Empty Netters Podcast - 18. The Rangers Are Bank Robbers
Episode Date: March 1, 2023Discussing the most INSANE trade deadline in recent memory and if it's possible to accidentally spit in someone's face. (08:51) Bruins Get Badder (21:30) Timo The Devil (35:09) Leafs Finally Add De...fense (47:02) Kane In A Blueshirt (59:49) Jumbo Joe/Accidental Spits/Goalie Goal (1:15:00) Hottest Teams of the Week (1:18:50) Eichel/Playoffs/Matthews (1:26:44) What 2 Watch NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
All right, welcome back to the empty netters podcast.
We have the most fucking electric episode ever coming because the NHL has exploded the last week.
What a time to be alive.
It's been five of the craziest days in recent memory as far as wild happenings in the league,
crazy trades, unreal games.
We've got people spitting on people.
We've got goalie goals.
We've got blockbuster deals.
this shit is out of control.
It's unbelievable.
I'm pretty fired up.
How do you feel,
I'm pretty fired up too.
I feel like I've been seeing a lot of people
having a lot more respect for the NHL
just because they're starting to realize
like how cool it is that people just spit on each other
and fight it out.
And I'm like, not because it's been a while for me,
but I'm like, I fucking told you so.
That's what I'm saying.
Dude, I...
But it's more so like you guys told me.
Yeah, yeah.
But that's all it takes is one.
I mean, listen, dude.
They're spitting and fighting in porn and people watch porn every day.
They're spitting and fighting in hockey.
Like, get in.
I watch both every day.
Look at that.
You know what?
I really didn't need to know that today.
Come on, you watch porn every day too.
God fucking no.
Isn't it weird when people just like, it's okay.
Just don't lie.
Dan, I swear to fucking God, I would admit it to you if I watched porn every day.
Okay, I actually believe you.
So it's like every two days.
No.
Three.
Not even every week.
Not even every week.
Every week? What do you do all week?
I'd give you like maybe like once a month.
What's happening? You must have more for you. You must have. How many hobbies do you have?
You know you're allowed to, right? Like it's nothing's, nothing's holding you back.
I don't sit there and saying like, oh, Emily, I want to watch porn, but I'm not going to. Absolutely not.
But once a month you just get the itch to be like this. I'm going to throw on some porn real quick.
No, like not really is. This happens.
You've stumbled into it. So by happenstance porn. I really hate this conversation.
porn pops on once a month for you.
It's like, oh.
That's really like my older brothers and I hate this conversation.
Look at that.
It's like, Emily walks into a room and it's just like, oh, there's porn.
Ah, I got to watch it.
Oh, shit.
Haven't hit my month.
Whoops, it has fell into my lap.
Whoops.
It looks like there's some porn on.
You're going to watch it.
It's like when you turn on.
Do you watch porn every single day?
Minimum once a day.
Minimum.
Just got to stay relevant.
It's like research.
Even if you're like, even if you like are with your girlfriend, do you still watch it
every single day?
Defined with, do you mean literally next to her or with as in still dating her?
Still dating slash like if you're literally, like if you would be like living with her.
That's that you're staying with her.
Please God.
Tell me you're not the type of person who thinks that when you're in a relationship,
you're no longer allowed to watch porn.
No, no, no, no.
I've been with guys where I've like, no.
That's a popular take.
Yeah, I think it's insane.
So you're not allowed to.
If you're dating me, you can't watch porn in it.
Because they're like, how could you ever?
Can you imagine being that fucking.
insecure. Are you fucking serious?
It's mind-blowing.
Yeah. There's a lot of... I dated
a girl once who was early on.
I wouldn't even... We didn't date. We were going
on dates. And she was like, let's talk
about some real stuff. Like, for example,
I think that since we've kind of been hanging out
a few times here now, I don't think you should watch porn anymore.
Are you fucking serious? And I was like, okay,
I'm going to stop. I'm going to walk out right now.
I was like, wow, that's a good point. I'm going to
just go to the bathroom real quick and I'll be right back.
And I will never come back. And I, we never
saw her again. Dan muted the porn.
that was currently playing on his phone.
I literally hit pause and went like this.
Sorry, could you say that again?
I was just watching porn.
I'd so much like rather than watch porn than not.
Because then it's like at least...
Once a month.
No, at least you're watching porn and like, not at least watching porn and not cheating on me,
but like I feel like it's less of a chance that you're cheating on me if you're watching porn.
Agree.
I mean, I think a dude that doesn't watch porn is like a guy that can't be trusted.
Yeah.
If you're like, yeah, I don't really watch porn.
I'm like this.
Where is your human skin lampshade collection, sir?
Where are you, where is your semen?
In jars.
Yeah.
With dates on them.
Like, that's the only alternative.
I do think it's rattling when people watch porn that the actor or actress looks just like their significant other.
Like, I think you'd go to porn for what you're not getting.
You know, like, it's like the, it's like the I love you man scene where he's like, yeah, like when I masturbate, I,
There's like a photo of my fiancé that I use.
It's like you in your wildest fantasy.
What if you're trying to like watch your,
what if you just are trying to picture yourself having sex with your girl
and you just want to see it from another perspective?
But I would just do it myself.
Like you're implying that you could live with a girl.
What if you want to see it from another perspective?
Which is what?
Through like a grainy delayed video where the audio isn't synced.
And I'm like, oh, this is better than real life.
What back alley porn sites are you using, dude?
What the fuck?
Yeah, you're right.
The porn.
pre-porn game is really improved. It's unbelievable. It looks like Avatar 2 out these days. It's
unbelievable. Good God. That's so true. All right. Well, maybe we should get into some hockey
talk here. Because like we said, it's been a fucking absolutely ridiculous week. Let's start
with the Bruins trade, I think. Okay. Can I start with a wild take? Yeah. Not even about that
trade, about trades. Yes. So, one of, I think, hockey has this, but it's not as
crazy, but one of our favorite days
in between sports seasons is
day one of
NFL free agency or NBA free
just because it's like Bethlehem.
Like all the NBA and NFL Insiders
Shephler's tweeting, people are like signing.
It's like an arms race across the league and it's just so
action. Yes.
I also think that
teams change their trade
targets and plans when another team makes a move.
Like someone wanted like the
Keynes wanted Timo. Fuck, didn't get him.
Now they're going to try to do something else, whatever.
So I get that that is relevant.
But I almost wish the NHL wasn't like,
you can make any trades you want up until March 3rd.
I wish they were like this.
You can make trades March 1st through March 3rd.
And it was chaos.
Oh, yeah.
Because then there'd be collusion.
In that 48 hours.
Twitter would be like, boom, boom, boom.
And you know people would be talking before March 1st.
You know, like they're lining up deals.
So the second, the clock.
strikes midnight. We got this trade. We got that trade. That would be bedlam. And it'd be like,
you know, soccer where there's like a transfer window. I'm pitching like a really condensed,
maybe a week, but like February, I can't do the math, like February 25th to March 3rd.
Yes. Let's fucking go. I'm going to go the other way and say, I wish there was no trade deadline.
And I wish you could be in the Stanley Cup finals and a team hasn't played for two months. And you could
go like this. Oh, we just traded and acquired this guy. That I think would be fantastic.
Dude, what's wild about that is your brain goes to like, well, that's not fair because, like, it's like fantasy sports.
You're like, well, no, that we cut it off because that team's out and you're just trying to collude and win the fantasy league.
But in this, it would be interesting because you'd have to send something, like, you'd have to send real assets back.
Like, if I wanted, you know, who's going to pass the playoffs?
Massive players get hurt during the Stanley Cup run.
And it's like, I mean, look at the Bruins, because we're about to talk about the Bruins in 2010 or whatever it was when they blew a three.
lead on the flyers because Crachie got hurt.
Imagine if they could have called someone up and been like this,
hey, we need to make a trade right now.
Here's our first round pick.
Give me a center.
Why don't they do that?
I think for that, I think it would be mayhem.
But we love mayhem.
And it would cost so much more because teams would be like,
you're fucked.
You're a desperate fool at the end of his pitiful rope.
Give me 10 first round picks.
And they go, okay, my cup windows open.
Yes.
And, by the way, I don't know, we'll talk about this in a second,
but I don't know barring injury
how many teams would make
trades anyway
because it's a system
too late to learn the system you have such good team chemistry
like do you want to bring in a guy in the second fucking round
and just inject them into a line? Probably not
so I don't think you'd see this a ton barring injury
a high risk, high reward
situation that's electric. Dude
need more of it. Current trade
situation horrible. Either
no deadline or you have two days
to make trades all year and that's it. Three days.
Three days. Deal.
One of those two needs to happen.
I just think it's chaos.
You need chaos.
Chaos is fun.
And I like yours because it is, you know, if there was no trade deadline trades could happen,
it would be even more stretched out than it is.
So a three-day window would be bedlam.
Yeah.
And like I said, I'll give it a week, but that would be really cool, I think.
It would be fun.
I would be living on Twitter.
It would be fun.
So we discussed this last Thursday on the Instagram stories when it broke,
but here for the first time on the pod, the Boston Bruins,
the league leading team made.
a monster trade with the Washington Capitals,
where they sent Winger Craig Smith,
a 2023 first round pick,
a 2025 second round pick,
and a 2024 third round,
or fifth round pick.
I think so.
I think.
Emily's in charge of that.
Emily, you can get on trade specs.
But it was three picks,
Craig Smith,
to the Washington Capitals for defenseman,
Demetri Orlov.
forward Garnett Hathaway.
They are retaining 50% of Orlov's salary, as in the caps are.
And then the third team that got involved, the wild, I think so.
And then the B's got the rights to a guy playing in the KHL right now,
who's actually a decently solid player,
but I think all signs point to he's never going to play for the Bruins or anyone in the show.
Anyway, this trade was for, you know, Craig Smith and T.
picks for Orloven Hathway.
Before I even get into what I think about this trade for the Bruins, what I can't believe,
and to me, what this trade signifies so clearly for the caps is they're packing it in.
They are going, we're out, we're not making the playoffs, the season is over.
You are trading your number two defenseman and a very important bottom six grinder forward
in Garner-Hathaway.
He's having a good year.
He has nine goals this year.
and you're going like this, we're done.
So they are five points, well, there are three points back from a wild card spot, but the
teams ahead of them, literally all of them, have minimum one game in hand.
So it is, if you're doing the math, an uphill battle.
Very much so.
But you are three points away.
Like, this is crazy.
Yeah, I couldn't believe it, dude.
I legitimately could not believe this trade.
And Orloves is UFA next year, Hathways UFA next year.
You could see maybe the argument that maybe they had internal discussions.
Orlov's 31 years old.
Yep.
He's a good defenseman.
He's a perennial 30-ish point guy a season.
You would think that they would want to bring him back.
But I wonder if they've had the conversation.
He's like, I do not want to come back.
So then you trade him.
But yeah, man, it's you don't really hear any rumblings of Washington now trying to add someone.
Right.
So it feels very.
And I will eat criss.
if in the next two, three days.
They do.
All of a sudden, they make a trade
to replace that hole on the blue line,
add some maybe middle six help.
But it looks like the caps are like,
we're toast, dude.
Right.
Well, because to your point right there,
Craig Smith and Garnie, different players for sure,
but you're kind of like, okay,
bottom middle six, bottom six swap.
That's a wash.
And then you lose Orloff.
But if you bring someone in for term, especially,
I'm like, oh, you're kind of right back in it.
But you kind of called me out on this
when we were doing Eastern Conference trade breakdowns
where I was like, yeah, he's kind of the last run here
for the Penguins and the Caps for Sid and Ovi, and it's like,
not really, they're gonna put, what are they fucking retiring? No, like, they're
certainly playing for a while. That's what I'm saying. So, I don't think
it's, if the Caps missed the playoffs this year, it's not a disaster because I'm
like, well, Ovi's gone and that's it. It's all over. And it's like,
well, no, they could be like, it's probably not us this year. We called,
I mean, certainly I did. I can't remember what you said preseason. I was
like, they're going to miss the playoffs. Yes, we both said that. So I'm like,
yeah, kind of, this is where I thought it was going.
So credit to them for having some fucking self-awareness for once and not tripping them,
tripping GMs everywhere and being like, yo, it ain't our year.
Get me out of here.
Rest the boys over the summer, dude.
Let them play some golf.
Get lower the handicap.
Yeah, look to make off-season acquisitions.
Maybe an Eric Carlson heads his way over to Washington.
Ever heard of him?
Ever heard of the best defensemen in the league right now?
But they're packing it in is what it looks like.
And yeah, I think even if I do have to eat crow in the next three days and they make a trade,
I would think they're dumb for it.
Yeah.
I'd be like this.
You're dumb.
You're not making it.
So that's that.
One of our buddies just given us a hard time about, they're like, every team you guys listed
in the trade deadline, you were like, blow it up, blow it up, blow it up.
But I was like, blow it up, dude.
If you're not making the playoffs, blow it the fuck up.
Like there were a few teams where we're like, don't like, Anahama, I was like, don't blow it up.
There's some people you could trade.
But yeah, dude, blow it the fuck up and start over.
I like it.
Get creative.
Fresh blood, dude.
Fresh blood.
I have a question.
Yeah, go.
So if someone gets traded, so in this, there is an example here.
An example of what, a trade?
Well, no, no, just we.
Okay, sorry.
So when someone gets traded to a team, like what if, and clearly, as mentioned
before, there's many fights in the NHL, what if someone who's gotten traded to that
team has, like, beefed with someone on the team, like, and you moved to that team?
Do you just instantly become boys?
Or like, do you have to hash it out first?
Or like, what happens?
Because I don't know if you knew this.
But Hathaway and Brad Marchand have had a little fight on the ice.
So what happens?
It's a fantastic question.
You hash it out immediately.
I think they, I think guys come in and you know it's part of the game.
If you have fought, if you've literally been in a fight
or if you've had beef on the ice, it's just part of the game.
It was like a bad fight.
So if there's actual like really nasty beef where it's like I fucking hate this piece of shit.
Brady Kachuk and Brendan Lemieux really do not like each other.
I think that is a situation where you would probably not see that trade happen because if it's a very important player in your team like Marshand is for the Bruins,
if he and Hathaway actually had beat they couldn't get over.
I think the GM of the Bruins and their entire front of.
office would probably talk to Brad and be like, hey, we're thinking about trading for
halfway.
Is that going to be a problem?
And if Brad were like, yes, I will not speak to him, you don't make that trade.
But yeah, it's just part of the game in business.
Sometimes players have no trade.
Like they can decide, I don't want to go to these teams and they'll list.
Yeah, yeah.
They're like, I hate that guy.
They list that team.
They're like, I'm not going there.
But it is a good question.
And even though I'm sure you just hash it out and it's fine, it must be weird at
first.
Because you're like, hey, what's up?
We don't really like each other.
Yeah.
Yeah, like hey, you literally knocked my teeth out.
Yo.
That's interesting.
So looking at the Bruins side of this trade, we kind of talked about this on the
Instagram page, but Orlov comes in as a UFA.
You've traded again now.
You've traded a first round pick for a defenseman.
We've heard a little bit of talks that it might look like the Bruins are looking
to extend him.
They haven't done that yet.
We'll see if that breaks in the next few days here.
However, Orlov had.
19 points this season so far in something like 45-ish games, whatever. And adding Orlov means
come playoff time, Matt Griswick, Derek Forbert, or Connor Clifton is sitting. And they're
going to be watching the playoff games from the press box. Obviously, injuries happen. That's why
a lot of people are saying this is a great trade. You just added a fantastic depth, top-paring
defenseman. I look at this team and Grizzlick has something like 18 points on the season. Forbert
has 15 points, Clifton has 11 points.
They're all kind of living in a similar
sphere here.
The bees have unbelievable chemistry
that's all anyone has ever talked about
when this team comes up and trades come up.
So, as a guy who doesn't give a fuck
about draft picks,
trade your draft picks.
If you were in a win now mentality, which we've talked about
with the Bruins, they are absolutely in a win
this season or fucking kill yourself.
Trade all your draft picks.
The only question I have
have is did you just trade a first, a second, and a fifth, and Craig Smith, or whatever,
is fifth or whatever it is, for, could you have gotten more?
Is all I'm asking?
It felt when the trade first broke, because I saw some outlets loving it, when the trade
first broke, you and I were both fucking pissed because it just seemed like such an expensive,
like, Chickren was going to cost more than that, I think, but it just seemed like there were
guy, there were blue line depth guys that you could have got without giving
up a first round pick. And so I was like, that's such an overpayment. Um, I've heard a million,
uh, Orloff's so underrated. Like, what a steal. Wait till he's in the right system. And I'm like,
okay, I guess. But like, usually I'm not spending first round picks on an underrated guy.
I'm spending first round picks on a guy who is exceptionally rated and correctly rated. Yeah.
So, uh, that was bothering me a ton. Um, I think it was mostly the salary. It was all the
salary retention that was like you're paying that pick to not pay this guy and it might be another
situation here is i think orloff's a great player yeah i do me too he's a great player uh first russian
on the bruin since 2016 and anton hudobin and and i'm not i'm not sure who the the russian
was before that like it is very rare to see a russian on the boston bruns right now uh if he
resigns here in the next couple weeks for you know four years let's call it four by four
something like that and you are now looking at the next four at least years of
maccavoid lindholm or love and carlo yeah you feel pretty great i i like that move and that that is
worth the first and second round pick probably um so maybe that is what we'll see but yeah i i don't
if you would put a you know put me on the spot last week and said is demetri orloff worth the
first round pick i probably would have been like uh oh don't think so i don't think so i don't
think it's that quick, but I'd like, don't think so.
And if you had said the Bruins are trading Craig Smith,
a first, a second, and another pick
for a defenseman,
I wouldn't have said Chickren.
I think Chikrin costs a little bit more, but I would have said
Gostas Beer. I would have said Klingberg,
you know, and so this
was surprising, but, you know,
bees have two games under their belt with Orlov,
two wins, so,
or one game, one game under the belt
with Orlov and a win.
So, they're playing tonight against
Edmonton. We'll see if he makes a splash,
but the Bruins undeniably got better.
Pathway comes home to a team he rooted for his whole life.
That is going to add some serious extra grit to the fourth line with the bees.
But similar situation, right?
Some people we liked a lot are now sitting down.
Yes, and Craig Smith has gone.
And Craig Smith has had a disappointing tenure with Boston.
I think by all accounts, Craig Smith would admit that.
But Craig Smith's a phenomenal player and a Massachusetts native guy,
Massachusetts native guy
everyone loves him in that locker room
so that's tough to see him go
but end of the day
no matter how you slice it the best
in the league just got better and that's
huge dude I always
wonder how this shit happens I get
when the league goes
where
puck moving defensemen
are hard to find and I'm like yeah totally
like I get that the league you know there was like
stay at home defenseman
bulking hitting body crushing
defenseman. It's hard to find a guy that's got quick
feet, good hands, move the puck up the ice,
weapon on the power play. That's a
skill thing that I get is
rare in the world.
What I don't get is
when I'm reading all these trade articles,
everybody goes like this.
And it came up a million times in the Orlov trade.
The Bruins get
the rare, extremely rare
left shot defensemen. Everyone
looking for left shot defensemen. People
paying, they're emptying their savings
accounts for left shot defensemen. And I'm like,
What the fuck happened? Like how did this whatever year, birth year this is, entire generation
grow up and there's just no such thing as left off defense. When did that go extinct when I wasn't
looking? I don't know. It is weird how often that's talking about though. Like it's just such a
weird thing and I have nothing, I have no analysis about it. I'm just like how are there no left
shot defenseman? I'll go do it right now. Can I make the league? You can't dude. You're too old
and slow. Yeah, but I have a left shot. I think that trumps everything. That's true. If you could
just be like this, I play D. I'll do it. I'm a left shot. D. I'm a left shot. I think the
Bruins will give up a second rounder for me right now.
It is rare, but now the bees are overloaded on that, right?
I think that's like an area of strength for them all of a sudden.
Yeah, which is why we're the favorites.
We're the favorites because of that now.
Yeah, people are like, do you think it's because of their record, dude?
It's because they've got fucking assloads of left shot defensemen.
Can you fucking believe that?
All right, we got to get to the next big blockbuster trade.
So when everyone's had their eyes on since Bo Horvatt,
Tim O'Meier finally moved, and he moved to a team that yet again,
this podcast predicted.
Told you.
I'm pretty sure, dude, if you go back
and look at that episode,
not only we posted the clip
where we guessed that,
but I'm pretty sure,
because I humiliated myself
with my lock of the century on Beau.
I was wrong.
I can't remember what I said.
But I was like,
in the episode,
I was like, my new lock of the century
is Timo on the devil.
Yes, correct.
And he's on the devils.
Not a lot of people had it.
So,
Timom Meyer has gone to the devils.
And Emily,
would you please kindly
list us the details
of that trait?
Name all the players.
Yeah, because a lot of players move.
See if you can name.
Read those names.
This was a savage trade.
Tons of people going back and forth.
The sharks who will retain 50% of Myers' trade salary, sorry, salary,
receive forwards Fabian Zetterland and Andreas Johnson,
defenseman Shakir Mukamalu Dulin, and Nikita Okahoo-Ti-Ok,
and a conditional first-round pick in the 2023 NHL draft
and a second and seventh round pick in the 2024 NHL draft.
The Devils also received defenseman, Scott Harrington, and San Terry Hataka,
forward prospect, Timor Ibergra, move, goalie prospect.
What happened there at the end?
Turned into an opera singer at the end of that one.
Zachary Emmond and fifth round pick of the 2024 NHL draft.
Great.
Thank you.
Great job, Emily.
You could do play.
why play? All right, this trade, one of my favorite trades in the game, because big thumbs up to both
teams. Yeah. I think this is a great trade for both teams. I think for the sharks, you got your
first, you got a second conditional, but regardless, you got a second here, you got another pick
in there, you got a boatload of prospects. That is how you do it. You're moving a guy who's not
coming back. He's a highly touted player that a ton of teams want. Meyer, I assume he's,
we're going to see a extension with New Jersey.
Yeah. So for me, New Jersey, you moved a lot of prospects. You moved high picks. Oh, no. No,
not oh no. You fucking moron draft pick loving knobheads. Trade it all. The devils are good.
They started hot. Everyone was like, whoa, we didn't expect this. And they're still hot because all
these guys are playing good now. Here's the deal. Like we said, your draft picks next year,
the year after, the year after, they're not helping this team win now.
You know who is?
Team O'Mire.
And everyone else around you is getting better.
Exactly.
So you got to do something right now.
So great fucking job.
Both teams, the sharks are in a bad way.
They need picks and prospects.
They got picks and prospects for a guy who wasn't coming back.
The devils need to win now.
Get players are going to help them win in the next year to three years.
They got that.
Great job.
I have two questions.
One comment, one question.
The comment is, I don't know shit about all those people Emily just listed.
Like this trade is obviously like,
Demo for the picks.
So what makes me laugh is the sharks go,
someone on the sharks was like,
these are good prospects, give us these.
And the devils were like,
okay,
well,
that's completely depleting our farm system.
So we need like literal human bodies
that can play hockey back.
So give me somebody back.
And the sharks are like,
okay, who?
Because obviously I can't give you top prospects back
because then what's the point?
So we're talking like middle,
no offense these guys,
I don't know them,
but like presumably middling prospects.
So I just love the Jonah Hill moneyball guy
who works for the devil
who's like, give me mug of the move.
And they're like, okay, you can have...
Give me Eamond.
He's a 32-year-old H.L.
I need someone to play right-wing on my second line in the HAL.
Otherwise, we're going to forfeit the rest of the season.
They got that Joe Dale character in the front office somewhere.
100%.
Cramming H.L film into his eyeballs.
So you're just pulling out names.
Mix and matching.
In our Eastern Conference Trade Breakdown,
you called this trade, and I said,
no disrespect to Tim O'Meyer.
this, if I'm another team in the East, this trade doesn't terrify me.
This was about to be my question.
I stand by it.
And I know if we were to post this clip, people would be like, you fucking idiot.
All these Jersey people would be like, dude, come fucking drink the water down here, you fucking prick.
Emily can do it.
Do your jersey accent.
Yeah, do it.
I don't know if I like can do that.
You can't do a New Jersey accent?
You're from New Jersey.
Like coffee?
Water.
Water.
Water.
Water.
We're going to go down to the pier and have some water.
ice.
You just sounded like a little child.
Doesn't it, but it a beauty,
I was a little New Jersey kid.
Yeah, that's what I was doing.
Who has water ice other than New Jersey people?
I don't have water ice.
Yeah, you do.
You're telling me you never went down to the Jersey Shore and got some water ice.
You're saying water now.
Yeah, because that's how they say it.
I never got water ice.
Did you call it Italian ice or water ice?
Italian ice.
That makes me happy.
Yep.
I couldn't stand it when.
Ralph's Italian ice.
There you go.
That was good.
Which I now found out they have it here.
What's the other one?
Drake's.
I don't know.
Drake's Italian ice is a thing, right?
I don't know.
Sometimes I just want you to shut up.
Drake is a rapper.
Why?
What?
Look up Drake's Italian ice right now.
That's no...
I think I'm thinking of Drake's coffee cakes.
Oh, Drake's cakes.
Drake's coffee cakes are fucking fire.
There's no such thing as...
Drake's Italian ice.
There's something called Drake's organic spiked ice.
But you know, it's good. Look up Drake's coffee cake.
You're going to recognize it when you see it.
Yeah, I know.
Those things are delicious.
Okay, anyway.
That's like the same brand as Yodels.
Is it?
Yeah.
Oh, all right.
Yeah, okay.
So we're going to be mad.
These Jersey people are going to be mad.
They're going to be bad at me.
But what I'm saying is I don't, this makes them better, no doubt.
They have tons more offensive firepower.
I don't think that a second, first.
line winger gets the New Jersey Devils into the wow you're a serious cup contender
conversation.
Timo Myers never played an important game in his entire fucking life.
Sorry, that's the reality.
You have literally never played.
That shit matters when you're 12, dude.
That's true.
You have never played an important game in your NHL career, not one.
That's so mean.
It is mean, but it's not his fault.
It's the shark's fault.
The entire time.
Like, have you played an important end of anything?
No, which is why.
Well, that's why if I were added to an NHL
team, I wouldn't say they have a better chance of winning the cup.
That's my point.
Okay.
So he has 31 tucks, which is nice.
Yeah, he's a fucking sick player.
21 assists, which is not nice, but maybe we'll just credit that to his team around him.
He has to do most of the heavy lifting here.
Probably going to hit career high end points.
It's going to be pretty close, actually.
How many NHL seasons is he have?
well this first season he played 34 games i don't know if you want me to count that but if you do
one two three four five six he's in year seven okay and look up how many playoff games does he
have in his career i want to say nothing right oh here we go uh i think they they probably made it
his first a couple years five games when he was 20 10 games when he was 21 20 games when he was
22 and then that he hasn't been since he was 22 he's 26 now yeah
How many point career playoff points does he have?
Zero burgers in the five games.
In the 10 games when he was 21, two goals, three assists, five points.
And then when he was 22 in 20 games, five goals, nine assists, 14 points.
Okay, there you go.
That's contribution, dude.
It is contribution.
He's played some playoff games, but those Sharks teams didn't do anything.
Correct?
And he hasn't been to the playoffs in five years.
He's been there.
He's been there.
but my question is
do you didn't think the devils were serious contenders
before this trade is what you're saying no no no no
they are that is a brutal series dude
like whoever they end up playing
the rags like probably yeah
the canes are probably going to win the met
but you know the canes just dropped a game to fucking Anna
that's close than I thought canes 86 points
58 games devil's 83 points
points, 59 games. So the canes have a game in hand, but it's three points. Yeah, it's close.
Rags 77. So theoretically, and they got a pretty good gap on the wildcar team. So it's like,
those are the top three. Devils and Cains really are battling for that one feed to avoid the rags.
I think the devils are a phenomenal team, and I'm putting my money on them over the Rangers.
If they play the Rangers in the first round, I think the devils probably win that series,
unless Schisturkin pulls it together and goes unconscious.
What if they get Kane?
I think Kane helps, but I think it's all about Chesterkin.
If Sterkin is not playing what he did,
the playing to the level of what he did last year,
it's a totally different ballgame.
If he pulls it together in the playoffs,
which is very possible,
where we've got a different story here.
But as things stand,
I think the Devils probably take that in seven games.
So, yeah, I think the Devils are great.
I meant a, do I think they're a top three, four cup contender team?
And I'm not quite sure they, I definitely didn't think they were pre-Meyer.
Now I'm saying I'm not sure I think this pushes them over the edge.
Didn't move the needle enough for you.
I just don't know that I think they needed tons of scoring.
You know, I...
But with them, it's tough because it's like, where do they even need help?
I may be defense, but not really.
They've got a great defensive core.
They're a solid defensive team.
So I think it's a big move, dude.
It is a huge move, dude.
And the bigger thing is they're going to extend him.
I got caught stroking off the cane.
a couple Eps ago, and you were right.
I was like, because they looked dangerous last year.
Obviously, they beat the Bs.
And then I was like, dude, the canes are so fucking good.
Because all the preseason shit had them being nasty.
Then they started slow.
Well, they started fine.
The devil just started so hot.
And then the canes just surged.
And I was like, see, they're the fucking nasty, dude.
They're the fucking second best team in hockey.
This is insane.
They're going to shit pump the bees or whatever I said.
But I was like, wow, Carolina is so good.
and you were like, dude, they like snuck by the bees in seven last year, and the bees weren't good,
and then they got beat by the Rangers.
And plus, they were just getting crushed on the road, remember?
You know, they just protected home ice every time.
So I was like, yeah, you're right.
It's not like in my head, the Keynes were like in the Eastern Finals last year, but they weren't.
Like, they lost to the rain.
They barely got by the Bruins and then lost to the Rangers in the second round.
Yeah.
They weren't this unstoppable wagon.
So I had to kind of reset my thoughts on them right now being like, oh, well, they're going to roll through whoever they get right here.
I'm like, maybe not, dude.
No.
The devils, I don't, I don't, I'm not sure I have the canes over the devils easily in a
playoff series right now.
I completely.
I'm like, yeah, go, the devils could fucking beat them, no problem.
I completely agree.
So that's why I'm a little higher.
I do think the Atlantic's a little bit, like some of those teams scare you, fucking Toronto,
who knows, but like Tampa has the pedigree, the Bruins look like a wagon.
Those are tough matchups.
But right now I'm like, dude, the devils could be the second favorite team.
No doubt.
The second favorite team with Meyer coming out of the east.
I think.
that's totally possible.
For me, it's, it all comes down to, dude, the playoffs are just such a beast.
And, you know, I said, Myers not played an important game in his life.
It's obviously not true.
He has some playoff games.
He has never played meaningful hockey.
Never in his life, dude.
But really, what I meant by that is it's been four or five seasons since he's been in the playoffs.
So it's not like you're going and getting a Ryan O'Reilly, who just won a cup, who's been in the playoffs the last three years, stuff like that.
More importantly, to argue against myself, I do think playoff experience as a team match.
matters a ton. Like I think the devils are fucked. So that's what I was going to say with Carolina.
Is like Carolina finally got over the hump last year beat Boston, but they lost pretty immediately
after that. But I think they will be better this year. Because it's, dude, the Stanley Cup playoffs,
man, as a team, yeah, you just, you need to know what it's like. And when you look at this devil's team
at the best players on this team, it's Jack Hughes, it's Nico Heeshire, it's Dougie Hamilton,
it's Jesper Bratt, it's Team O'Me. And I'm like, have you got, like, what
type of playoff experience do you guys have collectively because it's not a lot yeah and that's okay
but i am saying it's something to consider when you're looking at the devils if you're making bets on the
devils it's just rare when you see a very very young fresh bright-eyed and bushy-tailed team
get into the stanley cup players and be like this yeah we're going straight to the cup it's like
look at fucking florida last year dude florida was the best team in the league and everyone was like
holy shit the panthers are so good and they're like we haven't sniffed the fucking playoffs in a
meaningful way in a long time and they got swept like dirt on the bottom of your shoe out of the
fucking playoffs.
Like, see you later, you fucking morons.
So it's like, this is how I feel about the devils is like, I love this devil's team.
And I love that Jack Hughes has exploded into a player.
But adding Tim O'Meier who has not even looked at the playoffs, he hasn't even seen it sail by him in
the last four or five years.
I'm like, yeah, he's a great ad.
But it's not insane.
The devils are actually fucked
I take it all back
No, I think they are
I actually think they're not at all what I'm fucking saying
I'm saying I'm completely wrong
I'm taking it all back they have no experience they're
fucked you're making a call now I like that
they're gonna fuck with that
The next trade which I am so happy to report
that I can't wait
to discuss is the Toronto
Maple Leafs
and Chris
do you like do you know what they did
would you have a guess I think they added
I know what they did
forward.
Oh, yeah?
Yeah, I think it was more
offensive firepower.
Yeah, because that's all the
all the Toronto fans in our DMs
were saying how they're
one of the best defensive teams in the league
and there's no way Dubas could possibly want defense.
Right?
Yeah, because so they wanted more scoring.
Yes.
Emily, why don't you tell us
what the Toronto trade was?
They acquired
Jake,
I don't know what to pronounce
his house name.
That is easy.
It's either McCabe or...
Got it.
It could be like Maccabee.
No, it couldn't.
You don't know.
That's...
Well, I do know in this circumstance.
And I suppose there's a world where that spelling could be Maccabee somewhere, but you got it right?
Somewhere.
Somewhere in Israel.
And he plays center, right, Emily?
Yes.
And this also comes...
Sorry, I was just agreeing with you because I didn't want to sound wrong.
He certainly plays forward, right?
He's a defensive D-Man.
Yes, exactly what he sees.
He's a defensive D-man.
Yes, she is.
He's a defensive D-man.
And this comes with a bonus of two more years in his contract.
So that's pretty sick, don't you think?
Hell yeah, it is.
It's very sick, actually.
And Chicago also retained 50% of his cap hit, meaning Toronto also has got a solid defensive
D-man for a $2 million dollar cap hit.
Hell yeah.
Here.
So this trade sent Jake McCabe, Sam Lafferty, a fifth round pick and a sixth round pick in 2024 and 2025 to Toronto.
And Toronto sends back Joey Anderson, Pavel Gogolev, that's funny, a 2025 first.
You don't even know how to pronounce people's names.
I admitted that.
All these prospects, I've never heard of so many of these guys.
Pavel Gogolive, a 2025 first round pick and a 2026 second round pick.
So Toronto waves bye to their first round pick this year and in 20.
25 and to that I say
Great job
Kyle Dubus
I told you he would give away the keys
to the building
As he got him more plays
Jake Maccby
As he fucking should
Jake McAby
You got a new home in Toronto
I think that name flows a lot better
So here's my thing dude
We talked about the Ryan O'Reilly trade
We talked about how he's a great player
But we also talked about how it really feels like Toronto
needs to fucking add defensive help
If they want to make a playoff push
I said Kyle Dubus
Dubus definitely
Oh, what was that?
Dubus.
Do bus.
Because he's parking the bus, dude.
I said Kyle Dubus absolutely wants to do that.
And would you fucking look at it?
He traded a first round pick for it because that's obvious.
And it's a great fucking trade by Toronto.
So instead of pissing and moaning Toronto fans,
why don't you shut the fuck up and be happy that your GM is actually dropping his fucking nuts on the table
and shipping shit out like fucking Michael Jackson selling off assets to make this team better
and get out of the first round?
Because he did it.
And he added Ryan O'Reilly and he added Jake McCabe.
And your team is now much, much better on both ends of the ice.
You're fucking welcome.
Your team is sick, by the way.
Toronto is so much better now.
And this is a great fucking trade.
And now they have a legitimate chance at beating Tampa in the first fucking round.
Absolutely.
You think you want to talk price?
This is exactly what you're talking about with some of the B-shy.
You want to talk price.
Yeah.
Like maybe pre-season you're like, fuck, did we give up that much for O'Reilly and McCabe?
But I'm like, it doesn't matter.
It doesn't matter.
You have a very, very serious.
issue, getting out of the first round, fucking do it, convince Matthews to stay, make this team
happen, get the city excited, not that they're not already, they always are excited, but you
need to put something on paper here that is successful, and Dubus, not, under the last year of
his contract, is going out there and going down fucking swinging, and I love it. And yeah, dude, they,
I don't think the Leafs D sucks. I just think they needed more help on defense, and then they
went out and got it because that was the right thing to do, fucking obviously.
fucking obviously.
I'm curious right now if
the Leafs sent their
2023 first, Ottawa's
2023, third, and Toronto's
2024 second round pick for, yeah,
okay, so they still have their 2024
first round pick. So like, maybe make
another one, Kyle. Yeah. Go crazy.
Go nuts. Go fucking crazy here.
No, but this is, you know,
all the kidding aside, this
is exactly what Toronto needs to do. And I love
it because if you lose,
I will say this,
It is another product of the playoff seating is so dumb.
It's a product of the Atlantic and the East being so good.
But if they lose in the first round, Kyle Dubus is fired immediately.
And I love that he gets to look back like that meme of the girl with the burning building behind her.
And be like, well, enjoy no picks for the next few years.
But I'm like, yeah, so what he fucking should have done?
And clearly, clearly, the Maple Leafs are like, yes, dude, dude, like you have our blessing.
Go do this.
The, I shake his hand on the way out the door, if that's what happens.
Me too.
The, not to bring in more other sport analogies, but that Red Sox GM, Dave Dumbrowski, his M.O.
was, I come in, I bury your prospect pool.
I take your farm system.
I trade fucking everybody for current stars.
I win a World Series.
And then I leave and I leave you in ruins.
And then Dombrowski came to the Red Sox, traded fucking everybody for Chris Sale.
and whoever the fuck else we brought in,
won an immediate world series,
and then everything blew up.
And everyone was like,
oh, he did a bad job.
I was like, no, he did literally
exactly what he said he was going to do.
And that's what we asked him to do.
And if you were a Leafs fan,
you ask Kyle Dubas to do whatever necessary
to get you a cup theoretically,
but certainly a deep fucking playoff run this year.
And he has done that.
So I don't give a shit that the farm system
is in flames right now,
and you have no draft picks coming in.
Who fucking cares?
Bring in some legit talent,
win a fucking playoff round,
and start to build on this shit
because that is all that matters. Winning is all that matters.
Draft prospects matter fucking later.
Who gives a shit?
Do your thing right now.
Completely agree.
Completely agree.
So, Toronto, you just got better.
Dubas did exactly what we said.
He still needed to do.
They're scary, dude.
They're scary.
And yeah, like the, as much as I'm acting like I'm being like, ha-ha, you fucking idiots,
I was, well, there's no ha-ha because your team just made a great trade and you got better.
Yeah.
So if I'm the bolts, I'm like, fuck me.
Agree, dude.
Because that they just added an amazing forward to their group and an amazing defenseman to their group.
And they're a lot better.
And this comes on the heel of finding out that Jake Muzins shut down for the year.
So you had to do this.
Like you had to get a good defenseman, duh, and you did it.
So great fucking job.
Going out to the desert to Vegas.
Stay with the bolts, just because it's a.
Oh, yeah.
Let's stay with the bolts.
The bolts made a big, a lot going out actually swing, which is another one, exactly what we fucking said.
in our breakdown of the bolt.
We were like, I don't know what they'll do.
In terms of players, all I know is they will add a bottom six forward to this group,
and it will be a perfect trade.
And that's what they did.
So they went out to Nashville.
They got Tanner Geno, who's going to join their bottom six group.
And someone was talking about this earlier today on Twitter.
If you look at Tampa's bottom six,
and it does not look fun to play against it.
That's how they win, dude.
I know.
And it's been their M.O.
for the last four years, and they have won multiple.
multiple cups and been to other cups.
Oh my God, dude.
And like that bottom six group has just helped them do it every year.
And you look now at guys like Barclay Goodrow, who they've lost, you know, because
eventually these guys play out of their shoes and they have to be traded.
They have to move on.
And they're huge contributors on those other teams.
And it's like, I just look at Tanner Genoa right now is probably going to have just an
incredible playoff run with this team playing with these bottom six guys.
In two years, he's going to be on another team being a second line.
winger and you're like, yeah, he was so fucking good
good in that run for the bolts. And it's like, this is
what they do. They prioritize...
They prioritize...
Yeah, yeah. They prioritize this
bottom six every single season
and it makes them so scary.
And how do you feel about Nashville
compared to what you said about the Caps
in the Caps B's trade?
Where you're like, oh, Washington's out now.
Like, do you view, you know, going out
as the Preds being like, okay,
we're sellers? Or are you like,
no, they can afford that and still try to get back
in the playoff hunt?
I think if I had to pick between the two, it's the latter.
They can afford losing Genoa, plugging someone in and still making a push here, but they're done.
I think Nashville is done.
Ryan Johansen just went down with a serious injury.
Probably back now, but I don't even know, but I know he got there.
Yeah, they're banged up.
I think they're toast.
I would still look at the very real possibility, like we've said, a bunch of times, at
Kholm moving.
Sell, sell, sell.
And, yeah, I think Nashville's their shutdown.
but yeah, bolts
We knew it was never going to be splashy
but it was low-key, it's under the radar
Do not
I don't know who the fuck is at this point
but do not sleep on Tampa
once the playoffs start
Oh my gosh, no
So going down to the desert
Like we said, the Golden Knights
make a trade and they went out
And they snagged Ivan Barbashev
From the Blues
The Blues
For the Blues this was the third guy
We're having a fire sale
Yeah, I mean we said
That the Blues
Absolutely need to trade O'Reilly
Tarasenko
and Ivan Barbashev and
Bouyea
you did it
and that's another one
St. Louis, good job
like you made your move
you had to do it
it looks like
this is a one for one
right?
I think it's Zach Dean
for Barbashev straight up
just a good prospect
from Vegas
goes the other way
to St. Louis
they get their middle six guy
Barbishab is going to
score huge goals for them
the second you get
stone back into the lineup
like Vegas is
low-key scary too
dude
I love them
they started so hot
they went through a really
rough patch
They lost Eichel for a while.
Now they've lost Stone for a while.
But you add Ivan Barbershev to this middle six group.
That's a huge ad.
So if you're in the West, dude, I mean, they're a top three team in the West for sure for me.
And that's like a scare.
Like I look at Dallas.
I look at Colorado and I look at Vegas.
And I don't want to play.
And Seattle's right there too.
Right.
But Vegas is.
They have a devil's problem.
Yeah.
And I don't mean they have a problem with the devils.
I mean they have the same problem.
They have a, like, we're a brand new franchise.
We don't know what the playoffs look like.
And Vegas only knows what the playoffs look.
something. So it's like...
Except every last year, but still, but still, right there, you've got a great coach who's been,
who's made cup runs, you know.
Vegas is, to me, is all about firepower, depth firepower, keep scoring, keep scoring,
keep scoring.
Not that they have bad goaltending, they obviously don't.
But I think this was the perfect move for them.
Just bring in, I think we said this too.
Just bring in depth scoring there.
They did that.
I was actually laughing to myself because John Hamm, who's a huge blues guy, always, you know,
every time the blues make a run in 2019, he was all over the interweb.
Yeah, yeah.
he posted something, maybe he was on chicklets, I can't remember, but he posted something that
every time he's home in St. Louis and he goes to a Blues game, they bring him up in the booth
for a second. While he's up there for like the five minutes, Barbershev scores. And it's like a thing,
like every time he's there. And so he like tweeted something that was like very sad to see
the Barbership era ended in St. Louis. He's like, I had a thing. So I wonder if he,
maybe he becomes an honorary Vegas fan just for the stretch run here just to honor his guy, dude,
you know.
If you're the Vegas Golden Knights,
you've got to fly John Ham out to a game
immediately.
Yeah.
You know,
it's not like he has to
betray his loyalty.
That's what I'm saying.
He's going to get John Ham in the booth
stat, or at least for the playoffs.
He can bring his blues
Barbashav jersey,
but I would be,
I would get him into a suite immediately.
For Barbyshev's first game,
I'd be like this,
John Hamm,
come on down.
Yep.
Come to the game.
That's a no-brainer.
The last trade here
is a trade I believe that's,
or I know that's not even finalized,
but we,
You've got to talk about it because it's going to break.
By the time this episode's out, yeah.
By the time this episode comes out, this will have broken officially.
But Patrick Kane is headed to the New York Rangers.
We think so, certainly.
This happened last week, and over the weekend, every single outlet is reporting it.
Everyone's saying it's 99% done.
It's all paperwork now.
It's all money now.
Figuring out who is retaining what percentage of Patrick Kane's cap.
Wild, how often we've seen that this year.
three-team trades, different teams retaining certain amounts of salary.
But the Rangers went out and they scooped up Vlad Teresenko.
We thought that that meant Kane was not going there.
I felt so good about that, meaning he was going to Buffalo, but he's not.
Kane spoke out very vocally being like, I'm very disappointed about this.
That's the only team I wanted.
He was mad at the Blackhawks front office for not getting a deal done about his hip.
Exaggerating his hip.
Over-exaggerating his hip.
Yeah, we talked about all that.
But here we go, dude.
Kane is going to the Rangers, which is wild, which makes their top six, Panarin, Zabinajad, Patrick Kane, Vladimir Teresenko, Vincent Trocheck, and Chris Kreider.
And that's dangerous as fuck.
Yeah.
Because you've also got, you know, you've got Philippeal, you've got Berkeley Gudro, you've got guys on this team who are solid on that bottom six.
Yeah.
It drops V-C to fourth line.
Yeah, yeah.
So the Rangers have strength up top.
It's very much, you know, Vlad scored his first game, but he's been quiet since.
You've got certain guys who are waking up, but certain guys who are quieting down on the Rangers.
They're in a weird place.
You know, we announced them a wagon after the Vlad trade, and they won their first two games, and they've lost them.
Like four straight or something.
It's really bad ones.
The question is Patrick Kane.
It's, you know, he's been on fire since all this bullshit with Chicago.
And it feels very much like he's like, I'm not hurtful.
Fuck you guys.
Had a hat trick the other night.
Is Patrick Kane, does he have gas in the tank still?
I think yes.
Is his injury worse than he thinks it is as bad as the Black Oaks think it is?
I don't know.
Will he join this Rangers team and hit the ground running and go,
I bring three cups and tons of playoff experience.
I'm ready to rock and make this team better.
That is the question.
That is what Chris Drury and the New York Rangers are banking on.
the bigger thing is when is the last time we've seen two elite players like this in
Tarasenko and Kane joined the same team on a deadline.
I don't know.
A long time ago, it feels like.
I'm just so confused.
Well, I'm not confused to your point of like, get good players.
Like, who cares?
Like, load them up.
So I'm not, I don't, I'm not wondering why the Rangers want Vlad and Kane.
Of course they do.
I'm just confused what's happening right now.
Like they spend all this on Tarasenko and then they're like,
okay, let's spend more on Kane because we can.
Fuck it.
He's going somewhere else, probably, even though I thought he was staying.
They, so then they call Chicago and go, you know, give me Kane.
And I got to believe if I'm Chicago, how old is Vlad, do you know?
31.
Okay, so Kane's 34, right?
Yeah.
So if you're Chicago, I'm like, you have to give me at least what you.
you paid for Vlad. If I'm Chicago.
And I get, he's older and, like, maybe he's hurt, but I'm like,
fuck off. I have Patrick Kane, dude. You have fucking Vlad Teresenko,
who's like a high-powered score, but he hasn't done shit.
And Patrick Kane has 16 goals, 29 assists, 45 points in 54 games this year.
So, like, he's Patrick Kane. I'm like, fucking pay me right now.
And the rag, I imagine this whole hold-up is the ragged are like, no, we can offer,
I forget, you listed a couple guys before we started recording. But, like, they're probably
like, well, I have two guys to give you and some poor shit picks.
Yeah. And the Hawks are like, give me your other first.
And they're like, no.
And the only reason, like, I actually think this is going to get done for penny.
Okay, okay, okay.
And now I'm like, that means that Kane essentially was like, fuck to Chicago, fuck you, trade me to the Rangers right now.
And they're like, well, Patrick, the offer is horrible.
And he's like, I don't fucking care.
I will lose, I will torch, I will burn this city to the fucking ground, dude.
Green River for St. Patrick's Day, no, it will run red with your blood unless you trade me to the Rangers for nothing.
And then they're going to do it.
Dude, that is so fucking accurate, man.
I was talking to shout out our boy, Kev.
Big Rangers fan was having a huge discussion with him about this.
And for me, if I'm the Blackhawks, I look at, Patrick King goes like this.
I'm not resigning.
Trade me.
And I go, okay, that's fair.
We're out of the playoffs.
I should get something for Kane.
He's not coming back.
I look at the Rangers, his only preferred destination.
And I go, give me cap.
I would be like, give me fucking Lafranier, frankly.
Yeah, yeah.
But they're going to say no to that.
I would go, give me Capo Caco, give me a first round pick.
Probably another prospect, a fourth round pick.
I'll give you this, this, and, you know, I'll give you Kane, and then I'll retain 50%.
75%.
I retain 75%.
Here's Kane.
Here's a fifth round pick, whatever.
But give me all of that in return.
No questions asked.
But you're right, dude, this situation is so fucking hairy now.
It's Monday, as we're recording, this podcast is going to come out Thursday, the day of the deadline.
You've got four days.
It might be Friday, but yeah.
Thursday, Friday, yeah.
You've got four or five days here.
Kane is gone.
And he's going one place.
And unfortunately, Chris Drury has the Chicago Blackhawks franchise bent over a barrel.
And he's not lubing that cock up, dude.
He's not spitting on it.
He is fucking them raw and dry and going, maybe, maybe here's a second round pick, maybe.
Yeah.
And you're going to retain the majority of his salary.
And I am going to take your literal star boy, the most important player to your franchise since fucking in the last 20.
Stan McKita.
Like you,
I can't believe this dude.
Like it is truly remarkable how
shitty this has gotten for the Hawks.
Part of me is like, you deserve it.
You fucking scumbags.
But I'm just surprised that Kane
doesn't have any feelings of loyalty
to them in terms of I've been here for 13 or some odd years.
And I don't want you guys to get totally fucked over.
But frankly, that's what's happening.
But he's like, and whatever, be selfish because it's like, yeah, by the way, dude, it's a business in two directions, right?
Like the teams get to fucking punch you around wherever they feel like it.
If you can have the power to get out of there, I don't necessarily want to see this become the NBA where it's the players just fucking decide who they play for.
But if you have the power to get out of there, get the fuck out, go chase another cop.
I would want my career to end that way too, especially with Taze being, like, you know, you never know what's going to happen there.
Because I kept saying I felt like they wanted to finish it together and now Johnny might be finished anyway.
I hope he isn't, but who fucking knows.
So yeah, he's like, dude, I'm out.
And I'm fired up.
I'm a Rangers fan because he feels excited to play, too.
Like, Kane's always been that guy, you know,
when he's ready to get something done, he gets it done.
He's fired up.
And even with his frustrations, you see when he tucked that hat trick,
he was buzzing with the boxers.
So here's my thing, dude.
If I'm another, I know Kane has been like,
I only want the Rangers.
But if I'm another team, Buffalo obviously comes to mind
because I think Buffalo is fun.
That's his hometown.
But here's a better one, dude, because this is a perfect transition.
If I'm Carolina right now and I'm looking at the islanders make a huge trade, the Bruins make a huge trade, the devils make a huge trade, the bolts have made a trade, the Maple Leafs have made two huge trades.
And I'm Carolina.
And you know we were in the market for Timo.
They got their offer rejected yesterday.
I am pissing down my leg.
And I am looking, again, Carolina, your draft picks ain't helping you, dude.
I am looking at them and I'm going
Yo Chicago, here's two first round picks
Straight up dude
You need to go that hard
You just trump the Rangers offer which is shit
But you obviously don't know what it is
But everything we're hearing is it sounds like it's bad
And I would just be a plea
I would be like this
And I would literally my pitch to cane
It's a rental sign with New York next year if you want
But I'm telling you right now
We're better than New York we're going to beat them
So if you want a cup
You want to come with us win a cup real quick
And then go to New York do it
and I would give the offer of a first round pick, a second round pick, a prospect, and I would be like, this is too good to refuse Chicago, go beg Patrick Gain, let us talk to him.
And I would be like, dude, we will beat New York.
Come play with us.
If I'm Carolina, I'm making that call so fast.
It's not going to happen.
He's on the Rangers.
I'm just saying it's like, it's crazy the position that they have found themselves in.
And I can't believe that Patty Kane is now going to move for not a first round pick, most likely.
Yeah, I actually love this take, Dan.
he should be a hurricane and that's a lot for two months but you're right they have a better
chance of winning the cup and we keep we've seen this whole episode just pay everything to win a
cut I don't give a fuck or at least that would be their pitch right like I would be like dude
we're better we are better than them we have a better chance here's we're going to offer you more
Chicago and my pitch to came to be like this listen dude I'd love to have you here long term
but if you or you know next couple of years but if you don't want to sign here if you don't
to make your mind up now. I'm telling you, you come here. You're going to have a better
shot at a cup right now than you are with the Rangers. And if you want to, at the end of this,
all go on with them, do it. It's almost sneaky. I don't know the Rangers contract, all the other guys
on the Rangers' contract situation, but it's almost sneaky win for the Rangers because you're like,
you probably, who knows, we probably weren't winning the cup this year? Maybe not. I guess they
could. That's so that's unfair. But if you weren't, if you weren't, wakes up. Yeah.
But like, if they don't win the cup, or if they weren't going to with Kane, and then you
just get him for free next year? I'm like,
that was, wouldn't you take that too, I think?
Dude, it's another one. I've seen a few.
I believe in Patty Kane. I love Patty Kane. But I do think there is this,
Patrick Kane has that vibe of forever young. Yeah. And I don't think people realize he's
34. And sorry to say, that's, that's not young. Yeah. And there is a narrative of the New York
Rangers being a graveyard.
for a lot of players.
You look at in the past,
Chris Drury,
Scott Gomez,
Rick Nash,
guys who come in late,
and it feels like a big splash trade
and then they kind of just like
whittle away.
And there are people online
who are being like,
Teresenko and now Patrick Kane
are going to do exactly that.
And yeah, it does,
again,
I believe that I don't think it's going to happen.
But I think if Kane goes here,
he probably signs like a two-year deal.
And it will be a bummer if Kane's just like on the Rangers making like five million dollars a year.
And kind of hurting this like little window they've had here.
If he's just like, yeah, I'm kind of like a 50 point guy now.
He'll be good, dude, I think.
I think so too.
I think the guys he'll be playing with too.
But I don't know, man.
I also look at that you've got, if you add Patrick Kane, it's hard to see a world where
Kane's not on the first line.
Like, it's hard to see a world where your first line isn't, well, I mean, Panarin,
Panarin and Ziba and Kreider are kind of your guys, but Kreider's been bouncing up
and down here.
And my bigger thing is, you are in a weird position if you're the Rangers where your second
line center is Trochequer or Heidel, and they don't know.
Yeah.
They haven't known all season.
And I think Trocheque is a guy that they're probably, they just signed, who I think
that next season would probably be open to trading.
Yeah.
I think they'd look at that and be like,
uh,
maybe we can improve this situation.
But like the embarrassment of riches of wingers they have on this team.
Wild.
Is wild.
And that's kind of where I'm like,
dude,
I look at a Capo caco and I'm like,
I would trade him in a first for a fucking like a Ryan O'Reilly,
you know,
yeah,
sure,
sure.
Three weeks ago and like maybe just built up that middle a little bit.
But you lost Strom last year and you didn't really replace it with Trocheck.
So we're off topic now.
Yeah,
but it's all right.
It's going to be exciting.
I'm excited.
It's going to look fresh as fuck in the blue shirt.
I'll say that much.
Yes, he is.
And, yeah, I stand by, I think he's a ranger.
He's already on the rangers.
But, yeah, if you're Carolina and you're not making a desperate plea phone call, I don't know what the fuck you're doing.
Yep.
So, all right, let's move on from trade talks and get into just a couple little hot ice things here.
I'm going to go in reverse order of excitement for me.
starting with Sharks Retiring Patrick Marlow's number.
Yeah, so I, or do you have something you want to say about it?
All I want to say is I saw the retired his number.
There was some emotional headline, per the headline, some emotional videos about it.
I haven't watched one yet.
I'm excited to watch them.
Great, great player.
Insane stamina.
He played a trillion games.
Oh, my God.
And the one clip I saw, part of the reason I want to watch is Jumbo Joe,
there and he was like crying as the number was going up or you know it looked like he was
crying again i haven't seen very emotional and i was like god this is going to be good i can't wait
to see this i'm a sucker for these things but i actually wanted to talk about it because i was like
oh yeah joe i was so positive joe was signing with a team this year i know you're i don't know
but i know you what is going on like i can't believe he's on a team and he's he done do you think
he's yeah yeah i think it's over i i think unfortunately if you're that age is he 40 yet if you're
If you're that age, dude, and you go an entire NHL season, you don't come back.
Because he hasn't been playing.
You know, it's not like he crachied himself and went to check and played for a little while and came back.
This is a guy who's 38, 39 years old.
I think he's 39, 40, actually.
How old is he?
43.
Isn't that epic?
Yeah, he's done.
So we've seen Joe play his last game.
Yeah, Joe Thornton has played his last game.
That fucking breaks my heart, dude.
I wish there's been a little bit more fanfare about that.
It breaks my heart.
It also makes me even.
more angry with the Florida Panthers last year. It's like, what the fuck, dude? Like, that was it.
He went out with that. He went out getting... I'm not sold on this. I think, I fear you're probably
right, but I'm not sold on. You think that a 44-year-old Joe Thornton after missing an entire
NHL season is going to find a home? Yep. I respect it. It wouldn't, I mean, it would make me so
happy if a team, God, like just the Bruins. The Rangers, dude. Do we need a center? Bring them back.
Bring him back.
Just like sign him to, you know, sign him to a three-month contract here and let him sit up in the press box and then lift the cup.
Like, fucking A.
It'd be so sick.
But yeah, it looks like Joe's done.
No.
But Patrick Marlowe, unbelievable career, unbelievable shark.
It's unfortunate he could never get it done.
He will forever be in that category with Joe of they were just so good for so many years and they just never could finish the job.
Switch is tough.
Those sharks games had a fucking brutal run there.
Brutal.
Yeah, brutal.
Next bit of hot ice, we got a little spit.
Yeah, little spit-taking.
A little spit-take in the NHL.
Was this yesterday?
Maybe.
I think Sunday night, the Sunday night or Saturday.
I think it was Sunday.
But the New York Rangers and the Los Angeles Kings faced off.
And Kandre Miller, who is my boy.
Yeah, I know.
And one of the bright, beautiful stars in the game right now had a all-time wirecross moment and just hawked a fat one right in Drew Dowdy's face.
Like it was a there's a tussle up against the boards, no dispute whatsoever what happened.
You can literally see Keandre like hawk back into the deep bowels of his throat and just rip one right in Dowdy.
Got the sussie tossed out of the game.
he will most certainly get a few games for this.
You can't be spitting on people.
But he took a second today, tweeted out.
He said, I wanted to take a moment to address what occurred in last night's game.
I have all the respect in the world for Drew Drady and what happened was completely accidental.
What?
I would never intend to do something like that on purpose.
It goes against everything I am as a person and player.
I felt awful about it and I'm thankful Drew gave me the opportunity to apologize and explain myself in person after the game.
game. So you love to see that... Hold on, dude. I'm pulling up this video again. You love to see that
Drew, uh, that Drew accepted the apology from Keandre. But, you know, I'm watching the video right now
and we'll have, we'll have this posted in this clip. But saying this is accidental is bold
from Keandre. So here's the... I agree. What I will say for him is this. He is not looking at
Drew.
And if you
watch the replay, Emily, do you want to watch
this?
Would love to watch it.
Why don't you pop on Twitter?
I would love to watch it.
Why don't you pop on Twitter
and just search Kandre
Miller.
It's K-A-A-A-N-D-R-E-Miller.
And it'll be one of the first video
that pops up where he spits on Drew Daddy.
To be clear, is he saying
he's either saying
I was
caught up in the, I was breathing hard.
Like spit came out of my mouth
or he's saying, I was spitting.
I think it's that.
I think he's saying, I was spitting.
And that's where I'm saying, this is the only defense for him.
Is he, in my opinion, he is clearly not looking at Drew.
He isn't?
He's like looking out to the side.
Touching him.
He's literally right in front of him.
That is my next point where I'm like, dude, I don't care what's happening in that moment.
Your perriff in your situational awareness, you know there's someone in front of you.
And it doesn't matter who it is.
Because there's fucking eight people.
Here I am.
I'm looking over, if you're listening to this and not watching listeners, I'm looking to my left
right here and I can see everything that is right in front of me. Like, I'm waving my hand where
Drew Dowdy is. I would not spit right here because I'm like, I, that's going to hit someone
directly in the face. Some of them are Rangers, but there's, he's surrounded by like five people.
This would literally be like me crammed on a subway car and going and just spitting.
And then I'm like, I can't believe that I hit somebody. And they're like, yeah, you're fucking
surrounded by people. And you're going, oh, fuck, did that catch someone? I'm so sorry.
Got a stress.
My bad.
I wasn't even looking at you.
It's just trying to send that luggy right through the maze here.
Get it on the window.
My arms are crunched.
His body's everywhere.
And he just,
Hawks one.
And that is that classic, you know,
you'll get pissed off in a game.
The wires cross.
Someone skates by you and you just throw out a stick.
You're looking the other way.
You throw out a stick and it hit someone and then you turn.
You're like, oh, fuck, sorry, dude.
You know exactly what you're doing.
Yeah.
So again, I'll say I love Key, but, dude, that isn't.
not an accident. Like, I believe that you didn't mean to do it. Your, your intensity took over,
but, dude, you spit and you knew there was a good chance someone is getting that. I do kind of,
so I saw the headline first, and I was bummed because he's the man. And, you're spitting?
Oh, it's nasty. You know me, dude. I'm a super passive anti-confrontational guy. Like, even playing
sports, it takes a lot to really make me lash out at you. But on the ice, on any playing,
playing field. I get that the wires cross.
You snap a punch off that you're like,
shit, I didn't even mean to do that. I just like swung at your
face or like you two hands. I'm going to cross the shin pads.
Whatever. Shit happens.
Spitting to me is reserved for like
my like someone,
a serial killer who's been killing
children and he has to face the mother
and she walks up and talks one in his face
because I'm like, yes. You've spit in another
human's face because he's despicable
scumbach. It is so
disrespectful.
Oh my God.
Oh my God.
Spitting on someone?
Did he say that it was somebody's...
Did he say that it was on accident?
Yeah.
Did you not hear the apology?
No.
The beginning of the apology is, he goes, I wanted to take a moment to address what
occurred in last last night's game.
Oh, please.
All the respect in the world for Drew Doughty and what happened was completely accidental.
Oh, please.
You watched the video, right?
Yeah, I can...
Like, it is just...
It's horrific.
You don't spit on accident.
Correct.
And like we said, M, like he's in a telephone.
booth and there's people all around him there's no way you're you're being like this i'm pissed off right now
i'm just gonna spit real quick it's not gonna hit anybody we're gonna keep on moving like no dude you spit
right on him i was like we can't we can't be spitting like when i heard this i was like we can't be
spitting on people dude i don't give a shit what happened i don't care if fucking zeggris jumped on
the ice and told you your dad's dead you can't be spitting on him disavow disavow he didn't say that
he didn't say that so you just can't be spitting on people can't do it can so i'm glad
that it's not he didn't like grabbed out of
his jersey and like
and like launching his face
like directly at him
he wasn't it didn't look like that
but even still
you can't you can't be spitting
you can't be spitting near people
you can't be saying you didn't think it was gonna hit somebody
when you're standing around a million people
stop spitting I'm gonna be honest dude
I if you are spitting
I'd prefer you to do that
I'd prefer you to yeah
Wolverine to Cyclops style
grab someone and pull them right into you and go
Ace Ventura 2
yeah yes like I want
them walking out of their
hawkaloos,
sign of respect
Bishakaka
Bumblebee tuna
just spit right in my fuck
I want it to be
a full on
like I want you to look at them
and go
you son of a bitch
and then spit
right in their face
if you're gonna do it
lean in
but yeah
I saying that you
did not do this on purpose
is a wild
and bold
bold move from Miller
to switch things up
to some positive news
we got a goalie goal
We got a goly goal.
Have a fucking season,
Linus O'Mark.
Lina, Olmark, you
goddamn son of a bitch,
you beautiful bastard.
That must have been
the sexiest goalie goal
I've ever seen, too.
It had some elevation, Watson.
Sure did.
That thing. Sure did.
That was crazy.
So we had a Saturday night tilt.
Yep, Saturday night tilt.
The bees in Vancouver Canucks.
The Canucks were rocking their reverse
retroes.
So sick.
Game starts.
out, bees popped two goals in the first period
and it looks like it was going to be a classic Bruins beat down
and then the Canucks battled. It was an interesting game.
They controlled the rest of the game. Yep. They then
made it a 2-1 game and
they pulled the goalie at the end there
and Puck gets sent down
right around the red line deflected
in. Umar comes out, snags it
on his backhand mind. Or maybe not on his
backhand, but his body was turned.
And then he just looked up, saw an opportunity
swiveled, ripped a
15 foot high
sauce that landed
pancake flat on the ice
and hit the center bar in the net
for a goalie goal. First career goal.
Surprise it took him this long, frankly, to get
his first career NHL goal. Well, that's ridiculous
a lot. I'm obviously like,
like, after the game, he took that classic photo
where he's holding his first NHL goal and it's just
like, it's fucking awesome that a goal is.
And he his quote was, he was like, I literally cannot believe
how happy I am. Like, I have to process
how happy I am. That was my
point that I was going to get to
that made me so happy is everyone
was so happy. Yeah. Like he did
an interview after the game where he actually said two things that were really funny. He was
like one, Carlo was losing his mind. Like the puck was in the ice and Carlo was standing next to him
going, it's going in, it's going in. And then you see the clip after Carlo's like jumping up and down,
hugging him. And then the other is if you watch the clip, Elias Pedersen and I think it's J.T. Miller
are like right, or maybe it's Garland. It's Garland, I think. Okay. Or right in his face. Yeah,
yeah, yeah. At the end, like, he gets it. He's got a lot of room. But once he's like, I'm going for it.
He shoots the puck literally over the two of them. And Elias Pederson jumps.
like Elias Pedersen sees it happening and he literally jumps up in the air to try to block it.
And Ulmark said once it came off his stick, he couldn't see the puck.
Yeah, because it gets me in the crowd.
People don't realize that in hockey.
Well, not even that.
It was through the guys.
Okay.
So his first thought was, oh my God, it just hit one of them and is now deflected and going back in my own net.
And now it's a tie game.
And that's like the worst play ever.
And then it turns out to be the greatest moment in his NHL career.
Dude, people aren't watching full swing.
the Netflix golf show. Watch it. It's fucking cool
if you like golf. But I was
watching an episode the other night and Matt Fitzpatrick
wins the U.S. Open and they're following
him and everything and he wins it and his family's
going fucking nuts and everyone's going crazy.
And he has this moment
or this quote after where he goes
because he had won, I don't know
to give you the whole fucking episode, but he had never won on the
the PGA tour. He'd won the European Tour a bunch and
amateur but never won the PGA tour. His first wins the
fucking U.S. Open. And they
ask him after how does he feel and he goes
10 million times better than I thought I would.
Like, I've always fantasized about any of the U.S.
Open. And then it happened, and it is 10 million times cooler than even my fucking fantasies.
Yeah.
And it felt like, that's how Allmark felt.
And he was like, I'm upscore goal to goal.
That'd be cool.
And then he did it.
And he was like, holy fuck.
That was so sick.
It was just sick how, watching him go down the bench, like, you know, dapping up the guys.
And then maybe my favorite part about this was him and Swamen have their famous goalie
hug after every win.
And their goalie hug at the end was hysterical.
Swamen was jumping all over them.
They hug like seven times.
but then post-game Swayman was like
fuck man I want to score a goal so bad
like he's like pissed now he's like I gotta get one too
like god damn dude just the vibes in that locker room
and with those two tendies is just remarkable
and you're you're right like it couldn't happen to a better goalie this season
like it's crazy that's gonna be a lit ice is ready pick
that uh either the goal or their hug or something
yeah um dude he is having an all time season you just said it
and by the way dude I
think I'm right about this because we were
there, but we were doing a million interviews.
He kind of, he did this at the All-Star game while we were there.
Like, they did, they added that new stupid fucking thing that sucked.
But he stopped a bunch of pox behind.
They dumped it in.
He stopped it and took a shot.
And he missed, like, all of those.
Yeah.
When there was no one there, and he even missed a dump-it.
Like, they won, like, went under a stick.
Yeah, I remember that.
And I was like, oh, Lina sucks at this.
Yeah.
And then he had the illest snipe I've ever seen in live rounds, dude.
Like, live rounds.
Fucking 20 feet in the air through the blue line, dead center goal.
It's got to be the best goal of goal ever.
Because of the elevation and like shooting it over to charging players.
Like it's just fucking cool.
Jack,
Jack Edwards,
I know everybody fucking hates him,
but Jack Edwards went ballistic,
as you can imagine,
which I loved.
He had the crazy,
like his voice cracks and like it just feels like he's having a heart attack in studio.
Also,
we don't have cables who we're watching on ESPN Plus,
like we're streaming everything.
And all our friends from home had the shit live.
You know,
they're walking on Nesson.
So we're a little behind them.
And they were pep,
the conuction.
for pepper and the bees in that last minute there. And we got a text that was like,
OMG, Linus. And I looked at you. I looked at you and I go, oh, fuck. Because I just assumed that
meant like, oh my God, Linus let in the worst fucking goal ever. And I go, oh, dude. And I showed you
the phone. And you were like, it could be a goalie goal. Yeah. I went, it's going to be a goalie goal.
And then it was the second he grabbed the puck, I was like, holy shit. As soon he stopped it,
I was like, oh, fuck. He did. Which actually kind of added to my experience because I was like,
this is going to go in. Yeah, like, the anticipation of like, is this a goalie goal and then it was.
That was fucking electric.
It was so good.
Well, that's a perfect transition
into our three hottest teams of the week, dude.
So you want to take us away?
Let's do it, yes.
Wait, actually, M.
Do you have a hottest team of the week?
Oh my God, I forgot.
No, but she did hot ice, though.
She did hot ice.
Yeah, yeah, I brought so much to the table.
Yeah, yeah.
She brought a ton of trade info, so that's great.
So CP, take us away.
Three hottest teams of the week.
The number three teams of the week.
Of course they could be number one.
Of course they could be number one,
but we're trying to mix things up
because we fucking feel like it is our fucking list,
so just shut up and listen to it
because they're number three this week.
Let's see.
They beat the Senators 3-1.
They beat the Cracken 6-5 in a pretty wild game.
Sick to Bruscoe.
Cran are kind of like all over the bees.
Oh, yeah, they're a problem for the Bees, no doubt.
They split the season one and one,
but they had an emphatic 3-0-0-1,
their first meeting of the season,
and this was a wild game.
Lo-key scaring me.
Cool moment there.
Bergeron got a Shorty and making him and Brad Marshand
the second.
best duo in NHL history of short-handed points behind Wayne Gretzky and Yari Curry.
Ever heard of them. Ever heard of them, dude. Pretty good collection of people to be a part of.
Yep. Um, uh, beat the Canucks 3-1 with the goal of we just discussed. They've won six in a row.
Um, they're fucking, they're hot, dude. They're hot. We're gonna give them three, but they're,
scorching hot. They're hot. Uh, second team, second hottest team of the week is the Colorado
Avalanche. They're three and O, no. They've won five straight overall. They beat the wild. They beat the
blues, they beat the Oilers, electric
comeback, they beat the Jets, and they beat the
flames. All important wins.
Listen, CP last
week said for Lent that they should probably stop
fucking around, and it looks like they have.
I got
a couple of eyes on things here with the aves.
One, are they
getting hot at the right time? Like, is this
classic, dangerous, dude? Classic
repeat stuff. Like, there is a world
here, dude, where they, look at me.
Do it, do it. Look at me. Fucking do it. There's a world
where they
smug, just waltz
through the NHL Stanley Cup playoffs
right into the cup again.
Because if they all of a sudden just got hot
and look for a trade.
That was my second thing.
Yeah, nice.
They've got the rest of this week.
If they do just what the, like, follow the bolts model,
dude.
If they add a middle six guy here,
maybe add some defense.
But like,
that is not a fun team
to run into if they get hot here.
Dude, it sucks because they're third
in the Western right now.
and nobody wants to see them in the middle rounds.
But they're also three points behind Dallas with two games in hand for first in the West.
Like they might just win the Western.
That's what I'm saying.
And I'm like, oh, never mind.
Like this whole season, I've been like, yeah, they have the middle.
And they're like, actually, I'm the one seed.
I'm like, ah, my bad.
Everyone actually has just been like, yeah, they're like a weird middle of the pack playoff team.
And like, oh, they might win the West.
And all of a sudden they're a fucking wagging.
Just kidding.
I'm the best team.
So I'm like, oh, right.
My bad.
Okay.
And the number one hottest team this week.
Who is it?
The Chicago Blackhawks.
They had a 4-0 week.
And they beat some monster teams.
They beat the Leifes 5-3.
They beat Vegas 3-2 in a shootout.
They beat the Stars 4-3, then the Sharks 4-3 in a shoot-out.
And I will ask one simple question.
With Patrick Kane seemingly on his way out the door, what are you doing?
Oh, dude.
Taze might never play again.
You're about to trade away Kane, and now you don't want Badaard either.
It is all...
Congrats on being hot.
It is all of these fucking idiot teams.
teams, and I get it, man. You're on one of these teams. Look at the Yotes. Look at the Blackhawks.
It's a weird situation where, like, none of these guys know if they're going to be on this
team next year. Like, any trade could happen. You don't know if you're going to get the pick
or not, but I agree, man. Like, what are you doing getting hot right now? Four in a row?
And it's Patrick, dude. Have you lost your day of mind? Patrick Kane is pee-pee-p-whacking,
the Blackhawks, dude. He's like this, torpedoing their pick. Oh, you're going to fuck up trading me
to the rags. How about this? I'm going to get hot
right at the right time. We're going to win a bunch of games
straight. We're going to lose our chances of getting Conrad
and you're going to trade me for nothing. It's just
like he's just tallywacking
them. It's ridiculous. Horrible, horrible stuff.
Hate to see it. Stay hot. Horrible stuff.
All right, let's get into our regular segments to
finish this shit out. Do you want
to start here with
some Michael watch? Let's do it.
Nice.
Dan, Jack's got 43 and 46.
He's got four in his last three and a goal in each of his last three.
Whoops.
Keep chugging, buddy.
Yeah.
We know he's going to be on a really hot pace to finish, but he's doing his thang.
He's doing his thing right now.
I love it.
I love him.
I support him.
I believe in him.
Vegas needs him.
They're adding more firepower, dude.
I said rising tides.
I'm happy.
Have we crunched the numbers on our on shrimp cocktail total?
Dude, how many fucking times you're going to ask me this?
Every week.
Okay.
Is it 50?
Or not 50.
It's um,
he's on pace to finish with 69 games played, you said?
Yeah.
So if he has, let's call it 74 points, or right now it's on pace if it's over 72.
I think that's right.
Okay.
It's really close.
Basically, if he sits 72 or like 74, he will be at 90 pace.
Shrimp cocktail point.
But he, but he, but he doesn't.
doesn't have a ton of games left, you know, so he's got to, he's got to keep firing.
Yeah, well, he needs to finish with more than games played.
And he's creeping.
Yeah, correct.
He has to finish over a point of games.
He has to, he has 43 and 46 right now?
43 and 46.
Yeah, so he's creeping.
Yep.
If he keeps out, I mean, I'm nervous.
You should be, but I will say, and again, for the millionth time, this injury was always
the thing, I will say, I'm shocked.
Like, I made the call that 72 was the easiest money in the history.
of fucking earth.
And now it's clearly not the easiest money because we're up against it in a
fucking big way.
In fact,
I'm probably projected to lose this bet if I'm Vegas.
I don't mean the Golden Knights.
I mean the casinos.
But considering how he started,
it is insane to me that he's not going to hit it.
Like in a fucking November,
I was like,
you are a moron and he's really going to have 110 points.
And now he's going to have 68.
And I'm like, whoop.
I was wrong.
And it turns out that.
I was right the whole time, but we'll see.
Yep.
Okay, let's get into some Sabres playoff trail.
Let's do it, dude.
After a bit of a skid.
Yep.
Brutal start to February.
But since the middle of the month, they are 5 and 1.
And after a tough loss to Toronto, that happened mid-air last week.
They have won three straight against...
the Tampa Bay Lightning, the Florida Panthers, and the Washington Capitals.
And they've got the lowly Columbus Blue Jackets tomorrow.
And what I'm really thrilled to report to you, Christopher,
and to you the lovely dear listeners.
Currently, the Buffalo Sabres are one point out of a playoff spot behind Pittsburgh
with a game in hand,
and there are three points behind the Islanders in that first wildcard spot with
five games in hand.
And I know that this isn't the Detroit Red Wings playoff trail, but the Red Wings are just
two little points behind the Sabres with exactly the same amount of games in hand.
So, dude, look at those last two wildcard spots and look at the Buffalo Sabres and Detroit
Red Wings.
I'm not saying shit, dude.
I really want paid in obviously, but it would be sick if it was the Wings and the Sabers.
But five and one in your last six, that's what's up.
But I also want to say this.
I can go on a small rant here.
Okay.
Because I watched, I watched the, the sabres very intently over this past weekend.
The Tampa Bay game is absolutely mental.
And then last night watching the Caps game.
Yeah. The Sabres are winning six to three with like two minutes left in the second.
And I started a sentence while watching the game to you about how infuriating this Buffalo Sabres team is.
And I can't imagine how.
how real Sabers fans feel.
That's also something I'd love to say to the listeners here.
I was getting trashed in the comments on that Ryan O'Reilly post,
people being less L. Sabers fan.
I was like, I'm not literally a Sabers fan.
I just love the boys.
I love this team.
And I love the people of Buffalo.
But dude, if you're an actual diehard Sabers fan,
this must be the most stressful season in the world.
It's crazy.
Because we're watching this game.
It's 6 to 3, 2 minutes left in the second.
And I'm in the middle of a sentence to you being like,
this team is so crazy, dude.
They just pump in.
goals, but they are a leaking sieve.
And as I was saying that, boom,
Capp scored to make it 6'4. And I was like,
Jesus fucking Christ, dude.
But they pulled out the win.
And here I am, I am saying, dude,
we've got four days here till the trade deadline.
Holy fucking shit, Buffalo.
Go do something, dude.
It's the same, you're not in the same case
at all as the hurricanes, because like the hurricanes
have a cup chance here.
If you're seeing all these other teams in the east
making all these moves, you've got to make a move.
but Buffalo, dude, you're in the playoffs if you have a good goalie.
Go trade something.
Get another defenseman maybe even.
But like, you are just, you are one and a half goals less giving up per game to being a like
easy playoff team.
A super scary team.
Yeah.
And you said, dude, if Buffalo sneaks in as the eight seed and like Boston plays Buffalo
and Buffalo is like this, we score six goals a game, you are the Bruins going, well,
I hope we score seven because.
Yeah.
I am fucking terrified at the stage for the first round.
No team,
no team can prevent them from scoring.
We have seen that,
dude.
Like, it is nuts.
So, like, go get a goalie, dude.
It's fucking nuts.
So the caps,
you know,
a bit on the bubble,
I guess,
per our previous comments,
but the caps,
the lightning and the Panthers
are important playoff wins
for them as they're pushing to this.
But of course,
Stan,
of course you're Mr.
fucking sunshine and rainbows
with the Sabers and the playoff trail.
And you're going to ignore,
be clear fact that,
second on the team in points is Rosmiss Dahlin.
Yeah.
Hurt.
Day to day.
We'll see how long.
Tied second on the team in points with 28 girls 34 assists with Alex Tuck.
Hurt.
IR.
They said maybe, maybe back by the end of the regular season.
Dude, him, Tuck going on IR is like truly catastrophic.
Because that's that Tage Skinner tuck line.
Oh, yeah.
And I don't think Tage is going to be bad now, but I'm just saying that's the line.
And now he's fucking gone.
No, it's truly catastrophic.
So this thing, like, yeah, dude, we shot a Buffalo today.
but also the wagon exploded.
Oh, dude.
Yeah.
Like,
you are fucked.
Dahlene being day-to-day and Tuckby on IR, like the wagon might, a wheel has just fallen off.
And either you pull over or repair it or we go fully out of control and go careening into the river.
There is a chance here that this shit goes completely off the rails and Buffalo missed the playoffs by a lot.
If Dahlene is, I don't think he's badly hurt, no one thinks that.
But if the day-to-day is like a couple weeks.
Like, ew, yikes, yeah.
are fucked.
You're talking about a hundred years.
Talks out for the rest of the fucking year.
And if Dolly's out for three weeks, you're fucked.
Yeah.
They're done.
Yeah.
Good.
Yeah.
So keep an eye on that one, buddy.
And then checking in with where in the world is Austin Matthews.
We got nothing to report.
Austin is doing just fine.
The Leafs have loaded up.
He's got a bunch of buddies.
The Leafs have reloaded.
He's got 59 points in 53 games.
Like we said, he's going to have like the quietest 85 to 90 points season ever.
Matthews is playing great.
The Leafs lost a couple tough ones here.
But like we said,
They're just, they're cruising along, dude.
They're in second place in the Atlantic.
They just added a phenomenal defenseman.
They've got Ryan O'Reilly.
Dangerous, dangerous team.
Yep.
So that's that.
All right, games to watch.
What do you got?
All right, I got a couple games to watch here.
My first one, I'm going Thursday.
Friday night game, Devils Vegas Golden Knights.
Two top teams.
Devils just made a huge.
huge trade. It'll be fun to see Tim O'Myer playing
a familiar foe. But that's going to be a great game. And then my
next one, love me a matinee.
Leave me Saturday. Oh, okay. Take it.
Saturday. Here's what to watch Saturday,
everybody. Saturday, March 4th.
1230. Happy birthday to Chris, by the way.
Tampa at Buffalo. Sick game. Also 1230.
Wings at Islanders. Huge playoff implications.
Then at one. Rags at Bruins. Sick game.
then at 3.30, Avs at Stars, sick game, and then at six, penguins at Panthers, huge playoff
implications. It's my fucking birthday, and you're going to watch hockey all day with me, because I will
do whatever the fuck I want. Are you kidding me? I'm not leaving the couch. I'm going to watch every
single one of these games start to finish. I got two TVs in the living room for this exact reason.
There's no doubt, I don't know if you will actually be sitting on the couch, but there's
no doubt hockey will be on all day long no matter where you are. Bang, all-time birthday to hockey
day. Don't miss a fucking second of it. Do you say, do you think that you watch hockey more or
porn more. Great question. Both the daily occurrence. Both the daily occurrence. Both probably do the same
thing to his blood flow. So I don't know. Fact. Fact. So we'll sign off the episode saying
Happy Birthday, CP. Hope you enjoy it. And until then, everyone, keep your sticks on the ice.
Skate hard. Watch some porn. Watch some porn.
