm saying.
I don't know what team would be like this.
Yeah, we'll take you.
Yeah.
Like, what are you giving up for him?
You know, very little.
All right, who's next?
Up next, we got the New York Islanders.
Can I go first on this one?
Sure.
If I'm the Islanders, I trade for Bo Horvett.
No.
And I extend him 8 by 8.5.
No, no, no, no.
There's just no way that they could do that.
What are they going to give up?
Bolivia?
Maybe.
They'd have to.
I would say that, a prospect, and a first round pay.
That's too much.
Maybe a conditional first round.
Okay.
I'm back in.
Okay.
Listen, it's tough being a social media.
It's hockey pod when social media trades happen in the blink of an eye.
Listen, it is what it is.
But what I'm going to say is this.
Lou did it after sitting on his thumb all last summer and doing literally nothing and then doing nothing all season.
The Islanders are currently out of a playoff spot.
They're underperforming and they are lacking big time in the goals department and power play goals department.
And he went out and he made a trade.
He moved a great player in Anthony Beauvillier, a great prospect and a first-round pick, and he got Bull Horvette and re-signed him.
And chirped his own deal, which is what I said, if someone's trading for Boe, it's going to be a team that's going to extend him.
He's not doing a rental, and he didn't here.
Am I surprised it was the Isles?
A little bit.
I'm not surprised the Isles went out and made a trade like this.
I am surprised Bo chose the aisles.
I think the aisles have a great upward trajectory.
I think that they're definitely not where they thought they would be right now at this state of the season.
I just kind of saw Bo going to a more secure team.
But at the same time, one of these more secure teams
maybe doesn't have as much wiggle room
or ability to trade a player to be able to fit Bo
like the Islanders do.
So I kind of get it.
My big question here now is, are they done?
Because I'm seeing a lot of Vladimir Tarasenko chatter.
I think that's too rich for their blood.
I think one thing that you mentioned earlier that I said,
I'll wait until we'll get there.
I think JVR is a good step down.
down there. I think they should add another power play goal scoring wing here. Because here's the deal,
dude, the aisles don't score in the playoffs. They get to the playoffs and they play those fucking
boring one-nothing games and you need guys who bury the puck to get through all of these
rounds in the playoffs and get to the Stanley Cup. The aisles just for the past five years have not
had that. And adding someone who can score some more goals, JVR is usually a 30 or something goal guy
in the league. That would be a good third-line winger ad here. You already splashed for Beau. You don't
need to splash again, I don't think.
I agree, and I actually like that JVR take a lot, because I was about to tell you they are done
in many ways.
They are not making the playoffs, even with Bo, I'm sorry.
And by the way, even if you do make it, you're definitely not winning the Cup, so who cares
if you're not first or last Ricky Bobby?
But the point being is this.
They have, they're fine.
Like, if I'm the Islanders and we missed the playoffs this year, and everyone's like,
oh my God, we traded everything for Bo and we missed the playoffs.
I'm like, it doesn't matter.
That was never the point.
Winning the Cup this year was never the point.
You now have a very young Sorokin, a very young Barzol, a very young Barzol, a very
very young bow. You are fine. You are in really good shape. I think they're getting old at wing.
Palmary, Josh Bailey, Anders Lee are into their mid-lowish 30s. They have some center depth.
Brock Nelson is a great example of, you could trade Brock Nelson for a top six winger. And that's a great deal.
And I think in fact, they might do just that. I just don't think they do it this year.
You think they get rid of Nelson? Yeah. Why? Because they have a ton of center depth now and he's 31.
and, you know.
Yeah, it's a decent move.
You've got Maddie B.
Great.
You've got Bo.
Like, do you need Brock Nelson as your third line center?
Because I've got news for you, even though he's an all-star.
Bo and Barzell are centers above it.
Or do you need like a bad Vlad?
Do you just play Nelson at Wing, though?
Yeah, maybe.
But I just think you could, if that's not the answer, you would, I would trade him for
wing or depth.
I don't think they do anything this year.
I certainly don't think they do anything big, but I kind of love the JVR
swoop if you can get it for something reasonable.
Okay.
All right.
I'm interested in that.
Okay, the next one, your guys, the Buffalo Sabres.
All right, my boys, here is the deal.
The Buffalo Sabers are a playoff team.
That's what you're thinking.
They're going to be a playoff team.
It's going to be going good.
If you're the Buffalo Sabers right now, you are surging more than you have been in many years.
Players are starting to look good.
Owen Power is awake.
Yeah, he's up.
Cue the Undertaker bursting out of the coffin.
Owen Power has woken up.
Tage is about to come back from his little day to day.
Knock here.
You got a good little break here for the All-Star break.
This is what I do.
Make a trade.
Make a significant trade here and go out and get a goalie and get into the playoffs.
Oh, okay.
Great.
You do not need D help.
You do not need forward help.
Could you get some?
Yes, but is that what you need?
No.
There's one clear area of need.
Go get a goalie.
And here's my big thing, dude.
I would not go get a rental.
I would not look at Hado.
Udobin, like we said.
I think Houdobin should go straight to Vegas right now and add some depth there for some
rotation to finish the season so you're not playing Logan Thompson too much.
Do not go and get a guy like that if you're Buffalo.
I'm talking make a trade.
Think about moving a first round pick.
I would look at a team like the Anaheim ducks who are not going to be a playoff team
anytime soon and you've got John Gibson just dying there.
I would maybe trade a first round pick and take him.
But you don't need to do that.
And the other option I think is you look at a couple of these teams who have
backup goalies who have maybe been unseeded by a new goalie who has stepped in.
You've got these guys who can still play and probably put up better numbers and get more
wins than your current goaltending situation.
Alex Nadelcovic in Detroit is incredibly available right now.
And another big one for me is Cal Peterson in L.A.
Cal Peterson has lost his job.
And he has a big contract with them, but not too big to be your starting goaltender.
The Buffalo Sabres are one of the only teams in the league with Capspace.
Cal Peterson could be looking for a brand new start somewhere to shake off the dust.
You've got Phoenix Copley who is just
Sorry, stunting all over you
I would make an offer to L.A. right now for Cal Peterson.
I love this.
I was seeing so much
Tim O'Meer shit linked to the Sabres.
I don't think you need it.
There is just no need.
The Sabres are a top five team in goals scored.
It's like, it's insane.
They pump in goals.
You need to stop the bleeding by getting a new goaltender.
There is just no need and the price tag of guys
that would be impact guys this year
because I know we all want to make the playoffs, Frank.
They're a super fun team.
If you don't make the playoffs this year, minus the disappointment, the initial disappointment
of the players, it does not matter at all.
You are completely fine being in the wildcard mix all year and you love where you're
headed.
Anything this team is young.
This team is building chemistry.
Anything you have to rip apart to try to bring it a splashy acquisition right now is not
worth it in the slightest.
I also had eyes on goalie.
I think Cam Talbot, based on the contract situation, I think is a great example.
And Thatcher Demko, too.
We brought him up in the Western time.
It's a fantastic.
I mean, like we said, with Vancouver, it's like, you can blow it up here, dude.
You guys are a mess.
Yeah, I'm, I'm looking at a Thatcher Demko.
I'm looking at, I love the Cal Peterson idea.
Me too.
I just think, I think Phoenix Copley is not doing something that he won't do again.
I think he is a great goaltender.
And part of me goes, well, how long, how much longer is Johnny Quick going to play?
Don't you want Copley and Cal Peterson?
Which is what they are thinking.
Probably, but I'm saying if you believe that Phoenix is going to be the,
guy, which I do think he is, Cal Peterson's making too much to be a backup. So I would ride out
Phoenix and Quicky for one more year if Quicky's going to stay. And if he's not, go get a backup
veteran goaltender for half the price of Cal. Okay, I don't hate that. Because I was going to say,
if you trade Cal and then Quix retires and Phoenix struggles, yeah. Yeah. But, you know,
Quickey's retiring at some point here. Like, you can't have, you know, it's too much. So
get a goalie. Get a goalie. You want to playoff? Get a goalie. That's their problem. Next up,
Pittsburgh Penguins.
Penguins,
I'll start.
Yeah, go.
The six, you look at the penguins,
the islanders,
the caps,
the devils,
the Rangers,
and the hurricanes,
right?
Six metro teams,
and a maximum five of them
can get in.
Yeah.
Because three from the division
and both wildcards.
And all five of those,
sorry,
all six of those teams
are in win right now mode,
which is kind of rare.
And I'm not saying the
penguins and the caps have the best chances of the hurricanes, but I am saying they're like,
we need to make our last run here, we need to get in, we need to win a cup. The devils obviously
have the most, like, we're young and fresh, but I'm just saying all those teams are good enough
to be like, come on, we're going right now, which is really interesting, creates a really
interesting arms race for all of them at the deadline, because they're looking for a lot of the same
players, and they're trying to figure out what they want to do. With all that being said,
I actually think the penguins don't do shit. They have, their biggest issue right now is
third line chemistry. They don't even have bad players. They're just not really clicking. And I think
the GM, Hextall said several times, like, oh, I want to bring in somebody that can help the chemistry
in the third line. I love our roster on paper. I don't love our, I don't love our production on the ice.
That's a problem. But I just don't think that they make a big move here to try to mix it up.
I think they go, I like what we've got. We've got to figure it out. Maybe it's like a max domy
to be like play third, play third line. I'd love that. But it's not, I would be,
I would be shocked if they do anything big.
In fact, I think they'll do something small or nothing.
I have a question for you because the penguins interest to me because they've got a few guys like Gensel, who is a phenomenal player.
But then they've got like Rust.
They've got a few of these other wingers on the team who are all like hovering on the exact same point production.
And they're good.
They're totally fine players.
And I'm seeing all of these things that are like, this is it.
this is the last year for the penguins. Go for it.
I'm so confused by that
because Crosby and Malkin just
signed for like five more years
and
so did Letang.
Latang, I just looked this up. Who was I
talking about this? I just looked this up. La Tang is
actually on the hook for a while, but I think Sid
is on his same deal, dude.
Like, Sid's on that like 12 year deal still.
Yeah, yeah, yeah. And it's up in two years.
Sorry, but Malkin just recently signed for, I think he
has three more after this year. So that's what I'm saying.
Like, I'm just confused by
why are they saying this is it? Because the old guys, quote unquote, Malkin, Crosby, and Lattang,
are playing as well as they ever have. What horrible production drop from Sid.
So what are we, I'm just like, what, what's, what is the rush here? Why are we freaking out
about this is it? This is the last year. This isn't the Bruins that with Crayche and Bergeron
being like, this actually might be the last year. Crosby ain't going nowhere. Neither is Malkin.
And they're both playing very well still. Yeah, another argument to not really blow it up.
If you're like, we're fine.
they're fucked with goaltending. And I don't, I don't see them making a trade to change it. So I,
I also don't think the Penguins can win the Stanley Cup this year. I think that they can make the
playoffs and I think that they can maybe win around, but I think that's about it. So if I'm them,
I get a winger. I get a winger to play second line with Malkin probably, but I could see a
third line winger. I had Max Domey as well. I've, I've been Barboshev in St. Louis and I have
Sam Lafferty in Chicago. I just think that there are guys on cheap deals that you can get
swing someone out. I don't really know who you move, but the penguins are very weird.
They're a team that if they do nothing, I don't think it's stupid of them. I think they're like this.
Yeah, I mean, like, we're a wildcar team. Yeah. That's that. So I don't, yeah, agree. Because I don't, I don't think it's necessarily weird. I just think they're like, there's not much to do here.
That, well, that's what I'm saying. They're in a weird position. They're a weird team in that they have no one who's popping off. They have no one who's really sucking when they shouldn't be sucking. They're just like,
a pretty good team. Yeah, you're right. Yeah. Um, well, slightly different scenario, but pretty
similar team building issues here, the Washington Capitals. Um, okay, caps. I have a lot to say
about the caps. Okay. To start, I think surviving without Backstrom and Wilson was huge. Massive. Way
better than any of the thought. So that's impressive. So what do they do now? You are,
with three or four games in hand, you're over teams like Buffalo Pitt, Florida, and the
Islanders. I don't think Florida is even sniffing that wildcard spot, but I think Pitt, who's in the other wild card spot currently, they are going to be battling with the Islanders and Sabres. These four teams are going to get two of the wildcard spots, and I have no idea who it's going to be. I have all my chips in Buffalo Sabres wagon, and I hope it works out. But they're in an interesting spot. So what do they do? The aisles just added Horvatt, so watch out. That's a team coming for you.
Keep up. Buffalo is going to do something.
So watch out. That's a team coming for you.
They just extended Strom. I think that's a great move and a great contract.
They just extended Sonny Milano, which is a good bottom six edition or extension rather.
John Carlson is brutal.
John Carlson got clapped in the face by a Brendan Dillon slap shot.
And it was, I think, end of December they announced he was done hoping he'll be back for playoffs.
That's brutal.
my next and bigger point
the Washington capitals
other than John Carlson
do not have a single
defenseman signed
beyond this year
is that true
not one if you go look at their
cap friendly
every single defenseman on the team
is UFA or RFA
at the end of this year
which is maybe the craziest thing
I've ever found acceptable soldiers
it's insane so I imagine
especially with some of these RFA guys
they're going to pull some shit here
but in my opinion, if you're the caps,
you do not accept with guys like Oshy,
Ovechkin, Tom Wilson, Nikki Baxter,
Kuznetsoff, you don't accept
not making playoffs.
Like it's not like a, oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
We'll do nothing and we'll hope to make it in.
You have to add something, and it's defense.
If you do not add a defenseman,
you are fucking so dumb.
I think you need a defensive defenseman
and my eyes are on guys like,
I would add a big boy,
I'd add Matt Dumbah,
I'd add Joel Edmondson in Montreal,
I'd add Jake McCabe in Chicago
or Luke Shannon in Vancouver.
I would go get a defensive defenseman
and that is obvious.
And I would prioritize someone with term
because if you just add another rental
and you're like this,
great, now we have seven defensemen
to find a new contract for,
you're just,
you're adding,
you're making a situation worse.
And similar to the Pitt comment
that you made earlier,
I think a lot of the narrative
around this capital team is,
well, it's the last hurrah for Ovi.
And I'm like, Ovi's going to play five more years and he's still pumping in 50 goals.
Like, this is not the last hurrah of anything.
No.
Some guys I targeted Lars Eller has one year left.
He could go.
Yeah, I mentioned him in the Western Conference.
Yeah.
And then Kuznetsov, a lot of those guys you named that you're like, with these guys you have to make the playoffs, I agree with you.
But I think this is the worst idea I've ever heard.
If you moved Kuznetsoff, Ovi would riot.
Think of it.
There's just no way.
He's just been so disappointing.
year and yeah I mean that's even even worse time to trade him like I understand that if you're
you're a team that's needs a spark with scoring and you add coozy to a different situation
get him playing with a good center like sure I hear that yeah but I just think if you're the
caps and you trade kuznet's off now when he's at his lowest value possible right you're like
if I'm a fan I'm like that's the fucking dumbest trade I've ever seen in my entire life
Coozy's young what if they got something sick back what what are you getting for
Coozy right now probably something sick maybe a first round pick
Maybe.
It's a bad trade.
Would you get a first round pick?
Probably not.
It's a bad trade.
There's no other end of this trade.
You don't even know what they are getting.
I'm saying whatever you get, it's a bad trade.
Trading because that's off pissing off of Etchen, losing a top-lined winger,
when he is at his lowest value, is a bad trade.
Okay, we'll see about that.
Okay.
I'll cook up some trades to show you what's up.
I think their biggest priority should be signing Sergei Ovechkin.
To a long term.
No question.
Did you see him at the All-Star game?
Yeah, it was ridiculous.
Okay, Brian, here come the New York Rangers.
All right, New York Rangers, I think that they definitely need to do something.
I'm not sure what it is.
I think what I would probably do here is, I mean, the popular one is Patrick Kane.
Every Rangers fan in the world is like Patrick Kane loves the Rangers.
He wants to play here, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
I don't see that.
if it happens amazing,
I think it would be a blockbuster
trade. It would require losing
a lot, a lot of good players.
I think there's a very high chance
that we see Capo-Cocco go here.
Not necessarily in the cane trade, in any
trade they make. To me,
you've got
Vinny Trocheck, who currently has
34 points in 49 games. He's having
around like a 60-point season. I don't
think that's good enough for your second line center.
Yeah. So I look
for a center if I'm the Rangers. You have Ziba,
and that's pretty much it.
You got like a bunch of other guys
were like kind of playing center.
Trochec was was scooped up to replace Strom.
And Trochec's a good player.
But like Trochec to me
making 5.6 AAV
having a 60 point year,
that is a vintage third line center.
So to me if you can move a pick,
move Caco,
probably someone,
you probably have to clear some cap.
But if you can get a second line center,
that's the move. But I love, love the idea. I also think you need leadership on this team.
I think the leaders on this team are like Truba, Ziba, and Crider. And I think Truba being named
captain shocked to everyone, which to me speaks very loudly to maybe the leaders on that team
aren't that vocal. They aren't that strong of leaders. I think a Ryan O'Reilly trade and playing
second line center on the Rangers immediately makes them a very scary team to play in the
East. Yeah. Interesting
squad obviously made a hell of a run
last year and hoped to
repeat that a little bit.
Per Elliott Friedman, they are
passionately in the market for
a top six winger, and
they are very down
for a rental. As they should be.
You brought up cane. I think
and to avoid it, to get ahead of a
potential Bo Horvett situation again,
I just saw, so their
Vitali Craftsoff's their number one
trade bait player. Like they give up
anybody that's who they're giving or that'll get them a biggest return.
And they called up two guys from their AHL tonight and Vitali sitting.
Yeah.
Because like he might get traded by the time we walk out of his office.
But I think a trade is like imminent.
Eminence.
Yeah.
I think.
Let's pop on Twitter right now just to make sure.
Kane 30,
Kane has nine goals and 34 points in 45 games this season.
Bad Vlad has 10 goals and 29 points through 38 games.
I feel like all the talk is about.
Kane, but I actually could see them getting bad Vlad. Me too. I think, I think Teresenko is a
great fit with them. I think he's just, you, you pop him with a, with a Ziba, and, and great things are
happening. Um, no question about it. This is one of the few teams where, there's a lot of teams
we're naming that. I'm like, they should do something. They should sell someone. They should buy someone.
This is one of the few teams where I'm like positive that on March 3rd, they have a big name
winger. Yeah, I love that call.
that the Rangers do something.
I love that call.
I think I could see something happening here with them for sure.
In fact,
I'd be shocked if not.
But I don't know.
I just don't.
I just don't see Kane for some reason.
I've just never seen Kane.
And I can't wait for this clip when Kane gets straight at to the Rangers and I look like a fucking moron.
I said early in the year he would go here too.
I just for some reason I don't see it.
I don't see it for Patrick Kane.
I don't like to me I don't see him being like, yeah, I want to go.
to Madison Square Garden and play for the Rangers.
I think he does.
I don't think he's, as I said last week,
I don't think he's moving, Kane.
Yeah, yeah.
I do think I could see back.
But I could not agree more.
If there's one thing that we can say here
about the New York Rangers
with the trade deadline approaching,
with their current standings in the Met
and in the Eastern Conference in general,
they are going to make a big move sooner
rather than later here.
And it's going to be big.
It's going to be an ad that, like I said,
makes everyone in the East go,
holy shit, they're so much better now.
That's scary.
That's what I meant about this arms race.
in the metro where it's like these guys are fighting for those few spots.
Yeah.
If the Rangers make a big move and your pit, like we both said pit and Washington might stand
Pat and then you watch the Rangers big and bad ladder, you like, fuck.
Yeah, we need to do something.
I don't know if they do, but it's just interesting.
Okay, next, Tampa Bay.
Tampa Bay, I have less than zero idea.
I was actually laughing to myself here, looking at the moves that Tampa has made the past
like four or five years.
They always make a move.
It always seems to be the right move.
It's always like a weird depth ad.
And I think that's exactly what they're going to do here.
I don't know where they need to.
help. I don't think it's really defense. I could see maybe going to get a top four, but probably
second line D that's like maybe takes some ice time away from headman. And I mean that in a good way.
Like don't make him play 34 minutes a game. I could see them getting a third line winger.
I could see them getting a fourth line grinder. I genuinely, I have no idea for them. I have no
suggestions for them. It's going to be depth. You probably should add something, but I got nothing.
honest to God I have nothing.
Here's, I don't mean to give the lightning, not enough lip service here, not enough airtime,
but the, they have done so well with rentals going into these playoffs.
Yeah.
Patmer, the big rig, Shaddy, Hagle, Nick Paul, Goodrow.
These guys come in, they get their, some of them stay.
Like, Hagle looks like part of the future, but these guys come in, get their cup,
lightning, move on, all good.
They, the GM, JBB, is like, I am going to do, so I'm looking to add a Nick Paul type.
And everyone goes, okay, what, who is it?
what rental thing for. He's like, I don't know. We're going to figure it out. It's going to be
third line depth. And they're like, what if the
Leafs and Bruins make a big splash? And he's like, that will not affect
my line of thinking. And I'm like, okay. Yeah. So
the Lightning are going to add a rental. Someone who wants
a cup. And I don't know who it's going to be. But they're going to be small.
Is it small peanuts or small potatoes? Small potatoes. Small potatoes. It's going to be
small potatoes. And that's all.
And that's all. Yeah. And I think the lack of
airtime here is a testament to the bolts. It's like you
guys make the best moves every
fucking year. Keep it up. Keep doing what you're
doing. All right. Let's move on to the New Jersey Devil.
Okay, the devils for me, do I think that they can win a cup this year?
The answer is no.
I do not.
I think that they are going to win a round in the playoffs, maybe too.
And I mean that in a very positive way.
I think the devils being where they are right now is not something anyone expected.
I think they've obviously dipped since they're super scorching hot start through about 20 games.
I think they are super young.
and the team I would compare them to
of the past three years
is the Carolina Hurricanes.
I think the Devils right now
are entering the last three years
of the Hurricanes.
Really good comp.
They're so great
and they're such a strong team
and then they get in the playoffs
and they lose only because
they're just young
and they're inexperienced.
They don't have a lot of guys
on this roster
that have played deep runs
on the playoffs.
Even their big boys,
obviously Jack Hughes
stud top five player
in the league right now,
frankly,
sorry, read it in a book
because it's true.
Write it in ink.
They're top defensive.
man,
Dougie Hamilton,
I don't think
has played
significant
playoff time,
you know,
since the Bruins.
And frankly,
even on the hurricanes,
it was that,
what I just said
the last couple of years.
It's like,
you guys are amazing.
You get into the first
round and you get swept
or you lose in the second round.
It's like,
they need some veteran leadership
and a guy that I just talked about,
uh,
I think a Ryan O'Reilly would be huge
on the devils.
And here's an interesting one.
I don't think they're going to move,
like you said,
and I don't really see this one happening,
but a Jonathan Taylor.
on this team would be so influential and helpful to some of these guys.
It makes my head spin.
But also keep eyes on veteran dudes with tons of playoff experience like we talked about with
the Western Conference.
Nick Benino, I think would be a huge ad for the devils here.
What they need, and I like the idea of maybe guys into next season too, they need vets.
They just need leadership.
I really don't think they need anything other than that.
I like that take actually
they you said it right
they've made the playoffs once since 2012
it was 2018 they are in no rush
I think
I was thinking about like some of the guys I named earlier
Radco Goudas Mark Stahl even
I was like oh there are guys that they can add
here on the blue line but then you got to remember dude they are adding someone
in a few months
in a month and a half by the name of Luke Hughes
because he's going to be brought up as soon
that season.
Yeah, yeah.
You get the blue line help there.
O'Reilly, I highlighted too.
But same, sorry to cut you off, the same thing that I'm just saying, right?
It's like, wow, Luke Hughes, that's going to be a fun one.
And think about the adrenaline jump that's going to be for Jack with all of a sudden
his brother playing with him.
Yep.
And that is going to be such a comfort thing for Luke.
Coming into that locker room and having your brother, who's an alternate captain right
there with you, that is going to be such a nice ease into the NHL.
But, I mean, Luke Hughes is 20 years old.
Yeah.
Yeah. So that's not an ad of like, oh, this is experience. It's an ad of depth and a shock of young talent. But like, I've always said, man, these guys who do this shit, Chris Kreider did this, Charlie McAway did this. When these kids come in from college and they go like this, welcome to the NHL. Also, welcome to Stanley Cuff playoffs. That is fucking savage. Oh, it's crazy.
So it's like. But some of them have that reckless confidence. Like Crider did, like Krug did where you're like, you have seven goals in the playoffs.
100%. And Luke will have that, I think. But I don't think that reckless confidence is.
especially from a defenseman who's going to play second line, third line D.
That dude's not winning you a cup.
He's not winning you a series either.
And don't forget, by the way, or maybe we never aired this episode either, but I called that
Luke Hughes would score his first goal this year on the devil's assisted by Jack.
Assisted by Jack.
So that's that prediction is still existing somewhere.
Yeah.
I can love that.
But I will say I got faced because I think I announced Bo would certainly go to the
Cracken and then we stopped recording and then he was already on the Islanders.
But I will say I'm going to do it again.
I think they get Timo.
I think Timo Meyer is on the Devils.
And I know that's not a big veteran leadership experience play that you were thinking,
but it's pretty much from what I've seen been the Rangers, the Devils, and the Sabres that are huge in the Timo sweepstakes.
I think the Sabres is complete bullshit.
I think the Rangers would rather Kane or Vlad.
I think Timo Meyer is a devil.
Fuck.
That would be, you want to hear something crazy, though?
Timo Meyer is a fantastic player.
If I'm a team in the East and they add Tim O'Meyer, I'm not sweating that that much.
I'm really not.
You might be disrespecting the devils a little bit, but I think the lack of them.
No, I'm not disrespegging the devils.
If anything, I'm disrespecting Tim O'Meyer.
Yeah, yeah.
I'm looking at the offensive output on that team and does he help it?
Yeah.
But that's not where they need help.
So I'm not, those are the things where I'm like, that doesn't to me give the devils that
jump over everyone else.
Yeah, they need the playoff experience in my, in both of our business.
It sounds like. There's nothing. They can't win this year because they don't know what's like. Tim Omeyer has never even,
Timo Meyer's never seen the playoffs on the horizon. Yeah. So I love that move from a standpoint of them going,
this is not going to make us win a Stanley Cup this year, but oh boy, next year look out.
We're a problem. So I do like that. Keep an eye on it. I will.
Okay. Toronto Maple Leafs. Toronto, I think this one's obvious. I think it's the same thing every year.
You need defense to get out of the first round.
Yeah, who is it? There's an obvious answer.
It's very simple.
I think you're probably going to say Chickren.
I don't think so at all.
I think Chickren, if you go and get Chickren, I think I go, great job, great at.
Chickren has, what does he have, two years left on his deal?
Yes.
I think it would be a fantastic addition, and you go, wow, what a great guy that's now going to be on the power play.
He's a puck-carrying defenseman.
That's amazing.
I just don't think that's what I need from them if I'm the Maple Leafs.
Muzzin hasn't played since October.
He has a cervical spine injury, which is horrible.
So huge shouts to Muzin.
Hope you're feeling better.
Hope you get better.
I think they hoped that Muzin gets back for the playoffs.
But that's one of those guys where Muzin's not super young.
He's not old.
But you have a guy with a serious injury like that who hasn't played in six months showing
up and being like, I'm ready for playoff hockey.
I think it's just, it's a little ignorant to assume he's going to be at his, like you're adding Jake Muzin.
Yeah.
I think you're going, no, we're adding, we're adding Jake Muzon who really needs to get comfortable with himself again and get the rust off.
I like Klingberg way more than Chikrin.
I think Klingberg is the type of defensemen that they need that they've lacked.
I mean, they've got so many young, offensively minded defensemen.
I don't know that they need another offensively minded defenseman.
I think Klamberg does have offense in his game, but I also think he's a good solid D-man.
But that's it.
It's plain and simple with the Maple Leafs.
I'm not skipping over them, but you get a defenseman or you get nothing.
You lose.
Like, good day.
And here's the thing, dude.
If you don't get a defenseman, you do get nothing.
Like, I don't care if you add, if you somehow go out there and you add fucking Connor
McDavid to your team, you will still lose in the first round because you need defense.
So get a defenseman who's going to play 30 minutes a game.
and that is obvious.
And it is, it is, it is Jacob Chikrin, it is John Klingberg, it is one of these dudes who knows how to play 28 minutes a game,
and if you don't get it, hey, you're dumb.
And if I'm a Leafs fan dude, like, and we trade two first round picks and people are like, oh my God, I'm like, what talking about, dude?
You don't need picks anymore. You need to get out of the first round of the playoffs and convince Austin Matthews to sign back with this team.
Here's, I need our, I need our flow chart of what needs to happen for Matthews to stay somewhere.
But dude, the, I like Klingberg a lot.
I said last week he signed that deal knowing he was, he was like, I'm leaving, trade me at the deadline and they're going to.
So I don't hate that.
The reason I like Chikrin, because I was looking at it and it's like, obviously he's under a great contract, but you're right.
You have to give a first round pick, probably multiple and one of their top prospects, okay?
And the reason I think, and that's pricey, dude, but the reason I think it's in play is because,
Because Kyle Dubus
What's in play?
Getting Chikrin?
Trading everything for it.
Oh yeah. Fuck yeah.
Because A, they can afford it.
But B, more importantly,
Kyle Dupis is put his nut sack on the line
coming into this year without a contract.
So he will stop at nothing to go as far as humanly possibly.
He will trade literally the keys to the building
to get good players to win the cup.
Like everything, this is everything.
His entire career will be defined by what the Leafs do this fucking year.
So he's like, take it all, dude.
I don't care.
me all the good players. The only thing on earth more certain than the Toronto Maple Leaf's losing
in the first round of the playoffs is Kyle Dubus getting fired if they lose in the first round of
the playoffs. So you are so right. If I'm him, I would trade four first round picks. I would,
I would trade the entire franchise and add as many things as possible to guarantee you get out of
that first round. Because if you don't, you're without a job anyway. That is future employed
Kyle Dubus's problem when you're trying to deal with the lack of picks. You don't want it to be
current unemployed Kyle Dubus's problem.
Trade everything, get out of the first round, and then lose in the second round.
Yep.
But they'll give you a new contract, and then if they fire you, they'll give you a key to the
fucking city if you get out of the first round, dude.
You're fine.
Trade it all.
Trade anything as far as picks and prospects, and make sure you get out of the first round.
I'm not going as hard as my team on the devil's call, but this was my honorable mention.
Like, I think Chickren is a leaf.
I will say.
Carolina Hurricanes.
I wouldn't do much.
I think this team is a wagon.
This team was already a wagon
And then they were adding patch ready
And now patch ready is done
Torn A, was it A Achilles?
Or Aeal, yeah.
Tares is Achilles in his first game back
I think so quick.
If it was not first game, first week back
Devastating to see
Because we love patches
But he's done
So that felt like your
That felt like your trade deadline ad
You were getting Patcheretti back
And now he's toast
I think that they could use
Some middle six help here
I wouldn't go big
I wouldn't do anything too crazy
similar to the Bruins who we're about to get to.
You've just got such a good team.
You've been better every year, right?
It's like you've gone a little bit further every year.
You're getting older.
You're getting wiser.
You now have a team full of guys with playoff experience.
So I wouldn't even necessarily need to go and add that
if the hurricanes, for example,
are a team that could add a Teresenko,
that you're like, oh my God, or a Meyer.
I think a Meyer would be a little too aggressive for them,
but Amier or Teresenko on that team, that is one.
Unlike the Devils where if they add that guy, I'm like,
You win.
Holy fucking shit.
That is a serious ad.
I'm scared.
If I'm the Bruins, I'm very scared looking at that.
I see a Gus Nyquist.
A Gus Nyquist type, Ivan Barbership, that's less of a crazy splash.
You're not going to give up first round picks for that.
But if you put Gus Nyquist on a second line with these guys on the hurricanes, I just think
that's a, yeah, you're probably going to pot some goals here.
Same with a barbachev.
those are, that's just a good middle six ad.
But if they want, you're making big, big, big noise if you add of Vladimir Tarasenko or
Atimo Meyer.
They putting Max on long term, IR, frees up seven mil against their cap.
So they have, they could do something.
Yeah.
Um, which is dangerous.
But they, you said it best.
They are, they have great depth.
They have very good depth scoring.
They have good D.
They have good goal tending.
They don't need to do anything.
And the reason I think they don't, and this is the most important thing.
they aren't scared of the fucking Bruins at all.
A lot of teams league are like, oh my God, the bees are wagging they're running away with everything,
which not that the President's trophy's ever been a good barometer.
In fact, it's been horrible.
But the hurricanes are like, dude, we fucking own the Bruins.
I don't give a shit about them.
Oh, I think that that's super ignorant.
They do not own the Bruins at all.
The Bruins have shit pumped them every single year of their existence.
And then last year, they squeaked by them with a Bruins team that had no business
really doing what they're doing
and they barely got by them in seven games
so there, no one in the Carolina
Hurricanes franchise or fan base is going
we own the Bruins. Maybe not own but I
do stand by that they are like
we don't need to do anything to compete with the Bruins
we don't need to make a big splash to hang with the Bruins
that's so fucking different though like don't sit there
and be like this yeah yeah it's like you just said something
I said they're not scared of the Bruins at all
and I stand by that they don't think they own the Bruins
they're like I'm not losing any sleep over the Bruins
but own is the most ridiculous word
I've ever heard in my life with that
Actually, I'm taking them back again.
They own the fucking Bruins.
If they see the Bruins in the playoffs,
they will dust them out of it.
In four games?
No, not four, but it will be six,
and it will suck,
and they don't have to do anything
to make that happen.
So they're good.
All right.
Boston Bruins.
Okay.
If you are the Bruins,
I think this is my advice.
Don't do anything.
Don't do it.
The less you do,
the more you do.
It is honestly how I feel.
I, I,
this team,
you just said it, the president's trophy means nothing.
In fact, I hate winning the president's trophy if I'm a team or a fan.
It's just like never good.
But the Bruins this year, they're on pace to smash the most wins ever record by the Detroit Red Wings in 95-96.
They have the most chemistry I've ever seen from a team since them, like since those Red Wings.
Not even necessarily that record-breaking team, but like the Red Wings teams in like 97-98 and like 2002.
Those teams were just so buzzing.
And you look at that 95-96 Red Wings team, they made one trade for like a 23-year-old fourth-line grinder who had one goal in eight games and then in the playoffs had like one assist in, I think it was one goal in six games in the regular season and then one assist in eight games in the playoffs.
But then they lost in the Western Conference finals to the avalanche.
So you're kind of like, if you're the Bruins, I'm looking at this chemistry and the last thing I want to do is disrupt that.
Truly. It is the last thing I want to do. So I'd be so afraid of making a trade. I would look at guys like Craig Smith and Mike Riley who I think Craig Smith is a UFA next year. I think Riley has one more year at like 2.5 million or no, it's a 3 million flat. If you can move them guys who have been in and out of the lineup, Riley's, I don't remember the last time Riley sniffed the lineup.
Craig Smith's in and out. I think moving those guys, you're not disrupting that much.
and you're freeing up $6 million in cap.
It's probably one,
I mean,
those are little contracts
and like Smith,
you're trading to a team
that's going like this.
Yeah,
we're renting Smith until we don't make
the playoffs.
You know what I mean?
So you're probably going to have to go,
here's a second round pick,
here's a third round pick or something like that.
I think that's fine.
100%.
Like,
This isn't a David Backa's situation.
It's not a big contract
on a guy who's just playing horribly.
So you're going to need to throw in a first round pick
or like a serious prospect.
I think you can move.
move Craig Smith and like a third round pick to a team and get a middle six guy.
But going back into what we're talking about, Craig Smith's in and out of the lineup so much
because the middle six is fine.
It's like, I don't know what you would do.
I don't know defense, I think.
But I mean, you've got two certified number one defensemen in Lynn Holman, McAvoy.
You've got unbelievable defensive players like Brandon Carlo and Derek Forbert is, I mean, good God,
the way he's playing.
Connor Clifton is playing out.
of his shoes right now. You've got Zaboral waiting to come back into the lineup. I just, I'd be,
and Grizzlick obviously is an amazing puck moving defenseman. He's been fantastic since coming back.
I don't know, I don't know what you do. I really don't. And I have, I have one big thing to say
in terms of what you do do, but I want to get your thoughts before I get into all that.
All I was going to say is, if I'm the Bruins, there are people that we talk about a lot,
You just named a lot of them.
Some redundancy in the middle six.
Some redundancy on the blue line.
Contracts that could move that would free up a little bit of space.
But based on the way the season's going, unplug your landline, smash your laptop with a rock, and fucking dunk your cell phone.
Do not disturb.
Dude, do not do anything and ride this out.
Dude, am I terrified about the future of the center position?
Yes.
Am I terrified about some of these contracts and the blue line?
Yes.
I don't fucking care.
Don't touch a damn thing and see what happens.
If we win the cup, awesome.
If we don't, we'll fuck me.
But I will not go down because we traded Craig Smith.
And it turns out he was the locker room DJ and everyone hates their lives now.
Yeah.
Just do not disturb.
It's like you put the do not disturb tag on the door.
You shut off your phone and you toss your laptop into the Atlantic Ocean.
I agree with you.
However, the one thing I think about is what you just said, the future of the center position.
David Posternak is on pace to have his far.
away career season. He is likely, or maybe not likely, if he doesn't win the Rocket
Richard Richard Trophy, Connor McDavid will. He's going to score 60 this year. God. And he is not
re-signed. If you are Don Sweeney in the Bruins, if you are any member of the Bruins fan base,
that non-extension has been terrifying you all season long. And the fact that we are where we are
and he hasn't extended yet is, it remains concerning every single day. And I wonder,
I think pasta loves it in Boston.
Every time he's talking about he's like, yeah, I love it here.
I'd love to resign.
But I think he's not resigning for a number of reasons.
One, I think he wants his bag, which I think he will get, no matter what.
Like, I think the Bruins are probably offering him 8 by 11.5.
And I'm like, does pasta deserve more than that?
Maybe.
Yes.
But I would think, I mean, how a lot?
What?
Not a lot more.
Yeah, I just think it's like he's never been over 100 points.
Not that that's like the only measuring stick for a guy making over 11.5, but he's been
quiet in the plan.
playoffs before in the past. I'm obsessed
with Posta. He's unbelievable. I would lock him up
if it was the last thing I ever fucking did if I was
with the Bruins. But
I think he's looking at a couple
things. Are we going to win the cup this year?
I don't think he'd be the type
of guy who is like, be like this. All I wanted was one cup
and then I want my bag. I'm leaving Boston. I don't
think that. I think he's having a blast playing on
this team. I think David Creachie coming back is like the best
thing that's ever happened to him. I think
he is looking at that future of the center position.
Because if we go into next year with Charlie Coil
as the center, like if I'm the
ruins and we go into that season and he's my only center and i'm david posternach i'm leaving 100%
100% and that sucks to say because there's such amazing players and there's good guys coming up in
the pipeline but not amazing guys so if i am the bruin's and pasta hasn't signed and my bat phone
in my sock rings because i've got i've gotten rid of every other form of communication and it is
steve eisenman yes dude because i really
I don't know why, man.
This is kind of rumbled a little bit online recently.
If Dylan Larkin is telling Steve Iserman, I am not resigning here, you're obviously
trading him.
And I do think if Dylan makes that decision, he will tell Steve.
I don't think he will go to UFA.
I think he will go, hey, dude, I'm not signing so trade me.
And if he calls the Bruins and he goes, yo, sup, I'm willing to be traded here and I will
go eight by eight. I'm a team guy. Like, let's do this. But I'm resigning. You need that
conversation. Just like with Lindholm. I trade Fabian Lysel and I trade a first round pick
and I trade, unfortunately, Charlie Coyle. But here's the thing, dude. I think Charlie Coyle being
removed from that locker room would devastate this Bruins team. And it would be the worst move
ever. It's crazy. And it's insane to say because if you can get rid of that stuff and get a
Dylan Larkin to join this core of David Posternak, Taylor Hall, Brad Marshand,
Hampus Lindholm, with guys like Brett Harrison coming up, guys like, you know, some of these
young guys who are really playing well, that might make pasta stay.
And you have to take that phone call.
You don't have to say yes to it, but you have to take that phone call.
And that is like one of the craziest things about this Bruins team is like, you're so right.
I'm like, don't fuck with anything.
But dude, here's the reality.
No cup is guaranteed ever
It has never been guaranteed
You look at the fucking
Warriors that won
What was it?
The Golden State Warriors that won that broke the record
Won that insane amount of games
And then they lose
You look at the Red Wings
Who set the record at 62 wins
And then they lose
They lose in the Western Conference finals
Not even the Cup finals
So it is scary going like this
We're making zero moves
And everyone else reloads
And we're going into this whole situation
With David Posternak on the side
And you don't win the cup
Oh boy, dude. If you are the Bruins and you don't make a single move and then Berg and Krati retire and David Posnach doesn't resign, that's one of the biggest disaster end of a season you could ever imagine for this Boston Bruins team.
But I don't think that you, or at least you wouldn't face a lot of criticism from me. I would go, wow, that went horribly. But I would go, it's like if you, if you took a girl to the best first date spot on earth and the restaurant lit on fire, I go out went horribly. But I'm not.
mad at my decision.
Yeah.
You know, I'm not mad here.
Yeah.
If they did nothing, I'd be like this.
I support this.
And then if all, everything you just said happens, I go, that went, the restaurant lit on fire.
Yeah.
But I'm like, no be it.
We are in a restaurant spontaneously combustive situation if you were the Boston Bruins.
And that's brutal.
I just, I think I ask so many questions, man.
Like, if I'm Don Sweeney and that Larkin trade, and we're, this is based on nothing,
guys.
Like, I don't, I don't know why.
It's just, it's been talked about a lot.
But if you're the Bruins and you're Don Swinney and that Larkin trade comes on
the table and it's a it's a lysel a first uh and charlie coil and probably something else it's
probably like you you have to add craig smith in that package too you your first move if you're don
sweeney is you go like a steve stevie why i'm driving through a tunnel right now sorry i'm leasing i'm
i'm losing i'm losing interception i'll call you right back and you then talk to the leaders of this
team you call burseran immediately you call mackaboy you call marshan and you go like this what does it feel
what does it do to us if we lose charlie and if they go like this even if they go like this
Oh man
I don't mind
Never mind
But if they're like this
What we're getting Larkin
Do it
You go Charlie who
You go
Okay
So they are in
It's so insane to say
That this team
Is possibly going to break
The Wins record
Who is buzzing
And not to mention
Dude
Jake Debrusk is coming back
Yeah
Like you're getting an ad
It's weird to say
That you're in a like
Uncomfortable position
But you are
And it's
because of Bergeron and Creachie.
Yes.
Like we just talked about the hurricanes who are the second
hottest team in the league.
They're not in this situation.
They're in a like, yeah, go add someone if you can.
But if you can't, it's fine.
If you don't win the cup, it's fine.
If you're the Bruins and you don't win the cup this year,
you're facing a, you are fucked situation.
And that is, oh my gosh, what an awful position to be in.
Don't envy it.
No, not at all.
That's it for the Eastern Conference trades.
Going to be a spicy deadline, though.
Yes, it is.
Guys, I think we're about to see some fireworks.
strap in, it's going to be wild.
We can probably skip
some segments that we usually close with
just because there were not many games.
There were only six.
Actually, I'll do this live
with you really fast in.
There were six games this week, okay?
The Bruins were 1-0.
I don't care.
We're not doing it.
The canes were...
The canes were two in it.
It doesn't know.
Okay, we don't have to do Matthews
because the poor guys hurt
and they're on a break.
But we do have to do two segments
because it's really important to me
and cool stuff.
Okay.
Happened.
One.
I go watch.
Okay, go.
He still has 38 and 34
because they haven't played
since last week,
but more importantly,
I spoke to Bruce Cassidy
about this personally.
I'm going to have Emily
slash Brian cut this in right now.
Audio playing,
audio playing.
We have never been
more alive on the bet,
dude.
I hope that me and Bruce
stuffed shrimp cocktail
down your stupid throat
till it's coming out your ears.
First of all,
idiot.
That's not what makes me eat a trim cocktail.
What does it make you do?
90 points was what made me eat trim cocktail.
On pace to 90 points.
Which I generously gave you.
And by the way, Bruce is talking 90s back on the table, dude.
Well, I'm just saying he said he would keep the bet of over 72.
Over 71.
Or 71 and half.
So you're dead.
You're dead.
Stuff shrimp cocktail on your face.
That's not the shrimp cocktail bet, though.
That won't make me eat shrimp cocktail.
In the amount of games he has left, if he hits 72, it would be the 90 point pace.
So, yeah.
We don't know that.
We have to do that math.
Oh, you did them now?
Okay, then yeah, I'm getting shrimp cocktail stuffed out my throat.
Thank you, Bruce, thank you, Jack.
That's amazing.
And I hope it happens.
And I hope it happens, dude.
Do you have anything to say about the playoff trail?
Are you good?
Playoff trail, we're in the same position, dude.
We're fucking feeling great.
Like I said, with games in hand, with those caps,
the Buffalo Sabres are in a wild card spot if we pump out some wins here,
which I feel very confident about.
We do think we need Tage back more than anything in the world.
And I think Dahlene getting his vacation partially ruined was bad.
No, I think it's going to fire up.
He got his first ever all-star appearance.
It was great that he got to do that.
It was going to be Tages.
Now it's Dahlines.
They did it together.
And then he just popped right back on vacation with the boys.
Okay.
Last segment.
Do you have anything people should watch this week?
Yeah, I got one.
I'm just doing this Thursday game.
Cracken Devils, two teams that are absolutely wheeling.
I think that's going to be a really fun, you know, like young guys.
Two new teams in terms of the top teams in the league battle.
Always fun.
Incredible.
I have some.
I'm going to go out of chronological.
logical order because of importance. I'm airing on importance order.
So we're going to start with this. Tuesday, the 14th, Valentine's Day.
Boston at Dallas, top team in the East versus top team in the West, the Sagan Cup.
What a lovely game on Valentine's Day. Take your significant other. Go out to dinner. It's going to be tremendous.
Okay, this Thursday, when this drops. Vancouver at the Islanders.
You can't script this shit, dude.
both
that's not that
monumentous
but like I appreciate
what you're doing here
that's a good one dude
it's good but it's like
I think it's
back from the break
yeah but it's fucking
two weeks later
like I think it's way
more impactful
when it's like
Goddrow this year
it's been a long time
you haven't been there
in a while
he's gonna be like this
I was here two days ago
and it's in
in New York
but still that's a nice
there's just not enough time
in between there
for it to be that
emotional
Sunday February 12th
we did it Dan
it's finally here
okay
Seattle at Philly
Bowie at Gritty
I got a hug from Bowie
I know you did
I got a hug from Bowie
in the elevator
Does that put you on his side now
I feel like you were on Gritty's side
coming into the season that you were like
Gritty's gonna fuck Bowie
I think he still is I'm not
I don't think I'm on either side
I just like I want to battle
so well you're about to get it
because we did it first time all year
I got clowned by the Dallas Stars mascot
at the All Star game
Yeah, you absolutely did.
Let's be, we're going to be on high alert on that game because some shit's going to happen.
If boo and pretty don't get into some shit.
That's Sunday.
Everyone tune in.
All right, guys, that was it for our Eastern Conference Trades Breakdown.
That is it for us at this episode.
We'll keep jamming away with you guys.
We'll be on high alert for all these trades that are about to come through.
And until then, we'll see you next week.
Keep eyes on the Rangers.
Skate hard.
Later.
